About Skywater

Hilton Minneapolis
1001 Marquette Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55403
View Larger Map

One of the city's top breakfast-brunch destinations, transforms to SWL in the evening and offers artisanal pizzas and brilliant daily food specials from People's Choice Award Winning Chef Michael Beck.

Many vegetarian and gluten free options are available, as well as entrees like Five Spiced 72 Hour Short Rib and the Duroc Pork Chop.
Kids eat Free on Sunday’s & Monday’s (with the purchase of one adult entree, sandwich or artisanal pizza, one kids menu item is free).

The HUB for GATHERING is at SWL (Sky Water Lounge), offering a $4 Happy Hour 4p-6p (Mon-Fri). Gathering and Indulging on Chef inspired sharing plates or a full menu of sandwiches and signature entrees.

Start your day the Hilton way with fresh, healthy and delicious offerings at the Hilton Buffet.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast 7 days: 6:00am (till Noon on Sunday) Lunch 7 Days: 11:00am Dinner 7 Days: 4p to Midnight Happy Hour: M-F 4p-6p

Cross Street:
11th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 376-1000

Website:
http://www.hiltonminneapolis.com/

Entertainment:
SWL features 14 HD Big Screens showing nostalgic music videos from the 80s, 90's and today. Plus, you can watch all of your favorite sporting events as well.

Catering:
Weddings, Galas, Major Corporate Events,and intimate family gatherings, the Hilton Minneapolis and Skywater can tailor to any type of function.

Parking Details:
The convenience of self parking in the hotel parking lot or the option of valet parking at hotel front entrance on Marquette Ave. Holiday Events typically offer complimentary SELF parking included in the price. Please check for details.

Public Transit:
Five block walk to the Hiawatha line on 5th and Marquette.

Executive Chef:
Julian Grainger

Private Party Facilities:
Open to the Hilton Minneapolis Lobby, with seating 10 to 125 people in a semi-private setting.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8446624945

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Skywater
Skywater
Skywater
Skywater
Skywater
Skywater
Founders Centennial IPA
Beet Salad With Goat Cheese Bacon Brittle Salmon
Portabello Mushroom Sandwich
Egg White Scramble
Breakfast

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Skywater Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.6

ambience

3.5

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

great for brunch (8)
good for groups (8)
great for lunch (7)
See All
fit for foodies (7)
special occasion (7)
kid-friendly (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
romantic (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Thought I would give it one last chance ...

Dined 4 days ago

Thought I would give it one last chance after multiple disappointments. Much better. Food and service better. It looks like they have decided to actually make a restaurant out of a disaster.

food4
ambience2
service1

Server dropped our check off before we w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Server dropped our check off before we were even half way done eating. Never asked if we wanted dessert. Never had that happen to me, I was not happy with the service.

food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Longest Dinner Ever!!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We reserved a table at this restaurant because we were going to a performance at the Orchestra and we wanted to try something new. We got seated immediately, but after that the service was slow. We had a reservation at 5:45 and we did not leave until 6:30, which for the style/level of restaurant we were expecting to have an average hour long dinner. We probably didn't see our waiter for ten minutes at first, which is fine, the individual who sat us gave us waters. Our waiter then came and got our drink order and brought it back in good time. However, our waiter was basically never around, the restaurant was very open, but still nowhere in sight. We finally ordered food, it came, we ate, nobody came to check in. We wanted to order desserts, but still couldn't find our waiter, so we asked the individual seating people for help and to find our waiter. When he finally came back around we ordered our desserts, which seemed to take a long time as well to come out. The food was nothing exciting, but it was decent for the price. The desserts were pretty good too, but nothing could get over the fact that it took us almost two hours to eat at a restaurant that is maybe a step above a regular chain restaurant. We basically only saw our waiter the whole time about two or three times. I admit it was quite busy, but I would expect them to staff better on a Saturday night for downtown Minneapolis.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is my favorite place for dining in ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This is my favorite place for dining in the evening before walking across the street to the MN Orchestra. Parking downstairs also a plus.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A FAMILY EVENT

