About Slightly North of Broad

192 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm

Lunch: Daily from 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Faber Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 723-3424

Website:
http://snobcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Frank Lee

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Pierce: 8437233424x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Restaurant Photos

New Bedford Scallops - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Sweet potato Tamale - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Pork Chop - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Banana Cream Pie - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Peppermint And Vanilla Ice Cream - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
New York Strip - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Rack of Lamb - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Creme Brulee - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Clams - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Vegetable Plate - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Fruit Plate - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Apple And Sour Cream Pie - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Fried Chicken Livers, Grits, Spicy Relish - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Roasted Pork Sandwich And Apple Slaw - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Shrimp & Grits - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Seared Antelope - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Lemon Trifle - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Sirloin - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Asparagus Salad - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
New Bedford Scallop - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Cheese Pl - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Shrimp and Grits - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Chilled Shrimp Salad  - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
House Salad with Buttermilk Ranch - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Cornbread Pudding - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Cornbread - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Clam Chowder With Bacon And Leeks - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Housemade Bbq Potato Chips - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Maverick Shrimp & Grits - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Peanut Butter Pie - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Salmon Tartare - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Squash Blossoms Stuffed with Shrimp Mousse - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Ahi tuna - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Duck - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Pork Belly - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Grilled Tuna - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
House-Smoked Trout On Rye Toast Points - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Roasted Duck Breast - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Beef Carpacio - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Chicken And Vegetable Medly - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Lobster & Corn Risotto With Watermelon Basil Salsa - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Bourbon Cocktail (From Bar Menu) - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Crab Cakes - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
French Gimlet - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Salmon Croquette - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Trout with preserved lemon, mint, cilantro and garlic - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Amazing Cakes - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Chicken Special - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Grilled Peach Salad - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Slightly North of Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Low Country
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (145)
Fit for Foodies (118)
Good for a Date (103)
See All
Local Ingredients (93)
Good for Anniversaries (92)
Creative Cuisine (91)
Romantic (87)
Neighborhood Gem (84)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Great for Lunch (65)
Open Kitchen (64)
Authentic (59)
Worth the Drive (55)
Historic (53)
Cozy (48)
Business Meals (47)
Comfort Food (45)
Hot Spot (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Fun (39)
Casual (39)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Good for Groups (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Seasonal (29)
Healthy (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Bar Seating (19)
Outstanding Value (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
Modern Decor (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
People Watching (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Organic (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Vegan (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Family Style (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great Beer (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Scenic View (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
4851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend and I had a wonderful lunch! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

My friend and I had a wonderful lunch! She is "gluten free" we had no trouble ordering a lunch for her. The waitress was very knowledgeable about the preparations. I've been going there for lunch since 1998! I will continue to have lunches and dinners with my friends at SNOB!

Tags: Organic, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Enjoyed a great meal at S.N.O.B. We spl ...

 
 (Tucson)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed a great meal at S.N.O.B. We split the carmalized pear salad and the ribeye steak with scallops. The salad was delicious with the pear and blue cheese. The steak and scallops were very tender. I also ordered a side of collared greens which went well with the steak. Definitely would go back again.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had tuna that was cooked perfectly. Star ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Had tuna that was cooked perfectly. Started with pear salad that was excellent. Service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best fried chicken and collard green ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The best fried chicken and collard greens I've ever had. Also tried the shrimp and grits and they were amazing (almost like jambalaya on cornmeal). We left this meal very happy, and even bought a cookbook to tryto duplicate the greens at home. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love SNOB and go every time we're in ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

We love SNOB and go every time we're in Charleston. We had such a wonderful time - the food and service were wonderful (as always). So happy to have enjoyed our evening with them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best crabcakes in town, crab soup like m ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Best crabcakes in town, crab soup like my grandmother made, appetizers generous, seafood outstanding, great romantic spot

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Kellie was wonderful, food wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server Kellie was wonderful, food was excellent, warm inviting atmosphere! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, desserts were amazing, t ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food, desserts were amazing, top notch service. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

SNOB routinely is our restaurant of choi ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

SNOB routinely is our restaurant of choice for a very good mid-day meal or an excellent dinner. We happened to be in town on quick notice and were able to get in for a late lunch. I had a cup of the butternut squash bisque and followed with the crab cake appetizer and a small salad. My wife also had the crab cake and shared the soup and salad. We were delighted as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

favorite lunch place when we come to tow ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

favorite lunch place when we come to town, love the decor here too. food just so delicious, and look forward to the fall sangria. Lauren was great. We've been coming here for years and always have a great meal.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. Our server was amazing and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It was great. Our server was amazing and the food was all phenomenal. We have no complaints. The clams were great for an appetizer and the sauce with them were awesome. The duck cooked perfectly and my fiancé had the shrimp and grits which were good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only two things this restaurant has ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The only two things this restaurant has going for them is the ambiance and service. Our salad was boring, he crab cake was super fishy and the grouper was undercooked and super salty! What a shame because this restaurant came highly recommended.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Great dinner, great service. We had chil ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great dinner, great service. We had children with us but would be better for adults only.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tried and true establishment that recent ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Tried and true establishment that recently changed ownership. I've been to the restaurant many times over the years and have never been disappointed. Although my food was good, it unfortunately did not live up to my previous experiences here.

