Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.96mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.96mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.96mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.96mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi

About Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races


Stop by and enjoy a wonderful meal in our Skyline Terrace Dining Room. We have a wonderful selection of fabulous entrees guaranteed to please. Enjoy breathtaking scenery, watch the horses sprint around the race track, and delight in a feast of culinary pleasures! Patrons under the age of 21 must enter the Skyline Terrace Dining Room via the apron, long shots deli entrance. No one under the age of 21 will be permitted to walk through the casino. Window seating is done by reservation date and party size so book early.

750 Hollywood Drive
Charles Town, WV 25414
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 340

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 795-7001

Website:
http://www.hollywoodcasinocharlestown.com/

Executive Chef:
Stacee Delabastide

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Live Sports (27)
Fun (22)
Good for Groups (19)
See All
Casual (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Scenic View (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
People Watching (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Family Style (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (2)
Romantic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Cozy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
661 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Thank you to the Manager for assisting with this special needs reservation.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great restaurant with super view of the horse races. Only downside is directions once inside the casino. Poor signage.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Tool 10 minutes before waiter offered drinks. Was ready to leave.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The hostess had to turn many away as they did not have a reservation, so advise to make one in advance. A mix-up with the cocktails was corrected by Angie and Bonnie made sure that we lacked for nothing. A good night at the ponies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was great as was the service. Also, everything came quickly. Prices were excellent as well.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere. I would highly recommend you pay them a visit. The service was timely, the crowd lively, and the food just great. Great place to dine of almost any occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Lots of fun. Service waa excellent. Food was decent.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I enjoyed the meal and the races and had a wonderful visit, just wish you weren't two and a half hours away. I will tell you the mean was out standing and I ate to much. I am planning to come back in the fall and do it again. May get a group together and come this time. I also stayed at the hotel and that was fine as usual and will stay there again. What a wonderful trip and a great time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Always a great time at the Skyline Terrace at CTR. The staff is great, the food is great, the horse racing is great! It's nice that you have the table for the whole evening and can stay for all races. Also nice to have a betting window right there. Oh and you own personal TV for close ups and replays. The prime rib is the best. And the desserts - unbelievable!

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We go here to see the ponies run 3 or 4 times per year and my spouse likes to play the machines once in a great while. The buffet has really gone down hill, so make certain to order from the menu, but be aware you are paying 1 1/2 times as much as you would elsewhere for the same thing. The crab cakes are very good and comparable to Md. eastern shore seafood. The hostess couldn't find our reservation at first and we did not get the window seating we had requested with the reservation though it was made months in advance, so we reserved a table for next year while we there and had them put "do not move" on the reservation. The young lady that seated us found the best table she could after I complained about the seating they were proposing (a tip was given when she found a decent table). The server was fair (slow) and didn't clear the dishes unless asked. This was Saturday night, but the kitchen closed at 9 PM. They are stingy with the liquor they put in the cocktails and charge about $10.00 per drink (not top shelf either), so order beer or wine. All in all we had fun and the other customers are friendly and fun to talk with, and as always bet on the long shots and new jockeys!

Tags: Seasonal, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Requested a table where you can place bets from but they did not provide. 1st time in 10 years that they screwed that up. Also, they placed us really high up even though additional tables were available lower and I had made my reservation over a month prior. Disappointed.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had "Bonnie" as our waitress, she manages the 2nd floor area we were at. Could not ask for better service. Food is buffet style, they do have plate you could order if wanted, but the buffet is a pretty good value.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a great time, the waitress was very attentive and always made sure we we're okay while also being sure to not be too intrusive. The buffet food is decent quality and always a plus when they have crab legs available. Great for a special occasion, or just a nice outing or something to do with some friends or someone special.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The restaurant was nice. We had a great table. The hostess had no personality. The hot food was warm at best. The items on the steam table were not refilled in a timely matter and people had to wait. Over all the food was so-so. We did enjoy the horse racing (even if we didn't know what we were doing) and stayed for the whole schedule.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Overall good experience for the $26 buffet. Only suggestion is to find a way to keep bread and pre sliced cake from drying out

Tags: People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Every thing was ok, except the food was cold. There was a nice array of food, but the "hot" foods were cold and the Prime Rib was cut too thin

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Good experience. Great server. Good food choices. Great views. Food was great. Would go again. My table on the window was fantastic.

