About Six Penn Kitchen

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: 8883060598

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Pittsburgh
Contemporary American
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (73)
special occasion (55)
great for lunch (47)
See All
great for brunch (35)
good for groups (33)
neighborhood gem (33)
notable wine list (23)
late-night find (16)
hot spot (16)
romantic (15)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for outdoor dining (12)
kid-friendly (9)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Our entrees arrived one hour after our s ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Our entrees arrived one hour after our starters were served. That's unacceptable.

food5
ambience4
service3

Food was fantastic and reasonably priced ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was fantastic and reasonably priced. Had the grilled ribeye and cowboy burger - both were well portioned and had great flavor. Service was a little disjointed. The host took our order when he realized our server hadn't been by yet. Water, bread basket, and meal were brought to the table by separate staff. We didn't actually see our assigned server till she asked about desert and brought the check. Even with all that, the meal arrived quickly and was an overall pleasant dining experience.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

six penn kitchen was good

Dined on May 14, 2016

we enjoyed our meal. service was particularly good. wine was excellent, main dish and salad were very good. We did not try many different options, but I would go again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect for PreTheater Dining

Dined on May 14, 2016

I like that you can have great appetizers and drinks and be out in an hour before the theater. I just wish it wasn't quite so noisy. Hard to hear, even across a small table.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed the time at Six Penn. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I really enjoyed the time at Six Penn. I've been there before, and they always try to give me my favorite table, which they did this time. My food was excellent! It was by far the best meal yet at this restaurant. Our waitress was fun, and helpful. It is a great restaurant to go to if attending a show at 8:00 as I was. It is very convenient to the Benedum, the Byham and especially Heinz Hall.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

A reliable place for quick service and q ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

A reliable place for quick service and quiet enough for business lunches

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Six Penn is a great place to grab Brunch if you are heading to a Sunday afternoon presentation at one of the several near by theaters. We usually share and enjoy the Mont Crisco. The menu is loaded with delicious selections so it is difficult to decide what you are going to have and enjoy.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Could be better

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our service started out sketchy as I took 15mins for a server to approach our table, but once order was placed for apps, it was steady but nothing extra special. Our apps were delicious, we ordered the baked brie and calamari. Dinner was ok, although the menu is fairly small, it was beautifully prepared, although I had the scallops and for almost $30, I had a small portion of risotto and 4 overly seasoned scallops (very salty) but the rest of table was very happy with their food. I may try this again for lunch but not sure for a special occasion.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A find in plain sight

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a place to have dinner with our mothers in Pittsburgh. My wife and I had dined in downtown Pittsburgh several times and had walked past Six Penn several times but never dined there. I read a few reviews online and decided to make dinner reservations there. We arrived early and were immediately seated. Our table was on the 2nd floor and the hostess saw our mothers and offered us the option to take the elevator to the 2nd floor. We had a great server who was attentive but not overly so. The appetizers and entrees were wonderful. I would definitely dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Took a really long time for us to get be ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Took a really long time for us to get beverages and orders. Tried their mussels with pork belly and they weren't good. Told the server and she said have I ever had mussels. I work in a restaurant and eat them frequently. Other than that, food made up for servers comments and service. I still ended up paying for the mussels I didnt eat

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We arrived at 10:30PM after the Pgh Oper ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

We arrived at 10:30PM after the Pgh Opera performance. Th bar is near the front door, and was very energetic. I was thinking uh oh, we may not be able to talk - but before I said anything, the hostess seated us in a booth away from the bar. (We didn't even have to ask.) The food was good, and the service was great. We enjoyed our late dinner at 6 Penn!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointing!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We were there for Sunday Brunch for a friends birthday, it was Marathon Day in Pittsburgh however we had a reservation. The hostess was down right rude, took others in front of us who walked in off the street without a reservation. We ordered drinks which we received but then sat for one hour with no food. Apparently there was a computer problem with the ordering system. No one came to say anything in all that time then the food arrived, cold with things missing some of which never came. They did not even offer a discount or a coupon or anything. I did not take it out on the server and left the appropriate tip but I was sure to tell him and the male host at the desk how disappointed we were. It was not handled well at all and there was virtually no attempt to really make up for the situation. Some communication could have gone a long way. It ruined the day I planned for my friend and it is not likely that I will go back any time soon.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Given the time constraints (we had a per ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Given the time constraints (we had a performance at 8 PM), the staff did their best to accommodate us. The food was good, also.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

last visit here

Dined on April 30, 2016

Disappointing food preparation. 1 good meal out of 7 and they can't blame that on a rushed kitchen at 6PM. Pork shank is the only thing they do consistently well and I should have known that from past experience. "Craft" beer pricing is severely out of line...they make ballpark beer prices seem reasonable.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I like it

