About Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn

47900 State Highway 1
Big Sur, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Overlooking the Pacific Ocean with a spectacular view of the California coast, the award winning Sierra Mar Restaurant serves world-class cuisine in an awe-inspiring setting. This Big Sur restaurant features an innovative, four course, prix fixe menu, which changes daily and utilizes organic, seasonal fare. Sierra Mar offers wine selections from one of the most extensive collections in North America.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Organic, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 12:15pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 667-2800

Website:
http://postranchinn.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet as well as a private lot for parking.

Executive Chef:
Elizabeth Murray

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access

Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Most Booked
Big Sur
Best Restaurants in Big Sur ›

Scenic View (69)
Special Occasion (61)
Romantic (58)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Great for Lunch (27)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Groups (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I wanted to love Sierra Mar. The pictur ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I wanted to love Sierra Mar. The pictures of the scenery online is gorgeous but it wasn't so great in person. The day that my husband and I went, it was super foggy. We drove 3.5 hours from Napa Valley just to check out the scenery. It wasn't the restaurant's fault or anything. It was just bad weather. I recommend all customers to ensure it is clear skies when making the appointment. Other than that, the staff was great. The food was ok but the ambiance is what we were going for.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Really disappointed that the restaurant ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Really disappointed that the restaurant did not inform us they had closed due to local fires. We had planned our vacation around the dining experience and without being notified we wasted 3 days of precious vacation days trying to re-organise our plans. Still no message regarding whether we will lose our security deposit. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent food and serve to match the hi ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food and serve to match the highly impressive venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romance, Special Occasions, Neighbourhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We did the 9 course wine paring. Courses ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We did the 9 course wine paring. Courses 1 thru 5 should have had 3 times the serving in 3 separate portions for each course to fully enjoy the favors . There was not simply not enough to even begin to appreciate the food/wine paring. It turned out as one experience that was "washed away by the remaining wine. At the onset we were rushed to which we asked the tempo to be "dialed back a little"..........actually it became dialed back a lot and we were at the table for nearly 6 hours !!!! The whole experience could have been much better.......and would have done justice to the incredible talent in the kitchen. Also...beyond the explanation of the origin and talents of the winemaker, we did not get a great answer on what the basis of the paring was....what to expect in the paring specifically as it related to the food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

We went with the 9 course tasting menu a ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We went with the 9 course tasting menu and had to go to an in-n-out afterwards as we were starving. Perhaps it's because we were in Big Sur, but there seems to be some serious food rationing taking place. The dishes themselves were underwhelming and reminded me of processed luncheon meat, including the translucent strip of pheasant and abalone which was steamed or boiled until all the flavour was evaporated. The dullness of the food made the dinner extremely uneventful and my husband and I was extremely bored. We couldn't wait until the dinner was finally over, which is somewhat ridiculous since we spent $500 to have a lack lustre experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

One of the most beautiful views in the w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

One of the most beautiful views in the world - but the food is unfortunately very average - real disappointment

Tags: Outdoor Eating, Romance, Special Occasions, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Great, loved it. Great service and view. ...

 
 (Raum Düsseldorf)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great, loved it. Great service and view. Food was insane.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!! Very romantic and simply exqu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Loved it!! Very romantic and simply exquisite views. Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The location is what makes this place a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The location is what makes this place a must see. The service and ambience is great however, I do believe that $55/person for lunch is steep. There was 4 of us and we each had soup, a burger/fries and dessert. The maximum price should be $25/person. We ordered drinks and coffee on top of the $55 so it came out to be a very expensive lunch. Was it worth $325 for lunch... Ummm I don't think so. I would have much rather stopped in for a drink or coffee to check out the view. I understand you want to keep this place exclusive, so save the high prices for dinner and allow people to view the restaurant for 1/2 the cost during lunch. I'm sure you would get a lot more people and you would make more money.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Our family of three enjoyed lunch here y ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our family of three enjoyed lunch here yesterday. This a destination restaurant combining the view, excellent service and thoughtfully creative dishes paired with a great wine selection. From the oyster amuse Bouche topped with frozen shavings through dessert, each of the five plates were delicious and well-paired. Our 7 year old daughter was accommodated with a Wagyu beef burger with homemade fries (fortunately it was so large my wife and I had a taste as well). We had worked in this stop as part of our vacation road trip and are glad we did. The atmosphere is casual, no tablecloths and most folks on the terrace adjacent to the dining room were in shorts or jeans; restaurant patrons were casual, not informal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tried the four-course pre-fixe menu. Ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Tried the four-course pre-fixe menu. Excellent choice of ingredients and combination. Delicious dishes that are well thought out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breathtaking view !! The food and wine p ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Breathtaking view !! The food and wine pairing was great - Definitely will be returning

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal and service. The menu ch ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent meal and service. The menu changes often, however I highly suggest the Elk-it was perfectly cooked, as well as the albacone. Everything was delicious. A bit pricey but worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall a disappointing experience...goo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Overall a disappointing experience...good news is that it saved me a lot of $...have no desire to stay there after eating at the Post Ranch Restaurant. Don't really get what the fuss was about. Wait staff was sadly lacking.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