Dined on May 20, 2016

An early supper, prior to a Minnesota Orchestra "Inside the Classics" presentation, brought the family together from Eden Prairie, Eagan and Bloomington. The menu had something for everyone including "gluten free". Pleasant staff, in particular the man at the entrance desk, made the evening go smoothly. Parking in the ramp linking the restaurant and orchestra hall made the entire evening effortless. High recommend. Look forward to meeting and eating again at the SKYWATER.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The service was terribly slow, the food ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was terribly slow, the food mediocre, we were not given a detailed summary of charges, and we think we were over billed. We had to ask for our bill, and it took so long we had to leave quickly, as we had concert tickets. We won't go there again. Years ago it was our go to place every time, but since then the menu has been completely changed and the service had really gone downhill. We thought we'd give it another chance. Bad idea and bad experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner was great!

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Skywater. We dined here before heading out for a concert at the Dakota Jazz Club. The staff was great and service was very good. We will be back soon!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted to try a new place downtown bu ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We wanted to try a new place downtown but we might have found our new go-to restaurant. The bourbon bbq ribs were so tender, with a wonderful sauce. We loved the cocktails too, the strawberry basil lemonade was so fresh and fun. Can't wait to return.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Food and service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Disappointed there was no prime rib. ServicE was slow and foodwas not impressive. Onlylamb andribs???? What happened to theother meat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First Time -- will probably go back!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We thought that the food was really good and the service was very good. The waitstaff was diligent in refilling water and coffee and cleared plates in a very timely fashion. We were there for Mother's Day Brunch and it wasn't overly crowded and they validated parking -- so that was a bonus. The cost for the brunch was a little high -- especially for young kids. The adult prices weren't so out of control -- but I think the kids could have been a slightly lower. Overall -- good experience and we'll probably go back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for meals while on business.

Dined on May 5, 2016

The waitress was very friendly and helpful; the food was very good. I enjoyed dining here while on business in Minneapolis.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Well, it's on the way back up.

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We were disappointed when Skywater turned into a pizza place (albeit interestingly titled pizza), and we're happy to see it again offering a full menu. That said, they certainly have a long way to go to get back to our "go to" spot when we have Orchestra Hall tickets. The service was slow and inattentive (save for the very gracious host), the food served all at once and not in courses, and the creme brûlée more like vanilla pudding with a topping. But--we are cheering for them to improve, and will continue to try again, hoping that next time I can post a more positive review.

food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Seating

Dined on April 8, 2016

Hostess had very poor manners and was dismissive to our seating request. Would not patronize this restaurant in the future.

food3
ambience4
service5

Good experience

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Good experience

food1
ambience2
service2
value2

A Disappointment

Dined on March 26, 2016

Every time we attend a concert at Orchestra Hall, we park at the Hilton Hotel ramp. We have been reluctant to dine at the Skywater because of the limited menu. Last Friday it was raining so we decided to see if the menu had improved. It hadn't. Although my wife was satisfied with her chili, I was quite disappointed in my chicken sandwich which tasted like rubber. We will continue to park at the Hilton, but until the menu is upgraded, we won't be returning to the Skywater.

Tags: late-night find
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Uug!

Dined on March 3, 2016

Service was bad. Food was over priced for its quality and quantity.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food / great service

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was very good (pork chop and steak), but the selection was limited. The server was great - very friendly and efficient. The ambiance was so so.

food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Typical hotel restaurant

Dined on February 13, 2016

The seat of our booth had a large crack that was taped up. The light above us flickered as it heals on to its last breath. The ambiance was similar to a Perkins. We looked at the menu and realized for the prices they were trying to charge, we could go somewhere with the upscale feeling that matched their prices. We ended up leaving shortly after being seated.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Not what it used to be

