About Sip Restaurant - Issaquah

Part cultured wine bar and part neighborhood restaurant, Sip is the kind of place designed to feel as though it’s been here for years. Come to Sip to relax and unwind, to enjoy an unforgettable meal, to savor the perfect glass of wine, and to feel at home.

Sip’s warm atmosphere evokes the feeling of a Napa Valley tasting room with a unique 30 seat bar, an outdoor trellis covered patio with a stone fireplace, and cozy and stylish indoor seating. The diverse menu features an array of tantalizing appetizers, savory entrees, and unforgettable desserts, as well as an elaborate selection of hundreds of extraordinary wines by the bottle and over 50 by the glass.

1084 NE Park Drive
Issaquah, WA 98029
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week
Sunday-Thursday 4:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 4:00pm-11:00pm

Happy Hour
Every Day 4:00-6:00
Every Day 9 - close

$5 House Spirits, $7 featured martinis & wines by the glass, & $3 off ALL small plates

Cross Street:
Federal Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 369-1181

Website:
http://www.siprestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music every Thursday, 6:00-9:00pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday 4:00-6:00
Every Day 9 - close

$5 House Spirits, $7 featured martinis & wines by the glass, & $3 off ALL small plates.

Catering:
Sip catering offers full service off-premise catering to private homes & event sites. Call the restaurant for details 425.369.1181

Parking Details:
Near by complimentary street parking, as well as a parking lot, are available

Executive Chef:
Christopher Brown

Private Party Facilities:
Sip is the perfect location to celebrate a special occasion, host a luncheon, or hold a business function. Our managers are there every step of the way to guarantee the success of your event & to create a memorable & successful experience for you.

Our Napa room accommodates up to 40 guests & is the perfect place for a business or social gathering, featuring old world sheer curtains to provide privacy & a drop down screen for audio visual needs.
The Owner's Booth is set aside from the hustle of the main dining room. Enjoy a private & comfortable dining arrangement that seats 8-10 guests, with a drop down television screen.
Our patio offers a cozy outdoor dining space & accommodates 25 people. A large stone fireplace & overhead heat lamps take away the evening chill.
Full Restaurant Buy-Outs available for your large party needs.

Inviting. Relaxing. Alluring. Visit our website at www.siprestaurant.com.

Private Party Contact:
Call the restaurant for information & details: (425) 369-1181

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Dine with us on Tuesdays & earn double points on your VIP rewards card!

On Wednesdays & get a bottle of wine ($100 & less) for 1/2 off the listed price!

Ladies Night Thursdays! Listen to live music & ladies enjoy happy hour drink prices all night long!

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Day with your loved one at Sip by indulging in our special 4 course pre-fixed menu with optional wine pairings, or dine off of our regular dinner menu. Happy Valentine's Day!

Sip Restaurant - Issaquah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fireplace (10)
See All
Cozy (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Romantic (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent. Service was poor. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent.

Service was poor. There was little to no effort made by our server to interact with us beyond asking what we wanted to order. It's an expectation the server will be social and interactive, especially when you've come in for a late night dinner to celebrate New Year's eve.

The music being played the two musicians was great for dinner, however it was dull and boring for ringing in the New Year.

I'd come back to dine, not to celebrate or bring the new year...

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I went to Sip for New Year's Eve dinner. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I went to Sip for New Year's Eve dinner. When the restaurant confirmed our reservation I was told that there would be a special prix fixe menu, which was fine. The menu, however, was completely different than the regular menu and was a complete disaster. The amuse bouche was the best thing I ate. The remaining four courses ranged from inedible to underwhelming. For example, the second course, lobster bisque, was completely inedible and the third course, steak tartar, nearly as bad. The filet mignon resembled a regular cut of steak in both shape and taste. My husband ordered a few different items from the prix fixe and disliked them all as much as I did mine. All-in-all this was the most expensive terrible food I have ever had. The kitchen should avoid fancier menues if not up to the challenge and stick to the basics.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

What happened to SIP? SIP used to be our ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

What happened to SIP? SIP used to be our 'go to' place in Issaquah. Our most recent trip, New Years Eve, was an unpleasant shock. The ambiance and décor is as cozy and welcoming as it has been for years. The service was above standard. The quality of the food has plummeted. The portions were small, not necessarily a bad thing when you're having to work to finish each course. The offerings were combinations of odd tastes and flavors that didn't 'work' and we left more puzzled than satisfied. As happy as we were a few years ago when we found SIP, we are now equally disappointed over its inexplicable direction.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

We had the prix fixe menu on New Years E ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had the prix fixe menu on New Years Eve. It was a delight! It included gluten free options for each course with the exception of the appetizer. The restaurant staff was kind enough to offer us a gluten free version of the dish and it was just as good. We skipped the wine pairings and went with champagne. A very lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

bring back your old menu of Jidori chick ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

bring back your old menu of Jidori chicken. the Chicken parmigana is just not doing it for us. Also, what happend to the Truffle mac and chesse and what about having your burger back on the menu. Our family is missing all of these standards!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sip has really gone down hill. It use to ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Sip has really gone down hill. It use to be one of our go to places with great food and service. Now it just does not measure up to other restaurants in the area. Very disappointing. Management changes seem to have taken it in the wrong direction. No longer on our list for places to go...and we eat out a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

