About Side Street Inn Kapahulu

614 Kapahulu Ave, #100
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Aloha and welcome to Side Street Inn, Oahu’s hidden hot spot, located in the heart of Honolulu. Recognized locally as the "gathering place" for the island's best chefs since opening its doors in 1992, Side Street Inn remains a true "local bar," that dishes out simply delicious comfort food in a relaxed, unpretentious environment. With a frequent mix of famous faces, professionals and steady regulars, it's the ideal place to enjoy good food and good times with friends.

Side Street Inn boasts something for everyone from sports lovers to wine connoisseurs with satellite-ready, big-screen TVs to view games and a full-bar with a vast variety of domestic and imported beers (even their own signature "Side Street Inn Rogue Ale"). Sit back and relax, as we introduce your bellies to pure happiness. Featured on Local Networks and The Travel Channel's Anthony Bourdain's NO RESERVATIONS and Adam's Richman's FOOD NATION any many media and magazines.

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday: 745am - 10:30am (SEASONAL SEPT - DEC ONLY); Dinner: Nightly: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Weekends - 1PM

Cross Street:
Date St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-3939

Website:
http://www.sidestreetinn.com/

Entertainment:
Direct TV satellite system - Live NFL Games- Seasonal



Private Rooms Accomadations

Catering:
For Large Parties, Special events, & Catering, Please inquire @ sidestreetinnkapahulu@gmail.com Attn: Rbzs "tata"

Parking Details:
We do offer valet parking that can be accessed from the kapahulu entrance. If you are on Kapahulu, the driveway will be on your right after you past the Prudential Locations building directly across the street for Zippy's Kapahulu. Proceed down the driveway under the building and you will see our valets ready to assist you. Valet parking is $5.00, tips are welcomed and appreciated!!

Executive Chef:
Colin Nishida

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 private rooms that can accomadate up to 35 people per room or can be opened up to seat 60-70 guests.
These rooms can be reserved in advance pending on availability. There is no charge to utilize these rooms but we do have some requirements when making reservations for parties of 15 or more people.

Private Party Contact:
Robbie "Tata" Acoba: 8087393939x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
WEDDING REHEARSALS, PRIVATE LUNCHEONS, PRIVATE ROOM PARTIES...

Restaurant Photos

"Side Style" Fried Rice
Prime Ribeye Steak
***Da’famous Pan Fried Island Pork Chops
Steamed Clams
Garlic French Fries
Escargot
raw oysters
Beef Ribs
Nametake Tofu
Da’ Signature “Side Style” Fried Rice
Boneless Kalbi Short Ribs
Oxtail Soup
Kailua Pork Sliders
Pork Chop
Rogue Side Street Inn Ale
French Fries
Kona Draft Beer
Crackling Roast Pork
Chinese Style Bbq Style Pork Spare Ribs
Crunchy Peanut Butter Brownie
Butter Pound Cake & Ice Cream
Mudslide
Escargots !!!
Mighty Wings
Rogue Pie
Pocho Clams
Shrimp Wonton Soup
KFC
Peanut Butter Crunch
Lap Cheong Fried Rice
Spongebob  Cake
Beef Ribs With Kim Chi
NY Steak and Eggs
Korean Fried Chicken Wings
roast pork
Chicken Wings
Da Works Fried Rice
Fanny Bay Oysters On The Half Shell
Molten Chocolate Cake
Calamari Strips
Beer Man's Salad
Shrimp Scampi
Garlic Edamame
Da Works Fried Rice Plate
Fried Chicken Gizzards
Kalua Pork Sliders
Poke Sampler
Panko Crusted Hamachi in Creme Sauce
Caramel Apple Martini
Molton Lava Chocolate Cake
Maccallan 12
ahi poke
Crispy Roast Pork
Farmer's Blend Salad
Pan Fried Island Pork Chops
Beer Man Salad
Kahlua Pork Sliders
Kula's Farmer Blend Salad
Ahi & Aku Poke Platter
Fried Rice
Sizzling Boneless Kalbi
mochiko chicken
fried chicken
Dirty Martini
Kim Chee Fried Rice
Garlic Chicken
Hawaiian-Style Pulehu Short Ribs
Escargots
Side Street Inn’s Crusted Ahi Filet With Furikake
Da’ Signature “Side Style” Fried Rice With Lup Cheong
Spicy Chicken
Fried Pork Chops
Fried Pound Cake
Chinese Chicken Salad
Escargot Puffs
Chinese Style Crispy Roast Pork
Kalbi Steak
Char Siu & Roast Pork Belly Sliders
Molten Lava Cake
Garlic Fries
Calamari
Pan Fried Pork Chops
Clam Sashimi
Lani's Chicken Wings
#3 Da Works
Teri Beef Plate
Farmer's Salad
Side Style Famous Fried Rice
Warm Homemade Bread Pudding
Molten Chocolate with Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Galbi
Poke, Pan-Fried Island Pork Chops, Sauteed Mushrooms & Kimchee Fried Rice
Corn Chowder
Kalbi - korean bbq
Poke And Sashimi
New York Strip
Special Fried Rice
Stirfry Asparagus W/ Bacon
Rib Eye Sizzling Steak
Kampachi Kama

