About Side Street Inn Kapahulu

614 Kapahulu Ave, #100
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Aloha and welcome to Side Street Inn, Oahu’s hidden hot spot, located in the heart of Honolulu. Recognized locally as the "gathering place" for the island's best chefs since opening its doors in 1992, Side Street Inn remains a true "local bar," that dishes out simply delicious comfort food in a relaxed, unpretentious environment. With a frequent mix of famous faces, professionals and steady regulars, it's the ideal place to enjoy good food and good times with friends.

Side Street Inn boasts something for everyone from sports lovers to wine connoisseurs with satellite-ready, big-screen TVs to view games and a full-bar with a vast variety of domestic and imported beers (even their own signature "Side Street Inn Rogue Ale"). Sit back and relax, as we introduce your bellies to pure happiness. Featured on Local Networks and The Travel Channel's Anthony Bourdain's NO RESERVATIONS and Adam's Richman's FOOD NATION any many media and magazines.

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday: 745am - 10:30am (SEASONAL SEPT - DEC ONLY); Dinner: Nightly: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Weekends - 1PM

Cross Street:
Date St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-3939

Website:
http://www.sidestreetinn.com/

Entertainment:
Direct TV satellite system - Live NFL Games- Seasonal



Private Rooms Accomadations

Catering:
For Large Parties, Special events, & Catering, Please inquire @ sidestreetinnkapahulu@gmail.com Attn: Rbzs "tata"

Parking Details:
We do offer valet parking that can be accessed from the kapahulu entrance. If you are on Kapahulu, the driveway will be on your right after you past the Prudential Locations building directly across the street for Zippy's Kapahulu. Proceed down the driveway under the building and you will see our valets ready to assist you. Valet parking is $5.00, tips are welcomed and appreciated!!

Executive Chef:
Colin Nishida

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 private rooms that can accomadate up to 35 people per room or can be opened up to seat 60-70 guests.
These rooms can be reserved in advance pending on availability. There is no charge to utilize these rooms but we do have some requirements when making reservations for parties of 15 or more people.

Private Party Contact:
Robbie "Tata" Acoba: 8087393939x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
WEDDING REHEARSALS, PRIVATE LUNCHEONS, PRIVATE ROOM PARTIES...

Restaurant Photos

Side Street Inn Kapahulu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Hawaii
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

good for groups (59)
fit for foodies (41)
neighborhood gem (31)
See All
kid-friendly (30)
special occasion (22)
hot spot (20)
great for lunch (13)
late-night find (13)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for brunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (4)
 (3)
notable wine list (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
romantic (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hadn't been here in a while but the bone ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Hadn't been here in a while but the boneless kalbi was as excellent as I last remembered them. Hubby tried the spicy garlic chicken which he liked better than the Korean chicken he had ordered the last time. We also ordered the day's special which was Colin's bacon-wrapped meatloaf over mashed potatoes, which was very good as well. The only setback was the noise. Since they have sports monitors all over the room and there was a basketball game going on, and people were cheering on their teams, it was difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had seen great reviews on Yelp and wan ...

Dined 6 days ago

I had seen great reviews on Yelp and wanted to see what all the fuss was about. The waitress was super helpful and friendly and the food was sooooo good. Come to find out they cater and I will be getting big trays of food from them in the near future for a party.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

As always, the food is delicious and the ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

As always, the food is delicious and the service is great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the local favorites in one place!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wanted a dinner for my son who's been away from the islands...and looking for great local kine served family style food. The whole fresh steamed fish was excellently cooked just right....with lup cheong and veggies. Sauteed Mushrooms, Deep Fried Gizzards...crunchy good, Pork chops, steamed clams ,pulehu short ribs....all yummy. We had a roomy table for 8. Great service from the receptionist to our server

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Consistently a great time here. The food is always great and the serving sizes are just monstrous. Michelle took fantastic care of us as she was VERY in tuned with some dietary restrictions and gave the kitchen appropriate instruction without us having to ask. Awesome night with friends and great food. Mahalo Colin and staff!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

