Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 2.16mi
  4. Distance: 4.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 2.16mi
  4. Distance: 4.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 2.16mi
  4. Distance: 4.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.81mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 2.16mi
  4. Distance: 4.11mi

About Sierra Mar - Post Ranch Inn

Overlooking the Pacific Ocean with a spectacular view of the California coast, the award winning Sierra Mar Restaurant serves world-class cuisine in an awe-inspiring setting. This Big Sur restaurant features an innovative, four course, prix fixe menu, which changes daily and utilizes organic, seasonal fare. Sierra Mar offers wine selections from one of the most extensive collections in North America.

47900 State Highway 1
Big Sur, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Organic, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday - Saturday: 12:15pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 667-2800

Website:
http://postranchinn.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet as well as a private lot for parking.

Executive Chef:
Elizabeth Murray

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access

Sort By:
S
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cheshire)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We had an amazing lunch there, although it was foggy and we couldn´t enjoy the view.

Appetizers and entrees were amazing! Also the drinks that we ordered were some of the best we had until today. Only downside were the desserts that werent so tasty as the rest.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Loved everything about it. Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Beautiful view and location with very good, creative food, at a commensurate price. Very kindly, they opened a nice bottle of wine for our order of wine by the glass that matched our tastes for wine. Unfortunately my wife's chicken was undercooked, and the next day that caused us trouble.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Squid salad without the squid!! Panda Cotta uncooked. A very confused restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love this place, the view is spectacular, great food! And the wine pairing is impeccable. will go back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Thanks for the atenttion of Cobe. I wich come back outher time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Marvelous! I make it a point to dine here whenever I visit Big Sur. The food is exceptional. A marvelous view for sunset dining

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was lackluster but the view, ambiance, and service were stellar. Worth the drive for lunch, but I wouldn't bother with a meal after dark or the extended tasting menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Organic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

What a beautiful lunch with fresh fish specials and wine flights, gourmet dessert. We didn't know what to expect because we had heard that a main chef left but it is as good as ever if not better. Everything was spectacular from the food to service, they even offered a beverage to our driver while waiting for us - thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We very much enjoyed our lunch at Sierra Mar. Our wait staff Rachel was knowledgeable and accommodating. The food was delicious - stay away from the chocolate brad pudding is you are making any resolutions.
Good wine pairings.
Only hitch - we were turned away from the gate and told to return at our reservation time. This could have put a damper on the occasion.
Karen and Rod

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great Atmosphere and views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was okay, but didn't reach the restaurant's ambience level, class, or price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Big Sur is a magical place and Sierra Mar captures the magic with a perfect blend of amazing food, polished service and a comfortable - while still elegant - atmosphere. The dinner menu offers two "prix-fixe" options - a 4 course dinner or a 9-course chef's tasting. We opted for the 4 course option because I like feeling as though I have had a real meal - not just little bites, although I am sure the 9-course option is delicious too. The portion sizes are perfect in the 4-course dinner option. You select 2 "appetizers" - but these are amazing options. Rich and light Dungeness crab; sublime soup, a simple cauliflower floret in brown butter that was - in a word - divine ... these are some of the incredible creations offered. The seasoning is perfect too - no salt and pepper on the table, but you truly do not need either one. The entrees are lovely - rich bites of Wagyu beef, tempting tastes of rockfish, angelic paparadelle pasta ... all perfectly cooked and seasoned. This was truly one of the most satisfying meals of my life and I have eaten all over the world and in many top rated restaurants. The prices are very much in line with the quality and caliber of the offerings. The same meal in New York city would be twice as much - and it's probably more expensive and more difficult to consistently deliver this kind of quality in Big Sur. Sourcing these amazing ingredients in this wilderness has to be a challenge - I am delighted that Post Ranch has delivered on true gourmet food in the wilderness of Northern California. It's phenomenal. I truly enjoyed it and you will too!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

In the past our meals have been fantastic however this time we were not impressed. The presentation was perfect but the taste was lacking especially regarding the main course and the crab. This was such a disappointment for a well regarded high end restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This is a very beautiful place to eat. Unfortunately it was foggy and rainy and I did not get to see view. The food was fantastic and the service was even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Fantastic sunset followed by a memorable meal and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Although expensive it was a special night. Matt did a great job and the chef was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Absolutely excellent. Three or five course lunch was great and very well presented. Beautiful view of Pacific and grounds are lovely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Gorgeous, world class views, impeccable service, and sumptuous food selections!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Probably the most amazing view I've ever had dinner looking at... AMAZING!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Such an elegant and beautiful evening. Everything we ordered was delicious and beautifully presented. We loved everything about our meal, but I have to say that the amuse-bouche was my favorite! What a special taste to start the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great! Memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

