About Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro

833 Granville Steet
Vancouver, BC V6Z1K7
View Larger Map

We offer traditional Japanese cuisine with contemporary flair; the freshest ingredients available, extensive offerings of super premium dai ginjo sake, creative cocktails and a thoughtful selection of wine that pairs well with Japanese cuisine. Our knowledgeable and attentive staff will guide you through your experience in a fun and helpful way. An interior featuring warm colours & Japanese architectural art bathed in muted light await you.

You could describe the menu as ‘sushi-sushi' style. A vibrant menu designed for fun! On the menu you will find small plates, plates for sharing and exquisite plates for passionate Japanese food lovers. On the feature sheets; fresh finds, seasonal items and traditional Japanese offerings valued by our Japanese guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Open 365days!
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45am - 4:30pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:30pm;

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Robson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 687-6622

Website:
http://www.shuraku.net/

Entertainment:
At Shuraku, our kitchen concept is open. Counter seating is available both at the kitchen and the bar so pull up a seat and enjoy the show!
All along Granville Street you'll find shopping, theatres and nightclubs. If you are a sports enthusiast; General Motors Place (the Canucks and other live entertainment) and B.C. Place (the B.C. Lions) are within walking distance. Is the game sold out? Enjoy a cocktail while you watch our HD screen in the bar area. Whether you are alone or with a group you are sure you to have a great time at Shuraku!

Catering:
For business, a special event or pleasure; we can provide catering services from cocktails to a full-service event.
With over 20 years experience, our catering coordinator can surely provide you with the assistance required to help you host a successful and memorable event. This can include everything from event coordination, site selection and staffing to delivering prepared selections to your party.
Please call Iori Kataoka should you be interested in our services.

Parking Details:
We are centrally located in the heart of downtown Vancouver (Granville and Robson). You will find metered parking available on Howe St. (southbound street; one block west of us), Hornby Street (northbound street, two blocks west of us) and Seymour St. (northbound street; one block east of us). You may even luck out on Granville Street! Public Lots can be located off the alley just behind us, and in both Pacific Centre Shopping Mall and the Telus Building located just north of us.

Public Transit:
We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.

Executive Chef:
Yusuke Tomita

Private Party Facilities:
Conveniently located in the heart of Vancouver D/T and walking distance from all major hotels, Shuraku offers 30 people intimate sake tasting dinner course to 80 people cocktail party with beautifully crafted Japanese cuisine created by Chef Masa. Still some space left for 2010 Winter Olympic.

Private Party Contact:
Iori Kataoka: 6046876622x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer sake dinner events throughout the year inviting sake makers from Japan and/or local sake specialists. If you are interested, please sign up by sending an email message to info@shuraku.net.

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Granville Entertainment District ›

Fit for Foodies (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Groups (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Hot Spot (11)
Casual (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Romantic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tapas (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My partner and I came here for our one s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My partner and I came here for our one special night out while in Vancouver on a mini vacation. We asked to sit outside, which was warm with the heaters and provided good people watching. We had a variety of nigiri and 2 or 3 rolls and overall the food was fine. Not out of this world though, which I admit I was sort of expecting for Vancouver seafood. We had a chilled sake flight as well, and we were happy with that. They were able to provide tamari (gluten free soy sauce) which is a must for us. Next time we're in town I will try a different spot, though.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Japanese food, good for sharing. We ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good Japanese food, good for sharing. We had a wonderful waiter, Franz, who gave great recommendations and kept the food coming.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Shuraku was a perfectly acceptable sushi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Shuraku was a perfectly acceptable sushi experience. All Salmon and Tuna smelled and tasted fresh. The rolls themselves were quite good - their daily specials were a highlight. Selection of Sake is good. Selection of other beverages isn't great. It's not the best Sushi place in Van, but it was the best within walking distance to my hotel.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lots of specialities starting with the u ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Lots of specialities starting with the uni that was delicious. The volcano was also something to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Patrick, the bartender and server is awe ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Patrick, the bartender and server is awesome. Patrick provides not only superb service but also attentive to details which makes him exceptional.

