Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Six Penn Kitchen

Six Penn Kitchen features fresh, carefully crafted, all-American cuisine. The menu highlights seasonal ingredients and takes an updated approach to regional classics. From stocks, sauces & charcuterie techniques in the kitchen, to the vermouth soaked olives & marinated maraschino cherries at the bar, everything is expertly prepared and crafted in-house. Both the food & cocktail menu change frequently taking advantage of seasonal products delivered by outstanding local farms & growers' cooperatives. By paying attention to the basics- true hospitality, great food, and a casually sophisticated environment - Six Penn Kitchen is a place where guests can kick back, slow down & enjoy the pleasure of great food, drink and conversation. Six Penn Kitchen looks forward to welcoming you!

146 Sixth Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 11:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Thursday 11:00am-11:00pm
Friday 11:00am-midnight
Saturday 4:30pm-midnight
Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Dinner is served Monday-Saturday 4:30pm-close
Brunch is served Sunday 10:30am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Penn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 566-7366

Website:
http://www.sixpennkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Located in the heart of the Pittsburgh Cultural district, there are several public garages within walking distance. Validation is offered at the garage located on Penn Avenue, directly across from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Many bus routes available, as well as a train running within one block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Klingensmith

Private Party Facilities:
Six Penn Kitchen has several unique areas available for special events. The private dining room seats up to 40 guests & features large picturesque windows & a fireplace. The rooftop terrace is a perfect location for an afternoon get-together or a summer's evening bash.

Private Party Contact:
Daniel Haas: (888) 306-0598

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Six Penn Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (53)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Casual (27)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fun (9)
Seasonal (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (6)
Cozy (6)
Romantic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Family Style (5)
Private Room (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined a day ago

The meal was adequate. My soup was not very hot, but I ate it. My sandwich was good. My guest had a Ceasar Salad with chicken. It looked to be good. The service was good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great local farm to table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

A special get together with my son. The waiter was very attentive and professional. The cauliflower soup was exceptional as was the Rueben sandwich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a very good meal - the trout special was outstanding! A real drawback to our evening, however, was a crying baby in the sitting area besides the second floor bar. Apparently the baby's parents didn't want to bother their friends who were hovering around the bar, so they took a two year old and what looked like a relatively new-born baby to the sitting area. Unfortunately this area was immediately next to the upstairs tables so patrons were treated to about 45 minutes of very loud screaming. When you're out to the theater on a Saturday night, you don't really expect to have a Romper Room atmosphere next to a bar. While this might be expected and acceptable at an Eat 'N Park, we thought this was the chain's attempt at upscale dining.

We might come back, but there are many other options in the Theater District that don't double as child care centers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server, Tim was excellent. I brought my husband here for an early birthday dinner and (without Tim knowing) he made it a memorable experience. He made some lovely recommendations for our drinks, apps and entrees. Tim's detailed description of the pork shank and lamb bolognese matched our expectations of the quality of the food. Tim's attention to detail was spot on. He made us feel like special and well-attended to patrons. Plus, I was impressed how well they made nojitos for my husband who doesn't drink. We were stuffed! The manager (or perhaps owner?) came by to introduce himself and check on us, which I thought was a nice touch. We're definitely coming back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Popular pre-theater spot has a creative menu and a lively atmosphere. Went with some out of town friends and we had a great time both eating and catching up. Everyone had a different dish (steak, chicken, duck and lamb) and all were prepared perfectly. Combined with a good wine list, this was a great place for our friend reunion. Make reservations because when they get busy, its crazy trying to get a seat.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We often choose Six Penn for a pre-theatre meal because it's kid friendly, casual and comfortable, yet it offers some delicious dining options for both parents and kids. They are used to getting diners in and out for shows, so the service is efficient and the staff is friendly. We always have a nice experience at Six Penn, and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good meal before a show.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We absoultely loved the fried artichoke appetizer and the Six Penn Kitchen location is great for show goers like us but everything else was just okay. We ordered a half bottle of Rex pinot noir that was a bit over priced as well as the main entrees. My husband had the lamb bolognese and although it tasted good and the portion was sufficient there wasn't really any lamb to be found. Feeling adventerous I had the wild boar sausage spaghetti. It was good and the portion sufficient but nothing special. We ordered some kind of chocolate desert with coffee. The waitress said it was shareable but after we got it and ate it we decided to order a lemon tart with berries too. Both were good but nothing special. We didn't complain to the waitress because everything was satisfactory, it just wasn't as good as we anticipated. We'd go back for the artichokes and maybe try something else next time now that we have the lay of the land.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I have been to Six Penn for NYE which was very fun and once for dinner. The food is good but I wouldn't say it is anything special. Our waitress was very good this time. We went for brunch to experience it. Everyone liked their food but no one was raving about it. I like the ambiance and the roof top. Overall I think it is a solid choice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food choices seemed to not be up to par. Maybe because it was a busy day.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Make sure you are dressed up to dine here; we went in casual dress (jeans, nice shirt), and the waitstaff looked down at us for it (service was poor bordering on rude). Other diners dressed up for the occasion received proportionally better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Seated promptly. Service was good. Food was ample and delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was great and our waitress, Cheryl Harbaugh, is very knowledgeable about menu and attentive. she is great.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Dinner before a show at Heinz Hall. Service was very, very slow. One hour placing orders we were still waiting for our dinners. We were forced to wolf down dinner to make the show. 90 minutes should have been enough, but it wasn't. It was not a pleasant experience. We need to find another restaurant better suited for the theater crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

From the verifying phone call to telling my guest I was running late to assuring me on the phone that my table would be held, the service was wonderful. Todd set the tone that would continue through the meal.

