About Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn

47900 State Highway 1
Big Sur, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Overlooking the Pacific Ocean with a spectacular view of the California coast, the award winning Sierra Mar Restaurant serves world-class cuisine in an awe-inspiring setting. This Big Sur restaurant features an innovative, four course, prix fixe menu, which changes daily and utilizes organic, seasonal fare. Sierra Mar offers wine selections from one of the most extensive collections in North America.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Organic, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 12:15pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 667-2800

Website:
http://postranchinn.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet as well as a private lot for parking.

Executive Chef:
John Cox

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access

Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Most Booked
Big Sur
Best Restaurants in Big Sur ›

scenic view (61)
romantic (53)
special occasion (49)
See All
fit for foodies (37)
great for lunch (27)
notable wine list (17)
great for outdoor dining (16)
hot spot (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
great for brunch (6)
 (5)
 (5)
good for groups (4)
 (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
 (2)
 (1)
late-night find (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Scenic but food does not match expectations

Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant has stunning views, but the food is lacking. First course (homemade cheese and shaved asparagus) was dry and lacking salt or acidity - very flat. Second course - fois gras, was no match to the fois gras the night before at Farmhouse Inn. Third course (Beef including a $60 supplement) was good, but not a good value. Finally, dessert was acceptable, but nothing specials. In all, nice view but food was deficient.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sierra mar overlooks the pacific ocean a ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Sierra mar overlooks the pacific ocean and is a perfect spot for lunch as well as less expensive. There is a prix fixe menu but you don't have to order all the courses and everything is always delicious, beautifully presented and unique. Dinner is very expensive and you can't really see the ocean so I always prefer a late lunch each year when I drive up to big sur.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Incredible atmosphere views and food ! F ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Incredible atmosphere views and food ! Food presentation out of this world , great wines as well! Not inexpensive though be prepared to pay !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique menu and fabulous views. Wonderfu ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Unique menu and fabulous views. Wonderful in every way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brits enjoying lunch.

Dined on May 18, 2016

We loved the position of the restaurant with the huge Windows which should have provided great views. Sadly the fog rolled in and that was all we could see. However, the friendly and helpful staff made up for that as did the superb food which was inventive and delicious. The choice of wines to accompany the dishes was excellent. We enjoyed being able to take out time and not be rushed. If ever back in the Big Sur we would certainly come again and will definitely encourage friends to visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

unforgettable view , unforgettable exper ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

unforgettable view , unforgettable experience! Be sure come to here if you travel to Big Sur.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was a great experience. My only comme ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

it was a great experience. My only comment is that my paired wines (we did the course menu with paired wines) were all from Europe. I am in Central California I would have loved to have my meal paired with a Central wine or at least a California wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Incredible View

Dined on May 9, 2016

This is the second time we have dined at Sierra Mar. The food is fresh and delicious and the view is second to none. Service is excellent and the staff is very friendly. The only complaint I have is the prix fixe menu. It's expensive and the options are limited. The food is still of very high quality but we preferred the full menu option when we first dined there in 2013. If you are a foodie and looking for a chef's choice option, you can't beat the ambiance, scenic views of the Pacific and locally grown food ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Scenic view" just does not cover it

Dined on May 6, 2016

What an amazing restaurant. The views of the Big Sur coastline are fantastic and the food and service are just excellent. For a special occasion, or just because you're passing through Big Sur, Sierra Mar is well worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Beautiful views, good food, but expensive

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal, the service and the views of Sierra Mar at the Post Ranch Inn. Even with some fog, the views here are spectacular. The food was excellent and our server was very attentive. The only downside to Sierra Mar is that you need to be able to afford it . We had two drinks and a bottle of wine with our meal - one of their lower priced wines - and the total bill for two people came to $480, including tip. If you like dining out and having new experiences, I think Sierra Mar is worth the experience at least once, but be prepared to pay a hefty price. We only ordered appetizers and entrees, not their multi-course meal, so be prepared to pay even more if you intend to go down that path.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had three course lunch with wine pair ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

We had three course lunch with wine pairings. Service was amazing: attentive when needed and never rushed. Architecture and overall feeling is so very Big Sur. This is the best hamburger ever, and the angel food cake with lemon custard was memorable. Yes, pricey, but a dining experience that is unmatchable. Memories were made!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't decide which was best - food or view.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Both food and view were absolutely terrific. Eating a wonderful Tasting Menu lunch while looking out to sea and marvelling at the antics of the Californian condors made our visit here unforgettable. The Chef really kindly was able to tweek the menu to cover our various food issues for which we were most grateful. If you are travelling along the Big Sur this is a wonderful place to have lunch or an evening meal. You need to book most of the time to be sure of table. I could not fault the attention and care taken in the making and presenting of out meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, lunch, scenic view, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful!!!!!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Absolutely wonderful!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with a view

Dined on April 21, 2016

We stopped here on a family vacation up the California coast. While planning the trip I read that this place was a must and it did not disappoint. We stopped for lunch and were treated to breathtaking views, delicious food, wonderful wine and a great staff. I highly recommend paying them a visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I was looking forward to the wine pairin ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

I was looking forward to the wine pairing but was underwhelmed. The food delightful. The ambiance perfect. Would go back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable Meal. Jaw dropping view. Fanta ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Memorable Meal. Jaw dropping view. Fantastic Service. Most Special Experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Priceless view

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was excellent, priceless view of the ocean and I will definitely come back

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Fabulous view -- teeny portions -- overpriced

