About Skillet Diner - Ballard

2034 NW 56th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Skillet Diner's mission: Great food prepared with care, technique and the best of ingredients; an innovative experience that consistently surprises and satisfies; and a feeling of being personally connected to Skillet, in all its manifestations. Skillet Diner Ballard is the latest addition to the Skillet family, located just north of Market Street. Come on down and visit!

Awaiting your experience is a 40-foot curved counter, full restaurant and a killer patio for enjoying handcrafted cocktails and contemporary comfort food. The diner is housed in the Greenfire Campus, a new eco-friendly building doing its part to keep Seattle green.
Enjoy all of the skillet classics like the maple braised pork belly and waffle, our skillet burger with hand cut fries, southern fried chicken, legendary kale Caesar right here in Ballard!

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00 am-9:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Saturday 8:00 am-10:00 pm
Sunday 8:00 am-9:00 pm
Happy Hour! Daily 3-6 pm
Dinner at 5:00 pm daily.

Cross Street:
On NW 56th by Ballard Library

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 922-7981

Website:
http://skilletstreetfood.com/

Catering:
We approach food service a couple of ways: buffet or family style, sit-down service, "heavy apps" with passed and stationed appetizers, or sometimes we have guest come out to the truck to grab their grub and chat with our chefs!

We love great food served fresh while using quality local and organic foods as much as possible, and we try to keep it as green as can be with compostable wares or restaurant quality wares at no extra cost.

Our Catering Sales Office hours are Monday thru Friday from 10am to 5pm, with some exceptions due to off-site event management.

Parking Details:
Ballard has plenty of street parking in addition to many public parking lots surrounding Skillet Diner.

Public Transit:
King County Metro bus service from downtown: 40, 62, 17, 18, 29. Please double check as routes do change.

Executive Chef:
Nick Novello

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Skillet Diner - Ballard, Seattle, WA
  • Skillet Diner - Ballard, Seattle, WA
  • Skillet Diner - Ballard, Seattle, WA

Report a photo problem

Skillet Diner - Ballard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

65% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (10)
Casual (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
See All
Great for Brunch (7)
Fun (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

No one makes pot roast anymore. Very fla ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

No one makes pot roast anymore. Very flavorful good value.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service as we have ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and great service as we have come to expect.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good place, not great for vegetarians.

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good place, not great for vegetarians.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was really good. Everything ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service was really good. Everything including our food arrived on time and our server was exemplary. My friend being vegan, was able to order a delicious meal, which she absolutely enjoyed. Overall we had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent macaroni and cheese! Large por ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent macaroni and cheese! Large portions for sharing. Great high chair for baby.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great, as always. They were ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was great, as always. They were busy, which I understand since it was the day after Christmas, but the service was disappointing. We made a reservation, but they had not reserved a table for us, so we ended up waiting anyway. Once we were seated, it took longer than usual for our server to greet us. After we received our food, which was delicious, the server dropped off the check without asking if we wanted anything else. We would have ordered another round of drinks, but we felt we were being rushed out. I'm sure I'll eat at Skillet again, but I feel the service has always been better at the Capitol Hill location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

The food was delicious. The service was ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was delicious. The service was great. It was easily the best meal we've had in the week we've been in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved it. They were great with my kids.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Loved it. They were great with my kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had family brunch here and it was a g ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had family brunch here and it was a great choice. It was like being in a family kitchen, so perfect for my noisy toddler. My kid loved the pancakes and all of our dishes were yummy. The service was great and the staff was knowledgeable when asked about nuts for nut allergies.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten at Skillet Diner in Ballar ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have eaten at Skillet Diner in Ballard many times, and the food is always great. However, this time, even though we had a reservation, we were seated at a table in full, bright sunlight. It was very hot after awhile, and hard on the eyes, to say the least! Our server, while cordial, seemed very distracted and slow (we've had great service in the past). Not our best experience at this location, but we will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

A group of us were there for brunch and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A group of us were there for brunch and ordered a variety of items from their breakfast menu. The food was well-prepared overall, but nothing extraordinary. Service was excellent and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Ordered a "basic burger" and got " the b ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Ordered a "basic burger" and got " the burger" instead. Tasted good, was $1 more expensive on the menu, but I still received something I didn't order. I was pressed for time and didn't have them remake my order. It wasn't busy that night so it was just being careless. My receipt verified that the server rang up the correct burger. Kitchen made wrong one. Server or expeditor didn't catch the mistake and it ended up on my table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The cheesy grits and deep fried rockfish ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The cheesy grits and deep fried rockfish! Def my fave - it was such a good lunch date with my friends. The redhead guy was our server - wish I knew his name! He was the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I want to love this place, but it's just ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I want to love this place, but it's just okay. We went for dinner. The chicharrones appetizer had a few really gamey bites. The Kale Caesar was so salty it was inedible and we had to send it back. The server was nice, but we waited a long time for drinks. I've been twice and don't need to go back with so many options in Ballard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Food was exceptional! Pork chop juicy an ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was exceptional! Pork chop juicy and cooked to perfection. Chopped veggie medley tender crumchy and complementary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Everything was great except the noise le ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was great except the noise level was a bit too loud even though restaurant wasn't very busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fries tasted old (like they had been ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The fries tasted old (like they had been sitting out of the fryer for a few hours then reheated), the chicken was very overcooked and dry and practically inedible.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

