Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

As the JW Marriott Grand Rapids’ signature restaurant, six.one.six makes as unforgettable a statement as the hotel itself. Market inspired menus, sweeping views, and progressive rhythms combine to create a dining experience second-to-none in Grand Rapids. With dishes that tempt taste buds and seduce the senses, the restaurant is a haven for self-proclaimed food aficionados and lovers of all things yummy. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week, six.one.six personifies the passionate cooking style of its Executive Chef, Chris Madsen, and satisfies the most discerning palate. Those wishing a truly indulgent experience can reserve our semi-private dining space where you and eleven of your friends can gather in absolute luxury.

235 Louis NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Weekend Brunch (Saturday & Sunday) 7:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm(Sunday - Thursday)
5:30pm - 11:00pm(Friday - Saturday)

JDEK OPEN MAY 27!! LIVE MUSIC FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHTS

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 242-1448

Website:
http://www.ilovethejw.com/

Entertainment:
House progressive music played throughout the restaurant. Live music Friday and Saturday nights in Mixology Lounge and on the Jdek

Catering:
Our courture catering is an extension of our restaurant. All dishes are market fresh and market inspired. All served in unique vessels.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Chris Madsen

Private Party Facilities:
The semi private dining room features two seatings per evening. Reservations are required. Please contact us to book your next group.

Private Party Contact:
Judith Crisman: (616) 242-1449

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Modern Decor (11)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Scenic View (9)
Romantic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Waterfront (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
763 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

This came highly recommended. I've been to brunch at other JW Marriott locations, so I thought it a safe option. I was unimpressed and quite disappointed. The service was subpar and the food underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was good -- kitchen felt slow. Food was good, but the flavors were muted a bit by a hair more salt than needed. Filet was tasty, as was the gnocchi. Inky cap mushrooms were a delight in the gnocchi dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We generally go to Brunch on Sunday as we love the amazing selections to choose from. Elvis makes amazing omelettes and other egg options. The fresh fruit table is plentiful and well maintained. The service is outstanding. Therefore, we decided to go to dinner on Saturday evening. The menu was amazing and did not disappoint. The service was outstanding. The ambiance was the perfect picture for our date. I would recommend 616 to others wanting to enjoy a special night out.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service, wonderful food. The only negative was the noise level. We were there before 6 PM and the noise was difficult to talk over.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Micheal, the 616 manager, was amazing! Thank you so much for a wonderful experience today at brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Simply stellar! Enjoyed from the moment we were greeted till we pushed away the remnants of the dessert. Wonderful

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was fantastic! Our server was attentive but not overbearing. The restaurant looks cool and smells great.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Elvis makes the best omelet hands down! Jimmy was great too!

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The service was terrible! We ended up having a two hour dinner and two of the four of us ordered appetizers as meals! Server barely came over to check on us; We got our drinks late, bread for the table only after we mentioned it twice, meals took forever to come out and two of the four were prepared incorrectly. Server never came back to see how we were doing. We had to ask other servers for stuff when we needed it and still took forever. I use to be a server so I understand the demands and only would complain if it was seriously terrible. And seriously it was terrible plus food was not great for the price. I would never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food quality has declined since I was there last, almost every item was under-seasoned. A bit of a disappointing experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The brunch is second to none in Grand Rapids. Service is always attentive and the food is fresh and locally sourced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Molly our server was wonderful and very knowledgeable about the selections.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had a large group (11) and had a private eating area. The server was very attentive. The food was great. The children's menu was impressive w salmon and organic options that aren't typically on children's menus. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Family Style, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The wait staff was very attentive and answered all our questions. The food was great as was the presentation.

We had dessert in the lounge area to listen to the jazz trio. The area was bit too open and lost the cozy feel. But again, the wait staff was great!

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 20, 2017

great birthday surprise, good time , not to $$, don't ask for a review then demand it to be 50 characters long....

