About Slightly North of Broad

192 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm

Lunch: Daily from 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Faber Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 723-3424

Website:
http://snobcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Frank Lee

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Pierce: (843) 723-3424

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

New Bedford Scallops - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Sweet potato Tamale - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Pork Chop - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Banana Cream Pie - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Peppermint And Vanilla Ice Cream - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
New York Strip - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Rack of Lamb - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Creme Brulee - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Clams - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Apple And Sour Cream Pie - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Fried Chicken Livers, Grits, Spicy Relish - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Roasted Pork Sandwich And Apple Slaw - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Shrimp & Grits - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Seared Antelope - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Lemon Trifle - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Sirloin - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Asparagus Salad - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
New Bedford Scallop - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Cheese Pl - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Shrimp and Grits - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Chilled Shrimp Salad  - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
House Salad with Buttermilk Ranch - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Cornbread Pudding - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Cornbread - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Clam Chowder With Bacon And Leeks - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Housemade Bbq Potato Chips - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Maverick Shrimp & Grits - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Peanut Butter Pie - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Salmon Tartare - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Squash Blossoms Stuffed with Shrimp Mousse - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Ahi tuna - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Duck - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Pork Belly - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Grilled Tuna - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
House-Smoked Trout On Rye Toast Points - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Vegetable Plate - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Fruit Plate - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Roasted Duck Breast - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Beef Carpacio - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Chicken And Vegetable Medly - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Lobster & Corn Risotto With Watermelon Basil Salsa - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Bourbon Cocktail (From Bar Menu) - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Crab Cakes - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
French Gimlet - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Salmon Croquette - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Trout with preserved lemon, mint, cilantro and garlic - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Amazing Cakes - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Chicken Special - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC
Grilled Peach Salad - Slightly North of Broad, Charleston, SC

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Slightly North of Broad will be serving an innovative three course prix fixe menu dominated by fresh local ingredients for $75 per person.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Slightly North of Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (135)
Good for a Date (125)
Good for Anniversaries (99)
See All
Fit for Foodies (99)
Local Ingredients (89)
Creative Cuisine (89)
Romantic (83)
Neighborhood Gem (76)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Cozy (60)
Open Kitchen (59)
Worth the Drive (57)
Great for Lunch (53)
Historic (51)
Authentic (48)
Business Meals (44)
Comfort Food (41)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Casual (37)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Fun (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Seasonal (29)
Healthy (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Bar Seating (24)
Outstanding Value (21)
Sunday Lunch (18)
People Watching (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Family Style (8)
Organic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Vegan (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Spicy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
5223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First visit - took advantagenof restaura ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

First visit - took advantagenof restaurant week special menu - had shrimp and grits - one of their signature dishes - fabulous - will come again!!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SNOBS is our all time favorite restauran ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

SNOBS is our all time favorite restaurant. We've moved away from Charleston and came back for a visit, SNOBS is still as great as ever. The shrimp and grits are the best I have ever had. Can't eat them anywhere else. Frank Lee is world class. He's done a wonderful job teaching the new chef to carry on .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy PEI mussels and have ordered the ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

I enjoy PEI mussels and have ordered them in many places, but SNOB, was The best tasting ever! Appetizers were wonderful, the whole meal, stupendous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went during Restaurant Week, but the por ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Went during Restaurant Week, but the portions were still outsized and the food amazing. Just a stellar experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing! Seated on time f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was amazing! Seated on time for reservation. Food and service were excellent. Would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch was reasonably priced ($14 Rueben) ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Lunch was reasonably priced ($14 Rueben) but delicious and a good value considering where we are downtown Charleston ). The ambience was wonderful and the staff was delightful. I would recommend it to anyone and can't wait to go again.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We came and had the restaurant week menu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We came and had the restaurant week menu. Everything was delicious. We loved the bread they brought to the table, the soup was delicious as was the steak and swordfish that we had. The staff was very attentive. We would definitely come again and would recommend it

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really enjoyable meal - everything was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

A really enjoyable meal - everything was great and the service excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pro: Great Food, modern twist on shrimp ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

Pro: Great Food, modern twist on shrimp and grits.

Cons: We waited for one hour even after reservation and food was over priced.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I took our two kids (8 & 11) ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I took our two kids (8 & 11) here to celebrate a marathon finish. The food was great and the service was top notch to match. We didn't feel uncomfortable having younger kids along for the ride. The staff catered to the kids with a kids menu (unadvertised on the website) and let them choose their crayons to complete the activity sheets. The staff was professional and the food tasted great. The menu was standard low country SC cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location and cool ambiance. Our wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great location and cool ambiance. Our waiter was very attentive and gave great recommendations. The food was comfort food with a unique twist. Good first experience at SNOB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice atmosphere without being too formal ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Nice atmosphere without being too formal. Noise level comfortable for conversation. Kale salad was amazing. Pork chop Over the green sauce was excellent. Service was good, not rushed but efficient. All good. Five people liked their food.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way!! All 3 in our ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Outstanding in every way!! All 3 in our party had outstanding entrees from the Charleston Restaurant Week menu-pork chop, shrimp & grits and swordfish! Service was spot on-so knowledgeable and perfect blend of chit chat, leaving us alone and checking up on us! Would go back in a heart beat!!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although I have rated this restaurant se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Although I have rated this restaurant several times with 5 stars, I was disappointed last night. To begin with, we were given a 4" basket that looked to be filled with cornbread. This came with a tiny dish of butter, not suitable for four. Once we each removed our piece of cornbread, there was nothing but literally crumbs. When I showed it to our server, he quickly brought a basket of bread and one of cornbread., but no more butter. The first and second courses were all delicious. When I ordered my dessert, I requested a dollop of whip cream instead of ice cream. It came plain and was rather dry. I waited to catch the eye of my server to ask for the cream. He returned with some milk in a bowl, and i was told they did not have any. I do not understand a kitchen of this caliber not having heavy cream. I do not understand why I wasn't told that before the dessert came out so that I would have options. I do think my server had too many tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were visiting Charleston for the firs ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were visiting Charleston for the first time, and S.N.O.B. was recommended by a friend. It was restaurant week, so had a fabulous 3 course dinner for $40. Excellent food!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in charleston for fine dining ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Best place in charleston for fine dining. Our waiter elio was great

