About Skillet Diner - Ballard

2034 NW 56th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Skillet Diner's mission: Great food prepared with care, technique and the best of ingredients; an innovative experience that consistently surprises and satisfies; and a feeling of being personally connected to Skillet, in all its manifestations. Skillet Diner Ballard is the latest addition to the Skillet family, located just north of Market Street. Come on down and visit!

Awaiting your experience is a 40-foot curved counter, full restaurant and a killer patio for enjoying handcrafted cocktails and contemporary comfort food. The diner is housed in the Greenfire Campus, a new eco-friendly building doing its part to keep Seattle green.
Enjoy all of the skillet classics like the maple braised pork belly and waffle, our skillet burger with hand cut fries, southern fried chicken, legendary kale Caesar right here in Ballard!

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00 am-9:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Saturday 8:00 am-10:00 pm
Sunday 8:00 am-9:00 pm
Happy Hour! Daily 3-6 pm
Dinner at 5:00 pm daily.

Cross Street:
On NW 56th by Ballard Library

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 922-7981

Website:
http://skilletstreetfood.com/

Catering:
We approach food service a couple of ways: buffet or family style, sit-down service, "heavy apps" with passed and stationed appetizers, or sometimes we have guest come out to the truck to grab their grub and chat with our chefs!

We love great food served fresh while using quality local and organic foods as much as possible, and we try to keep it as green as can be with compostable wares or restaurant quality wares at no extra cost.

Our Catering Sales Office hours are Monday thru Friday from 10am to 5pm, with some exceptions due to off-site event management.

Parking Details:
Ballard has plenty of street parking in addition to many public parking lots surrounding Skillet Diner.

Public Transit:
King County Metro bus service from downtown: 40, 62, 17, 18, 29. Please double check as routes do change.

Executive Chef:
Nick Novello

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Skillet Diner - Ballard, Seattle, WA
  • Skillet Diner - Ballard, Seattle, WA
  • Skillet Diner - Ballard, Seattle, WA
Skillet Diner - Ballard, Seattle, WA
Skillet Diner - Ballard, Seattle, WA
Skillet Diner - Ballard, Seattle, WA

Skillet Diner - Ballard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Comfort Food (7)
See All
Fun (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Live Sports (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great Beer (2)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have eaten at Skillet Diner in Ballar ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We have eaten at Skillet Diner in Ballard many times, and the food is always great. However, this time, even though we had a reservation, we were seated at a table in full, bright sunlight. It was very hot after awhile, and hard on the eyes, to say the least! Our server, while cordial, seemed very distracted and slow (we've had great service in the past). Not our best experience at this location, but we will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

A group of us were there for brunch and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

A group of us were there for brunch and ordered a variety of items from their breakfast menu. The food was well-prepared overall, but nothing extraordinary. Service was excellent and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The cheesy grits and deep fried rockfish ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The cheesy grits and deep fried rockfish! Def my fave - it was such a good lunch date with my friends. The redhead guy was our server - wish I knew his name! He was the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I want to love this place, but it's just ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I want to love this place, but it's just okay. We went for dinner. The chicharrones appetizer had a few really gamey bites. The Kale Caesar was so salty it was inedible and we had to send it back. The server was nice, but we waited a long time for drinks. I've been twice and don't need to go back with so many options in Ballard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Food was exceptional! Pork chop juicy an ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was exceptional! Pork chop juicy and cooked to perfection. Chopped veggie medley tender crumchy and complementary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Everything was great except the noise le ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was great except the noise level was a bit too loud even though restaurant wasn't very busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fries tasted old (like they had been ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The fries tasted old (like they had been sitting out of the fryer for a few hours then reheated), the chicken was very overcooked and dry and practically inedible.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

