About Siena Ristorante Toscana

6203 Capital of Texas Hwy
Austin, TX 78731
View Larger Map

For over 13 years Siena has been Austin’s premier destination for authentic Tuscan cuisine. Chef Harvey Harris received his Master's Chef in Italian cuisine while attending culinary school in Piedmonte Italy, but his heart is in Tuscany where he lived and worked. All food at Siena is prepared to order, pasta is made fresh daily as well as all stocks and sauces. Tuscan food in general is gluten free so over 65% of their menu is always gluten free!. Utilizing local farms and ranches Chef Harvey sources out products that are hormone free, chemical free and natural for his menu. Our food is complemented by an award-wining wine cellar and served in rustic, elegant surroundings of thick stone walls and tall wood-beamed ceilings. Whether visiting for a light lunch, happy hour, special event, or a romantic evening, experience the welcoming charm of Tuscany close to home.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

"Seasonal" Dinner Hours
Tuesday through Saturday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Sunday and Monday : 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
2222 & 360 North bound

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 349-7667

Website:
http://sienarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking is available surrounding our freestanding building located in a small shopping center at the northeast corner of highways 360 and 2222, next to Waterloo Ice House.

Executive Chef:
Harvey Harris

Private Party Facilities:
Two private dining rooms are available.

Our Caminetto Room seats 17 to 40 guests and has its own fireplace and projection screen. Rustic stone walls, many windows and an arched ceiling add to its ambiance.

Our smaller Terrazzo Room seats 10 to 16 guests and is located upstairs in a private setting overlooking the main dining room. Arched windows, stone walls and a wood beamed ceiling add to its ambience.

Each room has very reasonable minimums depending on the day of the week and can be booked by calling Siena. Special multi course menus with several price points featuring popular selections are available under the private party link on our website. Or, we can customize a menu for your event!

Siena’s beautiful atmosphere and authentic Tusacan Cuisine will be a popular choice and will enhance any event.

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Alton - Event Coordinator: (512) 349-7667

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Siena Ristorante Toscana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (56)
Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (50)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Authentic (35)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Fireplace (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Cozy (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Comfort Food (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Wood Oven (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Fun (6)
Private Room (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Historic (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Valentine's Day overall not so good and ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentine's Day overall not so good and unusually poor value for money. It's been good every other time I've been. So, I'd just avoid holiday menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Great restaurant, perhaps a bit stressed ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant, perhaps a bit stressed due to the holiday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We went for Valentine's. Overall, a grea ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

We went for Valentine's. Overall, a great experience but steak was rather tough. Everything else was great. So if you want steak, go to a steak place. I should have stuck with Italian food but the special menu did not really have Italian options. But I will go back when I can use the regular menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I came in for Valentine's Da ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I came in for Valentine's Day to an 8:30 reservation. We chose a bottle of wine at the bar, but when we were seated at our table it was forgotten and had to be reordered. The waiter, Derek, was somewhat inattentive throughout the night, but we were enjoying our wine for most of the time. As the courses and subsequent disappointments wore on, it slowly became more of an issue.

The appetizer(I had the beef tartini) was good, but slightly under-seasoned. My wife's oysters were good. For the first course, I ordered the risotto, but I had to send it back. It was incredibly bland, and also lacking in any kind of seasoning. I tried the soup instead, not bad.

We were not offered any bread throughout the evening and at this point had to ask for it. I have NEVER sent a plate back in a restaurant, and feeling bad about the risotto, I pointed out to the waiter that the bread was good. He didn't offer it to us again, either.

For the main course, we both had the New York strip. Both steaks were unevenly cooked, and not very good. My wife's was not medium-well like she ordered. It stood on the border of medium and medium rare. I ate less than half of mine, and pointed this out to the waiter at the end of our meal. Finally, one of the desserts we ordered was unavailable, and the "Tiramisu" was not a tiramisu. There was no coffee and it and it was dry and unappetizing, with some kind of crumbled powder poured over it. So my wife and I left them unfinished and complained. In the end, the waiter took off $9 of our $215 bill for the tiramisu. I asked to speak to the manager about doing something about the price of the steaks and Derek told me that the manager was unavailable, but that he "had tried as hard as he could" to argue our case.

