About Six Penn Kitchen

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: 8883060598

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sriracha Chicken Sandwich
Corned Beef Hash Skillet
Bloody Mule
Tator Tots
Cracklin Pork Shank
Six Penn "Circus"
Pork Shank
Raspberry Latte Cocktail
Cherry Cheesecake
Brownie
Grilled Chicken In A Dill Sauce
Pecan Pie Bars
mango jelly
Green beans
Green Flash West Coast IPA
Twinkie Trio (fudge, Traditional And Red Velvet Bacon)
Buffalo Chicken Mac N Cheese
Calamari & Shrimp Appetizer
Banana Chocolate Chip Cheesecake
Seared Trout
Crab Salad
Six Penn Circus
Broccoli Penne Alfredo
Hanger Steak
Bread
Spinach Salad
Tu Good Not Tu
House-Made After-Dinner Mint
Steak And Perogies
Apple Pie
Croque Madame
Tempura Bacon
Boston Cream Beignets
Breakfast Spring Rolls
Restaurant Week
Lamb Bologeneze
Calamari
Hali
Bread Pudding
Smoked Briske
Strawberry Mohito
Pumpkin Gnocchi
Beet Salad

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Groups (30)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great for Brunch (18)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Romantic (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (5)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been a fan of Six Penn since they ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

I have been a fan of Six Penn since they opened but the last three times I was there , were not good experiences. The noise level is through the roof and the food is not near as good as it used to be. Pass it up and go somewhere else.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Left an online special request which was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Left an online special request which was confirmed the day of by a phone call from the restaurant and then it wasn't fulfilled when we were seated. Very disappointing. Salad was poor and entree was just okay. Service average. Won't go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We've been to this restaurant a number o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

We've been to this restaurant a number of times and my assessments are consistent. The appetizers are decent and the entrees are just okay. Their best dish by far is the lamb bolognese. The chicken, scallops, even the burger all tend to be overcooked, or at least done more than what you requested. On this particular occasion there was the added factor of an extremely long wait for our entree - about an hour! The waitress was very good about it, however, and put our two appetizers on the house (I suspect she messed up in some way with our entree order). The main attribute of this restaurant is its very close proximity to the theaters. Finally, why does this restaurant play such loud background music when the noise level is already quite high?

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We arrived at 5:30 as we had tickets to ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived at 5:30 as we had tickets to a 7:30 performance. We ordered drinks and appetizers and entrees. The drinks and appetizers came in a reasonable time. However, the entrees took quite a while. We finally received our entrees at 6:55. I had ordered my burger medium and it was delivered well done. There was no time to request a replacement. The Mac and cheese was very bland. Tasted much more like butter and noodles. The rest of the party said their food was "ok". It was extremely noisy. We asked for our checks when entree was delivered and paid while still eating. It was a short walk to the Benedum. We arrived as the last bell was chiming for everyone to be seated. I would have complained to management but did not have time if I wanted to arrive at show on time. I will not go back. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I had a terrible experience. My meal was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I had a terrible experience. My meal was 5 ravioli. No side, no soup, no salad. Just 5 ravioli. I will never go back. $27 for 5 small, frozen ravioli.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had brunch here before a Steeler game ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had brunch here before a Steeler game. It was the perfect spot! The food was yummy. We had eggs, quiche, etc. The best breakfast potatoes in town!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for pre theater dinner. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went here for pre theater dinner. The resturant could use a little decor update, maybe more for acoustics. The dinner was fine, but not overly large portions for the cost. One entree was the scallops. While good, was only 4 scallops and was not inexpensive. The service was

