About Simon & Seafort's

420 L Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

We could tell you that your favorite part about dining with us will be our panoramic views of Mt. Susitna and the Alaska range, or the freshest wild Alaskan seafood in town, or our uncompromising quality of service; but we'll let you decide. Whether you visit us for a business lunch, a dinner full of friends and family, or that oh-so-deserved date night; you will find that our dedication to excellence is apparent at every step. Our Chefs combine wild-Alaskan seafood with traditional American cuisine to create dishes that make memories. For the best Happy hour in town visit us between the hours of 4:30pm and 6pm and from 9pm to closing daily, half price appetizers and featured drink specials are served in the Saloon. So join us, Simon & Seafort's is your everytime restaurant for any occasion. View our menu options at www.simonandseaforts.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Simon & Seafort's serves Lunch Monday through Friday from 11am-2:30pm. Simon's is proud to offer an excellent 45-minute lunch for the business community. WEEKEND BRUNCH Sat & Sun 10am-2:30pm.

Hours:
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11am-2:30pm
Weekend Brunch: 10am-2:30pm Saturday & Sunday
Dinner: Daily 4:30pm-10pm
Saloon: Mon-Fri 11am-11pm; Sat & Sun 10am-11pm

Daily Happy Hour from 3pm-6:00pm and 9:00pm 'til close in the Saloon.

Cross Street:
Between 4th and 5th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 274-3502

Website:
http://www.simonandseaforts.com/

Parking Details:
Simon and Seafort's offers validated parking daily. 2-hour Validation any time when you park in the Captain Cook garage located at 5th & K St. Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
We are located in the heart of downtown. Public transportation is available within feet of Simon and Seafort's.

Executive Chef:
Leah Gallahorn

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Simon & Seafort's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
5 More
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Scenic View (230)
Special Occasion (209)
Fit for Foodies (119)
See All
Good for Groups (91)
Romantic (85)
Great for Lunch (80)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Great for Brunch (44)
Notable Wine List (37)
Hot Spot (32)
Kid-friendly (20)
Late-night Find (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2945 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The fairly decent food quality was unfor ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 2 days ago

The fairly decent food quality was unfortunately more than offset by the absolute worst service in recent memory. Server was rude, arrogant and extremely slow. I will not be returning. Management was not in evidence on a fairly busy Friday evening. Decided to try this on the recommendation of a local, despite the recent spotty reviews. My mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

All potato side dishes were raw and cold ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 6 days ago

All potato side dishes were raw and cold, scallops were over cooked and chewy. Steak had no flavor at all. Server was only interested in turning the table. Noise level made conversation difficult at best. Last time I'll drop $250 for a weak dinner for four here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The go to place for fresh seafood artful ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The go to place for fresh seafood artfully prepared for decades. A favorite of locals and visitors alike. Great views of Cook Inlet. Reservations a must for the dining room but full menu is served in the expansive albeit crowded bar. Don t miss this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner! Wonderful staff!! ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great dinner! Wonderful staff!!!! The view of the sunset - even on an overcast night - was beautiful. They have a nice variety of entrees to choose from including gluten free.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited way to long for our food! When it ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Waited way to long for our food! When it finally arrived it was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Simon & Seafort's is one of the top rest ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Simon & Seafort's is one of the top restaurants in Anchorage. Outstanding food, professional and attentive service, nice views of the harbor and a nice venue. Their sourdough bread is addictive by the way!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal experience. Great service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful meal experience. Great service. Knowledgable staff. Gorgeous view. Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a fine dining experience whims visiting Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simon and Seaforts is consistent. The ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Simon and Seaforts is consistent. The view is beautiful, the service is good, and the food is good. When I go there I know what to expect. Of course, this is due to the fact that I always order the same thing, or a variation of it.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

As always, the food was excellent. The t ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

As always, the food was excellent. The table was ready when we arrived. The server was very attentive and helpful. The dinner was with a friend who was in town from Juneau who I had not seen in 44 years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had been to Simon and Seafort's in the ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I had been to Simon and Seafort's in the past and was very disappointed by this visit. The temperature of the food was just mildly warm and not as outstanding as I remembered it. The service was outstanding but the expectations from the kitchen were not met.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Food and service were terrific. A great ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food and service were terrific. A great staff - from reception - to bar - to service all get high marks for friendliness and a real feeling that they cared about the patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

French onion soup HORRIBLE! Service lou ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

French onion soup HORRIBLE! Service lousy. Noise terrible. View great if you are lucky to have the right table.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I've eaten at Simon & Seafort's for many ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I've eaten at Simon & Seafort's for many years and have loved it. Tonight it was 1 hour 10 minutes from order until dinner arrived. Two of the meals were Luke warm. I sent mine back to have a hot meal. We waited quite awhile until the waitress asked our drink order and our meal order all at the same time. It was a different evening, and I had out-of-town friends. Was hoping for better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Always good food and service and their s ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Always good food and service and their salads are always outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious, I ordered king crab, ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was delicious, I ordered king crab, though smallest king crab legs I've seen. Pretty disappointing on size there but taste was good. Drinks good, scallops, chowder good. Service crummy, 2 waiters seems confused and asked double questions. Friendly but disorganized. There for my birthday, waitress sprinkled shreds of confetti messi ly around the table. I cleaned them up. Pretty tacky. Key lime pie, though complimentary, tasted like crust had fried chicken grease in it. Overall disappointed. I've had better experienced in the bar side, guess I'll stick with that IF I go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

