Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Skin + Bones

Skin+Bones is a husband- and wife-owned restaurant located in the Leslieville neighborhood of Toronto. It is located inside of a century-old warehouse, giving it a sense of history and charm. From the decor to the plating, everything radiates a friendly ambiance that welcomes guests as soon as they set foot inside. Skin+Bones prides itself on being a farm-to-table restaurant and actively supports the local farming community by sourcing as many of its ingredients as possible from local merchants.



Many of the standouts on the Skin+Bones menu might be new to some diners, such as the grilled beef tongue or the pork and ricotta meatballs with a pumpkin seed and basil pesto. For an tasty experience, order the four-course, family-style meal. The menu of this unique offering changes nearly every day, depending on what the chefs have in store.


980 Queen St East
Toronto, ON M4M 1K1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Farm-to-table, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm;
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am-2:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Carlaw Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 524-5209

Website:
http://www.skinandbonesto.com/

Parking Details:
Paid street parking is available on the North and South sides of Queen Street. Free after 6pm.

Public Transit:
501 Queen Streetcar at Carlaw Avenue stop
72 Pape Bus at Queen Street stop

Executive Chef:
Luca Gatti

Private Party Facilities:
Our warm, industrial space has intimate window seating, a 34ft hand-crafted bar, a harvest table for 16 (with a front row view of the kitchen action!) and an open, relaxed dining room with banquette or tabletop seating.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Clarke: (877) 528-9469

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Skin + Bones Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Healthy (1)
See All
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Romantic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food is fresh and local. Whiskey and wine selection well chosen. Service is awesome (Sit at the bar, Mike is great!)

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We were very disappointed after seeing such good reviews. I had the pork steak; over cooked and tough. Vegetables were very undercooked, I couldn't d cut the Brussels sprouts as there were too hard. My friend has the gnocchi which he describes as ok.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great place all around. Highly recommended to everyone.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was our first time and Skin +Bones, and I completely understand all the positive feedback. We wanted some place nice to eat before going to the new Crow's theatre and this was just perfect! The roasted carrot salad was a huge hit, as was the octopus. Very friendly service and they got us out in plenty of time for the show. We will definitely return if we are in the area!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was excellent, particularly the appetizers. Our party had the oysters, the mousse, and two others ( which I cannot remember) all of which came out at once, beautifully presented and very tasty. The mains were also very good, with good-sized portions. Over all an excellent venue and a good choice for a birthday dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 22, 2015

The evening wait staff had raved about the Sunday brunch, so I thought I would give it a try. Where was the promised buffet.Oysters...no where to be found. Couldn't get the water hot enough to steep a cup of tea. Limited menu. Such disapppointment after so many wonderful evenings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 22, 2015

Came here for a special occasion and ordered the chef's tasting menu. It was absolutely amazing - great food, service and atmosphere. The meal consisted of roughly 7 courses that were each more delicious than the last. The waitstaff was extremely attentive and friendly, which only added to the experience. Would definitely recommend Skin + Bones.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2015

Came across this restaurant while driving down Leslieville. Googled it. Positive reviews and appealing menu. We especially enjoyed the feasting option where your table shared anything the kitchen served. Great concept and worth repeat business; even though, no one enjoyed the dessert choice and our one vegetarian guests got the short end of the meal. NOTE: We brought a cake and the $25 plating fee was nothing special. While our cake necessary for the occasion, it's not worth the hassle otherwise. $100 wine also didn't meet expectations. The host sent wine list in advance, and was very prompt in returning phone calls, however, being a table for 6 plus 1 joining later seemed to cause repeat concerns. Larger groups pose more issues at this venue - always call if OpenTable wont accommodate date/time/ppl. And, don't be surprised if you feel the pressure to keep your party 6 or less. Any more and it gets difficult to chat. The back was pretty noisy too, and not all tables were filled on a Friday night (despite expectations). Overall, the food was great, staff attentive, and I would definitely dine again. Next time, maybe just 4 of us... just because we liked the chefs and will never get tired of being fed by surprise!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2015

We've been meaning to try this neighbourhood gem for some time, and Skin + Bones did not disappoint! great food, service, and drinks selection explain why this place is always so busy - we will certainly be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 25, 2015

We went there for brunch because it is one of the few restaurants that will take reservations for brunch. When it is -10 outside, I don't want to be waiting in line outside. The restaurant is nice and the staff are friendly. Food was not bad either but the menu selection for brunch is very limited and not very creative. Probably a better place for dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 11, 2015

My wife & I always go to Skin + Bones for brunch. They offer a buffet which is a selection of cheeses, charcuterie, cookies, scones, cake, spreads, yogurt, & preserves. I love the buttermilk pancakes they are to die for! I will keep coming back..

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 10, 2015

From the moment we walked in the door and were greeted warmly by the maitre d', until we left, the four of us enjoyed our evening at Skin & Bones.

