About Shula's Steak House - Birmingham

Rated "One of the top 5 Steak Houses in America", Shula's offers Premium Black Angus Beef & the freshest seafood. This elegant dining experience is themed after the Miami Dolphins 1972 perfect season.

1000 Riverchase Galleria
Birmingham, AL 35244
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Saturday:
Bar Area- 4:00 PM-9:30 PM
Dining Room- 5:00 PM-9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Highway 31

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 444-5750

Website:
http://www.donshula.com/shulas-steak-house-birmingham

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking available at the front of the Hyatt Regency Birmingham - Wynfrey Hotel

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Mother's Day at Shulas!

Private Dining

Shula's Birmingham offers 2 private dining rooms, The Wine Room accommodating up to 16 guests & the Private Dining Room accommodating up to 32 guests. Both rooms offer a 50" plasma screen for presentations & sporting events.

Shula's Steak House - Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Romantic (11)
See All
Quiet Conversation (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Still the best steak in town, time after time. Hard to beat anywhere.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Once again they have nailed it! Waiter was Great, and his recommendations for our meals was spot on! The staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a Great Experience. The meal was worth every penny!!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything was excellent but the price is out of this world. Plan to spend $125 minimum for 2. Would go only for very special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The whole staff of Shula's Steakhouse- Birmingham was very awesome and the food was wonderful! Will definitely dine with them again in the future

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Steak was just okay. For the money spent, I would rather eat at another fine dining restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Went there because we are football fans and I remember the Super Bowl Games the Dolphins won and their undefeated season. The food was excellent, quality was in everything we touched while here. Our waiter, Lionel was the best his suggestions really hit the mark for us. Food was hot and very tasty. Some of the new to us side dishes were a pleasant surprise. All in all a great evening for my wife and I just celebrating a overnight trip together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Outstanding, as always. Best steaks in Birmingham.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I made reservations for my mom's birthday. We all enjoyed our meals and the ambiance. Food was amazing.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Best steak in Birmingham hands down! Great bartender too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a fabulous meal. The steaks were great. The Brussel sprouts were cooked perfectly. Service was attentive, but not pushy. Cocktails were very good. No room was left for dessert, so can't comment on them. We will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent! Best steak in Birmingham. Definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great experience. Good was great and waiter knowledgeable

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our sever was exceptional, his name was Lionel and knew the menu very well, answered all of our questions, was very attentive and just overall did an excellent job. Could not have asked for better treatment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food and service was great ! Was disappointed they did not have chilean sea bass. Their blackened sea bass is one of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was great but had an issue with getting out of parking lot. Ended up had to pay when it was complementary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The quality of service has dropped dramatically. Long wait times for each course and for the first time my food was over cooked and did not taste good. The server offered to have another plate made, but we had already waited 40 minutes. The manager tried to make it up with a free dessert, but the damage was already done. Not sure I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I took my family there for dinner while on a business trip. We've been here before and we loved it. We've also been the the Shula's in Orlando and New York city. The food is excellent but it is pricey. Also, the service is slow but we had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 25, 2017

"Awesome dining experience" the service, the server, the environment was OUT OF THIS WORLD....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was my second time at Shulas. I had previously been too a location in orlando. The food and serivce was amazing and we will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was amazing as always and Hector is always so attentive and pleasant. It was not super crowded but we were sat between 2 business meetings so the noise level was higher than we would have hoped. This seems to be a recurring problem the past few times we have eaten there. Next time I will request a different table. The food is pricy but so so good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Top notch dining experience from the time we were greeted by hostess through leaving our table after our meal. Excellent steaks and drinks after a great Birmingham Bowl win!

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Too much money for just average entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I thought this place was just ok. Nothing great. It took forever to get the main course. They comped us a glass of wine for the wait which was nice. Good overall choice but no wow factor for me. The grilled asparagus was a 10 out of 10 and the steak, I had the porterhouse, I give a 7. We sat in a booth. The seat backs in the booths move when someone else is sitting behind you because you are sharing the same seat back. This was very annoying and made me feel like I was in a diner not a high end steak house. Actually, I expected much better attention to details from "DON SHULA" !

