About Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor

103 Silver St.
Dover, NH 03820
View Larger Map

Serving Luncheon and High Tea, from soups, quiches, sandwiches, and salads to the fancy 3-tiered "Duchess" featuring delectable mini-sandwiches, scones w/Devonshire cream & lemon curd, finished with petite fours - for a full menu please see our website - you can reserve from there as well. Come enjoy our relaxing atmosphere in our beautiful 1871 Victorian Bed & Breakfast in historic Dover, NH. We also sell gift certificates, Bee House tea pots, over 22 flavors of loose leaf tea, tea wallets and cozies plus jewelry, 18" doll clothes and other fine gifts! Reservations are preferred to be able to offer optimum service and availability.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cushing St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(603) 750-4200

Website:
http://www.silverfountain.com/

Entertainment:
Soft music playing, live piano occassionally

Parking Details:
Maximum on property is 15, on street parking available as well

Public Transit:
UNH, Coast

Executive Chef:
Pamela Pidgeon

Private Party Facilities:
Private functions such as Wedding or Baby Showers, Birthday or Tea Parties, Bereavement Luncheons

Private Party Contact:
Pamela Pidgeon: 6037504200x

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please see our website for these dates and additional information

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Boston / New England
Best Service
Boston / New England
Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
11 More
Best Value
Boston / New England
Great for Brunch
Boston / New England
Great for Lunch
Boston / New England
Special Occasion
Boston / New England
Best Overall
New Hampshire
Best Food
New Hampshire
Best Service
New Hampshire
Best Ambiance
New Hampshire
Best Value
New Hampshire
Romantic
New Hampshire
Special Occasion
New Hampshire
Best Restaurants in Dover ›

Great for Lunch (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (13)
See All
Great for Brunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
58 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Duchess Tea was lovely. My sister an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Duchess Tea was lovely. My sister and I shared it for lunch and it was more than enough food served in a pretty Victorian setting along with individual very large pots of tea for each of us. We recommend it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant. I took my young daughter and no ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Elegant. I took my young daughter and now she wants to lead the glamorous life! (I joke but it's true.)

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful, tasty experience and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

It was a wonderful, tasty experience and I plan to visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here to celebrate a friend's 85t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We went here to celebrate a friend's 85th birthday. We had the afternoon high tea, a large three tiered server with 4 sandwiches each, warm scones with lemon curd and clotted cream, and at least three desserts each. A LOT of food, but we did it justice! Food was yummy, ambiance very Victorian in a beautiful sunny room. They had at least 25 kinds of tea and we each had our own old fashioned teapot. Overall, a nice relaxing experience.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to the Inn for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was our first visit to the Inn for lunch, it certainly will not be the last. The dining room was perfect, as was the service. We went for lunch and were surprised at their very update menu. We finished it off with tea and dessert. A three tiered dessert tray with small desserts to go with our tea. The owner also gave us the history on the house (built in the mid-eighteen hundreds) and let us visit some of the rooms that were not occupied by guests. All, in all, a very pleasant afternoon for us and our guests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A charming Victorian restaurant with a l ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

A charming Victorian restaurant with a luncheon menu of scrumptious delights!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and the Aftern ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service was excellent and the Afternoon Tea didn't disappoint; the ambience was everything you would want for Afternoon Tea and I would definitely recommend this for lunch or tea.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a ladies' get together for high tea ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had a ladies' get together for high tea and loved it! Wonderful ambiance and great helpful service. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I enjoyed our birthday lun ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed our birthday lunch. My salad was good, and the scone was very good.

Neither of us liked the fruit infused iced tea. I thought the desserts were good, though

pricey. Certainly would come again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Once again the Silver Fountain Inn did n ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Once again the Silver Fountain Inn did not disappoint! I introduced another friend to a quiet "girlfriend" lunch getaway. Everything was delicious. Enjoyed the iced lavender lemonade-- hit the spot in a warm Summer afternoon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time, 6 of us were easil ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a lovely time, 6 of us were easily accommodated. The meal was scrumptious and very nicely presented. The staff was congenial, the atmosphere inviting and relaxing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had afternoon tea at the Silver Fount ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had afternoon tea at the Silver Fountain Inn and Tea Parlor and it was wonderful. We did not feel rushed, had time to truly enjoy the experience, and loved the food. The service was excellent and we would absolutely recommend the Silver Fountain to our friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice Tea experience. The service w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Very nice Tea experience. The service was excellent and the ambiance was very nice. Would definitely recommend and will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The inn is gorgeous - tables were set el ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The inn is gorgeous - tables were set elegantly - you feel special going there - a special treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High tea at 18th century Inn.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I've been to this 18th century Inn for HighTea several times. Each time is different due to the fact that the Inn changes the menu monthly. Most of their decor is original to the Inn. Itisworththetrip Since it is a working Inn they are only open from 11amto last seating of 3:30 pm. They are open for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

