Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.89mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.89mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.89mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.89mi
  2. Distance: 0.89mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 1.05mi

About Ski Tip Lodge

Come back to where it all began for Keystone. This former 1800's stagecoach stop has been transformed into a cozy bed and breakfast that boasts some of the best food this side of the Continental Divide. Step inside and you may never want to leave as the aroma of delicious cuisine fills the air. Experience the rotating four-course dinner menu and thoughtful service that continues to get rave reviews. Top off the night in a comfortable seat next to a rustic fireplace with a selection from Ski Tip’s famed desserts.

764 Montezuma Road
Keystone, CO 80435-7821
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Apres Ski: Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays 3pm - 5pm. Small plates and drink specials. Available through March 26th, 2017. No Apres Ski on Friday, March 24th.

Dinner: Seven Days: 5:45pm - 6:30pm and 8pm - 8:45pm (reservations required & offered during two separate seatings each night)

Cross Street:
Alpenrose Pl

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 354-4386

Website:
http://www.keystoneresort.com/diningdetail/Key+-+The+Ski+Tip+Lodge.axd

Parking Details:
The Ski Tip Lodge has a large private parking lot located in front of the lodge.

Public Transit:
The Ski Tip Lodge is easily accessible by the Keystone Shuttle.

Executive Chef:
Chef Andrew Scruggs

Private Party Contact:
Mercedes Provost: (970) 496-4950

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ski Tip Lodge can accommodate private parties that wish to buy-out for the restaurant for one or two seatings. Our Maximum Capacity for Private Parties increases with this option. Please contact Ski Tip directly for more information.

Ski Tip Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (60)
Fireplace (60)
Historic (56)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Notable Wine List (53)
Special Occasion (52)
Good for a Date (50)
Cozy (45)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Worth the Drive (35)
Authentic (29)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Seasonal (15)
Scenic View (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Private Room (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fun (6)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
568 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 4 days ago

We had such an amazing experience. There is so much history and charm in this building. The meal was exceptional. We even had our picky husbands trying new things and enjoying them. It was a great setting for a much needed adult get-together for our family. It is not a budget dinner so save it for a special occasion! The service team was amazing. We just had the best evening ever and are still talking about it!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Best restaurant, wine list in Summit Co.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Ski Tip is one of the best restaurants in Keystone, if not THE best! It exceeded our expectations. Outstanding from the minute you arrive . Food and service and of course the setting, five star all the way!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

