About Simon & Seafort's

420 L Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

We could tell you that your favorite part about dining with us will be our panoramic views of Mt. Susitna and the Alaska range, or the freshest wild Alaskan seafood in town, or our uncompromising quality of service; but we'll let you decide. Whether you visit us for a business lunch, a dinner full of friends and family, or that oh-so-deserved date night; you will find that our dedication to excellence is apparent at every step. Our Chefs combine wild-Alaskan seafood with traditional American cuisine to create dishes that make memories. For the best Happy hour in town visit us between the hours of 4:30pm and 6pm and from 9pm to closing daily, half price appetizers and featured drink specials are served in the Saloon. So join us, Simon & Seafort's is your everytime restaurant for any occasion. View our menu options at www.simonandseaforts.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Simon & Seafort's serves Lunch Monday through Friday from 11:30am-2:30pm. Simon's is proud to offer an excellent 45-minute lunch for the business community. WEEKEND BRUNCH Sat & Sun 10am-2:30pm.

LUNCH:
Mon-Fri 11:30am-2:30pm
DINNER:
Mon-Thurs 5pm-9pm
Fri & Sat 4:30pm-10pm
Sun 4:30pm-9pm
WEEKEND BRUNCH:
Saturday & Sunday: 10am-2:30pm
SALOON:
Mon-Thurs 11am-10pm
Fri 11am-11pm
Sat 10am-11pm
Sun 10am-10pm
HAPPY HOUR IN THE SALOON:
Sun-Thurs 3pm-6pm & 9pm-Close
*NOTE: Happy Hour not available on holidays.

Cross Street:
Between 4th and 5th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-3502

Website:
http://www.simonandseaforts.com/

Parking Details:
Simon and Seafort's offers validated parking daily. 2-hour Validation any time when you park in the Captain Cook garage located at 5th & K St. Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
We are located in the heart of downtown. Public transportation is available within feet of Simon and Seafort's.

Executive Chef:
Leah Gallahorn

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Simon & Seafort's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Anchorage / Alaska
Most Booked
Anchorage / Alaska
Special Occasion
Anchorage
1 More
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Scenic View (89)
Special Occasion (71)
Good for a Date (65)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Waterfront (44)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Romantic (36)
Business Meals (33)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Groups (31)
Great for Lunch (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Local Ingredients (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Fun (18)
Casual (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Seasonal (12)
Historic (11)
Cozy (10)
People Watching (10)
Authentic (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great Beer (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Private Room (5)
Tapas (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
3050 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were well taken care of by a friendly ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 6 days ago

We were well taken care of by a friendly warm staff.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Prime rib is to die for. Celebrating the ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 7 days ago

Prime rib is to die for. Celebrating the end of my radiation. The perfect place to do it!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I never thought about bringing my 5 yr o ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I never thought about bringing my 5 yr old niece to Simon's for a pre-Nutcracker meal. However, the kids menu option was perfect for her and it added to the festive experience I wanted her to enjoy. The staff was wonderful and engaging to our small group, definitely a reason we keep coming back. Thank-you Simon's

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Private Room, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and service always top notch. Had t ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food and service always top notch. Had the prime rib as always just perfect. Our server was great. Made a reservation and got seated as soon as we checked in.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Waterfront, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was thanksgiving dinner for my daught ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It was thanksgiving dinner for my daughter and I. The food is always great, your chef janelle came over and asked how our dinner was, which was a real personal touch.

I've lived here for 42 years, and Simon and seaforts is still my favorite place to eat.

Thank you

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was too! The wait staff was very accommodating and personable. The room was very welcoming, but still felt very classy. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They did a good job of presenting Thanks ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 24, 2016

They did a good job of presenting Thanksgiving Dinner. The server was very good.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience was outstanding. The food ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our experience was outstanding. The food was excellent and the service was top notch. The ambience is classic and not to be missed.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, however, we were seated v ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was good, however, we were seated very close to a young family with small children. The parents gave their iPhone to the kids so they could watch cartoons during the entire meal. Bad parenting is not the restaurants fault but they should be cognizant of seating a couple of two next to little kids in close proximity. The white noise from the cartoons disturbed our meal and we ate quickly and left. Sort of ruined the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simon & Seafort's has been consistent wi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Simon & Seafort's has been consistent with the quality of their food and service: excellent! This is a great restaurant to enjoy good food with a group of friends or celebrate with loved ones.