The quality of food is excellent - and they are consistent. Food is delicious and will highly recommend. I go to Shuraku at lease twice a week.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, we loved our meal at Shuraku. T ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Overall, we loved our meal at Shuraku. The service was fantastic, with our waitress helping us pick dishes and making suggestions for things we might not have tried before. The barbecued squid and ribs were outstanding, and the sushi rolls we ordered were creative and fresh. We tried a new appetizer off the specials menu that she said was still "a work in progress," and then asked for our feedback for the chef (it was good but not still needed a few tweaks to become something amazing). Overall, we were quite happy and would gladly return on a future trip to Vancouver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I dine out a lot. Owner should train ser ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I dine out a lot. Owner should train servers what "Omoteneshi" is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Bustling, energetic vibe with attentive ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Bustling, energetic vibe with attentive service and fresh, inspired dishes - the enchanted forest roll is a must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The servers are direct almost to a flaw. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The servers are direct almost to a flaw. Kindafelt like I was beING talked down to

Food was also great but should specify that it is el'ecarte or however uu say that lol.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, too noisy, bad service ( ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food, too noisy, bad service (appetizer arrived at the end of the meal).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Great service and delicious food. I was ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service and delicious food. I was very impressed with the restaurant for my first experience. For sure will come again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious! Liked having option ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was delicious! Liked having option of traditional Japanese dishes in addition to sushi. Somewhat pricey for smaller plates of food. We had to order more food after eating our entrees which was disappointing. We had an excellent server! Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Table is extremely dirty and dishes are ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Table is extremely dirty and dishes are not washed properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Not the best option in Vancouver downtow ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Not the best option in Vancouver downtown

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

I have been going to Shuraku for years; ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I have been going to Shuraku for years; the quality of food has always been outstanding and consistent. It's a casual or casual-dress restaurant. The tuna and salmon sashimi is very fresh, the BBQ ribs is delicious and the spacial rolls are fantastic. The size of the rolls are perfect (I hate the super large rolls that do not fit into a human mouth). The quality of the service is very good and the portions are very reasonable. I do not recommend it to large families that are interested in all-you-can-eat type of restaurants. If you are a group of four or more, I recommend making a reservation. Overall, it's a great Japanese restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We waited with no service and left.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We waited with no service and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The restaurant was great. Awesome decor ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The restaurant was great. Awesome decor with friendly service and an extensive menu. It's a great place to try your hand at drinking sake. I mentioned beforehand that I was bringing someone for their birthday and the staff was kind enough to make him a birthday card signed by everyone in the restaurant! I really appreciated their efforts and they were all extremely sweet. The food is great, if you're a fan of Japanese cuisine then this place is the perfect spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We got sick from the sushi. I will not g ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We got sick from the sushi. I will not go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Really good value and great location. Se ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Really good value and great location. Server was excellent although our food took a little while but it was really good

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The sushi was okay but the short ribs we ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The sushi was okay but the short ribs were awful and the waitress was sub par and in general - I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Excellent food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Pleasantly surprised by our dinner exper ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by our dinner experience. All the dishes we ordered were well-executed and made for a very nice dinner for my family and I. The lighting was perfect, the ambiance was comfortable. The restaurant was loud, but not loud enough where we couldn't hear each other. Food was fresh and delicious. Standout dishes for me was the Hitsu-mabushi and the BBQ whole squid. Outstanding! Don't want to spend the money to dine at Minami or Miku? I think you'd be just as happy here at Shuraku.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Got greeted as soon as we entered the re ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Got greeted as soon as we entered the restaurant. It had a nice dim atmosphere with the back wall lit with thin strands of lights behind a paper mural. The food was excellent however there seemed to be an insufficient amount of people working since our food took extremely long to arrive and even getting the bill to pay for the meal took longer than usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Not bad, right on Granville Street.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Not bad, right on Granville Street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Good for group drink ! We usually go the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good for group drink !

We usually go there Friday night

But this time we went week day night !

We got good service and good food

I strongly recommend this Japanese restrant is really good !

