About Shuckers

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Gavin Stephenson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Restaurant Photos

Crab Mac 'n Cheese
Tomato Soup And Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Fresh Oysters
Mixed Grill
Cod
Wedge Salad
Wild Salmon
Shuckers Chop Salad
Baked Cheese
Grilled Prawn
Old Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Cake
Bread Basket
Pan Fried Oysters
Espresso
Scallops
Blueberry Blackberry Pie
Assorted Baked Oysters
Dungeness Crab Mac and Cheese
Oreo Mud Pie

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Seafood
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (65)
special occasion (52)
great for lunch (31)
See All
neighborhood gem (30)
romantic (28)
good for groups (24)
notable wine list (19)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1002 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a Delicious meal with some great ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was a Delicious meal with some great cocktails and we really enjoyed our graduation celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great assortment of seafood. Wonderful ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great assortment of seafood. Wonderful Piper Heidseik champagne and one list. All the food was delicious and our server was friendly and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always have a great meal and experien ...

Dined 6 days ago

We always have a great meal and experience at Shuckers. 1 st time having fresh oysters and the waiter was very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and close to 5th Avenue Theat ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food and close to 5th Avenue Theater.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Classy restaurant in the Fairmont Hotel. ...

Dined 7 days ago

Classy restaurant in the Fairmont Hotel. The look is wood paneled pub but it’s a very upscale seafood restaurant. The menu is pricey but the food is excellent and service is good. My wife had the seared scallops and thought they were great. I had the mixed grill on the recommendation of our waiter and it was excellent; fish, clams, shrimp and scallops all cooked perfectly. The highlight of my meal was the crab mac ‘n cheese; hot with melted cheese and lumps of crab.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and friendly staff! True gal ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food and friendly staff! True gal that served us for lunch was so pleasant and shared her personal favorites! Baked Oysters are a must!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great seafood. The copper river salmon w ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great seafood. The copper river salmon was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was full of seafood options whi ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

The menu was full of seafood options which is exactly what we were looking for. I had the salmon which was delicious and my girlfriend had the scallops which she loved. For an appetizer we split the Oysters Rockefeller that were cooked to perfection. They weren't too greasy or cheesy and tasted great. Shuckers also has a good wine list to pair with seafood. Our waiter was on point too. All in all a very good place.

food4
ambience3
service3

Good meal in a fancy hotel but the resta ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Good meal in a fancy hotel but the restaurant is more an upscale pub than a fancy place which suited us well. Oysters, scallops, rosemary cracker bread and butter, and the key lime pie were all out of this world! The Copper River Salmon was just okay.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a favorite

Dined on June 11, 2016

A little pricey but always a favorite. Never miss the opportunity to get to Shuckers when we're in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seattle trip must have

Dined on June 7, 2016

I always enjoy lunch or dinner at Shuckers when my travels takes me to Seattle and never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Became an oyster fan!

Dined on June 4, 2016

While waiting for our reservation, we sat at the bar. The bartender was helpful in recommending a variety of raw and baked oysters, all of which were delicious. The rest of the evening followed suit. Great waiter, delicious food, and yummy dessert.

food3
ambience4
service4

They have a great variety of catch of th ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

They have a great variety of catch of the day fish. Mostly salmon or halibut. Food is great. Great wine list. Nice romantic place or place for friends and family. Excellent outside seating. Nice find. Second time here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's done your way.

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

This was actually our first time here, although we've walked by the restaurant many times over the 20 plus years we had worked in Seattle prior to retirement. We also have stayed at the Olympic several times without once considering a reservation at Shuckers.......our complete lost! I'd asked for something off the menu and our server (James or "Jim if you like") said "OK" without batting an eye. James was spot on, not overly pushy or gushing with fake sincerity. The food was superb! We had Copper River King Salmon cooked the way we've enjoyed at home. We highly recommend Shuckers for everyday dining and special occasions or theater night. Thanks for a great meal and evening. We will return!!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic oysters

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

The large oysters were incredible as was the paella. Good choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

Fish was great but too expensive. Servic ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Fish was great but too expensive. Service was a little slow

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Seafood

Dined on May 28, 2016

Both Food and service were great. We really enjoyed their mixed seafood grill. Priced toward the high side. Pub type atmosphere. Centrally located in downtown area of Seattle.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon was perfect!

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

We had the copper river salmon and steelhead. Both were perfectly grilled and with the veggies, etc. it was a satisfying meal. Well worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance and food always top notch!

