About Snackbar

We"ve married French Bistro with North Mississippi Cafe resulting in the Bubba Brasserie cuisine. The Big Bad Smokehouse pulls double duty creating the items for our charcuterie program and choucroute garni gets a second chance with collards and pickled peaches. Raw oysters arrive daily from all over the country adding a unique touch to the glass tiled oysterbar that anchors our lower dining room. Top shelf whiskies, an extensive glass wine program, and innovative cocktails round out an inviting and cozy bar setting likened to an "English Hunt Club."

721 North Lamar Blvd
Oxford, MS 38655
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Douglas Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 236-6363

Website:
http://www.citygroceryonline.com/

Entertainment:
Support the local Oxford music scene, please join us every Wednesday night for live music without a cover charge. Check our website often for updates.

Catering:
City Grocery Restaurant Group offers off-site catering through our catering division, The Main Event. We are a full service caterer offering complete event coordination, to include exceptional service, attention to detail and unique menu design to suit each of our clients. Specializing in weddings, rehearsal dinners, anniversary dinners, corporate and university functions. Please call 662-234-9300 to book your next event.

Executive Chef:
Vishwesh Bhatt

Private Party Facilities:
Enjoy an intimate dining experience at our Chef"s Tasting Table. We offer seated dining from 8-32 guests, and cocktail parties to a maximum of 50 guests. Allow our chef to create a truly unique menu ranging from family style service, plated, or buffet. Ideal for rehearsal dinners, corporate or university events.

Private Party Contact:
Emma Gaines: (662) 234-9300

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Snackbar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Romantic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Authentic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Business Meals (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Snack Bar is not to be missed on a trip ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Snack Bar is not to be missed on a trip to Oxford, MS. Excellent service, creative cuisine, and relaxed atmosphere set it apart from other local restaurants. The varied menu is always changing. The bar is outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Snackbar is the best spot for a roma ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

The Snackbar is the best spot for a romantic evening. The rich wood and soft lighting create a superb ambiance for dining in Oxford. The cocktails and wine list is more than adequate, and the food is always well prepared and prompt. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service from Mattie- she was terri ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service from Mattie- she was terrific! My monk fish was good.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food here. Great for anythi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always great food here. Great for anything from a business meal to a large family dinner. Seasonal cocktail and dinner menu that changed every 12 weeks. Never been disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in Oxford - ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is the best restaurant in Oxford - hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to snackbar several times an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I have been to snackbar several times and usually enjoy my meal very much. This time I got the Mahi Mahi served over rice- I was really disappointed with the lack of flavor in the entire dish. There was a tiny scoop of spices/sauce on top of one fish filet but it wasn't close enough to cover the entire portion. This sauce was nice but should have been carried throughout the dish. This dish wasn't special, it was something I could have made at home. The rice was plain and the fish was something you could get anywhere. I also got the cranberry panna cotta which was alright. The cranberries that was under the panna cotta lacked flavor. It is just sad to pay so much and have sub par food. However The ambiance at snackbar is great and the drinks are usually unique.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

From the young lady at the oyster bar to ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

From the young lady at the oyster bar to our server, we had wonderful friendly and energetic service. And the food was, as always, fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fantastic experience. Clearly t ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always a fantastic experience. Clearly the best causal fine dining experience in Oxford.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food with a flair. Delicious s ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful food with a flair. Delicious steak and craft cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant offers great food, servic ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The restaurant offers great food, service and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I took some friends from out ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I took some friends from out of town for dinner this weekend and everything was excellent. A couple of us are vegetarians and the chef took the time to make us a meal off of the menu to accommodate us. Always a great meal!

Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An elegant and comfortable bistro. Great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

An elegant and comfortable bistro. Great wine list and wonderful food. Staff was attentive despite the crowd. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I wanted it to be better than it was. Fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I wanted it to be better than it was. For the price it seemed like the choices were good - the food was not up to the cost. Interior was dark wood. Just felt dated to me.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Fabulous service, drinks, food and ambia ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fabulous service, drinks, food and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was an unforgettable surprise in Ox ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was an unforgettable surprise in Oxford . Off the square so no noise on game weekends . Food was fabulous !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A friend recommended SnackBar, and I'm s ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A friend recommended SnackBar, and I'm so glad I visited! The cocktails were to die for (highly recommend the Grove Standard), the service was good, and the food was superb. Our group had the shrimp, snapper, steak, and goat tagine and all were beautifully flavored and presented. The pear and apple tart split 4 ways was the perfect finish. A very luxurious meal for a very reasonable price.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Oh my god, this restaurant is amazing. E ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Oh my god, this restaurant is amazing. Everything was perfect and there are so many great options that I wished I could eat there every day, just so I could try everything. Pretty pricy, but highly recommended.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is excellent, but waitress is not g ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food is excellent, but waitress is not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Eh. Was expecting more. Very limited men ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Eh. Was expecting more. Very limited menu. Pricey for the food and location which is a strip mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

My favorite in Oxford. Great seafood. Fr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My favorite in Oxford. Great seafood. Friendly staff

