About Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar

18 B York Street
Ottawa, ON K1N 5T5
View Larger Map

Asian Fusion, Sharing Plates

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Monday- Thursday & Sunday 4:30pm-10:30pm, Friday and Saturday 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
Sussex

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 562-9331

Website:
http://www.sidedoorrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Korecki

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
From corporate gatherings to weddings SIDEDOOR loves to host special events.

Restaurant Photos

Chef's Special Fois Grais Dim Sum - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Coconut Poached Scallops With XO Vinegrette - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Salt & Pepper Calamari - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Eggplant Spring Roll - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Bajan Crispy Fish Taco - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Sockeye Salmon Ceviche - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Black Cod Lettuce Wrap - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Lamb With Funky Chili Taco - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Chow Chow Chicken Taco - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Donut Sharing Platter - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Pork Belly - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Ramen - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Pulled Pork Taco - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Prawn Dumplings - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Cappuccino - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Black Cod With Soy Mirin And Truffle Oil - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Homemade Cookies - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Soy Ginger Shrimp Tacos - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Grilled Alberta Beef Striploin With Shallot Jus - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Cream Of Lentil Soup With Bacon - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Green Papaya Salad - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Black Cod - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Pork Belly Braised In Master Stock - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Lamb Taco - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Tuna Sashimi - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Bok Choi - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Bbq Pork Ramen - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Lunchbox/ Fish Taco - Shrimp Taco & Lobster Bisque - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Son-In-Law Egg - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Russet Potato Frites - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON
Braised Beef In Curry - Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar, Ottawa, ON

Sidedoor Contemporary Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Ottawa
Most Booked
Ottawa

Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Fun (9)
Business Meals (7)
Tapas (7)
Healthy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sidedoor never disappoints. The ambiance ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Sidedoor never disappoints. The ambiance is contemporary and at the same time, people of any age will feel welcome here. Food is always fab.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed all of the food, especially t ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We enjoyed all of the food, especially the home made donuts. Check em out! We will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef's special taco was really terri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The chef's special taco was really terrific -- you might consider it a permanent part of the menu. The Lobster bisque was on the salty side.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A short menu but interesting items. Our ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 22, 2016

A short menu but interesting items.

Our handsome server got the kitchen to prepare plates of 3 tacos before we even asked! Also, we were seated at a table far from the cold window, again without our needing to ask. It could also have been because they were anticipating a large (i.e. noisy) group later and they put us far from them. If so, more than nice. Service was attentive but not annoying.

As for the food, I will be back for the lentil tacos for sure. And the tuna sashimi. :-)

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food & great atmosphere! We'll ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent food & great atmosphere! We'll be back for more!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual SideDoor delivers on great tast ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

As usual SideDoor delivers on great tasty food. Every bite was wonderful . Good selection on the menu and friendly wait staff. This is my favourite restaurant in Ottawa and it continues to impress me everytime!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great find. We had little expecta ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

What a great find. We had little expectation going in, but the food was excellent. Our server was very helpful and professional. We would highly recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food and Great Atmosphere. Excell ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great Food and Great Atmosphere. Excellent place to go for any occasion.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We had a bit of trouble initially findin ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a bit of trouble initially finding safe gluten free options on the menu that would give us enough variety but with some back and forth discussions between our wonderful waiter and the experienced chef in the kitchen, we were able to come up with a more than satisfactory selection of dishes. If you are Celiac, don't go there expecting it to be easy to find GF options though -- you have to work with the staff. Expect the dinner to take a while as it is a busy, hopping place. Plan a minimum of 2hrs. Food and presentation was good. Seasonal vegetables were very tasty but presentation could have been better. Vietnamese pancake is outstanding.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I like this place and will be going back ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I like this place and will be going back, unlike it's sister restaurant 18, it has a great well rounded presence. Everything was good. They could stand a bigger menu (add more yummy stuff) but hey...if it aint broke don't try and fix it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, good menu and food and a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great service, good menu and food and ambiance in nice setting