The biggest disappointment is that my wife and I are foodies, and love the restaurant scene in Austin. We especially love to celebrate special occasions with Italian food. Considering this was the only menu, it could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

I reserved this place because of the pre ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

I reserved this place because of the previous reviews. I thought it was going to be a nice change of scenery and I was right. The place is nice and good warm service but the portions are too small for the price and taste. My steak was tough. I hope it was just that cut.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Eight here for Valentine's Day. This is ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Eight here for Valentine's Day. This is not the place to do a prix fixe menu. The ambience was great as usual, but the food was average at best with low quality cuts of meat and underwhelming presentation. We always enjoy our time at Siena, but we will come back for the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Love the food and atmosphere! Rainbow t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the food and atmosphere! Rainbow trout is delicious! Just go

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful, quiet, romantic spot with t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

A beautiful, quiet, romantic spot with the finest Tuscan cuisine in Austin, and possibly the finest Italian. One of Austin's top ten, IMHO.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!!! The food is always am ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place!!! The food is always amazing. This time we got to sit upstairs in the loft area and the building is beautiful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful and service was great ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was wonderful and service was great. Our compliments to the chef!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and atmosphere. The service ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place and atmosphere. The service from Stephen was terrific, and I'm glad that this is where we chose to spend our Valentine's Day night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was fantastic and suggested a gre ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Waiter was fantastic and suggested a great course dinner. We shared apple salad, prosciutto wrapped figs, carpaccio to start. All was good. Truffle pasta was good. Shrimp pasta was not. Then for our final course we had the quail. I did not care for it. Needed flavor. Great place for a long dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Siena & have been there many tim ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We love Siena & have been there many times. My husband's salmon was great & he can hardly wait to go back for the same. We went on a Friday night of his birthday weekend so it was a special occasion of sorts. However the service was atrocious. We realized quickly our server was very busy serving a table close to us & did not have time for us. He dropped by our table & said he had to deliver their wine but would return shortly. Shortly was 10-15 minutes later. We were not told the specials, it took 30 minutes to get a glass of wine which was delivered well after the appetizer. My husband's fork was taken & he was served his entree but did not have a fork. We waited at least 5-10 minutes to hail a busboy to bring him another one. Hopefully our next visit will be better.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

This is a great "go to" location for a g ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This is a great "go to" location for a great meal in beautiful surroundings with excellent service. I have dined here on multiple occasions and as always, was treated to yet another perfect experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a beautiful restaurant with grea ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant with great ambience. It is quiet and great to be able to have conversation. The food was very good and they have an extensive wine list. Our waiter was very good and very knowledgeable of the food and wine. A great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place. Would definitely return fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lovely place. Would definitely return for a wonderful meal and friendly staff.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, great wine, and great servic ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great food, great wine, and great service paved the way for outstanding ambiance & a very romantic evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary wi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with a dinner at Siena. We have lived in Italy so are always looking for an Italian restaurant that is on par with "real" Italian food. We were seated immediately and although had requested a better table, it did not seem this was done. Our waiter took more than a few minutes to greet us, took our drink orders, gave us the daily specials and took our order. Our appetizers were delicious, my carpaccio was as good as I've had. We both ordered the pasta with mushroom and truffle and believe it was very well done and a very good flavor. My pasta was just short of al dente so needed to spend another 30s in the boiling water. My wife's pasta was her main and was a large quantity but the pasta was perfectly al dente. My steak was just average so was a disappointment at $39. A group of 12 persons were seated next to us about this time so the attention from our waiter dropped off dramatically. We managed to order a desert and coffees. The gelato was very good but the coffees never came. The next thing we know, our check is placed on the table, we were congratulated on our wedding anniversary and the waiter disappeared. Although the appetizers and pasta dishes were excellent, our evening ended on a sour note which unfortunately spoiled our evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Having been to Tuscany recently, Siena c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Having been to Tuscany recently, Siena captured the architectural feel and ambiance of Tuscany. The food was good, buy a friend told me the salmon was the best she ever had - and it was far from that. The mussels were outstanding and the ravioli with artichoke, spinach and feta was delicious. My husband had the pork steak special which was also excellent.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

great food and service - excellent resta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

great food and service - excellent restaurant located close to customers where you can talk business without background noise

