About Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar

18 B York Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5T5
View Larger Map

Asian Fusion, Sharing Plates

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Monday- Thursday & Sunday 4:30pm-10:30pm, Friday and Saturday 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
Sussex

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 562-9331

Website:
http://www.sidedoorrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Korecki

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
From corporate gatherings to weddings SIDEDOOR loves to host special events.

Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Fun (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Cozy (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Tapas (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Sidedoor is by far the best food in Ottawa. The dishes are fresh, inventive and delicious. I've been a few times and tried different items on the menu - there is nothing that isn't perfect. I especially recommend the lobster and their donuts.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

One the best restaurants. Food was soo good. I highly recommend this resturent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

Had the green papaya salad (again) and as always it was delicious. My friend had the lobster soup and a seaweed salad. Great atmosphere and very bright.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was one of the best meals out we've had in awhile .. we started with an order of Salmon tempura tacos (very tasty) followed by the pork dumplings (also very flavourful) and then for a main course, the braised beef with red penang curry & peanuts, with a side of chinese greens and jasmine rice. The beef with the curry was wonderful and the veggies were a great complement. Our waiter was also friendly and efficient. We would definitely go back next time we are in Ottawa!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Tacos were fantastic! Great place for happy hour with $2 off of wine.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food! Big but cozy, options for small or big groups. We had a quiet table amidst a full restaurant. Flavours were wonderful and wine selection small but well priced with great options. Server was helpful and let us take our time choosing next plates. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

So great! Service,food, value, wine selection, cocktails, suggestions on great dishes, size of the dishes! All fab, thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Extremely expensive for food quality and quantity. Crispy beef wasn't crispy and no flavour. Dumplings were good. We'd only go back for a light snack and even then, not really tempted...restaurant is beautiful though. Donuts a complete rip off. Nothing special, small and overpriced. Weren't too thrilled with the auto tip for the 4 of us, although service was excellent Antonio -

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing service, delicious food, and beautiful ambience :) made for a great date!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by Side Door. Food was good - especially the fish tacos! Prices were a little on the high side, but delicious. Service was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was delicious, though the portion size on the tacos are a bit small. The lunch menu seemed a bit limiting with children, but we were able to make it work.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was decent, the price point for the restaurant was fine but the lack of service towards the end of our meal was very unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Fantastic restaurant, great service, unique and tasty food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Second time at restaurant.

Really enjoy variety and unique taste.

Reasonably priced.

Looking forward to going back soon.

H

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food impeccable service would recommend this place

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

Sidedoor never disappoints. The ambiance is contemporary and at the same time, people of any age will feel welcome here. Food is always fab.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

We enjoyed all of the food, especially the home made donuts. Check em out! We will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

The chef's special taco was really terrific -- you might consider it a permanent part of the menu. The Lobster bisque was on the salty side.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

A short menu but interesting items.

Our handsome server got the kitchen to prepare plates of 3 tacos before we even asked! Also, we were seated at a table far from the cold window, again without our needing to ask. It could also have been because they were anticipating a large (i.e. noisy) group later and they put us far from them. If so, more than nice. Service was attentive but not annoying.

As for the food, I will be back for the lentil tacos for sure. And the tuna sashimi. :-)

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent food & great atmosphere! We'll be back for more!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

As usual SideDoor delivers on great tasty food. Every bite was wonderful . Good selection on the menu and friendly wait staff. This is my favourite restaurant in Ottawa and it continues to impress me everytime!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

What a great find. We had little expectation going in, but the food was excellent. Our server was very helpful and professional. We would highly recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great Food and Great Atmosphere. Excellent place to go for any occasion.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a bit of trouble initially finding safe gluten free options on the menu that would give us enough variety but with some back and forth discussions between our wonderful waiter and the experienced chef in the kitchen, we were able to come up with a more than satisfactory selection of dishes. If you are Celiac, don't go there expecting it to be easy to find GF options though -- you have to work with the staff. Expect the dinner to take a while as it is a busy, hopping place. Plan a minimum of 2hrs. Food and presentation was good. Seasonal vegetables were very tasty but presentation could have been better. Vietnamese pancake is outstanding.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

I like this place and will be going back, unlike it's sister restaurant 18, it has a great well rounded presence. Everything was good. They could stand a bigger menu (add more yummy stuff) but hey...if it aint broke don't try and fix it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great service, good menu and food and ambiance in nice setting

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

I went back to Sidedoor for lunch for the first time in a few months and it was as excellent as ever: quiet so I could hear my companion, good food at a good price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 25, 2016

Dinner is ok but forget this place for lunch as it has the most ridiculously limited menu I've ever seen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

We thought the food was good, but we found out that we aren't fans of the "homestyle" method of serving. Maybe this means we are not open to new experiences, or maybe not. To begin, we found the menu confusing. It was unclear from the menu just how we should order our meal of "small shared plates" and "large shared plates". We were surprised that the main dishes didn't come with potatoes or rice or vegetables, but that these were to be ordered and paid for separately. This does make it possible to get exactly the combination you like, but with the fish, steak, and other mains already over $30, it seemed a surprising additional expense. We were also surprised that the dishes come to the table when they are ready, so a salad and main course may arrive at the same time, with the rice and vegetables coming sometime later. While each dish was quite attractive when it arrived at the table, by the time we put the shared items on our plates, the food looked just as it does on our plates at home, which was a little disappointing considering we were having a not-inexpensive meal out. We didn't get the donut dessert, ourselves, but saw one brought to a large, nearby table.

