About Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar

18 B York Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5T5
View Larger Map

Asian Fusion, Sharing Plates

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Monday- Thursday & Sunday 4:30pm-10:30pm, Friday and Saturday 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
Sussex

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 562-9331

Website:
http://www.sidedoorrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Korecki

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
From corporate gatherings to weddings SIDEDOOR loves to host special events.

Restaurant Photos

Chef's Special Fois Grais Dim Sum - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Coconut Poached Scallops With XO Vinegrette - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Salt & Pepper Calamari - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Eggplant Spring Roll - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Bajan Crispy Fish Taco - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Sockeye Salmon Ceviche - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Black Cod Lettuce Wrap - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Lamb With Funky Chili Taco - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Chow Chow Chicken Taco - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Donut Sharing Platter - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Pork Belly - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Ramen - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Pulled Pork Taco - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Prawn Dumplings - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Cappuccino - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Black Cod With Soy Mirin And Truffle Oil - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Homemade Cookies - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Soy Ginger Shrimp Tacos - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Grilled Alberta Beef Striploin With Shallot Jus - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Cream Of Lentil Soup With Bacon - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Green Papaya Salad - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Black Cod - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Pork Belly Braised In Master Stock - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Lamb Taco - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Tuna Sashimi - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Bok Choi - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Bbq Pork Ramen - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Lunchbox/ Fish Taco - Shrimp Taco & Lobster Bisque - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Son-In-Law Egg - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Russet Potato Frites - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar
Braised Beef In Curry - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar

Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Ottawa
Outdoor Dining
Ottawa
Most Booked
Ottawa
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Ottawa
Most Booked
Ottawa

Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Groups (33)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Romantic (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Tapas (3)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very much enjoyed this resto. Food and s ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very much enjoyed this resto. Food and service were terrific. Try the sharing donuts for dessert

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always great - casual but not ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service is always great - casual but not sloppy. Couldn't believe the server divided the 2 orders of donughts 4 ways withough us asking.

Really disapprove that the restaurant does not take reservations on Saturday - almost went to another restaurant because I was trying to book on line because nothing was available The restaurant was empty....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food. Excellent atmosphere. I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent atmosphere. I have been here twice in the past two weeks and I continue to recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got our table pretty fast, but I can' ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We got our table pretty fast, but I can't say that about the food. We have been a party of 5 one person could have left after 45 min since she got all her food first, but 3 of us had dinner after 2 hour wait .Our side was served first and has been cold when the flavorless chicken was served. I have to say they tried hard to recover they gave us some dishes on house and free donuts but this didn't change my mind

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Delicious food- awesome flavours and a s ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delicious food- awesome flavours and a setting for an excellent dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Nice atmosphere - b ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was excellent. Nice atmosphere - bigger than expected and a little on noisy side. Very good service. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience (celebrating 21st wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food here is great ... Wine overpric ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food here is great ... Wine overpriced for the quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Felt pressured by the server while my fr ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Felt pressured by the server while my friend and I waited for other friends. Although we were having drinks, it was uneasy having the server every minute or so inquiring about our food order when we did not even finish our drinks...

We would have preferred a better drinks selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

All good. The patio in the courtyard is ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

All good. The patio in the courtyard is a nice bit of tranquility amongst the vibrant Market.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have enjoyed the sidedoor in the past ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We have enjoyed the sidedoor in the past. This time the meal was not up to its usual standards. The crispy fish taco's were not crispy and the main dishes were too rich for a summer menu. We were disappointed not to find the dumplings on the menu this time (which would have been more appropriate for a summer meal than the heavy/rich seafood options).

We had hoped to sit on the patio, but the patio was closed due to the heat. It would have been appreciated to have been informed of this prior to arriving, so that we were more prepared for indoor, airconditioned dinning. (With a sweater ect.).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Fabulous place in a lively courtyard in ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Fabulous place in a lively courtyard in Ottawas Bayard Market. Asian fusion. The best lettuce wraps and so different. Side dishes were wonderful. Also ambience is lovely. Also loved the jazzy piped on music. Sinatra, Nat King Cole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server could not be understood due t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The server could not be understood due to the noise in the restaurant. When I food did arrive, issues with the dishes as some people asked there Taco's to be on lettuce leaves and not corn or floured tortillas.

