Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

BoureBoure
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
American | Oxford, North Mississippi
McEwens - OxfordMcEwens - Oxford
(433)
$$$$
American | Oxford, North Mississippi
Booked 22 times today
King'sKing's
(45)
$$$$
Steak | Oxford, North Mississippi
Booked 5 times today
Woody's Tupelo SteakhouseWoody's Tupelo Steakhouse
(317)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Tupelo, North Mississippi
Booked 1 time today
STEAK by MelissaSTEAK by Melissa
(130)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Southaven, North Mississippi
Booked 1 time today
ForkliftForklift
(67)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Tupelo, North Mississippi
Booked 2 times today
Park HeightsPark Heights
(116)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Tupelo, North Mississippi
TGI FRIDAYS - SouthavenTGI FRIDAYS - Southaven
(3)
$$$$
American | Robinsonville, North Mississippi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

About Snackbar

We"ve married French Bistro with North Mississippi Cafe resulting in the Bubba Brasserie cuisine. The Big Bad Smokehouse pulls double duty creating the items for our charcuterie program and choucroute garni gets a second chance with collards and pickled peaches. Raw oysters arrive daily from all over the country adding a unique touch to the glass tiled oysterbar that anchors our lower dining room. Top shelf whiskies, an extensive glass wine program, and innovative cocktails round out an inviting and cozy bar setting likened to an "English Hunt Club."

721 North Lamar Blvd
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Douglas Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 236-6363

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Entertainment:
Support the local Oxford music scene, please join us every Wednesday night for live music without a cover charge. Check our website often for updates.

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
Vishwesh Bhatt

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy an intimate dining experience at our Chef"s Tasting Table. We offer seated dining from 8-32 guests, and cocktail parties to a maximum of 50 guests. Allow our chef to create a truly unique menu ranging from family style service, plated, or buffet. Ideal for rehearsal dinners, corporate or university events.

Private Party Contact:
Emma Gaines: (662) 234-9300

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Snackbar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

4.8

value

4.8

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Bar Seating (2)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our party of 8 -- all visitors to Oxford -- loved our evening at Snackbar! We appreciated the great service in wrangling our large table, and it was such a treat to be at a restaurant where you can carry on a conversation. The food was wonderful: everyone ordered something different, and everyone was very pleased. So close to the Square, and with plentiful parking -- Snacker was a home run!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Don't let the fact that it's in a shopping center fool you. It's good food and a good atmosphere. Worth the drive from Southaven, MS for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Always a top notch dining experience. Food, service and hospitality exceeds your expectations. Snackbar remains the standard for a group dinner for us when returning to Oxford.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everyone in our family loves snackbar. I love the fish stew, (friday and Sat night special) my husband enjoys the fish and kids like Steak frites (truffle fries are insane) and croque monsieur. Good wine selection and interesting crafted cocktails.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Snackbar is always exceptional. The food, the drinks, the wine list, the Happy Hour, the best oysters any where, the small bites, the desserts, the service...All of it. Exceptional. Always.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. The chef accommodates my vegan friend and made a delicious dish even though it wasn't in the menu. My snapper was so flavorful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Due to it being graduation weekend, the restaurant was extremely busy. However, our waiter was still able to make us feel pampered. The food was unique, delicious, and beautifully presented.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

snackbar is always good! great to meet up with friends and family, and the food never disappoints!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent. Great food. Good service. Couldn't have been better

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We booked snackbar for my hisband's birthday dinner and had an amazing dinner. The atmosphere is cozy, the wait staff was impeccable, the drinks were unique and perfectly blended with the fantastic food. I received messages from everyone the next day raving over what a perfect night it was. Will absolutely return and highly recommend! Love!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We waited over an hour for our food and it was a Wednesday night which didn't seem busy. There were several empty tables around us so I do not know why the long delay. The food was good/fair but the price was outrageous! We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Snack Bar always lives up to it's reputation of great food, service and atmosphere. Our out of town guests are impressed with the cosmopolitan atmosphere and the great food and wine offerings. The oyster bar is a favorite for appetizers. The price is comparable to other high end restaurants. We highly recommend Snack Bar if you are in the Oxford area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I dare say this this is the best restaurant in Oxford. I think the chef allows himself more creativity here than at City Grocery, and the result is some truly delicious and inventive food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wow! We have been to Snackbar before and it has always been good but something has changed. Without question this was the best meal we have had in four years visiting our daughter at school. They have really taken it up a notch. Highly recommend a visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent drinks!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

