About Sip Restaurant - Issaquah

1084 NE Park Drive
Issaquah, WA 98029
View Larger Map

Part cultured wine bar and part neighborhood restaurant, Sip is the kind of place designed to feel as though it’s been here for years. Come to Sip to relax and unwind, to enjoy an unforgettable meal, to savor the perfect glass of wine, and to feel at home.

Sip’s warm atmosphere evokes the feeling of a Napa Valley tasting room with a unique 30 seat bar, an outdoor trellis covered patio with a stone fireplace, and cozy and stylish indoor seating. The diverse menu features an array of tantalizing appetizers, savory entrees, and unforgettable desserts, as well as an elaborate selection of hundreds of extraordinary wines by the bottle and over 50 by the glass.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week
Sunday-Thursday 4:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 4:00pm-11:00pm

Happy Hour
Every Day 4:00-6:00
Every Day 9 - close

$5 House Spirits, $7 featured martinis & wines by the glass, & $3 off ALL small plates

Cross Street:
Federal Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 369-1181

Website:
http://www.siprestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music every Thursday, 6:00-9:00pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday 4:00-6:00
Every Day 9 - close

$5 House Spirits, $7 featured martinis & wines by the glass, & $3 off ALL small plates.

Catering:
Sip catering offers full service off-premise catering to private homes & event sites. Call the restaurant for details 425.369.1181

Parking Details:
Near by complimentary street parking, as well as a parking lot, are available

Executive Chef:
Christopher Brown

Private Party Facilities:
Sip is the perfect location to celebrate a special occasion, host a luncheon, or hold a business function. Our managers are there every step of the way to guarantee the success of your event & to create a memorable & successful experience for you.

Our Napa room accommodates up to 40 guests & is the perfect place for a business or social gathering, featuring old world sheer curtains to provide privacy & a drop down screen for audio visual needs.
The Owner's Booth is set aside from the hustle of the main dining room. Enjoy a private & comfortable dining arrangement that seats 8-10 guests, with a drop down television screen.
Our patio offers a cozy outdoor dining space & accommodates 25 people. A large stone fireplace & overhead heat lamps take away the evening chill.
Full Restaurant Buy-Outs available for your large party needs.

Inviting. Relaxing. Alluring. Visit our website at www.siprestaurant.com.

Private Party Contact:
Call the restaurant for information & details: 4253691181x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Dine with us on Tuesdays & earn double points on your VIP rewards card!

On Wednesdays & get a bottle of wine ($100 & less) for 1/2 off the listed price!

Ladies Night Thursdays! Listen to live music & ladies enjoy happy hour drink prices all night long!

Specials

Enjoy our Paella!

Sundays - Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Ladies' Night

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Live Music

Thursdays from 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Double Points

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Wine Down Wednesday!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Service Appreciation Night

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Enjoy our Paella!

Sundays - Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Every Sunday through Tuesday enjoy our Spanish Paella! Made with seasonal vegetables from our organic garden, organic chicken, linguica sausage, seafood, bomba rice, saffron and soffrito. $28 for two people. $15 for one person. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 1, 2016 - Jan 1, 2017 on Sundays - Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We have a set menu on this day and will not be offering our regular dinner menu. Please contact the restaurant for details.

Ladies' Night

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Ladies enjoy happy hour drink prices all night long in the bar on Thursdays!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 1, 2016 - Jan 1, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Live Music

Thursdays from 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Every Thursday night, enjoy live music from 6-9pm. To view the line-up for September, visit our event page at: http://www.siprestaurant.com/events.php. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 1, 2016 - Jan 1, 2017 on Thursdays from 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Double Points

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Earn double points on your SIP VIP card every Tuesday!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 6, 2016 - Jan 6, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Wine Down Wednesday!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% off Bottles of Wine valued at $100 or less!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 6, 2016 - Jan 6, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Service Appreciation Night