All the food was quite good, but you do pay a premium for the view. Would definitely be worth it in the late spring-early fall with sunset occurring later in the day, but with a 5pm sunset, most of the dinner was spent unable to appreciate the amazing view. That said, the stars after dinner were breathtaking. Otherwise, the food was all solid, that night's pumpkin risotto, sunchokes and rabbit dishes were especially outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Amazing experience. Food is perfect for food lovers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing view and good food!
Make sure to book ahead. Lunch is affordable (set menu for $55).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great scenic view, beautiful décor, attentive service, excellent food. A very special and romantic moment going down Highway 1. I definitely recommend the menu + wine pairing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Amazing food, fantastic views, and great service. I would recommend this place for a special occasion or fancy dinner :)

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

After 8:30pm, the restaurant becomes a ghost town. Go early and enjoy the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Amazing view and the food matched the view. Great experience
Meet the chef and congratulated her on her great pairing of flavors.
A very memorable experience. I will remember the pork tenderloin always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We have dined here for lunch many times over the years. We were seated at a very nice table as requested by my reservation and we were appreciative for that. The waiter was Ok, however it would have been nice to have bread presented on time and a table cleaned when obvious. The food is lacking considerably from our experiences in the past. In the past the food was exceptional and a delight to explore...this time the food selection as an experiment by the new chef and the ingredients did not play well together. The facility has a rundown feel/tone and look to it with accumulated items laying around when they should have been removed or cleaned. On top of that, they appear to be over-staffed. We stop here every year on our visit to Big Sur. We will skip it on our next visit to the area. The view is Spectacular -there is nothing like it...yet the present (October 2016) experience has not keep pace with the delightful experiences of the past.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A quite stunning experience even with some fog
Beautiful ,tasty and original food in an extraordinary space
The service was perfect and you showed great sensitivity to my disabled husband
All in all fab!
Chrissy Sharp
Sydney
Australia

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went to the Restaurant at Ventana the night before and were blown away, so note this is a comparison to that. Food at Sierra Mar was good, but no OMG taste this it's amazing. Our service also wasn't top notch. We had to request water refills twice for example. Views were absolutely amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Beautiful location with breathtaking view of the Big Sur but after spending $660 for two on a tasting menu with a nice bottle of wine and knowing what quality, service and overall experience get you for that amount I gave a 2 stars. We don't have any issues spending this type of money and even more but it requires much better quality, service, attention to details and overall experience caring. You pay dearly for the view. The staff was very courteous but no attention to detail and comparison on what you get at French Laundry, Le Bernardin or Per Se at the same spend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A good meal is not just about the food...this restaurant was very dark inside and while the meal was nice it was not exceptional. I felt a little like an outsider as we were staying elsewhere...not worth the price in my opinion as have eaten just as well in other locations for way less cost...the views are probably exceptional but at this time of year pitch dark. Was not made to feel special...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Amazing food and views! Try to book during a sunset.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We split our time between California (Carmel) and New York City. When we are in Carmel we always bring our guests to Sierra Mar - it is truly a spectacular setting with outstanding food. The drive to the Big Sur area alone is worth the trek. Walking up the outdoor stairs through the redwoods is beautiful and upon entering the restaurant you know you are in for something special. The servers are outstanding and the food is excellent . We have also spent the night at the resort, which is also quite special. If you are ever in the area don't miss this spot.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The view is extraordinary. The food is not remarkable, it's good but almost ordinary. Service is also good but not incredible.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Delicious beyond belief...both the food and the views. We had high expectations and every one was met. The service was genuine and attentive, personal without being cloying. The FOOD was a delight to look at and to enjoy. We arrived early to savor the sunset and cant think of a more special place to toast to another day!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My husband and I went here for our 30th wedding anniversary. This was our third time here and every time it just keeps getting better. Fantastic. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Had the lunch 3-course tasting menu with the wine pairing. The main course was excellent but others not so much, perhaps we made the wrong choices. Cheese plate especially disappointing - just a mountain of thin-sliced cheese piled on a piece of toasted bread with a few pieces of thin-sliced pink apple. I'd recommend against the wine pairing for the 3-course option - I think a well-chosen glass might have been more satisfying. Breath-taking view, especially from outside patio.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.