About Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro

833 Granville Steet
Vancouver, BC V6Z1K7
View Larger Map

We offer traditional Japanese cuisine with contemporary flair; the freshest ingredients available, extensive offerings of super premium dai ginjo sake, creative cocktails and a thoughtful selection of wine that pairs well with Japanese cuisine. Our knowledgeable and attentive staff will guide you through your experience in a fun and helpful way. An interior featuring warm colours & Japanese architectural art bathed in muted light await you.

You could describe the menu as ‘sushi-sushi' style. A vibrant menu designed for fun! On the menu you will find small plates, plates for sharing and exquisite plates for passionate Japanese food lovers. On the feature sheets; fresh finds, seasonal items and traditional Japanese offerings valued by our Japanese guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Open 365days!
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45am - 4:30pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:30pm;

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Robson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 687-6622

Website:
http://www.shuraku.net/

Entertainment:
At Shuraku, our kitchen concept is open. Counter seating is available both at the kitchen and the bar so pull up a seat and enjoy the show!
All along Granville Street you'll find shopping, theatres and nightclubs. If you are a sports enthusiast; General Motors Place (the Canucks and other live entertainment) and B.C. Place (the B.C. Lions) are within walking distance. Is the game sold out? Enjoy a cocktail while you watch our HD screen in the bar area. Whether you are alone or with a group you are sure you to have a great time at Shuraku!

Catering:
For business, a special event or pleasure; we can provide catering services from cocktails to a full-service event.
With over 20 years experience, our catering coordinator can surely provide you with the assistance required to help you host a successful and memorable event. This can include everything from event coordination, site selection and staffing to delivering prepared selections to your party.
Please call Iori Kataoka should you be interested in our services.

Parking Details:
We are centrally located in the heart of downtown Vancouver (Granville and Robson). You will find metered parking available on Howe St. (southbound street; one block west of us), Hornby Street (northbound street, two blocks west of us) and Seymour St. (northbound street; one block east of us). You may even luck out on Granville Street! Public Lots can be located off the alley just behind us, and in both Pacific Centre Shopping Mall and the Telus Building located just north of us.

Public Transit:
We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.

Executive Chef:
Yusuke Tomita

Private Party Facilities:
Conveniently located in the heart of Vancouver D/T and walking distance from all major hotels, Shuraku offers 30 people intimate sake tasting dinner course to 80 people cocktail party with beautifully crafted Japanese cuisine created by Chef Masa. Still some space left for 2010 Winter Olympic.

Private Party Contact:
Iori Kataoka: 6046876622x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer sake dinner events throughout the year inviting sake makers from Japan and/or local sake specialists. If you are interested, please sign up by sending an email message to info@shuraku.net.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Japanese
Vancouver
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Granville Entertainment District ›

fit for foodies (24)
great for lunch (22)
good for groups (18)
See All
neighborhood gem (15)
special occasion (10)
late-night find (10)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (4)
romantic (3)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We got sick from the sushi. I will not g ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

We got sick from the sushi. I will not go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Really good value and great location. Se ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 5 days ago

Really good value and great location. Server was excellent although our food took a little while but it was really good

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The sushi was okay but the short ribs we ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The sushi was okay but the short ribs were awful and the waitress was sub par and in general - I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Excellent food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Pleasantly surprised by our dinner exper ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by our dinner experience. All the dishes we ordered were well-executed and made for a very nice dinner for my family and I. The lighting was perfect, the ambiance was comfortable. The restaurant was loud, but not loud enough where we couldn't hear each other. Food was fresh and delicious. Standout dishes for me was the Hitsu-mabushi and the BBQ whole squid. Outstanding! Don't want to spend the money to dine at Minami or Miku? I think you'd be just as happy here at Shuraku.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Got greeted as soon as we entered the re ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Got greeted as soon as we entered the restaurant. It had a nice dim atmosphere with the back wall lit with thin strands of lights behind a paper mural. The food was excellent however there seemed to be an insufficient amount of people working since our food took extremely long to arrive and even getting the bill to pay for the meal took longer than usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Not bad, right on Granville Street.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Not bad, right on Granville Street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Good for group drink ! We usually go the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good for group drink !

We usually go there Friday night

But this time we went week day night !

We got good service and good food

I strongly recommend this Japanese restrant is really good !