I was really impressed by this tasty res ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I was really impressed by this tasty restaurant. We made a Sunday morning brunch reservation and was glad we did--we had to wait about 5 minutes while they cleared the table, but that was much shorter than most waited without a reservation. The service was prompt and attentive (although not too attentive), food was yummy and was well paced (we had doughnut holes before main dishes) and it was a great and comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is huge which makes it easier ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This place is huge which makes it easier to get table for brunch. Good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a weekend dinner with our daughte ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a weekend dinner with our daughter and friends at Skillet last weekend. The girls really wanted fried chicken and we had heard that Skillet had a great option. The service was terrific, the drinks great but the food was not. Everything was overly seasoned and so heavily coated you could not taste the main ingredient in the dish. As an example, the sweet corn was barely discernible under the large amount of spice, cheese, other toppings. The chicken was heavily fried with thick coating, completely overwhelming the actual taste of chicken. I have read and heard much better reviews of the food at Skillet so am hoping this was an off night in the kitchen. Unfortunately with so many other options in the area, we are probably going to pass on trying this one again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Skillet never fails to provide an outsta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Skillet never fails to provide an outstanding meal. We bring all out of town guests to the Ballard location and there is always something for everyone. My husband is vegetarian and I eat Paleo and we both get an equally satisfying and delicious meal with many options to choose from. And they do a great job catering to kids and families too. We love Skillet!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food wasn't great. The service wasn' ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food wasn't great. The service wasn't bad, just nothing to brag about. Took quite a while to get our drinks, we actually got out appetizers first. I doubt I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Restaurant Week- blah. Nothing great. Se ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Restaurant Week- blah. Nothing great. Service ok. Disappointed as always wanted to try. Not best first impression. Par for restaurant week I guess. :( maybe try breakfast next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Went for my birthday brunch with a group ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went for my birthday brunch with a group of friends, we had a reservation but the place was packed so we had to wait half an hour for our table. Once seated food came pretty quickly and was delicious. Try the cold brew cocktail it's amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My two friends and I had to shout to hea ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My two friends and I had to shout to hear each other - and had to ask the wait staff to repeat themselves. you'd think they would understand how noisy the place is and make the effort to be heard. the food was okay, but not so good that we'll be rushing back. in fact, all three of us left food on our plates - it was all starch that none of us wanted or needed to eat, but that they were happy to stretch the meal with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Worth the drive and glad we made a rese ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Worth the drive and glad we made a reservation. Fabulous menu with creative dishes. Only downside was the noise level .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Girls night out We tried a new place to ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Girls night out

We tried a new place to eat and we were so happy.

The food is wonderful. So are the drinks and services

I had previously eaten at their food truck and knew it would be good. Go for the nightly specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seated quickly. Sound system modulated i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Seated quickly. Sound system modulated in area we were sitting due to my request for "less noise", great customer service. Menu items allow for portion control, small plates to dinner size. Breadth of offerings allow for many tastes to be satisfied.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

It took a very long time for our server ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It took a very long time for our server to take our order, although the restaurant was by no means full. Then an additional long wait until we finally got our food - before our drinks had even arrived. My chillaquiles were disappointing, the eggs and other toppings were tasty, however, the overly big pile of mushy tortillas they were served upon, was not only unnecessary, but also unappetizing. We had been excited to try Skillet, but left unimpressed. Had our server bothered to check on us, we would have probably ordered several more drinks, but alas, that was not to be. We will not return.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

After being seated it took 15 to. 20 for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

After being seated it took 15 to. 20 for some to came back to our table and only after I ask the receptionist. Other then that, all was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

$37 Backyard BBQ 3-course meal was NOT w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

$37 Backyard BBQ 3-course meal was NOT worth the value!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Waiters and waitresses are very nice! If ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Waiters and waitresses are very nice! If you don't have a reservation though the host seemed a bit annoyed. Also she called out the wrong name twice so it was like yay it's my turn and then she had to say oh sorry I meant so and so. Food is delicious though. It's reasonably priced too - like I said, just make sure you have a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome food. Super hip, foodie friendly ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Awesome food. Super hip, foodie friendly, Sunday brunch spot. We had friends from Hawaii visiting and they thoroughly enjoyed their dining experience. Super friendly service with coffee at the counter while you wait to be seated. I highly recommend making reservations and enjoy delicious food that comes from service with a smile.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite weekend restaurant for a cinnam ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Favorite weekend restaurant for a cinnamon roll. The coffee, roasted by Café Vita, is always great.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great breakfast spot - hearty food with ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great breakfast spot - hearty food with sizable portions.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Made a note on Open Table that it was my ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Made a note on Open Table that it was my husband's bd and there was a birthday card WAITING for him at our reserved table! And i t was a cool bd card as well! Really good brunch & always constantly delicious. The only caveat was the loud table right next to us. That was the first time that's happened to us tho. We'll be back!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While the fried chicken on waffle and th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2016

While the fried chicken on waffle and the ribs were very good, the watermelon gazpacho was wildly spicy (we were not told it contained jalapenos) and watery, and the ling cod was dry and the artichoke hearts on which it sat came with sharp edges (leaves) and dry, woody stems that left us choking. So, it was a mixed bag.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Best place to brunch in Ballard! The Ser ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best place to brunch in Ballard! The Serious Toast and the cinnamon roll are a few of my faves!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Although they were unexpectedly busy and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Although they were unexpectedly busy and were understaffed, we still had a great time with great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was horrific. Food awful. No ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 4, 2016

The service was horrific. Food awful. Noise level WAY too loud. I would never go back. I hated this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.