Side Street Inn Kapahulu

4.6
776 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Comfort Food
  • Casual
Aloha and welcome to Side Street Inn, Oahu’s hidden hot spot, located in the heart of Honolulu. Recognized locally as the "gathering place" for the island's best chefs since opening its doors in 1992, Side Street Inn remains a true "local bar," that dishes out simply delicious comfort food in a relaxed, unpretentious environment. With a frequent mix of famous faces, professionals and steady regulars, it's the ideal place to enjoy good food and good times with friends.

Side Street Inn boasts something for everyone from sports lovers to wine connoisseurs with satellite-ready, big-screen TVs to view games and a full-bar with a vast variety of domestic and imported beers (even their own signature "Side Street Inn Rogue Ale").

Dining Style
Home Style
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, Hawaii Regional Cuisine
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Friday: Bar - 3 pm; Kitchen - 4 pm
Saturday & Sunday: Bar & Kitchen - 1 pm

During Football Season Only - Breakfast is served from 7:45 - 10:30 am
(Please inquire)

*Last-Call Kitchen: 11:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 739-3939
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Colin Nishida
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Lisa Meyer, Director of Catering and Events: (808) 738-6047
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For parties with 15 or more guests, private parties or catering, please contact Lisa Meyer, Director of Catering & Events via e-mail Monday through Friday:

lisa.sidestreetinnkapahulu@gmail.com
(808) 738-6047
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Date St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet - $6
*Entrance to parking garage from Kapahulu Avenue.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Direct TV satellite system - Live NFL Games - Seasonal



icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions

Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 776 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.2
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

1st time here and it won’t be my last. I understand why there is always a line at dinner. Must go for any food lover.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

A must go to spot every time we vacation here!!! Never a bad meal and great service as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Food and Service was OK, need to try other foods that I might like better. The portions was crazy amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Our server Adam made a few dish suggestions which turned out to be great.
We found Adam to be friendly, helpful & attentive. Great place to go to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

The food was yummy but largely fried. I recommend the fried rice. Service was great
Portions were huge. Great value. They have long tables that accommodate large parties
We will return next time in Oahu

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Good for small groups of family/friends. We ordered 4 dishes for 6 people which we shared family-style. As usual, the kalbi was superb. Their signature dish, the pork chops, was not as good as I remembered it; a little on the dry side and not as favorful. The yakisoba was very good, but the Chinese chicken salad was disappointing--plain and tasteless--perhaps lack of dressing?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

We always go to Side Street Inn when we're in Honolulu. Great vibe. Great service. Spectacular food. The crispy pork, the fried rice, the fried garlic chicken. To die for. And unless you have some HUGE eaters in your party, you will certainly take a doggie bag home for later!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Outstanding service, food, and festive environment. I was entertaining friends from Singapore, who all enjoyed the food and beverages.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

only downside is parking - expensive if valet parking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Delicious local food located close to but away from Waikiki.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Extremely long wait even after we made reservations...
Front staff (host/hostess) just kept saying they were getting our table together... not for 40 minutes!
Otherwise the food and servers were great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

The food was top notch!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Great place, great food and the service is good too. Amazing how one place can be this good in all these specific areas!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We brought out of town guests from San Francisco & they loved it. We ordered the Nalo Farmers Salad with crunchy chips, baby shrimps, avocado & light dressing, kim chee fried rice with lots of char siu, lop cheong, & peas! Also kal bi & the delicious fried pork chops were the best! Since they were visiting, we also got poki.
And had to have the scrumptious peanut butter crunch with a big scoop of ice cream & a dollop of whipped cream!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Arrived one hour before booked time but it was not a problem. A very busy restaurant and very popular. The food was very tasty. Although very busy a waitress took the time to assist me to get a uber and walked me down as i was unfamiliar with city. A BIG THANK you!,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Great food , fast service , will definitely go back with the family again !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Always our first dinner when on Oahu. It’s just the 2 of us so we have to be starving to even get close to eating everything! Love the pork chop and fried rice! So Onolicious!!
Was so sorry to hear that Colin Nishida passed away. He lives on thru his delicious food!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Boneless Kalbi, fried rice and garlic chicken were outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

