About Shula's Steak House - Birmingham

1000 Riverchase Galleria
Birmingham, AL 35244
View Larger Map

Rated "One of the top 5 Steak Houses in America", Shula's offers Premium Black Angus Beef & the freshest seafood. This elegant dining experience is themed after the Miami Dolphins 1972 perfect season.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Saturday:
Bar Area- 4:00 PM-9:30 PM
Dining Room- 5:00 PM-9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Highway 31

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 444-5750

Website:
http://www.donshula.com/shulas-steak-house-birmingham

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking available at the front of the Hyatt Regency Birmingham - Wynfrey Hotel

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Shula's Birmingham offers 2 private dining rooms, The Wine Room accommodating up to 16 guests & the Private Dining Room accommodating up to 32 guests. Both rooms offer a 50" plasma screen for presentations & sporting events.

Shula's Steak House - Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (8)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Casual (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was great ! Was disappo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service was great ! Was disappointed they did not have chilean sea bass. Their blackened sea bass is one of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great but had an issue wi ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was great but had an issue with getting out of parking lot. Ended up had to pay when it was complementary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of service has dropped drama ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The quality of service has dropped dramatically. Long wait times for each course and for the first time my food was over cooked and did not taste good. The server offered to have another plate made, but we had already waited 40 minutes. The manager tried to make it up with a free dessert, but the damage was already done. Not sure I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

I took my family there for dinner while ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I took my family there for dinner while on a business trip. We've been here before and we loved it. We've also been the the Shula's in Orlando and New York city. The food is excellent but it is pricey. Also, the service is slow but we had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

"Awesome dining experience" the service, ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 25, 2017

"Awesome dining experience" the service, the server, the environment was OUT OF THIS WORLD....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my second time at Shulas. I had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was my second time at Shulas. I had previously been too a location in orlando. The food and serivce was amazing and we will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing as always and Hecto ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was amazing as always and Hector is always so attentive and pleasant. It was not super crowded but we were sat between 2 business meetings so the noise level was higher than we would have hoped. This seems to be a recurring problem the past few times we have eaten there. Next time I will request a different table. The food is pricy but so so good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Top notch dining experience from the tim ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Top notch dining experience from the time we were greeted by hostess through leaving our table after our meal. Excellent steaks and drinks after a great Birmingham Bowl win!

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, , Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too much money for just average entrees

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Too much money for just average entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

I thought this place was just ok. Nothin ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I thought this place was just ok. Nothing great. It took forever to get the main course. They comped us a glass of wine for the wait which was nice. Good overall choice but no wow factor for me. The grilled asparagus was a 10 out of 10 and the steak, I had the porterhouse, I give a 7. We sat in a booth. The seat backs in the booths move when someone else is sitting behind you because you are sharing the same seat back. This was very annoying and made me feel like I was in a diner not a high end steak house. Actually, I expected much better attention to details from "DON SHULA" !

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great steaks. Cooked exactly as ordered. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great steaks. Cooked exactly as ordered. Service was fantastic

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, Terrific, food, service... we wil ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great, Terrific, food, service... we will be back.. friendly people, lots of fun, great place for friends and family. Celebrate any occasions.. Come on out and join us at Shula's for a great time, shop til you drop in the mall and come back for a drink and snacks.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steaks ever! We were guests at the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Best steaks ever! We were guests at the Hyatt Wynfry and decided to try Schula's since it was in the lobby there. We were pleasantly surprised from the moment we walked in. The staff was pleasant and attentive, the atmosphere was quiet and comfortable and the food was outstanding. The filet melted in your mouth and the crab cakes were amazing. There was a pretty good margarita as well! We will surely return to Schula's the next time we visit Birmingham and recommend it to others also.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was bland the steak fries was good ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was bland the steak fries was good and asparagus was ok

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We have been coming to Shula's for 10 ye ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We have been coming to Shula's for 10 years. Food & service are always first class.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Shul ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Shula's on Friday night. We were celebrating my husband's birthday. Our waiter was fantastic. We ordered two bottles of wine for the occasion. One of the bottles had turned bitter. They took it back without hesitation or fuss. We will definitely return to Shula's and bring friends!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My filet was excellent and the lava cake ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 31, 2016

My filet was excellent and the lava cake was delicious !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at your Birmingham locatio ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My experience at your Birmingham location was more than disappointing. The New York Strip steak was improperly cut and prepared. My date had a Prime Rib that was good. The waiter offered to remove the steak from my ticket or replace. I came to eat, so I said replace with a Prime Rib. The manager came over later and I confirmed my choice, but asked for it to be a "to go" order. When I got home, the steak was not replaced. It was another poorly butchered New York Strip.

