About Ski Tip Lodge

764 Montezuma Road
Keystone, CO 80435-7821
View Larger Map

Come back to where it all began for Keystone. This former 1800's stagecoach stop has been transformed into a cozy bed and breakfast that boasts some of the best food this side of the Continental Divide. Step inside and you may never want to leave as the aroma of delicious cuisine fills the air. Experience the rotating four-course dinner menu and thoughtful service that continues to get rave reviews. Top off the night in a comfortable seat next to a rustic fireplace with a selection from Ski Tip’s famed desserts.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Apres Ski: Seven Days (except for holidays) 3pm - 5pm. Small plates and drink specials. Please call to check availability. Available June 30th, 2016 - September 5th, 2016

Dinner: Seven Days: 5:45pm - 6:30pm and 8pm - 8:45pm (reservations required & offered during two separate seatings each night)

Cross Street:
Alpenrose Pl

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 354-4386

Website:
http://www.keystoneresort.com/diningdetail/Key+-+The+Ski+Tip+Lodge.axd

Parking Details:
The Ski Tip Lodge has a large private parking lot located in front of the lodge.

Public Transit:
The Ski Tip Lodge is easily accessible by the Keystone Shuttle.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andrew Scruggs

Private Party Contact:
Mercedes Provost: 9704964950x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ski Tip Lodge can accommodate private parties that wish to buy-out for the restaurant for one or two seatings. Our Maximum Capacity for Private Parties increases with this option. Please contact Ski Tip directly for more information.

Ski Tip Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Denver / Colorado
Best Service
Denver / Colorado
Best Ambiance
Denver / Colorado
13 More
Notable Wine List
Denver / Colorado
Romantic
Denver / Colorado
American
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Mountains
Best Food
Mountains
Best Service
Mountains
Best Ambiance
Mountains
Best Value
Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Mountains
Notable Wine List
Mountains
Romantic
Mountains
Special Occasion
Mountains
American
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Keystone ›

Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (54)
Notable Wine List (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (41)
Scenic View (28)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fireplace (11)
Historic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food and the wine pairing was a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food and the wine pairing was a must as they give you detailed history of the wines and why they were paired

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrate our anniversa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I celebrate our anniversary at Ski Tip Lodge every year, and look forward to the experience every time. The ambiance is cozy, the food is excellent, and the wine pairing is outstanding. Megan, our favorite sommelier, takes the time to tell a story about each wine that is selected with great thought and care. The evening is truly a unique experience to savor delicious food with perfectly paired wines.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and staff. Creative food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful food and staff. Creative food in a cozy dining room with great descriptions by the staff and perfect wine paired by the somms. This is our favorite place for special occasions and it never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ski Tip Lodge is one of the best restaur ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Ski Tip Lodge is one of the best restaurants in Summit County. It's perfect for a romantic date night or special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ski Tip Ranch is always wonderful and th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Ski Tip Ranch is always wonderful and this visit was not disappointing. The wine selection was 1st class, the food excellent and the staff helpful and knowledgeable. The evening was enchanted especially seeing the Mama Moose and her baby while we enjoyed a glass of sparkling wine out on the patio before being seated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ski Tip Lodge restaurant is one of the b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Ski Tip Lodge restaurant is one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. In an beautiful, historic setting with incredibly knowable staff, great food prepared with extraordinary care, nothing compares in my experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ski Tip is a true hidden gem. The m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Ski Tip is a true hidden gem. The menu is inventive and beyond delicious. Service is impeccable, and you leave feeling that you've made new friends. It is our favorite place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

unique and memorable dining experience. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

unique and memorable dining experience. For celebrating special occasions , it can't be beat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the top outstanding. Every aspect, ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Over the top outstanding. Every aspect, service, ambience, food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, ambiance, food, staff and sta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

As always, ambiance, food, staff and staff's knowledge made our visit another amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite restaraunt in Color ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This is our favorite restaraunt in Colorado. We've been there many times over the last 15 yrs. Its amazing that the staff has remained consistent for most of that time. The wine recommendations are always good. We've gone home and ordered the wine after having it here. The breads are amazing. The courses are always interesting but not too pretentious. We love going into the fireplace room for dessert and coffee. Always a special occasion and treat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a great experience, but a little ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Overall a great experience, but a little pricy imho...

