About Slightly North of Broad

192 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm

Lunch: Daily from 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Faber Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 723-3424

Website:
http://snobcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Frank Lee

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Pierce: 8437233424x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Restaurant Photos

New Bedford Scallops
Sweet potato Tamale
Pork Chop
Banana Cream Pie
Peppermint And Vanilla Ice Cream
New York Strip
Rack of Lamb
Creme Brulee
Clams
Vegetable Plate
Fruit Plate
Apple And Sour Cream Pie
Fried Chicken Livers, Grits, Spicy Relish
Roasted Pork Sandwich And Apple Slaw
Shrimp & Grits
Seared Antelope
Lemon Trifle
Sirloin
Asparagus Salad
New Bedford Scallop
Cheese Pl
Shrimp and Grits
Chilled Shrimp Salad
House Salad with Buttermilk Ranch
Cornbread Pudding
Cornbread
Clam Chowder With Bacon And Leeks
Housemade Bbq Potato Chips
Maverick Shrimp & Grits
Peanut Butter Pie
Salmon Tartare
Squash Blossoms Stuffed with Shrimp Mousse
Ahi tuna
Duck
Pork Belly
Grilled Tuna
House-Smoked Trout On Rye Toast Points
Roasted Duck Breast
Beef Carpacio
Chicken And Vegetable Medly
Lobster & Corn Risotto With Watermelon Basil Salsa
Bourbon Cocktail (From Bar Menu)
Crab Cakes
French Gimlet
Salmon Croquette
Trout with preserved lemon, mint, cilantro and garlic
Amazing Cakes
Chicken Special
Grilled Peach Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Slightly North of Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Low Country
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (275)
Special Occasion (254)
Neighborhood Gem (170)
See All
Romantic (161)
Great for Lunch (141)
Good for Groups (96)
Notable Wine List (95)
Hot Spot (83)
Great for Brunch (48)
Local Ingredients (40)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for a Date (32)
Open Kitchen (24)
Historic (23)
Authentic (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Kid-friendly (19)
Cozy (17)
Fun (16)
Casual (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Business Meals (14)
Seasonal (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Healthy (10)
Late-night Find (10)
People Watching (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Organic (5)
Scenic View (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Vegan (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Waterfront (2)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and bar drinks were top notch. Wai ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food and bar drinks were top notch. Wait person was delightful... friendly and professional. She was very familiar with menu items. We were there celebrating a birthday. The birthday dessert was a great surprise .

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In town for vaca a friend recommended S ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

In town for vaca a friend recommended SNOB. Had a reservation, taken to table right away no wait. Everyone very friendly, sat by the bar on a sat night so it was a little loud. The peach sangria was wonderful and the food was excellent (rack of lamb). Will definitely go back next time I am in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit, but it will not ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first visit, but it will not be my last. The food was excellent and portion sizes were far beyond my expectations. The atmosphere was great and the service was top notch. I highly recommend Slightly North of Broad for any occasion, but especially for a romantic night out.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Organic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Vegan, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SNOB was fantastic. One member of our pa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

SNOB was fantastic. One member of our party is allergic to dairy products. Other expensive restaurants we had eaten at in Charleston had made it very difficult for him to have much to pick from. The entire menu from SNOB was available as the kitchen was willing to make the needed accommodations. The cocktails were amazing, the fresh fish for the evening was exquisite, beef delicious and the sides that came with the meal creative and interesting besides being very good. We will make sure we eat at SNOB more than once on our next trip to Charleston!!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, SNOBS was the experience we ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

Once again, SNOBS was the experience we have come to love and anticipate with each visit to Charleston. Thank you for always having something new to enjoy with consistent quality. Love the Maverick perks too! Thank you Chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely our favorite restaurant in Ch ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely our favorite restaurant in Charleston! We have eaten here 6 or 7 times over the last 4 years. The food is always great and the service is very attentive and friendly. If you haven't eaten at SNOB, you haven't really experienced Charleston hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I consider SNOB to be the best restauran ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

I consider SNOB to be the best restaurant experience I have had in Charleston.....I did not make it to FIGS......but SNOB was outstanding!!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our visit as we have in the past ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed our visit as we have in the past. A bit noisy for conversation, but the service and food were good. We will b back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The cantaloupe carpaccio was unbelieveab ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

The cantaloupe carpaccio was unbelieveable and the triggerfish dish that followed was excellent. Great atmosphere, attentive service!

