Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Side Street Inn Kapahulu

Aloha and welcome to Side Street Inn, Oahu’s hidden hot spot, located in the heart of Honolulu. Recognized locally as the "gathering place" for the island's best chefs since opening its doors in 1992, Side Street Inn remains a true "local bar," that dishes out simply delicious comfort food in a relaxed, unpretentious environment. With a frequent mix of famous faces, professionals and steady regulars, it's the ideal place to enjoy good food and good times with friends.

Side Street Inn boasts something for everyone from sports lovers to wine connoisseurs with satellite-ready, big-screen TVs to view games and a full-bar with a vast variety of domestic and imported beers (even their own signature "Side Street Inn Rogue Ale"). Sit back and relax, as we introduce your bellies to pure happiness. Featured on Local Networks and The Travel Channel's Anthony Bourdain's NO RESERVATIONS and Adam's Richman's FOOD NATION any many media and magazines.

614 Kapahulu Ave, #100
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday: 745am - 10:30am (SEASONAL SEPT - DEC ONLY); Dinner: Nightly: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Weekends - 1PM

Cross Street:
Date St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-3939

Website:
http://www.sidestreetinn.com/

Entertainment:
Direct TV satellite system - Live NFL Games- Seasonal



Private Rooms Accomadations

Catering:
For Large Parties, Special events, & Catering, Please inquire @ sidestreetinnkapahulu@gmail.com Attn: Rbzs "tata"

Parking Details:
We do offer valet parking that can be accessed from the kapahulu entrance. If you are on Kapahulu, the driveway will be on your right after you past the Prudential Locations building directly across the street for Zippy's Kapahulu. Proceed down the driveway under the building and you will see our valets ready to assist you. Valet parking is $5.00, tips are welcomed and appreciated!!

Executive Chef:
Colin Nishida

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 private rooms that can accomadate up to 35 people per room or can be opened up to seat 60-70 guests.
These rooms can be reserved in advance pending on availability. There is no charge to utilize these rooms but we do have some requirements when making reservations for parties of 15 or more people.

Private Party Contact:
Robbie "Tata" Acoba: (808) 739-3939

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
WEDDING REHEARSALS, PRIVATE LUNCHEONS, PRIVATE ROOM PARTIES...

Side Street Inn Kapahulu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (25)
Comfort Food (20)
Casual (19)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Live Sports (6)
Authentic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great Beer (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Private Room (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (0)
Live Music (0)
Sort By:
S
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service! Friendly atmosphere this a definite do again restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food. Highly recommend the garlic fried chicken, the works fried rice and Kal bi steak. Served family style with generous portions. There were four of us and we had plenty of leftovers. Service is fantastic. Wish there was a side street in California. Highly recommend if you are visiting Honolulu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Family Style, Fun, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I always make it a point to eat at Side Street Inn when I'm in Hawaii. Food is always great! It never disappoints!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

All was great until we returned to our rental vehicle and found that it had been towed!!! When we received our confirmation call, we should have been warned. Getting our vehicle cost us $190 CASH plus $50 in Uber fees to get to ATM and to the tow yard. We felt like the owner of the lot, owner of the towing company and owner of the restaurant were all in on this horrible experience!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 15, 2017

4品注文した内、2品が1時間30分以上たっても出て来なかった。後から来たテーブルに同じ物が来たのでおそらくウエイトレスが出し間違えたかと。再三催促するがすぐだからと言われ待ち続けました。そんなことがなければ普通のお店だと思います。

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Eight friends got together and we really enjoyed food, ambience, service and fun atmosphere where everyone in the restaurant were enjoying themselves. Nice that we weren't rushed by management to leave. Stayed almost 3+ hours!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good food, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

A great place to bring a group of people as it is family style. The waitstaff is wonderful and you will find all of your local favorites. There are two locations, the one on Kapahulu is a bit fancier while the original is a "hole in the wall" with great ambiance. In both locations you will find great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Host did not have our reservation but quickly accommodated us after I showed our open table reservation.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was disappointed during my last visit. With a reservation in place for 5:30 PM they made us wait about 20 minutes. I always ask in my Open Table reservations for a booth yet this time it did not work out. Since I complained they put us into a booth in the bar. very uncomfortable. Then after dinner I received an e-mail stating that my reservation had been cancelled. Who cancelled that reservation after the meal? The manager ( a very nice lady) must have realized that there was a tremendous screw up so she took care of the situation nicely! First time I have been disappointed in the service at Side Street Inn. Generally service is perfect. I know since we visit once a month!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We have been to SSI dating back decades. Even though the original site is more convenient, we prefer the Kapahulu store, it is more comfortable to us older folks and the food is the same. Whenever we take visitors or, in the case of Friday night, local friends for their first time, they ALWAYS want to go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We hadn't been to Side Street Inn on da Strip for over a year and so we went there for the comfort food. The calamari was okay/good because it was tender, but hubby said he would not order it again if it were just the two of us; he'd order something he hadn't ordered before. The boneless kalbi was delicious, and although pricey ($29) was worth it. I tried their gumbo, which was very tasty but more reminiscent of stew; there was no okra. All in all, it was a decent meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Bartender Ricky is a true asset to your restaurant. Although busy, he was able to entertain us and make a well behaved dirty martini for my partner Jimmy. We love eating at the bar!

