Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 2.38mi
  4. Distance: 2.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 2.38mi
  4. Distance: 2.73mi

About Simply Thai - Middletown

Simply Thai in Middletown is the second location owned by the Saing family. We are a local small business offering authentic Thai cuisine and sushi. We have a spice scale of zero to five, zero being mild and five being Thai spicy. Our dishes are made-to-order making it fresh and easy to make vegetarian, vegan and/or gluten-free. We are kid-friendly and excited to serve you!

12003 Shelbyville Rd
Ste 101
Louisville, KY 40243
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai, Sushi

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Evergreen and Blankenbaker

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 690-8344

Website:
http://www.simplythaiky.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeff Saing

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Simply Thai - Middletown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

4.3

noise

Energetic

82% would recommend it to a friend

Spicy (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (2)
See All
Great for Lunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Healthy (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Simply Thai is simply awesome! I always have a great meal here and I just love, love, love the pineapple rice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Simply Thai is the best Thai food around and right here in Middletown!

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Highly recommend the Middletown location. The service and food were excellent! We had 6 adults and each of us enjoyed our meals. We had 2 kids and while we were waiting for our food the fish tank at the entrance kept them entertained.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great restaurant, but noise level is too high. The food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Let me start out by saying that I'm a huge fan of Simply Thai in Saint Matthews. Since I knew we were going to be in Middletown, choosing that location was an obvious choice. Unfortunately, we did have a good experience. While our waiter was very nice, the service was painfully slow. In addition, the food quality and preparation did not come close to matching that of the St Matthews location. I would not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was good as normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This restaurant is amazing!! All the food is delicious and it is my favorite Thai place in Louisville! The dining area was kind of dark but otherwise a great experience!

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We made reservations, they were verified, we went there with my entire family for a special dinner before my son went back to serve his country and they were CLOSED . Havana Rimba next door was good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I ordered the pineapple fried rice with shrimp. You got a lot and the food was good. My mistake was ordering the spice at level 1. I should have asked for 0. It really was quite hot at just the 1 level. I would never have thought it would be since the levels are 0-5.

Anyway, it was a nice atmosphere, with cheap drinks and quality food.

My one complaint is the draft from the overhead fans was really bad. We asked for them to turn them off, but, they couldn't. I had to eat with my scarf wrapped around my neck and my food got cold quicker.

Other than that, I would recommend Simply Thai in Middletown. I hear there is a location in St. Matthews area as well.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We've been several times to this location and the food is always great. Our waitress was also great. This was the first time we decided to make a reservation. Our reservation was for 7:15 and we arrived at 7:05. A reservation is just that, a reserved seat for you at a specific time. I understand if they were having a hard time flipping tables but multiple parties were seated before us just because they arrived first. We in turn ended up waiting just like everyone else and were seated at around 7:45. So yes they take reservations, but they do not honor them.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Wanted to like it but after two tries, I won't return. Service is HORRIBLE. Was 10 minutes after arriving before a server visited the table. Our food took over 30 minutes to arrive. On one of the visits we ate our entire (spicy) meal with no water refills. Staff give off a ho-hum attitude and are very flippant. Manager (same one each time) seems to care less and makes excuses. Each of my meals were basically a bowl of seasoned rice. I had asked for veggies to be added....I received 2 small bites of broccoli, 2 small bites of carrot and 8 slivers of onion in the rice. My husband had pad thai with beef and the beef was so tough he didn't finish it. I would advise anyone to look for another thai restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Loved the pineapple fried rice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Typically food is spot on. I always order the Yellow Curry and my spouse, the Massaman. Flavor was terrific as always but the curries were barely warm. Rice was steaming so it helped the curry when we added it to the bowl. I prefer not to dump all of my rice in the bowl at once but in this case I had to.
Also his was a heat level of 4 and it didnt seem any hotter than my 2 level.
We were actually pretty full from 2 appetizers so we didnt complain. We just boxed it up and took it home for leftovers the next day.

Also, one appetizer was the Cilantro chicken roll and it is to-die-for! I wish they would keep it as a regular menu item.

Service was top notch, as it always is.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was delicious, but everything else was disappointing. The server was bored and
never checked back with us during our meal, and it took a long time to get the meal considering that there were few people dining there.
There were two televisions blaring in the main dining room, turned to the news. All three of us asked for boxes to take the leftovers home, but we needed a bag to transport them which we had to ask for and wait. We will probably never go in there again, but we'll order as take-out, and bring it home where we have nice music and an attractive setting for dining.
Simply Thai could fix these problems with a little effort, and that would help their reputation enormously.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was slow, not very attentive, and not very friendly; however, the food was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was very slow. My food was extremely spicy (I ordered it that way) and I had to wait a long time for a water refill. I ended up boxing my meal and taking it home. The meat in our sushi tasted like it was put through a meat grinder. It was terrible. We didn't finish it and our server didn't check on us to see how it was. We will not be going back for a while which is a shame because we were common customers before tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall the food was good. Service was okay. Ambiance of the place was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Food is very good. We like being able to choose the spice level. I would recommend this place if you like Thai food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food and the server was very informed and knowledgeable about the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Enjoyed the broad menu. Sushi a bit bland but the Pad Thai was delicious! Packed for lunch so recommend making a reservation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 17, 2016

