About Shuckers

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Gavin Stephenson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Restaurant Photos

Crab Mac 'n Cheese
Tomato Soup And Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Fresh Oysters
Mixed Grill
Cod
Wedge Salad
Wild Salmon
Shuckers Chop Salad
Baked Cheese
Grilled Prawn
Old Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Cake
Bread Basket
Pan Fried Oysters
Espresso
Scallops
Blueberry Blackberry Pie
Assorted Baked Oysters
Dungeness Crab Mac and Cheese
Oreo Mud Pie

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Seafood
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (65)
special occasion (49)
neighborhood gem (34)
See All
great for lunch (32)
romantic (27)
good for groups (27)
notable wine list (20)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1019 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ran in around 6:15pm just to have som ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

We ran in around 6:15pm just to have something before going to the theater. It was about 1/2-3/4's full. We were seated within a minute. Everyone that waited on us was great especially our server. She is from Bosnia and was attentive throughout. She really made sure about our choices and suggested I split my order or oysters into two which I did and loved both kinds. We both had drinks and were eating appetizers and small crab louis. Everything was timed out perfectly which for me is one of the must haves in any place I go. My wife had a great time and never felt rushed. Overall a great meal and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great atmosphere! Don't be ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Great atmosphere! Don't be afraid to show up in shorts and sneakers after a long site seeing day. Very relaxed atmosphere with a fantastic menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We were looking forward to dining at Shu ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were looking forward to dining at Shuckers based on their menu and some previous reviews. While our experience was OK, we were disappointed that it did not live up to our expectations. We actually like to take our time with our meals when dining out, but the service was extremely slow even for us. It seemed the waiter may have had more tables to handle than he could efficiently manage. In terms of the food, the flavors were just OK and not remarkable. The noise level was fine, but we did note the tables felt small and close together. All in all we did not feel it was worth the cost when so many other great options are available in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

As always, Shuckers did not disappoint T ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always, Shuckers did not disappoint

The service, impeccable and the food of top notch quality.

The manager, Sandra, never fails to come to each table to check how everyone's doing.

I am a regular and everyone addresses

me by name.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

salmon was overcooked and dry. Very dis ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

salmon was overcooked and dry. Very disappointing for a seafood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The wine list almost non existent. The m ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The wine list almost non existent. The menu was ok but lack much variety. The crab cakes were average, the steamed clams were good but had a bitter after taste. I can make better at home. The oysters were the best thing. The halibut special was average.

Overall, I would say its ok, not great. Not recommended. Find another place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Protein portions were too small for the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Protein portions were too small for the price (4 scallops for $42, 2 small pieces of fish for $25 fish and chips dinner entrees). Great taste, but very pricey. Not sure we'll go back given there are plenty of alternatives here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service. Delicious food. Waiter o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service. Delicious food. Waiter offered accommodations that weren't on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We started with Stellar Bay oysters and ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We started with Stellar Bay oysters and a cup of clam chowder. A bottle of McCrea Viognier with our Scallops, creamed corn and the Mac and cheese.

Chowder was creamy and delicious. Scallops were tender and perfectly cooked. Crab creamed corn was very tasty and a great pairing with the scallops. The Mac and cheese!!! YUM!!! Is the only way to describe it. Absolutely delish! We were stuffed and couldn't leave without one more bite!

Our waitress Darla is a gem! Sweet and extremely attentive. As were all the staff, my water glass was never empty and plates were cleared promptly.

We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, unique surroundings a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent service, unique surroundings and wonderful seafood! A gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant. Food was amazing. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Food was amazing. Drinks were amazing. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old fashioned seafood restaurant, much l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Old fashioned seafood restaurant, much like English pub. A bit dated, but food and service are good, but food is not over the top and current. Dependable, and good place for business meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We have been coming to Shuckers for 25 y ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We have been coming to Shuckers for 25 years usually for special occasions centered around meeting up with friends. On our last visit excellent as usual. Had the perfect table for 3 - the corner toward the street intersection - quiet.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were not impressed. The food was good ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were not impressed. The food was good but not great and certainly not worth the price. We sat outside and it was nice. The wait staff was very nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Elegant spot for lunch with grown ups. S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Elegant spot for lunch with grown ups. Seafood salads were tasty, bread was just baked and we enjoyed a window table with a view of the street. Nice that they offer soups/salads in two sizes. I was told this was a downtown Seattle classic and I can see why. Service was perfect, too.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went to Seattle to see the St. Louis Car ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went to Seattle to see the St. Louis Cardinals (my favorite team) play the Mariners and to find this establishment. My Cards lost two out of three games but I hit a home run eating here. Their seafood is delicious. The variety and quality of their oysters is excellent, so are their prawns. We elected to eat at the bar instead of at our table because the bar looked cozy. They have a nice selection of refreshments and our barkeep was a knock out. She knew the menu inside out and gave excellent suggestions. We will be back to eat here again. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Oysters were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent food and service. Oysters were superb, even considering high expectations .

