About Snackbar

721 North Lamar Blvd
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

We"ve married French Bistro with North Mississippi Cafe resulting in the Bubba Brasserie cuisine. The Big Bad Smokehouse pulls double duty creating the items for our charcuterie program and choucroute garni gets a second chance with collards and pickled peaches. Raw oysters arrive daily from all over the country adding a unique touch to the glass tiled oysterbar that anchors our lower dining room. Top shelf whiskies, an extensive glass wine program, and innovative cocktails round out an inviting and cozy bar setting likened to an "English Hunt Club."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Douglas Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 236-6363

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Entertainment:
Support the local Oxford music scene, please join us every Wednesday night for live music without a cover charge. Check our website often for updates.

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
Vishwesh Bhatt

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy an intimate dining experience at our Chef"s Tasting Table. We offer seated dining from 8-32 guests, and cocktail parties to a maximum of 50 guests. Allow our chef to create a truly unique menu ranging from family style service, plated, or buffet. Ideal for rehearsal dinners, corporate or university events.

Private Party Contact:
Emma Gaines: 6622349300x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Snackbar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Mississippi
Best Service
Mississippi
Best Ambiance
Mississippi
3 More
Best Value
Mississippi
Fit for Foodies
Mississippi
Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Oxford ›

fit for foodies (20)
special occasion (18)
romantic (15)
See All
neighborhood gem (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
good for groups (11)
notable wine list (9)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Hit or miss these days

Dined on June 9, 2016

We have dined here many times and was our favorite for quite some time. While the menu is interesting the flavors are just not there these days. It is a moderately expensive place and the food is now only fair. For some reason City Grocery and Snackbar are never good at the same time. When they periodically change the menus one of them is really good and the other disappointing. Maybe it is done on purpose.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Didn't Live Up To Our Expectations

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We have eaten at several of the restaurants in this Oxford chain, and have always been really pleased, so we were expecting the same with Snack Bar. Sadly, this wasn't this case. The food was fine, but nothing special, and there was about a 35 min. wait between when we ordered and when the food arrived. The lobster Mac-n-cheese had exactly two pieces of lobster in it, and the bearnaise sauce for the steak was lukewarm. Our waitress was training someone, and whether it was due to this or something else, the service was very slow. We probably won't be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

This place is cozy and quiet, especially ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

This place is cozy and quiet, especially if you're able to snag a booth in the back! They have a great drink menu and a well-varied dinner menu. Overall great experience.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always good!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always good!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent oysters from the raw bar start ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent oysters from the raw bar started off our meal followed by fresh fish fixed with interesting spices. Our waitress was attentive and tried to make any special requests we made happen! Especially enjoyed the hand crafted cocktails! Delicious!

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Snackbar on a busy Saturday night

Dined on April 10, 2016

Love Snackbar, food is always fresh, innovative and delicious. Service is fast, efficient and knowledgeable. Best option in Oxford, hands down.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Got to try the new menu, as usual it did ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Got to try the new menu, as usual it did not disappoint. Chef Bhatt and the crew are consistently amazing. So grateful to live in a small town with excellent food!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything on he menu is excellent. Most ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything on he menu is excellent. Most recently, I had the catfish rillettes, the lamb neck dish, and the pavlova, with a Hemingway daiquiri, a sazerac, and the Big Bad Old-Fashioned. Incredible.

food2
ambience4
service2

Not for the the price.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Not for the the price.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice Place! Good for Gluten Intolerant folks.

Dined on March 24, 2016

I went with a group of three people. I had the Steak Frites cooked medium rare. Everything was done to perfection. We took a woman who is gluten intolerant. She had the fish and the rice dish and the waiter indicated that she could have the dish without getting the gluten.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good Experience

Dined on February 27, 2016

good cocktails (not too sweet). My wife had the stuffed trout (terrific) and I had the drum with ginger chutney (rich, warm flavor). Service was friendly and attentive, but not overbearing (I hate that). Apple turnovers for dessert (incredible). French coffee. I look forward to returning and trying something new.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Eclectic, trendy & well done locals plac ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Eclectic, trendy & well done locals place. My child will attend Ole Miss in the fall & we will be back!!

food4
ambience4
service3

Never had a bad meal at Snackbar. The fo ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Never had a bad meal at Snackbar. The food is always phenomenal.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not So Special Occasion

Dined on February 14, 2016

Snack Bar in Oxford, Ms has long been a favorite spot : great food,innovative specials and personable and accomplished waitstaff ....but missed the mark this Valentines weekend. Reservations, as expected, were a must, and we saw a bunch of walk-ins turned away; nonetheless it seemed clear that both the trout and the reservation list were stuffed for this evening....Our waitress was pleasant but seemed spread thin in her effort to serve her tables...and the food, which is usually fine, was poorly cooked in what must have been the hustle to keep the plates moving. For example, a side of braised brussel sprouts seemed not cooked at all as demonstrated by the hard little boogers flying across the table if any attempt made to stab or cut. ....It's not unreasonable for a popular restaurant to try to set another place at the table for special nights, but that effort falls flat when food and service suffer, and the manager should know better than to "pack 'em in"....It's not fair to waitstaff, kitchen staff and patrons who expect better from the good folks at the Snack Bar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cozy and delicious

Dined on December 19, 2015

Snackbar provides excellent French bistro cuisine with a Mississippi twist. The feel of the restaurant is cozy and warm, especially pleasant for late Fall and early Winter hunting season dining. The wait staff is well trained, personable and do not intrude, yet provide timely service without asking. If you like John Currence's flagship restaurant, City Grocery, you will also love Snackbar for its interesting, delicious and creative menu in a less formal atmosphere. Oxford is fortunate to have Snackbar among an impressive list of great restaurants to which to dine. My only criticism, as minor as it is, is the hope for a more delectable wine list to pair with the tantalizing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

As an Oxford local, I know the restauran ...

