About Skywater

Hilton Minneapolis
1001 Marquette Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

Temporary located in the Gallery, undergoing multi-million dollar renovation of Restaurant, lounge, meeting space and hotel lobby.

As one of the city's top breakfast destinations, we transition into a quick lunch spot or a casual dining location offering Chef inspired sharing plates and a variety of sandwiches and signature entrees. Our People's Choice Award Winning Chef, Michael Beck, will continue to create an incredible dining experience for you and your guests.

$4 Happy Hour 4p-6p (Mon-Fri).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast 7 days: 6:00am (till Noon on Sunday) Lunch 7 Days: 11:00am Dinner 7 Days: 4p to Midnight Happy Hour: M-F 4p-6p

Cross Street:
11th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 376-1000

Website:
http://www.hiltonminneapolis.com/

Entertainment:
SWL features 14 HD Big Screens showing nostalgic music videos from the 80s, 90's and today. Plus, you can watch all of your favorite sporting events as well.

Catering:
Weddings, Galas, Major Corporate Events,and intimate family gatherings, the Hilton Minneapolis and Skywater can tailor to any type of function.

Parking Details:
The convenience of self parking in the hotel parking lot or the option of valet parking at hotel front entrance on Marquette Ave. Holiday Events typically offer complimentary SELF parking included in the price. Please check for details.

Public Transit:
Five block walk to the Hiawatha line on 5th and Marquette.

Executive Chef:
Julian Grainger

Private Party Facilities:
Open to the Hilton Minneapolis Lobby, with seating 10 to 125 people in a semi-private setting.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8446624945

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Skywater - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Skywater - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Skywater - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Skywater - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Skywater - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Skywater - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Skywater - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Skywater - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Skywater - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Founders Centennial IPA - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Beet Salad With Goat Cheese Bacon Brittle Salmon - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Portabello Mushroom Sandwich - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Egg White Scramble - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN
Breakfast - Skywater, Minneapolis, MN

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Skywater Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Casual (4)
See All
Business Meals (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Experience was really disappointing. Wai ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Experience was really disappointing. Waiter failed to mention it was happy hour. Friend ordered drink not on happy hour menu. When we realized this, my friend asked to send drink back. Waiter said he couldn't as it was already poured. Piece of Silverware was dirty. Very noisy, with pre-Vikings game fans. From the hostess to the waiter, service was very slow. Lighting was not great. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointing experience. Special Thank ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Disappointing experience. Special Thanksgiving menu advertised on the hotel website seemed attractive: pheasant, reasonably priced. Waiter was eager to please, but not knowledgeable. When asked to describe difference between two pinot grigio wines, he described them both as "sweet." Hotel is undergoing renovation, and the restaurant suffers as a result.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value4

THe online menu has not been updated in ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

THe online menu has not been updated in YEARS!! I went there a year ago thinking they had a bison burger and it wasn't on the menu. Went there again Saturday night and the menu still was wrong and no bison burger. They either shouldn't have it online or should keep it updated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is the premier restaurant in the La ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is the premier restaurant in the Landmark Hilton Hotel in Minneapolis. It simply must do a better job. I live in Minneapolis. We had a major convention in town at the Convention Center, but the Hilton was the primary convention hotel. The Skywater was the only practical restaurant for many convention guests. I organized a "business lunch" for colleagues. The menu is limited. It is essentially a bar/coffee shop menu, not a dining menu. There are two signature soups that are quite good (gumbo and wild rice) but the rest of the menu consists of quite ordinary salads and burgers/sandwiches. There are a few signature desserts that are good. The room is understaffed. We had to wait nearly ten minutes to be seated, though we had a reservation because there was no one at the reception desk. The waitstaff is visibly overworked. Our server mixed up our order and then disappeared leaving one of us without food. Getting the check required flagging down another server when no one was attending to us. It may seem a small matter, but the coffee was the worst I have ever had in a major restaurant. One of our guests was staying in the hotel and complained that the coffee at breakfast was "undrinkable." I convinced him to stay rather than going to a coffee shop because Skywater did serve espresso. The espresso that arrived tasted like thick dishwater. It was truly awful. If a restaurant can't do decent coffee in a city that prizes it, that is a major failing.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

Poor service, slow service, mediocre foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Poor service, slow service, mediocre food. Busy night and I believe only one overmatched waiter.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The "wait" staff is excellent. It is fun ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The "wait" staff is excellent. It is fun to see some of the same faces there.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had the chef's special. It was the mo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had the chef's special. It was the most tender delicious pot roast we have enjoyed for a long time. It was a very generous portion and a very good value for the price. The service was attentive and helpful. Thank you for a great dinner.