The food was very one note and did not have much depth of flavour. I think its a cop out for the kitchen not to be able to do all the tables dishes at once. You state dim sum style and people can pick at what the want but two tacos's coming to the table of 8 people not sure how that is supposed to work. As well dim sum you usually have a constant stream of food coming. As well not sure were peppercorn steak please in an Asian inspired resto.

Very disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

was sad to see the tuna option with the ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

was sad to see the tuna option with the green papaya salad discontinued. it was my go-to for work lunches for years :(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is delicious! and the service was v ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food is delicious! and the service was very accommodating - an individual from our party was extremely gluten free/ celiac, and our server explained all the different options appropriate for her diet. I will definitely be back for those tacos and donuts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fusion food from a great chef. T ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great fusion food from a great chef.

The menu is short and changes regularly, according to what's fresh and what the chef is interested in exploring.

It's great for groups with different eating styles, because (without any sacrifice of flavour) there are items for paleo-carnivores, vegans, vegetarians, fish-lovers and wheat avoiders...

The mini-tacos and the dim sum are always surprising and delightful. From spicy beef to a lentil patty...

Everything is designed for sharing, so it makes for a lovely night with friends or a romantic date.

Location and decor

Inside an old stone building in the heart of Ottawa, the decor is high moderne and but warmly comfortable - a tough mix to achieve. The music was pleasant and set a level that didn't drown out conversation. There's a great private room for larger parties, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant and food. Found it ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent restaurant and food. Found it quite chilly in the restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had an excellent time and the food wa ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had an excellent time and the food was wonderful, especially the mushroom tacos. My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. Service was fantastic, highly recommend, thank you Max.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was creative and well-prepared. Ser ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was creative and well-prepared. Service started out strong, but in later stages the waiter seemed to lose interest (though the restaurant wasn't especially busy) - not offering refills, not asking about dessert. It was odd.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and wonderful service. Will d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. Will definitely be back. Nice spot to take someone from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I absolutely loved this restaurant. I we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I absolutely loved this restaurant. I went with a work group and we all ordered different small plates and each one was better than the next. Will definitely go back and our waitress Jen was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good.

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service and food. A wedding was taking place at the same time and it was somewhat noisy. I wish I would have known in advance to booked another time. Lots of people coming and going. Somewhat interesting but wasn't the quiet place I expected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We absolutely loved Sidedoor. Our server ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We absolutely loved Sidedoor. Our server was charming, helpful and attentive and the ambience is casual in this stylish, fusion-cuisine restaurant. We started the meal with a beer for my husband and I had a Herb's Favorite - a gin and tonic with cucumber, fresh dill, and a lime slice - wonderful! This is a place where you order several things and then share. We started our meal with the baby kale and apple salad with spiced, roasted and chopped peanuts. The dressing was delicious. Next we had the sashimi, which was delicate and full of flavor. Our final dish was the honey pork tenderloin with root vegetables - delicious. If we lived in Ottawa, we would be regulars at Sidedoor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although I have eaten here several times ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Although I have eaten here several times and the food was excellent, I found it to be mediocre on this visit. A little stodgy and the food was not as hot as it should have been.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellence

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was amazing, very unique and great flavour profiles in the dishes. Service was fantastic as well. Highly recommended for a great dinner. Make sure to have the fish tacos

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing Experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We went to Side Door based on raving review about this restaurant. However, we were disappointment both for the service and the quality of the food.

1) Upon arrival, we were seated in the corner at the back of the restaurant. The restaurant was really empty at the time, so we asked whether we can get moved closer to the window instead. The waitress told us they were fully booked and we cannot change table. However, when I later passed by the door, I heard the other hostess asking the diner whether they would like to seat near the window or at the back. Clearly, the choice was there but just not for us.

