About Six Penn Kitchen

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: 8883060598

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sriracha Chicken Sandwich
Corned Beef Hash Skillet
Bloody Mule
Tator Tots
Cracklin Pork Shank
Six Penn "Circus"
Pork Shank
Raspberry Latte Cocktail
Green beans
Green Flash West Coast IPA
Grilled Chicken In A Dill Sauce
Cherry Cheesecake
Pecan Pie Bars
mango jelly
Brownie
Twinkie Trio (fudge, Traditional And Red Velvet Bacon)
Buffalo Chicken Mac N Cheese
Calamari & Shrimp Appetizer
Seared Trout
Banana Chocolate Chip Cheesecake
Crab Salad
Six Penn Circus
Broccoli Penne Alfredo
Tu Good Not Tu
Spinach Salad
Bread
Hanger Steak
House-Made After-Dinner Mint
Steak And Perogies
Apple Pie
Croque Madame
Tempura Bacon
Boston Cream Beignets
Breakfast Spring Rolls
Lamb Bologeneze
Restaurant Week
Calamari
Hali
Bread Pudding
Strawberry Mohito
Smoked Briske
Beet Salad
Pumpkin Gnocchi

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (58)
special occasion (47)
great for lunch (39)
See All
good for groups (36)
neighborhood gem (29)
great for brunch (28)
notable wine list (15)
great for outdoor dining (15)
vibrant bar scene (12)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (10)
romantic (6)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

my wife had a quick dinner before going ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

my wife had a quick dinner before going to Heinz Hall to see the PSO. I had a salmon salad special - which was just so-so. The salmon was not quite what I expected - it almost seemed as though it was scraped from a can of salmon (does such a thing exist) and the salmon was placed at the two ends of the plate.

My wife had the chicken, for $24 - which is rather exorbitant. She had about 3 bites and didnt like it

We've not had real good luck with our food here. Although when we last stopped at Six Penn before another PSO concert, we just had some appetizers/munchies - the pizza, the mac and cheese and they were quite good

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We arrived late due to traffic. The host ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

We arrived late due to traffic. The hostess said that was OK but seemed very confused, while trying to handle customers and phone at the same time. Our table was Ok. The service was mediocre at best and the food was fair. My wife ordered soup which she never received.

We have been to this venue before and were very pleased. They have gone down hill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

OUR WAITER WAS MISINFORMED OF THE SPECIA ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

OUR WAITER WAS MISINFORMED OF THE SPECIAL FOR THE EVENING. I ORDERED IT AND IT WAS NOT ANYTHING LIKE WE WERE TOLD. I WAS OFFERED ANOTHER ENTREE BUT TOO LATE AS WE HAD TICKETS FOR A SHOW. A COMPLIMENTARY GLASS OF WINE WAS WHAT I GOT IN RETURN. NO APOLOGY FROM MANAGEMENT.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Unfortunately, there was a very large pa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Unfortunately, there was a very large party also seated at the same time we were. We waited 15 minutes to be greeted/served and then another 15 minutes for our wine. The food was good, but the noise level and timing of service will prevent us from returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

Apparently, the kitchen was having a pro ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Apparently, the kitchen was having a problem. Soup and salad arrived 40 minutes after seating. Soup was stone old.

Entrees followed much later.

Entree salad was missing several advertised ingredients. Ho hum...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Restaurant was very loud. Tables are ver ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Restaurant was very loud. Tables are very close together. Team waitstaff concept not working well - dirty salad plates not yet removed when entree delivered. (It had been a while.) Food was good but not outstanding. New places in theater district are better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Fantastic, as always.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fantastic, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dinner and great service, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a great dinner and great service, got us all done in time for the concert, thanks!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Nice surprise - menu isn't overwhelming ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice surprise - menu isn't overwhelming with choices but they do a great job with the items offered. Went prior to a show with 3 others; we shared a few appetizers including the brie, calamari and prosciutto pizza. Everything was very tasty; however, nothing was hot. Items were lukewarm at best. I didn't mind so much but others in my group would have preferred their food to arrive hot. (not an unreasonable request I suppose). Our serve, Adam, was thoughtful and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We love SixPenn. Food is excellent. Se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We love SixPenn. Food is excellent. Service this last time was slower than normal, which is unusual compared to past visits. We didn't really get a chance to enjoy our meals, as we had theater tickets and had to hurry. Overall, though, this is hands down our favorite place to go downtown, and typically is our only choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I really like Six Penn. The hostesses an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I really like Six Penn. The hostesses and servers couldn't be more gracious and competent. I have mobility problems which they take into account. The food is good but sometimes I feel the chef is trying too hard to make it a foodie restaurant and overlooks how pleasing a few simple fare items can be: juicy chicken, a good meatloaf. My biggest complaint is the noise level. It appears to me that the restaurant was designed to be that way because there are few things to absorb sound. Maybe the addition of a few design features to get the sound down at least a little bit would appeal to an older crowd while still providing enough energy and vibrancy to appeal to a younger crowd.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall, our experience was good, not ve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall, our experience was good, not very good or excellent. We had the Sunday brunch - the bignettes were fabulous; the entrees were just ok; the eggs benefit was exceptional but the quiche was small, cold, and the crust had fallen off - not very good for the price; the omelette was also just average; the noise level was too high - we couldn't hear each other talk.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We were visiting Pittsburgh and glad tha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were visiting Pittsburgh and glad that we found this restauranata that seems very popular with the locals

