Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro

We offer traditional Japanese cuisine with contemporary flair; the freshest ingredients available, extensive offerings of super premium dai ginjo sake, creative cocktails and a thoughtful selection of wine that pairs well with Japanese cuisine. Our knowledgeable and attentive staff will guide you through your experience in a fun and helpful way. An interior featuring warm colours & Japanese architectural art bathed in muted light await you.

You could describe the menu as ‘sushi-sushi' style. A vibrant menu designed for fun! On the menu you will find small plates, plates for sharing and exquisite plates for passionate Japanese food lovers. On the feature sheets; fresh finds, seasonal items and traditional Japanese offerings valued by our Japanese guests.

833 Granville Steet
Vancouver, BC V6Z1K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Open 365days!
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45am - 4:30pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:30pm;

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Robson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 687-6622

Website:
http://www.shuraku.net/

Entertainment:
At Shuraku, our kitchen concept is open. Counter seating is available both at the kitchen and the bar so pull up a seat and enjoy the show!
All along Granville Street you'll find shopping, theatres and nightclubs. If you are a sports enthusiast; General Motors Place (the Canucks and other live entertainment) and B.C. Place (the B.C. Lions) are within walking distance. Is the game sold out? Enjoy a cocktail while you watch our HD screen in the bar area. Whether you are alone or with a group you are sure you to have a great time at Shuraku!

Catering:
For business, a special event or pleasure; we can provide catering services from cocktails to a full-service event.
With over 20 years experience, our catering coordinator can surely provide you with the assistance required to help you host a successful and memorable event. This can include everything from event coordination, site selection and staffing to delivering prepared selections to your party.
Please call Iori Kataoka should you be interested in our services.

Parking Details:
We are centrally located in the heart of downtown Vancouver (Granville and Robson). You will find metered parking available on Howe St. (southbound street; one block west of us), Hornby Street (northbound street, two blocks west of us) and Seymour St. (northbound street; one block east of us). You may even luck out on Granville Street! Public Lots can be located off the alley just behind us, and in both Pacific Centre Shopping Mall and the Telus Building located just north of us.

Public Transit:
We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.

Executive Chef:
Yusuke Tomita

Private Party Facilities:
Conveniently located in the heart of Vancouver D/T and walking distance from all major hotels, Shuraku offers 30 people intimate sake tasting dinner course to 80 people cocktail party with beautifully crafted Japanese cuisine created by Chef Masa. Still some space left for 2010 Winter Olympic.

Private Party Contact:
Iori Kataoka: (604) 687-6622

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer sake dinner events throughout the year inviting sake makers from Japan and/or local sake specialists. If you are interested, please sign up by sending an email message to info@shuraku.net.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Healthy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

food was alright..nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was very good. Ambiance was good - a bit noisy - personally think you don't need the t.v. one at the bar during lunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The food was average, but the service was inattentive. My wife almost finished her meal and mine did not arrive until I complained. When it arrived is was barely warm. There was no apology, so I assume it's how they roll.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Really great food and atmosphere. Service was a bit slow but that won't stop us from returning - thanks for a great meal!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Food is good. Value is good. Servers mostly ignored us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was fresh and tasty, but the service was very slow which was quite disappointing. had two friends come in from out of town and I brought them here before going to a show, and they weren't too thrilled with the place which is a shame. I've been here a few times and I don't recall it being this slow. It took about 15 minutes for us to get our beer and we were getting our food before our drinks! I won't be coming back for a while. I would recommend the restaurant based on the food, but if they're limited on time, I wouldn't suggest this particular restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Restaurant doesn't have welcoming vibe. Food was ok, but not too good of value. The only redeeming quality of this place is they have good waiter/waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great Service and Food for a Sunday afternoon. Booked through Opentable. My girls love their Unagi Don.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Really yummy, I love the ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The restaurant was highly recommended online. The food was good although it didn't stand out as amazing. We had a few mix ups with the order however it was corrected right away as the service was attentive. We sat in the patio which was quite lively at 5pm as it was rush hour so it was as expected lots of people watching. Overall it was good but just not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

No matter how long it has been, this restaurant always impresses. The staff are friendly and prompt and the food is exceptional. A very happy birthday it was!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

