About Snackbar

721 North Lamar Blvd
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

We"ve married French Bistro with North Mississippi Cafe resulting in the Bubba Brasserie cuisine. The Big Bad Smokehouse pulls double duty creating the items for our charcuterie program and choucroute garni gets a second chance with collards and pickled peaches. Raw oysters arrive daily from all over the country adding a unique touch to the glass tiled oysterbar that anchors our lower dining room. Top shelf whiskies, an extensive glass wine program, and innovative cocktails round out an inviting and cozy bar setting likened to an "English Hunt Club."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Douglas Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 236-6363

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Entertainment:
Support the local Oxford music scene, please join us every Wednesday night for live music without a cover charge. Check our website often for updates.

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
Vishwesh Bhatt

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy an intimate dining experience at our Chef"s Tasting Table. We offer seated dining from 8-32 guests, and cocktail parties to a maximum of 50 guests. Allow our chef to create a truly unique menu ranging from family style service, plated, or buffet. Ideal for rehearsal dinners, corporate or university events.

Private Party Contact:
Emma Gaines: 6622349300x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Snackbar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Mississippi
Most Booked
Mississippi
Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Oxford ›

Fit for Foodies (13)
Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service were wonderful. My tow ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were wonderful. My tow favorite things about dining out are when the food is really, really good and the service is outstanding---this visit met both of those qualifications AND THEN SOME.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took a job candidate there for dinner ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 4 days ago

We took a job candidate there for dinner. We had the charcuterie board and I had the steak frites. My two colleagues had the fish special and the caramelized pork chop. The candidate had steak frites. We also had dessert which consisted of sweet potato bread pudding, coconut chess pie and Mexican spice pot du creme. The food was amazing and the cocktails and wine were really good. Service was just average.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our new favorite restaurant in Oxford! W ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our new favorite restaurant in Oxford! While at Ole Miss, my kids frequented Snack Bar regularly. A must for out of towers.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Restaurant seeks to overwhelm with its ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Restaurant seeks to overwhelm with its 'eclectic' menu in order to justify its prices. Food was just ok. Lobster Mac and cheese was very dry. Value for the price was not good.

However, their staff and service are over the top. All were very accommodating and attentive and were the bright spot of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

We love this place for guests because yo ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We love this place for guests because you can have a conversation at dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Best soft shell cr ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was outstanding. Best soft shell crab dish I have ever had! Service was attentive. Cocktails were very good using fresh ingredients. One of the best meals we have had all summer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dropping daughter off at Ole Miss and ha ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Dropping daughter off at Ole Miss and had only been to SnackBar for drinks! Great menu with unique eats. Higher end wines at a great value. Inside is very appealing, especially the bar and middle bar area. Definitely will make this a "must eat" spot when we visit our daughter.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there on a relatively quiet nigh ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were there on a relatively quiet night. They have a very good menu of house cocktails.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything about Snackbar was great. Th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything about Snackbar was great. The server was great, the ambiance was wonderful, but then there was the food. Our server told us that one of the specials that night was seafood stew and it was very popular. I love seafood! I ordered it. And then at 4AM, I became violently ill without a fever, so I knew I was suffering from food poisoning and I knew exactly what from. What an unfortunate experience, since I had to drive 9 hours back later that morning. This was a negative experience that will follow me and I would just say BEWARE OF THE SEAFOOD at Snackbar. What a horrible way to end a memory of an otherwise nice restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food, service was even better, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very good food, service was even better, from the hostess to the bartenders to our waitress. Very warm and genuine as if they were serving us in their own home, not working at a job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had heard a lot of good things. Just no ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had heard a lot of good things. Just not blown away as I was expecting. Food not bad but just average.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Snack at is always such a treat! Food an ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Snack at is always such a treat! Food and service are always exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was expecting great food based on what ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I was expecting great food based on what I had heard, but it was the service that really stood out. Our waitress was so polite, engaging and attentive. She knew the menu, front-and-back and made great recommendations.

We started with a couple of specialty cocktails from the menu. The selection had a very international flair to it. Truth be told, this was probably the least favourite part of the meal. I guess they were just a little too exotic for our tastes and made a tad bit on the strong side.

