About Sky Asian Bistro

9925 Leitner Dr.
Pineville, NC 28134
View Larger Map

Sky Asian Bistro is a newly open, asian fusion restaurant, with menu variety from Japanese / sushi, South East Asia to Chinese delicacies, and, not forgetting signature drinks & specials. Sky Asian Bistro is a place not to be missed yet forgotten.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Contemporary Asian, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carolina place mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 237-6072

Website:
http://skyasianbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Jimmy

Private Party Contact:
Cindy: 9802376072

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sky Asian Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Great for Lunch
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Pineville ›

neighborhood gem (7)
fit for foodies (6)
great for lunch (4)
See All
good for groups (4)
kid-friendly (2)
romantic (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5

Dinner was nice , Great service ( Casey ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Dinner was nice , Great service ( Casey) for entire meal including an outstanding martini. However, entree arrived a little too soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been going to Sky for several year ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We've been going to Sky for several years and have always been extremely pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FINALLY

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

It's about time we found a Chinese restaurant that meets our standards:) First of all, great service The menu is terrific and the food tastes great Can't wait to take friends there this weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food, good prices. They need more ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food, good prices. They need more help as our waitress became overwhelmed and service attentiveness drastically decreased as more people were seated

food3
ambience3
service5

Great service, good sushi, and interesti ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Great service, good sushi, and interesting desert. They served all our sushi on 2 big plates which wasn't exciting having to reach across each other.. the server was great although the other waitstaff was a bit rude to her in front of us.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

food was great, but..

Dined on January 30, 2016

food was great! The only downside was the slow service. I made an 8pm reservation Friday night and the hostess had to run and clean the table which took close to 10 mins. They only had 2 waiters working about 10 tables, which caused the service to be slow. We sat for over 10 mins before someone came to take our drink order and then another 10 mins after to get our drinks. I've never been here before, so to be fair this could have been a fluke. I liked the food very much though

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on January 30, 2016

We were there for Restaurant Week and was so disappointed after reading some of the good reviews. Although the waitress was friendly, we waited an hour for our food. When it arrived, it was so salty (had the sea bass). May try the restaurant again to see if their regular menu is better.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I little disappointed

Dined on January 26, 2016

While the food was very good and the choices unique, I tried this restaurant for the first time as part of the Charlotte Restaurant Week event. When I arrived at the table, I discovered that the restaurant had changed to menu that was advertised on the Festival website lower the amount of sushi roll choices being offered from two to one. That turned a great value to a good value.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice place, expected more.

Dined on January 24, 2016

Food quality was like a strip mall Chinese place. Was looking for better quality meats and food. It wasn't bad, just not what I was expecting from a bistro.

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed with food, service was good

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

Chicken was very poor quality, like a cheap Chinese restaraunt type.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We will be coming back

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

So many things on the menu! Unfortunately our party was not all that hungry so I don't have much to review this time but we will definitely be coming back and I will give a more thorough review then .

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

GREAT FIND

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

SECOND TIME BACK WITH FRIENDS. WE HAD A GREAT MEAL CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best sushi we've found in town

Dined on January 1, 2016

What an improvement. We tried Sky when they first opened, and it was so-so. But we gave it another shot a couple of weeks ago, then again on New Year's Eve. The service and sushi were both terrific. The Panther Roll, the Alaska Roll, Sky roll, Bombay, and Man Overboard were all excellent. Bombay was our favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

New Asian Food in Charlotte!!

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

Sky Asian has taken the typical Asian restaurant by a mall and stepped it up one step. The Food shines. The ambiance is well different. I have never seen so much open space in a restaurant, is that good, maybe maybe not. If you want a step up from the cheap take out Asian restaurants you have been going to for years, then go to Sky Asian.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Where to go on Christmas for Dinner

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

I was out of ideas, so I did a search on Open Table. Sky Asian came up, and we realized that we have never tried it, so we did Wow, were we pleasantly surprise. Excellent menu.The good was great We were sat in the back, so we felt slightly ignored, but once the food came, all was forgiven. We are going to make sure that we return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place for reasonable food and sush ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

Great place for reasonable food and sushi! Been a few times and the food and service is great. Need to market their business more to gain more customers. It's usually somewhat empty which some may find disappointing if they're looking for a great atmosphere. The bar is usually empty which may contribute to the low atmosphere.

food4
ambience4
service4

Second Time

Dined on October 10, 2015

This was our second trip to Sky. Just like the first time, the service was very good and so was the food. A Lot of food on the plate and very flavorful. Both my wife and will be going back .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Great hidden gem!

