About Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor

103 Silver St.
Dover, NH 03820
View Larger Map

Serving Luncheon and High Tea, from soups, quiches, sandwiches, and salads to the fancy 3-tiered "Duchess" featuring delectable mini-sandwiches, scones w/Devonshire cream & lemon curd, finished with petite fours - for a full menu please see our website - you can reserve from there as well. Come enjoy our relaxing atmosphere in our beautiful 1871 Victorian Bed & Breakfast in historic Dover, NH. We also sell gift certificates, Bee House tea pots, over 22 flavors of loose leaf tea, tea wallets and cozies plus jewelry, 18" doll clothes and other fine gifts! Reservations are preferred to be able to offer optimum service and availability.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cushing St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(603) 750-4200

Website:
http://www.silverfountain.com/

Entertainment:
Soft music playing, live piano occassionally

Parking Details:
Maximum on property is 15, on street parking available as well

Public Transit:
UNH, Coast

Executive Chef:
Pamela Pidgeon

Private Party Facilities:
Private functions such as Wedding or Baby Showers, Birthday or Tea Parties, Bereavement Luncheons

Private Party Contact:
Pamela Pidgeon: 6037504200x

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our website for these dates and additional information

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Boston / New England
Best Service
Boston / New England
Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
10 More
Best Value
Boston / New England
Great for Lunch
Boston / New England
Special Occasion
Boston / New England
Best Overall
New Hampshire
Best Food
New Hampshire
Best Service
New Hampshire
Best Ambiance
New Hampshire
Best Value
New Hampshire
Romantic
New Hampshire
Special Occasion
New Hampshire
Best Restaurants in Dover ›

Cozy (14)
Afternoon Tea (14)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Great for Lunch (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Historic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (5)
Casual (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
71 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a hidden gem on a main route! Th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is a hidden gem on a main route! The building has original period decor and has been beautifully maintained. The food was perfectly prepared, the menu is updated monthly and the atmosphere is intimate. We are lucky to live the area as this is sure to become a regular place for us to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was absolutely blown away by the after ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I was absolutely blown away by the afternoon tea my mother and I enjoyed. Both of us have had afternoon tea in a true tea room in England, and we both thought the Silver Fountain Tea Parlor was better in every aspect. The tea selection had a flavor for everyone, the food was delicious, and the petite flours were better than the ones we had in England. I am definitely going back!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Tea in New England! The Inn is ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The best Tea in New England! The Inn is beautiful. Pam is so friendly & welcoming. I always have a wonderful afternoon tea at the Silver Fountain Inn!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our grand daughter for her first ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We took our grand daughter for her first afternoon tea. It was perfect! The staff was outstanding and very accommodating to what we needed. We are hoping we have started a traditional yearly afternoon tea.

Tags: Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Ambience was lovely---relaxing, quiet a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Ambience was lovely---relaxing, quiet and pleasant. Sandwiches however were a bit of a disappointment. Sweet potato rollup with was dry, grilled cheese was just okay, hummus sandwich was not very flavorful but the chicken croissant was delicious. Very nice selection of teas! The butternut squash soup was outstanding and the scones were some of the best I've had. Will definitely return but would like to see more traditional tea sandwiches.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This was the first time for 4 of the 6 o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was the first time for 4 of the 6 of us. Everyone enjoyed it very much. Our server, Kelly, was fabulous; warm and friendly, fun and helpful. The ambience is lovely, the table settings charming, the food excellent. It was just a great time for the 6 of us and we all proclaimed "We are coming back again."

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a last minute decision, sister' ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was a last minute decision, sister's birthday treat. Lunchtime on Friday they were at capacity but treated us as if we were the only diners there!! Perfect girl's spot, likely too fussy/fancy appearing for most men, but fear not;the food succeeds where the decor might intimidate.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our host greeted and seated us immediate ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our host greeted and seated us immediately. The dining area is cozy and intimate; very well appointed. We were expecting a lovely tea room experience and the Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Room did not disappoint! Would definitely recommend the Tea Room for a special occasion with the girls.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My two friends and I came here for a fun ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2016

My two friends and I came here for a fun little excursion while on vacation in Portsmouth, which is about 15 minutes away. We wanted something quaint and different and we found it! It was a quiet, relaxing place that Has such a beautiful old interior. We had tea and scones, both of which were extremely delicious. I even bought a bag of the tea that I had because it was one of the most unique blends I've ever tasted! I would highly recommend!! We went in the afternoon on a Wednesday, so we were the only ones there but I bet it would be great during its busier times! Thanks So much, Silver Fountain, For adding something special to our trip!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the Silver Fountain Inn and Tea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We found the Silver Fountain Inn and Tea Parlor very quaint and and cozy. The scones melt in your mouth and meals and desserts was delicious. There is a large selection of tea from which to choose. We enjoyed our afternoon tea immensely!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience! The food and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We had a great experience! The food and tea were so wonderful. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking to step back in time ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2016

If you are looking to step back in time to an age of elegance, you won't go wrong with the Silver Fountain. The personal, friendly service complements the ambiance to create a wholly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it, as did my guest. Both of us pl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Loved it, as did my guest. Both of us plan to again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Duchess Tea was lovely. My sister an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The Duchess Tea was lovely. My sister and I shared it for lunch and it was more than enough food served in a pretty Victorian setting along with individual very large pots of tea for each of us. We recommend it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant. I took my young daughter and no ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Elegant. I took my young daughter and now she wants to lead the glamorous life! (I joke but it's true.)

