About Shula's Steak House - Birmingham

1000 Riverchase Galleria
Birmingham, AL 35244
View Larger Map

Rated "One of the top 5 Steak Houses in America", Shula's offers Premium Black Angus Beef & the freshest seafood. This elegant dining experience is themed after the Miami Dolphins 1972 perfect season.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Saturday:
Bar Area- 4:00 PM-9:30 PM
Dining Room- 5:00 PM-9:30 PM

Cross Street:
Highway 31

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 444-5750

Website:
http://www.donshula.com/shulas-steak-house-birmingham

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking available at the front of the Hyatt Regency Birmingham - Wynfrey Hotel

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Shula's Birmingham offers 2 private dining rooms, The Wine Room accommodating up to 16 guests & the Private Dining Room accommodating up to 32 guests. Both rooms offer a 50" plasma screen for presentations & sporting events.

Shula's Steak House - Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Alabama
Special Occasion
Alabama
Romantic
Birmingham
1 More
Special Occasion
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

special occasion (31)
romantic (22)
good for groups (10)
See All
notable wine list (10)
fit for foodies (5)
great for lunch (2)
hot spot (2)
neighborhood gem (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

not that customer friendly.

Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant was only half full. Requested a booth at seating with a reservation, told by manager there would be a wait, no other patrons sat all evening after us. Waiter got food orders and bills incorrect several times.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect meal

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our family dined at Shula's on Saturday 14th and had a wonderful experience. The food was great - most of us had steaks which were excellent and cooked perfectly, one had scallops which were delicious. For an appetizer we had the seafood trio was a good choice. To top off the night we had chocolate lava cakes for dessert which were out of this world!! We found the wait staff to be very attentive and experienced an overall first class experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Place to Eat in Birmingham

Dined on May 7, 2016

I was so suprised at how great everything was. The food was great. This really is the perfect place for special occassions. Don't forget to try the Lava cake. The bread is still warm when they bring it out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

I can't believe our level of disappointment

Dined on April 19, 2016

My husband and I were in town for a concert (a birthday celebration for him). I thought I was treating him to a Five Star dinner- this was by far my worst dining experience ever. Our waiter - Lionel was rude, condescending and very inattentive. The one bright spot were the steaks, almost the only edible food we received. The lobster tail (at $32.00 additional) was dry and overcooked. The asparagus very, very bitter. The potato au gratin tasted like cardboard. The Shiraz came with a twist top (after being told he had to go down to the wine cellar to get our choice- it may have been poured into the bottle received from their "house wine"). We had to ask the maître 'd twice where our dinner was because we didn't want to be late to the concert. We intentionally made an early reservation and the restaurant was not crowded. All of this for the BARGAIN PRICE of $284.65 DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!!!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Shula's Steak House Birmingham Fantastic Filet

Dined on April 15, 2016

My wife and I had a great meal. We each had an 8 oz wet aged filet that was probably the best I have ever had. Very attentive service, great food and wine. It was our anniversary so they gave us a complimentary desert that was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 24, 2016

We always eat here when we are in Birmingham. Food & service consistently excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Evening

Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent dinner for a special evening. A bit pricey, especially the sides although delicious, but absolutely perfect steaks and service with nice surroundings. One suggestion, particularly for a restaurant at this price level, that maybe couples such as ourselves could be seated in a different area than families with children or larger groups? This location is in a nice hotel so may have a bit different clientele than other locations. Still overall a wonderful experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Skip this place. Go to Ruth Chris instead.

Dined on February 29, 2016

I'll try to be brief, the steak was fine, however the potatoe was rock hard not acceptable for twice baked. The wine we selected, all $30-40 range were unavailable , the scotch a12 year old Dalwhinie was charged out as an 18 year old twice the price. I had that corrected by " Dave" the waiter who then charged our room twice for the dinner. To summarize our dinner room charge was $465, oops, so sorry. The general manager took no time to correct this "slight" error the next morning. Next visit We suggest Olive Garden 100 yards from this hotel.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointing

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our initial waiter came and introduced himself (I don't remember his name but he was a very tall, young, white guy. Then he disappeared. A very lovely man named Lionel took over and provided excellent service so it made things a little better. The food was not as good as it had been in our previous experiences. It was definitely not worth $250. We will not be back.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

