Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.58mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Side Street Inn Kapahulu

Aloha and welcome to Side Street Inn, Oahu’s hidden hot spot, located in the heart of Honolulu. Recognized locally as the "gathering place" for the island's best chefs since opening its doors in 1992, Side Street Inn remains a true "local bar," that dishes out simply delicious comfort food in a relaxed, unpretentious environment. With a frequent mix of famous faces, professionals and steady regulars, it's the ideal place to enjoy good food and good times with friends.

Side Street Inn boasts something for everyone from sports lovers to wine connoisseurs with satellite-ready, big-screen TVs to view games and a full-bar with a vast variety of domestic and imported beers (even their own signature "Side Street Inn Rogue Ale"). Sit back and relax, as we introduce your bellies to pure happiness. Featured on Local Networks and The Travel Channel's Anthony Bourdain's NO RESERVATIONS and Adam's Richman's FOOD NATION any many media and magazines.

614 Kapahulu Ave, #100
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday: 745am - 10:30am (SEASONAL SEPT - DEC ONLY); Dinner: Nightly: 3:00pm - 12:00am
Weekends - 1PM

Cross Street:
Date St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-3939

Website:
http://www.sidestreetinn.com/

Entertainment:
Direct TV satellite system - Live NFL Games- Seasonal



Private Rooms Accomadations

Catering:
For Large Parties, Special events, & Catering, Please inquire @ sidestreetinnkapahulu@gmail.com Attn: Rbzs "tata"

Parking Details:
We do offer valet parking that can be accessed from the kapahulu entrance. If you are on Kapahulu, the driveway will be on your right after you past the Prudential Locations building directly across the street for Zippy's Kapahulu. Proceed down the driveway under the building and you will see our valets ready to assist you. Valet parking is $5.00, tips are welcomed and appreciated!!

Executive Chef:
Colin Nishida

Private Party Facilities:
We have 2 private rooms that can accomadate up to 35 people per room or can be opened up to seat 60-70 guests.
These rooms can be reserved in advance pending on availability. There is no charge to utilize these rooms but we do have some requirements when making reservations for parties of 15 or more people.

Private Party Contact:
Robbie "Tata" Acoba: (808) 739-3939

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
WEDDING REHEARSALS, PRIVATE LUNCHEONS, PRIVATE ROOM PARTIES...

Side Street Inn Kapahulu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (28)
Casual (27)
Comfort Food (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fun (16)
Family Style (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Live Sports (13)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Great Beer (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Tapas (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Spicy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 11 hours ago

ハワイのローカル料理を楽しみたいならココ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

As usual, the food was great! We ordered our usual favorites: boneless kalbi, which is a market price item and cost $29/order; Korean chicken (which is spicy but my husband loves it); and the signature fried rice with lup cheong. Absolutely excellent. Our server was very attentive and pleasant. The noise level there is always "energetic," but we were able to have a nice conversation without raising our voices too much.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The dining experience itself at Sidestreet was great. The food was great (as usual) and the service was outstanding as well.

I feel compelled to comment on a related issue we dealt with that is not attributable to the restaurant. We were entertaining out of town friends from Boston. They parked in the meter lot next door, which many people do. At the end of our meal they found out that their rental car had been towed from the lot by ACE TOWING. They had not got past the 2 hour allotment they had paid for more than 10-15 (which cost a couple of bucks had they paid for a sufficient length of time). Nevertheless the car was long gone and probably in the tow yard. I had to drive my friends out to Sand Island and they had to pay $195 for the tow fee. This basically ruined the evening. This is a terrible way to treat decent people. DO NOT PARK IN THIS LOT. BUT DO GO TO SIDESTREET INN.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2017

As always, I was more than pleased with our dining experience. I didn't get the server's name but I think his server # was 22 per my receipt. I had 3 kids on my table from ages, 3, 6 and 7 and he was so understanding. What can you say about the food, it's great. The difference for me is the interaction from the server. He was amazing, I would give him 10 stars not 5 if it is all possible. He was busy but he made it a point to check on our table consistently and never rushed us.

Tags: Live Sports, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Kalbi boneless ribs and signature fried rice...can't go wrong on these two. Interesting that two orders of the kalbi arrived; one with two full racks, and the other with about 3/4 of the amount of ribs on the other plate, and just tossed on the plate arbitrarily...so no consistency there. Service was about the worst I've ever had ANYWHERE. We were served rice AFTER we finished our meals. A second round of drinks was begged for (no one came back and checked if our glasses were empty! Had to flag waiter and order another drink. When it finally arrived he had ordered the wrong drink! Hostess was great, everyone was pleasant, parking lot was full but the surly attendant told me I could pull into the empty parking stall (!?) to turn around and leave! Huh? There were at least four empty stalls so maybe they had to save for special customers, not us!

