About Slightly North of Broad

192 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm

Lunch: Daily from 11:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Faber Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 723-3424

Website:
http://snobcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
There are two parking garages located within ½ block of the restaurant. One is located at the corner of Concord and Cumberland and the second is located on Cumberland between East Bay and State. Street parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Frank Lee

Private Party Facilities:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Pierce: 8437233424x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant may be rented for a private function for up to 90 guests.

Restaurant Photos

New Bedford Scallops
Banana Cream Pie
Pork Chop
Sweet potato Tamale
Peppermint And Vanilla Ice Cream
Rack of Lamb
Creme Brulee
New York Strip
Clams
Fruit Plate
Vegetable Plate
Lemon Trifle
Asparagus Salad
New Bedford Scallop
Sirloin
Apple And Sour Cream Pie
Roasted Pork Sandwich And Apple Slaw
Fried Chicken Livers, Grits, Spicy Relish
Shrimp & Grits
Seared Antelope
Cheese Pl
Shrimp and Grits
Chilled Shrimp Salad
Cornbread
Clam Chowder With Bacon And Leeks
Housemade Bbq Potato Chips
House Salad with Buttermilk Ranch
Cornbread Pudding
Peanut Butter Pie
Maverick Shrimp & Grits
Salmon Tartare
Squash Blossoms Stuffed with Shrimp Mousse
Duck
Pork Belly
Ahi tuna
Grilled Tuna
House-Smoked Trout On Rye Toast Points
Roasted Duck Breast
Beef Carpacio
Chicken And Vegetable Medly
Crab Cakes
Lobster & Corn Risotto With Watermelon Basil Salsa
French Gimlet
Bourbon Cocktail (From Bar Menu)
Salmon Croquette
Amazing Cakes
Chicken Special
Trout with preserved lemon, mint, cilantro and garlic
Grilled Peach Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Slightly North of Broad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Low Country
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (341)
special occasion (279)
great for lunch (194)
See All
neighborhood gem (184)
romantic (153)
good for groups (125)
hot spot (106)
notable wine list (89)
great for brunch (69)
vibrant bar scene (14)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
4498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waitress suggested very good options ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waitress suggested very good options. With five guests, we had four different dishes. The shrimp and grits was some of the best I've had in Charleston. The staff was friendly but the wine was over-priced. Great food and nice, easy ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went for our fist lunch in Charleston ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went for our fist lunch in Charleston and it was so good we went for the last dinner of our 4 day visit.

By far the best. Save room for the peach cobbler. Wasn't on the dinner menu but our waiter made a special effort to get it for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our favorite meal in Charleston ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our favorite meal in Charleston - and we went to a ton of restaurants. The service was beyond any other place I've been to. Our waitress welcomed us with a glass of champagne to start off our evening as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Such a classic touch. We ordered a delicious bottle of pinot, which was very well priced. We had the crab bisque and steak tartar to start - both excellent choices and well portioned. And for dinner, the tuna was to die for. The entire evening was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our "ea ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our "early" anniversary dinner at SNOB. The food was exquisitely prepared and ranks as the BEST meal we have ever had in the Charleston area. The staff was top notch and answered all our questions regarding the menu and food choices. Food was quickly served and exceeded all expectations. Would highly recommend SNOB for anyone visiting Charleston area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought their food was just average fo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

I thought their food was just average for the price. We had way better meals in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great for lunch; bright, cheery interior ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great for lunch; bright, cheery interior. Generous portions, flavorful combinations, interesting presentations. Recommended by a friend, I want to pay it forward and tell others to try it. You'll like it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had been recommended this restaurant ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had been recommended this restaurant for a very special birthday. Our appetizer was sent with (3) large pieces of plastic wrap on the carpaccio. Manager gave slight apology and offered to bring a complimentary glass of wine. Dinner came much later, Grouper was over cooked and way under seasoned, all other meals were cold. Sent back to have same plates delivered back once heat lights had "warmed them back up slightly" Waiter, Nick nor manager never came back to check in. Waiter finally cleared cold plates of dinner that were barely touched by any of our party of 5. Offered complimentary desserts- not comp of dinner or apologies for terrible meals or service. WILL NEVER GO BACK TO SNOB. As an active foodie and Publisher of magazine, I will assure you I will not recommend this restaurant to anyone in or traveling to Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

My family and I love SNOB and dine here ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

My family and I love SNOB and dine here multiple times a year when we are in town. However, we have had some issues lately with undercooked fish. Still a great place and we will come back and hope for a better experience next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding! Always a great pl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was outstanding! Always a great place to enjoy a meal with good food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined many times at SNOB and they a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Have dined many times at SNOB and they are always consistent and wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been several times. It just chan ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 7 days ago

We have been several times. It just changed owners but remains one our favorite in Charleston. Wonderful and flavorful lunch with a consistent and accomplished bar. Delightful waite staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Came here for a lunch date. We were chec ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

Came here for a lunch date. We were checked in quickly and seated near the kitchen which is open so you can see what's going on. Kind of cool. Our waitress, I believe her name was Emily, was awesome and I truly enjoy good service. The food was great and we enjoyed ourselves. I would definitely return.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband's filet was the best we had e ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband's filet was the best we had ever had!! Absolutely delicious and perfect! I ordered the shrimp and grits. Being from Charleston, I've had a lot of shrimp and grits, and it was least favorite. Overall we had a great experience though!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect as usual. This is the restaurant ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Perfect as usual. This is the restaurant we are sure not to miss every time we are in Charleston! As often as we eat here, the food is always spectacular and the service top notch every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every entree was fantastic but our waitr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Every entree was fantastic but our waitress was rude and unknowledgable