Went for our anniversary, Filet was awfu ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Went for our anniversary, Filet was awful, no flavor. Too expensive... asked for sweet tea received un sweet when I told waiter, he brought back my tea with spoonfuls of sugar that had settled in the bottom... like they had just put the sugar in my cold tea, so it would not dissolve. Plan on never going back.

food3
ambience3
service4

Noise from the bar was very loud. Withou ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Noise from the bar was very loud. Without notice a 30% un-removable tip was added to the tab. It was just my wife and I dining. I would not return.

food3
ambience4
service1
value3

So-so

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I visited Shula's for our Valentine's dinner. We were seated promptly and ordered quickly (we already knew what we wanted). From the time we sat down at the table till the time we left the restaurant took over two hours. It took our entree over an hour to be served to us and it was lukewarm at best. I don't know about other couples, but this was a special outing for us and I would have preferred not to spend two hours in a restaurant after being seated. On top of that, our server rarely came to our table. We waited on water several times until a bus boy finally came around to refill our glasses. The service was just pitiful! The crazy thing is the restaurant was not as busy as I expected, so there is no excuse for such lousy service. I will definitely think before I plan to go there again. That's a lot of money to spend on just a so-so experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

One thing ruined it all

Dined on February 14, 2016

We celebrated Valentine's Day dinner at Shula's - our first trip there. I got a complimentary rose and my husband and I also got a complimentary glass of champagne - very nice. The cocktails were generous. We both had steaks with creamed spinach and potatoes gratin - all were very good, as was the Creme Brulee we had for dessert. The restaurant was out of the first 2 bottles of wine we ordered and then brought us the wrong bottle on our 3rd request. That was disappointing, but it was good and we drank it. The really disappointing aspect of this dinner (and I didn't realize it until the next morning when I was at home and had good lighting enough to really read the bill) was that the waiter did not tell us that they had added the gratuity in to the check already. I didn't notice it and added a generous gratuity on the line that said "room service charge" - wasn't really thinking about the fact that we were in a hotel and that line would be on the bill. We were not guests at the hotel, by the way. Usually when a gratuity has been added (typically when there is a party of 8 or more), the waiter points that out so that people don't add a full tip to the one already included. I called Shula's the next day to ask that my additional gratuity be removed (not a small amount). I had to leave a message and the Food & Beverage Coordinator called me back (she thought my call had to do with a room service charge!). When I explained what happened, she apologized and took my debit card information, email address, ticket number and waiter number and told me she would forward it to the manager at Shula's and copy me on the email so that I could see that it had been forwarded and correspond with the manager directly, if necessary. It is now 4 days later and I have received no email and the charge went through with the tip included. No credit has been issued to date. I am extremely disappointed with the lack of follow-through with this situation and will not be returning to Shula's.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Not so impressed

Dined on February 14, 2016

My date was not enthused with the ambiance nor the service. Price was a bit over what I expected for the amount of food received. Our salads were not delivered until we asked about them after the main course came out and were not true Caesar salads, more like alacart from the grocery store, not good. The constant attention by the staff to our water glasses on half full deterred from our conversation on a Valentines weekend date, which broke the mood and two visits from the manager to our table was a bit much as we did not ask a lot of questions. All in all, it was not the time I expected to have, even though I thought the steak was delicious and she enjoyed the crab cakes.

food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Not very good

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was mediocre , staff was ok, waiter wiped his noise with his had taking the order, we stepped out for a moment and told our waiter we would be right back. When we returned our table and food had been cleaned off. They threw away my roses. Seemed rushed. Staff was eager to go home. Cleaning around us , sweeping the floors. Not very good for 250.00. Probably want be back or recommend .

food3
ambience3
service4

Shula's for us is a "been there, done th ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Shula's for us is a "been there, done that" kind of place. For the price I expected more. We have eaten at some top tier restaurants in the country for the same price that Shula's couldn't hold a candle too. We had the calamari appetizer, it was some of the best I have had to date. I then had a wedge salad, good taste but nothing separated it from one I could have gotten at outback. Then came the steaks. We were disappointed in the preparedness of both of our steaks. We ordered both at medium rare. Mine was cooked to MR but my wife's was over cooked to near medium well. Both steaks were missing proper seasoning. They were just bland pieces of meat on a plate. We shared three of the sides, lobster mac & cheese, good flavor but a bit dry. Mashed potatoes, very good mashed potatoes. Steamed asparagus, cooked perfectly for the size but also was laking flavor. We had to use the leftover butter that came out with the bread to flavor it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 12, 2016

