Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

OTD (aka Out the Door - Bush St.)OTD (aka Out the Door - Bush St.)
(701)
Vietnamese | Pacific Heights, San Francisco
Reserve Now
South at SF JazzSouth at SF Jazz
(372)
Mexican | Civic Center / Hayes Valley / Van Ness, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Hard WaterHard Water
(279)
Contemporary Southern | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
MarketBarMarketBar
(977)
Californian | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Boulettes Larder & BoulibarBoulettes Larder & Boulibar
(176)
Mediterranean | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
BoulevardBoulevard
(5087)
American | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Americano Restaurant - Hotel VitaleAmericano Restaurant - Hotel Vitale
(638)
Italian | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
La Mar Cebicheria PeruanaLa Mar Cebicheria Peruana
(3180)
Peruvian | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Perry's - EmbarcaderoPerry's - Embarcadero
(869)
American | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Chaya BrasserieChaya Brasserie
(1731)
Japanese | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
CoquetaCoqueta
(1082)
Spanish | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Stone Korean KitchenStone Korean Kitchen
(99)
Asian | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
One Market RestaurantOne Market Restaurant
(3077)
Contemporary American | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Sens RestaurantSens Restaurant
(778)
Mediterranean | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now
Crystal Jade Jiang NanCrystal Jade Jiang Nan
(229)
Chinese | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Reserve Now

About Slanted Door

1 Ferry Building #3
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

The Slanted Door offers diners a gourmet experience where the food on the plate looks as beautiful as the views of the Golden Gate Bridge from every table. Charles Phan, the executive chef, goes to the root of the dishes to represent the food authentically with a modern twist. The Slanted Door offers lunch and dinner menus with a variety of appetizers, palate cleansers and main dishes.

The meals consist of organic elements including grass-fed beef and pasture-raised, cage-free chickens. Local seafood options include wild Gulf shrimp, spicy Monterey squid and seared Ahi tuna, or visitors can take advantage of the raw seafood bar. Those looking for a vegetarian or vegan menu will find plenty of options available. The Slanted Door offers a family-style menu and a wide selection of desserts with an extensive bar menu to wash it all down.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Vietnamese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm, Sunday 11:30am-3:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Sunday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
On Embarcadero between Mission and Clay St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 861-8032

Website:
http://www.slanteddoor.com/

Catering:
For catering information, please contact us at catering@slanteddoor.com

Parking Details:
The Ferry Building offers the following validated parking.
Embarcadero@ Washington lot (across from Pier 1)
Validated rate of $2.00/hr for the first 2 hours; $6/hr thereafter.

Public Transit:
The Ferry building is served by public transportation: Muni, Golden Gate Transit, Bart, F Train. Ferry service is available with Golden Gate Ferry, Blue and Gold Fleet and Bay Link Ferries. For more information, visit www.transitinfo.org and www.sfport.com

Executive Chef:
Charles Phan

Private Party Facilities:
The Slanted Door has several options for groups wishing to hold special events. Our PRIVATE DINING ROOM accommodates 12-20 guests for a quiet sit-down dinner. Our LOUNGE is available for semi-private cocktail parties for 20-50 people or seated dinners for up to 40. Our PATIO is available seasonally for parties of 40-70.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Alvey: 415-321-3003x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Apple Tarte
Imperial Rolls
Chocolate Souffle
Cotton candy
Chicken Lemongrass
White Chocolate
Asparagus And Maitake Mushrooms
Cellophane Dungeness Crab
Shaking Beef
Crispy Spring Rolls
Glass Noodle With Crab
Apple Upside Down Cake With Ginger Ice Cream
Ceviche
Spring Rolls
Yellow Tail Sashimi
Fried Vegetarian Spring Rolls
singapore sling
Shrimp And Peppers

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sort By:
Newest
8879 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had the crispy imperial rolls, heirlo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

We had the crispy imperial rolls, heirloom melon salad, stir fried chicken, and cellophane noodles. Everything was delicious and service was fantastic. Great Pre-birthday dinner for my mom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Resting on laurels. A mere shadow of its ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Resting on laurels. A mere shadow of its original self.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Slanted Door: Stellar Food, Surly Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

