About Shuckers

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Gavin Stephenson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Crab Mac 'n Cheese - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Tomato Soup And Grilled Cheese Sandwich - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Cod - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Fresh Oysters - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Wedge Salad - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Mixed Grill - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Baked Cheese - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Shuckers Chop Salad - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Old Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Cake - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Grilled Prawn - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Bread Basket - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Pan Fried Oysters - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Espresso - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Scallops - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Wild Salmon - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Blueberry Blackberry Pie  - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Assorted Baked Oysters - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Dungeness Crab Mac and Cheese - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Oreo Mud Pie - Shuckers, Seattle, WA

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (21)
Good for a Date (18)
Casual (16)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Business Meals (14)
Cozy (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Historic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Romantic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service are so fabulous. N ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service are so fabulous. Never disappointing. Everything was over the top.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

came here for new years eve dinner. was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

came here for new years eve dinner. was able to get a reservation within the week which is kind of last minute for nye planning. they had great seafood!! our waiter gave us excellent choices and excellent service! will definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant with great Smoked O ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very nice restaurant with great Smoked Oysters.

The clams in white wine sauce were a tiny bit sandy but were still tasty, everything else we had was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We're long time Shuckers fans but attend ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We're long time Shuckers fans but attended for New Year's Eve dinner with friends. The restaurant is small, but the service was great (thanks to our server, Jay!) and the food delicious. Shuckers specializes in seafood, but our teenagers all found great entrees (burgers, fish and chips and fried chicken) so everyone was happy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I ate here on 29th Jan fo ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I ate here on 29th Jan for dinner. I had the special king prawns in garlic with fries. Delicious sauce and huge prawns! Really good. And fresh.

My husband had prawns to start then crab cakes - both delicious too.

Good service, friendly.

Worth a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We love Shuckers. The food gets better a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love Shuckers. The food gets better and better!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite long time go to spot that is co ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Favorite long time go to spot that is consistently utstanding!

Tags: Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice! Wait staff/bartenders engagin ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very nice! Wait staff/bartenders engaging and fun. Happy hour good value..especially the oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If perfect service is what you like, Shu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

If perfect service is what you like, Shuckers is for you. Oysters? Of course! A helpful staff but not obtrusive staff? You've got it. This restaurant is perfect for most any occasion - family get togethers or business lunches or even a date . Seattle is full of noisy casual spots - go to this old style restaurant for good food and be treated like you own the place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, People Watching, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was decent. Portions were good. Our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was decent. Portions were good. Our server was horrible. He was slow to come and take our order, did not check on us at all and we sat with our dirty plates in front of us for a ridiculously long time. I did not feel like the service was even close- especially for the prices. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We were on our way to a play at the 5th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were on our way to a play at the 5th Ave Theater which is only 1/2 block from Shucker's. The menu is basically a seafood menu. The service by our waitress Yelena was outstanding, both timely and friendly without being pushy. The food was excellent. A bit on the pricey side but for the occasional visit, worth the price.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible service overall food was over s ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Terrible service overall food was over salted

Salad was soggy. With all the new restaurants in Seattle time for a make over

It's like your dining in the 1980's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The atmosphere, staff, and food are all ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The atmosphere, staff, and food are all above excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service -- my Mother is 85 and not ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service -- my Mother is 85 and not easy to move about in a restaurant and the staff

was accommodating and kind and patient with us and food and other kind guests added to

experience!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

For starters, Shuckers is in the Fairmon ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

For starters, Shuckers is in the Fairmont Hotel; next the food is incredible and so is the service. Just be ready to spend more than you might usually, but you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not worth the price.

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The food is so great, especially the oys ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food is so great, especially the oyster! But it's a little bit pricy.

