About Side Street Inn Kapahulu

614 Kapahulu Ave, #100
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Aloha and welcome to Side Street Inn, Oahu’s hidden hot spot, located in the heart of Honolulu. Recognized locally as the "gathering place" for the island's best chefs since opening its doors in 1992, Side Street Inn remains a true "local bar," that dishes out simply delicious comfort food in a relaxed, unpretentious environment. With a frequent mix of famous faces, professionals and steady regulars, it's the ideal place to enjoy good food and good times with friends.

Side Street Inn boasts something for everyone from sports lovers to wine connoisseurs with satellite-ready, big-screen TVs to view games and a full-bar with a vast variety of domestic and imported beers (even their own signature "Side Street Inn Rogue Ale"). Sit back and relax, as we introduce your bellies to pure happiness. Featured on Local Networks and The Travel Channel's Anthony Bourdain's NO RESERVATIONS and Adam's Richman's FOOD NATION any many media and magazines.

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday: 745am - 10:30am (SEASONAL SEPT - DEC ONLY); Dinner: Nightly: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Weekends - 1PM

Cross Street:
Date St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-3939

Website:
http://www.sidestreetinn.com/

Entertainment:
Direct TV satellite system - Live NFL Games- Seasonal



Private Rooms Accomadations

Catering:
For Large Parties, Special events, & Catering, Please inquire @ sidestreetinnkapahulu@gmail.com Attn: Rbzs "tata"

Parking Details:
We do offer valet parking that can be accessed from the kapahulu entrance. If you are on Kapahulu, the driveway will be on your right after you past the Prudential Locations building directly across the street for Zippy's Kapahulu. Proceed down the driveway under the building and you will see our valets ready to assist you. Valet parking is $5.00, tips are welcomed and appreciated!!

Executive Chef:
Colin Nishida

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 private rooms that can accomadate up to 35 people per room or can be opened up to seat 60-70 guests.
These rooms can be reserved in advance pending on availability. There is no charge to utilize these rooms but we do have some requirements when making reservations for parties of 15 or more people.

Private Party Contact:
Robbie "Tata" Acoba: 8087393939x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
WEDDING REHEARSALS, PRIVATE LUNCHEONS, PRIVATE ROOM PARTIES...

Restaurant Photos

Crackling Roast Pork
"Side Style" Fried Rice
Prime Ribeye Steak
***Da’famous Pan Fried Island Pork Chops
Smoked Pork Poke
Garlic French Fries
Steamed Clams
raw oysters
Escargot
Beef Ribs
Nametake Tofu
Chinese Style Bbq Style Pork Spare Ribs
Butter Pound Cake & Ice Cream
Crunchy Peanut Butter Brownie
Mudslide
Escargots !!!
Mighty Wings
Rogue Pie
Pocho Clams
KFC
Shrimp Wonton Soup
Peanut Butter Crunch
Spongebob  Cake
Lap Cheong Fried Rice
Beef Ribs With Kim Chi
NY Steak and Eggs
Boneless Kalbi Short Ribs
Korean Fried Chicken Wings
roast pork
Da’ Signature “Side Style” Fried Rice
Chicken Wings
Da Works Fried Rice
Rogue Side Street Inn Ale
Oxtail Soup
Fanny Bay Oysters On The Half Shell
Pork Chop
Molten Chocolate Cake
Kailua Pork Sliders
Calamari Strips
Beer Man's Salad
Garlic Edamame
Shrimp Scampi
Da Works Fried Rice Plate
French Fries
Fried Chicken Gizzards
Kalua Pork Sliders
Poke Sampler
Panko Crusted Hamachi in Creme Sauce
Kona Draft Beer
Molton Lava Chocolate Cake
Caramel Apple Martini
Maccallan 12
ahi poke
Crispy Roast Pork
Farmer's Blend Salad
Pan Fried Island Pork Chops
Beer Man Salad
Kahlua Pork Sliders
Kula's Farmer Blend Salad
Ahi & Aku Poke Platter
Fried Rice
Sizzling Boneless Kalbi
mochiko chicken
fried chicken
Dirty Martini
Kim Chee Fried Rice
Garlic Chicken
Side Street Inn’s Crusted Ahi Filet With Furikake
Hawaiian-Style Pulehu Short Ribs
Escargots
Da’ Signature “Side Style” Fried Rice With Lup Cheong
Spicy Chicken
Fried Pork Chops
Fried Pound Cake
Escargot Puffs
Chinese Chicken Salad
Kalbi Steak
Chinese Style Crispy Roast Pork
Char Siu & Roast Pork Belly Sliders
Molten Lava Cake
Garlic Fries
Calamari
Pan Fried Pork Chops
Clam Sashimi
Lani's Chicken Wings
#3 Da Works
Teri Beef Plate
Side Style Famous Fried Rice
Warm Homemade Bread Pudding
Farmer's Salad
Molten Chocolate with Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Galbi
Poke, Pan-Fried Island Pork Chops, Sauteed Mushrooms & Kimchee Fried Rice
Corn Chowder
Kalbi - korean bbq
New York Strip
Poke And Sashimi
Rib Eye Sizzling Steak
Stirfry Asparagus W/ Bacon
Special Fried Rice

