About Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races

750 Hollywood Drive
Charles Town, WV 25414
View Larger Map


Stop by and enjoy a wonderful meal in our Skyline Terrace Dining Room. We have a wonderful selection of fabulous entrees guaranteed to please. Enjoy breathtaking scenery, watch the horses sprint around the race track, and delight in a feast of culinary pleasures! Patrons under the age of 21 must enter the Skyline Terrace Dining Room via the apron, long shots deli entrance. No one under the age of 21 will be permitted to walk through the casino. Window seating is done by reservation date and party size so book early.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
US 340

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 795-7001

Website:
http://www.hollywoodcasinocharlestown.com/

Executive Chef:
Stacee Delabastide

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Skyline Terrace - Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Best Restaurants in Charles Town ›

Live Sports (24)
Fun (20)
Scenic View (17)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Casual (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Family Style (5)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Historic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Music (1)
Romantic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another pleasant experience, everyone is ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 4 days ago

Another pleasant experience, everyone is always very welcoming.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date nite for my hubby and myself. We lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Date nite for my hubby and myself. We love to go for nice buffet and watch the horse races. It is a really fun thing to do. The entire front is glass window so the races are right there to witness while you eat. Make a reservation! After the race, and dinner, (10:30pm) we went to the event center located there to see Jay Leno. He was good but the seating HORRIBLE!!! Stuffed in tighter than an airplane seat. I'm not exaggerating! I had an extremely obese man in 1/3 of my seat! Thank God I don't eat much! Just saying"....and FYI!!! DON"T go see a show there! They are breaking every fire code.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed knowing that our table was fo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed knowing that our table was for the whole night. The hostess said we could actually eat dinner or have drinks, leave and gamble, come back get dessert, whatever. We got the buffet, it was ok-not the best value for the money. We enjoyed being able to bet on and watch the horse races from any seat in the restaurant with large viewing windows all around (and small tvs at every table was also a plus!). Service was Phenomenal! Betting window attendants were also super nice and helpful! We will be back - Next time we are ordering off the menu to see if that makes a difference in the food.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

After a very short wait at the check-in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

After a very short wait at the check-in we were given a very well-situated table. The menu had enough variety to keep everyone at the table happy and the steaks and crabs were prepared just fine and arrived at the desired temperature. The wine list was extensive and the desserts inexpensive and tasty. The table service we received was the best experienced (worldwide) this entire year. And, of course, access to the horse-betting area was convenient.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Initially we were ushered to a table nea ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Initially we were ushered to a table near the buffet line, but asked to be moved closer to the horse track. A manager quickly had us relocated. We ordered off of the menu instead of the buffet. The filet mignon was very tasty and the crab corn chowder was also very good. Bonnie our server was very efficient and attentive. She had a very nice personality without being intrusive. Betting on the horses was a lot of fun and with a betting "window" right in the restaurant it was quick and easy to place bets from the restaurant. I will certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great tilapia, great calamari! Good all ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great tilapia, great calamari! Good all around buffet plus you can bet on the horses while you dine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Sports, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Also come for the horse racing! Dinner/ ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Also come for the horse racing! Dinner/racing - a nice combination.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though it is a buffet it is always ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Even though it is a buffet it is always consistently good. There is a good diversity of offerings, so everyone should find something they like. Just leave room for dessert...a ton of options!

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great night, but one thing that ev ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had a great night, but one thing that everyone complained about, that's including people on nearby tables as well as my guests,

The heat; it was stifling hot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food is not as good as it used to be ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food is not as good as it used to be and it was VERY hot. They need more servers. The ones they have are great, but are overloaded and don't have time to serve you the way you should be. I felt bad for ours.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

It was my second time there. I was real ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was my second time there. I was really disappointed in the temperature of the building and lack of servers. Our server was excellent but completely overwhelmed. I felt bad for him. Food at buffet was lovely and tasty as usual. Something must have been terribly wrong with the ventilation. It was way too hot in the building. I will go back but hope for a better experience next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The reason to eat here is to attend the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The reason to eat here is to attend the horse races and participate in pari-mutuel betting. Thus the food, though good, is secondary to the reason for being there. And probably how much one enjoys the experience will be linked closely to how well one does at the track.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

When we arrived we were a little surpris ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

When we arrived we were a little surprised when your security told us that there were NO restaurants on premises where we could have dinner because one of us forgot ID. We asked twice too so you might want to reeducate the people at the casino entrance. Had I not known that they had to be incorrect because I had seen plenty of kids at this restaurant previously we would have just left.

Once we figured out on our own how toget there , because two employees gave us bad directions the restaurant was ok, not exceptional but the races were fun. Server fine.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We come to Charles Town Races at least a ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We come to Charles Town Races at least a few times each year from the Tidewater Virginia area. It is worth the drive. The big window facing the track makes for a fun evening of racing and the food is superb. The buffet is open from 5:30pm and stays available until after 9:30. It is a lot of fun to watch the racing action and eat for the entire four hours! We love it! There are viewing monitors at each table, betting machines available and live tellers to accept wagers as well. The buffet has prime rib, shrimp, ribs, chicken, salad, assorted cheese, fish, carved turkey, seafood creole, tilapia and many other items. The deserts were plentiful and there were too many different kinds to choose from...it's a good thing that we had four hours to eat...plenty of time to pace ourselves.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The buffet was okay but not wonderful. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The buffet was okay but not wonderful. There was a nice variety. Service was good, and we were able to sit next to the window to watch the horse races!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Live Sports, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The restaurant at the racetrack allows y ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The restaurant at the racetrack allows you to watch the racing in comfort while enjoying a meal with friendly service from the staff. Good choices on the menu and you don't have to leave the restaurant if you want to place a wager. A great place for a group of friends to get together for an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Actually, I was disappointed. I was ther ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Actually, I was disappointed. I was there about 5 years ago and the food was much better and the tables were prettier. The server was AWFUL! We had to hunt her down for drinks. Oh, and the cocktails I ordered were sub-par. It's a cool place to go because you overlook the racetrack and can sit/eat/relax for as long as you like while betting the horses. Other than that - NOT worth the price (food, drinks, service). I doubt I'll be back

