About Six Penn Kitchen

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: 8883060598

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sriracha Chicken Sandwich
Corned Beef Hash Skillet
Bloody Mule
Tator Tots
Cracklin Pork Shank
Six Penn "Circus"
Pork Shank
Raspberry Latte Cocktail
Green beans
Green Flash West Coast IPA
Grilled Chicken In A Dill Sauce
Cherry Cheesecake
Pecan Pie Bars
mango jelly
Brownie
Twinkie Trio (fudge, Traditional And Red Velvet Bacon)
Buffalo Chicken Mac N Cheese
Calamari & Shrimp Appetizer
Seared Trout
Banana Chocolate Chip Cheesecake
Crab Salad
Six Penn Circus
Broccoli Penne Alfredo
Tu Good Not Tu
Spinach Salad
Bread
Hanger Steak
House-Made After-Dinner Mint
Steak And Perogies
Apple Pie
Croque Madame
Tempura Bacon
Boston Cream Beignets
Breakfast Spring Rolls
Lamb Bologeneze
Restaurant Week
Calamari
Hali
Bread Pudding
Strawberry Mohito
Smoked Briske
Beet Salad
Pumpkin Gnocchi

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (68)
special occasion (55)
great for lunch (43)
See All
good for groups (39)
neighborhood gem (32)
great for brunch (31)
notable wine list (21)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for outdoor dining (12)
romantic (10)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was excellent. The main course took ...

Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent. The main course took a little too long to arrive but it was then delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We decided to eat on the roof. The ambia ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We decided to eat on the roof. The ambiance up there is lacking. The inside is much better. We did enjoy our food. Lamb shank and pork shank. Service was very slow. We would go back but we would eat inside. Outside is ok for drinks and appys.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From appetizer to dessert - Everything ...

Dined 4 days ago

From appetizer to dessert - Everything was fantastic! Our waitress was attentive and made some great recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have never been disappointed at Six P ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have never been disappointed at Six Penn Kitchen. Friendly and helpful staff always make you feel at home. It is the only restaurant I will consider if I am attending events in the cultural center of Pittsburgh. A great little bar if you have to wait for a table is a plus. You can't go wrong!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch on the rooftop. They even brough ...

Dined 7 days ago

Brunch on the rooftop. They even brought us a free appetizer because they said one dish was delayed, but everything was very timely. A really pleasant Father's Day outing! Wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great. Disappointed ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food and service was great. Disappointed that the rooftop bar was closed for a special party.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Appeared that restaurant was short staff ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Appeared that restaurant was short staffed. I had to remind waiter that we had tickets to the symphony so we could have our entrees served. Little touches neglected. Had to take water carafe from next table at the end of our meal. Noticed other tables served bread. Never offered to us. Taken off our list.

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Our service professional was outstanding ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our service professional was outstanding! The only reason that we would recommend this restaurant is the staff. Two out of four meals were good. Two of us loved our scallops but two were very disappointed with their meals. One was a piece of steak that was half fat and gristle. One was a piece of salmon that smelled and tasted very fishy. We will not return.

food1
ambience1
service2
value3

The food was awful. Very pedestrian. Not ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was awful. Very pedestrian. Nothing was remotely adequate. Server was slow and non existent. The bread service poor. Every dish was horrible. Had a BBQ special. Brisket was overcooked rubbery. Couldn't get out there fast enough. Ended up eating another meal at butcher and rye after we left. Stay away.

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Food is just average--Martini was extrem ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Food is just average--Martini was extremely small--we not told of specials by wait staff

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Six Penn is always fabulous, great food, ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Six Penn is always fabulous, great food, great service. I highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my fourth meal at Six Penn and ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This was my fourth meal at Six Penn and the most disappointing. It was the first time that I ate upstairs and that may have contributed. The food was excellent, as always, but not warm enough to eat--especially since I had lamb. It was warmer than tepid but not hot enough. I told the waitress but due to theater reservations, I did not want it sent back. The crowded nature of the tables made neighboring conversations very audible and my hearing impaired friend was straining to hear because of the room noise. I will reconsider going to Six Penn again unless it is an off hour. This is regretable because the cuisine is creative and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fantastic and the setting was v ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was fantastic and the setting was very nice. Right in the heart of the cultural district in downtown Pittsburgh. Very convenient to travel to any of the cultural district theaters for a show.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had an enjoyable meal in a relaxed and ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I had an enjoyable meal in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere with my daughter before going to the theater. It's location in the theater district was ideal. In the past I have gone to SPK after the theater for coffee and dessert. Again, it is in a great location and the food is very good. I didn't give the food an excellent review because I was hoping for more variety of choices.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4

Great rooftop patio!

