About Skewers Kabob House

906 J Street
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Established in 2003, Skewers Kabob House is a family owned and operated restaurant in Modesto, California. We invite you to come experience our award-winning Mediterranean cuisine. We offer exceptional lunch and dinner menus featuring authentic flavors from the Mediterranean region. Our focus is on naturally healthy delicious cuisine by using only the finest fresh ingredients. All of our kabobs are hand trimmed and marinated for 48-72 hours, then cooked to perfection over an open flame to your specifications. We pride ourselves on exemplary customer service and consistent quality.

We also have two banquet rooms on site for your business or personal needs and have catering services that have served the Modesto, Turlock and Stockton area.

We look forward to making Skewers your favorite restaurant!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Persian, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 525-3611

Website:
http://skewerskabobhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Skewers offers a variety of entertainment. In our lounge area we offer Karaoke on Thursday nights from 9:30pm-2am. Friday’s and Saturday's we have a DJ spinning until 2am! We offer drink specials all weekend!
If you are looking for something more family-friendly, Skewers has belly dancing every Saturday evening in the restaurant from 7-9:30pm.

Catering:
Skewers offers professional off site catering services for your special needs. We have catered events up to 1000 guests. Our menu is versatile and our service always extraordinary!

Parking Details:
Skewers is the only restaurant in downtown Modesto to offer it’s own private parking lot. This makes dining here quick and convenient for our guests. There is also a city parking lot adjacent to the restaurant. (This is monitored 7 days a week, 24 hours a day by the city, so please make sure to pay the kiosk at the front of the lot). There are also 3 parking garages within walking distance of Skewers and as always, plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Yonatan Moradkhan

Private Party Facilities:
Skewers has a variety of options for every function and occasion from engagement parties, wedding receptions, baptisms, birthday parties, and more. We also offer private rooms for Pharmaceutical Programs, Business Conferences, and Private Company Dinners. We have helpful staff here to help you organize everything from finding the right space or room to selecting food and beverage packages to suit your needs. We are committed to excellent customer service and 100% guest satisfaction.

Private Party Contact:
Kristin O'Brien: (209) 525-3611

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Skewers Kabob House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
S
121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good portions of food. Service is very good. Ended up sitting in the bar area due to the noise level in the dining area.

Food is very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fun place, good food and of course belly dancers whirling around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We stayed in Modesto after going to Yellowstone national park. My husband and I found this place on open table and we were amazed. I had their special which was a shrimp and chicken kebob dish with a tangy sauce served with basmati rice. All their skewers are sold separately, but have a lot of meat/veggies packed on the skewer. Also, all skewers are served with the rice. After reviewing the menu, it was difficult to decide between all the options because all the marinades sounded so good! If I ever make it to this part of California again, this will definitely be on my list of stops. And the service was EXCELLENT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Lots of parking, very friendly service, and food was yummy and fresh. This location is walking distance to the Gallo Theatre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 22, 2016

First time here and it was a great experience. Our waiter was very helpful offering food suggestions and attentive to our needs during the meal. I would definitely come back again before a concert at Gallo Center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Dinner was over the top! Service was excellent! I have been there several times, will continue! Never been disappointed yet!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The food at Skewer's is always consistent and healthy and delicious. We had some special requests and questions of the waitress, and she was outstanding in every way. We go there very frequently and w8ll continue to do so.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always a very delicious meal with excellent service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, great value. The service is normally stellar, but wasn't quite as good this time, but still good. They didn't have the dancer, which I appreciated, as I'm not a fan of the dancing. We go here regularly and usually have a great time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Was first time here.. LOVED it!! My new favorite spot! Went here in a date with my hubby we both really enjoyed the food so much and the staff was so nice and friendly. There was even belly dancers at one point which was a fun surprise! Definitely going back.!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is always wonderful, consistent, and reasonable....the same can be said for the service. It can get loud, esp. on weekend nights....but it's o.k. for 2-4 conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Took friends with us and the dinner was amazing with very generous portions. Great customer service and the added bonus of entertainment by a belly dancer topped off the meal. Everything was a positive experience except where we sat. It was a warm summer evening and maybe the air needed to be turned down more as we were feeling pretty hot. May have been the table location itself. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We've eaten here before. I like Mediterranean food so it's always a good choice. There is a large menu so many great choices. Skewers is also within walking distance to our performing arts center. I also like the fact that Mr. Moored who I believe to be the owner supports non profits in his town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent, good variety of unique food.