I will not be back.

W. Larry Hunt J.D.

817-845-6855

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The service and food both met our expect ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service and food both met our expectations! My wife and I were there for our anniversary so looking for a nice evening and unrushed dinner this was a perfect choice. I asked to be placed somewhere quiet which they did for us and made sure we were taken care of without being bothered. I would highly recommend for special occasion for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The entire was great. From booking to d ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The entire was great. From booking to dinner. The host and servers were ver personable and helpful. I will be doing again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you know your death would come tomorr ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 25, 2016

If you know your death would come tomorrow, eat at Shula's for your last meal! I travel the country for business and have eaten everywhere, but Shula's steaks are the best I have had bar-none. I just wish I saved room for desert. Excellent food in every respect!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant met and exceeded my high ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The restaurant met and exceeded my high expectations. It is not cheap, so this is not the place for you if you a wanting a cheap meal. However, it was one of the best meals I have ever had. One thing I wish I had known was that the sides are big enough to share. They are separate from the meal, and we all got sides when we could have shared. That will save you some money and keep you wasting food. Overall, I highly recommend this restaurant!! We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Good- Dave provided great detail ser ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Good- Dave provided great detail service with a teammate to help..they are great.

The Bad- The Steak...I ordered my Strip Steak "Pittsburgh Style"...when it was served...it was obviously not Pittsburgh Style...i informed Dave...and he took it back.... then returned with same steak with a little darker (and dryer) top part of the steak. There was NO CHAR like a Pittsburgh Style should have. I really question if ya'll even know what "Pittsburgh Style" means. All nice steak restaurants do.

I was not about to send it back again. So...it cut into this steak...it was tough...huge piece of Grissle running thru it. It was not tender....Itty was NOT a prime cut of meat. Disappointed.

At the end of the meal...a manager named Shawn came by and asked how our dinner was...I shrugged my shoulders...he inquired...and I told him ....he asked if the chef came out after I sent steak back...I said no. I reiterated my disappointment in the steak. He apologized. The End.

I am not sure Don Shula would have been served such meat.

Upon discussing with my dinner mates on the way home, they complained about the quality, toughness of their steaks as well.

I am kicking myself for making reservations there...spending $300 for 3 for dinner there.

Now...get this....today...3 days after this dinner...and lady from Shula's calls me for me to rate my experience...and I rated the service by Dave a 9...the food a 3 and gave details.

She was not taking notes nor asking follow up questions.....after I gave my review. "Thank you, I will pass this along...looking forward to seeing you again soon"

Lady, were u listening or just making the standard call.

After that call...Been there twice...First n Last

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Food was very good and service was outst ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was very good and service was outstanding BUT very much overpriced. Drink I ordered was not as expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Tasty but loud

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 1, 2016

My husband and I frequently done here when we want to celebrate. The food is almost always amazing, and the wait staff is great. Hector is always so attentive and friendly. This visit, however, we were sat next to a loud business group conducting an eat and meet session and it was extremely distracting. Having a section for larger tables away from couples dining might be a good idea, especially when it is not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Limited menu, good ambiance for a date,

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Limited menu, good ambiance for a date,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

not that customer friendly.

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Restaurant was only half full. Requested a booth at seating with a reservation, told by manager there would be a wait, no other patrons sat all evening after us. Waiter got food orders and bills incorrect several times.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Perfect meal

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our family dined at Shula's on Saturday 14th and had a wonderful experience. The food was great - most of us had steaks which were excellent and cooked perfectly, one had scallops which were delicious. For an appetizer we had the seafood trio was a good choice. To top off the night we had chocolate lava cakes for dessert which were out of this world!! We found the wait staff to be very attentive and experienced an overall first class experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Place to Eat in Birmingham

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2016

I was so suprised at how great everything was. The food was great. This really is the perfect place for special occassions. Don't forget to try the Lava cake. The bread is still warm when they bring it out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't believe our level of disappointment

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 19, 2016

My husband and I were in town for a concert (a birthday celebration for him). I thought I was treating him to a Five Star dinner- this was by far my worst dining experience ever. Our waiter - Lionel was rude, condescending and very inattentive. The one bright spot were the steaks, almost the only edible food we received. The lobster tail (at $32.00 additional) was dry and overcooked. The asparagus very, very bitter. The potato au gratin tasted like cardboard. The Shiraz came with a twist top (after being told he had to go down to the wine cellar to get our choice- it may have been poured into the bottle received from their "house wine"). We had to ask the maître 'd twice where our dinner was because we didn't want to be late to the concert.

We intentionally made an early reservation and the restaurant was not crowded.

