Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar

Asian Fusion, Sharing Plates

18 B York Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Monday- Thursday & Sunday 4:30pm-10:30pm, Friday and Saturday 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
Sussex

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 562-9331

Website:
http://www.sidedoorrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Korecki

Private Party Facilities:
With it's grand space, private room, semi-private bar and stone walls SIDEDOOR is a great place for anything from a corporate event, family gathering to a wedding or rehearsal dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Candace Power: (877) 878-4234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
From corporate gatherings to weddings SIDEDOOR loves to host special events.

Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (8)
Casual (7)
Spicy (6)
Romantic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Healthy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Tapas (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Not to be missed! Outstanding food, ambience and device!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food was phenomenal, the atmosphere was excellent - the service was outstanding

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Side Door is one of my favourites in Ottawa... never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Love the shared plates and of course the donuts! Great flavours and great ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Really good interesting food with outstanding service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I should have trusted my instincts when we walked in and there was a side room enclosed in glass and there was massive spiderwebs in almost every corner . service was so slow we ordered special cocktails that said nothing about crushed mint in gem and they came with a ton of mint - my friend requested a new drink wth no mint and waited 25 minutes for it and the drinks were $14!!!! Served in a small rocks glass . We ordered calamari as an appetizer and it came out with our meals and tasted fishy . The server could clearly see we didn't touch it and never asked what was wrong with it and charged us . It took so long to get the bill we didn't even want to waste anymore time waiting so we just sucked it up and paid for the calamari and left . The only thing I can say was delicious was the homemade donuts for dessert! So if you like to pay $14 for a cocktail with an ounce of vodka and love donuts go check it out .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Highly recommend this restaurant for locals or visitors. Food was outstanding, service was excellent, setting was both comfortable and cutting edge. Five stars all 'round.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We've been to SideDoor many, many times Its one of our favourite Ottawa restaurants... great good, ambiance and location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Always love the food here, great sharing plates. Nice way to try different foods, and the donuts are a must !

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Fantastic interesting food. Delicious combinations and attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We visited the Side Door for a birthday dinner. The restaurant accommodated our request for a quiet table, and the ambience was calm and relaxed. The server described the dishes well, and was friendly and efficient. And the food! Tasty, with wonderful mix of flavours that was innovative and delicious. Fantastic experience!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Tapas, Casual, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Antonio our waiter was lovely -- just the right amount of attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful service and excellent food as always! Enjoyable and an amazing wine list too.

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This restaurant is the one to go to on a dull day in Ottawa. The light is fabulous as are the fish tacos and Asian mango salad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Went to side door for daughter's birthday. Great food and reasonably priced for quality. Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Memorable food and service. Would definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sidedoor never disappoints.....Asian fusion at its best. Hands down my favourite restaurant in Ottawa. The combination of flavours are delicious. Wine is always perfectly chilled and the dishes are creative and unique.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food overall was very good. Crispy fish taco & papaya salad was better than another place I frequent. The calarmari could have been crispier if it wasn't plated in a small deep bowl (started going soggy) and it was not as good as another place. Crispy beef was very good but also wished it wasn't plated in the same deep bowl as the calamari. The sauce ended up at the bottom of bowl more than on the dish. These two dishes would have better served on plates instead of bowls. The donuts were very good, crispy and light. The plating/presentation of the food could have been better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food, unique menu and outstanding service! The multi level seating was a great addition to this very unique restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Really enjoyed our evening. Food is excellent and service is very attentive. They have excellent menu choices and everything is good. A great place for a special occasion

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great dining experience as always. I have been to Sidedoor at least 15 times and have never been disappointed. Consistently good service, food, ambiance and overall dining experience. One of my absolute favourite spots. Favorite dishes include fish tacos, papaya salad, green curry lobster, calamari, and newer dish char siu pork (to die for Asian-style bacon on steroids).

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was delicious but delivered all at once rather than staggered. Pricey alcohol. Lovely ambiance. Nice location in the market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

So consistently reliable as a great place to eat. Love the happy hour specials on tacos and drinks. Speaking of tacos, these are some of the tastiest in town. My friends were adventuresome and sampled the menu more broadly, but I stick to the tacos, beef curry, papaya salad and donut platter, because they are so amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent meal, wine, and service. I would eat there again.

Tags: Spicy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Sidedoor is by far the best food in Ottawa. The dishes are fresh, inventive and delicious. I've been a few times and tried different items on the menu - there is nothing that isn't perfect. I especially recommend the lobster and their donuts.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One the best restaurants. Food was soo good. I highly recommend this resturent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Had the green papaya salad (again) and as always it was delicious. My friend had the lobster soup and a seaweed salad. Great atmosphere and very bright.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was one of the best meals out we've had in awhile .. we started with an order of Salmon tempura tacos (very tasty) followed by the pork dumplings (also very flavourful) and then for a main course, the braised beef with red penang curry & peanuts, with a side of chinese greens and jasmine rice. The beef with the curry was wonderful and the veggies were a great complement. Our waiter was also friendly and efficient. We would definitely go back next time we are in Ottawa!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Tacos were fantastic! Great place for happy hour with $2 off of wine.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food! Big but cozy, options for small or big groups. We had a quiet table amidst a full restaurant. Flavours were wonderful and wine selection small but well priced with great options. Server was helpful and let us take our time choosing next plates. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

So great! Service,food, value, wine selection, cocktails, suggestions on great dishes, size of the dishes! All fab, thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Extremely expensive for food quality and quantity. Crispy beef wasn't crispy and no flavour. Dumplings were good. We'd only go back for a light snack and even then, not really tempted...restaurant is beautiful though. Donuts a complete rip off. Nothing special, small and overpriced. Weren't too thrilled with the auto tip for the 4 of us, although service was excellent Antonio -

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Amazing service, delicious food, and beautiful ambience :) made for a great date!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by Side Door. Food was good - especially the fish tacos! Prices were a little on the high side, but delicious. Service was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was delicious, though the portion size on the tacos are a bit small. The lunch menu seemed a bit limiting with children, but we were able to make it work.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was decent, the price point for the restaurant was fine but the lack of service towards the end of our meal was very unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Fantastic restaurant, great service, unique and tasty food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Second time at restaurant.
Really enjoy variety and unique taste.
Reasonably priced.
Looking forward to going back soon.
H

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great food impeccable service would recommend this place

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.