Fits well with vegans as well as omnivores.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Skewers is probably THE best restaurant in the Central Valley... Mediterranean at its ABSOLUTE FINEST!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always a good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had our usual, Tiger Prawn Kabob and Filet Mignon Kabob, both with Ceasar salads. Main courses were prepared perfectly, as usual. Our only comment is that the salad never seems cold enough and is not served on a chilled plate. That would be a nice improvement. Other than that, we are always very happy with our meals here.

It's also nice that this restaurant doesn't seem to have a large turn over of wait staff. It's a bonus to be served by folks who know your likes and dislikes and make you feel at home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 15, 2016

I grew up eating this kind of food so I know what should traditionally served. Though they did not live up to my expectations, the food was very good. The service however was something else. We were there for almost 2 hours, yet the waitress only came around to our table 3 times the entire night!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is great, the staff wonderful. We go there quite often and this happened to be a Mother's Day brunch.. As usual we were not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Delicious food, fun environment, service was very friendly and accommodating. House drinks were incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We were there during prom night so it was a bit noisier than usual... Food was out fast and was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 8, 2016

We introduced a relative to his first kabob meal last week. He LOVED it! The food was even better than the last time we visited Skewers. The lamb is too die for! We can't wait until the next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Modesto is the halfway point for my family( we are scattered between Sacramento, Fresno and the Bay Area). Skewer's has excellent customer service and delicious and generous portions. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Love the food and service here ! It is a little small, close tables, hard to have any kind of private convo. The night we went, there was a party of about 10 across the room from us and their laughter was not really excessive, but it pierced our convo because the space is too small. I would love to see Skewers expand into a new space and location. The location creeps me out, but once inside you quickly forget all that. Please consider another larger space !

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food is very consistent. The Dinner wait staff is great, and very accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Our first time here and we had reservations on Valentine's Day for dinner. They had a prefix menu, prior to confirming our reservations I spoke with someone and I wanted to know what they will be serving so she told me there was the gold menu which was for $40 per person and platinum choice at $50 included with our dinner were choice of drink but when we got there, there was a change of menu so choice of drink was not included after all!! Anyhow so we went with the platinum choice, my husband had the surf n turf and I had Sultani dish, our veggies were undercooked and meat was dry. Quality wasn't that great but customer service was great and I'm glad My husband enjoyed his surf n turf, I didn't so much. Especially with our bill costing $130. I barley touched my dinner so had to end up taking it to go and my left overs end up going to my dog because I didn't enjoy my dinner as much as I would have liked to! Would I visit this place again on a prefix menu? definitely NO not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2016

Never thought to try Skewers in 12+ years due to Name, location and perceived menu. Needed a lenten Ash Wednesday-friendly lunch spot in downtown Motown near the Doubletree. Friendly greeting and service but slow even though we were the only guests at 11:25AM. Food delivery time was fine, hot and nice presentation.

Would I return? Sure, in daylight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Great drinks , great food. All around good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 2, 2016

I went with my husband and son for lunch. Nice restaurant, good food and the BEST SERVICE EVER!! Wow! This is the way any waiter should take care of clients everywhere. What a nice guy. Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 2, 2016

We took a Girl Scout troop in to experience the Mediterranean and Greek style food. The waiter - Matthew was amazing. He was accommodating, informative , and so helpful with the girls. He made great recommendations for foods for the girls and the experience couldn't have been better!

Also the gluten free options were plenty.

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Our family enjoyed a great lunch and had some good drinks. The service was excellent, definitely a place to come back for dinner and drinks with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Have been there before and the food is always good. The people who work there are always pleasant, courteous and aware of checking on you. Would obviously be a repeat customer there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2016

The food and the service were great and the price was very reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Very nice place & very pleasant, attentive service. I was impressed with the healthy food options (grilled rather than fried)-if you skip all the carb sides. We were expecting the food to be spicier & although I don't like hot spicy food, just thought it would be more savory. We would return & try it again.

It's close to the Gallo Center so it's convenient for concert goers.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2016

We had a great meal, the Surf and Turf was so tender you could cut it with a fork. Lamb was the BOMB, rice the best!! Definitely will come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2016

The food is awesome. I'll come back again when I'm in town next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 17, 2016

The ambiance was warm, our service was excellent, and the Chicken and Shish kabobs were so moist and delicious. I really enjoyed the rice it is served on. The vegetables were fresh and crisp. I'd give that portion a 10. There were very strong flavors of garlic and curry.

