About Six Penn Kitchen

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: 8883060598

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sriracha Chicken Sandwich
Corned Beef Hash Skillet
Bloody Mule
Tator Tots
Cracklin Pork Shank
Six Penn "Circus"
Pork Shank
Raspberry Latte Cocktail
Cherry Cheesecake
Brownie
Grilled Chicken In A Dill Sauce
Pecan Pie Bars
mango jelly
Green beans
Green Flash West Coast IPA
Twinkie Trio (fudge, Traditional And Red Velvet Bacon)
Buffalo Chicken Mac N Cheese
Calamari & Shrimp Appetizer
Banana Chocolate Chip Cheesecake
Seared Trout
Crab Salad
Six Penn Circus
Broccoli Penne Alfredo
Hanger Steak
Bread
Spinach Salad
Tu Good Not Tu
House-Made After-Dinner Mint
Steak And Perogies
Apple Pie
Croque Madame
Tempura Bacon
Boston Cream Beignets
Breakfast Spring Rolls
Restaurant Week
Lamb Bologeneze
Calamari
Hali
Bread Pudding
Smoked Briske
Strawberry Mohito
Pumpkin Gnocchi
Beet Salad

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (49)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Groups (33)
See All
Great for Lunch (28)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great for Brunch (20)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Romantic (7)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service & good menu options for th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service & good menu options for the four of us with varied tastes. Everything was well prepared & delicious. Definitely will come again! Thank you.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent. My wife hurt her ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was excellent. My wife hurt herself walking across the street on our way in and the host offered an ice bag and checked on us a few times. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was quite expensive ($21 burger ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was quite expensive ($21 burger and $28 pasta) which is fine if the food is top notch but in this case it was not. The food was closer to late hours Eat N Park than of a higher end restaurant. The burger was very bland and the others in my party had similar comments on their pasta, salmon, etc. I would never go back.

For the record, my party had meals at 6 Penn Ave restaurants over a few days and the other 5 were excellent, especially in comparison to Six Penn Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

I have been to Six Penn a few times and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I have been to Six Penn a few times and the food/service has always been great! This last time was not that great. When my friend and I came in, they happily let us know that they just changed their menu that day. So we were excited to try the new menu. It was awful! Burnt flavorless and really really terrible! Our server was great however, he was very apologetic and wanted us to order another dinner on him. We declined and left. I think I'll wait until they figure the menu out before I decide to return. Hope they figure it out soon. If this continues, they will not be around long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Absolutely wonderful experience!! Great ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Absolutely wonderful experience!! Great food...very attentive service...we had a wonderful first date!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was average at best. Had to sen ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was average at best. Had to send back the tuna tartare as it had skin and cartilage on the pieces, making it inedible. To his credit, the manager acknowledged and apologized for the problem and tried to make it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Not many options for vegetarians, so I h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Not many options for vegetarians, so I had the spinach ravioli which tasted like packaged food and warmed up in microwave, plus the garlic was completely over powering taste. My daughter had the salad which came with an apple cider vinegar dressing that was also over powering with cider vinegar to the point of being uneatable. The restaurant was not busy so the waiter seemed to be annoyed that we were not ready to order our food and kept coming over every 2 minutes to see if we were ready to order yet, then once we got our food we never saw her till we wanted our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I keep trying to like this restaurant, b ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I keep trying to like this restaurant, but consistency just isn't there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The food tasted good but it came out bar ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food tasted good but it came out barely warm. Service was good considering they were very busy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was extremely poor quality and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was extremely poor quality and over-priced. The breakfast sandwich is turkey lunch meat on white wonder bread. It was good but not for the price. My fiancé had steak and eggs and said it was the worst he has had and the steak had not flavor and was over cooked. I was stunned at how cheap looking and tasting the food was. I will never be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Really polite help, efficient service, f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Really polite help, efficient service, fresh good, and great view. Perfect for dining before a downtown show. Elegant and reasonably priced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tons of options for everyone, including ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Tons of options for everyone, including the gluten-free and vegetarians in our group. The food came out at perfect speed and the service was friendly but not overbearing. Awesome execution!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived early but they forgot to seat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We arrived early but they forgot to seat us when our reserved time came. Food was terrible. Restaurant was too noisy. I've had good meals here before but after this visit, I will not return to Six Penn Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Food was creative and delicious. Great f ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was creative and delicious. Great for before the theater. Great ambiance. Fun!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was friendly, the food was d ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The service was friendly, the food was delicious. We look forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food and service are fine. However, ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food and service are fine. However, they really need to get their fly situation under control. My colleague and I, as well as those dining near us, were dealing with numerous flies throughout the entire meal. It wasn't something I am accustom to in one of the city's nicer restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Food was slow to be delivered to the tab ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was slow to be delivered to the table. I had ask the to check on of meals plus the food not plated well. It was not appetizing enough.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The scallops may have been the best I ha ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The scallops may have been the best I have ever had at a restaurant. The pizza appetizer was good but 6 slices is large even for a two way appetizer. The drinks were a little pricey but that is the case in the city. We will likely return when we are in the cultural district,

