About Shuckers

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Gavin Stephenson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Restaurant Photos

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Seafood
Seattle
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (50)
special occasion (41)
great for lunch (32)
See All
neighborhood gem (24)
romantic (23)
good for groups (22)
notable wine list (17)
hot spot (12)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
980 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

My go-to restaurant in Seattle for the f ...

Dined 5 days ago

My go-to restaurant in Seattle for the freshest oysters and seafood, not to mention the best crab cakes. Love the accompaniments for the fish too! Great Pac Northwest wines.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined 5 days ago

Great food, service. Class throughout, old world charm.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an outstanding institution in th ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

This is an outstanding institution in the heart of the Fairmont hotel . Warm, gracious greeting from both the hostess and restaurant manager, who would periodically check to make sure all was good at each table. Service by Darla, was fantastic and professional. She was courteous, friendly, knowledgeable and her food recommendations were fantastic. Our meals of crab salad and popcorn shrimp, caesar salad and tea were outstanding - tasty and delicious, but most importantly, it's all about the incredible service that Darla undertook that will keep us returning time and time again. Wonderful, amazing and perfection personified experience. What a most delightful afternoon. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a cozy environment and very fresh s ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Such a cozy environment and very fresh seafood. Excellent service and classy

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Oysters on the half shell were excellent ...

Dined 6 days ago

Oysters on the half shell were excellent. Seared scallops were fantastic. Good energy in the restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the fresh fish options and environm ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Love the fresh fish options and environment. Classy white jackets, great service and a fun place for drinks and oysters.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day in Seattle

Dined on May 9, 2016

We were in Seattle for the night and it was Mother's Day. I wanted to take my wife for a nice dinner, not too far from our hotel. We came to Shucker's. It had a nice, up-scale pub ambiance and was not too noisy. Our waiter was friendly, attentive and helpful. I started with the Schucker's Seafood Chowder. It was very good and loaded with seafood. My wife had the Seared Wild Scallops, and commented that they were the best scallops that she every had. I had the Seafood Paella. It include 1/4 Dungeness Crab and lots of other seafood. The rice was very tasty. I told the waiter that I was in heaven. We finished with the berry pie. It was a wonderful meal, and when I am back in Seattle I will be sure return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Thoroughly Enjoyable

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was amazing. We solicited recommendations from our server and he knew his material. Not only was he prepared to make suggestions but he was able to very knowledgeably tell us why. The food was fantastic and its in a great location, especially if you are seeing a show downtown. The prices were a bit steep.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Oysters and beer flights. Can't wa ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great Oysters and beer flights. Can't wait to come back and bring my wife. Great ambience in an old school bar setting. Felt very welcoming and extremely warm. Somewhere you could easily eat and drink away a great day on Seattle and feel like you missed nothing.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great fried oysters. Helpful staff.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Great fried oysters. Helpful staff.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food but on the expensive side com ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food but on the expensive side compared to compatible venues.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were good. Price is way ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food and service were good. Price is way more expansive than advised at opentable app.

food2
ambience4
service4
value4

No pearl in this oyster

Dined on April 18, 2016

We chose Shuckers at the Fairmont Olympic for two reasons: we were staying there so it was convenient but also because the reviews and menu looked promising. Service was great, oysters were fresh but an overall lack of flavour marred today's catch. The mixed grill with a side of crab Mac and cheese was mushy and flavourless- not much you can do to resuscitate overlooked pasta but the dish would have benefited from the addition of crunchy breadcrumbs and a little cheese sprinkled on top to make up for the overall lack of cheesiness. The $42.00 mixed grill, though Fresh could use a little jazzing up with even a sprinkling of fresh herbs, or even lemon. We expect more from the Fairmont and for that price a little flavour hoes a long way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner before the play at 5th Avenue Theater

Dined on April 17, 2016

The dinner was great "Scollops" X 2. Wine was great and suggested by the server along with a the great multi berry desert. Close location for 5th Ave. Theater Performance.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Messinger

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Shuckers is a well known Seattle downtown restaurant that captures the ambiance of the Fairmont Olympic elegance and old time charm. You get the feeling you are in the present and past and the best of both. If you are looking for a dining venue before a concert at Benaroya Hall or any other downtown venue, Shuckers is a great way to start the evening. Make a reservation on the early time of an event, enjoy the dining leisure doing so provides, and watch the vibrancy and dining excitement intensify. It is a quality dining experience that sets a great tone for the evening to come. By the way, eating there later, after the theater and concert crowds leave, makes for a fine evening experience in and of itself.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience!

Dined on April 16, 2016

We stayed at the Fairmont Olympic for 2 nights and went to Shuckers on our first night. It was absolutely wonderful! The seafood was fresh and fantastic, lots of options and great service to go along with it! Larry especially did a wonderful job serving us. Thanks for a great experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Just fair, not cheap for fair.

