About Shuckers

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Gavin Stephenson

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Restaurant Photos

Crab Mac 'n Cheese
Tomato Soup And Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Fresh Oysters
Mixed Grill
Cod
Wedge Salad
Wild Salmon
Baked Cheese
Shuckers Chop Salad
Old Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Cake
Grilled Prawn
Bread Basket
Pan Fried Oysters
Espresso
Scallops
Blueberry Blackberry Pie
Assorted Baked Oysters
Dungeness Crab Mac and Cheese
Oreo Mud Pie

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Seafood
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (60)
Special Occasion (53)
Great for Lunch (35)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Romantic (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Notable Wine List (17)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1035 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service is great!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

Service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was perfect and the oysters ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our service was perfect and the oysters were fresh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience (twice) while in Seattl ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great experience (twice) while in Seattle. Food was very good albeit a bit pricey. The only real negative was the artichoke which consisted of dry leaves and no "meat". Also a tad noisy, likely because of the confined space. Waitstaff very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to Shuckers on Saturday evening ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went to Shuckers on Saturday evening 1 hour before our reserved time. Fortunately,

the restaurant was not so busy at that time, so we could be seated at once.

We orderd scallop(for my wife) and Alaskan salmon(for me). My wife said that scallop was

very fine, though I felt the grilled salmon was not bad but not very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing food and service with a fantasti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing food and service with a fantastic waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The drive from the south of Seattle and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The drive from the south of Seattle and then home is always worth it to eat at Shuckers!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, solid unspectacular. Excellent sta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good, solid unspectacular. Excellent staff, nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Very good food and drink in a comfortabl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good food and drink in a comfortable environment. Prices were reasonable, but service was a little slow. Still a good place for a meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We've stayed at the Fairmont Olympic Hot ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We've stayed at the Fairmont Olympic Hotel in the past. Shuckers is new since our last visit, and we wanted to check it out. The restaurant was extremely busy the evening we went. A reservation is highly recommended. We were seated immediately upon arrival. The service was just O.K. I noticed our waiter had a number of tables including some outside. We both had the seafood chowder that I highly recommend. She had a dinner size Caesar salad while I had the half portion. Shuckers was offering seven varieties of oysters, and I had two each. Oysters were from the waters around the bays of northwestern Washington. All were very fresh and tasty. Some confusion with the tab. Our waiter blamed it on a new computer program.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Lunch was for a wonderful employee anniv ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Lunch was for a wonderful employee anniversary.

Our waiter was fabulous, food was great (crabcake sandwich was so good) and we all enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place! The food was wonderful ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Loved this place! The food was wonderful. They happily substitute sides in your dish. Our waiter Jay was a seasoned pro and delivered a very personalized service. Highly recommend and can't wait to return next time I'm in Seattle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best service and quality for the dol ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The best service and quality for the dollar. Always a treat 10 years later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food , Quiet and warm atmosphere . ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great Food , Quiet and warm atmosphere . Service attentive and responsive. Definitely first on my list when downtown for a relaxing meal. Impressive without being flashy. An enjoyable experience from cocktails to the last drop of port.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a dinner with a friend and my w ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Went for a dinner with a friend and my wife. Warmly greeted by Hostess. Immediately greeted by server. Great ambiance. Warm and a throwback with beautiful carved wood paneling. Server explained menu and made recommendations. All had the halibut off the "fresh board" and were not disappointed. Each had a different preparation but none disappointed. Fresh, light and well prepared. Had to follow with the recommended Key lime pie which was fantastic. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great NW fresh seafood. Best anywhere d ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great NW fresh seafood. Best anywhere downtown . Service is always excellent. Ask for the Seattle club sandwich and do not miss the seafood chowder. Always a fine meal and excellent bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ran in around 6:15pm just to have som ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We ran in around 6:15pm just to have something before going to the theater. It was about 1/2-3/4's full. We were seated within a minute. Everyone that waited on us was great especially our server. She is from Bosnia and was attentive throughout. She really made sure about our choices and suggested I split my order or oysters into two which I did and loved both kinds. We both had drinks and were eating appetizers and small crab louis. Everything was timed out perfectly which for me is one of the must haves in any place I go. My wife had a great time and never felt rushed. Overall a great meal and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great atmosphere! Don't be ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food! Great atmosphere! Don't be afraid to show up in shorts and sneakers after a long site seeing day. Very relaxed atmosphere with a fantastic menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We were looking forward to dining at Shu ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We were looking forward to dining at Shuckers based on their menu and some previous reviews. While our experience was OK, we were disappointed that it did not live up to our expectations. We actually like to take our time with our meals when dining out, but the service was extremely slow even for us. It seemed the waiter may have had more tables to handle than he could efficiently manage. In terms of the food, the flavors were just OK and not remarkable. The noise level was fine, but we did note the tables felt small and close together. All in all we did not feel it was worth the cost when so many other great options are available in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent restaurant in downtown Seattle ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent restaurant in downtown Seattle! Was with party of 4 and we tried the oysters (a variety and all were good) we had the popcorn shrimp appetizer also. Our entrees were all excellent salmon, halibut, scallops and ahi tuna. They were prepared perfectly. The service was excellent and the inside of the restaurant with all the beautiful wood makes for a wonderful setting! Definitely worth the money for a special occasion

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Shuckers did not disappoint T ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always, Shuckers did not disappoint

The service, impeccable and the food of top notch quality.

