About Skillet Diner - Ballard

2034 NW 56th St
Seattle, WA 98107
View Larger Map

Skillet Diner's mission: Great food prepared with care, technique and the best of ingredients; an innovative experience that consistently surprises and satisfies; and a feeling of being personally connected to Skillet, in all its manifestations. Skillet Diner Ballard is the latest addition to the Skillet family, located just north of Market Street. Come on down and visit!

Awaiting your experience is a 40-foot curved counter, full restaurant and a killer patio for enjoying handcrafted cocktails and contemporary comfort food. The diner is housed in the Greenfire Campus, a new eco-friendly building doing its part to keep Seattle green.
Enjoy all of the skillet classics like the maple braised pork belly and waffle, our skillet burger with hand cut fries, southern fried chicken, legendary kale Caesar right here in Ballard!

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 11:00 am-9:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Saturday 8:00 am-10:00 pm
Sunday 8:00 am-9:00 pm
Happy Hour! Daily 3-6 pm
Dinner at 5:00 pm daily.

Cross Street:
On NW 56th by Ballard Library

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 922-7981

Website:
http://skilletstreetfood.com/

Catering:
We approach food service a couple of ways: buffet or family style, sit-down service, "heavy apps" with passed and stationed appetizers, or sometimes we have guest come out to the truck to grab their grub and chat with our chefs!

We love great food served fresh while using quality local and organic foods as much as possible, and we try to keep it as green as can be with compostable wares or restaurant quality wares at no extra cost.

Our Catering Sales Office hours are Monday thru Friday from 10am to 5pm, with some exceptions due to off-site event management.

Parking Details:
Ballard has plenty of street parking in addition to many public parking lots surrounding Skillet Diner.

Public Transit:
King County Metro bus service from downtown: 40, 62, 17, 18, 29. Please double check as routes do change.

Executive Chef:
Nick Novello

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Skillet Diner - Ballard
  • Skillet Diner - Ballard
  • Skillet Diner - Ballard
Skillet Diner - Ballard
Skillet Diner - Ballard
Skillet Diner - Ballard

Skillet Diner - Ballard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Great for Brunch
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Ballard / Fremont ›

great for brunch (37)
neighborhood gem (32)
great for lunch (29)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
kid-friendly (27)
good for groups (26)
great for outdoor dining (21)
hot spot (12)
special occasion (6)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While the fried chicken on waffle and th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

While the fried chicken on waffle and the ribs were very good, the watermelon gazpacho was wildly spicy (we were not told it contained jalapenos) and watery, and the ling cod was dry and the artichoke hearts on which it sat came with sharp edges (leaves) and dry, woody stems that left us choking. So, it was a mixed bag.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Best place to brunch in Ballard! The Ser ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best place to brunch in Ballard! The Serious Toast and the cinnamon roll are a few of my faves!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Although they were unexpectedly busy and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Although they were unexpectedly busy and were understaffed, we still had a great time with great food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was horrific. Food awful. No ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The service was horrific. Food awful. Noise level WAY too loud. I would never go back. I hated this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

We had a late lunch/brunch at Skillet Di ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a late lunch/brunch at Skillet Diner in Ballard on a Sunday. Had a reservation. We were seated by the window and when it started to get warm, VOILA! The window/sliding door was opened and it was just like al fresco dining. The food was GREAT. All of us raved about our dishes. The waitress was spot on. Altogether, a wonderful meal. I want to go back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good, very friendly. O ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Service was very good, very friendly. Olive-artichoke appetizer was disappointing. Fried chicken was way overdone. When replaced, was just the same, way,way overdone. Kale caesar is always good, but I'd like to see something new done with kale.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Waited at the reception desk for several ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Waited at the reception desk for several minutes before someone acknowledged my party (even though servers saw me standing there for a while). Got seated in the back which was cold, noisy, close to the restrooms, i.e. not so pleasant. I had the fried chicken sammy which was excellent. The potato of my daughter's breakfast was way too salty. Some select food is good, just don't expect too much from the service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

This is one of our favorite places for w ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is one of our favorite places for weekend brunch in Ballard - and make sure to make reservations! Great for two people and for groups.