Dined on April 29, 2016

This was my second time at Six Penn Kitchen..I am from out of state. Great food & service. Lucky to get a parking spot right by restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again

Dined on April 28, 2016

I come into town only for symphony , theater or other cultural event. Six Penn remains my favorite pre theater dinner spot. It is consistent and always pleasant.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 24, 2016

It took about 20 minutes to be served our coffee after we sat down. Could see a lot of wait and kitchen staff standing around, including our waiter. Some of the food arrived cold (even though there were only a few tables of people in the restaurant) - food was happily replaced. Smoky Home Fries were too smoky to eat. Omelet was tasty but small and overpriced. Will not return.

food2
ambience3
service2

We have always liked Six Penn and often ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have always liked Six Penn and often use it as our pre-shows go to restaurant due to its convenient location and the quality of the food in our past experience. However, we feel the Six Penn was been on a steady downward turn in our past three or four visits. This time, the kimchi completely overpowered the mussels in the daily special, the ravioli was so tough that it was inedible even though it was over $25 for 5 ravioli, salmon beet salad was unappetizing to look at and no better to eat. The only winner of the evening was the wild mushroom polenta. We will not be going back for a long time after this disappointing experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Went for dinner before theater. Great ambiance, drinks and food. Quality in every respect. Husband requested a vegan meal. The chef creatively put together a five star meal, which he enjoyed immensely! We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Just okay

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Pros - dinner ordered by all was very good. We had the hamburger, the tuna, the ravioli and the scallops. One dessert was good, the cheesecake, the other was dry( mint cake) Cons- one of the group wanted chicken and they were out of it at 630 PM! Might have been more forgiving if it was 10:30 at night. - service was not the greatest. Did not come back often to check and took forever to take dessert order. Overall, the food was very good. Service not so much. And would think the person in charge of inventory should do a little better. No one should run out of chicken at 6:30 on a Saturday night.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Cold plates.

Dined on April 15, 2016

Our food wasn't hot when it arrived. We complained and were promptly given two new plates, not our previous servings . But the food cooled off quickly because the plates were stone cold. Except for that we were satisfied. We'll go back.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a great business lunch with a collea ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Had a great business lunch with a colleague of mine. We were promptly seated and our waitress provided water quickly and was very nice. She discussed the days features, asked if we had questions, and gave us time to think about our orders. We decided to split an order of the pretzel bites. They were light and delicious. The Jalapeño Cream Cheese dipping sauce was out of this world! I ordered the Roast Beef Sandwich and it was awesome!! My guest had the pulled pork with no bun and it was a huge portion!! Both of us enjoyed our meals for sure!! I definitely will return for lunch, dinner, or even happy hour!!

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Used to be better

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

I used to love this place a few years ago, but returning back to Pittsburgh for a visit, it was very disappointing

food4
ambience4
service5

Great place for lunch. Lots of good choi ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Great place for lunch. Lots of good choices. Love how the menu changes with the season.

food3
ambience4
service1
value5

The server was rude and took forever to ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The server was rude and took forever to greet us and bring our food. When we finally received our food it was the wrong order. The food tasted pretty good and the prices were not bad either.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Not much to offer vegetarians

Dined on April 9, 2016

The pork dish was excellent the tuna was a little bland and there was only one selection for vegetarian diners. Dessert was fun and was probably the best part of the meal.

food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Mediocre food

Dined on April 9, 2016

My scallops were room temperature at best . We would have been late for a show if I sent it back to the kitchen. My dessert, mint cake, was awful. We did sent it back and opted for chocolate gelato. My husband's lamb Bolognese was satisfactory. The wait staff was excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Stopped In On A Whim & So Glad We Did!