Side Street Inn Kapahulu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Hawaii
Best Food
Oahu
Best Value
Oahu
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

Good for Groups (34)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
See All
Kid-friendly (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Late-night Find (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Casual (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Family Style (10)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great Beer (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Live Sports (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have never been disappointed when I di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have never been disappointed when I dine here!

Food is consistently good, wait staff is friendly and accommodating!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is served family style. We were th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food is served family style. We were there at 8pm on a Monday night and the restaurant was packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was unbelievable. The spicy gar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was unbelievable. The spicy garlic chicken is the best fried chicken I have ever had in all my travels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We ordered fried rice Teriyaki beef and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

We ordered fried rice Teriyaki beef and pork chops.Size would easily feed family of 4. Everything is served family style. Food was of high quality and good flavor. Service was excellent, not to intrusive, but checks on drink refills and making sure order was correct. Atmosphere of restaurant was cool. People of all ages and backgrounds.f For the sports fans, there were a few TVs tuned to sports channels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Reservation in at 4:45 pm for early dinn ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Reservation in at 4:45 pm for early dinner. They were able to accommodate a booth for us. Server efficient and polite. Of course pork chops and fried rice are standards and as usual, delicious! Only disappointment was the did not have beef jerky we wanted to pick up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lots of food to choose from so come hung ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Lots of food to choose from so come hungry. Friendly staff great atmosphere.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very good and attention ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The service was very good and attention to detail. The noise level is very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great place to get Hawaii's local food. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great place to get Hawaii's local food. Bring an empty stomach, servings are big served family style.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great meal here! Will be back ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always a great meal here! Will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a reservation and got seated rig ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We made a reservation and got seated right away.

The food was excellent, especially the fried rice with the additional lap Cheung and the Mochiko chicken.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Love this place. Food ia great and so is ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Love this place. Food ia great and so is the staff. Always inviting and friendly.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food! I live 7000 miles away but ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Awesome food! I live 7000 miles away but come for your basil encrusted ahi--it is the best! mahalo🏄🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Less food than before

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Less food than before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had an Open table reservation and the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had an Open table reservation and the restaurant gave us a courtesy call since we were running late - they held our table and sat us immediately when we arrived. That was great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Despite having a reservation, we had to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Despite having a reservation, we had to wait for quite a while. We ordered fried chicken and it was very greasy. We were disappointed after reading all the great reviews. I will say that our waiter was very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for drinks, pupus and family ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great place for drinks, pupus and family gatherings. Bone in Short ribs, mochiko chicken, chinese pork poke is the must haves. Chili nachos and the deserts OMG! But overall the friendliest staff ever. From entrance to the bar and floor staff. Not to mention Chef Colin and his lovely wife Mel. Love this place!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dishes. Perfect volume. I will ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent dishes. Perfect volume. I will recommend to all

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time. Great food, servic ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always a great time. Great food, service and fun. Never disappointed. Can practically close your eyes and point at a few things on the menu and you will be having a great meal to share with friends. One of my favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Phenomenal Hawaiian food served just rig ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Phenomenal Hawaiian food served just right and with a smile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a nice time. The food was good. T ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a nice time. The food was good. Think the Mac cheese should be with macaroni versus noodles. Our waitress Michelle was super even tho it was busy. Thank you.qow

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very local and huge volumes. My picky ab ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very local and huge volumes. My picky about Asian food parents couldn't get enough of the fresh caught whole red snapper steamed Chinese style. It was full of flavor and cooked perfectly. The tofu salad was enough for 4 people to share. Fried calamari was Katsu style with Panko bread crumbs, extra crispy outside moist inside. We had a reservation so no wait but by the time we left, there were lots of people waiting to be seated. Valet parking for $6 is a little steep but beats looking for a place to park in that busy area near Kapiolani park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our Ohana enjoyed a great dining experie ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our Ohana enjoyed a great dining experience! Nice atmosphere, exceptional service from Korey & very Ono food!!!

