About Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro

833 Granville Steet
Vancouver, BC V6Z1K7
View Larger Map

We offer traditional Japanese cuisine with contemporary flair; the freshest ingredients available, extensive offerings of super premium dai ginjo sake, creative cocktails and a thoughtful selection of wine that pairs well with Japanese cuisine. Our knowledgeable and attentive staff will guide you through your experience in a fun and helpful way. An interior featuring warm colours & Japanese architectural art bathed in muted light await you.

You could describe the menu as ‘sushi-sushi' style. A vibrant menu designed for fun! On the menu you will find small plates, plates for sharing and exquisite plates for passionate Japanese food lovers. On the feature sheets; fresh finds, seasonal items and traditional Japanese offerings valued by our Japanese guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Open 365days!
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45am - 4:30pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:30pm;

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Robson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 687-6622

Website:
http://www.shuraku.net/

Entertainment:
At Shuraku, our kitchen concept is open. Counter seating is available both at the kitchen and the bar so pull up a seat and enjoy the show!
All along Granville Street you'll find shopping, theatres and nightclubs. If you are a sports enthusiast; General Motors Place (the Canucks and other live entertainment) and B.C. Place (the B.C. Lions) are within walking distance. Is the game sold out? Enjoy a cocktail while you watch our HD screen in the bar area. Whether you are alone or with a group you are sure you to have a great time at Shuraku!

Catering:
For business, a special event or pleasure; we can provide catering services from cocktails to a full-service event.
With over 20 years experience, our catering coordinator can surely provide you with the assistance required to help you host a successful and memorable event. This can include everything from event coordination, site selection and staffing to delivering prepared selections to your party.
Please call Iori Kataoka should you be interested in our services.

Parking Details:
We are centrally located in the heart of downtown Vancouver (Granville and Robson). You will find metered parking available on Howe St. (southbound street; one block west of us), Hornby Street (northbound street, two blocks west of us) and Seymour St. (northbound street; one block east of us). You may even luck out on Granville Street! Public Lots can be located off the alley just behind us, and in both Pacific Centre Shopping Mall and the Telus Building located just north of us.

Public Transit:
We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.

Executive Chef:
Yusuke Tomita

Private Party Facilities:
Conveniently located in the heart of Vancouver D/T and walking distance from all major hotels, Shuraku offers 30 people intimate sake tasting dinner course to 80 people cocktail party with beautifully crafted Japanese cuisine created by Chef Masa. Still some space left for 2010 Winter Olympic.

Private Party Contact:
Iori Kataoka: 6046876622x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer sake dinner events throughout the year inviting sake makers from Japan and/or local sake specialists. If you are interested, please sign up by sending an email message to info@shuraku.net.

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate your dad for everyday's hard work at Shuraku. Make your dad happier with special Father's day menu!!
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Vancouver / British Columbia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Japanese
Vancouver
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Granville Entertainment District ›

fit for foodies (32)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for lunch (17)
See All
good for groups (15)
late-night find (11)
hot spot (9)
special occasion (7)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (3)
romantic (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and customer service.

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent food and customer service.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good enough, but nothing to write home about.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Best described as a mediocre, to slightly better than mediocre dining experience. The restaurant is in a great location, in the heart of one of the main shopping and dining areas. The restaurant was pretty, and offered an acceptable ambience for my wife and I, who were on a getaway for the weekend. It was not particularly romantic, though, because tables were fairly close together. The service was pretty good. The food was, as stated in the title of the review, good enough. I was hoping for more - flavour, value, etc. The ramen soup was salty, but acceptable. The sushi was not, especially for the cost. The rolls were rather small, all things considered, and on par with a very typical sushi restaurant in Toronto. The black cod was also okay, but did not stand out in any way. Overall, I am sure that we would just try somewhere else next time.

food4
ambience3
service4

Love my grilled saba!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Love my grilled saba!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not bad

Dined on April 28, 2016

Good service, nice meal, and unique drink......... That's all. I whould have expected more something.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

We sat outside on Granville so can't spe ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

We sat outside on Granville so can't speak to the noise level inside but we had great service and the food was really good! Will def go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choices

Dined on March 28, 2016

The ribs are truly "fall off the bone" and the flavour with the Asian BBQ sauce was awesome! We also had the Tofu and Avocado Salad as well as a few orders of the Godfather Rolls. Everything was excellent. Itadakimasu!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

Dishes are small, okay. Called me 3 hour ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Dishes are small, okay. Called me 3 hours before the dinner and told me that the minimum payment per person was $25 and that they don't split bills. This should be told a lot earlier than 3 hours, I would not have come here if I knew that. I can't relocate 9 people in 3 hours.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is if you can'tbein tokyo food is fan ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

It is if you can'tbein tokyo food is fantastic and authentic. Love the place

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place in the heart of town

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Great food. Good service. Nice sake menu. Unique items on menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Cool place in the heart of town. Great p ...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Cool place in the heart of town. Great people. Good food. Nice place to hangout with friends.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The Invisible Table

Dined on March 3, 2016

Went for a pre-concert bite. Very busy, even though we reserved, seemed like we were placed at a random table that was lucky enough to be vacant. Turned out this must have been the "invisible" table - NO service, even though later arrivals were getting served and food. Had to go to maitre'de to get attention after about 15 minutes (no water, no server welcome, nothing....) Good sushi/ blackened cod/ sake when it came. Irritating. Bad service detracted from a good busy bistro.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Lunch!

