About Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn

47900 State Highway 1
Big Sur, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Overlooking the Pacific Ocean with a spectacular view of the California coast, the award winning Sierra Mar Restaurant serves world-class cuisine in an awe-inspiring setting. This Big Sur restaurant features an innovative, four course, prix fixe menu, which changes daily and utilizes organic, seasonal fare. Sierra Mar offers wine selections from one of the most extensive collections in North America.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Organic, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 12:15pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 667-2800

Website:
http://postranchinn.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet as well as a private lot for parking.

Executive Chef:
John Cox

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access

Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Most Booked
Big Sur
Best Restaurants in Big Sur ›

scenic view (71)
special occasion (65)
romantic (60)
See All
fit for foodies (43)
great for lunch (25)
notable wine list (21)
great for outdoor dining (17)
hot spot (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
good for groups (5)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at French Laundry on Tuesday and ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We ate at French Laundry on Tuesday and Sierra Mar on Saturday and Sierra Mar's food was BETTER!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Overall,10,I didn't like the idea of hav ...

Dined 6 days ago

Overall,10,I didn't like the idea of have a dress code formal elegant with dress shoes and button up shirt,when we got there,I saw people with tennis shoes and shorts,and polo t-shirt ,this site not elegant,and should have been stopped by the entrance,however that's my only complaint

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! One of the best meals ever. S ...

Dined 7 days ago

Delicious! One of the best meals ever. Sitting on a cliff overlooking Pacific at sunset. Friendly attentive service - fun talking about ingredients and wine - great suggestions. Go a bit early and have a drink on the open deck. Lovely experience from start to finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was breathtaking - even with th ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The view was breathtaking - even with the mist rolling in, it was totally spectacular. The food was wonderful - this was the best meal we had in California hands down.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful yet casual elegance with excep ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Beautiful yet casual elegance with exceptional service and excellent food and ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

No words. Okay, a few words: Heaven on ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

No words. Okay, a few words: Heaven on Earth. Exceeded even our crazily high expectations. Everyone knows the food is world-class but kudos also to the service, which absolutely MAKES the experience. Trevor M and colleagues made our evening both transcendent and hilariously fun.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience ever

Dined on June 9, 2016

Best dining experience ever

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really good food and absolutely stunning ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Really good food and absolutely stunning views. One of my favourite places to eat in California

Tags: romance, special occasions, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service3

Beautiful setting. Definitely worth goin ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Beautiful setting. Definitely worth going for sunset and cocktail. Food very mediocre for the price. Service mixed.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I have only been to Sierra Mar once befo ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

I have only been to Sierra Mar once before but the experience stayed with me for 16 years. It was not just the view that held the memory for so long and kept me wanting, but the food and service memorable as well. The taste of lavender creme burlee haunted me. This year it will be the pate. The service however was not as impressive this time. Maybe beccause it was a lunch sitting? Regardless, I will always recommend as it is an awesome and memeorabke experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fog warning

Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was good but would have been nice to get a warning about the fog - we literally couldnt see a thing of the "spectacular view" and would have rescheduled for a different night. The price is not worth it if it's foggy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Went for lunch, amazing value fixed pric ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Went for lunch, amazing value fixed price menu. Incredible views down the coast. Brilliant experience.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Gorgeous setting, rather uptight and stuffy

Dined on June 2, 2016

We were there for our 10th wedding anniversary. We found the staff at the hotel and the hostess to be rather uptight (and somewhat unpleasant). Our server was great. The food was ok. We were not blown away. We had eaten across the street the night before at the Ventana Inn and was much more impressed with the food there. All in all, gorgeous setting, but we didn't love the attitude.

food5
ambience5
service5

This dinner experience was amazing. We ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

This dinner experience was amazing. We booked it for a birthday celebration. The food was great - we did the 4 course meal. Each course was brought out with an explanation of all the parts of the dish. We ordered a bottle of wine and they kept our glasses filled. We booked the hotel for the ocean views, but it was foggy and we ended up being above the clouds which gave us neat views.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

snooty and just okay food

Dined on June 1, 2016

The restaurant is nestled up above the cliffs in Big Sur and the view is spectacular. The snootiness, not so much. When we were dropped off by our hotel shuttle (we stayed across the street at The Ventana) the attendants at the base of the property were not helpful about telling us where to go, so I climbed the hill in heels. Overall, there was just a weird attitude that made me uncomfortable. The food was just okay. We both had oysters that had local aloe vera chunks in each shell that was a bizarre combination. So bitter! I'm not sure I would come back..

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the clouds...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

With the pacific fog rolling in, it is as if you are eating in the clouds. When the fog clears, the view is fantastic. The food and service are great. Very romantic and will be a meal hard to forget.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the three course tasting menu. Every ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Had the three course tasting menu. Everyone had something different and we enjoyed it all

food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Scenic but food does not match expectations

Dined on May 28, 2016

The restaurant has stunning views, but the food is lacking. First course (homemade cheese and shaved asparagus) was dry and lacking salt or acidity - very flat. Second course - fois gras, was no match to the fois gras the night before at Farmhouse Inn. Third course (Beef including a $60 supplement) was good, but not a good value. Finally, dessert was acceptable, but nothing specials. In all, nice view but food was deficient.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sierra mar overlooks the pacific ocean a ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Sierra mar overlooks the pacific ocean and is a perfect spot for lunch as well as less expensive. There is a prix fixe menu but you don't have to order all the courses and everything is always delicious, beautifully presented and unique. Dinner is very expensive and you can't really see the ocean so I always prefer a late lunch each year when I drive up to big sur.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service2

Tasting menu was good! Not amazing

Dined on May 23, 2016

Tasting menu was good! Not amazing

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Incredible atmosphere views and food ! F ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Incredible atmosphere views and food ! Food presentation out of this world , great wines as well! Not inexpensive though be prepared to pay !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique menu and fabulous views. Wonderfu ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Unique menu and fabulous views. Wonderful in every way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brits enjoying lunch.