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was in Toronto last year and I was ama ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was in Toronto last year and I was amaze with their Japanese buffet, but people said I should go in Vancouver and it's way better, so I expect a bit more, the server offer me a special for lunch, and it was average the portioning of the food are too small and tempura were okay , it took a little while before it was serve, the guy who's serving was nice .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

I have been here a few times, and the su ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I have been here a few times, and the sushi is always a decent quality. A nice extensive sake list. Fun for before hitting an event or evening out on the town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

I first went to Shiraku about a week pri ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I first went to Shiraku about a week prior. The restaurant had a good, upbeat feel to it. The first time I went, I had the smoked salmon under glass. It was amazing! The eggplant agebatashi was also excellent. The server forgot my sunomono salad so hopefully it was taken off the bill. On my most recent visit, I went there with a young friend before going to a concert. We ordered sunomono salads, the eggplant agebatashi, the smoked mackerel and an assortment of sushi. We also ordered an assortment of pickles that the server forgot to bring and when I mentioned it, the cost was deducted from our bill. The sunomono salad had thick rice noodles whereas I prefer the thin ones and the sushi seemed like any good sushi in the city. It is the other things on the menu that make Shuraku special. Unfortunately, they were out of lotus root on my second visit so we were unable to try it. Unfortunately, the smoked salmon under glass was also not available the second visit. We enjoyed a delicious meal anyway. If you love food, this is a great restaurant to explore new tastes and the staff are friendly and attentive (if somewhat forgetful).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We booked last minute The restaurant w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We booked last minute The restaurant was cheerful and busy. There were greetings and orders being called put in Japanese which added to the charm. Food was good. Staff were friendly courteous and well trained. A fun place for dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I visited few times and and last visit w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I visited few times and and last visit was the worse experience that I had. There were many staffs but they provided not enough service. I need to wait long time for me to order the Sake. I made reservation long ago and asked to reserve the bar table and they gave us a table near the entrance. We have kind of argue with them to get

the bar table seats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Always great

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I love Shuraku for their consistency of food, service and value. Their stone curry is amazing ... best i've enjoyed. Anywhere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Fresh and tasty sushi in the heart of downtown

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I thought that I got pretty good sushi in Montreal. Well, let me tell you, there is nothing like fresh sourcing in Vancouver to make a difference. The chefs are Japanese and take their art very seriously. The place is clean and oriental in style, but in a small eatery like this near Nordstrom's you are not looking for decor as your primary motivator: it should be the food!

The Bluefin Negi-Toro was exceptional, the balance of the rolls were all very, very good. The chef's sampler of sashimi was expensive for what was offered, but you could taste the quality in the selection of fish.

Beer prices are reasonable, wine list is forgettable. You are not there for the wine!

I would certainly return, excellent overall value for the money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Brilliant Sushi exactly what we had hoped for

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a lovely meal. Perfect food. Freshest and best sashimi we have ever eaten. Kind, friendly and attentive service. Restaurant and bar had a great, buzzy vibe. Would make a detour to come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Excellent food, especially the hot don and the Rainbow don

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and customer service.

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent food and customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good enough, but nothing to write home about.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Best described as a mediocre, to slightly better than mediocre dining experience. The restaurant is in a great location, in the heart of one of the main shopping and dining areas. The restaurant was pretty, and offered an acceptable ambience for my wife and I, who were on a getaway for the weekend. It was not particularly romantic, though, because tables were fairly close together. The service was pretty good. The food was, as stated in the title of the review, good enough. I was hoping for more - flavour, value, etc. The ramen soup was salty, but acceptable. The sushi was not, especially for the cost. The rolls were rather small, all things considered, and on par with a very typical sushi restaurant in Toronto. The black cod was also okay, but did not stand out in any way. Overall, I am sure that we would just try somewhere else next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Love my grilled saba!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Love my grilled saba!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Not bad

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Good service, nice meal, and unique drink.........

That's all. I whould have expected more something.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We sat outside on Granville so can't spe ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

We sat outside on Granville so can't speak to the noise level inside but we had great service and the food was really good! Will def go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent choices

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

The ribs are truly "fall off the bone" and the flavour with the Asian BBQ sauce was awesome! We also had the Tofu and Avocado Salad as well as a few orders of the Godfather Rolls. Everything was excellent. Itadakimasu!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.