Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro

We offer traditional Japanese cuisine with contemporary flair; the freshest ingredients available, extensive offerings of super premium dai ginjo sake, creative cocktails and a thoughtful selection of wine that pairs well with Japanese cuisine. Our knowledgeable and attentive staff will guide you through your experience in a fun and helpful way. An interior featuring warm colours & Japanese architectural art bathed in muted light await you.

You could describe the menu as ‘sushi-sushi' style. A vibrant menu designed for fun! On the menu you will find small plates, plates for sharing and exquisite plates for passionate Japanese food lovers. On the feature sheets; fresh finds, seasonal items and traditional Japanese offerings valued by our Japanese guests.

833 Granville Steet
Vancouver, BC V6Z1K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Open 365days!
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45am - 4:30pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:30pm;

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Robson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 687-6622

Website:
http://www.shuraku.net/

Entertainment:
At Shuraku, our kitchen concept is open. Counter seating is available both at the kitchen and the bar so pull up a seat and enjoy the show!
All along Granville Street you'll find shopping, theatres and nightclubs. If you are a sports enthusiast; General Motors Place (the Canucks and other live entertainment) and B.C. Place (the B.C. Lions) are within walking distance. Is the game sold out? Enjoy a cocktail while you watch our HD screen in the bar area. Whether you are alone or with a group you are sure you to have a great time at Shuraku!

Catering:
For business, a special event or pleasure; we can provide catering services from cocktails to a full-service event.
With over 20 years experience, our catering coordinator can surely provide you with the assistance required to help you host a successful and memorable event. This can include everything from event coordination, site selection and staffing to delivering prepared selections to your party.
Please call Iori Kataoka should you be interested in our services.

Parking Details:
We are centrally located in the heart of downtown Vancouver (Granville and Robson). You will find metered parking available on Howe St. (southbound street; one block west of us), Hornby Street (northbound street, two blocks west of us) and Seymour St. (northbound street; one block east of us). You may even luck out on Granville Street! Public Lots can be located off the alley just behind us, and in both Pacific Centre Shopping Mall and the Telus Building located just north of us.

Public Transit:
We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.

Executive Chef:
Yusuke Tomita

Private Party Facilities:
Conveniently located in the heart of Vancouver D/T and walking distance from all major hotels, Shuraku offers 30 people intimate sake tasting dinner course to 80 people cocktail party with beautifully crafted Japanese cuisine created by Chef Masa. Still some space left for 2010 Winter Olympic.

Private Party Contact:
Iori Kataoka: (604) 687-6622

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer sake dinner events throughout the year inviting sake makers from Japan and/or local sake specialists. If you are interested, please sign up by sending an email message to info@shuraku.net.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fun (8)
See All
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Cozy (4)
Tapas (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Spicy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Although I do frequent Shuraku, and it's always been a favourite of ours, was somewhat disappointed by the wait to be seated despite having made a reservation. Once seated, the service as always was outstanding, and the food delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were a large group and our server handles all 10'of us so well even dividing up our bills and wine etc!
Will definitely return!
My avocado tofu salad was superb!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Read review from others & their raves were lived up to. Eggplant poppers not be missed. Lava roll (or was it a volcano roll... sake brain kicked in) was a delicious work of art. Fun eats to kick off our night on the town for these suburbanites. Hope we get back there soon.

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was fantastic. Make sure to order outside of the typical sushi and rolls. We ordered from the daily sheet and had some food that took us back to Japan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 25, 2017

High quality sashimi
Very tasty
Taste similar to sushi in Japan

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Overall, I had a very good experience. However, we were seated closest to the entrance on a very cold evening. I expected better seating since I reserved via OpenTable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food and sake. Can be a bit noisy when it gets busy, but overall a very good place for Japanese.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Not sure why people had bad experiences with this and not able to get the 1000 points. I have no issues with dinning here, my 4th time in a few years. There is a small lack of service, the waitress that seated us disappear after and we asked someone else to serve us. Items order came promptly and their fresh sheet has some interesting dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

