About Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

235 Louis NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

As the JW Marriott Grand Rapids’ signature restaurant, six.one.six makes as unforgettable a statement as the hotel itself. Market inspired menus, sweeping views, and progressive rhythms combine to create a dining experience second-to-none in Grand Rapids. With dishes that tempt taste buds and seduce the senses, the restaurant is a haven for self-proclaimed food aficionados and lovers of all things yummy. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week, six.one.six personifies the passionate cooking style of its Executive Chef, Chris Madsen, and satisfies the most discerning palate. Those wishing a truly indulgent experience can reserve our semi-private dining space where you and eleven of your friends can gather in absolute luxury.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Weekend Brunch (Saturday & Sunday) 7:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm(Sunday - Thursday)
5:30pm - 11:00pm(Friday - Saturday)

JDEK OPEN MAY 27!! LIVE MUSIC FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHTS

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 242-1448

Website:
http://www.ilovethejw.com/

Entertainment:
House progressive music played throughout the restaurant. Live music Friday and Saturday nights in Mixology Lounge and on the Jdek

Catering:
Our courture catering is an extension of our restaurant. All dishes are market fresh and market inspired. All served in unique vessels.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Chris Madsen

Private Party Facilities:
The semi private dining room features two seatings per evening. Reservations are required. Please contact us to book your next group.

Private Party Contact:
Judith Crisman: (616) 242-1449

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Modern Decor (13)
Romantic (13)
Scenic View (12)
Notable Wine List (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Waterfront (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Fun (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Live Music (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Authentic (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food seemed to be over seasoned. Prevent ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

Food seemed to be over seasoned. Prevented more natural and subtle flavors from being enjoyed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought the food was overpriced and th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

I thought the food was overpriced and the service was just average. The server wasn't very attentive at keeping waters and drinks filled.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

My husband and I visited Six One Six to ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I visited Six One Six to celebrate a special occasion on a Friday night. On the whole, we enjoyed the restaurant and would go back. It wasn't too busy, even when we used a reservation, so we were taken aback when we were seated next to a really loud group in the back when tables were available up front. I could barely talk to my husband. We asked to move, and we were promptly moved to a less noisy place.

The food was very good. It would have been nice if the soup had a slightly larger portion (my husband's bowl had almost an inch higher amount than mine, which felt odd). We ate the sushi and enjoyed it. My husband was pleased with the beer selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Nick was fabulous. Food was b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server Nick was fabulous. Food was beyond great. I took my niece for brunch and enjoyed every minute. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff working on January 28 in the e ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The staff working on January 28 in the evening was phenomenal. Such attention to detail!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great but the service was not t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was great but the service was not the best. I would have expected a little more attention to our group and it felt like we were left waiting for along periods of time to order and get refills.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Thanks to Robert and Elizabeth who accom ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Thanks to Robert and Elizabeth who accomodated my special menu requests with politeness and grace. All the staff were friendly - clearly hired at least in part for their ability to interact well with their diners. The food was very good and there was a willingness to modify dishes to suit my taste. The wine list included wines at least a little out the ordinary and all the familiar grapes too.Well done 616 we will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We absolutely enjoyed our dinner at your ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We absolutely enjoyed our dinner at your restaurant. The food was tasteful, the atmosphere lively and the service was good. We didn't feel the music quite fit the setting and the waiter could have afforded to be a bit more attentive. We will definitely give the Six One Six a second chance.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I am never disappointed in Six One Six - ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I am never disappointed in Six One Six - the service was superb, the food was amazing and the overall atmosphere embodies so much of what I love about Grand Rapids. We were there to celebrate a friends birthday and she enjoyed every minute of it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service is what you come to ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food and service is what you come to expect at a JW Marriott. Very formal service, "yes sir", "may I take your plate, sir", "thank you, sir" and so on. The service was slightly slow initially, even though the dining room was only sparsely occupied, but we were in no hurray. The food was excellent and not overpriced. My wife had the scallops, which were unusually small but very good and served uniquely on a hot, slate-like flat plate. I had the lamb, which was cooked perfectly and full of flavor. Although the portions were a bit small, the flavor was rich and very filling. The wine list was not huge but many styles were represented with good selections. The Spanish wine in particular was excellent and inexpensive. The only real negative was the flowers in the lobby area that extended into the host/hostess station. They were pretty, but they were also very strong. Too strong so close to the restaurant. The fragrance detracted from the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

