About Slightly North of Broad

192 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm

Lunch: Daily from 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Faber Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 723-3424

Website:
http://snobcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Frank Lee

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Pierce: 8437233424x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Restaurant Photos

New Bedford Scallops
Banana Cream Pie
Pork Chop
Sweet potato Tamale
Peppermint And Vanilla Ice Cream
Rack of Lamb
Creme Brulee
New York Strip
Clams
Fruit Plate
Vegetable Plate
Lemon Trifle
Asparagus Salad
New Bedford Scallop
Sirloin
Apple And Sour Cream Pie
Roasted Pork Sandwich And Apple Slaw
Fried Chicken Livers, Grits, Spicy Relish
Shrimp & Grits
Seared Antelope
Cheese Pl
Shrimp and Grits
Chilled Shrimp Salad
Cornbread
Clam Chowder With Bacon And Leeks
Housemade Bbq Potato Chips
House Salad with Buttermilk Ranch
Cornbread Pudding
Peanut Butter Pie
Maverick Shrimp & Grits
Salmon Tartare
Squash Blossoms Stuffed with Shrimp Mousse
Duck
Pork Belly
Ahi tuna
Grilled Tuna
House-Smoked Trout On Rye Toast Points
Roasted Duck Breast
Beef Carpacio
Chicken And Vegetable Medly
Crab Cakes
Lobster & Corn Risotto With Watermelon Basil Salsa
French Gimlet
Bourbon Cocktail (From Bar Menu)
Salmon Croquette
Amazing Cakes
Chicken Special
Trout with preserved lemon, mint, cilantro and garlic
Grilled Peach Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Slightly North of Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Low Country
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (365)
special occasion (296)
great for lunch (204)
See All
neighborhood gem (187)
romantic (165)
good for groups (126)
hot spot (119)
notable wine list (96)
great for brunch (80)
vibrant bar scene (20)
kid-friendly (12)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
4426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

The food is awesome but we had to wait 2 ...

vip
Dined a day ago

The food is awesome but we had to wait 20 minutes for an established 930 pm at night reservation! They make you sit on a bench while you wait staring at diners who are staring back at you which is super awkward for both parties. The unisex bathroom is right at the bar intersection so you have to stand in all the waiters way who are trying to get drinks from the bartender. Speaking of the bartender I actually watched patrons while we were waiting for our late reservation go up to the bar and purchase their own drinks BC either the bartender was too slow or the waiters/ waitresses were too slow. Thought that was crazy until we were finally seated at our table st 950pm where we had to beg for cocktails ( one of the biggest moneymakers in a restaurant... Incredibly bad business economically plus plain rude!) Finally when our meal was over no one came to clear our dirty dishes... We waited 12 minutes and then noticed in their display kitchen that the waiters/ waitresses were eating food off the plates and sneaking food... As other patrons and our group were looking around for service! Very annoying and incredibly poor service! Never again even though the food was Deliscious!

food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding. the service was great and ...

Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding. the service was great and the shrimp and grits are the best I've ever had. We may go back before we go home.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best meals we've had in a lon ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

One of the best meals we've had in a long time. We had to wait an extra 30 minutes for our table but that was the only negative during the evening. Our server was excellent and everything we ordered from the appetizers to the desserts were excellent. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed everything we ordered. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SNOB has the best shrimp and grits in to ...

Dined 6 days ago

SNOB has the best shrimp and grits in town. Great place for a nice dinner or special occasion. Wonderful service and great location.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was amazing! We had the duck breas ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing! We had the duck breast and swordfish special. Berry sangria was an added bonus :)

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing lunch. Great food!

Dined 7 days ago

Amazing lunch. Great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They have a great cocktail menu and the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

They have a great cocktail menu and the service was wonderful. The menu is fairly expensive, but all the food we ordered was delicious. Their free bread is AMAZING and I wish that we had gotten more than a couple pieces. I ordered the vegetable plate and there was a wide variety and they gave the option to make it vegetarian or vegan, based on your preferences.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome restaurant!

Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you Sarah Tucker for the amazing s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Thank you Sarah Tucker for the amazing service and scrumptious food! Miss you all already!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

OUR WAITRESS WASS ALLEY AND SHE DID A GR ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

OUR WAITRESS WASS ALLEY AND SHE DID A GREAT JOB!! FOOD WAS VERY GOOD..AS USUAL.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals I've had in a very ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in a very long time. Would go back every week if I were a local, which I'm not. Every thing about our dinner was enjoyable and memorable. Our waiter was welcoming and knowledgeable. I tried a local fish, Trigger Fish which I never had before by his recommendation and loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Has a great reputation and it did not di ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Has a great reputation and it did not disappoint. It was what we hoped it would be: great food, nice ambience, good wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stellar service and delicious food! SNO ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Stellar service and delicious food! SNOB was a great find in Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the special attention paid to us by ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

From the special attention paid to us by the hostess to the wonderful service and food we enjoyed, S.N.O.B. was a special treat. I am loathe to rave about the crab soup, halibut and shrimp and grits for fear that it will become so popular I will not be able to get a reservation again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had wonderful service from Kyle. She ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