Tags: Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We enjoy going to this spot for a relaxi ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We enjoy going to this spot for a relaxing way to watch the races and have dinner. The meal is always very good, although on our last visit, many of the foods were not very hot. We also seemed to have very slow service this time. Had this been our first visit, it may have been alarming, but we realize this is not the norm.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Enjoyable time...good food. Service was ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Enjoyable time...good food. Service was good. Waitress was pleasant. Noise level good. Was able to converse with our friends.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just about everything on the buffet is p ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Just about everything on the buffet is pre-packaged, frozen, or canned. Truly disappointing for a $63 meal for two. My husband enjoyed the Prime rib from the buffet, and the steamed shrimp were decent. The only redeeming dessert was the Creme brûlée...everything else tasted dry or as though it had previously been frozen.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Love the buffet! The waiter Robert was a ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Love the buffet! The waiter Robert was also awesome. It is fun to watch the horses race while having a great meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the dinner and the races, but ma ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Enjoyed the dinner and the races, but may I suggest an easier way to get into the restarant, when we arrived from the outside the door to the restaurant was locked we had to walk to the next entrance, we are seniors, to far to walk.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It seems that everything including locat ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

It seems that everything including location was great. The food was hot and the salad was missing eggs for a topping, which make the salad taste better.

Tags: Family Style, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We really enjoyed the close up view of t ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We really enjoyed the close up view of the horses and the all you can eat crab legs. The salad was surprisingly good. We plan on returning in October.

Tags: Live Sports, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The premier buffet is amazing. My famil ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The premier buffet is amazing. My family and I drive over 160 miles round trip to enjoy the racing and food. Beautiful scenic views of the mountains as well. Worth the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Went there with 4 of our foodie snobs an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went there with 4 of our foodie snobs and they loved the food and atmosphere. They all chose the buffet. An added fun was watching and betting on the ponies races. We all went into the casino afterwards and our friends enjoyed that as well. Fun evening had by all.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was fun to watch the horse racing (ta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was fun to watch the horse racing (table right next to the window). I'm not a big fan of buffets, but it was actually pretty good.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed dinning and watching the races. ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Enjoyed dinning and watching the races. It was a nice night for my wife's Birthday!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is fun. The food was not ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This restaurant is fun. The food was not great (very fried) but the view out to the track was great, was nice to be able to place bets in the restaurant, and having a buffet was convenient.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

We came for the horse racing 7 buffet. B ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We came for the horse racing 7 buffet. Both were enjoyable.

Tags: Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I think everything was super. The food w ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I think everything was super. The food was especially great and desserts and salad were terrific. Service was just superb.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were first to be seated and for some ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

we were first to be seated and for some reason got seated up top on the 5th tier which was warmer than I could tolerate. Yet most lower level tables and seats were unoccupied until much later, it at all. What's it take to get a good seat?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

It is always an exceptional place to eat ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2016

It is always an exceptional place to eat and watch the horse racing. One of the best buffets ever!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very very disappointed. Invited 4 friend ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very very disappointed. Invited 4 friends to join me for dinner and to watch the horse races. The only thing i ate was the shrimp and creme brule. The clams were tough, spare ribs were fatty, prime rib overcooked and tough, carrots cold and tasteless, cheese cake tasted a little like butter. I did not try anything else because I was afraid to. The salad bar looked OK so cannot comment on that.

Also, was disappointed that there was no one to show us how to place a bet. We had never been to a race track before and knew nothing about betting or what it all meant. So that was sad. But we enjoyed watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The skyline Terrace is a good restuarant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The skyline Terrace is a good restuarant but it could be better. The buffet has a good asortment of items and deserts and you can order from the menu. The tables are close because the sapce is limited and it get's crowded on weekends when horse racing patrons and groups come in. I generally liked the buffet food but improvements can be made to make it even better, including offering a self-serving ice cream machine, adding whipped cream and fresh strawberries, offering shrimp and possibly crab legs, adding sugar free pies and cakes, and providing a separate seating section for Executive Producer and ICON players or atleast priority seating. These players are Hollywood Casino's major investment and being seated at a cramped location and at a small table is inconsistent with how these type of players should be handled.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress was wonderful, if I remembe ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful, if I remember correctly her name was Jess

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was simply o.k., the service as ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was simply o.k., the service as well. We were seated in a timely manner but the buffet truly lacked luster. I did like the fried shrimp and my husband liked the peel and eat shrimp - nothing else had the flavors that we expected from a "Prime Rib and Seafood Buffet".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The skyline is fun and you can keep your ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The skyline is fun and you can keep your table throughout the races. Even if you go into the casino, you can come back to your table throughout the evening while the races are in progress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Excellent time again at Skyline Terrace. ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent time again at Skyline Terrace. Staff and food are great. Racing is a lot of fun. Never a bad time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very pleasant experience with t ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a very pleasant experience with the exception of it being extremely hot In the skyline Terrace. I understand it was very hot outside however you need to make it at least comfortable for your customers. It definitely was not comfortable and we felt sorry for your employees with their heavy clothing. Our waitress and busboy were wonderful . We couldn't ask for a better waitstaff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.