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Everything was great except the waitress ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything was great except the waitress. She gave us an attitude from the second we walked in. My wine glass was filthy and had something floating in to and all they did was clean the glass and gave the wine back to me, yuck.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

SNOB was again simply fabulous. The staf ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

SNOB was again simply fabulous. The staff are knowledgeable, helpful, friendly, and professional. The food was again creative, tasty, attractively plated, and just the right amount to leave one pleasantly sated. Number one on our list of Charleston restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love SNOB! The service is impeccable ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We love SNOB! The service is impeccable and the food is made with quality ingredients, presented nicely, and accessible to foodies and non-foodies alike. The ambiance is romantic and perfect for when we are in town sans kids. We make it a point to go each time we are in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was slow. After several min ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The service was slow. After several minutes after we were finished eating, we heard one of the other services talking to the manager how we were finished were waiting to leave. Another server had to clear our plates instead of our own server. The food was good, however, I thought my crab salad was going to be different. I expected crab on top of my salad instead of a crab salad salad. Overall, the food was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A Charleston classic.....always great fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A Charleston classic.....always great food and service.

Perfect every time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud and crowded. The place does have ch ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Loud and crowded. The place does have character. The chef gets points for trying, but it is not gormet. The combinations we tired didn't really work and it seemed like our waitress didn't appreciate my feedback as polite as I tried to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our overall experience was excellent. Fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our overall experience was excellent. For reasons we did not understand our waiter lost interest in us to the point of being dismissive. The food however was excellent and at the end of the day that is what it is all about. Would go again for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We have been to SNOB 5 or 6 times, almos ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We have been to SNOB 5 or 6 times, almost every time we go to Charleston. The crab cake was to die for but the thing that always brings us back to SNOB is the shrimp and grits. They make a wonderful sauce and all the ingredients----shrimp, sausage, scallions and of course the perfectly done grits--- are blended to perfection. Can't wait to go back again next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent! meal. We had the "tapas flig ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent! meal. We had the "tapas flights". They were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant to go to in Charleston. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great restaurant to go to in Charleston. We're locals and have eaten here many times and are always pleased with the service, food and cleanliness of the restaurant. We love the open kitchen... It provided wonderful entertainment for our eight month old. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A group of us girls had lunch together @ ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A group of us girls had lunch together @ SNOB. It was such a great dining experience a couple of us brought our husbands the next evening. Of all our meals while visiting Charleston my favorite for dinner was your Vegetable Plate! I will definitely start grilling my veggies!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was average and overpriced. Many b ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was average and overpriced. Many better places to eat in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was excellent. I loved the grouper. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was excellent. I loved the grouper. But the restaurant was overall very loud and distracting for table conversation. There are too many tables for the size of the room. It seems crowded and overwhelming. Not very romantic if that is what you are looking for. I was a bit disappointed. Compared to other high end restaurants in downtown Charleston, it had nothing unique or different.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We had a recommendation about SNOB and w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a recommendation about SNOB and weren't disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Charleston for ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My husband and I went to Charleston for a long weekend and tried several restaurants. This was by far our favorite! Absolutely will go back again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always loved SNOB and this was no ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I have always loved SNOB and this was no exception, however, my food was quite cool. I had a BBQ tuna that was rare to medium rare but should've been much hotter. For $32 this is unacceptable. My guests enjoyed their food and didn't say anything about food temp.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This is the second time I have had the p ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This is the second time I have had the pleasure of dining at this restaurant. The wait staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about menu items. Our server Paul was fantastic! And the food is amazing. The evening my husband and I had diner there, I had the crostini appetizer that was one of the best things I had ever eaten! All fresh veggies and the flavor combination was outstanding. I would give this restaurant 5 stars and recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I am a regular at SNOB and that is becau ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I am a regular at SNOB and that is because the food and service are always consistently terrific.

My dining experience the other night was no exception. I always bring out of town guests here

for a southern charm experience. My only disappointment is that it seems that the prices of everything have gone way up. I always felt I was getting great value but now, I am not so sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A local recommend SNOB and we were delig ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A local recommend SNOB and we were delighted with the entire experience. The food was delicious! We all especially liked the salads. The grilled peach salad was amazing! Everything definitely tasted like it was fresh from the garden. The fish was light and prepared very well. The Creme brûlée was just plain yummy! Can't wait to go again when we visit Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for lunch, overall excellent; for a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Went for lunch, overall excellent; for appetizers had shrimp & grits and a crab cake. Two of us had the Rueben and other person had a salad. Did the banana cream pie dessert, with a scoop of vanilla. Everything we ate was delicious, had a couple yummy cocktails too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Had heard nothing but good things and t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Had heard nothing but good things and they were all true. Loved it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the 4th of July and perhaps the r ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

It was the 4th of July and perhaps the restautant was understaffed, but our waiter was disjointed.

He brought me a martini that was supposed to be dirty and wasn't. He also brought an app and salad out early that we requested to be served as a main course.They made us a fresh one and brought it out later.

Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Outstanding food and great service. Had ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Outstanding food and great service. Had the swordfish and it was one of the best fish dish I have eaten. Even when busy, still had service that was just right, not too hovering but no long wait for attention.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Was searching for that perfect Charlesto ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was searching for that perfect Charleston lunch, and hit the jackpot. Phenomenal!! Had the lunch feature of fried chicken over pimento cheese grits and braised collards!!! Yummmmm. Even my picky boyfriend devoured it. Will definitely be back. 6 stars!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Snob is the best!! From the food to th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Snob is the best!! From the food to the atmosphere, there's I better place for lunch or dinner in Charleston! Or anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.