Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.96mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.96mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.96mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.96mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi

About Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races


Stop by and enjoy a wonderful meal in our Skyline Terrace Dining Room. We have a wonderful selection of fabulous entrees guaranteed to please. Enjoy breathtaking scenery, watch the horses sprint around the race track, and delight in a feast of culinary pleasures! Patrons under the age of 21 must enter the Skyline Terrace Dining Room via the apron, long shots deli entrance. No one under the age of 21 will be permitted to walk through the casino. Window seating is done by reservation date and party size so book early.

750 Hollywood Drive
Charles Town, WV 25414
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 340

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 795-7001

Website:
http://www.hollywoodcasinocharlestown.com/

Executive Chef:
Stacee Delabastide

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Live Sports (27)
Fun (15)
Scenic View (15)
See All
Good for Groups (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Casual (11)
Good for a Date (11)
People Watching (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall food was decent. Crab legs were extremely watery and not good. Not worth the extra charge.

Tags: Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Okay, so going to dine at a horse racing track did not stir my expectations. But, WOW, we had a really nice experience. Perhaps it was the great server. Not only did she understand drinks and food, she understood all the betting methods at the track to help us wager. All, with a very friendly, no rush personality. The food was actually very good, but would not count as gourmet level. Still, enjoyable and tasty. So sad that horse racing attendance is so sparse. It is a way for the average person to enjoy the Sport of Kings.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

our table was the best location for our needs( handicapped). Our waiter, Robert, was the best
ever!!! The food was excellent. The price was great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Sports, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Would like to put more for service, the young lady was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent experience. I even cashed a win ticket on the KY Derby!

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Bonnie is the greatest. Sweet, engaging, kept our glasses full. Knows when you're done with your plate.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Buffet food was okay, not great. Bread pudding was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As always the experience is worth the trip. Great food, horse racing, and loads of fun. We have never had a bad experience here!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This restaurant is part of the Charles Town racetrack and provides a semi-private seating with an excellent view of the racetrack. We both chose grilled salmon and it was good. The sides and wine were also good. The waiter was entertaining and also helped us understand the race card. He also got the Manager when my dining companion had a quit on that he was unable to answer. There is a betting window with a person right next to the dining area and also an automated machine that you can use. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Live Sports, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great place to watch horseracing. We had a tv on the table besides having a view of the track...bring your binoculars! The buffet is nice....snow crab legs and roast beef are included and lots of great desserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

There Charlestown Classic special buffet each year it's gets better and better. The food variety is excellent and being able to sample as much as you want is amazing. We arrive at 12:30 and we eat until 6:00. The meal takes in lunch and dinner with beautiful deserts. The crab legs and shrimp are to die for. This is our 6 year and we will be,back next year. We drive 6 hrs to get here but it is well worth it. Oh by the way the Racing and Casino are also great

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a great time watching the horses run, having dinner and dessert. The servers are very nice, the people at the bet windows are helpful and the overall excitement is wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My GF and I had dinner during the horse races, we had fun. It's been several years since I've gone--I seem to remember a more extensive (choices/quality) on the buffet .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had our daughter and husband join us for the anniversary dinner. The food was delicious and well presented.

My daughter won some money on the horses. It was an enjoyable evening and I've already recommended Skyline Terrance to family and friends!

Thank you so much for making our wedding anniversary (46 years) for John and myself special!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Don't miss the Thursday night Crab Legs special. Delicious! And the service
was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As usual, the buffet was excellent. My wife and I enjoy going to Skyline Terrace because we get to watch the racing, eat good food and the staff is always friendly. Excellent place for a fun date night.

Tags: Live Sports, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The crab cakes were delicious, all lump, and I'm picky! The buffet was excellent! Food tasted terrific and there were lots of variety. Great view of the racetrack. Will highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food as always was very good. Our server Stella was on top of everything all night and gave us some excellent tips regarding food and the entertainment.

