About Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn

47900 State Highway 1
Big Sur, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Overlooking the Pacific Ocean with a spectacular view of the California coast, the award winning Sierra Mar Restaurant serves world-class cuisine in an awe-inspiring setting. This Big Sur restaurant features an innovative, four course, prix fixe menu, which changes daily and utilizes organic, seasonal fare. Sierra Mar offers wine selections from one of the most extensive collections in North America.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Organic, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 12:15pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 667-2800

Website:
http://postranchinn.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet as well as a private lot for parking.

Executive Chef:
Elizabeth Murray

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access

Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Most Booked
Big Sur
Best Restaurants in Big Sur ›

Scenic View (64)
Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (51)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Great for Lunch (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Hot Spot (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Waterfront (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was poor with numerous mistakes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was poor with numerous mistakes by our server. We noticed that he made mistakes on the orders of the people next to us as well. Food was good, not extraordinary. Definitely overpriced for what you get. if you like the view, pack a lunch and sit on a nearby cliff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Great food with an amazing View in the m ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great food with an amazing View in the middle of the Highway One!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This review is for lunch. In short, a d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

This review is for lunch. In short, a disappointment. So much so that we canceled the dinner rez we had pending for a few days later.

Read the reviews for this place and people think it's amazing. It's not. First, the view is great, but if you pull off on the side of the road anywhere in Big Sur you can see the same thing for free. Next, the food. What a mess. I had started with the Monterey Squid appetizer that looked like the chef just threw 185 tiny ingredients on the plate and was like hey maybe one of them will taste good. Next I ordered the burger, medium-rare. Seems easy right? Came out well done, I mean like the cook put it on the grill, checked his email, went out to do some shopping, contemplated life on a hilltop, four seasons went by and then he took it off the grill. Horrible.

The dessert was good though.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I am recovering from hip surgery, so thi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I am recovering from hip surgery, so this was an exciting special trip. When we arrived, one of the staff noticed that I had trouble walking and drove me up he hill from reception to Sierra Mar. The service inside continued being attentive,but not overwhelming . The portions were generous--I had trouble finishing my chicken. My wife and I both enjoyed the opening course of seafood salad. My chicken was a bit bland, but the accompanying vegetables and sauces were quite tasty. The deserts, my panna cotto and my wife's chocolate were excellent. The views were, as expected, excellent. We were afraid that we would be submerged in smoke from the fires, but fortunately this did not occur. One could smell smoke driving south from Carmel.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place, great staff, nice food. P ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Awesome place, great staff, nice food.

Post Ranch Inn is an unforgetable place

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food and great service topped ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Delicious food and great service topped only by the incredible view!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You go here for the view mainly which ca ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

You go here for the view mainly which can be hit or miss. The food was good, but several days later, I can't tell you what it was.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good Restaurant. Way to expensive. $300 ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Good Restaurant.

Way to expensive.

$300 for dinner for 2 with 1 glass of wine

Appetizer and salad portions were minuscule .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We came across the Sierra Mar while read ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We came across the Sierra Mar while reading an article on what to do in Big Sur and made a lunch reservation for the next day. It is a beautiful location and due to great reviews, we were very much looking forward to our meal. Since the restaurant's location is literally on top of a cliff, we were hoping for great views however it was not meant to be due to heavy fog. We chose the 3 course tasting menu along with the wine pairings (just under $85ish per person) and while the food was tasty, the portions were quite small. What was worse is the fact that all 3 wine pourings amounted to maybe one glass all together, highly disappointing. The service seemed lackluster and was fair at best. First, our entrees were inverted. Second, after using the ladies room, I came back to my napkin having been cleared and never received a new one. Lastly, one of us was served the wrong dessert (chocolate instead of cheese plate) and when the mistake was fixed, the waiter asked if my fiancee wanted to keep the red wine originally served with the chocolate dessert instead of what would actually come with the cheese plate - we of course said no, we'd like the wine pairing that should go with the cheese plate as the sweet red would have been awful with the cheese. After the way things had been going, I can't say that we were surprised by his suggestion/question. While a beautifully appointed restaurant, overall we were disappointed with this dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

It's restaurant a wonderful view, love ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

It's restaurant a wonderful view, lovely ambiance and creative food. Service from Beau was superb.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were there for a anniversary, with my ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We were there for a anniversary, with my husband and it was awesome.