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our cab found the resraurant easily. I enjoyed the escargot - but not the opichi poke. An OK place, but not worth the trip.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 9, 2017

フライドライスとポークチョップを勧められてオーダーしました。味は最高です!とにかく料理の量が多い!大人数にオススメ!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food ! We make a point to visit this resto every time we visit Waikiki! Their portions are generous. Kalbi is to die for.. chow it down with their fried rice "D ' Works"
And you will have a delectable and delicious meal. Michelle our waitress was very accommodating and attentive. Don't miss this restaurant when visiting Oahu. Make a reservation in advance though since their seating capacity is limited. Kudos to the chef and management of Side street inn!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on June 27, 2017

pork chopsがとても美味しい!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My spouse and I had our last dinner in Honolulu for this trip at the Side Street Cafe. While the food was well prepared and our server was good at explaining the serving methodology, I'd way that it's not a good spot for couples on an anniversary celebration trip. The food is served family style, and so the portions exceed that what most couples would like. This limits the variety that can be reasonably ordered. Their most highly rated item is the pork chops, but the amount is enough or six or maybe even eight. Bottom line, if you have a group of more than four, and you want to try old time Hawaiian comfort food in a noisy place with lots of kids, then this is for you. This is one of the Honolulu restaurants that has parking (valet $6 plus tip.)

Tags: Live Sports, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (東京)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great size and taste!
Must eat!
Come again for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent as always! Seemed they were a bit short staffed but everyone helping each other out. Hostess (crystal?) is great. We were seated near door and watched her assisting servers, handling phones, taking care of guests and holding it all down. Having managed restaurants for many years, I can say job well done to the staff. (If I were still in the business I might be trying to recruit some of them ;-)

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Sided Street Inn Kapahulu never fails to deliver wonderful tastes and great service. They have a model that truly works. Appetizers to deserts always please. We have never been disappointed in our choices. Fun people watching. The wine list is fine. Nothing fancy, but they do offer some premium selections. The best dish on the menu is their fried rice. Wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Spicy, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We were very satisfied w/all the hype about their food. We had eaten had not there for quite awhile and since our son had come home for a short visit. He wanted to return to this plac; therefore we made a reservation and had an early dinner. It was the same as we had expected. Everything was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We ate here 3 nights in a row! Great family style Hawaiian food. The salads, Kim Chi fried rice and the melt-in-your-mouth boneless ribs are unbelievably delicious. Huge portions, very fresh ingredients, and friendly service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Chinese chicken salad dressing lacked flavor and tasted watered down. Kal bi was extra salty. Everything else was great especially the pork chops and fried rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Always great food here! Always come back here when I'm in Honolulu. Noisy and service can get slow when it's busy, but will keep coming back!

Love the fried rice and the fried pork chops!! Get their fried pound cake dessert too! Yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Side Street is undoubtedly the best casual dining restaurant in Honolulu. Everything is prepared so well, especially the spicy garlic chicken. Always ample portions are served and the wait staff is so friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Fun family place that was beyond packed with boisterous big groups having a great time! Hearty local food, heavy on proteins, HUGE portions. Friendly service and great bar scene. A real neighborhood place...! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great Place and Great Food!! The atmosphere is very inviting and excellent service. A+++