SRO for a reason! Gotta Go!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Hadn't been to SSI in years and wondered if the food and service went up or down. I was happy to find that things have definitely gotten better than before. The food quality was always good but with more selection and variety, things got better! Applause to the staff who all worked very hard to please everyone, no joke - they were impressive! The fruits of such excellent service and quality of food was the huge amount of people in and out of the restaurant (Kapahulu). Will definitely let my friends and family know that SSI is even better than before! See you guys again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review of Side Street Inn Kapahulu

Dined on April 29, 2016

We come to Hawaii often from Washington State and we always go to Side Street Inn while we are here. We LOVE the pork chops and the fried rice - to die for !! Keep up the good work - we will be back !!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Never a disappointment

Dined on April 26, 2016

Side Street Inn is never a disappointment. It serves consistent great food. Our favorites are the fried rice (amazing!) - we love the kim chee fried rice but our Mainland friends weren't up to the kim chee - pork chops, chinese roast pork, chicken done all kine ways - we ordered the mochiko chicken this time and it was delicious as well. I do change my mind about disappointment - the only disappointment is when we don't make reservations ahead of time and they are all booked up!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Dinner at Side Street

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our first time at Side Street, and it was a great experience. The fried rice and pork chops, their specialty, was so good. The salad, Chinese sliders, pocho clams, garlic bread were all good. We also ordered all 3 of the desserts, and they were sinfully good. Out waitress was so nice and accommodating. We will certainly be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

The food is very tasty and comes in fami ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food is very tasty and comes in family sized portions. What this means is that the portions are huge and are meant for sharing. Unfortunately, there were only 2 of us, so we were limited in how much we could order. We ordered the fried rice, the garlic chicken, and their signature pork chops. We enjoyed the rice and chicken the most and had lots of leftovers for lunch the next day. Although we enjoyed it, it is probably best if you go in larger groups so you can order and share more of their menu items.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner on the strip

Dined on April 17, 2016

My brother was visiting from out of town, so we had to go to side street. What can I say the food is always on point, pork chops, kalbi, ribeye, fried rice, poke... and the staff, well they're just wonderful, always smiling and very plesant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My view on Side Street Inn

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The people are great, very friendly and very helpful. The food is great and plenty. The prices are reasonable. What else can one ask for. Keep up the good work!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

local grindz

Dined on March 24, 2016

side street inn Kapahulu serves up great local favorites. local grindz at it's best, great for family style eating or pupu style accompanied with spirits. all time fav is the fried rice and kalbi!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

A good taste of Hawaiian food

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

A good taste of Hawaiian food

food4
ambience3
service4

Great family style food,always plenty!

Dined on March 16, 2016

Great family style food,always plenty!

food5
ambience4
service4

Always a good time at Side Street!! Cons ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Always a good time at Side Street!! Consistent.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Build your own dinner among friends

Dined on March 9, 2016

Large portions served family style. Easy to mix and match a well rounded meal between several people. Food is good quality and tastes very good. Service was good and not pushy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always the best place for grinds

Dined on March 9, 2016

The food always plentiful and super tasty. Very pleasant service. NICE!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Food is the best for large parties -pork ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Food is the best for large parties -pork chops, fried rice, steamed opakapaka ...Dee-licious!!!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice place with great food and drinks. A ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Nice place with great food and drinks. A wide variety of dishes is listed on the menue and the portions are always huge. Go end enjoy!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food!!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Service and food was great. The hostess was not very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

A couple of downfalls for me this time. ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

A couple of downfalls for me this time. First the Chinese chicken salad didn't have any chicken, of course it's not the wait staff's fault, she got us a comp bc we ate it without. Then, I waited a very long time for my oxtail soup by then I was full from the other items we ordered, the wait staff kept apologizing, not her fault again. My expectations were too high and I was very disappointed with the oxtail soup. There was daikon which I like but it watered down the soup and it was very large in size and had a hard time cutting bc, it wasn't fork tender neither was the oxtail. I guess I won't be ordering that anymore. The other items we ordered were good but over all, it was just average. Sorry, it was a big turn off for me this round.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food frenzy!

