About Sisters at the Martha

150 West Main Street
Abingdon, VA 24210
View Larger Map

With it's intimate, cozy atmosphere and snuggly bar, Sisters has become a local favorite with a menu that adapts frequently to seasonal favorites and freshness.Relax and come casual.Browse the history of a storied past in this nod to the eighty years The Martha spent as a College for young ladies and enjoy some of the best food served anywhere in the region.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(276) 628-3161

Website:
http://www.themartha.com/dining/sisters-american-grill

Executive Chef:
Phill Powers

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Sisters at the Martha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Abingdon, VA
Best Restaurants in Abingdon ›

special occasion (8)
romantic (5)
fit for foodies (4)
See All
late-night find (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
good for groups (3)
great for lunch (2)
notable wine list (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a great time, food was great. would ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had a great time, food was great. would definitely go again

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our dinner was average at best, unfortun ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Our dinner was average at best, unfortunately. We remember the days of Sisters being a very fine restaurant with consistently excellent cuisine. The kitchen had no steaks at all the night we dined there. The burger and fries were fine, but the pasta dish was considerably chewier than al dente and rather uninspired. Salads were good as was the service. It would be nice to see Sisters shine again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

All of the food was well prepared, nicel ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

All of the food was well prepared, nicely presented and overall, quite tasty. I thought the Osso Bucco was undercooked just a bit, but everything else was excellent. The bottle of Pinot Gris that we bought was outstanding and was offered at a very good price point. The restaurant was only about 1/2 full that evening (early Sunday evening) and populated by mostly older adults, so it was relatively quiet. I was there with friends I hadn't seen in some time and we were easily able to carry on a conversation without raising our voices. The furniture was very attractive and comfortable.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service but not very accommodating

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We very much enjoyed our meal and our stay at the Martha Washington. It's a beautiful historic building. But we were there for a special occasion that we have traditionally celebrated with a particular champagne. We knew it wasn't on the wine list so we asked to bring our own bottle while expecting to have to pay corkage. Nope. Against the rules!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It was perfect. The burger was outstandi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It was perfect. The burger was outstanding !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was okay but over priced. The n ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was okay but over priced. The noise level in the bar made our dining experience most unpleasant. We did not even consider staying for dessert. Apparently, a group that was meeting upstairs all came down to the bar. Instead of talking with one another, they were actually yelling! Don't think we'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Pre-theater dinner

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

We found the fare to be mediocre at best - spring roll appetizer particularly flavorless - salmon dinner just OK. My salad with salmon also just OK. Restaurant dark and cold - . Wait staff worked hard but could not overcome quality deficits. Nice draught beer list. Wine and food much overpriced - our bill (1 appetizer, 1 beer no wine) came to $80.00!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

First time Visit

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We had never been to the Sisters so thought it would be fun to go after the play since its across the street from the theater. We were not disappointed, the food was excellent, our server Jennifer was very attentive and we loved the ambiance of the room. Very nicely decorated and comfortable seating with sofas and big chairs if you're there for drinks and appetizers! Very quiet, too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Had we know what exactly to expect, our experience would've been a bit different. Based off of the menu for Sisters on Urbanspoon, we thought we were dining somewhere a bit more low key. It would be helpful if Sisters would publish an up-to-date version of their menu on the website. We did love the food and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and experience!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

We went to war here before a Barter Theater production and the food was great! We had Chicken, steak and Salmon. All were cooked to perfection! And the cheesecake was to die for. Our reservation was at 6:30 and show was at 8. We were somewhat rushed at the end as most folks were also going to theater.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Everything was fine and met our expectat ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Everything was fine and met our expectations except for about half our meal time there was too much noise coming from a rather happy nearby group of about 10. We should have requested a table farther away from the entrance to the bar scene

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Extremely Loud Bar Area

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

My wife and I went to the Sisters on a Saturday night prior to a show at Barter Theater. We have enjoyed the Sisters several times and look forward to the atmosphere. This year we were very disappointed in the noise level. A UT football game was on the TV in the bar and at least 3 people yelled the entire time. We were very dis-satisfied due to the constant yelling. If I wanted a sports bar theme I would have gone to a sports bar. The yelling just ruined our night out. I overheard several others say the same thing. If you are going to change the bar to a sports bar, just let us know and we will never return. Our food was great and the service was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food & service!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

