Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Six Penn Kitchen

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: (888) 306-0598

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (52)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Casual (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (6)
Fun (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Private Room (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Authentic (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Friendly prompt service. Salads were VERY fast. Sorry we didn't save room for dessert as they are all prepared on site.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and food. My only negative comment was that the tables are pretty close together and it's difficult to have a private conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our third time at Six Penn and our last. Our first two experiences weren't great in terms of food and noise level, but it's directly across the street from Heinz Hall where we attend many events throughout the year. This time my husband ordered spaghetti. The food was luke warm but the real problem was the spaghetti was dry and stuck together so he could lift the entire wad off the plate with his fork. When our waiter saw that, without a word, he took the plate away! My husband finished the cheese platter we ordered as a appetizer and couldn't order another meal because we had 10 minutes until our program at Heinz Hall. We ordered our food at 6:45, it arrived an 7:35. Goodbye, Six Penn.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to eat before a show. Quick service and great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

We were disappointed in the quality of the food and the overall value of the experience. My NY Strip was comparable to a chain discount chain restaurant. My wife's pasta was bland and uninviting. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waiter, Tim, was just the right level of attentive. If we needed something he was never far away, but he wasn't constantly interrupting our meal or our conversation to ask how everything was. The food was excellent and the portions were generous. All in all, we made a good choice for dinner on our way to the theater!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We told the waitress we had show tickets and the time and she was very respectful of that and even was watching the clock for us. Great service and the gluten free pizza was fantastic!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The meal was incredible but service was so terrible and slow. And they weren't even busy.

The food took so long to come, so did the check. We ordered coffee and they brought out an empty mug & no coffee. We were almost late to our show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Dinner always the same-- SUPERB! Noise level was a bit deafening :(

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My husband and I chose Six Penn Kitchen for supper before attending the Lewis Black show at Heinz Hall based on reviews and proximity to the venue. Staff was friendly and efficient from our arrival through the entire experience. Matt was fun and answered all of our questions perfectly! Food was wonderful, and dietary requests were honored without hassle. Many options for varying appetites. Only negative was noise level, likely due to size and open layout.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was outstanding, the food terrific and the wine delicious! Thank you for a great evening!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very slow kitchen almost 1 hour waiting , the rest was OK a little pricey

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We've been to Six Penn numerous times and it has been decent, albeit rather overpriced. This time was AWFUL. We ordered two mixed drinks, a half bottle of wine, and two appetizers each (mussels and salad for me, onion soup and tuna tartar for my husband). The mussels were very small, hardly worth the effort. The onion soup never came. After waiting about half an hour, my husband told the waiter to forget it. Salad and tuna were OK, but overpriced for portion size. Bill was over $100 and that was after they knocked off 20 for the lousy service. The manager was a jerk--perfunctory apology as he whizzed by our table. The whole experience changed our opinion of Six Penn--we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

A lot of money for lukewarm food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Visited on Wednesday evening pre-theater.First, through Open Table, I could NOT get a 5:30pm reservatin and yet we were there at 5:30pm and the restaurant was certainly not busy. My husband and I both ordered from the house specialities: I had the roasted chicken with a cranberry and orange chutney (delish and ample quantity) served with a corn bread pudding stuffing (again very tasty), French green beans and covered with a mushroom marsala. I have never met a chicken I didn't love BUT this dish was a unique and complex combination of flavors and I thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband got the pork shank which he enjoyed but commented that the serving was more than he could manage. The portions were large and we were glad that we'd NOT ordered an appetizer, nor salad. Our waiter was attentive, knowledgeable and helped us to navigate the menu and make our choices. Prices were reasonable and overall, we deemed the experience good value.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This is usually our go to place before the opera and we've had good service and good food. This time was so disappointing and dreadful . We were seated, ordered our meals and waited and waited. Tables seated after us got their food, ate and left and we still hadn't been served. Our server seemed to be staying away and we had to ask other servers to find him. The bar manager and manager finally appeared and we finally served after waiting for an hour and ten minutes. We had to eat fast but we made the Opera. It will be awhile before we go back....if we do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was pretty good, but not $25 per entree good. The service was great, but the ambiance wasn't great. All in all wasn't worth the money.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dined here prior to concert at Heinz Hall. We were seated at an upstairs table. The table was very long between my date and myself, so we had a hard time hearing each other in conversation. The décor was dated; lighting lacked ambience. Our waiter and staff were great! Food good, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My chicken was hard to cut without a sharp knife but it was still good. Wait staff was very attentive. Noise level was OK until a very loud couple sat next to us. Love the chocolate after dinner mints.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We loved the restaurant and felt were treated special. Great restaurant - we would recommend and already did!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Maitre d' Tom very accommodating, pleasant and knowledgeable! Fun brunch ahead of a Heinz Hall concert.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We really loved brunch here! It was so incredibly delicious. Service was great. Bread basket was fun with 3 different types to try and housemade jam. Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Awesome my favorite brunch in town my go to when downtown