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the ten best restaurants in USA, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

One of the ten best restaurants in USA, a dining experience, not just a meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Ski Tip on multiple occ ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We have eaten at Ski Tip on multiple occasions and it NEVER disappoints! Chris made our visit as perfect as is possible - we can't wait for our next visit!

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Make your reservation early, limited sea ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Make your reservation early, limited seating and always full

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual and as expected, the Ski Tip is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As usual and as expected, the Ski Tip is easily Keystone Resort's best restaurant as well as being one of the best restaurants in Colorado. Great menu, intimate romantic setting, awesome wine list, excellent food quality, and spot-on service. The service pace was just as it should be. The staff is friendly and helpful with excellent knowledge of the menu. The sommelier's recommended pairings were perfect. Highly, highly, highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here 3 times a year - whenever w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We come here 3 times a year - whenever we are at Keystone. The food is a good as anything in Chicago (where we live). Excellent menu without being too extensive. With 4 courses, I like to pick 2 rich items and 2 not so rich. Desert in front of the fireplace or outdoors is a delight - it was a chilly summer night so they kept us inside. Wait staff and Megan, the sommelier are always terrific. Can't wait to be back in December.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening celebrating o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a wonderful evening celebrating our anniversary. The food was exceptional, the wine list extensive and the lodge was an incredible location to celebrate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always one of our favorites, and our las ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always one of our favorites, and our last visit was no exception. Great food, service was outstanding, and the little chocolate 'Happy Birthday' on the dessert plate was very much appreciated. Can't say enough good things about Ski Tip!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was over the top in many ways ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dinner was over the top in many ways. I did the wine pairings with my meal and they were all very well matched to the food. The sommelier was well versed to speak to each wine as it was poured. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed it very much! As far as the f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We enjoyed it very much! As far as the food goes, we though the main courses (pork chops and beef) were fantastic. The dessert (goat cheese cake and strawberry cobbler) were also top notch. We thought the soups (tomato basil and tortilla) were good but nothing special, and the appetizers (tiger shrimp and salad) were rather disappointing. The waitress was very nice and attentive, but kind of intense and we didn't really need every single item on the menu described to us in detail-it's frustrating to have to sit there while she describes everything and pretend like you care what she's saying. We come to a nice restaurant because we assume you know how to make good food, we don't need a soliloquy on the ingredients.

Loved the retire to the den for dessert aspect. Very relaxing and enjoyable way to end the evening. Overall, we had a great time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were joined by out of state friends w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We were joined by out of state friends who were celebrating their 42nd wedding anniversary. From the moment of arrival to the time of departure everything was above and beyond all expectations. Dominic was an exceptional host/waiter and along with some fun time with Kurtis made the evening one to remember. The pheasant, scollops and steak were all perfect in preparation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite restaurant of our fami ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always a favorite restaurant of our family. Excellent food and service. The new chef Andrew is fantastic and we enjoyed meeting and visiting with him. Kudos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food ... Compliments to the chief! ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food ... Compliments to the chief!

