Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Six Penn Kitchen

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: (888) 306-0598

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (37)
Good for a Date (27)
Creative Cuisine (22)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Casual (18)
Fun (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Romantic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Healthy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful Thursday evening dinner. In Pittsburgh for one night, happened upon this amazing restaurant. Dave, our server, was outstanding! Even the manager, also a Dave, stopped by our table. Had the tasting menu which we highly recommend. Outstanding food, wine, and service. Can't say enough about this local gem. Even had the diners at the table next to us (locals) lean over and share their recommendations. Want to immediately be a part of the neighborhood? Come here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Always fantastic service and food at Six Penn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had not been to Six Penn Kitchen in a number of years and decided to go there for dinner before seeing a play in the Cultural District. For starters, my wife had the butternut squash bisque soup and I had a salad; both were very good and the portion size was generous. For entrees, I had the lamb bolognese and my wife had the beef bourgignon. Both dishes has a nice balance of flavors and the portion size was comfortable. I found the pasta in the bolognese to be cooked very well, with a little bit of "chew" and not too soft. The beef in my wife's dish was so tender there was no need to use a knife to cut it. We finished with coffee and desserts. Our server was excellent, attentive but not intrusive. We will certainly return on a future trip to the Cultural District.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Our service was absolutely exceptional! We were attending the symphony after dinner and it took a bit to get our food but our waitress warned us well and advance and took exceptional care of us. The Mac and cheese side portion is huge and absolutely amazing, as is the rest of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Uninspired and bland, although the service was good (not the server's fault that the food is mediocre). Lousy value for money since you could get better food from a food truck. Assume that it stays open only because it's close the theaters. One person in my group said we would have preferred to just eat sandwich on the T on the way to the show rather than waste the money on this restaurant before going to a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We used to love this place. sadly, our last 2 visits have been disappointing and we won't be going back. We were able to get a table for 2 at 7 on a Saturday night, so that was weird. There were a lot of very loud "Price Is Right" participants, so the atmosphere was a bit jarring. My sangria was way, way too sweet, and really just a few sips of a drink with an entire glass of ice. The salad was nothing special at all. My $30 crab cake dinner was really disappointing - small, very "fishy" tasting mushy crab cakes and a gummy, bland risotto that came to the table luke-warm. To be fair, I asked the server to get them reheated, but that took 15 minutes and my husband was nearly finished eating by the time it came back out. Overall, the menu used to be way more interesting and creative. The current menu has too few non-heavy, meat based options. The best part of the meal, as always, was the mint at the end.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Waitress was great! Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We've dined at Six Penn several times, and because I have some hearing loss, we probably won't go again. I have such a hard time hearing because of the high ceilings, close tables, and the width of the tables. Delicious food but so loud.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2017

A friend and I had brunch here after the Great Race, the restaurant was pretty busy as a result and a little noisy, but to be expected given the number of people dining. We ordered the peanut butter and jelly beignets before we knew we got a dish of dessert style bread and muffins, so if you aren't big on sweet stuff I would stick to the sweets you get by default - although the beignets were delicious (just too many sweets for us). Both of us ordered the Six Penn scramble and learned too late that the kitchen had run out of avocado - but to be fair, avocado couldn't have saved this dish. The eggs were totally unappetizing, a green/gray color, and did not taste good at all. Neither of us had more than a few bites of the eggs, which made for a disappointing brunch. I'd give this a place another chance because the service was great, but would never order that scramble again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Food was underwheming. Beignets were undercooked and server didn't ask why we only ate parts of 2. Soup was salty and mealy. Truffle fries were great. Meatloaf was good but fried eggs on top were super overdone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

My wife and I had dinner at Six Penn Kitchen before our Saturday evening concert with the PSO. Before the entrees, we shared the Fresh Baked Pretzel Bites with cheese and mustard for dipping and we also shared the Kale and Walnut salad. The Pretzel Bites were very good, but didn't really taste like pretzels ... they were more like tasty little hard rolls. The cheese and mustard served with them were also very good. For our entrees, we both ordered the Autumn Vegetable Pasta which was different and good! We had a very enjoyable dinner before the concert. We have eaten at Six Penn Kitchen many times and this time was as good as all of the others.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

