About Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

235 Louis NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
View Larger Map

As the JW Marriott Grand Rapids’ signature restaurant, six.one.six makes as unforgettable a statement as the hotel itself. Market inspired menus, sweeping views, and progressive rhythms combine to create a dining experience second-to-none in Grand Rapids. With dishes that tempt taste buds and seduce the senses, the restaurant is a haven for self-proclaimed food aficionados and lovers of all things yummy. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week, six.one.six personifies the passionate cooking style of its Executive Chef, Chris Madsen, and satisfies the most discerning palate. Those wishing a truly indulgent experience can reserve our semi-private dining space where you and eleven of your friends can gather in absolute luxury.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Weekend Brunch (Saturday & Sunday) 7:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm(Sunday - Thursday)
5:30pm - 11:00pm(Friday - Saturday)

JDEK OPEN MAY 27!! LIVE MUSIC FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHTS

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 242-1448

Website:
http://www.ilovethejw.com/

Entertainment:
House progressive music played throughout the restaurant. Live music Friday and Saturday nights in Mixology Lounge and on the Jdek

Catering:
Our courture catering is an extension of our restaurant. All dishes are market fresh and market inspired. All served in unique vessels.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Chris Madsen

Private Party Facilities:
The semi private dining room features two seatings per evening. Reservations are required. Please contact us to book your next group.

Private Party Contact:
Judith Crisman: (616)242-1449x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Sunday Brunch
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Scallops
Sushi Assortment (Tuna Roll And California Roll)
Fig Cheesecake
Lamb Tbone
Filet Mignon
Gin Martini
Gin & Tonic
Mussels
Sushi
Spicy Tuna
Cheesecake
Mozzarella Flatbread
Baby Beet Salad
Hawaiian Wahoo
Smoked Mozzarella Flatbread

Six One Six - JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (23)
scenic view (16)
great for brunch (14)
See All
fit for foodies (14)
great for lunch (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
romantic (9)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (6)
notable wine list (5)
neighborhood gem (3)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
656 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waitress was outstanding . My recei ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress was outstanding . My receipt shows server name "Royce", but I think our server was "Julie".

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For a site that promotes itself as upsca ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

For a site that promotes itself as upscale dining, If you go in expecting 2-3 star experience, then you should enjoy yourself. Expecting a 4-5 start experience will leave you disappointed. Very noisy, drinks took to long and were wrong once. Asked for a romantic table and was given two seat table next to the breakfast bar buffet, which was empty, but not really romantic. It was not busy and there were better seat selections. There were little things, such as dirty water glass, food crumbs stuck on the salt & pepper shakers that turned us off. The redeeming factor was the Food itself was delicious and very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I was very disappointed in my experience ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I was very disappointed in my experience. The place was hot, looked a little warn out, and the menu was so-so. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food, service, and ambience were ver ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food, service, and ambience were very nice. We were a little taken aback to be charged $8 for 2 bottles of water!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and great river front dining. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Good food and great river front dining. The servers seemed to have Ritz Carlton-like training with attention to detail like holding doors, clearing plates, and gracious manners. Despite the great service and view, it never stopped feeling like a hotel lobby restaurant. The outdoor space had great tables with no ambience; there's one beautiful corner with live plants and a misted bar, but the rest could have been a bunch of tables set up on any brand hotel sidewalk. Nice enough, but not fantastic with so many other local gems around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

The service was wonderful. Our server, w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was wonderful. Our server, was attentive and friendly. I had the New York strip and it was cooked to my liking, well seasoned, and the sides were excellent. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and ambiance were great will be bac ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food and ambiance were great will be back soon! Pizza and salad rocked sushi was great also.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always fantastic! Service is al ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is always fantastic! Service is always terrible - from hostess check in to exit. We love the Sunday brunch menu. Do not eat here any other time because of the horrible service.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We had a few issues, first although ther ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a few issues, first although there were not many people there the buffet for breakfast was poorly stocked, we had to request refills of many items and ones that were stocked were cold. The food was OK but not what you would expect from a higher-end restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The friend who recommended the restauran ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The friend who recommended the restaurant to us came along. We were seated immediately and had a drink and appetizers. They were delicious. The main courses were quite filling and cooked to perfection. The NY strip steak was perfectly cooked medium rare. The merlot reduction was very tasty (we all loved it!) I exchanged the asparagus for the sweet peppers - a great move! They,too, were very good. My wife had the Mahi Mahi cooked to her liking. Our friend had the Fjord Trout. At first we thought it was salmon, but the waiter (Sean) explained that fjord trout, although looking like salmon, had a different texture and taste. He was right, and we all enjoyed a taste of it as well. We had the malt gelato with brownie dessert. (I had most of it) and it was the perfect cap to the evening. We will definitely go back. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Surprising excellent for a hotel restaurant

