About Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.

1615 Oak Ave.
Evanston, IL 60201
View Larger Map

Brewpub serving Midwestern comfort food and Texas inspired BBQ. Reservations strongly encouraged.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
HOURS
Monday-CLOSED

KITCHEN HOURS
Sunday-Thursday 11AM-9PM
Friday & Saturday 11AM-10PM

Pizza bar remains open one hour after kitchen closes.

Bar remains open until the last pint has been poured.

Cross Street:
Davis & Church

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(224) 999-7320

Website:
http://www.smyliebros.com/

Catering:
Have Smylie Brothers barbecue and beer at your next event with our catering options.

http://www.smyliebros.com/menu/catering/

Public Transit:
Metra Train, Davis Purple Line Stop, CTA 93 Bus

Executive Chef:
Grant Carey

Private Party Facilities:
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. is the perfect place to hold your next event. For event details please contact our Event Coordinator.

Private Party Contact:
Katey O'Brion: 2249997320

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. is the perfect place to hold your next event. For event details contact our Event Coordinator, Katey O'Brion. 224-999-7320 or kobrion@smyliebros.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Good for Groups (42)
See All
Kid-friendly (30)
Great for Lunch (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Special Occasion (9)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Romantic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

There is nothing wrong with Smylie Bros. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

There is nothing wrong with Smylie Bros.

The room is large.

The service is fine

The food is good.

From BBQ to burgers just about every palette can be feed.

All things are good.

Ad there is nothing bad about being good.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Stopped here on a whim because we wanted ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Stopped here on a whim because we wanted to eat outside. Food was marginal at best. Won't return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant décor and atmosphere was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The restaurant décor and atmosphere was nice and probably would be more lively when they have a crowd. However, the food was not the best. I order the Truffle Mushroom pizza that was really unremarkable. It just was not flavorable enough for me. Usually the Truffle oil adds an additional flavor , but the pizza was plain tasting with mushrooms and spinach. Not what I expected at all. My client had the sampler platter of the smoked and barbeque meats. She said the meat did not have enough seasoning on it, was bland until she added the sweet sauce. I tasted a bit of the pulled pork and although it was tender, and you could taste that it was smoked, it still was not enough flavor for my client or me. The sauces are there to enhance, not cover up or make it taste better. Disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

While the "bar food" was pretty standard ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

While the "bar food" was pretty standard fare, they had a nice selection of brewed-onsite craft beer. Our server was great. Good first-time venue to catch up with old friends (glad I found it in time to suggest it).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My group of 8 had a lovely meal at this ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My group of 8 had a lovely meal at this restaurant, and we can't wait to go back. The beers and food were fantastic, and our server was very attentive and friendly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too many decent barbecue places to recom ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Too many decent barbecue places to recommend this one-mushy smoked meats (but tasty sauces. Interesting cocktails and good wine list. Well-chosen beer selection . Vibrant ambiance inside and out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Love the atmosphere, drink list, service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love the atmosphere, drink list, service and food at Smylie Brothers!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

mussels inedible poutine very good pulle ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

mussels inedible

poutine very good

pulled pork dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

Sat outdoors in front and had a great me ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Sat outdoors in front and had a great meal. Outdoor seating preferable for a quieter dining experience. Great value.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful service. The food was excellen ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wonderful service. The food was excellent all the way around. The flat iron steak special was some of the best flat iron steak I have ever had. Loved the outdoor patio and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an early dinner here on the patio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had an early dinner here on the patio. The food was ok, but it took a long time for a server to show up at our table. Then part of one person's entree arrived almost immediately before drinks were even on the table, so we sent it back until the drinks and the rest of the food was ready. The patio is a great spot to eat, and the inside of the restaurant has a lot of ambience as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

The ribs were very dry and over cooked! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The ribs were very dry and over cooked! Burned even! Too much dry rub, didn't enhance the pork, just covered.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a 7:30 reservation, but because o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a 7:30 reservation, but because of a "glitch" they just seated everyone regardless of reservation, so it was after 8 before we got our table. So my experience did not start out well. However, the service was very good - our server was helpful, enthusiastic, and attentive - and the food was good. It was quite loud, but that's not the worst thing. Still, it isn't convenient for me and I wouldn't make a special effort to go there. If you live in the area, it is worth it if you love lots of meat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Artic char was over cooked and dry unfor ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Artic char was over cooked and dry unfortunately. Waitress slow to take order.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Awesome pizza and great soup

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Awesome pizza and great soup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great beer - we particularly enjoyed the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great beer - we particularly enjoyed the beer and whiskey flight. Although this restaurant focuses on barbecue, the wood fired pizza was also very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pizza and Reuben sandwich were delicious