But, as for the food, it was very good. We started with a Charcuterie plate. It came with three selections of meat, a cheese, pickle and bread with house made mustard and BBQ sauces. The sauces were simply outstanding. The pickle was tart and crisp, as I like them and the cheese was smooth and creamy. I believe it must have been some kind of cheddar, although I don't recall exactly what it was.

We also had the Okra Chaat as an appetizer. It was a very large portion - easily enough for two. It was prepared in a way that reminded me of how my grandfather made it - whole and fried in what I would say was cornmeal. It was very crisp just like potato chips. It was different in that it was seasoned with peanuts and an Indian blend of spices. In a word, it was fantastic take on a traditional Southern dish. Best thing we had.

For the main course, we selected the lamb and the America wagyu steak. Both were about 6 oz. portions - small on the American/Southern side, but plenty big given everything else we ate. I would say the steak won out, as the lamb was just a tad bit overcooked for our tastes. The tomatoes that came with the main course were perfectly prepared. Cooked just long enough to start to sear and they were a sweet tomato and a great complement to the meat.

For desert, we had the chocolate ganache cake and ice cream - plenty big enough to share for two. I like a really intense chocolate and this was not that, but it was a cool, refreshing end to a really good meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

There were four of us, 3really enjoyed t ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

There were four of us, 3really enjoyed the oysters. 2 of us had the delicious steak and fries, one the cioppino and one the thin sliced lamb which was not enjoyed. Nice restaurant for special ocassions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Friendly service. Always fun ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food! Friendly service. Always fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique menu for Oxford. Lovely restauran ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Unique menu for Oxford. Lovely restaurant with upscale clientele.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Snackbar is a must visit restaurant if y ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Snackbar is a must visit restaurant if you are in the Oxford area. There were five of us and we shared a platter of marinated crab claws and a platter of steamed shrimp as appetizers. Then we all had a different "Not so Small Plate". Everything was cooked to perfection with just the right amount of seasoning and some very interesting sides. Service was just right, observant enough to be there when needed but left us alone to visit.

Only drawback was the air conditioning was not up to keeping the restaurant as comfortable as it should be given it is July!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was a neat spot and not what you wo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was a neat spot and not what you would expect when you go inside. I will go again however it didn't knock my socks off but that may be because of what i ordered. The french fry appetizer dish with garlic aioli is very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Hit or miss these days

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We have dined here many times and was our favorite for quite some time. While the menu is interesting the flavors are just not there these days. It is a moderately expensive place and the food is now only fair. For some reason City Grocery and Snackbar are never good at the same time. When they periodically change the menus one of them is really good and the other disappointing. Maybe it is done on purpose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Didn't Live Up To Our Expectations

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We have eaten at several of the restaurants in this Oxford chain, and have always been really pleased, so we were expecting the same with Snack Bar. Sadly, this wasn't this case. The food was fine, but nothing special, and there was about a 35 min. wait between when we ordered and when the food arrived. The lobster Mac-n-cheese had exactly two pieces of lobster in it, and the bearnaise sauce for the steak was lukewarm. Our waitress was training someone, and whether it was due to this or something else, the service was very slow. We probably won't be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

This place is cozy and quiet, especially ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

This place is cozy and quiet, especially if you're able to snag a booth in the back! They have a great drink menu and a well-varied dinner menu. Overall great experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always good!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent oysters from the raw bar start ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent oysters from the raw bar started off our meal followed by fresh fish fixed with interesting spices. Our waitress was attentive and tried to make any special requests we made happen! Especially enjoyed the hand crafted cocktails! Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Snackbar on a busy Saturday night

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Love Snackbar, food is always fresh, innovative and delicious. Service is fast, efficient and knowledgeable. Best option in Oxford, hands down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Got to try the new menu, as usual it did ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Got to try the new menu, as usual it did not disappoint. Chef Bhatt and the crew are consistently amazing. So grateful to live in a small town with excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything on he menu is excellent. Most ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything on he menu is excellent. Most recently, I had the catfish rillettes, the lamb neck dish, and the pavlova, with a Hemingway daiquiri, a sazerac, and the Big Bad Old-Fashioned. Incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not for the the price.

