About Silver Grille

206 E Main St
Silverton, OR 97381
View Larger Map

The Silver Grille is a small, family-owned, farm-to-table style restaurant that focuses on serving "Willamette Valley Cuisine", a dining experience focused on local products, an ever evolving menu, inspiration from the surrounding area and a classical cooking background since 2000. At the Silver Grille we work with local growers, farmers and foragers, as well as raising our own produce in our garden and family-greenhouses. We prepare fresh bread, pastas, desserts, charcuterie, salumi, and other items daily in our kitchen. The Silver Grille has recieved the Oregon Wine Press' Superior Cellars award for its dedication to Northwest produced wines. Thank you for supporting our local farms and small businesses.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
S. Water Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 873-8000

Website:
http://www.silvergrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeff Nizlek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Silver Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Portland / Oregon
Best Service
Portland / Oregon
Best Value
Portland / Oregon
7 More
Fit for Foodies
Portland / Oregon
Neighborhood Gem
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Romantic
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland / Oregon
Contemporary American
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Salem
Best Restaurants in Silverton ›

fit for foodies (25)
special occasion (23)
neighborhood gem (21)
See All
romantic (21)
notable wine list (15)
hot spot (2)
good for groups (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We absolutely loved this place. We have ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We absolutely loved this place. We have recommended it to many in the last few days. We will be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous time. Great Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a double birthday celebration with 6 people. From the moment we sat down until we walked out the door Everything was great. It was a good sign that it was quiet at our table because everyone was so impressed with the food and friendly service that they didn't talk much. I've never had a better meal and I've been to hundreds of restaurants in my life. I can't imagine a better place to impress a special person or business associate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disapointment

Dined on May 1, 2016

Silver Grill is always good! We have never had a so-so meal they have always been the best. The amount is perfect the deserts are great and the staff makes you feel at home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Silver Grill

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

A most enjoyable evening. The food was superb and the service was equally superb. A thank you to the Silver Grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Silver Grille is a gem!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Amazing food, lovely presentation, superb attention to detail, very friendly staff. Will always visit when we are anywhere near Silverton!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous local restaurant

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Fabulous local restaurant with a varied menu and fabulous chef. worth a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So fresh and tasty, must try

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Locally owned by a chef and his wife, this local , fresh restaurant has daily specials that are always a hit. The Vietnamese spring rolls using fresh organic greens from the Chef's own garden with a spicy peanut sauce and a ginger chili sauce were so fabulous I could have just eaten those. But the specials on this day were the slo cooked Tri tip, halibut, and a rabbit cake.. I opted for the NY which fabulous as was the oh so fresh ravioli. A must try if you are in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always terrific

Dined on March 18, 2016

We are never disappointed when dining at Silver Grille. The food stands up to anything a larger market might offer, and exceeds the quality to be found in many renowned locations elsewhere. It's exceptionally good for a romantic meal or special celebration, but we can't help returning regularly to sample the changing menu. You won't regret a visit to Silver Grille.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyable dinner out with friends

Dined on March 13, 2016

Shared dinner with another couple; our first visit. We opted to dine w/out wine though their offerings are extensive. Two had ravioli which they found a little too salty but liked it all the same. I tried the special that night; lamb. It was 'ok' but overly chewy (had to set aside several bites which were unfortunately 'un-negotiable'. Other dinner guest had lamb with pasta and loved it. Our foursome split two servings of a lemon-blueberry cake dessert which everyone loved. All in all, it was an enjoyable dinenr.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem of Silverton

Dined on March 6, 2016

My husband and I ate at Silver Grille last Saturday, and it was the best meal we've had in years! Every course was phenomenal, from appetizer thru dessert. The wine list was excellent, and the service was wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & service, enjoyable, delicous dinner!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Had 7pm reservations, greeted politely as they were busy, but in short time frame taken to a nice table in the corner (we had the same table on our anniversary last summer!). The waiter (Jeff) informed us of the specials and took our drink order. He then brought us very nice bread and olive oil/balsamic mixture to dip it into. I ordered the Lobster Bisque soup which was outstanding. For dinner my wife had the Quinoa Cauliflower that was presented beautifully and she thoroughly enjoyed it (it was good to see an excellent Vegetarian dish on the menu!) I had the special, Blanquette de Veau, that was superb. We shared a Chocolate/Peanut Butter Dome for dessert. Dinner was only $72 and left Jeff and Naomi a nice tip. My only suggestion would be for them to introduce themselves (as I used to when waiting tables), I only found out their names when the check arrived. Would go back here for dinner in a second, both times we have had fantastic meals, highly recommend you make reservations. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great out of the way place