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful, tasty experience and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2016

It was a wonderful, tasty experience and I plan to visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here to celebrate a friend's 85t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We went here to celebrate a friend's 85th birthday. We had the afternoon high tea, a large three tiered server with 4 sandwiches each, warm scones with lemon curd and clotted cream, and at least three desserts each. A LOT of food, but we did it justice! Food was yummy, ambiance very Victorian in a beautiful sunny room. They had at least 25 kinds of tea and we each had our own old fashioned teapot. Overall, a nice relaxing experience.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to the Inn for ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was our first visit to the Inn for lunch, it certainly will not be the last. The dining room was perfect, as was the service. We went for lunch and were surprised at their very update menu. We finished it off with tea and dessert. A three tiered dessert tray with small desserts to go with our tea. The owner also gave us the history on the house (built in the mid-eighteen hundreds) and let us visit some of the rooms that were not occupied by guests. All, in all, a very pleasant afternoon for us and our guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A charming Victorian restaurant with a l ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 8, 2016

A charming Victorian restaurant with a luncheon menu of scrumptious delights!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and the Aftern ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service was excellent and the Afternoon Tea didn't disappoint; the ambience was everything you would want for Afternoon Tea and I would definitely recommend this for lunch or tea.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a ladies' get together for high tea ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had a ladies' get together for high tea and loved it! Wonderful ambiance and great helpful service. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I enjoyed our birthday lun ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 26, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed our birthday lunch. My salad was good, and the scone was very good.

Neither of us liked the fruit infused iced tea. I thought the desserts were good, though

pricey. Certainly would come again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Once again the Silver Fountain Inn did n ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Once again the Silver Fountain Inn did not disappoint! I introduced another friend to a quiet "girlfriend" lunch getaway. Everything was delicious. Enjoyed the iced lavender lemonade-- hit the spot in a warm Summer afternoon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time, 6 of us were easil ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a lovely time, 6 of us were easily accommodated. The meal was scrumptious and very nicely presented. The staff was congenial, the atmosphere inviting and relaxing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had afternoon tea at the Silver Fount ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had afternoon tea at the Silver Fountain Inn and Tea Parlor and it was wonderful. We did not feel rushed, had time to truly enjoy the experience, and loved the food. The service was excellent and we would absolutely recommend the Silver Fountain to our friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice Tea experience. The service w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Very nice Tea experience. The service was excellent and the ambiance was very nice. Would definitely recommend and will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The inn is gorgeous - tables were set el ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The inn is gorgeous - tables were set elegantly - you feel special going there - a special treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High tea at 18th century Inn.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2016

I've been to this 18th century Inn for HighTea several times. Each time is different due to the fact that the Inn changes the menu monthly. Most of their decor is original to the Inn. Itisworththetrip Since it is a working Inn they are only open from 11amto last seating of 3:30 pm. They are open for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 25, 2016

wonderful place - great food - many choices of food and teas – we were too full to try the desserts but they sounded delicious - nice and quiet in the small room we ate in - not hectic or loud - we were allowed to tour all three floors and see the rooms at the inn that weren’t occupied - I liked everything about it and plan to go back - beautifully decorated restaurant and rooms

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time at Silver Founta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2016

This was my second time at Silver Fountain and had a very similar experience. The woman who runs the place is very nice and accommodating. She enquired about my food allergies as they're listed with Open Table. The variety of teas and treats was great. As last time, we had the place to ourselves. The sandwiches were creative and delicious, many of the cakes though are very clearly store bought which was disappointing. I would recommend Silver Fountain and will also return, this fills a niche in the area. I'm sure if business picked up, it would make sense for them to make their own pastries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2016

The Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor was a fabulous place to unwind with my close friend. We had excellent food and loose leaf tea, and the history of the house was fascinating. We felt completely welcome there, and were invited to explore the house when we finished our tea. The servers were friendly and attentive, and I will return soon with my mother and grandmother.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High Tea in NH

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Beautiful historic home that has a deicious luncheon and high tea. A British touch in NH. Service was impeccable with a history lesson served up as well. Great afternoon!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great experience ! The tea was am ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2016

What a great experience ! The tea was amazing - all loose leaf and great flavors . The desert was also to die for . Small portions for food - unless you get a tier- the tickle your fancy is small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful interior, the owner actually w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Beautiful interior, the owner actually waited on us for a tea service, the tea was excellent. The owner sang happy birthday to my daughter with us and brought her out a special piece of cake with a candle. Wonderful time, will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tea

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Authentic Afternoon Tea in 1820 B n B with stunning old world charm. Best afternoon tea since I lived in London & NYC. Beautiful salon exquisite rooms should you require overnight stay. Devonshire cream authentic with divine scones. Delectable sandwiches perfect for relaxation & destressing. Highly recommend

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 29, 2016

Beautiful , cozy, friendly !

Had my moms 92 birthday tea here and was lovely!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but a little skimpy.

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 27, 2016

We enjoyed our time very much. The food was very good, but skimpy amounts for the price. We paid $5.95 for dessert sampler and pieces were cut for a fairy. The lunch was also on a micro level. I paid using an ipod given to me by waitress that had the tip amounts already figured out, which was nice, only it was based on the meal price and the tax. I thought tip was based on the meal price only. The overall experience was fun, and we were able to look around upstairs at some of the lavish rooms. The tea was delightful, and service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

High Tea in Dover

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2015

We had been looking for a place to have "high tea " or lunch in the the southern N.H. area and we hit the jack pot at the Silver Fountain Inn. The staff was very knowledgable about the teas and the sandwiches were tasty and inventive. We will be returning soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and food. What a be ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2015

Outstanding service and food. What a beautiful Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and delightful!

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2015

My sister and I enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea! This has been on the "to do" list for a while; so happy to have had the experience. The tea, the service and the atmosphere were perfect. We will do this again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.