Excellent food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a fun time with great service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Our server (whose name was Jennifer, if I remember correctly) was incredibly nice, which was a great start. The food was really tasty. Honestly normally I'm a little skeptical when it comes to "nice" restaurants at hotels, because they often ride on the fact that they're the only option inside the hotel. In Abingdon, I was even more suspicious, because there weren't a lot of other options on Sunday... but this really turned out to be great. We had pork and filet mignon. I liked the pork a lot, and my girlfriend and I both LOVED the filet. Dessert was really tasty, and the wine she recommended was a good pairing for both dishes. I'd definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance and decent food

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

We had a great time catching up with old friends. Service was really great. We were a little disapointed the bar closed so early.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent find

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Fit for foodies. Great restaurant and great hotel.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

For the ambiance

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

We ate dinner before a show at the Barter Theater. This is an historic hotel, the dining room is beautiful, and the service is excellent. The food is just mediocre, not bad, but not good enough to be a food destination. But it is not expensive at all, and the appetizer list is extensive, so you could just nibble and enjoy the ambiance.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

SISTERS WAS NOT OUR FIRST CHOICE, BUT VERY FEW RESTAURANTS IN ABINGDON ARE OPEN ON SUNDAY . WE WERE PLEASANTLY SURPRISED AND DEFINITELY WILL RETURN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Dinner prior to Barter play.

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

Sisters restaurant is across the street from the Barter Theater located in the historic Martha Washington Inn. Food was excellent and well served. I had the crusted trout and it was delicious. Tables are widely spaced and along with the beautiful old wood décor, gives you a sense of privacy.

A great dinner choice for Barter goers or anyone visiting Abingdon.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sisters at The Martha will do

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

Dinner menu needs to raise its game and remove or rename things like chicken tower. Doesn't seem to know if it's upscale or family style. Perhaps be one thing for lunch and another for dinner. The staff is very pleasant and efforts to please. The food was good but would have ordered differently if more offered. Opportunity exists for more ambience and should feel different when you come for dinner then free breakfast 8 hours earlier.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Quiet dinner for two

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 7, 2015

We enjoyed delicious deviled eggs with bacon for an appetizer. Then we had homemade rosemary chicken noodle soup with fresh bread. Both were quite tasty. I had a fresh spinach salad with seasonal fruit--yummy! My husband said the BLT sliders were cooked perfectly! Our waitress was very attentive and the food arrived promptly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sad to say.....

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

The restaurant in this pretty hotel should fire their kitchen staff!! The food and pacing of the dinner was shockingly poor. The staff were lovely and kept apologizing but the kitchen does not know what it is doing.

My dinner was to consist of a cheese plate to start and then parmesan crusted salmon.

The bread - grilled naan bread - that adorned the cheese plate was stale and inedible. So I asked for fresh bread. My waitress went to the kitchen and then came back to say that they were grilling me some new bread. So I waited.....they brought out the wrong wine, but we caught that before they opened the bottle, so I waited for my wine and fresh bread. My bread arrived and at the same time the waitress brought out my salmon!!

So I explained that she should take that back to the kitchen, and when I had had my first course and some of my wine, then they could start my main course anew, so that it would arrive at the appropriate time.

I ate the rock hard cheese - the plate was cold so the whole thing had been pre-prepared and stored in the fridge - the selection of which is what one would find in an average supermarket - a pity as there are some lovely artisinal cheeses available in Virginia, and when I finished the waitress removed my plate and came straight back from the kitchen with my main course.

So...clearly it was the same piece of salmon, that they had kept warm...the sauce had developed a skin on it and the crust of the salmon was several shades darker...and of course the fish had dried out.

In this day and age, and in a facility the size of this hotel, there really is no excuse for food to be this shockingly bad!! Shame on them,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Excellent meal. When you visit Sisters, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 19, 2015

Excellent meal. When you visit Sisters, be aware that the entrée portion size is impressive. My wife ordered the chicken entrée and I had to share it as the amount of food, though quite good, was more than she could handle. The soup of the day, cream of potato, was well made and quite filling. Once again, the service at sisters was top notch, very caring and thoughtful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasant evening at Sisters. Waitr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 18, 2015

Very pleasant evening at Sisters. Waitress was new but she did an excellent job with several fine suggestions. The Cream of crab soup is excellent and both my wife and I recommend it. My wife was also quite pleased with her fried green tomato BLT. My sausage hoagie was good, albeit rather small. The setting, inside the Martha Washington Inn, was delightful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 17, 2015