I had the beef and my family had the pork. It just melted in your mouth with a lot of flavor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our main complaint with Six Penn Kitchen is it's priciness. Yes, its a downtown Pittsburgh restaurant, so I guess we can expect this. However, the price includes (other than the obligatory water and bread) only the entree, no salad or soup. Each of us ordered Jamison Farm Lamb Bolognese. The amount of lamb in each serving was barely above minuscule. Otherwise, the food was very tasty and the noodles were excellent. But, for the value received, it was a disappointment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 22, 2017

New menu with a new chef. The food was very good and the service was excellent. Since it's across from Heinz Hall, it's a good choice when attending the symphony or other event.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by several people we met in Pittsburgh. It was very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great place to visit in the Cultural District!!! Lots of menu choices from the pickiest eaters, to those wanting to broaden their taste buds!! Food is always served hot and fresh, and delivered to your table pipping hot! The menu changes seasonally, and lots of variety to choose from... the wine, beer, and drink list is extensive, and there are so many choices!! A great place to visit for your special occasion, a night on the town, or pre/post show Downtown!! Kid friendly, and everyone there makes you feel comfortable and welcome!! Must do while in the Burg!!

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Met friends and ate on the rooftop above it all. Great food and relaxing atmosphere. A great way to close out some of the last days of summer. I just wish they provided actual glass ware for the drinks on the roof.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great place for good reasonably priced food.
However avoid Steeler game Sundays even with a reservation.
Very poor service from the kitchen. Felt badly for our server.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My husband and I had dinner when visiting from out of town. Bottled wine prices quite reasonable and wine we selected was nice. Calamari appetizer was outstanding, but food went downhill from there. Caesar salad was rather wilted and unremarkable. Pork with gnocchi was tasty but meat was fatty. Special of the evening was a delicate white fish over kale and red bean mash with curry accented with pickled cauliflower and a delicate cucumber sauce. Fish was good. The bean mash was VERY tasty but totally overpowered the fish. The pickled cauliflower was so "pickled" that it made me think of potato salad and deviled eggs. The sauce was so light it could not even be tasted. I'm all in to "fusion" foods but this one totally missed the mark. Service and setting were fine, but overall food was mediocre.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This restaurant is in the heart of the cultural district. Great for a lunch or dinner before a show or symphony.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The Lamb Bolognese is always good. Service was excellent. Presenting a complimentary birthday desert was a very nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Ambiance: Stopped in for a later lunch and went to the rooftop. It's a massive space. I wouldn't recommend dining on the roof - it's more bar than dining. It would be a lot nicer up there with glass walls instead of the wood (you can't see down on the streets, only up). I passed nicer spaces to dine inside.

Food: I had salmon and a Caesar salad. The Salmon was surprisingly good and well prepared. Pass on the Caesar - chopped up and bland. It reminded me of a high school salad served in those paper mini-trays.

Service: pretty good! Friendly, accommodating and attentive.

Prices: Totally fair price to value. I think people should deduct a $ because it's not expensive at all.

Recommendation: Worth a shot. Bar up top and on the first floor, dine on the second floor.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

David our waiter was great!! Food was excellent and I would highly recommend this place to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great place with awesome food and service. This was our first time there and it will not be our last.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was only OK, especially for the price. Specifically, both my wife's and my dishes were very under seasoned. Probably wouldn't return unless it was for a specific event/occasion someone else organized that I did not have input in choosing the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This restaurant had many inside tables available on short notice when others in the same block were all booked. The outdoor deck, however, was full. We learned that we could have gone to the Meat & Potatoes outdoor patio tables without a reservation.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This restaurant was good when it opened 10 years ago. Now, it's a glorified Eat n Park masquerading as a bistro. Two people ordered the lake trout, which was supposed to come with a lemon caper sauce. The trout was good but the lemon caper sauce was thin and sour. My husband's lamb dish arrived in a skillet but the lamb was flavorless. Our server was outstanding. This place is off my list.
The restaurant called the day before to confirm our reservation. At that time, I asked about seating on the outdoor roof. I was told it was first come, first served. I thought we had a good chance of getting a table at 5 p.m. but when we arrived, we learned the roof was closed for a private wedding rehearsal dinner party. If I had known that, we would have gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Lovely meal before a concert across the street at Heinz Hall. Good, local food creatively prepared, attentive service (server checked on our curtain time). Glad we made the reservation because for a Tuesday night it was packed. Definitely my go-to spot pre-Symphony, plus I have had many memorable special events with friends - and sitting at the bar is a great option for solo diners.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very accommodating to large groups event when I upped the number of people at the last minute. One of us in a wheelchair and the place is very accessible. Great place for brunch overall, yummy food!!! Amazing bloody Mary's!