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

10% Off the entire bill every Tuesday at Sip to all who serve as Military personnel, Firefighters, EMT's, Police Officers, Nurses, and Teachers. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 6, 2016 - Jan 6, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Sip Restaurant - Issaquah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Seattle / Eastern Washington
American
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Issaquah ›

Notable Wine List (15)
Bar Seating (9)
Fireplace (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (2)
Live Music (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been to Sip several times and alw ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been to Sip several times and always found it good but not exceptional. This time the food - the presentation, the flavors, the textures - was at a different level. In fact it was so much better that I asked if there was a new chef in the kitchen which, it turns out, there is. Sip still isn't a Michelin-star gourmet restaurant but it's now well beyond most neighborhood eateries and while not cheap it's worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I had a great time there (da ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I had a great time there (date night). The décor is nice, not too loud, and a nice location in the highlands. I had the filet and my wife had the lamb shank, both were really good. They also have Irish Death on tap! The service was OK, a little slow, and had to ask our order 2x, the waiter seemed a little tired, but he was very pleasant and by no means was it bad service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We've eaten at SIPs several times a year ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We've eaten at SIPs several times a year over the past several years and have rarely been disappointed- until tonight. It was my husband's birthday (I didn't tell the server - no fuss necessary) and normally we won't need to say a word because service is great. Tonight our server was not very attentive (no, the restaurant wasn't full). The food was just ok and we had a challenging time getting our bill.

Bummer- we will give it another try but probably stay at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Our favorite date place! The menu is alw ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our favorite date place! The menu is always creative and delicious, and the wine selection is excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation, but were still sea ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a reservation, but were still seated at a bar table. The service was poor - took forever to get our meal and barely saw our server. We were never asked if we wanted more drinks after the first round. I could not have the lentils served with the halibut, but "the chef was not doing substitutions at that time" (direct quote from the server) so I had to pay full price for the meal and then pay to have an additional vegetable side. Basically I had fun with my friends despite the restaurant service and policies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not long ago Sip was a good place to go ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Not long ago Sip was a good place to go for a nice meal and great wine selection. 6 of us dined there on Friday, Oct 28th and it was a poor showing by the restaurant.

Our sever was cold at best and mildly rude. She seemed to have little interest in serving a table of six who were ordering multiple bottles of wine.

Next they were out of the wine we'd originally ordered even though it was still available on the iPad their wine list is presented on. But OK, you run out. I get it.

But next they were out of filets! On a Friday night. When there are roughly 6-8 entree options. Additionally this too was met with a sterile apology. Nothing more.

To sum it up, it was an expensive evening with poor results from this establishment. I really want to like Sip. I do! Location is great and they have tons of potential but they really need to get it together.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Been here before a while ago and thought ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Been here before a while ago and thought it was pretty good. I wasn't too impressed this time around with the food we ordered. It was ok, but not mind blowing. Price was fair for it though. Wine flights are nice and ambiance of place is good for a date!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Always something different. Brussel spro ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always something different. Brussel sprouts, roasted chicken are my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great experience. Everything was just ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great experience. Everything was just very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous fresh food. Great care taken i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Fabulous fresh food. Great care taken in the preparation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always comfortable, always good. Server ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Always comfortable, always good. Server was good, not pushy when we wanted to talk shop for a few hours.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

great for date night! nice menu selectio ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

great for date night! nice menu selection, good service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great experience here! The food was ver ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great experience here! The food was very good but it was the service that will bring us back. Jordan was the best we have had in a long time.

Soups were very good. The risotto was tasty but the New York steak was bland. Wines & cocktails were good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service! Love the ambian ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food and service! Love the ambiance here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great, seafood was wonderful ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was great, seafood was wonderful, steak was burnt on the outside.

