About Skywater

Hilton Minneapolis
1001 Marquette Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

One of the city's top breakfast-brunch destinations, transforms to SWL in the evening and offers artisanal pizzas and brilliant daily food specials from People's Choice Award Winning Chef Michael Beck.

Many vegetarian and gluten free options are available, as well as entrees like Five Spiced 72 Hour Short Rib and the Duroc Pork Chop.
Kids eat Free on Sunday’s & Monday’s (with the purchase of one adult entree, sandwich or artisanal pizza, one kids menu item is free).

The HUB for GATHERING is at SWL (Sky Water Lounge), offering a $4 Happy Hour 4p-6p (Mon-Fri). Gathering and Indulging on Chef inspired sharing plates or a full menu of sandwiches and signature entrees.

Start your day the Hilton way with fresh, healthy and delicious offerings at the Hilton Buffet.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast 7 days: 6:00am (till Noon on Sunday) Lunch 7 Days: 11:00am Dinner 7 Days: 4p to Midnight Happy Hour: M-F 4p-6p

Cross Street:
11th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 376-1000

Website:
http://www.hiltonminneapolis.com/

Entertainment:
SWL features 14 HD Big Screens showing nostalgic music videos from the 80s, 90's and today. Plus, you can watch all of your favorite sporting events as well.

Catering:
Weddings, Galas, Major Corporate Events,and intimate family gatherings, the Hilton Minneapolis and Skywater can tailor to any type of function.

Parking Details:
The convenience of self parking in the hotel parking lot or the option of valet parking at hotel front entrance on Marquette Ave. Holiday Events typically offer complimentary SELF parking included in the price. Please check for details.

Public Transit:
Five block walk to the Hiawatha line on 5th and Marquette.

Executive Chef:
Julian Grainger

Private Party Facilities:
Open to the Hilton Minneapolis Lobby, with seating 10 to 125 people in a semi-private setting.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8446624945

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Skywater
Skywater
Skywater
Skywater
Skywater
Skywater
Skywater
Skywater
Skywater
Founders Centennial IPA
Beet Salad With Goat Cheese Bacon Brittle Salmon
Portabello Mushroom Sandwich
Egg White Scramble
Breakfast

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Skywater Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Special Occasion (3)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Despite reservation, no table reserved f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Despite reservation, no table reserved for us. This lift us seated in the bar section. This is the second time this has happened. Why then should I bother making a reservation if not honored?

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The Short ribs were excellent. Manuel to ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

The Short ribs were excellent. Manuel took great care of us and made our meal memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was visiting Minneapolis with my daugh ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was visiting Minneapolis with my daughter (pastry chef) and thought that this restaurant sounded fun and a little upscale. Wow, was I wrong. The menu was very limited and definitely not upscale. My daughter ordered her sandwich with the meat to be medium-rare. There was basically no pink in the meat. My pork chop came with couscous, which is a basically a tiny pellet of pasta. The couscous was still crunchy, which would imply that it wasn't cooked. We were very disappointed by the food and went elsewhere for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Enjoyable, friendly service by all we me ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Enjoyable, friendly service by all we met, food was very much to our liking and I would recommend the the meat and cheese plater for any occasion. This would be a good experience for family and friends. Can't wait to come back to try more dishes and beer choices.

If you are interested in going out for a good time try this place. Try their appatisers and the desert was so tasty, I had the chocolate multon cake.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We saw a waiter 30 minutes after being s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We saw a waiter 30 minutes after being seated.We had Orchestra Hall tickets so put us in a bind . The food arrived 30 minutes after ordering and they ran out of soup so we each had half a bowl. We were not charged for the "meal". Basically this was not Hilton quality. They need a larger wait staff and better kitchen management to return the restaurant back to their original status. This was a Tues. night, not a weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We ended up leaving without eating. It's ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We ended up leaving without eating. It's really just the breakfast spot at the hotel that they open for dinner. Not really a restaurant with any ambiance at all. We were literally the only table there at prime dinner time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

