Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 18 times today

Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar

4.4
558 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Asian
Perfect For:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Tapas
  • Good for a Date
Asian Fusion, Sharing Plates
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Monday- Thursday & Sunday 4:30pm-10:30pm, Friday and Saturday 4:30pm-11pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(613) 562-9331
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jonathan Korecki
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
With it's grand space, private room, semi-private bar and stone walls SIDEDOOR is a great place for anything from a corporate event, family gathering to a wedding or rehearsal dinner.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Candace Power: (877) 878-4234
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sussex
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
From corporate gatherings to weddings SIDEDOOR loves to host special events.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room
What 558 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Much of the food here is REALLY tasty. Fabulous calamari and lovely small plates for sharing. The staff is very friendly and efficient but the noise level, even when the restaurant is not full, is very very loud!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We had a great evening... we will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

A very nice couple of hours sitting at the bar enjoying tapas. We first met at SideDoor and were celebrating our anniversary there.

Very impressed that the chef prepared Son-in-Law eggs for us...no longer on the menu but something special we shared on our first date!

Thank you for the exceptional hospitality!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

This place was described as an asian fusion restaurant. I was suprised to see that their menu started with a “Taco” section which I dont exactly qualify as asian.

Overall very good experience.

“Tapas” style encouraged so that you can share and taste everything.

Chef tacos were good (vegetarian)

Panang curry beef was very tasty (my favorite dish).

Enjoyed the papaya salad as well.

Tuna appetizer was a bit disappointing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I normally love eating here. The sticky Korean ribs are a favourite however on my last visit the cut of rib was very poor. The pieces were enormous and there was far too much fat on them.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Our server was amazing - just the right amount of attentive but recognizing that we were out for a girls night catching up session. The food was excellent. Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Never appreciated a good hostess until now. Before we were all in the door the hostess took off with the first guest, dropped off the menus and left. After we made it to the table, decided which chair to pile on our coats did I see her reunited with her friends at the bar next to the coat rack!! Talk about feeling unwelcomed. We only decided to stay because our server noticed the confusion and lended a helping hand sorting out plates and seating etc. Food and drinks were good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Birthday we loved everything!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Usually I tell people this is my favourite restaurant in the city but the past two times I've had dinner it was just okay. The service was excellent but the food seems tired and flat.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 28, 2018

SideDoor was closed and they will not open any time soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We got great seats near a corner on an elevated platform. Perfect for a romantic date night! The waiter walked us through the vegan options on the menu and was very nice. Pretty quick service too! Would love to see what other changes the menu might have in the future, as long as there are still ample vegan options! :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

This was our first visit. Everything was delicious! We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Good food, good cocktails, very good wine. Enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Been here many times and always enjoy the food and service. Funky and not too modern and never too loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Last month we had the calamari and it was amazing, with a light batter and so tender. This time is was sub par - heavy, dark, grainy batter and tough texture...beef tacos were still the best.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 6, 2018

I was disappointed to learn that the maps tofu is no longer on the menu. Restaurants in Ottawa do not seem to be concerned with vegetarians or vegans and are fixated on providing a lot of meat, chicken and fish. I thought Sidedoor was different, which was my previous experience there. The "sharing plates" were much too big for one person (and not every guest will want to share the same plate) and grossly overpriced. They also should come automatically with rice. The dessert section is very limited and not everyone likes donuts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

The ambiance is very nice with all the stone walls. The food is interesting and becomes a conversation starter. Service is good. I take out-of-town business associates to the Sidedoor and it has always gone over well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Amazing fish tacos. Loving the happy hour, as it makes it more affordable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

The food was good. Service was fast and it was a reasonable price. Drinks were slightly expensive, but this should be expected. I would recommend to anyone looking to go to a business casual restaurant experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Exceptional food...
Live music would be a welcome addition!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Delicious food, very trendy place, but we found the employees were a bit haughty

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Amazing food and service! Great for a group and for those who like to order share plates. Everything we tried was delicious! Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Went for dinner with a friend from overseas, and happily, the menu offered enough variety and the dishes were consistently tasty. Highlight: tofu tacos. Tuna sashimi (tataki?) dish felt dated.

Service was friendly, though it took a while to learn that the first two bottles we had selected were out of stock. This included the GV that was easily the best match to the food menu. The rosé Chinon that we eventually selected paired well with our meal.

