About Sienna On the Square

22 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Sienna On The Square, located in vibrant Market Square, is part of the Sienna Restaurant Group which includes the Sienna Mercato restaurants - Emporio: A Meatball Joint, Mezzo and Il Tetto located in the Cultural District. Sienna on the Square was voted "Best New Restaurant 2013" and listed as "Best Restaurant 2014 & 2015" by Pittsburgh Magazine. We invite you to experience simple, creative Italian dishes, such as our house-made pasta, from our award winning, Matthew Porco, most recently named "Best in Class: 2014 Chef of the Year" by Pittsburgh Magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Kitchen Hours:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - 11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday - 3:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday - 4:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Market Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6363

Website:
http://www.siennapgh.com/

Entertainment:
Our facade opens directly onto Market Square so you can enjoy outdoor dining on our patio, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Valet parking after 6pm for all of Market Square! Convenient Parking Garages located at Three PPG Plaza Garage, Fifth Avenue Place Parking Garage, Sixth Street and Penn Avenue Garage

Executive Chef:
Matthew Porco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 412-281-6363 for information on special events.

Sienna On the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Cozy (20)
Romantic (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Authentic (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Casual (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Fun (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Organic (4)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Historic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent.

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 12 hours ago

The food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Basically the phantom floor of sienna me ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Basically the phantom floor of sienna mercato. It's pricey, but mostly with the price. Not heavy on Italian but heavy on Italian themes.

Tags: People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very accommodating as we were late and h ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Very accommodating as we were late and had a show to get to. The wait staff were flexible and knew the menu. The wine list was great for the menu selections. Went back the next day for a flat bread and glass of wine at the bar.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a very dry and tough chicken parm. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

I had a very dry and tough chicken parm. The slab of mozzarella on top was the worst part. My wife enjoyed the meatballs which were very good. Bad seats and a waitress who kept reaching over our food was annoying.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

My wife and I have always had a great me ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I have always had a great meal and excellent friendly service. A good selection of some unique wines to choose from a well. This past weekend our server Kim made our dinner experience extremely enjoyable!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We eat here frequently, and always have ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We eat here frequently, and always have had fabulous food. Their soups, appetizers, pastas, entrees...all are excellent. We love their meatballs, tomato bisque soup, risotto, house-made straticella, and everything else! AND, if they have any house-made limoncello on hand for dessert, go for it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good as usual. However, s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was very good as usual. However, service tonight was not. Table was a bit on the small size; water glass, salad bowl and bread plate for two made it crowded. But the real issue was bringing the dinners while we were still eating our salads; not good when the table has no space. Seemed like they were trying to rush us through dinner. Not the enjoyable dinner experience we usually have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

It was great before the Broadway series ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

It was great before the Broadway series - not really too far to travel and timely service

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always accommodating, great food and ser ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Always accommodating, great food and services, great drinks

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Authentic, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Historic, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, , Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I do enjoy this restaurant - the food ha ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I do enjoy this restaurant - the food has always been tasty and well-prepared, but find it pricey. $20 for pasta at lunchtime just seems excessive to me. So while I like it, I don't dine here often for lunch because of the expense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was amazing and presented beautiful ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was amazing and presented beautifully. Service was good and atmosphere was cozy and romantic

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food quality is very good, well prepared ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food quality is very good, well prepared with excellent presentation. My server helped me select an excellent dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

First time there. Great service tasty f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time there. Great service tasty food. Thank you

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The cannellini bean dip is back! The Mus ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The cannellini bean dip is back!

The Mushroom Agnolotti and the Torchio were scrumptious!!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Stopped in for a quick bite after the t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Stopped in for a quick bite after the theatre . I just wanted a bowl of hot soup and a few meatballs . Food was good and service great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a nice evening and the food was g ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a nice evening and the food was great! THe waitress was efficient and sweet. Thank you

I hope to be able to get a table for New Years Eve 2017/18...i can never get in more than 4. I probably will have 6. The pricing is a little on the higher side though.. Thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I visit for the first time. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I visit for the first time. Very warm and welcoming with great music selection. Very friendly staff and exceptional and polite service. The meat and cheese tray appetizer with the pumpkin sauce and the great bread with olive paste was first rate, Classic Caesar and Apple & Arugula Salads were both very good, the new on the menu seafood pasta and the special beef tenderloin was off the hook delicious. We shared everything and had most enjoyable time, we certainly look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good spot for pre-theater meal, very clo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good spot for pre-theater meal, very close to Heinz Hall. Menu has traditional Italian as well as some more contemporary ingredients / modernized recipes. Our party of four enjoyed our entrees as well as the arugula salad. We shared two desserts -- the rice pudding and the chocolate cake -- unique and delicious versions of both.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very accommodating! We had a party of 4 ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very accommodating! We had a party of 4 and we each really enjoyed our salads , soups & dinners Each of us ordered a different pasta dish . Pasta was cooked to perfection and scrumptious Great service !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sienna on the Square is a good Italian r ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sienna on the Square is a good Italian restaurant with a cozy atmosphere. Our wait-staff was knowledgeable about the dishes and very attentive. I would recommend Sienna on the Square for anyone looking for a good Italian meal downtown.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our service was excellent. The food was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Our service was excellent. The food was good, but I'd probably not choose to go there again for pasta given the other choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

