Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Sienna On the Square

Sienna On The Square, located in vibrant Market Square, is part of the Sienna Restaurant Group which includes the Sienna Mercato restaurants - Emporio: A Meatball Joint, Mezzo and Il Tetto located in the Cultural District. Sienna on the Square was voted "Best New Restaurant 2013" and listed as "Best Restaurant 2014 & 2015" by Pittsburgh Magazine. We invite you to experience simple, creative Italian dishes, such as our house-made pasta, from our award winning, Matthew Porco, most recently named "Best in Class: 2014 Chef of the Year" by Pittsburgh Magazine.

22 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Kitchen Hours:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - 11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday - 4:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday - 4:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Market Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6363

Website:
http://www.siennaonthesquare.com/

Entertainment:
Our facade opens directly onto Market Square so you can enjoy outdoor dining on our patio, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Valet parking after 6pm for all of Market Square! Convenient Parking Garages located at Three PPG Plaza Garage, Fifth Avenue Place Parking Garage, Sixth Street and Penn Avenue Garage

Executive Chef:
Matthew Porco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 412-281-6363 for information on special events.

Sienna On the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Cozy (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Authentic (19)
Business Meals (18)
Romantic (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Casual (15)
People Watching (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Fun (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Scenic View (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Sienna on the Square provides an intimate dining experience in the heart of Pittsburgh. The menu is small but inventive and features both home made pastas and locally sourced ingredients. We enjoyed our meal and would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Truly one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. Living in Miami I am exposed to many great places to eat but visiting Pittsburgh and finding this gem definitely made my trip. 10/10 would recommend this to everyone. Homemade pasta 👌🏽

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Loved our dinner. The Bolognese sauce was so very close to what I have had in Bologna. Everything was really yummy - a bit salty though. Very cozy venue and on a warm day the option for the in/out effect is really nice.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Continues to be my favorite Italian restaurant in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

new server but was shadowed every step of the way...very good service. However, one thing I didn't like was the fact the we were told that they couldn't keep breadcrumbs off the meal even though it came on top of the dish...really

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This is one of my favorite places for lunch (or, occasionally, dinner) downtown. I always have some sort of pasta, often the Bolognese. This time, I had gemelli with braised boar, very flavorful and off the beaten path. My lunch companion had her usual tomato soup and salad, and raved about the soup.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The split pea soup was sooooo good! The service was amazing! Quickly became one of my favorite places to dine downtown!

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Not great service or food, just average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The first thing you notice about Sienna on the Square is the ambiance. Low lighting and candles compliment the brick interior setting the scene for an intimate dining experience. I would return again just for that experience.

Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu, creating a great dining experience. Service was fast and convenient. I had a glass of Pinot Noir and the risotto which was one of the best in the city.

I was able to make a reservation on OpenTable at 9pm for 10:30pm the same night. I would definitely return for lunch, dinner or late dining.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was amazing. Flavorful, creative and fresh. Our server Anthony was great and he made our time there memorable. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good food and great service. Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and meeting with friends. Server very knowledgeable and attentive to needs. Nice recommendations with "over selling". Been here for business lunch, dinner with friends and also dinner before a show. Never disappointed

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food was great. Was for Take Your Child to Work day; I asked for buttered noodles for my little girl and they were perfect. She almost ate the whole bowl (which was not small) and that says so much!

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The food was fantastic, the service was great, it was my first visit there and I definitely will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in Pgh. Never disappointed! Each time I visit, it's better! Excellent food but the mixed drinks and wine selection -- along with really great service -- make this place really special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I tried to order a pasta without the bacon and was told that no substitutions or removals would be possible. This is common in resturants that reheat food and do not freshly prepare each meal. For the price, I was incredibly disappointed by that and would never recommend anyone else i know going there. There are many more resturants in the area that offer freshly made food with better prices.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food was excellent, and the service was outstanding. Had a delightful evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Sienna on the Square was a mixed experience. The location, service and ambience were great. We started out at an outside table and when we asked to move inside they were very accommodating. The menu had some interesting options, the wine list was decent, and we each chose something different. My colleague thought her pasta was quite good. I had the risotto and found it much too heavy - too much sauce that covered up the vegetable flavors. The risotto was mediocre at best.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Problem- dinner menu on open table was VERY VERY different from what was on the menu in the restaurant. Prices, offerings - everything. We planned on a VERY different menu. This was unacceptable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

With all the new restaurants in Pittsburgh we almost forget Sienna on the Square, but it remains one of our go to places for all seasons. When it is bitterly cold outside it is always warm and cozy. When it is warm outside the doors open and their is outdoor seating and the dining room feels outdoors. The menu seems new every time my wife and I go there. Always interesting selections. This visit I had the grilled swordfish which, of course, is new on the menu, and was spectacular. I always find the wine selections interesting, and things we wouldn't normally try. The staff at Sienna is just the best of any restaurant. Everyone from the servers, to the manager, and hosts, are concerned that your experience is outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very good food and service. Homemade and local, in season ingredients.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Fantastic service and delicious food. We highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful place. One of my favorite restaurants. I've never had a meal I didn't like!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food, drinks. Hot spot with tons of activity about the square. Valet parking right in front. 👍

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We were very disappointed in the salads we ordered. They were so small and not worth the $16.00 we paid for them. We complained to the staff but our waitress seemed annoyed at us and a man came and gave us dressing which was very deceiving as the goat cheese. The arugula salad with apples came with one slice of thinly sliced apple and less than a cup of salad. It was pathetic. We ordered grilled chicken and it came with three strips of chicken. We left hungry. Very disappointed in the quality and quantity of food. With tip, the $20 lunch was not worth the money at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Best meatballs I've ever tasted! Perfect place to go after a show.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food and great service. I've been here numerous times and will continue to dine here and recommend this place to others!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sienna offers good food in a great atmosphere within Pittsburgh's Market Square. Service is always superb. Dessert was the only miss on this outing, but the restaurant took care of this and did not impact the only experience. When it comes to downtown dining, I always include Sienna on my recommendation list and it continues to not disappoint.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall, no complaints. However, with so many dining options in the downtown area, neither of us experienced anything that we'd have to go back for.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Just a nice Friday night dinner with my spouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food and drinks were very good. Price was a bit much for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Save your money. Good for a quick meal but overall quality was really lacking. We were really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Our waitress was very nice and explained different selections not on the menu. Meatballs were soft and the sauce was delicious. I will definetely return and bring friends and family. Nice wine list and appetizer selections. If visiting from out of town or looking for someplace different you will not be disappointed. I suggest making reservations especially on the weekends. I was there on a week night and it wasn't busy but did not have to wait for a table. Ecellent fresh Italian food.

Tags: Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We all commented on what a great meal we had. Our server was also energetic and helpful.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Nice but casual. Staff was very helpful and attentive. Homemade pasta, delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The fresh pastas were a delight and the wine selection made for a very romantic evening with my wife

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great lunch on a beautiful Spring Day In February in Pgh! Table on the sidewalk side watching the coming and goings on Market Square. Back for dinner this coming Friday with friends after work

Tags: Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Basically the phantom floor of sienna mercato. It's pricey, but mostly with the price. Not heavy on Italian but heavy on Italian themes.

Tags: People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.