About Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill

1400 East Union Street
Seattle, WA 98122
View Larger Map

The award-winning Skillet Diner opened in the Capitol Hill neighborhood of Seattle in 2011. We’re a neighborhood joint doing our best to make the place feel relaxed, service attentive and easy; the food approachable yet focused. We use fresh, locally-sourced ingredients. The style of food is similar to what we’re known for on the airstream …the difference? we have so much more room! Items range from our maple braised pork belly and waffle with a fried egg on top, to our burger with bacon jam, arugula, bleu/brie on brioche with beautiful hand cut fries, to our southern fried chicken and legendary kale Caesar salad. Our full bar hosts happy hour daily and offers hand-crafted artisan cocktails along with beer and wine on tap.

Seating policy: We require your whole party be present to be sat. We will hold your table for up to 15 minutes. If you would like a table on the patio, please specify in your reservation request. Patio is open with weather permitting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Su-Th 7:00am-10:00pm

Breakfast: F-Sa 7:00am-11:00am

Lunch: Su-Th 7:00am-10:00pm

Lunch: F-Sa 7:00am-11:00am

Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:00pm-11:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 7:00am-3:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Ave & Union

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 512-2000

Website:
http://skilletstreetfood.com/restaurants/skillet-diner-capitol-hill/

Catering:
We love great food served fresh, so we arrive on site with the truck and our team about 1.5 hours before food needs to be served in order to park, unload and start cooking!

As for our available service styles - we approach food service a couple of ways: buffet or family style, sit-down service, "heavy apps" with passed and stationed appetizers, or sometimes we have guest come out to the truck to grab their grub and chat with our chefs!

Parking Details:
Pay to park lot in the basement of our building... street parking is free-

Public Transit:
Bus route 2, 12, 11, & 49 all come within blocks of the diner!

Executive Chef:
Nick Novello

Private Party Facilities:
The Skillet Room seats up to 20 within a partially screened area of our Capital Hill Diner!

Private Party Contact:
Crellin Pauling: 2065122000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
  • Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
  • Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
  • Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill
Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill

Skillet Diner - Capitol Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

great for brunch (35)
neighborhood gem (31)
great for lunch (31)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
kid-friendly (14)
good for groups (14)
great for outdoor dining (9)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (6)
special occasion (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for brunch and the food was Deli ...

Dined 4 days ago

We went for brunch and the food was Delish. My fav was the cinnamon roll that was as big as a salad plate. My friend and I ate half and there was plenty for both of us to take home. We also had the cheddar grits and pork belly... A-mazing!!!!!

food4
ambience1
service3
value2

I made a reservation for 2 and we were s ...

Dined 4 days ago

I made a reservation for 2 and we were seated immediately upon arrival. The table we were seated at was not acceptable to me it was cafeteria style where you have a long booth seat along a wall and the person sitting across from you sits in a chair. Unfortunately the first women sitting next to me which is literally like twelve inches kept moving and this made the seat booth move, it was very annoying. Those people left and a family sat at the table next us with two children the mother of the children kept raising her voice at her young children and it really ruined my dining experience. I would demand when you make reservation (and you need to make reservations because the place was packed) that you want a private table or outside dining and not to sit where it is cafeteria style seating where you have tables going down a row and a long booth. The food was delicious Biscuits and gravy with hashbrowns is what I had. I would definitely recommend this place! Keep in mind there were several children there so be aware that the place is noisy and some parents do not have the parenting skills necessary to take their young children to a restaurant and you will have to deal with that on top of paying for an expensive meal. BTW my son loved his dish but I'm not sure what he had he kept taking bites of my meal. The waiter did a fair job.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Quirky fun local little spot tucked up o ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Quirky fun local little spot tucked up on Capital Hill. We always enjoy going. The Beef Hash is a must. Beware you may catch Steven in a mood. It is hit or miss if he decided to be nice. This is too bad as usually we turn him around but the customer shouldn't have to. The customer is why Steven has a job but he doesn't understand this and they keep him employed. So if you get past the potential attitude you will enjoy breakfast they serve the usual and the creative twist on the classics. Always fresh and hot.

food5
ambience4
service4

Ordered fried chicken which was excellen ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Ordered fried chicken which was excellent with the honey drizzle. Also had burger and fries in the group that was good. Ordered specialty cocktail off their menu which was also good. Try the chocolate pudding.. It's very good

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good for a birthday

Dined on June 5, 2016

Took my mom their to celebrate her birthday and everyone loved their food! Huge portions with big flavors!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tough love with a smile.