We love coming to Shula's. The atmosphere is romantic. Our service is always top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always my go to

Dined on February 7, 2016

Very frequent customer of Shula's. I love the place! This is the place I choose to make an impression on clients and friends alike.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Ribeye tuff Porterhouse tuff Sides - ver ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Ribeye tuff Porterhouse tuff Sides - very average Dessert - very average Overpriced for the quality of food. Disappointed.

food2
ambience3
service2

Water and tea was always empty. Holland ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Water and tea was always empty. Hollandaise was refrigerator cold. Steaks were under cooked and when brought back everything was cold. Very expensive and disappointing meal. Waiter was rushed seemed to be serving all of the tables.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shula's Re-Introduction

Dined on January 17, 2016

We had an outstanding dinner for my wife's Birthday. This place holds special meaning for us because I actually proposed to my wife in this restaurant (long story). The food was incredible. Service was attentive. Servers were knowledgeable and eager to please. Steaks were perfectly cooked, appetizers, salads, drinks....everything was just so well done. If you're in Birmingham and have given up on Shula's....reintroduce yourself. I would eat here every day of the week over Fleming's, Ruth Chris, or any other prime steakhouse in the area....its really not even close. Entree Suggestions: Bone in Filet and the Mixed Grill. Crabcake is a must for appetizer or as part of your meal. Thanks Shula's for a great experience. We will visit again soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

So Dissapointed

Dined on January 15, 2016

Me and my Husband recently celebrated our 24th anniversary at Don Shula's steakhouse. I tried to get him to take me to my favorite restaurant Ruth's Chris but him being a sports fan in originally from Miami Florida he really wanted to go to Don Shula's so I made the reservation for the both of us we got there as soon as they open & were the first ones there. Immediately seated but that was the only good thing about the restaurant. Every drink we tried to order they could not find the mix or was out of, it took over hour for our food to arrive, our steaks were highly priced but very bland, my Spinach was very salty I had to add water to take some of the salt out, my husband said his mashed potatoes were the worst that he's ever had.I reported all this to our waitress and she apologized profusely but that does little when it's your anniversary and and you're spending top dollar for a meal. Completely ruined it fir us. If you are going to spend a large amount of money and you you want good food this is not the place. I recommend you stick with Ruth Chris or Pappadeaux's or somewhere familiar that you know we will never go back again and that says a lot because he is a hardcore Don Shula Fan being raised in Miami Florida.

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

At best mediocre

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

The service was slow even though the restaurant was not busy. The cut of meat was good, but the steak was served warm. This was not even close to being a good value. I will not be back. Next time I will be going to Ruth's Chris .

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Received food 45 min later over cooked

Dined on December 30, 2015

The service was a big disappointment. The manager never came over to our table.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great steak!!! Very attentive service. T ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Great steak!!! Very attentive service. The seating hostess was not very welcoming and seemed snooty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shula's Steakhouse

Dined on December 26, 2015

Our dining experience was exceptional. My wife and I celebrated our 34th anniversary by taking our adult children out for dinner. The only issue I had was the pricing was a little bit higher than I expected. They are more expensive than Ruth's Chris steak house, so be prepared for the bill. Otherwise, a wonderful experience.

food4
ambience5
service5

quiet dinner

Dined on November 30, 2015

the restaurant was quiet so a conversation was easy. The steak was delicious but the creamed spinach was not

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Never fails when I need a high end steak ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Never fails when I need a high end steak night. Our favorite period!

food5
ambience4
service5

Fine Steaks

Dined on November 7, 2015

A steak house that lives up to its character. Not inexpensive but worth the price when you bite into one of the thick, juicy, cooked as you requested, steaks. They also had non steak entrees but why would you order something other than a steak here? Our waiter brought over a table filled with the actual steak types that were available before we made our choices. The various sides , priced separately were spot on. Cocktails were of ample size. Service was very good. You are not rushed. Overall a great meal . Wish there was one were we live. This one was in Birmingham, Alabama.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