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So happy to see favorite maitre de there ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

So happy to see favorite maitre de there. New waitperson, Nicole, was accommodating and pleasant. Loved having a pre-concert menu choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the buffet. The catfish fillets w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had the buffet. The catfish fillets were tasty and healthy since they had no breading.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

When I arrived, the African-American you ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

When I arrived, the African-American young lady informed me that I couldn't have made any reservations because they were closed to reservations, at the time. She proceeded to tell me that she would still sit me but I'd have to wait for her to clean a table. She walked me over to a dirty table and I waited for her to come back with a towel, instead she brought out another table's drinks. I thought she was walking back to get the towel, this time, but instead she started doing something else. I walked over to her and told her, "Excuse me, I am leaving." Poor customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The "wait" staff excels in their work. I ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The "wait" staff excels in their work. It is evident they enjoy their work as it is reflected in their service.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place use to be so good but no long ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This place use to be so good but no longer. Menu is boring and food is passable but I like to go out and have good food, not just passable. THis is so convenient to Orchestra Hall that I wish it were better, but doubt that I will go again. Would rather walk outside and get better food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

As usual, the food was tasty and the ser ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

As usual, the food was tasty and the service efficient. Special requests were granted with a smile. Our coffee cups were kept full and hot. We enjoy beginning our night out to the Minnesota Orchestra concerts at Skywater - always a treat!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Orchestra Hall is across the street from ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Orchestra Hall is across the street from the Hilton, and dining options in this vicinity have become very scarce due to the closing of several high-end restaurants. We were going to Orchestra Hall that night and thought that we would try the Skywater as an alternative to these favorite closed restaurants.

The restaurant was adequate. But to be honest I really expected much more from the only dinner venue at the Hilton--one of the largest hotels in Minneapolis. We don't require much, but the room in which we were seated looked like a low-level bistro. No tablecloths, and minimal setup. The room was also badly understaffed. Our poor server was racing around looking stressed and harried all the time. The menu was very limited, and aside from a couple of steaks and a short rib plate, could have been in any brew pub. There were no signature items on the menu, no specials, absolutely nothing that would make the menu stand out. Aside from the few actual dinner items there were burgers and pizza--again, "any brew pub" fare. That said, the food was fine, though not outstanding. We did appreciate a la carte sides of well-prepared broccolini and roasted carrots.

The restaurant was adjacent to a bar area, which made everything extremely noisy. This made the dining experience much less pleasurable.

The Hilton is missing a big bet here. Especially for patrons of Orchestra Hall, the Target Center, and the Convention Center, this restaurant or something evolved from it could easily be the go-to place in the area, given the lack of other good options.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Went with 3 others. Two of us shared a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Went with 3 others. Two of us shared a salad and Pizza and it was plenty of food. We were on our way to a concert but it was also a Vikings home game so the noise level from the bar was VERY loud. Only a small portion of the dining room was open so we could not get Carey far away from bar. Our server was wonderful wish I could remember his name

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

I had the Yellow Fin Tuna. It was nicel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I had the Yellow Fin Tuna. It was nicely done, but would have appreciated more vegetables.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Despite reservation, no table reserved f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Despite reservation, no table reserved for us. This lift us seated in the bar section. This is the second time this has happened. Why then should I bother making a reservation if not honored?

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The Short ribs were excellent. Manuel to ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The Short ribs were excellent. Manuel took great care of us and made our meal memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was visiting Minneapolis with my daugh ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was visiting Minneapolis with my daughter (pastry chef) and thought that this restaurant sounded fun and a little upscale. Wow, was I wrong. The menu was very limited and definitely not upscale. My daughter ordered her sandwich with the meat to be medium-rare. There was basically no pink in the meat. My pork chop came with couscous, which is a basically a tiny pellet of pasta. The couscous was still crunchy, which would imply that it wasn't cooked. We were very disappointed by the food and went elsewhere for dessert.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Enjoyable, friendly service by all we me ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Enjoyable, friendly service by all we met, food was very much to our liking and I would recommend the the meat and cheese plater for any occasion. This would be a good experience for family and friends. Can't wait to come back to try more dishes and beer choices.

If you are interested in going out for a good time try this place. Try their appatisers and the desert was so tasty, I had the chocolate multon cake.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We saw a waiter 30 minutes after being s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We saw a waiter 30 minutes after being seated.We had Orchestra Hall tickets so put us in a bind . The food arrived 30 minutes after ordering and they ran out of soup so we each had half a bowl. We were not charged for the "meal". Basically this was not Hilton quality. They need a larger wait staff and better kitchen management to return the restaurant back to their original status. This was a Tues. night, not a weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We ended up leaving without eating. It's ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We ended up leaving without eating. It's really just the breakfast spot at the hotel that they open for dinner. Not really a restaurant with any ambiance at all. We were literally the only table there at prime dinner time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

It was nice. We had a kind waiter. They ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was nice. We had a kind waiter. They were always checking in to make sure we were doing well. We had the Greek salad and the walleye fish tacos that were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The salad with watermelon and shrimp etc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The salad with watermelon and shrimp etc. has highly appreciated. The maitre'd was very welcoming and helpful. We had a good server but she had many people to help ...over

booked. The gazpacho was very good. We both thought the margaritas were too sweet, but enjoyed the creme brulee'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Nakeela made our pre-concert dinner a de ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nakeela made our pre-concert dinner a delight!! She was more than welcoming, efficient, and friendly!! She is a real asset to Skywater!! The wild rice soup was exceptional-very creamy and toothsome!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were closed. Had to eat in the bar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 12, 2016

