About Simply Thai - Middletown

12003 Shelbyville Rd
Ste 101
Louisville, KY 40243
View Larger Map

Simply Thai in Middletown is the second location owned by the Saing family. We are a local small business offering authentic Thai cuisine and sushi. We have a spice scale of zero to five, zero being mild and five being Thai spicy. Our dishes are made-to-order making it fresh and easy to make vegetarian, vegan and/or gluten-free. We are kid-friendly and excited to serve you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai, Sushi

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Evergreen and Blankenbaker

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 690-8344

Website:
http://www.simplythaiky.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeff Saing

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Simply Thai - Middletown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (6)
good for groups (4)
special occasion (3)
See All
great for outdoor dining (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
37 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was slow, not very attentive ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was slow, not very attentive, and not very friendly; however, the food was great!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Service was very slow. My food was extre ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was very slow. My food was extremely spicy (I ordered it that way) and I had to wait a long time for a water refill. I ended up boxing my meal and taking it home. The meat in our sushi tasted like it was put through a meat grinder. It was terrible. We didn't finish it and our server didn't check on us to see how it was. We will not be going back for a while which is a shame because we were common customers before tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Overall the food was good. Service was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall the food was good. Service was okay. Ambiance of the place was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food is very good. We like being able to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Food is very good. We like being able to choose the spice level. I would recommend this place if you like Thai food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and the server was very infor ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food and the server was very informed and knowledgeable about the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Lunch Spot

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Enjoyed the broad menu. Sushi a bit bland but the Pad Thai was delicious! Packed for lunch so recommend making a reservation.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My new favorite place for Asian fare! Go ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

My new favorite place for Asian fare! Go for the Thai Iced Tea--delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fabulous find!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Menu was extensive .. nice selections ... server asked about our preferences and made solid recommendations on each dish! Reserved our table and were immediately seated, despite the packed house! ... will be back very soon and very hungry!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Really good thai food

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

This is our second trip to Simply Thai and we had another delicious meal. Great psd thai, cold beer and friendly service. We'll be back!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Satisfy the crave

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

It was my month to choose our destination for our sisters' lunch. I had been craving Pad Thai with chicken, but my 3 sisters had never eaten Thai before. So Simply Thai was suggested by my niece, and we all had a wonderful meal. The Pad Thai was everything I had been waiting for! The service was prompt, efficient, and our server was quick to answer questions about our selections. A great lunch with great company. Doesn't get any better than that!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome double date with friends!

vip
·Dined on October 12, 2015

Awesome double date with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The first good meal I have had since bei ...

vip
·Dined on October 10, 2015

The first good meal I have had since being pregnant. It was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and Nice Atmosphere!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

I have been here many times and usually with a group of about 10. The service and food have always been great. I especially like the spring rolls and Thai curries. We had 12 in our group last time and all were happy with food, drinks, and service. I will definitely be back, and will recommend it to my friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good food, as always. Server was ve ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

Very good food, as always. Server was very helpful with our small group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Overall a good experience.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 16, 2015

Overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Delicious

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 10, 2015

Simply Thai is simply delilicious! The food was very fresh and the service was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Bad experience.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

We were sat at a table less than 6 inches away from another party. Hard to carry on a private conversation. If we go back we will make sure to request a booth as this made our dining experience very uncomfortable.

Our server was polite but lost our ticket and we waited 45 minutes to receive our order.

The pineapple curry was amazing, but only had 5 medium sized shrimp which seems pretty stingy for a $16 entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Yummy!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 19, 2015

This was my first visit and it will not be my last. We had a great appetizer, although I cannot remember what it was named. Puffy something. :) My friend and I both had a curry for dinner and added the chicken to them. We also split a bowl of the veggies to add in. It was all very tasty and I hope to be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Can't handle the crowd

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

My husband and I ate here for Valentines Day. The server was decent but rather unpolished, the kitchen was extra slow, and the food quality was not up to their usual standards. I think this restaurant is very good, but I will skip it on holidays from now on. The crowd seemed to be just too much for them.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good for a quick meal

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Simply Thai is an average restaurant, not bad and not great. It is fine for grabbing a quick meal when other places are too full to seat you. The food is mostly quality, but there are better places to choose from. Do not go here for drinks--they are not made well. The service is consistently sub-par, but again, doable if you need a place to eat. I will continue to go here when I don't want to wait on other places. I am not trying to knock them down or be overly harsh, I have been a server myself, it is just my honest experience. I do appreciate that they always have a place open for us when we need one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

GREAT THAI FOOD

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 6, 2015

Best Thai food I have had in years. Appetizers were just perfect and did not fill us up before dinner.

I appreciated the message in the menu concerning the scale of spicy dishes. I chose a "0" since I do not care for spicy food.

Our dinners were hot and delicious, enjoyed by all.

Dessert was a tropical sorbet. Yum, Yum....

