About Six Penn Kitchen

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: (888) 306-0598

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Sriracha Chicken Sandwich - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Bloody Mule - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Corned Beef Hash Skillet - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Tator Tots - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Cracklin Pork Shank - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Six Penn "Circus" - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Pork Shank - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Raspberry Latte Cocktail - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Cherry Cheesecake - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Brownie - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Grilled Chicken In A Dill Sauce - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Pecan Pie Bars - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
mango jelly - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Green beans - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Green Flash West Coast IPA - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Twinkie Trio (fudge, Traditional And Red Velvet Bacon) - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Buffalo Chicken Mac N Cheese - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Calamari & Shrimp Appetizer - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Banana Chocolate Chip Cheesecake - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Seared Trout - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Crab Salad - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Six Penn Circus - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Broccoli Penne Alfredo - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Hanger Steak - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Bread - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Spinach Salad - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Tu Good Not Tu - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
House-Made After-Dinner Mint - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Steak And Perogies - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Apple Pie - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Croque Madame - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Tempura Bacon - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Boston Cream Beignets - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Breakfast Spring Rolls - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Restaurant Week - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Lamb Bologeneze - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Calamari - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Hali - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Bread Pudding - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Smoked Briske - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Strawberry Mohito - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Pumpkin Gnocchi - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA
Beet Salad - Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh, PA

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (45)
Good for a Date (36)
Casual (27)
See All
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Modern Decor (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Open Kitchen (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Business Meals (18)
Fun (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Authentic (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Seasonal (10)
Romantic (10)
Healthy (9)
Cozy (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
People Watching (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Scenic View (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Family Style (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (2)
Private Room (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food appetizers came early waiter ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 21 hours ago

Great food appetizers came early waiter on the slower side but very

Polite .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Pappardelle Pasta served lukewarm. . Bal ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Pappardelle Pasta served lukewarm. . Balsamic vinaigrette barely edible way too much vinegar, just inhaling it made you choke. . Bread basket horribly presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We were having a couples date night out ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were having a couples date night out and very much enjoyed our dining experience! Our waiter was great and the food was excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food! Fresh, generous portions ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic food! Fresh, generous portions. Delicious desserts. Vegetarian options but somewhat limited. Menu based on large portions of meat including beef, chicken, and local lamb. Service was good: fast and efficient. For us, this was a special occasion, date-night meal. Total cost with tip was $118. This included two salads, entrees, desserts, one glass of one, one beer, and one cup of coffee. Look forward to going back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Following an absence protracted by way o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Following an absence protracted by way of the Symphony strike, I was pleased to return to find this stalwart restaurant catercorner from Heinz Hall squarely on point.

Wow! Six Penn Kitchen continues to surprise and delight with their fresh take on comfort food - all carefully composed with locally sourced ingredients. Moreover, their greatly expanded wine list evidences a like commitment to quality and creativity and well complements their menu.

What comes out so well crafted from their kitchen and thoughtfully tended from their wine cellar, is served with a comfortable aplomb that renders the whole dining experience that of what you might expect from a wonderful neighborhood corner restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We hadn't been to Six Penn Kitchen in qu ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We hadn't been to Six Penn Kitchen in quite number of years. The menu has changed very little but the quality of the signature dish that I ordered - the Crackling Pork Shank - certainly did. This used to be a favorite, but I doubt that I'd order it again. It was dry, as were the sauerkraut potatoes. My order and the same order from another in my party tasted as if it had sat under a heat lamp and had been forgotten. The steak dishes ordered by two others in our party were deemed "good." We had a 5:30 reservation before an 8:00 theater call and were seated upstairs in the separate dining room. We thought this was going to be great, especially once he turned on the fireplace, but shortly the room filled as did the large dining room in front of us. The noise level was extremely loud, and all the waitstaff looked harried as they tried to fit through the tables. If your looking for that type of ambience this is a good place. If you want to have conversation, look elsewhere.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

What we had for dinner was not very tast ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 9, 2017

What we had for dinner was not very tasty and it was a bit pricy for what you got. It was better years ago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Convenient to Heinz Hall. Food was good ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Convenient to Heinz Hall. Food was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I enjoy eating at 6th Penn, but it is pr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I enjoy eating at 6th Penn, but it is pricy. The high noise can make it difficult to carry on a conversation. The food and service is very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Six Penn is grossly over priced for din ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Six Penn is grossly over priced for dinner before a show. We have eaten there several times.ir menu is unique (perhaps a bit too unique) the food is just ok. $100.00 with tip for 1 glass of wine I burger, and some gnocchi is more than a bit high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Consistently good food, great service, a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Consistently good food, great service, and great location.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had not been to Six Penn in some time ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had not been to Six Penn in some time, and we were not excited by the menu. It seemed repetitive and uninteresting . The mussels were the best thing in the mussels and shrimp dish, the Thai spaghetti was odd and there were too many sundried tomatoes and mushrooms which were not tasty. We enjoyed the salad, and we loved the complimentary peppermint patties at the end of the meal. It is unlikely that we will choose this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The food, while unique, was underwhelmin ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food, while unique, was underwhelming. I am a vegetarian so my options were limited, however, I had a number of appetizers all of which had a not-so-good taste especially for the price. I think I will skip next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

two dishes had to be returned because of ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

two dishes had to be returned because of extremely poor prep. Restaurant needs to hire a pasta chef who can cook pasta that isn't served as a giant blob of congealed carb matter. table next to us also returned food to the kitchen. clearly not enough wait staff; our waiter needed hearing aid. waiter and server(s) were completely out of sync. weird how bad it was.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The overall atmosphere was very pleasant ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The overall atmosphere was very pleasant. We were seated promptly and the service was fantastic. The reason we would not return is for our dinners. I had the duck and my date had crab cakes. The duck itself was ok but the stew type of beans was not very tasteful and did not complement the duck. The crab cakes was mainly filler with a limited amount of crab, additionally it came with enough asparagus the overwhelmed the plate and way to much for non-family style side.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We were there in New Years Eve and wasn' ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there in New Years Eve and wasn't impressed with the food at all. Ambiance was fine and location was very convenient due to first night activities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Great place for a special occasion. Very ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place for a special occasion. Very romantic and the food was amazing!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