We ordered an appetizer that we felt was too salty. A manager came over, thanked us for the information, and adjuste the check. We split an entree and I really appreciate it when the kitchen actually splits the serving. The meat was cooked perfectly, which I told the kitchen people on the way out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was great. Love how the menu changes according the seasons. Cheryl was our server & recommended the fish feature (local caught trout) which was amazing. My friend had the shank which is always a taste bud sensation. Six Penn is my 'go to' favorite dining place when attending a theater event in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Just ok. Came many times after just opened, disappointed on this trip. Inattentive service, food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Service was bad... over an hour to get order...food was simply chicken sandwich

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I've been to Six Penn many times, and will probably keep going. The seasonal menu and consistent availability of vegetarian options keep me coming back to try things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Six Penn is a great place to stop in the Cultural District, whether it's for lunch, dinner or happy hour. The ambience is very nice; the food is good and the staff is excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I have been here many times, and have never been disappointed. We often go here for dinner before going to the theater. The pizza appetizer is delicious and is more than enough for one for an entree. All our meals were delicious, and the service was attentive without being overwhelming. They can always get our meals ready and have us on our way to the theaters in plenty of time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I really enjoyed Six Penn Kitchen. The decor was wonderful and the noise level so mild for a busy restaurant. The service was excellent and the food even more so. I'm from New York City, so I thought the prices were very good. I recommend this place highly. What a great birthday celebration for my dear sister after we attended the Yankees v. Pirates game. I will definitely come back when I return to Pittsburgh.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Friendly prompt service. Salads were VERY fast. Sorry we didn't save room for dessert as they are all prepared on site.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent service and food. My only negative comment was that the tables are pretty close together and it's difficult to have a private conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This was our third time at Six Penn and our last. Our first two experiences weren't great in terms of food and noise level, but it's directly across the street from Heinz Hall where we attend many events throughout the year. This time my husband ordered spaghetti. The food was luke warm but the real problem was the spaghetti was dry and stuck together so he could lift the entire wad off the plate with his fork. When our waiter saw that, without a word, he took the plate away! My husband finished the cheese platter we ordered as a appetizer and couldn't order another meal because we had 10 minutes until our program at Heinz Hall. We ordered our food at 6:45, it arrived an 7:35. Goodbye, Six Penn.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great place to eat before a show. Quick service and great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We were disappointed in the quality of the food and the overall value of the experience. My NY Strip was comparable to a chain discount chain restaurant. My wife's pasta was bland and uninviting. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waiter, Tim, was just the right level of attentive. If we needed something he was never far away, but he wasn't constantly interrupting our meal or our conversation to ask how everything was. The food was excellent and the portions were generous. All in all, we made a good choice for dinner on our way to the theater!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We told the waitress we had show tickets and the time and she was very respectful of that and even was watching the clock for us. Great service and the gluten free pizza was fantastic!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The meal was incredible but service was so terrible and slow. And they weren't even busy.

The food took so long to come, so did the check. We ordered coffee and they brought out an empty mug & no coffee. We were almost late to our show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Dinner always the same-- SUPERB! Noise level was a bit deafening :(

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My husband and I chose Six Penn Kitchen for supper before attending the Lewis Black show at Heinz Hall based on reviews and proximity to the venue. Staff was friendly and efficient from our arrival through the entire experience. Matt was fun and answered all of our questions perfectly! Food was wonderful, and dietary requests were honored without hassle. Many options for varying appetites. Only negative was noise level, likely due to size and open layout.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was outstanding, the food terrific and the wine delicious! Thank you for a great evening!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very slow kitchen almost 1 hour waiting , the rest was OK a little pricey

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We've been to Six Penn numerous times and it has been decent, albeit rather overpriced. This time was AWFUL. We ordered two mixed drinks, a half bottle of wine, and two appetizers each (mussels and salad for me, onion soup and tuna tartar for my husband). The mussels were very small, hardly worth the effort. The onion soup never came. After waiting about half an hour, my husband told the waiter to forget it. Salad and tuna were OK, but overpriced for portion size. Bill was over $100 and that was after they knocked off 20 for the lousy service. The manager was a jerk--perfunctory apology as he whizzed by our table. The whole experience changed our opinion of Six Penn--we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

A lot of money for lukewarm food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Visited on Wednesday evening pre-theater.First, through Open Table, I could NOT get a 5:30pm reservatin and yet we were there at 5:30pm and the restaurant was certainly not busy. My husband and I both ordered from the house specialities: I had the roasted chicken with a cranberry and orange chutney (delish and ample quantity) served with a corn bread pudding stuffing (again very tasty), French green beans and covered with a mushroom marsala. I have never met a chicken I didn't love BUT this dish was a unique and complex combination of flavors and I thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband got the pork shank which he enjoyed but commented that the serving was more than he could manage. The portions were large and we were glad that we'd NOT ordered an appetizer, nor salad. Our waiter was attentive, knowledgeable and helped us to navigate the menu and make our choices. Prices were reasonable and overall, we deemed the experience good value.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This is usually our go to place before the opera and we've had good service and good food. This time was so disappointing and dreadful . We were seated, ordered our meals and waited and waited. Tables seated after us got their food, ate and left and we still hadn't been served. Our server seemed to be staying away and we had to ask other servers to find him. The bar manager and manager finally appeared and we finally served after waiting for an hour and ten minutes. We had to eat fast but we made the Opera. It will be awhile before we go back....if we do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was pretty good, but not $25 per entree good. The service was great, but the ambiance wasn't great. All in all wasn't worth the money.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dined here prior to concert at Heinz Hall. We were seated at an upstairs table. The table was very long between my date and myself, so we had a hard time hearing each other in conversation. The décor was dated; lighting lacked ambience. Our waiter and staff were great! Food good, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.