Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Side Street Inn Kapahulu

Aloha and welcome to Side Street Inn, Oahu’s hidden hot spot, located in the heart of Honolulu. Recognized locally as the "gathering place" for the island's best chefs since opening its doors in 1992, Side Street Inn remains a true "local bar," that dishes out simply delicious comfort food in a relaxed, unpretentious environment. With a frequent mix of famous faces, professionals and steady regulars, it's the ideal place to enjoy good food and good times with friends.

Side Street Inn boasts something for everyone from sports lovers to wine connoisseurs with satellite-ready, big-screen TVs to view games and a full-bar with a vast variety of domestic and imported beers (even their own signature "Side Street Inn Rogue Ale").

614 Kapahulu Ave, #100
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: Bar - 3 pm; Kitchen - 4 pm
Saturday & Sunday: Bar & Kitchen - 1 pm

During Football Season Only - Breakfast is served from 7:45 - 10:30 am
(Please inquire)

*Last-Call Kitchen: 11:30 pm

Cross Street:
Date St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-3939

Website:
http://www.sidestreetinn.com/

Entertainment:
Direct TV satellite system - Live NFL Games - Seasonal



Catering:
For parties with 15 or more guests, private parties or catering, please contact Lisa Meyer, Director of Catering & Events via e-mail Monday through Friday:

lisa.sidestreetinnkapahulu@gmail.com
(808) 738-6047

Parking Details:
Valet - $6
*Entrance to parking garage from Kapahulu Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Colin Nishida

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Meyer, Director of Catering and Events: (808) 738-6047

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Side Street Inn Kapahulu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Comfort Food (23)
See All
Local Ingredients (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Fun (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Live Sports (12)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Great Beer (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Come to Side Street whenever in town. Kal Bi ribs and wings are the Best!!!! Local salads are fabulous. Love the family style. Staff is friendly and helpful!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fried pork chop, mochiko chicken, lup chong fried rice were excellent as usual, delicious with family portions. Great bar selections and service. Overall, excellent!!!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

ワイキキから少し離れてるからか日本人は少なく、地元の人や外国人が多くてアメリカのレストランの雰囲気が感じられます。

1品1品の量が多くて、8人(子供も2人)で5品注文しましたが、なんとかギリギリ食べられました。

味はポークチョップとチャーハンはとてもおいしくて子供も大喜びでした。

焼きそばも注文しましたが、日本の焼きそばの味(ソース)をイメージすると若干違いますが、それはそれで食べれました。

値段も安く、日本語メニューもあるので多人数で分けて食べるといいと思います。

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Fun, Live Sports, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We didn't realize it, but we were seated next to a group of NFL game fans.

At first, we could easily converse but as the game became exciting, the enthusiasm and noise level of the fans increased and was disruptive. It was difficult to talk and enjoy ourselves for the rest of the meal. The periodic screaming was too much.

The seating area near the TVs should be reserved only for sports fans.

We should have requested seating on the opposite side but weren't thinking. It would be nice if the hostess could ask patrons where they want to be seated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

カルビと炒飯とサラダ、ドリンクを注文。日本語メニューがあり、わこりやすかったです。
カルビは味が濃くて、ドリンクが進む感じでした。
炒飯はたべやすかったてす。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great FOOD, service and friendly people. Great for watching football! !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 31, 2017

友人家族と子連れで利用しました。明るく楽しい雰囲気で、料理はとてもボリューミー!料金もお安いし、また利用したいと思います。アメリカらしく、店内は空調がきいているので、羽織ものを持っていくことをオススメします!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great place for dinner. Many things to choose from and priced reasonably.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We always get together whenever we can at Side Street in Kapahulu. Good food, good service, and good drinks. We love it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (東京)·Dined on August 26, 2017

porkchop is very delicious. Amount of cusine is too much for to eat all. So Cusine should be share many people.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Side Street Inn is just fantastic! We love taking out of town guests here as the restaurant never disappoints! Make sure you make a reservation in advance or you might not get a spot, especially on the weekend or for a big group!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

料理は量が多く、日本人の口に合う味付け。大勢でワイワイ食べると楽しいお店だとおもいます。店員さんも気さくで会話がすごく楽しかった。

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Casual, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

ポークチョップはもちろん美味しいですが
今回初めて食べた カルボナーラは
クリームクドさはないのに濃厚で
手打ちフィットチーネが絶品でした。
エビのトッピングはマストです。
大きなエビが8尾くらい入ってます。
20分かかるチョコレートケーキは
大きなバニラアイスとたっぷりな生クリーム
しっかり甘いです(笑)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Big portions. The pork chops were recommended to me by a co-worker. They were very underwhelming. The description was "crisp on the outside, juicy on the inside" but this was far from the truth. The large portion of pork chops came cut up in chunks and were quite dry. I knew I was in trouble when it came with a side of ketchup for dipping. We also ordered the side street signature rice and beef teriyaki which were both good. Overall a decent experience but I would avoid the pork chops at all costs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Love the fresh snapper with sweet and spicy sauce !

