Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Side Street Inn Kapahulu

Aloha and welcome to Side Street Inn, Oahu’s hidden hot spot, located in the heart of Honolulu. Recognized locally as the "gathering place" for the island's best chefs since opening its doors in 1992, Side Street Inn remains a true "local bar," that dishes out simply delicious comfort food in a relaxed, unpretentious environment. With a frequent mix of famous faces, professionals and steady regulars, it's the ideal place to enjoy good food and good times with friends.

Side Street Inn boasts something for everyone from sports lovers to wine connoisseurs with satellite-ready, big-screen TVs to view games and a full-bar with a vast variety of domestic and imported beers (even their own signature "Side Street Inn Rogue Ale"). Sit back and relax, as we introduce your bellies to pure happiness. Featured on Local Networks and The Travel Channel's Anthony Bourdain's NO RESERVATIONS and Adam's Richman's FOOD NATION any many media and magazines.

614 Kapahulu Ave, #100
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday: 745am - 10:30am (SEASONAL SEPT - DEC ONLY); Dinner: Nightly: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Weekends - 1PM

Cross Street:
Date St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-3939

Website:
http://www.sidestreetinn.com/

Entertainment:
Direct TV satellite system - Live NFL Games- Seasonal



Private Rooms Accomadations

Catering:
For Large Parties, Special events, & Catering, Please inquire @ sidestreetinnkapahulu@gmail.com Attn: Rbzs "tata"

Parking Details:
We do offer valet parking that can be accessed from the kapahulu entrance. If you are on Kapahulu, the driveway will be on your right after you past the Prudential Locations building directly across the street for Zippy's Kapahulu. Proceed down the driveway under the building and you will see our valets ready to assist you. Valet parking is $5.00, tips are welcomed and appreciated!!

Executive Chef:
Colin Nishida

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 private rooms that can accomadate up to 35 people per room or can be opened up to seat 60-70 guests.
These rooms can be reserved in advance pending on availability. There is no charge to utilize these rooms but we do have some requirements when making reservations for parties of 15 or more people.

Private Party Contact:
Robbie "Tata" Acoba: (808) 739-3939

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
WEDDING REHEARSALS, PRIVATE LUNCHEONS, PRIVATE ROOM PARTIES...

Side Street Inn Kapahulu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (29)
Comfort Food (23)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Casual (18)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Fun (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Live Sports (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Tapas (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great Beer (3)
Cozy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Live Music (0)
Scenic View (0)
Sort By:
S
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Amazing does not do Side Street Inn justice. The food is sooo tasty that even when you are stuffed you want more!

Kristi provided great service and friendly!

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Best local food and great value. Compared to the Restraunt a in Waikiki the price is way better value for what you get & on top the quality of the food is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Portions of clams was small. Service not very attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Generous servings and a menu with lots of entree options.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

This is our fourth visit to Side Street. The food does not disappoint. Very consistent food with specials to keep the faithful happy. Ordered the special 32 oz Big Boy Steak, Kim chee fried rice , pork chops, garlic edamame, garlic fries, seared ahi, chicken pot pie, shogun poke, boneless kalbi, and fried chicken. All served family style. Came happily staggering out with 8 friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Pork chops, kalbi, fried rice 5 stars. Chinese chicken salad 2 stars.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Yum!!!
Fried chicken was SOOO tender & tasty!
Always love the pork chops & fried rice too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 3, 2017

excellent food and service, prices not bad either!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Must be new cook as food was not very good compared to previous visits. The chicken salad was terrible, all 4 of us commented on that and had a hard time to eat it. It was completely watered downed and soggy, like they just washed it and did not spin the lettuce, tasted just like water with zero favor. Garlic chicken also tasted off.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Hard to find but glad we persisted. Very friendly and attentive staff despite them being extremely busy. Awesome food!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Wouldn't come to Oahu without a meal at SideStreet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 30, 2017

量がすごく多いです。
値段もお手頃。日本語メニュー有り。
骨なしカルビ、枝豆のニンニクソテー?は、お勧めです。ポークチョップは、好きでは無かったです。

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Are you kidding? Every local from 21 to 81 yrs knows that Side Street is the bomb. Colin rocks and his staff are the greatest.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Fun, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Live Sports, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Most of the food was great but the big boy steak was terrible it was so tough could not even digest it (need better quality of beef)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I always take my business associates from the Mainland to Side Street Kapahulu. The food and service is spot on. It's always a nice to see how they enjoy our local foods at its finest. This is a great change from fine dining for them.

