Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Skywater

Temporary located in the Gallery, undergoing multi-million dollar renovation of Restaurant, lounge, meeting space and hotel lobby.

As one of the city's top breakfast destinations, we transition into a quick lunch spot or a casual dining location offering Chef inspired sharing plates and a variety of sandwiches and signature entrees. Our People's Choice Award Winning Chef, Michael Beck, will continue to create an incredible dining experience for you and your guests.

$4 Happy Hour 4p-6p (Mon-Fri).

Hilton Minneapolis
1001 Marquette Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast 7 days: 6:00am (till Noon on Sunday) Lunch 7 Days: 11:00am Dinner 7 Days: 4p to Midnight Happy Hour: M-F 4p-6p

Cross Street:
11th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 376-1000

Website:
http://www.hiltonminneapolis.com/

Entertainment:
SWL features 14 HD Big Screens showing nostalgic music videos from the 80s, 90's and today. Plus, you can watch all of your favorite sporting events as well.

Catering:
Weddings, Galas, Major Corporate Events,and intimate family gatherings, the Hilton Minneapolis and Skywater can tailor to any type of function.

Parking Details:
The convenience of self parking in the hotel parking lot or the option of valet parking at hotel front entrance on Marquette Ave. Holiday Events typically offer complimentary SELF parking included in the price. Please check for details.

Public Transit:
Five block walk to the Hiawatha line on 5th and Marquette.

Executive Chef:
Julian Grainger

Private Party Facilities:
Open to the Hilton Minneapolis Lobby, with seating 10 to 125 people in a semi-private setting.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (844) 662-4945

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Skywater Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
See All
Casual (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Romantic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

I ordered a turkey it was cold set back a did get one that was hot

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We loved the interim Skywaters location. It was so much better than the former, even though it is a conference room and only temporary during redecorating. The food was delicious-we had the gumbo and it was outstanding!

Amanda, our wait person, couldn't have been more delightful. She took super care of us (brought me lots of decaf coffee)!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a splendid time at Skywater. Amanda, our waitress, was THE best. Superb advice about the menu, incredibly welcoming, completely on top of every detail of our experience at the restaurant. I would return JUST to be around her (too bad I don't live in Minneapolis!) She recommended the brie appetizer. Terrific. My steak frites was perfect as was my dining partner's entrée. Dessert was also spot on. We were in the area for several days and Skywater was far and away the best experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

On a conference, enjoyed dinner with a friend between events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

As a hotel restaurant catering to both guests and local business, the menu was very limited.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Pretty good overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very stark atmosphere for a hotel dining room. Very limited menu. Felt like we were in a cafeteria. Would not revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Offered much less than implied on this app. Kind of disappointing. Also could not find our server to get the check

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The Skywater was amazing from the point I was greeted by the hostess. I was promptly seated and approached by the waitress. She made a couple suggestions for starters. I had a salad and the Yellowtail Tuna. This Tuna was amazing! My overall experience was great. I was checked up on frequently and with great appreciation for being a customer. I very much recommend This place. It is in a hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The room was VERY nosy. We knew that the actual dining room in under construction; therefore, we not surprised at the noise level. We look forward to the opening of the new refurbished Dining Room, having a quieter, more sedate ambiance !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Even though there was major remodeling going on at the hotel, the service and food was excellent. Great place to go before or after a concert at Orchestra Hall.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our party of 9 was treated very well. The service was attentive without being hovering. The food for the most part was delicious. Most were pleased with their entree choice. However, one person's french fries were under seasoned while another's were too salty. A minor complaint in the total scheme of things.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The blackened walleye tacos were terrible! No taste and so little fish that they should not have said there was any in the tacos. My friend got the jerk chicken tacos and it was mostly skin and again miniscule chicken. Definitely not worth the $13.00 and I wouldn't even pay half that price. Pitiful meal and i left hungry.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came to Minneapolis from out of town to celebrate New Year's Eve and we were very disappointed in Skywater. We were expecting a nice restaurant and something new and exciting to celebrate the New Year and it was a complete let down. The waitress couldn't even explain what the New Year's Even specials were and our reservation was at 9:00pm. You would think by that late in her shift she would have figured out the special. Thomas, the host, was the only bright spot in our visit. I would never go back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I had not been to this restaurant before. It was close to a concert, so we gave it a try. It was very good. The service was a bit slow, but otherwise, not any complaints.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I was a bit disappointed in this, my first visit to Skywater. I had walked by the restaurant a number of times and was impressed by it's spaciousness and number of taps at the bar.