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always make time when I visit my kids to ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always make time when I visit my kids to go to Snackbar. I know the food will be great. The service is amazing. The manager, Jeff was so accommodating when I had to adjust my reservation time when my son was stuck in a lecture that went late. Plus, plenty of parking!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for casual dining. Fun sout ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great place for casual dining. Fun southern cuisine!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were wonderful. My tow ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Food and service were wonderful. My tow favorite things about dining out are when the food is really, really good and the service is outstanding---this visit met both of those qualifications AND THEN SOME.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took a job candidate there for dinner ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We took a job candidate there for dinner. We had the charcuterie board and I had the steak frites. My two colleagues had the fish special and the caramelized pork chop. The candidate had steak frites. We also had dessert which consisted of sweet potato bread pudding, coconut chess pie and Mexican spice pot du creme. The food was amazing and the cocktails and wine were really good. Service was just average.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our new favorite restaurant in Oxford! W ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our new favorite restaurant in Oxford! While at Ole Miss, my kids frequented Snack Bar regularly. A must for out of towers.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Restaurant seeks to overwhelm with its ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Restaurant seeks to overwhelm with its 'eclectic' menu in order to justify its prices. Food was just ok. Lobster Mac and cheese was very dry. Value for the price was not good.

However, their staff and service are over the top. All were very accommodating and attentive and were the bright spot of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

We love this place for guests because yo ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We love this place for guests because you can have a conversation at dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Best soft shell cr ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was outstanding. Best soft shell crab dish I have ever had! Service was attentive. Cocktails were very good using fresh ingredients. One of the best meals we have had all summer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dropping daughter off at Ole Miss and ha ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Dropping daughter off at Ole Miss and had only been to SnackBar for drinks! Great menu with unique eats. Higher end wines at a great value. Inside is very appealing, especially the bar and middle bar area. Definitely will make this a "must eat" spot when we visit our daughter.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there on a relatively quiet nigh ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were there on a relatively quiet night. They have a very good menu of house cocktails.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything about Snackbar was great. Th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything about Snackbar was great. The server was great, the ambiance was wonderful, but then there was the food. Our server told us that one of the specials that night was seafood stew and it was very popular. I love seafood! I ordered it. And then at 4AM, I became violently ill without a fever, so I knew I was suffering from food poisoning and I knew exactly what from. What an unfortunate experience, since I had to drive 9 hours back later that morning. This was a negative experience that will follow me and I would just say BEWARE OF THE SEAFOOD at Snackbar. What a horrible way to end a memory of an otherwise nice restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food, service was even better, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very good food, service was even better, from the hostess to the bartenders to our waitress. Very warm and genuine as if they were serving us in their own home, not working at a job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had heard a lot of good things. Just no ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had heard a lot of good things. Just not blown away as I was expecting. Food not bad but just average.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Snack at is always such a treat! Food an ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Snack at is always such a treat! Food and service are always exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was expecting great food based on what ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I was expecting great food based on what I had heard, but it was the service that really stood out. Our waitress was so polite, engaging and attentive. She knew the menu, front-and-back and made great recommendations.

We started with a couple of specialty cocktails from the menu. The selection had a very international flair to it. Truth be told, this was probably the least favourite part of the meal. I guess they were just a little too exotic for our tastes and made a tad bit on the strong side.

But, as for the food, it was very good. We started with a Charcuterie plate. It came with three selections of meat, a cheese, pickle and bread with house made mustard and BBQ sauces. The sauces were simply outstanding. The pickle was tart and crisp, as I like them and the cheese was smooth and creamy. I believe it must have been some kind of cheddar, although I don't recall exactly what it was.

We also had the Okra Chaat as an appetizer. It was a very large portion - easily enough for two. It was prepared in a way that reminded me of how my grandfather made it - whole and fried in what I would say was cornmeal. It was very crisp just like potato chips. It was different in that it was seasoned with peanuts and an Indian blend of spices. In a word, it was fantastic take on a traditional Southern dish. Best thing we had.

For the main course, we selected the lamb and the America wagyu steak. Both were about 6 oz. portions - small on the American/Southern side, but plenty big given everything else we ate. I would say the steak won out, as the lamb was just a tad bit overcooked for our tastes. The tomatoes that came with the main course were perfectly prepared. Cooked just long enough to start to sear and they were a sweet tomato and a great complement to the meat.

For desert, we had the chocolate ganache cake and ice cream - plenty big enough to share for two. I like a really intense chocolate and this was not that, but it was a cool, refreshing end to a really good meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

There were four of us, 3really enjoyed t ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 29, 2016

There were four of us, 3really enjoyed the oysters. 2 of us had the delicious steak and fries, one the cioppino and one the thin sliced lamb which was not enjoyed. Nice restaurant for special ocassions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Friendly service. Always fun ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food! Friendly service. Always fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique menu for Oxford. Lovely restauran ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Unique menu for Oxford. Lovely restaurant with upscale clientele.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Snackbar is a must visit restaurant if y ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Snackbar is a must visit restaurant if you are in the Oxford area. There were five of us and we shared a platter of marinated crab claws and a platter of steamed shrimp as appetizers. Then we all had a different "Not so Small Plate". Everything was cooked to perfection with just the right amount of seasoning and some very interesting sides. Service was just right, observant enough to be there when needed but left us alone to visit.

Only drawback was the air conditioning was not up to keeping the restaurant as comfortable as it should be given it is July!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was a neat spot and not what you wo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was a neat spot and not what you would expect when you go inside. I will go again however it didn't knock my socks off but that may be because of what i ordered. The french fry appetizer dish with garlic aioli is very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.