The staff was very kind and warm and the service was great.

The environment is fantastic and has good views.

Finally, the food was My worst food I had in my life was Sierra Mar's Lunch 5course. .

If you only want to experience Sierra Mar in a luxury atmosphere, you should absolutely try this restaurant.

but you have to know food is awful!

They have to change thier chef!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular views and food!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Spectacular views and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We've stayed at the Post Ranch before an ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We've stayed at the Post Ranch before and were delighted that it has managed to maintain its excellent standard. First class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is literally the best on the pl ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The view is literally the best on the planet!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I wanted to love Sierra Mar. The pictur ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I wanted to love Sierra Mar. The pictures of the scenery online is gorgeous but it wasn't so great in person. The day that my husband and I went, it was super foggy. We drove 3.5 hours from Napa Valley just to check out the scenery. It wasn't the restaurant's fault or anything. It was just bad weather. I recommend all customers to ensure it is clear skies when making the appointment. Other than that, the staff was great. The food was ok but the ambiance is what we were going for.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Really disappointed that the restaurant ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Really disappointed that the restaurant did not inform us they had closed due to local fires. We had planned our vacation around the dining experience and without being notified we wasted 3 days of precious vacation days trying to re-organise our plans. Still no message regarding whether we will lose our security deposit. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent food and serve to match the hi ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food and serve to match the highly impressive venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We did the 9 course wine paring. Courses ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We did the 9 course wine paring. Courses 1 thru 5 should have had 3 times the serving in 3 separate portions for each course to fully enjoy the favors . There was not simply not enough to even begin to appreciate the food/wine paring. It turned out as one experience that was "washed away by the remaining wine. At the onset we were rushed to which we asked the tempo to be "dialed back a little"..........actually it became dialed back a lot and we were at the table for nearly 6 hours !!!! The whole experience could have been much better.......and would have done justice to the incredible talent in the kitchen. Also...beyond the explanation of the origin and talents of the winemaker, we did not get a great answer on what the basis of the paring was....what to expect in the paring specifically as it related to the food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

We went with the 9 course tasting menu a ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We went with the 9 course tasting menu and had to go to an in-n-out afterwards as we were starving. Perhaps it's because we were in Big Sur, but there seems to be some serious food rationing taking place. The dishes themselves were underwhelming and reminded me of processed luncheon meat, including the translucent strip of pheasant and abalone which was steamed or boiled until all the flavour was evaporated. The dullness of the food made the dinner extremely uneventful and my husband and I was extremely bored. We couldn't wait until the dinner was finally over, which is somewhat ridiculous since we spent $500 to have a lack lustre experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

One of the most beautiful views in the w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

One of the most beautiful views in the world - but the food is unfortunately very average - real disappointment

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Great, loved it. Great service and view. ...

