About Ski Tip Lodge

Come back to where it all began for Keystone. This former 1800's stagecoach stop has been transformed into a cozy bed and breakfast that boasts some of the best food this side of the Continental Divide. Step inside and you may never want to leave as the aroma of delicious cuisine fills the air. Experience the rotating four-course dinner menu and thoughtful service that continues to get rave reviews. Top off the night in a comfortable seat next to a rustic fireplace with a selection from Ski Tip’s famed desserts.

764 Montezuma Road
Keystone, CO 80435-7821
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Apres Ski: Seven Days (except for holidays) 3pm - 5pm. Small plates and drink specials. Please call to check availability. Available June 30th, 2016 - September 5th, 2016

Dinner: Seven Days: 5:45pm - 6:30pm and 8pm - 8:45pm (reservations required & offered during two separate seatings each night)

Cross Street:
Alpenrose Pl

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 354-4386

Website:
http://www.keystoneresort.com/diningdetail/Key+-+The+Ski+Tip+Lodge.axd

Parking Details:
The Ski Tip Lodge has a large private parking lot located in front of the lodge.

Public Transit:
The Ski Tip Lodge is easily accessible by the Keystone Shuttle.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andrew Scruggs

Private Party Contact:
Mercedes Provost: (970) 496-4950

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ski Tip Lodge can accommodate private parties that wish to buy-out for the restaurant for one or two seatings. Our Maximum Capacity for Private Parties increases with this option. Please contact Ski Tip directly for more information.

Ski Tip Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (34)
Special Occasion (34)
Historic (34)
See All
Fireplace (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Cozy (30)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Authentic (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Scenic View (10)
Seasonal (8)
Private Room (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
512 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant has a nice historic ambia ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The restaurant has a nice historic ambiance but what steals the show is the fabulous food and the ability of the staff to do fantastic wine pairings. Anyone who loves good food and good wine will find this one of the best experiences they can imagine.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came to Keystone for ou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

My husband and I came to Keystone for our Wedding Anniversary and a friend from Denver recommended this restaurant. From the moment we walked into this charming building we were mesmerized. The living room and spectacular fireplace is an inviting area to sit while the table is being prepared.

We both chose to do the wine pairing with our meals. The experience was very special and we will ALWAYS do this when we return. The food was delicious and every course delivered.

Finishing our meal with dessert by the fireplace was perfection.

Thank you,

Kevin and Deanne Caskey

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ski Tip was wonderful once again! We try ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Ski Tip was wonderful once again! We try to go at least once a year while skiing at Keystone and always so enjoy being spoiled by the atmosphere, service, and incredible food, always a new menu each time we visit!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining with excellent and creative ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Fine dining with excellent and creative food; superb service. A gem.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As a professed foodie, this will remain ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

As a professed foodie, this will remain in my top 2 restaurants for Keystone. If you're after a cozy mountain fine dining interlude. Well worth the visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and fun menu beautifully executed ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Fresh and fun menu beautifully executed with a stellar wine list to go with it. Dessert in the lounge by the fire - you just can't get better than that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint and cute. Friendly and welcoming ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Quaint and cute. Friendly and welcoming staff. Food extremely average to poor. Worst martini and soup I ever had anywhere, ever. Entrees were average, price ridiculous. Memorable evening because of how disappointed we were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great setting, excellent food choices, g ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great setting, excellent food choices, great wine selections - do the wine pairing option, very knowledgeable and well worth it.

Would suggest large groups be placed in a different area than smaller, more intimate parties.

A large group (from Open Table) was seated in same open area as smaller parties. They were a fun group but did increase the noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it! W e had a great family dinn ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We loved it! W e had a great family dinner . The wine list was great and the service wonderful

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was fantastic. The food was u ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This place was fantastic. The food was unique and comparative quality wise to a few of the top restaurants in the area (Alpenglow, etc.). The service was a notch above the rest though and surprisingly a more affordable experience. I wish I had known about this place earlier as I will be going back every time I visit Keystone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had the pleasure of cel ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