The food at The Slanted Door was excellent. I particularly recommend the Green Papaya Salad, the Shaking Beef, and the Cellophane Noodles. Unfortunately, the service we received was downright hostile. The waitress was incredibly nasty toward our children and deeply hurt my daughter's feelings (and mine). We will not be returning and I don't recommend visiting this restaurant with children. Such a disappointment.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Great views

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

After trying for several months we finally got a Sunday 2:15 lunch reservation. We were seated immediately and drink orders arrived pronto. Window seats give one person the bay view, but the other person views the bar. Crispy spring rolls in lettuce leaves, cellophane noodles with crab and a perfectly cooked flat iron steak with veggies were all delicious. Cheesecake was excellent, not too sweet and very creamy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great dining experience!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

We enjoyed 3 great appetizers--very clean fresh dishes with excellent spices for taste--especially enjoyed the the mango salad. The chicken with cashews dish was also a great one to try. We ordered the cotton candy for dessert--great for a show and cool to see but really was too sweet. The beignet dessert was fantastic!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, Okay service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

The food at Slanted Door is innovative and interesting. Having been there many times however, I was disappointed that it was less than stellar this time. We had to ask for water multiple times and our waiter would occasionally disappear. The food items were good, however the gulf shrimp meat tasted a bit fishy.

Additionally, at our 7:30pm seating the restaurant seemed to lack a bit of its usual polish; the menus they gave us were wrinkled/stained, the restaurant seemed a little messier than usual, kids were in there playing on their gameboys (not something the restaurant can control, but definitely contributed to a different vibe.)

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

terrific choices of delicious dishes to share

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

we ate before we were to head to the theater. our waitress offered suggestions that were spot on. appetizers and main dishes were all delicious and different. you won't be disappointed!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Slanted Door is a Foodie Haven

 
·Dined on August 13, 2015

A friend suggested we try Slanted Door a few years ago. Being from Canada, I was eagerly awaiting the opportunity to get to San Fran and try out this famed eatery. So, four years later on a one day trip o the Bay area, I made a reso for two (a month in advance and could only get a 9:30 reso on a Wednesday!!!)...

We experienced:

- a stunning view by the waterfront

- great ambience and subtle, but fitting interior decor

- a waiter who was helpful, attentive but not intrusive. He guided our meal selection with honesty and promptly sent the sommelier to our table to discuss wine options based on what we had selected from the menu.

-the sommelier was unassuming, friendly and approachable. He provided a few options based on our preferences and budget.

- the food was sensational; the scallops were like WHOAH good, but everything was drool-worthy.

-the bill was a little more than we usually would have paid, but it was worth every penny.

- dessert was equally delicious and, even though we left with full tummies, we wanted more!

Will DEFINITELY be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Perfect!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

Great food, great service - and enjoyed the view! Always a good time at Slanted Door - friends and I love it here!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! It was quite loud in the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

Great service! It was quite loud in the restaurant. I loved the cellophane noodles and the corn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Slanted Door Disapoints

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

After much hype, The Slanted Door was a disappointment. The food is poor, like a fairly normal Chinese restaurant. Tamarind in Palo Alto which is a similar Vietnamese fusion restaurant is much better. Very lively place, with crowds of people waiting to get in... and this was on a Tuesday. So they must be doing something the young professional crowd like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Always a stop when I'm in town. Love th ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

Always a stop when I'm in town. Love those French 75's. It is a "must"..

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food but.....

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2015

This is the second time I have been there recently and the wait staff has been incredibly rude- once for dinner and once for lunch. The food is good however perhaps they just got too big for their britches. And with scenery and location maybe they just feel they don't have to be polite???

Unacceptable and I won't be running back. Enough other great restaurants nearby that treat their patrons politely. Sad as I have been going to Slanted Door since their original location many years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Upscale Vietnamese

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2015

Very good food and service. Very creative food and presentation. Very expensive as well. Whole fish was incredible. Nice wine selection with a very good wine steward

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Spot!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2015

Awesome food, great location.