We have come to expect only the best from STL--and once again the STL crew performed with panache and aplomb built upon a foundation of great food presented to provide a wonderful multi-sensory gastronomic experience. A blue crab salad surrounded by crab bisque was followed by a watercress salad bordered by carrot butter on one side and a contrasting spicy peanut butter on the other side--I never would have come up with that combination, but it worked very well. The prosciutto wrapped pork tenderloin was a melt in your mouth treat. And smoked chocolate chips embedded in vanilla ice cream as a part of the Keystone S'More were the finishing touches. A "must-do" for any STL diner is to have Megan provide a description of your wine selections for the evening. An even better treat is to enjoy her wine-pairings which will open your eyes (and palette) to options that you may not have previously encountered. You can tell that all of the staff enjoy "performing" and relish the opportunity to provide each diner with a dining experience to remember. We love this place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been to ski tip many times as we are locals. We came to celebrate 2 birthdays. They were notified we were there for 2 special occasions ahead of time but never acknowledged it through our meal. My husband and daughter had the strip steak, it was chewy and overdone. My other daughter had lamb chops, 2 small chops, very little meat, too fatty. Creme Brûlée for dessert was like water. You may ask what they said when we told them, well we would have but not one ever asked "how is everything." Totally disappointed. We won't go back and will stop recommending it to our visitors. We don't know what has happened to this spot that use to be a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We love the atmosphere at Ski Tip Lodge. Perhaps our expectations were too high but after the delicious soup, we all agreed that the remainder of our dinner was good but definitely not great. For the price, the portions are very small. The presentation was very nice. We'll probably try something else next time.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have been to Ski Tip many times and it never loses its charm and attraction . The food is always exceptional and the wine pairing, with the help of the sommelier, wrapped up by the move to the charming fireplace for dessert, keeps us coming back for a special experience every single time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We have eaten at Ski Tip for many years when we go out skiing. It is our favorite restaurant anywhere. The food, the service and the ambiance is unbeatable. Our #1 place to eat.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This restaurant rocks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was an outstanding experience. Situated in an old historic building, the dining rooms retained the charm of the old stagecoach inn, it once was. The set menu offerings were limited, but with very interesting choices. The menu changes weekly. The sommeliers (there were two) were both very knowledgeable and had interesting information about many of the wine choices. The wine list has over 600 choices. Throughout the evening, the staff was attentive and showed a sincere interest in our experience. The set menu includes appetizer, soup or salad, main course and dessert, which was served in two adjacent rooms, with large fireplaces. Food was outstanding, choices included beef, fowl, pork, wild game and seafood.
You cannot go wrong with a trip to the Ski Tip Lodge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is truly a hidden gem! The ambiance was so relaxing and romantic. It gave such a homey and cozy feeling. The food was deeelicious! I loved that we could have our dessert by the fireplace. The servers were so nice and helpful with everything. It was an overall very welcoming and nice experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Place, service, food, wine selection- all outstanding- first class yet so comfortable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Absolutely superb, as always. We dine here several times a year for special occasions. Never have been disappointed, summer or winter. The somelier Curtis, this particular evening, Megan other evenings, are an absolute pleasure, and always add so much to the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Wow!!! What an amazing evening
We were spoiled from start to finish
The food was spectacular!!!
Highly recommend the wine pairing with the knowledgeable Megan- she bought the wines to life
Our waiter James was engaging & attentive
This was a spectacular evening & I would highly recommend going to ski Tip- we finished our evening by the fireplace with cheese & a reinvented s'mores plus dessert wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere and historic setting. Great wine list and knowledgeable staff with great recommendations. Perfect place for a leisurely evening. Chef is very creative and more than willing to share his techniques.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Amazing! If you're staying at Keystone and want to find the best meal at the resort, this is it. I work at Keystone and this is by far the best meal I've had there. Can't recommend this highly enough!

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food was great. The wait staff exceptional. The sommeliers was world class!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Pretentious and overpriced. Felt pressured by staff to purchase wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Marcie, the Sommelier was outstanding; she paired each course with an excellent wine and provided tastes first just to make sure. The rest of the service is not quite up to her standard but did not interfere with a fine meal.
The savory food was outstanding with excruciating attention to detail. For e.g. cider poached cranberries as an accompaniment to the duck that were an exceptional touch. I had never head almond milk as a base for soup but it nicely complemented the yam soup in a way that most sweet potato soups need without overpowering it. Clearly a result of experimentation by the chef that paid off.
The only disappointment was a bizarre take on key lime pie for dessert. It was kind of a deconstructed frozen dish that completely missed.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2017

