About Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

235 Louis NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

As the JW Marriott Grand Rapids’ signature restaurant, six.one.six makes as unforgettable a statement as the hotel itself. Market inspired menus, sweeping views, and progressive rhythms combine to create a dining experience second-to-none in Grand Rapids. With dishes that tempt taste buds and seduce the senses, the restaurant is a haven for self-proclaimed food aficionados and lovers of all things yummy. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week, six.one.six personifies the passionate cooking style of its Executive Chef, Chris Madsen, and satisfies the most discerning palate. Those wishing a truly indulgent experience can reserve our semi-private dining space where you and eleven of your friends can gather in absolute luxury.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Weekend Brunch (Saturday & Sunday) 7:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm(Sunday - Thursday)
5:30pm - 11:00pm(Friday - Saturday)

JDEK OPEN MAY 27!! LIVE MUSIC FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHTS

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 242-1448

Website:
http://www.ilovethejw.com/

Entertainment:
House progressive music played throughout the restaurant. Live music Friday and Saturday nights in Mixology Lounge and on the Jdek

Catering:
Our courture catering is an extension of our restaurant. All dishes are market fresh and market inspired. All served in unique vessels.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Chris Madsen

Private Party Facilities:
The semi private dining room features two seatings per evening. Reservations are required. Please contact us to book your next group.

Private Party Contact:
Judith Crisman: (616)242-1449x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunday Brunch - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Scallops - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Sushi Assortment (Tuna Roll And California Roll) - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Fig Cheesecake - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Lamb Tbone - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Filet Mignon - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Gin Martini - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Gin & Tonic - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Sushi - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Mussels - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Spicy Tuna - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Cheesecake - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Mozzarella Flatbread - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Baby Beet Salad - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Smoked Mozzarella Flatbread - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Hawaiian Wahoo - Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI

Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Special Occasion (16)
Scenic View (16)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Romantic (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Waterfront (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Live Music (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I wanted to have a great atmosphere for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I wanted to have a great atmosphere for my special night out with my friend. The 616 folks fully fulfilled my request for a quiet area. We had a wonderful time and will definitely go back again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for Thanksgiving Dinner even t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went here for Thanksgiving Dinner even though we knew it was not neccesarily for that type of dinner. The ambiance and decorations were beautiful. Food choices were broad. One downfall which prevented my from rating a 5 was main food course came out luke warm for all if us. We told our waitress and she took one dish back to kitchen as example. They reheated that dish but neither of the other two.

Tags: Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful service, and delicious food. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful service, and delicious food. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice place in Grand Rapids. I had a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall was a good experience. Filet was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Overall was a good experience. Filet was a bit dry, ordered med rare. There was a bit too much pepper to actually taste the meat. Center of the filet was good though, with perfect cook and flavor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A little underwhelming, but the food was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A little underwhelming, but the food was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was great and the servers gave ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was great and the servers gave a very happy vibe to me and my date. The noise of others was fairly loud. But overall, a very quality place for a date

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It took a while to get our food and our ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It took a while to get our food and our order taken, however the food was delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Romantic, Organic, Seasonal, Fun, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our service was awesome! Paul knew the m ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our service was awesome! Paul knew the menu well and was super attentive!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As an impromptu lunch date, this was a g ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As an impromptu lunch date, this was a great venue. The service was excellent, from the valet to the hostess and waitress. They are what made our experience special. Of course, the food was also excellently prepared. There are so many great choices to dine in GR. We're happy to have rediscovered this one. Thanks, J-Dub!

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

616 exceeded my expectations on this vis ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

616 exceeded my expectations on this visit - it had been a while since we had dinner there. Our waiter, Corey, was really outstanding. My fiancé had a lovely mixed drink, Persistence of Memory (the cocktails were significantly improved from my memory). We had three courses: foie gras (lovely - we don't have it very often for ethical reasons, but it was really fantastic) and a prosciutto and greens flatbread we were a little pressed for time - this would have been better with the foie gras served separately and then the flat bread as a separate course, possibly even after the entrée, but we didn't have time for that), and then they brought us an intermezzo that they were offering, a little tiny bite of sashimi tuna with wakame. We split seared scallops (fantastic, with a small vegetable compote - split, this was really small, but lovely, which is why if I did it again, I would have the flatbread after this, because it was actually the heaviest thing we ordered, and overall, we had plenty of food). We finished with a really wonderful dessert of pumpkin brownies and pumpkin gelato, with candied pecans. Everything was very good, and again, quite a bit better than I had expected from 616 based on prior dinners.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I proposed to my girlfriend during a bre ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I proposed to my girlfriend during a breakfast reservation at Six.One.Six. The manager and staff were extremely helpful in making the day special for my fiance and myself. I would recommend their business to anyone looking to have a good meal at a fair price in a classy, yet accommodating environment.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Friday night when John Shea w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We went on Friday night when John Shea was playing. The ambiance and food were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Four for Art Prize dined on halibut, Ott ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Four for Art Prize dined on halibut, Otto's chicken, b-tenderloin and salmon. Absolute rave reviews on the first three but the salmon was a catastrophe. The extreme over-powering of seasonings was a shock, especially considering this place's reputation. Excellent recovery, however, due to the kind and thoughtful attentions from wait-staff and management, who replaced the salmon with a tenderloin, restoring us all to a fine dining experience. Wince and cocktails were exceptional as well. We will dine here again, with maybe more caution towards any salmon dishes, in the future.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We made a reservation for Six.One.Six at ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We made a reservation for Six.One.Six at 6:15 on Friday September 30 with a request to be near the music as we were coming to hear the John Shea Trio. We were extremely disappointed that we could not get near the music because a private Spectrum Health party was booked right in that area and even though there were not many people at the private party, we were not allowed to sit in the area. We were seated outside the regular seating area across from the elevators with a glimpse of the musicians. We could hear the music okay. It was a shame that during ArtPrize that space was dominated by Spectrum Health and hardly any seats were filled at 6:15. They filled up around 8:30 or so, the private party ended at 9:00 and we were finally able to sit in the area. We had a glass of wine and an appetizer, but decided to actually get dinner somewhere else. Disappointed that Six.One.Six never communicated to us that we would not be able to sit where we had requested to sit. Servers were super nice and apologetic.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We ordered a Filet prepared medium. It ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We ordered a Filet prepared medium. It came well done and it took another 30 mins for them to prepare it. Server did not offer us any $$ off our bill, free dessert or anything. Poorly handled and not worth the $$. Customer service is what makes all the difference.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Chef Beau was outstanding! He perfectly ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chef Beau was outstanding! He perfectly prepared our meals! Will definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was terrific howeve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service was terrific however, the noise level was a little bit too noisy. We will return, it still is a great venue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Six One Six is a wonderful restaurant in ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Six One Six is a wonderful restaurant in Grand Rapids. One of the best in the downtown area. Great for dates or a night on the town with friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Filet and the view were top notch. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The Filet and the view were top notch. The service was not as one would expect in this location and price point. Even with a reservation and relatively empty restaurant, we were offered a table in a busy traffic area (near service door) and denied obviously empty better seating nearby because of upcoming "reservations" - the better tables NEVER filled during our dinner/dessert. Drinks took a long time to arrive and check-backs by the wait staff were far and few in between. Disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

