About Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn

47900 State Highway 1
Big Sur, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Overlooking the Pacific Ocean with a spectacular view of the California coast, the award winning Sierra Mar Restaurant serves world-class cuisine in an awe-inspiring setting. This Big Sur restaurant features an innovative, four course, prix fixe menu, which changes daily and utilizes organic, seasonal fare. Sierra Mar offers wine selections from one of the most extensive collections in North America.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Organic, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 12:15pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 667-2800

Website:
http://postranchinn.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet as well as a private lot for parking.

Executive Chef:
Elizabeth Murray

Additional:
Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access

Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Most Booked
Big Sur
Best Restaurants in Big Sur ›

scenic view (69)
special occasion (66)
romantic (62)
See All
fit for foodies (47)
great for lunch (27)
notable wine list (25)
great for outdoor dining (20)
hot spot (9)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for brunch (7)
good for groups (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Recently stopped off and ate hear during ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 4 days ago

Recently stopped off and ate hear during a road trip down the Pacific Highway. Food was amazing, views absolutely spectacular. Very reasonably priced and great value for money. Would highly recommend this place to anyone driving through Big Sur.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Impeccable attention ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent service. Impeccable attention to needs. Beautiful setting. Very good food for all courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here, had a wonderful time. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

First time here, had a wonderful time. We got the last reservation at 5:30 - arrived at the gate at 5:00 and were turned away told to come back at 5:20 - so went down the road to Big Sur Tavern for a happy hour drink. Would have been nice to at least go and park and sit somewhere, but understand since no real waiting area or bar to be at while they open at 5:30. Enter the "lobby" then climb stairs to the Sierra Mar - obviously wonderful view - although the fog was in, we were able to see the waves and actually some deer walked right underneath the view. We did the four course meal - wonderful waiter that had been there 18 years - great ambiance and food was great. Time went quickly and it was 8:30 by the time we looked at our watch and finished dessert. We shared every dish, passing it when we were half way done - no duplicates. The Elk was great. Sole was okay, but difficult to eat/cut simply because of the stew bowl they serve it in - that was the only comment we both made and the waiter mentioned they had heard it before - so we'll see. The night was perfect and it was fun to eat at an icon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very expensive for the quality of food y ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very expensive for the quality of food you get. Plating and presentation is good, but the taste is not that surprising. Good service, but the ambiance is somewhat boring. It's a place for adults who want to have a fancy dinner and that are not so demanding of amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Outstanding! The food, the service and t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding! The food, the service and the breathtaking view - everything was exquisite!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go every year and it is always the hi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We go every year and it is always the highlight of our dining experiences. Walking the grounds and learning about the vegetable garden is a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we have had this y ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

One of the best meals we have had this year, in a magnificent location with caring service, but expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a gourmet delight! View is spect ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always a gourmet delight! View is spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply put one of my fav restaurants in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Simply put one of my fav restaurants in the world. The combo of the setting with superior food and service is just unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even though the meal was a 4 course meal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Even though the meal was a 4 course meal, we were rushed through our entire dinner. We were in and out of the restaurant within 1 hour - 1 hour, 20 min. The meal was not spaced out properly to allow my husband and I enjoy each other's company on our anniversary. The quality of food and presentation of the dishes did not merit the price charged per person. Furthermore, once the staff realized we were not staying at the hotel, they were quite rude to us about finding transportation back to our hotel, saying that was not 'part of the service.' We will not be returning to this restaurant or hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

High points- Excellent cheese plate and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

High points- Excellent cheese plate and Boca Negra desserts with wine pairing. Excellent stone fruit salad. Wine pairings with first two courses were nondescript. Entrees: orzo was cold with chicken; fires with burger were cold, although they were replaced with fresh. Overall, for a place of this caliber, mixed courses and not up to price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful view of the pacific ocean from ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful view of the pacific ocean from every table in the restaurant.

it is must ,when visiting Big Sur for any occasion. Food is excellent as is the service.

will love to return again!

love love love!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing picturesque view cantalevered ov ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Amazing picturesque view cantalevered over ricks looking out to magnificent Pacific Ocean. My beef burger was very pink and undercooked. Otherwise, delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals & most amazing vie ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the best meals & most amazing views of the Pacific we have ever experienced! The server couldn't have been nicer or more friendly. It was one of the stops on our honeymoon that we will never forget. Truly exceptional & unique. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing views and innovative cooking, th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Amazing views and innovative cooking, that aren't found in many other restaurants. The new chef has taken dining to new levels. The three-course fixed price lunch is within reach without breaking the bank.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at French Laundry on Tuesday and ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We ate at French Laundry on Tuesday and Sierra Mar on Saturday and Sierra Mar's food was BETTER!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall,10,I didn't like the idea of hav ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Overall,10,I didn't like the idea of have a dress code formal elegant with dress shoes and button up shirt,when we got there,I saw people with tennis shoes and shorts,and polo t-shirt ,this site not elegant,and should have been stopped by the entrance,however that's my only complaint

