Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Six Penn Kitchen

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: (888) 306-0598

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (47)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Casual (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Business Meals (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Quick Bite (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fun (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Romantic (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Seasonal (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Cozy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fireplace (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Really enjoyed the pork shank, thanks to our waitress for the honest suggestion! We will return, great place to head after seeing a show downtown!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Casual, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Our waiter, Herbert, was great. Great food at a great value.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food and service. Great and interesting food options...the roasted Brussels sprouts are unbelievable as is the pork shank. Service is always top drawer. They are customer oriented as it should be for a restaurant. Everything was perfect, could not have been better. If you have not tried this restaurant, you need to make reservations soon!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

The location of Six Penn Kitchen makes it the perfect spot to eat before the Symphony, the Bennedum or the Pittsburgh Public Theater. Always courteous servers, nice selection of special offerings, comfortable seating and good, HOT food. Who could ask for more.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Not as good as in the past. Waiter was wonderful, though. Calamari a bit undercooked. Fried Brussels sprouts overcooked. Entrees and dessert were average and not memorable. The proximity to the Cultural District is the only saving grace. Next visit to a show, Six Penn will be a last resort if everywhere else is filled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Repeat Visit Well Worth It! Before attending the symphony, we stopped here for dinner. The artichoke appetizer was divine!!! For dinner my daughter ordered the duck cassoulet and I had more simple fare, a dinner salad and a side of macaroni and cheese. Whatever you desire, Six Penn will make it great. The drinks are great, the service is wonderful, and I can't think of a single negative thing. Go there and enjoy yourselves!

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Family Style, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Love this place ! The food and service were excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The wait staff was fantastic providing excellent service. It was a very quiet night, with most tables empty, probably due to the bad weather that had been predicted the day before.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Six Penn is a solid restaurant - good place to take someone if they are a picky eater. The usually have good, traditional dishes and a few outside the box also.

Sometimes it gets a bit loud though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The wait staff was fantastic. We were up with family and kids and we had no problems finding items on the menu for everyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was (too) slow. Cathy wasn't good at multitasking. Each thing she did required a unique trip to her server station. Bring the check? Sure! Off to her server station. Ten minutes later, return with the check. Off to another table. Ten minutes later, return for the check. Takes it to server station. Ten minutes later, returns with the charge slip. And so the night went. Two hour meal including the last half hour waiting to pay. Brought mini wine carafes and poured them into our wine glasses. Left the empty carafes on the table. Someone else's job to clear them I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Do the chef tasting, best value! Add in wine pairing as well! They surprised me with what they can do, nice job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I always eat here when I attend an event at Heinz Hall. The food is good and it's not over priced!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This was a great gustatory delight! The ambiance was fun, fabulous and fast service! As a bonus it is healthy, clean and farm friendly. What a treat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

As always, the food was delicious and our server was also excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The only complaint is that they ran our of steak and eggs and the eggs benedict when we arrived. I wish the lunch menu was also available for those that may not want just brunch items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was excellent! My only negative comment was the amount of time it took to get our food. I realize that each meal was made to order but we had tickets to a 1:00 show. we didn't get out of the restaurant until 12:50 and it was not from eating slow. Other than this I thoroughly enjoyed my dining experience

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fabulous food. Excellent service as always. Definitely in my "top 5" go to places.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Food is generally excellent. Perhaps a victim of its own success ... ground floor seating is crowded and noisy. Our table wedged into the middle of the floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent food selections and a great location in the heart of the theatre district.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our waitress was great....she had courses split for us, even a glass of sangria. Food was good but maple ice cream with candied nuts had not even one nut..disappointing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Another disappointment. Service was slow and if you are up against a curtain time you're in for some anxiety.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Sarah who was are so rare was unbelievable. Her graciousness and concern for our having a pleasant experience was very nice.

There were three of us and we each ordered a different menu item. We were all very pleased.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Location in the Cultural District made it seem like a natural choice to eat before a show. Arrived plenty early and were seated with a reservation right away. There were plenty of open tables in the restaurant, but they chose to cram us in a little table between other diners. I asked to be seated elsewhere for some more room and for more private conversation...but was told that all other tables were for a party. The other tables were never seated for a party and I watched lots of other couples come in and get a more desirable table. So scratch a nice quiet dinner off the list and any chance of the staff listening to requests.