Having last visited 5+years ago, the concept is still relevant, though a few other spots in the Market offer equally good Asian-esque and small / sharing plate options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Like most people say it’s not great for a romantic evening for 2. But for groups (big tables) or if you like to try different things it’s awesome. Food is great. Some unique things and awesome donuts.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 4, 2018

Delicious food for the most part, although one dish slightly burnt. However, while we were warned it would come out as it was ready, dishes did come much too close together - to the point we couldn’t enjoy one of our dishes as it was already cold when we got to it. We mentioned this as we could not finish it for this reason, but nothing was done about it. Also as everything came very quickly it felt like a very rushed meal instead of the relaxed experience you would expect for the price that would have allowed us to properly appreciate the food and atmosphere. We were then also asked about the bill very quickly before even finishing our (first) drinks. The restaurant was not busy and no one needed the table so it was difficult to understand this rushed eating approach. For this reason while the food itself was overall good, will likely not return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 4, 2018

Great food, drinks and customer service. Overall, a great time! Quick recommendation:get the salt and pepper calamari!

Belated office Christmas party was here. We went before 6:30pm so it was still happy hour! Had the special cocktail, the fish tacos, the pork belly tacos, the spicy cauliflower, the salt and pepper calamari, the shrimp gyoza and lastly the donut platter!

The cocktail was a gin, vanilla liqueur, cucumber and grapefruit drink. Very well balanced and much better than I had originally imagined.
-The Pickled jalapeños MADE the fish tacos for me. Although, I kinda wish the fish were crispier.
-Pork belly tacos were good, but not Taiwanese pork belly good.
-Spicy cauliflower had great texture where I could barely tell that I was eating cauliflower! The cauliflower also wasn’t that spicy in my opinion.
-The shrimp gyoza came out burnt on one side... it overwhelmed the flavour. When sent back the chef made us new gyoza and sent us his apologies. They were a lot better and had the satisfying crunch I was looking for. Sadly the shrimp inside was still quite average to me.
-The salt and pepper calamari was by far my favourite dish served. The tenderness of the calamari was just amazing. The sauce was okay.
-lastly the donuts were everything I look for in a donut texture-wise. Light, fluffy, not at all greasy. The special was this raspberry peach cream with sprinkles on it. Really cute and appealing. Ultimately I thought it was okay. The white chocolate cranberry was quite good, but I wish it had (literally) one or two more cranberries on it. I found my favourite was the classic sugar and cinnamon. It could really do no wrong.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 3, 2018

Great space and incredible service.
Everything is coated in curry, way too much. Hard to find actual food amongst all the curry sauce. Dishes are very small. Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Great service. Just found the food too salty for our liking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 30, 2017

We've been here many times. Menu hasn't changed. The sharable are Too saucy. Too noisy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Great spot!! Glad we were recommended to go there. The food was unreal!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Great experience. Excellent food. Can't wait to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Top shelf quality, excellent staff, delicious food, and refreshingly unique. Well done!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Excellent service. Awesome food. Great atmosphere. It was a first for all of us and everybody loved it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Very nice location and the food was excellent! We had 3 different meals that all tasted fantastic and the doughnuts are just to die for!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 10, 2017

My husband and I ate dinner at Sidedoor (on a recommendation) before an evening performance. Lovely to arrive during Happy Hour with $2 off selected beers and wines. We ordered the fish tacos which were tasty but tiny for the $10 price tag. The calamari was nicely done and tasty for our final selection, Tuna Tataki, tasted fishy - not the freshly caught flavor I was expecting. Very disappointing and again, very little portion for the price tag. However the donuts were delicious and generous!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 4, 2017

This was one of the best meals I've had in a long time. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 2, 2017

The service offered by the waiter was excellent but the food wasn't so great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 30, 2017

we were first at the Side Door for a reception. it was a large lively gathering and quality of the food, the friendly efficient service and the decor all made a very good impression on us. we decided we would go again in a smaller quieter group.
we were not disappointed! we went after a concert and enjoyed all our choices off the menu, the pace of the service, the general energy and ambience of the place as well as the comfort of the seating. the care taken and creativity in plating each dish was delightful. our server was helpful, genial and professional.
what more could we want? it has become an 'a list' choice for us when we want a downtown meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 20, 2017

I hadn't been to Sidedoor for many years before I rediscovered it with a friend. Since then I've been bringing other friends to enjoy the great atmosphere and great food. I'm very happy that the quality has not changed over the years and will continue to enjoy the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2017

Great food... on the pricey side, but good. Can't get half a lite of wine..

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14