About Slightly North of Broad

192 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm

Lunch: Daily from 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Faber Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 723-3424

Website:
http://snobcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Frank Lee

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Pierce: 8437233424x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Restaurant Photos

New Bedford Scallops
Sweet potato Tamale
Pork Chop
Banana Cream Pie
Peppermint And Vanilla Ice Cream
New York Strip
Rack of Lamb
Creme Brulee
Clams
Vegetable Plate
Fruit Plate
Lemon Trifle
Sirloin
Asparagus Salad
New Bedford Scallop
Apple And Sour Cream Pie
Fried Chicken Livers, Grits, Spicy Relish
Roasted Pork Sandwich And Apple Slaw
Shrimp & Grits
Seared Antelope
Cheese Pl
Shrimp and Grits
Chilled Shrimp Salad
House Salad with Buttermilk Ranch
Cornbread Pudding
Cornbread
Clam Chowder With Bacon And Leeks
Housemade Bbq Potato Chips
Maverick Shrimp & Grits
Peanut Butter Pie
Salmon Tartare
Squash Blossoms Stuffed with Shrimp Mousse
Ahi tuna
Duck
Pork Belly
Grilled Tuna
House-Smoked Trout On Rye Toast Points
Roasted Duck Breast
Beef Carpacio
Chicken And Vegetable Medly
Lobster & Corn Risotto With Watermelon Basil Salsa
Bourbon Cocktail (From Bar Menu)
Crab Cakes
French Gimlet
Salmon Croquette
Trout with preserved lemon, mint, cilantro and garlic
Amazing Cakes
Chicken Special
Grilled Peach Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Slightly North of Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Low Country
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
1 More
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (326)
Special Occasion (287)
Neighborhood Gem (184)
See All
Romantic (167)
Great for Lunch (164)
Good for Groups (115)
Notable Wine List (98)
Hot Spot (95)
Great for Brunch (58)
Kid-friendly (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome food, great service. Really cool ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome food, great service. Really cool inside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Express Lunch is always delicious an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

The Express Lunch is always delicious and a great value. Service at SNOB is excellent, too!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our lunch at SNOB!!we order bot ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

We loved our lunch at SNOB!!we order both the shrimp and grits and the daily catfish special. Everything was delicious. Save room for dessert - the banana pie was amazing. Our service was perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! We have lived downtown for l ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful! We have lived downtown for last 11 years and this was one of the best meals to date. SNOB is always consistent. Four different fish dishes for the table and each was excellent: halibut, wahoo, grouper and tuna. Was surprised, but not surprised, to see the steak additions to the menu......please don't tinker with this gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mom and I ate here on our first night ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

My mom and I ate here on our first night in Charleston, SC. Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about menu items and the food was delicious! I highly recommend the vegetable plate to anyone seeking a variety of vegetables cooked and seasoned to perfection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. We look forward ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. We look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food everyone ordered was great, service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food everyone ordered was great, service good. Shrimp and grits a little to spicy for my taste, but everything else wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit and it was ever ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was my second visit and it was every bit as good the second time around. Excellent food, and a fantastic server in Sarah. I'm already looking forward to my next visit

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here for our 1 year anniversary din ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Came here for our 1 year anniversary dinner while we were in town visiting. We were warmly greeted with complimentary bubbly! The food was great, I would highly recommend the oyster chowder if they have it. From the hot bread to the fresh fish entrees, all components were on point. When we are back in town we shall return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food! Love the atmosphere, grea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food! Love the atmosphere, great staff! True southern dining!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just ok, nice place but touristy

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Just ok, nice place but touristy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Excellent food made from local seasonal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food made from local seasonal ingredients. We ate roasted peach slad and oyster stew as appetizers, tilefish special, grouper special and rack of lamb as entrees. All delicious! Tried a new Willamette Valley Pinot Noir which was also good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and service Particularly ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service

Particularly good shrimp and grits

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved everything about this restauran ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

We loved everything about this restaurant --- we went for lunch on a weekday. The staff was pleasant, helpful, and answered all our food questions. The server was amazing and stood by the quality of the drinks and food. Our food was fabulous -- presentation, taste, temperature, and quality (local sourced). We loved the decor, setting, noise level, and food. Our water glasses were never left half empty. The manager came around to check on us midway. Top quality for a foodie couple on vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE S.N.O.B. - great food, great ambia ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

LOVE S.N.O.B. - great food, great ambiance, great friends to enjoy dinner together