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great rooftop patio!

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

I have eaten here twice before and it wa ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I have eaten here twice before and it was excellent both times. This time, they were not terribly busy and our waitress must have been bored. We were pushed through the process all night. She wanted to take our drink order before we had time to look the list over. We requested a little time and when she returned, she answered my questions about two wine options - which worked out well. The wine she suggested was quite good. Unfortunately, she came back to take our food order before she brought out our wine. We ordered an appetizer, but she wanted our food order at the same time. She seemed perturbed when we weren't on her timeline, so we capitulated. The Calamari appetizer was excellent! Unfortunately, the main course arrived before we were finished with it (probably because we ordered too soon) and her solution was to take the appetizer away. Again, she seemed perturbed when we objected. She returned several times to try to take it away. We objected, as it was the best part of the meal... Both of our main course dishes were over-salted. Severely over-salted. Very disappointing. We ate the appetizer and left a good portion of our main courses behind. Though we said we were not from the area and did not want to take the leftovers with us, she took the time to package them up anyway - - before bringing our check. I normally tip between 20% - 25%, but given the service and the quality of the food, I came in at 15% on this bill. As I do not get to Pittsburgh that often, and there is plenty of competition in the immediate area, I probably will not be so quick to suggest Six-Penn as a "sure-fire option" in the future. Too bad.

food4
ambience4
service1

Terrible service! We have been to Six P ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Terrible service! We have been to Six Penn many times, and have always had great service. But not this past Sunday. We were greeted with 'now pay attention', and then our server David began to tell us everything on the menu that we could not order (because items were sold out). It went downhill from there. Very dismissive with our questions, and it seemed he was annoyed we were even there, like it was time to close up and get out. We have NEVER tipped below 20% before, but this time......there was no way 20% was going to happen. Hopefully he got the message.

food3
ambience3
service3

We had a good dinner with friends at Six ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a good dinner with friends at Six Penn. We ate on the first floor on a Saturday night and it was not crowded. The sangria was excellent - very refreshing. The lamb bolognese was good but nothing special although it is listed as a signature dish. My favorite thing was the house made chocolate covered mints that arrived with the check.!

food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Lack of consistency

Dined on June 10, 2016

I have been a loyal fan and customer of Six Penn since it opened. It is where my son requests we go for his every birthday. I have also been patient with what seems a general lack of consistency in the cuisine and among the kitchen staff. That said, the service has always been great and well-managed, especially on busy theater nights. However, my most recent meal was so disappointing that I probably will never return. We had to return the mussels because one was bad. The filet was rare (rather than medium rare as requested) and loaded with fat. I am tolerant of small deviations, however the smell of the bad mussel and the look of the steak should've been caught by someone before they were served to us. Incredibly disappointing. When we returned the food, we were not given anything in return. Not even an apology by the manager on staff. Sorry, Six Penn. Think this will be the last time we visit. So many other options in the Downtown Pgh area that show more care to their food preparation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday and a performance of the Cultural Trust

Dined on June 4, 2016

We were attending a performance of the Pittsburgh Cultural Trust and also celebrating my wife's birthday. The food was excellent, served promptly, and hot. Had appetizer and main course. Will go again, and again.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect for Theatre dining

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a little over an hour before the concert at Heinz Hall, and the city was abuzz with other theatre goers and Pirates fans. The restaurant was very busy, but luckily we had reservations (overheard the hostess quote an hour wait.) We asked the server what meals would be most reasonable so we weren't waiting for a meal then rushing to eat it. We each got a salad and started with the antipasti. Service, food, all was what we've come to expect from SixPenn.

food1
ambience3
service1

The service was extremely slow. I had t ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

The service was extremely slow. I had the smoked chicken. It was very dry. It was the worst dinner I have had in quite a while. I will not go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Excellent service

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a reservation. It was very crowded. But our service was amazing in spite of how busy it was. The food was fantastic. I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

skip six penn

Dined on June 1, 2016

Mediocre food and very long wait of 30 minutes for a salad and mac&cheese in an empty restaurant. No apology or explanation from server or other staff.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Our entrees arrived one hour after our s ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Our entrees arrived one hour after our starters were served. That's unacceptable.

