About Shuckers

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Gavin Stephenson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Restaurant Photos

Crab Mac 'n Cheese
Tomato Soup And Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Fresh Oysters
Mixed Grill
Cod
Wedge Salad
Baked Cheese
Shuckers Chop Salad
Old Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Cake
Grilled Prawn
Bread Basket
Pan Fried Oysters
Espresso
Scallops
Wild Salmon
Blueberry Blackberry Pie
Assorted Baked Oysters
Dungeness Crab Mac and Cheese
Oreo Mud Pie

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Seafood
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (55)
Special Occasion (40)
Great for Lunch (33)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Romantic (22)
Good for Groups (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for a Date (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Family Style (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1052 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food, atmosphere and service were all gr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food, atmosphere and service were all great. Would definitely go back and also recommend to others.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time, it was a special oc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great time, it was a special occasion for my daughter.

The waiter was professional but also friendly.

Good was great.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every time I visit Seattle, I make sure ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Every time I visit Seattle, I make sure I have dine here.

Food and drink perfect. Must have the Blackberry/blueberry dessert !!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going for years. Consistent ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We have been going for years. Consistently high quality seafood and raw oyster selection. Agreeable wine selections.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the restaurant, but the prices for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Love the restaurant, but the prices for lunch are insane...$40 salmon filet, seriously.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our meals were great, except my salad in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our meals were great, except my salad included included an avocado that was clearly brown and awful. It made me a bit suspicious of the seafood in the salad, which was fine, if a bit undercooked. Otherwise we had a good dinner.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waiter was prompt and attentive with ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our waiter was prompt and attentive without being overbearing. I asked which of 3 things he would recommend. Without hesitation he told me and I was thrilled he did. It was the Steelhead Trout special and it was fabulous! My friend had oysters divided up and done 3 different ways. I didn't think I liked oysters, but a sample of one changed my mind. The berry pie with sour cream ice cream clinched the deal. It was a great night and one I would highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shuckers is a great place to have an ama ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Shuckers is a great place to have an amazing meal. Great food, special atmosphere, and fantastic service. Whether with the family or on business Shuckers is a must stop whenever I visit Seattle.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an excellent time, love the food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We had an excellent time, love the food and service was incredible. No one told server Tori H. that it was my birthday, but she figured it and gave me a birthday dessert with a candle - pretty impressive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Shucker's is a great restaurant at the F ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Shucker's is a great restaurant at the Fairmont Hotel. We started with oysters (of course) that we had the chef choose. The selection was amazing, the oysters fresh and the horseradish spicy. We also enjoyed the salmon which was perfectly cooked. The wine list is good and we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The dining room is stunning and the Loui ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The dining room is stunning and the Louie salads are divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food beautifully executed, service also ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food beautifully executed, service also impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always amazing.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The food is always amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great and most of the fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The service was great and most of the food was good but the seafood paella was really a bad dish. The spices in the paella completely overwhelmed the taste of the seafood. Makes no culinary sense at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Shuckers has changed...The traditional g ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Shuckers has changed...The traditional great bread basket is gone...We received 3 little pieces of white french type brad..3!

Too noisy and crowded..lost its charm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Service is great!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Four of us are there twice in one week t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Four of us are there twice in one week traveling. First time great at the bar. Second time not so great. Two of the four dinners (steak salad) the steak was cold and gristly .

However manager Adam handled the issue in a very apologetic and professional manner.

Intimate ambiance and great bar staff!

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoy the setting and food very much. O ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Enjoy the setting and food very much. Our foodie friends from San Francisco enjoyed it also.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was perfect and the oysters ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our service was perfect and the oysters were fresh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience (twice) while in Seattl ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great experience (twice) while in Seattle. Food was very good albeit a bit pricey. The only real negative was the artichoke which consisted of dry leaves and no "meat". Also a tad noisy, likely because of the confined space. Waitstaff very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to Shuckers on Saturday evening ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went to Shuckers on Saturday evening 1 hour before our reserved time. Fortunately,

the restaurant was not so busy at that time, so we could be seated at once.