Dined on October 10, 2015

Sky Asian Bistro was a delicious discovery!! They have a great Asian menu with lots of choices!! The sushi is some of the best in the Charlotte area and the service was impeccable! The restaurant has a great ambiance perfect for a quiet date night or a fun night out with friends. The bar is beautiful but sadly this place was pretty empty for a Friday night. It's located near several great restaurants but on a side street off the main road and difficult to find if you aren't looking for it. Great place and highly recommend!

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service4

mixed review

vip
Dined on October 7, 2015

I loved my Singapore noodles ... my wife had the lamb but was not impressed. Friends had a good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service! We will defin ...

Dined on September 12, 2015

Great food, great service! We will definitely be back!

food4
ambience4
service4

Nice Spot

Dined on September 6, 2015

What can I say, we made the reservations on the road with the mobil app. Arrived a few minutes later and was seated right away. The food was very good, nice flavors in both of our dishes. The portions were good, and the price was well worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent Sushi

Dined on August 20, 2015

There was a group of 7 for dinner and all of us enjoyed our dishes. Several had sushi, which was very good. Fish was fresh and the rolls were unique. One person had Kobe beef that was outstanding. Another had a Japanese dish that was very tasty. We went on a Thursday night, so bottles of wine listed at $40 and under were 1/2 price. The wine list was very good, so of course we took advantage of the special. Service for the 7 of us was very good. Food came promptly and the waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu. All in all, I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice find that is tucked away

Dined on July 30, 2015

I found the restaurant because it was located directly beside of the hotel. It was not very busy the evening I visited. There is a very nice atmosphere, service was good and the food was as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2

My family went there for dinner. Appetiz ...

Dined on July 25, 2015

My family went there for dinner. Appetizers weren't that great. Food was overall ok but nothing special. I can't say anything special about the place. It won't be a place that we will make an effort to go back.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and appropriate service

Dined on July 22, 2015

The food was excellent and the service is appropriate, not constantly coming by or forgetting all about you. My wife and I were able to talk and be together with our waitress only coming by when it was needed. The food was fresh, prepared properly and and matched our expectations. We would both recommend this restaurant to all our friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Went there for restaurant week

Dined on July 17, 2015

Great service. Food was exceptional and well priced. Too bad it's hidden back or more people would know about it. I'll definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

very nice evening

vip
Dined on July 17, 2015

We started with the potstickers which were very good. Our meals were fine but nothing out of the ordinary. The fried rice could use a little perking up. I would still return to Skye. It is reasonable and tasty.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Will definitely be back

Dined on May 10, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience. The host was waiting for us when we arrived (our reservation was for time they opened on Mothers Day to avoid crowds). It was our first time there-- the host and the waitress were MORE than helpful. They assisted us with decision making, made sure we had wonderful service and the food was fabulous. Very generous portions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!!

Dined on May 9, 2015

Not clear why so empty on a Saturday night. Service good. Food excellent. I would definitely return. Took in laws to celebrate mothers day

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Primarily a Sushi Restaurant

Dined on May 4, 2015

The first thing they tell you is that their primary business is sushi, and they do an excellent job. The house rolls are very innovative and enormous. Come with a big appetite. The sushi and sashimi combo plate we got was overshadowed by how good the rolls were. If you are going to order rolls, I suggest against the combo and vice versa. Overall a very good experience.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Incredible service and great food

vip
Dined on May 2, 2015

they are always very friendly and very accommodating to all of our needs food is always consistent and just darn good they made my wife's birthday magical