The negatives were that I prefer a flat bread that is a bit thicker, as theirs is very thin and somewhat chewy. Their hummus came in 3 flavors and I personally did not like them, although I would say if I had to choose the most edible I would pick the green one with the cilantro flavor in it. I missed the chutney you normally find at Middle Eastern restaurants, which is a vinegar/cilantro/spiced butter mixture. They had none. I'd like to visit again and try a few more things. However I will make sure not to visit when the belly dancer is there, as it felt more like an R rated experience more appropriate to a strip club with gyrating right up in people's faces and money sticking out of her hip garb. It kind of ruined the environment and was very loud during that time. Belly dancing can be done tastefully and respectfully, but that wasn't it. And some men were gawking even with their wives right next to them...that can ruin a date. I'd give that part a 0.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2016

After eating here a few months ago, I have been dying to come back - I absolutely LOVE this restaurant! The lemon/garlic saffron chicken is delightful - and I could literally eat the hummus every day - so fresh! Dessert and wine menu is great, too. I highly recommend checking Skewers out for a casual lunch before a movie with friends or a romantic dinner celebrating an anniversary with your love!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2015

We chose Skewers because we love Mediterranean food, and it was located near the Brendan Theater, where we went to see a movie. We had a wonderful dining experience. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The ambiance was pleasant and comfortable, albeit a bit nondescript. The food was delcious. We enjoyed the Mediterranean Sampler as our starter. The Saffron Chicken was extraordinary, and the lamb shank tasty. We ended with baklava and Turkish coffee... the perfect way to finish the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 24, 2015

The shish kabob is amazing. And the hot Persian tea is so good. The atmosphere is great perfect for lunch or dinner and birthday parties

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 23, 2015

This restaurant has never disappointed me so far. I love going here, and introducing my friends to the delicious flavors of all food here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 12, 2015

Our waiter Matthew made me grandmothers night. He took the time to talk to her and made us feel very welcomed. The food was amazing!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2015

I've been many places for Mediterranean food and the skewers here are phenomenal! The Garlic Saffron Chicken is INCREDIBLE! I don't frequent Modesto, but when I do, I have to go to Skewers!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2015

The food was excellent with a nice variety. Ambience was nice and the service was a pleasure. Would return to try other options on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 8, 2015

I had scheduled 3 interviews to be completed at this restaurant on 10/8/2015. I called ahead to verify that I would be able to have the table for 3 hours or more. The hostess was very friendly, and said that they were aware I would be interviewing and that was not a problem at all. When I arrived, they had me a table set up in the very back corner of the restaurant so that I could have more privacy. The service I received was beyond amazing - it could not have been more appreciated. The food was excellent, and the tea was the best I have ever had. When I am back in town, this restaurant will definitely be on the top of my list to revisit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 7, 2015

We stopped here for dinner before the theater and could not have been happier. Service was wonderful and the food was fantastic. I had the lamb chops and will tell you they were the best I have ever been served. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, good service, great food and a quiet relaxed surrounding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 29, 2015

We frequently visit Skewers for the phenomenal food and service. Last night we went with a party of 13 for a special occasion. The service was no different if we had been there with only 2 people. They make sure every person is catered to and every dish is perfect. The food is made to perfection. We had a couple with us from Southern California and they wished there was a place as good as this down south. Every dish is so deliverable. Thank you Skewers staff for great service and great tasting food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2015

I had seen skewers for some time but never tried. Invited by friends, I love medateranian food, and had a pleasant surprise. The food was phenomenal. I do not say this lightly. My husband and I are both excellent cooks. So finding a place that can impress us and convince us to go out for dinner, is a real treat. Thank you so much for an exceptional meal and evening. Carol Merritt molasses1@sbcglobal.net

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 11, 2015

A group of 9 of us celebrated a friend's birthday. We ordered the family combo & the carnivore combo & it was just the right amount of food. The creme brulee & the turkish coffee floats are a must try. Delicious! We will be back :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2015

Awesome! From start to finish just perfect. The hummus appetizer was great. Jalapeño hummus was the best though. The chicken kabobs were so tender and flavorful. I subbed the rice for the veggie kabobs and they were worth the up charge. Lots of fresh crisp veggies. The owner brought me some of the house rice to try and it was fantastic! I can't wait to come back next time I am in Modesto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.