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

ワイキキから歩くと40分ほどかかりました。評判のポークチョップとキムチ炒飯をオーダー。共に美味しかったです。量が多いので、3〜4人で行くことをおすすめます。

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We usually expect good food and above average service. What we ordered was not disappointing, but they had no burgers for the sliders. How do you not have burgers? We ordered root beer, which was not delivered, and upon reminding our waiter, was told that the bartender didn't put it up on the bar because they ran out. He basically blamed the bar, yet he should have checked back with the bar when he didn't see our order fulfilled. The most annoying part was that when we placed our order, we were not informed that the kitchen was extremely short handed and that our order would take an hour. Working in the customer service industry myself, I know how it is to function with limited staff. The waiter should have been upfront with that and we could have made adjustments to our order. Instead, we had our salad, and sautéed mushrooms, then nothing for 40 minutes. It was my son's birthday so we purposely made an early reservation so that he could enjoy dinner at his favorite restaurant, and still have time to finish homework and get to sleep at a decent time. Unfortunately the good food could not outweigh the bad service that night.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great local food. Must stop in HNL. Make reservations on open table.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything was fine and the service was perfect, considering I had a large group of 20. Our food came out pretty fast. Fried rice was exceptional. Spicy chicken was perfect. Kalbi and Porkchops were overchooked, but still delicious. Fries and calamari were satisfying! It was until the end where it was time to pay. I respected that a lady took our check and card up to pay instead of our server. However, I was waiting for my card to return for almost 10/15 minutes. The manager on duty then pulled me to the side to review the problem, and could have been more apologetic. The $100 gratuity was included into the total, so they voided the transaction and slid my card twice before asking me for another form of payment. My card is currently emptied as the money is still pending. I understand that I wasn't charged anything (as I called the restaurant), but what if I didn't have cash? That was my only card. The fact that the total was $683 ($100 gratuity) that's a lot of money. To just slide my card twice like that is unacceptable. I should've been informed before you tried to slide the card a second time. The manager on duty (I didn't get his name) apologized on the phone when I called the next day, but could have sounded more sincere. As our male server returned my card, he was really apologetic and I appreciated that. However, honestly I don't think it was fair for me to still pay that much gratuity after experiencing that. Here I am just waiting for the pending money to be returned to my card. I love the food here so it would've been nice to get some kind of accommodation or discount off my price. My account is short more than $1000 right now. I'm 20 years old, so that's a lot for me. I know I already spoke to the manager on duty, but thought I'd put this here anyway.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Best meal we had in Honolulu. Super nice people who worked there. Locals were nice! Wished we ate there both nights.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (東京)·Dined on May 4, 2017

ボリュームあるから、あまりは、テイクアウトしました。

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 2, 2017

名物のポークチョップは、普通に豚肉を素揚げした感じ。臭みは全くないけど、特に味や香りに特徴があるわけでもない。ただ、量は3〜4人前はある。添えられたケチャップを付ければ美味しいけど、マクドナルドのポテトと同じ感じ。
雰囲気はアメリカの典型的ダイナーで、雰囲気を楽しむには良いと感じました。隣のおじちゃんと会話したり、ウェイターとの会話を楽しんだり。
サラダとポークチョップとフライドライスで大人2人と子供1人にちょうどだとウェイターは言ったけど、無理でした。ポークチョップ半分とフライドライス半分を持ち帰り。

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Weʻve eaten here many times, but for some reason our last visit was rough. The waitresses seemed very confused and inefficient - they brought several items for other tables to ours, took an incredibly long time to bring us our drink orders, and had to be asked 3 times about our actual food order and when it would arrive. Maybe it was just an off night. It didnʻt seem any busier than usual on this Wednesday night. Oh well.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 26, 2017

It was a good .We had a great time .we are going to come back agan

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very yummy food, full of flavor and local-ness, perfect for accompanying your drinks. Friendly and efficient service. Lively atmosphere. The only negative is the cost of valet and $5 parking fee. Otherwise, it's easy to see why it's so popular.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The bad: Phone receptionist was in a hurry thus extremely rude when I called to confirm. They sat us in an annex room reserved for a private party, in which they squeezed in a few more tables so they could seat a few others. We had uncomfortable "catering" chairs with a folding table "dressed" as a regular table. It was awkward since we clearly weren't part of the private party, yet we were sitting with them in their party room. The food's mediocre and the restaurant is extremely noisy.

The good: Our server was excellent.

Tags: Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We always seem to bring our out of town guests here to Sidestreet Inn on the strip since it's close to home and parking is not bad to find.
We don't go by ourselves since the portions are huge and prices are sort of high. If you are bringing a big group it's easy to share the plates and get a better selection of dishes. We always order the Farmer's Salad and either the Pork Chops, Fried Rice and Kalbi. Always a winner. I can't wait for the next out of town guests to arrive!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Awesome, we had out of town relatives...perfect place...the food and staff ..wonderful...

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fun, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Amazing does not do Side Street Inn justice. The food is sooo tasty that even when you are stuffed you want more!

Kristi provided great service and friendly!

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Best local food and great value. Compared to the Restraunt a in Waikiki the price is way better value for what you get & on top the quality of the food is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Portions of clams was small. Service not very attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Generous servings and a menu with lots of entree options.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This is our fourth visit to Side Street. The food does not disappoint. Very consistent food with specials to keep the faithful happy. Ordered the special 32 oz Big Boy Steak, Kim chee fried rice , pork chops, garlic edamame, garlic fries, seared ahi, chicken pot pie, shogun poke, boneless kalbi, and fried chicken. All served family style. Came happily staggering out with 8 friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Pork chops, kalbi, fried rice 5 stars. Chinese chicken salad 2 stars.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Yum!!!
Fried chicken was SOOO tender & tasty!
Always love the pork chops & fried rice too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.