About Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill

1400 East Union Street
Seattle, WA 98122
View Larger Map

The award-winning Skillet Diner opened in the Capitol Hill neighborhood of Seattle in 2011. We’re a neighborhood joint doing our best to make the place feel relaxed, service attentive and easy; the food approachable yet focused. We use fresh, locally-sourced ingredients. The style of food is similar to what we’re known for on the airstream …the difference? we have so much more room! Items range from our maple braised pork belly and waffle with a fried egg on top, to our burger with bacon jam, arugula, bleu/brie on brioche with beautiful hand cut fries, to our southern fried chicken and legendary kale Caesar salad. Our full bar hosts happy hour daily and offers hand-crafted artisan cocktails along with beer and wine on tap.

Seating policy: We require your whole party be present to be sat. We will hold your table for up to 15 minutes. If you would like a table on the patio, please specify in your reservation request. Patio is open with weather permitting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Su-Th 7:00am-10:00pm

Breakfast: F-Sa 7:00am-11:00am

Lunch: Su-Th 7:00am-10:00pm

Lunch: F-Sa 7:00am-11:00am

Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:00pm-11:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 7:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Ave & Union

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 512-2000

Website:
http://skilletstreetfood.com/restaurants/skillet-diner-capitol-hill/

Catering:
We love great food served fresh, so we arrive on site with the truck and our team about 1.5 hours before food needs to be served in order to park, unload and start cooking!

As for our available service styles - we approach food service a couple of ways: buffet or family style, sit-down service, "heavy apps" with passed and stationed appetizers, or sometimes we have guest come out to the truck to grab their grub and chat with our chefs!

Parking Details:
Pay to park lot in the basement of our building... street parking is free-

Public Transit:
Bus route 2, 12, 11, & 49 all come within blocks of the diner!

Executive Chef:
Nick Novello

Private Party Facilities:
The Skillet Room seats up to 20 within a partially screened area of our Capital Hill Diner!

Private Party Contact:
Crellin Pauling: 2065122000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
  • Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
  • Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
  • Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill

Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Great for Brunch
Seattle
Great for Lunch
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Capitol Hill / First Hill ›

Great for Brunch (22)
Great for Lunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Hot Spot (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Special Occasion (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fun decor. Awesome service. Good food.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fun decor. Awesome service. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed by both the menu sele ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I was disappointed by both the menu selections and the food. The "Serious toast" sounded delicious but the actual "toast" was dry and tasteless. If it had been soaked in custard, it wasn't evident by the dryness of the bread. The bacon, while greasy, was tasty and the eggs were fresh and nicely scrambled. The service was good but felt rushed. I probably won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The hostess and our server were terribly ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The hostess and our server were terribly fun, kind, attentive and vivacious. They made the experience for me. Absolutely loved the food. I had the "Chub" and enjoyed it very much. I would definitely come back to try more food on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Pork Belly and Cornmeal Waffle was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The Pork Belly and Cornmeal Waffle was recommended to me and it was tasty, I would also recommend it to my friends. We are planning to go back the next time we are in Seattle.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was all delicious and creative. Wonde ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was all delicious and creative. Wonderful biscuits, amazing serious toast and hearty corned beef hash. Everyone was very satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I would recommend this restaurant to eve ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. The food is rustic as if you went for a country drive and stopped off at a small town diner. Great place on Capital Hill very cozy and the waitress was cordial. I would recommend making a reservation especially on weekends. My favorite item on this visit was the cinnamon role they are huge and delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

5 of us met up before going to live band ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

5 of us met up before going to live bands playing at Chop Suey down the street... perfect vibe for us-- transgenerational, multiethnic, high on culture low on pretension. Scuttlebutt porter, summer skillet, pouting, blackened peas, Muenster Mac, beet cured salmon & cauliflower steak, pork belly & cornmeal waffle, ginger beer... each one both passionately shared (you have to try a bite) and hoarded. Glad we could reserve a table via the phone since we were meeting from different compass points for 8pm eats before 10pm gig. Some of us got theree about 15 min. early and staff was exceptionally accommodating within a whirl of an impressively integrated front and back of the house choreography. Kudos for grace and style both. In the unlikely event of hot weather, the walls of glass doors should open, which I hope we can experience. The neighborhood is in transition... not so gentrified as to be Dulac, not so geriatric as to be grim, mature landscapes and old houses alternating with trim and understated NW contemporary condos; an expert balance of what makes Seattle home and what makes it survive. The spirit and character of the old school Wally Byam lives on with the best of form and function.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic food and our server was hilari ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fantastic food and our server was hilarious. Would highly recommend the brunch menu; the chilaquiles were amazing and the #serioustoast lives up to its name.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best poutine in the world