The staff was incredible and the food wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The staff was incredible and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were staying at the hotel for the Jui ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were staying at the hotel for the Juice Ball and expected the restaurant to be packed. We were surprised that a table for 2 was available right when we got dressed upstairs on Open Table! Glad we didn't venture out in the cold and have to wait elsewhere. Good meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing. They were prom ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The service was amazing. They were prompt and anticipated our needs. The food, however, was disappointing. The meal I ordered sounded amazing, but in reality was extremely over seasoned to the point of not being edible. The scallops, salad and cauliflower purée were each sampled by others in my party , and all agreed the tastes were too overpowering to enjoy. When I told the wait staff, instead of offering another option, they offered to take off half the price. So I still had to pay $20 for a meal I couldn't eat. Not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Typical high end hotel restaurant. Good ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Typical high end hotel restaurant. Good atmosphere and food. Priced accordingly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Paul gave us outstanding service. Meals ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Paul gave us outstanding service. Meals were perfect, good drinks, and the entire staff was exceptional. My only criticism was the music level turned on after the great three piece band finished in the lobby area. The music was far too loud and the type of music (B-Bop/hip-hop) was not our preferred choice. We will visit again, and you should.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service and ambiance was truly very good ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service and ambiance was truly very good. My scallops were very good and my wife's filet was adequate. Since your so close to Ruth's Chris and the Chop House I thought you would do more of a spin on yours to differentiate yourself. The 616chowder sadly needed heavy seasoning and was below what I expected to get. The beer and wine selection was fantastic. The maturate was exceptional as well. Loved the amuse bus and the truffle fries were what I expected to get. I would recommend 616 to others but would temper their expectations on the food.

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Family Style, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our family had Christmas Eve dinner at S ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our family had Christmas Eve dinner at Six-One-Six. The food was fabulous! Our first experience but will definitely not be the last!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The overall experience was mediocre. Th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The overall experience was mediocre. The staff seemed unorganized. The food was too salty and fatty. It was not what I would expect for fine dining. There are much better restaurants in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

616 has some of the best food in town. I ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 17, 2016

616 has some of the best food in town. I'm pleased to recommend their food and summon experience to anyone. If you want great food, an amazing wine selection, phenomenal service, and a romantic atmosphere then you want to eat at 616.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Live Music, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food, atmosphere and service were all te ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food, atmosphere and service were all terrific. If there is a better New York strip in town, I have yet to find it! The char crust is amazing. I've had it five times at least. Each time I worry it won't still be as good as I remembered, but it always is!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I wanted to have a great atmosphere for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I wanted to have a great atmosphere for my special night out with my friend. The 616 folks fully fulfilled my request for a quiet area. We had a wonderful time and will definitely go back again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for Thanksgiving Dinner even t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went here for Thanksgiving Dinner even though we knew it was not neccesarily for that type of dinner. The ambiance and decorations were beautiful. Food choices were broad. One downfall which prevented my from rating a 5 was main food course came out luke warm for all if us. We told our waitress and she took one dish back to kitchen as example. They reheated that dish but neither of the other two.

Tags: Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful service, and delicious food. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful service, and delicious food. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice place in Grand Rapids. I had a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall was a good experience. Filet was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Overall was a good experience. Filet was a bit dry, ordered med rare. There was a bit too much pepper to actually taste the meat. Center of the filet was good though, with perfect cook and flavor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A little underwhelming, but the food was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A little underwhelming, but the food was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was great and the servers gave ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was great and the servers gave a very happy vibe to me and my date. The noise of others was fairly loud. But overall, a very quality place for a date

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It took a while to get our food and our ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It took a while to get our food and our order taken, however the food was delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Romantic, Organic, Seasonal, Fun, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our service was awesome! Paul knew the m ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our service was awesome! Paul knew the menu well and was super attentive!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As an impromptu lunch date, this was a g ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As an impromptu lunch date, this was a great venue. The service was excellent, from the valet to the hostess and waitress. They are what made our experience special. Of course, the food was also excellently prepared. There are so many great choices to dine in GR. We're happy to have rediscovered this one. Thanks, J-Dub!