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been here many times. Never, eve ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We've been here many times. Never, ever been disappointed. We thought place might lose something when Elliott sold restaurant, but Hall family has managed to keep ambiance and excellent food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a great place on a cold evening t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was a great place on a cold evening to spend time with good friends having a delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Has been my favorite in Charleston for a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Has been my favorite in Charleston for a while now...and the competition is fierce!

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dearly love S.N.O.B. Food and drink h ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I dearly love S.N.O.B. Food and drink has never been anything less than perfectly prepared; waiting staff is always just the right level of attentive and very nice. It's one of my favorite two restaurants in Charleston.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Intimate dining experience and quiet. It ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Intimate dining experience and quiet. It was well working the cost.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Best shrimp and grits! Love this restau ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Best shrimp and grits! Love this restaurant! The service is great and the quality of the food is always top notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At the risk of sounding like Lawrence We ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

At the risk of sounding like Lawrence Welk... SNOB is "wonderful, wonderful!"

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to SNOB with some friends. We are ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went to SNOB with some friends. We are locals and are regulars here. Food always consistently good whether you order seafood, some kind of meat or the best shrimp in grits in town. Service as always was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came in for my husband's birthday and it ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Came in for my husband's birthday and it was absolutely fantastic! GREAT service and the food was delicious. We had a great time!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SNOB was wonderful as always! consisten ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

SNOB was wonderful as always! consistent in delivering excellence that I have observed for at least 10 years!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were amazing. We w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food and service were amazing. We were a party of four and ordered off the restaurant week menu. We had crab soup for the first course - they served us a bowl, not cup, of hot soup with large lumps of crab. Two shared a salad, which was split for us in the kitchen. For the entree, three ordered the beef tenderloin and one the swordfish. All dishes were prepared as requested and served right off the grill. All four of us finished our desserts - Creme Brule, bread pudding, and chocolate mousse. Even though we ordered off the restaurant week menu, we all agreed we received "regular menu" food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the restaurant week menu. Food wa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We did the restaurant week menu. Food was good, but not outstanding. I had the shrimp and grits. It was nicely presented, but the shrimp were almost tasteless. The chocolate mousse for dessert was so hard it took pressure to get a spoonful. (My husband's fish was excellent.)

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Best lunch ever. If you like shrimp and ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Best lunch ever. If you like shrimp and grits this is the place to go

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having been to SNOB previously, I had hi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Having been to SNOB previously, I had high expectations. I was NOT disappointed! My husband had a chicken livers and grits lunch that was fit for a king! Absolutely succulent and delightful! I had a swordfish which was the best that I have tasted in a long while! Their home made cornbread and baguettes were delicious, and the servers were delightful and experienced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Authentic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our all-time favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

One of our all-time favorite restaurants, and certainly one of our favorites in Charleston! The ambiance is "energetic" but great. The food is more-or-less a take on classic Southern cuisine. The service is among the best in Charleston, and that says a LOT. We highly recommend it! Note that reservations well in advance are a must.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The carpaccio and shrimp & grits were ou ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The carpaccio and shrimp & grits were outstanding. I'd pair these two for a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Looked forward to the soup, took a sip a ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Looked forward to the soup, took a sip and got a very small shell...didn't think anything of it, it happens. Took another sip, another shell.....ok, last chance, another shell! Unacceptable in Charleston at a nice venue. I didn't say anything to server, just didn't finish it. I couldn't eat any of my other food because I was a little rattled. My husband's food was wonderful and server was great. Maybe it was just a bad batch of soup.....kinda disheartens when that's what most restaurants pride themselves on being good at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Delicious lunch!! New Years Day brunch w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious lunch!! New Years Day brunch was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our meal. The wait staff was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed our meal. The wait staff was excellent even though she had worked New Year's Eve and was working a double on Sunday!! She was very friendly and made our dining experience very pleasant. Our girls enjoyed going to a nice restaurant!! Thanks

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SNOB has long been our 'go to' restauran ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

SNOB has long been our 'go to' restaurant to celebrate special occassions, guests in town as well as business luncheons. Our dining experience for brunch this most recent was disappointing.

While the food quality remained quite high the service was poor. Our server was seated an eight-top just as we sat down. It quickly became apparent he was in the 'weeds' and our table would be sacrificed for service. After waiting 20 mins for our drink order that we had placed when we were seated we addressed our concerns with the server who maintained he could handle it. Unlike in past times where the restaurant is a buzz with server assistants who keep an eye on the tables there seemed to be no one available to help. Maybe it is time to find a new 'go to' dining spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

The New Year's Eve menu was amazing. I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New Year's Eve menu was amazing. I am definitely looking forward to going back in order to sample their regular menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

A great New Year's Eve experience. Food ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A great New Year's Eve experience. Food and service was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant in the heart of Cha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent restaurant in the heart of Charleston. Make reservations, it fills up fast!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.