About Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races


Stop by and enjoy a wonderful meal in our Skyline Terrace Dining Room. We have a wonderful selection of fabulous entrees guaranteed to please. Enjoy breathtaking scenery, watch the horses sprint around the race track, and delight in a feast of culinary pleasures! Patrons under the age of 21 must enter the Skyline Terrace Dining Room via the apron, long shots deli entrance. No one under the age of 21 will be permitted to walk through the casino. Window seating is done by reservation date and party size so book early.

750 Hollywood Drive
Charles Town, WV 25414
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 340

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 795-7001

Website:
http://www.hollywoodcasinocharlestown.com/

Executive Chef:
Stacee Delabastide

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Live Sports (12)
Scenic View (10)
Fun (8)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Romantic (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

good evening - recommend to family and f ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 2 days ago

good evening - recommend to family and friends. nice place for dinner and betting

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We've eaten there several times and the ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 2 days ago

We've eaten there several times and the food has always been good with plenty of choices. if you go hungry it's your own fault.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great meal as always. Our server was at ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great meal as always. Our server was attentive. Had fun with friends & enjoyed betting on the horses!

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

i have been to dinner there about 6 time ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

i have been to dinner there about 6 times and the food and the service was fantastic . the waiter was a young man who had a great attitude and was very freiendly and energenic with customers

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress asked for gratuity while still ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waitress asked for gratuity while still dining.,then questioned programs stubbornly. The buffet was excellent. Manager was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Buffet was okay. Not enough chicken entr ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Buffet was okay. Not enough chicken entrees except for fried chicken. Place is Entertaining because you can watch the horse races while eating .

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

It was my Mom's 80th birthday and I was ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It was my Mom's 80th birthday and I was so disappointed in the waiter not giving her special attention. First, he brought her meal out last, not sure if you train your waiters but hers is a tip. You always plate the VIP at the table first. He did bring a very nice desert to her, but he dropped it off at the top of the table, did not even server her the desert nor wish a happy birthday. Wasn't a special moment for my mom like a wanted it to be. Found out the next day my Mom likes the steak house not the terrace. So, its a bit my fault for not booking the right restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Food dry not worth the money spent. Not ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food dry not worth the money spent. Not good food choices

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Had a horse racing that night, always go ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Had a horse racing that night, always go to the restaurant when I am racing there. Great buffet and great view of the track while dining. Servers are always very friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an activity - some friends and I ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was an activity - some friends and I had a fun night out hvi g dinner, playing the ponies, then a few slots. The prime rib at the buffet was good.

The only negative is the pervasive cigarette smoke. I am hypersensitive though do it any by have bothered others as much.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The restaurant was very busy and our ser ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The restaurant was very busy and our server covered several tables, each with several guests. After placing the drink order and saying we were getting the buffet, she didn't get back to us for a half an hour. We saw her working other tables, just not enough staff.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We really enjoy the experience and like ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We really enjoy the experience and like coming to the Charles Town races and the Skyline Terrace. Work schedules have not allowed us to come as much as we would like. We were there a few months ago and the same issue seems to keep occurring. Some of the foods on the buffet are not kept hot when they should be. Also we could not hear the race announcer in the dinning room this time. That has was not an issue before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I have eaten at the Skyline Terrace a fe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I have eaten at the Skyline Terrace a few times and it is a good place to eat and enjoy the horse races. I rated the food and value as good and not higher because the buffet was not properly supplied with enough food at times and it seemed like the servers and food staff were simply not able to keep up. Food also sat too long in the warmer trays and became cold or there was not enough freshly made and heated food to go around. But I like the Terrace and with some improvements, it would be much better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My 1st experience there was Great, while ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My 1st experience there was Great, while this time, the hot food was not hot and my waiter had other tables a good distance from my table, leaving him to only visit one time, while I had other servers were helpful and assisted my wife and I.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

We always enjoy the prime rib buffet and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We always enjoy the prime rib buffet and watching the horse racing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another pleasant experience, everyone is ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Another pleasant experience, everyone is always very welcoming.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date nite for my hubby and myself. We lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Date nite for my hubby and myself. We love to go for nice buffet and watch the horse races. It is a really fun thing to do. The entire front is glass window so the races are right there to witness while you eat. Make a reservation! After the race, and dinner, (10:30pm) we went to the event center located there to see Jay Leno. He was good but the seating HORRIBLE!!! Stuffed in tighter than an airplane seat. I'm not exaggerating! I had an extremely obese man in 1/3 of my seat! Thank God I don't eat much! Just saying"....and FYI!!! DON"T go see a show there! They are breaking every fire code.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed knowing that our table was fo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed knowing that our table was for the whole night. The hostess said we could actually eat dinner or have drinks, leave and gamble, come back get dessert, whatever. We got the buffet, it was ok-not the best value for the money. We enjoyed being able to bet on and watch the horse races from any seat in the restaurant with large viewing windows all around (and small tvs at every table was also a plus!). Service was Phenomenal! Betting window attendants were also super nice and helpful! We will be back - Next time we are ordering off the menu to see if that makes a difference in the food.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

After a very short wait at the check-in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