Dined on January 31, 2016

We have dined at Skywater a number of times as it's close to Orchestra Hall. The food has always been excellent in the past and the service good. Unfortunately, this time things were not good. It was extremely loud due to what looked like a cowboy convention. Our waiter was doing his very best but they seemed to be short staffed and everything took forever. A table next to us - seated after we were - ordered, ate, paid the bill and left before our dinners were served. We had to ask where our dinners were. Apparently the kitchen "lost our ticket." Then we were told our steaks were done but the kitchen was waiting on the fries for one order. Ten minutes later our meals were finally served. My steak was ordered medium rare and my brother's medium well. My brother's came out medium and mine medium well. The waiter was so busy we couldn't catch his eye and in any case, we were running out of time. The food was very flavorful and moist even though over cooked. When the waiter was finally able to get back to us, he was very nice, professional and apologetic. While we didn't ask for it, he took our two steaks off the bill. He received a generous tip but there are a lot of training and management issues this restaurant needs to address before we will dine here again.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Had an advance reservation. Arrived when ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Had an advance reservation. Arrived when restaurant was almost empty. Asked for a booth (there are MANY) and was told all of the booths were reserved.I questioned this but was told firmly that all booths were reserved. Was put at a small table off to the side. We were 2 women..is that why? Ordered a martini with olives on the side, It came with olives IN it. Asked for another and olives came wrapped in a napkin! I used to come here often and LOVED it. I doubt I will ever be back unless desperate. Very disappointing.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The menu keeps shrinking.

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

First the great chicken pot pie is gone. Now they took our favorite pizza off the menu (High Thai-D). The chicken sandwich I had was below average. Coffee was cold. Two said their hamburgers were great. I'll get burger next time.

food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Skip this place

Dined on January 9, 2016

We chose this restaurant as it is close to Orchestra Hall. Never again. The food didn't even match what was on the menu. I ordered a turkey, portabello, avocado sandwich and was served a tasteless turkey burger with a smear of avocado spread. My table companion couldn't find the vegetables in her vegetable pasta dish. Maybe the pizza is okay but based on what we experienced I won't bother to find out.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

So-so food and poor service

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

Skywater used to be a reliable spot for pre-orchestra dining, but looks like they have now have a limited menu featuring pizzas which sound good but don't deliver. The service doesn't deliver either. First, when we were seated my wife and I were told there were not enough menus for each of us to have one, which was strange since the place looked almost empty. Our server finally came over after we'd been sitting for 10 min. and after we asked some questions about the menu he disappeared again for another 15 minutes before taking our order. Our french porky-fig pizza came served on their herb wheat crust which tasted like a hard cracker out of a box and was overloaded with toppings that fell off while eating. Mac and cheese with bacon was better but not worth the price. All in all, there are much better places nearby. By the way, after the concert we went back to the lounge for some coffee and dessert while waiting for traffic to clear and after about 25 min waiting for someone to take our order we got up and left.

food5
ambience3
service1

Service Varies

Dined on December 13, 2015

Sky water has great food, but service can vary each time you go. This particular visit to Skywater, was not the best of services. Our server was subpar at best. I will say that this particular time that we went, was probably one of the worst services we had received on this visit. Generally, Skywater does give great service to their patrons.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Breakfast with Santa

Dined on December 12, 2015

Breakfast with Santa is the highlight each year with our grandchildren. Thank you for making it so special.

Tags: kid-friendly
food1
ambience1
service1

Thanksgiving? Not at this place.

Dined on November 26, 2015

My wife and I went there for Thanksgiving fully expecting a repeat of the Thanksgiving buffet I had there a few, maybe 5 or so years ago. Needless to say, we were VERY disappointed with both the food and service given to us and those tables around us. The service was abysmal - 15 minutes to get our soup/starter order in. I even had to remind the waiter that perhaps we'd like a drink. The soup eventually came after another 15-20 minutes along with our drinks and I guess the waiter went off to do some shopping because it was at least 30 minutes until we saw him again. In the meantime, I had to go to the bar to get another drink ,which was yet another adventure in poor staffing - it took 15 minutes just to get a couple of beers and the bar was not crowded at all. Eventually our salads came of which the Caprese salad was actually very tasty, the green salad was just that, a green salad. Then the REAL waiting began. And more waiting. And waiting. We were there for a full hour and twenty minutes before the "main dish" eventually appeared - amazing since they had a very limited menu (it was a Thanksgiving menu) and our section was about 1/2 full. While the "food" eventually materialized we discovered that the turkey and sweet potatoes were both dry (quite the feat to make sweet potatoes dry), the green bean casserole was something akin to "green beans with a can of cream-of-mushroom soup poured over them" and the whole mess was tepid at best. It was clear that this plate of "food" was under a heat lamp for at least 30 minutes - the edges of the turkey "slices" were already turning to jerky. The main dish was basically inedible. I wouldn't have fed it to my dogs. The table next to ours was having the same issues so I approached the host and asked if there was some sort of "kitchen issue" or if it was a "waitstaff" issue? They eventually blamed the kitchen (really?!) Eventually the whole section was comped their meals, which was the right thing to do.