Dined on April 9, 2016

The three of us were looking for a slightly upscale dining experience while visiting the area. We were in business casual attire and found ourselves in the area. Not wanting to change our clothes for a fancy dinner, we looked up some Google reviews and decided to give Six Penn a try. We were all very impressed with the meal and service. This isn't a budget restaurant, but you get what you pay for. If you don't have a reservation, plan on getting there at opening on a Saturday night. When we left at 6:30, the place was completely packed. Next time we are in Pittsburgh, we will certainly be back.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

surprise

Dined on April 8, 2016

I have frequently eaten here as it is so convenient to the performance venues. However, this time (April 1) I was surprised by: tough and rather tasteless raviolis, maybe check with E2 on how to make them ordered the cannolis and could not cut them with knife or folk, ended up not eating them, but the manager did refund the cost of these (2). The refund was not the point, although appreciated. The point was the disappointment at the quality of the two items ordered. Has there been a change in the kitchen staff or SixPenn business philosophy?

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Before the show meal

Dined on April 7, 2016

Have enjoyed 6 Penn in the past for a pre-theater dinner. Our latest visit was a disappointment. Service was good as always, food was not.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 3, 2016

A fifth visit in two years, we were very disappointed--especially compared to all 4 previous visits. Our waitress had the delicious crab soup delivered with the main dish of scrambled eggs with bacon--not as requested. Other brunch food was acceptable--including crabmeat eggs Benedict. We had to wait particularly long for our check--and again to have it collected. What happened to what used to be a wonderful place to have a meal? We are not likely to return very soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My go to spot for brunch

Dined on April 3, 2016

Six Penn Kitchen is the first place I think of when I'm getting together with family or friends. They've got a unique selection of Bloody Marys. The menu consists of creative combinations that you're unlikely to see anywhere else. The servers seem to remember you from visit to visit. Here's a quick tip, start with the angel food cake and beignets.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening

Dined on March 31, 2016

We were a dozen people gathered in Pittsburgh from around the world for a conference. We had booked for a week night, for the second sitting, 8 pm, after the theater-goers had departed, so the restaurant was quiet--almost empty--and the staff could give us careful attention. Each of us ordered different things, and everyone was satisfied. I really enjoyed the daily soup and signature pork dish, along with the waiter's recommended pinot noir. A few people had room for dessert (not me!)--two bravely took the amazing candy floss and cracker-jacks confection, a grand spectacle for the rest of us. Coffees and teas were good. By the time our food arrived, we had the downstairs to ourselves, so we were able to visit together easily over dinner, and because it was a quiet night, we were indulged with the privilege of separate checks. A fun night for all. And I thought that my bill was quite reasonable given the quality and service.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, special occasions, lunch, late night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service complimented delicious food.

Dined on March 25, 2016

My parents and I had dinner at Six Penn on a Friday night. Even though it was busy, it didn't feel crowded or noisy. Our server was prompt, kind, and personable. The food was creative and tasted delicious. I'd definitely recommend this place for a romantic or otherwise special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place pre or post show!

Dined on March 25, 2016

I had heard mixed reviews since Six Penn is apparently under new management in the kitchen. It was of the same quality as I am used to, and the service was impeccable. I will return again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always consistently good

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Two adults and 1 child dined. Kid's menu had good items also. Regular always has a nice variety of appetizing, innovative food. Alcohol prices a little higher than the norm though. $10 for a house wine and $12.50 for a craft beer!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 60th Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 19, 2016

My son took me for my 60th Birthday and besides everything being fantastic they surprised me with a fun dessert complete with cotton candy!! There was no embarrassment factor yet I felt special. If you are going for the first time make sure to get the pork shank, it is out of this world. This place is the perfect combination of casual and upscale...perfect for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, Great Service

Dined on March 18, 2016

We both had the pan-seared salmon with braised root vegetables and braised greens. All done to perfection and a very satisfying combination. Server was warm and welcoming, attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for a Special Occasion

Dined on March 15, 2016

While I wouldn't be able to dine here regularly ($$$), it's wonderful for a special occasion. Friends and I will visit when a celebration is in order, or when we deserve to treat ourselves. The food is great and service above average in the dining room. Bar room dining seems to have better service (faster and more attentive). I quite often like to try something new, but the old standby: grilled cheese and tomato soup combo is a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.