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The best poutine in the world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went for brunch and the food was Deli ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went for brunch and the food was Delish. My fav was the cinnamon roll that was as big as a salad plate. My friend and I ate half and there was plenty for both of us to take home. We also had the cheddar grits and pork belly... A-mazing!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I made a reservation for 2 and we were s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I made a reservation for 2 and we were seated immediately upon arrival. The table we were seated at was not acceptable to me it was cafeteria style where you have a long booth seat along a wall and the person sitting across from you sits in a chair. Unfortunately the first women sitting next to me which is literally like twelve inches kept moving and this made the seat booth move, it was very annoying. Those people left and a family sat at the table next us with two children the mother of the children kept raising her voice at her young children and it really ruined my dining experience. I would demand when you make reservation (and you need to make reservations because the place was packed) that you want a private table or outside dining and not to sit where it is cafeteria style seating where you have tables going down a row and a long booth. The food was delicious Biscuits and gravy with hashbrowns is what I had. I would definitely recommend this place! Keep in mind there were several children there so be aware that the place is noisy and some parents do not have the parenting skills necessary to take their young children to a restaurant and you will have to deal with that on top of paying for an expensive meal. BTW my son loved his dish but I'm not sure what he had he kept taking bites of my meal. The waiter did a fair job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Quirky fun local little spot tucked up o ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Quirky fun local little spot tucked up on Capital Hill. We always enjoy going. The Beef Hash is a must. Beware you may catch Steven in a mood. It is hit or miss if he decided to be nice. This is too bad as usually we turn him around but the customer shouldn't have to. The customer is why Steven has a job but he doesn't understand this and they keep him employed. So if you get past the potential attitude you will enjoy breakfast they serve the usual and the creative twist on the classics. Always fresh and hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Ordered fried chicken which was excellen ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Ordered fried chicken which was excellent with the honey drizzle. Also had burger and fries in the group that was good. Ordered specialty cocktail off their menu which was also good. Try the chocolate pudding.. It's very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good for a birthday

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Took my mom their to celebrate her birthday and everyone loved their food! Huge portions with big flavors!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tough love with a smile.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was excellent, served promptly by an efficient, classic diner waiter with just enough attitude to make him lovable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nothing special comfort food

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I ordered the kale caesar with fried chicken. The salad was a bit overdressed for my tastes and the anchovies on top were nearly tasteless. The chicken was very tasty but the batter was soggy and greasy.

My wife's eggs and bacon were nice but nothing special.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch is always a good idea

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food & coffeeat Skillet in Cap Hill was delicious! The donut holes are a must.. So so good! Coffee was good. Made reservations for 10a on a Sunday but when we got there it wasn't too busy. However, when we left around 11a, that was a different story, the restaurant was getting packed and a line was forming. Although Whatever time you decide to go it is definitely worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Twelve out of twelve people in our group ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Twelve out of twelve people in our group loved The Skillet dining experience. The selection delighted the vegetarians just as much as the serious meat eaters. The space was perfect and the waitress was so good at her job (kind and attentive too!). Thank you for the perfect end to a momentous day celebrating my

daughter's graduation from medical school!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hamburger with bacon jam was hearty ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The hamburger with bacon jam was hearty and tasty. The fries were average. Good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food is always fantastic and the service ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Food is always fantastic and the service was friendly and very helpful. I love this place!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

HUNGRY???

