Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Six Penn Kitchen

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: (888) 306-0598

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (41)
Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
See All
Casual (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fun (15)
Business Meals (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
People Watching (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Scenic View (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Romantic (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2720 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Very accommodating to large groups event when I upped the number of people at the last minute. One of us in a wheelchair and the place is very accessible. Great place for brunch overall, yummy food!!! Amazing bloody Mary's!

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

We are here for brunch before the Steelers game. I made reservations. They called to confirm the day before. We got there 15 minutes early. Our table was ready, but there was room in the rooftop, so we opted for that. The view was awesome. The menu was great. We had a hard time picking we to eat. So many good options! We had the seasonal omlete with potatoes (awesome!) and the Keystone breakfast. The mimosa was wonderful too. The waiter was great. Definitely a must go when in Pittsburgh!!

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

You must get dessert! They are not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to this restaurant a number of times, but admittedly not for a while. It had always been ok to good, never outstanding. It is frequently our choice before the Symphony. This time my fish fish was overcooked and dry and the entire plate was over salted. My husband's beef burgundy had very fatty meat. When you can do much better yourself at home why go to a particular restaurant? I would have sent my dish back but we were running late. I did speak with the manager as we left and he gave us his card for some consideration when we return. I doubt we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my second visit to the restaurant. On the first visit I was alone and the price didn't matter greatly as it was the right spot for that occasion. On this recent visit I brought a friend with me who felt that it was considerably over-priced for the amount of food served. I tended to agree. I was a bit embarrassed by the visit for that reason, not about the quality of food or service. Tom Reynolds

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We chose Six Penn for it's location across from Heinz Hall. We were seated right away for an early dinner at 5:30. The wait staff was very attentive. I liked having a chilled water bottle left on the table, as well as bread with melted butter. We ordered an appetizer, that was delivered hot shortly after the bread. We both ordered the fish entre which was excellent. And we each had dessert. Overall, we were both very satisfied with the food and service. The portion sizes were adequate, but some may want them to be larger. I had a beer and mt wife had a glass of wine. Our total bill was $100, a little pricey, but with 3 courses and alcohol, not bad. I recommend Six Penn and would eat there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I bring friends to Sx Penn every Sunday for brunch before CLO. Food is good, well priced and not noisy like a bar. We all can talk and hear each other.
I missed fresh fruit instead of potatoes but you did have it this past weekend. The fruit cup is excellent
Lastly, Tom, the manager, is always hands- on and great at making us feel welcome

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was a great meal and setting for dinner. Food was delicious and our server was very knowledgeable about the menu. Overall experience was great and so was the food. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Disappointing. Seated at a tiny table for 2 and practically rubbed elbows with the table beside us although there were many empty larger tables. My wife's steak was excellent. I told the waiter I wasn't a fan of zucchini, and could my primavera be prepared without it. He said he thought it could. There was more zucchini than any other vegetable. Bartender downstairs after dinner seemed to forget to include spirits in our drinks. For $100 dinner for two, I expect better. We won't be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We were not told of a featured salad or appetizer.....heard about it from the table beside us.
We had to ask for the bread. Our dinners took an unacceptable time to receive. The 2 tables beside us got their food long before us. Ordered a vegetable without a sauce and it came with a sauce. 1 dinner was only warm not hot. We were never asked about having dessert or coffee. We had to ask for the check to make our show on time. Our waitress knew we were attending a show. Poor service......didn't enjoy the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had pork shank (very good) and halibut (very small portion), mushroom soup (too salty), and salad (OK). Considering the price and portion size, the halibut was overpriced. Everything else OK, but not special

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Helpful staff from beginning to end. We aren't big eaters so splitting a meal is something we do a lot...they were extremely gracious accommodating and more than willing, at no extra 'plate' charge. Excellent meal recommended by the wait staff as one of their long term meals...lamb and homemade pasta...delicious! Next time maybe we'll allow more time and check out roof dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

What a disappointment. We went for Sunday brunch and the menu was very limited. My father asked for the lunch menu and was told "no."

Our table of six waited for nearly 45 minutes for our food. Others around us were seated after us and served before us. And it is NOISY. My uncle (who is hard of hearing) could not participate in conversation. There was so much ambient noise that he simply sat back and looked around.

I had the soup of the day (tomato bisque) and house salad. The soup was decent, the salad dressing was great. My husband ordered soup and wedge salad. It was the least impressive wedge salad I've ever seen. The wedge was falling apart, and all it had was bleu cheese dressing. No tomatoes, no bacon, nothing. Sad.

