About Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races

750 Hollywood Drive
Charles Town, WV 25414
View Larger Map


Stop by and enjoy a wonderful meal in our Skyline Terrace Dining Room. We have a wonderful selection of fabulous entrees guaranteed to please. Enjoy breathtaking scenery, watch the horses sprint around the race track, and delight in a feast of culinary pleasures! Patrons under the age of 21 must enter the Skyline Terrace Dining Room via the apron, long shots deli entrance. No one under the age of 21 will be permitted to walk through the casino. Window seating is done by reservation date and party size so book early.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 340

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 795-7001

Website:
http://www.hollywoodcasinocharlestown.com/

Executive Chef:
Stacee Delabastide

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Food
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
5 More
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
Best Value
West Virginia
Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Morgantown
Best Restaurants in Charles Town ›

Good for Groups (38)
Special Occasion (38)
Scenic View (34)
See All
Live Sports (16)
Fun (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Romantic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the buffet! The waiter Robert was a ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love the buffet! The waiter Robert was also awesome. It is fun to watch the horses race while having a great meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the dinner and the races, but ma ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed the dinner and the races, but may I suggest an easier way to get into the restarant, when we arrived from the outside the door to the restaurant was locked we had to walk to the next entrance, we are seniors, to far to walk.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It seems that everything including locat ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

It seems that everything including location was great. The food was hot and the salad was missing eggs for a topping, which make the salad taste better.

Tags: Family Style, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We really enjoyed the close up view of t ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We really enjoyed the close up view of the horses and the all you can eat crab legs. The salad was surprisingly good. We plan on returning in October.

Tags: Live Sports, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The premier buffet is amazing. My famil ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The premier buffet is amazing. My family and I drive over 160 miles round trip to enjoy the racing and food. Beautiful scenic views of the mountains as well. Worth the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It was fun to watch the horse racing (ta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was fun to watch the horse racing (table right next to the window). I'm not a big fan of buffets, but it was actually pretty good.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went there with 4 of our foodie snobs an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went there with 4 of our foodie snobs and they loved the food and atmosphere. They all chose the buffet. An added fun was watching and betting on the ponies races. We all went into the casino afterwards and our friends enjoyed that as well. Fun evening had by all.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Enjoyed dinning and watching the races. ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Enjoyed dinning and watching the races. It was a nice night for my wife's Birthday!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is fun. The food was not ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This restaurant is fun. The food was not great (very fried) but the view out to the track was great, was nice to be able to place bets in the restaurant, and having a buffet was convenient.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

We came for the horse racing 7 buffet. B ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We came for the horse racing 7 buffet. Both were enjoyable.

Tags: Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I think everything was super. The food w ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I think everything was super. The food was especially great and desserts and salad were terrific. Service was just superb.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were first to be seated and for some ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

we were first to be seated and for some reason got seated up top on the 5th tier which was warmer than I could tolerate. Yet most lower level tables and seats were unoccupied until much later, it at all. What's it take to get a good seat?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

It is always an exceptional place to eat ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

It is always an exceptional place to eat and watch the horse racing. One of the best buffets ever!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very very disappointed. Invited 4 friend ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very very disappointed. Invited 4 friends to join me for dinner and to watch the horse races. The only thing i ate was the shrimp and creme brule. The clams were tough, spare ribs were fatty, prime rib overcooked and tough, carrots cold and tasteless, cheese cake tasted a little like butter. I did not try anything else because I was afraid to. The salad bar looked OK so cannot comment on that.

Also, was disappointed that there was no one to show us how to place a bet. We had never been to a race track before and knew nothing about betting or what it all meant. So that was sad. But we enjoyed watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The skyline Terrace is a good restuarant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The skyline Terrace is a good restuarant but it could be better. The buffet has a good asortment of items and deserts and you can order from the menu. The tables are close because the sapce is limited and it get's crowded on weekends when horse racing patrons and groups come in. I generally liked the buffet food but improvements can be made to make it even better, including offering a self-serving ice cream machine, adding whipped cream and fresh strawberries, offering shrimp and possibly crab legs, adding sugar free pies and cakes, and providing a separate seating section for Executive Producer and ICON players or atleast priority seating. These players are Hollywood Casino's major investment and being seated at a cramped location and at a small table is inconsistent with how these type of players should be handled.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress was wonderful, if I remembe ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful, if I remember correctly her name was Jess

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was simply o.k., the service as ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was simply o.k., the service as well. We were seated in a timely manner but the buffet truly lacked luster. I did like the fried shrimp and my husband liked the peel and eat shrimp - nothing else had the flavors that we expected from a "Prime Rib and Seafood Buffet".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The skyline is fun and you can keep your ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The skyline is fun and you can keep your table throughout the races. Even if you go into the casino, you can come back to your table throughout the evening while the races are in progress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Excellent time again at Skyline Terrace. ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent time again at Skyline Terrace. Staff and food are great. Racing is a lot of fun. Never a bad time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very pleasant experience with t ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a very pleasant experience with the exception of it being extremely hot In the skyline Terrace. I understand it was very hot outside however you need to make it at least comfortable for your customers. It definitely was not comfortable and we felt sorry for your employees with their heavy clothing. Our waitress and busboy were wonderful . We couldn't ask for a better waitstaff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food didn't have enough flavor very ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food didn't have enough flavor very bland. The shrimp were not cooked enough. The desserts were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Always enjoy eating the buffet and watch ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always enjoy eating the buffet and watching the horse races. It is a fun time for all.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