My husband and I had the pleasure of celebrating our third anniversary here. The staff made this experience nothing short of spectacular for us! This is a wonderful, quiet place for a date night. The food is as pleasing aesthetically as it was on the palate. The wine list is out of this world! They even have sommeliers on staff to educate and help you find the perfect bottle for your meal. The building is historical, dating back to the 1860s! Cozy up by the huge fire place with a delicious house-infused cocktail while admiring the dark wood beams and gorgeous antique furniture. You'll feel right at home!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, , Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing personable service, lovely place ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Amazing personable service, lovely place, great food. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time we had eaten at ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This was the first time we had eaten at this restaurant and were very pleasantly surprised especially since it was in Keystone, Colorado. My wife and I are from New York and are foodies that have dined all over the world. The food and presentation was excellent. The service throughout was quite attentive. The sommelier was knowledgeable and interesting. Dessert is served in a separate den-type area with a roaring fire. All together it was a very good meal served by good waiters and waitresses in a particularly warm setting. The building itself is an expanded stagecoach stop dating back 150 years. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meagan, our sommelier, was extremely kno ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Meagan, our sommelier, was extremely knowledgeable about wine pairing. She also shared wonderful stories of geographical details, processes, and history of various vineyards. Meagan connected with us in a way that helped us feel relaxed, yet enthusiastic, about our selection.

The cuisine and our overall experience were just as delightful as the staff!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A complete dining experience. The food, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

A complete dining experience. The food, wine pairing and service were all amazing! Amount was just right, left feeling replete but not uncomfortable. Ambiance, especially desert by the fireplace was lovely. This was the best part of our trip to Keystone!

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant. We are lucky in S ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. We are lucky in Summit County to have it so close to home!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ski Tip is a charming restaurant offeri ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ski Tip is a charming restaurant offering delicious cuisine and personalized service. The staff is friendly and dedicated to making your experience enjoyable, while the two sommeliers are very knowledgeable regarding the extensive wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ski Tip Lodge is truly a hidden gem. The ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ski Tip Lodge is truly a hidden gem. The ambience, food, and service were all outstanding. What was incongruous was the price. At $125 a person I expected more than a tablespoon each of creamed spinach and puréed sweet potato, the amount of which which was equivalent to the Béchamel sauce served with the meat. I was extremely disappointed with the miserly portions of vegetables especially since they were so beautifully described on the menu and I love veggies. Based on the amount on our plates, you would have thought they were truffles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Truly a Summit delight! We dined in cel ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Truly a Summit delight! We dined in celebration of our anniversary and enjoyed doing the wine pairings with our dinner. Everything was delectable and the service is tops.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been coming to Keystone for 30+ ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been coming to Keystone for 30+ years and Ski Tip has always been on our list to come at least once while we are here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Fireplace, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have a wonderful day before New Years ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have a wonderful day before New Years meal with our 2 teenagers. They were adventurous and tried the rabbit and bean soup and the roast quail with quail egg and loved everything, especially the beautifully prepared desserts by the fireplace and christmas tree.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ski Tip is always one of our favorit ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Ski Tip is always one of our favorites when dining in the Summit area. Our dining experience was so exceptional that we booked another night next week. We love the new menu and the warm, charming ambiance. Megan is always an expert in her recommendations for wine to accompany our dining experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow. What an experience. From the minute ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wow. What an experience. From the minute we arrived , we were greeted and sat in the living room and enjoyed a lovey cocktail. We were seated early and was in awe of the menu. Our four top ordered main entrees such as elk, rabbit, short ribs and pork tenderloin. Two people did the wine flights with dinner and Kurtis the sommelier was amazing with his knowledge and picks. After our three courses, we went to the family room and enjoyed our desserts. The homemade s'more with hand made marsh mellows and smoked vanilla ice cream was a huge hit. Thanks so much for adding a wonderful finish to our ski trip in Breck.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Ski Tip Lodge met all ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our experience at Ski Tip Lodge met all expectations. I had heard many wonderful things about this historic and special place and it did not disappoint. The food, ambiance and service were outstanding. This was a special family dinner during the Christmas/New Year's holiday and topped off a completely amazing week in Keystone. Highly recommend to experience Ski Tip Lodge.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at SkiTip Lodg ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at SkiTip Lodge. The food was very good! The duck breast was delicious! We enjoyed dessert by the fireplace. The tables are a little close and stuffy feeling. Be prepared to pay. It is about $75 a person plus your beverages. The menu is set up in courses. Overall we had a nice dinner and would recommend it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

