Ski Tip Lodge

4.9
724 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Notable Wine List
Come back to where it all began for Keystone. This former 1800's stagecoach stop has been transformed into a cozy bed and breakfast that boasts some of the best food this side of the Continental Divide. Step inside and you may never want to leave as the aroma of delicious cuisine fills the air. Experience the rotating four-course dinner menu and thoughtful service that continues to get rave reviews. Top off the night in a comfortable seat next to a rustic fireplace with a selection from Ski Tip’s famed desserts.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Thursday-Monday
Reservations available between 5:45p-6:30p and again from 8p-8:45p.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(970) 496-4950
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Jeff Qualls
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Alpenrose Pl
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Ski Tip Lodge has a private parking lot located in front of the lodge.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The Ski Tip Lodge is easily accessible by the Keystone Shuttle.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Ski Tip Lodge can accommodate private parties that wish to buy-out the restaurant for one or two seatings. Our Maximum Capacity for Private Parties increases with this option. Please contact Ski Tip directly for more information.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine
What 724 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.9based on recent ratings
4.9
food
4.9
service
4.9
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Life is a special occasion. Enjoy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Great food and excellent service. It was a special experience for our special anniversary night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

These folks never disappoint! The exceptional food is only surpassed by the attentive service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Amazing foot, lovely atmosphere, great service! Always visit this restaurant when we’re in town!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

As expected another beautiful evening. Always a treat when we can get a very last minute reservation. Can't wait to see what the new summer menu brings!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Awesome place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

This is hands-down the most wonderful dining experience of my life! I would travel back to Keystone solely to come to dinner at Ski Tip Lodge again. The menu is absolutely incredible and unique. The sommelier, Megan, is an absolute gem and made the dinner so much greater with her wine fantastic pairings. There is no limit to my compliments about this place. So beautiful, so historic, so perfect.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Upon arrival the menu was not the same as what was on the website which was in our favor as it had more options for our party.
Greeted by our friendly waitress (shorter hair with glasses) who was very patient as we waited for our party to decide on food. The two people I would call wine experts were very knowledgeable, our family enjoyed the stories that came with the wine and the Amandah story in regards to the procesco.
Our waitress took time to explain each course that came out with great detail.
Zero complaints on the food as the 3 out of 4 courses were fabulous.
However dessert took a drastic turn..
We had moved from our table in the restaurant to their cozy fireplace with our party to await desserts. Which took 45+ minutes to arrive. We had to inquire where our waitress has gone, another waiter had informed us there was a mix up and it would be out shortly. We again continued to wait while the party behind us was enjoying their dessert which arrived promptly after they sat down 10-15 minutes after our party.
When our waitress finally came out with the dessert, there was ZERO apologies for the hour delay in desserts.
When we recieved our bill there was not only a state/local tax but an additional Local tax.
The manager made an appearance, not to apologize for the delay or confusion but to add a bottle of procesco that she had forgot to put on.
$700+ (not including gratuity + 6.4% 'Resort Surcharge' ) later, our party made the charge using a Canadian credit card which was than declined due to out of country possible fraud charges.
Our waitress came out in her again non friendly attitude to let us know she was on hold with Visa for 20+ mins.
Overall, the food was outstanding, wine list was amazing and the environment was a cozy home feel.
The customer service and lack of letting customers know about the additional double tax was deplorable! We will not be returning or recommending this restaurant due to poor customer service and outrageous tax charge.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Love Ski Tip lodge, great service and delicious food but the best part was the ambiance - cocktails and desert by the fireplace, really cosy and special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We didn't know what to expect from our visit to the Ski Tip Lodge for drinks, dinner and dessert, but we were blown away. What a cozy and romantic evening spent with my wife and friends. Be prepared, though - it's a ~3 hour experience, but the wine list, food and service are well worth the commitment. It's pricey, too, but you definitely get what you pay for. Several servers and employees have been working there for over 20 years. Simply outstanding, and we'll definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

As usual it was tasteful and profession. Excellent menu options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

We had an amazing birthday celebration. The food was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Loved the dessert by the fire idea. I thought the pork was WAY too salty. Couldn’t even eat it. Everything else was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Epic.Special.Dinner. That’s it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The food was out of this world. The service was impeccable. The ambiance cannot be matched! This place is the quintessential diamond in the ruff! Cannot wait for our next visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Outstanding meal. I had celeriac soup w/drizzle of truffle oil, arugula and kale salad (fav part of dinner), and cooked to perfection filet. Sommelier recommended after dinner Sauturne-like Royal Tokaji 5 Puttonyos from Hungary. Perfect ending to my meal. After dinner, waiter treated us to a tour of the restaurant and a little history of the Dercums. Can't wait to return. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