very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We regularly go to Six Penn after the sy ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We regularly go to Six Penn after the symphony for dessert. This time dinner before . Excellent appetizers, especially a Polenta with mushrooms. Disappointing main--roast chicken overcooked and not freshly cooked. Nice blackberry dessert. Very helpful service, responsive to our concern about the main dish. The place is pretty noisy, but we were given a relatively quiet booth when we asked. We'll go again. Right across the street from Heinz Hall.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Came for our wedding anniversary. Rest ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Came for our wedding anniversary. Restaurant was not that particularly busy. Biggest complaint is that it took over an hour to get our dinner. Considering my wife ordered ravioli, which consisted of 5 ravioli on a plate with a thin sauce and nothing else on the plate and me having seared scallops, which consisted of 4 quarter sized scallops, this meal should take no longer than 15-20 minutes preparation time. Over an hour is inexcusable considering the sparse crowd. Very disappointing meal. Portions are terribly small for the price and the wait time only adds to the disappointment. At least one other couple next to us expressed same frustration for the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Service was slow and the food took a bit ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was slow and the food took a bit longer than normal. Appetizers were also delivered 3 minutes before the meal. Server should have at least apologized or explained if the kitchen was backed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

They were able to seat our group of 7 fo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

They were able to seat our group of 7 for brunch, but kind of fell flat after that. Food took well over an hour and was cold upon arrival. Server was attentive, but not great at actually getting things to the table. Restaurant wasn't particularly slammed, so not really sure where the breakdown happened. Would choose another spot in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We have dined at Six Penn Kitchen 3-4 ti ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We have dined at Six Penn Kitchen 3-4 times over the past couple of years. The big plus is that it's in very close proximity to the theaters. The big minus is that the food is just okay, at best. We've found that the lamb bolognese is consistently good and the appetizers are okay, but after that there's a sharp drop. For instance, during our last visit I had the "signature" chicken dish and it was way overcooked, to the extent it was bone dry. My wife had the scallops and they were also overcooked. Apart from this tendency to overcook certain meals, there is a general lack of character with many of the dishes. Nothing memorable ... just okay.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I have come to 6 Penn for years but the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I have come to 6 Penn for years but the food seems to have gone downhill lately. The Caesar salad used to be crispy, fresh and delicious--now, it's a soggy concoction with too much dressing. The mussels we ordered were overcooked and the tuna appetizer was served as tiny little bites that were mushy and smeared with an overpowering sauce that wasn't wasabi. Not up to par. When we complained about the chewy, dry mussels, the server was kind and gave us a free dessert, which we appreciated, but we're concerned that the food quality isn't as good as it used to be.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Four friends, four delicious dinners. C ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Four friends, four delicious dinners. Coffee was not to our taste, but that was minor.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent as always. Great place for bus ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Excellent as always. Great place for business lunches.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service & good menu options for th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service & good menu options for the four of us with varied tastes. Everything was well prepared & delicious. Definitely will come again! Thank you.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent. My wife hurt her ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service was excellent. My wife hurt herself walking across the street on our way in and the host offered an ice bag and checked on us a few times. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was quite expensive ($21 burger ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was quite expensive ($21 burger and $28 pasta) which is fine if the food is top notch but in this case it was not. The food was closer to late hours Eat N Park than of a higher end restaurant. The burger was very bland and the others in my party had similar comments on their pasta, salmon, etc. I would never go back.

For the record, my party had meals at 6 Penn Ave restaurants over a few days and the other 5 were excellent, especially in comparison to Six Penn Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