This is not my first visit to Sienna. Fo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is not my first visit to Sienna. Food and drink are always great. This was on New Year's Eve where many places have a set menu, over priced and just not that good. Sienna we were able to order from the menu. Had an appetizer and our meal. Service was excellent. Will return and will also recommend. Thanks Sienna.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with friends on NYE early to avoid ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went with friends on NYE early to avoid rush. No long wait for table, nor we pushed to leave. Food was great and service was attentive. Wine could be pricey, but pours were excellent. Only bad experience was that high tops are very high and waitress knocked my water onto my lap trying to reach middle of table. Overall, would return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was good as expected. The servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was good as expected. The service was a bit awkward, maybe because it was New Years Eve. A very early reservation, 4P, and still felt rushed.

I will go back based on very good past experiences

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Bucatini and meatballs was delicious. My ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Bucatini and meatballs was delicious. My five year old loved the four cheese ravioli. My husband's only criticism was he needed bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, excellent service. Joanna wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, excellent service. Joanna was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place for a good Italian meal prior ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Nice place for a good Italian meal prior to going to the Penguins game

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

server super helpful and friendly, wine ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

server super helpful and friendly, wine excellent. a bit dark in the front of the restaurant made the place seem dreary, soft lighting would help. slightly bigger menu for lunch apps would be nice, too. but overall, we totally enjoyed it!

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the perfect spot for my 30th bi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was the perfect spot for my 30th birthday dinner. Ambiance is top-notch. Great place for special occasion. Meatballs were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We had an early dinner on a Friday so we ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had an early dinner on a Friday so we could make the Pens game. The food and service was excellent...The wine and beer was good and the bar and restaurant was full. The only issue we had was as a party of 4 the tables were rather tight and didn't allow for a lot of room but all in all it was a great time!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, food was excellent. Ev ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service was good, food was excellent. Everyone enjoyed the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Defiantly try the mozzarella meatball. T ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Defiantly try the mozzarella meatball. The sauce was outstanding and the quality of the meatball itself was something I'd never had before. The pasta is made from scratch and you could tell the difference in the dishes. I ordered the Linguini with Brussels sprouts and mistake mushrooms while my boyfriend order the gnocchi. Both were fabulous.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had an excellent experience this past ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had an excellent experience this past Sunday as part of my birthday celebration. I highly recommend the gnocchi with cauliflower and the flatbreads.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Wood Oven, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Bolognese ever.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The best Bolognese ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were disappointed somewhat, as a frie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were disappointed somewhat, as a friend had strongly recommended Sienna.

Pro's -

Nice decor, convenience to downtown events, variety of pasta dishes, wine list.

Meh - the food was okay. I will say that I felt the portions on the pasta were reasonable. While we took some home, I didn't feel bloated after having mine and tasting the others. We had the beef tartare and, again, it was okay...the crisps that came with it were sliver thin and useless. Toast points would have been better.

Con's-

Noise level was a problem. For the size restaurant, the volume of background music was too high and what's with Janis Joplin and James Brown in a cozy Italian restaurant? I had to ask to have the music turned down.

Seating-it's a small place so most of the tables for 4 are in the bar area...which is also the noisiest. And the high top tables in the bar area are very high...it was hard to get up and down on the seats.

Bottom line...while a lot like many small New York Italian restaurants in size and menu, I can only say it's okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great evening out; table for 2 was a bit ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great evening out; table for 2 was a bit small and crammed but the food was fantastic and the atmosphere wonderful - highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

we had a wonderful dinner prior to atten ...

 
 (Ireland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

we had a wonderful dinner prior to attending the nutcracker at the benedum. our waitress was very informative and attentive. and the food was very filling and delicious!! our only complaint was that we were seated by a large family with small children that were being disruptive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sienna is one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Sienna is one of my favorite restaurants. Outstanding food, great atmosphere and friendly staff all add up to one of Pittsburgh's best restaurants. My most recent visit was with a very special person and the atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sienna on the Square does Italian tradit ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Sienna on the Square does Italian traditional comfort food as well as it can be done. Salads and flat breads are awesome, pasta is a home run and the service is outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.