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had great meals (Lamb special & NY Strip) in a great setting. Service was top notch. HUGE wine list. Overall a great place to eat!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Really enjoyed the pork shank, thanks to our waitress for the honest suggestion! We will return, great place to head after seeing a show downtown!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Casual, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our waiter, Herbert, was great. Great food at a great value.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Great and interesting food options...the roasted Brussels sprouts are unbelievable as is the pork shank. Service is always top drawer. They are customer oriented as it should be for a restaurant. Everything was perfect, could not have been better. If you have not tried this restaurant, you need to make reservations soon!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The location of Six Penn Kitchen makes it the perfect spot to eat before the Symphony, the Bennedum or the Pittsburgh Public Theater. Always courteous servers, nice selection of special offerings, comfortable seating and good, HOT food. Who could ask for more.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Not as good as in the past. Waiter was wonderful, though. Calamari a bit undercooked. Fried Brussels sprouts overcooked. Entrees and dessert were average and not memorable. The proximity to the Cultural District is the only saving grace. Next visit to a show, Six Penn will be a last resort if everywhere else is filled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Repeat Visit Well Worth It! Before attending the symphony, we stopped here for dinner. The artichoke appetizer was divine!!! For dinner my daughter ordered the duck cassoulet and I had more simple fare, a dinner salad and a side of macaroni and cheese. Whatever you desire, Six Penn will make it great. The drinks are great, the service is wonderful, and I can't think of a single negative thing. Go there and enjoy yourselves!

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Family Style, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Love this place ! The food and service were excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The wait staff was fantastic providing excellent service. It was a very quiet night, with most tables empty, probably due to the bad weather that had been predicted the day before.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Six Penn is a solid restaurant - good place to take someone if they are a picky eater. The usually have good, traditional dishes and a few outside the box also.

Sometimes it gets a bit loud though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The wait staff was fantastic. We were up with family and kids and we had no problems finding items on the menu for everyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was (too) slow. Cathy wasn't good at multitasking. Each thing she did required a unique trip to her server station. Bring the check? Sure! Off to her server station. Ten minutes later, return with the check. Off to another table. Ten minutes later, return for the check. Takes it to server station. Ten minutes later, returns with the charge slip. And so the night went. Two hour meal including the last half hour waiting to pay. Brought mini wine carafes and poured them into our wine glasses. Left the empty carafes on the table. Someone else's job to clear them I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Do the chef tasting, best value! Add in wine pairing as well! They surprised me with what they can do, nice job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The chicken paprikash was way too spicy even though the menu doesn't say so. Even my boyfriend couldn't eat one bite even though he likes to eat spicy. But after telling the waitress she brought me a different dish which was quite good, saying that she had already told the manager to take it off the menu because so many people have had the same problem.
Overall it was good, but not worth the high prices.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I always eat here when I attend an event at Heinz Hall. The food is good and it's not over priced!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This was a great gustatory delight! The ambiance was fun, fabulous and fast service! As a bonus it is healthy, clean and farm friendly. What a treat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.