About Sienna On the Square

22 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Sienna On The Square, located in vibrant Market Square, is part of the Sienna Restaurant Group which includes the Sienna Mercato restaurants - Emporio: A Meatball Joint, Mezzo and Il Tetto located in the Cultural District. Sienna on the Square was voted "Best New Restaurant 2013" and listed as "Best Restaurant 2014 & 2015" by Pittsburgh Magazine. We invite you to experience simple, creative Italian dishes, such as our house-made pasta, from our award winning, Matthew Porco, most recently named "Best in Class: 2014 Chef of the Year" by Pittsburgh Magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Kitchen Hours:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - 11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday - 12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday - 4:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Market Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6363

Website:
http://www.siennapgh.com/

Entertainment:
Our facade opens directly onto Market Square so you can enjoy outdoor dining on our patio, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Valet parking after 6pm for all of Market Square! Convenient Parking Garages located at Three PPG Plaza Garage, Fifth Avenue Place Parking Garage, Sixth Street and Penn Avenue Garage

Executive Chef:
Matthew Porco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 412-281-6363 for information on special events.

Sienna On the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Romantic (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Scenic View (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
People Watching (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
931 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Traveled there on a Saturday. Never disa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Traveled there on a Saturday. Never disappointed. Wine selection was very good. Service was great along with the food. They had the garage doors open so you almost felt like you were sitting inside and outside at the same time. Would recommend this restaurant in an instant.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful evening! Our daughter, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

What a wonderful evening! Our daughter, a NYC foodie, was in town for the weekend so we decided to treat her to a great meal at Sienna on the Square, one of our favorite restaurants.

She loved everything about Sienna! Fun , casual, cozy vibe with spectacular food! John, our waiter, was terrific- sweet, knowledgable, enthusiastic and attentive!

We ordered a little bit of everything- fish, pasta, meatballs , dessert, etc! Each dish was creative and delicious! Two thumbs up!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good news as my wife's meal was good (me ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good news as my wife's meal was good (meatballs and pasta). Bad news I had the Cioppino for $28. One shrimp, 5 very small clams, small piece of fish and maybe 10 small scallops. Not a lot for the money and the it was served luke warm. Would not recommend the Cioppino at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The house made pasta was absolutely deli ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The house made pasta was absolutely delicious & the meatballs are a must!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service - spotty and moody. it was a slo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Service - spotty and moody. it was a slow evening and 70% off the wait staff was lingering around the bar texting and yet our waitress had a lot of attitude towards us

Food - ordered the charcuterie plate to start - good spread but typical. Mozzarella Meatballs & Bucatini - pasta cooked perfectly al dente, but the mozzarella meatball - where was the mozz? was hoping to cut in to oozing moss lava and was left digging for any sign

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We had delicious pasta dinners served wi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had delicious pasta dinners served with a fantastic wine and drink selection. The atmosphere is casual, but not too casual. Equally perfect for special occasions and simple nights out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except our server w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was great except our server was miserable. Good wine list.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

excellent authentic food, the service wa ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

excellent authentic food, the service was very good, at lunch the noise level was moderate and you could talk without screaming, great place.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good lunch spot particularly in nice wea ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Good lunch spot particularly in nice weather when the front opens up into the square. Portions are large. I would be in favor of smaller portions and lower prices. The food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Would definitely return. The service wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Would definitely return. The service was wonderful and the food was delicious!! Can't wait to go back and try more from their menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First day new chef and he hit it out of ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

First day new chef and he hit it out of the park. Brushetta w/ cauliflower, arugla & peach salad with perfect goat's milk cheese, pasta w/ Bolognese & stuffed meatballs, and finally a panko breaded pork chop over seared greens. Add a nice Barolo and a lemoncello. Wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the dinner with my family. Was f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Enjoyed the dinner with my family. Was first occasion I've had to eat outside in Market Square, which with the exception of the crazy guy yelling (but quickly chased away), was pleasant. the menu did seem to be variations on the theme (most dishes had mushrooms or fennel). The polenta corn cake was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I took my cousin who was visiting from P ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I took my cousin who was visiting from Philadelphia to Sienna for a wonderful dining experience. Once again Sienna did not disappoint. Food, service, wine list, and cocktail options were amazing. Homemade pasta made a hit with both of us. Thank you Sienna for your consistency in excellence. Love the valet service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely great food. The waitress was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Absolutely great food. The waitress was really great at keeping our drink glasses full.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This could be the best dinner location i ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This could be the best dinner location in Market Square. The service is very good and the meal is very good. Not to pricey. Nice place to go if you would like the opportunity to dine outside in the Square. The flatbread options are very, very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always one meal here when travelling to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always one meal here when travelling to Pittsburgh. Never disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were from out of town and found this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were from out of town and found this gem. It was excellent in every way. Will go again when in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner for husband's ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner for husband's birthday. The service great and waitress had great recommendations on the did and wine. We would definitely back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was exceptional. The se ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food and service was exceptional. The server was particularly helpful and overall ambience contributed to experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Smallish Menu with mostly pasta choices ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Smallish Menu with mostly pasta choices and a few entrees. Famous for their meatballs, we have been to their Emporio meatball restaurant as well. Started with the flatbread with arugula & prosciutto - great choice for 4 people to share, excellent cheeses used. The specials on the Friday night we dined were all appetizers (no Entrée specials?) - sounded good, so I ordered 2 of them as my meal. One was a rabbit terrine (Fabulous and generous appetizer portion) and a softshell crab (Tiny, covered with a salad). My dinner companions all had homemade pasta - The classic with meatballs and marinara; the duck with gnocchi (was really a sliced duck breast with a few huge gnocchi on the side - cooked perfectly and delicious); and their Bolognese. The pastas were all delicious, agree with other reviews that the spices were quite heavy in the Bolognese so beware. Had several glasses of good wines, and everyone was very happy and all 4 of us agreed we would return. Best for casual good Italian meal for carnivores.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Meatball that was recommended was good b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Meatball that was recommended was good but overpriced. Red bolognese was spicy. Needed tums and even that didn't stop him from getting horrible indigestion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The waiter recommended the food and the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The waiter recommended the food and the wine. Both were excellent. Added a meatball to the entree and really enjoyed it. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is pedestrian. Service is good. L ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food is pedestrian. Service is good. Location is terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Terrible beet risotto and awful service ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Terrible beet risotto and awful service today