Side Street Inn Kapahulu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Hawaii
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

good for groups (42)
fit for foodies (31)
neighborhood gem (30)
See All
kid-friendly (23)
special occasion (22)
late-night find (15)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for lunch (10)
great for brunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
notable wine list (2)
romantic (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Phenomenal Hawaiian food served just rig ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 21 hours ago

Phenomenal Hawaiian food served just right and with a smile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a nice time. The food was good. T ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a nice time. The food was good. Think the Mac cheese should be with macaroni versus noodles. Our waitress Michelle was super even tho it was busy. Thank you.qow

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very local and huge volumes. My picky ab ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very local and huge volumes. My picky about Asian food parents couldn't get enough of the fresh caught whole red snapper steamed Chinese style. It was full of flavor and cooked perfectly. The tofu salad was enough for 4 people to share. Fried calamari was Katsu style with Panko bread crumbs, extra crispy outside moist inside. We had a reservation so no wait but by the time we left, there were lots of people waiting to be seated. Valet parking for $6 is a little steep but beats looking for a place to park in that busy area near Kapiolani park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our Ohana enjoyed a great dining experie ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our Ohana enjoyed a great dining experience! Nice atmosphere, exceptional service from Korey & very Ono food!!!

Looking forward to our next visit!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you leave this restaurant hungry...it ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

If you leave this restaurant hungry...it's your own fault. The menu selections and service are top notch. The favorites at my table were: blackened Ahi, Buffalo wings; and various salads.

For a family night out Side Street can't be beat for value and exceptional food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent local food, among the best we' ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent local food, among the best we've had in Hawaii. Very casual, family style restaurant with warm and friendly service. Don't let the appearances put you off, this place is not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Whenever I am in Oahu, I make it a point ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Whenever I am in Oahu, I make it a point to eat here at LEAST once. The food is amazing, portions are large, and the ambiance is fun and festive!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food!!! Can be a little noisy thou ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food!!! Can be a little noisy though, but you sure get a lot for your money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice drinks and great food. Love the pla ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice drinks and great food. Love the place! Service is good as well. Always reserve a booth and so far have always gotten one.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Second time at this location of Side Str ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Second time at this location of Side Street Inn and liked it as much as first time. This time had a group so were able to take advantage of the large portion sizes for starters and entrees. Tasty food in a family friendly environment. Only difficulty is that it is hard to have a discussion across the table because of noise level.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great for large groups that like to try ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great for large groups that like to try different dishes. Can get super loud (especially around 6-7 pm) so not for the soft-spoken or hard of hearing.

Definitely get the fried rice!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Can't Miss

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Can't ever miss at Side Street. I can honestly say, I have never had anything there I didn't like. I take a lot of mainland visitors here and I tell them you can practically close your eyes and point at the menu and have a great meal. Secret item: Smoked Meat Fried Rice. Not on the menu but really awesome.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't been here in a while but the bone ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Hadn't been here in a while but the boneless kalbi was as excellent as I last remembered them. Hubby tried the spicy garlic chicken which he liked better than the Korean chicken he had ordered the last time. We also ordered the day's special which was Colin's bacon-wrapped meatloaf over mashed potatoes, which was very good as well. The only setback was the noise. Since they have sports monitors all over the room and there was a basketball game going on, and people were cheering on their teams, it was difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Restaurant Service Ever!!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My family was welcoming mainland relatives, some to meet for the first time. Best food, best waiter, best time ever!! The only thing that was disappointing was we could not find parking. Their parking garage was full and it took us 30 mins. to find a parking space. Why don't they accommodate guests that have reservations?? That was the only negative thing. Everything else was superb!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had seen great reviews on Yelp and wan ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I had seen great reviews on Yelp and wanted to see what all the fuss was about. The waitress was super helpful and friendly and the food was sooooo good. Come to find out they cater and I will be getting big trays of food from them in the near future for a party.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, the food is delicious and the ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

As always, the food is delicious and the service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

All the local favorites in one place!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Wanted a dinner for my son who's been away from the islands...and looking for great local kine

served family style food. The whole fresh steamed fish was excellently cooked just right....with lup cheong and veggies. Sauteed Mushrooms, Deep Fried Gizzards...crunchy good, Pork chops, steamed clams ,pulehu short ribs....all yummy. We had a roomy table for 8. Great service from the receptionist to our server