I was really impressed by this tasty res ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I was really impressed by this tasty restaurant. We made a Sunday morning brunch reservation and was glad we did--we had to wait about 5 minutes while they cleared the table, but that was much shorter than most waited without a reservation. The service was prompt and attentive (although not too attentive), food was yummy and was well paced (we had doughnut holes before main dishes) and it was a great and comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is huge which makes it easier ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This place is huge which makes it easier to get table for brunch. Good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a weekend dinner with our daughte ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a weekend dinner with our daughter and friends at Skillet last weekend. The girls really wanted fried chicken and we had heard that Skillet had a great option. The service was terrific, the drinks great but the food was not. Everything was overly seasoned and so heavily coated you could not taste the main ingredient in the dish. As an example, the sweet corn was barely discernible under the large amount of spice, cheese, other toppings. The chicken was heavily fried with thick coating, completely overwhelming the actual taste of chicken. I have read and heard much better reviews of the food at Skillet so am hoping this was an off night in the kitchen. Unfortunately with so many other options in the area, we are probably going to pass on trying this one again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Skillet never fails to provide an outsta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Skillet never fails to provide an outstanding meal. We bring all out of town guests to the Ballard location and there is always something for everyone. My husband is vegetarian and I eat Paleo and we both get an equally satisfying and delicious meal with many options to choose from. And they do a great job catering to kids and families too. We love Skillet!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food wasn't great. The service wasn' ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food wasn't great. The service wasn't bad, just nothing to brag about. Took quite a while to get our drinks, we actually got out appetizers first. I doubt I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Went for my birthday brunch with a group ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went for my birthday brunch with a group of friends, we had a reservation but the place was packed so we had to wait half an hour for our table. Once seated food came pretty quickly and was delicious. Try the cold brew cocktail it's amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My two friends and I had to shout to hea ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My two friends and I had to shout to hear each other - and had to ask the wait staff to repeat themselves. you'd think they would understand how noisy the place is and make the effort to be heard. the food was okay, but not so good that we'll be rushing back. in fact, all three of us left food on our plates - it was all starch that none of us wanted or needed to eat, but that they were happy to stretch the meal with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Worth the drive and glad we made a rese ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Worth the drive and glad we made a reservation. Fabulous menu with creative dishes. Only downside was the noise level .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Girls night out We tried a new place to ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Girls night out

We tried a new place to eat and we were so happy.

The food is wonderful. So are the drinks and services

I had previously eaten at their food truck and knew it would be good. Go for the nightly specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seated quickly. Sound system modulated i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Seated quickly. Sound system modulated in area we were sitting due to my request for "less noise", great customer service. Menu items allow for portion control, small plates to dinner size. Breadth of offerings allow for many tastes to be satisfied.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

It took a very long time for our server ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It took a very long time for our server to take our order, although the restaurant was by no means full. Then an additional long wait until we finally got our food - before our drinks had even arrived. My chillaquiles were disappointing, the eggs and other toppings were tasty, however, the overly big pile of mushy tortillas they were served upon, was not only unnecessary, but also unappetizing. We had been excited to try Skillet, but left unimpressed. Had our server bothered to check on us, we would have probably ordered several more drinks, but alas, that was not to be. We will not return.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

After being seated it took 15 to. 20 for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

After being seated it took 15 to. 20 for some to came back to our table and only after I ask the receptionist. Other then that, all was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

$37 Backyard BBQ 3-course meal was NOT w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

$37 Backyard BBQ 3-course meal was NOT worth the value!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Waiters and waitresses are very nice! If ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Waiters and waitresses are very nice! If you don't have a reservation though the host seemed a bit annoyed. Also she called out the wrong name twice so it was like yay it's my turn and then she had to say oh sorry I meant so and so. Food is delicious though. It's reasonably priced too - like I said, just make sure you have a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome food. Super hip, foodie friendly ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Awesome food. Super hip, foodie friendly, Sunday brunch spot. We had friends from Hawaii visiting and they thoroughly enjoyed their dining experience. Super friendly service with coffee at the counter while you wait to be seated. I highly recommend making reservations and enjoy delicious food that comes from service with a smile.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite weekend restaurant for a cinnam ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Favorite weekend restaurant for a cinnamon roll. The coffee, roasted by Café Vita, is always great.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great breakfast spot - hearty food with ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great breakfast spot - hearty food with sizable portions.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Made a note on Open Table that it was my ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Made a note on Open Table that it was my husband's bd and there was a birthday card WAITING for him at our reserved table! And i t was a cool bd card as well! Really good brunch & always constantly delicious. The only caveat was the loud table right next to us. That was the first time that's happened to us tho. We'll be back!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While the fried chicken on waffle and th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2016