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a Delicious meal with some great ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

It was a Delicious meal with some great cocktails and we really enjoyed our graduation celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great assortment of seafood. Wonderful ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great assortment of seafood. Wonderful Piper Heidseik champagne and one list.

All the food was delicious and our server was friendly and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great meal and experien ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We always have a great meal and experience at Shuckers. 1 st time having fresh oysters and the waiter was very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and close to 5th Avenue Theat ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food and close to 5th Avenue Theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Classy restaurant in the Fairmont Hotel. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Classy restaurant in the Fairmont Hotel. The look is wood paneled pub but it’s a very upscale seafood restaurant. The menu is pricey but the food is excellent and service is good. My wife had the seared scallops and thought they were great. I had the mixed grill on the recommendation of our waiter and it was excellent; fish, clams, shrimp and scallops all cooked perfectly. The highlight of my meal was the crab mac ‘n cheese; hot with melted cheese and lumps of crab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and friendly staff! True gal ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food and friendly staff! True gal that served us for lunch was so pleasant and shared her personal favorites! Baked Oysters are a must!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood. The copper river salmon w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great seafood. The copper river salmon was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was full of seafood options whi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The menu was full of seafood options which is exactly what we were looking for. I had the salmon which was delicious and my girlfriend had the scallops which she loved. For an appetizer we split the Oysters Rockefeller that were cooked to perfection. They weren't too greasy or cheesy and tasted great. Shuckers also has a good wine list to pair with seafood. Our waiter was on point too. All in all a very good place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good meal in a fancy hotel but the resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Good meal in a fancy hotel but the restaurant is more an upscale pub than a fancy place which suited us well. Oysters, scallops, rosemary cracker bread and butter, and the key lime pie were all out of this world! The Copper River Salmon was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Always a favorite

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A little pricey but always a favorite. Never miss the opportunity to get to Shuckers when we're in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seattle trip must have

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I always enjoy lunch or dinner at Shuckers when my travels takes me to Seattle and never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Became an oyster fan!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

While waiting for our reservation, we sat at the bar. The bartender was helpful in recommending a variety of raw and baked oysters, all of which were delicious. The rest of the evening followed suit. Great waiter, delicious food, and yummy dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have a great variety of catch of th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

They have a great variety of catch of the day fish. Mostly salmon or halibut. Food is great. Great wine list. Nice romantic place or place for friends and family. Excellent outside seating. Nice find. Second time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

It's done your way.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was actually our first time here, although we've walked by the restaurant many times over the 20 plus years we had worked in Seattle prior to retirement. We also have stayed at the Olympic several times without once considering a reservation at Shuckers.......our complete lost!

I'd asked for something off the menu and our server (James or "Jim if you like") said "OK" without batting an eye. James was spot on, not overly pushy or gushing with fake sincerity. The food was superb! We had Copper River King Salmon cooked the way we've enjoyed at home.

We highly recommend Shuckers for everyday dining and special occasions or theater night.

Thanks for a great meal and evening.

We will return!!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic oysters

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The large oysters were incredible as was the paella. Good choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fish was great but too expensive. Servic ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Fish was great but too expensive. Service was a little slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great Seafood

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Both Food and service were great. We really enjoyed their mixed seafood grill. Priced toward the high side. Pub type atmosphere. Centrally located in downtown area of Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Salmon was perfect!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We had the copper river salmon and steelhead. Both were perfectly grilled and with the veggies, etc. it was a satisfying meal. Well worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance and food always top notch!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

I have dined at Shucker's many times over the years, and have always found their food and beverages to be very high quality, and the service exceptional. The restaurant has a lovely classy but cosy ambiance; with welcoming, friendly and professional staff. Their seafood chowder is scrumptious! This visit was as enjoyable as ever, and I was very pleased that they honoured the requests I made via my Open Dining reservation. Try the Creamsicle dessert drink!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Macadamia Key Lime Pie!!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Best Macadamia Key Lime Pie!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to Suckers for a 50th Birthday dinn ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Went to Suckers for a 50th Birthday dinner before seeing Billy Joel. Meal was fantastic. Ahi Tuna was amazing and the wasabi was outstanding! Server (Jay) was excellent and they brought a huge piece of cake out on the house! Gave us a fabulous table at the window. Jay advised us on the best way to get to the show. Was a wonderful way to start the evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My go-to restaurant in Seattle for the f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My go-to restaurant in Seattle for the freshest oysters and seafood, not to mention the best crab cakes. Love the accompaniments for the fish too! Great Pac Northwest wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food, service. Class throughout, old world charm.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.