About Simon & Seafort's

420 L Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

We could tell you that your favorite part about dining with us will be our panoramic views of Mt. Susitna and the Alaska range, or the freshest wild Alaskan seafood in town, or our uncompromising quality of service; but we'll let you decide. Whether you visit us for a business lunch, a dinner full of friends and family, or that oh-so-deserved date night; you will find that our dedication to excellence is apparent at every step. Our Chefs combine wild-Alaskan seafood with traditional American cuisine to create dishes that make memories. For the best Happy hour in town visit us between the hours of 4:30pm and 6pm and from 9pm to closing daily, half price appetizers and featured drink specials are served in the Saloon. So join us, Simon & Seafort's is your everytime restaurant for any occasion. View our menu options at www.simonandseaforts.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Simon & Seafort's serves Lunch Monday through Friday from 11am-2:30pm. Simon's is proud to offer an excellent 45-minute lunch for the business community. WEEKEND BRUNCH Sat & Sun 10am-2:30pm.

Hours:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11am-2:30pm
Weekend Brunch: 10am-2:30pm Saturday & Sunday
Dinner: Daily 4:30pm-10pm
Saloon: Mon-Fri 11am-11pm; Sat & Sun 10am-11pm

Daily Happy Hour from 3pm-6:00pm and 9:00pm 'til close in the Saloon.

Cross Street:
Between 4th and 5th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-3502

Website:
http://www.simonandseaforts.com/

Parking Details:
Simon and Seafort's offers validated parking daily. 2-hour Validation any time when you park in the Captain Cook garage located at 5th & K St. Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
We are located in the heart of downtown. Public transportation is available within feet of Simon and Seafort's.

Executive Chef:
Leah Gallahorn

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Simon & Seafort's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
4 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

scenic view (215)
special occasion (189)
romantic (105)
See All
fit for foodies (100)
great for lunch (86)
good for groups (86)
neighborhood gem (56)
great for brunch (52)
notable wine list (40)
vibrant bar scene (39)
hot spot (33)
late-night find (16)
kid-friendly (14)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great location with a fabulous view. Ou ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great location with a fabulous view. Our food was very good. Seriously fresh seafood. There was quite a bit of time between courses, so just sit back and enjoy the view.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Even though I had remarked that the even ...

Dined 4 days ago

Even though I had remarked that the evening was an anniversary celebration, the restaurant did not acknowledge and the server did not know. Restaurant used to put rose petals on the table to recognize your special occasion. Our server was great, but I don't remember her name. Water and bread were served immediately.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had out of town guests. I requested ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had out of town guests. I requested a specific view table. I was very happy that we were seated very close. At high season on a Friday night at 7 pm that was real gift for our guests. The server was very attentive and full of answers on the menu. We were seated on time, the food arrived fairly quickly and we were given plenty of time to eat and visit. Never did we feel rushed. It was a very pleasant evening. The food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We celebrated our 43 rd wedding annivers ...

Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our 43 rd wedding anniversary. The food was amazing, our server was excellent. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food, outstanding service and ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful food, outstanding service and an incredible view. Highly recommend. Key lime pie is incredible!

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Super slow service and my main course of ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Super slow service and my main course of salmon was stone cold. I mentioned it to my server and they removed the charge from my bill and I was grateful. Not sure where the breakdown was, the kitchen or the waitstaff. My parents ate there last week and have basically the very same issues...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's become our goto place for special o ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

It's become our goto place for special occasions. It's just the perfect combination of good food and great service . That with its spectacular view makes it scintillating gem of a restaurant in the Anchorage restaurant scene . It's our anniversary tradition for going on now for well over a decade .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Had great seafood special that were cook ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Had great seafood special that were cooked superbly. courses were timed nicely even for a busy tourist filled Monday night. Server was attentive and knowledgable

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food & service were fantastic! The ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The food & service were fantastic! The restaurant was very noisy & too hot, but we still had a lovely time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This Anchorage restaurant would be a big ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