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS A GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE. ASK F ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 6 days ago

ALWAYS A GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE. ASK FOR PAUL AS YOUR WAITER.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice evening with great food and service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Nice evening with great food and service. A busy restaurant but reasonable noise level.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very nice dining,experience. I live in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

A very nice dining,experience. I live in San Francisco and was looking for good Southern food. I was not disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, great food! Couldn't ask ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great service, great food! Couldn't ask for a better spot to have a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was excellent. Would re ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Service and food was excellent. Would recommend and will return on our next trip to town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I were in Charleston for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

My husband and I were in Charleston for a convention. Friends recommended this restaurant, and we were so glad they did! Lovely dining room, amazing food, wonderful service. My husband had the swordfish special and said it was the best fish he ever had. We also had the crab cake appetizer, divine. Pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant--good food; great s ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Very nice restaurant--good food; great service; nice ambiance--definitely recommend Slightly Noeth of Broad

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service. Would definitely ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food and service. Would definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great- friendly and very ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The service was great- friendly and very knowledgeable. The cocktail menu was delicious! The recommendations made by our waiter paid off too...the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our Waitress was great. Very friendly a ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Our Waitress was great. Very friendly and knowledgeable. Friend had the Catfish Sandwich which he stated was very good. Would come back for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the first time at SNOB--one/two ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

This is the first time at SNOB--one/two times a week for eight years--that I have been thoroughly disappointed. The service was really below par, especially for SNOB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Ate at the bar and had a great night. As ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Ate at the bar and had a great night. Ashley was super attentive but knew when to sit back and let me and my mom catch up. She was so approachable and just all around awesome!

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal during restaurant week. E ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful meal during restaurant week. Eggplant appetizer was amazing ! Swordfish was very flavorful and cooked perfectly. Filet of beef amazing! Hazelnut chocolate mouse dessert fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. Have eaten here for yea ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love this place. Have eaten here for years. Great ambiance and welcoming greeting. Miss the warm soup with sour cream on top.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Met my girlfriends for lunch. Waitier wa ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Met my girlfriends for lunch. Waitier was friendly, sa was cute, food is consistent. we had a good time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate at Slightly North of Broad on our ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We ate at Slightly North of Broad on our girls trip to Charleston and celebrated a 50th Birthday at SNOB. We had a fabulous meal and a really good time at the restaurant. All seven of us enjoyed our entrees. The highlights were the Stuffed Quail, Fresh Fish, Shrimp & Grits, and the Steak. The Bread Pudding was amazing too! Highly Recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was awesome. Loved the crab sou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was awesome. Loved the crab soup, Manhatten was well made and the steak and swordfish were prepared very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you're in the historic district of Ch ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

If you're in the historic district of Charleston then you have to check out SNOB. The service is great and the food is even better. Even though my husband and I went during Restaurant Week, to our surprise, they still offered some wonderful specials. Their cocktails are good and they can make any of their signature cocktails into "mocktails". The cheese plate is definitely a great way to kick off dinner and ease into the whole experience. While my husband was really happy with his NY Strip, I was probably more excited about the pork chop special that was stuffed with cornbread. It was the perfect dish to ease into the fall season and the fall flavors. Hopefully the dish will be back as a seasonal special. You really cannot go wrong with any dish you choose as they all looked amazing and from others around us, they were very happy with their choice. So if you're visiting Charleston, like we were, then be sure to put this place on you list of restaurants to go to. It's a great spot for both cocktails and food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food - knowledgeable/attentive ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent food - knowledgeable/attentive/efficient staff - thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My dinner partner totally enjoyed the be ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My dinner partner totally enjoyed the beef tenderloin and I really enjoyed the pork dish with quinoa and corn. The staff were very attentive and passed our praises on to the chef who came to our table and chatted with us.

Tags: Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved the trout and fish lunches - we ga ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

loved the trout and fish lunches - we gave it A+ on food & loved sitting watching the kitchen. SNOB was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had two restaurant week dishes: the s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had two restaurant week dishes: the swordfish and the tenderloin steak. Best swordfish I have eaten. And the blue cheese butter reduction on the very tender steak was definitely tasty.

The bread pudding dessert I wouldn't order again but I'd eat again at SNOB anytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Kudos to the manager who found us the pe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Kudos to the manager who found us the perfect table that was more quiet as we had someone with a hearing loss. All the dishes of our restaurant week meal were perfect. We were surprised at the portion sizes, more than we could eat. The swordfish was cooked perfectly so that it was nice as moist. My husbands' steak was also done perfectly. Great desserts! II was a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening. Incredible atmosphere. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Perfect evening. Incredible atmosphere. The food was delicious it was beyond our expectations. It was restaurant week and the menu was incredible for the $$$ The portions were generous. The server was very efficient. SNOB is on our list for a return visit. It is must when your downtown Charleston.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! I'd been there before, man ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding! I'd been there before, many times, but was hosting out-of-town relatives! Always good, always consistent!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food , atmosphere , service !!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food , atmosphere , service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. Service was great and food ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great place. Service was great and food out of this world good! Will go back when in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All of the food was amazing!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

All of the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time dining here. Food was a litt ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Second time dining here. Food was a little different t this time. My husband got the shrimp and grits this time and last. Seems they changed it a bit. Still good. I got the fried chicken livers over grits. Although good I wish it had something else with it like a sauce. It's seriously just chicken livers and grits. We will come back a third time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I have been here many times and it remai ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I have been here many times and it remains to be a favorite for a nice dinner in Charleston. The food is always wonderful and the service is courteous. I find it to be a value for lunch and a romantic pleaser for a date or special event dinner. I will continue to be a patron and to recommend it to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Food & Service. Planning on ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Outstanding Food & Service. Planning on returning soon.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.