Tags: Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a very pleasant time at Sip. Gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had a very pleasant time at Sip. Great wine list which we used to hunt for a special bottle for a special occasion. We shared a Paella, appetizer, salad and dessert. Service was great and the manager even moved us to a new table and fired up the fireplace at my wife's request. That's why it's our favorite place to go in the neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food quality has declined. Both our ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food quality has declined. Both our foods were salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

our waiter (Tom) was great. very helpfu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2016

our waiter (Tom) was great. very helpful and informative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place should be a frequented neibor ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This place should be a frequented neiborhood restaurant. Somewhat upscale, but they get lost between regulars willing to skip cooking and go out for a nearby meal and a restaurant you only want to visit for a special occasion. Let's get it straight... Sip your a neighborhood eatery! You don't have a view, you're not on the water, you're barely quaint, the food is pretty good but not consistent. Charging $20.00 for a corking fee is ridiculous! Not having a reasonable fee to add protein to a salad is again just stupid! You're not an ala carte high end restaurant! If you continue to nickle and dime guests your restaurant will, as it was, continue to be empty on a Saturday night!! Hello...volume is profitable!! Also, your whites by the glass needs improvement! It's been forever and many of us have given up coming here and it shows...

You can do this!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Checked in 10 minutes before my reservat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Checked in 10 minutes before my reservation. We sat at the bar waiting for someone to get is a table. The place was pretty empty however the 3 people at the host stand forgot about us. When we finally said something 30 minutes later we were told we could pick any table so we picked a nice little spot by a window. A few minutes later we were told we had to move as that table was reserved. Wine ap on the iPad was usless and crashed twice. Search function did not work and User Interface was not friendly. Basically just a huge list of wines to scroll through. When we asked about wines we were told they should have it but nobody could find it on the wall. For location and price I was expecting a whole lot more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

We eat at Sip on a regular basis and it ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We eat at Sip on a regular basis and it is a go-to for all our out of town guests. We have always had great service (especially from Marietta!) and have always had great meals. The menu changes regularly and all their food is sourced hyperlocally, including from their own organic garden.

Highly recommended!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've gone to Sip on the Issaquah Plateau ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 9, 2016

I've gone to Sip on the Issaquah Plateau a few times, each time hoping it shows more of itself than the time before, but each time disappointing me more than the last. Only reason I continue to go, every now and then, is that it is a Prime Card restaurant, which means I hope to get value for a sit down meal. The service is good - I've never had a problem with service outside of last Valentines Day, which even with an Open Table reservation, I waited an additional 50 minutes for my table. Beyond service, food is trying to be upscale, but not achieving it. I get just as good of quality food at the local Coho. Portions leave you hungry when you are supposed to be done - if you are going to serve that little, go ahead and put it on a relevant sized plate, and even with the Prime Card, there is no value, as I walk away spending more than I should have for what I got. SIP implies it is a place to go for great wine, yet they have been out of what my wife wanted the last two times we were there. Another 6 months will go by before I think of this place again, and I only hope to remember why I don't go here more often.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

With a reservation we were seated right ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 30, 2016

With a reservation we were seated right away which was good. The server came by quickly and our drink order was taken. Our drinks came quickly and our food order was taken and the food arrived sooner than we expected. Which was good as we were seeing a movie afterwards.

We were disappointed in the serving size competed to the plate size. The plates were huge compared to the food. The food itself was very good but the plate size made it seem as though I was eating small cheese crackers off of my parents plate.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The 4 of us gathered for a birthday cele ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The 4 of us gathered for a birthday celebration; we had the paella-for-two, which was the recommended special. It was disappointing--the grain was undercooked so as to be chewy, it was dry and there was not much in way of meat and vegetables. (Three prawns for two people??) The portion was meager. Since this was a birthday celebration, I was especially disappointed. We probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The menu has completely changed since th ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The menu has completely changed since the last visit. There is barely anything vegetarian friendly on the entire menu. What is alarming, was learning that they cook absolutely EVERYTHING in this restaurant in duck fat. This came from our server, who also stated the duck fat is vegan. I was at a loss for words about that statement.

They were out of several wines and all of the sparkling wines on their menu (excuse: too many ladies nights).

