About Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.

1615 Oak Ave.
Evanston, IL 60201
View Larger Map

Brewpub serving Midwestern comfort food and Texas inspired BBQ. Reservations strongly encouraged.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
HOURS
Monday-CLOSED

KITCHEN HOURS
Sunday-Thursday 11AM-9PM
Friday & Saturday 11AM-10PM

Pizza bar remains open one hour after kitchen closes.

Bar remains open until the last pint has been poured.

Cross Street:
Davis & Church

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(224) 999-7320

Website:
http://www.smyliebros.com/

Catering:
Have Smylie Brothers barbecue and beer at your next event with our catering options.

http://www.smyliebros.com/menu/catering/

Public Transit:
Metra Train, Davis Purple Line Stop, CTA 93 Bus

Executive Chef:
Grant Carey

Private Party Facilities:
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. is the perfect place to hold your next event. For event details please contact our Event Coordinator, kobrion@smyliebros.com

http://www.smyliebros.com/menu/private-events/

Private Party Contact:
Katey O'Brion: 2249997320x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., Evanston, IL
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., Evanston, IL
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., Evanston, IL
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., Evanston, IL
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., Evanston, IL
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., Evanston, IL
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., Evanston, IL
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co., Evanston, IL

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Casual (15)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Great Beer (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fun (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Live Sports (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Family Style (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Fireplace (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

good menu, easy access for people with d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

good menu, easy access for people with disabilities, could use a braille menu, good service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and ambience were good. Food was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service and ambience were good. Food was not that great. Beer selection is fine. 8 people were crammed on two tables and the place was NOT that busy. In the future we will patronize the place for light fare and beer, only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great place in Evanston, big with a smal ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great place in Evanston, big with a small feel atmosphere, good food, not tons of noise... all around great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were pleasantly surprised by the food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by the food and drinks at Smylie Brothers. They have a tasty and creative list of cocktails and a well stocked bar including many local whiskeys and liquors. My wife and shared the BBQ flight. The flavoring was excellent, though the briaket was a little dry. The wait staff was vey helpful with our special dietary needs. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great BBQ and overall food quality.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great BBQ and overall food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time at Smylie's and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our first time at Smylie's and we were really pleased with everything. We walked from the theater and was really wowed by the outside of the building and loved the interior as well. Our waitress was very attentive. We did start off with a flight of beers. I really liked that we could make our own flight. With the help of our waitress, we narrowed it down to 4 beers to taste. After sampling those, we narrowed to 2 which we ordered full glasses and enjoyed with our meals.

I opted for a salad and a bowl of chili. They have the BBQ Brisket in the chili and it was outstanding! My hubby went with the BBQ sampler plate which was a very generous size so he was able to take almost half of it home to enjoy later.

We definitely will be returning and can't wait to go when the weather is warm enough to enjoy the outdoor patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious ribs and burger!

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicious ribs and burger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Brisket sandwich was very tasty but way ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Brisket sandwich was very tasty but way too fatty. The 5 oz lager was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Smylie's is a fantastic addition to our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Smylie's is a fantastic addition to our neighborhood! It TRULY has a community feel, each and every time we've eaten there. The beer is always fresh, the food, delicious, and the service, down to earth and friendly. We always seem to run into some we know at Smylie's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brisket and Mac N Cheese... great ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great brisket and Mac N Cheese... great drinks too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great drink, food and service. We will b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great drink, food and service. We will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't find better brisket anywhere. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

You can't find better brisket anywhere. The only downside was that we were seated directly below a ventilation vent and it blew hard all dinner. We all ate with our jackets on and the food got cold pretty fast. That was a shame because they also have really good fries. Otherwise, it was fine.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I come to Smylie’s frequently. Probably ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I come to Smylie’s frequently. Probably once a month. Warm, friendly atmosphere with a blend of families and after work folks. They have a reasonable selection of their own draft beers as well as guest taps. For food, I usually stick with their healthy options, like the burger with fries (very good fries) or a pizza but I’ve sampled the beet salad and it’s also good.

Waitstaff and receptionists have always been courteous and competent. Service is consistently good even during busy times.

The outdoor patio is a nice feature in the summer months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great midweek dinner. Brisket and pizza ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great midweek dinner. Brisket and pizza are so good. Many beers on tap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu had a limited selection. We ord ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The menu had a limited selection. We ordered the grilled cheese sandwich, steak with broccoli and a side of macaroni and cheese. None of which had any good qualities. The service was slow and did not offer to refresh our drinks. We will choose to eat some place else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

This place is great fun, and we enjoy tr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This place is great fun, and we enjoy trying out their seasonal beers. The food is pretty good, too. If I had any criticism, it would be that the tables on the main floor seem to be sort of haphazardly placed, with some way too close to others for comfort. I'd suggest a better placement plan for diners' and staff comfort in terms of navigating, having sufficient chair room, etc.

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great space. Fun brews to pick from. T ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great space. Fun brews to pick from. The food was good. Very nice waiters.

