Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 26 times today

Sienna On the Square

4.6
1265 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Cozy
Sienna On The Square, located in vibrant Market Square, is part of the Sienna Restaurant Group which includes the Sienna Mercato restaurants - Emporio: A Meatball Joint, Mezzo and Il Tetto located in the Cultural District. Sienna on the Square was voted "Best New Restaurant 2013" and listed as "Best Restaurant 2014 & 2015" by Pittsburgh Magazine. We invite you to experience simple, creative Italian dishes, such as our house-made pasta, from our award winning, Matthew Porco, most recently named "Best in Class: 2014 Chef of the Year" by Pittsburgh Magazine.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu 11:00 am–10:00 pm
Fri 11:00 am–11:00 pm
Sat 4:00 pm–11:00 pm
Sun 4:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(412) 281-6363
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matthew Porco
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Market Square
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking after 6pm for all of Market Square! Convenient Parking Garages located at Three PPG Plaza Garage, Fifth Avenue Place Parking Garage, Sixth Street and Penn Avenue Garage
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Our facade opens directly onto Market Square so you can enjoy outdoor dining on our patio, weather permitting.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please call 412-281-6363 for information on special events.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1265 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Pittsburgh is really turning into a great food town. Sienna was cozy and friendly, and the food was great. No matter what you order, get a stuffed meatball. It should be rule! Excellent cocktails, great staff. We had a great time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

The food here was very good. I had grilled swordfish with ramp pesto, picked ramps, local mushrooms, peas, asparagus and chickpea croutons. I was blown away by the flavors. I would order this dish again in a heartbeat. Very elegant presentation.

We also had the truffle gnocchi which was very delicious as well.

Our waitress was friendly and very helpful in explaining the menu, and also gave us excellent recommendations.

The weather was pleasant outside, so they opened the front of the restaurant to the outside. That made it very easy to carry on conversations since the noise level was very moderate.

I would put this restaurant on the short list of places to dine downtown,

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Salad, wine, service, ambiance were great. Bolognese was a bit odd. Not bad, but I was looking for a more classical bolognese and this isn't that. A bit strangely sweet for my taste. Others will no doubt enjoy that, it just wasn't what I was looking for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day very nice dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The restaurant is small and offers a great dining experience. All of the dishes were innovative and used quality ingredients. All 4 people at our table enjoyed their meals and everyone ordered something different. The service was excellent and we were seated promptly for our reserved time.

Two slightly negative comments: 1) The bread that was served with the meal was boring and not that substantial. 2) There are no booths in the restaurant. The chairs at the tables were very high (similar to bar stools). If you have a back problem, I don't know if you would be that comfortable on the chairs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Great location and all were happy with food... Even vegan eaters!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The specialty drink was half full.. 12 dollars
Very disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Small venue and was a bit loud with the front open to market square, but the food was delicious and staff was courteous as well as knowledgeable on explaining options and answering questions. Without a doubt we will go again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We were disappointed after reading the excellent reviews 2 of the 3 pasta dishes were over salted. Very limited menu and no substitutions are permitted.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Dinner with friends, great night out

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We had the meatball appetizers and they were amazing. The gnocchi was incredible and the lemon pasta was superb. Our service was outstanding. Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The customized cocktail list is always a treat. Meals are hearty and filling. This is a great spot to go before an evening in the cultural district as the wait staff and kitchen are fulling aware if you are trying to make an event in time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Food is very good . The potatoe soup was great . I also had the chicken with gnocchi , that was very good. However they took off the shrimp with polenta, wish it was still on menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We each had a different entree but some dishes were too salty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Went for a pre-concert dinner on a Saturday evening. Weather was very nice, so the restaurant opened up to Market Square. The noise level was loud, not quite to the point of having to shout, but pretty close. The food was good. the waiter was reasonably attentive, so no complaints there. Overall an energetic casual dining spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This was my first time a Sienna in the Square and it was wonderful! From the wait staff to the food, it was just great! I will definitely be returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The waitress was awesome. The Pesto Spaghetti was heaven on a plate!!! The meatballs lived up to the hype -- stupendous!
BUT the "Happy Hour" drinks were extremely weak and we did not like the "spread" for the bread. They would not serve us butter??? Gave us oil and vinegar instead!!! (for bread???)
Overall I'd give it a solid "7" -- if they served butter, had stronger drinks and the prices were lower it'd be a "9.5"