My new favorite place for Asian fare! Go for the Thai Iced Tea--delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Menu was extensive .. nice selections ... server asked about our preferences and made solid recommendations on each dish! Reserved our table and were immediately seated, despite the packed house! ... will be back very soon and very hungry!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2015

This is our second trip to Simply Thai and we had another delicious meal. Great psd thai, cold beer and friendly service. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 24, 2015

It was my month to choose our destination for our sisters' lunch. I had been craving Pad Thai with chicken, but my 3 sisters had never eaten Thai before. So Simply Thai was suggested by my niece, and we all had a wonderful meal. The Pad Thai was everything I had been waiting for! The service was prompt, efficient, and our server was quick to answer questions about our selections. A great lunch with great company. Doesn't get any better than that!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 12, 2015

Awesome double date with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 10, 2015

The first good meal I have had since being pregnant. It was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2015

I have been here many times and usually with a group of about 10. The service and food have always been great. I especially like the spring rolls and Thai curries. We had 12 in our group last time and all were happy with food, drinks, and service. I will definitely be back, and will recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 1, 2015

Very good food, as always. Server was very helpful with our small group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2015

Overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 10, 2015

Simply Thai is simply delilicious! The food was very fresh and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 28, 2015

We were sat at a table less than 6 inches away from another party. Hard to carry on a private conversation. If we go back we will make sure to request a booth as this made our dining experience very uncomfortable.
Our server was polite but lost our ticket and we waited 45 minutes to receive our order.
The pineapple curry was amazing, but only had 5 medium sized shrimp which seems pretty stingy for a $16 entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 19, 2015

This was my first visit and it will not be my last. We had a great appetizer, although I cannot remember what it was named. Puffy something. :) My friend and I both had a curry for dinner and added the chicken to them. We also split a bowl of the veggies to add in. It was all very tasty and I hope to be back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2015

My husband and I ate here for Valentines Day. The server was decent but rather unpolished, the kitchen was extra slow, and the food quality was not up to their usual standards. I think this restaurant is very good, but I will skip it on holidays from now on. The crowd seemed to be just too much for them.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Simply Thai is an average restaurant, not bad and not great. It is fine for grabbing a quick meal when other places are too full to seat you. The food is mostly quality, but there are better places to choose from. Do not go here for drinks--they are not made well. The service is consistently sub-par, but again, doable if you need a place to eat. I will continue to go here when I don't want to wait on other places. I am not trying to knock them down or be overly harsh, I have been a server myself, it is just my honest experience. I do appreciate that they always have a place open for us when we need one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 6, 2015

Best Thai food I have had in years. Appetizers were just perfect and did not fill us up before dinner.

I appreciated the message in the menu concerning the scale of spicy dishes. I chose a "0" since I do not care for spicy food.

Our dinners were hot and delicious, enjoyed by all.

Dessert was a tropical sorbet. Yum, Yum....

We will return soon. Easy to make reservations on line.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 18, 2014

First experience at new location. Food was as awesome as last location, but service was terrible. We waited over 15 for drinks (all but one of use had water), 50 minutes for our apps - granted there was a 20 top that came in at around the same time - but that is really no excuse; we should have been contacted when a reservation for 8 and one for 20 was made for the same time to ask if we wanted to reschedule since the kitchen could obviously not handle the load.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 5, 2014

Every time my family enjoys a meal at Simply Thai, I am amazed at how flavorful the food is. There are so many interesting and delicious entrees from which to choose that I have a very hard time deciding what to get. I highly recommend the eggplant and the green curry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 29, 2014

My Mother, wife and I dined at Simply Thai in Middletown, KY last Friday evening. It was the first time for us but it will not be the last time. We each ordered different dishes and then sampled each others. All three were equally well prepared and tasty. They offer a spice level of zero to five. My wife and I both like it spicy but ordered the level one spice. It was perfect for us. The meals were well prepared, nice to look at and very flavorful. The cost is very reasonable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 22, 2014

The St. Matthews location has always been my favorite Thai location in town. We tried the Middletown location due to convenience, however, the staff was not as attentive, one cursed in front of my two children, the ventilation system is extremely loud, and food was average. I love the original location and will continue to frequent it but will not return to Middletown

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 12, 2014

Food was very good. Sushi was presented well and flavorful. The Thai dish was authentic as i have spent a good deal of time in Thailand on business so I had something to compare to. Service was not great. Server had no clue of what was Thai and ingredients. Could not answer questions about Thai beers or other spirit's on menu. Not a lot of attention paid to us. Prices were high compared to value. charged for extra salad dressing??? I likely won't be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.