The manager, Sandra, never fails to come to each table to check how everyone's doing.

I am a regular and everyone addresses

me by name.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

salmon was overcooked and dry. Very dis ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

salmon was overcooked and dry. Very disappointing for a seafood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The wine list almost non existent. The m ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The wine list almost non existent. The menu was ok but lack much variety. The crab cakes were average, the steamed clams were good but had a bitter after taste. I can make better at home. The oysters were the best thing. The halibut special was average.

Overall, I would say its ok, not great. Not recommended. Find another place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Protein portions were too small for the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Protein portions were too small for the price (4 scallops for $42, 2 small pieces of fish for $25 fish and chips dinner entrees). Great taste, but very pricey. Not sure we'll go back given there are plenty of alternatives here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service. Delicious food. Waiter o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service. Delicious food. Waiter offered accommodations that weren't on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We started with Stellar Bay oysters and ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We started with Stellar Bay oysters and a cup of clam chowder. A bottle of McCrea Viognier with our Scallops, creamed corn and the Mac and cheese.

Chowder was creamy and delicious. Scallops were tender and perfectly cooked. Crab creamed corn was very tasty and a great pairing with the scallops. The Mac and cheese!!! YUM!!! Is the only way to describe it. Absolutely delish! We were stuffed and couldn't leave without one more bite!

Our waitress Darla is a gem! Sweet and extremely attentive. As were all the staff, my water glass was never empty and plates were cleared promptly.

We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, unique surroundings a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent service, unique surroundings and wonderful seafood! A gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant. Food was amazing. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Food was amazing. Drinks were amazing. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old fashioned seafood restaurant, much l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Old fashioned seafood restaurant, much like English pub. A bit dated, but food and service are good, but food is not over the top and current. Dependable, and good place for business meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We have been coming to Shuckers for 25 y ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We have been coming to Shuckers for 25 years usually for special occasions centered around meeting up with friends. On our last visit excellent as usual. Had the perfect table for 3 - the corner toward the street intersection - quiet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were not impressed. The food was good ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were not impressed. The food was good but not great and certainly not worth the price. We sat outside and it was nice. The wait staff was very nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Elegant spot for lunch with grown ups. S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Elegant spot for lunch with grown ups. Seafood salads were tasty, bread was just baked and we enjoyed a window table with a view of the street. Nice that they offer soups/salads in two sizes. I was told this was a downtown Seattle classic and I can see why. Service was perfect, too.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went to Seattle to see the St. Louis Car ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went to Seattle to see the St. Louis Cardinals (my favorite team) play the Mariners and to find this establishment. My Cards lost two out of three games but I hit a home run eating here. Their seafood is delicious. The variety and quality of their oysters is excellent, so are their prawns. We elected to eat at the bar instead of at our table because the bar looked cozy. They have a nice selection of refreshments and our barkeep was a knock out. She knew the menu inside out and gave excellent suggestions. We will be back to eat here again. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Oysters were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent food and service. Oysters were superb, even considering high expectations .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a Delicious meal with some great ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

It was a Delicious meal with some great cocktails and we really enjoyed our graduation celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great assortment of seafood. Wonderful ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great assortment of seafood. Wonderful Piper Heidseik champagne and one list.

All the food was delicious and our server was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great meal and experien ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We always have a great meal and experience at Shuckers. 1 st time having fresh oysters and the waiter was very helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and close to 5th Avenue Theat ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food and close to 5th Avenue Theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Classy restaurant in the Fairmont Hotel. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Classy restaurant in the Fairmont Hotel. The look is wood paneled pub but it’s a very upscale seafood restaurant. The menu is pricey but the food is excellent and service is good. My wife had the seared scallops and thought they were great. I had the mixed grill on the recommendation of our waiter and it was excellent; fish, clams, shrimp and scallops all cooked perfectly. The highlight of my meal was the crab mac ‘n cheese; hot with melted cheese and lumps of crab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and friendly staff! True gal ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food and friendly staff! True gal that served us for lunch was so pleasant and shared her personal favorites! Baked Oysters are a must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood. The copper river salmon w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great seafood. The copper river salmon was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.