Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.89mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.89mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.89mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.89mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi

About Ski Tip Lodge

Come back to where it all began for Keystone. This former 1800's stagecoach stop has been transformed into a cozy bed and breakfast that boasts some of the best food this side of the Continental Divide. Step inside and you may never want to leave as the aroma of delicious cuisine fills the air. Experience the rotating four-course dinner menu and thoughtful service that continues to get rave reviews. Top off the night in a comfortable seat next to a rustic fireplace with a selection from Ski Tip’s famed desserts.

764 Montezuma Road
Keystone, CO 80435-7821
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Currently Closed until June 8th.

Cross Street:
Alpenrose Pl

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 496-4950

Website:
http://www.keystoneresort.com/diningdetail/Key+-+The+Ski+Tip+Lodge.axd

Parking Details:
The Ski Tip Lodge has a large private parking lot located in front of the lodge.

Public Transit:
The Ski Tip Lodge is easily accessible by the Keystone Shuttle.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andrew Scruggs

Private Party Contact:
Mercedes Provost: (970) 496-4950

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ski Tip Lodge can accommodate private parties that wish to buy-out for the restaurant for one or two seatings. Our Maximum Capacity for Private Parties increases with this option. Please contact Ski Tip directly for more information.

Ski Tip Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fireplace (43)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Romantic (39)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for a Date (35)
Historic (34)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Cozy (29)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Authentic (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Scenic View (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Seasonal (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Private Room (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (5)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Hands down, the best place in Summit County. My wife and I dined here 5 times in the past and they were all excellent experiences. The new chef Andy has taken the dining to even a higher level. Todd is one of the best waiters you will ever come across with his extensive knowledge of the menu and easy going yet professional approach to assuring that you will have a wonderful evening. Please make sure to go with the wine parings. Their sommelier Megan is so delightful in her explanations of the unique and perfectly matched wines.

Keep up the great work Ski Tip Lodge team!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We always like to dine at the Ski Tip Lodge for special occasions. They had an end-of-season special the week we went, which was too good to pass up. I prefer summers (they re-open in mid-June) because having cocktails on the patio before dinner is wonderful, but this is a great place even in mud season.

The food, service, and atmosphere were great, as usual. Todd was our server and could not have done a better job. Although I do not drink wine, those in our party who did confirmed what I've often heard... that Meghan is the best sommelier in the county and possibly the state.

But don't come hungry. The food is superb but the portions are small, as in most upscale establishments. For non-drinkers the price is not too bad for fine dining (about $80 for the four-course menu). but wine and cocktails can send the check through the roof. Still, because the Ski Tip is located at a ski resort, you can have that "special occasion" dinner while wearing jeans and still feel pampered. For locals who want to impress their out of town guests, make reservations here. They'll talk about it for years.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Fantastic old stagecoach stop. Very nice meal and wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

we look forward to our dinner at ski tip lodge all year long

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The server had to look at notes to tell us what was being served. He often forgot what we ordered and had ask us again. I was disappointed with the desserts. I expected a better experience.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We've been coming to the Ski Tip Lodge for dinner for three decades. While it's not inexpensive, you certainly get your money's worth. It continues to be one of Summit County's premier dining venues. The historic setting just adds to its ambience. Go and enjoy.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. The knowledgeable staff guided us through the outstanding food and wine selections. Moving to another room to have dessert in front of the fireplace was the perfect ending to the evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great food, excellent service, wonderful atmosphere. We are going back to this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Fantastic Keystone Gem! Went to Ski Tip with my wife while on a Spring family ski trip to Keystone (left the kids at the condo). Atmosphere was casual (we were concerned as we did not bring nice clothes for the trip, but we were comfortable in sweaters and jeans). During Spring they do two sittings 5:45pm and 8pm. We did the 5:45pm which started with a wonderful selection of breads. My understanding is that the menu changes weekly. Our menu included two choices of soup (crab bisque was rich and wonderful for a snowy evening). Next were two salad choices followed by the choice of 5 main courses - again, the filet and the lamb chops were both wonderful. Once you are finished with your main course, they ask you to move to another room (comfy chairs and big fireplaces) for deserts which were also delicious. If you like wine, I would highly recommend the wine pairings with your meals (which also included some port with desert). The Sommelier Meagan was wonderful. She chose wines for each individual course of our meal, all of which were wonderful and complimented the food. She also had interesting stories about the different vineyards which added to our enjoyment. We will definitely be back on our next trip to the area!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The ski tip is one of our favorite dining experiences in summit county. Quaint warm and great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Found on ski trip with 2 friends while at Keystone. Charmin, rustic, European alpine feel. Get there a little early to enjoy a cocktail in their two "living room" areas. Prix Fixe menu 3 or 4 course. Generally 2 seatings. True Gourmet food. Make sure you speak with either of the two Sommelier's. The wine list is amazing and they made fantastic recommendations for pairings. They move you back to the "living rooms" for the dessert course and after dinner drinks.