This place is amazing it is a dining experience like no other. You will love every moment. Treat yourself to this before leaving the mountains.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The Ski Tip Lodge gave us a intimate dinning experience. The four course meal was unique and delicious. The two of us chose different items all of which were delightful. Desert in front of the fire was a wonderful way to end the evening.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Ski Tip is our favorite of all restaurants. Every time we visit Keystone , we make sure we dine there.
All is perfect, from food to service. The best part is the dessert by fire place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and wine list. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion.
Limited menu choice but everything was very unique and good. Very small
dining area and you need to make reservations quite a bit in advance. A nice
touch is having desert in one of their sitting rooms. I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Low ceilings, as it should be in a building from the 1800's. From the greeting at the door by the hostess, the service was impeccable. Our waiter Lance was extremely knowledgeable about every course and every ingredient. I listened to the sommelier school another table, who thought themselves quiet expert, but I think they learned something knew on this visit.
The head chef, Andrew, came out to check on us. We complemented him on his creativity and attention to detail. He was appreciative and humble. He could work anywhere in the country if he choose to. What a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Dined here after a hard day of skiing. Their menu is small, with a choice of fowl, fish, wild game, or a prime cut of beef for dinner. Served with appetizer, side dish, and dessert. Wine available by the glass for $10-$15, by the bottle for $35-$225.
I had elk tenderloin, which was fantastic.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The Ski Tip ,as always, was great in every way. Had three different apps,salad, and entrees and every one was delicious, lamb steak, scallops & CO local bass and beef short ribs. Three different deserts were each very special. New chef this season greeted us at desert in the old fireplace room. Overall this is special restaurant, not only in the high Rockies, but in the world .

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went here for Valentine's Day. Excellent ambience, excellent food and excellent service. Overall a very relaxing and enjoying experience. You start in the lounge/bar area for cocktails, both rooms are beautiful with large fireplaces, you then go to the dining room for dinner, and return to the lounge/bar for desert. Overall and amazing experience.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The only thing about this place was that we were charged a "service fee" of $50, I asked what the charge was for he really didn't know. It was a group of 6 so I'm sure it was a Gratuity, which I know where I work, it's technically gratuity. I hope this charge is for the Sommelier which was very knowledgeable and since we were not wine people she chose really good wines for us. She was amazing and does not disappoint, the food is amazing as well!! Will go back, but I'll have to ask about this "service charge." Our bill was $735 for 6... not bad for a 4 course meal with 3 bottles of wine, but I think we would have tipped more if we knew where this service charge was going.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing! The food was fantastic, the service was amazing- everyone was beyond friendly and helpful, and the dessert by the fireplace was the icing on the cake. What an outstanding establishment.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always a treat to go to Ski Tip Lodge. So glad it has maintained its charm.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Attended a wine and food pairing. We go several times a year to this restaurant. This tasting/pairing was not great. Others have been. It is very pricey at $120 PP. But lovely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

One of the top ten restaurants in the US. The sommelier's wine pairing with each course was superb.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great personalized service. Interesting and tasty menu. The chef puts many different tastes together that make for a great dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. One of the best meals my wife and I have had. And that includes Paris and Brussels. Service was perfect. Great place for any special occasion. Original building dates back to the late 1800's. Main part was built in 1946 and has operated continuously since then.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Absolutely wonderful and accommodating, and the food was fabulous!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Ski Tip is one of the best restaurants in America and my favorite. They continue to put out a beautifully served meal at a pace set by the guest which is appreciated. Dessert by the fire is my favorite part. I also like their staying with what they do se well and not being distracted by the trends too many restaurant fall into today. Their food is top quality without worrying about being ethnic, free of politically incorrect items or other nonsense that has ruined some competitors. Ski Tip serves top quality well prepared food at an affordable price.

We hope Ski Tip continues doing what they do so well.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Such a special place to dine! We enjoyed the food & the ambiance & had great service!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Delicious Food, excellent service, outstanding ambience--a special place for a special dinner -- our once each year treat while at Keystone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great ambience in this 100-yr old lodge, with wooden ceiling beams almost touching your head and two crackling fireplaces, 5 stars. The service is great too, very friendly and attentive, 5 stars. The view from windows to the woods is charming, 5 stars. The food is very creative and portions are small; I give food only 3 stars because I love American, Italian, Mediterranean food, but food here is none of those; it was just not tasty to me. The dinner price was $78, and I would have loved my dinner better at Ruby Tuesday for just $17.99. So, I would recommend this place for ambiance, service, quietness, and charming view to the woods.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The atmosphere and ambience are spectacular. The food is creative and delicious. The wine list is unbelievable with a very professional and knowledgeable sommelier. Well worth the money!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.