The wait staff is courteous, friendly and knowledgeable. The food is great!

Special mention goes to the lemon dessert!

My one quibble is the wine list by the glass is, in my husband's and my opinion, expensive and overpriced. Oddly enough, the less expensive Spanish white that I enjoyed with my seafood stew was more delicious than the $23/glass Spanish red that I had before dinner

But we'll be returning. Great atmosphere, great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 9, 2015

A perfect spot for a date night. Excellent service and understanding staff, when it came to food preferences. We were so pleased with the amazing food and hopefully can be back soon, and are telling all our one friends :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2015

Excellent restaurant, with great service and decent wine. They use seasonal ingredients so I'm always surprised and delighted by the menu. It's caught on in the neighbourhood so plan to wait a few minutes for a table on a Friday or Saturday night -it's worth the wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2014

Two of us had a great meal here; we ordered the "Let us Feed you" Chef's tasting menu which provided a good portion of food and a trial of several menu items. The heirloom beet salad was very well done and the braised beef short rib was a standout. The menu had mostly things that are pretty standard with the past few years' crop of restaurants but everything was very well done, making this a good go-to place in the neighbourhood. Service was very pleasant and attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2014

Our inaugural experience at Skin & Bones. Best thing about this restaurant is the food quality followed closely by the service. Also easy to park. Wine value and options was the only issue experienced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2014

The atmosphere and service was great. Drinks and wine list was good. Food was tasty but not all that exciting. Very satisfied. BUt restaurants need to stand out a little bit more these days. I would frequent more often if I lived in the neighbourhood. Otherwise, would likely not travel to revisit. I would recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2014

The short rib and appetizer were really good. The remainder of food was OK but not great. The space itself is very nice and warm but the music was too loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2014

We're met at door by friendly Aussie maître d , who without prompting sat us exactly at the table I had asked for ! Great intro ! Waitress was initially ok, but did not come back to check on water etc. after the food had arrived, she didn't come back either during dessert to see if we wanted a top up on coffee. While my spouse's dish ( gnocchi ) was great, my main ( pork), although tasted great ( as did the veggies) , the meat itself was 50% gristle and tough. I told the waitress who took me through the prep work done for the pork, but I know pork- this was tough and there was more gristle than meat. We'll go back as our first experience there was a good one, but unless we see a change in the meal service+ food ( consistency) , it'll be our last.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2014

We ordered the tasting menu. The food took FOREVER to come, annd not once did the waitress provide an explanation, or at least advise us it would take a while. Thhe food was very mediocre. And they even forget to bring us our side altogether. In the end, we just asked for the desert to go. The manager did the right thing and only charged us for one meal (instead of two), saying "it's not usually like this", but in my view, there's no reason to go back, since even the food was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 6, 2014

Small portions, over priced, looooong wait time. Friendly servers.


Booked reservations for 4 people at 6:45. Arrived right on time, our table was set in the front of the restaurant beside the bar.

The one thing I can say is that all of the staff that we encountered that night were awesome, accommodating, and pleasant to deal with.

We ordered a bottle of win that ended up being $67.00 for an average wine that three of us shared and a pint of steam whistle for the other.

We ordered an appetizer about 15 minutes after we settled in when we ordered our drinks. ( The grilled octopus) Took about 25 minutes for the appetizer to come out -- ended up being on octopus tentacle on a couple cubed potatoes with a marinara type sauce. While it was good, possible a little over grilled/charred on the end. Finally were able to put in our main meals and waited 'til about 8:05 when we finally received our food.

As a courtesy for waiting over an hour to receive our mains we were given a class of wine/pint to hold us over. My partner got the special - a cheese ravioli. total of 9 small ravioli's. My friend and I both ordered the mushroom Gnocchi, while the taste was decent, the portions were extremely small for the price and amount of time spent waiting for the food to be prepared and the presentation was not over the top. Her boyfriend ordered a pork/cheese (appetizer) and a salad as his main, the appetizer pork/cheese stick was very good, had only three pieces about an inch and a half long.

As this was for a birthday celebration, we had two small desserts, some sort of chocolate cake, that was very dense and not very flavorful.

All in all, the service was the only part of this that was enjoyable...we paid $224.00 plus tip for something that did not hold us over, as we went out to a bar afterwards and had to eat because we were still so hungry....

