Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar

Asian Fusion, Sharing Plates

18 B York Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Monday- Thursday & Sunday 4:30pm-10:30pm, Friday and Saturday 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
Sussex

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 562-9331

Website:
http://www.sidedoorrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Korecki

Private Party Facilities:
With it's grand space, private room, semi-private bar and stone walls SIDEDOOR is a great place for anything from a corporate event, family gathering to a wedding or rehearsal dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Candace Power: (877) 878-4234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
From corporate gatherings to weddings SIDEDOOR loves to host special events.

Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (14)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Tapas (10)
Fun (8)
Spicy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Casual (7)
Business Meals (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Cozy (6)
Romantic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vegan (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful service and excellent food as always! Enjoyable and an amazing wine list too.

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This restaurant is the one to go to on a dull day in Ottawa. The light is fabulous as are the fish tacos and Asian mango salad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went to side door for daughter's birthday. Great food and reasonably priced for quality. Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Memorable food and service. Would definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sidedoor never disappoints.....Asian fusion at its best. Hands down my favourite restaurant in Ottawa. The combination of flavours are delicious. Wine is always perfectly chilled and the dishes are creative and unique.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food overall was very good. Crispy fish taco & papaya salad was better than another place I frequent. The calarmari could have been crispier if it wasn't plated in a small deep bowl (started going soggy) and it was not as good as another place. Crispy beef was very good but also wished it wasn't plated in the same deep bowl as the calamari. The sauce ended up at the bottom of bowl more than on the dish. These two dishes would have better served on plates instead of bowls. The donuts were very good, crispy and light. The plating/presentation of the food could have been better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, unique menu and outstanding service! The multi level seating was a great addition to this very unique restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really enjoyed our evening. Food is excellent and service is very attentive. They have excellent menu choices and everything is good. A great place for a special occasion

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great dining experience as always. I have been to Sidedoor at least 15 times and have never been disappointed. Consistently good service, food, ambiance and overall dining experience. One of my absolute favourite spots. Favorite dishes include fish tacos, papaya salad, green curry lobster, calamari, and newer dish char siu pork (to die for Asian-style bacon on steroids).

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was delicious but delivered all at once rather than staggered. Pricey alcohol. Lovely ambiance. Nice location in the market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent meal, wine, and service. I would eat there again.

Tags: Spicy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Sidedoor is by far the best food in Ottawa. The dishes are fresh, inventive and delicious. I've been a few times and tried different items on the menu - there is nothing that isn't perfect. I especially recommend the lobster and their donuts.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One the best restaurants. Food was soo good. I highly recommend this resturent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Had the green papaya salad (again) and as always it was delicious. My friend had the lobster soup and a seaweed salad. Great atmosphere and very bright.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was one of the best meals out we've had in awhile .. we started with an order of Salmon tempura tacos (very tasty) followed by the pork dumplings (also very flavourful) and then for a main course, the braised beef with red penang curry & peanuts, with a side of chinese greens and jasmine rice. The beef with the curry was wonderful and the veggies were a great complement. Our waiter was also friendly and efficient. We would definitely go back next time we are in Ottawa!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Tacos were fantastic! Great place for happy hour with $2 off of wine.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food! Big but cozy, options for small or big groups. We had a quiet table amidst a full restaurant. Flavours were wonderful and wine selection small but well priced with great options. Server was helpful and let us take our time choosing next plates. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

So great! Service,food, value, wine selection, cocktails, suggestions on great dishes, size of the dishes! All fab, thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Extremely expensive for food quality and quantity. Crispy beef wasn't crispy and no flavour. Dumplings were good. We'd only go back for a light snack and even then, not really tempted...restaurant is beautiful though. Donuts a complete rip off. Nothing special, small and overpriced. Weren't too thrilled with the auto tip for the 4 of us, although service was excellent Antonio -

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing service, delicious food, and beautiful ambience :) made for a great date!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by Side Door. Food was good - especially the fish tacos! Prices were a little on the high side, but delicious. Service was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was delicious, though the portion size on the tacos are a bit small. The lunch menu seemed a bit limiting with children, but we were able to make it work.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was decent, the price point for the restaurant was fine but the lack of service towards the end of our meal was very unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Fantastic restaurant, great service, unique and tasty food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Second time at restaurant.
Really enjoy variety and unique taste.
Reasonably priced.
Looking forward to going back soon.
H

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food impeccable service would recommend this place

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Sidedoor never disappoints. The ambiance is contemporary and at the same time, people of any age will feel welcome here. Food is always fab.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We enjoyed all of the food, especially the home made donuts. Check em out! We will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The chef's special taco was really terrific -- you might consider it a permanent part of the menu. The Lobster bisque was on the salty side.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 22, 2016

A short menu but interesting items.
Our handsome server got the kitchen to prepare plates of 3 tacos before we even asked! Also, we were seated at a table far from the cold window, again without our needing to ask. It could also have been because they were anticipating a large (i.e. noisy) group later and they put us far from them. If so, more than nice. Service was attentive but not annoying.
As for the food, I will be back for the lentil tacos for sure. And the tuna sashimi. :-)

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent food & great atmosphere! We'll be back for more!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

As usual SideDoor delivers on great tasty food. Every bite was wonderful . Good selection on the menu and friendly wait staff. This is my favourite restaurant in Ottawa and it continues to impress me everytime!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

What a great find. We had little expectation going in, but the food was excellent. Our server was very helpful and professional. We would highly recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great Food and Great Atmosphere. Excellent place to go for any occasion.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a bit of trouble initially finding safe gluten free options on the menu that would give us enough variety but with some back and forth discussions between our wonderful waiter and the experienced chef in the kitchen, we were able to come up with a more than satisfactory selection of dishes. If you are Celiac, don't go there expecting it to be easy to find GF options though -- you have to work with the staff. Expect the dinner to take a while as it is a busy, hopping place. Plan a minimum of 2hrs. Food and presentation was good. Seasonal vegetables were very tasty but presentation could have been better. Vietnamese pancake is outstanding.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I like this place and will be going back, unlike it's sister restaurant 18, it has a great well rounded presence. Everything was good. They could stand a bigger menu (add more yummy stuff) but hey...if it aint broke don't try and fix it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great service, good menu and food and ambiance in nice setting

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I went back to Sidedoor for lunch for the first time in a few months and it was as excellent as ever: quiet so I could hear my companion, good food at a good price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Dinner is ok but forget this place for lunch as it has the most ridiculously limited menu I've ever seen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We thought the food was good, but we found out that we aren't fans of the "homestyle" method of serving. Maybe this means we are not open to new experiences, or maybe not. To begin, we found the menu confusing. It was unclear from the menu just how we should order our meal of "small shared plates" and "large shared plates". We were surprised that the main dishes didn't come with potatoes or rice or vegetables, but that these were to be ordered and paid for separately. This does make it possible to get exactly the combination you like, but with the fish, steak, and other mains already over $30, it seemed a surprising additional expense. We were also surprised that the dishes come to the table when they are ready, so a salad and main course may arrive at the same time, with the rice and vegetables coming sometime later. While each dish was quite attractive when it arrived at the table, by the time we put the shared items on our plates, the food looked just as it does on our plates at home, which was a little disappointing considering we were having a not-inexpensive meal out. We didn't get the donut dessert, ourselves, but saw one brought to a large, nearby table.
Eight different rather elegant donuts were brought in on a long trencher and each lovingly described by the server. However, there was only one of each kind, so too bad if you wanted the dark chocolate one and the person down the table got to it first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.