After a very short wait at the check-in we were given a very well-situated table. The menu had enough variety to keep everyone at the table happy and the steaks and crabs were prepared just fine and arrived at the desired temperature. The wine list was extensive and the desserts inexpensive and tasty. The table service we received was the best experienced (worldwide) this entire year. And, of course, access to the horse-betting area was convenient.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Initially we were ushered to a table nea ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Initially we were ushered to a table near the buffet line, but asked to be moved closer to the horse track. A manager quickly had us relocated. We ordered off of the menu instead of the buffet. The filet mignon was very tasty and the crab corn chowder was also very good. Bonnie our server was very efficient and attentive. She had a very nice personality without being intrusive. Betting on the horses was a lot of fun and with a betting "window" right in the restaurant it was quick and easy to place bets from the restaurant. I will certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great tilapia, great calamari! Good all ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great tilapia, great calamari! Good all around buffet plus you can bet on the horses while you dine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Sports, Romantic, , Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Also come for the horse racing! Dinner/ ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Also come for the horse racing! Dinner/racing - a nice combination.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though it is a buffet it is always ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Even though it is a buffet it is always consistently good. There is a good diversity of offerings, so everyone should find something they like. Just leave room for dessert...a ton of options!

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great night, but one thing that ev ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had a great night, but one thing that everyone complained about, that's including people on nearby tables as well as my guests,

The heat; it was stifling hot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food is not as good as it used to be ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food is not as good as it used to be and it was VERY hot. They need more servers. The ones they have are great, but are overloaded and don't have time to serve you the way you should be. I felt bad for ours.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

It was my second time there. I was real ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was my second time there. I was really disappointed in the temperature of the building and lack of servers. Our server was excellent but completely overwhelmed. I felt bad for him. Food at buffet was lovely and tasty as usual. Something must have been terribly wrong with the ventilation. It was way too hot in the building. I will go back but hope for a better experience next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The reason to eat here is to attend the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The reason to eat here is to attend the horse races and participate in pari-mutuel betting. Thus the food, though good, is secondary to the reason for being there. And probably how much one enjoys the experience will be linked closely to how well one does at the track.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

When we arrived we were a little surpris ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

When we arrived we were a little surprised when your security told us that there were NO restaurants on premises where we could have dinner because one of us forgot ID. We asked twice too so you might want to reeducate the people at the casino entrance. Had I not known that they had to be incorrect because I had seen plenty of kids at this restaurant previously we would have just left.

Once we figured out on our own how toget there , because two employees gave us bad directions the restaurant was ok, not exceptional but the races were fun. Server fine.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We come to Charles Town Races at least a ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We come to Charles Town Races at least a few times each year from the Tidewater Virginia area. It is worth the drive. The big window facing the track makes for a fun evening of racing and the food is superb. The buffet is open from 5:30pm and stays available until after 9:30. It is a lot of fun to watch the racing action and eat for the entire four hours! We love it! There are viewing monitors at each table, betting machines available and live tellers to accept wagers as well. The buffet has prime rib, shrimp, ribs, chicken, salad, assorted cheese, fish, carved turkey, seafood creole, tilapia and many other items. The deserts were plentiful and there were too many different kinds to choose from...it's a good thing that we had four hours to eat...plenty of time to pace ourselves.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The buffet was okay but not wonderful. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The buffet was okay but not wonderful. There was a nice variety. Service was good, and we were able to sit next to the window to watch the horse races!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Live Sports, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The restaurant at the racetrack allows y ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The restaurant at the racetrack allows you to watch the racing in comfort while enjoying a meal with friendly service from the staff. Good choices on the menu and you don't have to leave the restaurant if you want to place a wager. A great place for a group of friends to get together for an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Actually, I was disappointed. I was ther ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Actually, I was disappointed. I was there about 5 years ago and the food was much better and the tables were prettier. The server was AWFUL! We had to hunt her down for drinks. Oh, and the cocktails I ordered were sub-par. It's a cool place to go because you overlook the racetrack and can sit/eat/relax for as long as you like while betting the horses. Other than that - NOT worth the price (food, drinks, service). I doubt I'll be back

Tags: Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We enjoy going to this spot for a relaxi ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We enjoy going to this spot for a relaxing way to watch the races and have dinner. The meal is always very good, although on our last visit, many of the foods were not very hot. We also seemed to have very slow service this time. Had this been our first visit, it may have been alarming, but we realize this is not the norm.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Enjoyable time...good food. Service was ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Enjoyable time...good food. Service was good. Waitress was pleasant. Noise level good. Was able to converse with our friends.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just about everything on the buffet is p ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Just about everything on the buffet is pre-packaged, frozen, or canned. Truly disappointing for a $63 meal for two. My husband enjoyed the Prime rib from the buffet, and the steamed shrimp were decent. The only redeeming dessert was the Creme brûlée...everything else tasted dry or as though it had previously been frozen.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Love the buffet! The waiter Robert was a ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Love the buffet! The waiter Robert was also awesome. It is fun to watch the horses race while having a great meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the dinner and the races, but ma ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Enjoyed the dinner and the races, but may I suggest an easier way to get into the restarant, when we arrived from the outside the door to the restaurant was locked we had to walk to the next entrance, we are seniors, to far to walk.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It seems that everything including locat ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

It seems that everything including location was great. The food was hot and the salad was missing eggs for a topping, which make the salad taste better.

Tags: Family Style, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We really enjoyed the close up view of t ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We really enjoyed the close up view of the horses and the all you can eat crab legs. The salad was surprisingly good. We plan on returning in October.

Tags: Live Sports, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The premier buffet is amazing. My famil ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The premier buffet is amazing. My family and I drive over 160 miles round trip to enjoy the racing and food. Beautiful scenic views of the mountains as well. Worth the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.