About Sky Asian Bistro

Sky Asian Bistro is a newly open, asian fusion restaurant, with menu variety from Japanese / sushi, South East Asia to Chinese delicacies, and, not forgetting signature drinks & specials. Sky Asian Bistro is a place not to be missed yet forgotten.

9925 Leitner Dr.
Pineville, NC 28134
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Contemporary Asian, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Carolina place mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 237-6072

Website:
http://skyasianbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Jimmy

Private Party Contact:
Cindy: (980) 237-6072

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sky Asian Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (3)
Casual (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
See All
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
S
82 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 20, 2017

This was the first time going. I will go back. The food was plentiful and good. We learned they have a sushi special on Tuesday.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wonderful hidden gem. Great food and great service. Was pleasantly surprised especially since the restaurant is off the main highway and hidden.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food at Sky was very good and very well priced. They need to work on service and ambiance. We were seated in a area that was away from the main dinning room in spite of the fact I had made reservations. Service was spotty, and not attentive. I think if we had been seated in the main dinning room it would have been a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

nice new restaurant,clean,bar is nice drinks and food choice ample.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was our second visit and it wasn't so great the second time. Our service wasn't as good but we think she was simply overwhelmed.
The food was still good but not great. As we left we saw a sign on the door saying it was changing from Asian to Cajun. That was sort of odd.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great service & food - hidden gem - we will definitely be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was a true surprise as we expected good good and atmosphere but it was much more than good. The service was excellent, seaweed salad was the best I've ever had, the Lo mein, sweet and sour chicken, spring rolls, Noodles and everything was fresh and prepared by a master chef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 30, 2017

For a Friday night, the restaurant was almost empty. I ordered sushi and was not impressed with it. It didn't taste fresh enough. My husband ordered Chinese and liked it though.
Our server was not very fluent in English so couldn't explain the menu very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This was my first time and I was quite impressed. The food was very good and I loved the venue. I am anxious to go again and try new menu options.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We seldom seek out Asian food but the Bistro was walkable from our hotel. I had stir fry with a ribeye added.....it was fantastic and, at the price, the best meal in weeks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was good, but the server couldn't really speak English.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent food and great celebration for our sons birthday. Staff was wonderful.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

For a slow Sunday night, the wait time just for our drinks was very long for some reason. I ordered the Short Ribs and my wife had the "Royal Bowl". My ribs were quite tough and I've honestly had better fried rice from local small restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We visited Sky Asian Bistro during Restaurant Week, and were very pleased with the wide selection of Asian cuisine, the quality of the food and the attractive dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Honestly if the food wasn't delicious we would have left. We were left at our table after being seating and checked on about 15-20 later. The place wasn't even busy. Not sure if they are understaffed or have poor time management. The waitress oplogized but then left and still didn't even give us a water while waiting. If it wasn't for good friends to chat with, we would have left for sure. Once she finally returned we ordered some drinks and everything all at once- as we choose the restaurant week menu options. The food came out- all tasting delicious.. not quite worth such a long wait.. but nothing we ordered wasn't excellent. Hopefully this was only a one time occurrence with the staff, otherwise this place won't make it due to poor service.. a lot off people would have complained or got up and walked out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Nice restaurant but service could be improved. Not very busy and nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was slow. The food was edible.. It was just OK. I had a stir fried dish with beef, chicken and shrimp and my husband had the general tso chicken and we both had the same opinion about the food. It was a Saturday night so I expected the ambiance to be lively but it was very quiet. I probably wouldn't visit again but not because it was terrible. It's just not up to the standards that I have for a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a good time. Nice place, sorta hidden away. Mochi ice cream was not so good. But everything else was exceptional.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I think this was a nice restaurant, but nothing outstanding. Some of the food we had was great like the firecracker ball appetizer, but the meat for our main meal of Korean short ribs and royal dish was chewy. The lomein noodles were delicious. Our server was very nice and well trained. When I asked for a crown and coke I got a we just ran out instead of we don't actually carry that at the bar. The inside is clean, but somehow has more of a casual dining feel than a high-end sushi restaurant. We didn't have the sushi, but it looked good coming out on other plates. We'll try that the next time we come here.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This is a hidden gem. If this restaurant was on the main strip you would have to wait all of the time. Some of the best sushi I have eaten.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food was definitely fresh, not frozen...and presentation was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 5, 2016