While the fried chicken on waffle and the ribs were very good, the watermelon gazpacho was wildly spicy (we were not told it contained jalapenos) and watery, and the ling cod was dry and the artichoke hearts on which it sat came with sharp edges (leaves) and dry, woody stems that left us choking. So, it was a mixed bag.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Best place to brunch in Ballard! The Ser ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best place to brunch in Ballard! The Serious Toast and the cinnamon roll are a few of my faves!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Although they were unexpectedly busy and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Although they were unexpectedly busy and were understaffed, we still had a great time with great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was horrific. Food awful. No ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 4, 2016

The service was horrific. Food awful. Noise level WAY too loud. I would never go back. I hated this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

We had a late lunch/brunch at Skillet Di ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a late lunch/brunch at Skillet Diner in Ballard on a Sunday. Had a reservation. We were seated by the window and when it started to get warm, VOILA! The window/sliding door was opened and it was just like al fresco dining. The food was GREAT. All of us raved about our dishes. The waitress was spot on. Altogether, a wonderful meal. I want to go back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good, very friendly. O ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Service was very good, very friendly. Olive-artichoke appetizer was disappointing. Fried chicken was way overdone. When replaced, was just the same, way,way overdone. Kale caesar is always good, but I'd like to see something new done with kale.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Waited at the reception desk for several ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Waited at the reception desk for several minutes before someone acknowledged my party (even though servers saw me standing there for a while). Got seated in the back which was cold, noisy, close to the restrooms, i.e. not so pleasant. I had the fried chicken sammy which was excellent. The potato of my daughter's breakfast was way too salty. Some select food is good, just don't expect too much from the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

This is one of our favorite places for w ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is one of our favorite places for weekend brunch in Ballard - and make sure to make reservations! Great for two people and for groups.

I would definitely recommend the chub (breakfast sandwich), the biscuits and gravy, and the cinnamon roll!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great grilled cheese sandwich! Ooey and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great grilled cheese sandwich! Ooey and gooey with yummy cheese !! Gotta try it :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Satifies a wide range of pallats

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our group of 5 included a small child, a vegetarian, meat eaters, the less adventurous and the ravenous. The menu at skillet has something for everyone and the daily specials keep it fun and interesting. Everyone enjoyed their meal, cleaned their plates, and the service was quick and friendly. We return to Skillet again and again and are never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for brunch on the weekends o ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great place for brunch on the weekends or a quick spot during the week. The food is great, the ambiance is like a diner. It's a lot of comfort, but they have lighter options too. Love the Cobb salad and always get a fried chicken thigh! On the weekends the chilaquiles are my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great lunch spot

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 1, 2016

My friend and I sat outside on a lovely June day to have lunch. A tad bit noisy do to the cars etc going by, but it was still a fine time. Food/service was great. No hesitation at going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 30, 2016

We were very disappointed in the service and amount of time it took to receive our food. I think it was under staffed for a busy Memorial Day, which made it a poor experience for us as well as our waitress. She seemed over worked! Not only did our food take a long time to arrive but we had to ask multiple times for extra condiments.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was hot, seasoned eell, fresh a ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was hot, seasoned eell, fresh and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

loud but comfy

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Went here on a Saturday and was so glad we made reservations. By 10:30 am there was already a 45 minute wait for walk ins! My mom was surprised with her meal, thought the pancakes would be on the side...not the buns of a sandwich, she was so so on that. otherwise, food came out hot and was good. Definitely unique. It was pretty loud in there. But had a good time. Would not recommend if you are on a diet or sorts unless its gritz, carbs, and good eats.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.