About Six Penn Kitchen

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: (888) 306-0598

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (40)
Good for a Date (23)
Casual (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (19)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Romantic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Family Style (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fireplace (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food quality was great! Unfortunately ou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined a day ago

Food quality was great! Unfortunately our food took an hour to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Brussels sprouts appetizer is amazing! T ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

Brussels sprouts appetizer is amazing! The portions are u usually large for sharing. The lamb bolognese was rich and rivaled an Italian restaurant. The scallop special wasn't my favorite. Most chefs like to leave scallops under cooked and it just doesn't bring out all the flavor in my opinion. The risotto with it was a bit bland. Otherwise awesome dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager skipped are table and asked ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

The manager skipped are table and asked everyone else how it was going and even served water to other diners. My boyfriend joked it was because I was black..we laughed

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I was extremely disappointed in the menu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

I was extremely disappointed in the menu. I have some dietary restrictions and always check the menu on line before making reservations. The menu was shortened because of Valentines Day and their was so little that I could eat. I ordered the Chicken Paprish with the recommendation of the waiter. It was extremely spicy with paprika and the chicken was dry. I never complain about a meal.... usually don't run into that, but I should have sent it back. I only ate a little bread and oil. I didn't care for the salad I had ordered also. We will not return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Had a party of four on Valentine's Day. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a party of four on Valentine's Day. Everything was fine, but I must say, I have been

to Six Penn several times, and it appears to be slipping a bit. Still a good time. perhaps it's better in warmer weather when the roof top is open.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A very casual and relaxing dining experi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

A very casual and relaxing dining experience. Great food and service. Great location in theatre district.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, , Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going to Six Penn since the re ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've been going to Six Penn since the restaurant first opened. The noise level during this past visit was almost unbearable. If I'd known that the upstairs dining area was open, would have requested to sit there.

My meal was mediocre at best. A big disappointment. The fried gnocchis were tasteless blobs. the accompanying beef didn't compliment the gnocchis at all. Two completely dissimilar dishes on one unappetizing plate.

I'm hoping that my next experience will be a better one.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The best waitress ever!!!!!! The bread o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The best waitress ever!!!!!!

The bread oil is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

French onion soup was perfect, flavors o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

French onion soup was perfect, flavors on braised beef and crackkin pork shank spot on but both entrees were not hot. Both were replaced but still not very hot. No manager checked on us all night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Six Penn never disappoints. As part of a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Six Penn never disappoints. As part of a group that has season tickets at the O'Reilly, we dine downtown regularly. We like to try different places and after a disappointing night will gravitate back to Six Penn to restore our faith. The waiters are excellent about recommending a meal or wine for our picky group. Unlike a lot of places downtown, the tables are nicely spaced out. We like to sit upstairs where it is less noisy. Save room for a dessert. I won't make specific recommendations because all of us have eaten many different items and always enjoyed. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I could not get checked in when I arrive ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I could not get checked in when I arrived. They host actually took the woman behind me and seated her first. I tried a seconds time to check in and was ignored. Someone else from our party had to check us in. Once seated, it was extremely noisy. We could barely have a conversation. The food was mediocre and not a great value for the price. We have been to Six Penn many times but won't be going back a time soon. There are many other options in the area that have better customer service and more cost effective.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Settled for this place when we couldn't ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Settled for this place when we couldn't get a dinner reservation somewhere else. We were seated upstairs and it lacked ambience. It was quiet and nice for dinner conversation, however. Food was just okay. It wasn't bad, but no one at the dinner table was really thrilled with their dinner. They charged $6 to share a dinner; that was a surprise. I wouldn't go back. But it worked given we couldn't get into the other 3 places we were trying for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Veggie options are slim again. Asked for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Veggie options are slim again. Asked for gnocchi to be made veggie and were told it was not possible! Though had a reservation, had to wait 10 min only to be seated at a table that was at a busy intersection, so had to deal with much traffic and the server had to keep asking us to repeat our selections because we had the noise of both first and second floor.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We made a reservation here because we ha ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We made a reservation here because we had show tickets at 8 pm and the proximity to Benedum Center was perfect. The meal was excellent -- not a bad dish in the bunch. We would definitely return, especially because the reservations were so easy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was excellent as was the food. T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Service was excellent as was the food. The pork shank has been a favorite of mine for years. It's always perfect! Our table also enjoy the lamb bolognese and gnocchi. We went after the wine flight at the Caberet as the location is an easy walk.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first time dining and I was very diss ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My first time dining and I was very dissatisfied. I made reservations for two a few days in advance and confirmed yet when I arrived the host acted as if I had no reservation at all and the poor choice in table reflected that. My date and I were led

to the second floor where we were shown a table in between two other tables and I would have to squeeze by on either side to sit. I declined the table and we were taken to a private room with other guest, we got a table with more room and the atmosphere was a little more intimate which was what I hoped for. The food was mediocre and the service was poor. I have had better service and food at other restaurants downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Our meals were seasoned with way too muc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our meals were seasoned with way too much paprika. Our table was lopsided, my fork was bent, and the ladies room needed attending. There are many other choices that beat this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was delicious, especially the v ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was delicious, especially the vegetable chips and onion dip! We had great meals, a wonderful waiter. The only thing is that we couldn't understand with reservations and the first floor virtually empty when we arrived we were put upstairs. It didn't seem as comfortable up there

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went with our team for lunch. Herbert ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went with our team for lunch. Herbert was our waiter and he was very friendly. I got the grilled cheese. It was a bit too much grease and cheeses for my stomach to handle but everything else was decent. I've been to six penn multiple times and wouldn't go their for the food. Deserts and drink are great but meals are always just ok. Nothing to write home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