When making our reservation, they asked if we were celebrating anything special. I told them we were celebrating my 15 year anniversary. At the conclusion of the meal, we were given a free piece of blueberry cheese cake. It was decadent and fabulous. Unfortunately, since it took so long to receive our food, we didn't have time to savor and enjoy the dessert. We quickly scarfed it down and headed to the Benedum for the show.

The only saving grace was the location. It is in the theater district, so you can walk to the local theaters. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Waitress was very friendly and explained the menu of foods we had concerns about, food was served in a timely manner, great tasting, second time here, we would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Service was great and very friendly. My husband had the Beef Bourginion (sp??) and really enjoyed it. I had the seared halibut - unfortunately it was just okay. Fish was a little overcooked and flavor-wise the dish was pretty uninspired. Would recommend the pretzel bites. Restaurant was busy but seemed to handle getting people served in a timely fashion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food and service was very good. We thought the price was a little higher than what was expected.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Good food, service and appropriate timing to get to the theater

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was fantastic and our server, Dorothy, was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had a great experience!! The food and service were outstanding. The menu selection is varied and interesting.. we could not be in the roof because of the weather but the atmosphere downstairs is pleasant and interesting

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Rooftop was really cool. Food was great. Drinks were ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I took my 6 year old daughter here before seeing a show at the Benedum. The website does not indicate that they only serve the Brunch menu on Sundays, to the exclusion of the regular lunch menu. They also do not have a kids menu. The prices are very high for what you get. And the food is average at best. The bacon that came with my meal was so fatty it was inedible. And my daughter's entree was literally 2 pancakes served with nothing else-for $14. I should have known something was amiss when reservations were so easy to come by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Love, love, love the food!! I think the seating is way to close! Every time the waiter took care of the table next to us, it was like his rear end was at our table!! I could reach over and actually take a bite of the next tables food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Atmosphere was nice, it was busy but not too busy, and our wait staff were friendly, quick and efficient. Portion size was just right. Gnocchi was a little gummy but the Pork was fabulous as was dessert. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The ambiance and service was great. The food was very good. Portions are small and there is no salad with the meal; however, what we did get was very tasty. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Dinner was for a girls night out. Food was good, but kitchen was slow. Also very noisy- had to yell to talk to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Amazing service and delicious food. Just two of the reasons Six Penn is my favorite downtown restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our waitress was prompt and saw when we needed things. The halibut was outstanding and my husband loved the beef bourginon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Must get the French Onion soup and the strawberry cheesecake.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Although the food was delicious the online menu did not match the actual menu. I was happy with their GF options and they have an extensive wine list. The big disappointment was the service.
It took a significant amount of time to order our drinks and meal. Then took time for drinks to be served. I would be more understanding if it was busy but it was a light night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Rooftop was fun- great ambiance there! Servers are fantastic and friendly and patient if you have dietary needs.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My expectations from the website were higher than received. We sat in the roof area and that was good. The food just didn't cross that next level. It was okay, nothing that I couldn't find somewhere else. The service was a bit too lax for my taste. Our server disappear for 20-30 minutes. This was not a bad locations. Just many an off night. Average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great freshness and flavors. Cocktails, appetizers, and entrees were all great! I would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Brought my girl here for her birthday. Requested to have wine ready to go on the table and they had it ready. The food and service was good. Just a tab but too pricey but overall it’s a solid place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Even though I made a reservation a few weeks ago on Open Table we were seated in a far corner of the restaurant in what is uaully a private room. We walked by many empty tables to get there. The food was overly salty and not worth the price. Also the wine selection was poor. Finally we said we were in a hurry to go to a show but the waitress said we would have plenty of time for dessert. 15 mins later we had to complain to the manager to get our desserts. They did comp them as we took them to go. I was disappointed in the whole experience.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I ordered the Pork Gnoccho and was sorely disapppointed. At $26 the entree was small, which is okay if flavorful but it wasn't. In addition, it was not that crowded when we went but noise level was high.

The oil and bread served after ordering was nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food and service was out of this world for a dinner before a show. I had the halibut which was perfect and my son had the pork shank which he said was as good as a meal he had on Germany. The service was great, not hurried but respectful of getting to the show on time. I did not think this little corner restaurant provided such a good dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Fun, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Went to dinner with a friend before a show at the Benedum. Great food, location, and service. Will definitely return soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Perfect - love this place. Great food and great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I had a wonderful time here on Sunday before the baseball game. Our server was outstanding and our food was exceptional. I wish I lived in Pittsburgh and could go again!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent dinner served promptly in line with promised early exit for concert time. Cheerful, attentive, energetic waiter. Gracious accommodation for some side-dish changes needed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.