About Silver Grille

206 E Main St
Silverton, OR 97381
View Larger Map

The Silver Grille is a small, family-owned, farm-to-table style restaurant that focuses on serving "Willamette Valley Cuisine", a dining experience focused on local products, an ever evolving menu, inspiration from the surrounding area and a classical cooking background since 2000. At the Silver Grille we work with local growers, farmers and foragers, as well as raising our own produce in our garden and family-greenhouses. We prepare fresh bread, pastas, desserts, charcuterie, salumi, and other items daily in our kitchen. The Silver Grille has recieved the Oregon Wine Press' Superior Cellars award for its dedication to Northwest produced wines. Thank you for supporting our local farms and small businesses.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm.

Cross Street:
S. Water Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 873-8000

Website:
http://www.silvergrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeff Nizlek

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Silver Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Portland / Oregon
Best Food
Portland / Oregon
Best Service
Portland / Oregon
8 More
Best Ambiance
Portland / Oregon
Best Value
Portland / Oregon
Fit for Foodies
Portland / Oregon
Neighborhood Gem
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland / Oregon
Contemporary American
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Salem
Best Restaurants in Silverton ›

Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Authentic (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (9)
Healthy (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Historic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vegan (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely superb. Every morsel. We don' ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely superb. Every morsel. We don't get to Portland for fine dining enough. We are so very fortunate to have such wonderful cusine right near us when we come down to the valley. I just cannot say enough about the service, wine and food. We will return again and again.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous time and our daughter ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a fabulous time and our daughter and her family were very impressed

with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always superb! Chef/Owner (Jeff) is inte ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always superb! Chef/Owner (Jeff) is interactive with customers and Owner (Naomi) is also very cordial and she too participates in the dining experience. Wait staff is always very attentive. Cannot emphasize enough how fortunate Silverton is to have the Silver Grille as a premier dining destination.

Thanks, Bill

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I travel often in my position, partaking ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I travel often in my position, partaking in very nice meals.

The tri tip beef, was close to the best beef I've ever had.

Very surprised.

Spectacular meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this due to the quality of food, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We love this due to the quality of food, wine and guidance from the owners.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great experience. Our waiter ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was a great experience. Our waiter was friendly and fun. The vegan appetizer was so creative and flavorful. All the food was fresh and inspired!

Tags: Healthy, Vegan, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef always comes up outstanding new ide ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Chef always comes up outstanding new ideas.I will bet he could make a cow pie beautiful and tasty. We are always very pleased to dine at Silver Grill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner here for the first time last ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Had dinner here for the first time last week. My sister and I met here for a belated birthday, after we'd spent a lot of time learning and processing at a retreat up at Mt Angel Abbey. We were there for 4 hours talking, drinking good wine and eating good food. This is a wonderful small restaurant in a great little town, with food worthy of Portland. I'll be bringing my husband back for dinner sometime!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This cozy, inviting place is well worth ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This cozy, inviting place is well worth going out of your way for. The food is locally sourced, imaginative and delicious. Combinations of flavors can be surprising - in a good way! Highly recommended for a special occasion, or when you want to treat yourself to an excellent meal!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent small restaurant, chef introdu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent small restaurant, chef introduced himself and discussed the meal, unique appetizer, excellent soup and lamb main course. One of the best restaurants I have been to Including in LA, Portland, or La Quinta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Silver ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was our first time dining at Silver Grille. The food was excellent,service was very attentive. They had a Corn Soup the night we dined and it was to die for. We even bought some to take home. Would highly recommend this restaurant although I don't think it is the type of restaurant you want to take small children to. We will be returning again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to many fine dinners at the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 19, 2016

We have been to many fine dinners at the Silver Grill. Jeff never fails to deliver on the promise of fine food and great ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant off the beaten path! L ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great restaurant off the beaten path! Locally sourced and owner-grown vegetables crafted to make great tasting and visually stunning dishes. And at very reasonable prices given the quality of the food. Drive out of your way to dine at this dinner only bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Located in an old brick building in down ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Located in an old brick building in downtown Silverton. Nicely painted and decorated, with an urban, sophisticated look. Friendly, attentive wait staff. Small menu. Everything we tasted was positively commented on, including the two appetizers. (4 diners) All of the plates were nicely presented, with just the right amount of food. The rabbit was particularly good. An excellent overall dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful as always, food and service ar ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful as always, food and service are consistently great. We are lucky enough to live in Silverton and eat here several times a year but worth the drive for our friends in the Portland area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant decor. Great food and lovely am ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Elegant decor. Great food and lovely ambience. I loved the atmosphere of the restaurant and the food was excellent. Interesting use of local foods. The chef made an exception and prepared a special entree due to my request of a particular item which I saw on the menu the previous day. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A great dining experience. This restaur ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2016

A great dining experience. This restaurant is a favorite of ours because it always has great food and a lovely ambience.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Silver Grille was the first restaurant w ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Silver Grille was the first restaurant we had dinner at when we arrived in Oregon. We loved everything about our experience there. The restaurant is small and quaint with excellent service. From the salads and appetizers to the entrees and desserts -- everything was absolutely delicious. We're looking forward to returning to Silver Grille when we visit Oregon again.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Silver Grille twice for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been to Silver Grille twice for special occasions and find the ambiance and food to be excellent. This restaurant is a real treat and well priced for the quality and attention to detail you receive.