If you go here you need to try the eggplant poppers. They are the best

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Good. but it took long for a dish. Good mood. Nice service.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We needed a place to go before the k.d. lang concert at the nearby Orpheum on Granville, and since we hadn't been here, decided to try it. Nice atmosphere, quick service, authentic cuisine.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Worst service ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Delicious as always, with exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Horrid horrid horrid horrid horrid horrid horrid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Warm greeting and accommodating. Table service was a bit slow. Ribs were excellent!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Small menus, quality of the fishes is really fresh.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Small (not quaint). Restaurant was out of all our beer choices. On a Saturday at 730pm. Food was just ok. Some choices better than others. Disappointed as it came highly recommended from our concierge @ Four Seasons. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Good food as usual. Service was a bit 'off'. Water took a while to come and very limited check in by our server...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was really great, service was a bit slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The raw fish on the nigiri sushi were very good. Not into rolls but we enjoyed the real crab California roll nonetheless. Only issue was that the sushi rice was a little dry. But definitely worth a visit and an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food, service, ambience. Fab sake selection, and tasty specials. For those who want original, quality Japanese food in the heart of downtown.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

They have shortage of serving stuffs. I had to wait seven minutes to get water from the server after I was seated. Their food was good. My friend got impressed by the sake flight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The ramen was so delicious. The patio seating was very comfortable. It was great to be able to eat and watch the city boom. This place has great food and a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

I personally thought the food and service were awesome. My brother said there are better ramen places around town. But I enjoyed it except the table we were sat at was dark and we had to use our cell phones to look at the menus.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The back ribs were very dry. Too dry for my taste but all of the other food was great. We usually sit at the back of the dining room which we like but this time we sat right behind the host stand so not the best view and it was cold by the door. We generally like the food and service here so we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 17, 2017

First time to this restaurant and was not disappointed.
Food was excellent, fresh and presented beautifully.
Service was outstanding.
Our server was attentive and helpful.
Would definitely go back .. actually, we went the next day for lunch as well !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Just came back, but can't seem to review yet, so I'm posting on an old one.

First time I was here: awesome. Last time before tonight: it was noticeably worse. This time: completely inedible food. What's worse was how they handled it.

In short: Bad attitude, Bad service, bad food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The best ribs I've had in my life, friendly service in traditional Izakaya style. Great sake selection, some staff know more about sake than others, but the menu is quite thorough by itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very tasty sushi, high quality fish. Extraordinary selection of sake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We showed up 20 mins late after calling ahead and were graciously seated, we were super thankful as it was very busy! It went downhill from there and I am so sad as I have been here many times and it is my favourite choice before a show downtown. We ordered drinks within five minutes and our food 5 mins after that. It took 30 mins for half of my order to come out, which was fine because obviously on a Saturday night things would take a bit longer. 10 minutes later, my husbands 3 basic rolls were brought out. My husband's beer glass also sat empty for 15 minutes before our server came over. After we had been waiting for over an hour, it was 15 minutes before our show was starting and the main part of my meal was still nowhere to be seen. We had to flag down another server (maybe a busboy, not sure) to ask for the roll to be cancelled and run after paying our bill. The hostess was amazing and apologetic but she unfortunately was not our server! The food we ate was decent but it by far was not worth a 45 minute wait nor was it even filling for me. We ended up having to make a second dinner when we got home late that night.

I totally get that things can take longer on a busy weekend, but our server only came by once to apologize for the wait after 25 mins of waiting. An hour is totally unacceptable. Please hire some better serving staff or educate your current employees! We couldn't even flag her down due to her constant hanging around the back. We're sad because we love it here but can't risk going hungry or missing our shows!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I find it one of the best spot for a lunch in Vancouver Downtown close to Financial District. Their lunch menu is really good: Seaweed Salad and lunch specials are amazing

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Only place my hubby will eat Sushi. Very fresh and great service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant. Great food and service, creative menu, dishes we had never tried before. Everything was well prepared. Will go to again in the future.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Nice Japanese Restarant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I like the ambiance and the price is reasonable, but the food was not as good as u expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Outstanding sushi at moderate prices! This place is a gem!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent service. Actually very impressed and blown away by the server's attentiveness and politeness. Food very good too. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.