It was nice. We had a kind waiter. They ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was nice. We had a kind waiter. They were always checking in to make sure we were doing well. We had the Greek salad and the walleye fish tacos that were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The salad with watermelon and shrimp etc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The salad with watermelon and shrimp etc. has highly appreciated. The maitre'd was very welcoming and helpful. We had a good server but she had many people to help ...over

booked. The gazpacho was very good. We both thought the margaritas were too sweet, but enjoyed the creme brulee'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Nakeela made our pre-concert dinner a de ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nakeela made our pre-concert dinner a delight!! She was more than welcoming, efficient, and friendly!! She is a real asset to Skywater!! The wild rice soup was exceptional-very creamy and toothsome!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were closed. Had to eat in the bar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

They were closed. Had to eat in the bar area. Quite disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This was the worst experience we have ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was the worst experience we have had at Skywater in 3 years. Unfortunately we had friends with us. The steak frites on menu came out as a miserable grilled flank steak instead of steak tips which was uneatable with fries instead of the mashed potatoes and gravy as listed on menu. We were not informed of the substitution until it came, we tried it and sent it back. The fish tacos had only one piece of recognizable fish and were tasteless. Waiter was good and apolegetic. Eventually a substitute plate with a small beef tenderloin, asparagus and a crab cake were brought. These things are not even on the menu. We will have to try to find another restaurant good for limited mobility diners close to Orchestra Hall. Soup and sandwich that friend ordered was good (or at least they didn't complain!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Thought I would give it one last chance ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Thought I would give it one last chance after multiple disappointments. Much better. Food and service better. It looks like they have decided to actually make a restaurant out of a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Server dropped our check off before we w ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Server dropped our check off before we were even half way done eating. Never asked if we wanted dessert. Never had that happen to me, I was not happy with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Longest Dinner Ever!!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We reserved a table at this restaurant because we were going to a performance at the Orchestra and we wanted to try something new. We got seated immediately, but after that the service was slow. We had a reservation at 5:45 and we did not leave until 6:30, which for the style/level of restaurant we were expecting to have an average hour long dinner. We probably didn't see our waiter for ten minutes at first, which is fine, the individual who sat us gave us waters. Our waiter then came and got our drink order and brought it back in good time. However, our waiter was basically never around, the restaurant was very open, but still nowhere in sight. We finally ordered food, it came, we ate, nobody came to check in. We wanted to order desserts, but still couldn't find our waiter, so we asked the individual seating people for help and to find our waiter. When he finally came back around we ordered our desserts, which seemed to take a long time as well to come out. The food was nothing exciting, but it was decent for the price. The desserts were pretty good too, but nothing could get over the fact that it took us almost two hours to eat at a restaurant that is maybe a step above a regular chain restaurant. We basically only saw our waiter the whole time about two or three times. I admit it was quite busy, but I would expect them to staff better on a Saturday night for downtown Minneapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

This is my favorite place for dining in ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is my favorite place for dining in the evening before walking across the street to the MN Orchestra. Parking downstairs also a plus.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A FAMILY EVENT

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

An early supper, prior to a Minnesota Orchestra "Inside the Classics" presentation, brought the family together from Eden Prairie, Eagan and Bloomington. The menu had something for everyone including "gluten free". Pleasant staff, in particular the man at the entrance desk, made the evening go smoothly. Parking in the ramp linking the restaurant and orchestra hall made the entire evening effortless.

High recommend.