Looking forward to our next visit!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you leave this restaurant hungry...it ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

If you leave this restaurant hungry...it's your own fault. The menu selections and service are top notch. The favorites at my table were: blackened Ahi, Buffalo wings; and various salads.

For a family night out Side Street can't be beat for value and exceptional food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent local food, among the best we' ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent local food, among the best we've had in Hawaii. Very casual, family style restaurant with warm and friendly service. Don't let the appearances put you off, this place is not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Whenever I am in Oahu, I make it a point ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Whenever I am in Oahu, I make it a point to eat here at LEAST once. The food is amazing, portions are large, and the ambiance is fun and festive!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food!!! Can be a little noisy thou ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food!!! Can be a little noisy though, but you sure get a lot for your money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice drinks and great food. Love the pla ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice drinks and great food. Love the place! Service is good as well. Always reserve a booth and so far have always gotten one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Second time at this location of Side Str ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Second time at this location of Side Street Inn and liked it as much as first time. This time had a group so were able to take advantage of the large portion sizes for starters and entrees. Tasty food in a family friendly environment. Only difficulty is that it is hard to have a discussion across the table because of noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great for large groups that like to try ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great for large groups that like to try different dishes. Can get super loud (especially around 6-7 pm) so not for the soft-spoken or hard of hearing.

Definitely get the fried rice!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Can't Miss

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Can't ever miss at Side Street. I can honestly say, I have never had anything there I didn't like. I take a lot of mainland visitors here and I tell them you can practically close your eyes and point at the menu and have a great meal. Secret item: Smoked Meat Fried Rice. Not on the menu but really awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't been here in a while but the bone ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Hadn't been here in a while but the boneless kalbi was as excellent as I last remembered them. Hubby tried the spicy garlic chicken which he liked better than the Korean chicken he had ordered the last time. We also ordered the day's special which was Colin's bacon-wrapped meatloaf over mashed potatoes, which was very good as well. The only setback was the noise. Since they have sports monitors all over the room and there was a basketball game going on, and people were cheering on their teams, it was difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Restaurant Service Ever!!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My family was welcoming mainland relatives, some to meet for the first time. Best food, best waiter, best time ever!! The only thing that was disappointing was we could not find parking. Their parking garage was full and it took us 30 mins. to find a parking space. Why don't they accommodate guests that have reservations?? That was the only negative thing. Everything else was superb!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had seen great reviews on Yelp and wan ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I had seen great reviews on Yelp and wanted to see what all the fuss was about. The waitress was super helpful and friendly and the food was sooooo good. Come to find out they cater and I will be getting big trays of food from them in the near future for a party.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, the food is delicious and the ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

As always, the food is delicious and the service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

All the local favorites in one place!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Wanted a dinner for my son who's been away from the islands...and looking for great local kine

served family style food. The whole fresh steamed fish was excellently cooked just right....with lup cheong and veggies. Sauteed Mushrooms, Deep Fried Gizzards...crunchy good, Pork chops, steamed clams ,pulehu short ribs....all yummy. We had a roomy table for 8. Great service from the receptionist to our server

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Consistently a great time here. The food is always great and the serving sizes are just monstrous. Michelle took fantastic care of us as she was VERY in tuned with some dietary restrictions and gave the kitchen appropriate instruction without us having to ask. Awesome night with friends and great food. Mahalo Colin and staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SRO for a reason! Gotta Go!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Hadn't been to SSI in years and wondered if the food and service went up or down. I was happy to find that things have definitely gotten better than before. The food quality was always good but with more selection and variety, things got better! Applause to the staff who all worked very hard to please everyone, no joke - they were impressive! The fruits of such excellent service and quality of food was the huge amount of people in and out of the restaurant (Kapahulu). Will definitely let my friends and family know that SSI is even better than before! See you guys again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Review of Side Street Inn Kapahulu

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We come to Hawaii often from Washington State and we always go to Side Street Inn while we are here. We LOVE the pork chops and the fried rice - to die for !! Keep up the good work - we will be back !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disappointment

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Side Street Inn is never a disappointment. It serves consistent great food. Our favorites are the fried rice (amazing!) - we love the kim chee fried rice but our Mainland friends weren't up to the kim chee - pork chops, chinese roast pork, chicken done all kine ways - we ordered the mochiko chicken this time and it was delicious as well. I do change my mind about disappointment - the only disappointment is when we don't make reservations ahead of time and they are all booked up!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner at Side Street

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our first time at Side Street, and it was a great experience. The fried rice and pork chops, their specialty, was so good. The salad, Chinese sliders, pocho clams, garlic bread were all good. We also ordered all 3 of the desserts, and they were sinfully good. Out waitress was so nice and accommodating. We will certainly be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.