I'm a semi regular and have never left d ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I'm a semi regular and have never left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the atmosphere and wine and service ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Love the atmosphere and wine and service but the food; really not good. We ordered the paella and it was bad; really bad. It was a plate of undercooked Rice A Roni with a sparse sampling of overcooked white fish and two scallops and four pieces of chicken. For two people. Ick. Way different from the SIP food I remember from years ago. Won't be back.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

We had a wonderful experience at Sip whe ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Sip when celebrating our daughter's birthday. They made the experience a special one for her. The ambience of Sip is amazing - beautifully decorated and the perfect place for an intimate experience and conversation.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and an attentive staff ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful service and an attentive staff compliment the fantastic menu. There is a demonstrated commitment to ensuring a positively memorable dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Whether it's summer or winter, the food ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Whether it's summer or winter, the food is great, the atmosphere lively and a great dining place after the theatre in downtown Issaquah.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The ambiance is decent. We reserved a h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The ambiance is decent. We reserved a high table in the bar and were seated at a 4 top away from the bar...less than romantic for a date. The restaurant is not spaced well- difficult to make your way to the restroom winding through tightly arranged tables (and I'm small). I also don't like washing my hands and looking in the mirror at myself with men--but that's a personal preference. I think the menu variety is decent- but I think they try too hard to be unique and miss the mark on many of the items...it's average quality. I like that this place is very close to my house (for babysitting reasons) and is a decent scene for date-night (but that is with my husband of 11 years--not sure it would be interesting enough for first date). I think it's overpriced for what it is--but because of it's convenience, we've been here twice on dates.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Decided on Sip for my grandfather's 70th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Decided on Sip for my grandfather's 70th birthday on a Friday night (table of four). We were treated by the serving staff with the utmost attention and they facilitated an ideal experience. Chef Emran's food is artistic, created with passion, and locally sourced. Oh, and Chef Karen's deserts are delectable! We did not have wine or spirits but I would imagine their selection is great. I highly recommend this restaurant as they are well-established, with fresh ingredients on a menu that never goes stagnant (Emran changes dishes based on what is seasonal), warm & inviting atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Sip several times and alw ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I have been to Sip several times and always found it good but not exceptional. This time the food - the presentation, the flavors, the textures - was at a different level. In fact it was so much better that I asked if there was a new chef in the kitchen which, it turns out, there is. Sip still isn't a Michelin-star gourmet restaurant but it's now well beyond most neighborhood eateries and while not cheap it's worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I had a great time there (da ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I had a great time there (date night). The décor is nice, not too loud, and a nice location in the highlands. I had the filet and my wife had the lamb shank, both were really good. They also have Irish Death on tap! The service was OK, a little slow, and had to ask our order 2x, the waiter seemed a little tired, but he was very pleasant and by no means was it bad service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We've eaten at SIPs several times a year ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We've eaten at SIPs several times a year over the past several years and have rarely been disappointed- until tonight. It was my husband's birthday (I didn't tell the server - no fuss necessary) and normally we won't need to say a word because service is great. Tonight our server was not very attentive (no, the restaurant wasn't full). The food was just ok and we had a challenging time getting our bill.

Bummer- we will give it another try but probably stay at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Our favorite date place! The menu is alw ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our favorite date place! The menu is always creative and delicious, and the wine selection is excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation, but were still sea ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a reservation, but were still seated at a bar table. The service was poor - took forever to get our meal and barely saw our server. We were never asked if we wanted more drinks after the first round. I could not have the lentils served with the halibut, but "the chef was not doing substitutions at that time" (direct quote from the server) so I had to pay full price for the meal and then pay to have an additional vegetable side. Basically I had fun with my friends despite the restaurant service and policies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not long ago Sip was a good place to go ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Not long ago Sip was a good place to go for a nice meal and great wine selection. 6 of us dined there on Friday, Oct 28th and it was a poor showing by the restaurant.

Our sever was cold at best and mildly rude. She seemed to have little interest in serving a table of six who were ordering multiple bottles of wine.

Next they were out of the wine we'd originally ordered even though it was still available on the iPad their wine list is presented on. But OK, you run out. I get it.

But next they were out of filets! On a Friday night. When there are roughly 6-8 entree options. Additionally this too was met with a sterile apology. Nothing more.

To sum it up, it was an expensive evening with poor results from this establishment. I really want to like Sip. I do! Location is great and they have tons of potential but they really need to get it together.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Been here before a while ago and thought ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Been here before a while ago and thought it was pretty good. I wasn't too impressed this time around with the food we ordered. It was ok, but not mind blowing. Price was fair for it though. Wine flights are nice and ambiance of place is good for a date!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Always something different. Brussel spro ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always something different. Brussel sprouts, roasted chicken are my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great experience. Everything was just ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great experience. Everything was just very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous fresh food. Great care taken i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Fabulous fresh food. Great care taken in the preparation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always comfortable, always good. Server ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Always comfortable, always good. Server was good, not pushy when we wanted to talk shop for a few hours.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

great for date night! nice menu selectio ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

great for date night! nice menu selection, good service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great experience here! The food was ver ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great experience here! The food was very good but it was the service that will bring us back. Jordan was the best we have had in a long time.