There were 7 of us and we all had a great time with no complaints. Tasty food and quick service. We will return when back in Vancouver!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Won't honour the 1000 point tables. Do not go there. Lousy food. Expensive. Owner has attitude. Says it's too expensive to give out 1000 points so I'm wondering why they advertise it. Also if you are still eating 1.5 hours later no 1000 points. Or if you are late no 1000 points. If you cancelled reservation on them in the past no 1000 points. Any made up excuse not to award the 1000 points. Without the extra points not worth going for the food. This restaurant will go under soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Though we spent $300 for 5 people, we got kicked out to a corner table at 7 PM because 'our' table had been reserved for another party. Wish we'd known at the beginning. My wife was so incensed it ruined the rest of the evening at Blue Rodeo concert. Unacceptable! When we got home we found an e-mail from Shuraku (sent 5 minutes before the beginning of our reservation) advising us that our reservation ended at 5 PM... No thanks !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Friendly service, nice atmosphere and reasonable prices for good food. The Shuraku Gozen lunch special was great, it had a good amount of food and variety, well worth the $20!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was just so-so - took them a long time to take our order. When ordering the advice on the menu was very limited and found that the meals were incomplete. Food was just okay - nothing special but nothing really to complain about either. I don't see any reason to return when there are other fantastic restaurants in the area to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great place to enjoy some modern Japanese food! They have fresh seafood and unique cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My friend and I were seated promptly and given the night's special menu as well as the regular menu for dinner. Our food was served promptly, but everything seemed a little cold -- from the sencha tea in the cast iron tea pot to my unagi-rice bowl. Highlights: the service was very attentive and the Vancouver roll was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food is always amazing. Did a taste/value test against another well-rated and known Japanese restaurant and Shuraku is the best. Would go there anytime.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Never going to this place again. I have a review on yelp about this place. Food were small portions and the service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Service was slow and unorthodox. Food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The specials. Wild sockeye salmon tartar with raw quail egg. Seared cabbage with anchovie (Cabbachovie). BBQ squid. The smokey eggplant. One of my favorite Vancouver restaurants. Fun, full, active, imaginative, incredible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything about Shuraku is fantastic. It's why we keep going back.

Tags: Spicy, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Staff and food are always top-notch!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Current fav spot for downtown business lunch, great service and food! Love the atmosphere and energy!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Bad attitude. Food tastes stale. Not worth going especially in this kind of weather. Food takes forever, but not too pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our group enjoyed our entire experience! Service was knowledgeable and accommodating. Food is fantastic.....Try the ribs! We will certainly be back. this is now our go to place to eat on Granville. The server Franz is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food here is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Good. The specials were excellent and the food was very good value.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was ok. No specialty in the rolls. Beef tataki was extremely chewy. The beef ribs were undercooked and very fatty. There was a washroom smell that radiates through the restaurant not as appetizing next table also made the same comment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good service good foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was really good especially the bbq rib - but everything was a little salty to me. Every time I visited there were a couple of large groups on the side and they were very very and very noisy. I saw a couple sitting next to one of the large group and they looked very unplesant. But what can they do, right?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Newly rediscovered for us, the second time we have been back in the past 2 months, great food and amazing sake selection. Everything is well thought out and well presented, and the portion size is perfect. Flavors and variety make for a great dining experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was really very nice restaurant in Vancouver. Moreover, I felt any energetic mood in there. I look forward to coming again with my friends in near future.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Very happy to find this place: The food is very good---a notch above average for Japanese cuisine in Vancouver. They do take care in their preparation and presentation. The donburi with thin slices of tuna and avocado tasted authentic with the yuzu accent! Our waiter was very patient and helpful with my friend who doesn't speak English well.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food and service was great. Try the ribs. Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My favourite Vancouver sushi by far... I can't bring myself to eat anywhere else when I come to town!! A great experience every time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We have always dined at Shuraku because of the freshness of their sashimi and sushi. It would be great though if the slice of the fish in their sashimi and sushi were a bit thicker.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The service was brilliant. All the staff members said "irasshaimase!" when we entered which was very nice and welcoming. I think the food is fine for people who mostly want sushi rolls. The other dishes were overall ok. I think Japanese people who grew up in Japan (including me) would have higher expectations which is the only reason why I wouldn't recommend this restaurant, but by no means was the food bad in any sense.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The restaurant is conveniently located at Granville and Robson, close to the downtown hotel where I was staying. The waitstaff was friendly and attentive. I had the salmon sashimi, dragon roll, and BBQ back ribs. Everything was delicious. I'd have loved to try more things, but didn't have room left after a full and satisfying meal. Maybe the next time I visit Vancouver!

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Their ebi gyoza (prawn dumplings) appy is a must try. Our lunch order arrived within a reasonable time. Decent portion size, and more importantly they are consistent.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Space looked cool, the cocktails took forever to come to the table... and the rolls didn't taste all that great. The salmon roll was actually the best tasting, skip the volcano roll... it was gross.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very busy on a Saturday night at 8pm, was very glad that we had a reservation. Again, took about two minutes before the hostess got to us, but we were seated within a minute after that. Food was amazing, again. Got the real crab California roll, Dynamic roll, albacore tuna sashimi, grilled cod and bbq pork ribs which were very tender. Quick and efficient service and our server even remembered us from the week before!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.