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went back to Sidedoor for lunch for th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I went back to Sidedoor for lunch for the first time in a few months and it was as excellent as ever: quiet so I could hear my companion, good food at a good price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner is ok but forget this place for l ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Dinner is ok but forget this place for lunch as it has the most ridiculously limited menu I've ever seen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We thought the food was good, but we fou ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We thought the food was good, but we found out that we aren't fans of the "homestyle" method of serving. Maybe this means we are not open to new experiences, or maybe not. To begin, we found the menu confusing. It was unclear from the menu just how we should order our meal of "small shared plates" and "large shared plates". We were surprised that the main dishes didn't come with potatoes or rice or vegetables, but that these were to be ordered and paid for separately. This does make it possible to get exactly the combination you like, but with the fish, steak, and other mains already over $30, it seemed a surprising additional expense. We were also surprised that the dishes come to the table when they are ready, so a salad and main course may arrive at the same time, with the rice and vegetables coming sometime later. While each dish was quite attractive when it arrived at the table, by the time we put the shared items on our plates, the food looked just as it does on our plates at home, which was a little disappointing considering we were having a not-inexpensive meal out. We didn't get the donut dessert, ourselves, but saw one brought to a large, nearby table.

Eight different rather elegant donuts were brought in on a long trencher and each lovingly described by the server. However, there was only one of each kind, so too bad if you wanted the dark chocolate one and the person down the table got to it first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

There was a large reservation near us th ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

There was a large reservation near us that was so loud people were moving tables. I wish they had been sat in a group area as it was so loud we couldn't converse but luckily they arrived near the end of our meal. The food was flawless and the service spectacular. Definitely heading back soon!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best part about Sidedoor is their do ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The best part about Sidedoor is their doughnuts. Their doughnuts -- fresh, light, interesting -- are the highlight. The main dishes, for what you get, are on the expensive side. In my opinion, they should be $5-7 cheaper. The calamari was pretty good. The beef curry was good, too. The price could be cheaper, that's all. Except for the doughnuts!!! Worth every cent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service staff was amazing! Cinnamon don ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Service staff was amazing! Cinnamon donuts were yummy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very much enjoyed this resto. Food and s ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very much enjoyed this resto. Food and service were terrific. Try the sharing donuts for dessert

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arriving was good. Easy to get to our ta ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Arriving was good. Easy to get to our table. Food was good. But portions were not what was described. Told enough to feed 3-4 people and the calamari is just enough for 2. Service was poor. Our waiter always took forever to come back to the table. He forgot about one girl at our table who arrived late. 2 people ordered the same thing, one got their food hot, the other cold. He then instead of taking a percentage off her bill (which is what most places do) he actually asked if they wanted a percentage off their bill. At the end of the night, we were waiting and waiting for him to come back to get a refill on the drinks and he was just hanging around up by the bar near a computer....None if us were impressed by him. There was 11 of us for a birthday dinner.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Service is always great - casual but not ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service is always great - casual but not sloppy. Couldn't believe the server divided the 2 orders of donughts 4 ways withough us asking.

Really disapprove that the restaurant does not take reservations on Saturday - almost went to another restaurant because I was trying to book on line because nothing was available The restaurant was empty....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food. Excellent atmosphere. I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent atmosphere. I have been here twice in the past two weeks and I continue to recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got our table pretty fast, but I can' ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We got our table pretty fast, but I can't say that about the food. We have been a party of 5 one person could have left after 45 min since she got all her food first, but 3 of us had dinner after 2 hour wait .Our side was served first and has been cold when the flavorless chicken was served. I have to say they tried hard to recover they gave us some dishes on house and free donuts but this didn't change my mind

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Delicious food- awesome flavours and a s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delicious food- awesome flavours and a setting for an excellent dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Nice atmosphere - b ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was excellent. Nice atmosphere - bigger than expected and a little on noisy side. Very good service. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience (celebrating 21st wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food here is great ... Wine overpric ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food here is great ... Wine overpriced for the quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Felt pressured by the server while my fr ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Felt pressured by the server while my friend and I waited for other friends. Although we were having drinks, it was uneasy having the server every minute or so inquiring about our food order when we did not even finish our drinks...