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Not for the the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Nice Place! Good for Gluten Intolerant folks.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

I went with a group of three people. I had the Steak Frites cooked medium rare. Everything was done to perfection. We took a woman who is gluten intolerant. She had the fish and the rice dish and the waiter indicated that she could have the dish without getting the gluten.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Experience

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

good cocktails (not too sweet). My wife had the stuffed trout (terrific) and I had the drum with ginger chutney (rich, warm flavor). Service was friendly and attentive, but not overbearing (I hate that). Apple turnovers for dessert (incredible). French coffee. I look forward to returning and trying something new.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Eclectic, trendy & well done locals plac ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Eclectic, trendy & well done locals place. My child will attend Ole Miss in the fall & we will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never had a bad meal at Snackbar. The fo ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Never had a bad meal at Snackbar. The food is always phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Not So Special Occasion

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Snack Bar in Oxford, Ms has long been a favorite spot : great food,innovative specials and personable and accomplished waitstaff ....but missed the mark this Valentines weekend.

Reservations, as expected, were a must, and we saw a bunch of walk-ins turned away; nonetheless it seemed clear that both the trout and the reservation list were stuffed for this evening....Our waitress was pleasant but seemed spread thin in her effort to serve her tables...and the food, which is usually fine, was poorly cooked in what must have been the hustle to keep the plates moving. For example, a side of braised brussel sprouts seemed not cooked at all as demonstrated by the hard little boogers flying across the table if any attempt made to stab or cut.

....It's not unreasonable for a popular restaurant to try to set another place at the table for special nights, but that effort falls flat when food and service suffer, and the manager should know better than to "pack 'em in"....It's not fair to waitstaff, kitchen staff and patrons who expect better from the good folks at the Snack Bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Cozy and delicious

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Snackbar provides excellent French bistro cuisine with a Mississippi twist. The feel of the restaurant is cozy and warm, especially pleasant for late Fall and early Winter hunting season dining. The wait staff is well trained, personable and do not intrude, yet provide timely service without asking. If you like John Currence's flagship restaurant, City Grocery, you will also love Snackbar for its interesting, delicious and creative menu in a less formal atmosphere. Oxford is fortunate to have Snackbar among an impressive list of great restaurants to which to dine. My only criticism, as minor as it is, is the hope for a more delectable wine list to pair with the tantalizing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As an Oxford local, I know the restauran ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

As an Oxford local, I know the restaurants well. Though the menu changes seasonally, I've never seen Snackbar miss on anything. Tough to beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just Exceptional

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

I travel for a living and eat in lots of highly rated places. I would trade them all for a meal at Snackbar. The menu is outstanding, the service impeccable, and the bar is creative and generous. John Currence has outdone himself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb as always!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

Superb as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth traveling for

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Last night I dined with a group of five colleagues at Snackbar. We had a remarkable evening. I have such fond memories of Snackbar from when I lived in Oxford, and I was excited to introduce friends from work to the food and the experience. The head chef, Vish greeted us when we walked in, and it set the tone for a lovely evening. The food is a creative mix of New Orleans, South Indian, and French fare. I will be dreaming about the yogurt-glazed salmon for weeks. The salmon, lentils, and green beans were flavorful and cooked perfectly. The fries, as usual, did not disappoint, and the table agreed the oysters were fresh and mild. Everything was just delicious.

Our server provided the best service I've had in years. He was patient, attentive, bright, humorous, and kind. I noted that my draft beer landed a few inches from the top of the glass. He acknowledged my whining, and on the second beer, joked that he didn't leave room for cream and sugar. He then completed the extraordinary task of attributing each item to its owner, and brought our checks in about three minutes. I'm still flummoxed as to how he calculated this. We were prepared to split the bill by 6, but we really appreciate the time and effort he spent.

Snackbar is such a special place. It's perfect for a romantic evening, but it also has a large community bar that makes it fun for groups. If you are in Oxford, Snackbar should be priority.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and a truly dine-in ex ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Wonderful service and a truly dine-in experience. Order the oysters. They are very fresh and are shipped in from various locations in the U.S. daily!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good eats

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Great go-to restaurant in Oxford. Loved the food and the overall atmosphere of the restaurant. Would definitely recommend to a friend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfecto

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

One of my favorite spots of all time. Great food, awesome drinks and amazing staff. A great place to hang out with friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.