About Ski Tip Lodge

764 Montezuma Road
Keystone, CO 80435-7821
View Larger Map

Come back to where it all began for Keystone. This former 1800's stagecoach stop has been transformed into a cozy bed and breakfast that boasts some of the best food this side of the Continental Divide. Step inside and you may never want to leave as the aroma of delicious cuisine fills the air. Experience the rotating four-course dinner menu and thoughtful service that continues to get rave reviews. Top off the night in a comfortable seat next to a rustic fireplace with a selection from Ski Tip’s famed desserts.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Apres Ski: Seven Days (except for holidays) 3pm - 5pm. Small plates and drink specials. Please call to check availability. Available June 30th, 2016 - September 5th, 2016

Dinner: Seven Days: 5:45pm - 6:30pm and 8pm - 8:45pm (reservations required & offered during two separate seatings each night)

Cross Street:
Alpenrose Pl

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 354-4386

Website:
http://www.keystoneresort.com/diningdetail/Key+-+The+Ski+Tip+Lodge.axd

Parking Details:
The Ski Tip Lodge has a large private parking lot located in front of the lodge.

Public Transit:
The Ski Tip Lodge is easily accessible by the Keystone Shuttle.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andrew Scruggs

Private Party Contact:
Mercedes Provost: 9704964950x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ski Tip Lodge can accommodate private parties that wish to buy-out for the restaurant for one or two seatings. Our Maximum Capacity for Private Parties increases with this option. Please contact Ski Tip directly for more information.

Ski Tip Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Denver / Colorado
Best Food
Denver / Colorado
Best Service
Denver / Colorado
15 More
Best Ambiance
Denver / Colorado
Fit for Foodies
Denver / Colorado
Notable Wine List
Denver / Colorado
Romantic
Denver / Colorado
American
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Mountains
Best Food
Mountains
Best Service
Mountains
Best Ambiance
Mountains
Best Value
Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Mountains
Notable Wine List
Mountains
Romantic
Mountains
Special Occasion
Mountains
American
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Keystone ›

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (38)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Notable Wine List (32)
Scenic View (21)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Make your reservation early, limited sea ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Make your reservation early, limited seating and always full

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual and as expected, the Ski Tip is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As usual and as expected, the Ski Tip is easily Keystone Resort's best restaurant as well as being one of the best restaurants in Colorado. Great menu, intimate romantic setting, awesome wine list, excellent food quality, and spot-on service. The service pace was just as it should be. The staff is friendly and helpful with excellent knowledge of the menu. The sommelier's recommended pairings were perfect. Highly, highly, highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here 3 times a year - whenever w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We come here 3 times a year - whenever we are at Keystone. The food is a good as anything in Chicago (where we live). Excellent menu without being too extensive. With 4 courses, I like to pick 2 rich items and 2 not so rich. Desert in front of the fireplace or outdoors is a delight - it was a chilly summer night so they kept us inside. Wait staff and Megan, the sommelier are always terrific. Can't wait to be back in December.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening celebrating o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a wonderful evening celebrating our anniversary. The food was exceptional, the wine list extensive and the lodge was an incredible location to celebrate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always one of our favorites, and our las ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always one of our favorites, and our last visit was no exception. Great food, service was outstanding, and the little chocolate 'Happy Birthday' on the dessert plate was very much appreciated. Can't say enough good things about Ski Tip!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was over the top in many ways ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dinner was over the top in many ways. I did the wine pairings with my meal and they were all very well matched to the food. The sommelier was well versed to speak to each wine as it was poured. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed it very much! As far as the f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We enjoyed it very much! As far as the food goes, we though the main courses (pork chops and beef) were fantastic. The dessert (goat cheese cake and strawberry cobbler) were also top notch. We thought the soups (tomato basil and tortilla) were good but nothing special, and the appetizers (tiger shrimp and salad) were rather disappointing. The waitress was very nice and attentive, but kind of intense and we didn't really need every single item on the menu described to us in detail-it's frustrating to have to sit there while she describes everything and pretend like you care what she's saying. We come to a nice restaurant because we assume you know how to make good food, we don't need a soliloquy on the ingredients.