food5
ambience4
service3

Food was fantastic and reasonably priced ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was fantastic and reasonably priced. Had the grilled ribeye and cowboy burger - both were well portioned and had great flavor. Service was a little disjointed. The host took our order when he realized our server hadn't been by yet. Water, bread basket, and meal were brought to the table by separate staff. We didn't actually see our assigned server till she asked about desert and brought the check. Even with all that, the meal arrived quickly and was an overall pleasant dining experience.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

six penn kitchen was good

Dined on May 14, 2016

we enjoyed our meal. service was particularly good. wine was excellent, main dish and salad were very good. We did not try many different options, but I would go again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect for PreTheater Dining

Dined on May 14, 2016

I like that you can have great appetizers and drinks and be out in an hour before the theater. I just wish it wasn't quite so noisy. Hard to hear, even across a small table.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed the time at Six Penn. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I really enjoyed the time at Six Penn. I've been there before, and they always try to give me my favorite table, which they did this time. My food was excellent! It was by far the best meal yet at this restaurant. Our waitress was fun, and helpful. It is a great restaurant to go to if attending a show at 8:00 as I was. It is very convenient to the Benedum, the Byham and especially Heinz Hall.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

A reliable place for quick service and q ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

A reliable place for quick service and quiet enough for business lunches

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Six Penn is a great place to grab Brunch if you are heading to a Sunday afternoon presentation at one of the several near by theaters. We usually share and enjoy the Mont Crisco. The menu is loaded with delicious selections so it is difficult to decide what you are going to have and enjoy.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Could be better

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our service started out sketchy as I took 15mins for a server to approach our table, but once order was placed for apps, it was steady but nothing extra special. Our apps were delicious, we ordered the baked brie and calamari. Dinner was ok, although the menu is fairly small, it was beautifully prepared, although I had the scallops and for almost $30, I had a small portion of risotto and 4 overly seasoned scallops (very salty) but the rest of table was very happy with their food. I may try this again for lunch but not sure for a special occasion.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A find in plain sight

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a place to have dinner with our mothers in Pittsburgh. My wife and I had dined in downtown Pittsburgh several times and had walked past Six Penn several times but never dined there. I read a few reviews online and decided to make dinner reservations there. We arrived early and were immediately seated. Our table was on the 2nd floor and the hostess saw our mothers and offered us the option to take the elevator to the 2nd floor. We had a great server who was attentive but not overly so. The appetizers and entrees were wonderful. I would definitely dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Took a really long time for us to get be ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Took a really long time for us to get beverages and orders. Tried their mussels with pork belly and they weren't good. Told the server and she said have I ever had mussels. I work in a restaurant and eat them frequently. Other than that, food made up for servers comments and service. I still ended up paying for the mussels I didnt eat

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We arrived at 10:30PM after the Pgh Oper ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

We arrived at 10:30PM after the Pgh Opera performance. Th bar is near the front door, and was very energetic. I was thinking uh oh, we may not be able to talk - but before I said anything, the hostess seated us in a booth away from the bar. (We didn't even have to ask.) The food was good, and the service was great. We enjoyed our late dinner at 6 Penn!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointing!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We were there for Sunday Brunch for a friends birthday, it was Marathon Day in Pittsburgh however we had a reservation. The hostess was down right rude, took others in front of us who walked in off the street without a reservation. We ordered drinks which we received but then sat for one hour with no food. Apparently there was a computer problem with the ordering system. No one came to say anything in all that time then the food arrived, cold with things missing some of which never came. They did not even offer a discount or a coupon or anything. I did not take it out on the server and left the appropriate tip but I was sure to tell him and the male host at the desk how disappointed we were. It was not handled well at all and there was virtually no attempt to really make up for the situation. Some communication could have gone a long way. It ruined the day I planned for my friend and it is not likely that I will go back any time soon.

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Ambiance and Waitress, but mediocre food

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our waitress was great! The ambiance was good, too (especially on the day of the Pittsburgh Marathon), but the food wasn't that great. Consider Chef Brian Little's excellent reputation, I expected better at brunch.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Given the time constraints (we had a per ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Given the time constraints (we had a performance at 8 PM), the staff did their best to accommodate us. The food was good, also.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

last visit here

Dined on April 30, 2016

Disappointing food preparation. 1 good meal out of 7 and they can't blame that on a rushed kitchen at 6PM. Pork shank is the only thing they do consistently well and I should have known that from past experience. "Craft" beer pricing is severely out of line...they make ballpark beer prices seem reasonable.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food and service

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.