About Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.

1615 Oak Ave.
Evanston, IL 60201
View Larger Map

Brewpub serving Midwestern comfort food and Texas inspired BBQ. Reservations strongly encouraged.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
HOURS
Monday-CLOSED

KITCHEN HOURS
Sunday-Thursday 11AM-9PM
Friday & Saturday 11AM-10PM

Pizza bar remains open one hour after kitchen closes.

Bar remains open until the last pint has been poured.

Cross Street:
Davis & Church

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(224) 999-7320

Website:
http://www.smyliebros.com/

Catering:
Have Smylie Brothers barbecue and beer at your next event with our catering options.

http://www.smyliebros.com/menu/catering/

Public Transit:
Metra Train, Davis Purple Line Stop, CTA 93 Bus

Executive Chef:
Grant Carey

Private Party Facilities:
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. is the perfect place to hold your next event. For event details please contact our Event Coordinator.

Private Party Contact:
Katey O'Brion: 2249997320

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. is the perfect place to hold your next event. For event details contact our Event Coordinator, Katey O'Brion. 224-999-7320 or kobrion@smyliebros.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Evanston ›

great for outdoor dining (39)
neighborhood gem (38)
good for groups (36)
See All
kid-friendly (29)
great for lunch (20)
fit for foodies (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
hot spot (10)
special occasion (8)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
notable wine list (2)
scenic view (2)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome pizza and great soup

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome pizza and great soup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great beer - we particularly enjoyed the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great beer - we particularly enjoyed the beer and whiskey flight. Although this restaurant focuses on barbecue, the wood fired pizza was also very good.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pizza and Reuben sandwich were delicious

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Pizza and Reuben sandwich were delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were not expecting a great meal after ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were not expecting a great meal after reading a few poor reviews, but tried it anyway. The poor reviews we read were way off. Our party included four adults and two pre-schoolers. Two of the adults were from Austin TX, a place that has some good BBQ. The smoked brisket sandwich Smylie's served was delicious, big, and memorable. I am looking forward to a return just for that. I am also looking forward to a return for the pizza, which had a flavorful thin crust and was enjoyed by all at our table.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our first time to this spot. Went for th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our first time to this spot. Went for the brew and barbecue and were not disappointed. We chose a flight of beers. All were very tasty. The combo plate gives you pulled pork, brisket & 4 barbecue ribs. All were tender and delicious. The ribs were nicely spiced with a little kick. The mac & cheese was one of the best I've ever had at a restaurant. Corn pudding was dense and flavorful. You MUST get the poutine fries for an appetizer. They are "seasoned" with pork belly -- amazing. Nice patio for outside drinking. We'll be back. Downside? Parking can be tricky. They don't have a lot.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Go for the ambience. Ribs were dry, port ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Go for the ambience. Ribs were dry, portions small but the pizza was Great!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We found this restaurant pricey for pret ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We found this restaurant pricey for pretty mediocre food. We had two barbecue sandwiches, one meager fish entree, a beer and a glass of wine for $70.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Took my husband and kids for Father's Da ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Took my husband and kids for Father's Day. Great barbecue food, friendly staff, husband loved the beer.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Smiley's quite a few tim ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been to Smiley's quite a few times but this was by far our worst service experience. Waited more than 10 minutes just to be greeted by our waiter; another 10 minutes for him to ask for our drinks; another 10-15 if not more for him to ask for our order, etc. We would ask for extra napkins or more water and he would completely forget. Great food, awful service, most likely just from this one waiter, but puts a damper on the entire idea of service for the place.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Just loved how the exposed wood in the c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Just loved how the exposed wood in the ceiling!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had the nicest waiter.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We had the nicest waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Happy hour specials

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Happy hour specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Friendly, lively atmosphere. Their was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Friendly, lively atmosphere. Their was a variety on the menu so everyone had something to pick from, including two delicious vegetarian options. The Flat iron steak was tender and cooked perfectly to my medium rare request. The side dish of broccoli and mushrooms was good except it could have used more mushrooms.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Ribs, Mac& Cheese full a flavor not Sauce

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Service & Food was Outstanding ! Ribs had nice dry rub & sauce.

Mac & Cheese very nicely blended.

Now the Bad ...NO Bathrooms upstairs. Keep the Upstairs Children Free . Not free food free from

Children ! There was a group that kept growing by our table and they took ever open chair they

could find. Very Annoying.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

The Outdoors is the Real Food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My brother and family requested that we eat outdoors. I think of Smylies as the most attractive outdoor dining in Evanston. The only negative is that while you can make a reservation, you cannot reserve an outside table, which was the main reason I chose the restaurant. Everyone was very happy with the menu and their food choices and once we were seated (in about 20 minutes), we had a great time, definitely bolstered by the ambiance of the outdoor venue.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The weather was perfect to enjoy a wonde ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The weather was perfect to enjoy a wonderful dinner on the comfortable patio. This was our first alfresco dining here, since we usually were dining in less desirable weather. The food was terrific and the environment enhanced the experience.

