Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.24mi
  4. Distance: 1.54mi

About Silver Grille

The Silver Grille is a small, family-owned, farm-to-table style restaurant that focuses on serving "Willamette Valley Cuisine", a dining experience focused on local products, an ever evolving menu, inspiration from the surrounding area and a classical cooking background since 2000. At the Silver Grille we work with local growers, farmers and foragers, as well as raising our own produce in our garden and family-greenhouses. We prepare fresh bread, pastas, desserts, charcuterie, salumi, and other items daily in our kitchen. The Silver Grille has recieved the Oregon Wine Press' Superior Cellars award for its dedication to Northwest produced wines. Thank you for supporting our local farms and small businesses.

206 E Main St
Silverton, OR 97381
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
S. Water Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 873-8000

Website:
http://www.silvergrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeff Nizlek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Silver Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Cozy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (2)
Vegan (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Organic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We both had an excellent meal. Relaxing nothing rushed, food arrived hot and as ordered.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food good wine from local vineyards, attentive service and reasonably priced. In the heart of Silverton. Reservation recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Best steaks in the area. Owner chef usually takes your order and can explain the menu. Wife handles the wine list.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent ~ as always! Thank you, chef and owner, Jeff Nizlec!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was cold when it arrived. The dishes were flavorful but the duck was really chewy. Don't think I'll return

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The atmosphere was very pleasant and the was very good. Would definitely recommend the lamb and they had a great wine list. Clientele was quite a bit older then I would have expected for the style of food - this restaurant would have fit perfectly on 23rd in Portland and would have drawn a much younger crowd.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was wonderful, and food was exceptional as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Was disappointed when asking about the wine options and server had not much knowledge about them and gave a snooty reply. Still had a good dinner. But the desert was a crepe layer cake which was dry and really only crepes with no flavor.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had dinner on a Friday and came back for Sunday dinner. Both meals were very good - excellent, superb preparation, generous portions, a deft hand with seasoning, wonderful plating, definitely a good value. The ambiance is exactly what we seek - small, intimate, interesting menu, great local wine selection, professional service, owner on staff. If our travel plans could change we would be back again tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This restaurant is a favorite for us. The food was excellent as always. There is a nice selection of menu items and the specials are always interesting. I had the New York steak, and it was very delicious. The service was superb as always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

First time at Silver Grill, exceptional service, delicious food and great environment...highly recommend...a wonderful evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Organic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food great service great atmosphere what more can I say treat yourself to a wonderful time

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Our Portland and Salem friends were wow-ed by dinner at the Silver Grille. Loved the food. Loved the beverages. Great service. Good experience! We will do it again...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

An outstanding and unique restaurant. Well worth the scenic drive from Portland or beyond. Innovative menu utilizing the abundant products from the Willamette Valley.
Excellent service amid classy yet unpretentious locale. Food is wonderfully selected and prepared. Creative dishes retain natural flavors and textures.
Seasonal soup with local winter vegetables is delightful and the last drop was consumed with parting sorrow.
The crusted tuna was flavorful and satisfying.
The undoubted highlight was dessert: 24 hour baked apples in a pie topped by cheddar ice cream and atop a delectable honey-like reduced spiced malted wine. Brilliant tastes and consistency combinations.
A remarkable culinary experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful as always. Jeff is a fantastic chef and his wife Naomi always takes good care of us. 😋😋😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We had visited SG for our anniversary last year, and with the exception of a small oversite, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We decided to return for my wife's birthday, and we invited some friends to join us for their first visit to the restaurant. I had called earlier in the day for a copy of the most recent menu which was e-mailed to me promptly and without hesitation. When we arrived we were seated and greeted quickly, The menus were presented and the daily specials described. Two of us had the lamb special while the other two enjoyed the slow roasted filet, also being featured for the evening. All of the meals were beautifully presented, served hot and full of flavor. We were all very pleased with both the quality of both the food and service. We have to make a little drive to get to Silveron, but a visit to Silver Grille is definitely worth the effort.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This was a truly delightful dining experience. The beef Wellington was very delicious. The service was very good and the setting very nice.
This is always a treat to have dinner at the Silver Grill.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I haven't stopped talking about the wonderful experience we had at the Silver Grille. My husband and I live in a nearby small town and are always looking for delicious food near us without having to go to the big city.
This is our go to place now! Creative menu with farm to table ingredients, wonderful small elegant atmosphere, amazing wine list! I had the cauliflower steak crusted with rice and flavorful , with fresh carrots, kohlrabi and some greens, and wild rice. My husband had lamb.
He loved it, and was intrigued since we're adding a few sheep to our farm this year.
We started with Gorgonzola bruschetta, yum. And our dessert was a pear tart, all delicious!