They have been accommodating and well informed about food requests based on dietary restrictions (gluten).

A little pre-dining communication goes a long ways in ensuring a pleasurable meal and small details haven't been missed with their efficient reservation process.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful! Definitely my ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Everything was wonderful! Definitely my favorite restaurant in town for any meal of the day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simon's always delivers...beautiful atmo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Simon's always delivers...beautiful atmosphere, classy waiters, fun downtown location with a view, and scrumptious food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance. Halibut was ver ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great food and ambiance. Halibut was very tasty. Nice wine list

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I made a reservation here for my mother' ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I made a reservation here for my mother's birthday and the whole family came. The food was absolutely amazing as was the service. Unfortunately, my brother had a really bad bloody nose so we ended up having to cut the evening short but the manager and servers were very gracious and brought him ice packs and paper towels and napkins and wrapped up all our food for us very quickly. I will definitely be back and hopefully, we'll be able to finish out the night :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fun, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steak House, nice environment & qu ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great Steak House, nice environment & quick service. Steaks were cooked excellent. Mashed potatoes were tasty. Great place to get a melt in your mouth steak!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely wonderful service for our lei ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Absolutely wonderful service for our leisure lunch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I come here often and it's always a plea ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I come here often and it's always a pleasurable experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to give Simons & Seaforts ano ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We decided to give Simons & Seaforts another chance with our 16 year marriage anniversary. A few visits ago we didn't set a reservation and were treated very poorly and unprofessional. Maybe the waitress was having a bad day and was just a coincidence, I don't know.

Tonight was really bad. Waiter took a long time to bring us drinks we ordered (10-15 mins). Then we had to ask for bread even they usually are supposed to offer it. Apps, soup, salad and drinks were all great until we got our meals. My wife's meal (Halibut Cheeks) were fantastic and she loved it. My meal on the other hand was brutal. Ordered the 8oz filet mignon (medium rare). Came medium and asked for it to be rare as ordered. Waiter promptly without question got right on and said it would only take 8 mins for another. Wife also asked for Sprite after she finished her cocktail, never received it.

20 mins later my meal finally came out and this time it was cooked even more than the first round (well done). Mind you my wife had already eaten her meal while I patiently waited. Note this is on a Monday @8PM. I lost all my patience at that point. Waiter offered to have another one cooked right away. Really? After making me wait you'd think I wanted another one, lost my appetite at that point. Finally after 5-10 minutes the "Manager" showed up and first thing that comes out of his mouth is, "wow looks like we couldn't get both your steaks cooked right tonight haha." "Would you like me to make a steak for you to take home?" I'm like really dude? I said no and that I had lost my appetite and would rather just leave asap. He then insisted that we take advantage of the free dessert for our special occasion. Which is only one mind you. He offered to comp the apps at least. So I decided to ask for 2 desserts and the waiter took off my meal and apps.

I feel being what the occasion was and how it all ended we should have had to pay. We are never going back to Simons again. I'll be posting this elsewhere as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

This is our favorite spot to go for spec ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 7, 2016

This is our favorite spot to go for special occasions. A little bit pricy for a modest income but a nice treat a couple of times a year. Cannot recommend highly enough!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another good meal at Simon's before a ni ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Another good meal at Simon's before a night out; always a good, solid choice

