About Sienna On the Square

22 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Sienna On The Square, located in vibrant Market Square, is part of the Sienna Restaurant Group which includes the Sienna Mercato restaurants - Emporio: A Meatball Joint, Mezzo and Il Tetto located in the Cultural District. Sienna on the Square was voted "Best New Restaurant 2013" and listed as "Best Restaurant 2014 & 2015" by Pittsburgh Magazine. We invite you to experience simple, creative Italian dishes, such as our house-made pasta, from our award winning, Matthew Porco, most recently named "Best in Class: 2014 Chef of the Year" by Pittsburgh Magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Kitchen Hours:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - 11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday - 12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday - 4:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Market Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6363

Website:
http://www.siennapgh.com/

Entertainment:
Our facade opens directly onto Market Square so you can enjoy outdoor dining on our patio, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Valet parking after 6pm for all of Market Square! Convenient Parking Garages located at Three PPG Plaza Garage, Fifth Avenue Place Parking Garage, Sixth Street and Penn Avenue Garage

Executive Chef:
Matthew Porco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 412-281-6363 for information on special events.

Sienna On the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (48)
great for outdoor dining (40)
neighborhood gem (30)
See All
great for lunch (25)
special occasion (23)
romantic (21)
notable wine list (14)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
good for groups (10)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
900 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and perfect location. Very fe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and perfect location. Very festive with the outdoor market square seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place. I requested outdoor seati ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Awesome place. I requested outdoor seating and it was a beautiful day and they were able to accommodate. Great food and great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met some friends for dinner here. We wer ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Met some friends for dinner here. We were actually looking for a different restaurant, but were very please to have landed here. My Bolognese was delicious, and I had a taste of a meatball from a friend's plate, which was also good. My wife's prosciutto flatbread was also very tasty. Nice wine list and the bartender did well with cocktails. Server needed more coaching on the wine list, but she was still very helpful. There was an unpleasant event on the street outside of the restaurant, which was completely beyond the control of the house. Staff handled the event with professionalism and care for their patrons. It's east to get it right when things go your way, but the evening was pleasant even in spite of less-than-optimal circumstances. Far from perfect service, but it was a great value for the money, and we left the restaurant happy and sated.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered a Caesar salad before dinner, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I ordered a Caesar salad before dinner, and it was good. My husband had the tomato bisque soup, and he said it was good. We each ordered a different pasta, and we both said our pasta was just okay. Neither of us would order the pasta again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I find the menu to be a little light and ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I find the menu to be a little light and missing some basics. For example, could have a build your own flatbread choice and more basic pasta offerings such as Fettuccine Alfredo, linguine with clam sauce,etc..

But what they do is very good and I just happened upon an excellent and creative risotto dish.

I think the bar menu could also have a few more offerings.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We sat in an area that is open to the ou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We sat in an area that is open to the outside; the weather was great, so that was nice! The service was very good and the waitress friendly. The food was outstanding! Linguini Carbonaro - WOW!!! Would definitely return.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We both had the prezzo frizzo, which inc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We both had the prezzo frizzo, which included salad and pasta. I had the malfalda bolognese and my wife had the gemelli pomodoro, both were very tasty. We started our meal with the ricotta and meat ball flat bread. Topped off with a sangria and we had a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is good, nice selection of cocktail ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food is good, nice selection of cocktails. Liked the partially covered outside dining outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Timely service, but painfully loud music ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Timely service, but painfully loud music (do people call this "vibrant"?) made conversation difficult. Food was generously portioned but unbelievably salty. Might return for drinks & apps, but I couldn't do another meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great location and atmosphere, Chef need ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great location and atmosphere, Chef needs to be more flexible, with slight menu variations.

Should add spaghetti to the menu selection. Good food and great service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food and a nice environment. W ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good food and a nice environment. We loved the salmon appetizer and the meatballs are great. Cannelloni was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The fresh made pasta was good but the bo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The fresh made pasta was good but the bolognese was not - too much nutmeg and cinnamon. The chicken liver pate had a bad aftertaste but the fresh made gnocchi was terrific. The service was very good and we liked the atmosphere. Good for drinks and appetizers but the entrees didn't hit the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Read reviews and sounded like a good pla ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Read reviews and sounded like a good place for Italian food. Atmosphere was nice, casual & comfortable, wine selection good. Food however was a real disappointment.