We absolutely loved the atmosphere. The ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We absolutely loved the atmosphere. The bugs were horrible when we were there and were on our table and got in our drinks and food. That was the only issue, but once the sun went down, it was beautiful!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We were looking for a good place to eat ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were looking for a good place to eat breakfast. They have an outstanding buffet that includes custom made egg selections. The food was hot and the fruit was fresh. Good value for what you get.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Grand Rapids is one of the most friendly ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Grand Rapids is one of the most friendly place I have been. The waiter ask if this was our first time and it was. He inquired as to why we were in town. He was pleasant. The food was outstanding. We will be back again if we get to Grand Rapids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Evan our waiter was excellent. Knowledga ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Evan our waiter was excellent. Knowledgable and helpful. Bar was a bit slow but the place was busy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went here for restaurant week 2016 - gre ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Went here for restaurant week 2016 - great menu and value. Did the wine pairing with the meal. Amazing food, good portions, great value. Would recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice servers. They were good with o ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very nice servers. They were good with our daughters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Restaurant week menu was delicious!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Restaurant week menu was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Omelet chef Elvis is the best!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Omelet chef Elvis is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations earlier in the day ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We made reservations earlier in the day last Saturday and requested the patio. Upon arrival (15 mins early), the host said that there was a cabana waiting for us when the rest of our group arrived. Come to find out that this was not the case. I spoke with the manager and he told me that there was some miscommunication and that when something opened, we'd be next in line. We waited an extra 40 mins before finally being seated outside and we didn't even get a cabana. Although the manager and staff apologized, no courtesy gesture was offered which for an establishment such as six.one.six, I thought was rude and was let down. This is where I thought the management could have done better.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food is great, as well as service, but t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food is great, as well as service, but the restaurant has a problem with the air conditioning. That's probably due to the floor to ceiling west-facing windows, however, there should be some accommodation in the summer.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is fantastic... Can't go wrong with ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food is fantastic... Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our service was wonderful, the food was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our service was wonderful, the food was flavorful, and the atmosphere was perfect for a date night out. Each time we visit this restaurant we are never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

reliably good service and food. Always s ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2016

reliably good service and food. Always seems to be a bit of confusion at the host stand, but once that hurdle is cleared VERY good experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was outstanding . My recei ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our waitress was outstanding . My receipt shows server name "Royce", but I think our server was "Julie".

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For a site that promotes itself as upsca ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 22, 2016

For a site that promotes itself as upscale dining, If you go in expecting 2-3 star experience, then you should enjoy yourself. Expecting a 4-5 start experience will leave you disappointed. Very noisy, drinks took to long and were wrong once. Asked for a romantic table and was given two seat table next to the breakfast bar buffet, which was empty, but not really romantic. It was not busy and there were better seat selections. There were little things, such as dirty water glass, food crumbs stuck on the salt & pepper shakers that turned us off. The redeeming factor was the Food itself was delicious and very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I was very disappointed in my experience ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 21, 2016

I was very disappointed in my experience. The place was hot, looked a little warn out, and the menu was so-so. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food, service, and ambience were ver ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food, service, and ambience were very nice. We were a little taken aback to be charged $8 for 2 bottles of water!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and great river front dining. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Good food and great river front dining. The servers seemed to have Ritz Carlton-like training with attention to detail like holding doors, clearing plates, and gracious manners. Despite the great service and view, it never stopped feeling like a hotel lobby restaurant. The outdoor space had great tables with no ambience; there's one beautiful corner with live plants and a misted bar, but the rest could have been a bunch of tables set up on any brand hotel sidewalk. Nice enough, but not fantastic with so many other local gems around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

The service was wonderful. Our server, w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was wonderful. Our server, was attentive and friendly. I had the New York strip and it was cooked to my liking, well seasoned, and the sides were excellent. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and ambiance were great will be bac ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and ambiance were great will be back soon! Pizza and salad rocked sushi was great also.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always fantastic! Service is al ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is always fantastic! Service is always terrible - from hostess check in to exit. We love the Sunday brunch menu. Do not eat here any other time because of the horrible service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.