About Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro

833 Granville Steet
Vancouver, BC V6Z1K7
View Larger Map

We offer traditional Japanese cuisine with contemporary flair; the freshest ingredients available, extensive offerings of super premium dai ginjo sake, creative cocktails and a thoughtful selection of wine that pairs well with Japanese cuisine. Our knowledgeable and attentive staff will guide you through your experience in a fun and helpful way. An interior featuring warm colours & Japanese architectural art bathed in muted light await you.

You could describe the menu as ‘sushi-sushi' style. A vibrant menu designed for fun! On the menu you will find small plates, plates for sharing and exquisite plates for passionate Japanese food lovers. On the feature sheets; fresh finds, seasonal items and traditional Japanese offerings valued by our Japanese guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Open 365days!
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45am - 4:30pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:30pm;

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Robson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 687-6622

Website:
http://www.shuraku.net/

Entertainment:
At Shuraku, our kitchen concept is open. Counter seating is available both at the kitchen and the bar so pull up a seat and enjoy the show!
All along Granville Street you'll find shopping, theatres and nightclubs. If you are a sports enthusiast; General Motors Place (the Canucks and other live entertainment) and B.C. Place (the B.C. Lions) are within walking distance. Is the game sold out? Enjoy a cocktail while you watch our HD screen in the bar area. Whether you are alone or with a group you are sure you to have a great time at Shuraku!

Catering:
For business, a special event or pleasure; we can provide catering services from cocktails to a full-service event.
With over 20 years experience, our catering coordinator can surely provide you with the assistance required to help you host a successful and memorable event. This can include everything from event coordination, site selection and staffing to delivering prepared selections to your party.
Please call Iori Kataoka should you be interested in our services.

Parking Details:
We are centrally located in the heart of downtown Vancouver (Granville and Robson). You will find metered parking available on Howe St. (southbound street; one block west of us), Hornby Street (northbound street, two blocks west of us) and Seymour St. (northbound street; one block east of us). You may even luck out on Granville Street! Public Lots can be located off the alley just behind us, and in both Pacific Centre Shopping Mall and the Telus Building located just north of us.

Public Transit:
We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.

Executive Chef:
Yusuke Tomita

Private Party Facilities:
Conveniently located in the heart of Vancouver D/T and walking distance from all major hotels, Shuraku offers 30 people intimate sake tasting dinner course to 80 people cocktail party with beautifully crafted Japanese cuisine created by Chef Masa. Still some space left for 2010 Winter Olympic.

Private Party Contact:
Iori Kataoka: 6046876622x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer sake dinner events throughout the year inviting sake makers from Japan and/or local sake specialists. If you are interested, please sign up by sending an email message to info@shuraku.net.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Japanese
Vancouver
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Granville Entertainment District ›

Casual (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Great for Lunch (10)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Tapas (6)
Fun (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
494 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food here is amazing.

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food here is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good. The specials were excellent and th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Good. The specials were excellent and the food was very good value.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was ok. No specialty in the rolls. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was ok. No specialty in the rolls. Beef tataki was extremely chewy. The beef ribs were undercooked and very fatty. There was a washroom smell that radiates through the restaurant not as appetizing next table also made the same comment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good service good foods.

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good service good foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good especially the bbq ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was really good especially the bbq rib - but everything was a little salty to me. Every time I visited there were a couple of large groups on the side and they were very very and very noisy. I saw a couple sitting next to one of the large group and they looked very unplesant. But what can they do, right?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Newly rediscovered for us, the second ti ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Newly rediscovered for us, the second time we have been back in the past 2 months, great food and amazing sake selection. Everything is well thought out and well presented, and the portion size is perfect. Flavors and variety make for a great dining experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was really very nice restaurant in Va ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was really very nice restaurant in Vancouver. Moreover, I felt any energetic mood in there. I look forward to coming again with my friends in near future.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very happy to find this place: The food ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Very happy to find this place: The food is very good---a notch above average for Japanese cuisine in Vancouver. They do take care in their preparation and presentation. The donburi with thin slices of tuna and avocado tasted authentic with the yuzu accent! Our waiter was very patient and helpful with my friend who doesn't speak English well.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food and service was great. Try the ribs ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food and service was great. Try the ribs. Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favourite Vancouver sushi by far... I ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My favourite Vancouver sushi by far... I can't bring myself to eat anywhere else when I come to town!! A great experience every time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always dined at Shuraku because ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We have always dined at Shuraku because of the freshness of their sashimi and sushi. It would be great though if the slice of the fish in their sashimi and sushi were a bit thicker.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was brilliant. All the staff ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The service was brilliant. All the staff members said "irasshaimase!" when we entered which was very nice and welcoming. I think the food is fine for people who mostly want sushi rolls. The other dishes were overall ok. I think Japanese people who grew up in Japan (including me) would have higher expectations which is the only reason why I wouldn't recommend this restaurant, but by no means was the food bad in any sense.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

The restaurant is conveniently located a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The restaurant is conveniently located at Granville and Robson, close to the downtown hotel where I was staying. The waitstaff was friendly and attentive. I had the salmon sashimi, dragon roll, and BBQ back ribs. Everything was delicious. I'd have loved to try more things, but didn't have room left after a full and satisfying meal. Maybe the next time I visit Vancouver!