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Menu changes seasonally featuring available, locally grown meats and vegetables. Moderately creative menu, but consistently good. The fresh mint gelato is the VERY BEST I have ever tasted; it's a must-order.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food and service are excellent. Very ni ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food and service are excellent. Very nice setting in Grand Rapids with a view of the river.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had hoped for so much more

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We went in on my wife's birthday to celebrate. We left before ever getting to the entrees and dessert because the appetizers we tried we either too salty (fig flatbread), or overloaded with paprika (the mussels). We were hoping for so much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Special Occasion, Special Place

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

My friends and I make sure that when we celebrate our birthday, it is an event! I made a reservation at 6-1-6 approximately 1 week ahead of our celebration. The table was ready & set. Our server, Amber, was attentive and pleasant. The chef was cordial. The breakfast buffet was delicious! I would highly recommend this gem for breakfast and the brunch buffet.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great good, great service

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff at Six One Six were wonderful and kind. We were constantly asked how the food was and if there was anything they could do for us. The food was amazing as well. The bread was soft and buttery. The truffle fries were delicious, although a little on the salty side. Our entrées were delicious and we were too full to finish them by the end of the dinner. I took my mother here for Mother's Day and she loved the restaurant, food, and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and Service excellent. Restaurant ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and Service excellent. Restaurant was busy but service did not suffer.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointrd Diners

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went to lunch for wedding anniversary on Saturday. View was disturbed by smears on inside of windows. Not crowded except for a loud gathering in an open room across from our scenic view which made us leave early without dessert. Obviously, acoustics are a problem. We felt abandoned by service and had to ask for assistance on a least one occasion. Our server was otherwise occupied cleaning or stocking bins within our sight. Food was mediocre. Already have not recommended 616 to family and friends when asked. I think it could be a good venue if better attention to environment, ambience (doors for rooms with loud gatherings), service and better presentation of plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Friendly staff

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We very much appreciated Lauren and Diego's consistent kind attention which was friendly and outgoing, yet unobtrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The creative use of flavors of several d ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The creative use of flavors of several dishes was incredible. Nice live dinner music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pretty Good

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My wife and I went for a date night and had a good time. We ate at 6:30 on a Saturday and there was hardly anyone else there. There were people in the bar however. Our service was excellent, we really liked our server. We ordered mahi mahi chowder, sushi roll, and the lamb chops. Everything was very good. The lamb chops were good, but kind of felt like something I could make myself - they weren't that exciting. The broccoli puree and other accompaniments were excellent. Cocktails, we ordered the lemon cocktail and the herb and spice. Both were ok. We didn't order dessert. It will probably be a while before we go back, simply because we don't eat out at this price range all that often, and there are other places we want to try.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

It was an incredible experience we love ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

It was an incredible experience we love going there the service is amazing and the food is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and the food was absolut ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Amazing service and the food was absolutely delicious with no issues whatsoever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

JW six.one.six.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Diego and Sarah are amazing! The food was amazing, the experience was amazing. love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Breakfast Bar GREAT

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We enjoyed the Sunday Breakfast Bar and the visit was excellent. With the fruits, breads, meat dishes , and complete with an outstanding omelet made by Elvis himself that was worth the visit just to watch him in action and talking about his journey as a chef. The wait staff kept the beverages full and the plates cleared off the table. This breakfast bar is an outstanding value along with parking validation.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown Gem

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

The food is amazing, and the service is beyond gracious -- the host greeted us with such enthusiasm I felt like they were waiting for me personally to arrive. The ambience is very sophisticated for a hotel restaurant but then again the JW is not just an ordinary hotel. I always eat her when I am in town. Great downtown vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Discovery

