About Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.

Brewpub serving Midwestern comfort food and Texas inspired BBQ. Reservations strongly encouraged.

1615 Oak Ave.
Evanston, IL 60201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
HOURS
Monday-CLOSED

KITCHEN HOURS
Sunday-Thursday 11AM-9PM. Half priced pizzas 9pm-10pm.
Friday & Saturday 11AM-10PM. Half priced pizzas 10pm-11pm.

Pizza bar remains open one hour after kitchen closes.

Bar remains open until the last pint has been poured.

Cross Street:
Davis & Church

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(224) 999-7320

Website:
http://www.smyliebros.com/

Catering:
Have Smylie Brothers barbecue and beer at your next event with our catering options.

http://www.smyliebros.com/menu/catering/

Public Transit:
Metra Train, Davis Purple Line Stop, CTA 93 Bus

Executive Chef:
Grant Carey

Private Party Facilities:
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. is the perfect place to hold your next event. For event details please contact our Event Coordinator, kobrion@smyliebros.com

http://www.smyliebros.com/menu/private-events/

Private Party Contact:
Katey O'Brion: 2249997320x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., Evanston, IL
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., Evanston, IL
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., Evanston, IL
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., Evanston, IL

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (14)
Casual (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Wood Oven (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (5)
Live Sports (5)
Family Style (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Fireplace (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another delicious 😋 meal.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Another delicious 😋 meal.

Tags: Great Beer, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To be clear, I didn't experience outdoor ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

To be clear, I didn't experience outdoor dining on this visit. I've been here a number of times and have always enjoyed this restaurant. This time it was a quiet Wednesday lunchtime and the place was 2/3 empty. We had great service and as always, the food and beer were enjoyable. Looking forward to returning during the spring/summer and enjoying the outdoors.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

1. I left the info that this would be th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017
  1. I left the info that this would be the Birthday Party for 4 people in our party ----> restaurant did not ask ..../ ignored that information....

  2. the Cheese plate is not a cheese plate but a bread plate, the amount / quantity of cheese is neglectable ..... way too expensive for the amount of cheese provided --- this was also not addressed although we complained .....

  3. the price for a Preztel was $7.00 ---- was not gold plated ..... we had expected more for the $$$. Every street wonder in NYC has a better Pretzel ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

As always, Smylie Brothers was excellent ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As always, Smylie Brothers was excellent. The chili, the sliced brisket sandwich, the homemade fries are all always winners. Service is always superior; Smylie Bros has become a favorite destination of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Smylie never dissapoints. Best Corned b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Smylie never dissapoints. Best Corned beef in Chicago, great beer and BBQ.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We were way early for our reservation an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were way early for our reservation and were seated anyway. It wasn't crowded and we had leisurely but attentive service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Family Style, Comfort Food, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Casual, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

While the beer was good, the food was no ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

While the beer was good, the food was nothing too special. I got a brisket sandwich and for midwest BBQ it was average, but way too fatty. Nonetheless, it would be a cool place to have a chill night out with a group of friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent Food, Service and Ambiance! Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent Food, Service and Ambiance! Great place to get together with Friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All pleasant except that it was freezing ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

All pleasant except that it was freezing at our table. We were there for lunch (12:30) and all kept our coats and hats on for half the meal. By the time we were leaving a hour later, the heat had been on long enough to raise the temperature. But so unpleasant for the first 30 minutes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great dining room experience with a tabl ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great dining room experience with a table by the fireplace. We enjoyed a variety of the beers and BBQ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We brought friends here for their first ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We brought friends here for their first time and they thoroughly enjoyed it. That always seems to work: everyone treated us warmly and well; the menu is broad enough to provide something for everybody; the kitchen executes well, so that items that look good on the menu are actually enjoyable; the setting is comfortable and conducive to easy conversation; the prices are reasonable. We shall return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was bland. Poutine gravy was sweet ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was bland. Poutine gravy was sweet? Odd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

I have been to Smylie Brothers a number ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I have been to Smylie Brothers a number of times---the food is always excellent, the service is always exceptional (Erin was especially outstanding this past Saturday), and it is always a terrific dining experience. Very highly recommended!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good slightly BBQ focused pub food and s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good slightly BBQ focused pub food and some pizzas. Recent menu update seems to have added a few new options. Main room (most seating) is loud (not bad, just loud) off shoot rooms and outside are quieter. Service can be inattentive.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

good menu, easy access for people with d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

good menu, easy access for people with disabilities, could use a braille menu, good service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and ambience were good. Food was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service and ambience were good. Food was not that great. Beer selection is fine. 8 people were crammed on two tables and the place was NOT that busy. In the future we will patronize the place for light fare and beer, only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great place in Evanston, big with a smal ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great place in Evanston, big with a small feel atmosphere, good food, not tons of noise... all around great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were pleasantly surprised by the food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by the food and drinks at Smylie Brothers. They have a tasty and creative list of cocktails and a well stocked bar including many local whiskeys and liquors. My wife and shared the BBQ flight. The flavoring was excellent, though the briaket was a little dry. The wait staff was vey helpful with our special dietary needs. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great BBQ and overall food quality.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great BBQ and overall food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time at Smylie's and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our first time at Smylie's and we were really pleased with everything. We walked from the theater and was really wowed by the outside of the building and loved the interior as well. Our waitress was very attentive. We did start off with a flight of beers. I really liked that we could make our own flight. With the help of our waitress, we narrowed it down to 4 beers to taste. After sampling those, we narrowed to 2 which we ordered full glasses and enjoyed with our meals.