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Order was botched and little effort to resolve. Just explained maybe there was a mid communication. That's fine not at these prices. Enough said.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Can't beat the freshness of the Oysters. Great seafood and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Crab cakes and mud pie to die for

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I have been here twice for dinner with a guest, and it is not showy, but the food is terrific, and the service is low-key and the atmosphere is relaxing.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seafood Heaven

Dined on April 9, 2016

I have never eaten at Shuckers and been disappointed. The seafood is always fresh, well prepared and the ambiance is enjoyable. In the middle of downtown, you still have a location that accepts all ages in the dining area. Shuckers has that old Seattle feel with beautiful architecture and intricate claw foot tables. The wait staff is on top of it, they are dressed to the nines and are all smiles. My father loves Oysters, and this is one of our stopping points around town for just that when he comes to town.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on April 9, 2016

One of our favorite spots Downtown as well as city proper - consistently superior in food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

A fine evening

Dined on April 9, 2016

A new item on the menu was what we tried--a halibut caprese, which was delightful: halibut grilled tenderly, and burata in place of mozz, just fine. Tomatoes were out of season, but that didn't harm the dish at all. It was loud early, calmed down as soon as workaday folks went on their way. Service was attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Experience!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

This is my 5th or 6th visit and restaurant is consistently good. Martini's were perfect! Wine list prices very high....Chateau St. Michele chard $56....retail is around $14-18. Good food but never hits the outstanding mark. Seafood Cobb salad is one of the best menu items and I am happy to order it almost every visit. Paella had very little rice and the snow crab was difficult to eat.....and needs more seafood and sausage for the price. Good flavors. Mud Pie dessert was delicious! A cool "San Francisco" bar vibe.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shucker's Lunch 3/29/16

Dined on March 29, 2016

We had the most amazingly delicious lunch! Our server, Larry, was gracious, knowledgeable, accommodating, and delightful. As a group of five, we enjoyed oysters, fresh fish (seared ahi), crab Louis, salads, and dungeoness crab melt. Our local draft beers were cold and flavorful, wine selection paired perfectly. I look forward to retiurnjng on our next trip to Seattle

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Ask about what you're getting.

Dined on March 23, 2016

The general quality of the food was excellent. However, sometimes, the menu name of the dish doesn't quite tell you just what you will be getting served. My wife ordered the Seafood Chowder. She was expecting something in a white/cream sauce, similar to typical Pac NW clam chowder. What came was a highly seasoned (spicy) red sauce chowder. If this is what you are expecting, it was probably pretty good. But my wife had to return it because it was just not at all what she thought she was getting, and the spicy flavor is not something she particularly likes or would have ordered on purpose. The restaurant replaced the seafood chowder with a white sauce clam chowder, and problem solved!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner with my two besties- one for ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Had dinner with my two besties- one for 29 years & my current one. Jay provided awesome service- he's a joy to be around.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Meal in a VERY long time!

Dined on March 12, 2016

We stayed at the Fairmont for a StayVaCation in Seattle. Made a reservation at Shuckers for convenience purposes but OMG. I will gladly go out of my way to eat there again. Superb service and phenomenal food.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

consistent

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

I've been here 3 times and it's always good. I like the old world ambience here. I love the crab Louie and the chocolate fudge cake is Devine. I'd like to try happy hour next time, the bar looks cozy.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

My experience

Dined on March 6, 2016

We have never been before. We found the menu limited for being a seafood restaurant. The appetizers were excellent, Caesar salad great, and my main course of scallops wonderful. My wife got the steamed manila clams and the sauce tasted like dish water. For a dinner for two that costs $170.00, we would probably no go back. Live and learn.

food5
ambience5
service5

Seafood chowder was marvelous. Chopped s ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Seafood chowder was marvelous. Chopped salad same. Friend thought pan fried oysters were super

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great place to eat. Servers are ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Always a great place to eat. Servers are very attentive:)

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oysters supreme

Dined on March 3, 2016

My friend and I were looking for an oyster bar happy hour. I reserved at Shuckers because of good reviews and convenient location. I requested a window table not knowing there were only two, but we got one. The waiter was observant knowledgeable but not hovering. Our food and drink was superb and the noise level was low so we could easily talk. Highly recommended. I would go again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I sat at the bar and the service was exc ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

I sat at the bar and the service was excellent. The seafood selection is really good and the Crab Mac and Cheese side is incredible.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I Will Be Back:)

Dined on February 28, 2016

Good service and good food. The environment was noisy but energetic with a good vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Pan Fried Oysters

Dined on February 28, 2016

There pan fried oysters have taken a step back from the quality from the many times we've been there before. A bit overcooked and dry. They used to be really moist and perfectly cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and even better service! The ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and even better service! The selection of oysters was great! I got to branch out and try new varieties.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

NEVER FAILS!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our dining experiences at Shucker's have always exceeded expectations. Perfect ambiance, delicious, attractively presented food, professional wait staff that go above and beyond. Our server also had a table of Asian only-speaking guests next to us. He was so gracious and patient with them. I don't remember his name but he is a star in our book!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Expensive but delicious!

Dined on February 8, 2016

Expensive but delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely meal and setting

Dined on February 7, 2016

What a treat! The food is excellent, prices reasonable and service impeccable, but not too fussy. Great scallops and lobster Mac.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A fantastic meal in a wonderful environm ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

A fantastic meal in a wonderful environment. We'll be back!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.