About Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn

47900 State Highway 1
Big Sur, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Overlooking the Pacific Ocean with a spectacular view of the California coast, the award winning Sierra Mar Restaurant serves world-class cuisine in an awe-inspiring setting. This Big Sur restaurant features an innovative, four course, prix fixe menu, which changes daily and utilizes organic, seasonal fare. Sierra Mar offers wine selections from one of the most extensive collections in North America.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Organic, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 12:15pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 667-2800

Website:
http://postranchinn.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet as well as a private lot for parking.

Executive Chef:
Elizabeth Murray

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access

Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Most Booked
Big Sur
Best Restaurants in Big Sur ›

Scenic View (40)
Romantic (35)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Waterfront (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fireplace (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Although expensive it was a special nigh ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Although expensive it was a special night. Matt did a great job and the chef was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely excellent. Three or five cour ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely excellent. Three or five course lunch was great and very well presented. Beautiful view of Pacific and grounds are lovely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gorgeous, world class views, impeccable ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Gorgeous, world class views, impeccable service, and sumptuous food selections!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the most amazing view I've ever ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Probably the most amazing view I've ever had dinner looking at... AMAZING!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such an elegant and beautiful evening. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Such an elegant and beautiful evening. Everything we ordered was delicious and beautifully presented. We loved everything about our meal, but I have to say that the amuse-bouche was my favorite! What a special taste to start the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great! Memorable experience.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great! Memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All the food was quite good, but you do ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

All the food was quite good, but you do pay a premium for the view. Would definitely be worth it in the late spring-early fall with sunset occurring later in the day, but with a 5pm sunset, most of the dinner was spent unable to appreciate the amazing view. That said, the stars after dinner were breathtaking. Otherwise, the food was all solid, that night's pumpkin risotto, sunchokes and rabbit dishes were especially outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing experience. Food is perfect fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Amazing experience. Food is perfect for food lovers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing view and good food! Make sure to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing view and good food!

Make sure to book ahead. Lunch is affordable (set menu for $55).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great scenic view, beautiful décor, atte ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great scenic view, beautiful décor, attentive service, excellent food. A very special and romantic moment going down Highway 1. I definitely recommend the menu + wine pairing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, fantastic views, and great ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Amazing food, fantastic views, and great service. I would recommend this place for a special occasion or fancy dinner :)

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After 8:30pm, the restaurant becomes a g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

After 8:30pm, the restaurant becomes a ghost town. Go early and enjoy the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Amazing view and the food matched the vi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Amazing view and the food matched the view. Great experience

Meet the chef and congratulated her on her great pairing of flavors.

A very memorable experience. I will remember the pork tenderloin always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We have dined here for lunch many times ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We have dined here for lunch many times over the years. We were seated at a very nice table as requested by my reservation and we were appreciative for that. The waiter was Ok, however it would have been nice to have bread presented on time and a table cleaned when obvious. The food is lacking considerably from our experiences in the past. In the past the food was exceptional and a delight to explore...this time the food selection as an experiment by the new chef and the ingredients did not play well together. The facility has a rundown feel/tone and look to it with accumulated items laying around when they should have been removed or cleaned. On top of that, they appear to be over-staffed. We stop here every year on our visit to Big Sur. We will skip it on our next visit to the area. The view is Spectacular -there is nothing like it...yet the present (October 2016) experience has not keep pace with the delightful experiences of the past.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

A quite stunning experience even with so ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A quite stunning experience even with some fog

Beautiful ,tasty and original food in an extraordinary space

The service was perfect and you showed great sensitivity to my disabled husband

All in all fab!