I will continue to explore the menu and the beverages at this wonderful place.

I usually try the home brews, but had the Virtue Percheron Cider this visit. It was the perfect pairing for appetizers and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our go-to place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

A great visit as usual. Attentive server, good choice of beers, nice venue for a visit with friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

service getting bad

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Since patio opened for summer service is confusing and slow. They need to figure this out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I dined with a friend who loves beer. I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I dined with a friend who loves beer. I'm not a fan of beer was delighted with my root beer and hamburger on a gluten-free bun. The weather was mild and atmosphere was perfect for conversation. The service was excellent. I have to admit, it was the best hamburger I've had in a very long time. My friend enjoyed her mussels. Nice experience. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful evening on the comfo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a delightful evening on the comfortable outside patio. Food and service were both very good -- as usual. Particularly enjoyable were the BBQ items, including a side of hot links. Pizza and burgers were also top-notch and the beer specials topped it off nicely. We will return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Limited food menu, good beer and service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food menu was very limited and mostly meat, but beer and service were good. Would recommend for drinks, but not dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We loved this place although it was a bi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We loved this place although it was a bit loud. The smoked meat was fantastic! Our waiter gave us some excellent recommendations. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Improve on service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was good but our server was slow and inattentive.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Best Bisket Ever

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I had never been here before but went under a recommendation of a friend. I had what they call The Flight which is the greatest barbecue sampling and included the most tender beef brisket I have ever eaten!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and energy. Very accomm ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great atmosphere and energy. Very accommodating staff and attentive to customer needs. We were there to celebrate a college graduation, and had a great time. Very relaxing atmosphere, very good food, and the beer was absolutely fantastic. We will definitely be going back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The bbq flight was great and the fries w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The bbq flight was great and the fries with the rib rub were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good food, poor service.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Enjoyed the food. However we went to celebrate a birthday and were hoping for a friendly welcoming experience to help make it special. Very abrupt waitress... and nothing says "happy birthday... now leave" like being handed the bill the second we finished eating! Not even a chance at the dessert menu much less a birthday dessert as I had tried to plan when I made the reservation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Between us my husband and I had the chil ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Between us my husband and I had the chili, some ribs and the cheeseburger. All delish!

Especially the burger with its Smylie sauce!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

It was a Saturday night, so it was very busy. Took some time for our server to take our order. 4 other tables in our section were also waiting for a server. Once he came and took our order, things went well! Food was awesome! The brisket was the best we have had in the city. The MAC & CHEESE was so good we ordered a second one to take home! Definitely try a little bit of everything if you are with a group.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Asked for the bill to be divided into 2 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Asked for the bill to be divided into 2 orders. They just split the bill in half and were not very willing to divide into w bills by orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great local spot. Very good food and ser ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Great local spot. Very good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was outstanding. Pu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. Pulled pork, bacon sausage, mussels, chili... everything was flawless - just be prepared for a backup beer order in case they're low on or out of their crafts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have dined here several times. Food is t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Have dined here several times. Food is tasty, beers are seasonal, desserts are homemade. The Purple Line is my fav.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good BBQ

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

I've eaten at Smylie's several times and always have enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

It's a great neighborhood place with a wonderful menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Such a great place to eat! I wish I coul ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Such a great place to eat! I wish I could hear. It's not a diss on the restaurant; I was the sixty year old that decided to eat there knowing it is full of very 'live' surfaces. Just beware if energetic noise levels are difficult for you for whatever reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First the at this restaurant! Ribs were ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

First the at this restaurant! Ribs were tender and very good! Dudes were very good - Mac n cheese and great fries We ordered the brisket and it was total fat and dry! They gave us a free dessert to make up for the bad brisket sandwich!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Service Good...Sausage Not So Much

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Our server as terrific although it did take a bit longer than it should have for her to show up after we were seated. The pizza was good and the bert salad was great but the bacon sausage was horribly dry. We never send things back but this time we felt we had to call attention to a batch that had been badly formulated. Our server was very accomodating and a new entree was substitued without a fuss. Beer selection is awesome!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Fantastic ribs!!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic ribs!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great, the special menu was a t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Food was great, the special menu was a total deal and our waiter was kind enough to let us sit and drink and eat as we pleased. We will def. be back to check out more of the menu. The place itself is really large and an amazing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Smylie Brothers is our "go-to" restauran ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Smylie Brothers is our "go-to" restaurant favored by everyone in our family young and old. The chili is a mainstay. We had 3 bowls, the truffle pizza, a great salad and a big burger between us and everyone was happy and content. Service was good and our waitress came by just the right amount of time. The Blood Orange beer is excellent. We're so happy it's back in season. Don't let the color fool you. It's lighter than it looks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.