Dined on December 11, 2015

As an Oxford local, I know the restaurants well. Though the menu changes seasonally, I've never seen Snackbar miss on anything. Tough to beat.

food5
ambience5
service5

Just Exceptional

Dined on November 28, 2015

I travel for a living and eat in lots of highly rated places. I would trade them all for a meal at Snackbar. The menu is outstanding, the service impeccable, and the bar is creative and generous. John Currence has outdone himself.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb as always!

Dined on November 20, 2015

Superb as always!

food5
ambience5
service5

Worth traveling for

Dined on November 14, 2015

Last night I dined with a group of five colleagues at Snackbar. We had a remarkable evening. I have such fond memories of Snackbar from when I lived in Oxford, and I was excited to introduce friends from work to the food and the experience. The head chef, Vish greeted us when we walked in, and it set the tone for a lovely evening. The food is a creative mix of New Orleans, South Indian, and French fare. I will be dreaming about the yogurt-glazed salmon for weeks. The salmon, lentils, and green beans were flavorful and cooked perfectly. The fries, as usual, did not disappoint, and the table agreed the oysters were fresh and mild. Everything was just delicious. Our server provided the best service I've had in years. He was patient, attentive, bright, humorous, and kind. I noted that my draft beer landed a few inches from the top of the glass. He acknowledged my whining, and on the second beer, joked that he didn't leave room for cream and sugar. He then completed the extraordinary task of attributing each item to its owner, and brought our checks in about three minutes. I'm still flummoxed as to how he calculated this. We were prepared to split the bill by 6, but we really appreciate the time and effort he spent. Snackbar is such a special place. It's perfect for a romantic evening, but it also has a large community bar that makes it fun for groups. If you are in Oxford, Snackbar should be priority.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and a truly dine-in ex ...

Dined on October 16, 2015

Wonderful service and a truly dine-in experience. Order the oysters. They are very fresh and are shipped in from various locations in the U.S. daily!

food5
ambience5
service5

Good eats

Dined on October 16, 2015

Great go-to restaurant in Oxford. Loved the food and the overall atmosphere of the restaurant. Would definitely recommend to a friend.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfecto

Dined on September 18, 2015

One of my favorite spots of all time. Great food, awesome drinks and amazing staff. A great place to hang out with friends

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Nothing special.

vip
Dined on August 23, 2015

Nothing special.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Birthday Dinner

Dined on August 16, 2015

Our group of eight had a wonderful late night dinner. The service is always great, the drinks are the best in Oxford and the food was perfect. I have been here many times and have never had a bad experience. The Snackbar has a lot of charm and is one of my all time favorite spots for a night out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant!!

Dined on August 14, 2015

I enjoyed my evening at the Snack Bar. The lobster mac and cheese and blue points were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Keeping going back

Dined on July 29, 2015

Every time I'm in Oxford I must go to dinner at snack bar and this time I got to introduce my husband to the restaurant and he fell in love. The setting is cozy and the food is cooked perfectly with the flavored of the food coming through from simplistic and superb techniques.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, small portions.

Dined on July 25, 2015

Had dinner here with my wife, service excellent, menu varied and outstanding. Portions small, great for us but if you're really hungry or have a huge appetite you may not get filled up. Pricey but well worth it-expect to pay $40 per person (with no wine). Five stars from me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

inventive southern cuisine

Dined on July 21, 2015

Everything we tried here was excellent, starting with fresh raw oysters. They do a nice mix of new versions of southern classics. We had, for instance, fried catfish but with Indian spices like garam masala that gave it a whole new taste. The panna cotta dessert was ridiculously good too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Limited wine list but pretty good overall

vip
Dined on July 19, 2015

Had a pretty good meal in Oxford at Snackbar on a busy saturday night. Overall a good restaurant with a well thought out menu. Server was attentive and food arrived on time and was all in our party was happy with the selections. Great cocktail menu but felt the wine list was limited to only several selections per category but priced very reasonably. The only complaint we had was that the restaurant was uncomfortably hot inside especially around the bar area where we sat. Otherwise a very good dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

A must try in Oxford

vip
Dined on July 18, 2015

We visit Oxford once or twice a year and always try to fit in a visit to Snackbar! It is a casual, fun setting with some of the best food you can get anywhere. Great seafood and charcuterie. The food is generally on the spicy side in deference to the Chef's NewOrleans roots but not too spicy for most. Servers are always friendly and helpful and service is well paced.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5