Dined on May 18, 2016

We loved the position of the restaurant with the huge Windows which should have provided great views. Sadly the fog rolled in and that was all we could see. However, the friendly and helpful staff made up for that as did the superb food which was inventive and delicious. The choice of wines to accompany the dishes was excellent. We enjoyed being able to take out time and not be rushed. If ever back in the Big Sur we would certainly come again and will definitely encourage friends to visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

unforgettable view , unforgettable exper ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

unforgettable view , unforgettable experience! Be sure come to here if you travel to Big Sur.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was a great experience. My only comme ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

it was a great experience. My only comment is that my paired wines (we did the course menu with paired wines) were all from Europe. I am in Central California I would have loved to have my meal paired with a Central wine or at least a California wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Incredible View

Dined on May 9, 2016

This is the second time we have dined at Sierra Mar. The food is fresh and delicious and the view is second to none. Service is excellent and the staff is very friendly. The only complaint I have is the prix fixe menu. It's expensive and the options are limited. The food is still of very high quality but we preferred the full menu option when we first dined there in 2013. If you are a foodie and looking for a chef's choice option, you can't beat the ambiance, scenic views of the Pacific and locally grown food ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Scenic view" just does not cover it

Dined on May 6, 2016

What an amazing restaurant. The views of the Big Sur coastline are fantastic and the food and service are just excellent. For a special occasion, or just because you're passing through Big Sur, Sierra Mar is well worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Beautiful views, good food, but expensive

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal, the service and the views of Sierra Mar at the Post Ranch Inn. Even with some fog, the views here are spectacular. The food was excellent and our server was very attentive. The only downside to Sierra Mar is that you need to be able to afford it . We had two drinks and a bottle of wine with our meal - one of their lower priced wines - and the total bill for two people came to $480, including tip. If you like dining out and having new experiences, I think Sierra Mar is worth the experience at least once, but be prepared to pay a hefty price. We only ordered appetizers and entrees, not their multi-course meal, so be prepared to pay even more if you intend to go down that path.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had three course lunch with wine pair ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

We had three course lunch with wine pairings. Service was amazing: attentive when needed and never rushed. Architecture and overall feeling is so very Big Sur. This is the best hamburger ever, and the angel food cake with lemon custard was memorable. Yes, pricey, but a dining experience that is unmatchable. Memories were made!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't decide which was best - food or view.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Both food and view were absolutely terrific. Eating a wonderful Tasting Menu lunch while looking out to sea and marvelling at the antics of the Californian condors made our visit here unforgettable. The Chef really kindly was able to tweek the menu to cover our various food issues for which we were most grateful. If you are travelling along the Big Sur this is a wonderful place to have lunch or an evening meal. You need to book most of the time to be sure of table. I could not fault the attention and care taken in the making and presenting of out meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, lunch, scenic view, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful!!!!!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Absolutely wonderful!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with a view

Dined on April 21, 2016

We stopped here on a family vacation up the California coast. While planning the trip I read that this place was a must and it did not disappoint. We stopped for lunch and were treated to breathtaking views, delicious food, wonderful wine and a great staff. I highly recommend paying them a visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I was looking forward to the wine pairin ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

I was looking forward to the wine pairing but was underwhelmed. The food delightful. The ambiance perfect. Would go back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable Meal. Jaw dropping view. Fanta ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Memorable Meal. Jaw dropping view. Fantastic Service. Most Special Experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Priceless view

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was excellent, priceless view of the ocean and I will definitely come back

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Fabulous view -- teeny portions -- overpriced

Dined on April 6, 2016

The unparalleled view from the Big Sur clifftop is breathtaking. As are the prices for the teensy serving portions. One doesn't expect the Post Ranch Inn to have modest pricing, but the combination of the quite high prices (lunch was $200 for a party of three, without any drinks) with the portions so small we were very hungry after the three-course meal. Overall, count us as quite disappointed. The server spoke too quickly and too faintly to be fully understood. They served an exquisite appetizer before the three courses, and that was exceptional. The rest of the meal was merely very good.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we went here during our babymoon and lov ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

we went here during our babymoon and loved it! The food was just as excellent as the view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

unforgettable

Dined on March 29, 2016

spectacular in every way-unforgettable view, great food, great service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Staff awareness needs to improve, waitre ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Staff awareness needs to improve, waitress spilled water didn't dry it up, or notice, knowledge of menu was a weakneess

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Great view disappointing meal

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Tasting menu with a $120 price tag. Portions are small which is fine , but the taste is nothing to brag about. One of the choices was a fish or so we thought. It was actually the fried skin of a fish , well four small pieces; awful. One disappointment after another. I opted a la carter and ordered the hang steak which was extremely salty and this comes from someone who loves salty food. Two small pieces and $60! Save your money and try lunch instead. The views are spectacular.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.