 
 (Raum Düsseldorf)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great, loved it. Great service and view. Food was insane.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!! Very romantic and simply exqu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Loved it!! Very romantic and simply exquisite views. Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The location is what makes this place a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The location is what makes this place a must see. The service and ambience is great however, I do believe that $55/person for lunch is steep. There was 4 of us and we each had soup, a burger/fries and dessert. The maximum price should be $25/person. We ordered drinks and coffee on top of the $55 so it came out to be a very expensive lunch. Was it worth $325 for lunch... Ummm I don't think so. I would have much rather stopped in for a drink or coffee to check out the view. I understand you want to keep this place exclusive, so save the high prices for dinner and allow people to view the restaurant for 1/2 the cost during lunch. I'm sure you would get a lot more people and you would make more money.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Our family of three enjoyed lunch here y ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our family of three enjoyed lunch here yesterday. This a destination restaurant combining the view, excellent service and thoughtfully creative dishes paired with a great wine selection. From the oyster amuse Bouche topped with frozen shavings through dessert, each of the five plates were delicious and well-paired. Our 7 year old daughter was accommodated with a Wagyu beef burger with homemade fries (fortunately it was so large my wife and I had a taste as well). We had worked in this stop as part of our vacation road trip and are glad we did. The atmosphere is casual, no tablecloths and most folks on the terrace adjacent to the dining room were in shorts or jeans; restaurant patrons were casual, not informal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tried the four-course pre-fixe menu. Ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Tried the four-course pre-fixe menu. Excellent choice of ingredients and combination. Delicious dishes that are well thought out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breathtaking view !! The food and wine p ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Breathtaking view !! The food and wine pairing was great - Definitely will be returning

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal and service. The menu ch ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent meal and service. The menu changes often, however I highly suggest the Elk-it was perfectly cooked, as well as the albacone. Everything was delicious. A bit pricey but worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall a disappointing experience...goo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Overall a disappointing experience...good news is that it saved me a lot of $...have no desire to stay there after eating at the Post Ranch Restaurant. Don't really get what the fuss was about. Wait staff was sadly lacking.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

Sierra Mar is dining at its best. Al ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Sierra Mar is dining at its best. Although it is a limited menu, the diner does not feel restricted. We chose The Taste menu and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a wonderful location with fantas ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is a wonderful location with fantastic views and excellent food. The ambience , the service and the food were fantastic. The price is expensive but you are paying for great food, excellent service and location and so this is acceptable. A restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently stopped off and ate hear during ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Recently stopped off and ate hear during a road trip down the Pacific Highway. Food was amazing, views absolutely spectacular. Very reasonably priced and great value for money. Would highly recommend this place to anyone driving through Big Sur.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Impeccable attention ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent service. Impeccable attention to needs. Beautiful setting. Very good food for all courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here, had a wonderful time. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

First time here, had a wonderful time. We got the last reservation at 5:30 - arrived at the gate at 5:00 and were turned away told to come back at 5:20 - so went down the road to Big Sur Tavern for a happy hour drink. Would have been nice to at least go and park and sit somewhere, but understand since no real waiting area or bar to be at while they open at 5:30. Enter the "lobby" then climb stairs to the Sierra Mar - obviously wonderful view - although the fog was in, we were able to see the waves and actually some deer walked right underneath the view. We did the four course meal - wonderful waiter that had been there 18 years - great ambiance and food was great. Time went quickly and it was 8:30 by the time we looked at our watch and finished dessert. We shared every dish, passing it when we were half way done - no duplicates. The Elk was great. Sole was okay, but difficult to eat/cut simply because of the stew bowl they serve it in - that was the only comment we both made and the waiter mentioned they had heard it before - so we'll see. The night was perfect and it was fun to eat at an icon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

LOVED the food, did not love being seate ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

LOVED the food, did not love being seated in the table adjacent (literally in the same booth) to where the servers were rolling napkins and silverware.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very expensive for the quality of food y ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very expensive for the quality of food you get. Plating and presentation is good, but the taste is not that surprising. Good service, but the ambiance is somewhat boring. It's a place for adults who want to have a fancy dinner and that are not so demanding of amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Outstanding! The food, the service and t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding! The food, the service and the breathtaking view - everything was exquisite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go every year and it is always the hi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We go every year and it is always the highlight of our dining experiences. Walking the grounds and learning about the vegetable garden is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we have had this y ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

One of the best meals we have had this year, in a magnificent location with caring service, but expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a gourmet delight! View is spect ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always a gourmet delight! View is spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply put one of my fav restaurants in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Simply put one of my fav restaurants in the world. The combo of the setting with superior food and service is just unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.