About Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races

750 Hollywood Drive
Charles Town, WV 25414
View Larger Map


Stop by and enjoy a wonderful meal in our Skyline Terrace Dining Room. We have a wonderful selection of fabulous entrees guaranteed to please. Enjoy breathtaking scenery, watch the horses sprint around the race track, and delight in a feast of culinary pleasures! Patrons under the age of 21 must enter the Skyline Terrace Dining Room via the apron, long shots deli entrance. No one under the age of 21 will be permitted to walk through the casino. Window seating is done by reservation date and party size so book early.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 340

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 795-7001

Website:
http://www.hollywoodcasinocharlestown.com/

Executive Chef:
Stacee Delabastide

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Entertainment, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Food
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
4 More
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Morgantown
Best Restaurants in Charles Town ›

good for groups (37)
special occasion (34)
scenic view (29)
See All
fit for foodies (11)
kid-friendly (8)
great for brunch (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for lunch (5)
romantic (5)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Skyline Terrace is excellent. We dri ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Skyline Terrace is excellent. We drive over 4 hours each way to dine there and to enjoy the live racing action at Charles Town Raceway. The food is fabulous. Dinner service begins at 5:30pm and ends around 9:30 and this includes a wonderful buffet. This is a fantastic deal because while you are enjoying live horse racing, you can partake in salads, fruits, cheeses, crackers, entrees and scrumptious deserts. I find all of the food to be top notch and wonderfully displayed. The staff is attentive and friendly. I have nothing negative to say about this restaurant and look forward to returning as often as possible.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First of all our waitress was wonderful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First of all our waitress was wonderful and the food for the most part was good. I think it's a little expensive for what you get but again..the food was tasty. I had made some requests online when making the reservations and was very impressed that they called me at home before we came and made sure everyone in our party was comfortable (handicapped person). I really appreciated that attention to detail.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The view at this restaurant is amazing. ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The view at this restaurant is amazing. I felt it was a little pricey. Food was very good!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

food and service were great. my $6.50 m ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

food and service were great. my $6.50 manhattan was a disaster. A proper glass 1/2 filled with colored water and a cherry.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Just super SERVICE! It is great to come ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Just super SERVICE! It is great to come and enjoy a meal without SMOKE getting in your face and allover your clothes!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

FIRST TIME AT CHARLES TOWN HORSE RACE-AN ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

FIRST TIME AT CHARLES TOWN HORSE RACE-AND DINNER --WONDERFUL EXPERINCE--THE TOTAL STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL,VERY INFORMATIVE AND GRACIOUS. THE WHOLE EXPERINCE WAS "THE CAT'S MEOW"

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very easy book reservation, we had a goo ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very easy book reservation, we had a good time. While have eaten there many times, this time we were disappointed in the buffet food selection and quality so next time we have both agreed that we will order off the menu next time.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had great time! The food was great, ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had great time! The food was great, the waiter was awesome, as well as the table! Can't wait until we go back, this is must do if you go to the horse races!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience, good service polite, pr ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good experience, good service polite, professional. would recommend better access to buffet- to many stairs.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great evening with friends. The B ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a great evening with friends. The Buffet although not as much of a variety as I remember from our last visit the food was still good and the dessert selections were as always --- very plentiful. We enjoy the ability to relax in an air conditioned space with plenty to eat and drink while watching the horse racing just outside the window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everyone was so helpful! My 88y.o. Mom's ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everyone was so helpful! My 88y.o. Mom's birthday was the occasion. She says we have her spoiled bringing her to "play the ponies" and for the fantastic buffet! She uses a walker and my sister uses a wheelchair but you all make us feel welcome. We all love to come to Charles Town and making reservations has never been easier.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another great time at CTR and the Skylin ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Another great time at CTR and the Skyline Terrace! Always a fun evening with great food and service. If you haven't been, you don't know what our missing. The staff is great, the racing is a lot of fun, and oh, did I mention the food....

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The table by the window was great. Bonn ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The table by the window was great. Bonnie our waitress was helpful and kind. The buffet was very good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The selection of the buffet was not near ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The selection of the buffet was not nearly up to what it costs. I was disappointed in that. Outside of that everything was great. It was our 44 year anniversary. Our server was Stella. She was outstanding. Very personable but not smothering. I had flowers delivered. They were put on the wrong table. Stella noticed the reservation name was the same that was on the flowers. When we got there She had it right for us. I'm not saying no one else would have but she did. My wife wanted to give her a flower but we didn't see her on our way out.

The food wasn't any better than Golden Corral but way more expensive. No I don't eat crab legs.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

What has happened to the food?

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food on the buffet is wanting. Too many fried foods, limited selections and a true lack of creativity in the kitchen all make for a quite disappointing meal. I love to come for the races, but will be ordering off of the menu from now on...skip the buffet.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Client dinner

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Horse racing always fun...food here is a sideline. Our server Bonnie was great and very responsive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Biggest complaint. Had a 9:00pm seating. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Biggest complaint. Had a 9:00pm seating. Arrived at 9pm to be told they were closed. Had to argue to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good Buffet at the Racetrack

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our server, Stella, was great! It was a fun night watching and betting on the horses with a decent buffet to choose from.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Was a fun date night.....