One of my favorite spots in Oxford, and the Big Bad Old Fashioned is a must have!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The Snackbar never disappoints. Amazing food and great service. Love the ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Very good! They even accommodated a guest we had show up at the last minute. We had a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great meal last night. I had the Mahi Mahi Yassa and it was absolutely "on point"!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Fabulous meal! Superb oysters! Great atmosphere and wonderful service. Truly one of our favorites in Ox.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Never a dull dish or evening here. Vish Bhatt has earned a James Beard Award whether he receives one or not. Our server was knowledgeable, helpful, and a joy to be around. The staff taking reservations were very accommodating, considering I changed them 4 times on Open Table due to the addition of new guests. Oxford is blessed to have such a fine establishment. Oh, and the food was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Organic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was delicious. Our server was very attentive. The only downfall was the lighting. It was very dim. Many were using their phones to read the menu. Snackbar just may be our favorite restaurant in Oxford.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This is a great place to go with adult friends, parents and college kids, or even a special date. Great atmosphere and even better food. Nice drink bar and raw bar. It's a great place if you want something special, but fun too.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Very popular restaurant. Can be very crowded in the later evening if you like that scene. For our business purposes, the earlier hours were great for quiet conversations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great hand crafted cocktails, oysters on the half shell and delicious French onion soup combined with attentive service makes this restaurant one of our favorites!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was amazing, the service was superb. I only had 2 issues and I feel like "issue" is too strong a word. First, a table of men was seated next to us about halfway through our meal and I had to stop talking to my husband and wait for them to get settled in before continuing our conversation because these men were so boisterous. Not the restaurant's fault at all. Just rude, already mostly drunk patrons. But I was not about to scream for my husband to be able to hear me 2 feet away. Second, the air was so dry. Not something I would normally notice about a restaurant but it was so dry that we both started getting really stuffed up and our nasal passages started swelling closed. Otherwise, a great evening and a superb meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My husband and I both had the special. It was a red fish over their version of hoppin John. It was amazing. My husband got the oysters. The waiter did a great job of telling us the various types of oysters they had available. They were really good. I had the Pimms cup one of their mixed drinks and it was great as always. The service, food and atmosphere were perfect.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food and service for a group of 14! Would not hesitate to try again.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Usually all of my dishes are exceptional at SB. However, I chose the Wednesday special- a shepherd's pie with collards- and was disappointed. The pie was bland and the greens bitter. Yet the sweet potato and dessert were delicious!
Of course the service was great and the ambiance is always nice. Must've been an office night for SB (or me!).
No worries! I'll still continue to patron the SB but will stick to my 'old favorites' on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food not as good as it has been in the past. Oysters and dessert was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We enjoyed our evening and everyone said how much they enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

Nice chatting with bartenders about the signature cocktails while waiting for our table. Waiters were very attentive. Good experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Snackbar is a great place. It fits into the mold of the great food we have in Oxford and the understated names of things. Great food, service and ambiance and bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

it was wonderful, as it always is.. we had a wonderful Valentine's Night meal

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great menu, food was delicious and service was great. Highly recommend a trip to The Snackbar if you are visiting Oxford.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This was our first time here and the menu was really interesting and creative. There were a lot of dishes we would have ordered and we'll definitely return! We didn't try the relatively expensive oysters, but they looked great!

Tags: Vegan, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wait staff and bartenders ranked high for service, but we were seated 20 minutes after our reservation time. hostess did not come to bar to touch base; we had to approach her to see about an update. Bar seats were super crowded. Difficult to get into seating and then wait staff could hardly get by to serve table behind

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My only complaint is it is too dark in the restaurant. I would have rated it much higher but for that fact I could not. The food makes it very popular so it has that going for it but when you can't see the menu or your food it becomes very frustrating.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Snack Bar is not to be missed on a trip to Oxford, MS. Excellent service, creative cuisine, and relaxed atmosphere set it apart from other local restaurants. The varied menu is always changing. The bar is outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The Snackbar is the best spot for a romantic evening. The rich wood and soft lighting create a superb ambiance for dining in Oxford. The cocktails and wine list is more than adequate, and the food is always well prepared and prompt. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.