From the hostesses to the busing staff t ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

From the hostesses to the busing staff to our waiter, everyone was friendly, professional and provided excellent service. Because of the people and the great food, Simons and Seaforts remains a constant among Anchorage's fine restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible experience, delicious food, a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Incredible experience, delicious food, and a definite "must go again"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding. The location ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was outstanding. The location and view were stunning. Our dining experience was marred by a rude and incompetent hostess who provided substandard service. We started with appetizers in the bar area. The hostess came to get us to take us to the dining room, requested that we carry our own appetizer plates to the dining room, gave us inferior seats. She then seated another party in a much better location. I complained to the management, who then moved us to a better location, provided us with new appetizers, gave us an outstanding server (Antonio), and gave us dessert at no charge. The response from the management was good, but it should not have happened in the first place. I was very disappointed, given the great reputation that the restaurant has. Part of being a great restaurant is providing an excellent experience from beginning to end. The restaurant should take steps to make sure that its staff matches the high level of the quality of the food they serve.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was amazing but the service was ver ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was amazing but the service was very slow. We got our table 30min. After our reservation time, food took an hour to come out and I never received the second drink I ordered. By the time I saw our waitress again to ask about it, we were ready to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I know everywhere here is expensive but ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I know everywhere here is expensive but this is over the top 5 I would say from Anchorage, so be prepare. Food is really good, presentation, good, quality good. Even say that I still think all restaurants in Alaska are overprice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been going to S&S for 30 years....s ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I've been going to S&S for 30 years....still a memorable experience. Good view, good food, good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Simon's once again lived up to its reput ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Simon's once again lived up to its reputation for great food and service. Always enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You still can beat Simon & Seafort's for ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

You still can beat Simon & Seafort's for that special meal or occasion. After 30+ years in business they are still relevant and a "hot spot" in Downtown Anchorage. The food, service, wine selection, and ambiance are still topnotch. You can't go wrong with Simon & Seafort's.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our dining experience at ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Really enjoyed our dining experience at Simons. The seated us quickly, were accommodating for our special occasion and server was very friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Understaffed for summer Saturday in anch ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Understaffed for summer Saturday in anchorage. Took half an hour just to take drink order. Almost an hour for food to be delivered after ordered and it was cold. Two birthdays to celebrate so picked a "nice" place. Won't be back. Our check was 450.00 and our experience was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Always a nice place to go for your speci ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a nice place to go for your special occasions. I was a little put of by the front of house staff, as I had called earlier and made some requests, which no one knew of when we arrived. However, they took care of everything and our group had a great time. No harm done. I will be going back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter was very professional and fri ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our waiter was very professional and friendly but it took a very long time to get our food. The scallops were good but the risotto was luke-warm. It was difficult to have a conversation due to the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

You have such a special place here. It ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

You have such a special place here. It was so nice to look over the ocean and still be able to talk to the family sitting at the same table. The set up was perfect in that the bar was in a different area so that the noise level stayed down. What a great idea and wonderful resturant.

Thanks so much for a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent seafood selection coupled with ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent seafood selection coupled with superb service and well mixed cocktails makes this a perfect occasion for taking out-of-town guests or having a nice meal with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent! Halibut cheeks exceptional. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent! Halibut cheeks exceptional. The chef, Nathan Bentley even visited our table to talk about the preparation and accept our compliments! What a treat!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal! Started with cocktail sh ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful meal! Started with cocktail shrimp, enjoyed a perfectly prepared filet, finishing with the key lime pie.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed. We ordered th ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were very disappointed. We ordered the king salmon which was $40 and both of our orders was raw in the middle. We sent them back and they were then overlooked and dry. The flavors were unimahinative and the polenta was tough. The waiter was friendly but service was slow. We will not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Simon's is always excellent. Whether an ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Simon's is always excellent. Whether an intimate dinner for 2 or entertaining another family, they continue to please. I have been going there infrequently from 1989 to 2016. It was my wife's choice for her birthday dinner with our family of 6 last week. In addition to our old favorite dishes, we tried the halibut cheeks before and shared 2 baked Alaska's for dessert, and they were both excellent as recommended by our server. We will definitely keep going back to Simon and Seafort's in Anchorage.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a birthday celebration ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were there for a birthday celebration. Everything was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view of the water from our table was ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The view of the water from our table was amazing. It took them and extra 20 minutes to seat us because the party before us took their time paying the check and leaving. We had 7 in our group. . But, after that - it was smooth sailing. The service was excellent and the food was very good. The price was very good for what you got. The soups are wonderful!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We lucked out and got a window table to ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We lucked out and got a window table to start. Our waiter was outstanding and friendly. But we go for the superb good food and we were not disappointed. My husband ordered prime rib and I had the salmon. We mentioned we'd like the halibut cheeks to our waitress and she suggested them as an appetizer. Awesome. We moved to Tucson last February and Simons is always on our must do list when we come back to Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The lunch menu had a good variety to sel ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The lunch menu had a good variety to select from and the prices were fairly reasonable. The portion for the combination pasta and salad was a little small, but for lunch I guess it is in proportion to the cost. I would have loved a little more spinach salad. The spicy chicken Fettuccine was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The stuffed Halibut was excellent. We ha ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The stuffed Halibut was excellent. We have eaten there several times and always have great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and wine list, fish selection ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great Food and wine list, fish selections were excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantasticly tasty berry salad and halibu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Fantasticly tasty berry salad and halibut cheeks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.