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious! One of the best meals ever. S ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Delicious! One of the best meals ever. Sitting on a cliff overlooking Pacific at sunset. Friendly attentive service - fun talking about ingredients and wine - great suggestions. Go a bit early and have a drink on the open deck. Lovely experience from start to finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and incredible views. Worth e ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food and incredible views. Worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view was breathtaking - even with th ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The view was breathtaking - even with the mist rolling in, it was totally spectacular. The food was wonderful - this was the best meal we had in California hands down.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful yet casual elegance with excep ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Beautiful yet casual elegance with exceptional service and excellent food and ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

No words. Okay, a few words: Heaven on ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

No words. Okay, a few words: Heaven on Earth. Exceeded even our crazily high expectations. Everyone knows the food is world-class but kudos also to the service, which absolutely MAKES the experience. Trevor M and colleagues made our evening both transcendent and hilariously fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience ever

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Best dining experience ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really good food and absolutely stunning ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Really good food and absolutely stunning views. One of my favourite places to eat in California

Tags: romance, special occasions, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting. Definitely worth goin ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Beautiful setting. Definitely worth going for sunset and cocktail. Food very mediocre for the price. Service mixed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

I have only been to Sierra Mar once befo ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I have only been to Sierra Mar once before but the experience stayed with me for 16 years. It was not just the view that held the memory for so long and kept me wanting, but the food and service memorable as well. The taste of lavender creme burlee haunted me. This year it will be the pate. The service however was not as impressive this time. Maybe beccause it was a lunch sitting? Regardless, I will always recommend as it is an awesome and memeorabke experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Fog warning

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was good but would have been nice to get a warning about the fog - we literally couldnt see a thing of the "spectacular view" and would have rescheduled for a different night. The price is not worth it if it's foggy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Went for lunch, amazing value fixed pric ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Went for lunch, amazing value fixed price menu. Incredible views down the coast. Brilliant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Gorgeous setting, rather uptight and stuffy

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We were there for our 10th wedding anniversary. We found the staff at the hotel and the hostess to be rather uptight (and somewhat unpleasant). Our server was great. The food was ok. We were not blown away. We had eaten across the street the night before at the Ventana Inn and was much more impressed with the food there.

All in all, gorgeous setting, but we didn't love the attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This dinner experience was amazing. We ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This dinner experience was amazing. We booked it for a birthday celebration. The food was great - we did the 4 course meal. Each course was brought out with an explanation of all the parts of the dish. We ordered a bottle of wine and they kept our glasses filled. We booked the hotel for the ocean views, but it was foggy and we ended up being above the clouds which gave us neat views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

snooty and just okay food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The restaurant is nestled up above the cliffs in Big Sur and the view is spectacular. The snootiness, not so much. When we were dropped off by our hotel shuttle (we stayed across the street at The Ventana) the attendants at the base of the property were not helpful about telling us where to go, so I climbed the hill in heels. Overall, there was just a weird attitude that made me uncomfortable. The food was just okay. We both had oysters that had local aloe vera chunks in each shell that was a bizarre combination. So bitter! I'm not sure I would come back..

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

In the clouds...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

With the pacific fog rolling in, it is as if you are eating in the clouds. When the fog clears, the view is fantastic. The food and service are great. Very romantic and will be a meal hard to forget.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the three course tasting menu. Every ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Had the three course tasting menu. Everyone had something different and we enjoyed it all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Scenic but food does not match expectations

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The restaurant has stunning views, but the food is lacking. First course (homemade cheese and shaved asparagus) was dry and lacking salt or acidity - very flat. Second course - fois gras, was no match to the fois gras the night before at Farmhouse Inn. Third course (Beef including a $60 supplement) was good, but not a good value. Finally, dessert was acceptable, but nothing specials. In all, nice view but food was deficient.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Sierra mar overlooks the pacific ocean a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Sierra mar overlooks the pacific ocean and is a perfect spot for lunch as well as less expensive. There is a prix fixe menu but you don't have to order all the courses and everything is always delicious, beautifully presented and unique. Dinner is very expensive and you can't really see the ocean so I always prefer a late lunch each year when I drive up to big sur.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Tasting menu was good! Not amazing

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Tasting menu was good! Not amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Incredible atmosphere views and food ! F ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Incredible atmosphere views and food ! Food presentation out of this world , great wines as well!

Not inexpensive though be prepared to pay !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Unique menu and fabulous views. Wonderfu ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Unique menu and fabulous views. Wonderful in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brits enjoying lunch.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We loved the position of the restaurant with the huge Windows which should have provided great views. Sadly the fog rolled in and that was all we could see. However, the friendly and helpful staff made up for that as did the superb food which was inventive and delicious. The choice of wines to accompany the dishes was excellent. We enjoyed being able to take out time and not be rushed. If ever back in the Big Sur we would certainly come again and will definitely encourage friends to visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

unforgettable view , unforgettable exper ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

unforgettable view , unforgettable experience! Be sure come to here if you travel to Big Sur.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.