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Their ebi gyoza (prawn dumplings) appy i ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Their ebi gyoza (prawn dumplings) appy is a must try. Our lunch order arrived within a reasonable time. Decent portion size, and more importantly they are consistent.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Space looked cool, the cocktails took fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Space looked cool, the cocktails took forever to come to the table... and the rolls didn't taste all that great. The salmon roll was actually the best tasting, skip the volcano roll... it was gross.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Very busy on a Saturday night at 8pm, wa ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very busy on a Saturday night at 8pm, was very glad that we had a reservation. Again, took about two minutes before the hostess got to us, but we were seated within a minute after that. Food was amazing, again. Got the real crab California roll, Dynamic roll, albacore tuna sashimi, grilled cod and bbq pork ribs which were very tender. Quick and efficient service and our server even remembered us from the week before!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Getting seated might take a minute or tw ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Getting seated might take a minute or two or three, but once you're seated everything goes pretty smoothly. Food arrived in a timely manner, server was great, and food tastes great! Ordered the real crab California roll, dynamic roll, kappa and yam tempura rolls. Two thumbs up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My partner and I came here for our one s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My partner and I came here for our one special night out while in Vancouver on a mini vacation. We asked to sit outside, which was warm with the heaters and provided good people watching. We had a variety of nigiri and 2 or 3 rolls and overall the food was fine. Not out of this world though, which I admit I was sort of expecting for Vancouver seafood. We had a chilled sake flight as well, and we were happy with that. They were able to provide tamari (gluten free soy sauce) which is a must for us. Next time we're in town I will try a different spot, though.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Japanese food, good for sharing. We ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good Japanese food, good for sharing. We had a wonderful waiter, Franz, who gave great recommendations and kept the food coming.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Shuraku was a perfectly acceptable sushi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Shuraku was a perfectly acceptable sushi experience. All Salmon and Tuna smelled and tasted fresh. The rolls themselves were quite good - their daily specials were a highlight. Selection of Sake is good. Selection of other beverages isn't great. It's not the best Sushi place in Van, but it was the best within walking distance to my hotel.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lots of specialities starting with the u ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Lots of specialities starting with the uni that was delicious. The volcano was also something to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Patrick, the bartender and server is awe ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Patrick, the bartender and server is awesome. Patrick provides not only superb service but also attentive to details which makes him exceptional.

The quality of food is excellent - and they are consistent. Food is delicious and will highly recommend. I go to Shuraku at lease twice a week.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, we loved our meal at Shuraku. T ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Overall, we loved our meal at Shuraku. The service was fantastic, with our waitress helping us pick dishes and making suggestions for things we might not have tried before. The barbecued squid and ribs were outstanding, and the sushi rolls we ordered were creative and fresh. We tried a new appetizer off the specials menu that she said was still "a work in progress," and then asked for our feedback for the chef (it was good but not still needed a few tweaks to become something amazing). Overall, we were quite happy and would gladly return on a future trip to Vancouver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I dine out a lot. Owner should train ser ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 6, 2016

I dine out a lot. Owner should train servers what "Omoteneshi" is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Bustling, energetic vibe with attentive ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Bustling, energetic vibe with attentive service and fresh, inspired dishes - the enchanted forest roll is a must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The servers are direct almost to a flaw. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The servers are direct almost to a flaw. Kindafelt like I was beING talked down to

Food was also great but should specify that it is el'ecarte or however uu say that lol.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, too noisy, bad service ( ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food, too noisy, bad service (appetizer arrived at the end of the meal).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Great service and delicious food. I was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service and delicious food. I was very impressed with the restaurant for my first experience. For sure will come again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious! Liked having option ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was delicious! Liked having option of traditional Japanese dishes in addition to sushi. Somewhat pricey for smaller plates of food. We had to order more food after eating our entrees which was disappointing. We had an excellent server! Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Table is extremely dirty and dishes are ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Table is extremely dirty and dishes are not washed properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Not the best option in Vancouver downtow ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Not the best option in Vancouver downtown

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

I have been going to Shuraku for years; ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 1, 2016

I have been going to Shuraku for years; the quality of food has always been outstanding and consistent. It's a casual or casual-dress restaurant. The tuna and salmon sashimi is very fresh, the BBQ ribs is delicious and the spacial rolls are fantastic. The size of the rolls are perfect (I hate the super large rolls that do not fit into a human mouth). The quality of the service is very good and the portions are very reasonable. I do not recommend it to large families that are interested in all-you-can-eat type of restaurants. If you are a group of four or more, I recommend making a reservation. Overall, it's a great Japanese restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We waited with no service and left.

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We waited with no service and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The restaurant was great. Awesome decor ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The restaurant was great. Awesome decor with friendly service and an extensive menu. It's a great place to try your hand at drinking sake. I mentioned beforehand that I was bringing someone for their birthday and the staff was kind enough to make him a birthday card signed by everyone in the restaurant! I really appreciated their efforts and they were all extremely sweet. The food is great, if you're a fan of Japanese cuisine then this place is the perfect spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We got sick from the sushi. I will not g ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We got sick from the sushi. I will not go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Really good value and great location. Se ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Really good value and great location. Server was excellent although our food took a little while but it was really good

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The sushi was okay but the short ribs we ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 19, 2016

The sushi was okay but the short ribs were awful and the waitress was sub par and in general - I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Excellent food

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Pleasantly surprised by our dinner exper ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by our dinner experience. All the dishes we ordered were well-executed and made for a very nice dinner for my family and I. The lighting was perfect, the ambiance was comfortable. The restaurant was loud, but not loud enough where we couldn't hear each other. Food was fresh and delicious. Standout dishes for me was the Hitsu-mabushi and the BBQ whole squid. Outstanding! Don't want to spend the money to dine at Minami or Miku? I think you'd be just as happy here at Shuraku.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Got greeted as soon as we entered the re ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Got greeted as soon as we entered the restaurant. It had a nice dim atmosphere with the back wall lit with thin strands of lights behind a paper mural. The food was excellent however there seemed to be an insufficient amount of people working since our food took extremely long to arrive and even getting the bill to pay for the meal took longer than usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.