nice neighborhood location with great food and was quiet

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food is above average, service was good aside from getting the order wrong. We continue to go back because they definitely treat you right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food! I enjoyed the ambiance better than a lot of other fine restaurants, and I dine out frequently. Will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and service... To be honest there is no one thing wrong with this restaurant. The food is wonderful but it's overpriced even during queens feast. The service was fine. Perfectly friendly waitress who was attentive and pleasant but the place was practically empty on a Saturday at 7:30pm and it really made us wonder why until we got the bill and realized that the two of us had just paid $80 for chinese food with 1 glass of house wine and 1 beer and that was before the tip. So $100 by the time we walked away which just seemed a little pricey for what it was and the location but hey if you don't mind paying too much for Chinese food this is a quick place to get into on a Saturday night when other places are packed. Maybe they could pull this off uptown or in a little nicer area without anyone flinching about price but if you really want good Chinese food in a great atmosphere and don't mind paying for it Wong Fu is right down the street and much nicer for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The outside was very overgrown in need of some TLC. When we walked in I was pleasantly surprised by the decor, although there was a bad smell inside. The food was average at best. Calamari was in strips and honestly tasted fake. Only bright side was dessert, very good chocolate lava cake and cheesecake. Won't be back, food was not tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was my first experience at Sky Asian Bistro. My fiends and I always meet during Queens Feast and opted to make reservations at Sky. We had a 7:30 reservation. The restaurant had only s few cars in parking lot and maybe 5 tables were occupied. Overall decor was disappointing. The front door glass panels were streaky. The ambiance is "so so", could use a renovation in decor. The menus are dirty and have a odor. The booth we were in is very uncomfortable, because the seat is too far away from table, and put strain on my back.

The menu selection is however good. Our server was professional, knowledgeable, and very thorough. She let us enjoy each course with no rush. The value is reasonable and the food very good. I would be more apt to return if ambiance and some improvements in areas I sited are addressed and taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was just OK...nothing was spectacular about this food. I believe the chilean sea bass and the miso glaze salmon we ordered were both right from the freezer… Just didn't seem to be very fresh or high quality seafood...not a place for foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 13, 2016

The sushi is always fresh. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 22, 2016

My friend and I recently dined here and found the food to be very tasty. She ordered Spicy General Tso's Chicken and I ordered the Spicy Basil Thai. Both were good. Not “wow let’s go back asap fantastic”, but good. The service was fine. The server was kind but didn’t check on us much. I would return if someone else wanted to go; but I might suggest this place get a bit more creative with the menu and have cheerier servers. It’s not that she was unhappy, just ok. I’m in the industry myself, so I know how much difference a simple smile can make.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Dinner was nice ,
Great service ( Casey) for entire meal including an outstanding martini.
However, entree arrived a little too soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We've been going to Sky for several years and have always been extremely pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 29, 2016

It's about time we found a Chinese restaurant that meets our standards:)
First of all, great service
The menu is terrific and the food tastes great
Can't wait to take friends there this weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food, good prices. They need more help as our waitress became overwhelmed and service attentiveness drastically decreased as more people were seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great service, good sushi, and interesting desert. They served all our sushi on 2 big plates which wasn't exciting having to reach across each other.. the server was great although the other waitstaff was a bit rude to her in front of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2016

food was great! The only downside was the slow service. I made an 8pm reservation Friday night and the hostess had to run and clean the table which took close to 10 mins.
They only had 2 waiters working about 10 tables, which caused the service to be slow. We sat for over 10 mins before someone came to take our drink order and then another 10 mins after to get our drinks.
I've never been here before, so to be fair this could have been a fluke.
I liked the food very much though

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2016

We were there for Restaurant Week and was so disappointed after reading some of the good reviews. Although the waitress was friendly, we waited an hour for our food. When it arrived, it was so salty (had the sea bass).

May try the restaurant again to see if their regular menu is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2016

While the food was very good and the choices unique, I tried this restaurant for the first time as part of the Charlotte Restaurant Week event. When I arrived at the table, I discovered that the restaurant had changed to menu that was advertised on the Festival website lower the amount of sushi roll choices being offered from two to one. That turned a great value to a good value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Food quality was like a strip mall Chinese place. Was looking for better quality meats and food. It wasn't bad, just not what I was expecting from a bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2016

Chicken was very poor quality, like a cheap Chinese restaraunt type.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.