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were spending an evening in Pittsburg ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were spending an evening in Pittsburgh with our sons before they flew back to their respective schools the next morning and we wanted to have a special meal to complete their visit. Six Penn Kitchen delivered in a big way. From the minute we stepped into the restaurant where we were met with a very friendly hostess who showed interest in the schools both boys are attending to the great meal. Everything was fabulous, especially the pretzel bites. Our service was a little slow at first but she got better. Great Pittsburgh experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I'll make this short....lunch with a fr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I'll make this short....lunch with a friend...reuben that i've been craving...tasteless...VERY little meat and very fatty....friend had dagwood (special of the day) vegetables in the middle which made it impossible to pick up...very little meat there as well...although french fries were good...

Waitress came half way though the meal..asked how things were, I simply said "I'm not impressed with the reuben..she said nothing and walked away....NOT a place I would go back to...disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was excellent. The main course took ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was excellent. The main course took a little too long to arrive but it was then delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We decided to eat on the roof. The ambia ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We decided to eat on the roof. The ambiance up there is lacking. The inside is much better. We did enjoy our food. Lamb shank and pork shank. Service was very slow. We would go back but we would eat inside. Outside is ok for drinks and appys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

From appetizer to dessert - Everything ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

From appetizer to dessert - Everything was fantastic! Our waitress was attentive and made some great recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have never been disappointed at Six P ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have never been disappointed at Six Penn Kitchen. Friendly and helpful staff always make you feel at home. It is the only restaurant I will consider if I am attending events in the cultural center of Pittsburgh. A great little bar if you have to wait for a table is a plus. You can't go wrong!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated upstairs for Father's Day ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were seated upstairs for Father's Day brunch. It didn't feel like you were part of the restaurant. The waitress was attentive, but the kitchen was very slow. Took 50 minutes to get our food. We've been there a few other times without incident, but the food wasn't great this particular visit to make it worth waiting 50 minutes with a one year old. Second floor could use some updating and cleaning for the furniture, carpets and overall atmosphere. Had a dirty and worn out feel to it. First floor and rooftop are much nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Brunch on the rooftop. They even brough ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Brunch on the rooftop. They even brought us a free appetizer because they said one dish was delayed, but everything was very timely. A really pleasant Father's Day outing! Wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was great. Disappointed ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food and service was great. Disappointed that the rooftop bar was closed for a special party.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appeared that restaurant was short staff ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Appeared that restaurant was short staffed.

I had to remind waiter that we had tickets to the symphony so we could have our entrees served. Little touches neglected. Had to take water carafe from next table at the end of our meal. Noticed other tables served bread. Never offered to us. Taken off our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Our service professional was outstanding ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our service professional was outstanding! The only reason that we would recommend this restaurant is the staff. Two out of four meals were good. Two of us loved our scallops but two were very disappointed with their meals. One was a piece of steak that was half fat and gristle. One was a piece of salmon that smelled and tasted very fishy. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The food was awful. Very pedestrian. Not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was awful. Very pedestrian. Nothing was remotely adequate. Server was slow and non existent. The bread service poor. Every dish was horrible. Had a BBQ special. Brisket was overcooked rubbery. Couldn't get out there fast enough. Ended up eating another meal at butcher and rye after we left. Stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value3

Food is just average--Martini was extrem ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food is just average--Martini was extremely small--we not told of specials by wait staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Six Penn is always fabulous, great food, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Six Penn is always fabulous, great food, great service. I highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my fourth meal at Six Penn and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was my fourth meal at Six Penn and the most disappointing. It was the first time that I ate upstairs and that may have contributed. The food was excellent, as always, but not warm enough to eat--especially since I had lamb.

It was warmer than tepid but not hot enough. I told the waitress but due to theater reservations, I did not want it sent back.