Chrissy Sharp

Sydney

Australia

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to the Restaurant at Ventana the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went to the Restaurant at Ventana the night before and were blown away, so note this is a comparison to that. Food at Sierra Mar was good, but no OMG taste this it's amazing. Our service also wasn't top notch. We had to request water refills twice for example. Views were absolutely amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Beautiful location with breathtaking vie ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Beautiful location with breathtaking view of the Big Sur but after spending $660 for two on a tasting menu with a nice bottle of wine and knowing what quality, service and overall experience get you for that amount I gave a 2 stars. We don't have any issues spending this type of money and even more but it requires much better quality, service, attention to details and overall experience caring. You pay dearly for the view. The staff was very courteous but no attention to detail and comparison on what you get at French Laundry, Le Bernardin or Per Se at the same spend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A good meal is not just about the food.. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

A good meal is not just about the food...this restaurant was very dark inside and while the meal was nice it was not exceptional. I felt a little like an outsider as we were staying elsewhere...not worth the price in my opinion as have eaten just as well in other locations for way less cost...the views are probably exceptional but at this time of year pitch dark. Was not made to feel special...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Amazing food and views! Try to book duri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Amazing food and views! Try to book during a sunset.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is extraordinary. The food is n ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The view is extraordinary. The food is not remarkable, it's good but almost ordinary. Service is also good but not incredible.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Delicious beyond belief...both the food ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Delicious beyond belief...both the food and the views. We had high expectations and every one was met. The service was genuine and attentive, personal without being cloying. The FOOD was a delight to look at and to enjoy. We arrived early to savor the sunset and cant think of a more special place to toast to another day!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went here for our 30th ...

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My husband and I went here for our 30th wedding anniversary. This was our third time here and every time it just keeps getting better. Fantastic. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the lunch 3-course tasting menu with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Had the lunch 3-course tasting menu with the wine pairing. The main course was excellent but others not so much, perhaps we made the wrong choices. Cheese plate especially disappointing - just a mountain of thin-sliced cheese piled on a piece of toasted bread with a few pieces of thin-sliced pink apple. I'd recommend against the wine pairing for the 3-course option - I think a well-chosen glass might have been more satisfying. Breath-taking view, especially from outside patio.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the view was ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food was delicious and the view was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Unfortunately, we were there on a rainy ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Unfortunately, we were there on a rainy day, so we were unable to enjoy the view, which, I believe, is the main attraction. The food was mediocre and certainly not good value.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

fIRST TIME LIKED THE WOMEN AT THE GATE L ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 14, 2016

fIRST TIME LIKED THE WOMEN AT THE GATE LOVELY CURB APPEAL. bEAUTIFUL FOOD NICE SERVICE WILL BE BACK AGAIN FOR ROOM AND FOOD. CAN'T WAIT

Thank you,

Susan L

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch was a very pleasant surprise and m ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Lunch was a very pleasant surprise and much, much better value than dinner. Only fault is the wine pour: very skimpy. A wonderful lunch in a wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Organic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic, however if I'd k ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The food was fantastic, however if I'd known that we wouldn't be able to see anything in terms of view, we wouldn't have indulged in a meal there. We had an 8:45 reservation and I was really excited to see the Post Ranch Inn and the views they spoke of, but there is no lighting outside whatsoever after sunset, so we couldn't see anything. If you don't mind about seeing the views and are there for the food - it's a great place. But if you want the views, don't book a table after sunset.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Quite simply, the best restaurant in Big ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Quite simply, the best restaurant in Big Sur. The handcrafted cocktails (in particular the Foie-bidden, what an absolutely divine and sinful libation, I wish I can drink it everyday) are some of the best I've had anywhere in the state. The 4-course tasting menu is the way to go, although the a la carte options are arguably just as good. Specifically the wagyu hanger steak and the grilled duck breast were standouts. And of course, how can I forget the view! Stunning and breathtaking, feels like you're dining in the heavens. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough, cannot wait to be back in Big Sur just to dine here!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfection from beginning to end. It sta ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Perfection from beginning to end. It started a little hot at the window, but as the sun dipped and we sipped our "el ninos" the view was spectacular. We opted for the chefs tasting menu worth every penny and calorie. From the quail egg in a small nest, the abalone shell presentation, the mouthwatering black cod, the succulent and crispy pork belly and the beautiful honey inspired dessert, all nine courses were delicious, creative and beautiful to view. We then had coffee on the outdoor deck over the pacific without a coat. Nights like it are rare with the moon, the stars and no wind. The one disappointment was my husband did the wine pairing menu and was unimpressed as they were mostly whites and light reds. However everything else was so perfect, he just shared my delicious cocktails and cote du rhone when he wanted.