Our server was a pleasant fellow, but he did forget the olives I ordered.

Definitely will not go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Overpriced with terrible service. Waited ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Overpriced with terrible service. Waited 20 minutes for drinks to be delivered and then only after we asked. One of our party did not receive their meal until the rest of us had finished. When we complained to manager, he did not even offer an apology. Second and last trip to Sip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

SIP has a nice atmosphere. Good food. So ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2016

SIP has a nice atmosphere. Good food. Somewhat pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I've met my girlfriends here many times. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 28, 2016

I've met my girlfriends here many times. We like the food and the wine and cocktail choices. Our server this time made several mistakes. First he brought a glass of white instead of red to one friend before we ate. After we ate another friend had ordered a "summery" red and he brought her a glass of white Vinho Verde. When she said, "I'm sorry but I was really expecting a red," he said, "But this is delicious," instead of saying, "I misunderstood; what can I get you instead?"

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Something was off with Sip this weekend, ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Something was off with Sip this weekend, unfortunately it happened to be the time where we brought our friends to Sip for the first time to have them try the paelle.

Even before the food, the service was very sub par. Waiters seemed like they were doing everything they can to avoid looking at tables to see who needs attention. We constantly had to get somebodys attention to put our order in, ask something etc. It wasn't a particularly full time as well.

Appetizers were great and to continue we ordered 2 paelle dishes. Ours were really good, everything was cooked perfectly. Our friends however was cooked really unevenly and some of the shrimps, scallops were undercooked which we could tell both from color and texture (they were translucent in some parts and very chewy). Parts of the rice was also burned and stuck to the pan which suggests uneven cooking. I normally don't mind such issues since things can go wrong but this is where Sip lost us. When we finally got a waiter and told her about the dish, we were told that this is how it is supposed to be cooked but they can redo it if our friends preferred a more cooked version. This didn't make any sense since we had another paella on the table that was cooked correctly where things had the proper texture. To make it even worse though, what they brought second time was left overs from original plate reheated in a new smaller pan which obviously didn't taste good at that point and as they were overcooked.

I hope this was just something off with Sip that day as it is a good restaurant to have in the neighborhood and we enjoyed the service and food before many times. But this time they pretty much ensured that our friends would never visit Sip again or recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

They apparently don't have AC, so don't ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 4, 2016

They apparently don't have AC, so don't go on a warm day. Our server was pretty lousy, not helpful, never refilled our water (see the no AC comment), and we generally thought the food was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Will not go again. Wish we had walked ou ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Will not go again. Wish we had walked out when they were out of steak. They have very small main course and to be out of beef was not acceptable. Food we got was ok but pasta was so small of an amount. Prices way too high for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

SIP

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Went to SIP on Mothers Day as my wife was craving one of their food dishes. Neither my wife nor my daughter were able to have that favorite dish as they were out if it by 5:00pm, note that it was early in the evening and there were only a few guests already dining. After ordering the meal we watched the host try to sit three separate families at the table by the fireplace which was evidently too hot for them to tolerate. Unfortunate for the last family that has no other option but to sit there. Surprisingly early after we order dinner the staff delivered a healthy serving to my daughter...and only to my daughter. After several minutes waiting for the rest of our food I asked the wait staff to return it unless the balance of everyone food was on the way. They took back the partial order and said that they would bring back a fresh serving with the rest of the families food. Later we received three of the four servings and this time my daughter was lucky enough to be omitted. Waited several minutes then asked the wait staff to check on her food so we could eat together. They missed it and rushed out a 1/4 sized portion compared to the previous serving that they delivered way too early. We shared our dishes with her to make the best of it and carry on. To conclude the fine service we received our check and I provided my card. When I go to sign the bill I see that they did comp my daughters meal however they also added items to the bill which we did not order nor consume. Instead of dealing with another mistake I just deducted the value of items we did not order from the tip. It is a shame as we like this restaurant however this was not a good showing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

If there was less than one star - they deserve it

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2016

All staff and manager(s) are gone-everyone is new. This neighborhood hangout has turned into a nightmare. Waited for our reserved table and the place was half empty. There was no air on, it was hot and patrons were complaining to no avail.