Take the scenic back road to Silverton and spend time walking around the charming downtown area afterward - great fun and exceptionally enjoyable. We will return again and again.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here while staying at the Orego ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We dined here while staying at the Oregon Garden Resort. My husband ordered the lamb special and it was prepared to perfection. I had the ravioli and loved it. The service was friendly, fun and informative. True farm to table experience, even the mozzarella was made in house. We won't wait for our next visit to the Oregon Garden to dine here again, it's worth the drive from Hillsboro.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place, Jeff and Naomi are a ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We love this place, Jeff and Naomi are amazing and the food always delights! Just the BEST!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our new favorite restaurant for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is our new favorite restaurant for special occasions. The food is locally produced, environmentally friendly, and prepared well. Each dish is artfully presented. The tomato and mozzarella salad was particularly beautiful, and the heirloom tomatoes were delicious. I ordered pork medallions with assurance that the pig from which they came was treated humanely on a local farm.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service, great food, very attentiv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great service, great food, very attentive, comfortable setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love eating at the Silver Grille. F ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love eating at the Silver Grille. Friendly service, great food and wonderful desserts!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place out of the way and perfect ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awesome place out of the way and perfect for a romantic evening. Spent our anniversary there and the food and service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Food and servi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great dining experience. Food and service were excellent. Family owned and it shows . The chef had a wonderful visit at our table and the food was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We most appreciated how genuinely welcom ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We most appreciated how genuinely welcoming, attentive and knowledgeable everyone who we interacted with at Silver Grille was. Everything we ordered was presented as well as it tasted. Love that they support local farms and ranches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found this restaurant from Open Table ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We found this restaurant from Open Table reviews, and we were definitely not disappointed. What a wonderful find in little Silverton. It would have been a wonderful find on NW 23rd or SE Division in Portland! The food, wine, service and ambience were all excellent. We'll definitely go back and have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious as it always is. ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was delicious as it always is. The service was very good and attentive. The chef circulate around the table ask how the dinner was and ask what we might need. It was a superb dinning experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the few places where, no matter t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 18, 2016

One of the few places where, no matter the menu, I always find something unique but not weird. I love dining here and would come back often if I lived closer. On our last visit we had a delicious Oregon Pinot Noir to complement our opening "Naughty Librarian" salad :-) and the strawberry tomato gazpacho. Both refreshing and delicious. For entrees we enjoyed a perfect Oregon albacore filet with fresh pesto and the crispy polenta complemented by a vibrant and flavorful ratatouille. The blackberry mousse with yogurt crumbles made a perfect ending to a pure Oregon meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Jeff and Naomi were very accommodat ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Chef Jeff and Naomi were very accommodating, even letting us bring flowers for the table and candles for the birthday dessert down earlier in the day. Great food, good fun!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very interesting & delicious find in the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very interesting & delicious find in the small town of Silverton. A true delight. Very friendly and sophisticated staff.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

delicious food, great presentation and f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2016

delicious food, great presentation and friendly service. We split a salad and tri-tip dinner and enjoyed the smaller portions with the professional presentation. Nice spot to bring out-of - town guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent food and service. Exqui ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always excellent food and service. Exquisite local foods with an eye for presentation. Price is quite reasonable for the qualityquality.

We will be back as often as we can.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Silver Grille is a true anchor to the cu ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Silver Grille is a true anchor to the cute, quaint town of Silverton. There are a few places to eat and drink in this area and although they are quite good, Silver Grille is the best of them. The service is excellent and the food quality is on par with many of the better restaurants found in Portland. The wine list is VERY good for a smaller restaurant in a smaller town. I highly recommend coming here when you're in the area and I would recommend a reservation even on the week days.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

There we 3 people in our party. Two of ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2016

There we 3 people in our party. Two of our dinners were very good. The third - pork cutlets - were dry and unflavorful. We told the waiter but he did not seem to be that interested. Caesar salads were plentiful but not a lot of flavor. The featured salad was very good. Desserts were good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything about Silver Grille was amazi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything about Silver Grille was amazing! When my husband's cousins from Georgia came to visit, we wanted to take them to dinner someplace for local cuisine and ambiance. We found Silver Grille, and decided to give them a try.

From the moment we walked in, the experience was perfect. We were seated immediately. The drinks were wonderful. Dinner was superb! There were four of us in our party; we each ordered something different, and we were each delighted with our selection.

We will definitely be back to Silver Grille!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktails, wine, special appetizer, entr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Cocktails, wine, special appetizer, entrees and dessert were all wonderful and such a great deal. $122 total.

When I reserved the table, I mentioned it was our anniversary and when they brought dessert. Each of our plates had "Happy Anniversary" spelled out in chocolate on the plate. Such a nice end to a fabulous meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed with food, service or ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Never disappointed with food, service or ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef and his wife service the tables and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Chef and his wife service the tables and are happy to chat with diners about the food and wine. Fresh local ingredients, something for everyone. The bruschetta, the mushroom tart, the ravioli, the asparagus bisque and the berry mousse are outstanding. This is my third time here; we come whenever we are in town. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.