About Ski Tip Lodge

764 Montezuma Road
Keystone, CO 80435-7821
View Larger Map

Come back to where it all began for Keystone. This former 1800's stagecoach stop has been transformed into a cozy bed and breakfast that boasts some of the best food this side of the Continental Divide. Step inside and you may never want to leave as the aroma of delicious cuisine fills the air. Experience the rotating four-course dinner menu and thoughtful service that continues to get rave reviews. Top off the night in a comfortable seat next to a rustic fireplace with a selection from Ski Tip’s famed desserts.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Apres Ski: Seven Days (except for holidays) 3pm - 5pm. Small plates and drink specials. Please call to check availability. Available June 30th, 2016 - September 5th, 2016

Dinner: Seven Days: 5:45pm - 6:30pm and 8pm - 8:45pm (reservations required & offered during two separate seatings each night)

Cross Street:
Alpenrose Pl

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 354-4386

Website:
http://www.keystoneresort.com/diningdetail/Key+-+The+Ski+Tip+Lodge.axd

Parking Details:
The Ski Tip Lodge has a large private parking lot located in front of the lodge.

Public Transit:
The Ski Tip Lodge is easily accessible by the Keystone Shuttle.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andrew Scruggs

Private Party Contact:
Mercedes Provost: 9704964950x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ski Tip Lodge can accommodate private parties that wish to buy-out for the restaurant for one or two seatings. Our Maximum Capacity for Private Parties increases with this option. Please contact Ski Tip directly for more information.

Ski Tip Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Denver / Colorado
Best Service
Denver / Colorado
Best Ambiance
Denver / Colorado
13 More
Best Value
Denver / Colorado
Notable Wine List
Denver / Colorado
American
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Mountains
Best Food
Mountains
Best Service
Mountains
Best Ambiance
Mountains
Best Value
Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Mountains
Notable Wine List
Mountains
Romantic
Mountains
Special Occasion
Mountains
American
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Keystone ›

special occasion (38)
romantic (34)
fit for foodies (33)
See All
notable wine list (31)
scenic view (18)
neighborhood gem (10)
good for groups (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best meal in the entire Vail/Keystone/Br ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best meal in the entire Vail/Keystone/Breckenridge area! Outstanding service, incredible 4-course prix fix menu, gorgeous setting in a lovely, romantic inn surrounded by towering trees and breathtaking mountain scenery. Dessert and coffee is served by the fire in either the living room or lounge. Perfect dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is always excellent as is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food here is always excellent as is the service. The sommelier, Meagan, deserves special mention. Not only is she knowledgable but she never fails to recommend the perfect bottle of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and exper ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and experience, but thought it was way over priced. It has to be a special occasion to make it palatable to spend that kind of money on one meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful Dinner at the Ski Tip. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Another wonderful Dinner at the Ski Tip. New Chef has kept up with the quality we expect

at the Ski Tip . Will be back again .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere of a Swiss chalet with a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The atmosphere of a Swiss chalet with a great view is fantastic. Service is exceptional. I felt the food was very good, but not much different than other top Summit County restaurants. Definitely would recommend - excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Ski Tip Lodge is a huge surprise, a bit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Ski Tip Lodge is a huge surprise, a bit of traditional, old-style Vermont ski ambiance set in the Colorado Rockies. The architecture and decor are much more Swiss chalet / 10th Mt. Division than Western big-hat macho. My wife is almost blind, so negotiating the narrow twists and turns and steps down to the bar can be a challenge, but the dining room is lit just well enough for her. Megan, the sommelier and barkeep, knows her cellar; and Dominic, who has looked after us more than once, is the consummate pro waiter. Because they're pricey but also because they're so memorably good, we save meals at Ski Tip Lodge for special occasions—Christmas holidays with family or friends, that sort of thing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great anniversary dinner! Great rustic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great anniversary dinner! Great rustic chic ambience, relaxed service, delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've known about Ski Tip Lodge for year ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We've known about Ski Tip Lodge for years, but had never dined there. It was a birthday dinner and a wonderful choice. The menu was fabulous. Our server had an in depth knowledge of wines being served and offered good information even on the wines by the glass. Service was first rate. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I took my wife on a surprise date and it was enchanted. Great service and the food was delicious. Great ambiance as well. Worth the$$$$$

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We had a terrific meal at Ski Tips, The menu was interesting and delicious and service superb. The Sommelier was, however, overly chatty so we didn't receive our second bottle of red wine until well after we were served our entrees. He did redeem himself over dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Costly but worth it!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

The food and service was excellent...the price tag...whew! It's worth it for a special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special dining experience

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Picked this restaurant because it was listed as the top restaurant in Keystone. Then found out it is in the top 100 in the country. Our entire experience was perfect. The drinks, wine, food and service were top notch. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The wine steward was very knowledgeable, but we didn't feel pressured toward the most expensive choices. The service was attentive but never rushed. Love all the layers of favors and unique preparation of dishes. We were nervous about spending that much on dinner, but the whole experience was well worth the money. A very pleasant ending to our vacation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

The service, menu, wine and food are nothing short of outstanding!!! Love this venue...quaint and lovely...we come every year and every year it never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Fails to Amaze!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We are locals who have always considered The Ski Tip to be our special occasion go to restaurant for decades. In all of the years we have had the pleasure of dining at The Ski Tip we have never once been disappointment with the quality and specialty of the foods, the outstanding wine list and most of all, the friendly and attentive staff. Always a pleasure! Do not miss this wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended by a local

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We are part time residents of Summit County and enjoy going out to better restaurants. The Ski Tip Lodge is in an historic log lodge with an absolutely incredible menu. If you are truly a foodie, this place is a must. We will be back, most likely for a special occasion.sk

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

This is a top restaurant. Service, food and atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ski tip always delvers