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great hospitality and service. Steak wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great hospitality and service. Steak was very tasty, but a bit over cooked for medium rare.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've eaten here before, but not frequent ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I've eaten here before, but not frequently. This time, a friend and I met for dinner before a Pirates game.

Most of my rating for this visit is based on my previous meals, because I never got the meal I had ordered this time. Thirty minutes after ordering, the wrong meal was brought to me. I sent it back.

Our server said the correct meal would be brought out shortly, but twenty minutes later, I was still waiting. Meanwhile, my dining companion had finished his dinner and we wanted to leave for the start of the game.

That was the bad news. To be fair, though, the manager and the server were very apologetic about the mixup. They comped my friend's meal and asked that we come back again to give them a chance to do better.

I may do so, but not when I'm planning to attend a game or concert afterwards.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were very disappointed to find out th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were very disappointed to find out that the regular lunch menu was not available for Sunday. Also, the brunch menu was quite limited for kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was excellent..& very good server..

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was excellent..& very good server..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined at Six Penn before a show at He ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We dined at Six Penn before a show at Heinz Hall - this restaurant's location is great for attending cultural district events. We started with the bacon croquettes which were delicious. We both had a burger (one off the menu and one was a special). I like the manageable size of the burgers, and they were cooked to the perfect temperature. However, the meat was over seasoned - WAY too salty. We shared a dessert which was also good. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. Bar service, however, was very slow and drinks are super expensive. The appetizer menu is awesome; next time, I think we'll make dinner out of a few appetizer selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Get pork shank. One of best meals we've ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Get pork shank. One of best meals we've eaten! You won't regret it. If with kids, their pizza is yummy and a large portion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

my wife had a quick dinner before going ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

my wife had a quick dinner before going to Heinz Hall to see the PSO. I had a salmon salad special - which was just so-so. The salmon was not quite what I expected - it almost seemed as though it was scraped from a can of salmon (does such a thing exist) and the salmon was placed at the two ends of the plate.

My wife had the chicken, for $24 - which is rather exorbitant. She had about 3 bites and didnt like it

We've not had real good luck with our food here. Although when we last stopped at Six Penn before another PSO concert, we just had some appetizers/munchies - the pizza, the mac and cheese and they were quite good

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I had made an online reservation for a c ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I had made an online reservation for a certain time, however I had to call and change the time. When we got to the restaurant, there was no reservation, the hostess could not find it. The waiter was nice however, when he told us about the sirloin special, he came back and told us he was wrong and it included radishes and beets. So we changed to the gnocci plate. It was very rich. We tried the dessert which was the best part of the entire meal. My mother was very disgusted with everything. We also thought that for the amount and type of food, it was too pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We arrived late due to traffic. The host ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We arrived late due to traffic. The hostess said that was OK but seemed very confused, while trying to handle customers and phone at the same time. Our table was Ok. The service was mediocre at best and the food was fair. My wife ordered soup which she never received.