It is very expensive so know what you're getting yourself into. But for our special night, it lived up to and exceeded expectations. The chef and our server Hanna were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal at Sierra Mar. Servi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a great meal at Sierra Mar. Service was outstanding and the 9 course tasting menu while pricey was outstanding.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We can see the sea from the window. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We can see the sea from the window. The restaurant is on the cliff. The view is so beautiful there. It is a very good restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time at Sierra Mar. We c ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a lovely time at Sierra Mar. We chose a perfect day -- sunny and clear. Our waitperson, Sach, was warm & appropriately attentive, encouraging us to relax & enjoy. There were menu options that supported both an omnivore and vegan. We started with fruit & herb spritzers -- one blackberry & thyme, which was light and not overly sweet, the other was lime & cilantro, which was mostly lime with just a hint of cilantro from the sprig garnish. For our meal, he omnivore really enjoyed the artfully presented Monterey calamari appetizer and Mount Lassen trout entree that was prepared to perfection -- golden & crisp exterior and moist succulent interior. The vegan had a delicious meal with the pear salad and Lebanese squash and quinoa entree.

Then there were the desserts. The chocolate pot de creme exceeded expectations with rich, creamy layers of chocolate as a base that was studded with bittersweet ultra thin chocolate wafers. The vegan was presented with lime Hawaiian shaved ice contrasted with perfectly ripened local mission figs.

We both were pleased with the acorn and pine nut bread -- it looked like it would be dense & chewy, but was surprisingly soft & light.

Overall a lovely experience and one we'll consider repeating .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Unbelievable sunset view. Excellent food ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Unbelievable sunset view. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was poor with numerous mistakes ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Service was poor with numerous mistakes by our server. We noticed that he made mistakes on the orders of the people next to us as well. Food was good, not extraordinary. Definitely overpriced for what you get. if you like the view, pack a lunch and sit on a nearby cliff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Great food with an amazing View in the m ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great food with an amazing View in the middle of the Highway One!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This review is for lunch. In short, a d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2016

This review is for lunch. In short, a disappointment. So much so that we canceled the dinner rez we had pending for a few days later.

Read the reviews for this place and people think it's amazing. It's not. First, the view is great, but if you pull off on the side of the road anywhere in Big Sur you can see the same thing for free. Next, the food. What a mess. I had started with the Monterey Squid appetizer that looked like the chef just threw 185 tiny ingredients on the plate and was like hey maybe one of them will taste good. Next I ordered the burger, medium-rare. Seems easy right? Came out well done, I mean like the cook put it on the grill, checked his email, went out to do some shopping, contemplated life on a hilltop, four seasons went by and then he took it off the grill. Horrible.

The dessert was good though.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I am recovering from hip surgery, so thi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I am recovering from hip surgery, so this was an exciting special trip. When we arrived, one of the staff noticed that I had trouble walking and drove me up he hill from reception to Sierra Mar. The service inside continued being attentive,but not overwhelming . The portions were generous--I had trouble finishing my chicken. My wife and I both enjoyed the opening course of seafood salad. My chicken was a bit bland, but the accompanying vegetables and sauces were quite tasty. The deserts, my panna cotto and my wife's chocolate were excellent. The views were, as expected, excellent. We were afraid that we would be submerged in smoke from the fires, but fortunately this did not occur. One could smell smoke driving south from Carmel.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place, great staff, nice food. P ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Awesome place, great staff, nice food.

Post Ranch Inn is an unforgetable place

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food and great service topped ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Delicious food and great service topped only by the incredible view!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.