Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

As the JW Marriott Grand Rapids’ signature restaurant, six.one.six makes as unforgettable a statement as the hotel itself. Market inspired menus, sweeping views, and progressive rhythms combine to create a dining experience second-to-none in Grand Rapids. With dishes that tempt taste buds and seduce the senses, the restaurant is a haven for self-proclaimed food aficionados and lovers of all things yummy. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week, six.one.six personifies the passionate cooking style of its Executive Chef, Chris Madsen, and satisfies the most discerning palate. Those wishing a truly indulgent experience can reserve our semi-private dining space where you and eleven of your friends can gather in absolute luxury.

235 Louis NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Weekend Brunch (Saturday & Sunday) 7:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm(Sunday - Thursday)
5:30pm - 11:00pm(Friday - Saturday)

JDEK OPEN MAY 27!! LIVE MUSIC FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHTS

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 242-1448

Website:
http://www.ilovethejw.com/

Entertainment:
House progressive music played throughout the restaurant. Live music Friday and Saturday nights in Mixology Lounge and on the Jdek

Catering:
Our courture catering is an extension of our restaurant. All dishes are market fresh and market inspired. All served in unique vessels.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Chris Madsen

Private Party Facilities:
The semi private dining room features two seatings per evening. Reservations are required. Please contact us to book your next group.

Private Party Contact:
Judith Crisman: (616) 242-1449

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Modern Decor (14)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Scenic View (11)
Romantic (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Waterfront (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fun (3)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 20, 2017

great birthday surprise, good time , not to $$, don't ask for a review then demand it to be 50 characters long....

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food and service was outstanding. Recommend getting the tap water!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our server was wonderful! Food was perfect! Overall excellent as always

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Interesting that you use the term energetic. The area we were seated in was to loud for a table of 5 to have a good business discussion.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our waiter Diego was amazing even with the table next being rude to him. The only complaint that I have is that a table of drunks got seated right next to us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a small mixup while getting seated, but once at our table, everything was delicious, especially the eggs and omelettes made by Chef Elvis. Would recommend, but would try to get a reservation, as opposed to dropping in and trying to get a table.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The tenderloin tacos were delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Six one six is a great "go to" for business lunches and dinners. The food and service are very consistent and the warm weather patio has plenty of seating and a great view of the river.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Elvis makes the best omelets ever, and the yogurt parfaits are delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food seemed to be over seasoned. Prevented more natural and subtle flavors from being enjoyed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I thought the food was overpriced and the service was just average. The server wasn't very attentive at keeping waters and drinks filled.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I visited Six One Six to celebrate a special occasion on a Friday night. On the whole, we enjoyed the restaurant and would go back. It wasn't too busy, even when we used a reservation, so we were taken aback when we were seated next to a really loud group in the back when tables were available up front. I could barely talk to my husband. We asked to move, and we were promptly moved to a less noisy place.
The food was very good. It would have been nice if the soup had a slightly larger portion (my husband's bowl had almost an inch higher amount than mine, which felt odd). We ate the sushi and enjoyed it. My husband was pleased with the beer selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server Nick was fabulous. Food was beyond great. I took my niece for brunch and enjoyed every minute. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The staff working on January 28 in the evening was phenomenal. Such attention to detail!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was great but the service was not the best. I would have expected a little more attention to our group and it felt like we were left waiting for along periods of time to order and get refills.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Thanks to Robert and Elizabeth who accomodated my special menu requests with politeness and grace. All the staff were friendly - clearly hired at least in part for their ability to interact well with their diners. The food was very good and there was a willingness to modify dishes to suit my taste. The wine list included wines at least a little out the ordinary and all the familiar grapes too.Well done 616 we will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We absolutely enjoyed our dinner at your restaurant. The food was tasteful, the atmosphere lively and the service was good. We didn't feel the music quite fit the setting and the waiter could have afforded to be a bit more attentive. We will definitely give the Six One Six a second chance.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I am never disappointed in Six One Six - the service was superb, the food was amazing and the overall atmosphere embodies so much of what I love about Grand Rapids. We were there to celebrate a friends birthday and she enjoyed every minute of it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food and service is what you come to expect at a JW Marriott. Very formal service, "yes sir", "may I take your plate, sir", "thank you, sir" and so on. The service was slightly slow initially, even though the dining room was only sparsely occupied, but we were in no hurray. The food was excellent and not overpriced. My wife had the scallops, which were unusually small but very good and served uniquely on a hot, slate-like flat plate. I had the lamb, which was cooked perfectly and full of flavor. Although the portions were a bit small, the flavor was rich and very filling. The wine list was not huge but many styles were represented with good selections. The Spanish wine in particular was excellent and inexpensive. The only real negative was the flowers in the lobby area that extended into the host/hostess station. They were pretty, but they were also very strong. Too strong so close to the restaurant. The fragrance detracted from the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The staff was incredible and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were staying at the hotel for the Juice Ball and expected the restaurant to be packed. We were surprised that a table for 2 was available right when we got dressed upstairs on Open Table! Glad we didn't venture out in the cold and have to wait elsewhere. Good meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The service was amazing. They were prompt and anticipated our needs. The food, however, was disappointing. The meal I ordered sounded amazing, but in reality was extremely over seasoned to the point of not being edible. The scallops, salad and cauliflower purée were each sampled by others in my party , and all agreed the tastes were too overpowering to enjoy. When I told the wait staff, instead of offering another option, they offered to take off half the price. So I still had to pay $20 for a meal I couldn't eat. Not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Typical high end hotel restaurant. Good atmosphere and food. Priced accordingly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Paul gave us outstanding service. Meals were perfect, good drinks, and the entire staff was exceptional. My only criticism was the music level turned on after the great three piece band finished in the lobby area. The music was far too loud and the type of music (B-Bop/hip-hop) was not our preferred choice. We will visit again, and you should.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service and ambiance was truly very good. My scallops were very good and my wife's filet was adequate. Since your so close to Ruth's Chris and the Chop House I thought you would do more of a spin on yours to differentiate yourself. The 616chowder sadly needed heavy seasoning and was below what I expected to get. The beer and wine selection was fantastic. The maturate was exceptional as well. Loved the amuse bus and the truffle fries were what I expected to get. I would recommend 616 to others but would temper their expectations on the food.