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

616 exceeded my expectations on this vis ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

616 exceeded my expectations on this visit - it had been a while since we had dinner there. Our waiter, Corey, was really outstanding. My fiancé had a lovely mixed drink, Persistence of Memory (the cocktails were significantly improved from my memory). We had three courses: foie gras (lovely - we don't have it very often for ethical reasons, but it was really fantastic) and a prosciutto and greens flatbread we were a little pressed for time - this would have been better with the foie gras served separately and then the flat bread as a separate course, possibly even after the entrée, but we didn't have time for that), and then they brought us an intermezzo that they were offering, a little tiny bite of sashimi tuna with wakame. We split seared scallops (fantastic, with a small vegetable compote - split, this was really small, but lovely, which is why if I did it again, I would have the flatbread after this, because it was actually the heaviest thing we ordered, and overall, we had plenty of food). We finished with a really wonderful dessert of pumpkin brownies and pumpkin gelato, with candied pecans. Everything was very good, and again, quite a bit better than I had expected from 616 based on prior dinners.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I proposed to my girlfriend during a bre ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I proposed to my girlfriend during a breakfast reservation at Six.One.Six. The manager and staff were extremely helpful in making the day special for my fiance and myself. I would recommend their business to anyone looking to have a good meal at a fair price in a classy, yet accommodating environment.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Friday night when John Shea w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We went on Friday night when John Shea was playing. The ambiance and food were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Four for Art Prize dined on halibut, Ott ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Four for Art Prize dined on halibut, Otto's chicken, b-tenderloin and salmon. Absolute rave reviews on the first three but the salmon was a catastrophe. The extreme over-powering of seasonings was a shock, especially considering this place's reputation. Excellent recovery, however, due to the kind and thoughtful attentions from wait-staff and management, who replaced the salmon with a tenderloin, restoring us all to a fine dining experience. Wince and cocktails were exceptional as well. We will dine here again, with maybe more caution towards any salmon dishes, in the future.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We made a reservation for Six.One.Six at ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We made a reservation for Six.One.Six at 6:15 on Friday September 30 with a request to be near the music as we were coming to hear the John Shea Trio. We were extremely disappointed that we could not get near the music because a private Spectrum Health party was booked right in that area and even though there were not many people at the private party, we were not allowed to sit in the area. We were seated outside the regular seating area across from the elevators with a glimpse of the musicians. We could hear the music okay. It was a shame that during ArtPrize that space was dominated by Spectrum Health and hardly any seats were filled at 6:15. They filled up around 8:30 or so, the private party ended at 9:00 and we were finally able to sit in the area. We had a glass of wine and an appetizer, but decided to actually get dinner somewhere else. Disappointed that Six.One.Six never communicated to us that we would not be able to sit where we had requested to sit. Servers were super nice and apologetic.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We ordered a Filet prepared medium. It ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We ordered a Filet prepared medium. It came well done and it took another 30 mins for them to prepare it. Server did not offer us any $$ off our bill, free dessert or anything. Poorly handled and not worth the $$. Customer service is what makes all the difference.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Chef Beau was outstanding! He perfectly ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chef Beau was outstanding! He perfectly prepared our meals! Will definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Six One Six is a wonderful restaurant in ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Six One Six is a wonderful restaurant in Grand Rapids. One of the best in the downtown area. Great for dates or a night on the town with friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was terrific howeve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service was terrific however, the noise level was a little bit too noisy. We will return, it still is a great venue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Filet and the view were top notch. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The Filet and the view were top notch. The service was not as one would expect in this location and price point. Even with a reservation and relatively empty restaurant, we were offered a table in a busy traffic area (near service door) and denied obviously empty better seating nearby because of upcoming "reservations" - the better tables NEVER filled during our dinner/dessert. Drinks took a long time to arrive and check-backs by the wait staff were far and few in between. Disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

We absolutely loved the atmosphere. The ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We absolutely loved the atmosphere. The bugs were horrible when we were there and were on our table and got in our drinks and food. That was the only issue, but once the sun went down, it was beautiful!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.