Make sure you make reservations as they may have only about 12 tables.
Is on the expensive side.

Liked it so much, I took my wife there when we came back a month later for more skiing at Breckenridge. Easy 1/2 hour drive from Breck.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Ski Tip is always the best
Fine Dining in Colorado Ski country. Ambiance,wine list, 4 perfect courses, with perfect cozy desert aside the fireplace. We had a vegan and she was perfectly satisfied with many selections. Somoilirer Megan is the best.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Authentic, Casual, Organic, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fabulous as always! One of our favorite restaurants in Colorado

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Just a fantastic evening. Love, love, love the Ski Tip

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

As has always been our experience, it was outstanding! We went for a wine pairing dinner and both the food courses and the selected wines were excellent. It's really pricey, but worth it on all levels. Ambience is warm and cozy. A lovely evening!

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We had such an amazing experience. There is so much history and charm in this building. The meal was exceptional. We even had our picky husbands trying new things and enjoying them. It was a great setting for a much needed adult get-together for our family. It is not a budget dinner so save it for a special occasion! The service team was amazing. We just had the best evening ever and are still talking about it!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Best restaurant, wine list in Summit Co.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Ski Tip is one of the best restaurants in Keystone, if not THE best! It exceeded our expectations. Outstanding from the minute you arrive . Food and service and of course the setting, five star all the way!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We have come to expect only the best from STL--and once again the STL crew performed with panache and aplomb built upon a foundation of great food presented to provide a wonderful multi-sensory gastronomic experience. A blue crab salad surrounded by crab bisque was followed by a watercress salad bordered by carrot butter on one side and a contrasting spicy peanut butter on the other side--I never would have come up with that combination, but it worked very well. The prosciutto wrapped pork tenderloin was a melt in your mouth treat. And smoked chocolate chips embedded in vanilla ice cream as a part of the Keystone S'More were the finishing touches. A "must-do" for any STL diner is to have Megan provide a description of your wine selections for the evening. An even better treat is to enjoy her wine-pairings which will open your eyes (and palette) to options that you may not have previously encountered. You can tell that all of the staff enjoy "performing" and relish the opportunity to provide each diner with a dining experience to remember. We love this place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was excellent & the wine pairing is highly recommended, and could be shared.
My only complaint was my main course which was highly recommended by our server. It was the pork loin which was absolutely horrible. It tasted like a bad thanksgiving ham & looked like large slices of hot dog. Not at all what I expected and paid a hefty price for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been to ski tip many times as we are locals. We came to celebrate 2 birthdays. They were notified we were there for 2 special occasions ahead of time but never acknowledged it through our meal. My husband and daughter had the strip steak, it was chewy and overdone. My other daughter had lamb chops, 2 small chops, very little meat, too fatty. Creme Brûlée for dessert was like water. You may ask what they said when we told them, well we would have but not one ever asked "how is everything." Totally disappointed. We won't go back and will stop recommending it to our visitors. We don't know what has happened to this spot that use to be a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We love the atmosphere at Ski Tip Lodge. Perhaps our expectations were too high but after the delicious soup, we all agreed that the remainder of our dinner was good but definitely not great. For the price, the portions are very small. The presentation was very nice. We'll probably try something else next time.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have been to Ski Tip many times and it never loses its charm and attraction . The food is always exceptional and the wine pairing, with the help of the sommelier, wrapped up by the move to the charming fireplace for dessert, keeps us coming back for a special experience every single time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We have eaten at Ski Tip for many years when we go out skiing. It is our favorite restaurant anywhere. The food, the service and the ambiance is unbeatable. Our #1 place to eat.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This restaurant rocks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was an outstanding experience. Situated in an old historic building, the dining rooms retained the charm of the old stagecoach inn, it once was. The set menu offerings were limited, but with very interesting choices. The menu changes weekly. The sommeliers (there were two) were both very knowledgeable and had interesting information about many of the wine choices. The wine list has over 600 choices. Throughout the evening, the staff was attentive and showed a sincere interest in our experience. The set menu includes appetizer, soup or salad, main course and dessert, which was served in two adjacent rooms, with large fireplaces. Food was outstanding, choices included beef, fowl, pork, wild game and seafood.
You cannot go wrong with a trip to the Ski Tip Lodge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is truly a hidden gem! The ambiance was so relaxing and romantic. It gave such a homey and cozy feeling. The food was deeelicious! I loved that we could have our dessert by the fireplace. The servers were so nice and helpful with everything. It was an overall very welcoming and nice experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Place, service, food, wine selection- all outstanding- first class yet so comfortable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Absolutely superb, as always. We dine here several times a year for special occasions. Never have been disappointed, summer or winter. The somelier Curtis, this particular evening, Megan other evenings, are an absolute pleasure, and always add so much to the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Wow!!! What an amazing evening
We were spoiled from start to finish
The food was spectacular!!!
Highly recommend the wine pairing with the knowledgeable Megan- she bought the wines to life
Our waiter James was engaging & attentive
This was a spectacular evening & I would highly recommend going to ski Tip- we finished our evening by the fireplace with cheese & a reinvented s'mores plus dessert wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere and historic setting. Great wine list and knowledgeable staff with great recommendations. Perfect place for a leisurely evening. Chef is very creative and more than willing to share his techniques.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Amazing! If you're staying at Keystone and want to find the best meal at the resort, this is it. I work at Keystone and this is by far the best meal I've had there. Can't recommend this highly enough!