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Stayed at the Amway Grand and discovered Six.One.Six. It is easy to get to through the sky walk. Didn't really know what to expect except the menu was online. It was on older menu, as some items had changed. Food was so deliciously good I wanted to lick my plate! Very dark and quiet atmosphere, perfect for a romantic date or celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I had a great time at 6one6! Both the food and service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Better for adults than families- especially at the price point for brunch. That being said, there are spacious booths if you do decide to bring a family. I usually order off the menu because somewhere between brunch pricing and waiting in a line for food I get grumpy, but they've really laid everything out nicely. Plus, there was real maple syrup and real whipped cream- my two low key indicators of quality. Food was excellent and service was fantastic (right down to the lovely guy making omelettes!). I'll be back next time we're looking for a real treat.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great for breakfast

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We stayed at the JW overnight, and had 10am reservations in the morning. Made it very convenient for us. The breakfast buffet was really good. And the chef on scene to make whatever special plate to order right in front of you...really awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Delicious and interesting menu. We always enjoy dining here when we're in town. It's even better if you can get a room at the JW. Very convenient and the rooms are great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant which mea ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant which means my Boss had to experience it.

He had the club and I had the fig flatbread. We both had the chowder. Fast service, fast food, friendly service. Our food was made to perfection.

I've already sold my Boss on the JDek experience. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5

Gone down hill!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

I have worked close by and so have dined at 616 since it opened. I have entertained clients and new staff prospects, as well as the occasional business lunch. My last 3 experiences have been so negative, I will not likely dine there again. On one visit, for 3 people having salad for lunch, our food took over 40 minutes. The next visit, food took 30 minutes for 2 people and the process of trying to get a check too an additional 20 minutes. this week Tuesday, a late lunch of about 1pm, for 4 people. Only 2 other tables were occupied, food took approximately 30 minutes, and the quality thereof was poor. Burgers were ordered medium, and were served blackened!. Truffle fries on 3 of the plates, were room temperature. So disappointing.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointed Once Again!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

My husband and I started enjoying our "weekly date-night" at Six-One-Six immediately after the opening. However, in the past year, the food has been unpredictable and inconsistent. The past few times we've been there, we have been completely disappointed.

We had out of town guests (foodies!) over the holidays. Craig and I decided to try Six-One-Six again because we still want to love it (we also frequently stay downtown)! Unfortunately, the food was just short of being terrible (especially the filet mignon; when the restaurant first opened, it was amazing!!!!). We spent $250 trying to impress the four of us and left feeling robbed, disappointed and decieved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

great food, bad seating

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The brunch was very good. We were seated promptly, the food was prepared well, lots of positive comments in our group about the fruit, the corned beef hash, the salmon, and Elvis the omelette chef. Given that the brunch is a buffet, it was unpleasant that our table was set up in a corner, and one of our party had to disrupt two others to slide out to get to the food. It seemed that moving the entire table over about 18 inches would have solved this without crowding any other table.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service, Kitchen Slammed

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Overall everything was good. The kitchen was slammed with the New Year crowd. Patience was needed this AM. Two items didn't come out with our order, but our waitress made sure that was removed from our bill before we even saw it. She seemed quite embarrassed, I reassured her it wasn't her fault, and it was not a big deal. Will go back on a non-holiday weekend to see how things go.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Overall was ok. There was part of the kids meals that were forgotten and the steak was over cooked. Ordered rare plus was given well done.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We've been to 616 in the past and knew w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

We've been to 616 in the past and knew what to expect since the better dining options in town were booked.

Filet was tough. Ravioli was overcooked and drowning in oil. No bread. Overpriced for the quality of the food. Poor use of seating space. Next time we'll not wait until the last minute to make Saturday night dinner reservations in GR.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

A nice business atmosphere

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

A convenient place to meet for business with a nice selection of shareable plates and entrees.

Reasonable wine prices with a fair selection.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great all around experience.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Great all around experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

poor choice

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

People said all the right things, but we felt like we were in the way. Late with water, late with drinks, mixed up our order, fake smile "happy to help you..." they got our reservation wrong. We had big plans that night to celebrate a big year / totally blew it - we went somewhere else and spent a ton.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.