About Sienna On the Square

22 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Sienna On The Square, located in vibrant Market Square, is part of the Sienna Restaurant Group which includes the Sienna Mercato restaurants - Emporio: A Meatball Joint, Mezzo and Il Tetto located in the Cultural District. Sienna on the Square was voted "Best New Restaurant 2013" and listed as "Best Restaurant 2014 & 2015" by Pittsburgh Magazine. We invite you to experience simple, creative Italian dishes, such as our house-made pasta, from our award winning, Matthew Porco, most recently named "Best in Class: 2014 Chef of the Year" by Pittsburgh Magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Kitchen Hours:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - 11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday - 12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday - 4:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Market Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6363

Website:
http://www.siennapgh.com/

Entertainment:
Our facade opens directly onto Market Square so you can enjoy outdoor dining on our patio, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Valet parking after 6pm for all of Market Square! Convenient Parking Garages located at Three PPG Plaza Garage, Fifth Avenue Place Parking Garage, Sixth Street and Penn Avenue Garage

Executive Chef:
Matthew Porco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 412-281-6363 for information on special events.

Sienna On the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Pre/post Theatre (23)
Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Casual (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Authentic (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fun (8)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
961 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. The food is usually amazing and it feels like you are in a small restaurant in Rome. Anthony and the rest of the employees were very nice.

We enjoyed the food. It was good but just not quite as good as last time. We loved the chopped salad. The crab risotto was good, but just not as good as the lobster risotto from the time before. Not sure what it was. I did have a cold lump of crabmeat in the middle of mine but after that, I didn't notice more crab. I'm sure it was in there, just so mixed up that it wasn't noticeable. In contrast, the root vegetables were too big - lumps within the risotto. Don't get me wrong, it was good, just not the quite up to par. It was the same as my friend's. She had the hand made gnocchi last time with a cream sauce. She could not stop talking about that gnocchi. This time with an odd mix of veggies and a brown sauce - good but not as good as the cream sauce version.

I can't wait to go back, just looking for better luck next time.

Also, i would like them to offer more options made without gluten.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Worst dining experience in Pittsburgh ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Worst dining experience in Pittsburgh ever. No vegetarian options and no concept of taking care of the customer. Couldn't even get butter for bread.

Staff not helpful at all. Felt so badly for our out of town guest who was forced to order bucatini with red sauce and discovered, after being questioned by the staff several times, that it was undercooked.

My parents also received undercooked pasta - way harder than al dente. So imagine our surprise when they charged our guest for her meal.

Don't go. It's just not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great place for dinner. Very relaxed and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great place for dinner. Very relaxed and laid back atmosphere. Not at all pretentious. The food was excellent and not overly priced. Great wine selection, especially the wines of Tuscany. Valet parking right out front is great. Definitely worth the trip downtown.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had made a reservations weeks ahead fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I had made a reservations weeks ahead for light up night. A few days before, a friend of ours wanted to join. The employees here went out of their way for 3 days trying to rearrange the tables and reservations in order to accommodate our additional 2 guests, on one of the busiest night of the year I'm sure. The night before they called to confirm that they had found a way to make it work. What awesome customer service! Not to mention the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality was excellent and the portio ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The quality was excellent and the portion sizes were ample.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience was wonderful. I woul ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Overall experience was wonderful. I would go back again. Great service and great food and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been to Sienna on the Square many t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Have been to Sienna on the Square many times. Food continues to be good, just a notch down from the last few times we were there. So many places to go in Pittsburgh now, hopefully Sienna will keep the pace of others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Good meal at sienna, good service food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good meal at sienna, good service food came out fast,interesting menu

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always good place. Please bring back th ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always good place. Please bring back the orzo mac & cheese

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Sienna serves up some great Italian food ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Sienna serves up some great Italian food. The service is great, but maybe a bit too quick, our food came up right after the apps. Not a huge place, but it wasn't noisy at all. Go for the food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sienna might be my favorite restaurant i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Sienna might be my favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh! Everything is always above my expectations. It's always my go to when I need to impress and it always gets rave reviews from my guests.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was AMAZING. The food was av ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service was AMAZING. The food was average to above average. IT happened to be lovely evening weather wise and with the music from the next door restaurant it set the stage for a perfect evening. We would definitely return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was good but not worth the pric ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was good but not worth the price. The service was lacking and our server was not very friendly. It was a nice place to try once but will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The overall ambience was very nice. The ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The overall ambience was very nice. The sourdough bread we received prior to our appetizer was very fresh and tasty, but we asked our waiter for butter and we were told that the restaurant does not carry any butter in-house..... we were fairly puzzled by this butterless phenomenon.

The salad was small and the ingredients were fresh. We ordered the gnocchi and agnolotti- the agnolotti was entirely too salty but the gnocchi (especially with the fried sage) was really delicious.

Our waiter was attentive and the overall experience was nice.

We are still perplexed by this lack of butter ?! I know the bread is complimentary but who doesn't like bread with butter ? And what restaurant doesn't carry any butter especially when you have dessert on the menu ?

Tags: Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Had some great pasta. Liked their chees ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Had some great pasta. Liked their cheese-filled meatballs and their sauce.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The prosciutto and arugala flatbread was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The prosciutto and arugala flatbread was excellent! Great atmosphere on a Wednesday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Cold meatballs and that was supposed to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Cold meatballs and that was supposed to be their speciality. Sent them back and they returned warm. Ugh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

mushroom ravioli great -avoid chocolate ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

mushroom ravioli great

-avoid chocolate dessert---spicy---why?????????????????