The food is always what you expect fresh, flavorful and plentiful, you're never disappointed. The service is exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Food is good but prices have gone up and it is quite pricey. Quantity of food has decreased but prices have increased.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food and service! Friendly atmosphere this a definite do again restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Outstanding food. Highly recommend the garlic fried chicken, the works fried rice and Kal bi steak. Served family style with generous portions. There were four of us and we had plenty of leftovers. Service is fantastic. Wish there was a side street in California. Highly recommend if you are visiting Honolulu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Family Style, Fun, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I always make it a point to eat at Side Street Inn when I'm in Hawaii. Food is always great! It never disappoints!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

All was great until we returned to our rental vehicle and found that it had been towed!!! When we received our confirmation call, we should have been warned. Getting our vehicle cost us $190 CASH plus $50 in Uber fees to get to ATM and to the tow yard. We felt like the owner of the lot, owner of the towing company and owner of the restaurant were all in on this horrible experience!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 15, 2017

4品注文した内、2品が1時間30分以上たっても出て来なかった。後から来たテーブルに同じ物が来たのでおそらくウエイトレスが出し間違えたかと。再三催促するがすぐだからと言われ待ち続けました。そんなことがなければ普通のお店だと思います。

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Eight friends got together and we really enjoyed food, ambience, service and fun atmosphere where everyone in the restaurant were enjoying themselves. Nice that we weren't rushed by management to leave. Stayed almost 3+ hours!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good food, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

A great place to bring a group of people as it is family style. The waitstaff is wonderful and you will find all of your local favorites. There are two locations, the one on Kapahulu is a bit fancier while the original is a "hole in the wall" with great ambiance. In both locations you will find great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Host did not have our reservation but quickly accommodated us after I showed our open table reservation.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was disappointed during my last visit. With a reservation in place for 5:30 PM they made us wait about 20 minutes. I always ask in my Open Table reservations for a booth yet this time it did not work out. Since I complained they put us into a booth in the bar. very uncomfortable. Then after dinner I received an e-mail stating that my reservation had been cancelled. Who cancelled that reservation after the meal? The manager ( a very nice lady) must have realized that there was a tremendous screw up so she took care of the situation nicely! First time I have been disappointed in the service at Side Street Inn. Generally service is perfect. I know since we visit once a month!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We have been to SSI dating back decades. Even though the original site is more convenient, we prefer the Kapahulu store, it is more comfortable to us older folks and the food is the same. Whenever we take visitors or, in the case of Friday night, local friends for their first time, they ALWAYS want to go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We hadn't been to Side Street Inn on da Strip for over a year and so we went there for the comfort food. The calamari was okay/good because it was tender, but hubby said he would not order it again if it were just the two of us; he'd order something he hadn't ordered before. The boneless kalbi was delicious, and although pricey ($29) was worth it. I tried their gumbo, which was very tasty but more reminiscent of stew; there was no okra. All in all, it was a decent meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Bartender Ricky is a true asset to your restaurant. Although busy, he was able to entertain us and make a well behaved dirty martini for my partner Jimmy. We love eating at the bar!

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Family style - not healthy but decent.. give it a good bit very good- great for groups, don't bother dressing up for this place

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Don't know too many local folks who don't like Side Street Inn. The food (family style) is great local fare. Everyone (old to young) enjoyed it. One thing to remember here is that you'll probably need a reservation--especially on weekends. That can be a problem for a last minute decision for some good local food.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Side Street Inn on Kapahulu Avenue was an enjoyable experience for our party of 10. The reservation was confirmed prior to our arrival and our table was ready when we arrived 15 minutes early. The wait staff was attentive and the food was all very tasty. The puupuu menu was as advertised and the entrees served family style were all consumed with gusto.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Waiter wasn't that great. Fried rice was cold, everything else was OK.
Wish I had another Waiter but it is what it is. Hope things get better, worst service I had since I've been coming to side street inn. Thanks again Mr Nishida

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

キムチフライドライスとポークチョップがめちゃくちゃ美味しい。オックステールスープも生姜をどっさりいれたら子供も喜んでたべましたよ!バレーパーキングに預ける価値あり!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Family style dining - 2 mains (shrimp scampi and misoyaki chicken) plus house fried rice and yakisoba were more than enough for the five of us . Food was excellent, service was a tad slow but not a problem. Easy to watch the football game on the many well placed wide screens. Valet parking at $6 is easier/safer than the next door lot. Servers were friendly and easy to find even tho the house was quite busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food taste and portions do not disappoint...EXCELLENT!!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Such a great spot! It was recommended to us by 4 different people so we had to try it. The food was fantastic, the pan seared garlic crusted ahi was beyond my expectations!

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This place has high reviews but was also recommended by a local. I don't think this is a tourist destination, despite being 5 min from Waikiki. The food was fantastic. Big family-style servings of garlic chicken, kalbi ribs, pan-fried pork chops, and fried rice. Everything done just right. The mai tais were excellent, the service was friendly and quick. The parking was not so convenient before 5 pm, and this place is packed after that, so get reservations and plan ahead. It's worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Top of the line local food. Fried rice to die for. Large family style portions to share. Excellent salads, pork chops. Fun to watch large family groups enjoying a meal, child friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

店員のサービスがすごく良い
いくつのもテーブルを担当しているのによく気が付きサービスしてくれる
あと、なんといっても美味しい

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Cozy, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.