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food and service was outstanding. Recommend getting the tap water!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our server was wonderful! Food was perfect! Overall excellent as always

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Interesting that you use the term energetic. The area we were seated in was to loud for a table of 5 to have a good business discussion.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our waiter Diego was amazing even with the table next being rude to him. The only complaint that I have is that a table of drunks got seated right next to us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a small mixup while getting seated, but once at our table, everything was delicious, especially the eggs and omelettes made by Chef Elvis. Would recommend, but would try to get a reservation, as opposed to dropping in and trying to get a table.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The tenderloin tacos were delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Six one six is a great "go to" for business lunches and dinners. The food and service are very consistent and the warm weather patio has plenty of seating and a great view of the river.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Elvis makes the best omelets ever, and the yogurt parfaits are delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food seemed to be over seasoned. Prevented more natural and subtle flavors from being enjoyed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I thought the food was overpriced and the service was just average. The server wasn't very attentive at keeping waters and drinks filled.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I visited Six One Six to celebrate a special occasion on a Friday night. On the whole, we enjoyed the restaurant and would go back. It wasn't too busy, even when we used a reservation, so we were taken aback when we were seated next to a really loud group in the back when tables were available up front. I could barely talk to my husband. We asked to move, and we were promptly moved to a less noisy place.
The food was very good. It would have been nice if the soup had a slightly larger portion (my husband's bowl had almost an inch higher amount than mine, which felt odd). We ate the sushi and enjoyed it. My husband was pleased with the beer selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server Nick was fabulous. Food was beyond great. I took my niece for brunch and enjoyed every minute. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The staff working on January 28 in the evening was phenomenal. Such attention to detail!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was great but the service was not the best. I would have expected a little more attention to our group and it felt like we were left waiting for along periods of time to order and get refills.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Thanks to Robert and Elizabeth who accomodated my special menu requests with politeness and grace. All the staff were friendly - clearly hired at least in part for their ability to interact well with their diners. The food was very good and there was a willingness to modify dishes to suit my taste. The wine list included wines at least a little out the ordinary and all the familiar grapes too.Well done 616 we will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We absolutely enjoyed our dinner at your restaurant. The food was tasteful, the atmosphere lively and the service was good. We didn't feel the music quite fit the setting and the waiter could have afforded to be a bit more attentive. We will definitely give the Six One Six a second chance.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I am never disappointed in Six One Six - the service was superb, the food was amazing and the overall atmosphere embodies so much of what I love about Grand Rapids. We were there to celebrate a friends birthday and she enjoyed every minute of it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food and service is what you come to expect at a JW Marriott. Very formal service, "yes sir", "may I take your plate, sir", "thank you, sir" and so on. The service was slightly slow initially, even though the dining room was only sparsely occupied, but we were in no hurray. The food was excellent and not overpriced. My wife had the scallops, which were unusually small but very good and served uniquely on a hot, slate-like flat plate. I had the lamb, which was cooked perfectly and full of flavor. Although the portions were a bit small, the flavor was rich and very filling. The wine list was not huge but many styles were represented with good selections. The Spanish wine in particular was excellent and inexpensive. The only real negative was the flowers in the lobby area that extended into the host/hostess station. They were pretty, but they were also very strong. Too strong so close to the restaurant. The fragrance detracted from the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The staff was incredible and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were staying at the hotel for the Juice Ball and expected the restaurant to be packed. We were surprised that a table for 2 was available right when we got dressed upstairs on Open Table! Glad we didn't venture out in the cold and have to wait elsewhere. Good meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The service was amazing. They were prompt and anticipated our needs. The food, however, was disappointing. The meal I ordered sounded amazing, but in reality was extremely over seasoned to the point of not being edible. The scallops, salad and cauliflower purée were each sampled by others in my party , and all agreed the tastes were too overpowering to enjoy. When I told the wait staff, instead of offering another option, they offered to take off half the price. So I still had to pay $20 for a meal I couldn't eat. Not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Typical high end hotel restaurant. Good atmosphere and food. Priced accordingly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Paul gave us outstanding service. Meals were perfect, good drinks, and the entire staff was exceptional. My only criticism was the music level turned on after the great three piece band finished in the lobby area. The music was far too loud and the type of music (B-Bop/hip-hop) was not our preferred choice. We will visit again, and you should.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service and ambiance was truly very good. My scallops were very good and my wife's filet was adequate. Since your so close to Ruth's Chris and the Chop House I thought you would do more of a spin on yours to differentiate yourself. The 616chowder sadly needed heavy seasoning and was below what I expected to get. The beer and wine selection was fantastic. The maturate was exceptional as well. Loved the amuse bus and the truffle fries were what I expected to get. I would recommend 616 to others but would temper their expectations on the food.

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Family Style, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our family had Christmas Eve dinner at Six-One-Six. The food was fabulous! Our first experience but will definitely not be the last!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.