About Sienna On the Square

22 Market Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Sienna On The Square, located in vibrant Market Square, is part of the Sienna Restaurant Group which includes the Sienna Mercato restaurants - Emporio: A Meatball Joint, Mezzo and Il Tetto located in the Cultural District. Sienna on the Square was voted "Best New Restaurant 2013" and listed as "Best Restaurant 2014 & 2015" by Pittsburgh Magazine. We invite you to experience simple, creative Italian dishes, such as our house-made pasta, from our award winning, Matthew Porco, most recently named "Best in Class: 2014 Chef of the Year" by Pittsburgh Magazine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Kitchen Hours:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday - 11:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday - 3:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Sunday - 4:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Market Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 281-6363

Website:
http://www.siennapgh.com/

Entertainment:
Our facade opens directly onto Market Square so you can enjoy outdoor dining on our patio, weather permitting.

Parking Details:
Valet parking after 6pm for all of Market Square! Convenient Parking Garages located at Three PPG Plaza Garage, Fifth Avenue Place Parking Garage, Sixth Street and Penn Avenue Garage

Executive Chef:
Matthew Porco

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call 412-281-6363 for information on special events.

Sienna On the Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (28)
Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Authentic (18)
Casual (17)
Cozy (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Romantic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fun (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Historic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1042 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time there. Great service tasty f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

First time there. Great service tasty food. Thank you

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The cannellini bean dip is back! The Mus ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The cannellini bean dip is back!

The Mushroom Agnolotti and the Torchio were scrumptious!!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Stopped in for a quick bite after the t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Stopped in for a quick bite after the theatre . I just wanted a bowl of hot soup and a few meatballs . Food was good and service great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a nice evening and the food was g ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a nice evening and the food was great! THe waitress was efficient and sweet. Thank you

I hope to be able to get a table for New Years Eve 2017/18...i can never get in more than 4. I probably will have 6. The pricing is a little on the higher side though.. Thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I visit for the first time. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I visit for the first time. Very warm and welcoming with great music selection. Very friendly staff and exceptional and polite service. The meat and cheese tray appetizer with the pumpkin sauce and the great bread with olive paste was first rate, Classic Caesar and Apple & Arugula Salads were both very good, the new on the menu seafood pasta and the special beef tenderloin was off the hook delicious. We shared everything and had most enjoyable time, we certainly look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good spot for pre-theater meal, very clo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good spot for pre-theater meal, very close to Heinz Hall. Menu has traditional Italian as well as some more contemporary ingredients / modernized recipes. Our party of four enjoyed our entrees as well as the arugula salad. We shared two desserts -- the rice pudding and the chocolate cake -- unique and delicious versions of both.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very accommodating! We had a party of 4 ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very accommodating! We had a party of 4 and we each really enjoyed our salads , soups & dinners Each of us ordered a different pasta dish . Pasta was cooked to perfection and scrumptious Great service !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sienna on the Square is a good Italian r ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sienna on the Square is a good Italian restaurant with a cozy atmosphere. Our wait-staff was knowledgeable about the dishes and very attentive. I would recommend Sienna on the Square for anyone looking for a good Italian meal downtown.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our service was excellent. The food was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Our service was excellent. The food was good, but I'd probably not choose to go there again for pasta given the other choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

This is not my first visit to Sienna. Fo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is not my first visit to Sienna. Food and drink are always great. This was on New Year's Eve where many places have a set menu, over priced and just not that good. Sienna we were able to order from the menu. Had an appetizer and our meal. Service was excellent. Will return and will also recommend. Thanks Sienna.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with friends on NYE early to avoid ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went with friends on NYE early to avoid rush. No long wait for table, nor we pushed to leave. Food was great and service was attentive. Wine could be pricey, but pours were excellent. Only bad experience was that high tops are very high and waitress knocked my water onto my lap trying to reach middle of table. Overall, would return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was good as expected. The servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was good as expected. The service was a bit awkward, maybe because it was New Years Eve. A very early reservation, 4P, and still felt rushed.