It was unfortunate that two of us had ou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

It was unfortunate that two of us had our short ribs served cold. Everything including the plate itself was cold. When the waiter returned with them, they still would not be considered more than luke warm. The manager offered dessert as apology and sadly it was a disappointment as well. A resturant of this caliber and expense should not serve food less than hot....twice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great as usual. Frank was awesome and th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great as usual. Frank was awesome and the food, cocktails, and wine were great. Get the pork shank if you haven't before, and don't skip out on dessert. The cheesecakes change frequently and are always amazing. The Meyer lemon tart was fantastic. Their wine list is also one of the best around, whether you like French, Italian, Spanish, or California-- there's something for everyone in every price range.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Modern Decor, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic innovative dishes beautifully ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Fantastic innovative dishes beautifully plated. Brussels sprouts were the best I have had!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food appetizers came early waiter ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food appetizers came early waiter on the slower side but very

Polite .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I've gone to Six Penn several times. it ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I've gone to Six Penn several times. it's convenient to event venues and the atmosphere is nice, but I feel the pricing of the entrees is excessive while the flavor is not remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Pappardelle Pasta served lukewarm. . Bal ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Pappardelle Pasta served lukewarm. . Balsamic vinaigrette barely edible way too much vinegar, just inhaling it made you choke. . Bread basket horribly presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We were having a couples date night out ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were having a couples date night out and very much enjoyed our dining experience! Our waiter was great and the food was excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food! Fresh, generous portions ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic food! Fresh, generous portions. Delicious desserts. Vegetarian options but somewhat limited. Menu based on large portions of meat including beef, chicken, and local lamb. Service was good: fast and efficient. For us, this was a special occasion, date-night meal. Total cost with tip was $118. This included two salads, entrees, desserts, one glass of one, one beer, and one cup of coffee. Look forward to going back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Following an absence protracted by way o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Following an absence protracted by way of the Symphony strike, I was pleased to return to find this stalwart restaurant catercorner from Heinz Hall squarely on point.

Wow! Six Penn Kitchen continues to surprise and delight with their fresh take on comfort food - all carefully composed with locally sourced ingredients. Moreover, their greatly expanded wine list evidences a like commitment to quality and creativity and well complements their menu.

What comes out so well crafted from their kitchen and thoughtfully tended from their wine cellar, is served with a comfortable aplomb that renders the whole dining experience that of what you might expect from a wonderful neighborhood corner restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We hadn't been to Six Penn Kitchen in qu ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We hadn't been to Six Penn Kitchen in quite number of years. The menu has changed very little but the quality of the signature dish that I ordered - the Crackling Pork Shank - certainly did. This used to be a favorite, but I doubt that I'd order it again. It was dry, as were the sauerkraut potatoes. My order and the same order from another in my party tasted as if it had sat under a heat lamp and had been forgotten. The steak dishes ordered by two others in our party were deemed "good." We had a 5:30 reservation before an 8:00 theater call and were seated upstairs in the separate dining room. We thought this was going to be great, especially once he turned on the fireplace, but shortly the room filled as did the large dining room in front of us. The noise level was extremely loud, and all the waitstaff looked harried as they tried to fit through the tables. If your looking for that type of ambience this is a good place. If you want to have conversation, look elsewhere.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

What we had for dinner was not very tast ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 9, 2017

What we had for dinner was not very tasty and it was a bit pricy for what you got. It was better years ago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Convenient to Heinz Hall. Food was good ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Convenient to Heinz Hall. Food was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I enjoy eating at 6th Penn, but it is pr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I enjoy eating at 6th Penn, but it is pricy. The high noise can make it difficult to carry on a conversation. The food and service is very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Six Penn is grossly over priced for din ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Six Penn is grossly over priced for dinner before a show. We have eaten there several times.ir menu is unique (perhaps a bit too unique) the food is just ok. $100.00 with tip for 1 glass of wine I burger, and some gnocchi is more than a bit high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Consistently good food, great service, a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Consistently good food, great service, and great location.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had not been to Six Penn in some time ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had not been to Six Penn in some time, and we were not excited by the menu. It seemed repetitive and uninteresting . The mussels were the best thing in the mussels and shrimp dish, the Thai spaghetti was odd and there were too many sundried tomatoes and mushrooms which were not tasty. We enjoyed the salad, and we loved the complimentary peppermint patties at the end of the meal. It is unlikely that we will choose this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The food, while unique, was underwhelmin ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food, while unique, was underwhelming. I am a vegetarian so my options were limited, however, I had a number of appetizers all of which had a not-so-good taste especially for the price. I think I will skip next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

two dishes had to be returned because of ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

two dishes had to be returned because of extremely poor prep. Restaurant needs to hire a pasta chef who can cook pasta that isn't served as a giant blob of congealed carb matter. table next to us also returned food to the kitchen. clearly not enough wait staff; our waiter needed hearing aid. waiter and server(s) were completely out of sync. weird how bad it was.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The overall atmosphere was very pleasant ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The overall atmosphere was very pleasant. We were seated promptly and the service was fantastic. The reason we would not return is for our dinners. I had the duck and my date had crab cakes. The duck itself was ok but the stew type of beans was not very tasteful and did not complement the duck. The crab cakes was mainly filler with a limited amount of crab, additionally it came with enough asparagus the overwhelmed the plate and way to much for non-family style side.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We were there in New Years Eve and wasn' ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there in New Years Eve and wasn't impressed with the food at all. Ambiance was fine and location was very convenient due to first night activities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Great place for a special occasion. Very ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place for a special occasion. Very romantic and the food was amazing!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.