Our server mumbled and was the most unfriendly man they could put in a hospitality job.

Steak was overcooked, last time I checked medium rare doesn't mean brownish gray meat. I rarely have ever sent something back to a kitchen and with my sincerest apologies I did so. The young man that took it to the kitchen was kind about it. The mumbling server came back to the table with the gray steak and proceeded to tell me that the chef said it was fine. Then he argued with me to which I finally took the plate from him and took a bite of which it was like biting a rock and he walked away. We then put our silverware down and left.

Worst birthday dinner ever. We will never go back.

Why pay $38 for a steak you can't eat and be treated rudely in the process?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Misfire

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2016

We have eaten at Sip many times, but this was our first time during Seattle Restaurant Week. It was quite a let down. The food was good, but the service was not. They blamed it on its being Seattle Restaurant Week and that they were short staffed, although there were many empty tables so that didn't really make sense. Restaurant week should be a time for a restaurant to show themselves off to customers who may not have ever dined there, but Sip missed the boat on this. On the 3 for $30 menu, they were out of one of the three choices for dessert. That combined with poor service wouldn't make newcomers make a second visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2016

We went to SIP for Restaurant Week and ordered from the special $30 menu as we see Restaurant Week to be an opportunity to check out restaurants we haven't tried yet. Most restaurants put their best foot forward for these menus, so I have never seen it as a discount meal. I sincerely hope that the normal menu is significantly better than the offerings for Restaurant Week. The halibut's flavor was completely overpowered by the not so special tasting barbeque sauce and the pork tenderloin was simply an overcooked, dry boneless porkchop with minimal flavor or sauce. Completely disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Too bad

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2016

Cool place.

Know that the wine flights are not poured equally. Get the lesser expensive flights and you'll get 3-5oz pours. Get the highest priced one and get 2 oz pours. They really should let you know that going in.

They were understaffed to handle a party of approx. 16 and another 12+ and then to handle the balance of the restaurant. (Which we were) I don't fault the waitstaff as they were trying, but a simple dinner turned into over 3 hours.

My fish was overcooked. The dessert was all of about 2 bites. (Serve it on a smaller plate and you won't feel like you scrapped the edge of the pan.)

I was really hoping to come away with a good experience since I was giving them another chance from the first time my husband I went there. There are so many great places, it will be hard to return here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Thanks to Bertram for the fabulous service.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Second time back to the SIP. had Bertram again as our waiter and loved the experience and fabulous food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Issaquah Recommendation

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Quality restaurant for a special occasion, or just a fine meal. The staff make you welcome and work hard to have everything work. Knowledgeable wait staff and quality wine list. A little pricey but for the most part worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Upon entering the restaurant we stood there while 3 people just looked at us and didn't even offer a hello. They were late seating us for our reservation and seated others that had the same reservation time first even though they arrived after us. Food was very underwhelming for the amount they charged. Quiche was undercooked. As we were walking out all of a sudden there was a huge bowl of Dungeness crab which hadn't been there for the entire hour we were there. Any drinks were an additional cost which should be included with the price of the buffet. Water was the only option without paying extra. I like Sip for wine and their regular menu but I will go to other places for Easter brunch in the future. They seemed overwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

not so much

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Sorry. Wanted to love it. Didn't. Food was not that great for what they charged. Service was more than fine. I had a ricotta and beet app. Borderline. Underseasoned and underwhelming. Would have been more flavorful with a boursin or a herbed goat cheese. My entree was seabass. So wierd. They served it with rye crackers. I totally didn't get that at all. Ala Carte with no side dishes at all. It was Friday night. Super busy. So dark inside we had to barrow a flashlight to read the menu. No there are many choices and this wasn't a good one at all. disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.