Menu includes innovative items as well as traditional fare (delicious hamburgers). Helpful and attentive staff completed our evening. We dined in between 2 shows at the historic Barter Theatre across the street.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Find another restaurant for special dinner

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on December 11, 2014

While the dining room is very chic, the food is not. My husband was satisfied with his burger and fries. I was looking forward to a nice dinner before the Barter play. I was surprised to see my salmon presented as two dried-up small salmon pieces (appearing as fish sticks) swimming in some sort of oil with slimy green flecks and garlic. The gnocchi overpowered the plate and was accompanied by a few grape tomatoes and 6 three-inch pieces of asparagus. Since the atmosphere is casual and fun, I think Sisters should just serve casual food, I.e., sandwiches and salads, and give up trying to be fancy. My sister and I celebrated her 50th birthday the summer before last by staying at the Martha Washington Inn, which was fabulous. The dinner then was good and we loved the breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

delicious scallops

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on November 14, 2014

The scallops were amazing. We aren't foodies, but the presentation was beautiful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food excellent service. Very ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on October 31, 2014

Wonderful food excellent service. Very good at accommodating groups.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I loved it!!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 31, 2014

This was such a delightful place to dine. I loved the room, creative decorations, a touch of history and a touch of whimsy. The fried green tomatoes were SO good, so was the trout! We will definitely return!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Menu selections were a d ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on October 30, 2014

Great service! Menu selections were a disappointment, had expected elegant or at least gracious dining but it was rather casual. Menu had meatloaf as a choice - had it been exceptional or out of the ordinary, perhaps it wouldn't have been as offensive. And I did not expect bolgna sandwich as a menu item when booking a restaurant for an classy celebration. Service was great and very responsive. Staff very knowledgeable regarding selections. If I return it will be for drinks at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

grannyD

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 25, 2014

Food was good but not exceptional; our table was too close to its neighbors, not a great atmosphere but not horrible; good place for pre-theater dining; ambivalent about recommending to others. I think it needs to find a niche, it tries to be too many things- sandwich menu for a nice dinner restaurant seems out of place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

table arrangement

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

We really enjoyed the food and the experience and loved the old Inn. On the downside, the tables were too close together.

We sat at a table for two, and the tables on each side of us were so close that we felt as though we were at the same table

with strangers. It stifled conversation somewhat. Perhaps more space could be put between the tables, or at least turn every

other table in the opposite direction.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

refined and relaxing

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on October 10, 2014

We enjoyed the wonderful food and relaxed, yet refined atmosphere. Upscale but not stuffy!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Historic charm

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 3, 2014

Lovely dinner with family. Friendly and attentive service. Food, while not exactly inventive was all prepared perfectly. Desserts - especially the flourless chocolate torte were to die for!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

great food

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 3, 2014

The food was greatand is recommended for food lovers everywhere

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful experience

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 22, 2014

The good food and the attentive wait staff made for a memorable experience. And the fact that it occurred in an historic setting made it that much more special! Our compliments to the chef!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Sisters

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

My husband and I had dinner there on Saturday night. I thought we were seeing the musical at the Barksdale on Friday night so I made reservations for 7:00 on Saturday night. Then when I realized my mistake and they were full on Saturday night, I called down to the restaurant and they were very nice about changing my reservation to an earlier time. My husband enjoyed the ice berg lettuce salad and the meatloaf and mashed potatoes. I LOVED the squash soup and the scallops were the best I had ever eaten..sure wish I had the recipe!! We shared a bread pudding for dessert and it was also tasty. I really recommend eating here. The staff was very friendly and we highly enjoyed our dining experience. The square rolls were awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Restaurant

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 12, 2014

My and my now fiancée ate at this restaurant moments before I proposed to her. It was a very romantic place to eat at and she described the place as amazing and outstanding. The food was amazing and the ambiance was so good. Will definitely eat here again, it will be a night I will never forget for my entire life.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2014

Our family met at the Sisters at Martha to celebrate by father's 80th birthday. The food was outstanding, sevice excellent and attentive, and the ambiance was perfect. Following dinner we attended the 7:30pm performance at the Barter Theater. I will definitely return on my next trip through Abingdon. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable dinner!

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 22, 2014

We had tickets to the Barter Theatre and wanted a nice dinner beforehand. Sisters at the Martha is located in the Martha Washington Inn, which is directly across the street from the theatre. We had a lovely dinner with good service. Would recommend highly!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.