Loved the retire to the den for dessert aspect. Very relaxing and enjoyable way to end the evening. Overall, we had a great time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were joined by out of state friends w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We were joined by out of state friends who were celebrating their 42nd wedding anniversary. From the moment of arrival to the time of departure everything was above and beyond all expectations. Dominic was an exceptional host/waiter and along with some fun time with Kurtis made the evening one to remember. The pheasant, scollops and steak were all perfect in preparation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite restaurant of our fami ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always a favorite restaurant of our family. Excellent food and service. The new chef Andrew is fantastic and we enjoyed meeting and visiting with him. Kudos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food ... Compliments to the chief! ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food ... Compliments to the chief!

Everyone should experience this wonderful restaurant and great ambiance ! Relax and take in all the meal coarses. Enjoy and we will be back as soon as possible !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality ingredients imaginatively blende ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Quality ingredients imaginatively blended and artfully presented for maximum visual, olfactory, and gustatory pleasures. Once again, the entire STL crew succeeded from the moment we were warmly greeted, through our dining room courses imaginatively paired with wines selected from around the world, finishing with desserts and salted chocolates at a table looking out upon Dercum Mountain. Keystone dining at its very best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our best dining experiences ever. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

One of our best dining experiences ever...Dominic was our main server but his knowledge of the courses, friendly nature and attention was awesome...can't wait to come back! Of course the food was over-the-top...fresh and very creative..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was incredible and the 4 course p ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Dinner was incredible and the 4 course pairing was reasonably priced for the quality and quantity of the food. Megan did an amazing job of picking out wines that were well paired with the food and was a wealth of knowledge about the various regions the wine came from as well as providing us interesting tid bits about the wineries and winemakers. The scenery can't be beat. If the weather is nice, I recommend dessert on the patio...simply breathtaking at sunset.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time to dine at Ski Tip and we were ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

1st time to dine at Ski Tip and we were not disappointed. Great food, service and ambiance. It a pre fix menu but a good variety to choose from. Reservations a must! We will return to Ski Tip next time we are in Keystone.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was very good, the portio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

While the food was very good, the portions are definitely smaller with this new chef. I would rate my dinner as excellent, but my husband's wild boar entree was very chewy and fatty. This was the third time we had dined at Ski Tip this summer, and it seemed as though we always one person at our table that was dissatisfied with their dinner, while the others thoroughly enjoyed their dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The setting is lovely, and the history o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The setting is lovely, and the history of the lodge makes it even more special. We looked forward to going because of the reviews. We had some loud people near us - not the fault of the restaurant. The food was good - a little salty for me but my husband had no complaints. The boar and the beef were tender. We enjoyed the experience overall and would recommend everyone go at least once.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely outstanding experience on all ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Absolutely outstanding experience on all counts! This was a return visit with friends who had never been there and we were so pleased that all the expectations we created were fulfilled and more. Thank you for a most lovely evening!! We will be sure and return each time we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have traveled all over the world and e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I have traveled all over the world and eaten in some of the best spots in Chicago, NYC, San Francisco, LA, London, Paris, Beijing and Brussels, and the food here ranks right up there with the best.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous food, wine and service. This is ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Fabulous food, wine and service. This is my second visit and look forward to my 3rd!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal in the entire Vail/Keystone/Br ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Best meal in the entire Vail/Keystone/Breckenridge area! Outstanding service, incredible 4-course prix fix menu, gorgeous setting in a lovely, romantic inn surrounded by towering trees and breathtaking mountain scenery. Dessert and coffee is served by the fire in either the living room or lounge. Perfect dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A coworker and I stopped by during a con ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A coworker and I stopped by during a conference in town and were pleasantly surprised. The reviews of his place don't do it justice. The food was incredible, and the service even more so. It's certainly worth an evening in their care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is always excellent as is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food here is always excellent as is the service. The sommelier, Meagan, deserves special mention. Not only is she knowledgable but she never fails to recommend the perfect bottle of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sommelier, Megan Morgan, is absolute ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The sommelier, Megan Morgan, is absolutely outstanding with her wine pairing for each course at dinner. The depth and breadth of her knowledge is the penultimate in skill and knowledge.

The wines she picks wines from all over the world and not only do they pair well with the food, but they are wonderful wines that most of us would not otherwise experience.