I would definitely recommend the chub (breakfast sandwich), the biscuits and gravy, and the cinnamon roll!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great grilled cheese sandwich! Ooey and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great grilled cheese sandwich! Ooey and gooey with yummy cheese !! Gotta try it :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Satifies a wide range of pallats

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our group of 5 included a small child, a vegetarian, meat eaters, the less adventurous and the ravenous. The menu at skillet has something for everyone and the daily specials keep it fun and interesting. Everyone enjoyed their meal, cleaned their plates, and the service was quick and friendly. We return to Skillet again and again and are never disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for brunch on the weekends o ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great place for brunch on the weekends or a quick spot during the week. The food is great, the ambiance is like a diner. It's a lot of comfort, but they have lighter options too. Love the Cobb salad and always get a fried chicken thigh! On the weekends the chilaquiles are my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great lunch spot

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

My friend and I sat outside on a lovely June day to have lunch. A tad bit noisy do to the cars etc going by, but it was still a fine time. Food/service was great. No hesitation at going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We were very disappointed in the service and amount of time it took to receive our food. I think it was under staffed for a busy Memorial Day, which made it a poor experience for us as well as our waitress. She seemed over worked! Not only did our food take a long time to arrive but we had to ask multiple times for extra condiments.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was hot, seasoned eell, fresh a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was hot, seasoned eell, fresh and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

loud but comfy

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Went here on a Saturday and was so glad we made reservations. By 10:30 am there was already a 45 minute wait for walk ins! My mom was surprised with her meal, thought the pancakes would be on the side...not the buns of a sandwich, she was so so on that. otherwise, food came out hot and was good. Definitely unique. It was pretty loud in there. But had a good time. Would not recommend if you are on a diet or sorts unless its gritz, carbs, and good eats.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Get the kale salad! It is delicious wit ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Get the kale salad! It is delicious with the fish and cheesy grits. My husband and I always share those two items and then get another side. This time it was artichokes and olives. Don't bother! The other two dishes are so wonderful that the side dish was a complete let down. I hope they bring back the fabulous Brussell sprouts and the cauliflower dish they have had in the past. Since we are vegetarian, there aren't as many options for us; but I hope they will include more. We will go again. :)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent family restaurant. I have alwa ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent family restaurant. I have always had superb food and service at past visits. For some reason, Mother's Day dinner wasn't the same. It was very busy and we waited almost 15 minutes to order. The food came fairly fast though. The quality of the king salmon was good, but the biscuits and gravy were soggy with very salty sauce. Also the ling COD tasted 'gritty'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

More than just The Burger...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Skillet's famed Burger with bacon jam and blue cheese is the thing that lures me to the Skillet locations, and it's darn good. But when going with a party of five, we sampled salads, the soup.... and, yes, The Burger. Everything we had was fresh and inventive. The desserts were a bit larger than we needed, so my daughter asked if she could just get a scoop of ice cream... it was not on the menu, but our server quickly assured us that if that's what we wanted, of course they'd do that for us. The ambiance here is clean and modern, but with a lot of hard surfaces reflecting sound, it does get noisy at times.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

So-so

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I ordered the deconstructed corned beef and it was ok. Felt like it was missing something.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been to Skillet several times. Th ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We've been to Skillet several times. The food is great, we've never had anything bad. Chilaquiles on weekends are great, the donuts are also amazing. We've tried all the weekly specials, all excellent. I hope the brung back the original Brussel sprouts and sloppy joes sometime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Best Breakfast in Ballard

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The only downside is that everyone knows it's the best breakfast in Ballard, so make a reservation! It was great that we had a reservation because there were people lined up in the rain waiting to get a table! Very efficient servers. They work SO hard to make sure everyone has a great experience.

Definitely try the cinnamon roll...

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

On reservations and big bread

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Two points:

1. A reservation where they seat you directly by the door anyway is a pretty lackluster way of treating reservations.

2. The Serious Toast should just be called Big Bread. Quite a trend to have these big brioche bread dishes but this makes it so dry in the middle, that I had to pour some syrup on there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great comfort food in Seattle. I had the ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Great comfort food in Seattle. I had the fried chicken sandwich and it was fantastic! The chicken was tender, juicy and super flavorful. It was served on a brioche bun with kale and a delicious homemade sauce next to a mountain fries. I couldn't finish most of my plate and I came starving. If I lived in Ballard I would definitely stop by on a Tuesday to try their slow braised beef ragu pappardelle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Came here for brunch with a party of 6. The hostess sat us promptly as was extremely understanding about the fact that part of our party had not arrived yet. Our waitress was awesome--so friendly and attentive. Food was great, arrived quickly and hot. Would definitely come back and would keep it at the top of my brunch list for larger parties.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Comfort Food at its Best