food4
ambience2
service4

Okay for pre-concert visit

Dined on November 14, 2015

I wish they would use the private booths in the back instead of trying to have a "dinner for 2" on the small side tables. Dining choices for those with limited mobility are few near Orchestra Hall .

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food

Dined on October 9, 2015

Great service. Super nice and friendly. Very good food at fair prices. Liked the flatbreads

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1

Ineffective Service

Dined on October 1, 2015

Restaurant does not have sufficient servers to cover large groups. Out of my group of 10, i did not receive my order, even after requesting it twice. I only ordered OJ and the continental breakfast. After finally receiving warm juice, I was told I had to go to the buffet, which was never stated when I gave my order. So, low marks for poor service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & great service!

Dined on September 26, 2015

The staff was great! Ileana was our server and she took exceptional care of us. Jonathan wasn't our server but he also took great care of us, bringing additional items and refills and just checking on us. Thomas the host, also came over a number of times to make sure we were doing all right and to talk with us. Additionally, the food was amazing! Each of us raved about our particular dish and had to sample each other's food! We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Great wings with Asian zing sauce. Tomat ...

Dined on September 7, 2015

Great wings with Asian zing sauce. Tomato and mozzarella salad was also delicious. Our server was very good.

food4
ambience3
service5

Our waitress was excellent. Attentive bu ...

Dined on September 4, 2015

Our waitress was excellent. Attentive but not intrusive. Nice to our toddlers.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great buffet

Dined on August 30, 2015

We had the breakfast buffet, lots of variety and the food was very tasty. Had to wait a while for an omlet - probably should have had 2 people working at the omlet station. One downfall, the table was sticky. Not fond of that.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

Hoped for better....

vip
Dined on July 12, 2015

Restaurant was understaffed and service was slow. Pizza options sounded good on menu but not well prepared. Only plus is that restaurant is located in a hotel which is connected to the orchestra building.

food5
ambience4
service5

Getting used to the menu

Dined on July 11, 2015

Excellent waitperson(Kate) . Special of the evening was specific entrees with free bottle of wine but not the entrees we wanted. Would have been nice to have more flexibility.

food5
ambience3
service3

Before the Theatre

Dined on June 25, 2015

This was the second time we have tried Skywater's and the Walleye special was outstanding, the service was not so good. Our waters weren't refilled until we requested them to be!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4

Very much a kid friendly place where the ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2015

Very much a kid friendly place where the kids were allowed to make their own pizza. Open venue makes it noisy with hotel traffic. Adult pizza was unique and good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food and friendly service!

Dined on June 6, 2015

The Skywater was one of the very best restaurant experiences we have ever had. The food items were varied for different diets and tastes. The food quality was excellent and very fresh. We had dinner in the restaurant and loved our entrees and dessert. The decor was beautiful and wonderfully lit with many chandeliers. There were some parties going on at that time and one group was quite noises. Service was fast, but could use more attentive checking in on our meal. For breakfast buffet, again the food was very varied and excellent in taste and quality. The servers were so very friendly. We will definitely stay at the Hilton again , particularly due to your great restaurant at the Skywater!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2

Not up to expectations

Dined on May 30, 2015

There was one waiter for 10 or more tables in our section. The flat-iron steak was overdone and cut too thick. The walleye was overcooked and not tender. We were here before and this weekends experience was not good. We'll try again, but it will be a while.

food3
ambience3
service2

dining

Dined on May 23, 2015

We were disappointed by the served and the menu. Our serve rs name was David. He went pass my water glass with a pitcher of water 4 times before he offered me any water.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.