About Slightly North of Broad

192 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm

Lunch: Daily from 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Faber Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 723-3424

Website:
http://snobcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Frank Lee

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Pierce: 8437233424x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Slightly North of Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Low Country
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (333)
special occasion (267)
great for lunch (192)
See All
neighborhood gem (171)
romantic (149)
good for groups (110)
hot spot (103)
notable wine list (89)
great for brunch (76)
vibrant bar scene (21)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service2

Restaurant came highly recommended. Mayb ...

Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant came highly recommended. Maybe it was an off night, but we were disappointed with service and food.

food2
ambience3
service5
value2

only for supper

Dined 5 days ago

I've been to SNOB many times so it was my choice for a celebration lunch on Sunday for two dear friends. I was sure I could count on SNOB since I'd not been disappointed before. But I was very disappointed in the food. There was nothing special, and my crab salad wasn't great. I can't imagine that the dinner has changed, so this is only a lunch review. I'd go elsewhere for a delicious lunch.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was superb. Excellent presentat ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was superb. Excellent presentation and appropriate portions.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Weekend dinner with my daughter.

Dined 6 days ago

I think the restaurant was nice but a little crowded, tables very close. Disappointed in the menu, no chicken dishes or salmon. Waiter very nice. I am a vegetarian and they had one nice dish for me. My white wine could have been cooler.

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was really yummy. The peach sa ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was really yummy. The peach salad was simply amazing, and the small plates that we tried were all absolutely delicious. The restaurant was noisy, and the service was just ok - everyone was very nice, but overall not super attentive. We waited for water, for refills on drinks, for butter, for bread, for various condiments or to ask the waiter questions. Really, all throughout the meal we didn't feel like we had much attention from the staff. We had been to an incredible restaurant the night before where the service was outstanding, so it was really noticeable that S.N.O.B. was not as strong. The restaurant was kind in that they provided a complimentary dessert to my mother - it was her birthday! - which she really enjoyed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Glad to be back! Outstanding meal as always.

Dined 6 days ago

What a wonderful meal we had! Great recommendations from our server on both wine & food. We had four young adults, 20-25 yrs old, each a little leery of trying new things. Loved each of their meals!! Such an enjoyable time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive staff and great food options.

Dined 7 days ago

Attentive staff and great food options.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

A lot of Hype

Dined 7 days ago

We ate here off a recommendation from coworkers and it was highly ranked on Yelp. However, I think this is more of a lunch place than dinner. There weren't any options in the midpoint price range. Our server was curt with us, but I think maybe they were understaffed. I was expecting more.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food good but not outstanding. Over priced

Dined 7 days ago

Food flavor was good, but not outstanding. Food overpriced. For 1 New York Strip, 1 salad, 1 mashed potato, and 2 Sangrias. $74 Bill

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We went for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our server was pleasant and very knowledgeable. The food was outstanding. Old Charleston at its finest.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Hadn't been back in years, but found the ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Hadn't been back in years, but found the menu still compelling, service very nice, and food still highly enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I came into Charleston a day early just ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

I came into Charleston a day early just so that I could dine at SNOB. I visited SNOB two years earlier and loved it! The vegetable plate was an assembly of various southern sides like grits and deliciously fresh root vegetables grilled to perfection. I also came back for the Banana Cream Pie. My return to SNOB didn't disappoint! I had the soft shell crab special and the beef carpaccio. I would highly recommend both. My boyfriend is a bit of a pork chop aficionado and felt that while his pork chop was excellent it wasn't his all time favorite. He did however agree that the Banana Cream Pie was to die for. I highly recommend SNOB and it's still one of my favorite restaurants anywhere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal we had in Charleston. The file ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Best meal we had in Charleston. The filet was out of this world.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food! Best shrimp and grits in ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Fabulous food! Best shrimp and grits in the world!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Snob must be taken literally at this res ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Snob must be taken literally at this restaurant. The evening started off with an incredibly rude hostess and it went downhill from there. The special salad of the evening was not edible. The service was not good. I had the soft shell crabs and was very excited to have them for the first time in season and they were mediocre at best. The shrimp and grits were very good but the scallops were just okay. With so many good places in Charleston I would skip the snob.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The shrimp and grits here were incredibl ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

The shrimp and grits here were incredibly flavorful. Better than any that I've had anywhere, Charleston or otherwise. The server Kaylee was excellent—friendly and very attentive. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service and good food, ideal for ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great service and good food, ideal for a lunch get together with friends.

Tags: lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always among Charleston's best. No trip ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always among Charleston's best. No trip to C-town is complete without lunch at SNOB. Highly recommended.

food4
ambience4
service4

Over all our dining experience was very ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Over all our dining experience was very enjoyable.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazingly awesome place! This was my sec ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Amazingly awesome place! This was my second visit, and both times have been wonderful experiences!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our 8:15 pm reservation was to celebrate ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Our 8:15 pm reservation was to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary during a long weekend visit to Charleston. This was our second visit to Slightly North Of Broad. We were seated at a four top with a great view of the restaurant. The embience is upscale yet very comfortable and welcoming. The service was impeccable, friendly and attentive. The waitstaff give patrons plenty of space to enjoy the dining experience. Our entrees, the duck and the lamb chops, and desserts, peach cobbler and creme brûlée, were perfectly prepared and delicious. We try to visit Charleston every year; SNOB will definitely be at the top of our reservation "must" list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an extraordinary restaurant! Wa ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

