About Sienna On the Square

22 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Sienna On The Square, located in vibrant Market Square, is part of the Sienna Restaurant Group which includes the Sienna Mercato restaurants - Emporio: A Meatball Joint, Mezzo and Il Tetto located in the Cultural District. Sienna on the Square was voted "Best New Restaurant 2013" and listed as "Best Restaurant 2014 & 2015" by Pittsburgh Magazine. We invite you to experience simple, creative Italian dishes, such as our house-made pasta, from our award winning, Matthew Porco, most recently named "Best in Class: 2014 Chef of the Year" by Pittsburgh Magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Kitchen Hours:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - 11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday - 12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday - 4:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Market Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6363

Website:
http://www.siennapgh.com/

Entertainment:
Our facade opens directly onto Market Square so you can enjoy outdoor dining on our patio, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Valet parking after 6pm for all of Market Square! Convenient Parking Garages located at Three PPG Plaza Garage, Fifth Avenue Place Parking Garage, Sixth Street and Penn Avenue Garage

Executive Chef:
Matthew Porco

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 412-281-6363 for information on special events.

Sienna On the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Great for Lunch (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
919 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First day new chef and he hit it out of ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined a day ago

First day new chef and he hit it out of the park. Brushetta w/ cauliflower, arugla & peach salad with perfect goat's milk cheese, pasta w/ Bolognese & stuffed meatballs, and finally a panko breaded pork chop over seared greens. Add a nice Barolo and a lemoncello. Wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the dinner with my family. Was f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the dinner with my family. Was first occasion I've had to eat outside in Market Square, which with the exception of the crazy guy yelling (but quickly chased away), was pleasant. the menu did seem to be variations on the theme (most dishes had mushrooms or fennel). The polenta corn cake was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I took my cousin who was visiting from P ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I took my cousin who was visiting from Philadelphia to Sienna for a wonderful dining experience. Once again Sienna did not disappoint. Food, service, wine list, and cocktail options were amazing. Homemade pasta made a hit with both of us. Thank you Sienna for your consistency in excellence. Love the valet service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely great food. The waitress was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Absolutely great food. The waitress was really great at keeping our drink glasses full.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always one meal here when travelling to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always one meal here when travelling to Pittsburgh. Never disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were from out of town and found this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were from out of town and found this gem. It was excellent in every way. Will go again when in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner for husband's ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner for husband's birthday. The service great and waitress had great recommendations on the did and wine. We would definitely back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was exceptional. The se ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food and service was exceptional. The server was particularly helpful and overall ambience contributed to experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Smallish Menu with mostly pasta choices ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Smallish Menu with mostly pasta choices and a few entrees. Famous for their meatballs, we have been to their Emporio meatball restaurant as well. Started with the flatbread with arugula & prosciutto - great choice for 4 people to share, excellent cheeses used. The specials on the Friday night we dined were all appetizers (no Entrée specials?) - sounded good, so I ordered 2 of them as my meal. One was a rabbit terrine (Fabulous and generous appetizer portion) and a softshell crab (Tiny, covered with a salad). My dinner companions all had homemade pasta - The classic with meatballs and marinara; the duck with gnocchi (was really a sliced duck breast with a few huge gnocchi on the side - cooked perfectly and delicious); and their Bolognese. The pastas were all delicious, agree with other reviews that the spices were quite heavy in the Bolognese so beware. Had several glasses of good wines, and everyone was very happy and all 4 of us agreed we would return. Best for casual good Italian meal for carnivores.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Meatball that was recommended was good b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Meatball that was recommended was good but overpriced. Red bolognese was spicy. Needed tums and even that didn't stop him from getting horrible indigestion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The waiter recommended the food and the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The waiter recommended the food and the wine. Both were excellent. Added a meatball to the entree and really enjoyed it. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is pedestrian. Service is good. L ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food is pedestrian. Service is good. Location is terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Terrible beet risotto and awful service ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Terrible beet risotto and awful service today

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I ordered a sausage escarole onion type ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I ordered a sausage escarole onion type soup and an appetizer of 2 meatballs . It was a perfect dinner for me. Not too much food and lower carbs. Very good flavor ,mild and not too garlicky

The other diners ordered :chicken livers appetizer and the portion was large. I did not try it

The evening special was skirt steak with farrow and I was told it was delicious.

The pasta and meat balls were very tasty and a nice size portion.