THE FOOD AT THE BUFFET WAS EXCELLENT. SE ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

THE FOOD AT THE BUFFET WAS EXCELLENT. SERVICE WAS GOOD BUT A LITTLE SLOW, ONLY SAW THE WAITRESS 3 TIMES. A LITTLE PRICEY FOR THOSE OF US WHO DO NOT EAT LIKE 'HORSES'. WELL WORTH IT FOR THE CONVENIENCE OF WATCHING THE RACES FROM A TABLE.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Food and service were good , AC was malf ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food and service were good , AC was malfunctioning which made it sweltering hot .. Almost everyone in the dining area ate and left early ..

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Reservation was wrong I received a confi ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Reservation was wrong I received a confirmation for party of six was told it was for a party of two. Requested window seating received 3rd tier although plenty of advance notice to accommodate my request was given. Hot as Hell air conditioner was not working,no compensation was offered as in "Sorry the air isn't working ...a free drink on the house... would you like to re-book? percentage off your bill....but nothing.Food was okay but in the heat it was like eating in a sauna. Very uncomfortable and appetite was suppressed. I would return, but only if the air was working.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

MEH food, horribly hot inside as Air con ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

MEH food, horribly hot inside as Air conditioning was not working. Food just so-so...really did not get my money's worth and won't go here again. Service non-existent. Really could have used another glass or water or cocktail but was never asked again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Booking a reservation on-line was very e ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Booking a reservation on-line was very easy, however I requested window seating on my reservation form but didn't get it when I arrived at the restaurant. The food was very good, but rather expensive unless you choose the buffet and are likely to make multiple trips back to the buffet table.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Skyline service was great , playing the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Skyline service was great , playing the horses was fun and buffet food was just okay. Will go back again and order from the menu next time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Usually I love eating at the Skyline Res ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Usually I love eating at the Skyline Restaurant as we watch the horses run at Charlestown. The only reason I am rating them so low this time is because the air conditioning was not working the night we were there and it was in the 90's outside and it felt that warm inside. This made it almost unbearable to eat or enjoy the time at the races. Our waiter was working hard, but he was not as attentive refilling our drinks and as hot as it was inside, we needed that, though we were not charged for our drinks by management. Hopefully the next time we attend this restaurant the air conditioning will be repaired.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

The service was wonderful, Rachel was ve ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The service was wonderful, Rachel was very attentive through- the evening, the buffet was taste especially the carved turkey & prime rib...

The only cloud on the evening was the lack of air conditioning, apparently it was under repair

so the room was very warm on a very hot day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The Skyline Terrace is excellent. We dri ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Skyline Terrace is excellent. We drive over 4 hours each way to dine there and to enjoy the live racing action at Charles Town Raceway. The food is fabulous. Dinner service begins at 5:30pm and ends around 9:30 and this includes a wonderful buffet. This is a fantastic deal because while you are enjoying live horse racing, you can partake in salads, fruits, cheeses, crackers, entrees and scrumptious deserts. I find all of the food to be top notch and wonderfully displayed. The staff is attentive and friendly. I have nothing negative to say about this restaurant and look forward to returning as often as possible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First of all our waitress was wonderful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First of all our waitress was wonderful and the food for the most part was good. I think it's a little expensive for what you get but again..the food was tasty. I had made some requests online when making the reservations and was very impressed that they called me at home before we came and made sure everyone in our party was comfortable (handicapped person). I really appreciated that attention to detail.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The view at this restaurant is amazing. ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The view at this restaurant is amazing. I felt it was a little pricey. Food was very good!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

food and service were great. my $6.50 m ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

food and service were great. my $6.50 manhattan was a disaster. A proper glass 1/2 filled with colored water and a cherry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Just super SERVICE! It is great to come ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Just super SERVICE! It is great to come and enjoy a meal without SMOKE getting in your face and allover your clothes!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

FIRST TIME AT CHARLES TOWN HORSE RACE-AN ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

FIRST TIME AT CHARLES TOWN HORSE RACE-AND DINNER --WONDERFUL EXPERINCE--THE TOTAL STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL,VERY INFORMATIVE AND GRACIOUS. THE WHOLE EXPERINCE WAS "THE CAT'S MEOW"

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very easy book reservation, we had a goo ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very easy book reservation, we had a good time. While have eaten there many times, this time we were disappointed in the buffet food selection and quality so next time we have both agreed that we will order off the menu next time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had great time! The food was great, ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had great time! The food was great, the waiter was awesome, as well as the table! Can't wait until we go back, this is must do if you go to the horse races!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience, good service polite, pr ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good experience, good service polite, professional. would recommend better access to buffet- to many stairs.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great evening with friends. The B ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a great evening with friends. The Buffet although not as much of a variety as I remember from our last visit the food was still good and the dessert selections were as always --- very plentiful. We enjoy the ability to relax in an air conditioned space with plenty to eat and drink while watching the horse racing just outside the window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.