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was excellent, served promptly by an efficient, classic diner waiter with just enough attitude to make him lovable.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Nothing special comfort food

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

I ordered the kale caesar with fried chicken. The salad was a bit overdressed for my tastes and the anchovies on top were nearly tasteless. The chicken was very tasty but the batter was soggy and greasy. My wife's eggs and bacon were nice but nothing special.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Brunch is always a good idea

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food & coffeeat Skillet in Cap Hill was delicious! The donut holes are a must.. So so good! Coffee was good. Made reservations for 10a on a Sunday but when we got there it wasn't too busy. However, when we left around 11a, that was a different story, the restaurant was getting packed and a line was forming. Although Whatever time you decide to go it is definitely worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Twelve out of twelve people in our group ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Twelve out of twelve people in our group loved The Skillet dining experience. The selection delighted the vegetarians just as much as the serious meat eaters. The space was perfect and the waitress was so good at her job (kind and attentive too!). Thank you for the perfect end to a momentous day celebrating my daughter's graduation from medical school!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The hamburger with bacon jam was hearty ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The hamburger with bacon jam was hearty and tasty. The fries were average. Good service.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is always fantastic and the service ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Food is always fantastic and the service was friendly and very helpful. I love this place!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

HUNGRY???

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This might be ideal for mid-westerners, Texans or anyone with a hearty appetite who is used to a highly caloric breakfast! Yikes- for us lightweights, it was a bit of overkill and we thought about the hungry people in the world as we saw so much food getting taken away and tossed in the garbage (I hope there is a compost back there!). The serving portions were truly insane- the GF options were few, but I loved my huevos rancheros type of dish they served. My daughter had the eggs, with bacon and potatoes- it was big enough to share and far too many slices of bacon were served- this was a 5'7" teen eating- one of two GF dishes we found. The food was delicious, but it really did make us sickened at the portions and waste. The cinnamon roll was a huge plate that we thought was enough for two people (served next to us) but they then left most of it and still had huge breakfasts served after that! There was so much glaze, it looked like gravy!! I am sure it is loved by locals, but as a visitor, the portions shocked us!! The servers were kind, very attentive and everyone in there seemed friendly and nice. We would go back but share an order! Delicious food, great service and very good value if you eat it or pack it!

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

A bit loud but good brunch place!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Their famous dishes were a bit too heavy for us, so we ordered the Chilaquiles and pancakes, which were not bad. The service was great, but the coffee and OJ were better!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to the Skillet for Mothers Day and it was great! Let's just say the cinnamon roll is a must have if you are there on the weekend. My husband had the pork belly and grits and I had the basic breakfast. Our waitress was energetic and fun! If you are in Seattle this spot is worth seeking out.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service5

The food was very uneven. Some dishes we ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was very uneven. Some dishes were fabulous. The fried chicken and Mac n Cheese were up to your standards. 5 of our party had the chicken fried steak an all 5 could not finish it. Too salty and the pot roast portion not a chicken fried meat. The vegi, Kale, was also way too salty. Only thing edible ... The potatoes.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great simple food and spicy bloody Mary' ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great simple food and spicy bloody Mary's

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

practically perfect in every way

Dined on April 18, 2016

Loved it. The Poutine was absolutely incredible and the salad was perfect. I will be going back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Easy finding parking. Did the 2 courses ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Easy finding parking. Did the 2 courses for $15 promotion. Bacon-jam burger fantastic as was the Kale Caesar. And the doughnut holes...wow!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

4/5 - very enjoyable

Dined on April 12, 2016

Food and atmosphere were excellent, service left a little to be desired. It was a fairly slow day and my friend and I were hardly attended to besides the initial greeting. I had to flag my waiter down for water, condiments, the check, etc., and getting his attention was difficult. I would still recommend the restaurant though, very enjoyable overall!! :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Hidden Gem on Capital Hill

Dined on April 12, 2016

The food was absolutely wonderful. We all left full and very happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Food quality dropped

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food quality is not as good as it used to be. Kid menu with $14 burger was not family friendly.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Cute, hip, and super yummy!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Cute, hip, and super yummy!

food4
ambience3
service5

Good food, good service. Worth a visit.

Dined on March 24, 2016

Good food, good service. Worth a visit.

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Will try it again.

Dined on March 18, 2016

Service and menu were excellent. My "special chicken/cheese/kale scramble" wasn't the best, quite dry and lacking flavor, but my companion really enjoyed the veggie burger. I'm interested in returning to try some of the regular menu items sometime in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything and everyone was great!