Dined on February 17, 2016

I went to this place for lunch several times. Food is always great and has good quality. You can get real Japanese dishes here!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We had one night in Vancouver and tried Shuraku based on reviews. My husband wanted Sushi but my teen son does not eat Sushi. After a review of the menu, I surmised this would make both my "boys" happy. We had a great time and everyone left happy!! According to the receipt, our server was named Yoko and she was the sweetest and most helpful server we have had in a long while. When I mentioned I really enjoyed the wine, she wrote down all the vineyard information without me even asking. Great experience overall!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love at first bite!

Dined on February 14, 2016

So happy to discover this place! We ate some of the freshest sushi we have ever tried... Melt in your mouth experiance. Appreciate that they don't add excess ingredients, and sauces to the sushi. It was simply perfect. Also tried a variety of interesting sake from their extensive menu. Service was excellent in spite of it being a very busy Saturday night. Looking forward to my next visit to Vancouver so I can get back to Shuraku!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, decent prices, very friendly ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Good food, decent prices, very friendly staff. We loved the eggplant poppers, especially!

food5
ambience4
service5

Very helpful staff and incredible qualit ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

Very helpful staff and incredible quality for a great price. Perfection!

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was very fresh. Uni and the che ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

The food was very fresh. Uni and the chef's sashimi is always an indicator of the quality of the fish being served. The premium sake was great and what impressed my guest most was that it was served with a thermometer and heated in a water bath, something rarely seen in many North American Japanese restaurant. The decor is nice but be prepared as this is not a quiet traditional Japanese sushi house but more of a contemporary noisy popular eatery. Parking is a bit of an issue as it is in the heart of the entertainment district so go by foot, transit or other modes that don't require parking is advised.

food4
ambience4
service4

Overall experience was fine. It would be ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Overall experience was fine. It would be much better if the waitress could give us more time to look at the menu instead of rushing us to get our order. She came 3 times in total trying to take our order not long after we sat down. The restaurant wasn't very busy yet as we were there at 6pm. Sashimi was fresh and other food was good. Will go back again.

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Not for gluten free

Dined on January 26, 2016

The fish was deliciously fresh, the volcano roll was cool looking, and just about everything has soy sauce in it. So not gluten free friendly! But very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent

Dined on January 19, 2016

amazing food. this was our first time coming here. the design is so modern thats why i like it

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great sushi rolls , the crab was super t ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great sushi rolls , the crab was super tasty!

food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Has management changed?

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

I have been coming here for lunch since it opened 8+ years ago. The food is still very good and it's good value, but it seems that the service (operations, not attitude) has declined since late 2015. I noticed all the staff have changed. On my past few visits I found myself craning my neck looking for a server to place my order, or at the end of the meal, trying to attract a server's attention to signal for the bill. The staff, when they do come, are friendly and polite. I'm not sure what has changed.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and interesting dishes. Must try!

Dined on January 15, 2016

The service was very prompt and courteous. We were late for our reservation and the restaurant staff were very accommodating and sat us when we got there. Well priced drinks and the recommended sake was very tasty. Favourite dishes were the Three Ways of Tuna and the Ebi-Mozza Spring Rolls. Both were unique twists on traditional Japanese dishes that made them new and interesting. I would recommend those two for sure! Servers were very nice and knowledgeable. Reasonably priced and very tasty!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Amazing food, OK service

Dined on January 14, 2016

A hidden gem that you'd walk past every day and never think to go in. Great lunch specials and fantastic tasting food. Service is a bit slow - you won't be blown away be the wait staff but overall a great spot to grab lunch - if you aren't in a rush!

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service5

Very convenient location for us as we we ...

Dined on January 14, 2016

Very convenient location for us as we were going to a concert at the Orpheum across the road. Everything tasted good and was fresh - perhaps just wasn't a stand out for me. I would go back if I was in the area! Service was very friendly. Loved that they had multiple types of green tea you could choose from!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

After work dining

Dined on January 14, 2016

Decided to try out some place close by to my bf's workplace after work and found Shuraka on the Open Table app. The place is similar to Guu where they have the standard menu and also a menu with the specials of the day. Lots of tapas to choose from and also options for vegetarians. As unagi don is always one of the first things my bf tries at a japanese restaurant, he ordered the Hitsumabushi (this was basically an unagi don with daikon soup on the side that you can pour over the rice). This one obviously made the cut as he said the unagi was done very well and something he would order again. I got the enchanted roll (vegetarian) and pork tacos to share. The pork tacos was not bad, couldn't remember much about it. However, I really enjoyed the Enchanted Roll and will go back for it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Excellent Food and Service