wonderful place - great food - many choices of food and teas – we were too full to try the desserts but they sounded delicious - nice and quiet in the small room we ate in - not hectic or loud - we were allowed to tour all three floors and see the rooms at the inn that weren’t occupied - I liked everything about it and plan to go back - beautifully decorated restaurant and rooms

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time at Silver Founta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

This was my second time at Silver Fountain and had a very similar experience. The woman who runs the place is very nice and accommodating. She enquired about my food allergies as they're listed with Open Table. The variety of teas and treats was great. As last time, we had the place to ourselves. The sandwiches were creative and delicious, many of the cakes though are very clearly store bought which was disappointing. I would recommend Silver Fountain and will also return, this fills a niche in the area. I'm sure if business picked up, it would make sense for them to make their own pastries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor was a fabulous place to unwind with my close friend. We had excellent food and loose leaf tea, and the history of the house was fascinating. We felt completely welcome there, and were invited to explore the house when we finished our tea. The servers were friendly and attentive, and I will return soon with my mother and grandmother.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High Tea in NH

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Beautiful historic home that has a deicious luncheon and high tea. A British touch in NH. Service was impeccable with a history lesson served up as well. Great afternoon!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great experience ! The tea was am ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

What a great experience ! The tea was amazing - all loose leaf and great flavors . The desert was also to die for . Small portions for food - unless you get a tier- the tickle your fancy is small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful interior, the owner actually w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Beautiful interior, the owner actually waited on us for a tea service, the tea was excellent. The owner sang happy birthday to my daughter with us and brought her out a special piece of cake with a candle. Wonderful time, will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tea

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Authentic Afternoon Tea in 1820 B n B with stunning old world charm. Best afternoon tea since I lived in London & NYC. Beautiful salon exquisite rooms should you require overnight stay. Devonshire cream authentic with divine scones. Delectable sandwiches perfect for relaxation & destressing. Highly recommend

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Beautiful , cozy, friendly !

Had my moms 92 birthday tea here and was lovely!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but a little skimpy.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We enjoyed our time very much. The food was very good, but skimpy amounts for the price. We paid $5.95 for dessert sampler and pieces were cut for a fairy. The lunch was also on a micro level. I paid using an ipod given to me by waitress that had the tip amounts already figured out, which was nice, only it was based on the meal price and the tax. I thought tip was based on the meal price only. The overall experience was fun, and we were able to look around upstairs at some of the lavish rooms. The tea was delightful, and service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

High Tea in Dover

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

We had been looking for a place to have "high tea " or lunch in the the southern N.H. area and we hit the jack pot at the Silver Fountain Inn. The staff was very knowledgable about the teas and the sandwiches were tasty and inventive. We will be returning soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and food. What a be ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Outstanding service and food. What a beautiful Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and delightful!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

My sister and I enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea! This has been on the "to do" list for a while; so happy to have had the experience. The tea, the service and the atmosphere were perfect. We will do this again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Touch of Class!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

I have lived near Dover NH all my life and have only driven by the Silver Fountain Inn & Tea Parlor however after reserving a lunch date for my parents, grandmother and myself, for sandwich lunch and tea and dining in such an amazing place with such exquisite architecture, history and you felt as if you were dining with the queen as it is rare to see such a lavish setting to dine these days. The sandwiches were good, Tea was delicious and the scone with the lemon curd was amazing. I will be going back and definitely will be passing along my recommendation to friends and family. Thank you Pam and I will watch for the lemon curd to buy someday!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great time in a beautiful home like sett ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Great time in a beautiful home like setting. Perfect for an afternoon with your best friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Place for High Tea

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2015

Loved the place and the food. My best friend and her daughter (also my goddaughter) were visiting from Virginia. Whenever we travel to each other's home, we always try to plan a high tea event. I saw this was listed as #2 in NH so I made a reservation. We drove up from Revere, MA and also included my niece and her two girls who were off from school and we all had a great time. Food was great and the selection of teas was wonderful. The inn is a step back in time and it was just gorgeous.