There is always some trepidation on New ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

There is always some trepidation on New Year's Eve but there were no problems with dining on that nite. We did have a reservation, greeted immediately & were seated promptly. Our party of four had a nice large table in a quiet corner that had a fireplace. Our server was pleasant & made us feel welcome but not rushed. We had: gnocchi, prime rib, steak & lobster, salmon,

as entrees. My only complaint would be that some of the starch portions, such as the purple mashed potatoes with the prime rib, were too big of portions. Left us no room for dessert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice dinner experience. The berry ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very nice dinner experience. The berry ravioli with butternut squash sauce, mussels and shrimp, and roasted chicken were all excellent. Eggnog creme brulee and chocolate cheesecake were scrumptious also. Even better that local sources are used.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was great, server was very helpful ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was great, server was very helpful and had great recommendations!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a very nice dinner. I would recom ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had a very nice dinner. I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for lunch and it wasn't impressi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We went for lunch and it wasn't impressive. Would want to try dinner before making a final review. Could have been the day. Appeared to only have one server and he was really rushed. Food was pretty ordinary, I had higher expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Paid $14 for a lamb "panini," and got a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Paid $14 for a lamb "panini," and got a slider. If you want to serve sandwiches, serve a sandwich. There is nothing high end about ridculously small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We really enjoyed dinner...we chose it b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We really enjoyed dinner...we chose it because it combined a very nice atmosphere with having stuff for my daughter to eat...it was a perfect choice for dinner before our night at the theater.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great restaurant before the theater. Ex ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great restaurant before the theater. Excellent options for Paleo dieters

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Four different meals, four less than ste ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Four different meals, four less than stellar offerings. Even the kid meals were pretty awful. This had been a go-to place for a meal before performances downtown. It will be no longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Had the confit crackling pork shank befo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Had the confit crackling pork shank before and was blown away. This time both servings at our table were barely warm with large fatty pieces. Sent mine back and 15 minutes later received the same piece just barely much warmer on the outside. Would not get it again. Service was decent and the atmosphere is very nice too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Chose Six Penn Kitchens because of proxi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Chose Six Penn Kitchens because of proximity to Benedum Center and were quite pleased. Had the pork shank and loved the mashed potato/sauerkraut combo. Shared the housemade circus dessert--such fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My friend and I both had the lamb and it ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My friend and I both had the lamb and it was wonderfully prepared. Additionally, we had th mussels and they were excellent. This my 3rd time visiting six penn and I haven't had anything that hasn't been spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated promptly and the server w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We were seated promptly and the server was attentive. Menu was varied and we enjoyed the taste of our entrees but were disappointed in the temperature of the food. Everything was luke-warm.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We got the pork loin and didn't really e ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We got the pork loin and didn't really enjoy it that much. To much grease...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was great, staff attentive, friendl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food was great, staff attentive, friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was quick and great. Our server, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was quick and great. Our server, Tim, was friendly and on top of things.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always great. No beer list, had ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food is always great. No beer list, had to tell us, very inattentive waiter, long wait for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

We have really enjoyed Six Penn in the p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have really enjoyed Six Penn in the past. It has a great atmosphere and we had good service. As vegans, they have had lesser and lesser options for us. This past time, we couldn't even get the pasta (it's so easy to use eggless noodles!!)! The vegan population in the city is exploding, so I'm not sure why they keep cutting down options. We won't be back until there are some more vegan food choices.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Overall the food was very good. The spe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Overall the food was very good. The special on this particular evening wasn't worth the cost. Great service. Good wine. We even had two children with us that were amused by the open kitchen. We were even offered coloring books which helped. Overall good place to go before seeing a show/

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

There wasn't much of an experience to be ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

There wasn't much of an experience to be had here. We ordered our drinks and food, less than 10 minutes later we were eating.

It felt rushed, not favorable to a relaxed Sunday where we just wanted to hang out and drink mimosas and bloody Mary's. This place didn't give us that vibe.

Also, no valet parking is available, and parking is very limited, or $8 to park your car in the garage across the street

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Food was excellent very good wine list a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was excellent very good wine list and the staff was very attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

6 Penn Kitchen, one of Eat 'n Park's for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

6 Penn Kitchen, one of Eat 'n Park's forays into "upscale" is the perfect choice for "before theater" dining. Situated "katty Korner" from Heinz Hall and walking distance to anything in the Cultural District, it is an under-rated and reasonably priced gem! They know, kitchen and wait staff that you want...need... to be out before the curtain rises, and they get you out, without skimping on the quality of the food. The Charcuterie platter is big and varied enough to satisfy everyone at the table (not true in other fancy schmancy big presentation/skimpy portion places) and some of the signature dishes will have you returning again and again. I especially love, and almost always order, the crackling pork shank, with sauerkraut mashed potatoes. I've even tried to duplicate it at home (pork shanks are hard enough to find as it is) but I admit 6 Penn does it better. Perfect choice before a concert, symphony, play or show!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to eat before a show at the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great place to eat before a show at the Benedum. Great food and service. Cool atmosphere and views.

Take advantage of email offers to see some money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.