Sierra Mar is dining at its best. Al ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Sierra Mar is dining at its best. Although it is a limited menu, the diner does not feel restricted. We chose The Taste menu and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a wonderful location with fantas ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is a wonderful location with fantastic views and excellent food. The ambience , the service and the food were fantastic. The price is expensive but you are paying for great food, excellent service and location and so this is acceptable. A restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently stopped off and ate hear during ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Recently stopped off and ate hear during a road trip down the Pacific Highway. Food was amazing, views absolutely spectacular. Very reasonably priced and great value for money. Would highly recommend this place to anyone driving through Big Sur.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Impeccable attention ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent service. Impeccable attention to needs. Beautiful setting. Very good food for all courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here, had a wonderful time. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

First time here, had a wonderful time. We got the last reservation at 5:30 - arrived at the gate at 5:00 and were turned away told to come back at 5:20 - so went down the road to Big Sur Tavern for a happy hour drink. Would have been nice to at least go and park and sit somewhere, but understand since no real waiting area or bar to be at while they open at 5:30. Enter the "lobby" then climb stairs to the Sierra Mar - obviously wonderful view - although the fog was in, we were able to see the waves and actually some deer walked right underneath the view. We did the four course meal - wonderful waiter that had been there 18 years - great ambiance and food was great. Time went quickly and it was 8:30 by the time we looked at our watch and finished dessert. We shared every dish, passing it when we were half way done - no duplicates. The Elk was great. Sole was okay, but difficult to eat/cut simply because of the stew bowl they serve it in - that was the only comment we both made and the waiter mentioned they had heard it before - so we'll see. The night was perfect and it was fun to eat at an icon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

LOVED the food, did not love being seate ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

LOVED the food, did not love being seated in the table adjacent (literally in the same booth) to where the servers were rolling napkins and silverware.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very expensive for the quality of food y ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very expensive for the quality of food you get. Plating and presentation is good, but the taste is not that surprising. Good service, but the ambiance is somewhat boring. It's a place for adults who want to have a fancy dinner and that are not so demanding of amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Outstanding! The food, the service and t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding! The food, the service and the breathtaking view - everything was exquisite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go every year and it is always the hi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We go every year and it is always the highlight of our dining experiences. Walking the grounds and learning about the vegetable garden is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we have had this y ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

One of the best meals we have had this year, in a magnificent location with caring service, but expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a gourmet delight! View is spect ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always a gourmet delight! View is spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply put one of my fav restaurants in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Simply put one of my fav restaurants in the world. The combo of the setting with superior food and service is just unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even though the meal was a 4 course meal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Even though the meal was a 4 course meal, we were rushed through our entire dinner. We were in and out of the restaurant within 1 hour - 1 hour, 20 min. The meal was not spaced out properly to allow my husband and I enjoy each other's company on our anniversary. The quality of food and presentation of the dishes did not merit the price charged per person. Furthermore, once the staff realized we were not staying at the hotel, they were quite rude to us about finding transportation back to our hotel, saying that was not 'part of the service.' We will not be returning to this restaurant or hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

High points- Excellent cheese plate and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

High points- Excellent cheese plate and Boca Negra desserts with wine pairing. Excellent stone fruit salad. Wine pairings with first two courses were nondescript. Entrees: orzo was cold with chicken; fires with burger were cold, although they were replaced with fresh. Overall, for a place of this caliber, mixed courses and not up to price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful view of the pacific ocean from ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful view of the pacific ocean from every table in the restaurant.

it is must ,when visiting Big Sur for any occasion. Food is excellent as is the service.

will love to return again!

love love love!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing picturesque view cantalevered ov ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Amazing picturesque view cantalevered over ricks looking out to magnificent Pacific Ocean. My beef burger was very pink and undercooked. Otherwise, delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals & most amazing vie ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the best meals & most amazing views of the Pacific we have ever experienced! The server couldn't have been nicer or more friendly. It was one of the stops on our honeymoon that we will never forget. Truly exceptional & unique. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing views and innovative cooking, th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Amazing views and innovative cooking, that aren't found in many other restaurants. The new chef has taken dining to new levels. The three-course fixed price lunch is within reach without breaking the bank.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at French Laundry on Tuesday and ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We ate at French Laundry on Tuesday and Sierra Mar on Saturday and Sierra Mar's food was BETTER!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall,10,I didn't like the idea of hav ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Overall,10,I didn't like the idea of have a dress code formal elegant with dress shoes and button up shirt,when we got there,I saw people with tennis shoes and shorts,and polo t-shirt ,this site not elegant,and should have been stopped by the entrance,however that's my only complaint

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious! One of the best meals ever. S ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Delicious! One of the best meals ever. Sitting on a cliff overlooking Pacific at sunset. Friendly attentive service - fun talking about ingredients and wine - great suggestions. Go a bit early and have a drink on the open deck. Lovely experience from start to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and incredible views. Worth e ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food and incredible views. Worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view was breathtaking - even with th ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The view was breathtaking - even with the mist rolling in, it was totally spectacular. The food was wonderful - this was the best meal we had in California hands down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful yet casual elegance with excep ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Beautiful yet casual elegance with exceptional service and excellent food and ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

No words. Okay, a few words: Heaven on ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

No words. Okay, a few words: Heaven on Earth. Exceeded even our crazily high expectations. Everyone knows the food is world-class but kudos also to the service, which absolutely MAKES the experience. Trevor M and colleagues made our evening both transcendent and hilariously fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience ever

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Best dining experience ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.