Underwhelming

Dined on October 10, 2015

Unfortunately, I had high expectations that simply were not met. The restaurant was not busy and the food came out slowly. While the servers were well trained and very polite, service was just off a beat. The steak, which was presented as "the best money can buy" helped with the high expectations and between being prepared poorly and the gristle, it simply did not meet that of a premium steakhouse.

food5
ambience5
service5

Above & Beyond

Dined on October 3, 2015

This was an anniversary dinner and I noted this when reserving the table. Unlike other places, Shula's Steak House staff actually made the night special for us. First, our waiter congratulated us and then we were offered a free dessert (made to order apple cobbler a la mode...I highly recommend this). Everything was top drawer!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

As always, We had a great meal!

Dined on October 3, 2015

We come to Shulas once a month and have yet to be disappointed

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1

Not a winner at Shula's

Dined on October 2, 2015

We were going to spend a quiet night in Birmingham with a great supper at Shula's. A friend recommended it and said that it was even better than Ruth's Chris - unfortunately, it was not even close. Here is a rundown of our meal. We were seated at a booth along with our "1972 football from the undefeated season that has the steak menu on it". Not the best table decoration. Our waiter came over and took our drink order, but failed to introduce himself, so we had to ask what his name was. We asked him to give us a few minutes to enjoy our wine before ordering our entree. He gladly did, and over 20 minutes later, finally showed back up to take our order. He told us the market fish was sea bass, even though we overheard another waiter tell an adjacent table that the fish was salmon. Our waiter never mentioned specials or pre-order desserts. We heard these from an adjacent table as well. He then immediately brought us bread, which was quite good, but it would have been nice to have it with our wine earlier. When our food arrived, pre-order desserts were again not mentioned. My BBQ bacon shrimp was overcooked and I could only taste BBQ sauce. My filet was somewhat undercooked. The au gratin potatoes had bread crumbs on them that tasted burned. My wife's prime rib was cooked properly but had almost no flavor. We opted to skip dessert and go back to our hotel room. Shame that the bread was the best food we were served. Perhaps Shula's was having an off night, but the restaurant was not crowded at all. At over $150 for our meal, I expect much better food and exceptional service. We unfortunately received neither - Shula's is not Ruth's Chris, far from it. We will not be back anytime soon.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great experience

Dined on September 20, 2015

Great vibe for fine dining an overall great family dinner and night out.A wonderful staff and very professional looking and feeling. Even though it was a little pricey me and my family would do it again. And I would recommend it to anyone else who wants to experience a great time and night out of fine dining restaurant and a great steak and various other menu options for a great time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Caesar salad was excellent as well as th ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

Caesar salad was excellent as well as the crab cakes, the NY strip was prepared correctly and with amazing flavor!! The grilled asparagus and twiced baked were best we've had.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and Service

Dined on September 6, 2015

Being lovers of both football and fine dining, the wife and I frequent this location several times yearly. Since we both remember the "Golden Age of Football" and the 1972 season, having an excellent meal while viewing the memorabilia from a bygone era brings back great memories and adds a special nostagic flare to the meal. Every meal we have ever had at the restaurant has been excellent. Although I am a true lover of steak and a member of the 48oz club, I find every other item on the member to be of top quality. The Service is always top shelf as well with a special effort always being made to ensure that each guest is more than pleased with each item of every meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food as always

Dined on September 6, 2015

Food was fantastic. The service is always great, but tonights server was especially great!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dinner

Dined on September 5, 2015

This was my first time to visit Shula's Steak House in Hoover. I met Chef Robert during my visit and he was extremely nice, as well as a great chef. He enhanced my experience very much. The food was great and served in a timely manner. The service was great. I will be back soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Special Occasion

Dined on August 18, 2015

This place had a nice ambience.. Servers were very helpful. Waters never went empty. Hostess was really nice and helpful. Presentation of 1st class steak was awesome.. Enjoyed myself. You have to try the Lava Cake we got it free because we were celebrating our anniversary.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

Dined on August 12, 2015

Our server was wonderfully attentive and helped to make our 1st visit memorable. The food was incredible! Steaks were cooked to perfection and were very tender. The chocolate lava cake was simply divine and was worth the wait to prepare! The Shula's staff did an outstanding job making our 15th anniversary dinner special and we are looking forward to our next visit for my birthday!

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.