Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro

We offer traditional Japanese cuisine with contemporary flair; the freshest ingredients available, extensive offerings of super premium dai ginjo sake, creative cocktails and a thoughtful selection of wine that pairs well with Japanese cuisine. Our knowledgeable and attentive staff will guide you through your experience in a fun and helpful way. An interior featuring warm colours & Japanese architectural art bathed in muted light await you.

You could describe the menu as ‘sushi-sushi' style. A vibrant menu designed for fun! On the menu you will find small plates, plates for sharing and exquisite plates for passionate Japanese food lovers. On the feature sheets; fresh finds, seasonal items and traditional Japanese offerings valued by our Japanese guests.

833 Granville Steet
Vancouver, BC V6Z1K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Open 365days!
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:45am - 4:30pm,
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:30pm;

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Robson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 687-6622

Website:
http://www.shuraku.net/

Entertainment:
At Shuraku, our kitchen concept is open. Counter seating is available both at the kitchen and the bar so pull up a seat and enjoy the show!
All along Granville Street you'll find shopping, theatres and nightclubs. If you are a sports enthusiast; General Motors Place (the Canucks and other live entertainment) and B.C. Place (the B.C. Lions) are within walking distance. Is the game sold out? Enjoy a cocktail while you watch our HD screen in the bar area. Whether you are alone or with a group you are sure you to have a great time at Shuraku!

Catering:
For business, a special event or pleasure; we can provide catering services from cocktails to a full-service event.
With over 20 years experience, our catering coordinator can surely provide you with the assistance required to help you host a successful and memorable event. This can include everything from event coordination, site selection and staffing to delivering prepared selections to your party.
Please call Iori Kataoka should you be interested in our services.

Parking Details:
We are centrally located in the heart of downtown Vancouver (Granville and Robson). You will find metered parking available on Howe St. (southbound street; one block west of us), Hornby Street (northbound street, two blocks west of us) and Seymour St. (northbound street; one block east of us). You may even luck out on Granville Street! Public Lots can be located off the alley just behind us, and in both Pacific Centre Shopping Mall and the Telus Building located just north of us.

Public Transit:
We are located one block from major public transit stops. Downtown bound buses travel north on Seymour (just east of us) and Outbound buses travel south on Howe just west of us. Using the Sky Train? Closest Stop is the Pacific Centre Mall; just 1 1/2 blocks to our north. Numerous taxis can be found up and down Granville entertainment corridor.

Executive Chef:
Yusuke Tomita

Private Party Facilities:
Conveniently located in the heart of Vancouver D/T and walking distance from all major hotels, Shuraku offers 30 people intimate sake tasting dinner course to 80 people cocktail party with beautifully crafted Japanese cuisine created by Chef Masa. Still some space left for 2010 Winter Olympic.

Private Party Contact:
Iori Kataoka: (604) 687-6622

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer sake dinner events throughout the year inviting sake makers from Japan and/or local sake specialists. If you are interested, please sign up by sending an email message to info@shuraku.net.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Shuraku Sake Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Authentic (8)
See All
Casual (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Tapas (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Cozy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

The back ribs were very dry. Too dry for my taste but all of the other food was great. We usually sit at the back of the dining room which we like but this time we sat right behind the host stand so not the best view and it was cold by the door. We generally like the food and service here so we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

First time to this restaurant and was not disappointed.
Food was excellent, fresh and presented beautifully.
Service was outstanding.
Our server was attentive and helpful.
Would definitely go back .. actually, we went the next day for lunch as well !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

The best ribs I've had in my life, friendly service in traditional Izakaya style. Great sake selection, some staff know more about sake than others, but the menu is quite thorough by itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very tasty sushi, high quality fish. Extraordinary selection of sake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We showed up 20 mins late after calling ahead and were graciously seated, we were super thankful as it was very busy! It went downhill from there and I am so sad as I have been here many times and it is my favourite choice before a show downtown. We ordered drinks within five minutes and our food 5 mins after that. It took 30 mins for half of my order to come out, which was fine because obviously on a Saturday night things would take a bit longer. 10 minutes later, my husbands 3 basic rolls were brought out. My husband's beer glass also sat empty for 15 minutes before our server came over. After we had been waiting for over an hour, it was 15 minutes before our show was starting and the main part of my meal was still nowhere to be seen. We had to flag down another server (maybe a busboy, not sure) to ask for the roll to be cancelled and run after paying our bill. The hostess was amazing and apologetic but she unfortunately was not our server! The food we ate was decent but it by far was not worth a 45 minute wait nor was it even filling for me. We ended up having to make a second dinner when we got home late that night.

