Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

SpinasseSpinasse
(1740)
$$$$
Italian | Capitol Hill / First Hill, Seattle
Booked 40 times today
Momiji RestaurantMomiji Restaurant
(618)
$$$$
Japanese | Capitol Hill / First Hill, Seattle
Booked 39 times today
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - SeattlePurple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
(3412)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Seattle
Booked 134 times today
The Metropolitan Grill – Temporary Renovation Closure June 19–Mid-AugustThe Metropolitan Grill – Temporary Renovation Closure June 19–Mid-August
(5197)
$$$$
Steak | Downtown, Seattle
Booked 3 times today
SkyCity Restaurant at the Space NeedleSkyCity Restaurant at the Space Needle
(5604)
$$$$
Northwest | Seattle Center / Lower Queen Anne, Seattle
Booked 272 times today
The Pink DoorThe Pink Door
(2450)
$$$$
Italian | Belltown / Pike Place Market, Seattle
Booked 100 times today
Lola SeattleLola Seattle
(2393)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Downtown, Seattle
Booked 73 times today
Dahlia LoungeDahlia Lounge
(3509)
$$$$
Northwest | Downtown, Seattle
Booked 59 times today
Osteria La SpigaOsteria La Spiga
(615)
$$$$
Italian | Capitol Hill / First Hill, Seattle
Booked 16 times today
Sitka & SpruceSitka & Spruce
(424)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Capitol Hill / First Hill, Seattle
Booked 37 times today
Wild Ginger SeattleWild Ginger Seattle
(2807)
$$$$
Southeast Asian | Downtown, Seattle
Booked 127 times today
Terra PlataTerra Plata
(1250)
$$$$
Northwest | Capitol Hill / First Hill, Seattle
Booked 55 times today
Anchovies & OlivesAnchovies & Olives
(1040)
$$$$
Seafood | Capitol Hill / First Hill, Seattle
Booked 4 times today
Tavolata - Capitol HillTavolata - Capitol Hill
(128)
$$$$
Italian | Capitol Hill / First Hill, Seattle
Booked 24 times today
Umi Sake HouseUmi Sake House
(528)
$$$$
Japanese | Downtown, Seattle
Booked 51 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill

The award-winning Skillet Diner opened in the Capitol Hill neighborhood of Seattle in 2011. We’re a neighborhood joint doing our best to make the place feel relaxed, service attentive and easy; the food approachable yet focused. We use fresh, locally-sourced ingredients. The style of food is similar to what we’re known for on the airstream …the difference? we have so much more room! Items range from our maple braised pork belly and waffle with a fried egg on top, to our burger with bacon jam, arugula, bleu/brie on brioche with beautiful hand cut fries, to our southern fried chicken and legendary kale Caesar salad. Our full bar hosts happy hour daily and offers hand-crafted artisan cocktails along with beer and wine on tap.

Seating policy: We require your whole party be present to be sat. We will hold your table for up to 15 minutes. If you would like a table on the patio, please specify in your reservation request. Patio is open with weather permitting.

1400 East Union Street
Seattle, WA 98122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Su-Th 7:00am-10:00pm

Breakfast: F-Sa 7:00am-11:00am

Lunch: Su-Th 7:00am-10:00pm

Lunch: F-Sa 7:00am-11:00am

Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:00pm-11:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 7:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Ave & Union

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 512-2000

Website:
http://skilletstreetfood.com/restaurants/skillet-diner-capitol-hill/

Catering:
We love great food served fresh, so we arrive on site with the truck and our team about 1.5 hours before food needs to be served in order to park, unload and start cooking!

As for our available service styles - we approach food service a couple of ways: buffet or family style, sit-down service, "heavy apps" with passed and stationed appetizers, or sometimes we have guest come out to the truck to grab their grub and chat with our chefs!

Parking Details:
Pay to park lot in the basement of our building... street parking is free-

Public Transit:
Bus route 2, 12, 11, & 49 all come within blocks of the diner!

Executive Chef:
Nick Novello

Private Party Facilities:
The Skillet Room seats up to 20 within a partially screened area of our Capital Hill Diner!

Private Party Contact:
Crellin Pauling: (206) 512-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (6)
Casual (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
See All
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Skillet's menu has some pretty creative food combinations. The Fried Chicken Sammy was tasty and moist. Hands down, our favorite item was the Polenta Tots! A bite of heaven dipped in marina sauce in each one!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Fried Chicken Sammy is to die for!! They are known for their cinnamon rolls. I haven't tried it yet, but everyone tells me it's amazing - but you'd better get there early, they sell out of them quickly.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Went for lunch and had a great experience. Angela was our server and was extremely attentive and helpful.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I'd been to this location before early in the day and went back for dinner. Food was overall pretty good, but given the price paid was hoping for a little better flavor wise. Had a banana pudding as dessert that I found inedible and a caramel bacon shake that was mostly bacon. Will still go back, but likely just for lunch or breakfast.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Call me a creature of habit. I always get the chicken Sammy. It didn't disappoint