Tags: Live Sports, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Overall food was decent. Crab legs were extremely watery and not good. Not worth the extra charge.

Tags: Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent service!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Okay, so going to dine at a horse racing track did not stir my expectations. But, WOW, we had a really nice experience. Perhaps it was the great server. Not only did she understand drinks and food, she understood all the betting methods at the track to help us wager. All, with a very friendly, no rush personality. The food was actually very good, but would not count as gourmet level. Still, enjoyable and tasty. So sad that horse racing attendance is so sparse. It is a way for the average person to enjoy the Sport of Kings.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

our table was the best location for our needs( handicapped). Our waiter, Robert, was the best
ever!!! The food was excellent. The price was great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Sports, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Would like to put more for service, the young lady was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent experience. I even cashed a win ticket on the KY Derby!

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Bonnie is the greatest. Sweet, engaging, kept our glasses full. Knows when you're done with your plate.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Buffet food was okay, not great. Bread pudding was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As always the experience is worth the trip. Great food, horse racing, and loads of fun. We have never had a bad experience here!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This restaurant is part of the Charles Town racetrack and provides a semi-private seating with an excellent view of the racetrack. We both chose grilled salmon and it was good. The sides and wine were also good. The waiter was entertaining and also helped us understand the race card. He also got the Manager when my dining companion had a quit on that he was unable to answer. There is a betting window with a person right next to the dining area and also an automated machine that you can use. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Live Sports, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great place to watch horseracing. We had a tv on the table besides having a view of the track...bring your binoculars! The buffet is nice....snow crab legs and roast beef are included and lots of great desserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

There Charlestown Classic special buffet each year it's gets better and better. The food variety is excellent and being able to sample as much as you want is amazing. We arrive at 12:30 and we eat until 6:00. The meal takes in lunch and dinner with beautiful deserts. The crab legs and shrimp are to die for. This is our 6 year and we will be,back next year. We drive 6 hrs to get here but it is well worth it. Oh by the way the Racing and Casino are also great

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a great time watching the horses run, having dinner and dessert. The servers are very nice, the people at the bet windows are helpful and the overall excitement is wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My GF and I had dinner during the horse races, we had fun. It's been several years since I've gone--I seem to remember a more extensive (choices/quality) on the buffet .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had our daughter and husband join us for the anniversary dinner. The food was delicious and well presented.

My daughter won some money on the horses. It was an enjoyable evening and I've already recommended Skyline Terrance to family and friends!

Thank you so much for making our wedding anniversary (46 years) for John and myself special!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Don't miss the Thursday night Crab Legs special. Delicious! And the service
was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The crab cakes were delicious, all lump, and I'm picky! The buffet was excellent! Food tasted terrific and there were lots of variety. Great view of the racetrack. Will highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As usual, the buffet was excellent. My wife and I enjoy going to Skyline Terrace because we get to watch the racing, eat good food and the staff is always friendly. Excellent place for a fun date night.

Tags: Live Sports, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food as always was very good. Our server Stella was on top of everything all night and gave us some excellent tips regarding food and the entertainment.

Tags: Live Sports, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our problem was that the prime rib was cold when served, as was the turkey. Other foods were good, especially the crab salad.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was awful. Both of us ordered salads and mine seemed to be a few days old with wilted lettuce & husband's cesear was dry. My lemon rosemary chicken seemed to be prepared the day or two before and thrown in the microwave to warm it up. How can a baked potato be messed up?? Ask the chef at Skyline Terrace. It was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had. The only thing good was the cabernet and it was a generous glass. Needed that to get thru the food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The staff was friendly and the service was outstanding. This restaurant's Saturday night buffet is the best deal in the area. Great food and live horse racing a combination that can't be beat.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

No crablegs for 26.95 each..??? Some of the hot food was cold. Waiter would not bring check to table. Had to wait 45 minutes for check. Then had to go to the waiter to pay check at his register after I told him we were ready to settle up. We were late getting down to see the 1st horse race. It had already finished. Scenery/view exceptional but that was about it. We had ate there last 3 years but going forward we will eat at the food court.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.