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were very impressed all around with this restaurant. Reservations a must, small seating area. The food was outstanding and service was great. Very friendly people.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and awesome service

Dined on January 25, 2016

Great food and awesome service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table for one

Dined on January 22, 2016

It was a most enjoyable food experience. I was by myself and was seated in a really nice private spot where I could enjoy my dinner and do some people watching. The food and service were exceptional. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

cozy ambiance

Dined on January 10, 2016

we hadn't been here in a long time (e.g. 10 yrs) as we live 30 miles away. the service and food were excellent. the waitress was helpful in choosing wine and I loved it: a blend w/ carignan which I'd never had, but loved: it did not have a lot of tannin, but was spicy. we took other reviewers' recommendations and loved the gorgonzola bruschetta and the naughty librarian salad whose dressing was light and complimented the salad , cheese and crunchy nuts very well. my salmon w/ bernaise sauce and was superbly cooked! the crème brulee for dessert was also excellent. we WILL go back, no matter the distance for that kind of food,service and ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We go out of our way to the Silver Grille

Dined on November 7, 2015

When hiking at Silver Falls, visiting the Oregon Gardens or Mt Angel Abby or any of the many regional nurseries, we always make it a point to dine at the Silver Grille. Its location in the heart of Silverton is perfect for roaming around this interesting and entertaining little town. The food is delicious and the service is always prompt and welcoming. It compares favorably with many of the better well known Portland eateries.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Butternut squash soup was AWESOME!

vip
Dined on November 2, 2015

Butternut squash soup was AWESOME!

food4
ambience4
service4

Nice find.

Dined on October 11, 2015

Drove over from Salem for dinner and it was well worth the trip. Interesting and nicely prepared appetizer and entree options. I enjoyed the lamb shank with ratatouille special -- very flavorful. The atmosphere is nice but not at all stuffy. Service friendly and efficient. The wine list not huge but more than adequate. I would definitely return when I'm back in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service

Dined on October 10, 2015

Celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary here last week. Service was outstanding. Food exceptional. Choices you love, but don't make at home (Duck, Lamb). Pleasant atmosphere with elegance. Will return here on our next visit to Silverton, Oregon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

October evening at the Silver Grill

Dined on October 8, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

a gem

Dined on October 1, 2015

had a fabulous dinner at the silver grille with friends. None of us had been there before. Outstanding food and terrific service. Food was fresh and prepared perfectly. We are accustomed to large city great food; this was comparable to a high end big city spot, but with charm and small town comfort. Thanks for such a memorable experience. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find!

Dined on September 13, 2015

From appetizer to dessert we were not disappointed. Just wish we lived closer so we could eat here more often!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

delightful!

Dined on September 5, 2015

The freshness of the ingredients and the quality of the food were both most impressive. Many thanks to our server and the chef for their recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Silver Grille would fit in easily in the ...

Dined on September 4, 2015

Silver Grille would fit in easily in the heart of a big city known for its great restaurants. Nothing went wrong. The well-curated, local menu was filled with unusual food pairings which delighted our palates. We had a fresh, juicy peach and tomato salad, a slow-cooked beef dish with house made pasta and an amazingly rich sauce, and perfectly cooked tri-tip steak with perfectly sautéed potatoes, fresh local vegetables, and another amazing sauce. The dessert chef is a magician. We had a dome of chocolate mousse with a blackberry mousse inside it covered with chocolate ganache and garnished with blackberries and cream, and a fresh peach and almond tart with vanilla ice cream. The wine list is extremely carefully selected. It includes European wines but emphasizes the best of the locals. Our Barbera was from an outstanding Oregon winemaker and was perfect with the two beef dishes. The small-town location is belied by the sophistication of the food and wine, but also by the tasteful design of the small restaurant and by the attentive service. For us it was an anniversary dinner, but we'll be back for everyday dinners too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful evening!

Dined on August 27, 2015

we shared another amazing meal at The Silver Grille again this past week. The food was some of the best I've enjoyed at a restaurant in years! I highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Not this one

Dined on July 24, 2015

This place redeemed Silverton as a food destination. Definitely would go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Every Time!