The stuffed meatballs reviewers rave about are good. I had the carbonara that was so much over seasoned with black pepper that it overpowered all other tastes. My wife had the bolognese sauce that also was over seasoned with nutmeg. The server asked how everything was and we explained our thoughts on the seasoning. She apologized and said she would relay our feedback. Either she did not or the manager chose not to talk to us. We were not looking to be comp'd, would have appreciated management explanation of the food prep. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was excellent, service very good, w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent, service very good, wine list was very good

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy meatballs!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My sister and I ate here during a weekend trip to Pittsburgh. Great salads, good entrees. Our waiter told us everything was made in house and said to be sure we tried the meatballs. My sister ordered one on the side, I had a main dish with 2 meatballs. Very tasty! Our waiter wasn't overly attentive and seemed to lose interest in us toward the end, but we weren't in any hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Salads came out quickly. Main dishes too ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Salads came out quickly. Main dishes took 45 min after salads cleared.. Some of the food was cold.. Was not even busy. We had someplace to be..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Nice little spot

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was pretty good, I thought the pasta dish we got as a little expensive for how much we got, but the flat bread was amazing. The service was very good, and it wasn't over crowded, it is a lovely resturant and one of our favorites whenever we are in town.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Definitetly worth trying

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My husband and I stayed in the city for our anniversary, and had dinner at Sienna. Our waiter was prompt and friendly. He readily answered any questions we had about menu items and ingredients. My husband had the chopped salad, the pasta with bolognese, and the stuffed meatball. I had the Ceasar salad with white anchovies, and duck breast with gnocchi. The bolognese was a little heavy on the allspice, but was flavorful, and the pasta was cooked perfectly. My husband says that other than being with his lovely wife, the meatball was the second best part of the evening. It was tender and full of flavor, with a stuffing of soft, hot, mozzarella. His chopped salad was fresh and delicious. The duck breast was cooked perfectly medium, and the fried gnocchi were heaven. My Ceasar salad with white anchovies was tasty, but a little overdressed. It's a fun and energetic atmosphere, albeit a little loud, but still had a romantic feel. All in all a beautiful evening. Pricing is about what we would expect to pay.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner before the theater

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The Tomato Bisque was flavorful and just the right amount, loved the flat bread that accompanied it. I had the appetizer stuffed meatballs as well. I'm picky about sauce and wasn't sure to get it. The sauce met my expectations along with the meatballs. It was more than enough food, felt like I ate a whole meal. Of course the sangria made me appreciate the food all the better.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Bring back the Stracciatella!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I loved the Stracciatella over arugula. The salty taste combined with the toast was a combination that would make your mouth water before your first bite. Then sometime last year it was changed and they added Pistachio's so OK that is not so bad, we can ask them to not put them on. We went last Sunday and and found out that now it is off the menu completely! I hate when this happens. So we ordred the pork belly appitizer and it was good. So is the chopped salad and the Bucatini. My wife had the Gemalli pasta and she liked it. Overall Sienna is a nice restaurant and rarely disappoints. I don't think we will frequent as often without the Stracciatella though.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

If you want Italian food in market squar ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

If you want Italian food in market square go to Pizzaiolo Primo (formerly il Pizzaiolo) because this restaurant will not impress you. My family and I went to dinner here on a Saturday night. First sign of a bad restaurant is that it has many vacant tables. The next sign is when they're out of everything you actually like on the menu. If those two signs aren't enough, a haughty waitstaff and a chef who is unable to accommodate a vegan should really send you packing. The already underwhelming and limited menu was not friendly to anyone with allergies or dietary restrictions and the fact that a "chef" couldn't come up with anything vegan was beyond us. Even though the chef had vegetables and pasta, he refused to put the two together to make a dish. In my opinion he wasn't actually a chef but perhaps a cook told only to make menu items. The waitress was rude, the manager never came to speak with us, so we paid for our overpriced drinks and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Food was way too salty Tons of noise fro ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Food was way too salty

Tons of noise from street

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Very enjoyable and pleasant servers. Del ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Very enjoyable and pleasant servers. Delicious meatballs and risotto salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect ambiance with relaxed noise levels.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food options for both lunch and dinner. The gemelli Pomodoro and Pork special were great choices. Wine selections were great. Thank you for the great service and atmosphere!