I will go back based on very good past experiences

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Bucatini and meatballs was delicious. My ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Bucatini and meatballs was delicious. My five year old loved the four cheese ravioli. My husband's only criticism was he needed bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, excellent service. Joanna wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, excellent service. Joanna was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place for a good Italian meal prior ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Nice place for a good Italian meal prior to going to the Penguins game

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

server super helpful and friendly, wine ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

server super helpful and friendly, wine excellent. a bit dark in the front of the restaurant made the place seem dreary, soft lighting would help. slightly bigger menu for lunch apps would be nice, too. but overall, we totally enjoyed it!

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the perfect spot for my 30th bi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was the perfect spot for my 30th birthday dinner. Ambiance is top-notch. Great place for special occasion. Meatballs were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We had an early dinner on a Friday so we ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had an early dinner on a Friday so we could make the Pens game. The food and service was excellent...The wine and beer was good and the bar and restaurant was full. The only issue we had was as a party of 4 the tables were rather tight and didn't allow for a lot of room but all in all it was a great time!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, food was excellent. Ev ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service was good, food was excellent. Everyone enjoyed the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Defiantly try the mozzarella meatball. T ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Defiantly try the mozzarella meatball. The sauce was outstanding and the quality of the meatball itself was something I'd never had before. The pasta is made from scratch and you could tell the difference in the dishes. I ordered the Linguini with Brussels sprouts and mistake mushrooms while my boyfriend order the gnocchi. Both were fabulous.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had an excellent experience this past ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had an excellent experience this past Sunday as part of my birthday celebration. I highly recommend the gnocchi with cauliflower and the flatbreads.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Wood Oven, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Bolognese ever.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The best Bolognese ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were disappointed somewhat, as a frie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were disappointed somewhat, as a friend had strongly recommended Sienna.

Pro's -

Nice decor, convenience to downtown events, variety of pasta dishes, wine list.

Meh - the food was okay. I will say that I felt the portions on the pasta were reasonable. While we took some home, I didn't feel bloated after having mine and tasting the others. We had the beef tartare and, again, it was okay...the crisps that came with it were sliver thin and useless. Toast points would have been better.

Con's-

Noise level was a problem. For the size restaurant, the volume of background music was too high and what's with Janis Joplin and James Brown in a cozy Italian restaurant? I had to ask to have the music turned down.

Seating-it's a small place so most of the tables for 4 are in the bar area...which is also the noisiest. And the high top tables in the bar area are very high...it was hard to get up and down on the seats.

Bottom line...while a lot like many small New York Italian restaurants in size and menu, I can only say it's okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great evening out; table for 2 was a bit ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great evening out; table for 2 was a bit small and crammed but the food was fantastic and the atmosphere wonderful - highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

we had a wonderful dinner prior to atten ...

