Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Sisters at the Martha

With it's intimate, cozy atmosphere and snuggly bar, Sisters has become a local favorite with a menu that adapts frequently to seasonal favorites and freshness.Relax and come casual.Browse the history of a storied past in this nod to the eighty years The Martha spent as a College for young ladies and enjoy some of the best food served anywhere in the region.

150 West Main Street
Abingdon, VA 24210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(276) 628-3161

Website:
http://www.themartha.com/dining/sisters-american-grill

Executive Chef:
Phill Powers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Sisters at the Martha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (4)
See All
Historic (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Romantic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My birthday celebration was perfect. My husband and I were able to have a nice, intimate dinner. The waiter was pleasant, personable and informative. The food was superb! Plus they had my favorite wine! A win win for my birthday! I look forward to my next visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wonderful meal for my husbands birthday. Creative chef is one of a kind and we had a memorable evening!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed a delicious dinner on an evening to celebrate by husband's retirement. We came to Abington to hike on the Creeper Trail for a bit and to explore the area a little more since we had not been there is a number of years. The food and service and atmosphere were all lovely. We look forward to returning much more often and will make Sisters a regular stop!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fun, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was nothing special. The location however is historical and artistic. The waiter seem overwhelmed with tables and struggling to keep up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had dinner following a play at Barter theatre, Everyone from the hosteps to our server were terrific, The food was exceptional and our server Ashley made the dinning a pleasant experience, Thanks to everyone at the Sisters Restaurant,

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We went to Sister's prior to a theater performance. Our table was ready when we arrived and we were promptly greeted by our server. Since we were on a time budget, we decided to forego appetizers and dessert, but everything on the menu looked delicious. I had the lamb chops and my husband had the ribeye steak. Both were delicious and cooked exactly to our specifications. After sharing some of the entrees, we each claimed that our own dish was the better. Lucky choices we made! Next time we go, we'll build in time to enjoy an appetizer and a bowl of crab bisque, maybe even some dessert. Wonderful beginning to a fun-filled evening!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Was ok. Nice restaurant. Not to go baxk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We made reservations on short notice before a play, on a Friday night at Barter. We got in the time we requested and the service was wonderful. The food was great! Someone had recommended the burgers and they did not disappoint. We will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Lovely restaurant located in the beautiful, historic Martha Washington Inn. Our server greeted us with menus and glasses of ice water, but then directly passed by our table numerous times before stopping to take our order. After about 15 minutes, we called to him. He apologized, indicating that he "forgot" he was serving us. He was pleasant and kind, but he seemed preoccupied. Perhaps they were short-staffed. I chose the Roasted French Onion Chicken, a very rich dish that was somewhat tasty but nothing to write home about. My husband had the crab bisque, which he loved, and he opted for the massive Cobb Salad instead of a main entree. Increased staffing on a Saturday night and slight adjustments to the menu would yield a better overall review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had drinks at the bar and then dinner in the dining room. Everything was excellent, but the lamb chops were the standout. Service was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Prompt friendly Service before the Barter Theater.
Food was unique and quite tasty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The entrees were great, I had an amazing filet that was huge, it was no NY sized filet. The appetizers were sub par. The fried cheese curds, were basically mozzarella sticks that were served with salsa and a sour cream dip, so basically the sides for Nachos. We also had a salad that would have been great but it came with a honey mustard style dressing, the salad would have been great until they put that dressing on it and made it diner food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This is a great spot for dinner prior to catching a play at the Barter Theatre. The food and service are always good and though the menu is a touch pricey, I've always found it to be worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Disappointed to give low ratings on this sixth visit to Sisters. Our server was new, apparently inadequately trained, and seemingly unable to engage in proactive problem-solving when an entree came out with bacon that had been specifically addressed when ordering. The other entree, the 'french onion roasted chicken' was left sitting too long in the kitchen, arriving lukewarm, with the chicken itself dry and overcooked. OH DID I MENTION THE DEVILED EGGS? Seriously -- more then $3.00 per deviled egg half. Sure, they were tasty. $10 for the 3-piece appetizer was entirely overpriced.

Looking forward to improvement in the future. This used to be a reliably excellent establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was a night out of town to celebrate our 30th anniversary. This was a great place and the food was exceptional. The price was not bad since I knew what to expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was a perfect place to have a friendly dinner. Food was fantastic, presented beautifully, overall atmosphere was amazing and service exceptional

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I always enjoy eating at Sister's but I was a little disappointed w the service staff. I asked for a straw and refills on waters a couple times for each. I also asked to substitute fruit instead of fries ( which I have always done since I can not eat fried food) and was told that the chef has asked for no substitutions. I May rethink my dinner choice when I am in the area next time.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We arrived five minutes early for our 5:45 reservation and were seated promptly. From that point on the service was poor. After 20 minutes, I went back to the hostess to advise her that we had not yet been greeted by a server, had no water, etc. It still took another 10 minutes to be greeted by our server. Our order was simple, however, our food did not come out of the kitchen until after 6:30 which made it necessary for us to rush to finish and get to the theater. Our "free" glass of wine was charged to our original bill which took another 3-5 minutes to get adjusted before we could pay our bill.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

All of us enjoyed our meals very much! Chelsea was a very good server and service was very good.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I initially made a reservation two nights in advance through Open Table, but the earliest time I could get for six people was 8:30. I called the restaurant the night before and asked if we came in earlier, did they think they could work us in. They did some checking and said they could change the reservation to 7:00. I really appreciated this.