I opted for a salad and a bowl of chili. They have the BBQ Brisket in the chili and it was outstanding! My hubby went with the BBQ sampler plate which was a very generous size so he was able to take almost half of it home to enjoy later.

We definitely will be returning and can't wait to go when the weather is warm enough to enjoy the outdoor patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious ribs and burger!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicious ribs and burger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Brisket sandwich was very tasty but way ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Brisket sandwich was very tasty but way too fatty. The 5 oz lager was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Smylie's is a fantastic addition to our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Smylie's is a fantastic addition to our neighborhood! It TRULY has a community feel, each and every time we've eaten there. The beer is always fresh, the food, delicious, and the service, down to earth and friendly. We always seem to run into some we know at Smylie's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brisket and Mac N Cheese... great ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great brisket and Mac N Cheese... great drinks too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great drink, food and service. We will b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great drink, food and service. We will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't find better brisket anywhere. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

You can't find better brisket anywhere. The only downside was that we were seated directly below a ventilation vent and it blew hard all dinner. We all ate with our jackets on and the food got cold pretty fast. That was a shame because they also have really good fries. Otherwise, it was fine.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I come to Smylie’s frequently. Probably ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I come to Smylie’s frequently. Probably once a month. Warm, friendly atmosphere with a blend of families and after work folks. They have a reasonable selection of their own draft beers as well as guest taps. For food, I usually stick with their healthy options, like the burger with fries (very good fries) or a pizza but I’ve sampled the beet salad and it’s also good.

Waitstaff and receptionists have always been courteous and competent. Service is consistently good even during busy times.

The outdoor patio is a nice feature in the summer months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pretty good BBQ and house brewed beers. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Pretty good BBQ and house brewed beers. Kid friendly, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great midweek dinner. Brisket and pizza ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great midweek dinner. Brisket and pizza are so good. Many beers on tap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu had a limited selection. We ord ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The menu had a limited selection. We ordered the grilled cheese sandwich, steak with broccoli and a side of macaroni and cheese. None of which had any good qualities. The service was slow and did not offer to refresh our drinks. We will choose to eat some place else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

This place is great fun, and we enjoy tr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This place is great fun, and we enjoy trying out their seasonal beers. The food is pretty good, too. If I had any criticism, it would be that the tables on the main floor seem to be sort of haphazardly placed, with some way too close to others for comfort. I'd suggest a better placement plan for diners' and staff comfort in terms of navigating, having sufficient chair room, etc.

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great space. Fun brews to pick from. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great space. Fun brews to pick from. The food was good. Very nice waiters.

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Quick Bite, Authentic, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been to Smylie Bros on a number ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I have been to Smylie Bros on a number of occasions and it has been consistently excellent. The menu selections are quite varied and all well prepared. Our party of 4 were all pleased with their meals. I recommend all of the smoked meats of which the brisket is my favorite. Weather permitting, the outdoor dining patio is terrific.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Fun, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. The food and beers are ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Love this place. The food and beers are fanfuckintastic. The brewing and kitchen teams must be some grade A folks. PS, that chef guy is a stone cold fox!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

House beer was not my favorite. Food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

House beer was not my favorite. Food was good, particularly the chili and BBQ. However, the potato bacon pizza was WAY too salty.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was good but the waiter had a lo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was good but the waiter had a lot of tables so he didn't make it around as often as we would have liked. Food (bbq) was very good. Beer was also good. Had the farmhouse ale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

There is nothing wrong with Smylie Bros. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

There is nothing wrong with Smylie Bros.

The room is large.

The service is fine

The food is good.

From BBQ to burgers just about every palette can be feed.

All things are good.

Ad there is nothing bad about being good.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was average and we did not find ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was average and we did not find a really good/outstanding beer among those we tested (we did the sampler). Service was good. It is not high on our list for a return engagement.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Stopped here on a whim because we wanted ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Stopped here on a whim because we wanted to eat outside. Food was marginal at best. Won't return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant décor and atmosphere was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The restaurant décor and atmosphere was nice and probably would be more lively when they have a crowd. However, the food was not the best. I order the Truffle Mushroom pizza that was really unremarkable. It just was not flavorful enough for me. Usually the Truffle oil adds an additional flavor , but the pizza was plain tasting with mushrooms and spinach. Not what I expected at all. My client had the sampler platter of the smoked and barbeque meats. She said the meat did not have enough seasoning on it, was bland until she added the sweet sauce. I tasted a bit of the pulled pork and although it was tender, and you could taste that it was smoked, it still was not enough flavor for my client or me. The sauces are there to enhance, not cover up or make it taste better. Disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.