The crowded nature of the tables made neighboring conversations very audible and my hearing impaired friend was straining to hear because of the room noise.

I will reconsider going to Six Penn again unless it is an off hour. This is regretable because the cuisine is creative and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was fantastic and the setting was v ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was fantastic and the setting was very nice. Right in the heart of the cultural district in downtown Pittsburgh. Very convenient to travel to any of the cultural district theaters for a show.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had an enjoyable meal in a relaxed and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I had an enjoyable meal in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere with my daughter before going to the theater. It's location in the theater district was ideal. In the past I have gone to SPK after the theater for coffee and dessert. Again, it is in a great location and the food is very good.

I didn't give the food an excellent review because I was hoping for more variety of choices.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great rooftop patio!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great rooftop patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I have eaten here twice before and it wa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I have eaten here twice before and it was excellent both times.

This time, they were not terribly busy and our waitress must have been bored. We were pushed through the process all night. She wanted to take our drink order before we had time to look the list over. We requested a little time and when she returned, she answered my questions about two wine options - which worked out well. The wine she suggested was quite good.

Unfortunately, she came back to take our food order before she brought out our wine. We ordered an appetizer, but she wanted our food order at the same time. She seemed perturbed when we weren't on her timeline, so we capitulated.

The Calamari appetizer was excellent! Unfortunately, the main course arrived before we were finished with it (probably because we ordered too soon) and her solution was to take the appetizer away. Again, she seemed perturbed when we objected. She returned several times to try to take it away. We objected, as it was the best part of the meal...

Both of our main course dishes were over-salted. Severely over-salted. Very disappointing. We ate the appetizer and left a good portion of our main courses behind.

Though we said we were not from the area and did not want to take the leftovers with us, she took the time to package them up anyway - - before bringing our check.

I normally tip between 20% - 25%, but given the service and the quality of the food, I came in at 15% on this bill.

As I do not get to Pittsburgh that often, and there is plenty of competition in the immediate area, I probably will not be so quick to suggest Six-Penn as a "sure-fire option" in the future.

Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Terrible service! We have been to Six P ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Terrible service! We have been to Six Penn many times, and have always had great service. But not this past Sunday. We were greeted with 'now pay attention', and then our server David began to tell us everything on the menu that we could not order (because items were sold out). It went downhill from there. Very dismissive with our questions, and it seemed he was annoyed we were even there, like it was time to close up and get out. We have NEVER tipped below 20% before, but this time......there was no way 20% was going to happen. Hopefully he got the message.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

We had a good dinner with friends at Six ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a good dinner with friends at Six Penn. We ate on the first floor on a Saturday night and it was not crowded. The sangria was excellent - very refreshing. The lamb bolognese was good but nothing special although it is listed as a signature dish. My favorite thing was the house made chocolate covered mints that arrived with the check.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Lack of consistency

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I have been a loyal fan and customer of Six Penn since it opened. It is where my son requests we go for his every birthday. I have also been patient with what seems a general lack of consistency in the cuisine and among the kitchen staff. That said, the service has always been great and well-managed, especially on busy theater nights. However, my most recent meal was so disappointing that I probably will never return. We had to return the mussels because one was bad. The filet was rare (rather than medium rare as requested) and loaded with fat. I am tolerant of small deviations, however the smell of the bad mussel and the look of the steak should've been caught by someone before they were served to us. Incredibly disappointing. When we returned the food, we were not given anything in return. Not even an apology by the manager on staff. Sorry, Six Penn. Think this will be the last time we visit. So many other options in the Downtown Pgh area that show more care to their food preparation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Birthday and a performance of the Cultural Trust

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were attending a performance of the Pittsburgh Cultural Trust and also celebrating my wife's birthday. The food was excellent, served promptly, and hot. Had appetizer and main course. Will go again, and again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect for Theatre dining

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a little over an hour before the concert at Heinz Hall, and the city was abuzz with other theatre goers and Pirates fans. The restaurant was very busy, but luckily we had reservations (overheard the hostess quote an hour wait.) We asked the server what meals would be most reasonable so we weren't waiting for a meal then rushing to eat it. We each got a salad and started with the antipasti. Service, food, all was what we've come to expect from SixPenn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was extremely slow. I had t ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The service was extremely slow. I had the smoked chicken. It was very dry. It was the worst dinner I have had in quite a while. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Great food. Excellent service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a reservation. It was very crowded. But our service was amazing in spite of how busy it was. The food was fantastic. I will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

skip six penn

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Mediocre food and very long wait of 30 minutes for a salad and mac&cheese in an empty restaurant. No apology or explanation from server or other staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.