About Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.

1615 Oak Ave.
Evanston, IL 60201
View Larger Map

Brewpub serving Midwestern comfort food and Texas inspired BBQ. Reservations strongly encouraged.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
HOURS
Monday-CLOSED

KITCHEN HOURS
Sunday-Thursday 11AM-9PM
Friday & Saturday 11AM-10PM

Pizza bar remains open one hour after kitchen closes.

Bar remains open until the last pint has been poured.

Cross Street:
Davis & Church

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(224) 999-7320

Website:
http://www.smyliebros.com/

Catering:
Have Smylie Brothers barbecue and beer at your next event with our catering options.

http://www.smyliebros.com/menu/catering/

Public Transit:
Metra Train, Davis Purple Line Stop, CTA 93 Bus

Executive Chef:
Grant Carey

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. is the perfect place to hold your next event. For event details contact our Event Coordinator, Katey O'Brion. 224-999-7320 or kobrion@smyliebros.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
  • Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.
Smylie Brothers Brewing Co.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 4:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. is the perfect place to hold your next event. For event details please contact our Event Coordinator.

Smylie Brothers Brewing Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Evanston ›

neighborhood gem (41)
good for groups (36)
great for outdoor dining (32)
See All
kid-friendly (24)
great for lunch (23)
fit for foodies (16)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (10)
special occasion (7)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (5)
notable wine list (3)
romantic (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We found this restaurant pricey for pret ...

Dined 6 days ago

We found this restaurant pricey for pretty mediocre food. We had two barbecue sandwiches, one meager fish entree, a beer and a glass of wine for $70.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my husband and kids for Father's Da ...

Dined 7 days ago

Took my husband and kids for Father's Day. Great barbecue food, friendly staff, husband loved the beer.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We have been to Smiley's quite a few tim ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been to Smiley's quite a few times but this was by far our worst service experience. Waited more than 10 minutes just to be greeted by our waiter; another 10 minutes for him to ask for our drinks; another 10-15 if not more for him to ask for our order, etc. We would ask for extra napkins or more water and he would completely forget. Great food, awful service, most likely just from this one waiter, but puts a damper on the entire idea of service for the place.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Just loved how the exposed wood in the c ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Just loved how the exposed wood in the ceiling!

food3
ambience3
service5

We had the nicest waiter.

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We had the nicest waiter.

food4
ambience3
service3

Happy hour specials

Dined on June 9, 2016

Happy hour specials

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Friendly, lively atmosphere. Their was ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Friendly, lively atmosphere. Their was a variety on the menu so everyone had something to pick from, including two delicious vegetarian options. The Flat iron steak was tender and cooked perfectly to my medium rare request. The side dish of broccoli and mushrooms was good except it could have used more mushrooms.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

Great Ribs, Mac& Cheese full a flavor not Sauce

Dined on June 4, 2016

Service & Food was Outstanding ! Ribs had nice dry rub & sauce. Mac & Cheese very nicely blended. Now the Bad ...NO Bathrooms upstairs. Keep the Upstairs Children Free . Not free food free from Children ! There was a group that kept growing by our table and they took ever open chair they could find. Very Annoying.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Outdoors is the Real Food

Dined on May 29, 2016

My brother and family requested that we eat outdoors. I think of Smylies as the most attractive outdoor dining in Evanston. The only negative is that while you can make a reservation, you cannot reserve an outside table, which was the main reason I chose the restaurant. Everyone was very happy with the menu and their food choices and once we were seated (in about 20 minutes), we had a great time, definitely bolstered by the ambiance of the outdoor venue.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

The weather was perfect to enjoy a wonde ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

The weather was perfect to enjoy a wonderful dinner on the comfortable patio. This was our first alfresco dining here, since we usually were dining in less desirable weather. The food was terrific and the environment enhanced the experience. I will continue to explore the menu and the beverages at this wonderful place. I usually try the home brews, but had the Virtue Percheron Cider this visit. It was the perfect pairing for appetizers and dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our go-to place

Dined on May 28, 2016

A great visit as usual. Attentive server, good choice of beers, nice venue for a visit with friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

service getting bad

Dined on May 27, 2016

Since patio opened for summer service is confusing and slow. They need to figure this out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined with a friend who loves beer. I ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

I dined with a friend who loves beer. I'm not a fan of beer was delighted with my root beer and hamburger on a gluten-free bun. The weather was mild and atmosphere was perfect for conversation. The service was excellent. I have to admit, it was the best hamburger I've had in a very long time. My friend enjoyed her mussels. Nice experience. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a delightful evening on the comfo ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a delightful evening on the comfortable outside patio. Food and service were both very good -- as usual. Particularly enjoyable were the BBQ items, including a side of hot links. Pizza and burgers were also top-notch and the beer specials topped it off nicely. We will return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Limited food menu, good beer and service

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food menu was very limited and mostly meat, but beer and service were good. Would recommend for drinks, but not dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

We loved this place although it was a bi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We loved this place although it was a bit loud. The smoked meat was fantastic! Our waiter gave us some excellent recommendations. We will definitely go back.

