About Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

235 Louis NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

As the JW Marriott Grand Rapids’ signature restaurant, six.one.six makes as unforgettable a statement as the hotel itself. Market inspired menus, sweeping views, and progressive rhythms combine to create a dining experience second-to-none in Grand Rapids. With dishes that tempt taste buds and seduce the senses, the restaurant is a haven for self-proclaimed food aficionados and lovers of all things yummy. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week, six.one.six personifies the passionate cooking style of its Executive Chef, Chris Madsen, and satisfies the most discerning palate. Those wishing a truly indulgent experience can reserve our semi-private dining space where you and eleven of your friends can gather in absolute luxury.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Weekend Brunch (Saturday & Sunday) 7:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm(Sunday - Thursday)
5:30pm - 11:00pm(Friday - Saturday)

JDEK OPEN MAY 27!! LIVE MUSIC FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHTS

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 242-1448

Website:
http://www.ilovethejw.com/

Entertainment:
House progressive music played throughout the restaurant. Live music Friday and Saturday nights in Mixology Lounge and on the Jdek

Catering:
Our courture catering is an extension of our restaurant. All dishes are market fresh and market inspired. All served in unique vessels.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Chris Madsen

Private Party Facilities:
The semi private dining room features two seatings per evening. Reservations are required. Please contact us to book your next group.

Private Party Contact:
Judith Crisman: (616)242-1449x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunday Brunch
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Scallops
Sushi Assortment (Tuna Roll And California Roll)
Fig Cheesecake
Lamb Tbone
Filet Mignon
Gin Martini
Gin & Tonic
Sushi
Mussels
Spicy Tuna
Cheesecake
Mozzarella Flatbread
Baby Beet Salad
Smoked Mozzarella Flatbread
Hawaiian Wahoo

Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Special Occasion (23)
Scenic View (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Romantic (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were looking for a good place to eat ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were looking for a good place to eat breakfast. They have an outstanding buffet that includes custom made egg selections. The food was hot and the fruit was fresh. Good value for what you get.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Grand Rapids is one of the most friendly ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Grand Rapids is one of the most friendly place I have been. The waiter ask if this was our first time and it was. He inquired as to why we were in town. He was pleasant. The food was outstanding. We will be back again if we get to Grand Rapids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Evan our waiter was excellent. Knowledga ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Evan our waiter was excellent. Knowledgable and helpful. Bar was a bit slow but the place was busy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went here for restaurant week 2016 - gre ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Went here for restaurant week 2016 - great menu and value. Did the wine pairing with the meal. Amazing food, good portions, great value. Would recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice servers. They were good with o ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very nice servers. They were good with our daughters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Restaurant week menu was delicious!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Restaurant week menu was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We made reservations earlier in the day ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We made reservations earlier in the day last Saturday and requested the patio. Upon arrival (15 mins early), the host said that there was a cabana waiting for us when the rest of our group arrived. Come to find out that this was not the case. I spoke with the manager and he told me that there was some miscommunication and that when something opened, we'd be next in line. We waited an extra 40 mins before finally being seated outside and we didn't even get a cabana. Although the manager and staff apologized, no courtesy gesture was offered which for an establishment such as six.one.six, I thought was rude and was let down. This is where I thought the management could have done better.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food is great, as well as service, but t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food is great, as well as service, but the restaurant has a problem with the air conditioning. That's probably due to the floor to ceiling west-facing windows, however, there should be some accommodation in the summer.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is fantastic... Can't go wrong with ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food is fantastic... Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our service was wonderful, the food was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our service was wonderful, the food was flavorful, and the atmosphere was perfect for a date night out. Each time we visit this restaurant we are never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

reliably good service and food. Always s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

reliably good service and food. Always seems to be a bit of confusion at the host stand, but once that hurdle is cleared VERY good experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was outstanding . My recei ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our waitress was outstanding . My receipt shows server name "Royce", but I think our server was "Julie".

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For a site that promotes itself as upsca ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

For a site that promotes itself as upscale dining, If you go in expecting 2-3 star experience, then you should enjoy yourself. Expecting a 4-5 start experience will leave you disappointed. Very noisy, drinks took to long and were wrong once. Asked for a romantic table and was given two seat table next to the breakfast bar buffet, which was empty, but not really romantic. It was not busy and there were better seat selections. There were little things, such as dirty water glass, food crumbs stuck on the salt & pepper shakers that turned us off. The redeeming factor was the Food itself was delicious and very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I was very disappointed in my experience ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I was very disappointed in my experience. The place was hot, looked a little warn out, and the menu was so-so. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food, service, and ambience were ver ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food, service, and ambience were very nice. We were a little taken aback to be charged $8 for 2 bottles of water!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and great river front dining. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Good food and great river front dining. The servers seemed to have Ritz Carlton-like training with attention to detail like holding doors, clearing plates, and gracious manners. Despite the great service and view, it never stopped feeling like a hotel lobby restaurant. The outdoor space had great tables with no ambience; there's one beautiful corner with live plants and a misted bar, but the rest could have been a bunch of tables set up on any brand hotel sidewalk. Nice enough, but not fantastic with so many other local gems around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

The service was wonderful. Our server, w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was wonderful. Our server, was attentive and friendly. I had the New York strip and it was cooked to my liking, well seasoned, and the sides were excellent. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and ambiance were great will be bac ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and ambiance were great will be back soon! Pizza and salad rocked sushi was great also.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always fantastic! Service is al ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is always fantastic! Service is always terrible - from hostess check in to exit. We love the Sunday brunch menu. Do not eat here any other time because of the horrible service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We had a few issues, first although ther ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a few issues, first although there were not many people there the buffet for breakfast was poorly stocked, we had to request refills of many items and ones that were stocked were cold. The food was OK but not what you would expect from a higher-end restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Delicious food friendly professional st ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious food friendly professional staff great location you can sit outside and enjoy the view of the river