Tags: Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Did not care for baked oysters as much a ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Did not care for baked oysters as much as other reviewers. They did have a good fresh selection though. Scallops and chowder also good. Beer and wine list very good. Service could have been better.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Everything was perfect and you could act ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Everything was perfect and you could actually carry on a conversation without shouting. Awesome professional mature waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding selection of fresh shucked o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Outstanding selection of fresh shucked oysters from puget sound. Unique baked oysters as well, included smoked ( simply exceptional) Olympic, Rockefeller & Provençal. Fresh seafood entrees included black cod (sablefish) wild, seared scallops; all expertly prepared with Brüssel sprouts side dish displaying an enjoyable umami flavor notes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anytime I feel like oysters, this is the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Anytime I feel like oysters, this is the place. Seafood is always fresh and perfectly prepared. The only off note this occasion was a fussy child at a neighboring table. But that, of course, was not the restaurant's fault.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a very nice meal. It was my wife' ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had a very nice meal. It was my wife's birthday and we were celebrating. The waiter, Jay, was the right amount of attentive and brought us a surprise dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yearly date with the boys. We love comin ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Yearly date with the boys. We love coming here for the oysters and martinis. See you next year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service as usual

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food and service as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience! Great food ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent dining experience! Great food, great service, great ambience! Thank you

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a wonderful place to return: Great ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It's a wonderful place to return: Great food, outstanding and kind service paired with healthy and well-plated food. My friends always come away happy and amazed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Historic, Healthy, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best oysters in Seattle and great seafoo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Best oysters in Seattle and great seafood. I visit Shuckers every time I am in Seattle. The oysters are the best in town and I have yet to have anything other than a truly great meal no matter what I try. Service is professional and responsive and the bartender makes a tasty Manhattan. Shuckers is a popular spot so a reservation is recommended.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy a visit to Schucker's be ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We always enjoy a visit to Schucker's before going to plays at the 5th Avenue Theater. Convenient location close to the theater, great oyster preparations, great service and warm atmosphere. Although almost always busy, never too noisy. Can have normal conversations without straining to hear. Definitely make reservations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Received the usual BEST service. Can't c ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Received the usual BEST service. Can't complain. Food was fresh and very tasty.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate dinner at Shucker's two times dur ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We ate dinner at Shucker's two times during our trip and had wine and oysters at happy hour. Our food was excellent. We ate cippino, oysters, steelhead, and halibut. All of the seafood was outstanding. It was fresh and prepared perfectly. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Darla is our favorite server. We have made Shucker's a tradition for our family.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's the best place to eat oysters in Se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

It's the best place to eat oysters in Seattle. Love the classic style of the restaurant

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

good food, great waiter and good wine s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

good food, great waiter and good wine selecfion. Only negative is how crowded the tables for two are along the wall--- and sitting near the front door is cold and drafty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, Shuckers never disappoint. Th ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 9, 2016

As always, Shuckers never disappoint. The food, the staff, the place! Thanks, Shuckers, for a lovely lunch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive staff, clean, good food option ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Attentive staff, clean, good food options on the fresh list, nice cocktails. Just a bit noisy. Went to the Terrace Bar in the Fairmont for a quiet coffee and another cocktail after finishing our lunch.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Nothing special. I was looking forward ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Nothing special.

I was looking forward to trying something new and the menu looked delicious. And the food did not disappoint. My Steelhead was smooth, flavorful and perfectly cooked.

But the service did not match the food.

We arrived a few minutes late, mostly because we couldn't find it. Maps took us to the front of the hotel and there were no directional signs inside. After walking the block, we finally found it. Upon arrival the hostess was unenthusiastic. Once sat, we felt rushed to order our drinks, but then sat for a lengthy time before our dinner orders were taken. Our server promised to return to take our orders but that was delayed by several minutes.

When our food finally arrived, we informed our server we had another event and that we needed our check. She promised to keep us moving so we could be on time. Instead, we had to wave her down to get our checks, 10 minutes after we had told her we needed to be gone. She then undercharged us, and while we were signing the checks took the from us to add a missing beer. In the end, we were over 30 minutes late to the next event and left feeling wholly unsatisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Our server Mike very pleasant and knowle ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Our server Mike very pleasant and knowledgeable. He made the experience that much better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful woodwork to admire. Pan fried ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Beautiful woodwork to admire. Pan fried Oysters very good. Service was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food is great. The event was my wife ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food is great. The event was my wife's birthday. The service is also great. We had our favorite table by the window. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes good seafood and a overall good restaurant experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place to have a meal with ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always a great place to have a meal with family and friends.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an interesting dinner, fire ala ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This was an interesting dinner, fire alarm went off and we were all evacuated came back to wrap up dinner and had some comp items. Staff was very willing to help. Absolute best oysters!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.