Chef Bryan Baker is a young and very creative chef who is great now and has an even greater future ahead of him. Also, the wait staff at Ski Tip make the dining experience most enjoyable.

We have been regular guest at the Ski Tip for more than 25 years and are always pleased to return.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and exper ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and experience, but thought it was way over priced. It has to be a special occasion to make it palatable to spend that kind of money on one meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful Dinner at the Ski Tip. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Another wonderful Dinner at the Ski Tip. New Chef has kept up with the quality we expect

at the Ski Tip . Will be back again .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere of a Swiss chalet with a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The atmosphere of a Swiss chalet with a great view is fantastic. Service is exceptional. I felt the food was very good, but not much different than other top Summit County restaurants. Definitely would recommend - excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Ski Tip Lodge is a huge surprise, a bit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Ski Tip Lodge is a huge surprise, a bit of traditional, old-style Vermont ski ambiance set in the Colorado Rockies. The architecture and decor are much more Swiss chalet / 10th Mt. Division than Western big-hat macho. My wife is almost blind, so negotiating the narrow twists and turns and steps down to the bar can be a challenge, but the dining room is lit just well enough for her. Megan, the sommelier and barkeep, knows her cellar; and Dominic, who has looked after us more than once, is the consummate pro waiter. Because they're pricey but also because they're so memorably good, we save meals at Ski Tip Lodge for special occasions—Christmas holidays with family or friends, that sort of thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great anniversary dinner! Great rustic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great anniversary dinner! Great rustic chic ambience, relaxed service, delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've known about Ski Tip Lodge for year ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We've known about Ski Tip Lodge for years, but had never dined there. It was a birthday dinner and a wonderful choice. The menu was fabulous. Our server had an in depth knowledge of wines being served and offered good information even on the wines by the glass. Service was first rate. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I took my wife on a surprise date and it was enchanted. Great service and the food was delicious. Great ambiance as well. Worth the$$$$$

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We had a terrific meal at Ski Tips, The menu was interesting and delicious and service superb. The Sommelier was, however, overly chatty so we didn't receive our second bottle of red wine until well after we were served our entrees. He did redeem himself over dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Costly but worth it!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

The food and service was excellent...the price tag...whew! It's worth it for a special occasion!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special dining experience

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Picked this restaurant because it was listed as the top restaurant in Keystone. Then found out it is in the top 100 in the country. Our entire experience was perfect. The drinks, wine, food and service were top notch. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The wine steward was very knowledgeable, but we didn't feel pressured toward the most expensive choices. The service was attentive but never rushed. Love all the layers of favors and unique preparation of dishes. We were nervous about spending that much on dinner, but the whole experience was well worth the money. A very pleasant ending to our vacation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

The service, menu, wine and food are nothing short of outstanding!!! Love this venue...quaint and lovely...we come every year and every year it never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Fails to Amaze!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We are locals who have always considered The Ski Tip to be our special occasion go to restaurant for decades. In all of the years we have had the pleasure of dining at The Ski Tip we have never once been disappointment with the quality and specialty of the foods, the outstanding wine list and most of all, the friendly and attentive staff. Always a pleasure! Do not miss this wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended by a local

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We are part time residents of Summit County and enjoy going out to better restaurants. The Ski Tip Lodge is in an historic log lodge with an absolutely incredible menu. If you are truly a foodie, this place is a must. We will be back, most likely for a special occasion.sk

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

This is a top restaurant. Service, food and atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ski tip always delvers

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

This must be my fifth or sixth dinner at th ski tip and it is always excellent and memorable. The atmosphere is unique, cozy, nostalgic. The staff is excellent and very knowledgable. The menu changes daily but I can always find at least three selections I'd be more than happy with. My duck was so tasteful. Try the wine pairings. The sommelier is very entertaining and introduces some very tasty pairings. Desert. And after dinner drinks in the fireplace area outside of the main dining area is a great plus

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection from start to finish. Ambianc ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Perfection from start to finish. Ambiance exudes romance. Food and dessert were delicious. Loved every second of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another Ski Tip dinner exceeds high expectations

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

What a great place for fine dining nestled along the Snake River at the base of Dercum Mountain. Superb 4-course dinners with each designed to please the visual, olfactory, and gustatory senses. And with wine-pairings to enhance each course, be prepared for a memorable experience. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.