About Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races

750 Hollywood Drive
Charles Town, WV 25414
View Larger Map


Stop by and enjoy a wonderful meal in our Skyline Terrace Dining Room. We have a wonderful selection of fabulous entrees guaranteed to please. Enjoy breathtaking scenery, watch the horses sprint around the race track, and delight in a feast of culinary pleasures! Patrons under the age of 21 must enter the Skyline Terrace Dining Room via the apron, long shots deli entrance. No one under the age of 21 will be permitted to walk through the casino. Window seating is done by reservation date and party size so book early.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 340

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 795-7001

Website:
http://www.hollywoodcasinocharlestown.com/

Executive Chef:
Stacee Delabastide

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Entertainment, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
2 More
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Morgantown
Best Restaurants in Charles Town ›

good for groups (31)
scenic view (29)
special occasion (25)
See All
fit for foodies (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (4)
romantic (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
Sort By:
Newest
500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and venue. Great racing in ...

Dined 3 days ago

Awesome food and venue. Great racing in front of you, casino behind you and amazing food next to you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Buffet

Dined on April 23, 2016

The buffet was good, not great... let see: Salads - Great Soups - Great Crab legs - Very good Prime rib - Very good Desserts - Very Good Vegetables and sides - not to good run of the mill sysco Overall not as good as previous years. Our serve was very good her name was Stella S. Thanks Stella you saved the day.....

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

A night for the races, not the food

Dined on April 1, 2016

The quality of the food offerings has slipped a notch in recent times: selections reduced, casserole type items were very salty and consistency pasty, breads and rolls were prepackaged Wonderbread, and desserts were like grocery store bought. Thanks goodness for the meat carvery. On the plus side, service was good and, because of the racing, it's still one of the most fun places to go for an evening out.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Disappointing

Dined on March 19, 2016

The service was friendly and efficient. Of course, watching the races is always a treat for my out-of-town guests. However, the food on the buffet was very disappointing. The quality of the food is not nearly so good as in the past.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Greate night out.

Dined on March 19, 2016

A wonderful way to eat and watch the horse races with friends. We can't wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was just O.K.

Dined on March 11, 2016

'Beautiful view to enjoy dining'... however the food was mediocre at best. I have dined there many times in the past and the food was much better. It seemed that the overall quality has diminished, for approximately the same price. I think next time I will just enjoy the horse racing and eat prior to entering the track. Hope to see improvement.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

I was dissapointed with the menu choices.

Dined on March 5, 2016

I think my expectations were too high maybe. I have dined at the Final Cut so I assumed it was similar to that experience. The staff did an excellent job but the food quality wasn't up to par. The cake I had requested was very good and they did deliver as promised.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Buffet

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was absolutely horrible. The Prime Rib which is the featured item tasted like shoe leather and the rest of the dishes were bad as well. They really should do something about the quality of food they are serving. I have been eating in the dining room for 50 years but will no longer do so.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server. Stella

Dined on February 20, 2016

Stella was great. She was on top of all our orders and was very friendly. When we come back I'd like to have her serve our table again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Horse racing and good eats

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Great fun watching and betting on the horses. Good buffet food, but nothing over the top. Staff aren't very attentive and know nothing about the menu or wines. They could use some brushing up to solid their waiting skills. That aside they are nice. I love going here for its casual ambience and fun. Great for groups.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was poor

Dined on February 20, 2016

The cold shrimp was mushy and served in water half way up the bowl. The turkey was dry and the prime rib wasn't very flavorful. The ice cream machine was out of ice cream half way through dinner. the fried chicken was pretty good and our server was very good but i was disappointed there was no fried clams. The food was nit up to standard that was charged. Very disappointing.

food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Celebrating Birthday at Track

Dined on February 20, 2016

Skyline Terrace is nice with great view but, the buffet needs help!. Most of food was cold, tasteless and cheap. The salads were really good, ceasar dressing was really good, crab soup was awesome, steamed mussels were good, prime rib was good but most food on hot bar side was sorry. Fried Shrimp was hard and cold, chicken wings cold and hard, salmon cakes cold and didn't taste like salmon at all. Please consider revamping the buffet selections for $26.99. Overall good time was had but with better food selections it would have been better.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4

Great waitress. Very friendly staff. F ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great waitress. Very friendly staff. Food was average. Apple dessert was missing cinnamon. ....not sure how that happened. Able to come in early for our reservation which was nice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time, fun place!

Dined on February 6, 2016

As always, a fun time with live racing to one side, and casino to the other. Wait staff super and always ready with a fresh beverage or refill of a coffee. And they are fun to talk with as well. With all the casinos and racinos popping up, Charlestown remains a great venue to enjoy the races, run into the casino for a bit and back out to the races. And they hold your table for you so you have a the best of all worlds for the entire time you are their guest. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Service started a little slow, we had re ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Service started a little slow, we had reservations and were seated for 30min before anyone took our drink order and we had to ask for a server after 30 min.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It Was Great

Dined on January 8, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised that the food was excellent. We ordered off the menu, did not choose the buffet. The service was also very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

It's Post Time!