Dined on April 6, 2016

The unparalleled view from the Big Sur clifftop is breathtaking. As are the prices for the teensy serving portions. One doesn't expect the Post Ranch Inn to have modest pricing, but the combination of the quite high prices (lunch was $200 for a party of three, without any drinks) with the portions so small we were very hungry after the three-course meal. Overall, count us as quite disappointed. The server spoke too quickly and too faintly to be fully understood. They served an exquisite appetizer before the three courses, and that was exceptional. The rest of the meal was merely very good.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we went here during our babymoon and lov ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

we went here during our babymoon and loved it! The food was just as excellent as the view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

unforgettable

Dined on March 29, 2016

spectacular in every way-unforgettable view, great food, great service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Staff awareness needs to improve, waitre ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Staff awareness needs to improve, waitress spilled water didn't dry it up, or notice, knowledge of menu was a weakneess

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Great view disappointing meal

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Tasting menu with a $120 price tag. Portions are small which is fine , but the taste is nothing to brag about. One of the choices was a fish or so we thought. It was actually the fried skin of a fish , well four small pieces; awful. One disappointment after another. I opted a la carter and ordered the hang steak which was extremely salty and this comes from someone who loves salty food. Two small pieces and $60! Save your money and try lunch instead. The views are spectacular.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

amazing

Dined on March 22, 2016

Excellent food, service, facility, & view. Be prepared to pay for it, but it's worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2

Not worth the trip from Philadelphia.

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Not worth the trip from Philadelphia.

food3
ambience4
service4

Very dissaointed this trip. We have been ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Very dissaointed this trip. We have been here several times and had an incredible dinner. This time not so good.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

beautiful view; excellent presentation;

Dined on March 14, 2016

Spectacular, beautiful views; excellent presentation; disappointing main courses. nice appetizers and desserts. The $50 a person cancellation penalty a bit extreme. (Things could happen on the Rt 1. Made me a bit nervous. I doubt the restaurant makes a $50 profit per person for a lunch that cost $55.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

A bit overrated.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Was so excited to just be able to eat lunch at the Post Ranch Inn and was looking forward to a great view and meal. I ended up spending $200 for two lunches with wine pairing. The food choices were just not that great and portions very small and wine poured about 2-3 oz per wine pairing. There were only 3 courses for $55 and none were really that impressive. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate either, so all in all it was a bust. Will not return to eat at the Post Ranch Inn and I hear it is cloudy quite a bit up there, so make sure you go on a clear day if you decide to blow some cash.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved being so well taken care of

Dined on March 8, 2016

The bartender was amazing The food was sublime The service was impeccable

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Great view food just fair

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

I was disappointed with the experience. Had to wait 30 min for a table even though there were 10 empty tables. There was no a la carte menu only a price fix for $55. Or a 5 course for 98. The food was so so. They really need to return to their former menu where you can order what you want.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Always perfect.

Dined on February 27, 2016

Always perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beyond the Bucket List

Dined on February 17, 2016

Everything from the view to the food was tremendous. This has always been on our list for experiences that will always be memorable. It did not disappoint. Thank you for making our lunch a moment in time that will always be remembered

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Serene. I didn't want to leave

Dined on February 15, 2016

Serene. I didn't want to leave

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Beautiful view but I'm not about set menus.

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

The view was beautiful and the service was great (although our waiter had very strong bad breath) but I was not happy about having no choice about a 3 course set menu. Not everyone wants dessert with their lunch. Other than that, the food was very good.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sierra Mar was nice

Dined on February 13, 2016

Enjoyed our price fixed lunch at Sierra Mar. The view was stunning and I loved the decor of the restaurant. My only minor complaint is that the restaurant asks that you dress in a particular way, which we did, only to find other diners in T-shirts.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The food and view were second to none. T ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

The food and view were second to none. The service was slow...to the extent that they brought two of us soup after our oysters because our wives salads took so long. Over two hours for lunch is a little much. It was such a nice day that it got too warm. Had to ask the staff to open doors to let the breeze through. They responded nicely.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paradise on Earth

Dined on February 9, 2016

This restaurant is on the cliff in Big Sur attached to Post Ranch Inn. This is one of the most beautiful spots on earth. It is my second time staying at the Inn but first at the restaurant. The food is all prepared with the environment in mind from the meat to the vegetables which are all grown on the property in the garden. The meal was excellent and I will be back to enjoy this lovely spot. As we ate we observed the sunset and the whales migrating down the coast. The whole experience was exceptional and definitely a bucket list opportunity for anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, view and service are always sp ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

The food, view and service are always spectacular!

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Not worth the price

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Had the risotto, clam pasta, Iberico special main, and cheese plate. Overall both the risotto and the pasta were unexceptional, not something I would order again. Pasta was overcooked and the seasoning was off. The egg in the risotto was unseasoned making the whole thing a bit to bland. The Iberico main was good and the cheese plate was good. Tasted my significant others chocolate desert which was way too smokey. The wine list IMHO was unimpressive given they mention having an amazing wine selection. Not even a decent Sauternes for dessert wine. You could dine far better for the same price somewhere else, but the audience is a bit captive given the location. View, service and ambience are nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

treat yourself - you only live once!

Dined on January 24, 2016

We went for lunch, and it was incredible. Obviously this is a very upscale, exclusive luxury resort, and although we weren't staying there we wanted to see what all the hype was about. We wanted to go for lunch to get the view. The restaurant is beautiful, the views are stunning (not a bad seat in the whole restaurant), and the food was absolutely phenomenal. We are big foodies and really appreciate interesting, beautiful food. Sierra Mar did not disappoint. For almost $200 (we did the tasting menu + wine pairings), it was worth every penny. The service was wonderful, the plates were beautiful (both the food and the ceramics), and you don't feel second class if you aren't staying there. When in Big Sur, treat yourself to this really lovely dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful spot for lunch

Dined on January 16, 2016

Food and service were wonderful. Perfect anniversary celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.