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Quick Bite, Authentic, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been to Smylie Bros on a number ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I have been to Smylie Bros on a number of occasions and it has been consistently excellent. The menu selections are quite varied and all well prepared. Our party of 4 were all pleased with their meals. I recommend all of the smoked meats of which the brisket is my favorite. Weather permitting, the outdoor dining patio is terrific.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Fun, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. The food and beers are ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Love this place. The food and beers are fanfuckintastic. The brewing and kitchen teams must be some grade A folks. PS, that chef guy is a stone cold fox!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

House beer was not my favorite. Food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

House beer was not my favorite. Food was good, particularly the chili and BBQ. However, the potato bacon pizza was WAY too salty.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was good but the waiter had a lo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was good but the waiter had a lot of tables so he didn't make it around as often as we would have liked. Food (bbq) was very good. Beer was also good. Had the farmhouse ale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

There is nothing wrong with Smylie Bros. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

There is nothing wrong with Smylie Bros.

The room is large.

The service is fine

The food is good.

From BBQ to burgers just about every palette can be feed.

All things are good.

Ad there is nothing bad about being good.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was average and we did not find ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was average and we did not find a really good/outstanding beer among those we tested (we did the sampler). Service was good. It is not high on our list for a return engagement.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Stopped here on a whim because we wanted ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Stopped here on a whim because we wanted to eat outside. Food was marginal at best. Won't return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant décor and atmosphere was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The restaurant décor and atmosphere was nice and probably would be more lively when they have a crowd. However, the food was not the best. I order the Truffle Mushroom pizza that was really unremarkable. It just was not flavorful enough for me. Usually the Truffle oil adds an additional flavor , but the pizza was plain tasting with mushrooms and spinach. Not what I expected at all. My client had the sampler platter of the smoked and barbeque meats. She said the meat did not have enough seasoning on it, was bland until she added the sweet sauce. I tasted a bit of the pulled pork and although it was tender, and you could taste that it was smoked, it still was not enough flavor for my client or me. The sauces are there to enhance, not cover up or make it taste better. Disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

While the "bar food" was pretty standard ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

While the "bar food" was pretty standard fare, they had a nice selection of brewed-onsite craft beer. Our server was great. Good first-time venue to catch up with old friends (glad I found it in time to suggest it).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My group of 8 had a lovely meal at this ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My group of 8 had a lovely meal at this restaurant, and we can't wait to go back. The beers and food were fantastic, and our server was very attentive and friendly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too many decent barbecue places to recom ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Too many decent barbecue places to recommend this one-mushy smoked meats (but tasty sauces. Interesting cocktails and good wine list. Well-chosen beer selection . Vibrant ambiance inside and out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Love the atmosphere, drink list, service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love the atmosphere, drink list, service and food at Smylie Brothers!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

mussels inedible poutine very good pulle ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

mussels inedible

poutine very good

pulled pork dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

Sat outdoors in front and had a great me ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Sat outdoors in front and had a great meal. Outdoor seating preferable for a quieter dining experience. Great value.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful service. The food was excellen ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wonderful service. The food was excellent all the way around. The flat iron steak special was some of the best flat iron steak I have ever had. Loved the outdoor patio and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an early dinner here on the patio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had an early dinner here on the patio. The food was ok, but it took a long time for a server to show up at our table. Then part of one person's entree arrived almost immediately before drinks were even on the table, so we sent it back until the drinks and the rest of the food was ready. The patio is a great spot to eat, and the inside of the restaurant has a lot of ambience as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

The ribs were very dry and over cooked! ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The ribs were very dry and over cooked! Burned even! Too much dry rub, didn't enhance the pork, just covered.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a 7:30 reservation, but because o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a 7:30 reservation, but because of a "glitch" they just seated everyone regardless of reservation, so it was after 8 before we got our table. So my experience did not start out well. However, the service was very good - our server was helpful, enthusiastic, and attentive - and the food was good. It was quite loud, but that's not the worst thing. Still, it isn't convenient for me and I wouldn't make a special effort to go there. If you live in the area, it is worth it if you love lots of meat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Artic char was over cooked and dry unfor ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Artic char was over cooked and dry unfortunately. Waitress slow to take order.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Awesome pizza and great soup

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Awesome pizza and great soup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great beer - we particularly enjoyed the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great beer - we particularly enjoyed the beer and whiskey flight. Although this restaurant focuses on barbecue, the wood fired pizza was also very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pizza and Reuben sandwich were delicious

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Pizza and Reuben sandwich were delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were not expecting a great meal after ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were not expecting a great meal after reading a few poor reviews, but tried it anyway. The poor reviews we read were way off. Our party included four adults and two pre-schoolers. Two of the adults were from Austin TX, a place that has some good BBQ. The smoked brisket sandwich Smylie's served was delicious, big, and memorable. I am looking forward to a return just for that. I am also looking forward to a return for the pizza, which had a flavorful thin crust and was enjoyed by all at our table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.