All of this for the BARGAIN PRICE of $284.65

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Shula's Steak House Birmingham Fantastic Filet

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 15, 2016

My wife and I had a great meal. We each had an 8 oz wet aged filet that was probably the best I have ever had. Very attentive service, great food and wine. It was our anniversary so they gave us a complimentary desert that was awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2016

We always eat here when we are in Birmingham. Food & service consistently excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Evening

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent dinner for a special evening. A bit pricey, especially the sides although delicious, but absolutely perfect steaks and service with nice surroundings. One suggestion, particularly for a restaurant at this price level, that maybe couples such as ourselves could be seated in a different area than families with children or larger groups? This location is in a nice hotel so may have a bit different clientele than other locations. Still overall a wonderful experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Skip this place. Go to Ruth Chris instead.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 29, 2016

I'll try to be brief, the steak was fine, however the potatoe was rock hard not acceptable for twice baked.

The wine we selected, all $30-40 range were unavailable , the scotch a12 year old Dalwhinie was charged out as an 18 year old twice the price. I had that corrected by " Dave" the waiter who then charged our room twice for the dinner.

To summarize our dinner room charge was $465, oops, so sorry.

The general manager took no time to correct this "slight" error the next morning.

Next visit We suggest Olive Garden 100 yards from this hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointing

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Our initial waiter came and introduced himself (I don't remember his name but he was a very tall, young, white guy. Then he disappeared. A very lovely man named Lionel took over and provided excellent service so it made things a little better. The food was not as good as it had been in our previous experiences. It was definitely not worth $250. We will not be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Went for our anniversary, Filet was awfu ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Went for our anniversary, Filet was awful, no flavor. Too expensive... asked for sweet tea received un sweet when I told waiter, he brought back my tea with spoonfuls of sugar that had settled in the bottom... like they had just put the sugar in my cold tea, so it would not dissolve. Plan on never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

Noise from the bar was very loud. Withou ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Noise from the bar was very loud. Without notice a 30% un-removable tip was added to the tab. It was just my wife and I dining. I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

So-so

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I visited Shula's for our Valentine's dinner. We were seated promptly and ordered quickly (we already knew what we wanted). From the time we sat down at the table till the time we left the restaurant took over two hours. It took our entree over an hour to be served to us and it was lukewarm at best. I don't know about other couples, but this was a special outing for us and I would have preferred not to spend two hours in a restaurant after being seated. On top of that, our server rarely came to our table. We waited on water several times until a bus boy finally came around to refill our glasses. The service was just pitiful! The crazy thing is the restaurant was not as busy as I expected, so there is no excuse for such lousy service. I will definitely think before I plan to go there again. That's a lot of money to spend on just a so-so experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

One thing ruined it all

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We celebrated Valentine's Day dinner at Shula's - our first trip there. I got a complimentary rose and my husband and I also got a complimentary glass of champagne - very nice. The cocktails were generous. We both had steaks with creamed spinach and potatoes gratin - all were very good, as was the Creme Brulee we had for dessert. The restaurant was out of the first 2 bottles of wine we ordered and then brought us the wrong bottle on our 3rd request. That was disappointing, but it was good and we drank it. The really disappointing aspect of this dinner (and I didn't realize it until the next morning when I was at home and had good lighting enough to really read the bill) was that the waiter did not tell us that they had added the gratuity in to the check already. I didn't notice it and added a generous gratuity on the line that said "room service charge" - wasn't really thinking about the fact that we were in a hotel and that line would be on the bill. We were not guests at the hotel, by the way. Usually when a gratuity has been added (typically when there is a party of 8 or more), the waiter points that out so that people don't add a full tip to the one already included. I called Shula's the next day to ask that my additional gratuity be removed (not a small amount). I had to leave a message and the Food & Beverage Coordinator called me back (she thought my call had to do with a room service charge!). When I explained what happened, she apologized and took my debit card information, email address, ticket number and waiter number and told me she would forward it to the manager at Shula's and copy me on the email so that I could see that it had been forwarded and correspond with the manager directly, if necessary. It is now 4 days later and I have received no email and the charge went through with the tip included. No credit has been issued to date. I am extremely disappointed with the lack of follow-through with this situation and will not be returning to Shula's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Not so impressed

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My date was not enthused with the ambiance nor the service. Price was a bit over what I expected for the amount of food received. Our salads were not delivered until we asked about them after the main course came out and were not true Caesar salads, more like alacart from the grocery store, not good. The constant attention by the staff to our water glasses on half full deterred from our conversation on a Valentines weekend date, which broke the mood and two visits from the manager to our table was a bit much as we did not ask a lot of questions. All in all, it was not the time I expected to have, even though I thought the steak was delicious and she enjoyed the crab cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.