Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Six Penn Kitchen

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: (888) 306-0598

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (53)
Casual (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Business Meals (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (8)
People Watching (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Seasonal (7)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Family Style (5)
Romantic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (5)
Tapas (4)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

The table was ready when we arrived. The food was good and the service was exceptionally fast. We were attending a play afterwards and had plenty of time to get to the theater.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

We had brunch on a Sunday morning and the menu was very small compared to what it actually is. It was a "brunch" menu but was all breakfast items (except for a few salads) . The service was very quick though. Our waitress was friendly and attentive.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good but I had trout and the portion of fish was extremely small- I would guess no more than 3 ounces with the skin on. Very disappointed. I expected the whole trout for the price. Service though was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

I enjoyed the NY strip steak very much! The rest of my party didn't really care for their meals. My one friend sent hers back and got something different. The portions also didn't seem to measure up to the price.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointed in service and internal cleanliness of the place. Service extremely bad.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Ran out of special seafood dish at 7:15 - ordered Trout and it was great

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Calamari appetizer was so tasty. It came with 2 different sauces. Each sauce took me to a different place. The steak melted in your mouth. It came with an amazing sauce over top of asparagus that was the perfect mix of soft yet crisp. The mashed potatoes were light and fluffy with the perfect amount of seasoning. Excellent choice!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a very nice evening celebrating my birthday The pork was the best I've ever had

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had great service and delicious food and drinks. I was very happy with everything. A manager who called to confirm our reservation even asked if we were celebrating anything special or needed any special accommodations, which I thought was really nice.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I come here pretty regularly and it's always good. The spring omelet special on this visit was excellent. My biggest complaint is that they took the crab cake eggs benedict off the menu. Bring back the crab cake benedict!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Cold fries
Lousy burger
Good soup

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was fine except the noise level. It would be a great place to take my girl friend for a good meal and some intimate talk but most talk has to be on the loud side and short--flowery I-love- you's are out of the question.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Six penn is a good place for pre theatre. Very convenient to the cultural district

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We were running late due to traffic from a parade and worried about finishing dinner in time to get to the concert across the street, but the hostess recommended certain menu items to ensure speedy service and our waiter was excellent in this regard. So, timely and friendly service was the most valuable aspect of our dinner that evening.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This was my daughter and wife's first visit to Six Penn, and they enthusiastically loved it, from appetizers (especially the fried artichoke hearts), the seasonal drink (watermelon-mint infused marguerita) and entrees. They accommodated our late arrival (2 hour drive into Pittsburgh for the Symphony) and were careful to check on our showtime. We will return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We were blown away with Six Penn as usual!! We love this place, but they went above and beyond for our Anniversary!! They were so attentive as as usual the food was amazing!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Bigger dinner portions would be great! Food was terrific though. Great rooftop bar.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Waitstaff assigned was negligent. Waited for 20 minutes to be acknowledged. Food was underwhelming. Would not return nor recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Service was brutally slow. It took 2 hours to get through 1 round of drinks, 1 appetizer, dinner and desert. We waited 15 minutes for ice cream because someone supposedly pulled the plug on the freezer. And the coffee was lukewarm, even the refill.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food was great! Servers were very friendly. We'll definitely go back to eat there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 31, 2017

After quite a few people recommended that we eat here, we made reservations to have dinner here prior to a show at the Benedum. We had a party of 5, but we were unable to make reservations for all 5 of us at one table on OpenTable- so we settled for a table for 2 and 3. Upon arriving, we were greeted promptly. When we told the hostess we had 2 reservations, she kindly offered to seat us at a table that would accommodate all 5. Once seated, we were met by a very friendly and professional server. Our server was wonderful! Even though it was out of her control, she still tried to ensure we got our food in a timely manner so we would make it to our show on time- and we did. The food was excellent!!! I opted for the New York strip, and it was the best steak I've ever had! It was full of flavor and juicy. Everyone else in the party enjoyed their food as well. I highly recommend this restaurant!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Everything was just mediocre except the disgusting orange sherbet which looked like it had been forgotten in the bottom of great-grandma's freezer for a few years, in odd shaped clumps. How a server could bring that to our table is beyond understanding! Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The meal was adequate. My soup was not very hot, but I ate it. My sandwich was good. My guest had a Ceasar Salad with chicken. It looked to be good. The service was good.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great local farm to table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

A special get together with my son. The waiter was very attentive and professional. The cauliflower soup was exceptional as was the Rueben sandwich.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a very good meal - the trout special was outstanding! A real drawback to our evening, however, was a crying baby in the sitting area besides the second floor bar. Apparently the baby's parents didn't want to bother their friends who were hovering around the bar, so they took a two year old and what looked like a relatively new-born baby to the sitting area. Unfortunately this area was immediately next to the upstairs tables so patrons were treated to about 45 minutes of very loud screaming. When you're out to the theater on a Saturday night, you don't really expect to have a Romper Room atmosphere next to a bar. While this might be expected and acceptable at an Eat 'N Park, we thought this was the chain's attempt at upscale dining.