 
 (Ireland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

we had a wonderful dinner prior to attending the nutcracker at the benedum. our waitress was very informative and attentive. and the food was very filling and delicious!! our only complaint was that we were seated by a large family with small children that were being disruptive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sienna is one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Sienna is one of my favorite restaurants. Outstanding food, great atmosphere and friendly staff all add up to one of Pittsburgh's best restaurants. My most recent visit was with a very special person and the atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sienna on the Square does Italian tradit ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Sienna on the Square does Italian traditional comfort food as well as it can be done. Salads and flat breads are awesome, pasta is a home run and the service is outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every year my sister and I decide to ski ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Every year my sister and I decide to skip the Christmas gifts and experience a night out and dinner. We were both very happy with our decision. Our server was very helpful when it came to drink and food recommendations. We were very pleased with our 2016 restaurant pick!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good, not great. It's on-par with it's ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Good, not great. It's on-par with it's neighbor, Nola. I dine and both places occasionally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding in every way! I have lunch t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Outstanding in every way! I have lunch there frequently with business associates and have found the environment friendly and cordial for an informal business meeting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations to go prior to a sh ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We made reservations to go prior to a show on Saturday evening. Our server was very friendly but over all service was lacking. We had to ask for pepper for salads. No cheese or pepper offered for main entrees. My main course arrived very cold. One other meal was cold but the other two were up to temperature. Overall, I feel that the starters are always better than the main courses here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The hostess wasn't very friendly when we ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The hostess wasn't very friendly when we got there. She made is seem like she had better things to do then take us to our table. Luckily our waitress was a lot nicer. The two kids got buttered noodles which of course is common for kids but they were drenched in butter. I will say the noodles itself were yummy. Tasted fresh. My friend and I both got a caesar salad, which had a fabulous lemon taste to the dressing. We also go the meatball flatbread and it was fabulous! I loved that they stuck ricotta on the pizza as well. This kids like the look of it and ate it as well. So after that experience I would go back for flat bread for sure.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a wonderful lunch. Food and service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch. Food and service were both excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambiance, decent drinks (a bit pri ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great ambiance, decent drinks (a bit pricey), food wasn't that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

My wife and I went to Sienna on Friday n ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My wife and I went to Sienna on Friday night with friends of ours. None of us have had the opportunity to experience this gem of a restaurant! Great menu with specials offered for appetizer and entree. I had the Lamb Osso Bucco special, which was fantastic! My wife and friends each had a different pasta entree which they all raved about, especially the meatballs. We sat in the bar area, which was busy but not too loud, so not to interfere with conversation. Overall, our experience was outstanding, the food was excellent, the service was outstanding and I would certainly recommend this restaurant to friends and family. I know that I will be back. Oh, I also recommend that you take advantage of the valet parking just out front of the restaurant for $10, and you get a $3 credit on your bill at Sienna.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

More a bar with good Italian food than a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

More a bar with good Italian food than a restaurant. Dining area small and crowded. Tables are small, and venue is noisy. Really more expensive than the "$$" would suggest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very nice overall dining experience. O ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very nice overall dining experience. One person in our group has a very serious nut allergy. This was mentioned to the server prior to ordering. The server noted this special dietary need. She returned to our table to say that she informed the chef and kitchen. She reviewed the 'nut free' menu selections and made recommendations. In addition, the General Manager/Manager on duty, approached our table to discuss our needs. The extra attention and care given to us was outstanding. We appreciated the extra efforts devoted to making our meals and dining experience excellent. Thank you!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. The food is usually amazing and it feels like you are in a small restaurant in Rome. Anthony and the rest of the employees were very nice.

We enjoyed the food. It was good but just not quite as good as last time. We loved the chopped salad. The crab risotto was good, but just not as good as the lobster risotto from the time before. Not sure what it was. I did have a cold lump of crabmeat in the middle of mine but after that, I didn't notice more crab. I'm sure it was in there, just so mixed up that it wasn't noticeable. In contrast, the root vegetables were too big - lumps within the risotto. Don't get me wrong, it was good, just not the quite up to par. It was the same as my friend's. She had the hand made gnocchi last time with a cream sauce. She could not stop talking about that gnocchi. This time with an odd mix of veggies and a brown sauce - good but not as good as the cream sauce version.

I can't wait to go back, just looking for better luck next time.

Also, i would like them to offer more options made without gluten.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Worst dining experience in Pittsburgh ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Worst dining experience in Pittsburgh ever. No vegetarian options and no concept of taking care of the customer. Couldn't even get butter for bread.

Staff not helpful at all. Felt so badly for our out of town guest who was forced to order bucatini with red sauce and discovered, after being questioned by the staff several times, that it was undercooked.

My parents also received undercooked pasta - way harder than al dente. So imagine our surprise when they charged our guest for her meal.

Don't go. It's just not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.