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2014

Service was nice and we love the space. This is my second time here and we enjoyed it the first time a lot more. A few of us found 2 of the dishes too salty. The caramel dessert was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2014

Although we attended only the brunch so far, it was an enjoyable experience. The food was excellent and the staff pleasant and polite. The overall condition of the restaurant was clean and very pleasing. At present I can not comment on the evening dinners at this time but if it even comes close to the brunch I am sure it will be a delight. I had a good time and I will be going back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 28, 2014

This place has been consistently great after several visits for dinner and brunch. The friendly and (understated) professional service takes it to a higher level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2014

Highly recommend getting the "Chef Feeds You" for $38/pp. Great value! Great service! A great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2014

Skin + Bones turned out to be a lovely Sunday date night though I'd come back again on other nights. Didn't try the tasting menu- that's for another time but we did enjoy the buck-a-shuck and the cocktails! The bartender made me a drink off the menu because I wanted to try something else. Every course was perfect and the service was impeccable. Dare I say I love this place?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2014

One of the restaurants that is leading the regeneration of the area, friendly good service. We had the sampling plates which is paired to the impressive the wine list. Very good lots of food almost too much one course too much but we finished it all. The short ribs excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2014

I go to Skin & Bones for special occasions! I have gone for my anniversary dinner and two birthdays now! I go for the impeccable service and knowledgeable staff. Not to mention the great wine list, amazing foods and really fresh ingredients and flavours. Even the coffee is delicious. The owners and staff really care about your dining experience and your tastebuds. I am a vegetarian with allot of allergies and they accommodate me EVERY time with a smile and have done the same for my VEGAN friends that I have brought in the past. So don't let the name fool you anyone can eat there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 8, 2014

We found this place on the internet .. came in from out of town for evening reservation. The whole experience exceeded our expectations. Food was great, service was on time and helpful and vibe was very cool. Would totally recommended this place and will go back next time we are in Toronto.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2014

On the day they arrived from Vancouver, it was a chance for my parents to try one of Toronto's east end restaurants.
I chose Skin + Bones based on the recommendations put forth by a few people.

We were not disappointed. Huge space, warm atmosphere, hip ambiance.
We chose the Chef's menu and each dish was beautifully balanced all the way through.
Prosciutto Croquettes, Lamb Merguez Sausage, Pan Seared Cotechino, Wild Mushroom Gnocchi, Pork Steak, and Chocolate/Chèvre Cake.

Very happy with the meal.
Only one thing - descriptions of the dishes by the wait staff we fraught with errors.

All in all, a great night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2014

Our first time to Skin + Bones and we were so pleased with the excellent service. Our servers were so polite,very professional and very very willing to explain our drinks and dishes. We chose the Chef's Menu , in short, a variety of dishes that the restaurant has on the menu. Every dish was fantastic down to the dessert and brewed coffee!!! We left full and very satisfied :) . We are definitely going back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 31, 2014

We booked at the last minute on a Thursday night. The food was delicious and the prices very reasonable for the quality of the food. Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 25, 2014

Out table of 4 enjoyed our evening, but felt that the Chef's Menu, for the price, could have been more generous. Many of the main items had to be divided in order to share - we had 2 pieces of mozzarella between the 4 of us, 6 meatballs (why not provide 2 each?), and 2 beef ribs (again, why not 1 each?)....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2014

We came into Toronto to see a concert at the Opera House and researched some restaurants near there and found this one. It was outstanding, The portions were a bit small but we loved each and every bite. To be honest, we love food so we will eat whatever is put in front of us. That said, we left satisfied but not overstuffed. The lamb sausage appetizer was by far my favorite, followed by the baratta salad and the short ribs fell of the bone and FULL of flavor. Great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 24, 2014

Lovely food and wine, great choices, quality and creative cooking, only small downside was it is bit on noisy side.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2014

Ski and Bones has been on my list for a while now and I am happy to report the experience was wonderful. Hit all my priorities: local suppliers and a seasonally-focused menu, great wine list, atmosphere was inviting. The music selection wasn't my favourite and it was played bit too loud, but that wouldn't deter me from going back again. Next time I am going for the Chef's menu or Sunday brunch. Heard both are fab!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2014


Service was great but My date and I decided after look at the menu to go with the chef choice. I was very much under the impression they would put together a main for my date and I to our liking and not just pick a entrée from the menu. ( I could have done that) also we reiceved one main to share but paid for too. I feel like I was duped. We could have ordered the same food individually and paid quite a bit less. Geoffrey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2014

service was excellent. The food was great, small menu, food cooked to perfection. Only down sides would be Id like to see a vegetarian main. And it was so cozy and comfortable there we would have likes to stay for a few drinks but we told they needed the table, however we had already been there for two hours so that makes sense.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2014

Very good at all levels - ambiance, cuisine, staff and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on October 18, 2014

Was a little concerned when we arrived bang on our reservation tyime and where asked to sit on a little bench outside the restaurant as our table wasn't free yet...BUT...when we did get our table (only about 5 mins later) we were greeted by a lovely waiter who was attentive, friendly and very helpful. The restaurant is cosy and stylish, the menu is small but there is a nice mix of dishes and the wine list is cracking. I had lamb sausage and braised short rib - they were both to die for. We were then surprised by a generous double helping of warm pumpkin cake with cinnamon icecream - delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.