About Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.

1615 Oak Ave.
Evanston, IL 60201
View Larger Map

Brewpub serving Midwestern comfort food and Texas inspired BBQ. Reservations strongly encouraged.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
HOURS
Monday-CLOSED

KITCHEN HOURS
Sunday-Thursday 11AM-9PM
Friday & Saturday 11AM-10PM

Pizza bar remains open one hour after kitchen closes.

Bar remains open until the last pint has been poured.

Cross Street:
Davis & Church

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(224) 999-7320

Website:
http://www.smyliebros.com/

Catering:
Have Smylie Brothers barbecue and beer at your next event with our catering options.

http://www.smyliebros.com/menu/catering/

Public Transit:
Metra Train, Davis Purple Line Stop, CTA 93 Bus

Executive Chef:
Grant Carey

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. is the perfect place to hold your next event. For event details contact our Event Coordinator, Katey O'Brion. 224-999-7320 or kobrion@smyliebros.com

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 4:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. is the perfect place to hold your next event. For event details please contact our Event Coordinator.

Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Evanston ›

good for groups (44)
neighborhood gem (41)
kid-friendly (27)
See All
great for outdoor dining (25)
great for lunch (25)
fit for foodies (20)
vibrant bar scene (17)
hot spot (11)
special occasion (7)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
romantic (3)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Limited food menu, good beer and service

Dined 4 days ago

Food menu was very limited and mostly meat, but beer and service were good. Would recommend for drinks, but not dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

We loved this place although it was a bi ...

Dined 4 days ago

We loved this place although it was a bit loud. The smoked meat was fantastic! Our waiter gave us some excellent recommendations. We will definitely go back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Bisket Ever

Dined 5 days ago

I had never been here before but went under a recommendation of a friend. I had what they call The Flight which is the greatest barbecue sampling and included the most tender beef brisket I have ever eaten!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and energy. Very accomm ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great atmosphere and energy. Very accommodating staff and attentive to customer needs. We were there to celebrate a college graduation, and had a great time. Very relaxing atmosphere, very good food, and the beer was absolutely fantastic. We will definitely be going back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

The bbq flight was great and the fries w ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The bbq flight was great and the fries with the rib rub were excellent.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Good food, poor service.

Dined on May 10, 2016

Enjoyed the food. However we went to celebrate a birthday and were hoping for a friendly welcoming experience to help make it special. Very abrupt waitress... and nothing says "happy birthday... now leave" like being handed the bill the second we finished eating! Not even a chance at the dessert menu much less a birthday dessert as I had tried to plan when I made the reservation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Between us my husband and I had the chil ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Between us my husband and I had the chili, some ribs and the cheeseburger. All delish! Especially the burger with its Smylie sauce!

food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Great Food

Dined on May 1, 2016

It was a Saturday night, so it was very busy. Took some time for our server to take our order. 4 other tables in our section were also waiting for a server. Once he came and took our order, things went well! Food was awesome! The brisket was the best we have had in the city. The MAC & CHEESE was so good we ordered a second one to take home! Definitely try a little bit of everything if you are with a group.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Asked for the bill to be divided into 2 ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Asked for the bill to be divided into 2 orders. They just split the bill in half and were not very willing to divide into w bills by orders.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great local spot. Very good food and ser ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Great local spot. Very good food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was outstanding. Pu ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. Pulled pork, bacon sausage, mussels, chili... everything was flawless - just be prepared for a backup beer order in case they're low on or out of their crafts!

food5
ambience4
service5

Have dined here several times. Food is t ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Have dined here several times. Food is tasty, beers are seasonal, desserts are homemade. The Purple Line is my fav.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good BBQ

Dined on April 13, 2016

I've eaten at Smylie's several times and always have enjoyed the food and atmosphere. It's a great neighborhood place with a wonderful menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Such a great place to eat! I wish I coul ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Such a great place to eat! I wish I could hear. It's not a diss on the restaurant; I was the sixty year old that decided to eat there knowing it is full of very 'live' surfaces. Just beware if energetic noise levels are difficult for you for whatever reason.

food3
ambience4
service3

First the at this restaurant! Ribs were ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

First the at this restaurant! Ribs were tender and very good! Dudes were very good - Mac n cheese and great fries We ordered the brisket and it was total fat and dry! They gave us a free dessert to make up for the bad brisket sandwich!

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Service Good...Sausage Not So Much

Dined on April 1, 2016

Our server as terrific although it did take a bit longer than it should have for her to show up after we were seated. The pizza was good and the bert salad was great but the bacon sausage was horribly dry. We never send things back but this time we felt we had to call attention to a batch that had been badly formulated. Our server was very accomodating and a new entree was substitued without a fuss. Beer selection is awesome!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic ribs!!!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic ribs!!!

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was great, the special menu was a t ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Food was great, the special menu was a total deal and our waiter was kind enough to let us sit and drink and eat as we pleased. We will def. be back to check out more of the menu. The place itself is really large and an amazing atmosphere.

food4
ambience5
service4

Smylie Brothers is our "go-to" restauran ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Smylie Brothers is our "go-to" restaurant favored by everyone in our family young and old. The chili is a mainstay. We had 3 bowls, the truffle pizza, a great salad and a big burger between us and everyone was happy and content. Service was good and our waitress came by just the right amount of time. The Blood Orange beer is excellent. We're so happy it's back in season. Don't let the color fool you. It's lighter than it looks.