We made it very clear that we had show tickets and were assured that this would not be a problem. We ordered quickly and appetisers arrived relatively quickly. We then sat and watched as other tables around us received their appetisers, salads and then main dish while we were ignored with our empty glasses and empty plates.

Eventually, I flagged down our waiter who had been ignoring us and asked for the status of our meals. He didn't check in the kitchen, just told us they were coming soon and walked away. 5 minutes later they arrived, and we had to hurry through our meal to make our show. You'd think he would be quick with the check, but we had to flag him once again. As the final insult, every table around us received a signature chocolate mint with their bill, but we were again snubbed.

The food was decent, nothing to crow about, but the service convinced me never to visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our service was outstanding. Although we would rate our menu choices good on this occasion, We have also had excellent meals here in the past. The noise level is always a challenge in this otherwise well located, good restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Met friends for a brunch before a show. Alice in Wonderland was also being performed, so there were many kids there which made it a bit loud. My husband doesn't eat cheese or sauces, the waitress assured us that the cook would be able to work around his dietary choices, which they did. Good food, close to Heinz Hall.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good wine and good service. Reasonable vegetarian options. First time here and was pleasantly surprised at the ambiance and food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food quality was great! Unfortunately our food took an hour to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Brussels sprouts appetizer is amazing! The portions are u usually large for sharing. The lamb bolognese was rich and rivaled an Italian restaurant. The scallop special wasn't my favorite. Most chefs like to leave scallops under cooked and it just doesn't bring out all the flavor in my opinion. The risotto with it was a bit bland. Otherwise awesome dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The manager skipped are table and asked everyone else how it was going and even served water to other diners. My boyfriend joked it was because I was black..we laughed

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was extremely disappointed in the menu. I have some dietary restrictions and always check the menu on line before making reservations. The menu was shortened because of Valentines Day and their was so little that I could eat. I ordered the Chicken Paprish with the recommendation of the waiter. It was extremely spicy with paprika and the chicken was dry. I never complain about a meal.... usually don't run into that, but I should have sent it back. I only ate a little bread and oil. I didn't care for the salad I had ordered also. We will not return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a party of four on Valentine's Day. Everything was fine, but I must say, I have been
to Six Penn several times, and it appears to be slipping a bit. Still a good time. perhaps it's better in warmer weather when the roof top is open.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A very casual and relaxing dining experience. Great food and service. Great location in theatre district.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've been going to Six Penn since the restaurant first opened. The noise level during this past visit was almost unbearable. If I'd known that the upstairs dining area was open, would have requested to sit there.
My meal was mediocre at best. A big disappointment. The fried gnocchis were tasteless blobs. the accompanying beef didn't compliment the gnocchis at all. Two completely dissimilar dishes on one unappetizing plate.
I'm hoping that my next experience will be a better one.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The best waitress ever!!!!!!
The bread oil is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

French onion soup was perfect, flavors on braised beef and crackkin pork shank spot on but both entrees were not hot. Both were replaced but still not very hot. No manager checked on us all night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Six Penn never disappoints. As part of a group that has season tickets at the O'Reilly, we dine downtown regularly. We like to try different places and after a disappointing night will gravitate back to Six Penn to restore our faith. The waiters are excellent about recommending a meal or wine for our picky group. Unlike a lot of places downtown, the tables are nicely spaced out. We like to sit upstairs where it is less noisy. Save room for a dessert. I won't make specific recommendations because all of us have eaten many different items and always enjoyed. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I could not get checked in when I arrived. They host actually took the woman behind me and seated her first. I tried a seconds time to check in and was ignored. Someone else from our party had to check us in. Once seated, it was extremely noisy. We could barely have a conversation. The food was mediocre and not a great value for the price. We have been to Six Penn many times but won't be going back a time soon. There are many other options in the area that have better customer service and more cost effective.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Settled for this place when we couldn't get a dinner reservation somewhere else. We were seated upstairs and it lacked ambience. It was quiet and nice for dinner conversation, however. Food was just okay. It wasn't bad, but no one at the dinner table was really thrilled with their dinner. They charged $6 to share a dinner; that was a surprise. I wouldn't go back. But it worked given we couldn't get into the other 3 places we were trying for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.