Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro

4.3
634 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Authentic
  • Pre/post Theatre
We offer traditional Japanese cuisine with contemporary flair; the freshest ingredients available, extensive offerings of super premium dai ginjo sake, creative cocktails and a thoughtful selection of wine that pairs well with Japanese cuisine. Our knowledgeable and attentive staff will guide you through your experience in a fun and helpful way. An interior featuring warm colours & Japanese architectural art bathed in muted light await you.

You could describe the menu as ‘sushi-sushi' style. A vibrant menu designed for fun! On the menu you will find small plates, plates for sharing and exquisite plates for passionate Japanese food lovers. On the feature sheets; fresh finds, seasonal items and traditional Japanese offerings valued by our Japanese guests.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45am - 4:30pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:30pm;

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(604) 687-6622
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Yusuke Tomita
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Conveniently located in the heart of Vancouver D/T and walking distance from all major hotels, Shuraku offers 30 people intimate sake tasting dinner course to 80 people cocktail party with beautifully crafted Japanese cuisine created by Chef Masa. Still some space left for 2010 Winter Olympic.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Iori Kataoka: (604) 687-6622
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For business, a special event or pleasure; we can provide catering services from cocktails to a full-service event.
With over 20 years experience, our catering coordinator can surely provide you with the assistance required to help you host a successful and memorable event. This can include everything from event coordination, site selection and staffing to delivering prepared selections to your party.
Please call Iori Kataoka should you be interested in our services.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Robson Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We are centrally located in the heart of downtown Vancouver (Granville and Robson). You will find metered parking available on Howe St. (southbound street; one block west of us), Hornby Street (northbound street, two blocks west of us) and Seymour St. (northbound street; one block east of us). You may even luck out on Granville Street! Public Lots can be located off the alley just behind us, and in both Pacific Centre Shopping Mall and the Telus Building located just north of us.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
At Shuraku, our kitchen concept is open. Counter seating is available both at the kitchen and the bar so pull up a seat and enjoy the show!
All along Granville Street you'll find shopping, theatres and nightclubs. If you are a sports enthusiast; General Motors Place (the Canucks and other live entertainment) and B.C. Place (the B.C. Lions) are within walking distance. Is the game sold out? Enjoy a cocktail while you watch our HD screen in the bar area. Whether you are alone or with a group you are sure you to have a great time at Shuraku!
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We offer sake dinner events throughout the year inviting sake makers from Japan and/or local sake specialists. If you are interested, please sign up by sending an email message to info@shuraku.net.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 634 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.0
service
3.8
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Place is a bit shabby and a table nearby had way too much to drink. Dropped the f bomb on numerous occasions-glad my young grandkids were not with us.
Food ok-

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Restaurant was very busy and food took a long time to arrive (20-30mins). The quality was also not as good as we were used to. Have been here before and the fish was very fresh. This time the spicy salmon roll was a weird pasty/gooey mush, and did not smell fresh. For the high prices, I would have expected higher quality food and quicker service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Food and price is great. It's just so so loud in there

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Excellent variety in the Gozen Box which changes from time to time. The pork ribs are especially tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I have never been disappointed.
Great location- Steps away from Vogue, Commodore and Orpheum Theaters.

Please put Tuna Tataki back on the evening menu !!!

Thank you !
Duchess

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Couldn't get a reservation at Black Rice Izakaya, but Shuraku turned out to be a nice alternative for our pre-concert dinner. Tasty selections. No blaring music. Nice informal atmosphere. Great service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 26, 2018

We were seated right in front the door, immediately asked host/server if possible to change table as restaurant was not busy. He was not too impressed by our request even though the restaurant was 1/5 full. If we were left with no choice I would understand, but there were plenty of seats including the bar.

After seated, no one bothered to greet or bring water to our table. Took at least 10 minutes before someone realized we were there and brought water to our table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Good service the waiters are really friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Really enjoyed the sukiyaki one person pot meal, a bit short on vegetables, but yummy! I had it with a side of udon noodles for $1, great value! The sake margaritas are to die for, very tasty, could drink many of those! Also the matcha cheesecake was very nice, with a chocolate crumb base and fruit coulis. All in all we would come back to try more tasty bites, looks like a great menu. Service was a bit slow but it was heavy traffic time, before the Pops performance at the Orpheum and the line up at the Commodore. Reservations recommended.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great service! Very knowledgeable and friendly. The food was very good—and beautiful presentation.