I totally get that things can take longer on a busy weekend, but our server only came by once to apologize for the wait after 25 mins of waiting. An hour is totally unacceptable. Please hire some better serving staff or educate your current employees! We couldn't even flag her down due to her constant hanging around the back. We're sad because we love it here but can't risk going hungry or missing our shows!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I find it one of the best spot for a lunch in Vancouver Downtown close to Financial District. Their lunch menu is really good: Seaweed Salad and lunch specials are amazing

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Only place my hubby will eat Sushi. Very fresh and great service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant. Great food and service, creative menu, dishes we had never tried before. Everything was well prepared. Will go to again in the future.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Nice Japanese Restarant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I like the ambiance and the price is reasonable, but the food was not as good as u expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Outstanding sushi at moderate prices! This place is a gem!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent service. Actually very impressed and blown away by the server's attentiveness and politeness. Food very good too. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We enjoyed the food presented to us a beautiful and delicious dish.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Decent for the price. The reason why I wouldn't come back is that nothing really stood out. The food was just fine. The service was just fine. The drinks were just fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

A wonderful restaurant that you may pass over in the hustle and grittiness of Granville Street. They have dishes that are good for sharing, or for keeping to yourself. Their cocktails are divine and strong, which is very nice compared to other places in Vancouver! It would be nice to see if there is some Happy Hour around lunchtime, but if not this place is worth the mini-splurge for a night out! The servers were also extraordinarily friendly and attentive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was great! Service was not. Requests for water repeatedly forgotten. Took a long time to get the cheque and then to pay by debit. Server did not check in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food is great, seems very authentic, service is quick and efficient. Only let down was they made a mistake with our reservation: we booked for 7 pm, using Open Table, but they recorded it as 8 pm. We were hosting an anniversary dinner with 8 people, so that was a real disappointment. We went off for a drink elsewhere (difficult to do in that neighbourhood) so were inconvenienced. BUT, they phoned the second the table was ready and the manager treated us to a lovely bottle of sparkling wine (our favourite as it turns out). Food service was fast (we were all starved) and was as good as we remembered from a previous visit. So all's well that ends well.

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Although I do frequent Shuraku, and it's always been a favourite of ours, was somewhat disappointed by the wait to be seated despite having made a reservation. Once seated, the service as always was outstanding, and the food delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Nice place to hang out w friends

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were a large group and our server handles all 10'of us so well even dividing up our bills and wine etc!
Will definitely return!
My avocado tofu salad was superb!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Read review from others & their raves were lived up to. Eggplant poppers not be missed. Lava roll (or was it a volcano roll... sake brain kicked in) was a delicious work of art. Fun eats to kick off our night on the town for these suburbanites. Hope we get back there soon.

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was fantastic. Make sure to order outside of the typical sushi and rolls. We ordered from the daily sheet and had some food that took us back to Japan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 25, 2017

High quality sashimi
Very tasty
Taste similar to sushi in Japan

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Overall, I had a very good experience. However, we were seated closest to the entrance on a very cold evening. I expected better seating since I reserved via OpenTable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food and sake. Can be a bit noisy when it gets busy, but overall a very good place for Japanese.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Not sure why people had bad experiences with this and not able to get the 1000 points. I have no issues with dinning here, my 4th time in a few years. There is a small lack of service, the waitress that seated us disappear after and we asked someone else to serve us. Items order came promptly and their fresh sheet has some interesting dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

There were 7 of us and we all had a great time with no complaints. Tasty food and quick service. We will return when back in Vancouver!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Won't honour the 1000 point tables. Do not go there. Lousy food. Expensive. Owner has attitude. Says it's too expensive to give out 1000 points so I'm wondering why they advertise it. Also if you are still eating 1.5 hours later no 1000 points. Or if you are late no 1000 points. If you cancelled reservation on them in the past no 1000 points. Any made up excuse not to award the 1000 points. Without the extra points not worth going for the food. This restaurant will go under soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Though we spent $300 for 5 people, we got kicked out to a corner table at 7 PM because 'our' table had been reserved for another party. Wish we'd known at the beginning. My wife was so incensed it ruined the rest of the evening at Blue Rodeo concert. Unacceptable! When we got home we found an e-mail from Shuraku (sent 5 minutes before the beginning of our reservation) advising us that our reservation ended at 5 PM... No thanks !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Friendly service, nice atmosphere and reasonable prices for good food. The Shuraku Gozen lunch special was great, it had a good amount of food and variety, well worth the $20!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was just so-so - took them a long time to take our order. When ordering the advice on the menu was very limited and found that the meals were incomplete. Food was just okay - nothing special but nothing really to complain about either. I don't see any reason to return when there are other fantastic restaurants in the area to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great place to enjoy some modern Japanese food! They have fresh seafood and unique cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My friend and I were seated promptly and given the night's special menu as well as the regular menu for dinner. Our food was served promptly, but everything seemed a little cold -- from the sencha tea in the cast iron tea pot to my unagi-rice bowl. Highlights: the service was very attentive and the Vancouver roll was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food is always amazing. Did a taste/value test against another well-rated and known Japanese restaurant and Shuraku is the best. Would go there anytime.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Never going to this place again. I have a review on yelp about this place. Food were small portions and the service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Service was slow and unorthodox. Food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The specials. Wild sockeye salmon tartar with raw quail egg. Seared cabbage with anchovie (Cabbachovie). BBQ squid. The smokey eggplant. One of my favorite Vancouver restaurants. Fun, full, active, imaginative, incredible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything about Shuraku is fantastic. It's why we keep going back.

Tags: Spicy, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Staff and food are always top-notch!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Current fav spot for downtown business lunch, great service and food! Love the atmosphere and energy!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.