As always a great gather place and great local food

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Chicken was very good - unique taste, maybe like General Tsao without any sauce. The pork chops are famous, but I didn't see any special appeal to them. Fried rice was good - smoky flavor from churiso. Huge portions....busy, make a reservation for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Great as always! Everyone enjoyed it! Wish valet was less expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Service & food quality is superb here. No need to rush in/out. Don’t be cheap: Use the valet parking under the bldg. for $6 by best access via southbound / makai direction on Kapahulu Avenue; street & neighborhood parking around dinner time on any given day @ the intersection fronting the bldg. can be intense. Note: not just generous, but HUGE portions! Bring at least 3 other friends w/ Hawaiian appetites. 1 order of Da Works Fried Rice & 1 order of the house specialty Fried Pork Chops fed 3 of us adults w/ lots of leftovers to take home in a box! Eat half of your dinner to make room for the P/B Crunch Dessert!
Wow! Don’t ask for the recipe: it’s secret, we were told. ;-)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Awesome and fantastic ambience..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Very tasty food served family style on platter, excellent and attentive service. Plus, reasonable price ! What’s not to like ?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

ローカル色強いお店で雰囲気も料理も好きです。
ポークチョップとフライドライスは
何度食べてもまた食べたくなります。

1品の量をもう少しを抑えてくれれば、
2人でも注文出来る種類が
増えるので尚可と思います。

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Amazing food! Haven't eaten here for years but so glad to be back! Pan fried Pork Chop was to die for. Come here...it's AWESOME 👍

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

10人のグループで利用しました。土曜日の夜だったのでとても混んでいてなっている人がたくさんいました。予約時間に少し遅れたため席がなくなってしましましたがお願いしたところすぐに確保してくれました。サービス良心的なお店でした。
お店はロコたちであふれていて観光客はほとんどいない感じでした。THEアメリカを感じられると思います。
お料理の味はとても良かったです。とてもおいしかったです。あの値段でこの味付けとボリュームは最高です。メニューの酒類も多く迷ってしましますがポークチョップはもちろんチャーハン、焼きそば、カルビ焼き等おいしかったです。ただ量が多いので大人数で行くといろいろ味わえますよ。また利用したいです。行かれる方は予約した方がいいです。

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Always excellent food and drinks...The waitress, Adrienne, was very attentive to our group of 8 and we had a wonderful time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Always great service from Adam and the entire team. We’re never disappointed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great experience with family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Fantastic. I can’t believe it took me so long to eat here! I’m bring all my mainland friends. Perfect intro to Hawaii and it’s food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We hosted my visiting niece and her family to Side Street Inn Kapahulu. They were visiting from Ohio. Side Street Inn provided the perfect variety and selection to satisfy all palettes. They really liked the family style theme which allowed us to taste from all the dishes we ordered. Everything was outstanding and, yes, they loved the pork chops! Believe it or not, one of my favorites is the Nalo greens salad. I always make it a point to order that for the table. Sometimes that is my entree just for ME! LOL! For the desserts, we enjoyed the lava cake dessert and my new favorite the peanut butter crunch! I'm getting hungry just typing this review!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

雰囲気も食事もとても良かったです。ハワイに行く機会があれば絶対にまたいきたいです。家族とでも恋人とでも誰とでも楽しめる雰囲気でした。

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Everything was really great the evening our group dined at SSI Kapahulu!!! The location is usually always busy so we had to verbally "grab" our server quite a few times!!! AND we ordered the brownie dessert thinking it would be a fast turnaround to our table. It was not. Our group was enjoying lively conversation so that helped. Food was not a disappointment and it never is!
Mahalo!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Outstanding food and great value!!!! Keep up the fine work

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

I am never unhappy when I leave this restaurant. Whenever I have guests in town I bring here because it's a local gem. The food and service are fabulous. Making a reservation ahead of time is a must. This is a popular restaurant for locals and tourists. My FAV dish is the Kalbi (YUM!)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Amazing food!!! Huge portions for everyone to share!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Food delicious. Choice of mini or full portions recommended. Good service although initial greeter (front desk) not very cheerful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

as usual, the best food in town, family style, you gotta get the roast pork & Char siu sliders * (5 stars). Fried Rice the best in town! Service - excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Our go to pick for a fun filled friends night! Always awesome experience with great customer service and great, friendly staff. Chef Collin’s legacy lives on!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20