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The friend who recommended the restauran ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The friend who recommended the restaurant to us came along. We were seated immediately and had a drink and appetizers. They were delicious. The main courses were quite filling and cooked to perfection. The NY strip steak was perfectly cooked medium rare. The merlot reduction was very tasty (we all loved it!) I exchanged the asparagus for the sweet peppers - a great move! They,too, were very good. My wife had the Mahi Mahi cooked to her liking. Our friend had the Fjord Trout. At first we thought it was salmon, but the waiter (Sean) explained that fjord trout, although looking like salmon, had a different texture and taste. He was right, and we all enjoyed a taste of it as well. We had the malt gelato with brownie dessert. (I had most of it) and it was the perfect cap to the evening. We will definitely go back. Highly recommended!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Surprising excellent for a hotel restaurant

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Menu changes seasonally featuring available, locally grown meats and vegetables. Moderately creative menu, but consistently good. The fresh mint gelato is the VERY BEST I have ever tasted; it's a must-order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food and service are excellent. Very ni ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food and service are excellent. Very nice setting in Grand Rapids with a view of the river.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had hoped for so much more

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We went in on my wife's birthday to celebrate. We left before ever getting to the entrees and dessert because the appetizers we tried we either too salty (fig flatbread), or overloaded with paprika (the mussels). We were hoping for so much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Special Occasion, Special Place

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

My friends and I make sure that when we celebrate our birthday, it is an event! I made a reservation at 6-1-6 approximately 1 week ahead of our celebration. The table was ready & set. Our server, Amber, was attentive and pleasant. The chef was cordial. The breakfast buffet was delicious! I would highly recommend this gem for breakfast and the brunch buffet.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great good, great service

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff at Six One Six were wonderful and kind. We were constantly asked how the food was and if there was anything they could do for us. The food was amazing as well. The bread was soft and buttery. The truffle fries were delicious, although a little on the salty side. Our entrées were delicious and we were too full to finish them by the end of the dinner. I took my mother here for Mother's Day and she loved the restaurant, food, and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and Service excellent. Restaurant ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and Service excellent. Restaurant was busy but service did not suffer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointrd Diners

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went to lunch for wedding anniversary on Saturday. View was disturbed by smears on inside of windows. Not crowded except for a loud gathering in an open room across from our scenic view which made us leave early without dessert. Obviously, acoustics are a problem. We felt abandoned by service and had to ask for assistance on a least one occasion. Our server was otherwise occupied cleaning or stocking bins within our sight. Food was mediocre. Already have not recommended 616 to family and friends when asked. I think it could be a good venue if better attention to environment, ambience (doors for rooms with loud gatherings), service and better presentation of plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Friendly staff

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We very much appreciated Lauren and Diego's consistent kind attention which was friendly and outgoing, yet unobtrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The creative use of flavors of several d ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The creative use of flavors of several dishes was incredible. Nice live dinner music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pretty Good

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My wife and I went for a date night and had a good time. We ate at 6:30 on a Saturday and there was hardly anyone else there. There were people in the bar however. Our service was excellent, we really liked our server. We ordered mahi mahi chowder, sushi roll, and the lamb chops. Everything was very good. The lamb chops were good, but kind of felt like something I could make myself - they weren't that exciting. The broccoli puree and other accompaniments were excellent. Cocktails, we ordered the lemon cocktail and the herb and spice. Both were ok. We didn't order dessert. It will probably be a while before we go back, simply because we don't eat out at this price range all that often, and there are other places we want to try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

It was an incredible experience we love ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

It was an incredible experience we love going there the service is amazing and the food is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and the food was absolut ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Amazing service and the food was absolutely delicious with no issues whatsoever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

JW six.one.six.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Diego and Sarah are amazing! The food was amazing, the experience was amazing. love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Breakfast Bar GREAT

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We enjoyed the Sunday Breakfast Bar and the visit was excellent. With the fruits, breads, meat dishes , and complete with an outstanding omelet made by Elvis himself that was worth the visit just to watch him in action and talking about his journey as a chef. The wait staff kept the beverages full and the plates cleared off the table. This breakfast bar is an outstanding value along with parking validation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown Gem

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

The food is amazing, and the service is beyond gracious -- the host greeted us with such enthusiasm I felt like they were waiting for me personally to arrive. The ambience is very sophisticated for a hotel restaurant but then again the JW is not just an ordinary hotel. I always eat her when I am in town. Great downtown vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Discovery

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Stayed at the Amway Grand and discovered Six.One.Six. It is easy to get to through the sky walk. Didn't really know what to expect except the menu was online. It was on older menu, as some items had changed. Food was so deliciously good I wanted to lick my plate! Very dark and quiet atmosphere, perfect for a romantic date or celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I had a great time at 6one6! Both the food and service was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Better for adults than families- especially at the price point for brunch. That being said, there are spacious booths if you do decide to bring a family. I usually order off the menu because somewhere between brunch pricing and waiting in a line for food I get grumpy, but they've really laid everything out nicely. Plus, there was real maple syrup and real whipped cream- my two low key indicators of quality. Food was excellent and service was fantastic (right down to the lovely guy making omelettes!). I'll be back next time we're looking for a real treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.