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a cocktail that had fresh muddled ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I had a cocktail that had fresh muddled blueberries which was a refreshing change from the typical bright blue drinks. The rack of lamb was medium rare melt in your melt with nice crisp green beans and rosemary reduction sauce. The waiter was very friendly and attentive. After returning from the restroom in the middle of the meal, I found my napkin refolded on the table. This place definitely has class and is not "Snobby" as the name of the restaurant implies. I would definitely return.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb, but the attention t ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was superb, but the attention to detail and gluten free options made the restaurant truly spectacular. The service was great as well... So helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience could not have been more ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The experience could not have been more enjoyable. Our server, Kelly, was very knowledgeable about both the wine and food and was happy to accommodate a special request to split an entree. The food was excellent- it was really a fabulous night in every way.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first trip to SNOB and we l ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first trip to SNOB and we liked it very much. It is a little more expensive than some of the restaurants around it but I have no complaints with the food. My wife got the pork chop and said it was one of the best she had ever had.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Charleston, and that ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best restaurant in Charleston, and that is saying a lot because Charleston is loaded with good restaurants.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Dining at Slightly North of Broa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We love Dining at Slightly North of Broad. The food is excellent and the service is top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was super helpful suggesting ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our server was super helpful suggesting and describing the dishes. The food was amazing and the service was great! I would def. recommend SNOB to friends and family alike!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The trout and rice served with it were g ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The trout and rice served with it were great!! The server we had could interact a bit more with his customers!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The meal I had at SNOB was one of the be ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The meal I had at SNOB was one of the best ever! I chose the grouper, and it was cooked to perfection, served with Carolina Gold rice. Their fresh peach sangria was ALMOST as good as my own. My friend had his first introduction to shrimp and grits, which he claimed delicious. He actually finished it for breakfast the next morning! Great atmosphere, great service.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal and pleasant, knowledgeab ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful meal and pleasant, knowledgeable service. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we were greeted by the h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

From the moment we were greeted by the hostess to the very end of our meal we were treated like we were the only guests in the restaurant even though they were fully booked! Our meal was so much more than amazing! You must go!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy going, comfortable spot, with impec ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Easy going, comfortable spot, with impeccable service from a knowledgeable staff. The food was uncomplicated and executed perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always great.thats enough for an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food is always great.thats enough for anyone yoy can count on a delicious meal evert TIME.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish special( swordfish) was cooked to p ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fish special( swordfish) was cooked to perfection. Outstanding in every way. I once thought this was a place for tourists only and not high level dining. I was completely wrong. This is as good or better than the finest restaurants in Atlanta. Based on the crowds you must make a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, friendly and knowledgabl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent food, friendly and knowledgable staff, and great location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best swordfish dish I ever tasted. I w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best swordfish dish I ever tasted. I will be back when I am in Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had lunch with my wife at SNOB and was t ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Had lunch with my wife at SNOB and was thoroughly pleased with the dining experience. The entrees (Tuna melt and Grilled Trout) were prepared perfectly, the salad was fresh and crisp and the chicken rice soup was thick, hearty and well spiced. The service was superb and the setting is tastefully appointed and spotlessly clean. Great choice for our first visit to Charleston in several years.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but prices have really gone up ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Good food but prices have really gone up since recent acquisition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our food was good and my drink was great ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our food was good and my drink was great! But the decor of SNOB is not up to the standards that it had been previously. It used to be an elegant place-even at lunch. I was not fond of the vinyl tablecloths-not southern-not classy-not Charleston. Just doesn’t have the unique feel that it once had. Don’t think the menu is as impressive as it used to be. Can tell it has changed ownership. This used to be one of my favorite Charleston restaurants. Will be trying other places.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My grouper was salty and the rice mushro ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My grouper was salty and the rice mushroom book Choy mix was terrible the lamb rack was quite good though although didn't let u pick the sides which I didn't care for really

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Halibut was outstanding, Rose wine by th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Halibut was outstanding, Rose wine by the glass was very good... outstanding starter that was large enough to split... All very good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved the atmosphere, wait staff was ver ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Loved the atmosphere, wait staff was very attentive, food was fantastic. I think my husbands eyes rolled back in his head with his first bite beef tenderloin!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great - best steak I've had in Charlesto ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great - best steak I've had in Charleston in 2 years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was all delicious

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was all delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband, daughter and I had an except ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband, daughter and I had an exceptional experience at S.N.O.B. beginning at the bar where we each had a unique drink of choice. The bartender was wonderful and engaging! The drinks were outstanding! We then moved on to our table and enjoyed your delicious tamale appetizer and a glass of wine. Each of us ordered and thoroughly enjoyed your amazing shrimp and grits! Each scrumptious bite was heavenly and the portions were more than adequate!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.