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We are here for brunch before the Steelers game. I made reservations. They called to confirm the day before. We got there 15 minutes early. Our table was ready, but there was room in the rooftop, so we opted for that. The view was awesome. The menu was great. We had a hard time picking we to eat. So many good options! We had the seasonal omlete with potatoes (awesome!) and the Keystone breakfast. The mimosa was wonderful too. The waiter was great. Definitely a must go when in Pittsburgh!!

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

You must get dessert! They are not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We have been to this restaurant a number of times, but admittedly not for a while. It had always been ok to good, never outstanding. It is frequently our choice before the Symphony. This time my fish fish was overcooked and dry and the entire plate was over salted. My husband's beef burgundy had very fatty meat. When you can do much better yourself at home why go to a particular restaurant? I would have sent my dish back but we were running late. I did speak with the manager as we left and he gave us his card for some consideration when we return. I doubt we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

This was my second visit to the restaurant. On the first visit I was alone and the price didn't matter greatly as it was the right spot for that occasion. On this recent visit I brought a friend with me who felt that it was considerably over-priced for the amount of food served. I tended to agree. I was a bit embarrassed by the visit for that reason, not about the quality of food or service. Tom Reynolds

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We chose Six Penn for it's location across from Heinz Hall. We were seated right away for an early dinner at 5:30. The wait staff was very attentive. I liked having a chilled water bottle left on the table, as well as bread with melted butter. We ordered an appetizer, that was delivered hot shortly after the bread. We both ordered the fish entre which was excellent. And we each had dessert. Overall, we were both very satisfied with the food and service. The portion sizes were adequate, but some may want them to be larger. I had a beer and mt wife had a glass of wine. Our total bill was $100, a little pricey, but with 3 courses and alcohol, not bad. I recommend Six Penn and would eat there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I bring friends to Sx Penn every Sunday for brunch before CLO. Food is good, well priced and not noisy like a bar. We all can talk and hear each other.
I missed fresh fruit instead of potatoes but you did have it this past weekend. The fruit cup is excellent
Lastly, Tom, the manager, is always hands- on and great at making us feel welcome

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was a great meal and setting for dinner. Food was delicious and our server was very knowledgeable about the menu. Overall experience was great and so was the food. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Disappointing. Seated at a tiny table for 2 and practically rubbed elbows with the table beside us although there were many empty larger tables. My wife's steak was excellent. I told the waiter I wasn't a fan of zucchini, and could my primavera be prepared without it. He said he thought it could. There was more zucchini than any other vegetable. Bartender downstairs after dinner seemed to forget to include spirits in our drinks. For $100 dinner for two, I expect better. We won't be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We were not told of a featured salad or appetizer.....heard about it from the table beside us.
We had to ask for the bread. Our dinners took an unacceptable time to receive. The 2 tables beside us got their food long before us. Ordered a vegetable without a sauce and it came with a sauce. 1 dinner was only warm not hot. We were never asked about having dessert or coffee. We had to ask for the check to make our show on time. Our waitress knew we were attending a show. Poor service......didn't enjoy the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had pork shank (very good) and halibut (very small portion), mushroom soup (too salty), and salad (OK). Considering the price and portion size, the halibut was overpriced. Everything else OK, but not special

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Helpful staff from beginning to end. We aren't big eaters so splitting a meal is something we do a lot...they were extremely gracious accommodating and more than willing, at no extra 'plate' charge. Excellent meal recommended by the wait staff as one of their long term meals...lamb and homemade pasta...delicious! Next time maybe we'll allow more time and check out roof dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.