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Pizza and Reuben sandwich were delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were not expecting a great meal after ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were not expecting a great meal after reading a few poor reviews, but tried it anyway. The poor reviews we read were way off. Our party included four adults and two pre-schoolers. Two of the adults were from Austin TX, a place that has some good BBQ. The smoked brisket sandwich Smylie's served was delicious, big, and memorable. I am looking forward to a return just for that. I am also looking forward to a return for the pizza, which had a flavorful thin crust and was enjoyed by all at our table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our first time to this spot. Went for th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our first time to this spot. Went for the brew and barbecue and were not disappointed. We chose a flight of beers. All were very tasty. The combo plate gives you pulled pork, brisket & 4 barbecue ribs. All were tender and delicious. The ribs were nicely spiced with a little kick. The mac & cheese was one of the best I've ever had at a restaurant. Corn pudding was dense and flavorful. You MUST get the poutine fries for an appetizer. They are "seasoned" with pork belly -- amazing. Nice patio for outside drinking. We'll be back. Downside? Parking can be tricky. They don't have a lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Go for the ambience. Ribs were dry, port ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Go for the ambience. Ribs were dry, portions small but the pizza was Great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We found this restaurant pricey for pret ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We found this restaurant pricey for pretty mediocre food. We had two barbecue sandwiches, one meager fish entree, a beer and a glass of wine for $70.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Took my husband and kids for Father's Da ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Took my husband and kids for Father's Day. Great barbecue food, friendly staff, husband loved the beer.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Smiley's quite a few tim ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been to Smiley's quite a few times but this was by far our worst service experience. Waited more than 10 minutes just to be greeted by our waiter; another 10 minutes for him to ask for our drinks; another 10-15 if not more for him to ask for our order, etc. We would ask for extra napkins or more water and he would completely forget. Great food, awful service, most likely just from this one waiter, but puts a damper on the entire idea of service for the place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Just loved how the exposed wood in the c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Just loved how the exposed wood in the ceiling!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had the nicest waiter.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We had the nicest waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Happy hour specials

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Happy hour specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Friendly, lively atmosphere. Their was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Friendly, lively atmosphere. Their was a variety on the menu so everyone had something to pick from, including two delicious vegetarian options. The Flat iron steak was tender and cooked perfectly to my medium rare request. The side dish of broccoli and mushrooms was good except it could have used more mushrooms.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Ribs, Mac& Cheese full a flavor not Sauce

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Service & Food was Outstanding ! Ribs had nice dry rub & sauce.

Mac & Cheese very nicely blended.

Now the Bad ...NO Bathrooms upstairs. Keep the Upstairs Children Free . Not free food free from

Children ! There was a group that kept growing by our table and they took ever open chair they

could find. Very Annoying.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

The Outdoors is the Real Food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My brother and family requested that we eat outdoors. I think of Smylies as the most attractive outdoor dining in Evanston. The only negative is that while you can make a reservation, you cannot reserve an outside table, which was the main reason I chose the restaurant. Everyone was very happy with the menu and their food choices and once we were seated (in about 20 minutes), we had a great time, definitely bolstered by the ambiance of the outdoor venue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The weather was perfect to enjoy a wonde ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The weather was perfect to enjoy a wonderful dinner on the comfortable patio. This was our first alfresco dining here, since we usually were dining in less desirable weather. The food was terrific and the environment enhanced the experience.

I will continue to explore the menu and the beverages at this wonderful place.

I usually try the home brews, but had the Virtue Percheron Cider this visit. It was the perfect pairing for appetizers and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our go-to place

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

A great visit as usual. Attentive server, good choice of beers, nice venue for a visit with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

service getting bad

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Since patio opened for summer service is confusing and slow. They need to figure this out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I dined with a friend who loves beer. I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I dined with a friend who loves beer. I'm not a fan of beer was delighted with my root beer and hamburger on a gluten-free bun. The weather was mild and atmosphere was perfect for conversation. The service was excellent. I have to admit, it was the best hamburger I've had in a very long time. My friend enjoyed her mussels. Nice experience. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful evening on the comfo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a delightful evening on the comfortable outside patio. Food and service were both very good -- as usual. Particularly enjoyable were the BBQ items, including a side of hot links. Pizza and burgers were also top-notch and the beer specials topped it off nicely. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Limited food menu, good beer and service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food menu was very limited and mostly meat, but beer and service were good. Would recommend for drinks, but not dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We loved this place although it was a bi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We loved this place although it was a bit loud. The smoked meat was fantastic! Our waiter gave us some excellent recommendations. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Improve on service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was good but our server was slow and inattentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Best Bisket Ever

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I had never been here before but went under a recommendation of a friend. I had what they call The Flight which is the greatest barbecue sampling and included the most tender beef brisket I have ever eaten!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and energy. Very accomm ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great atmosphere and energy. Very accommodating staff and attentive to customer needs. We were there to celebrate a college graduation, and had a great time. Very relaxing atmosphere, very good food, and the beer was absolutely fantastic. We will definitely be going back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The bbq flight was great and the fries w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The bbq flight was great and the fries with the rib rub were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.