Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Sienna On the Square

Sienna On The Square, located in vibrant Market Square, is part of the Sienna Restaurant Group which includes the Sienna Mercato restaurants - Emporio: A Meatball Joint, Mezzo and Il Tetto located in the Cultural District. Sienna on the Square was voted "Best New Restaurant 2013" and listed as "Best Restaurant 2014 & 2015" by Pittsburgh Magazine. We invite you to experience simple, creative Italian dishes, such as our house-made pasta, from our award winning, Matthew Porco, most recently named "Best in Class: 2014 Chef of the Year" by Pittsburgh Magazine.

22 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Kitchen Hours:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - 11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday - 4:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday - 4:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Market Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6363

Website:
http://www.siennaonthesquare.com/

Entertainment:
Our facade opens directly onto Market Square so you can enjoy outdoor dining on our patio, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Valet parking after 6pm for all of Market Square! Convenient Parking Garages located at Three PPG Plaza Garage, Fifth Avenue Place Parking Garage, Sixth Street and Penn Avenue Garage

Executive Chef:
Matthew Porco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 412-281-6363 for information on special events.

Sienna On the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Casual (17)
People Watching (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Authentic (16)
Cozy (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fun (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Romantic (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Scenic View (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Their tomato bisque soup is amazing, I wish they offered a larger "bowl" size. The meatballs are incomparable. We go often for lunch, but the ambience at dinner is wonderful. Great and friendly wait staff. This is a "Must Go" place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a favorite place to meet for lunch witha friend I wouldn't otherwise see. I generally get pasta, often the bolognese, and she gets soup and salad. Delicious food, and quiet enough for conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Best Caesar salad I've had in a LONG time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The only reason I didn't rate it an overall 5 starts is because of the time we had to wait for our main course. Everything else, including our server was wonderful!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I enjoy authentic Italian food and this was a disappointment. On a positive note, the service was very friendly and informative and I did like the ambience. I ordered a salad and had to get clearance from the chef to substitute gorganzola (a real Italian cheese) for Feta cheese. The pasta with seafood was the major disappointment. The seafood was fresh, however the sauce was way overpowering with too many herbs and spices and way too salty! I kept drinking water all night. I mentioned it to the server and she was honest (it's not her favorite dish either). I don't think I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great menu and wonderful food. Nice ambience. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Went to Sienna On The Square for my husband's birthday. Spectacular Cuisine! Out waiter, Anthony, was spot on, knowledgeable with wine's that pair with our entrees, very attentive. Everyone was attentive and friendly. Will definitely visit again. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We stopped in for dinner before a show, and we both ordered Summer Sangria. We were disappointed because when the drinks arrived, there were no peaches or strawberries in them even though that was in the description. Instead there were grapes and an orange wedge. We wouldn't have ordered them if we knew that.

My friend ordered gnocchi with marinara sauce, which was not on the menu. They were nice to accommodate her request; however, the gnocchi were burnt, not "scorched" as the preparation was intended. When she told the server, the server lectured her about what scorched meant and reluctantly went to the kitchen to see what she could do. She returned with an offer to remake the gnocchi but again cautioned that the dish was supposed to be "scorched," or the gnocchi could go in the pasta cooker. The chef wanted her to know that they would not taste as good that way. She ended up with the latter and said they were good. However, we both thought that the server was a bit condescending in how she talked to us. I was surprised because I've been to Sienna many times, and this is the first time something like this happened. Give them a chance, though, because their food is usually really good and anyone can have an off night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Old Fashioned was outstanding. Excellent service and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food very accommodating Excellent service. One of our favorites!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great Italian meal. The best bolognese sauce I have had in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We usually order the torchio. This time it lacked flavor, no cheese or peppers. The risotto was delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was outstanding. Small restaraunt with great service, well crafted cocktails and a nice beer selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Went to Sienna because of their excellent location in Market Square. First and foremost, the service could not have been better! Our server was attentive but not over the top.
The food was great and the wine and beer selections were sufficient. The flatbread appetizer was wonderful!
Would go back again.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Anthony was our waiter and he was fabulous. Not only was he fast with drinks/refills, etc., he took the time to answer our questions, went over the daily lunch special and even offered suggestions. We will definitely return!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Siena on the Square deserves a 5 rating but I downgrade them in several fronts. Wine prices are very high, finding 2.4 to 3.5 times price vs over the counter prices for the same wine. Second, although very good, there appetizers are way under sized. For $14, I thought the paltry amount of meat and cheese provided did not match the price. I can name several Italian trstaurants that give much more for the price with wine cost at half the bottle price at Sienna. Now the food was excellent. I had the bucatini with mozzarella stuffed meatballs. Just as good as the first time I had it. Wife had the same meal. Our friend had the buckwheat crab dinner but wasn't crazy about the appearance or flavor. Very unappealing look to the dish. Our other fried had boat pasta and said he would get it again. Finally, the table was the right size for two people and they crammed 4 of us in. All night we played games trying to find room for each dish and drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We loved our food that was the best part of the restaurant in our opinion. I'd come back for the food.
Vito Celender