I have been to Six Penn a few times and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I have been to Six Penn a few times and the food/service has always been great! This last time was not that great. When my friend and I came in, they happily let us know that they just changed their menu that day. So we were excited to try the new menu. It was awful! Burnt flavorless and really really terrible! Our server was great however, he was very apologetic and wanted us to order another dinner on him. We declined and left. I think I'll wait until they figure the menu out before I decide to return. Hope they figure it out soon. If this continues, they will not be around long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Absolutely wonderful experience!! Great ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Absolutely wonderful experience!! Great food...very attentive service...we had a wonderful first date!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was average at best. Had to sen ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was average at best. Had to send back the tuna tartare as it had skin and cartilage on the pieces, making it inedible. To his credit, the manager acknowledged and apologized for the problem and tried to make it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Not many options for vegetarians, so I h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Not many options for vegetarians, so I had the spinach ravioli which tasted like packaged food and warmed up in microwave, plus the garlic was completely over powering taste. My daughter had the salad which came with an apple cider vinegar dressing that was also over powering with cider vinegar to the point of being uneatable. The restaurant was not busy so the waiter seemed to be annoyed that we were not ready to order our food and kept coming over every 2 minutes to see if we were ready to order yet, then once we got our food we never saw her till we wanted our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I keep trying to like this restaurant, b ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I keep trying to like this restaurant, but consistency just isn't there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The food tasted good but it came out bar ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food tasted good but it came out barely warm. Service was good considering they were very busy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was extremely poor quality and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was extremely poor quality and over-priced. The breakfast sandwich is turkey lunch meat on white wonder bread. It was good but not for the price. My fiancé had steak and eggs and said it was the worst he has had and the steak had not flavor and was over cooked. I was stunned at how cheap looking and tasting the food was. I will never be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Really polite help, efficient service, f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Really polite help, efficient service, fresh good, and great view. Perfect for dining before a downtown show. Elegant and reasonably priced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tons of options for everyone, including ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Tons of options for everyone, including the gluten-free and vegetarians in our group. The food came out at perfect speed and the service was friendly but not overbearing. Awesome execution!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived early but they forgot to seat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We arrived early but they forgot to seat us when our reserved time came. Food was terrible. Restaurant was too noisy. I've had good meals here before but after this visit, I will not return to Six Penn Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Food was creative and delicious. Great f ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was creative and delicious. Great for before the theater. Great ambiance. Fun!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was friendly, the food was d ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The service was friendly, the food was delicious. We look forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food and service are fine. However, ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food and service are fine. However, they really need to get their fly situation under control. My colleague and I, as well as those dining near us, were dealing with numerous flies throughout the entire meal. It wasn't something I am accustom to in one of the city's nicer restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Food was slow to be delivered to the tab ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was slow to be delivered to the table. I had ask the to check on of meals plus the food not plated well. It was not appetizing enough.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The scallops may have been the best I ha ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The scallops may have been the best I have ever had at a restaurant. The pizza appetizer was good but 6 slices is large even for a two way appetizer. The drinks were a little pricey but that is the case in the city. We will likely return when we are in the cultural district,

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great hospitality and service. Steak wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great hospitality and service. Steak was very tasty, but a bit over cooked for medium rare.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've eaten here before, but not frequent ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I've eaten here before, but not frequently. This time, a friend and I met for dinner before a Pirates game.

Most of my rating for this visit is based on my previous meals, because I never got the meal I had ordered this time. Thirty minutes after ordering, the wrong meal was brought to me. I sent it back.

Our server said the correct meal would be brought out shortly, but twenty minutes later, I was still waiting. Meanwhile, my dining companion had finished his dinner and we wanted to leave for the start of the game.

That was the bad news. To be fair, though, the manager and the server were very apologetic about the mixup. They comped my friend's meal and asked that we come back again to give them a chance to do better.

I may do so, but not when I'm planning to attend a game or concert afterwards.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were very disappointed to find out th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were very disappointed to find out that the regular lunch menu was not available for Sunday. Also, the brunch menu was quite limited for kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was excellent..& very good server..

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was excellent..& very good server..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined at Six Penn before a show at He ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We dined at Six Penn before a show at Heinz Hall - this restaurant's location is great for attending cultural district events. We started with the bacon croquettes which were delicious. We both had a burger (one off the menu and one was a special). I like the manageable size of the burgers, and they were cooked to the perfect temperature. However, the meat was over seasoned - WAY too salty. We shared a dessert which was also good. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. Bar service, however, was very slow and drinks are super expensive. The appetizer menu is awesome; next time, I think we'll make dinner out of a few appetizer selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Get pork shank. One of best meals we've ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Get pork shank. One of best meals we've eaten! You won't regret it. If with kids, their pizza is yummy and a large portion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

my wife had a quick dinner before going ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

my wife had a quick dinner before going to Heinz Hall to see the PSO. I had a salmon salad special - which was just so-so. The salmon was not quite what I expected - it almost seemed as though it was scraped from a can of salmon (does such a thing exist) and the salmon was placed at the two ends of the plate.

My wife had the chicken, for $24 - which is rather exorbitant. She had about 3 bites and didnt like it

We've not had real good luck with our food here. Although when we last stopped at Six Penn before another PSO concert, we just had some appetizers/munchies - the pizza, the mac and cheese and they were quite good

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.