Look forward to meeting and eating again at the SKYWATER.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terribly slow, the food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was terribly slow, the food mediocre, we were not given a detailed summary of charges, and we think we were over billed. We had to ask for our bill, and it took so long we had to leave quickly, as we had concert tickets. We won't go there again. Years ago it was our go to place every time, but since then the menu has been completely changed and the service had really gone downhill. We thought we'd give it another chance. Bad idea and bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Dinner was great!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Skywater. We dined here before heading out for a concert at the Dakota Jazz Club. The staff was great and service was very good. We will be back soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We wanted to try a new place downtown bu ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We wanted to try a new place downtown but we might have found our new go-to restaurant. The bourbon bbq ribs were so tender, with a wonderful sauce. We loved the cocktails too, the strawberry basil lemonade was so fresh and fun. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Disappointed there was no prime rib. ServicE was slow and foodwas not impressive. Onlylamb andribs???? What happened to theother meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

First Time -- will probably go back!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We thought that the food was really good and the service was very good. The waitstaff was diligent in refilling water and coffee and cleared plates in a very timely fashion. We were there for Mother's Day Brunch and it wasn't overly crowded and they validated parking -- so that was a bonus. The cost for the brunch was a little high -- especially for young kids. The adult prices weren't so out of control -- but I think the kids could have been a slightly lower. Overall -- good experience and we'll probably go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for meals while on business.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The waitress was very friendly and helpful; the food was very good. I enjoyed dining here while on business in Minneapolis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well, it's on the way back up.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We were disappointed when Skywater turned into a pizza place (albeit interestingly titled pizza), and we're happy to see it again offering a full menu. That said, they certainly have a long way to go to get back to our "go to" spot when we have Orchestra Hall tickets. The service was slow and inattentive (save for the very gracious host), the food served all at once and not in courses, and the creme brûlée more like vanilla pudding with a topping. But--we are cheering for them to improve, and will continue to try again, hoping that next time I can post a more positive review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Seating

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Hostess had very poor manners and was dismissive to our seating request. Would not patronize this restaurant in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Good experience

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

A Disappointment

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Every time we attend a concert at Orchestra Hall, we park at the Hilton Hotel ramp. We have been reluctant to dine at the Skywater because of the limited menu. Last Friday it was raining so we decided to see if the menu had improved. It hadn't. Although my wife was satisfied with her chili, I was quite disappointed in my chicken sandwich which tasted like rubber. We will continue to park at the Hilton, but until the menu is upgraded, we won't be returning to the Skywater.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Uug!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Service was bad. Food was over priced for its quality and quantity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Good food / great service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was very good (pork chop and steak), but the selection was limited. The server was great - very friendly and efficient. The ambiance was so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Typical hotel restaurant

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The seat of our booth had a large crack that was taped up. The light above us flickered as it heals on to its last breath. The ambiance was similar to a Perkins. We looked at the menu and realized for the prices they were trying to charge, we could go somewhere with the upscale feeling that matched their prices. We ended up leaving shortly after being seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Not what it used to be

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We have dined at Skywater a number of times as it's close to Orchestra Hall. The food has always been excellent in the past and the service good. Unfortunately, this time things were not good. It was extremely loud due to what looked like a cowboy convention. Our waiter was doing his very best but they seemed to be short staffed and everything took forever. A table next to us - seated after we were - ordered, ate, paid the bill and left before our dinners were served. We had to ask where our dinners were. Apparently the kitchen "lost our ticket." Then we were told our steaks were done but the kitchen was waiting on the fries for one order. Ten minutes later our meals were finally served. My steak was ordered medium rare and my brother's medium well. My brother's came out medium and mine medium well. The waiter was so busy we couldn't catch his eye and in any case, we were running out of time. The food was very flavorful and moist even though over cooked. When the waiter was finally able to get back to us, he was very nice, professional and apologetic. While we didn't ask for it, he took our two steaks off the bill. He received a generous tip but there are a lot of training and management issues this restaurant needs to address before we will dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Had an advance reservation. Arrived when ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Had an advance reservation. Arrived when restaurant was almost empty. Asked for a booth (there are MANY) and was told all of the booths were reserved.I questioned this but was told firmly that all booths were reserved. Was put at a small table off to the side. We were 2 women..is that why? Ordered a martini with olives on the side, It came with olives IN it. Asked for another and olives came wrapped in a napkin! I used to come here often and LOVED it. I doubt I will ever be back unless desperate. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The menu keeps shrinking.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

First the great chicken pot pie is gone. Now they took our favorite pizza off the menu (High Thai-D). The chicken sandwich I had was below average. Coffee was cold.