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Had dinner while visiting our son in Pittsburgh. Food was wonderful and service was fabulous. Will definitely return on future visits! Very enjoyable evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

What a gem - fantastic food, great service and staff. The seared Tuna is supreme!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Our table was not ready and the couple at the table they had reserved for us stayed longer than expected. The host was very apologetic and comped us 2 appetizers for the inconvenience. Those 2 apps were outstanding! We had the most tender shrimp and polenta that I've ever tasted. We also had the flatbread with crab, artichoke hearts and roasted red pepper. Delicious. For our main courses my wife had the lemon spaghetti, which had a pesto sauce and the same incredible velvety shrimp. Outstanding. I had the bucatini pasta and mozerella stuffed meatball in a fresh tomato sauce. Great restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Everything was delicious. The tables are small but not close to each other so it felt intimate. We will be back for sure

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Best Italian food I have ever tasted. New creations of Mediterranean food. Much more than pizza and spaghetti. Try the tomato bisque, the arugula salad, the flat breads and the risottos.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Interesting menu, great service and warm/pleasant environment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 26, 2018

The food was very tasty and the meal fit well in a lunch hour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We sat at the high top tables ( they are VERY high!). Had great service and amazing food. Thought it was a good value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We loved Sienna! The food and drink are terrific! The Cappelletti with pork cheek
Was so delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Good menu flatbread app great and entrees. Our server was great, however the bar was a bit slow.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Our meals were absolutely wonderful. The food is very well prepared and the menu changes so it is worth going back. The restaurant was a bit noisier than usual because it was St. Patrick's Day, so we won't complain. The only negative was that every time someone entered or left the restaurant, the door is directly in the seating area and you get a blast of cold air.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Really great spot for a quick Italian meal . The pasta is really good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The scallops were amazing as well as the their staple menu item the meatballs. Everyone was friendly and knowledgeable. Very nice experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

I'm an out-of-towner and this was my first experience at Sienna on the Square. I come to Pittsburgh a couple times a year, and one thing or another had prevented me from trying the restaurant, though I'd noted a recent high rating from at least one local food critic. I was NOT disappointed.

I dined with two friends and our food -- risotto, kale salad, maflade bolognese, white bean soup -- was uniformly excellent and earned its just-right price. The atmosphere was warm and inviting; the service was friendly and attentive, without being obsequious; and the noise level was moderate, despite a largely packed restaurant at 7:30 on a Friday night.

Bravo Sienna on the Square! You provided the kind of Italian food experience one would hope to find in such an Italian-influenced city. You will be my first dinner choice on my next visit to Pittsburgh.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Wonderful food, original recipes, great take on Italian

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Service was slow, delivered wrong items, incorrect information about menu, food was fair, not great

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

It was busy and we were a bit concerned about the time it took to place our order. We were dining before a show. But the host helped our waitress and sped the meal along so it worked out ok. The food was unique and very good. The chopped salad was excellent. As other have commented before there is a uncomfortably cold draft when the door is opened.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Always look forward to enjoying this restaurant after the shows. Great food and great service. Really nice when the doors are open in the summer. Recommend it to family and friends all the time. No one is disappointed! You have to try the meatballs!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

What a pleasant experience.... service was great.... and our server asked if we were on a timeline so it was nice that they are cognizant of your schedule.... food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Chicken took 25 mins to cook fresh (that’s ok if food turns out great) but then was rubbery and under seasoned. Halibut was fresh and tasty. Even though we had reservations they tried to stick us at high top in the bar vs regular table. Server was nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Sienna has become one of the restaurants we come back to often. The service is always amazing, the entire staff works as one team so if your server is busy someone else will step in and help. I'm not sure if that's official policy but that's how it seems to happen. No surly staff ever at Sienna! The menu changes often but some standards seem to remain, so it's always interesting. My wife and I especially love it in the winter because the restaurant seems so warm and cozy. Give Sienna a try !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Nice time and meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Dinner prior to a show at the Benedum. Food was excellent and my friend, who had never fined there before, enjoyed her meal.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32

Tweets by Sienna On the Square