About Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor

103 Silver St.
Dover, NH 03820
View Larger Map

Serving Luncheon and High Tea, from soups, quiches, sandwiches, and salads to the fancy 3-tiered "Duchess" featuring delectable mini-sandwiches, scones w/Devonshire cream & lemon curd, finished with petite fours - for a full menu please see our website - you can reserve from there as well. Come enjoy our relaxing atmosphere in our beautiful 1871 Victorian Bed & Breakfast in historic Dover, NH. We also sell gift certificates, Bee House tea pots, over 22 flavors of loose leaf tea, tea wallets and cozies plus jewelry, 18" doll clothes and other fine gifts! Reservations are preferred to be able to offer optimum service and availability.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cushing St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(603) 750-4200

Website:
http://www.silverfountain.com/

Entertainment:
Soft music playing, live piano occassionally

Parking Details:
Maximum on property is 15, on street parking available as well

Public Transit:
UNH, Coast

Executive Chef:
Pamela Pidgeon

Private Party Facilities:
Private functions such as Wedding or Baby Showers, Birthday or Tea Parties, Bereavement Luncheons

Private Party Contact:
Pamela Pidgeon: 6037504200x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our website for these dates and additional information

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Boston / New England
Best Service
Boston / New England
Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
10 More
Best Value
Boston / New England
Great for Brunch
Boston / New England
Great for Lunch
Boston / New England
Best Overall
New Hampshire
Best Food
New Hampshire
Best Service
New Hampshire
Best Ambiance
New Hampshire
Best Value
New Hampshire
Neighborhood Gem
New Hampshire
Special Occasion
New Hampshire
Best Restaurants in Dover ›

special occasion (21)
great for lunch (15)
romantic (13)
See All
neighborhood gem (12)
great for brunch (12)
good for groups (10)
fit for foodies (6)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
42 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING

Dined 4 days ago

wonderful place - great food - many choices of food and teas – we were too full to try the desserts but they sounded delicious - nice and quiet in the small room we ate in - not hectic or loud - we were allowed to tour all three floors and see the rooms at the inn that weren’t occupied - I liked everything about it and plan to go back - beautifully decorated restaurant and rooms

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor was ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor was a fabulous place to unwind with my close friend. We had excellent food and loose leaf tea, and the history of the house was fascinating. We felt completely welcome there, and were invited to explore the house when we finished our tea. The servers were friendly and attentive, and I will return soon with my mother and grandmother.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High Tea in NH

Dined on May 6, 2016

Beautiful historic home that has a deicious luncheon and high tea. A British touch in NH. Service was impeccable with a history lesson served up as well. Great afternoon!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great experience ! The tea was am ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

What a great experience ! The tea was amazing - all loose leaf and great flavors . The desert was also to die for . Small portions for food - unless you get a tier- the tickle your fancy is small

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful interior, the owner actually w ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Beautiful interior, the owner actually waited on us for a tea service, the tea was excellent. The owner sang happy birthday to my daughter with us and brought her out a special piece of cake with a candle. Wonderful time, will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tea

Dined on April 7, 2016

Authentic Afternoon Tea in 1820 B n B with stunning old world charm. Best afternoon tea since I lived in London & NYC. Beautiful salon exquisite rooms should you require overnight stay. Devonshire cream authentic with divine scones. Delectable sandwiches perfect for relaxation & destressing. Highly recommend

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special

Dined on February 29, 2016

Beautiful , cozy, friendly ! Had my moms 92 birthday tea here and was lovely!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food, but a little skimpy.

Dined on February 27, 2016

We enjoyed our time very much. The food was very good, but skimpy amounts for the price. We paid $5.95 for dessert sampler and pieces were cut for a fairy. The lunch was also on a micro level. I paid using an ipod given to me by waitress that had the tip amounts already figured out, which was nice, only it was based on the meal price and the tax. I thought tip was based on the meal price only. The overall experience was fun, and we were able to look around upstairs at some of the lavish rooms. The tea was delightful, and service was good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

High Tea in Dover

Dined on December 14, 2015

We had been looking for a place to have "high tea " or lunch in the the southern N.H. area and we hit the jack pot at the Silver Fountain Inn. The staff was very knowledgable about the teas and the sandwiches were tasty and inventive. We will be returning soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and food. What a be ...

Dined on November 12, 2015

Outstanding service and food. What a beautiful Inn.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and delightful!

Dined on November 3, 2015

My sister and I enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea! This has been on the "to do" list for a while; so happy to have had the experience. The tea, the service and the atmosphere were perfect. We will do this again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

A Touch of Class!

Dined on October 21, 2015

I have lived near Dover NH all my life and have only driven by the Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor however after reserving a lunch date for my parents, grandmother and myself, for sandwich lunch and tea and dining in such an amazing place with such exquisite architecture, history and you felt as if you were dining with the queen as it is rare to see such a lavish setting to dine these days. The sandwiches were good, Tea was delicious and the scone with the lemon curd was amazing. I will be going back and definitely will be passing along my recommendation to friends and family. Thank you Pam and I will watch for the lemon curd to buy someday!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great time in a beautiful home like sett ...