We had wonderful service from Kyle. She was terrific. The food was great and wish they were opening a restaurant in Savannah!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kim from NYC. SNOB feels like home. Soph ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Kim from NYC. SNOB feels like home. Sophisticated and good. Service is very helpful and not rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent cocktails and the scallops wer ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent cocktails and the scallops were incredible! A must when in Charleston! Outstanding service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food! This was our first nigh ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Fantastic food! This was our first night in Charleston and this restaurant did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our anniversary and the staff sur ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

It was our anniversary and the staff surprised us with a cozy table in the back and champagne. They were friendly, knowledgeable of the menu and made great recommendations on the food.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Service and food were wonderful....we we ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Service and food were wonderful....we were a table of 6 and were happy with all six entrees which is incredible! One special entree was sold out so the chef sent over a special small serving of a delicious tuna dish in small servings for us all to try as a "sorry we ran out of swordfish". It was such a fabulous as a treat. Grouper was my second choice entree and it was so very good that i did not worry one minute about the sold out special. We will be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been visiting Charleston for the ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We have been visiting Charleston for the past 25 years. We discovered SNOB early on and it has remained as one of our favority places to dine. While my rating on our most recent visit is not all 5 stars - it was a first time ever they ran out of Clams. Which our guest and first time visitor was dying to try. So, for anyone reading this - this was a very rare moment in what has been a 20 year love affair with SNOB. We most certainly will dine there again on our next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our fourth time there. Excelle ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This was our fourth time there. Excellent as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful dinner meal! Food ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Absolutely wonderful dinner meal! Food was cooked perfectly and delicious! Excellent!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We had lunch at SNOB on a Sunday - celeb ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We had lunch at SNOB on a Sunday - celebrated our anniversary. Our son had shrimp & grits which he raves about - won't even look at the menu. I had the blue crab salad which was really tasty. It also came with fruit & some greens - almost 3 salads in one. Portions were generous, the service was excellent & the restaurant happened to be on the quiet side. SNOB is an excellent lunch place.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We went there for lunch on two of the th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We went there for lunch on two of the three days we were in Charleston. I loved their shrimp and grits and my husband loved the cat fish sandwich. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Visited after reading so many great revi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Visited after reading so many great reviews. The appetizers with seafood were fantastic. I had scallops for dinner and my partner had the seared tuna. Both entrees were prepared very well and presented nicely. Wine by the glass was available but selections were limited. Dessert of the day was cobbler which we tried and found it to be good but not great. Definitely would go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. We were taken ca ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service and food. We were taken care of by server. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We live in Charleston, and we go to SNOB ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We live in Charleston, and we go to SNOB at least four times each year. The food and service never disappoints, it's one of our favorite venues. Lunch is very good, and they have a long and top-end wine list. If you are a single or pair, try the the very cool curvy counter at the back overlooking the kitchen. It's small and can be loud, so we recommend early or late in the evening.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my now Fiance there for dinner ju ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I took my now Fiance there for dinner just before I popped the question. What a great lead-in to a fabulous night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, great food

Dined on June 11, 2016

The restaurant itself is breath-taking! Old historic building and decorated beautifully. The food was outstanding and my dad even got his birthday dessert on the house! Left feeling a little overstuffed, but we all just had to get different desserts because they looked too good to pass up. Will definitely go again next time I'm in charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Allison was awesome - knowle ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Our server, Allison was awesome - knowledgeable, personable, attentive. The food was really good..sweet potato tamale, grouper, swordfish special and fresh blackberry cobbler were all great!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Decent place for lunch

Dined on June 10, 2016

Appetizer was good, although butternut squash soup was odd for the season. The catfish was good but too much greasy breading so I had to scrape most of it off. Busy place, good location, good air-conditioning.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food & absolutely adorable atmos ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Amazing food & absolutely adorable atmosphere! Had a beautiful lunch here! Will be back next time I am in town. Service was great too! Loved it! Cobbler dessert was phenom :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service

Dined on June 9, 2016

We went to SNOB to celebrate my birthday. The food was really good - we both had grouper. The servers were very good and provided a creme brûlée with a candle. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great food, great service, very accommodating! Loved the special tomato salad ... in fact, every salad I've had there has been delicious, healthful, creative. Entrees are varied to please the seafood lover, the carnivore, the vegetarian. Seating areas are divided by architectural details; tables in the back allows guests to see all the action in the kitchen. No pretentiousness here, in spite of the nickname "S.N.O.B." This is one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service

Dined on June 8, 2016

I had my birthday dinner here at S.N.O.B and they were even helpful to enough to pull off a birthday surprise with someone who lived out of state. They went above and beyond. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely get reservations. Very popula ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Definitely get reservations. Very popular place. Food was delicious and service was fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant

Dined on June 8, 2016

Traveled to Charleston from Florida. This was recommended by a friend. Everything about it was perfect. Would definitely go back . Best soft shell crab sandwich. Service was great. Love the decor.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were visiting friends in Charleston a ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

We were visiting friends in Charleston and this was on our list; did not disappoint! The shrimp and grits are fabulous and the wait staff very professional. The staff willingly shared a dessert recipe which I may have to make because I don't live there!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Soft Shell Crab

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Loved, loved loved the soft shell crab. What a great dinner. I cannot wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.