Eight different rather elegant donuts were brought in on a long trencher and each lovingly described by the server. However, there was only one of each kind, so too bad if you wanted the dark chocolate one and the person down the table got to it first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

There was a large reservation near us that was so loud people were moving tables. I wish they had been sat in a group area as it was so loud we couldn't converse but luckily they arrived near the end of our meal. The food was flawless and the service spectacular. Definitely heading back soon!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

The best part about Sidedoor is their doughnuts. Their doughnuts -- fresh, light, interesting -- are the highlight. The main dishes, for what you get, are on the expensive side. In my opinion, they should be $5-7 cheaper. The calamari was pretty good. The beef curry was good, too. The price could be cheaper, that's all. Except for the doughnuts!!! Worth every cent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2016

Service staff was amazing! Cinnamon donuts were yummy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very much enjoyed this resto. Food and service were terrific. Try the sharing donuts for dessert

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Arriving was good. Easy to get to our table. Food was good. But portions were not what was described. Told enough to feed 3-4 people and the calamari is just enough for 2. Service was poor. Our waiter always took forever to come back to the table. He forgot about one girl at our table who arrived late. 2 people ordered the same thing, one got their food hot, the other cold. He then instead of taking a percentage off her bill (which is what most places do) he actually asked if they wanted a percentage off their bill. At the end of the night, we were waiting and waiting for him to come back to get a refill on the drinks and he was just hanging around up by the bar near a computer....None if us were impressed by him. There was 11 of us for a birthday dinner.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service is always great - casual but not sloppy. Couldn't believe the server divided the 2 orders of donughts 4 ways withough us asking.

Really disapprove that the restaurant does not take reservations on Saturday - almost went to another restaurant because I was trying to book on line because nothing was available The restaurant was empty....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent atmosphere. I have been here twice in the past two weeks and I continue to recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delicious food- awesome flavours and a setting for an excellent dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was excellent. Nice atmosphere - bigger than expected and a little on noisy side. Very good service. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience (celebrating 21st wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We got our table pretty fast, but I can't say that about the food. We have been a party of 5 one person could have left after 45 min since she got all her food first, but 3 of us had dinner after 2 hour wait .Our side was served first and has been cold when the flavorless chicken was served. I have to say they tried hard to recover they gave us some dishes on house and free donuts but this didn't change my mind

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food here is great ... Wine overpriced for the quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Felt pressured by the server while my friend and I waited for other friends. Although we were having drinks, it was uneasy having the server every minute or so inquiring about our food order when we did not even finish our drinks...

We would have preferred a better drinks selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

All good. The patio in the courtyard is a nice bit of tranquility amongst the vibrant Market.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We have enjoyed the sidedoor in the past. This time the meal was not up to its usual standards. The crispy fish taco's were not crispy and the main dishes were too rich for a summer menu. We were disappointed not to find the dumplings on the menu this time (which would have been more appropriate for a summer meal than the heavy/rich seafood options).

We had hoped to sit on the patio, but the patio was closed due to the heat. It would have been appreciated to have been informed of this prior to arriving, so that we were more prepared for indoor, airconditioned dinning. (With a sweater ect.).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Fabulous place in a lively courtyard in Ottawas Bayard Market. Asian fusion. The best lettuce wraps and so different. Side dishes were wonderful. Also ambience is lovely. Also loved the jazzy piped on music. Sinatra, Nat King Cole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The server could not be understood due to the noise in the restaurant. When I food did arrive, issues with the dishes as some people asked there Taco's to be on lettuce leaves and not corn or floured tortillas.

The food was very one note and did not have much depth of flavour. I think its a cop out for the kitchen not to be able to do all the tables dishes at once. You state dim sum style and people can pick at what the want but two tacos's coming to the table of 8 people not sure how that is supposed to work. As well dim sum you usually have a constant stream of food coming. As well not sure were peppercorn steak please in an Asian inspired resto.

Very disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

was sad to see the tuna option with the green papaya salad discontinued. it was my go-to for work lunches for years :(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food is delicious! and the service was very accommodating - an individual from our party was extremely gluten free/ celiac, and our server explained all the different options appropriate for her diet. I will definitely be back for those tacos and donuts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great fusion food from a great chef.

The menu is short and changes regularly, according to what's fresh and what the chef is interested in exploring.

It's great for groups with different eating styles, because (without any sacrifice of flavour) there are items for paleo-carnivores, vegans, vegetarians, fish-lovers and wheat avoiders...

The mini-tacos and the dim sum are always surprising and delightful. From spicy beef to a lentil patty...

Everything is designed for sharing, so it makes for a lovely night with friends or a romantic date.

Location and decor

Inside an old stone building in the heart of Ottawa, the decor is high moderne and but warmly comfortable - a tough mix to achieve. The music was pleasant and set a level that didn't drown out conversation. There's a great private room for larger parties, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent restaurant and food. Found it quite chilly in the restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had an excellent time and the food was wonderful, especially the mushroom tacos. My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. Service was fantastic, highly recommend, thank you Max.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.