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our second time to Sienna. The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was our second time to Sienna. The food was great the first time, and it was great again. Servers were attentive but not pushy. We started with a bruschetta that was different but delicious. We both had salads (Caesar and arugala) that were also excellent. I had the seafood risotto and my wife had a pasta with meat balls. My risotto was very good. My wife liked her pasta very much, but prefers her pasta a little less dente than she received it (for me, it was exactly the way I like it). I had a very nice Italian wine to compliment the meal for $10 per glass.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was delicious- pasta with meatballs ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

food was delicious- pasta with meatballs-nothing better. arugula salad was perfection. Staff was very nice and helpful. Tall tables might be a non option for older folks but otherwise no issues here. So glad it was recommended to us

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Historic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Healthy, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and waitress was very ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Food was delicious and waitress was very good. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate at Sienna on the Square this past ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We ate at Sienna on the Square this past weekend for my friend's 40th birthday and it couldn't have been better. We had a great time. The drinks were great, the food was awesome and the staff, most especially the manager was awesome. She gave us a tutorial on amaros which taught each of us something. We ate the straciatella appetizer which was amazing as was the lamb pasta. If you're in the neighborhood definitely try out this new spot!

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but a little overpriced i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was good, but a little overpriced in our opinion. Bruschetta was excellent though. Atmosphere was great. Server was okay. Went long minutes between checking on us.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We really liked the atmosphere of this r ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We really liked the atmosphere of this restaurant. The food and service were great. Good location, too. Would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Noodles just like my great grandmother m ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Noodles just like my great grandmother made them. Sauce was amazing. We'll be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostesses were rude and not professi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The hostesses were rude and not professional. The food was good but not worth the prices. We asked for dressing on the side and were told only one salad was that possible but each is made at the order..? It was 48 degrees with the large window/door open. People were complaining of being cold to which they did not address. We had a reservation which the hostess did not have record and attempted to seat us outside on the sidewalk which I specifically said in the reservation that I did not want. Will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointingly not customer focused. M ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Disappointingly not customer focused. My husband and I chose to celebrate our wedding anniversary here. The food was good, but the chef/service staff is rigid. My husband does not like certain veggies - they would not switch the side dishes - so he had to order something that was not his first choice - or get a meal which he would not fully enjoy. The topper was when I asked for butter with the bread - olive oil was served - I was told the server was NOT ALLOWED to bring butter to the table. Does chef not realize that I AM THE CUSTOMER paying a lot of money for a meal - I should be able to have butter with the bread. Obviously we will NEVER be going back. They may go the way of SALT - another rigid chef restaurant. I will also be posting a review on YELP to warn others unless they want to eat as chef desires, they should go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food and service! Our server went ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great food and service! Our server went out of her way to be helpful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value4

Traveled there on a Saturday. Never disa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Traveled there on a Saturday. Never disappointed. Wine selection was very good. Service was great along with the food. They had the garage doors open so you almost felt like you were sitting inside and outside at the same time. Would recommend this restaurant in an instant.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful evening! Our daughter, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

What a wonderful evening! Our daughter, a NYC foodie, was in town for the weekend so we decided to treat her to a great meal at Sienna on the Square, one of our favorite restaurants.

She loved everything about Sienna! Fun , casual, cozy vibe with spectacular food! John, our waiter, was terrific- sweet, knowledgable, enthusiastic and attentive!

We ordered a little bit of everything- fish, pasta, meatballs , dessert, etc! Each dish was creative and delicious! Two thumbs up!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good news as my wife's meal was good (me ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good news as my wife's meal was good (meatballs and pasta). Bad news I had the Cioppino for $28. One shrimp, 5 very small clams, small piece of fish and maybe 10 small scallops. Not a lot for the money and the it was served luke warm. Would not recommend the Cioppino at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The house made pasta was absolutely deli ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The house made pasta was absolutely delicious & the meatballs are a must!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service - spotty and moody. it was a slo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Service - spotty and moody. it was a slow evening and 70% off the wait staff was lingering around the bar texting and yet our waitress had a lot of attitude towards us

Food - ordered the charcuterie plate to start - good spread but typical. Mozzarella Meatballs & Bucatini - pasta cooked perfectly al dente, but the mozzarella meatball - where was the mozz? was hoping to cut in to oozing moss lava and was left digging for any sign

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Made a reservation for 2 for this restau ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Made a reservation for 2 for this restaurant, but after arriving decided to dine at the bar. Informed the hostess of my decision. Food was very good, bartender a little mechanical, but good. Had a good time, but imagine my surprise that I did not receive my dining points! Don't know what happened, but have to assume it's because we stayed at the bar where we spent close to $200. WHY? Contacted opentable and had courtesy points added to my record. Rather odd I thought!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had delicious pasta dinners served wi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had delicious pasta dinners served with a fantastic wine and drink selection. The atmosphere is casual, but not too casual. Equally perfect for special occasions and simple nights out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except our server w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was great except our server was miserable. Good wine list.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

excellent authentic food, the service wa ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 8, 2016

excellent authentic food, the service was very good, at lunch the noise level was moderate and you could talk without screaming, great place.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good lunch spot particularly in nice wea ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Good lunch spot particularly in nice weather when the front opens up into the square. Portions are large. I would be in favor of smaller portions and lower prices. The food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Would definitely return. The service wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Would definitely return. The service was wonderful and the food was delicious!! Can't wait to go back and try more from their menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First day new chef and he hit it out of ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2016

First day new chef and he hit it out of the park. Brushetta w/ cauliflower, arugla & peach salad with perfect goat's milk cheese, pasta w/ Bolognese & stuffed meatballs, and finally a panko breaded pork chop over seared greens. Add a nice Barolo and a lemoncello. Wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.