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food was great. The wait staff exceptional. The sommeliers was world class!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Pretentious and overpriced. Felt pressured by staff to purchase wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Marcie, the Sommelier was outstanding; she paired each course with an excellent wine and provided tastes first just to make sure. The rest of the service is not quite up to her standard but did not interfere with a fine meal.
The savory food was outstanding with excruciating attention to detail. For e.g. cider poached cranberries as an accompaniment to the duck that were an exceptional touch. I had never head almond milk as a base for soup but it nicely complemented the yam soup in a way that most sweet potato soups need without overpowering it. Clearly a result of experimentation by the chef that paid off.
The only disappointment was a bizarre take on key lime pie for dessert. It was kind of a deconstructed frozen dish that completely missed.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2017

This place is amazing it is a dining experience like no other. You will love every moment. Treat yourself to this before leaving the mountains.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The Ski Tip Lodge gave us a intimate dinning experience. The four course meal was unique and delicious. The two of us chose different items all of which were delightful. Desert in front of the fire was a wonderful way to end the evening.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Ski Tip is our favorite of all restaurants. Every time we visit Keystone , we make sure we dine there.
All is perfect, from food to service. The best part is the dessert by fire place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and wine list. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion.
Limited menu choice but everything was very unique and good. Very small
dining area and you need to make reservations quite a bit in advance. A nice
touch is having desert in one of their sitting rooms. I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Low ceilings, as it should be in a building from the 1800's. From the greeting at the door by the hostess, the service was impeccable. Our waiter Lance was extremely knowledgeable about every course and every ingredient. I listened to the sommelier school another table, who thought themselves quiet expert, but I think they learned something knew on this visit.
The head chef, Andrew, came out to check on us. We complemented him on his creativity and attention to detail. He was appreciative and humble. He could work anywhere in the country if he choose to. What a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.