This Anchorage restaurant would be a big hit in any city in the U.S.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Do it go there very often so would have ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Do it go there very often so would have been nice to sit by window. Prime rib and veggies very good.. halitbut not enough on plate for 37$ noise level way too high..could hardly hear each other. Oh and fantastic berry drinks

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great experience, been going ther ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Always great experience, been going there since it open in 78

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We consistently select Simon's as a pla ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We consistently select Simon's as a place we take out of town guests, recommend to business partners and to celebrate significant family events. We recently experienced a challenging circumstance, and the server and manager responded immediately to our concerns. Because of Simon's popularity, it is not always the most intimate of places to go, but not much of a problem if you are prepared. Dining is not rushed, and I highly recommend reservations in advance, especially for holiday dining. I noticed though not experienced the intimate dinning room for larger parties.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The deep fried Cod, we asked for Halibut ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The deep fried Cod, we asked for Halibut and were charged for Halibut was not cooked all the way and very greasy. I then ordered the Eggs benedict, I cut into the first one and a huge water bubble exploded on my plate, then when I when to cut into the second one the egg white was not cooked, I could not sent another plate back again and just did not eat it and paid for the meal.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing bartenders! Very attentive, alth ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing bartenders! Very attentive, although it was very busy. Great interior, very nice views. Restaurant is relatively noisy due to open kitchen

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Most excellent meal and a great place to ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Most excellent meal and a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was great but service for the first ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was great but service for the first time since I have been going to Simon's was poor. The server for some reason did not have the table cleared after each course. Before dessert I finally had to ask her to have someone clear the dishes that were piling up.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my mother on her first night in Ala ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Took my mother on her first night in Alaska. She really enjoyed it! Lovely restaurant with a view! Huge shrimp and perfect crab legs; and a lot of them. We couldn't even fit dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simons is always a favorite for any spec ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Simons is always a favorite for any special occasion, or out-of-town friends. The food is terrific, prepared well, service is friendly and professional. The restaurant gas a great atmosphere, and the view is great. A fun evening. I recommend Simons to anyone...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Comfortable restaurant with solid, thoug ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Comfortable restaurant with solid, though somewhat tired, menu. Look forward to rotation of new menu items occasionally.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I have been going to Simons for years. O ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I have been going to Simons for years. On the last visit, we were all very disappointed in the lunch menu. The selection was very poor. I would suggest you put your two signature halibut dishes back on the menu. The crab and artichoke dip didn't seem as well prepared as in the past. It used to be one of our favorites.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was great but the service was n ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was great but the service was not up to their usual standards. This seems to be becoming a trend with the service.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been coming to Simon's for a lon ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We have been coming to Simon's for a long time. Mostly we visit the dining room for special occasions but like to frequent the bar more often. We are crazy about the artichoke&parmesan cheese appetizer as well as the calamari appetizer. It's a seafood place and we would recommend any of the fish entrees and have tried most all of them. A favorite is, of course, the macadamia nut halibut. Also, the fresh salmon, sockeye or king. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were visiting anchorage at the end of ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We were visiting anchorage at the end of a week long cruise and stayed an extra day. Taking the advice of others, we had reservations and glad we did. Even on a Monday night, they were busy. The restaurant is a short walk of two blocks from the Hotel Captain Cook, where we were staying. We were offered a seat at the bar while our tabled was prepared. The wait was short and we were seated with a nice view of Cook Inlet. Service was good, but after ordering we heard the server in the section next to us offer each of his tables some bread. We had not been offered bread, so 10 minutes or so after ordering when our server came by again, we requested some. It was brought out moments before our meal was served. Food quality was outstanding - a little pricey.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simon & Seafort's does not disappoint. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Simon & Seafort's does not disappoint. This our 4th visit and it was wonderful.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I am happy to report that my recent visi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I am happy to report that my recent visit here was a success. My father, stepmom, and I came here for dinner a few weeks ago to celebrate his retirement and we all had a lovely evening. We were greeted with a smile at the door and got a comfortable booth with an inlet view. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable about the menu, and had great timing with the delivery of our food and drinks. My stepmom and I had wine and my dad chose a cocktail; the wines were served appropriately and the cocktail was delish! For dinner, I chose the smoked steak salad and my dad and stepmom shared a surf n' turf option. My salad was vibrant and crisp, with perfectly cooked steak and a delectable blue cheese dressing; and my parents' meal was a hit as well. As an AK resident, I would probably skip crab legs eating out and get them at Costco (you can get a lot more for your money and they're easy to prepare), but it was a nice treat for them. We all shared a slice of key lime pie for dessert and left Simon's pleased with our meal.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!!!