Alas, when i finally got around to dining at the restaurant, the main dining room and bar were closed for remodeling and we were relegated to a much smaller and plainer temporary restaurant space with no tap beer!

However, both the food and service were fine, so I look forward to a return visit after the remodeling is completed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Experience was really disappointing. Waiter failed to mention it was happy hour. Friend ordered drink not on happy hour menu. When we realized this, my friend asked to send drink back. Waiter said he couldn't as it was already poured. Piece of Silverware was dirty. Very noisy, with pre-Vikings game fans. From the hostess to the waiter, service was very slow. Lighting was not great. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Disappointing experience. Special Thanksgiving menu advertised on the hotel website seemed attractive: pheasant, reasonably priced. Waiter was eager to please, but not knowledgeable. When asked to describe difference between two pinot grigio wines, he described them both as "sweet." Hotel is undergoing renovation, and the restaurant suffers as a result.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

THe online menu has not been updated in YEARS!! I went there a year ago thinking they had a bison burger and it wasn't on the menu. Went there again Saturday night and the menu still was wrong and no bison burger. They either shouldn't have it online or should keep it updated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is the premier restaurant in the Landmark Hilton Hotel in Minneapolis. It simply must do a better job. I live in Minneapolis. We had a major convention in town at the Convention Center, but the Hilton was the primary convention hotel. The Skywater was the only practical restaurant for many convention guests. I organized a "business lunch" for colleagues. The menu is limited. It is essentially a bar/coffee shop menu, not a dining menu. There are two signature soups that are quite good (gumbo and wild rice) but the rest of the menu consists of quite ordinary salads and burgers/sandwiches. There are a few signature desserts that are good. The room is understaffed. We had to wait nearly ten minutes to be seated, though we had a reservation because there was no one at the reception desk. The waitstaff is visibly overworked. Our server mixed up our order and then disappeared leaving one of us without food. Getting the check required flagging down another server when no one was attending to us. It may seem a small matter, but the coffee was the worst I have ever had in a major restaurant. One of our guests was staying in the hotel and complained that the coffee at breakfast was "undrinkable." I convinced him to stay rather than going to a coffee shop because Skywater did serve espresso. The espresso that arrived tasted like thick dishwater. It was truly awful. If a restaurant can't do decent coffee in a city that prizes it, that is a major failing.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Poor service, slow service, mediocre food. Busy night and I believe only one overmatched waiter.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The "wait" staff is excellent. It is fun to see some of the same faces there.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had the chef's special. It was the most tender delicious pot roast we have enjoyed for a long time. It was a very generous portion and a very good value for the price. The service was attentive and helpful. Thank you for a great dinner.

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

So happy to see favorite maitre de there. New waitperson, Nicole, was accommodating and pleasant. Loved having a pre-concert menu choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had the buffet. The catfish fillets were tasty and healthy since they had no breading.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

When I arrived, the African-American young lady informed me that I couldn't have made any reservations because they were closed to reservations, at the time. She proceeded to tell me that she would still sit me but I'd have to wait for her to clean a table. She walked me over to a dirty table and I waited for her to come back with a towel, instead she brought out another table's drinks. I thought she was walking back to get the towel, this time, but instead she started doing something else. I walked over to her and told her, "Excuse me, I am leaving." Poor customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This place use to be so good but no longer. Menu is boring and food is passable but I like to go out and have good food, not just passable. THis is so convenient to Orchestra Hall that I wish it were better, but doubt that I will go again. Would rather walk outside and get better food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The "wait" staff excels in their work. It is evident they enjoy their work as it is reflected in their service.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