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, , Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honestly, this is a family favorite. Th ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Honestly, this is a family favorite. The food is fantastic, and the service is great. We also love the ambiance. Probably one of our two favorite places in Austin.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this restaurant. We eat there fair ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Love this restaurant. We eat there fairly often. After finally earning $20 Open Table credit, we found we could not redeem it at this restaurant though. :(

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I fell in love with this place before i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I fell in love with this place before i even sat down at our table. It is GORGEOUS inside and out. We sat in the room with a fire going in the fireplace, it was romantic with the perfect lighting. Our waiter Stephen was probably the best I've had in Austin. He was attentive, considerate, quick, observing, and an all around nice guy who genuinely wanted us to have a good time and enjoy our food. The food is top notch for sure. Mostly a standard menu for an italian joint of their class, and everything they have tastes amazing. I cannot wait to take every single person who comes and visits me to that place.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made the reservation for my boss's bir ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I made the reservation for my boss's birthday. Out of state coworkers we're coming into town. Everything had to be perfect and as usual it was!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed in the recommended ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We were disappointed in the recommended chicken liver appetizer; it was overcooked and tasteless. Also, we would have liked a second cup of coffee if it had been offered by our server.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant is convenient to northwes ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The restaurant is convenient to northwest and has a very comfortable setting. The bread offered with olive oil to start is fresh. The food is good to very good. As value goes, it has gotten more expensive over time but there are reasonably-priced lunch offerings. We had an extended lunch and the service was gracious throughout.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I love this restaurant and have gone man ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I love this restaurant and have gone many times. I do object, however, to being seated right next to two large tables of family and friends celebrating a special event. That makes conversation between two people virtually impossible. This has happened to us the last two times we have gone to Siena, and it practically ruins the evening. I also was disappointed in the swordfish special this time. It just wasn't as good as usual.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place with excellent food. Ser ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Beautiful place with excellent food. Service was unfortunately slow on this occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Quite an extensive building effort to si ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Quite an extensive building effort to simulate old Italy. Well-done division into smaller rooms so you don't realize how big the restaurant actually is. Our dinner was good but not epic. We are Italian so maybe we are too harsh on Italian restaurants. Good wine list and a lovely waitress. We live nearby and I am sure will return there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Very disappointed in the Veal Chop. It ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very disappointed in the Veal Chop. It took a long time You to be served . The chop was still raw and the manager never came to apoligize. It ruined our celebration.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, great atmosphere, but terribl ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good food, great atmosphere, but terrible service... waiter was a jerk and ruined the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Food was very good for 3/4 of us. Lunch ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was very good for 3/4 of us. Lunch prices were very reasonable for quality of the food. A couple of mistakes in delivering our orders brought down the staff rating., but they were nice. Very warm and cozy environment with the fireplaces on a cold day. We usually go for dinner, but we'll be back for lunch again, too!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Beautiful environment, food was very goo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Beautiful environment, food was very good,service outstanding and an owner that was up front and attentive!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were very good. Th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and service were very good. The wine selection was not very expansive.

Tags: Romantic, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good but restaurant seemed unde ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was good but restaurant seemed understaffed. Service was OK but not stellar.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

One of my favorite lunch place in Austin ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 28, 2016

One of my favorite lunch place in Austin. Great menu. Bread is delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Siena Ristorante is one of our go-to ven ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Siena Ristorante is one of our go-to venues for special occasions. The serving staff are consistently knowledgeable, helpful and attentive without being too intrusive. The cuisine is also consistently good and, the décor and atmosphere are an authentic recreation of restaurants we have been to in Tuscany.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Always known for having excellent dishes ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Always known for having excellent dishes and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The calamari was great, the walnut-crust ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The calamari was great, the walnut-crusted snapper was delicious, and Gina was perfect in her attentiveness and suggestions! Will always be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service not the best, was birthday and a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service not the best, was birthday and anniversary and no mention of it.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.