Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

About Snackbar

We"ve married French Bistro with North Mississippi Cafe resulting in the Bubba Brasserie cuisine. The Big Bad Smokehouse pulls double duty creating the items for our charcuterie program and choucroute garni gets a second chance with collards and pickled peaches. Raw oysters arrive daily from all over the country adding a unique touch to the glass tiled oysterbar that anchors our lower dining room. Top shelf whiskies, an extensive glass wine program, and innovative cocktails round out an inviting and cozy bar setting likened to an "English Hunt Club."

721 North Lamar Blvd
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Douglas Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 236-6363

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Entertainment:
Support the local Oxford music scene, please join us every Wednesday night for live music without a cover charge. Check our website often for updates.

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
Vishwesh Bhatt

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy an intimate dining experience at our Chef"s Tasting Table. We offer seated dining from 8-32 guests, and cocktail parties to a maximum of 50 guests. Allow our chef to create a truly unique menu ranging from family style service, plated, or buffet. Ideal for rehearsal dinners, corporate or university events.

Private Party Contact:
Emma Gaines: (662) 234-9300

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Snackbar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (16)
Special Occasion (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Healthy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fireplace (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

Very popular restaurant. Can be very crowded in the later evening if you like that scene. For our business purposes, the earlier hours were great for quiet conversations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was amazing, the service was superb. I only had 2 issues and I feel like "issue" is too strong a word. First, a table of men was seated next to us about halfway through our meal and I had to stop talking to my husband and wait for them to get settled in before continuing our conversation because these men were so boisterous. Not the restaurant's fault at all. Just rude, already mostly drunk patrons. But I was not about to scream for my husband to be able to hear me 2 feet away. Second, the air was so dry. Not something I would normally notice about a restaurant but it was so dry that we both started getting really stuffed up and our nasal passages started swelling closed. Otherwise, a great evening and a superb meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great hand crafted cocktails, oysters on the half shell and delicious French onion soup combined with attentive service makes this restaurant one of our favorites!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I both had the special. It was a red fish over their version of hoppin John. It was amazing. My husband got the oysters. The waiter did a great job of telling us the various types of oysters they had available. They were really good. I had the Pimms cup one of their mixed drinks and it was great as always. The service, food and atmosphere were perfect.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food and service for a group of 14! Would not hesitate to try again.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Usually all of my dishes are exceptional at SB. However, I chose the Wednesday special- a shepherd's pie with collards- and was disappointed. The pie was bland and the greens bitter. Yet the sweet potato and dessert were delicious!
Of course the service was great and the ambiance is always nice. Must've been an office night for SB (or me!).
No worries! I'll still continue to patron the SB but will stick to my 'old favorites' on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food not as good as it has been in the past. Oysters and dessert was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We enjoyed our evening and everyone said how much they enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice chatting with bartenders about the signature cocktails while waiting for our table. Waiters were very attentive. Good experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Snackbar is a great place. It fits into the mold of the great food we have in Oxford and the understated names of things. Great food, service and ambiance and bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

it was wonderful, as it always is.. we had a wonderful Valentine's Night meal

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great menu, food was delicious and service was great. Highly recommend a trip to The Snackbar if you are visiting Oxford.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was our first time here and the menu was really interesting and creative. There were a lot of dishes we would have ordered and we'll definitely return! We didn't try the relatively expensive oysters, but they looked great!

Tags: Vegan, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wait staff and bartenders ranked high for service, but we were seated 20 minutes after our reservation time. hostess did not come to bar to touch base; we had to approach her to see about an update. Bar seats were super crowded. Difficult to get into seating and then wait staff could hardly get by to serve table behind

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My only complaint is it is too dark in the restaurant. I would have rated it much higher but for that fact I could not. The food makes it very popular so it has that going for it but when you can't see the menu or your food it becomes very frustrating.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Snack Bar is not to be missed on a trip to Oxford, MS. Excellent service, creative cuisine, and relaxed atmosphere set it apart from other local restaurants. The varied menu is always changing. The bar is outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Snackbar is the best spot for a romantic evening. The rich wood and soft lighting create a superb ambiance for dining in Oxford. The cocktails and wine list is more than adequate, and the food is always well prepared and prompt. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service from Mattie- she was terrific! My monk fish was good.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always great food here. Great for anything from a business meal to a large family dinner. Seasonal cocktail and dinner menu that changed every 12 weeks. Never been disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is the best restaurant in Oxford - hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I have been to snackbar several times and usually enjoy my meal very much. This time I got the Mahi Mahi served over rice- I was really disappointed with the lack of flavor in the entire dish. There was a tiny scoop of spices/sauce on top of one fish filet but it wasn't close enough to cover the entire portion. This sauce was nice but should have been carried throughout the dish. This dish wasn't special, it was something I could have made at home. The rice was plain and the fish was something you could get anywhere. I also got the cranberry panna cotta which was alright. The cranberries that was under the panna cotta lacked flavor. It is just sad to pay so much and have sub par food. However The ambiance at snackbar is great and the drinks are usually unique.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

From the young lady at the oyster bar to our server, we had wonderful friendly and energetic service. And the food was, as always, fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always a fantastic experience. Clearly the best causal fine dining experience in Oxford.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful food with a flair. Delicious steak and craft cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The restaurant offers great food, service and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I took some friends from out of town for dinner this weekend and everything was excellent. A couple of us are vegetarians and the chef took the time to make us a meal off of the menu to accommodate us. Always a great meal!

Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

An elegant and comfortable bistro. Great wine list and wonderful food. Staff was attentive despite the crowd. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I wanted it to be better than it was. For the price it seemed like the choices were good - the food was not up to the cost. Interior was dark wood. Just felt dated to me.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fabulous service, drinks, food and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was an unforgettable surprise in Oxford . Off the square so no noise on game weekends . Food was fabulous !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A friend recommended SnackBar, and I'm so glad I visited! The cocktails were to die for (highly recommend the Grove Standard), the service was good, and the food was superb. Our group had the shrimp, snapper, steak, and goat tagine and all were beautifully flavored and presented. The pear and apple tart split 4 ways was the perfect finish. A very luxurious meal for a very reasonable price.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Oh my god, this restaurant is amazing. Everything was perfect and there are so many great options that I wished I could eat there every day, just so I could try everything. Pretty pricy, but highly recommended.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food is excellent, but waitress is not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Eh. Was expecting more. Very limited menu. Pricey for the food and location which is a strip mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always make time when I visit my kids to go to Snackbar. I know the food will be great. The service is amazing. The manager, Jeff was so accommodating when I had to adjust my reservation time when my son was stuck in a lecture that went late. Plus, plenty of parking!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My favorite in Oxford. Great seafood. Friendly staff

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great place for casual dining. Fun southern cuisine!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Food and service were wonderful. My tow favorite things about dining out are when the food is really, really good and the service is outstanding---this visit met both of those qualifications AND THEN SOME.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We took a job candidate there for dinner. We had the charcuterie board and I had the steak frites. My two colleagues had the fish special and the caramelized pork chop. The candidate had steak frites. We also had dessert which consisted of sweet potato bread pudding, coconut chess pie and Mexican spice pot du creme. The food was amazing and the cocktails and wine were really good. Service was just average.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our new favorite restaurant in Oxford! While at Ole Miss, my kids frequented Snack Bar regularly. A must for out of towers.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.