Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar

Asian Fusion, Sharing Plates

18 B York Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5T5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Monday- Thursday & Sunday 4:30pm-10:30pm, Friday and Saturday 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
Sussex

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 562-9331

Website:
http://www.sidedoorrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Korecki

Private Party Facilities:
With it's grand space, private room, semi-private bar and stone walls SIDEDOOR is a great place for anything from a corporate event, family gathering to a wedding or rehearsal dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Candace Power: (877) 878-4234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
From corporate gatherings to weddings SIDEDOOR loves to host special events.

Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Tapas (10)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 7, 2017

mediocre food, expensive for what you get, nice ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Good food, something for everyone and quiet spot so you can chat. My only request would be to make a vegan option for the ramen noodles, they look seriously amazing!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Tried Sidedoor while visiting in Ottawa. I have some dietary restrictions but sound lots that I could try. Food was excellent--especially the Calamari.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was amazing as usual & our waitress was so pleasant, charming & very helpful with the menu.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Two family trip to Ottawa from Montreal - three teens, three parents, one five year old. Fantastic taste experience, great service, great value. My teen wants to take her friends for her next birthday, never mind that its nine hours from our home in Bethesda Maryland. Will absolutely go again somehow.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Wouldn't recommend coming here if you are a broke college student. The food was great but because of the sizes we had an expensive bill with a little amount of food to show for it. We didn't have one particular waiter (which was confusing) we had at least 5 different people bringing us food and asking us how we're we're doing the whole night which made it difficult to know who to ask for help. With that being said, the food was AMAZING especially the tacos. It's a beautiful restaurant and we will defiantly come back again in the future !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food flavours,ambiance and location. Every dish has its own different taste.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Really disappointed with food after dining at Sidedoor 20 times before.

Food was really ordinary. We could not figure out the type of fish in the tacos. Papaya salad was runny and bland. I would be hard pressed to come back. My wife has always been a Sidedoor groupee , said she was over the restaurant. Service was great waiter was enthusiastic.

Food was really not up to your past standards

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Les portions ont considérablement diminuées. La salade de papaye est minuscule. Le bol de soupe de la boite à lunch était risible . Nos 4 bols étaient remplis à la moitié environ. Le service était d'une lenteur. 1h30 pour un diner!! Le serveur qui nous mentionne que la cuisine est très occupée... come on... Presque personnes dans le resto et une vingtaine de personnes sur la terrasse. Les gens ont 1 heure pour manger, il faut donc faire en sorte que nous soyons servis dans un délai raisonnable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Side Door is definitely our "go-to" restaurant when we visit Ottawa. The Asian-inspired tacos are delicious, the calamari is perfectly cooked, the papaya salad is refreshing, and the donuts make us feel sorry for all the other donuts out there.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The tacos were excellent. The soup had a greasy film on top. The salad was terrible. The whole thing was wilted, rather than crisp. I regret that I did not return it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Cozy, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 5, 2017

excellent service, food & vibe...the Butter Poached Lobster with green curry was amazing...loved it - definitely going back!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Service was quick, friendly and helpful. The food is great, highly recommend the tacos. The price, for the quality of the meal, is reasonable. Would go again next time I'm around the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

The tacos were delicious and great value. The donuts were to die for. We ordered a steak too and it was quite small and overcooked, with a strong fennel presence. It was a very good cut so still good. I would recommend sticking to tacos and donuts, which are the reason I will definitely go back!!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

A very enjoyable experience again at the Sidedoor. My love and I had her Birthday lunch, absolutely delicious--again. The service was attentive and for the most part flawless and so very gracious. Thank you Sidedoor.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Loved the food! Fresh, balanced and tasty! We had a reservation at 8pm on a mandat so it was quiet. Service was good, wine was great and ok priced. Would definately recommand!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Sidebar boasts unique flavours with each course. Our server was very attentive and helped with our menu choices - which didn't disappoint. Great location for date night before hitting up the nightlife.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

I've been here 4 times and leave happy every time! I don't eat dairy and egg, this restaurant can accommodate for that easily! Can't wait to go back again ❤️

Tags: Bar Seating, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Not to be missed! Outstanding food, ambience and device!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food was phenomenal, the atmosphere was excellent - the service was outstanding

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Side Door is one of my favourites in Ottawa... never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Love the shared plates and of course the donuts! Great flavours and great ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Really good interesting food with outstanding service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I should have trusted my instincts when we walked in and there was a side room enclosed in glass and there was massive spiderwebs in almost every corner . service was so slow we ordered special cocktails that said nothing about crushed mint in gem and they came with a ton of mint - my friend requested a new drink wth no mint and waited 25 minutes for it and the drinks were $14!!!! Served in a small rocks glass . We ordered calamari as an appetizer and it came out with our meals and tasted fishy . The server could clearly see we didn't touch it and never asked what was wrong with it and charged us . It took so long to get the bill we didn't even want to waste anymore time waiting so we just sucked it up and paid for the calamari and left . The only thing I can say was delicious was the homemade donuts for dessert! So if you like to pay $14 for a cocktail with an ounce of vodka and love donuts go check it out .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Highly recommend this restaurant for locals or visitors. Food was outstanding, service was excellent, setting was both comfortable and cutting edge. Five stars all 'round.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We've been to SideDoor many, many times Its one of our favourite Ottawa restaurants... great good, ambiance and location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Always love the food here, great sharing plates. Nice way to try different foods, and the donuts are a must !

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Fantastic interesting food. Delicious combinations and attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We visited the Side Door for a birthday dinner. The restaurant accommodated our request for a quiet table, and the ambience was calm and relaxed. The server described the dishes well, and was friendly and efficient. And the food! Tasty, with wonderful mix of flavours that was innovative and delicious. Fantastic experience!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Tapas, Casual, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Antonio our waiter was lovely -- just the right amount of attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful service and excellent food as always! Enjoyable and an amazing wine list too.

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This restaurant is the one to go to on a dull day in Ottawa. The light is fabulous as are the fish tacos and Asian mango salad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Went to side door for daughter's birthday. Great food and reasonably priced for quality. Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Memorable food and service. Would definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sidedoor never disappoints.....Asian fusion at its best. Hands down my favourite restaurant in Ottawa. The combination of flavours are delicious. Wine is always perfectly chilled and the dishes are creative and unique.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food overall was very good. Crispy fish taco & papaya salad was better than another place I frequent. The calarmari could have been crispier if it wasn't plated in a small deep bowl (started going soggy) and it was not as good as another place. Crispy beef was very good but also wished it wasn't plated in the same deep bowl as the calamari. The sauce ended up at the bottom of bowl more than on the dish. These two dishes would have better served on plates instead of bowls. The donuts were very good, crispy and light. The plating/presentation of the food could have been better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food, unique menu and outstanding service! The multi level seating was a great addition to this very unique restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Really enjoyed our evening. Food is excellent and service is very attentive. They have excellent menu choices and everything is good. A great place for a special occasion

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great dining experience as always. I have been to Sidedoor at least 15 times and have never been disappointed. Consistently good service, food, ambiance and overall dining experience. One of my absolute favourite spots. Favorite dishes include fish tacos, papaya salad, green curry lobster, calamari, and newer dish char siu pork (to die for Asian-style bacon on steroids).

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.