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

This must be my fifth or sixth dinner at th ski tip and it is always excellent and memorable. The atmosphere is unique, cozy, nostalgic. The staff is excellent and very knowledgable. The menu changes daily but I can always find at least three selections I'd be more than happy with. My duck was so tasteful. Try the wine pairings. The sommelier is very entertaining and introduces some very tasty pairings. Desert. And after dinner drinks in the fireplace area outside of the main dining area is a great plus

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection from start to finish. Ambianc ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Perfection from start to finish. Ambiance exudes romance. Food and dessert were delicious. Loved every second of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another Ski Tip dinner exceeds high expectations

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

What a great place for fine dining nestled along the Snake River at the base of Dercum Mountain. Superb 4-course dinners with each designed to please the visual, olfactory, and gustatory senses. And with wine-pairings to enhance each course, be prepared for a memorable experience. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Always very amazing food. Menu changes regularly, and never ceases to impress. The waitstaff is extremely passionate about food and wine. I recommend the wine pairing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We visited the Ski Tip Lodge for dinner with our daughter while visiting her in CO. We expected an outstanding evening but it far exceeded our expectations. We started with a perfect cocktail in the sunken sitting area in front of the wood fireplace in the lounge. Our wait staff was very knowledge about the creative menu preparation and had a complete knowledge of the extensive wine list. The food was absolutely amazing!! This was an evening to remember - one that we hope to have again - sooner rather than later!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Out of this world

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We booked this place (and you should always book as it's not very big) only knowing it was #1 on tripadvisor and having friends recommend it. It was myself, husband and 2 kids (age 10 & 13) and even though they were the only kids there, it's worth taking them for the culinary experience. We didn't realise it was a set menu with a set tariff (which is expensive for kids over 12) but loved every choice they had and each course was cooked to perfection. To see my 10 year old drool over the chicken main course was priceless. The wine menu was also amazing and the wait staff very thorough and knowledgeable. The sommelier explained her wines in detail and our server was passionate about the food choices. We had been told beforehand to have our dessert by the fire which we did and they too were amazing. Overall it's a cosy place (also a B&B) with a lovely atmosphere. Yes it's pricey but this'll be one place you'll never forget.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great staff and lovely location

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

we really enjoyed the service, and location, the food was also notable. I personally loved the soup we had that day thickened with rice vs. cream and the veg that went along with the scallop was the surprise star.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic Experience!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Had dinner with another couple our 10 year old and their 8 and 4.

Food was great.

Wine pairing amazing and dessert to die for.

Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We had the most wonderful dinner experience at the Ski Tip Lodge. Every dish was to perfection. Highly recommended experience at very reasonable prices.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love this little charming pla ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Absolutely love this little charming place. So random and Hantzel and Gretelish. Out of a book but 5 star everything. ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Restaurant in the World (IMHO)

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The Ski Tip Lodge is expensive but worth every penny. I would HIGHLY recommend the wine pairing. The sommelier has been there for years and is amazingly knowledgeable. The lodge is historic and the dining room is cozy and warm. Dessert is usually served in a separate room next to a fireplace. We dine here every time we are in Keystone and always treasure the experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service and ambiance....VERY pricey

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Excellent service. Good food one gourmet level dining experience. Value for the portions and quality of "house " wines...poor. This is an xtrenely pricey restaurant for the portions and food diversity they provide.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

One of the best fine dining in USA

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

From the minute you walk in the door, you are taken care of. The staff is awesome. The food amazing and atmosphere is so romantic. It is a MUST if you are in Keystone or surrounding area. Loved every minute!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Everything from the building, to the food to the history and lastly the service. It was an amazing experience. The food was so tasteful and we wish the meal never ended. Thank you again for a great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Not such a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Great food and great service. Not such a great value since the started including a resort service charge.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Ambiance

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Ambiance and wait staff were amazing! Based on the other reviews I expected the food to be excellent. It wasn't. It was definitely worth checking out. I loved being moved to another room by the fire for desert. Overall fun experience. If you are a foodie, you will be disappointed :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful visit! As with all Keystone s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Wonderful visit! As with all Keystone signature restaurants, you will never be disappointed. Ski Tip is our favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Dining Experience

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

We eat at Ski Tip Lodge a couple of times a year. The food is always excellent and the service is impeccable. Though we don't go very often, the staff remembers us and treats us like old friends. We especially enjoy the soups, but every course is a delight.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christine was an outstanding server and ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Christine was an outstanding server and Megan's wine pairings were exceptional, as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite Place for Dining in Summit County

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

We have been dining at Ski Tip for over 25 years. It is always fabulous! The atmosphere in the winter is cozy, warm and welcoming. The staff are all professional but friendly. The entrees are always wonderful and dessert in the living room or by the fireplace is just the best! I highly recommend Ski Tip!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Keystone

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

This is hands down the best restaurant in Keystone. The menu, wine list, and staff are all excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tremendous food and service

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Tremendous food and service. The wind is that the wine steward recommended was outstanding and all of the food was great as well. The atmosphere is very charming. We had an after dinner drink along with dessert in front of a roaring fireplace in the historic Lodge.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely experience every time. The menu c ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Lovely experience every time. The menu changes daily and what often sounds like an overly ambitious and contrived dish is always excellent in execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic getaway

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I, took the weekend for a romantic getaway. We spent the night at the Hotel and we get a reservation for the restaurant on Friday at 5:45 p.m. It is important to make reservation in advance, we were lucky to find a table at the last moment.

The service was amazing, and the food excellent. Every course was delicious, I could not tell which one was my favorite.

Finally we ate the desserts next to the fireplace, which I thought it was a very good idea, to change the ambiance. We had apple strudel and a lemon parfait, both delicious... I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.