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Everything is good. The food, the service, enjoyable place to dine. Only negative is the
wine pour is not very generous for the price you pay for a glass of wine. They also will
not bend in the kitchen. Wanted 1 house salad split. No problem to split the salad, just
will not do it for you. If you want to change anything about your meal...forget it. Absolutely,
no changes or substitutions. Not very customer focused as far as the kitchen goes.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants, but it was a swing and a miss for both of us this weekend. My crab pasta wasn't bad, but had and odd-tasting sauce which had corn and red onions in it. Not much crab and couldn't taste it over the sauce. My friends risotto would have been really good if the red pepper flakes hadnt have made it too hot to eat, even with a glass of milk. She left 1/2 of it. At $75, it was disappointing. Plus the waiter had no personality. I will try again and hope it was just a bad night.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Eaten here many times. Stop after Sunday matinee theater. ALWAYS outstanding, authentic Italian food. Had appetizers & wine. OUTSTANDING.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was excellent, our server very knowledgeable about the food and wine. Overall great experience. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was our first time dining at Sienna and it was wonderful. We do not generally get an appetizer but the appetizer special for that evening (mushrooms with a bounty of other wonderful ingredients) sounded to good to pass up and we were glad we didn't. For our entrees my husband had the Brazed Bore and I had the Buckwheat pasta dish. We highly recommend both dishes. The service was excellent as was the wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 22, 2017

One of the better Italian restaurants in the Pittsburgh area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Pleasantly surprised by the quality service and excellent food. Pasta dishes were creative and tasty. A bit too loud to hold a comfortable conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Not being a dog person, I was alarmed when we were seated at a high top table and directly next to us were 4 people and two small "lap dogs." Very close proximity, so I was concerned, but they ended up not making a sound and not being an issue. I was still surprised that a restaurant with $30+ entrées would allow dogs in owners arms at the tables. As to the actual visit, the service was very good, the food was pricey but tasty and there was a wine special that we enjoyed. We finished in time to get to the theatre, staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The restaurant has a great vibe, was very active and maybe even a little too noisy for a business lunch meeting. The service was good and the food (I had Shrimp Parmesan) was excellent. Sienna always has a packed lunch crowd so you will need a reservation. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 10, 2017

My favorite place to go for Italian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Good food, great service, a little noisy with car traffic in Market square.
Great place to people watch too😄

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was good but not great I am afraid; service was GREAT but we felt limited menu choices; especially if you have any type of dietary needs. Regardless the atmosphere was good for us; we were celebrating our 22nd wedding anniversary before seeing a musical at the Benedum.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Initial hostess rude, unaccommodating & obviously inexperienced in customer service when we arrived to find our reservation through open table was not received. Unacceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We enjoyed every bit of our dining experience. Would highly recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I've worked all levels of the service industry for over 30 years. Our service was remarkable and spot on. Thank you for making time to invest in your employees. It shows.

If I lived in the area, I would have offered our server a job. Please commend her.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Late-night Find, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great place to sit and have some dinner and a glass of wine outside on a beautiful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Can't recommend this place enough. The highchairs are a bit much for adults, but aside from that the food is amazing!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

One of my favorite places to have lunch in town. Great Italian pasta and flatbread but also a very good burger and other sandwiches

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Sienna was wonderful as always. The waiter is knowledgeable about the wine selection, and was very helpful with my friend who has Celiac disease. Delicious meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was so good! We went for Father's Day and were treated as royalty! Definitely a must try.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Authentic Italian food. Bruschetta and straccetalla we're excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food. The special bruschetta was whipped goat cheese with corn and pickled radish, delicious! Gnocchi was wonderful too and inventive. Very enjoyable. Waitstaff really nice and informative.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Portions are very small.
Waitress did not give us bread.
Expensive for the small portions.
Limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.