The tomato mozzarella salad with balsamic dressing got A plus from the diner. She also ordered the meatball appetizer and was very pleased. I ate a lot of the Italian bread and even took some leftovers home . The bean spread for the bread was a good texture

The waitress was great , attentive and gratious . She laughed with us and no request was put her off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Oh,…the Bolognese sauce is the best in t ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Oh,…the Bolognese sauce is the best in the city!! Can't be beat, and the portion size allowed for a take-home bag. The only thing that I think continues to be a "miss" is that they serve great Italian bread…but with a white bean dip that has very little flavor. If you ask for butter, they have none, but will offer olive oil…which also has no seasoning or flavor. I'd suggest they either offer a whipped seasoned butter, or a seasoned olive oil. This would make a significant difference in the whole dining experience. But the Bolognese?? Yum!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

In Pittsburgh for visit and so glad we f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

In Pittsburgh for visit and so glad we found this place. Great service and selections. Nice space and atmosphere. The only negative that prevented a 5-star food rating was the Chicken Liver Mousse appetizer. It was so salty that it was almost inedible. We had to ask for more bread and other ways to dilute the salt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the inventive menu and the re ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We enjoyed the inventive menu and the relaxed yet correct service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for a before-show dinner. Attentiv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Came for a before-show dinner. Attentive and congenial service, delicious food, interesting cocktail and wine list. The chopped salad was very tasty with complex flavors. Both of our entrees were excellent and hearty. The house-made Limoncello was an exquisite dessert choice.

Our table near the entrance which was open to the street and outdoor seating was a bit noisy and lacking in ambience; in future I would ask to be seated further back into the restaurant. Outdoor seating would be enjoyable but on this occasion it was too hot. Restaurant is only a few minutes' walk from the Cultural District.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never disappoints. Great as always!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Never disappoints. Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and perfect location. Very fe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and perfect location. Very festive with the outdoor market square seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place. I requested outdoor seati ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Awesome place. I requested outdoor seating and it was a beautiful day and they were able to accommodate. Great food and great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met some friends for dinner here. We wer ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Met some friends for dinner here. We were actually looking for a different restaurant, but were very please to have landed here. My Bolognese was delicious, and I had a taste of a meatball from a friend's plate, which was also good. My wife's prosciutto flatbread was also very tasty. Nice wine list and the bartender did well with cocktails. Server needed more coaching on the wine list, but she was still very helpful. There was an unpleasant event on the street outside of the restaurant, which was completely beyond the control of the house. Staff handled the event with professionalism and care for their patrons. It's east to get it right when things go your way, but the evening was pleasant even in spite of less-than-optimal circumstances. Far from perfect service, but it was a great value for the money, and we left the restaurant happy and sated.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered a Caesar salad before dinner, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I ordered a Caesar salad before dinner, and it was good. My husband had the tomato bisque soup, and he said it was good. We each ordered a different pasta, and we both said our pasta was just okay. Neither of us would order the pasta again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I find the menu to be a little light and ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I find the menu to be a little light and missing some basics. For example, could have a build your own flatbread choice and more basic pasta offerings such as Fettuccine Alfredo, linguine with clam sauce,etc..

But what they do is very good and I just happened upon an excellent and creative risotto dish.

I think the bar menu could also have a few more offerings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We sat in an area that is open to the ou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We sat in an area that is open to the outside; the weather was great, so that was nice! The service was very good and the waitress friendly. The food was outstanding! Linguini Carbonaro - WOW!!! Would definitely return.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We both had the prezzo frizzo, which inc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We both had the prezzo frizzo, which included salad and pasta. I had the malfalda bolognese and my wife had the gemelli pomodoro, both were very tasty. We started our meal with the ricotta and meat ball flat bread. Topped off with a sangria and we had a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is good, nice selection of cocktail ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food is good, nice selection of cocktails. Liked the partially covered outside dining outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Timely service, but painfully loud music ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Timely service, but painfully loud music (do people call this "vibrant"?) made conversation difficult. Food was generously portioned but unbelievably salty. Might return for drinks & apps, but I couldn't do another meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great location and atmosphere, Chef need ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great location and atmosphere, Chef needs to be more flexible, with slight menu variations.