There are not enough words to describe t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

There are not enough words to describe the experience. One of the best meals I've ever had. The whole family spent Christmas dinner at the ski tip lodge and it was nothing short of fantastic. Starting with the ambiance of an 1800s wood cabin/lodge to an amazing five course meal to top it off with my favorite - dessert and coffee by the fireplace. This place can't be beat and it's a must experience if you're in the area. Super romantic atmosphere and cozy for a small space at the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ski Tip Lodge has always been one of my ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Ski Tip Lodge has always been one of my favorite restaurants because of the warm and comfortable ambiance. It's so fun to have cocktails next to the crackling fire, then move to the intimate dining room for a unique food experience. Delicious desserts and after dinner drinks are enjoyed in another cozy sitting room with a natural fireplace glowing. Special occasions are made extra memorable! Make sure to plan ahead on your next visit to Keystone and experience Ski Tip.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten all over Summit County and t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We've eaten all over Summit County and this was our first time at Ski Tip. The place was quaint and the service truly unsurpassed! The food, however, for the price especially, was just good. Nothing spectacular compared with some other top restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Amazing food with a prix fixed menu. Sp ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Amazing food with a prix fixed menu. Special touches were added to each meal upon delivery. With only 10 tables in this restaurant and at least 15 people on staff the service was top notch. The restaurants is located in an 1860 ski chateau and renovated in 1940 with original foundation and frame. Dessert is served fireside in a separate room to enjoy and relax. The chef was trained in Texas culinary school and worked most recently at Sweet Basil in Vail. Wonderful experience. Don't miss visiting this top 100 restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants ever! Defin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of the best restaurants ever! Definitely my favorite in the Rockies!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience! Wonderful stuff, good ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great experience! Wonderful stuff, good food. I will be back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, highly recommend the win ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent food, highly recommend the wine pairing with each course. I was introduced to some outstanding wines by Megan the Sommelier. Service was top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food. Cozy location. We star ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent food. Cozy location. We started and ended our meal in a living room with a fireplace and Christmas tree. The sommelier was very helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My adult family of six recently dined at ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My adult family of six recently dined at the Ski Tip and we absolutely loved it. The food was outstanding, service impeccable, and the wine steward was extremely knowledgeable and selected wonderful wines for us! The ambiance is wonderful!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Seasonal, Romantic, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place really terriffic

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Love this place really terriffic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have had dinner here several times over ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Have had dinner here several times over the last few years and it's always been excellent.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal I have had to date! The am ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The best meal I have had to date! The ambiance and decor make you feel like you're eating in an 1700's log cabin. The service is second to none and the food is nothing less than exceptional. I don't think 5 stars is enough!!!

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in the state ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the state. Exquisite dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience! Have wonder ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! Have wonderful memories of dining at Ski Tip. Quiet and rustic ambiance

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was such a mixed experience but ove ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This was such a mixed experience but overall can't get over what a tourist trap this place is.

The good - Fireside drinks before dinner in the authentic room with decent bartender; quality of entrees was excellent and one pasta dish was very tasty.

The bad - The rest of the forced tasting menu was mediocre (mandatory soup dish and weak dessert). The dining room itself is dated looking and cheesy compared to the rustic charm of the bar/dessert room. The young/amateurish dining room staff is forced to deliver lengthy scripted speeches about each dish that consists simply of pointing out each ingredient tediously (even when they struggle to recall) without providing any insightful or proprietary knowledge about the dish. My wife and I have been to dozens of tasting menus in NYC and around the world and never received such laughable commentary (thanks but I know what raisins look like!). The restaurant is very strict on not sharing menus and even do a kids tasting menu. I get that the dining area is small but this reeks of a money grab given the lack of quality of each dish.

Overall there are much better fancy restaurants in the Front Range. This one is best avoided until they reformat the meal better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.