Dined on February 16, 2016

Great place for a group. Definitely the more the merrier so you can try different things. Huge menu and something for everyone! Kids, healthy eaters, seniors... Side Street never disappoints. A very fun place to go. Mentioned place to my dad who's never been. I think he's interested so will make plans to bring family here.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Huge portions of local food. Great server Adam.

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

All the tried and true specialties from the original location: fried pork chops, fried Mochiko chicken, fried rice. Huge portions best shared by groups. Our server Adam was excellent: attentive, friendly, always there when needed, but not overly so.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It is always a experience to visit Side ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

It is always a experience to visit Side Street Inn. People are friendly and the food is very good. We dine there at least once a month and have yet to be disappointed. Keep up the good work.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great value and wonderful service!

Dined on January 29, 2016

Truly awesome time with friends! Great food along with prompt accurate and professional service. Can't miss with the local food here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

What a terrific place to watch the game ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

What a terrific place to watch the game & order some pupus with cocktails. Our server was on it without being over the top. Oh, yes and the bread pudding with a scoop of ice cream was the perfect end to a great experience.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Kalbi short ribs, pork chops, fried chic ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Kalbi short ribs, pork chops, fried chicken, hamachi belly, and fried rice were excellent. The restaurant is in a non-descript office building, so it may be difficult to find.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good Local Fare

Dined on January 21, 2016

We ate here as a group while in Honolulu for a big conference. This was a nice break from the more upscale resteraunts with higher prices and less good food. The fish is really fresh and flavorful and the signature pork is great. A real find.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not all hype

Dined on January 13, 2016

We had an early dinner reservation and we were seated on time. Full bar and great special cocktail list. Service was excellent. No fried food this trip and it was a great choice. In visits past some of the deep fried food gets way too salty for my tastes. Salad, poke pork, strip steak and rice served family style with enough left over for two more meals.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious bar food! Seems like it would ...

Dined on January 6, 2016

Delicious bar food! Seems like it would be a great place to watch a sports game.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good local Neighborhood restaurant.

Dined on January 5, 2016

We had family in town from Ohio and they wanted seafood. I looked up the menu for Side Street and saw that they had many seafood items; I also wanted a local flavor which Side Street has. Overall we got everything we wanted at Side Street. And our visitors were happy.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Love it

Dined on January 2, 2016

Local, delicious, Ono Grindr. If you do nothing but get the spicy garlic chicken and fried rice, you have done well!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Restaurant was out of their famous and d ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Restaurant was out of their famous and delicious crispy pok dish at 5:30 PM. Poor planning on some ones behalf!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

We love having Kyle as our waiter! He ma ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

We love having Kyle as our waiter! He makes our dining experience even better. I mean the food is so always amazing! We always get da works fried rice and pocho clams.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Good !

Dined on December 29, 2015

Side street inn is very popular, so recommend you to reserve in advance.Meat cuisine is famous, but fish dishes are very tasty.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Neighborhood eating spot

Dined on December 25, 2015

Great place for family style eating and large groups. Food and service are very good, lots of drink choices. Place where you may run into friends you haven't seen for a while. Will return again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

For a more casual dining experience it w ...

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

For a more casual dining experience it was a great choice. The service was impeccable and the waiter was able to easily master the nuisances of a very picky granddaughter (ie - Caesar's salad without cheese, croutons and with a substitute cheese!). The blacked Ahi was superb, the equal of any other island restaurant. For a great meal, reasonable prices and a fun atmosphere the Side Street Inn is the place to choose for you and your family.

food3
ambience4
service5

Swing & Miss

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Had some guests come in from the mainland and wanted to take them for their first taste of local food. Unfortunately, this was the first time the food was a disappointment. We ordered the poke, da works fried rice, and the pork chops. Right away we saw the pork chops were too greasy and over cooked. Everything else was fine. No one should be judged on one night, but this time, I cannot give them an excellent review.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

Always Good

Dined on December 10, 2015

We love to take friends to Side Street Inn Kaphulu. The whole fish whether deep fried or steamed is wonderful. We have never had a bad meal. They have a great wine selection that they also pair with the Specials of the day. The dishes are generous. Good time for all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.