Dined on December 12, 2015

Another great experience at CTR and the Skyline Terrace! As always the service and food was outstanding! Everyone on the staff is professional and works hard to make your visit memorable. The buffet is always fresh, hot and delicious. And of course you can't forget the racing! It's great to have a TV at each table for watching the action and replays up close. They have betting windows at each end of the restaurant, but of course there is no obligation to bet. Just pick a horse and watch the action unfold. Outstanding experience - again!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, fun time.

Dined on December 5, 2015

Perfect setting overlooking the track. Nice atmosphere and easy access to parking and casino.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to dine and have fun!

Dined on December 5, 2015

Excellent venue. Geared towards the diner and not just the racing enthusiast. They really do a great job in making sure the buffet is stocked and kept fresh. The deserts are to die for and not for the dieter!. The staff is super friendly and always aware of your needs. Add the races and the casino into the mix and it does not get any better than this!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place for special occasions

Dined on November 28, 2015

I would recommend anyone to go watch the horses run and have a great meal. Perfect for family and friends. Have been going for years and will be coming back soon

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service4

It was ok but wasn't what we expected. ...

Dined on November 28, 2015

It was ok but wasn't what we expected. Wine list was very limited. Food was ok but not great. Our waiter was fantastic, nice guy, very funny. If you're going to eat at the track go to Final Cut instead, that was awesome.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great Evening

Dined on November 21, 2015

Met another couple and had a great dinner, played the horses, and then visited the casino. Food was very good and the evening was a lot of fun.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Skyline Terrace

Dined on November 14, 2015

There were so many choices at the buffet and the roast beef was awesome! Our service was exceptional and we were seated exactly where I had requested. We enjoyed our meal while having a great view of the horses and the race track. I have been here many times and never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great!

Dined on November 14, 2015

I just love the food. Absolutely delicious! People in the Buffet are so super nice.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

annual anniversary visit...

Dined on November 14, 2015

This is the third year in a row that we've dined here for our anniversary. As usual, the food and service were more than adequate. All in all a great dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

smoking vs. non-smoking in casino

Dined on October 31, 2015

There needs to be a greater division between smoking and non smoking. I stayed in the non-smoking section but still smelled the cigarettes. I smelled like I had been smoking on my drive home.

food4
ambience5
service5

My Birthday Outing

Dined on October 31, 2015

I always love going there. My daughter takes me every year for my birthday.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Skyline Terrace Experience

Dined on October 31, 2015

We have been to the Skyline Terrace on numerous occassions. This was one of our best experiences, largely due to the attention of our waitress Stella. One previous visits we have had to wait to get drinks, but Stella was very attentive. The food was good and the racing was great as always!

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5

Food wasn't as good this visit as in pas ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

Food wasn't as good this visit as in past visits. The temperature was not got enough, the prime rib tasted solely of herbs no wonderful beef flavor, mashed potatoes were so thick they needed some milk or cream to thin them out, and the desserts were only OK. I did like the angel food cake with strawberries though yum. But... Where is the whipped cream?

food5
ambience5
service5

We were on a road trip from Canada to Vi ...

Dined on October 29, 2015

We were on a road trip from Canada to Virginia and as we enjoy watching the horses we decided to stop in to your Charles Town location. We were so glad we did, everyone from the front door, through the casino and in the horse racing section were so friendly. We had an amazing evening and even won a bit of money that paid for our dinner :)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience1
service5

place/nice - problem was the smell of smoke

Dined on October 24, 2015

please move the smoking area in the casino from the desk where you sign in

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Bonnie our server was awesome!!! She was so kind!

Dined on October 23, 2015

Bonnie our server was awesome!!! She was so kind to recognize our first year anniversary. It was really sweet that she brought us a dessert to celebrate it! We will definitely be back! The food was awesome!~

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience3
service5

We enjoyed watching the races from our table.

Dined on October 17, 2015

We planned to order from the menu, but were told when we arrived that only the buffet was being served. The food was good as buffets go and there were plenty of choices. Bonnie was an excellent server.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

extra effort

Dined on October 10, 2015

The waitress made an extra effort, the evening of the 10th, to create a surprise desert special, per my reservation request, to help me honor my wife`s birthday.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

great find for repeated trips

Dined on October 3, 2015

Great place for dinner and entertainment. We made a reservation early in the day arrived on time. Buffet has something for all diets, food was delicious as spoken by all in our party. Having a tv screen at each table as well as great view of the track. Service was spectacular like a five star restaurant. No pressure to bet on racing and nice that table is yours for the evening. Great place to bring friends and relatives. 10/3/2025. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Second Vistit

Dined on October 3, 2015

This was our second visit, and we enjoyed it just as much as we did the first time! The food was yummy and the service was great. Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4

cold food

Dined on September 26, 2015

We had a 5:30pm dinner reservation. the food was cold. We mentioned it to the waitress and the manager. The manager found out the heating elements under the food were not turned on. They fixed it. Much better at 7pm.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

The table were we were I would'n recomm ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

The table were we were I would'n recommend for any one .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service2

Buffet - So - So

Dined on September 18, 2015

Salad Bar was fresh with good variety. Main courses were mediocre. Prime Rib not tender. Macaroni and Cheese was dry. Carrots very good, potatoes were good. Dessert bar adequate. Good view of race track. Service was slow, had to ask for refills on drinks. Seemed to be only one server for entire row.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice food for the races

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

Really enjoyed watching the races and eating their food. Good food for reasonable prices while you watch the horses race.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.