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Our service was outstanding but our food ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our service was outstanding but our food not so much. The Calamari was soggy and the Prime Rib was so salty we had to send it back. When it came back it was undercooked. Was not my best experience at S&S.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food and great service!! Thank yo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food and great service!! Thank you for doing such a great go at making the customers experience top notch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great. We had a great se ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service was great. We had a great server and the hostess was very sweet. Very good customer service, however, the food was extremely salty. I am visiting the Anchorage area for a few months and was excited about coming to this restaurant from what I heard. I am also a foodie so if anyone tell me about a good restaurant, I will go and I will keep going if the food is amazing. Both my meal and my friend's meal had way too much salt. We could tell that the food was fresh but it was difficult tasting all the flavors due to the salt. Also, I had the crab cake Benedict and it was dry. I was disappointed in the food quality. My friend and I both agree we are both happy we went to lunch because we would have been very disappointed if we paid more money for the food during dinner time. I probably won't go back for food, only for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The waiter was so helpful and attentive ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The waiter was so helpful and attentive and the food is amazing. One of my favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here only a couple of times. I ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I've been here only a couple of times. I had ordered the scallops for myself and the sampler to share with everyone else. Honestly, the sampler was better than the entrees. The other guests agreed. I had also ordered the burger with fries for my son, but received a grilled cheese instead. I didn't mention anything because it wasn't such a huge deal. To cut it short, all in all the food was mediocre. The value was definitely too much for its so-so taste.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We were excited to bring our kids back t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were excited to bring our kids back to the restuarant that holds a special place in our hearts. 12 yrs my best friend proposed and I said yes! We were excited to bring our kids to our favorite restaurant and share our memories with them. The food and service was just as we remembered....remarkable! And watching the sunset while we dined was breathtaking, my babies enjoyed their first visit. We're excited to be back in Alaska to make more memories. Thanks to Simon and Seafort for the enjoyable family night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have always enjoyed the food and atmosph ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Have always enjoyed the food and atmosphere. I recommend often. And as a single person, I feel comfortable and welcomed coming in alone. The view is spectacular!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

30$menu was nice,iI ordered the tips,pre ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

30$menu was nice,iI ordered the tips,pretty good,a little dry,wwould have been better with some bernaise.burnt creme for desert was great.experience wasn't as good as last time,disappointed !iit was my birthday meal,should have went to benihanas

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very nice leisurely lunch. The ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We had a very nice leisurely lunch. The food and service were great.

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I booked this reservation to celebrate m ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I booked this reservation to celebrate my sisters birthday. She has celiac disease and must eat gluten free. In past visits we were presented a dedicated gluten free menu rather than the main menu and the dedicated menu had a lot of options. This time we were told they dont do that anymore and there were 4 entree choices and only 2 salad dressings that were gluten free. Instead of feeling pampered, my sister had to order a hamburger for her special birthday dinner. Unacceptable! Food allergies and dietary restrictions are more and more common. Simons should start expanding their menu to keep up with these customers and keep their business. My meal was good but wish my sisters bday could have been as special as I wanted it to be for her!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Normally very comfortable dining at Simo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Normally very comfortable dining at Simons because I know the meal will be exceptional. I invited my Grandson as he had not been to Simons before. Don't know what happened to the clam chowder but it appeared to be curteled and wasn't good. The waitress offered to take my lunch off the bill but I noticed when I got home that she didn't do that.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Typically a dinner out at Simon & Seafor ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Typically a dinner out at Simon & Seafort's is a pleasant (if expensive) experience. This time it was a disappointing (and expensive) experience. Our party of 2 was seated in a high traffic zone next to the entry to the kitchen area. The constant traffic flow of the restaurant staff going to and from the kitchen was distracting. The restaurant was fairly busy, and the noise level from patrons as well as the from the kitchen was truly intolerable. We practically had to shout at each other across the table in order to be heard! The food was "okay" but not superior. The one positive note was the great service provided by our waiter. Overall a truly sub-par dining experience and not at all worth the price I paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Delicious dishes (as always). My husband ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious dishes (as always). My husband's prime rib was a bit too salty and fatty for me but he thought it was good. The great view of the sunset was a nice surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fish was very fresh. The preparation wa ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Fish was very fresh.

The preparation was very sub optimal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Everything went well except we missed an ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Everything went well except we missed an appetizer we ordered. The manager made it right by getting my son a free dessert. Very strange because I am used to impeccable service here. It happens

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was good and the view was amazing, ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Food was good and the view was amazing, as usual. When I made my reservation, I indicated that we were celebrating a birthday. Usually there is some sort of ribbon curls or confetti on the table, but this time there wasn't. Our server, Karsson, was outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always great service and amazing food! ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Always great service and amazing food! Just a little too noisy in my opinion but well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was our anniversary and there's no be ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

It was our anniversary and there's no better place in Anchorage we could have gone!! The food was amazing, service was stellar and thank you for the roses on our table! Very nice intimate touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Welcoming hostess, everyone seemed inter ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Welcoming hostess, everyone seemed interested in our having a good experience, and the food and service was excellent. One of our favorite places to eat. It is a bit too loud at times to have a normal conversation across the table.

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our server was amazing and the food was fabulous! Plus, the view over the inlet cannot be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.