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This might be ideal for mid-westerners, Texans or anyone with a hearty appetite who is used to a highly caloric breakfast! Yikes- for us lightweights, it was a bit of overkill and we thought about the hungry people in the world as we saw so much food getting taken away and tossed in the garbage (I hope there is a compost back there!). The serving portions were truly insane- the GF options were few, but I loved my huevos rancheros type of dish they served. My daughter had the eggs, with bacon and potatoes- it was big enough to share and far too many slices of bacon were served- this was a 5'7" teen eating- one of two GF dishes we found. The food was delicious, but it really did make us sickened at the portions and waste. The cinnamon roll was a huge plate that we thought was enough for two people (served next to us) but they then left most of it and still had huge breakfasts served after that! There was so much glaze, it looked like gravy!! I am sure it is loved by locals, but as a visitor, the portions shocked us!! The servers were kind, very attentive and everyone in there seemed friendly and nice. We would go back but share an order! Delicious food, great service and very good value if you eat it or pack it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

A bit loud but good brunch place!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Their famous dishes were a bit too heavy for us, so we ordered the Chilaquiles and pancakes, which were not bad. The service was great, but the coffee and OJ were better!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Great place!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to the Skillet for Mothers Day and it was great! Let's just say the cinnamon roll is

a must have if you are there on the weekend. My husband had the pork belly and grits and I had the basic breakfast. Our waitress was energetic and fun! If you are in Seattle this spot is worth seeking out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very uneven. Some dishes we ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was very uneven. Some dishes were fabulous. The fried chicken and Mac n Cheese were up to your standards. 5 of our party had the chicken fried steak an all 5 could not finish it. Too salty and the pot roast portion not a chicken fried meat. The vegi, Kale, was also way too salty. Only thing edible ... The potatoes.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Great simple food and spicy bloody Mary' ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great simple food and spicy bloody Mary's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

practically perfect in every way

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Loved it. The Poutine was absolutely incredible and the salad was perfect. I will be going back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Easy finding parking. Did the 2 courses ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Easy finding parking. Did the 2 courses for $15 promotion. Bacon-jam burger fantastic as was the Kale Caesar. And the doughnut holes...wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

4/5 - very enjoyable

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Food and atmosphere were excellent, service left a little to be desired. It was a fairly slow day and my friend and I were hardly attended to besides the initial greeting. I had to flag my waiter down for water, condiments, the check, etc., and getting his attention was difficult. I would still recommend the restaurant though, very enjoyable overall!! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Hidden Gem on Capital Hill

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

The food was absolutely wonderful. We all left full and very happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food quality dropped

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food quality is not as good as it used to be. Kid menu with $14 burger was not family friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Cute, hip, and super yummy!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Cute, hip, and super yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, good service. Worth a visit.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Good food, good service. Worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Will try it again.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Service and menu were excellent. My "special chicken/cheese/kale scramble" wasn't the best, quite dry and lacking flavor, but my companion really enjoyed the veggie burger. I'm interested in returning to try some of the regular menu items sometime in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything and everyone was great!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The thought of fried chicken with a waffle and maple syrup on top did not sound too good for me. I'm more of a fried chicken and ketchup person. I have never eaten fried chicken and waffles and the thought of it wasn't even on my radar, but after some persuasion from friends, I tried it. The fried chicken was AMAZING! The waffle was great too, but putting the two together was delicious! I would go back for seconds in a heart beat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food, awful music

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Skillet Diner Capitol Hill neglected to acknowledge my open table reservation which caused a bit of a bookkeeping problem later on. My food was generally very good except for a broccoli rabe side that was bitter and undercooked. My companion enjoyed his meal very much . The thing we both disliked intensely about our visit was the music that played for the entire 2 1/2 hours we were there. It was really dreadful music and all in the same genre so there was no escaping it. I appreciate different genres of music but play one genre of music for the entire evening is a bad idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

A mixed bag

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

The Coffee was Oklahoma City weak; not Seattle Strong. The grits soupy with too much hotel-like cheese. But...

The corn meal waffle was great, as was the pork belly and the fried thighs. The waiter paid no attention to how I requested my eggs, so of course the cook got it wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent spot ! Love those burgers w/bacon jam!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Seems like a long time ago I had my first Skillet Burger from the Food Truck. I was amazed then......I still love them! Always cooked the way I request. Specials are great too. I had the Ling Cod. It was seared perfectly, came to the table nice and hot. It was served with an excellent root vegetable medley with great presentation. Service was top notch. All in all a great night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Relaxing. Great food

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Relaxing. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Great place with good whole food on the menu. Not a cheap breakfast place, but definitely worth a visit and a little off he beaten path.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is amazing anytime of day, h ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

This place is amazing anytime of day, highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.