The pier trumps the wharf, in my opinion, and this is a must if your down in that area. Hit the shops and wine bar up then enjoy some slanted door! A great afternoon in San Francisco!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Slanted door

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2015

We arrived at 7:30 for our 9:00 reservations. They were able to seat us, in the side section w no water view. Waitress recommended a great German Pinot. We told her we were ordering everything family style and she was great at suggestions of when to bring food out so the progression would be nice. We ordered:

Slanted door rolls- fresh and nice peanut sauce

Frog legs - delicate and tender

pork belly- sweet and well prepared

Papaya salad- well seasoned and balanced

Soup shrimp crab coconut milk- delicate and nice

Shaking beef- beef was tough, nothing special, since she said this was a signature dish

Chicken clay pot- well flavored and delicious

Cellophane noodles-ok

Dessert

Confection plate- cotton candy and nice caramel

Bitter sweet chocolate tart- good

Overall the food was fresh and understated. I needed more spice half way through and she accommodated w bringing a nice chili paste. We were still hungry, so we ordered some rice.

We would good back, but I would tell them immediately that we like bolder favors and don't be afraid of spice. I think they are trying to accommodate the palate of my tourists, since it is such a popular restaurant. The view of the bridge is spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

supercilious waitstaff and mediocre food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

Plus an overpriced menu and horrible acoustics. Give Slanted Door as pass and go elsewhere.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Love this place!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

I always try to make it here when I'm in town. It's a noisy, high energy restaurant with views of the bay. Service is always great though. The food is amazing, love the crispy imperial rolls, cellophane crab noodles, shaking beef, and eggplant!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average Food with Below Average Service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

I had high expectations for this restaurant and was disappointed. The restaurant itself is modern with solid windows for walls, showing off the view of the Bay. We had reservations at 7:30pm. When we arrived at 7:20, we were told that the table would be ready in a few minutes, which is appropriate since we were early. However, it was 8pm before we were able to sit down at our table. The hostess was not friendly or helpful when we would inquire about the table availability during the wait. The service once at the table was adequate, but nothing special or what I expect for a restaurant like this. I was most disappointed with the food. We had a group of 5 people. We ordered 3 appetizers and 5 entrees to share. The majority of the food was boring. Nothing unique or different or special about any of it. For the price point of this restaurant, I expected much better. This is not somewhere I would return or recommend to a friend.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

always great!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2015

always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Vibrant food,festive atmosphere

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 5, 2015

Deservedly popular! Memorable tastes, every plate camera-ready. Knowledgeable and helpful staff throughout, from front desk and bar through waiters and washroom attendants. This is sheer restaurant artistry, like a symphony orchestra at its height. Reserve as far in advance as possible and arrive early, if you care about choosing your table. Should your plans change, make it a point to cancel, even ulast-minute, and allow somebody else the treat you are forced to forgo. You will find a menu so tempting and proportions so generous, you will want to bring an appetite and seek advice, if you wish to avoid over-ordering.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed by Slanted Door

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2015

We've been to Slanted Door several times since it first opened at the Ferry Building, but probably not for a few years. The place was packed by noon on a Tuesday this week, as usual, so I know the staff is really working hard. But everything lacked the finesse and quality I had expected. New serving utensils and replacement plates were practically thrown onto the table. All plates had tiny chips around the edges, we had to ask for more water, both hot for tea and cold for drinking. There was an extremely long wait between our first course buns (delicious) and our main courses. We ordered the whole fish which was plunked down and the waiter disappeared before we could ask if he would help de-bone it. We made a bit of a mess, and the pork shoulder with noodles contained a tiny handful of meat, sprinkled over a mass of noodles, sprouts and lettuce. The 3 imperial rolls which the waiter said came with that dish was actually one roll, cut into 3 small pieces. We saw that the table next to us had ordered the six imperial roll starter, which again was actually 2, cut up. For the prices we paid: $27 for the fish, which was just enough for 2, I would have liked better service. For example my fork was not replaced, but put onto the table sticky with sauce, between courses. Our total for the meal of one starter and two mains, without alcohol was almost $100. My memory of Slanted Door was that the service was impeccable and gracious, this time I really got the feeling of resentment from our servers. Maybe because we didn't order wine? And I was really shocked by the tiny portions for the prices. The food was all good, especially the fried buns, but the pork was ordinary and the fish sauce bland. It wasn't delicious enough for me to pay those prices and get this service again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Vegan's Delight !