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Was a fun date night.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

skyline terrace at the races

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food is good. We had an issue with the cold dessert of cheese cake not being cold but they brought us another one. the problem with buffets with a carvery n the middle is always "who gets served first" from which direction. this buffet is the same. it was good otherwise. some of the dishes werent labled but it was pretty clear what they were. whats not clear when they check you in is that if you say yes to the horse brochure, there's an added charge. they should say "would you like to buy a race guide" instead of "would you like a race guide". too many new people coming to the races. The food is good and generally hot. I would also like to see the price of the buffet posted on the menu so when you are deciding you dont have to wait for the server to tell you. But its nice that the table is yours for the night (so why set a time??) so if you want to eat all night and watch or bet all night you can. Food is worth it!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place to watch and bet the races f ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great place to watch and bet the races from. Buffet is good, service is outstanding. Very friendly staff. Great evening out.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The sea food buffet was very nice.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to this restaurant primarily to eat while betting on horses at the track. We were pleasantly surprised at the high quality of the food. We do not normally like buffets because of the "bulk cooking" that tends to be involved. Each item seemed to be properly prepared and tastefully presented. We would go back for the food alone.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food and venue. Great racing in ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Awesome food and venue. Great racing in front of you, casino behind you and amazing food next to you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buffet

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The buffet was good, not great... let see:

Salads - Great

Soups - Great

Crab legs - Very good

Prime rib - Very good

Desserts - Very Good

Vegetables and sides - not to good run of the mill sysco

Overall not as good as previous years.

Our serve was very good her name was Stella S.

Thanks Stella you saved the day.....

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

A night for the races, not the food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The quality of the food offerings has slipped a notch in recent times: selections reduced,

casserole type items were very salty and consistency pasty, breads and rolls were prepackaged Wonderbread, and desserts were like grocery store bought. Thanks goodness for the meat carvery.

On the plus side, service was good and, because of the racing, it's still one of the most fun places to go for an evening out.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Disappointing

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The service was friendly and efficient. Of course, watching the races is always a treat for my out-of-town guests. However, the food on the buffet was very disappointing. The quality of the food is not nearly so good as in the past.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Greate night out.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

A wonderful way to eat and watch the horse races with friends. We can't wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was just O.K.

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

'Beautiful view to enjoy dining'... however the food was mediocre at best. I have dined there many times in the past and the food was much better. It seemed that the overall quality has diminished, for approximately the same price. I think next time I will just enjoy the horse racing and eat prior to entering the track. Hope to see improvement.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

I was dissapointed with the menu choices.

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I think my expectations were too high maybe. I have dined at the Final Cut so I assumed it was similar to that experience. The staff did an excellent job but the food quality wasn't up to par. The cake I had requested was very good and they did deliver as promised.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Buffet

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was absolutely horrible.

The Prime Rib which is the featured item tasted like shoe leather and the

rest of the dishes were bad as well.

They really should do something about the quality of food they are serving.

I have been eating in the dining room for 50 years but will no longer do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Our server. Stella

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Stella was great. She was on top of all our orders and was very friendly. When we come back I'd like to have her serve our table again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Horse racing and good eats

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great fun watching and betting on the horses. Good buffet food, but nothing over the top. Staff aren't very attentive and know nothing about the menu or wines. They could use some brushing up to solid their waiting skills. That aside they are nice. I love going here for its casual ambience and fun. Great for groups.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was poor

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The cold shrimp was mushy and served in water half way up the bowl. The turkey was dry and the prime rib wasn't very flavorful. The ice cream machine was out of ice cream half way through dinner. the fried chicken was pretty good and our server was very good but i was disappointed there was no fried clams. The food was nit up to standard that was charged. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Celebrating Birthday at Track

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Skyline Terrace is nice with great view but, the buffet needs help!. Most of food was cold, tasteless and cheap. The salads were really good, ceasar dressing was really good, crab soup was awesome, steamed mussels were good, prime rib was good but most food on hot bar side was sorry. Fried Shrimp was hard and cold, chicken wings cold and hard, salmon cakes cold and didn't taste like salmon at all. Please consider revamping the buffet selections for $26.99.

Overall good time was had but with better food selections it would have been better.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Great waitress. Very friendly staff. F ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great waitress. Very friendly staff. Food was average. Apple dessert was missing cinnamon. ....not sure how that happened. Able to come in early for our reservation which was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great time, fun place!

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

As always, a fun time with live racing to one side, and casino to the other. Wait staff super and always ready with a fresh beverage or refill of a coffee. And they are fun to talk with as well. With all the casinos and racinos popping up, Charlestown remains a great venue to enjoy the races, run into the casino for a bit and back out to the races. And they hold your table for you so you have a the best of all worlds for the entire time you are their guest. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service started a little slow, we had re ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Service started a little slow, we had reservations and were seated for 30min before anyone took our drink order and we had to ask for a server after 30 min.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It Was Great

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised that the food was excellent. We ordered off the menu, did not choose the buffet. The service was also very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's Post Time!

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Another great experience at CTR and the Skyline Terrace! As always the service and food was outstanding! Everyone on the staff is professional and works hard to make your visit memorable. The buffet is always fresh, hot and delicious. And of course you can't forget the racing! It's great to have a TV at each table for watching the action and replays up close. They have betting windows at each end of the restaurant, but of course there is no obligation to bet. Just pick a horse and watch the action unfold. Outstanding experience - again!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, fun time.

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Perfect setting overlooking the track. Nice atmosphere and easy access to parking and casino.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.