We orderd scallop(for my wife) and Alaskan salmon(for me). My wife said that scallop was

very fine, though I felt the grilled salmon was not bad but not very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing food and service with a fantasti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing food and service with a fantastic waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The drive from the south of Seattle and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The drive from the south of Seattle and then home is always worth it to eat at Shuckers!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, solid unspectacular. Excellent sta ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good, solid unspectacular. Excellent staff, nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Very good food and drink in a comfortabl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good food and drink in a comfortable environment. Prices were reasonable, but service was a little slow. Still a good place for a meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We've stayed at the Fairmont Olympic Hot ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We've stayed at the Fairmont Olympic Hotel in the past. Shuckers is new since our last visit, and we wanted to check it out. The restaurant was extremely busy the evening we went. A reservation is highly recommended. We were seated immediately upon arrival. The service was just O.K. I noticed our waiter had a number of tables including some outside. We both had the seafood chowder that I highly recommend. She had a dinner size Caesar salad while I had the half portion. Shuckers was offering seven varieties of oysters, and I had two each. Oysters were from the waters around the bays of northwestern Washington. All were very fresh and tasty. Some confusion with the tab. Our waiter blamed it on a new computer program.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Lunch was for a wonderful employee anniv ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Lunch was for a wonderful employee anniversary.

Our waiter was fabulous, food was great (crabcake sandwich was so good) and we all enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place! The food was wonderful ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Loved this place! The food was wonderful. They happily substitute sides in your dish. Our waiter Jay was a seasoned pro and delivered a very personalized service. Highly recommend and can't wait to return next time I'm in Seattle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best service and quality for the dol ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The best service and quality for the dollar. Always a treat 10 years later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food , Quiet and warm atmosphere . ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great Food , Quiet and warm atmosphere . Service attentive and responsive. Definitely first on my list when downtown for a relaxing meal. Impressive without being flashy. An enjoyable experience from cocktails to the last drop of port.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a dinner with a friend and my w ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Went for a dinner with a friend and my wife. Warmly greeted by Hostess. Immediately greeted by server. Great ambiance. Warm and a throwback with beautiful carved wood paneling. Server explained menu and made recommendations. All had the halibut off the "fresh board" and were not disappointed. Each had a different preparation but none disappointed. Fresh, light and well prepared. Had to follow with the recommended Key lime pie which was fantastic. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great NW fresh seafood. Best anywhere d ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great NW fresh seafood. Best anywhere downtown . Service is always excellent. Ask for the Seattle club sandwich and do not miss the seafood chowder. Always a fine meal and excellent bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ran in around 6:15pm just to have som ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We ran in around 6:15pm just to have something before going to the theater. It was about 1/2-3/4's full. We were seated within a minute. Everyone that waited on us was great especially our server. She is from Bosnia and was attentive throughout. She really made sure about our choices and suggested I split my order or oysters into two which I did and loved both kinds. We both had drinks and were eating appetizers and small crab louis. Everything was timed out perfectly which for me is one of the must haves in any place I go. My wife had a great time and never felt rushed. Overall a great meal and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great atmosphere! Don't be ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food! Great atmosphere! Don't be afraid to show up in shorts and sneakers after a long site seeing day. Very relaxed atmosphere with a fantastic menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We were looking forward to dining at Shu ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We were looking forward to dining at Shuckers based on their menu and some previous reviews. While our experience was OK, we were disappointed that it did not live up to our expectations. We actually like to take our time with our meals when dining out, but the service was extremely slow even for us. It seemed the waiter may have had more tables to handle than he could efficiently manage. In terms of the food, the flavors were just OK and not remarkable. The noise level was fine, but we did note the tables felt small and close together. All in all we did not feel it was worth the cost when so many other great options are available in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent restaurant in downtown Seattle ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent restaurant in downtown Seattle! Was with party of 4 and we tried the oysters (a variety and all were good) we had the popcorn shrimp appetizer also. Our entrees were all excellent salmon, halibut, scallops and ahi tuna. They were prepared perfectly. The service was excellent and the inside of the restaurant with all the beautiful wood makes for a wonderful setting! Definitely worth the money for a special occasion

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Shuckers did not disappoint T ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always, Shuckers did not disappoint

The service, impeccable and the food of top notch quality.

The manager, Sandra, never fails to come to each table to check how everyone's doing.

I am a regular and everyone addresses

me by name.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

salmon was overcooked and dry. Very dis ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

salmon was overcooked and dry. Very disappointing for a seafood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The wine list almost non existent. The m ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The wine list almost non existent. The menu was ok but lack much variety. The crab cakes were average, the steamed clams were good but had a bitter after taste. I can make better at home. The oysters were the best thing. The halibut special was average.

Overall, I would say its ok, not great. Not recommended. Find another place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Protein portions were too small for the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Protein portions were too small for the price (4 scallops for $42, 2 small pieces of fish for $25 fish and chips dinner entrees). Great taste, but very pricey. Not sure we'll go back given there are plenty of alternatives here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.