Everyone should experience this wonderful restaurant and great ambiance ! Relax and take in all the meal coarses. Enjoy and we will be back as soon as possible !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality ingredients imaginatively blende ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Quality ingredients imaginatively blended and artfully presented for maximum visual, olfactory, and gustatory pleasures. Once again, the entire STL crew succeeded from the moment we were warmly greeted, through our dining room courses imaginatively paired with wines selected from around the world, finishing with desserts and salted chocolates at a table looking out upon Dercum Mountain. Keystone dining at its very best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our best dining experiences ever. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

One of our best dining experiences ever...Dominic was our main server but his knowledge of the courses, friendly nature and attention was awesome...can't wait to come back! Of course the food was over-the-top...fresh and very creative..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was incredible and the 4 course p ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Dinner was incredible and the 4 course pairing was reasonably priced for the quality and quantity of the food. Megan did an amazing job of picking out wines that were well paired with the food and was a wealth of knowledge about the various regions the wine came from as well as providing us interesting tid bits about the wineries and winemakers. The scenery can't be beat. If the weather is nice, I recommend dessert on the patio...simply breathtaking at sunset.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time to dine at Ski Tip and we were ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

1st time to dine at Ski Tip and we were not disappointed. Great food, service and ambiance. It a pre fix menu but a good variety to choose from. Reservations a must! We will return to Ski Tip next time we are in Keystone.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was very good, the portio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

While the food was very good, the portions are definitely smaller with this new chef. I would rate my dinner as excellent, but my husband's wild boar entree was very chewy and fatty. This was the third time we had dined at Ski Tip this summer, and it seemed as though we always one person at our table that was dissatisfied with their dinner, while the others thoroughly enjoyed their dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The setting is lovely, and the history o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The setting is lovely, and the history of the lodge makes it even more special. We looked forward to going because of the reviews. We had some loud people near us - not the fault of the restaurant. The food was good - a little salty for me but my husband had no complaints. The boar and the beef were tender. We enjoyed the experience overall and would recommend everyone go at least once.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely outstanding experience on all ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Absolutely outstanding experience on all counts! This was a return visit with friends who had never been there and we were so pleased that all the expectations we created were fulfilled and more. Thank you for a most lovely evening!! We will be sure and return each time we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have traveled all over the world and e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I have traveled all over the world and eaten in some of the best spots in Chicago, NYC, San Francisco, LA, London, Paris, Beijing and Brussels, and the food here ranks right up there with the best.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous food, wine and service. This is ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Fabulous food, wine and service. This is my second visit and look forward to my 3rd!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal in the entire Vail/Keystone/Br ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Best meal in the entire Vail/Keystone/Breckenridge area! Outstanding service, incredible 4-course prix fix menu, gorgeous setting in a lovely, romantic inn surrounded by towering trees and breathtaking mountain scenery. Dessert and coffee is served by the fire in either the living room or lounge. Perfect dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A coworker and I stopped by during a con ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A coworker and I stopped by during a conference in town and were pleasantly surprised. The reviews of his place don't do it justice. The food was incredible, and the service even more so. It's certainly worth an evening in their care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is always excellent as is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food here is always excellent as is the service. The sommelier, Meagan, deserves special mention. Not only is she knowledgable but she never fails to recommend the perfect bottle of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sommelier, Megan Morgan, is absolute ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The sommelier, Megan Morgan, is absolutely outstanding with her wine pairing for each course at dinner. The depth and breadth of her knowledge is the penultimate in skill and knowledge.

The wines she picks wines from all over the world and not only do they pair well with the food, but they are wonderful wines that most of us would not otherwise experience.

Chef Bryan Baker is a young and very creative chef who is great now and has an even greater future ahead of him. Also, the wait staff at Ski Tip make the dining experience most enjoyable.

We have been regular guest at the Ski Tip for more than 25 years and are always pleased to return.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and exper ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and experience, but thought it was way over priced. It has to be a special occasion to make it palatable to spend that kind of money on one meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful Dinner at the Ski Tip. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Another wonderful Dinner at the Ski Tip. New Chef has kept up with the quality we expect

at the Ski Tip . Will be back again .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere of a Swiss chalet with a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The atmosphere of a Swiss chalet with a great view is fantastic. Service is exceptional. I felt the food was very good, but not much different than other top Summit County restaurants. Definitely would recommend - excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.