We would have preferred a better drinks selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

All good. The patio in the courtyard is ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 30, 2016

All good. The patio in the courtyard is a nice bit of tranquility amongst the vibrant Market.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have enjoyed the sidedoor in the past ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We have enjoyed the sidedoor in the past. This time the meal was not up to its usual standards. The crispy fish taco's were not crispy and the main dishes were too rich for a summer menu. We were disappointed not to find the dumplings on the menu this time (which would have been more appropriate for a summer meal than the heavy/rich seafood options).

We had hoped to sit on the patio, but the patio was closed due to the heat. It would have been appreciated to have been informed of this prior to arriving, so that we were more prepared for indoor, airconditioned dinning. (With a sweater ect.).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Fabulous place in a lively courtyard in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Fabulous place in a lively courtyard in Ottawas Bayard Market. Asian fusion. The best lettuce wraps and so different. Side dishes were wonderful. Also ambience is lovely. Also loved the jazzy piped on music. Sinatra, Nat King Cole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server could not be understood due t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The server could not be understood due to the noise in the restaurant. When I food did arrive, issues with the dishes as some people asked there Taco's to be on lettuce leaves and not corn or floured tortillas.

The food was very one note and did not have much depth of flavour. I think its a cop out for the kitchen not to be able to do all the tables dishes at once. You state dim sum style and people can pick at what the want but two tacos's coming to the table of 8 people not sure how that is supposed to work. As well dim sum you usually have a constant stream of food coming. As well not sure were peppercorn steak please in an Asian inspired resto.

Very disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

was sad to see the tuna option with the ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 19, 2016

was sad to see the tuna option with the green papaya salad discontinued. it was my go-to for work lunches for years :(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is delicious! and the service was v ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food is delicious! and the service was very accommodating - an individual from our party was extremely gluten free/ celiac, and our server explained all the different options appropriate for her diet. I will definitely be back for those tacos and donuts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fusion food from a great chef. T ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great fusion food from a great chef.

The menu is short and changes regularly, according to what's fresh and what the chef is interested in exploring.

It's great for groups with different eating styles, because (without any sacrifice of flavour) there are items for paleo-carnivores, vegans, vegetarians, fish-lovers and wheat avoiders...

The mini-tacos and the dim sum are always surprising and delightful. From spicy beef to a lentil patty...

Everything is designed for sharing, so it makes for a lovely night with friends or a romantic date.

Location and decor

Inside an old stone building in the heart of Ottawa, the decor is high moderne and but warmly comfortable - a tough mix to achieve. The music was pleasant and set a level that didn't drown out conversation. There's a great private room for larger parties, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant and food. Found it ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent restaurant and food. Found it quite chilly in the restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had an excellent time and the food wa ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had an excellent time and the food was wonderful, especially the mushroom tacos. My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. Service was fantastic, highly recommend, thank you Max.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was creative and well-prepared. Ser ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was creative and well-prepared. Service started out strong, but in later stages the waiter seemed to lose interest (though the restaurant wasn't especially busy) - not offering refills, not asking about dessert. It was odd.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and wonderful service. Will d ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. Will definitely be back. Nice spot to take someone from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I absolutely loved this restaurant. I we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2016

I absolutely loved this restaurant. I went with a work group and we all ordered different small plates and each one was better than the next. Will definitely go back and our waitress Jen was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good.

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service and food. A wedding was taking place at the same time and it was somewhat noisy. I wish I would have known in advance to booked another time. Lots of people coming and going. Somewhat interesting but wasn't the quiet place I expected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We absolutely loved Sidedoor. Our server ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We absolutely loved Sidedoor. Our server was charming, helpful and attentive and the ambience is casual in this stylish, fusion-cuisine restaurant. We started the meal with a beer for my husband and I had a Herb's Favorite - a gin and tonic with cucumber, fresh dill, and a lime slice - wonderful! This is a place where you order several things and then share. We started our meal with the baby kale and apple salad with spiced, roasted and chopped peanuts. The dressing was delicious. Next we had the sashimi, which was delicate and full of flavor. Our final dish was the honey pork tenderloin with root vegetables - delicious. If we lived in Ottawa, we would be regulars at Sidedoor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.