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2015

Truly a beautiful spot where everyone in the family can find something delicious to eat. Satisfying everyone's moral and/or food allergy desires at one restaurant has become almost impossible lately. We found everything we wanted at the Slanted Door and the food, service and decor were outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Expensive for what you get

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2015

Food was decent. We had clay pot chicken, glass noodles, squid, broccoli, beef tongue and a sushi roll. I don't think the price was worth it though for the taste. Nice view near the water.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Slanted Door

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

A restaurant that lived up to the accolades. Each dish was looked appetizing and was delectable. Our waitress saw to our needs, filling wine and water glasses as needed without hovering. Will return to this restaurant whenever we can.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Very good service just OK food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

Service was caring and attentive. The food was just OK for the price. Yuba noodles were great. The pork chop however was dry and the lime sauce obliterated the taste of the meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Mediocre high-priced Asian/California fusion

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

Our server was excellent, very professional, capable. The food was OK, nothing special -- I've had better Vietnamese food at numerous small restaurants around the city at less than 1/3 of the price. And our leftovers, two different dishes, were put into a single to-go box: We had mush by the time we got home. A big disappointment. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

One of my favorites!

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

The clay pot chicken is amazing! Always a lively vibe and wonderful view.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Overrated

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

You will get a good meal. But, a great meal? Definitely not. Service so-so. The buzz about the restaurant did not match actual performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great location for lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

We had a little mishap by the person who was picking up an empty plate. He and our waiter handled the situation with the utmost professionalism and care. We will definitely go back.

Thank you again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing, can't wait to ea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

Everything was amazing, can't wait to eat there again

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food & service with slow food service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 29, 2015

We had great service and food at The Slanted Door. Each plate was shared family style. We did how ever have a hour period between our entree and mains as the kitchen was so over whelmed. That being said our host made it up to us with some extra deserts, and his caring hospitality. Slanted Door was extremely busy and the noise level was up there. Worth a visit!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We came from Toronto .The food was Great ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2015

We came from Toronto .The food was Great and so was the service. It was one of the best meals of our vacation and we have already told other people about it .Great food ,Great service, Great view.Thanks for a great evening.

Ellen and Hershey Silver of Toronto

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What's the Hype

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 29, 2015

reservations and non- reservations in the same line.....really now?

wouldn't want to go for a drink only....as the snake line for reservations interrupts conversation and on top of the seats, though the wait staff that that section closes at 5:30...and then one can only sit at the bar???

food tasty enough.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Always a good experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2015

If you are in the area of the ferry building this is a nice place to go, if you can get a reservation. The food is great fusion style and leaning towards Asian inspired but not too wild, something for everyone. The restaurant is nothing fancy but welcoming and bright. Service was good, not great, it's always busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food - meh service but they were s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2015

Great food - meh service but they were so busy. Really really really loud so had to shout at my dinner buddy. Likely won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The ceramic dishware was a turn-off. Di ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2015

The ceramic dishware was a turn-off. Didn't want to eat food on them. Service and food was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Outstanding Food and Servce!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 27, 2015

We had an excellent dining experience at Slanted Door. The food was amazing and the service was great. The restaurant was packed for a Monday lunch but everything ran smoothly. We will definitely return on our next visit to San Francisco.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

Excellent dishes from start to finish. Bit noisy for European standards

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

We will be back. Make a reservation so you don't have to wait. We got lucky on Open Table and were seated in a booth. Be aware that corkage is $35 - way too high. The meal was very expensive probably because of the oysters we ordered (total of 12 oysters was $42). They were delicious but too expensive and I won't do that again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.