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Went in for a weekday lunch when I was in the need of some serious comfort food. I had made a reservation via Open Table but it really wasn't necessary - lunch hour had plenty of open seating. We were seated right away but it took a bit for our server to check with us though she seemed to be the only server at the time and had a group of 6 ladies at one of her other tables. She was friendly and I don't fault her the wait. I wish she had some help! I hope next time there is better service coverage. And I will DEFINITELY be back. Despite the wait this place is great! I love the laid back environment and the food is exactly what the doctor called for. Started with 2 boozy shakes - colonel parker and jesse's peppermint patty - and they were thick and the liquor really pulled thru. I've had a lot of alcoholic shakes where the liquor gets lost in the ice cream but not here. Order it...now...calories don't count in boozy shakes. I ordered a cup of the day's soup with the fried chicken sammy for my meal. The fried chicken is super crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside plus its slathered in aioli. It's a hard to get fried chicken so right and I'd return just for that. My husband had the grilled cheese with bacon jam. It comes on thick lightly golden toast and piled on with a blend of perfectly melted cheese. Honestly a solid meal all around and I can't wait to make my way thru their other dishes.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Maximum Comfort Food

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Meeting our Ballard friend on her side of town because traffic back to Capitol Hill is crazy for her, we wandered in on a Friday night. Our waiter was attentive and funny but not intrusive. The beets and oranges salad was enough for all three of us and quite delicious. The entree portions were huge and certainly enough for leftovers at home the next day. Our friend loved the pot roast, proclaiming it far better than anything her mom ever made. My petite steak was savory and definitely not small; making a terrific sandwich the next day. Our daughter's fried chicken and waffles was delicious, gigantic, and completely decadent. My husband choose the nightly special (lamb's neck) which was less meat than the other entrees but tasty, with creamy polenta on the side. For dessert, my chocoholic spouse loved the salted dark chocolate pudding, and the portion was so generous that he actually shared! Altogether, it was a great way to come in from the traffic and cold rain to begin the celebration of the weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Can't say enough about how excellent eve ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Can't say enough about how excellent everything was! Some of the best food I've ever eaten. P.S. If you like a bit of the South, try the chicken and waffles - you won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alright for dinner, probably better for brunch

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We were five and as I was able to get a reservation for 6:15pm at 5:40pm, we were seated quickly. Okay, it was a table near the employees' room, but it wasn't too bad. The drinks were served quickly and maybe 10 minutes later our orders were ready, so that was quick. The southern fried chicken was great, the braised lamb was good but lukewarm (even the skillet in which it came was lukewarm!), the falafels were a bit small for an entry (only two small patties), but with a desert it was okay.

So overall okay, but I would likely try them for brunch instead of dinner for a really nice meal. Dinner was alright, but the menu for the brunch looks delicious and if their fried chicken is as good for brunch than it was for the dinner, it can be a wonderful outing (for a brunch!).

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Skillet is a favorite go to comfort food ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Skillet is a favorite go to comfort food spot. Vday felt like they had the customer service turned to maximum churn mode. Not bad on any way, just not as good as they usually have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

This was the first time we came here for ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This was the first time we came here for dinner. I was not impressed with the quality of the food. I think it's best for brunch. The fried chicken could use more flavor.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First time and it was amazing. Very high ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

First time and it was amazing. Very high quality. We will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So Tasty!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for Valentine's Day Breaky and had Serious Toast (the biggest plate of french toast I have ever seen, my teenager loved it), the Grits and Belly , the Cornmeal waffle with pork belly, the donut holes. It all was really delicious and I thought, a great value. The portions were generous. I would highly recommend a visit soon!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Comfort food...PLUS

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Never disappoints in upscale comfort food. Pot Roast is always a winner. Innovative, but not too fancy schmancy.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Menu and excellent food

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Excellent food and interesting menu. Choose from the daily special and you can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Reservation Issues

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

I made a reservation, but they didn't seat me until about 20-25 minutes after we arrived, so I was a little disappointed with their timing.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good Food, Service was Subpar

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Had dinner here for a family member's birthday, host was pleasant when we arrived. The food tasted great and the service was prompt. Only downside was a few of our orders never came (though we were still charged), and we opted for add-on's to a few dishes that also weren't included in the food- but were in the bill.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Yummy Comfort Food

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We had a great dinner at Skillet a few nights ago! It was our semi annual date night with our son and his wife:). We had a lovely server and the food was fabulous!! We had the Southern Fried Chicken, Pot Roast, and the Mac & Cheese. All were excellent! The Bloody Mary was great!! Our only semi complaint would be that the food is quite expensive when you think about what you are getting. A skillet of mac & cheese shouldn't cost $16.00.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Third time at Skillet: Good as the first!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

One of Ballard's best "go-to" dining facilities! I would recommend The Skillet to everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Retro style diner from the 60's

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

A little noisy but friendly and attentive staff. Good drinks, food and service in a retro style "diner"

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nourishing Skillet

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

It was a good choice as there are a few items on the menu for non meat eaters or selectively meat eaters. The focus is on bacon, but you can easily request that your dish be modified to exclude pork or whatever food listed is not desired. So they are flexible. My dining partner and I enjoyed our meal and it was reasonably priced. An overall good choice but not a true "diner" in the New Jersey/New York sense.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.