Dined on March 6, 2016

The thought of fried chicken with a waffle and maple syrup on top did not sound too good for me. I'm more of a fried chicken and ketchup person. I have never eaten fried chicken and waffles and the thought of it wasn't even on my radar, but after some persuasion from friends, I tried it. The fried chicken was AMAZING! The waffle was great too, but putting the two together was delicious! I would go back for seconds in a heart beat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Decent food, awful music

Dined on February 27, 2016

Skillet Diner Capitol Hill neglected to acknowledge my open table reservation which caused a bit of a bookkeeping problem later on. My food was generally very good except for a broccoli rabe side that was bitter and undercooked. My companion enjoyed his meal very much . The thing we both disliked intensely about our visit was the music that played for the entire 2 1/2 hours we were there. It was really dreadful music and all in the same genre so there was no escaping it. I appreciate different genres of music but play one genre of music for the entire evening is a bad idea.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

A mixed bag

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

The Coffee was Oklahoma City weak; not Seattle Strong. The grits soupy with too much hotel-like cheese. But... The corn meal waffle was great, as was the pork belly and the fried thighs. The waiter paid no attention to how I requested my eggs, so of course the cook got it wrong.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent spot ! Love those burgers w/bacon jam!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Seems like a long time ago I had my first Skillet Burger from the Food Truck. I was amazed then......I still love them! Always cooked the way I request. Specials are great too. I had the Ling Cod. It was seared perfectly, came to the table nice and hot. It was served with an excellent root vegetable medley with great presentation. Service was top notch. All in all a great night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Relaxing. Great food

Dined on February 10, 2016

Relaxing. Great food

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to eat

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Great place with good whole food on the menu. Not a cheap breakfast place, but definitely worth a visit and a little off he beaten path.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is amazing anytime of day, h ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

This place is amazing anytime of day, highly recommend!

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

A little disappointing

Dined on January 23, 2016

We made reservations for their specialty series on braised dinners. I have enjoyed their items on their standard menu in the past so I was looking forward to this "specialty", but the braised venison was definitely lacking. It was surprisingly bland and non-distinctive and somewhat disappointing. As usual the atmosphere was enjoyable and service was great.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Brunch on a foodie weekend

Dined on January 16, 2016

My wife and I came up to Seattle for a 3 day Foodie weekend. We grabbed reservations for 10 breakfast/ brunch. Wasn't sure when we got there but then the food was amazing. Atmosphere was fine and service was ok. I had the daily spinach fried chicken scramble and my wife had the Pork belly waffles. The potatoes were amazing. Really happy with our choice. Would be back over and over again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Fried Chicken Sandwich

Dined on January 15, 2016

Met a friend for a business lunch and we split a fried chicken sandwich and a salad, the sandwich was perfectly executed and the fries were great. The beet, goat cheese salad had some white beets that were overcooked and mealy and the salad was mostly frisee and not beets at all like we thought it might be, I would not order this salad again it was a disappointing plate. The service was very good and overall we had a great lunch considering that we left most of our salad on the plate.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Yummiest good on the hill!

Dined on January 3, 2016

Yummiest good on the hill!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

doughnut holes the best that I have ever had.

Dined on December 30, 2015

Server recommend that we get doughnut holes for the table, they were so amazing. Crunchy on the outside and completely delicious. The fish and grits skillet was the best thing we ordered . Everything was really great though. Can't wait to take my husband! !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Comfort food with an interesting twist

Dined on December 14, 2015

Always fantastic... Skillet puts an interesting 'foodie' twist on beloved comfort food, that will leaving you wanting more. Fantastic 'muenster mac'. A great 'fried chicken sammy'. The 'prime petite tender' (steak) was OMG incredible. Work out in the morning and comfort food out!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service3

Still delivering great food

vip
Dined on November 23, 2015

Skillet is all about the food. The location has issues with parking and noise, but the diner feel is nice, the place is clean and energetic. The food continues to deliver over time. Their fried chicken is still to die for and their Kale salad remains one of my favorite dishes. Their desserts are very good. The service is spotty but friendly. We took our kids 9 and 11 there who loved the food and they have a nice kids menu. Overall we still like going to Skillet because it is all about the food!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food & Service

Dined on November 11, 2015

Enjoyed dining here for dinner with friend. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. First time at the restaurant and will return again. The fried chicken and pork chops were cooked perfectly. Lots of flavor & moist.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and always greeted with a smile.

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

Chicken and Waffles are winners here. Fried Chicken Sammy is always good for lunch as well.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.