About Silver Grille

206 E Main St
Silverton, OR 97381
View Larger Map

The Silver Grille is a small, family-owned, farm-to-table style restaurant that focuses on serving "Willamette Valley Cuisine", a dining experience focused on local products, an ever evolving menu, inspiration from the surrounding area and a classical cooking background since 2000. At the Silver Grille we work with local growers, farmers and foragers, as well as raising our own produce in our garden and family-greenhouses. We prepare fresh bread, pastas, desserts, charcuterie, salumi, and other items daily in our kitchen. The Silver Grille has recieved the Oregon Wine Press' Superior Cellars award for its dedication to Northwest produced wines. Thank you for supporting our local farms and small businesses.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
S. Water Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 873-8000

Website:
http://www.silvergrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeff Nizlek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Silver Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Portland / Oregon
Best Food
Portland / Oregon
Best Service
Portland / Oregon
9 More
Best Ambiance
Portland / Oregon
Best Value
Portland / Oregon
Fit for Foodies
Portland / Oregon
Neighborhood Gem
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Romantic
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland / Oregon
Contemporary American
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Salem
Best Restaurants in Silverton ›

fit for foodies (32)
neighborhood gem (32)
special occasion (31)
See All
romantic (23)
notable wine list (20)
good for groups (4)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious as it always is. ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious as it always is. The service was very good and attentive. The chef circulate around the table ask how the dinner was and ask what we might need. It was a superb dinning experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the few places where, no matter t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

One of the few places where, no matter the menu, I always find something unique but not weird. I love dining here and would come back often if I lived closer. On our last visit we had a delicious Oregon Pinot Noir to complement our opening "Naughty Librarian" salad :-) and the strawberry tomato gazpacho. Both refreshing and delicious. For entrees we enjoyed a perfect Oregon albacore filet with fresh pesto and the crispy polenta complemented by a vibrant and flavorful ratatouille. The blackberry mousse with yogurt crumbles made a perfect ending to a pure Oregon meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Jeff and Naomi were very accommodat ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Chef Jeff and Naomi were very accommodating, even letting us bring flowers for the table and candles for the birthday dessert down earlier in the day. Great food, good fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very interesting & delicious find in the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very interesting & delicious find in the small town of Silverton. A true delight. Very friendly and sophisticated staff.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

delicious food, great presentation and f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

delicious food, great presentation and friendly service. We split a salad and tri-tip dinner and enjoyed the smaller portions with the professional presentation. Nice spot to bring out-of - town guests.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent food and service. Exqui ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always excellent food and service. Exquisite local foods with an eye for presentation. Price is quite reasonable for the qualityquality.

We will be back as often as we can.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Silver Grille is a true anchor to the cu ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Silver Grille is a true anchor to the cute, quaint town of Silverton. There are a few places to eat and drink in this area and although they are quite good, Silver Grille is the best of them. The service is excellent and the food quality is on par with many of the better restaurants found in Portland. The wine list is VERY good for a smaller restaurant in a smaller town. I highly recommend coming here when you're in the area and I would recommend a reservation even on the week days.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

There we 3 people in our party. Two of ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

There we 3 people in our party. Two of our dinners were very good. The third - pork cutlets - were dry and unflavorful. We told the waiter but he did not seem to be that interested. Caesar salads were plentiful but not a lot of flavor. The featured salad was very good. Desserts were good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything about Silver Grille was amazi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything about Silver Grille was amazing! When my husband's cousins from Georgia came to visit, we wanted to take them to dinner someplace for local cuisine and ambiance. We found Silver Grille, and decided to give them a try.

From the moment we walked in, the experience was perfect. We were seated immediately. The drinks were wonderful. Dinner was superb! There were four of us in our party; we each ordered something different, and we were each delighted with our selection.