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Family style - not healthy but decent.. give it a good bit very good- great for groups, don't bother dressing up for this place

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Don't know too many local folks who don't like Side Street Inn. The food (family style) is great local fare. Everyone (old to young) enjoyed it. One thing to remember here is that you'll probably need a reservation--especially on weekends. That can be a problem for a last minute decision for some good local food.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Side Street Inn on Kapahulu Avenue was an enjoyable experience for our party of 10. The reservation was confirmed prior to our arrival and our table was ready when we arrived 15 minutes early. The wait staff was attentive and the food was all very tasty. The puupuu menu was as advertised and the entrees served family style were all consumed with gusto.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Waiter wasn't that great. Fried rice was cold, everything else was OK.
Wish I had another Waiter but it is what it is. Hope things get better, worst service I had since I've been coming to side street inn. Thanks again Mr Nishida

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

キムチフライドライスとポークチョップがめちゃくちゃ美味しい。オックステールスープも生姜をどっさりいれたら子供も喜んでたべましたよ!バレーパーキングに預ける価値あり!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Family style dining - 2 mains (shrimp scampi and misoyaki chicken) plus house fried rice and yakisoba were more than enough for the five of us . Food was excellent, service was a tad slow but not a problem. Easy to watch the football game on the many well placed wide screens. Valet parking at $6 is easier/safer than the next door lot. Servers were friendly and easy to find even tho the house was quite busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food taste and portions do not disappoint...EXCELLENT!!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Such a great spot! It was recommended to us by 4 different people so we had to try it. The food was fantastic, the pan seared garlic crusted ahi was beyond my expectations!

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This place has high reviews but was also recommended by a local. I don't think this is a tourist destination, despite being 5 min from Waikiki. The food was fantastic. Big family-style servings of garlic chicken, kalbi ribs, pan-fried pork chops, and fried rice. Everything done just right. The mai tais were excellent, the service was friendly and quick. The parking was not so convenient before 5 pm, and this place is packed after that, so get reservations and plan ahead. It's worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Top of the line local food. Fried rice to die for. Large family style portions to share. Excellent salads, pork chops. Fun to watch large family groups enjoying a meal, child friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

店員のサービスがすごく良い
いくつのもテーブルを担当しているのによく気が付きサービスしてくれる
あと、なんといっても美味しい

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Cozy, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It's so good! I recommend you.Friedrice is very popular.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food and great service! Would definitely recommend it to family and friends!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The dishes were interesting and tasty but way too salty for me. It would be nice to have food offerings that were not as salty to go with all of the salty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always a family favorite. GREAT food, fast and friendly service, great drink selection. This is a "can't miss" from every perspective. Valet parking underground the building; an outside parking lot next door (towards Waikiki beach area).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Hidden gem. Great food, lots of it! Skip the side dishes unless you're really, really hungry! Great service, super friendly staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Short ribs and Buffalo wings were a big hit with my grandchildren. It's a busy family friendly restaurant that provides excellent value and quality food. The service was exceptional with great attention to keeping our glasses full and meeting our ever changing needs.
For a family dinner that is high quality and doesn't break the bank combined with excellent service I would highly recommend Side Street Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Side Street Inn is one of our go to spots. Sometimes you just want a break from the fancy high end establishments and here you can grab comfort food that is always great tasting and still different from the morn back home. It is great to see non-tourists getting together as friends and family and gives you a feel of what it would be like to live here. Pork Chops, Fried Rice, Kalbi... all good! Lots of sports in screens.

Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Everything was good+; only suggestion is a bit more attentive on the service end; don't know if they were understaffed, but could have used drinks, refill on water, etc., in a more timely manner.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Consistently good, local-kine grinds. Big portions for family-style eating. Fast, friendly service. They were flexible and accommodating when we called ahead to increase the number of people in our group more than once (started with 8 which was stated as the max allowable in the open table app, called to increase to 12, then 16) Probably helped that it was a Sunday evening, not Friday or Saturday night, but they were still busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As usual we had ono food and the quantities did not disappoint. The festive spirit and energy in the restaurant made more that everyone was enjoying themselves. A must place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Brought my wife's entrée before salad just tossed on table. Maybe as we were not locals they do not care so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 2, 2016

As normal, everything was great. Our server was in training and while very nice and attentive, it seemed like the nuances of serving us were still coming together for her - some food came out really early and some really late, too quite a while to get our finalized charge back, etc. Overall, acceptable to the circumstance. Food, always excellent. It was a bit noisy but it was Thursday Night Football so totally understandable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 1, 2016

No such thing as a Truck Stop in Hawaii--but this is the closest thing goin. Family style dinning at its best. Great food at a reasonable price. Loved the Nalo salad, garlic fried chicken and short ribs. We had a group of 5 hungry airline pilots and although 2 of us had been at the Side Street numerous times the other 3 had not and they all plan on going back again. Mahalo.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Good Sports Bar atmosphere with reasonable food at reasonable prices.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food and a huge amount - amazing service - but the appetizer came only about a minute before the meal. This made the amount of food overwhelming as it was all at one time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We brought our friends who were visiting from the mainland for dinner. Always love the boneless Kalbi. We also got the fried rice, yakisoba, and fried crispy pork. Everything was awesome. Hard to go wrong with anything you order. We topped it off with the creme brûlée which was great. Our waitress was excellent. Always enjoy dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.