Two said their hamburgers were great. I'll get burger next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Skip this place

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

We chose this restaurant as it is close to Orchestra Hall. Never again. The food didn't even match what was on the menu. I ordered a turkey, portabello, avocado sandwich and was served a tasteless turkey burger with a smear of avocado spread. My table companion couldn't find the vegetables in her vegetable pasta dish. Maybe the pizza is okay but based on what we experienced I won't bother to find out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

So-so food and poor service

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Skywater used to be a reliable spot for pre-orchestra dining, but looks like they have now have a limited menu featuring pizzas which sound good but don't deliver. The service doesn't deliver either. First, when we were seated my wife and I were told there were not enough menus for each of us to have one, which was strange since the place looked almost empty. Our server finally came over after we'd been sitting for 10 min. and after we asked some questions about the menu he disappeared again for another 15 minutes before taking our order. Our french porky-fig pizza came served on their herb wheat crust which tasted like a hard cracker out of a box and was overloaded with toppings that fell off while eating. Mac and cheese with bacon was better but not worth the price. All in all, there are much better places nearby. By the way, after the concert we went back to the lounge for some coffee and dessert while waiting for traffic to clear and after about 25 min waiting for someone to take our order we got up and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Service Varies

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Sky water has great food, but service can vary each time you go. This particular visit to Skywater, was not the best of services. Our server was subpar at best. I will say that this particular time that we went, was probably one of the worst services we had received on this visit. Generally, Skywater does give great service to their patrons.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Breakfast with Santa

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Breakfast with Santa is the highlight each year with our grandchildren. Thank you for making it so special.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving? Not at this place.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

My wife and I went there for Thanksgiving fully expecting a repeat of the Thanksgiving buffet I had there a few, maybe 5 or so years ago. Needless to say, we were VERY disappointed with both the food and service given to us and those tables around us.

The service was abysmal - 15 minutes to get our soup/starter order in. I even had to remind the waiter that perhaps we'd like a drink.

The soup eventually came after another 15-20 minutes along with our drinks and I guess the waiter went off to do some shopping because it was at least 30 minutes until we saw him again.

In the meantime, I had to go to the bar to get another drink ,which was yet another adventure in poor staffing - it took 15 minutes just to get a couple of beers and the bar was not crowded at all.

Eventually our salads came of which the Caprese salad was actually very tasty, the green salad was just that, a green salad.

Then the REAL waiting began. And more waiting. And waiting. We were there for a full hour and twenty minutes before the "main dish" eventually appeared - amazing since they had a very limited menu (it was a Thanksgiving menu) and our section was about 1/2 full.

While the "food" eventually materialized we discovered that the turkey and sweet potatoes were both dry (quite the feat to make sweet potatoes dry), the green bean casserole was something akin to "green beans with a can of cream-of-mushroom soup poured over them" and the whole mess was tepid at best. It was clear that this plate of "food" was under a heat lamp for at least 30 minutes - the edges of the turkey "slices" were already turning to jerky.

The main dish was basically inedible. I wouldn't have fed it to my dogs.

The table next to ours was having the same issues so I approached the host and asked if there was some sort of "kitchen issue" or if it was a "waitstaff" issue?

They eventually blamed the kitchen (really?!) Eventually the whole section was comped their meals, which was the right thing to do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Okay for pre-concert visit

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

I wish they would use the private booths in the back instead of trying to have a "dinner for 2" on the small side tables. Dining choices for those with limited mobility are few near Orchestra Hall .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Great service and food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

Great service. Super nice and friendly. Very good food at fair prices. Liked the flatbreads

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ineffective Service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

Restaurant does not have sufficient servers to cover large groups. Out of my group of 10, i did not receive my order, even after requesting it twice. I only ordered OJ and the continental breakfast. After finally receiving warm juice, I was told I had to go to the buffet, which was never stated when I gave my order. So, low marks for poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.