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

Great time in a beautiful home like setting. Perfect for an afternoon with your best friend

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place for High Tea

Dined on September 15, 2015

Loved the place and the food. My best friend and her daughter (also my goddaughter) were visiting from Virginia. Whenever we travel to each other's home, we always try to plan a high tea event. I saw this was listed as #2 in NH so I made a reservation. We drove up from Revere, MA and also included my niece and her two girls who were off from school and we all had a great time. Food was great and the selection of teas was wonderful. The inn is a step back in time and it was just gorgeous. Highly recommend you can't go wrong

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We all had a great experience.

Dined on August 11, 2015

The food and atmosphere were great. We look forward to returning for one of their theme events. Even the kids loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

What a nice place for a quiet lunch or t ...

Dined on August 3, 2015

What a nice place for a quiet lunch or tea. How wonderful to see an entrepreneur working so hard to make it work. Pam makes it very personal.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of Dover's Hidden Gems!

Dined on July 28, 2015

I live nearby but never realized the Tea Parlor was there along with the stately Silver Street Inn...until I found an online deal and decided to check it out. I'm so glad I did! I planned a "Mommy and Me" tea with my 10-year-old daughter and surprised her one afternoon. Upon entering, you are transported to another time...the parlor is so beautiful! Carved plaster ceilings, crystal doorknobs, the fireplace, canvased walls and tapestries, there's so much to see! On the piano was a tray of freshly made cookies and a pitcher of strawberry cucumber water, decorated with some lace and a sparkling brooch, and a visitor's book you can sign. There are beautiful flowers on the tables and the mantle, and the servers can give you some wonderful background stories about the house and the family that once lived there. Cabinets in some of the rooms hold wares made by local artisans that you can look at and purchase if you wish. Then we were seated and given our menus...22 teas to choose from! We were each served our own pots of tea and a three-tiered serving tray filled with finger sandwiches, scones, lemon curd and fresh cream, and topped with petit fours...my daughter could hardly contain her excitement. Her eyes widened as the serving platter was placed before us. Our meal was as delicious as it looked, and the arrangements of the food and tea was as beautiful as the rooms that surrounded us. My daughter fell silent as we were finishing our meal, holding our last cups of tea. I asked her if she was ok and she said to me in a quiet voice, "Yes, mom, I'm fine...it's just that this is the best surprise...ever!" She had just been overwhelmed. It was the best thing I'd ever heard! Now we've been back for Mother's Day, a special lunch with my son (yes, guys like it, too!), and most recently brought my sisters in for Sister's Day Brunch! I would encourage everyone to give them a try...I'm so happy we did!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful lunch

Dined on July 18, 2015

This antique is beautiful place to enjoy a delicious lunch with friends. The food is excellent and creatively presented. It is quiet and interesting. Would recommend this to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Hummingbird Tea

Dined on June 30, 2015

This was our second visit to The Silver Fountain Inn for tea. The tea is wonderful, so many choices! Overall we liked the food but not the cucumber sandwiches, they tasted like vineager. The chicken salad had lots of nuts and fruit but was flat tasting. We will go back and try something different. The Scones are the best thing on the plate...to die for!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful

Dined on June 29, 2015

The Inn is beautiful and I love that they kept everything original. The food is amazing and very reasonably priced. They are kid friendly and provided a highchair for my 9mo son. However, I would get a sitter next time because it's really best for adults.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Mommy and Me

Dined on May 23, 2015

Such a great experience with my daughter. She thought she was so fancy and we had such a great a time at mommy and me tea time. We will definitely return for another fun and yummy afternoon.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Adorable spot for afternoon tea!

vip
Dined on May 23, 2015

A hidden gem discovered thanks to OpenTable! A friend and I enjoyed a delightful afternoon tea in the beautiful dining room (straight out of a Downton Abbey set). Afternoon tea features a huge selection of teas, delicious fresh scones, mini sandwiches and lovely desserts. Fun for kids, girlfriends or even adventurous couples. The staff was lovely, attentive and friendly. Only an hour from Boston and well worth the trip! Also not far from Kittery (outlet malls) and Portland, Maine.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

It is always a treat to have lunch or te ...

Dined on May 15, 2015

It is always a treat to have lunch or tea at Silver Fountain Inn. Thanks Pam.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service5

Cute

Dined on April 4, 2015

It was a lovely setting with great service. We had tea for four with a three tiered tray of sandwiches, scones, and sweets. The scones where delicious. The many sweets; cookies, cake, cupcakes, and chocolates, were to everyone's liking. The savory foods were wanting for some seasoning. I had called ahead to let them know that one of our party had celiac disease and would need gluten free options, but the message wasn't relayed to the staff. The celiac sufferer ended up ordering a salad to have something to eat. The salad was lovely, but needed a bit of seasoning. The tables were set beautifully and the inn was gorgeous. The tea stood up well on its own. When coming for tea, keep in mind that the experience is what you getting and the sandwiches are just so your full when you leave.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

An Historic Gem

Dined on March 18, 2015

My mom and I have gone here twice for afternoon tea. The Inn is beautiful, the food delicious and the experience memorable. It's a great way to spend the afternoon and unlike any other place around. The coconut chai tea is my favorite. If you've never had afternoon tea, go all out and get the Grand Duchess. Finger sandwiches, scones with lemon curd and Devonshire cream plus petit fours for dessert and a pot of delicious tea. Yum!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I brought my 6 year granddaughter for a ...