As usual, the food was tasty and the service efficient. Special requests were granted with a smile. Our coffee cups were kept full and hot. We enjoy beginning our night out to the Minnesota Orchestra concerts at Skywater - always a treat!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Orchestra Hall is across the street from the Hilton, and dining options in this vicinity have become very scarce due to the closing of several high-end restaurants. We were going to Orchestra Hall that night and thought that we would try the Skywater as an alternative to these favorite closed restaurants.

The restaurant was adequate. But to be honest I really expected much more from the only dinner venue at the Hilton--one of the largest hotels in Minneapolis. We don't require much, but the room in which we were seated looked like a low-level bistro. No tablecloths, and minimal setup. The room was also badly understaffed. Our poor server was racing around looking stressed and harried all the time. The menu was very limited, and aside from a couple of steaks and a short rib plate, could have been in any brew pub. There were no signature items on the menu, no specials, absolutely nothing that would make the menu stand out. Aside from the few actual dinner items there were burgers and pizza--again, "any brew pub" fare. That said, the food was fine, though not outstanding. We did appreciate a la carte sides of well-prepared broccolini and roasted carrots.

The restaurant was adjacent to a bar area, which made everything extremely noisy. This made the dining experience much less pleasurable.

The Hilton is missing a big bet here. Especially for patrons of Orchestra Hall, the Target Center, and the Convention Center, this restaurant or something evolved from it could easily be the go-to place in the area, given the lack of other good options.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Went with 3 others. Two of us shared a salad and Pizza and it was plenty of food. We were on our way to a concert but it was also a Vikings home game so the noise level from the bar was VERY loud. Only a small portion of the dining room was open so we could not get Carey far away from bar. Our server was wonderful wish I could remember his name

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I had the Yellow Fin Tuna. It was nicely done, but would have appreciated more vegetables.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Despite reservation, no table reserved for us. This lift us seated in the bar section. This is the second time this has happened. Why then should I bother making a reservation if not honored?

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The Short ribs were excellent. Manuel took great care of us and made our meal memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was visiting Minneapolis with my daughter (pastry chef) and thought that this restaurant sounded fun and a little upscale. Wow, was I wrong. The menu was very limited and definitely not upscale. My daughter ordered her sandwich with the meat to be medium-rare. There was basically no pink in the meat. My pork chop came with couscous, which is a basically a tiny pellet of pasta. The couscous was still crunchy, which would imply that it wasn't cooked. We were very disappointed by the food and went elsewhere for dessert.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Enjoyable, friendly service by all we met, food was very much to our liking and I would recommend the the meat and cheese plater for any occasion. This would be a good experience for family and friends. Can't wait to come back to try more dishes and beer choices.

If you are interested in going out for a good time try this place. Try their appatisers and the desert was so tasty, I had the chocolate multon cake.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We saw a waiter 30 minutes after being seated.We had Orchestra Hall tickets so put us in a bind . The food arrived 30 minutes after ordering and they ran out of soup so we each had half a bowl. We were not charged for the "meal". Basically this was not Hilton quality. They need a larger wait staff and better kitchen management to return the restaurant back to their original status. This was a Tues. night, not a weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We ended up leaving without eating. It's really just the breakfast spot at the hotel that they open for dinner. Not really a restaurant with any ambiance at all. We were literally the only table there at prime dinner time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was nice. We had a kind waiter. They were always checking in to make sure we were doing well. We had the Greek salad and the walleye fish tacos that were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The salad with watermelon and shrimp etc. has highly appreciated. The maitre'd was very welcoming and helpful. We had a good server but she had many people to help ...over
booked. The gazpacho was very good. We both thought the margaritas were too sweet, but enjoyed the creme brulee'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.