They were closed. Had to eat in the bar area. Quite disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This was the worst experience we have ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was the worst experience we have had at Skywater in 3 years. Unfortunately we had friends with us. The steak frites on menu came out as a miserable grilled flank steak instead of steak tips which was uneatable with fries instead of the mashed potatoes and gravy as listed on menu. We were not informed of the substitution until it came, we tried it and sent it back. The fish tacos had only one piece of recognizable fish and were tasteless. Waiter was good and apolegetic. Eventually a substitute plate with a small beef tenderloin, asparagus and a crab cake were brought. These things are not even on the menu. We will have to try to find another restaurant good for limited mobility diners close to Orchestra Hall. Soup and sandwich that friend ordered was good (or at least they didn't complain!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Thought I would give it one last chance ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Thought I would give it one last chance after multiple disappointments. Much better. Food and service better. It looks like they have decided to actually make a restaurant out of a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Server dropped our check off before we w ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Server dropped our check off before we were even half way done eating. Never asked if we wanted dessert. Never had that happen to me, I was not happy with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Longest Dinner Ever!!

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We reserved a table at this restaurant because we were going to a performance at the Orchestra and we wanted to try something new. We got seated immediately, but after that the service was slow. We had a reservation at 5:45 and we did not leave until 6:30, which for the style/level of restaurant we were expecting to have an average hour long dinner. We probably didn't see our waiter for ten minutes at first, which is fine, the individual who sat us gave us waters. Our waiter then came and got our drink order and brought it back in good time. However, our waiter was basically never around, the restaurant was very open, but still nowhere in sight. We finally ordered food, it came, we ate, nobody came to check in. We wanted to order desserts, but still couldn't find our waiter, so we asked the individual seating people for help and to find our waiter. When he finally came back around we ordered our desserts, which seemed to take a long time as well to come out. The food was nothing exciting, but it was decent for the price. The desserts were pretty good too, but nothing could get over the fact that it took us almost two hours to eat at a restaurant that is maybe a step above a regular chain restaurant. We basically only saw our waiter the whole time about two or three times. I admit it was quite busy, but I would expect them to staff better on a Saturday night for downtown Minneapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

This is my favorite place for dining in ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is my favorite place for dining in the evening before walking across the street to the MN Orchestra. Parking downstairs also a plus.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A FAMILY EVENT

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2016

An early supper, prior to a Minnesota Orchestra "Inside the Classics" presentation, brought the family together from Eden Prairie, Eagan and Bloomington. The menu had something for everyone including "gluten free". Pleasant staff, in particular the man at the entrance desk, made the evening go smoothly. Parking in the ramp linking the restaurant and orchestra hall made the entire evening effortless.

High recommend.

Look forward to meeting and eating again at the SKYWATER.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terribly slow, the food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was terribly slow, the food mediocre, we were not given a detailed summary of charges, and we think we were over billed. We had to ask for our bill, and it took so long we had to leave quickly, as we had concert tickets. We won't go there again. Years ago it was our go to place every time, but since then the menu has been completely changed and the service had really gone downhill. We thought we'd give it another chance. Bad idea and bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Dinner was great!

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Skywater. We dined here before heading out for a concert at the Dakota Jazz Club. The staff was great and service was very good. We will be back soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We wanted to try a new place downtown bu ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2016

We wanted to try a new place downtown but we might have found our new go-to restaurant. The bourbon bbq ribs were so tender, with a wonderful sauce. We loved the cocktails too, the strawberry basil lemonade was so fresh and fun. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Disappointed there was no prime rib. ServicE was slow and foodwas not impressive. Onlylamb andribs???? What happened to theother meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

First Time -- will probably go back!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We thought that the food was really good and the service was very good. The waitstaff was diligent in refilling water and coffee and cleared plates in a very timely fashion. We were there for Mother's Day Brunch and it wasn't overly crowded and they validated parking -- so that was a bonus. The cost for the brunch was a little high -- especially for young kids. The adult prices weren't so out of control -- but I think the kids could have been a slightly lower. Overall -- good experience and we'll probably go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for meals while on business.

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 5, 2016

The waitress was very friendly and helpful; the food was very good. I enjoyed dining here while on business in Minneapolis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well, it's on the way back up.

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We were disappointed when Skywater turned into a pizza place (albeit interestingly titled pizza), and we're happy to see it again offering a full menu. That said, they certainly have a long way to go to get back to our "go to" spot when we have Orchestra Hall tickets. The service was slow and inattentive (save for the very gracious host), the food served all at once and not in courses, and the creme brûlée more like vanilla pudding with a topping. But--we are cheering for them to improve, and will continue to try again, hoping that next time I can post a more positive review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Seating

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Hostess had very poor manners and was dismissive to our seating request. Would not patronize this restaurant in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.