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

It is truly a neighbourhood gem. If you are looking for a consistency in execellent food and service at affordable prices. This is it. We have dined here on numerous occasions. Never disappointed. Varied menu, always warmly greeted, quick and highly attentive service, and deliciously memorable food. We are impressed by the CONSISTENCY. No wonder we keep coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Consistently great food

Dined on January 1, 2016

We've visited a few times over a couple of years. The food is consistenly very good. The restaurant can be very noisy, depending on the mood of the other patrons. When we were there, there was a large party who were very boisturous and shrill, and we could not focus on our own conversation at times. Luckily, the other party took frequent smoke breaks and eventually calmed down. Good for a quick bite before or after a show or game.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Hopping restaurant with amazing Sushi

Dined on December 31, 2015

Amazing high quality Sushi. This is a hot spot in Vancouver. Lots of activity/energy with a friendly staff who deliver impeccable service. I'd recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on December 27, 2015

We wanted to find a good place in Vancouver for sushi (knowing that there's many places!), and this did not disappoint. The servers were all very quick, helpful and accommodating to our group of 8. The sushi was delicious. I had the Enchanted Roll and the Volcano roll. Both were delicious!!! I also had an assortment of nigiri (don't remember which ones), but they were very fresh and yummy as well. Thanks for the awesome dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

VIP Diner

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

Our favourite Japanese restaurant . Food and Service are consistently superb. Fresh and high quality ingredients made both chicken and seafood dishes memorable. We always look forward to revisit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service3

Mixed quality and quantity

Dined on December 6, 2015

In our party of four, the special bistro box was great, and a good value. The stone bowl curry had the same chicken pieces with the same finishing as the chicken Karaage special, and the chicken in the curry bowl was a poor fit for the sauce. I had the special rolls for $13:25 and think they were poor value. The double prawn tempura roll was a single prawn tempura in 4 thin pieces; the spicy tuna was good but again simply 4 thin pieces, and the California roll with "real crab" was four thin pieces. That was it. ON the special bistro box, 8 pieces of that California roll were present, along with several nigiri pieces, tempura, teriyaki, salad and soup. The special rolls are a terrible value, and poor quality for the price. Similarly the chicken karaage special was good but the quantity was small, and the pieces were heavily breaded and coated with a sticky sauce. Much better sushi is at several nearby restaurants, notably on Smithe street. I would avoid this one. The location is close to the Orpheum, but immediately south of the restaurant is a kind of zone of boarded buildings and street people living under the overhangs of the buildings. Overall, despite good tea and good service, I would avoid this restaurant.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

I could have lived without that....

vip
Dined on December 1, 2015

I am prepared to conceded that I may have been having a bad night, but between the extreme amount of noise, the marginally incompetent and the mediocre sushi, as well the worn decor, I would never return here again. I will state that my dining companion says her experience was not as negative as mine, but she is not writing this review....

food5
ambience3
service4

Creative food, good location

Dined on November 28, 2015

So many types of food, and so much sake! And the location, close to the Orpheum, suited us perfectly. Very good service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Food menu

Dined on November 28, 2015

I've been there for lunch several times, and this was my first time there for dinner. I was surprised to find that the dinner menu has much less options than lunch menu. I like the lunch menu.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3

Good simple find in our hotel area

Dined on November 24, 2015

We eat often in Japanese restaurants in many places and we went to this one due to it being very close to our hotel on an evening when we were tired. The food was OK but not much variety, lack of interesting salads, only run of the mill standard food options, nothing special or outstanding.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

A Granville Gem for Japanese Food

vip
Dined on November 18, 2015

We are delighted to return to this restaurant for a consistent excellence in food and service. Always seem to exceed our expectations. Such a varied menu at resonable prices. Will return to try out other appealing seafood dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

Service seems to be hit and miss here.

Dined on November 16, 2015

I miss their weekly specials...my favourite dish is the Godzilla Don rice bowl. Depends on the server I guess. Food is consistently fresh.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4

Exquisite Japanese food at affordable prices

vip
Dined on November 12, 2015

This was our revisit to this restaurant. It exceeded our expectations . Yakisoba-egg noodles with seafood was exquisite- diced portions of salmon, calamari and shrimps were tastefully combined with mild spices. We also tried Donburi-rice bowl topped with egg and chicken was exceptionally tasty. The server was pleasant and attentive. Overall outstanding and memorable dining experience. Looking forward to revisiting soon to try out the items from the varied menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food and Service

Dined on November 11, 2015

There are your standard menu items you expect from a Japanese restaurant, but also plenty of unique dishes that I have never seen before. One of our notable orders was the "three ways of Tuna", a dish of tuna sashimi with 3 kinds of sauce and garnish. That dish and everything else was delicious. A detailed drink menu was provided, but I'm no expert when it comes to that. The servers are extremely polite, and our food arrived quickly. A dessert menu was offered upon request. Here's a good way to end the night: order the cheesecake.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.