The host, Chris, was very friendly, attentive and helping to make sure the patrons and us were having a very positive experience. Our waitress, Christine , was attentive knowledgeable and friendly. The food was excellent, the ambiance superb making an excellent birthday experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Great place for fine dining. Service was awesome and very attentive. Would definitely recommend and return, although would avoid young children (less than 5).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Good service, good food, ambiance is unique

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Excellent dining spot. Only negative, portions are a bit small particularly salads.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great place to celebrate a birthday.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 7, 2018

This restaurant really should discourage folks from bringing their kids. We brought our toddler and it was not the right setting for kids. They advertise having appetizers and such but the menu was a very very expensive prix fix menu. $50 for a tiny steak and buttered noodles for 3 year old is outrageous.

Also the cancellation policy is unfair. I called to cancel or reschedule our reservation, as we arrived in keystone the night of our reso with a toddler who was having a major meltdown and tantrum....the host didn’t care and I was told it would be $75 to cancel.

Lesson learned.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Everything was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

As always awesome - Megan and Curtis were spectacular with the wine again as always!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

What a wonderful experience we had! The ambiance was charming, the food was excuisite and the service was friendly, knowledgeable and excellent by Todd, our waiter and Meagan, the sommelier. We truly enjoyed everything about this experience. Would highly recommend for a special treat while in the area!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Awesome meal in a Fantastic setting!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

I told our waiter I was dairy free and to leave off cheese, whenever possible. Each dish came out with the cheese on it. Most good restaurants today, have dairy free alternatives, or at least take food allergies seriously. This waiter did not pay attention to my allergy nor do as I asked. Not good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

The Ski Tip lodge is a great special occasion restaurant with a cool history. The service is excellent, the food is very good and ambiance is warm, cozy ski chalet. The wine selection is great and Megan and Curtis do a fantastic job explaining the wine pairings. Their wine stories alone are worth the trip. Dessert in front of the two big fireplaces is also a really nice touch. It is however an extremely expensive place and you do not get a ton of food for the money. You will be full, but if you are looking for a large plate of food (and potentially leftovers) you won't find it here. Four people and a $700 bill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Ski Tip Lodge does not disappoint. We opted for the wine pairings and were quickly lost in the taste sensations for every course.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

By far, Ski Tip Lodge is our favorite restaurant in the area. This was our fifth visit and it was delightful. Todd did an excellent job as our server. We loved his sense of humor, attentive service and knowledge. Meagan and Kurtis always do a wonderful job. While a fine dining experience, everyone is warm and kind; we appreciate the unpretentious manner. Food quality and presentation were outstanding and, coupled with the quaint, historic setting, we were more than satisfied. Already looking forward to our next visit! Thanks for a lovely evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Dominic was a new waiter for us at Ski Tip and we were very pleased. Food was superb. Great experience as always. Brian and Lori Moeller

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

We've been coming here for years and have always received the best food and service - the Ski Tip Lodge never disappoints and just seems to get better each year!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Fantastic experience all around

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I have dined there before and it had a great ambiance with calming lighting and a low noise level.

This time we were pressured in to buying more wine every 15 minutes, felt rushed and the fact that they allowed 2 guests at the table next to us to constantly be on their phones (and I truly mean the entire time) we felt like we were dining at a lunchtime bistro.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Great meal. The service was some of the best in summit county. It is a 4 course meal for $80. You can add wine pairing on for $45/person. We had a glass of wine and two cocktails as well. Our total bill with tip was $330 for two of us. The food was delicious. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Excellent ambience, food and service. One of our favorite places to go for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Wouldn’t let me exit without leaving more. How’s this?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

The Ski Tip remains our favorite place to eat in Keystone. The staff all remember us from year to year, the food is outstanding and Megan is brilliant with the wine selections.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Our first night dinner experience for the week was at Ski Tip Lodge. Place is quite cozy, with two fireplaces and very kind staff. They serve 4 course dinner for adults and 3 curse dinner for children, at $80 and $45 respectively. Food was average, very good soups and desserts, but very average main entrees, especially the Wagyu Beef Striploin, which does not taste at all like Wagyu beef. Having a bottle of wine, and tips. We are talking almost $400 for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. That is the price of a 2-3 stars Michelin, and this is far away from such food experience. Maybe they consider giving the fix price menu as optional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

This has become our go to restaurant for our special dinner out during our yearly ski trip to Keystone. Great food, great service. Our server, James, made the evening even more enjoyable!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19

Tweets by Ski Tip Lodge