Tags: Live Sports, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our problem was that the prime rib was cold when served, as was the turkey. Other foods were good, especially the crab salad.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was awful. Both of us ordered salads and mine seemed to be a few days old with wilted lettuce & husband's cesear was dry. My lemon rosemary chicken seemed to be prepared the day or two before and thrown in the microwave to warm it up. How can a baked potato be messed up?? Ask the chef at Skyline Terrace. It was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had. The only thing good was the cabernet and it was a generous glass. Needed that to get thru the food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The staff was friendly and the service was outstanding. This restaurant's Saturday night buffet is the best deal in the area. Great food and live horse racing a combination that can't be beat.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

No crablegs for 26.95 each..??? Some of the hot food was cold. Waiter would not bring check to table. Had to wait 45 minutes for check. Then had to go to the waiter to pay check at his register after I told him we were ready to settle up. We were late getting down to see the 1st horse race. It had already finished. Scenery/view exceptional but that was about it. We had ate there last 3 years but going forward we will eat at the food court.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Was able to bet horse racing then return to my table. Had the crab cakes and salad. Had a good Manhatten and a white wine. Service was great. I love the racetrack and food.

Tags: Live Sports, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had a very enjoyable evening. The buffet was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed the racing while we dined.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fun evening watching the races during dinner with the family. We will come back again for the entertainment. However, definitely would not be a restaurant I would choose based solely on their food.

Tags: Live Sports, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Reservations were made as requested. Table was ready, hostess and waitress were friendly and helpful, and the food was good, as it always has been. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is always a great night out for the family great food and racing Will continue to come back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Don't like the smoking in the casinos but this restaurant was smoke free which was nice!!

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The only casino-related location in DC vicinity/area with combination horse racing / dinner venue. Friendly staff and enjoyable atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Sports, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We chose the buffet while watching the horse races. The buffet hours were extensive so that we could "nibble' all night long. The selections were good and I was able to get very good rare cuts of the prime rib. The cocktails were good and our server was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The service was below par. The server cared more about the table of 15 then us. We waited nearly 20 minutes for a round of drinks while management and other staff just stood around. I had to approach a bus person to have them check on our drinks. No one else thought to check on us while the server managed his bigger table. This was upsetting seeing how there was only about 6 other tables occupied. It also took the server nearly 20 minutes to bring me the check once I asked for it.
As far as the food goes it was okay. The calamari appetizer was quite good. The filet I ordered you could tell had been previously frozen before cooking. Also, it was barely warm when it was served to me. My wife had the crab leg special. This was well worth the price but some of the legs on the cluster I ate were warm and the others were still cold.
All in all it was upsetting. We have been to this place on several occasions as we love to eat, drink and watch the ponies run. It can be a fun atmosphere. We have never had this kind of service or disappointment with the food before. Seeing how this is part of the casino it is upsetting that the level of attention to detail paid was so lacking. It might be a long time before we come back.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

good evening - recommend to family and friends. nice place for dinner and betting

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We've eaten there several times and the food has always been good with plenty of choices. if you go hungry it's your own fault.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great service, good food, value prices, and the ponies! What's not to like?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great meal as always. Our server was attentive. Had fun with friends & enjoyed betting on the horses!

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

i have been to dinner there about 6 times and the food and the service was fantastic . the waiter was a young man who had a great attitude and was very freiendly and energenic with customers

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waitress asked for gratuity while still dining.,then questioned programs stubbornly. The buffet was excellent. Manager was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Buffet was okay. Not enough chicken entrees except for fried chicken. Place is Entertaining because you can watch the horse races while eating .

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It was my Mom's 80th birthday and I was so disappointed in the waiter not giving her special attention. First, he brought her meal out last, not sure if you train your waiters but hers is a tip. You always plate the VIP at the table first. He did bring a very nice desert to her, but he dropped it off at the top of the table, did not even server her the desert nor wish a happy birthday. Wasn't a special moment for my mom like a wanted it to be. Found out the next day my Mom likes the steak house not the terrace. So, its a bit my fault for not booking the right restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.