Soups were very good. The risotto was tasty but the New York steak was bland. Wines & cocktails were good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service! Love the ambian ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food and service! Love the ambiance here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great, seafood was wonderful ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was great, seafood was wonderful, steak was burnt on the outside.

Tags: Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a very pleasant time at Sip. Gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had a very pleasant time at Sip. Great wine list which we used to hunt for a special bottle for a special occasion. We shared a Paella, appetizer, salad and dessert. Service was great and the manager even moved us to a new table and fired up the fireplace at my wife's request. That's why it's our favorite place to go in the neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food quality has declined. Both our ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food quality has declined. Both our foods were salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

our waiter (Tom) was great. very helpfu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2016

our waiter (Tom) was great. very helpful and informative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place should be a frequented neibor ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This place should be a frequented neiborhood restaurant. Somewhat upscale, but they get lost between regulars willing to skip cooking and go out for a nearby meal and a restaurant you only want to visit for a special occasion. Let's get it straight... Sip your a neighborhood eatery! You don't have a view, you're not on the water, you're barely quaint, the food is pretty good but not consistent. Charging $20.00 for a corking fee is ridiculous! Not having a reasonable fee to add protein to a salad is again just stupid! You're not an ala carte high end restaurant! If you continue to nickle and dime guests your restaurant will, as it was, continue to be empty on a Saturday night!! Hello...volume is profitable!! Also, your whites by the glass needs improvement! It's been forever and many of us have given up coming here and it shows...

You can do this!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Checked in 10 minutes before my reservat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Checked in 10 minutes before my reservation. We sat at the bar waiting for someone to get is a table. The place was pretty empty however the 3 people at the host stand forgot about us. When we finally said something 30 minutes later we were told we could pick any table so we picked a nice little spot by a window. A few minutes later we were told we had to move as that table was reserved. Wine ap on the iPad was usless and crashed twice. Search function did not work and User Interface was not friendly. Basically just a huge list of wines to scroll through. When we asked about wines we were told they should have it but nobody could find it on the wall. For location and price I was expecting a whole lot more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

We eat at Sip on a regular basis and it ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We eat at Sip on a regular basis and it is a go-to for all our out of town guests. We have always had great service (especially from Marietta!) and have always had great meals. The menu changes regularly and all their food is sourced hyperlocally, including from their own organic garden.

Highly recommended!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've gone to Sip on the Issaquah Plateau ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 9, 2016

I've gone to Sip on the Issaquah Plateau a few times, each time hoping it shows more of itself than the time before, but each time disappointing me more than the last. Only reason I continue to go, every now and then, is that it is a Prime Card restaurant, which means I hope to get value for a sit down meal. The service is good - I've never had a problem with service outside of last Valentines Day, which even with an Open Table reservation, I waited an additional 50 minutes for my table. Beyond service, food is trying to be upscale, but not achieving it. I get just as good of quality food at the local Coho. Portions leave you hungry when you are supposed to be done - if you are going to serve that little, go ahead and put it on a relevant sized plate, and even with the Prime Card, there is no value, as I walk away spending more than I should have for what I got. SIP implies it is a place to go for great wine, yet they have been out of what my wife wanted the last two times we were there. Another 6 months will go by before I think of this place again, and I only hope to remember why I don't go here more often.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

With a reservation we were seated right ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 30, 2016

With a reservation we were seated right away which was good. The server came by quickly and our drink order was taken. Our drinks came quickly and our food order was taken and the food arrived sooner than we expected. Which was good as we were seeing a movie afterwards.

We were disappointed in the serving size competed to the plate size. The plates were huge compared to the food. The food itself was very good but the plate size made it seem as though I was eating small cheese crackers off of my parents plate.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The 4 of us gathered for a birthday cele ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The 4 of us gathered for a birthday celebration; we had the paella-for-two, which was the recommended special. It was disappointing--the grain was undercooked so as to be chewy, it was dry and there was not much in way of meat and vegetables. (Three prawns for two people??) The portion was meager. Since this was a birthday celebration, I was especially disappointed. We probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The menu has completely changed since th ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The menu has completely changed since the last visit. There is barely anything vegetarian friendly on the entire menu. What is alarming, was learning that they cook absolutely EVERYTHING in this restaurant in duck fat. This came from our server, who also stated the duck fat is vegan. I was at a loss for words about that statement.

They were out of several wines and all of the sparkling wines on their menu (excuse: too many ladies nights).

Our server was a pleasant fellow, but he did forget the olives I ordered.

Definitely will not go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Overpriced with terrible service. Waited ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Overpriced with terrible service. Waited 20 minutes for drinks to be delivered and then only after we asked. One of our party did not receive their meal until the rest of us had finished. When we complained to manager, he did not even offer an apology. Second and last trip to Sip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

SIP has a nice atmosphere. Good food. So ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2016

SIP has a nice atmosphere. Good food. Somewhat pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.