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Their signature Fried rice had chunks of ham, little char sui, lup cheung, and Portuguese sausage. A departure from previous tastings. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Staff ALL demonstrate Customer Excellence skills. Friendly, attentive. Joel our waitress good sense of humor. Chris the manager checks up periodically. we are impressed that he is right in there busing tables with staff. Food best local selections around.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Side Street never disappoints!
The food and service are consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We ordered 6 dishes and ate family style. Everything was ono!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Fun, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great place. Nice drinks, great food and nice service. Money well spent!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Nondescript location.... if you did not know it was there, you could easily miss it.
Solid comfort food choices... we had the Fried Rice, Ox Tail Soup, Chinese Chicken Salad and Pork Chops. All were very good.
We will return.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2017

ハワイのローカル料理を楽しみたいならココ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

As usual, the food was great! We ordered our usual favorites: boneless kalbi, which is a market price item and cost $29/order; Korean chicken (which is spicy but my husband loves it); and the signature fried rice with lup cheong. Absolutely excellent. Our server was very attentive and pleasant. The noise level there is always "energetic," but we were able to have a nice conversation without raising our voices too much.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The dining experience itself at Sidestreet was great. The food was great (as usual) and the service was outstanding as well.

I feel compelled to comment on a related issue we dealt with that is not attributable to the restaurant. We were entertaining out of town friends from Boston. They parked in the meter lot next door, which many people do. At the end of our meal they found out that their rental car had been towed from the lot by ACE TOWING. They had not got past the 2 hour allotment they had paid for more than 10-15 (which cost a couple of bucks had they paid for a sufficient length of time). Nevertheless the car was long gone and probably in the tow yard. I had to drive my friends out to Sand Island and they had to pay $195 for the tow fee. This basically ruined the evening. This is a terrible way to treat decent people. DO NOT PARK IN THIS LOT. BUT DO GO TO SIDESTREET INN.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2017

As always, I was more than pleased with our dining experience. I didn't get the server's name but I think his server # was 22 per my receipt. I had 3 kids on my table from ages, 3, 6 and 7 and he was so understanding. What can you say about the food, it's great. The difference for me is the interaction from the server. He was amazing, I would give him 10 stars not 5 if it is all possible. He was busy but he made it a point to check on our table consistently and never rushed us.

Tags: Live Sports, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Kalbi boneless ribs and signature fried rice...can't go wrong on these two. Interesting that two orders of the kalbi arrived; one with two full racks, and the other with about 3/4 of the amount of ribs on the other plate, and just tossed on the plate arbitrarily...so no consistency there. Service was about the worst I've ever had ANYWHERE. We were served rice AFTER we finished our meals. A second round of drinks was begged for (no one came back and checked if our glasses were empty! Had to flag waiter and order another drink. When it finally arrived he had ordered the wrong drink! Hostess was great, everyone was pleasant, parking lot was full but the surly attendant told me I could pull into the empty parking stall (!?) to turn around and leave! Huh? There were at least four empty stalls so maybe they had to save for special customers, not us!

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our cab found the resraurant easily. I enjoyed the escargot - but not the opichi poke. An OK place, but not worth the trip.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 9, 2017

フライドライスとポークチョップを勧められてオーダーしました。味は最高です!とにかく料理の量が多い!大人数にオススメ!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food ! We make a point to visit this resto every time we visit Waikiki! Their portions are generous. Kalbi is to die for.. chow it down with their fried rice "D ' Works"
And you will have a delectable and delicious meal. Michelle our waitress was very accommodating and attentive. Don't miss this restaurant when visiting Oahu. Make a reservation in advance though since their seating capacity is limited. Kudos to the chef and management of Side street inn!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on June 27, 2017

pork chopsがとても美味しい!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My spouse and I had our last dinner in Honolulu for this trip at the Side Street Cafe. While the food was well prepared and our server was good at explaining the serving methodology, I'd way that it's not a good spot for couples on an anniversary celebration trip. The food is served family style, and so the portions exceed that what most couples would like. This limits the variety that can be reasonably ordered. Their most highly rated item is the pork chops, but the amount is enough or six or maybe even eight. Bottom line, if you have a group of more than four, and you want to try old time Hawaiian comfort food in a noisy place with lots of kids, then this is for you. This is one of the Honolulu restaurants that has parking (valet $6 plus tip.)

Tags: Live Sports, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (東京)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great size and taste!
Must eat!
Come again for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent as always! Seemed they were a bit short staffed but everyone helping each other out. Hostess (crystal?) is great. We were seated near door and watched her assisting servers, handling phones, taking care of guests and holding it all down. Having managed restaurants for many years, I can say job well done to the staff. (If I were still in the business I might be trying to recruit some of them ;-)

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Sided Street Inn Kapahulu never fails to deliver wonderful tastes and great service. They have a model that truly works. Appetizers to deserts always please. We have never been disappointed in our choices. Fun people watching. The wine list is fine. Nothing fancy, but they do offer some premium selections. The best dish on the menu is their fried rice. Wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Spicy, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We were very satisfied w/all the hype about their food. We had eaten had not there for quite awhile and since our son had come home for a short visit. He wanted to return to this plac; therefore we made a reservation and had an early dinner. It was the same as we had expected. Everything was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We ate here 3 nights in a row! Great family style Hawaiian food. The salads, Kim Chi fried rice and the melt-in-your-mouth boneless ribs are unbelievably delicious. Huge portions, very fresh ingredients, and friendly service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Chinese chicken salad dressing lacked flavor and tasted watered down. Kal bi was extra salty. Everything else was great especially the pork chops and fried rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Always great food here! Always come back here when I'm in Honolulu. Noisy and service can get slow when it's busy, but will keep coming back!

Love the fried rice and the fried pork chops!! Get their fried pound cake dessert too! Yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.