The only thing was the beef tataki should have been beef carpaccio—very thin and very tender but it was not. It seems that it may not have been typical offering though? Perhaps a one off? They handled it professionally. It’s too bad as the salad and dressing was tasty -we really would have enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Always amazing place for good eats and friendly staff! The waitress did an awesome job of administrating our game of credit card roulette!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Poor staffing continue to plague this place. They would have more regular customers if they tried but obviously work in the volume over retention principles of business

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The beef ribs were tender and tasty - fell right off the bones. The eggplant filled with ground pork sounded interesting but was small and missing something for an appy "poppers". The Rainbow roll offered a good variety of salmon/tuna/shrimp topping but bit pricey for size; however expected for downtown. The other appy (eel & tamago) was okay but would not order again. We had reservations (5:30) for pre-show (7:30) but felt 'rushed' as service was completed within 40 minutes for an evening out. We have been here before and remembered the specials for being innovative. Overall good sushi but no 'wow' factor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Always love the food here and great service.
Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

The food was amazing. I did have to leave after done but the waiter didn’t seem to come back to get our bills on time which made me late. Overall really amazing food and environment! Will go again!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Usually this spot is a favourite for us, but there was a group of 30+ young adults (under 25) seated in the restaurant, and they were quite obnoxious. The restaurant turned all the lights out to sing happy birthday, which riled up the already rambunctious group and was very disruptive to conversation. When I mentioned that it was quite loud and we would have preferred to have been warned about the group either when we made our reservation, or when we were seated, I was disappointed by her attitude and demeanor (I felt dismissed). I'll be trying other places nearby before I go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Have dined here a number of times (most recently on 20 Feb 2018) and always good food at a reasonable price. I prefer to order several dishes to share and the options are very tasty. The vegetarian options are quite good, especially the tempura vegetables. The staff are friendly and the service is pretty quick. On Tuesdays, the Sapporo beer is available at happy hour prices.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Well located for pre- or post-theatre meals, Shuraku offers a wonderful variety of Japanese dishes. It is fun to try different dishes and the prices are reasonable for such consistently good food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 31, 2018

We’ve frequented this once great Sushi place over many years ever since it first opened. The decor is getting tired, the service is barely there and the food is a ripoff for the prices you pay. $100+ for 2 with 1 sake and 1 beer and we left hungry. The rolls are poorly constructed and about half the size they used to be and were way to salty. The only good aspect was the whole grilled squid that’s always been good. No house sake, no ginger with your Sushi, tiny wasabi and you have to ask the host to send the server over to order multiple times . All around pricey and disappointing experience. Maybe I’ll try one last time in the future because of all the good meals in the past, but please find some less condescending servers that don’t make you feel stupid you don’t speak their language, since English is apparently too difficult for them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

My second time to this restaurant and I cannot wait for my next visit. the service was amazing. fast, courteous, friendly and knowledgeable. our seating was comfortable and the food. oh my the food was sooo delicious. Sukiyaki, Kinpira, ribs, tuna, gomae... the way to my heart is definitely through my stomach and this restaurant definitely has my heart!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Friends and I went before a show at the Orpheum. Great service and delicious fresh seafood! The three way tuna, eggplant bombs, chefs special sashimi plate and their rolls were sooo good!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Flawless food and fine dining service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Always enjoyed the food here, one of the best sushi restaurants in town!.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Food portions can be a bit small for the price but it is to be expected in the heart of DT Vancouver. Overall a very good restaurant with great service that helped celebrate my birthday!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Fantastic food the octopus karaage was incredible!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Great New Year’s Eve dinner!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Los platillos a tiempo, el sabor muy bien la presentación bien, en general el
Restaurant bien, le falta limpieza.
El
Precio corresponde a la calidad y sabor bastante accesible!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Another great dinner at Shuraku! Matt, the bartender, delivers just the right attention and humour to everyone in our group. The staff are great and food is so delicious! Arigatou Gozaimashita!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Great food and casual ambiance. Their three-way tuna is a must try

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Food is not as good as it used to be, but price keeps going up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Sashimi! Fresh, melt in your mouth. What an awesome find. Excellent sake flights..and I didn't really enjoy sake until now. The shrimp tempura was great, lightly crisp.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Food was not great, service was okay. But food was very pricy and it's not what I extected. The place is too pricey . And we made a reservation and the place where we sat was aweful. You guys could have given us a booth instead of table near the door.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 6, 2017

Terrific !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 29, 2017

I really love their sake selection! Best place in town to get sake and sake flights!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 29, 2017

Amazing service, fresh food. A little expensive but you’re paying for the location, ambiance and service. I would definitely come back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

Great food and fantastic service. To help us decide on the right sake from their large menu, our waitress bought us tasters if there varieties. Food was delicious and service was attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 20, 2017

Great place to meet up with friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 19, 2017

The sushi was very good. It was a very rainy day, they took our jackets and hung them up. The service was very good. Very polite. I will visit this place again next time I am in town

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 15, 2017

Excellent food. Sashimi is fresh. BBQ back rib is a must-try. I sat at the bar. The bartender was very attentive and provided great recommendations. A pretty impressive sake selection. Sake flight is recommended if you don’t know what to pick.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2017

We enjoyed a light dinner prior to attending a concert at the Orpheum Theater across the street. Made a nice evening into a great evening!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16

Tweets by Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro