About Skewers Kabob House

906 J Street
Modesto, CA 95354
View Larger Map

Established in 2003, Skewers Kabob House is a family owned and operated restaurant in Modesto, California. We invite you to come experience our award-winning Mediterranean cuisine. We offer exceptional lunch and dinner menus featuring authentic flavors from the Mediterranean region. Our focus is on naturally healthy delicious cuisine by using only the finest fresh ingredients. All of our kabobs are hand trimmed and marinated for 48-72 hours, then cooked to perfection over an open flame to your specifications. We pride ourselves on exemplary customer service and consistent quality.

We also have two banquet rooms on site for your business or personal needs and have catering services that have served the Modesto, Turlock and Stockton area.

We look forward to making Skewers your favorite restaurant!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Persian, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 525-3611

Website:
http://skewerskabobhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Skewers offers a variety of entertainment. In our lounge area we offer Karaoke on Thursday nights from 9:30pm-2am. Friday’s and Saturday's we have a DJ spinning until 2am! We offer drink specials all weekend!
If you are looking for something more family-friendly, Skewers has belly dancing every Saturday evening in the restaurant from 7-9:30pm.

Catering:
Skewers offers professional off site catering services for your special needs. We have catered events up to 1000 guests. Our menu is versatile and our service always extraordinary!

Parking Details:
Skewers is the only restaurant in downtown Modesto to offer it’s own private parking lot. This makes dining here quick and convenient for our guests. There is also a city parking lot adjacent to the restaurant. (This is monitored 7 days a week, 24 hours a day by the city, so please make sure to pay the kiosk at the front of the lot). There are also 3 parking garages within walking distance of Skewers and as always, plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Yonatan Moradkhan

Private Party Facilities:
Skewers has a variety of options for every function and occasion from engagement parties, wedding receptions, baptisms, birthday parties, and more. We also offer private rooms for Pharmaceutical Programs, Business Conferences, and Private Company Dinners. We have helpful staff here to help you organize everything from finding the right space or room to selecting food and beverage packages to suit your needs. We are committed to excellent customer service and 100% guest satisfaction.

Private Party Contact:
Kristin O'Brien: 2095253611

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Skewers Kabob House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
3 More
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Modesto
Best Restaurants in Modesto ›

special occasion (15)
fit for foodies (10)
great for lunch (9)
See All
neighborhood gem (9)
good for groups (7)
romantic (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food...lackluster service

Dined on May 15, 2016

I grew up eating this kind of food so I know what should traditionally served. Though they did not live up to my expectations, the food was very good. The service however was something else. We were there for almost 2 hours, yet the waitress only came around to our table 3 times the entire night!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable with interment two-some or a group.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is great, the staff wonderful. We go there quite often and this happened to be a Mother's Day brunch.. As usual we were not disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, fun environment, service ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Delicious food, fun environment, service was very friendly and accommodating. House drinks were incredible!

food5
ambience4
service5

We were there during prom night so it wa ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were there during prom night so it was a bit noisier than usual... Food was out fast and was outstanding

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always Amazing

Dined on April 8, 2016

We introduced a relative to his first kabob meal last week. He LOVED it! The food was even better than the last time we visited Skewers. The lamb is too die for! We can't wait until the next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent customer service and meal!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Modesto is the halfway point for my family( we are scattered between Sacramento, Fresno and the Bay Area). Skewer's has excellent customer service and delicious and generous portions. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great !

Dined on March 19, 2016

Love the food and service here ! It is a little small, close tables, hard to have any kind of private convo. The night we went, there was a party of about 10 across the room from us and their laughter was not really excessive, but it pierced our convo because the space is too small. I would love to see Skewers expand into a new space and location. The location creeps me out, but once inside you quickly forget all that. Please consider another larger space !

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

The food is very consistent. The Dinner ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food is very consistent. The Dinner wait staff is great, and very accommodating!

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Valentine's dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our first time here and we had reservations on Valentine's Day for dinner. They had a prefix menu, prior to confirming our reservations I spoke with someone and I wanted to know what they will be serving so she told me there was the gold menu which was for $40 per person and platinum choice at $50 included with our dinner were choice of drink but when we got there, there was a change of menu so choice of drink was not included after all!! Anyhow so we went with the platinum choice, my husband had the surf n turf and I had Sultani dish, our veggies were undercooked and meat was dry. Quality wasn't that great but customer service was great and I'm glad My husband enjoyed his surf n turf, I didn't so much. Especially with our bill costing $130. I barley touched my dinner so had to end up taking it to go and my left overs end up going to my dog because I didn't enjoy my dinner as much as I would have liked to! Would I visit this place again on a prefix menu? definitely NO not worth the money.

food3
ambience4
service2

Never thought to try Skewers in 12+ year ...

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

Never thought to try Skewers in 12+ years due to Name, location and perceived menu. Needed a lenten Ash Wednesday-friendly lunch spot in downtown Motown near the Doubletree. Friendly greeting and service but slow even though we were the only guests at 11:25AM. Food delivery time was fine, hot and nice presentation. Would I return? Sure, in daylight.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent ambiance . Fun.

Dined on February 7, 2016

Great drinks , great food. All around good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Recommended by a friend...

Dined on February 2, 2016

I went with my husband and son for lunch. Nice restaurant, good food and the BEST SERVICE EVER!! Wow! This is the way any waiter should take care of clients everywhere. What a nice guy. Definitely will go back.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We took a Girl Scout troop in to experie ...

Dined on February 2, 2016

We took a Girl Scout troop in to experience the Mediterranean and Greek style food. The waiter - Matthew was amazing. He was accommodating, informative , and so helpful with the girls. He made great recommendations for foods for the girls and the experience couldn't have been better! Also the gluten free options were plenty. Thank you.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our family enjoyed a great lunch and had ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Our family enjoyed a great lunch and had some good drinks. The service was excellent, definitely a place to come back for dinner and drinks with friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

Have been there before and the food is a ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Have been there before and the food is always good. The people who work there are always pleasant, courteous and aware of checking on you. Would obviously be a repeat customer there.

food5
ambience4
service5

The food and the service were great and ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

The food and the service were great and the price was very reasonable.

food3
ambience3
service4
value5

An Option

Dined on January 22, 2016

Very nice place & very pleasant, attentive service. I was impressed with the healthy food options (grilled rather than fried)-if you skip all the carb sides. We were expecting the food to be spicier & although I don't like hot spicy food, just thought it would be more savory. We would return & try it again. It's close to the Gallo Center so it's convenient for concert goers.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Skewer's is Delicious!

Dined on January 22, 2016

We had a great meal, the Surf and Turf was so tender you could cut it with a fork. Lamb was the BOMB, rice the best!! Definitely will come back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is awesome. I'll come back aga ...

Dined on January 19, 2016

The food is awesome. I'll come back again when I'm in town next time.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Ditch the Belly Dancer

Dined on January 17, 2016

The ambiance was warm, our service was excellent, and the Chicken and Shish kabobs were so moist and delicious. I really enjoyed the rice it is served on. The vegetables were fresh and crisp. I'd give that portion a 10. There were very strong flavors of garlic and curry. The negatives were that I prefer a flat bread that is a bit thicker, as theirs is very thin and somewhat chewy. Their hummus came in 3 flavors and I personally did not like them, although I would say if I had to choose the most edible I would pick the green one with the cilantro flavor in it. I missed the chutney you normally find at Middle Eastern restaurants, which is a vinegar/cilantro/spiced butter mixture. They had none. I'd like to visit again and try a few more things. However I will make sure not to visit when the belly dancer is there, as it felt more like an R rated experience more appropriate to a strip club with gyrating right up in people's faces and money sticking out of her hip garb. It kind of ruined the environment and was very loud during that time. Belly dancing can be done tastefully and respectfully, but that wasn't it. And some men were gawking even with their wives right next to them...that can ruin a date. I'd give that part a 0.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

One of my new favorites

Dined on January 1, 2016

After eating here a few months ago, I have been dying to come back - I absolutely LOVE this restaurant! The lemon/garlic saffron chicken is delightful - and I could literally eat the hummus every day - so fresh! Dessert and wine menu is great, too. I highly recommend checking Skewers out for a casual lunch before a movie with friends or a romantic dinner celebrating an anniversary with your love!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food,Convenient to Brendan Movie Theater

Dined on December 28, 2015

We chose Skewers because we love Mediterranean food, and it was located near the Brendan Theater, where we went to see a movie. We had a wonderful dining experience. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The ambiance was pleasant and comfortable, albeit a bit nondescript. The food was delcious. We enjoyed the Mediterranean Sampler as our starter. The Saffron Chicken was extraordinary, and the lamb shank tasty. We ended with baklava and Turkish coffee... the perfect way to finish the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and the service was awesome

Dined on December 24, 2015

The shish kabob is amazing. And the hot Persian tea is so good. The atmosphere is great perfect for lunch or dinner and birthday parties

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always my go-to

Dined on December 23, 2015

This restaurant has never disappointed me so far. I love going here, and introducing my friends to the delicious flavors of all food here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was great!!!

Dined on December 12, 2015

Our waiter Matthew made me grandmothers night. He took the time to talk to her and made us feel very welcomed. The food was amazing!!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been many places for Mediterranean ...