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was a little slow coming out, but overall a great experience! Loved everything... Especially dessert!!!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Special occassion

Dined on June 10, 2016

Disappointed with being sat in the back with absolutely no view.. It had been noted we were there for a retirement party and would like window seating. Food was cold.. Normally a complaint wouldn't be registered but because of the lack of attention it felt like we were an after thought...

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was professional and pleasant

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Staff was professional and pleasant

food5
ambience4
service5

Best halibut

Dined on June 8, 2016

Best halibut

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great views, great service

Dined on June 6, 2016

Very good view of water from inside. Great service/staff. Seafood was good, crab legs were biggest we saw in alaska and chowder was outstanding. Non-seafood (reuben sandwich) was average. We chose this restaraunt specificaly based on feedback from friends in Texas who had been there on and off for 20 years, my experience was not quite as magical as theirs but perhaps I should have stuck to seafood. We went at 2:15 on a Monday and there were plenty of people there so they must be doing something right !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter and staff were all so very nice and helpful

Dined on June 6, 2016

Building looks like a office building and you would miss it if you didn't know where to look, but everything else about the place was great

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall great.

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was great, but the staff and the view was amazing! The drinks were colorful and flavorful. They made our Anniversary even better!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There's a reason I always pick Simon's on my b-day

Dined on June 3, 2016

Probably my favorite meal in Anchorage is Simon's Parmesan-Asiago crusted halibut cheeks. (It's often not printed on the menu due to limited availability, but come early and ask and you're likely to find them.) Simon's delivered yet again. I was impressed from the start--I had made my reservation on OpenTable and put a note that it was my birthday celebration. Clearly the restaurant pays attention to minor details like the notes in upcoming reservations, because when the hostess led us to our table, it was already pre-decorated with little ribbon strands strewn on it. Great! It was also wonderful that they gave us a table at the window to admire the amazing view (I often come with large groups of friends and am usually seated over in the corner). The day was sunny and wonderful. After a round of very nicely-priced happy hour drink specials (ask for the bar menu if you want something to drink), we sprang for something I hadn't done before--the appetizer sampler, which comes with a trio of artichoke-crab dip, coconut shrimp, and tenderloin tips. All three were incredible. The French Onion soup was wonderful as always (though probably not ultimately needed, but hey, it's my birthday). My halibut cheeks arrived to my smiling face and were as delectable as ever (I prefer them to the restaurant's more famous crab-stuffed macadamia-crusted halibut). They gladly put my birthday creme brulee in a to-go cup (after that much food, there was no way I could eat it!) Our server was absolutely perfect--professional, positive, and appearing just exactly when we needed him. Some of the best service I've experienced in Anchorage for sure. Out of all the "nice" restaurants in Anchorage, Simon's remains my favorite, and even though I don't live in Anchorage anymore, it remains on my "must-visit" list for every trip back. I'm glad I was here on my birthday!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff was amazing.

Dined on May 31, 2016

Wait staff was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular views, great food, and a won ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Spectacular views, great food, and a wonderful time had by all!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good, but pricey

Dined on May 30, 2016

One of Anchorage's most expensive. The food and views are good, but be prepared to pay for it.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best places to eat in ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

This is one of the best places to eat in Anchorage. It is always my "Go to" place to eat.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great place to have dinner with ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Always a great place to have dinner with family!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Double Date

Dined on May 28, 2016

Perfect date night spot, especially with other couples. Best lobster tail I've ever had. Halibut cheek special was out of this world good! Attentive, friendly staff. Love the view! The check should be delivered in a folder labeled "The Damage" though. $$$

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.