The staff was very friendly when we got there, and we enjoy drinks before being seated at our table. Our waitperson, Elizabeth, was great. The food, though, was only satisfactory but probably not worth the cost.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Elegant entrees, attentive service, relaxing environment, convenient to Barter. Chef prepared a special entree for one guest with unusual dietary needs; we appreciated this gesture. Complimentary dessert for the birthday honoree was a nice touch.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The experience was amazing and the food was delicious. It was mine and my wife's first anniversary and it was one to remember forever. The ambience was so elegant. Will return every year. I would highly recommend for anybody who's looking for some fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

It was a good meal - nothing extraordinary but solid. I had the French Onion chicken which took chicken breasts in a French onion soup like sauce. The dining room is big and a good option when in Abingdon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Due to some of the more recent reviews we read, we decided to book our reservation at 8pm, after the "show crowds". It was a perfect time for dinner. Our waiter, Evan was very attentive, yet able to comfortably regulate the pace of our meal so we didn't feel rushed. My husband had the Cowboy steak and I had the lamb chops. Both meals were perfectly cooked and delicious. The wine list was interesting and reasonable. We shared the bread pudding for dessert, which was the least memorable player in the meal. Next time we are in Abingdon, we will try to enjoy a night at the Inn as well. We will definitely be back for dinner, soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Expensive and old fashioned. The quality does not match the price. Service was slow. The chicken offered in the Caesar salad had a bizarre after taste which built up. The burger was dry and a strange ground meat. The pita bread offered on the sandwiches was incredibly dry and tasteless. Definitely would not return, nor would I point anyone in that direction.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our waiter (Evan) was phenomenal! The menu was very different than the online version which listed gluten-free choices (why we picked it). Having celiac disease he found me gluten free bread and offered many choices to make sure were gluten-free that were on the menu in the restaurant. Food was excellent. Martini was pricey. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went to the Sisters prior to the theater and experienced a great meal with excellent service. We will go again!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had a great time, food was great. would definitely go again

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Our dinner was average at best, unfortunately. We remember the days of Sisters being a very fine restaurant with consistently excellent cuisine. The kitchen had no steaks at all the night we dined there. The burger and fries were fine, but the pasta dish was considerably chewier than al dente and rather uninspired. Salads were good as was the service. It would be nice to see Sisters shine again!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 12, 2016

All of the food was well prepared, nicely presented and overall, quite tasty. I thought the Osso Bucco was undercooked just a bit, but everything else was excellent. The bottle of Pinot Gris that we bought was outstanding and was offered at a very good price point. The restaurant was only about 1/2 full that evening (early Sunday evening) and populated by mostly older adults, so it was relatively quiet. I was there with friends I hadn't seen in some time and we were easily able to carry on a conversation without raising our voices. The furniture was very attractive and comfortable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 6, 2016

We very much enjoyed our meal and our stay at the Martha Washington. It's a beautiful historic building. But we were there for a special occasion that we have traditionally celebrated with a particular champagne. We knew it wasn't on the wine list so we asked to bring our own bottle while expecting to have to pay corkage. Nope. Against the rules!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 21, 2016

It was perfect. The burger was outstanding !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was okay but over priced. The noise level in the bar made our dining experience most unpleasant. We did not even consider staying for dessert. Apparently, a group that was meeting upstairs all came down to the bar. Instead of talking with one another, they were actually yelling! Don't think we'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 5, 2016

We found the fare to be mediocre at best - spring roll appetizer particularly flavorless - salmon dinner just OK. My salad with salmon also just OK. Restaurant dark and cold - . Wait staff worked hard but could not overcome quality deficits. Nice draught beer list. Wine and food much overpriced - our bill (1 appetizer, 1 beer no wine) came to $80.00!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 3, 2016

We had never been to the Sisters so thought it would be fun to go after the play since its across the street from the theater. We were not disappointed, the food was excellent, our server Jennifer was very attentive and we loved the ambiance of the room. Very nicely decorated and comfortable seating with sofas and big chairs if you're there for drinks and appetizers! Very quiet, too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Had we know what exactly to expect, our experience would've been a bit different. Based off of the menu for Sisters on Urbanspoon, we thought we were dining somewhere a bit more low key. It would be helpful if Sisters would publish an up-to-date version of their menu on the website. We did love the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 11, 2015

We went to war here before a Barter Theater production and the food was great! We had Chicken, steak and Salmon. All were cooked to perfection! And the cheesecake was to die for. Our reservation was at 6:30 and show was at 8. We were somewhat rushed at the end as most folks were also going to theater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Everything was fine and met our expectations except for about half our meal time there was too much noise coming from a rather happy nearby group of about 10. We should have requested a table farther away from the entrance to the bar scene

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 24, 2015

My wife and I went to the Sisters on a Saturday night prior to a show at Barter Theater. We have enjoyed the Sisters several times and look forward to the atmosphere. This year we were very disappointed in the noise level. A UT football game was on the TV in the bar and at least 3 people yelled the entire time. We were very dis-satisfied due to the constant yelling. If I wanted a sports bar theme I would have gone to a sports bar. The yelling just ruined our night out. I overheard several others say the same thing. If you are going to change the bar to a sports bar, just let us know and we will never return. Our food was great and the service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 11, 2015

Excellent food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.