Tags: romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place before a Show

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We were headed to the Public for a show - which we neglected to tell our server. The pace of service was a little slow but not for lack of attention - water was filled regularly, checked on drinks. Once we told our waitress we were going to a show, she picked things up. Both appetizers were great. Salads were wonderful - good size and great greens. The flatbreads were terrific. Portion sizes were fairly significant. For 4 of us, after appetizers and salads, we could have been happy sharing one flatbread. The only bad part of the experience was that we were outside - it was a perfect evening - and there was a very boisterous and very happy group behind us that raised the noise level quite high. At least they were entertaining!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good but service could have been better

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We are here almost weekly and most of the time we have a great experience. Food has been consistently good and this past visit was the same. Our compliant on this dining experience is with the service. Our waiter was pre-occupied and was slow with drinks (bottles of wine, water, beer) and with out check.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food, drinks and service were great. He ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Food, drinks and service were great. Here's my only gripe- I had made a reservation, and upon sitting down at a table in front of the bar, I was told that you can only get happy hour specials if you are sitting right at the bar. I decided to sit at the bar instead of the table and the waiter got an attitude with me and gave me the stank eye from behind the bar for a solid 20 minutes. It was super uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

inventive menu

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

just off he market square in Pittsburgh we had a table outside listening to live music from the square. Menu was not large but had a nice variety of Italian appetizers, soup & salads, and entrees. Our choices were Bruschetta with goat cheese & pickled beets, heirloom tomato salad, sausage soup, Gnocchi, and cannelloni with short ribs and veggies. Good portions and all were excellent tasting. They have a good choice of wines, beer, and cocktails. Prices were a little high for dinners but the value turnout to be worth it. In Pittsburgh, EAT HERE!!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Location & Great Staff

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Great location to have a business meeting when in Pittsburgh. Easy for all to get to for lunch. The lunch menu is very nice. Portion size is just right. Service is very good and friendly and respectful for a business lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, a good meal. My mother ordere ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

As always, a good meal. My mother ordered the Sienna salad. The only minor negative was that the waitress didn't point out the fact that she could add shrimp or chicken etc. It's a good opportunity to sell up and for those who didn't read the menu carefully, it gives them an opportunity to get a more substantial lunch. Also, for those who don't like bean spread, it would be nice to offer oil and parm with the bread...

Other than that, Sienna is always a solid Italian meal! I often recommend it to visitors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

City Dining

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

While in town, I wanted to pick a restaurant I had not been yet. This ended up being a great choice! My aunt and I both really enjoyed our meals. I only got soup and salad because I wasn't very hungry, but my aunt got the pasta with asparagus and peas. I don't recall what it was called, but she enjoyed it. She will be introducing it to my uncle now that she knows about it. I will be stopping in again when I am in the city again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great experience!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pleasant Surprise

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Weren't sure what to expect since this was our first time there but everything was well beyond expectations. Amazing, authentic Italian food from start to finish . Service was great as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I have eaten at 2 other Sienna restaurants in Pittsburgh and we were anxious to eat at this one. It did not live up to the anticipation. Food was ok, not terrible, not great. The bar band from the place next door was really irritating. Frankly, I would have preferred their meatball bar on Penn Ave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Very slow service but food was tasty

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Very slow service but food was tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Disappointed in the limited choices on the menu.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

The dining area was dark. This restaurant had the appearance of an open garage. Menu items were just not familiar. What we chose was good--not great, but good. They seem to promote their Mozzarella stuffed meatballs. There wasn't much mozzarella in mine and overall the meatballs were just so-so. Waitress and service were great. Few choices for dessert. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Sienna outside

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We love to eat outside at Sienna. You can people watch, hear music in the square, and enjoy the ambiance of being outside. The food is good, the service is good, and overall, it is a relaxing dining experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Italian restaurant in Market Square

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I suggested four restaurants to my parents when they came to visit, and was not surprised when they chose this one. We all had different pasta dishes, all of which were quite good. The beans and greens appetizer was amazing! And my aunt had a salad, which she said was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always leave happy..

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

I have been coming to Sienna on the Square for years and never leave unhappy. The food is always delicious and they have one of the best Bolognese sauces that I have ever had. The atmosphere is warm and inviting as is the service. Great cocktails and wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Sienna's pasta never disappoints. Flavor ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Sienna's pasta never disappoints. Flavor for days and a fun atmosphere. I especially was surprised to see that the front of the restaurant opens up via garage door . A special treat in the warmer months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.