2) FOOD. The place claimed to be asian-fusion. We ordered 4 dishes, 2 appetizers and 2 mains. The green papaya salad was plain, with too much acidity and not much other flavor to balance it out. The fried calamari was the only memorable dish, however, it was really salty and I had to take a lot of water to bring down the saltiness. The braised beef was extremely disappointing. The beef was not seasoned at all, layered with a thick layer of crushed peanuts, and the sauce doesn't taste like Thai coconut curry at all. The rice that came with it was too wet for this type of dish as well.

Please make sure you have consistent service and decent quality of food. Will be hard to imaging this place can survive over a year in Toronto, where ethnic food is so much better.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Slow Bar Service

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Appetizers shouldn't arrive before cocktails. Bar services was way...behind! Second time this out- of-sync service was experienced. Otherwise.....a great place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Sidedoor Never disappoints!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I would consider myself a "regular" visitor to Sidedoor. I've explored the majority of the menu and enjoyed almost everything. The service is great. The food is even better. Don't miss out of their famous tacos (fish and braised beef are my faves). If you like bok choy, definitely get the Chinese greens - best veggies you'll ever eat! Great date night spot, but be prepared to spend some money. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Love it

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We have eaten at the side door a number of times, and have never been disappointed.

Fun and delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

This was my first visit to Sidedoor Kitchen and Bar (though I was familiar with the space when it was Foundation restaurant). I had visited the website to review the menu and found it rather limited. However, the choices are healthy and eclectic, and the wine list is substantial without being overwhelming. So, I decided to try out Sidedoor for lunch with a friend and I was pleasantly surprised by the comfortable seating arrangement, the quality of the food and the friendly and casual service. Given that it was a sunny day, the lighting and overall atmosphere was very nice too. Overall, it was a great experience and I would be tempted to return for dinner or experience the late night scene. Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A nice experience

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

I had a really nice evening at Side Door. The setting was beautiful, that room with the glass is situated in one of the nicest parts/courtyards of the market, and we were there just as the sun was beginning to set which made for some nice light. The decor was nice, and I was able to get a booth as requested. Our server Tyler was wonderful - he was around just the right amount of times, very personable and I really appreciated that service. The food was simple, but tasted fresh. My date and I really enjoyed the concept of the sharing plates. We had a nice evening, and I would recommend it to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our waitress was awesome and made the experience excellent! We tried some tacos, papaya salad, tuna tartar, lobster curry with rice, brisket Penang, and the donut board for desert. It was delicious. The only item I would not reorder is the tartar. It was lack lustre and a bit bland. Everything else awesome. Ordered the petit Syrah red wine. Perfect! Lovely dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth the trip

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Never ceases to impress. We live in Montreal, a food Mecca, and Sidedoor is the first restaurant that we seek while in Ottawa. Has been so for years as they never disappoint. Atmosphere is great and food is amazing. Service is exemplary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my fave spots!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I love Sidedoor! I love the flavours, and the Bajan Fish Taco is the reason I return. Whenever I am in Ottawa I always make sure to stop by for happy hour which is a great deal: Half price tacos and cheap wine. The Green Papaya Salad is amazing as well and a nice glass of wine to top it off makes me super happy :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Will recommend. Good value.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Will recommend. Good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Amazing food and awesome waitress Jen!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Fantastic night out and food is amazing!!! The poached lobster curry is what keeps me coming back for sure and everything else is just a delicious bonus. The cocktails are great too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, but the server asked us ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent meal, but the server asked us to leave. Great drink special, it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Fantastic dining experience! The staff w ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Fantastic dining experience! The staff were very friendly and professional and the food was very high quality. The Papaya mint salad was garden fresh, and the Braised Beef Curry was unbelievable!! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Last time was better and so was the serv ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Last time was better and so was the service ... Dishes came out at the wrong times and also didn't receive everything we ordered and still got charged until we notified them

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Will go again!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Similar to my first visit, the food, wine and service was superb!

Will go back again for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Recently a little disappointing.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

The last two times we visited the restaurant we had great food, but the way they serve their food is causing issues.

We ordered a number of tacos, larger sharing plates, etc and a number of sides to share. Unfortunately both times the sides came at the end of the meal. While I appreciate the "comes as it's ready" mantra, eating bowls of plain white rice at the end of the meal is not appropriate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.