This is an extraordinary restaurant! Was the highlight meal of our short holiday in Charleston. Unique flavors, wonderfully presented and, combined with a fabulous waiter, made for a great evening. Book early to find a spot for dinner at SNOB and you won't be disappointed

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in Charleston visiting for the w ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We were in Charleston visiting for the weekend and were excited to try this highly recommended restaurant. Reservations were hard to come by. We arrived for 8.45 reservations and it was packed and running late. We were seated at about 9 at a lovely table in the center of the room. The waitress and service were all lovely. We were disappointed that the crab soup had sold out, and also that the menu had changed, as we were looking forward to trying the blue cheese bread pudding to accompany the duck. Thus, I did not order what I was hoping to order--crab soup and duck, but instead went for the special--soft shell crab. It was tasty but I did not love the texture...the dessert--a strawberry bread pudding--was made from cornbread...and just okay. While everything was made well, I have to say we were a little disappointed by the dining experience. It was clear that the quality was good, perhaps we just didn't pick the "right" items.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love SNOB

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great for a vegetarian. And the chocolate pot de creme is to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in Charleston! Grea ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Favorite restaurant in Charleston! Great food and great service. You have to try this place!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

20th Anniversary

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our first trip to S.N.O.B. and it was to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We went with friends and we were all impressed with the quality of the food, the attentiveness of the waitstaff and the atmosphere of the restaurant. The four of us selected different entrees to sample more of the menu and every plate was delicious! I had duck, my husband had rabbit and the other couple had shrimp and grits and grouper. Everything was cooked to perfection!! We will definitely go back and recommend to friends!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We love Charleston and met some old friends for lunch while visiting. Great food all around. I had shrimp and grits - a Low Country specialty. Delicious!

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great meal

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The tuna was perfectly cooked and with fine accompaniments. Martini with bleu cheese olives was excellent too. Would recommend and will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at snobosnob on 5-13-16 wa ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My experience at snobosnob on 5-13-16 was amazing.i went with my husband for my anniversary and we were treated so special.our server was phenomenal and so was the food.highly recommend shrimp and grits.our server even brought us complementary champagne toasts and he was so knowledgeable about everything on the menu.he made our night one to remember(I wish i remembered his American but remember him telling us he was not from SC and have moved with his wife there and had been at snobosnob for several years).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

No snob

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a great experience with the bar tender who introduced us to Blanton's whiskey. A good place for fine dining.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations, seated on time with Ja ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had reservations, seated on time with James who did an excellent job of recommending wine and food. Had to have the Butternut Squash Bisque after reading the reviews and it didn't disappoint, silky and creamy and delish. I had Scallops perfectly cooked, hubby had the Shrimp & Grits, he said it was amazing. Unfortunately, the sweetness of the bisque made our choice of Sass Pinot Noir tart, but that was only con. Full to the brim, but we have to order the Apple Pie, only made it through a couple of bites, but it was to die for. Great atmosphere, food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

I feel like place is Slightly Overrated. ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

I feel like place is Slightly Overrated. Apps were the best part of the meal. Really good. None of our four entrees were great, just OK. Good service and a nice wine list. Overpriced for the quality of food and hype. I'd say skip it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite dining experience

Dined on May 11, 2016

Have dined here several times over the years and will always have a great meal. The menu varies, so the choices are never ending. Love the location too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious food/Very comfortable atmosphere!!!

Dined on May 11, 2016

Scallops were great, Shrimp and grits were low country style, not creamy, like most Shrimp &Grits, deliciously different. Atmosphere and Decor made for comfortable and enjoyable family get together for for us and our two bothers and sister.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic. Our waiter was ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was fantastic. Our waiter was very helpful and pleasant. The food seemed expensive, but it was good. The tables are really smushed in so the wait staff are always dodging and bumping chairs to get around. I was expecting a drink or plate in my lap at any minute due to the congestion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was good friend got wrong order so ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Food was good friend got wrong order so it took awhile to start lunch. The front desk kept looking at our table to turn it over. Not our fault it took so long.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 9, 2016

Normally the service is mostly good and the food usually outstanding. This time, service was awful. Waiter rarely attended to the table, did not inform about specials, was overly slow, and I had to ask someone else to help us twice. The appetizer was a pork belly. It was disappointing, Basically a mixed green salad with braised pork on top. Not what we expected and it did not really make sense. Greasy hunk of meat on salad greens. But, Shrimp & Grits were outstanding as always and simply some of the best I think you can get anywhere. That is why I keep coming back. At this price point, I will really think long and hard before returning. There are just too many good restaurants to tolerate poor service and mixed quality dishes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great place to grab lunch duri ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This is a great place to grab lunch during the week, especially a social or business lunch meeting. Our server was great and the "express meal" is always a good option.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was excellent however it did ta ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent however it did take 45 minutes to arrive. In addition, the restaurant was quite noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and appetizing presentation.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Tuna topped with oysters were exquisite. The pork chops were grilled and caramelized perfectly not to mention the hefty portion. Presentation and plating left nothing for improvement. Chris and his help serving the food were timely. Enjoyable Mother's Day dinner with my wife and friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.