I've already shared our experience with many family members.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had never been to the Silver Grille before but had heard good things!! It was wonderful! Everything we had was a masterpiece!! Can not wait to go back!

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Probably the best restaurant in Silverton. Every item that we've ever tried at the restaurant has been phenomenal. If you want a downtown Portland type meal in Silverton this is the place to go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As always great food & service! Crab cakes are awesome! Thanks Jeff & Naomi!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Oregon. As good as any restaurant in Portland -- and I mean ANY.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

As usual we enjoyed our dinner very much. Had the Pineapple dessert. It was to die for. Not only was the presentation beautiful the taste was outstanding. Would absolutely order it again if it is on the menu. This restaurant never disappoints. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was out of this world. We had the tri tip and it was amazing. Great salad and great dessert. It is not inexpensive - $181 included wine by the glass for 4 people. So special occasion only for us but will go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a lovely meal at Silver Grille. We were seated by the chef himself and enjoyed interaction with the waitress as well as the co-owner. It took a moment to get our first glass of wine, this was the only hiccup in an otherwise lovely dinner. The food was delicious and the ambiance was lovely. If I return to Silverton I will have a meal there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is such a favorite of ours. The food is wonderful and local. The service was very good. Our waiter made some great recommendations that we went with and we weren't disappointed. Such a small town treasure!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We've heard good things about this restaurant and have been wanting to go for some time. We were not disappointed. The food was fantastic and the wine list is decent. The place is not stuffy - very pleasant environment and pleasant staff. It definitely lived up to our expectations and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Always great food and service. Really a special place in Silverton.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

En route to Portland for the Holidays, we decided to visit the Christmas Lights at the Oregon Garden. Met our Portland-based daughter at the Garden and then finished up the evening with a wonderful meal at the Silver Grille. Our Eugene friends had recommended it (they are true foodies) and we were not disappointed. Tri-tip was perfection and our daughter's curried chicken dish was a sensory savory delight! The restaurant is a wonderful stop off for folks visiting the Oregon Garden, hiking the trails at Silver Creek Falls, shopping the Woodburn Outlet stores and so much more!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was our 2nd time dining here. Took some friends for their anniversary celebration. It was their 1st time here. They loved it and said they would return. All of us enjoyed our dinners. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 12, 2016

priced like upper end dining very limited seating make reservation well in advance. information on website out of date.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Absolutely superb. Every morsel. We don't get to Portland for fine dining enough. We are so very fortunate to have such wonderful cusine right near us when we come down to the valley. I just cannot say enough about the service, wine and food. We will return again and again.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a fabulous time and our daughter and her family were very impressed
with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always superb! Chef/Owner (Jeff) is interactive with customers and Owner (Naomi) is also very cordial and she too participates in the dining experience. Wait staff is always very attentive. Cannot emphasize enough how fortunate Silverton is to have the Silver Grille as a premier dining destination.

Thanks, Bill

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I travel often in my position, partaking in very nice meals.

The tri tip beef, was close to the best beef I've ever had.

Very surprised.

Spectacular meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We love this due to the quality of food, wine and guidance from the owners.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was a great experience. Our waiter was friendly and fun. The vegan appetizer was so creative and flavorful. All the food was fresh and inspired!

Tags: Healthy, Vegan, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Chef always comes up outstanding new ideas.I will bet he could make a cow pie beautiful and tasty. We are always very pleased to dine at Silver Grill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Had dinner here for the first time last week. My sister and I met here for a belated birthday, after we'd spent a lot of time learning and processing at a retreat up at Mt Angel Abbey. We were there for 4 hours talking, drinking good wine and eating good food. This is a wonderful small restaurant in a great little town, with food worthy of Portland. I'll be bringing my husband back for dinner sometime!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This cozy, inviting place is well worth going out of your way for. The food is locally sourced, imaginative and delicious. Combinations of flavors can be surprising - in a good way! Highly recommended for a special occasion, or when you want to treat yourself to an excellent meal!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.