We might come back, but there are many other options in the Theater District that don't double as child care centers.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server, Tim was excellent. I brought my husband here for an early birthday dinner and (without Tim knowing) he made it a memorable experience. He made some lovely recommendations for our drinks, apps and entrees. Tim's detailed description of the pork shank and lamb bolognese matched our expectations of the quality of the food. Tim's attention to detail was spot on. He made us feel like special and well-attended to patrons. Plus, I was impressed how well they made nojitos for my husband who doesn't drink. We were stuffed! The manager (or perhaps owner?) came by to introduce himself and check on us, which I thought was a nice touch. We're definitely coming back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Popular pre-theater spot has a creative menu and a lively atmosphere. Went with some out of town friends and we had a great time both eating and catching up. Everyone had a different dish (steak, chicken, duck and lamb) and all were prepared perfectly. Combined with a good wine list, this was a great place for our friend reunion. Make reservations because when they get busy, its crazy trying to get a seat.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We often choose Six Penn for a pre-theatre meal because it's kid friendly, casual and comfortable, yet it offers some delicious dining options for both parents and kids. They are used to getting diners in and out for shows, so the service is efficient and the staff is friendly. We always have a nice experience at Six Penn, and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good meal before a show.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We absoultely loved the fried artichoke appetizer and the Six Penn Kitchen location is great for show goers like us but everything else was just okay. We ordered a half bottle of Rex pinot noir that was a bit over priced as well as the main entrees. My husband had the lamb bolognese and although it tasted good and the portion was sufficient there wasn't really any lamb to be found. Feeling adventerous I had the wild boar sausage spaghetti. It was good and the portion sufficient but nothing special. We ordered some kind of chocolate desert with coffee. The waitress said it was shareable but after we got it and ate it we decided to order a lemon tart with berries too. Both were good but nothing special. We didn't complain to the waitress because everything was satisfactory, it just wasn't as good as we anticipated. We'd go back for the artichokes and maybe try something else next time now that we have the lay of the land.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I have been to Six Penn for NYE which was very fun and once for dinner. The food is good but I wouldn't say it is anything special. Our waitress was very good this time. We went for brunch to experience it. Everyone liked their food but no one was raving about it. I like the ambiance and the roof top. Overall I think it is a solid choice.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food choices seemed to not be up to par. Maybe because it was a busy day.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Make sure you are dressed up to dine here; we went in casual dress (jeans, nice shirt), and the waitstaff looked down at us for it (service was poor bordering on rude). Other diners dressed up for the occasion received proportionally better service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Seated promptly. Service was good. Food was ample and delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was great and our waitress, Cheryl Harbaugh, is very knowledgeable about menu and attentive. she is great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Dinner before a show at Heinz Hall. Service was very, very slow. One hour placing orders we were still waiting for our dinners. We were forced to wolf down dinner to make the show. 90 minutes should have been enough, but it wasn't. It was not a pleasant experience. We need to find another restaurant better suited for the theater crowd.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

From the verifying phone call to telling my guest I was running late to assuring me on the phone that my table would be held, the service was wonderful. Todd set the tone that would continue through the meal.

We ordered an appetizer that we felt was too salty. A manager came over, thanked us for the information, and adjuste the check. We split an entree and I really appreciate it when the kitchen actually splits the serving. The meat was cooked perfectly, which I told the kitchen people on the way out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was great. Love how the menu changes according the seasons. Cheryl was our server & recommended the fish feature (local caught trout) which was amazing. My friend had the shank which is always a taste bud sensation. Six Penn is my 'go to' favorite dining place when attending a theater event in the city.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Just ok. Came many times after just opened, disappointed on this trip. Inattentive service, food was ok.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Service was bad... over an hour to get order...food was simply chicken sandwich

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.