Should add spaghetti to the menu selection. Good food and great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food and a nice environment. W ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good food and a nice environment. We loved the salmon appetizer and the meatballs are great. Cannelloni was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The fresh made pasta was good but the bo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The fresh made pasta was good but the bolognese was not - too much nutmeg and cinnamon. The chicken liver pate had a bad aftertaste but the fresh made gnocchi was terrific. The service was very good and we liked the atmosphere. Good for drinks and appetizers but the entrees didn't hit the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Read reviews and sounded like a good pla ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Read reviews and sounded like a good place for Italian food. Atmosphere was nice, casual & comfortable, wine selection good. Food however was a real disappointment.

The stuffed meatballs reviewers rave about are good. I had the carbonara that was so much over seasoned with black pepper that it overpowered all other tastes. My wife had the bolognese sauce that also was over seasoned with nutmeg. The server asked how everything was and we explained our thoughts on the seasoning. She apologized and said she would relay our feedback. Either she did not or the manager chose not to talk to us. We were not looking to be comp'd, would have appreciated management explanation of the food prep. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was excellent, service very good, w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent, service very good, wine list was very good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy meatballs!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My sister and I ate here during a weekend trip to Pittsburgh. Great salads, good entrees. Our waiter told us everything was made in house and said to be sure we tried the meatballs. My sister ordered one on the side, I had a main dish with 2 meatballs. Very tasty! Our waiter wasn't overly attentive and seemed to lose interest in us toward the end, but we weren't in any hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Salads came out quickly. Main dishes too ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Salads came out quickly. Main dishes took 45 min after salads cleared.. Some of the food was cold.. Was not even busy. We had someplace to be..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Nice little spot

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was pretty good, I thought the pasta dish we got as a little expensive for how much we got, but the flat bread was amazing. The service was very good, and it wasn't over crowded, it is a lovely resturant and one of our favorites whenever we are in town.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Definitetly worth trying

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My husband and I stayed in the city for our anniversary, and had dinner at Sienna. Our waiter was prompt and friendly. He readily answered any questions we had about menu items and ingredients. My husband had the chopped salad, the pasta with bolognese, and the stuffed meatball. I had the Ceasar salad with white anchovies, and duck breast with gnocchi. The bolognese was a little heavy on the allspice, but was flavorful, and the pasta was cooked perfectly. My husband says that other than being with his lovely wife, the meatball was the second best part of the evening. It was tender and full of flavor, with a stuffing of soft, hot, mozzarella. His chopped salad was fresh and delicious. The duck breast was cooked perfectly medium, and the fried gnocchi were heaven. My Ceasar salad with white anchovies was tasty, but a little overdressed. It's a fun and energetic atmosphere, albeit a little loud, but still had a romantic feel. All in all a beautiful evening. Pricing is about what we would expect to pay.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner before the theater

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The Tomato Bisque was flavorful and just the right amount, loved the flat bread that accompanied it. I had the appetizer stuffed meatballs as well. I'm picky about sauce and wasn't sure to get it. The sauce met my expectations along with the meatballs. It was more than enough food, felt like I ate a whole meal. Of course the sangria made me appreciate the food all the better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Bring back the Stracciatella!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I loved the Stracciatella over arugula. The salty taste combined with the toast was a combination that would make your mouth water before your first bite. Then sometime last year it was changed and they added Pistachio's so OK that is not so bad, we can ask them to not put them on. We went last Sunday and and found out that now it is off the menu completely! I hate when this happens. So we ordred the pork belly appitizer and it was good. So is the chopped salad and the Bucatini. My wife had the Gemalli pasta and she liked it. Overall Sienna is a nice restaurant and rarely disappoints. I don't think we will frequent as often without the Stracciatella though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

If you want Italian food in market squar ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

If you want Italian food in market square go to Pizzaiolo Primo (formerly il Pizzaiolo) because this restaurant will not impress you. My family and I went to dinner here on a Saturday night. First sign of a bad restaurant is that it has many vacant tables. The next sign is when they're out of everything you actually like on the menu. If those two signs aren't enough, a haughty waitstaff and a chef who is unable to accommodate a vegan should really send you packing. The already underwhelming and limited menu was not friendly to anyone with allergies or dietary restrictions and the fact that a "chef" couldn't come up with anything vegan was beyond us. Even though the chef had vegetables and pasta, he refused to put the two together to make a dish. In my opinion he wasn't actually a chef but perhaps a cook told only to make menu items. The waitress was rude, the manager never came to speak with us, so we paid for our overpriced drinks and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.