The pork chop I ordered was good, tasty, but not quite cooked enough. The accompanying kale and carrots were unremarkable. The crab cakes my dining partner ordered were very good.

Considering the meals I have had in the past at this restaurant, I was very disappointed. I do hope things will improve. In hindsight, I guess this was why I was able to get a reservation here so "last minute".

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I adore S.N.O.B.!! It is my go-to for s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I adore S.N.O.B.!! It is my go-to for special occasions. As a Vegetarian Celiac, I trust that everything the server tells me I can eat is something I can ear. The GF menu is vast with plenty to choose from. The service is above excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Cozy, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the atmosphere and decor . Great a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and decor . Great and friendly service. Nice wine list and food was delicious .

Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food. Creative with respect ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Exceptional food. Creative with respect for the ingredients. And numerous delicious gluten free options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great meal. Restaurant has ener ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always a great meal. Restaurant has energy but not loud so you can have a conversation. Never disappointed here.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think the noise level of this restaura ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I think the noise level of this restaurant is incredibly appealing. One of very few restaurants where you can actually completely hear your dinner conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Superbly quiet environment and exception ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Superbly quiet environment and exceptional consistent food make this our absolute go to restaurant. Who ever did the acoustics should be given a gold ribbon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience from beginning to end ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Awesome experience from beginning to end! Service was awesome in every way, friendly, timely, and knowledgeable. We went there for my birthday dinner and my girlfriend and I liked it so much we went back three days later to eat there again. I had the Shrimp and Grits, shrimp in every bite and some NICE heat. It was the kind of heat that added a dimension to the flavor of the food, rather than the stupid kind of heat that masks flavor and stuns the taste buds. I recently ate Shrimp and Grits at Husk, Hyman's and Tavern and Table-- SNOB's were the best.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always solid, no matter what. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food is always solid, no matter what. The Shrimp and Grits are the best in town and maybe any town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are at a loss of words to describe ho ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We are at a loss of words to describe how good SNOB was! We were celebrating our engagement and from the minute we got there we felt so special. The corner booth table was absolutely perfect for the occasion. They were kind enough to send over champagne. The server was knowledgeable about the menu, but not overbearing with throwing information at us. And I could write a full paragraph on how good the food was. These were two of the best meals we've EVER had! In all--the night was perfect, the food was perfect and we will be back for sure! Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Historic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was awesome and the food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our waiter was awesome and the food was fantastic. We really had a great night here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was excellent once again. Ca ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything was excellent once again. Can't wait to come back soon. I live in Boston, but I wish I lived closer so I could enjoy this gem more often than every 1-2 years.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is typically our go to restaurant d ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is typically our go to restaurant during our yearly trip but I was less than thrilled with my scallop meal this year. The apps were fab as usual but scallops w/red sauce are just not a hit nor does it scream high end or unique food experience to me. It was worth a try but I would not get it again. We'll be back again next year for yet another SNOB experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding Restaurant. Has to be one o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Outstanding Restaurant. Has to be one of, if not the best meals I have ever had.

The waiter was attentive but not hovering.

Had the grouper and have never had better.

Highly recommended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cold. The turkey sandwich was d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was cold. The turkey sandwich was dry and the gravey was cool.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Lunch the day after Thanksgiving at SNOB ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Lunch the day after Thanksgiving at SNOB is our family tradition. Everyone remembers what they ate the year before. I hope we can continue this many years to come.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family felt that over the past coupl ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our family felt that over the past couple of years the food quality has declined. We come here every time we come to charleston but will be opting for a new location. Food was very greasy and slow to come out. Service by the wait staff was excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

We had wonderful service at SNOB for the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had wonderful service at SNOB for their Thanksgiving evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Lovely room, well-managed, friendly prof ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Lovely room, well-managed, friendly professional staff, great food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

May become my first choice in Charleston ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2016

May become my first choice in Charleston. My Rack of Lamb was best I have ever had

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed immensely and would choose again ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Enjoyed immensely and would choose again! We had a party of six and everything was wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best filet mignon I ever had and my husb ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Best filet mignon I ever had and my husbands swordfish was the best he ever had

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service. Innovative food offerings ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great service. Innovative food offerings. Great hostess team. Friendly smiles. We were late for our reservation for about an hour and they were very please to accommodate us, even tough restaurant was really busy !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites. Never disappointed ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 23, 2016

One of our favorites. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Genuine southern hospitality with southe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Genuine southern hospitality with southern fresh ingredients. Can't go wrong for lunch, dinner, or brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty food with good service at a desira ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Tasty food with good service at a desirable dining pace. We had Sunday brunch. Would definitely come back next time we're in Charleston!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing meal and service. I had the duck ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing meal and service. I had the duck and my wife had the steak. Both were excellent but the steak was top notch. Best steak I have ever tried.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.