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I ordered a sausage escarole onion type ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I ordered a sausage escarole onion type soup and an appetizer of 2 meatballs . It was a perfect dinner for me. Not too much food and lower carbs. Very good flavor ,mild and not too garlicky

The other diners ordered :chicken livers appetizer and the portion was large. I did not try it

The evening special was skirt steak with farrow and I was told it was delicious.

The pasta and meat balls were very tasty and a nice size portion.

The tomato mozzarella salad with balsamic dressing got A plus from the diner. She also ordered the meatball appetizer and was very pleased. I ate a lot of the Italian bread and even took some leftovers home . The bean spread for the bread was a good texture

The waitress was great , attentive and gratious . She laughed with us and no request was put her off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Oh,…the Bolognese sauce is the best in t ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Oh,…the Bolognese sauce is the best in the city!! Can't be beat, and the portion size allowed for a take-home bag. The only thing that I think continues to be a "miss" is that they serve great Italian bread…but with a white bean dip that has very little flavor. If you ask for butter, they have none, but will offer olive oil…which also has no seasoning or flavor. I'd suggest they either offer a whipped seasoned butter, or a seasoned olive oil. This would make a significant difference in the whole dining experience. But the Bolognese?? Yum!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

In Pittsburgh for visit and so glad we f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

In Pittsburgh for visit and so glad we found this place. Great service and selections. Nice space and atmosphere. The only negative that prevented a 5-star food rating was the Chicken Liver Mousse appetizer. It was so salty that it was almost inedible. We had to ask for more bread and other ways to dilute the salt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the inventive menu and the re ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We enjoyed the inventive menu and the relaxed yet correct service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for a before-show dinner. Attentiv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Came for a before-show dinner. Attentive and congenial service, delicious food, interesting cocktail and wine list. The chopped salad was very tasty with complex flavors. Both of our entrees were excellent and hearty. The house-made Limoncello was an exquisite dessert choice.

Our table near the entrance which was open to the street and outdoor seating was a bit noisy and lacking in ambience; in future I would ask to be seated further back into the restaurant. Outdoor seating would be enjoyable but on this occasion it was too hot. Restaurant is only a few minutes' walk from the Cultural District.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never disappoints. Great as always!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Never disappoints. Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and perfect location. Very fe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and perfect location. Very festive with the outdoor market square seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place. I requested outdoor seati ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Awesome place. I requested outdoor seating and it was a beautiful day and they were able to accommodate. Great food and great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoy the location of Sienna on t ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Really enjoy the location of Sienna on the Square. The flexibility to dine inside or outside is very nice. The Tiramisu is out of this world - it is a must try - share it if you must. You won't be unhappy with that choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Met some friends for dinner here. We wer ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Met some friends for dinner here. We were actually looking for a different restaurant, but were very please to have landed here. My Bolognese was delicious, and I had a taste of a meatball from a friend's plate, which was also good. My wife's prosciutto flatbread was also very tasty. Nice wine list and the bartender did well with cocktails. Server needed more coaching on the wine list, but she was still very helpful. There was an unpleasant event on the street outside of the restaurant, which was completely beyond the control of the house. Staff handled the event with professionalism and care for their patrons. It's east to get it right when things go your way, but the evening was pleasant even in spite of less-than-optimal circumstances. Far from perfect service, but it was a great value for the money, and we left the restaurant happy and sated.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered a Caesar salad before dinner, ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I ordered a Caesar salad before dinner, and it was good. My husband had the tomato bisque soup, and he said it was good. We each ordered a different pasta, and we both said our pasta was just okay. Neither of us would order the pasta again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I find the menu to be a little light and ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I find the menu to be a little light and missing some basics. For example, could have a build your own flatbread choice and more basic pasta offerings such as Fettuccine Alfredo, linguine with clam sauce,etc..

But what they do is very good and I just happened upon an excellent and creative risotto dish.

I think the bar menu could also have a few more offerings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We sat in an area that is open to the ou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We sat in an area that is open to the outside; the weather was great, so that was nice! The service was very good and the waitress friendly. The food was outstanding! Linguini Carbonaro - WOW!!! Would definitely return.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We both had the prezzo frizzo, which inc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We both had the prezzo frizzo, which included salad and pasta. I had the malfalda bolognese and my wife had the gemelli pomodoro, both were very tasty. We started our meal with the ricotta and meat ball flat bread. Topped off with a sangria and we had a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is good, nice selection of cocktail ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food is good, nice selection of cocktails. Liked the partially covered outside dining outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Timely service, but painfully loud music ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Timely service, but painfully loud music (do people call this "vibrant"?) made conversation difficult. Food was generously portioned but unbelievably salty. Might return for drinks & apps, but I couldn't do another meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.