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Slow service

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Venue is awesome and the food is good, but our waiter was very slow and not well informed about the food or beers. He may have been new on the job, but then he should have had an experienced wait staff helping him.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Friendly Place for Friends

Dined on March 10, 2016

First of all, any time you stumble upon a happy hour at an establishment with excellent beer, it's a win. A friend of mine and I went out to dinner to catch up, and this was the perfect place to meet. It's just off the Davis Metra, has decent parking, and the noise level was beautiful. We both loved our meals, I took full advantage of happy hour pricing, and the staff was beyond warm and friendly. We can't wait to come back when it's patio season again!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

THE Company Burger

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

When I am searching for THE burger that will satisfy me, I keep coming back to the Company Burger at Smylie Brothers. My wife said it's like a REALLY GOOD BIG MAC! That kind of sums it up. The service has always been good, too. The only thing I'd like different is to have the sound on for the Blackhawks game, but I understand that they are not a true Sports Bar.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Service Bad Food

Dined on February 28, 2016

I ordered the sampler, Pulled Pork was Dry Brisket was very fatty Hot Link was burnt Ribs were average. Only 2 choices of average BBQ sauce Good Mac N Cheese

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good lunch place.

Dined on February 26, 2016

Very nice interior. For a brew pub it was very good. None of us had beer, but two had soups and both thought they were very good. Spinach salad got rave review. I had the pulled pork sand - pork was good, but no coleslaw - just a ton of french fries. Would go again for lunch, but probably not for dinner. Service was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ribs-Come and get'em

Dined on February 22, 2016

Sit down ribs have been hard to come by for awhile in Evanston, but now Smylie has some good ones. The sides are good, too. Especially liked the beans. Don't like ribs? Try the pizza. It's also top notch.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great BBQ.

Dined on February 21, 2016

The poutine was excellent. The portions were too much for one person to eat. Great beer. They let us sit and enjoy our meal and didn't push us out.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lots ' of smiles at Smylie Bros

Dined on February 19, 2016

Went with two friends, one from Evanston, who had never been to Smylie; we had a great waiter and the food was delicious. One of the friends was observing Lent and was afraid she might not find something on the menu, selected the mushroom pizza and was very pleased. The rest of us had pulled pork sandwiches and enjoyed them thoroughly, also kudos on the french fries, crispy, tasty, etc. Also enjoyed desserts, couldn't finish, I was so full. We'll be back and I suspect that those who tried it for the first time will also be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beer Burgers Fries Beer

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Have eaten here several times and food consistently good. Beer is good. I am vegetarian and options are limited but tasty. For carnivores who want a great burger with fresh cut fries and beer, this is nirvana. Pretzel appetizer is a great starter. Mashed potatoes side is yummy. Mac and Cheese is good (not as thick as I like but great cheese combination). Desserts enjoyable. I think this would be a great place to watch a game with friends!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Very good barbecue, good in-house beers

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Our second time here and only the chicken was a disappointment. Order the combo--ribs, pulled pork and brisket--all delicious, plus a side (the spoon bread is my choice). Enough leftovers for 2 full sandwiches the following day. Loved the house porter, although other beers are also good. Wonderful malted caramel ice cream. Mediocre service and loud, but fine for this type of food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Good drink, good app, dry dinner

Dined on February 5, 2016

The pretzel/cheese/mustard appetizer and garlic mashed potatoes were the best foods I ate. The cucumber tom collins was tasty. Neither my date nor I enjoyed our entrees. He got the pulled pork and I got a pulled chicken sandwich. Both were dry. The atmosphere was nice except for an obnoxious child who wouldn't sit down. Her grownups didn't seem to mind that she was walking around the dining room. Probably wouldn't go back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good beer

Dined on February 4, 2016

Skyline has many kind of bever and seasonal too. Food is very smokie and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service5

We enjoyed having a chance to sample sev ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

We enjoyed having a chance to sample several brews and great service. But the food was very disappointing. Flavorless bbq'd chicken and dry, stringy ribs were the 'highlights' of our meal. Would return for the beer but would find another spot to dine.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Beer menu. Great food and good se ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great Beer menu. Great food and good service. We will go again

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Something for everyone!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Our family ordered a little bit of everything and the food was excellent: wood fired pizza, brisket/pulled pork, lentil soup, steak salad... I also enjoyed a beer flight. Great spot for lunch/dinner! We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Neighborhood find

Dined on January 28, 2016

I've been to Smylie Bros. several times since it opened and have taken friends and family there. I've enjoyed the beers, the food, the desserts and the friendly service. Try it, you will like it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Smylie - poor service

Dined on January 24, 2016

Have been to Smylie Brothers several times. Last weekend we had a group of 8. Our table was close to door and it was very cold when people entered or left. Food was less than memorable. But my strongest complaint is with the aloof service. Our waiter seemed to be auditioning for a comedy troupe. His childish jokes and silly innuendos were very awkward. When we ordered a second round of drinks he acted like it wasn't his job to deliver our drinks. I guess he was too busy thinking of his next pun or knock knock joke. Next time we'll sit at bar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Buger around

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

I love this Evanston gem. It never fails to impress. Great variety of beers and cocktails and the servers are so nice and accommodating. Hands down best Buger I've had in years!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Neighborhood Brewery

vip
Dined on January 19, 2016

I had a great time at Smylie Brother Brewery. The beers are great and the cocktail program is very inventive and robust, which was a pleasant surprise to me at a beer focused venue. The food was delicious, we enjoyed the beer pretzel and mussels in ale. Both scrumptious. Our friend had the potato bacon pizza, which he raved about. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4

Great BBQ and their craft beers hold the ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Great BBQ and their craft beers hold their own against the craft beer craze going on these days. Great place to watch football or other sports.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

skip the pizza

Dined on January 9, 2016

nice spinach salad (only salad offering); ribs and pulled pork very good; brisket tender and good flavor but dry; bbq pizza a disappointment, sausage pizza better but overall skip pizza and go for bbq. cocktail menu nice but overpriced.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.