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Consistently a great time here. The food is always great and the serving sizes are just monstrous. Michelle took fantastic care of us as she was VERY in tuned with some dietary restrictions and gave the kitchen appropriate instruction without us having to ask. Awesome night with friends and great food. Mahalo Colin and staff!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SRO for a reason! Gotta Go!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Hadn't been to SSI in years and wondered if the food and service went up or down. I was happy to find that things have definitely gotten better than before. The food quality was always good but with more selection and variety, things got better! Applause to the staff who all worked very hard to please everyone, no joke - they were impressive! The fruits of such excellent service and quality of food was the huge amount of people in and out of the restaurant (Kapahulu). Will definitely let my friends and family know that SSI is even better than before! See you guys again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Review of Side Street Inn Kapahulu

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We come to Hawaii often from Washington State and we always go to Side Street Inn while we are here. We LOVE the pork chops and the fried rice - to die for !! Keep up the good work - we will be back !!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disappointment

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Side Street Inn is never a disappointment. It serves consistent great food. Our favorites are the fried rice (amazing!) - we love the kim chee fried rice but our Mainland friends weren't up to the kim chee - pork chops, chinese roast pork, chicken done all kine ways - we ordered the mochiko chicken this time and it was delicious as well. I do change my mind about disappointment - the only disappointment is when we don't make reservations ahead of time and they are all booked up!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner at Side Street

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our first time at Side Street, and it was a great experience. The fried rice and pork chops, their specialty, was so good. The salad, Chinese sliders, pocho clams, garlic bread were all good. We also ordered all 3 of the desserts, and they were sinfully good. Out waitress was so nice and accommodating. We will certainly be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food is very tasty and comes in fami ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food is very tasty and comes in family sized portions. What this means is that the portions are huge and are meant for sharing. Unfortunately, there were only 2 of us, so we were limited in how much we could order. We ordered the fried rice, the garlic chicken, and their signature pork chops. We enjoyed the rice and chicken the most and had lots of leftovers for lunch the next day. Although we enjoyed it, it is probably best if you go in larger groups so you can order and share more of their menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Dinner on the strip

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My brother was visiting from out of town, so we had to go to side street. What can I say the food is always on point, pork chops, kalbi, ribeye, fried rice, poke... and the staff, well they're just wonderful, always smiling and very plesant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My view on Side Street Inn

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The people are great, very friendly and very helpful. The food is great and plenty. The prices are reasonable. What else can one ask for. Keep up the good work!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

local grindz

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

side street inn Kapahulu serves up great local favorites. local grindz at it's best, great for family style eating or pupu style accompanied with spirits. all time fav is the fried rice and kalbi!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A good taste of Hawaiian food

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

A good taste of Hawaiian food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great family style food,always plenty!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Great family style food,always plenty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Always a good time at Side Street!! Cons ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Always a good time at Side Street!! Consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Build your own dinner among friends

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Large portions served family style. Easy to mix and match a well rounded meal between several people. Food is good quality and tastes very good. Service was good and not pushy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always the best place for grinds

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

The food always plentiful and super tasty. Very pleasant service. NICE!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is the best for large parties -pork ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food is the best for large parties -pork chops, fried rice, steamed opakapaka ...Dee-licious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Nice place with great food and drinks. A ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Nice place with great food and drinks. A wide variety of dishes is listed on the menue and the portions are always huge.

Go end enjoy!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Service and food was great. The hostess was not very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

A couple of downfalls for me this time. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

A couple of downfalls for me this time. First the Chinese chicken salad didn't have any chicken, of course it's not the wait staff's fault, she got us a comp bc we ate it without. Then, I waited a very long time for my oxtail soup by then I was full from the other items we ordered, the wait staff kept apologizing, not her fault again. My expectations were too high and I was very disappointed with the oxtail soup. There was daikon which I like but it watered down the soup and it was very large in size and had a hard time cutting bc, it wasn't fork tender neither was the oxtail. I guess I won't be ordering that anymore. The other items we ordered were good but over all, it was just average. Sorry, it was a big turn off for me this round.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food frenzy!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Great place for a group. Definitely the more the merrier so you can try different things. Huge menu and something for everyone! Kids, healthy eaters, seniors... Side Street never disappoints. A very fun place to go. Mentioned place to my dad who's never been. I think he's interested so will make plans to bring family here.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Huge portions of local food. Great server Adam.

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

All the tried and true specialties from the original location: fried pork chops, fried Mochiko chicken, fried rice. Huge portions best shared by groups. Our server Adam was excellent: attentive, friendly, always there when needed, but not overly so.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It is always a experience to visit Side ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

It is always a experience to visit Side Street Inn. People are friendly and the food is

very good. We dine there at least once a month and have yet to be disappointed.

Keep up the good work.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall great value and wonderful service!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Truly awesome time with friends! Great food along with prompt accurate and professional service. Can't miss with the local food here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a terrific place to watch the game ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

What a terrific place to watch the game & order some pupus with cocktails. Our server was on it without being over the top. Oh, yes and the bread pudding with a scoop of ice cream was the perfect end to a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.