We will definitely be back to Silver Grille!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed with food, service or ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Never disappointed with food, service or ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef and his wife service the tables and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Chef and his wife service the tables and are happy to chat with diners about the food and wine. Fresh local ingredients, something for everyone. The bruschetta, the mushroom tart, the ravioli, the asparagus bisque and the berry mousse are outstanding. This is my third time here; we come whenever we are in town. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant just never disappoints! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This restaurant just never disappoints! Our financial situation does not allow us to eat here often (certainly not as often as we'd like), but when we have guests come to stay with us for a few days we always take them to Silver Grille, and it is always a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first experience with Silve ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This was our first experience with Silver Grill. The restaurant and the food was great. We will get a gift certificate for our daughter so she and her husband can celebrate their anniversary there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A trip worth taking to Silverton. My wi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A trip worth taking to Silverton. My wife and I went for an anniversary dinner and had a memorable experience. Service was great and the food was outstanding (including a sous-vide tri tip that was incredibly flavorful and tender). Would recommend highly. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The chef/owner snd his were excellent ho ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The chef/owner snd his were excellent hosts and made the dining experience superb. As a chef, I appreciated the thoughtful way the ingredients were combined for a delicious and unpretentious dish. Loved Silver Grille and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and great prices!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been to Silver Grille several times and are never disappointed. We like to order appetizers, salads, entrees, and desserts "family style" so we can try many different things. Definitely best as a long dining experience and not a quick meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 39th aniversary

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The Tri-Tip with Morel Mushroom sauce was excellent. The waitress helped us find a wine that my wife and I would enjoy along with the meal, The Chef was out greeting and meeting everyone and even bussed a couple of tables. Small restaurant with a romantic setting (maybe has around 30 tables at the most) Older small town feel and décor. Food was excellent along with the service. We enjoyed it immensely, top notch meal for the money.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Silver Grill May 29

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This was a marvelous dining experience. The food was very delicious. The service was excellent. The seating was perfect and every dish was served with grace. The was our second time dining at the Silver Grill and we were not disappointed. This food is so delicious and tasty. The desert was just marvelous as was every dish. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu celebrates local vendors and se ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The menu celebrates local vendors and seasonal ingredients and displays the excellence that Jeff Nizlek brings to the kitchen. We've been sampling his fare for a dozen years and love the place. It may force us to move to Silverton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We absolutely loved this place. We have ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We absolutely loved this place. We have recommended it to many in the last few days. We will be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fabulous time. Great Food

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a double birthday celebration with 6 people. From the moment we sat down until we walked out the door Everything was great. It was a good sign that it was quiet at our table because everyone was so impressed with the food and friendly service that they didn't talk much. I've never had a better meal and I've been to hundreds of restaurants in my life. I can't imagine a better place to impress a special person or business associate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disapointment

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Silver Grill is always good! We have never had a so-so meal they have always been the best. The amount is perfect the deserts are great and the staff makes you feel at home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Silver Grill

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

A most enjoyable evening. The food was superb and the service was equally superb.

A thank you to the Silver Grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Silver Grille is a gem!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Amazing food, lovely presentation, superb attention to detail, very friendly staff. Will always visit when we are anywhere near Silverton!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous local restaurant

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Fabulous local restaurant with a varied menu and fabulous chef. worth a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So fresh and tasty, must try

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Locally owned by a chef and his wife, this local , fresh restaurant has daily specials that are always a hit. The Vietnamese spring rolls using fresh organic greens from the Chef's own garden with a spicy peanut sauce and a ginger chili sauce were so fabulous I could have just eaten those. But the specials on this day were the slo cooked Tri tip, halibut, and a rabbit cake.. I opted for the NY which fabulous as was the oh so fresh ravioli. A must try if you are in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always terrific

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We are never disappointed when dining at Silver Grille. The food stands up to anything a larger market might offer, and exceeds the quality to be found in many renowned locations elsewhere. It's exceptionally good for a romantic meal or special celebration, but we can't help returning regularly to sample the changing menu.