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great steaks. Cooked exactly as ordered. Service was fantastic

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great, Terrific, food, service... we will be back.. friendly people, lots of fun, great place for friends and family. Celebrate any occasions.. Come on out and join us at Shula's for a great time, shop til you drop in the mall and come back for a drink and snacks.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Best steaks ever! We were guests at the Hyatt Wynfry and decided to try Schula's since it was in the lobby there. We were pleasantly surprised from the moment we walked in. The staff was pleasant and attentive, the atmosphere was quiet and comfortable and the food was outstanding. The filet melted in your mouth and the crab cakes were amazing. There was a pretty good margarita as well! We will surely return to Schula's the next time we visit Birmingham and recommend it to others also.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was bland the steak fries was good and asparagus was ok

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We have been coming to Shula's for 10 years. Food & service are always first class.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Shula's on Friday night. We were celebrating my husband's birthday. Our waiter was fantastic. We ordered two bottles of wine for the occasion. One of the bottles had turned bitter. They took it back without hesitation or fuss. We will definitely return to Shula's and bring friends!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 31, 2016

My filet was excellent and the lava cake was delicious !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My experience at your Birmingham location was more than disappointing. The New York Strip steak was improperly cut and prepared. My date had a Prime Rib that was good. The waiter offered to remove the steak from my ticket or replace. I came to eat, so I said replace with a Prime Rib. The manager came over later and I confirmed my choice, but asked for it to be a "to go" order. When I got home, the steak was not replaced. It was another poorly butchered New York Strip.

I will not be back.

W. Larry Hunt J.D.
817-845-6855

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service and food both met our expectations! My wife and I were there for our anniversary so looking for a nice evening and unrushed dinner this was a perfect choice. I asked to be placed somewhere quiet which they did for us and made sure we were taken care of without being bothered. I would highly recommend for special occasion for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The entire was great. From booking to dinner. The host and servers were ver personable and helpful. I will be doing again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 25, 2016

If you know your death would come tomorrow, eat at Shula's for your last meal! I travel the country for business and have eaten everywhere, but Shula's steaks are the best I have had bar-none. I just wish I saved room for desert. Excellent food in every respect!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The restaurant met and exceeded my high expectations. It is not cheap, so this is not the place for you if you a wanting a cheap meal. However, it was one of the best meals I have ever had. One thing I wish I had known was that the sides are big enough to share. They are separate from the meal, and we all got sides when we could have shared. That will save you some money and keep you wasting food. Overall, I highly recommend this restaurant!! We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Good- Dave provided great detail service with a teammate to help..they are great.

The Bad- The Steak...I ordered my Strip Steak "Pittsburgh Style"...when it was served...it was obviously not Pittsburgh Style...i informed Dave...and he took it back.... then returned with same steak with a little darker (and dryer) top part of the steak. There was NO CHAR like a Pittsburgh Style should have. I really question if ya'll even know what "Pittsburgh Style" means. All nice steak restaurants do.

I was not about to send it back again. So...it cut into this steak...it was tough...huge piece of Grissle running thru it. It was not tender....Itty was NOT a prime cut of meat. Disappointed.

At the end of the meal...a manager named Shawn came by and asked how our dinner was...I shrugged my shoulders...he inquired...and I told him ....he asked if the chef came out after I sent steak back...I said no. I reiterated my disappointment in the steak. He apologized. The End.

I am not sure Don Shula would have been served such meat.

Upon discussing with my dinner mates on the way home, they complained about the quality, toughness of their steaks as well.

I am kicking myself for making reservations there...spending $300 for 3 for dinner there.

Now...get this....today...3 days after this dinner...and lady from Shula's calls me for me to rate my experience...and I rated the service by Dave a 9...the food a 3 and gave details.
She was not taking notes nor asking follow up questions.....after I gave my review. "Thank you, I will pass this along...looking forward to seeing you again soon"

Lady, were u listening or just making the standard call.

After that call...Been there twice...First n Last

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was very good and service was outstanding BUT very much overpriced. Drink I ordered was not as expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 1, 2016

My husband and I frequently done here when we want to celebrate. The food is almost always amazing, and the wait staff is great. Hector is always so attentive and friendly. This visit, however, we were sat next to a loud business group conducting an eat and meet session and it was extremely distracting. Having a section for larger tables away from couples dining might be a good idea, especially when it is not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Limited menu, good ambiance for a date,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Restaurant was only half full. Requested a booth at seating with a reservation, told by manager there would be a wait, no other patrons sat all evening after us. Waiter got food orders and bills incorrect several times.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.