We have been to this venue before and were very pleased. They have gone down hill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

OUR WAITER WAS MISINFORMED OF THE SPECIA ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

OUR WAITER WAS MISINFORMED OF THE SPECIAL FOR THE EVENING. I ORDERED IT AND IT WAS NOT ANYTHING LIKE WE WERE TOLD. I WAS OFFERED ANOTHER ENTREE BUT TOO LATE AS WE HAD TICKETS FOR A SHOW. A COMPLIMENTARY GLASS OF WINE WAS WHAT I GOT IN RETURN. NO APOLOGY FROM MANAGEMENT.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Unfortunately, there was a very large pa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Unfortunately, there was a very large party also seated at the same time we were. We waited 15 minutes to be greeted/served and then another 15 minutes for our wine. The food was good, but the noise level and timing of service will prevent us from returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

Apparently, the kitchen was having a pro ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Apparently, the kitchen was having a problem. Soup and salad arrived 40 minutes after seating. Soup was stone old.

Entrees followed much later.

Entree salad was missing several advertised ingredients. Ho hum...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Restaurant was very loud. Tables are ver ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Restaurant was very loud. Tables are very close together. Team waitstaff concept not working well - dirty salad plates not yet removed when entree delivered. (It had been a while.) Food was good but not outstanding. New places in theater district are better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Fantastic, as always.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fantastic, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dinner and great service, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a great dinner and great service, got us all done in time for the concert, thanks!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Nice surprise - menu isn't overwhelming ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice surprise - menu isn't overwhelming with choices but they do a great job with the items offered. Went prior to a show with 3 others; we shared a few appetizers including the brie, calamari and prosciutto pizza. Everything was very tasty; however, nothing was hot. Items were lukewarm at best. I didn't mind so much but others in my group would have preferred their food to arrive hot. (not an unreasonable request I suppose). Our serve, Adam, was thoughtful and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We love SixPenn. Food is excellent. Se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We love SixPenn. Food is excellent. Service this last time was slower than normal, which is unusual compared to past visits. We didn't really get a chance to enjoy our meals, as we had theater tickets and had to hurry. Overall, though, this is hands down our favorite place to go downtown, and typically is our only choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I really like Six Penn. The hostesses an ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I really like Six Penn. The hostesses and servers couldn't be more gracious and competent. I have mobility problems which they take into account. The food is good but sometimes I feel the chef is trying too hard to make it a foodie restaurant and overlooks how pleasing a few simple fare items can be: juicy chicken, a good meatloaf. My biggest complaint is the noise level. It appears to me that the restaurant was designed to be that way because there are few things to absorb sound. Maybe the addition of a few design features to get the sound down at least a little bit would appeal to an older crowd while still providing enough energy and vibrancy to appeal to a younger crowd.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall, our experience was good, not ve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall, our experience was good, not very good or excellent. We had the Sunday brunch - the bignettes were fabulous; the entrees were just ok; the eggs benefit was exceptional but the quiche was small, cold, and the crust had fallen off - not very good for the price; the omelette was also just average; the noise level was too high - we couldn't hear each other talk.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We were visiting Pittsburgh and glad tha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were visiting Pittsburgh and glad that we found this restauranata that seems very popular with the locals

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were spending an evening in Pittsburg ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were spending an evening in Pittsburgh with our sons before they flew back to their respective schools the next morning and we wanted to have a special meal to complete their visit. Six Penn Kitchen delivered in a big way. From the minute we stepped into the restaurant where we were met with a very friendly hostess who showed interest in the schools both boys are attending to the great meal. Everything was fabulous, especially the pretzel bites. Our service was a little slow at first but she got better. Great Pittsburgh experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I'll make this short....lunch with a fr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I'll make this short....lunch with a friend...reuben that i've been craving...tasteless...VERY little meat and very fatty....friend had dagwood (special of the day) vegetables in the middle which made it impossible to pick up...very little meat there as well...although french fries were good...

Waitress came half way though the meal..asked how things were, I simply said "I'm not impressed with the reuben..she said nothing and walked away....NOT a place I would go back to...disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.