Highly recommend you can't go wrong

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We all had a great experience.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 11, 2015

The food and atmosphere were great. We look forward to returning for one of their theme events. Even the kids loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a nice place for a quiet lunch or t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

What a nice place for a quiet lunch or tea. How wonderful to see an entrepreneur working so hard to make it work. Pam makes it very personal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of Dover's Hidden Gems!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2015

I live nearby but never realized the Tea Parlor was there along with the stately Silver Street Inn...until I found an online deal and decided to check it out. I'm so glad I did! I planned a "Mommy and Me" tea with my 10-year-old daughter and surprised her one afternoon. Upon entering, you are transported to another time...the parlor is so beautiful! Carved plaster ceilings, crystal doorknobs, the fireplace, canvased walls and tapestries, there's so much to see! On the piano was a tray of freshly made cookies and a pitcher of strawberry cucumber water, decorated with some lace and a sparkling brooch, and a visitor's book you can sign. There are beautiful flowers on the tables and the mantle, and the servers can give you some wonderful background stories about the house and the family that once lived there. Cabinets in some of the rooms hold wares made by local artisans that you can look at and purchase if you wish. Then we were seated and given our menus...22 teas to choose from! We were each served our own pots of tea and a three-tiered serving tray filled with finger sandwiches, scones, lemon curd and fresh cream, and topped with petit fours...my daughter could hardly contain her excitement. Her eyes widened as the serving platter was placed before us. Our meal was as delicious as it looked, and the arrangements of the food and tea was as beautiful as the rooms that surrounded us. My daughter fell silent as we were finishing our meal, holding our last cups of tea. I asked her if she was ok and she said to me in a quiet voice, "Yes, mom, I'm fine...it's just that this is the best surprise...ever!" She had just been overwhelmed. It was the best thing I'd ever heard! Now we've been back for Mother's Day, a special lunch with my son (yes, guys like it, too!), and most recently brought my sisters in for Sister's Day Brunch! I would encourage everyone to give them a try...I'm so happy we did!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful lunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

This antique is beautiful place to enjoy a delicious lunch with friends. The food is

excellent and creatively presented. It is quiet and interesting. Would recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hummingbird Tea

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2015

This was our second visit to The Silver Fountain Inn for tea. The tea is wonderful, so many choices! Overall we liked the food but not the cucumber sandwiches, they tasted like vineager. The chicken salad had lots of nuts and fruit but was flat tasting. We will go back and try something different. The Scones are the best thing on the plate...to die for!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Beautiful

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2015

The Inn is beautiful and I love that they kept everything original. The food is amazing and very reasonably priced. They are kid friendly and provided a highchair for my 9mo son. However, I would get a sitter next time because it's really best for adults.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Mommy and Me

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

Such a great experience with my daughter. She thought she was so fancy and we had such a great a time at mommy and me tea time. We will definitely return for another fun and yummy afternoon.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Adorable spot for afternoon tea!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

A hidden gem discovered thanks to OpenTable! A friend and I enjoyed a delightful afternoon tea in the beautiful dining room (straight out of a Downton Abbey set). Afternoon tea features a huge selection of teas, delicious fresh scones, mini sandwiches and lovely desserts. Fun for kids, girlfriends or even adventurous couples. The staff was lovely, attentive and friendly.

Only an hour from Boston and well worth the trip! Also not far from Kittery (outlet malls) and Portland, Maine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is always a treat to have lunch or te ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

It is always a treat to have lunch or tea at Silver Fountain Inn. Thanks Pam.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Cute

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 4, 2015

It was a lovely setting with great service. We had tea for four with a three tiered tray of sandwiches, scones, and sweets. The scones where delicious. The many sweets; cookies, cake, cupcakes, and chocolates, were to everyone's liking. The savory foods were wanting for some seasoning. I had called ahead to let them know that one of our party had celiac disease and would need gluten free options, but the message wasn't relayed to the staff. The celiac sufferer ended up ordering a salad to have something to eat. The salad was lovely, but needed a bit of seasoning. The tables were set beautifully and the inn was gorgeous. The tea stood up well on its own. When coming for tea, keep in mind that the experience is what you getting and the sandwiches are just so your full when you leave.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.