You won't regret a visit to Silver Grille.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable dinner out with friends

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Shared dinner with another couple; our first visit. We opted to dine w/out wine though their offerings are extensive. Two had ravioli which they found a little too salty but liked it all the same. I tried the special that night; lamb. It was 'ok' but overly chewy (had to set aside several bites which were unfortunately 'un-negotiable'. Other dinner guest had lamb with pasta and loved it. Our foursome split two servings of a lemon-blueberry cake dessert which everyone loved. All in all, it was an enjoyable dinenr.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Gem of Silverton

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

My husband and I ate at Silver Grille last Saturday, and it was the best meal we've had in years! Every course was phenomenal, from appetizer thru dessert. The wine list was excellent, and the service was wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & service, enjoyable, delicous dinner!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Had 7pm reservations, greeted politely as they were busy, but in short time frame taken to a nice table in the corner (we had the same table on our anniversary last summer!). The waiter (Jeff) informed us of the specials and took our drink order. He then brought us very nice bread and olive oil/balsamic mixture to dip it into. I ordered the Lobster Bisque soup which was outstanding. For dinner my wife had the Quinoa Cauliflower that was presented beautifully and she thoroughly enjoyed it (it was good to see an excellent Vegetarian dish on the menu!) I had the special, Blanquette de Veau, that was superb. We shared a Chocolate/Peanut Butter Dome for dessert. Dinner was only $72 and left Jeff and Naomi a nice tip. My only suggestion would be for them to introduce themselves (as I used to when waiting tables), I only found out their names when the check arrived. Would go back here for dinner in a second, both times we have had fantastic meals, highly recommend you make reservations. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great out of the way place

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were very impressed all around with this restaurant. Reservations a must, small seating area. The food was outstanding and service was great. Very friendly people.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and awesome service

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

Great food and awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table for one

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

It was a most enjoyable food experience. I was by myself and was seated in a really nice private spot where I could enjoy my dinner and do some people watching. The food and service were exceptional. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

cozy ambiance

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

we hadn't been here in a long time (e.g. 10 yrs) as we live 30 miles away. the service and food were excellent. the waitress was helpful in choosing wine and I loved it: a blend w/ carignan which I'd never had, but loved: it did not have a lot of tannin, but was spicy.

we took other reviewers' recommendations and loved the gorgonzola bruschetta and the naughty librarian salad whose dressing was light and complimented the salad , cheese and crunchy nuts very well. my salmon w/ bernaise sauce and was superbly cooked! the crème brulee for dessert was also excellent. we WILL go back, no matter the distance for that kind of food,service and ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go out of our way to the Silver Grille

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

When hiking at Silver Falls, visiting the Oregon Gardens or Mt Angel Abby or any of the many regional nurseries, we always make it a point to dine at the Silver Grille. Its location in the heart of Silverton is perfect for roaming around this interesting and entertaining little town. The food is delicious and the service is always prompt and welcoming. It compares favorably with many of the better well known Portland eateries.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Butternut squash soup was AWESOME!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

Butternut squash soup was AWESOME!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice find.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Drove over from Salem for dinner and it was well worth the trip. Interesting and nicely prepared appetizer and entree options. I enjoyed the lamb shank with ratatouille special -- very flavorful. The atmosphere is nice but not at all stuffy. Service friendly and efficient. The wine list not huge but more than adequate. I would definitely return when I'm back in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding food and service

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary here last week. Service was outstanding. Food exceptional. Choices you love, but don't make at home (Duck, Lamb). Pleasant atmosphere with elegance. Will return here on our next visit to Silverton, Oregon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

October evening at the Silver Grill

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 8, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

a gem

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

had a fabulous dinner at the silver grille with friends. None of us had been there before. Outstanding food and terrific service. Food was fresh and prepared perfectly. We are accustomed to large city great food; this was comparable to a high end big city spot, but with charm and small town comfort. Thanks for such a memorable experience. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.