A Rare Find

Dined on July 18, 2015

Heard about this place while reading through the list of James Beard nominees. A friend of mine in New Orleans had been nominated as well. I have family who work in Oxford and were familiar with the City Grocery group of restaurants. So, we decided to give SnackBar a try. I wouldn't really consider it a snack bar. Ha. From the outside, I was not impressed. It's in a random shopping center just out of downtown Oxford. However, the interior was quite nice. A small space. But, they've done a lot with what they have. The bar takes up a good portion of the restaurant, which makes it a little noisy in the booth area. Our server was wonderful. She was very attentive and appropriately talkative. The food selections were pretty good and diverse. I tried a bite of each of the four dishes we ordered. Most everything was really yummy. Nice flavors and well put together. I would just suggest a little more seasoning for the small plate of okra, tomato, egg casserole. It was a bit bland. The chocolate banana bread pudding with peanut butter ice cream was amazing! A must have. We arrived for an early dinner with plenty of open table, however, the place really filled up by the time we left. I definitely want to try the other restaurants part of this group.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Terrific Service

vip
Dined on July 10, 2015

Our server was impressive. She knew the answers to all of our questions and added pertinent information. She checked on ingredients and had good alternatives when one item was unavailable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

First time and we'll be back

Dined on June 19, 2015

We've tried several of the restaurants owned by the same chef here in Oxford, but the Snack Bar is our new favorite. Went from Happy Hour in the bar with several creative cocktail choices to a wonderful meal; Scallops for one and steak for the other. Both prepared perfectly. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. They honored our reservation request for a quiet table, out of the way in a booth in the back. In summary, another great restaurant in Oxford with a menu with lots of choices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Long since been best in town, keeps getting better

Dined on June 6, 2015

We enjoy all of John Currence's restaurants in Oxford, but Snackbar is the best of the best. It looks like a hole in the wall in a strip center, but it is actually quite attractive inside, and serving only dinner it pairs nicely with Currence's now-iconic Big Bad Breakfast next door, which serves only breakfast and lunch. The menu changes several times a year and is easily the most imaginative cuisine we have found in Mississippi: they have regular nightly specials, which is Cioppino on weekends and is an amazing dish, as well as off-menu specials, which this Saturday was a seared rainbow trout with all sort of goodies that I do not recall, but do remember it was delicious. Two persons in our group had the seared scallops that were perfectly cooked and wonderfully spiced; I had the Mississippi paella, which was standard paella except with local shrimp and in-house made chorizo...exceptional! The four of us also shared a dozen of the most incredible blue point oysters, also a must-have side order of Parmesan truffle fries, and a delicious light key lime mousse for dessert. Good reasonably priced wine choices and flawless service. Total bill for four with a bottle of wine and 7 mixed drinks was right at $300, and very well worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to eat here

Dined on May 23, 2015

Chef Bhatt & his staff have built something really beautiful at Snackbar. We've eaten there 6 times over the past few years and will go back every chance we get. Worth traveling for.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Snackbar - Oxford at its best

Dined on May 7, 2015

Snackbar, despite its name, is a fine dining restaurant by chef John Currence and is located next door to his breakfast and lunch place, Big Bad Breakfast in a little strip mall. Reservations are highly recommended. The reception is always nice; the lower dining area is warm wood with deer and duck taxidermy mounts on the walls. There is a variety of seating with banquettes and tables and there is a small oyster bar there. The upper level has a fun community table where you can meet other diners next to the nice wood bar. There are large booths in the upper area as well, featuring interesting photographs. The service is usually good, although some staff are more attentive than others and they are all generally busy. The cocktails are original and classically inspired. The wine list covers the usual ground and is adequate. The bar prides itself, for good reason, on the best drinks in town. Fresh oysters are offered daily and according to my wife, they are always great and they usually have 3 offerings from around the country. Of course, the Gulf oysters are the best! The menu changes frequently and most nights there is a rotating special. We're never disappointed with everything from the fish entrees to the duck croque monsieur sandwich. For a great Oxford experience, hit the Snackbar, then head to the Square to stroll or maybe have a drink upstairs at the City Grocery bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and excellent service

Dined on April 18, 2015

Awesome food and excellent service

food5
ambience3
service5

The food and service were both amazing! ...

Dined on April 18, 2015

The food and service were both amazing! The only negative was that we sat at a table that was too close to the door.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Our favorite restaurant in Oxford

Dined on April 11, 2015

When my wife and I first started visiting this small intimate restaurant on North Lamar we felt like we had found an uncovered gem. Not long after it seemed like many other dinning enthusiasts discovered the fine food that we enjoyed. Very reasonable prices for the quality of food served. Great bar, great service, great atmosphere. At least one visit try the shredded duck sandwich, you will not be disappointed. Of the many great restaurants in the City of Oxford this is our favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Snackbar never disappoints

vip
Dined on March 1, 2015

This is one of John Currence's restaurants an for dinner may be out favorite. Good combination of fresh seafood, charcuterie, and southern dishes. I thinks there is something for everyone on the menu. Definitely a fairly casual restaurant but food ei excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.