We will return soon. Easy to make reservations on line.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First experience at new location. Food w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 18, 2014

First experience at new location. Food was as awesome as last location, but service was terrible. We waited over 15 for drinks (all but one of use had water), 50 minutes for our apps - granted there was a 20 top that came in at around the same time - but that is really no excuse; we should have been contacted when a reservation for 8 and one for 20 was made for the same time to ask if we wanted to reschedule since the kitchen could obviously not handle the load.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Flavorful

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 5, 2014

Every time my family enjoys a meal at Simply Thai, I am amazed at how flavorful the food is. There are so many interesting and delicious entrees from which to choose that I have a very hard time deciding what to get. I highly recommend the eggplant and the green curry.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Simply Thai - Middletown

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 29, 2014

My Mother, wife and I dined at Simply Thai in Middletown, KY last Friday evening. It was the first time for us but it will not be the last time. We each ordered different dishes and then sampled each others. All three were equally well prepared and tasty. They offer a spice level of zero to five. My wife and I both like it spicy but ordered the level one spice. It was perfect for us. The meals were well prepared, nice to look at and very flavorful. The cost is very reasonable.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Not as good as Original location

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 22, 2014

The St. Matthews location has always been my favorite Thai location in town. We tried the Middletown location due to convenience, however, the staff was not as attentive, one cursed in front of my two children, the ventilation system is extremely loud, and food was average. I love the original location and will continue to frequent it but will not return to Middletown

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Good food poor service

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 12, 2014

Food was very good. Sushi was presented well and flavorful. The Thai dish was authentic as i have spent a good deal of time in Thailand on business so I had something to compare to. Service was not great. Server had no clue of what was Thai and ingredients. Could not answer questions about Thai beers or other spirit's on menu. Not a lot of attention paid to us. Prices were high compared to value. charged for extra salad dressing??? I likely won't be back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Great Food / Service was terrible

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 13, 2014

We've eaten here before and always had great food and service is usually ok. We took my parents for their first time. It took 15 minutes just to place our order. Took another 50 minutes to get our food. The whole time we were there, we never got a refill without having to ask for it first. The waitress apologized several times saying they were busy but it did not seem any more busy than other times we've been. My parents said the food was very good but they were not sure if they would come back again based on the service. I would say we'll avoid going again on a Friday night at 7pm.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We love it!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 23, 2014

We have been there before, but recently ran into some new friends who were looking for good Thai food. We told them about your place, and then invited them out. I was a little nervous, because I am no expert judge of Thai food, but I know good food when I eat it. They dove right in and loved it! We look forward to the next time.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 18, 2014

My wife and I had the Thai Spring Rolls and the Chicken Pad Thai. Everything was very good and fresh. Great flavor and generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Rude Wait Staff - Good food.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 13, 2014

Very rude wait staff. Greeters play with their phones, act as if they are doing you a favor. Servers ask you to leave at close. We went in 45 minutes before close. Our server asked us to move to a different table so they could vacuum because "we'll be closed soon." "Well, you've got about 15 minutes I guess. Oh and we actually stop seating at 10:15."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Review of Simply Thai

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 29, 2014

Usually, I do not venture for fear that I will not like new food. The service and the food at Simply Thai was amazing! I got the Curry Salmon and my friend got a dish with noodles. The service and friendliness was amazing. The food was wonderful. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 26, 2014

I took a lovely girl on our first date at 5:30 on a weekday. The lighting warm, decor well-done, tables well spaced, and noise level very reasonable. We both ordered Pad Thai and thoroughly enjoyed it. Moreover, the portions were generous enough that we each had leftovers to take home. The service was not 5 star, but very sufficient. In all, I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Will recommend to friends in the future!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Best in Louisville?

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 21, 2014

Recommended by hotel as the best in Louisville. My group of four people didn't find the food to live up to this description in quality of food. Definitely a neighborhood-style place, low key, not a lot of decoration, tucked about a 15 minute cab ride from downtown hotel. Open Table reservation did not show up on their system; said they had problems with the reservation system...but they had room for us with no waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Great food, service not so much

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 11, 2014

The food is very good, be prepared to wait for 25-30 minutes for your dish but it is very good and worth the wait. The staff moves at a snails pace, they never seem to come back and check on drinks while you are waiting on your order. Been their twice and the hostess seems more interested in texting and looking at her iPhone than her job. Too bad, the food is amazing but this will be down on my list of choices due to the other issues.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Love Simply Thai!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 1, 2014

This was our second time to Simply Thai and it does not disappoint. The food is amazing! We split a delicious sushi roll and enjoyed Pad Thai and the Chicken Fried Rice loaded with vegies. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Good

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on January 17, 2014

Good was great - chicken pad Thai and shrimp curry.

Server (James) provided excellent service!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Simply delicious

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on January 4, 2014

I always love Simply Thai. I usually visit the St Matthews location, but they were so busy, I decided to try the Middletown location for the first time. It was just as delicious. The server was attentive. The tom yum soup will change your life.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.