Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Sienna On the Square

Sienna On The Square, located in vibrant Market Square, is part of the Sienna Restaurant Group which includes the Sienna Mercato restaurants - Emporio: A Meatball Joint, Mezzo and Il Tetto located in the Cultural District. Sienna on the Square was voted "Best New Restaurant 2013" and listed as "Best Restaurant 2014 & 2015" by Pittsburgh Magazine. We invite you to experience simple, creative Italian dishes, such as our house-made pasta, from our award winning, Matthew Porco, most recently named "Best in Class: 2014 Chef of the Year" by Pittsburgh Magazine.

22 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Kitchen Hours:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - 11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday - 4:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday - 4:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Market Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6363

Website:
http://www.siennaonthesquare.com/

Entertainment:
Our facade opens directly onto Market Square so you can enjoy outdoor dining on our patio, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Valet parking after 6pm for all of Market Square! Convenient Parking Garages located at Three PPG Plaza Garage, Fifth Avenue Place Parking Garage, Sixth Street and Penn Avenue Garage

Executive Chef:
Matthew Porco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 412-281-6363 for information on special events.

Sienna On the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Cozy (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
People Watching (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Authentic (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Casual (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Business Meals (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fun (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Scenic View (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Pleasantly surprised by the quality service and excellent food. Pasta dishes were creative and tasty. A bit too loud to hold a comfortable conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Not being a dog person, I was alarmed when we were seated at a high top table and directly next to us were 4 people and two small "lap dogs." Very close proximity, so I was concerned, but they ended up not making a sound and not being an issue. I was still surprised that a restaurant with $30+ entrées would allow dogs in owners arms at the tables. As to the actual visit, the service was very good, the food was pricey but tasty and there was a wine special that we enjoyed. We finished in time to get to the theatre, staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The restaurant has a great vibe, was very active and maybe even a little too noisy for a business lunch meeting. The service was good and the food (I had Shrimp Parmesan) was excellent. Sienna always has a packed lunch crowd so you will need a reservation. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 10, 2017

My favorite place to go for Italian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Good food, great service, a little noisy with car traffic in Market square.
Great place to people watch too😄

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was good but not great I am afraid; service was GREAT but we felt limited menu choices; especially if you have any type of dietary needs. Regardless the atmosphere was good for us; we were celebrating our 22nd wedding anniversary before seeing a musical at the Benedum.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Initial hostess rude, unaccommodating & obviously inexperienced in customer service when we arrived to find our reservation through open table was not received. Unacceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We enjoyed every bit of our dining experience. Would highly recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I've worked all levels of the service industry for over 30 years. Our service was remarkable and spot on. Thank you for making time to invest in your employees. It shows.

If I lived in the area, I would have offered our server a job. Please commend her.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Late-night Find, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great place to sit and have some dinner and a glass of wine outside on a beautiful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Can't recommend this place enough. The highchairs are a bit much for adults, but aside from that the food is amazing!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

One of my favorite places to have lunch in town. Great Italian pasta and flatbread but also a very good burger and other sandwiches

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Sienna was wonderful as always. The waiter is knowledgeable about the wine selection, and was very helpful with my friend who has Celiac disease. Delicious meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was so good! We went for Father's Day and were treated as royalty! Definitely a must try.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Authentic Italian food. Bruschetta and straccetalla we're excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food. The special bruschetta was whipped goat cheese with corn and pickled radish, delicious! Gnocchi was wonderful too and inventive. Very enjoyable. Waitstaff really nice and informative.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Portions are very small.
Waitress did not give us bread.
Expensive for the small portions.
Limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Very nice meal. Swordfish was very tasty. Salad was fabulous. My wife had the chicken which was also fabulous. Please try this place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great meal and excellent service. Our server was very attentive to get us out on time to go to a concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great cocktails and sensational food in an unpretentious setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Air conditioning made this occasion overly chilly. Very small place but nice atmosphere. It is not really conducive to conversation, depending on where you are seated. Lovely staff, food is OK, nothing outstanding. Good location in Market Square. It was nice to sit down after walking around the Arts Festival.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Fantastic meal with great service! I would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

limited, changed menu...wine by the glass limited also.cold pea soup very good, but the chicken entree (only one there) was over salted.
i asked for coffee to be served after i was finished with my wine, but it came right away (and so got cold). never offered a refill and we had to leave for the theater. probably won't be back unless nothing else is available

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We have eaten here before. Menu is not large but the food was great. The gnocchi was outstanding. My husband got the special which was a pork loin. He loved it. The mozzarella stuffed meatballs are to die for. Our waiter Ben was very efficient and personable. The entire staff made our dinner enjoyable and got us out in a timely manner for our Broadway show. We will return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Stopped in for a business dinner before a ballgame. Wait staff worked to make sure our timing worked, which was very helpful. It was a beautiful night and the front was opened. Waiter was extremely helpful. Nice selection of beers. The food was very, very good. Great time. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 30, 2017

This was a great spot to catch up with one of my colleagues. She had a crab cake sandwich and pasta salad which looked amazingly good. I had the arugula salad with gulf shrimp which has been my go-to for the last 2 visits. It tastes so fresh and light - a perfect salad for lunch so that I feel great the rest of the day. We were able to sit just under the shade of the door, which was perfect for breezes and relaxing. I highly recommend for friends catching up or for a romantic setting with awesome food. Service was excellent as usual.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Some tasty dishes, but not consistently across the board. Slow service, but staff very nice

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had a great experience at Sienna, as always. The service is always outstanding, and they time everything perfectly so that you don't feel rushed and can truly enjoy the dining experience. Almost all of the food was excellent, we did have a dud risotto dish, but the staff swiftly handled the issue - the manager paid a visit to the table and the dish was comped. Everything else was very good - especially the mussels! Sienna never disappoints. Thanks for a great meal!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Sienna on the Square provides an intimate dining experience in the heart of Pittsburgh. The menu is small but inventive and features both home made pastas and locally sourced ingredients. We enjoyed our meal and would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Truly one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. Living in Miami I am exposed to many great places to eat but visiting Pittsburgh and finding this gem definitely made my trip. 10/10 would recommend this to everyone. Homemade pasta 👌🏽

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I have been to this restaurant several times and in the past have had a good experience. This time We had pasta salad and a beer and the bill was nearly $100 for two people. The food was only OK. Will try somewhere else next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Loved our dinner. The Bolognese sauce was so very close to what I have had in Bologna. Everything was really yummy - a bit salty though. Very cozy venue and on a warm day the option for the in/out effect is really nice.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Continues to be my favorite Italian restaurant in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

new server but was shadowed every step of the way...very good service. However, one thing I didn't like was the fact the we were told that they couldn't keep breadcrumbs off the meal even though it came on top of the dish...really

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This is one of my favorite places for lunch (or, occasionally, dinner) downtown. I always have some sort of pasta, often the Bolognese. This time, I had gemelli with braised boar, very flavorful and off the beaten path. My lunch companion had her usual tomato soup and salad, and raved about the soup.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The split pea soup was sooooo good! The service was amazing! Quickly became one of my favorite places to dine downtown!

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Not great service or food, just average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The first thing you notice about Sienna on the Square is the ambiance. Low lighting and candles compliment the brick interior setting the scene for an intimate dining experience. I would return again just for that experience.

Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu, creating a great dining experience. Service was fast and convenient. I had a glass of Pinot Noir and the risotto which was one of the best in the city.

I was able to make a reservation on OpenTable at 9pm for 10:30pm the same night. I would definitely return for lunch, dinner or late dining.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was amazing. Flavorful, creative and fresh. Our server Anthony was great and he made our time there memorable. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.