Dined on February 24, 2015

I brought my 6 year granddaughter for a fancy lunch in a very fancy place. She even dressed up her doll. She was sooooooooooo impressed with all the things to look at including the bedrooms. Having the kid's menu was perfect. She felt very special because of Pam's wonderful service that made her feel so grown-up. We will return! Jan

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

A Gem in Dover!

Dined on February 21, 2015

The Silver Fountain Inn has delicious food, wonderful ambiance and great service. Pam always makes us feel at home and is very attentive and sweet. It's a unique & special experience to have lunch and/or tea at the Silver Fountain - and no other place in this area even comes close!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A Must Try!

Dined on February 13, 2015

We recently discovered the tea parlor at The Silver Fountain and what a gem it is! My mother and I spent a wonderful Friday afternoon enjoying not only the ambiance but the delicious treats. Our recommendation is to splurge for The Duchess - all of the best on one tray. The inn is spectacular - the innkeeper was kind enough to share the history of the house before allowing us to experience the unoccupied rooms. A must try for anyone looking to experience culture at its best!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

A Dover gem!

Dined on January 21, 2015

Want something different. Want to enjoy tea or a meal in an exceptional atmosphere. The Silver Fountain Inn is the place. Treat yourself, a friend or a group of friends to this gem!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Great place for ladies to spend a quiet ...

Dined on October 25, 2014

Great place for ladies to spend a quiet afternoon enjoying a friends and a special lunch. Great food. Beautiful surroundings!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Tea with Family

Dined on October 4, 2014

We had a wonderful, lovely day spent having tea, lunch, and sweets. We loved the atmosphere, toured the beautiful but different rooms, and enjoyed a relaxing afternoon on a rainy day. Perfect! We will go back. We have even considered holding a special event such as a bridal shower. o

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Afternoon

Dined on October 2, 2014

We had a delightful afternoon lunch. I will definitely return again. Thank you for a wonderful day!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved It!

Dined on July 30, 2014

We had a wonderful lunch sitting outside on the porch. Food was delicious, the mango ice tea was delicious. The service was perfect and we enjoyed touring the inn, it's beautiful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A perfect venue

Dined on May 15, 2014

This is casual elegance at its best. Food was delicious and the tea was perfect. Strongly recommend if you are looking for a light fare in a charming atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful High tea service!

Dined on May 10, 2014

The Silver Fountain has a wonderful high tea service. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting or from the area! Wonderful people, excellent friendly service, delicious food!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service4

Disappointing

Dined on May 7, 2014

I've been to the Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor a number of times, but each time I go it seems the food isn't as good as the last time. My friend and I both had chicken salad with grapes & kiwi; however, I found 1/2 grape and my friend had a whole grape. Neither of us had kiwi. The chicken was mashed like baby food. Very disappointing. Two sandwiches, an ice tea, a hot tea and a plate of four cookies for $33. Disappointing.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Victorian Afternoon Tea

Dined on May 3, 2014

We went for afternoon tea on 5/3/14 and had a wonderful time. The food was delicious and beautifully presented on 3 tiers, (we ordered the Duchess from the menu). We were also treated to a tour and history of the Silver Fountain Inn and area. We plan on returning to try some of the savories on the full lunch and dinner menus. We were delighted to hear of the special events such as, "Downton Abbey and Who Done Its" and are looking forward to participating and staying at the Inn. If you enjoy good food, beautiful atmosphere and elegance in a historical home without being stuffy, this is a perfect place. Enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Ladies luncheon

Dined on May 1, 2014

This was all we expected. Elegant, quiet yet friendly and delicious. We lingered over the lunch and never felt hurried. We will definitely be back.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Dover's best kept secret!

Dined on April 8, 2014

This place really is a hidden gem! Went there twice last week while visiting family-once for a lovely pot of tea and homemade scones with a friend, and once for a special occasion luncheon, featuring high tea. Both times the service was outstanding, and the food delicious. Felt like we were in a Newport mansion, right here in the middle if Dover, NH!! The decor is breathtaking, the live entertainment just right-violinist playing quietly near the fireplace. After we ate, we were given a history of the place and a tour of some of the rooms. We will definitely come again for tea and to stay overnight in one of the wonderfully decorated guest rooms. I cannot say enough about this place, and the innkeepers are friendly and professional...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3

QUIET LUNCH PLACE TO TALK

Dined on February 27, 2014

The Silver Lattern Inn and Tea Room is a lovely place to meet friends and have a quiet chat over lunch or tea. Menu is light fare and ambience is delightful.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.