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Improve on service

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was good but our server was slow and inattentive.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Bisket Ever

Dined on May 21, 2016

I had never been here before but went under a recommendation of a friend. I had what they call The Flight which is the greatest barbecue sampling and included the most tender beef brisket I have ever eaten!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and energy. Very accomm ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great atmosphere and energy. Very accommodating staff and attentive to customer needs. We were there to celebrate a college graduation, and had a great time. Very relaxing atmosphere, very good food, and the beer was absolutely fantastic. We will definitely be going back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

The bbq flight was great and the fries w ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The bbq flight was great and the fries with the rib rub were excellent.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Good food, poor service.

Dined on May 10, 2016

Enjoyed the food. However we went to celebrate a birthday and were hoping for a friendly welcoming experience to help make it special. Very abrupt waitress... and nothing says "happy birthday... now leave" like being handed the bill the second we finished eating! Not even a chance at the dessert menu much less a birthday dessert as I had tried to plan when I made the reservation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Between us my husband and I had the chil ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Between us my husband and I had the chili, some ribs and the cheeseburger. All delish! Especially the burger with its Smylie sauce!

food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Great Food

Dined on May 1, 2016

It was a Saturday night, so it was very busy. Took some time for our server to take our order. 4 other tables in our section were also waiting for a server. Once he came and took our order, things went well! Food was awesome! The brisket was the best we have had in the city. The MAC & CHEESE was so good we ordered a second one to take home! Definitely try a little bit of everything if you are with a group.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Asked for the bill to be divided into 2 ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Asked for the bill to be divided into 2 orders. They just split the bill in half and were not very willing to divide into w bills by orders.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great local spot. Very good food and ser ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Great local spot. Very good food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was outstanding. Pu ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. Pulled pork, bacon sausage, mussels, chili... everything was flawless - just be prepared for a backup beer order in case they're low on or out of their crafts!

food5
ambience4
service5

Have dined here several times. Food is t ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Have dined here several times. Food is tasty, beers are seasonal, desserts are homemade. The Purple Line is my fav.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good BBQ

Dined on April 13, 2016

I've eaten at Smylie's several times and always have enjoyed the food and atmosphere. It's a great neighborhood place with a wonderful menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Such a great place to eat! I wish I coul ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Such a great place to eat! I wish I could hear. It's not a diss on the restaurant; I was the sixty year old that decided to eat there knowing it is full of very 'live' surfaces. Just beware if energetic noise levels are difficult for you for whatever reason.

food3
ambience4
service3

First the at this restaurant! Ribs were ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

First the at this restaurant! Ribs were tender and very good! Dudes were very good - Mac n cheese and great fries We ordered the brisket and it was total fat and dry! They gave us a free dessert to make up for the bad brisket sandwich!

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Service Good...Sausage Not So Much

Dined on April 1, 2016

Our server as terrific although it did take a bit longer than it should have for her to show up after we were seated. The pizza was good and the bert salad was great but the bacon sausage was horribly dry. We never send things back but this time we felt we had to call attention to a batch that had been badly formulated. Our server was very accomodating and a new entree was substitued without a fuss. Beer selection is awesome!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic ribs!!!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic ribs!!!

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was great, the special menu was a t ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Food was great, the special menu was a total deal and our waiter was kind enough to let us sit and drink and eat as we pleased. We will def. be back to check out more of the menu. The place itself is really large and an amazing atmosphere.

food4
ambience5
service4

Smylie Brothers is our "go-to" restauran ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Smylie Brothers is our "go-to" restaurant favored by everyone in our family young and old. The chili is a mainstay. We had 3 bowls, the truffle pizza, a great salad and a big burger between us and everyone was happy and content. Service was good and our waitress came by just the right amount of time. The Blood Orange beer is excellent. We're so happy it's back in season. Don't let the color fool you. It's lighter than it looks.

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Slow service

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Venue is awesome and the food is good, but our waiter was very slow and not well informed about the food or beers. He may have been new on the job, but then he should have had an experienced wait staff helping him.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Friendly Place for Friends

Dined on March 10, 2016

First of all, any time you stumble upon a happy hour at an establishment with excellent beer, it's a win. A friend of mine and I went out to dinner to catch up, and this was the perfect place to meet. It's just off the Davis Metra, has decent parking, and the noise level was beautiful. We both loved our meals, I took full advantage of happy hour pricing, and the staff was beyond warm and friendly. We can't wait to come back when it's patio season again!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

THE Company Burger

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

When I am searching for THE burger that will satisfy me, I keep coming back to the Company Burger at Smylie Brothers. My wife said it's like a REALLY GOOD BIG MAC! That kind of sums it up. The service has always been good, too. The only thing I'd like different is to have the sound on for the Blackhawks game, but I understand that they are not a true Sports Bar.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Service Bad Food

Dined on February 28, 2016

I ordered the sampler, Pulled Pork was Dry Brisket was very fatty Hot Link was burnt Ribs were average. Only 2 choices of average BBQ sauce Good Mac N Cheese

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good lunch place.

Dined on February 26, 2016

Very nice interior. For a brew pub it was very good. None of us had beer, but two had soups and both thought they were very good. Spinach salad got rave review. I had the pulled pork sand - pork was good, but no coleslaw - just a ton of french fries. Would go again for lunch, but probably not for dinner. Service was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ribs-Come and get'em

Dined on February 22, 2016

Sit down ribs have been hard to come by for awhile in Evanston, but now Smylie has some good ones. The sides are good, too. Especially liked the beans. Don't like ribs? Try the pizza. It's also top notch.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.