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

I've been many places for Mediterranean food and the skewers here are phenomenal! The Garlic Saffron Chicken is INCREDIBLE! I don't frequent Modesto, but when I do, I have to go to Skewers!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent with a nice varie ...

Dined on November 6, 2015

The food was excellent with a nice variety. Ambience was nice and the service was a pleasure. Would return to try other options on the menu.

food5
ambience5
service5

I had scheduled 3 interviews to be compl ...

Dined on October 8, 2015

I had scheduled 3 interviews to be completed at this restaurant on 10/8/2015. I called ahead to verify that I would be able to have the table for 3 hours or more. The hostess was very friendly, and said that they were aware I would be interviewing and that was not a problem at all. When I arrived, they had me a table set up in the very back corner of the restaurant so that I could have more privacy. The service I received was beyond amazing - it could not have been more appreciated. The food was excellent, and the tea was the best I have ever had. When I am back in town, this restaurant will definitely be on the top of my list to revisit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great dinning

Dined on October 7, 2015

We stopped here for dinner before the theater and could not have been happier. Service was wonderful and the food was fantastic. I had the lamb chops and will tell you they were the best I have ever been served. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, good service, great food and a quiet relaxed surrounding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal

Dined on August 29, 2015

We frequently visit Skewers for the phenomenal food and service. Last night we went with a party of 13 for a special occasion. The service was no different if we had been there with only 2 people. They make sure every person is catered to and every dish is perfect. The food is made to perfection. We had a couple with us from Southern California and they wished there was a place as good as this down south. Every dish is so deliverable. Thank you Skewers staff for great service and great tasting food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

A huge surprise.

Dined on August 1, 2015

I had seen skewers for some time but never tried. Invited by friends, I love medateranian food, and had a pleasant surprise. The food was phenomenal. I do not say this lightly. My husband and I are both excellent cooks. So finding a place that can impress us and convince us to go out for dinner, is a real treat. Thank you so much for an exceptional meal and evening. Carol Merritt molasses1@sbcglobal.net

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food & service

Dined on July 11, 2015

A group of 9 of us celebrated a friend's birthday. We ordered the family combo & the carnivore combo & it was just the right amount of food. The creme brulee & the turkish coffee floats are a must try. Delicious! We will be back :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome! From start to finish just perfe ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2015

Awesome! From start to finish just perfect. The hummus appetizer was great. Jalapeño hummus was the best though. The chicken kabobs were so tender and flavorful. I subbed the rice for the veggie kabobs and they were worth the up charge. Lots of fresh crisp veggies. The owner brought me some of the house rice to try and it was fantastic! I can't wait to come back next time I am in Modesto

food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in Modesto

Dined on April 15, 2015

I LOVE THEIR FOOD. My medium rare lamb did not have even one drop of blood, which was amazing! Rare does not have to require blood dripping from the meat. Skewers does an incredible job making my mouth water and allowing each bite to feel like I just had a slice of well-cooked heaven. The company I work for orders their food often, and I always find myself getting a huge serving of just their rice and cooked tomatoes sometimes, because Skewers is capable of making even the filler items on their menu taste like they come from a 5 star restaurant. I don't rave about all restaurants like this, trust me. In summary, Skewers really does have some of the best food I have EVER had in my life. :)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Our first time at this restaurant and we ...

Dined on March 29, 2015

Our first time at this restaurant and we really enjoyed ourselves. Bar staff were friendly and the waiter was awesome. Really knew the menu - was really accommodating for dietary needs and we had a great experience.

food4
ambience4
service5

Skewer's Review

vip
Dined on March 8, 2015

Our server was excellent---friendly, efficient, groomed and professional. The food was well-prepared and an enjoyable evening was had by our party of four.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service at reasonable prices

Dined on February 28, 2015

Went before a show at The Gallo Center. Parked nearby and walked to dinner then to the show, very convenient location. Four gals we ordered the family platter and it was plenty of food with leftovers. Nice ambiance and our waiter was very attentive

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Review of Skewers-Valentine Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2015

Food was excellent and service good. Never did see the belly dancers in the almost 2 hours we were there and did not receive a rose as promised in the advertising although others did. Also the gentlemen with the roses asked several tables how was their dinner, etc. but never came to our table. A little expensive for the Valentine Dinner although it was really good. Wish advertising indicated you could not order off menu. Overall, would eat there again but order off the menu.

food4
ambience3
service4

Had a great time. Excellent food. A lot ...

Dined on February 8, 2015

Had a great time. Excellent food. A lot of variety. Will definitely come back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner before a concert

Dined on January 30, 2015

First time at Skewers and we were very pleased. Our waiter was very attentive without being overbearing. He was very helpful with wine and dinner selections. Food was very good and the rice was amazing. We will definitely eat here again!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.