Dined on May 23, 2016

I have dined at Shucker's many times over the years, and have always found their food and beverages to be very high quality, and the service exceptional. The restaurant has a lovely classy but cosy ambiance; with welcoming, friendly and professional staff. Their seafood chowder is scrumptious! This visit was as enjoyable as ever, and I was very pleased that they honoured the requests I made via my Open Dining reservation. Try the Creamsicle dessert drink!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Macadamia Key Lime Pie!!!!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Best Macadamia Key Lime Pie!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Suckers for a 50th Birthday dinn ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Went to Suckers for a 50th Birthday dinner before seeing Billy Joel. Meal was fantastic. Ahi Tuna was amazing and the wasabi was outstanding! Server (Jay) was excellent and they brought a huge piece of cake out on the house! Gave us a fabulous table at the window. Jay advised us on the best way to get to the show. Was a wonderful way to start the evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

My go-to restaurant in Seattle for the f ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My go-to restaurant in Seattle for the freshest oysters and seafood, not to mention the best crab cakes. Love the accompaniments for the fish too! Great Pac Northwest wines.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food, service. Class throughout, old world charm.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an outstanding institution in th ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

This is an outstanding institution in the heart of the Fairmont hotel . Warm, gracious greeting from both the hostess and restaurant manager, who would periodically check to make sure all was good at each table. Service by Darla, was fantastic and professional. She was courteous, friendly, knowledgeable and her food recommendations were fantastic. Our meals of crab salad and popcorn shrimp, caesar salad and tea were outstanding - tasty and delicious, but most importantly, it's all about the incredible service that Darla undertook that will keep us returning time and time again. Wonderful, amazing and perfection personified experience. What a most delightful afternoon. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a cozy environment and very fresh s ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Such a cozy environment and very fresh seafood. Excellent service and classy

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Oysters on the half shell were excellent ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Oysters on the half shell were excellent. Seared scallops were fantastic. Good energy in the restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the fresh fish options and environm ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Love the fresh fish options and environment. Classy white jackets, great service and a fun place for drinks and oysters.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The clam chowder and Ceasar salad with c ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The clam chowder and Ceasar salad with crab meat were amazing

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day in Seattle

Dined on May 9, 2016

We were in Seattle for the night and it was Mother's Day. I wanted to take my wife for a nice dinner, not too far from our hotel. We came to Shucker's. It had a nice, up-scale pub ambiance and was not too noisy. Our waiter was friendly, attentive and helpful. I started with the Schucker's Seafood Chowder. It was very good and loaded with seafood. My wife had the Seared Wild Scallops, and commented that they were the best scallops that she every had. I had the Seafood Paella. It include 1/4 Dungeness Crab and lots of other seafood. The rice was very tasty. I told the waiter that I was in heaven. We finished with the berry pie. It was a wonderful meal, and when I am back in Seattle I will be sure return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Thoroughly Enjoyable

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was amazing. We solicited recommendations from our server and he knew his material. Not only was he prepared to make suggestions but he was able to very knowledgeably tell us why. The food was fantastic and its in a great location, especially if you are seeing a show downtown. The prices were a bit steep.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Oysters and beer flights. Can't wa ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great Oysters and beer flights. Can't wait to come back and bring my wife. Great ambience in an old school bar setting. Felt very welcoming and extremely warm. Somewhere you could easily eat and drink away a great day on Seattle and feel like you missed nothing.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great fried oysters. Helpful staff.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Great fried oysters. Helpful staff.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food but on the expensive side com ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food but on the expensive side compared to compatible venues.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were good. Price is way ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Food and service were good. Price is way more expansive than advised at opentable app.

food2
ambience4
service4
value4

No pearl in this oyster

Dined on April 18, 2016

We chose Shuckers at the Fairmont Olympic for two reasons: we were staying there so it was convenient but also because the reviews and menu looked promising. Service was great, oysters were fresh but an overall lack of flavour marred today's catch. The mixed grill with a side of crab Mac and cheese was mushy and flavourless- not much you can do to resuscitate overlooked pasta but the dish would have benefited from the addition of crunchy breadcrumbs and a little cheese sprinkled on top to make up for the overall lack of cheesiness. The $42.00 mixed grill, though Fresh could use a little jazzing up with even a sprinkling of fresh herbs, or even lemon. We expect more from the Fairmont and for that price a little flavour hoes a long way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner before the play at 5th Avenue Theater

Dined on April 17, 2016

The dinner was great "Scollops" X 2. Wine was great and suggested by the server along with a the great multi berry desert. Close location for 5th Ave. Theater Performance.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Messinger

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Shuckers is a well known Seattle downtown restaurant that captures the ambiance of the Fairmont Olympic elegance and old time charm. You get the feeling you are in the present and past and the best of both. If you are looking for a dining venue before a concert at Benaroya Hall or any other downtown venue, Shuckers is a great way to start the evening. Make a reservation on the early time of an event, enjoy the dining leisure doing so provides, and watch the vibrancy and dining excitement intensify. It is a quality dining experience that sets a great tone for the evening to come. By the way, eating there later, after the theater and concert crowds leave, makes for a fine evening experience in and of itself.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience!

Dined on April 16, 2016

We stayed at the Fairmont Olympic for 2 nights and went to Shuckers on our first night. It was absolutely wonderful! The seafood was fresh and fantastic, lots of options and great service to go along with it! Larry especially did a wonderful job serving us. Thanks for a great experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Just fair, not cheap for fair.

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Order was botched and little effort to resolve. Just explained maybe there was a mid communication. That's fine not at these prices. Enough said.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Can't beat the freshness of the Oysters. Great seafood and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.