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on April 26, 2015

Awesome Asian food. I just wish they delivered themselves instead of a service that costs $6.95. Prices are very reasonable and the food is great quality!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Pleasant Experience

Dined on February 14, 2015

Great atmosphere with soft lighting and plenty of space between tables. Reservations were a must since it was Valentine's Day, but the service was great. We were served by the bartender, who was constantly busy, but still were able to have a great time. I would definitely recommend Sky Asian Bistro because of the atmosphere and the menu choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice Asian Experience

Dined on January 25, 2015

The restaurant was spacious with an upscale casual ambience. We had a roomy elevated circular corner table for 3 people. The food was better than expected. Tempura vegetable appetizer as well as crab lobster rangoon dip were very good. Royal Dish was delicious served sizzling on a special platter. Dessert of Key Lime Pie was notably delicious also. Would definitely return to try more dishes here. Our server Vivian was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

Quiet Atmosphere

Dined on January 24, 2015

This is what I call true "Asian Fusion." The entrees are unique, inventive, and inspired by cuisines all over Asia. Sky definitely caters to the American palette, so if you are looking for truly authentic Asian cuisine, this is not for you. I love that you can have a conversation at Sky without shouting. It's great for a romantic dinner or entertaining clients. The appetizers were awesome. I had the thai calamari. My husband got the tuna and avocado. Both were very good. I got the sea bass entree which didnt look very appetizing when it was served, but it tasted good. I'll try the sushi rolls next time. I saw some coming out of the kitchen and they are HUGE. Based on the freshness of the Tina appetizer, my guess is the sushi is a safe bet. The hostess and server were warm and attentive, but not overly present; just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and service.

Dined on January 23, 2015

The food and service were both great. I highly recommend the crab dip appetizer. The only suggestion for improvement I have would be to change the music mix from the 80s/90s pop mix you currently have to have more current mix. The music didn't seem to match the atmosphere (and it was so loud that it certainly couldn't be missed.)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Surprisingly great

Dined on January 19, 2015

My wife and I found Sky one night and LOVED it. The sushi is incredible. The first few times we went, the place might've had two other tables, yet they were blaring loud techno music. This past time, they played oldies (Sweet Caroline, My Girl, The Time of my Life) and they were much busier. Not saying that the music was the reason for the business, but it was definitely an improvement for the ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place on a rainy day: where were the clients

vip
Dined on January 4, 2015

Two of us went on a rainy Sunday afternoon for our first visit. We found a pleasant, smiling, accommodating, efficient, and competent staff waiting to make our visit pleasant. They were successful. The BBQ eel nigiri was fresh and bright. The accompaniments were on point and generous. We moved on to a conventional sesame chicken and a stir-fry scallion lamb -- both excellent and generously portioned. We were sorry to see that we were the only people who had braved the chill and wet to dine when we arrived. After a half hour, 2 more couples arrived. The building is beautifully decorated and spacious. The food is excellent. There is easy parking. It is true that the building is a bit "hidden" in its location on Leitner Drive, but we surely do hope that a lot more people will find this place and enjoy what they have to offer. Since there was no crowd, our meal was quite quiet -- just the way we prefer, but we would tolerate a little noise considering the total "positives" of this place. Check their webpage for the weekly specials and be bold -- drive an extra quarter mile and enjoy a really relaxing and refreshing meal at Sky Asian!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Sushi

vip
Dined on January 1, 2015

Great Sushi

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and Service

vip
Dined on December 28, 2014

It wasn't busy when we arrived. The server was at the door and took us to our table. She was very friendly and recommended drinks and food items to us. The food was amazing. The inside out crab rangoon was a great, creative idea they have on their appetizer menu. The lo mein was great as was the soup and the egg rolls. The service continued well during the entire transaction. I'd highly recommend Sky Asian Bistro to those looking for outstanding Chinese food. A plus (which I didn't get this time) is they have what would be considered a Scorpion Bowl in New England. They call it, I believe, the Fog Bowl. Hard to find them on menus anywhere around here! Keep up the great food and service.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.