Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Sienna On the Square

Sienna On The Square, located in vibrant Market Square, is part of the Sienna Restaurant Group which includes the Sienna Mercato restaurants - Emporio: A Meatball Joint, Mezzo and Il Tetto located in the Cultural District. Sienna on the Square was voted "Best New Restaurant 2013" and listed as "Best Restaurant 2014 & 2015" by Pittsburgh Magazine. We invite you to experience simple, creative Italian dishes, such as our house-made pasta, from our award winning, Matthew Porco, most recently named "Best in Class: 2014 Chef of the Year" by Pittsburgh Magazine.

22 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Kitchen Hours:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - 11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday - 3:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday - 4:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Market Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6363

Website:
http://www.siennapgh.com/

Entertainment:
Our facade opens directly onto Market Square so you can enjoy outdoor dining on our patio, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Valet parking after 6pm for all of Market Square! Convenient Parking Garages located at Three PPG Plaza Garage, Fifth Avenue Place Parking Garage, Sixth Street and Penn Avenue Garage

Executive Chef:
Matthew Porco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 412-281-6363 for information on special events.

Sienna On the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (30)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
See All
Cozy (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Romantic (20)
Business Meals (20)
Casual (19)
Authentic (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Fun (7)
Late-night Find (6)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Organic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1067 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Best meatballs I've ever tasted! Perfect place to go after a show.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great service. I've been here numerous times and will continue to dine here and recommend this place to others!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sienna offers good food in a great atmosphere within Pittsburgh's Market Square. Service is always superb. Dessert was the only miss on this outing, but the restaurant took care of this and did not impact the only experience. When it comes to downtown dining, I always include Sienna on my recommendation list and it continues to not disappoint.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall, no complaints. However, with so many dining options in the downtown area, neither of us experienced anything that we'd have to go back for.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Just a nice Friday night dinner with my spouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food and drinks were very good. Price was a bit much for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Save your money. Good for a quick meal but overall quality was really lacking. We were really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Our waitress was very nice and explained different selections not on the menu. Meatballs were soft and the sauce was delicious. I will definetely return and bring friends and family. Nice wine list and appetizer selections. If visiting from out of town or looking for someplace different you will not be disappointed. I suggest making reservations especially on the weekends. I was there on a week night and it wasn't busy but did not have to wait for a table. Ecellent fresh Italian food.

Tags: Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We all commented on what a great meal we had. Our server was also energetic and helpful.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Nice but casual. Staff was very helpful and attentive. Homemade pasta, delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The fresh pastas were a delight and the wine selection made for a very romantic evening with my wife

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great lunch on a beautiful Spring Day In February in Pgh! Table on the sidewalk side watching the coming and goings on Market Square. Back for dinner this coming Friday with friends after work

Tags: Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Basically the phantom floor of sienna mercato. It's pricey, but mostly with the price. Not heavy on Italian but heavy on Italian themes.

Tags: People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very accommodating as we were late and had a show to get to. The wait staff were flexible and knew the menu. The wine list was great for the menu selections. Went back the next day for a flat bread and glass of wine at the bar.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had a very dry and tough chicken parm. The slab of mozzarella on top was the worst part. My wife enjoyed the meatballs which were very good. Bad seats and a waitress who kept reaching over our food was annoying.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I have always had a great meal and excellent friendly service. A good selection of some unique wines to choose from a well. This past weekend our server Kim made our dinner experience extremely enjoyable!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We eat here frequently, and always have had fabulous food. Their soups, appetizers, pastas, entrees...all are excellent. We love their meatballs, tomato bisque soup, risotto, house-made straticella, and everything else! AND, if they have any house-made limoncello on hand for dessert, go for it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was very good as usual. However, service tonight was not. Table was a bit on the small size; water glass, salad bowl and bread plate for two made it crowded. But the real issue was bringing the dinners while we were still eating our salads; not good when the table has no space. Seemed like they were trying to rush us through dinner. Not the enjoyable dinner experience we usually have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

It was great before the Broadway series - not really too far to travel and timely service

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Always accommodating, great food and services, great drinks

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Authentic, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Historic, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I do enjoy this restaurant - the food has always been tasty and well-prepared, but find it pricey. $20 for pasta at lunchtime just seems excessive to me. So while I like it, I don't dine here often for lunch because of the expense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was amazing and presented beautifully. Service was good and atmosphere was cozy and romantic

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food quality is very good, well prepared with excellent presentation. My server helped me select an excellent dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time there. Great service tasty food. Thank you

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The cannellini bean dip is back!
The Mushroom Agnolotti and the Torchio were scrumptious!!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Stopped in for a quick bite after the theatre . I just wanted a bowl of hot soup and a few meatballs . Food was good and service great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a nice evening and the food was great! THe waitress was efficient and sweet. Thank you
I hope to be able to get a table for New Years Eve 2017/18...i can never get in more than 4. I probably will have 6. The pricing is a little on the higher side though.. Thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I visit for the first time. Very warm and welcoming with great music selection. Very friendly staff and exceptional and polite service. The meat and cheese tray appetizer with the pumpkin sauce and the great bread with olive paste was first rate, Classic Caesar and Apple & Arugula Salads were both very good, the new on the menu seafood pasta and the special beef tenderloin was off the hook delicious. We shared everything and had most enjoyable time, we certainly look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good spot for pre-theater meal, very close to Heinz Hall. Menu has traditional Italian as well as some more contemporary ingredients / modernized recipes. Our party of four enjoyed our entrees as well as the arugula salad. We shared two desserts -- the rice pudding and the chocolate cake -- unique and delicious versions of both.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very accommodating! We had a party of 4 and we each really enjoyed our salads , soups & dinners Each of us ordered a different pasta dish . Pasta was cooked to perfection and scrumptious Great service !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sienna on the Square is a good Italian restaurant with a cozy atmosphere. Our wait-staff was knowledgeable about the dishes and very attentive. I would recommend Sienna on the Square for anyone looking for a good Italian meal downtown.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Our service was excellent. The food was good, but I'd probably not choose to go there again for pasta given the other choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is not my first visit to Sienna. Food and drink are always great. This was on New Year's Eve where many places have a set menu, over priced and just not that good. Sienna we were able to order from the menu. Had an appetizer and our meal. Service was excellent. Will return and will also recommend. Thanks Sienna.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went with friends on NYE early to avoid rush. No long wait for table, nor we pushed to leave. Food was great and service was attentive. Wine could be pricey, but pours were excellent. Only bad experience was that high tops are very high and waitress knocked my water onto my lap trying to reach middle of table. Overall, would return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was good as expected. The service was a bit awkward, maybe because it was New Years Eve. A very early reservation, 4P, and still felt rushed.
I will go back based on very good past experiences

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Bucatini and meatballs was delicious. My five year old loved the four cheese ravioli. My husband's only criticism was he needed bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, excellent service. Joanna was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Nice place for a good Italian meal prior to going to the Penguins game

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

server super helpful and friendly, wine excellent. a bit dark in the front of the restaurant made the place seem dreary, soft lighting would help. slightly bigger menu for lunch apps would be nice, too. but overall, we totally enjoyed it!

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.