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was in Toronto last year and I was ama ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was in Toronto last year and I was amaze with their Japanese buffet, but people said I should go in Vancouver and it's way better, so I expect a bit more, the server offer me a special for lunch, and it was average the portioning of the food are too small and tempura were okay , it took a little while before it was serve, the guy who's serving was nice .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

I first went to Shiraku about a week pri ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I first went to Shiraku about a week prior. The restaurant had a good, upbeat feel to it. The first time I went, I had the smoked salmon under glass. It was amazing! The eggplant agebatashi was also excellent. The server forgot my sunomono salad so hopefully it was taken off the bill. On my most recent visit, I went there with a young friend before going to a concert. We ordered sunomono salads, the eggplant agebatashi, the smoked mackerel and an assortment of sushi. We also ordered an assortment of pickles that the server forgot to bring and when I mentioned it, the cost was deducted from our bill. The sunomono salad had thick rice noodles whereas I prefer the thin ones and the sushi seemed like any good sushi in the city. It is the other things on the menu that make Shuraku special. Unfortunately, they were out of lotus root on my second visit so we were unable to try it. Unfortunately, the smoked salmon under glass was also not available the second visit. We enjoyed a delicious meal anyway. If you love food, this is a great restaurant to explore new tastes and the staff are friendly and attentive (if somewhat forgetful).

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We booked last minute The restaurant w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We booked last minute The restaurant was cheerful and busy. There were greetings and orders being called put in Japanese which added to the charm. Food was good. Staff were friendly courteous and well trained. A fun place for dinner

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I visited few times and and last visit w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I visited few times and and last visit was the worse experience that I had. There were many staffs but they provided not enough service. I need to wait long time for me to order the Sake. I made reservation long ago and asked to reserve the bar table and they gave us a table near the entrance. We have kind of argue with them to get

the bar table seats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Always great

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I love Shuraku for their consistency of food, service and value. Their stone curry is amazing ... best i've enjoyed. Anywhere.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Fresh and tasty sushi in the heart of downtown

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I thought that I got pretty good sushi in Montreal. Well, let me tell you, there is nothing like fresh sourcing in Vancouver to make a difference. The chefs are Japanese and take their art very seriously. The place is clean and oriental in style, but in a small eatery like this near Nordstrom's you are not looking for decor as your primary motivator: it should be the food!

The Bluefin Negi-Toro was exceptional, the balance of the rolls were all very, very good. The chef's sampler of sashimi was expensive for what was offered, but you could taste the quality in the selection of fish.

Beer prices are reasonable, wine list is forgettable. You are not there for the wine!

I would certainly return, excellent overall value for the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Brilliant Sushi exactly what we had hoped for

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a lovely meal. Perfect food. Freshest and best sashimi we have ever eaten. Kind, friendly and attentive service. Restaurant and bar had a great, buzzy vibe. Would make a detour to come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent food, especially the hot don and the Rainbow don

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and customer service.

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent food and customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good enough, but nothing to write home about.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Best described as a mediocre, to slightly better than mediocre dining experience. The restaurant is in a great location, in the heart of one of the main shopping and dining areas. The restaurant was pretty, and offered an acceptable ambience for my wife and I, who were on a getaway for the weekend. It was not particularly romantic, though, because tables were fairly close together. The service was pretty good. The food was, as stated in the title of the review, good enough. I was hoping for more - flavour, value, etc. The ramen soup was salty, but acceptable. The sushi was not, especially for the cost. The rolls were rather small, all things considered, and on par with a very typical sushi restaurant in Toronto. The black cod was also okay, but did not stand out in any way. Overall, I am sure that we would just try somewhere else next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Love my grilled saba!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Love my grilled saba!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Not bad

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Good service, nice meal, and unique drink.........

That's all. I whould have expected more something.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We sat outside on Granville so can't spe ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

We sat outside on Granville so can't speak to the noise level inside but we had great service and the food was really good! Will def go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent choices

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

The ribs are truly "fall off the bone" and the flavour with the Asian BBQ sauce was awesome! We also had the Tofu and Avocado Salad as well as a few orders of the Godfather Rolls. Everything was excellent. Itadakimasu!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dishes are small, okay. Called me 3 hour ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Dishes are small, okay. Called me 3 hours before the dinner and told me that the minimum payment per person was $25 and that they don't split bills. This should be told a lot earlier than 3 hours, I would not have come here if I knew that. I can't relocate 9 people in 3 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

It is if you can'tbein tokyo food is fan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

It is if you can'tbein tokyo food is fantastic and authentic. Love the place

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place in the heart of town

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Great food. Good service.