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Family Style, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our family had Christmas Eve dinner at Six-One-Six. The food was fabulous! Our first experience but will definitely not be the last!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The overall experience was mediocre. The staff seemed unorganized. The food was too salty and fatty. It was not what I would expect for fine dining. There are much better restaurants in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 17, 2016

616 has some of the best food in town. I'm pleased to recommend their food and summon experience to anyone. If you want great food, an amazing wine selection, phenomenal service, and a romantic atmosphere then you want to eat at 616.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Live Music, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food, atmosphere and service were all terrific. If there is a better New York strip in town, I have yet to find it! The char crust is amazing. I've had it five times at least. Each time I worry it won't still be as good as I remembered, but it always is!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I wanted to have a great atmosphere for my special night out with my friend. The 616 folks fully fulfilled my request for a quiet area. We had a wonderful time and will definitely go back again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went here for Thanksgiving Dinner even though we knew it was not neccesarily for that type of dinner. The ambiance and decorations were beautiful. Food choices were broad. One downfall which prevented my from rating a 5 was main food course came out luke warm for all if us. We told our waitress and she took one dish back to kitchen as example. They reheated that dish but neither of the other two.

Tags: Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful service, and delicious food. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice place in Grand Rapids. I had a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Overall was a good experience. Filet was a bit dry, ordered med rare. There was a bit too much pepper to actually taste the meat. Center of the filet was good though, with perfect cook and flavor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A little underwhelming, but the food was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was great and the servers gave a very happy vibe to me and my date. The noise of others was fairly loud. But overall, a very quality place for a date

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It took a while to get our food and our order taken, however the food was delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Romantic, Organic, Seasonal, Fun, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our service was awesome! Paul knew the menu well and was super attentive!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As an impromptu lunch date, this was a great venue. The service was excellent, from the valet to the hostess and waitress. They are what made our experience special. Of course, the food was also excellently prepared. There are so many great choices to dine in GR. We're happy to have rediscovered this one. Thanks, J-Dub!

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

616 exceeded my expectations on this visit - it had been a while since we had dinner there. Our waiter, Corey, was really outstanding. My fiancé had a lovely mixed drink, Persistence of Memory (the cocktails were significantly improved from my memory). We had three courses: foie gras (lovely - we don't have it very often for ethical reasons, but it was really fantastic) and a prosciutto and greens flatbread we were a little pressed for time - this would have been better with the foie gras served separately and then the flat bread as a separate course, possibly even after the entrée, but we didn't have time for that), and then they brought us an intermezzo that they were offering, a little tiny bite of sashimi tuna with wakame. We split seared scallops (fantastic, with a small vegetable compote - split, this was really small, but lovely, which is why if I did it again, I would have the flatbread after this, because it was actually the heaviest thing we ordered, and overall, we had plenty of food). We finished with a really wonderful dessert of pumpkin brownies and pumpkin gelato, with candied pecans. Everything was very good, and again, quite a bit better than I had expected from 616 based on prior dinners.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I proposed to my girlfriend during a breakfast reservation at Six.One.Six. The manager and staff were extremely helpful in making the day special for my fiance and myself. I would recommend their business to anyone looking to have a good meal at a fair price in a classy, yet accommodating environment.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.