Dined on July 19, 2015

The French trained chef is amazing! we have been here several times and he consistently delivers perfection! The Trip Tip Beef just melted in your mouth! The atmosphere is cozy and quiet very intimate. The staff is friendly. It is our favorite restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a gem!!

Dined on July 19, 2015

We were visiting Silverton for a wedding and several locals suggested the Silver Grille for dinner. What a great find! It was truly the best dinner we have thoroughly enjoyed in years. A husband and wife own the restaurant, she warmly greeted us and suggested a fantastic wine. Her husband is the chef and his skills rival those of any big city chef. The menu changes daily and we were lucky enough to begin with a generous plate of housemade mozzarella, ricotta cheese and heirloom tomatoes. If that was the only dish I ate I would have been thrilled. So good! We then enjoyed some of the best prepared fresh salmon ever, with a delicate sauce and perfectly prepared vegetables. The homemade fettuccine served with slow roasted meat was savory and filling. We practically licked our plates clean as all the sauces were expertly prepared and well matched for the dishes. We will definitely come back to the Silver Grille next time we are in town and just wished this gem was closer to our own home. Do not pass up this wonderful little restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Silver Grille is one of the best in OR.

Dined on June 18, 2015

Located in the small and pretty town of Silverton, Silver Grille is a premier restaurant, featuring locally grown foods and sophisticated food preparation. The soups are always particularly fine. Dining here is always a special experience. A true family run restaurant with a small staff, it brings to mind wonderful places in small towns in France.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

HIghly recommend for a special occasion!

Dined on June 14, 2015

We celebrated our 24th anniversary at Silver Grille and it was a very good experience. Excellent food and service! We definitely plan to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A delight

Dined on June 7, 2015

We were welcomed warmly. Great attention was paid to my food allergy needs. The service was attentive but not obtrusive. The food was very nicely prepared and delicious. Bravo.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect place to celebrate a birthday!

Dined on May 31, 2015

My husband & I went to Silver Grille for the 2nd time this past weekend and were as pleased with it the 2nd time around as we were the first. My friend and I shared some appetizers and found them delicious, intriguing combinations of flavors, and filling! I appreciate how many gluten-free options there are on the menu. Makes it very easy for me to dine there!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food. Thank U Jeff..

Dined on May 16, 2015

The waitress was pleasant and friendly. We celebrated my sons 18th Birthday .Jeff made a special steak dinner for hum, he liked it so much he thanked the chef Jeff..

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Continued Excellence, Silver Grill

Dined on May 11, 2015

The owner of the Silver Gill in Silverton, Oregon, continues to be on of this state's great chefs. A quiet little restaurant with wonderful local foods and an impressive wine list. Well worth the trip from Salem. in addition to a wonderful meal, we had one of the best desserts ever to finish the meal. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food and service nd presen ...

Dined on April 25, 2015

As always the food and service nd presentation was wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great at Silver Grille

Dined on April 25, 2015

This little restaurant in the little town of Silverton is a gem. It consistently serves up the best in fine dining. We have been there at least 6 times and have never been disappointed. The food is wonderful and the service superb. The wine list is very good and reasonably priced. One of their specials this time was slow cooked tri tip which was melt in your mouth good. I asked for a cocktail before dinner, explaining to our waitress how I liked it, and it came out perfect. A perfect dinner. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great little Gem

vip
Dined on March 29, 2015

Great little gem in a small town. Servers were helpful and friendly. Caesar salad was very good. Main course was outstanding and the chocolate dome dessert with grand marnier and raspberry was heavenly! Great find

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

A Great Find

Dined on March 26, 2015

Wonderful food! We had the tri-trip and the spinach salad. The tri-tip was cooked to perfection with a demi glace that was to live for! Husband and wife team very attentive to guests. We will definitely make this a stop on our next trip to the area

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an outstanding restuarant and on ...

Dined on February 22, 2015

This is an outstanding restuarant and on par with any of the better Portland restuarants. I have always been impressed with Chef Nizlek's use of fresh local organic ingredients, modern and traditional cooking techniques and consistent delivery of high quality fantastic meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing!

Dined on December 28, 2014

The food was great, staff friendly and helpful. We were hoping With a smaller menu it would be easy to make a decision but it all sounded too good we loved it so much we tried to make reservations for the next night but they were already full. Will definitely go again next time we are in the neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.