Nice sake menu. Unique items on menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cool place in the heart of town. Great p ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Cool place in the heart of town.

Great people. Good food.

Nice place to hangout with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The Invisible Table

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Went for a pre-concert bite. Very busy, even though we reserved, seemed like we were placed at a random table that was lucky enough to be vacant. Turned out this must have been the "invisible" table - NO service, even though later arrivals were getting served and food. Had to go to maitre'de to get attention after about 15 minutes (no water, no server welcome, nothing....) Good sushi/ blackened cod/ sake when it came. Irritating. Bad service detracted from a good busy bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great Lunch!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

I went to this place for lunch several times. Food is always great and has good quality. You can get real Japanese dishes here!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had one night in Vancouver and tried Shuraku based on reviews. My husband wanted Sushi but my teen son does not eat Sushi. After a review of the menu, I surmised this would make both my "boys" happy. We had a great time and everyone left happy!! According to the receipt, our server was named Yoko and she was the sweetest and most helpful server we have had in a long while. When I mentioned I really enjoyed the wine, she wrote down all the vineyard information without me even asking. Great experience overall!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love at first bite!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

So happy to discover this place! We ate some of the freshest sushi we have ever tried... Melt in your mouth experiance. Appreciate that they don't add excess ingredients, and sauces to the sushi. It was simply perfect. Also tried a variety of interesting sake from their extensive menu.

Service was excellent in spite of it being a very busy Saturday night. Looking forward to my next visit to Vancouver so I can get back to Shuraku!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, decent prices, very friendly ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Good food, decent prices, very friendly staff. We loved the eggplant poppers, especially!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very helpful staff and incredible qualit ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Very helpful staff and incredible quality for a great price. Perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was very fresh. Uni and the che ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

The food was very fresh. Uni and the chef's sashimi is always an indicator of the quality of the fish being served.

The premium sake was great and what impressed my guest most was that it was served with a thermometer and heated in a water bath, something rarely seen in many North American Japanese restaurant.

The decor is nice but be prepared as this is not a quiet traditional Japanese sushi house but more of a contemporary noisy popular eatery.

Parking is a bit of an issue as it is in the heart of the entertainment district so go by foot, transit or other modes that don't require parking is advised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall experience was fine. It would be ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Overall experience was fine. It would be much better if the waitress could give us more time to look at the menu instead of rushing us to get our order. She came 3 times in total trying to take our order not long after we sat down. The restaurant wasn't very busy yet as we were there at 6pm. Sashimi was fresh and other food was good. Will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not for gluten free

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

The fish was deliciously fresh, the volcano roll was cool looking, and just about everything has soy sauce in it. So not gluten free friendly! But very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

excellent

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

amazing food. this was our first time coming here. the design is so modern thats why i like it

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great sushi rolls , the crab was super t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Great sushi rolls , the crab was super tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Has management changed?

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

I have been coming here for lunch since it opened 8+ years ago. The food is still very good and it's good value, but it seems that the service (operations, not attitude) has declined since late 2015. I noticed all the staff have changed. On my past few visits I found myself craning my neck looking for a server to place my order, or at the end of the meal, trying to attract a server's attention to signal for the bill. The staff, when they do come, are friendly and polite. I'm not sure what has changed.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Very good food and interesting dishes. Must try!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

The service was very prompt and courteous. We were late for our reservation and the restaurant staff were very accommodating and sat us when we got there. Well priced drinks and the recommended sake was very tasty. Favourite dishes were the Three Ways of Tuna and the Ebi-Mozza Spring Rolls. Both were unique twists on traditional Japanese dishes that made them new and interesting. I would recommend those two for sure! Servers were very nice and knowledgeable. Reasonably priced and very tasty!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, OK service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

A hidden gem that you'd walk past every day and never think to go in. Great lunch specials and fantastic tasting food. Service is a bit slow - you won't be blown away be the wait staff but overall a great spot to grab lunch - if you aren't in a rush!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.