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We enjoyed the nice relaxing atmosphere. The service was pleasant and efficient. The food was well prepared and delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The coffee was bitter, old and cold. My husband broke out in hives for the first time ever. The place was a dive, the bathroom was disgusting. How is this an elevated diner? Expensive too!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I went for the 3-course Dine Around Seattle menu. Highest price I've ever paid for a diner meal, but it was tasty! The beef satay appetizer was absolutely incredible - perfect flavor and texture. The berry cake desert came in a jam jar, which was cute. It was similar to a poundcake in texture and flavor.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Cobb salad with a chicken thigh......no! Put a chicken breast on that salad....
Tomato Bisque soup was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great as always. We are frequent customers that never seem to get let down. Not too busy for a long weekend Monday night prime time dinner. The Chimichurri wings were awesome and the Kale Caesar Salads fantastic. We did try the poutine and it was a hot cheesy spud mess the we couldn't stop devouring. The cheese curds were melted into the gravy. It was still great but.... I like to pick out the curds every now and then and munch them solo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Took my boyfriend for his first time at Skillet. His request for his birthday and he enjoyed it a lot. Food was delicious as always. Especially the kale Caesar surprised me. I wanted more and I am not a veggie person. The green beans on the meat loaf was even more delicious. We fought over this cuz they were perfectly cooked.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I heard about the skillet and thought I give it a try and absolutely loved the food and atmosphere!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Wait staff was great, but kitchen was slow getting food out.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food is good. I always try new dishes, but the best thing there is the fried chicken sammy. Great salads too. Best dessert is the bacon maple thing:) Atmosphere is awesome.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great comfort food on a rainy Seattle day. First time here and will definitely return, it was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent cocktails and great wait staff make this my go to spot!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was pretty phenomenal. There was a bit overseasoning on the fried chx. Could've definitely done without the fennel. It's weird and can make food taste "old". The kale salad was good and the mac n cheese was a perfect al Dante. Words cannot describe the big boy biscuit!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great menu & vibe. I met a group of friends for breakfast prior to Womens March in Seattle. I loved that they took reservations. That helped make our day easier knowing we didn't have to wait in line to have breakfast before the big event.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I'll return to this delightful spot. The pot roast was the best ever. Two thumbs up all around.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Tried this place as our "last dinner of vacation", had decent reviews online. Ultimately it was rather cold inside for a cold January day, the menu was limited, food was too over priced. Had high expectations, we disappointed in the taste of the food. The chicken was over cooked, dry and way over battered. Staff was excellent though!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Really great place! Very busy. AMAZING food! The Serious Toast was divine.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great ambiance. Great location. Good service. Brunch food is heavy, a bit boring and the egg, tortilla chip dish needs work. Worth another try.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Had a a great holiday office lunch here. Food was delish and service was friendly and efficient. This is a go-to place for me.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Consistently delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great food. I ordered the hamburger with bacon jam and blue cheese crumbles. It was great but the bun was a bit hard. I think it was not as fresh as it could have been. The french fries were yummy. Will return for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The fried chicken and waffles were amazing! They made it sweet but savory perfect for dinner. Service was ok. The server was did the bare minimum and we didn't see him at all after he took our order until we asked for our check.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I've been to the Skillet a ton of times, every time has a been great! I love this restaurant and they're always good people. Be aware that the price is higher than your usual restaurant, but that's because you're getting the best quality food that's local and delicious. Great for special occasions.

Thanks Skillet!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Really tasty food and hearty portions with decent range of items, but reserve online as it fills up real quick around mealtimes. Also, go early for cinnamon rolls.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Skillet is always great. However it is very noisy and with the concrete walls, glass windows, and metal table tops. Some acoustic modifications would really go far in creating a truly wonderful ambience of energy, not just cacophony

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Skillet never fails!!! We always enjoy the food here and the doughnut holes are amazing!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went on a Friday night at 7:30 and the place was not even close to full - that should have been a tip off. One in our party enjoyed his meal, but two of us got the fried chicken sandwich and were unimpressed. The chicken was good, but there was dry, undressed kale on it, and it was sorely lacking in flavor. We also ordered the Street Corn app and never received it - luckily they didn't charge us. Overall it was fine, but disappointing given its reviews and the number of other amazing, delicious places to go nearby. I'd skip it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Cari, the bartender makes the experience, she's wonderful!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

I went with my husband for dinner during restaurant week. We had just finished a 25 hour fast so we were looking forward to it. This place can't decide if it's a diner or a fancy restaurant. If you going to the ambiance of a diner have good diner food. They do not. If you are going to have upscale food and prices, have food worth the money and a nice dining room. They don't. I had the kale Cesar salad which was very dry. I make way better at home. The squash ravioli just tasted like they dumped a ton of cinnamon and nutmeg in. It was in this watery weird liquid that tasted strange. I almost thought it was a soup and they gave me the wrong dish. The vegetables in it were not great. The best thing was the cauliflowers and I hate cauliflower. I told the waiter it wasn't good and said would tell the chef but seemed unconcerned. I had the chocolate pie in a jar for dessert. It doesn't come in a jar sadly. It had a pie crust cracker as a garnish that wasn't great but the chocolate was pretty good. I highly recommend you anywhere else than this place for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food service was very slow. We had no appetizer, waited 55 minutes for our main dishes. Our waitress did not come over and offer an explanation, ask if we wanted another round of drinks, no apology....
It was Yom Kippur and mosts of the restaurant was trying to get to the synagogue on time. But really...talk to us.
too bad. convenient to where we live. Probably won't come back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Met a friend for lunch at the Skillet Diner yesterday. It was my second visit. The food was fine and the service was outstanding; I even found a parking place out front of the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

there was a lot of hype for this restaurant but the food was just ok. I don't think it was worth the hour drive we made to get there. if we lived locally we may eat there again but not at the top of our list. the service was good. the price was a bit more than I think it should be for the actual overall taste. they do give large portions which is a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

good comfort food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Dish was not cooked. First time we have ever sent something back! Chicken was very dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Waitress was very impatient. Rolled her eyes when one person in the party mentioned they had a severe food allergy and was wondering if she could check the ingredient list. The food was delicious though.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.