About Shuckers

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Casual (21)
See All
Cozy (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Business Meals (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Historic (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Authentic (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Healthy (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Fun (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great Beer (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Family Style (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Our party of four met for dinner before attending a concert at Benaroya Hall. We enjoyed the food very much, and our server was fun, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the menu. The Louie Salad was an excellent value. We all look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good value and excellent service. The wine by the glass seems to be a little over priced.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love this restaurant for the food, the service and the vibe! Jelena is our favourite server and she always goes above and beyond and makes each visit a pleasure!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food with very generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was great and oysters were best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was slooooow and staff seemed inexperienced - Red Robin level of service! Not Fairmont level. Food preparation and presentation was very pedestrian and unappetizing. Time to upgrade the staff and chefs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Everything was perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fresh oysters and best brussel sprouts ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great spot for Valentines Day date with my wife. The food was outstanding and our server was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best fried oysters I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My friend picked Shuckers for her birthday lunch, and our food was excellent. My friend ordered the crab cakes with tater tots, asking for the tater tots to be extra crispy, and they delivered! I had "Rachel's Plate" which I understand changes daily (a lunch special?). It was a lot of shrimp, sautéed veggies and feta cheese, and I thought it was outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always have a great meal here when in town. My son loves the fish and chips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Shuckers, why did I wait so long?? Had I known you have mussels on your lunch menu, I'd have shown up much sooner. I had a wonderful bowl of Penn Cove mussels with a Washington merlot (yes, I drink red with shellfish) and indulged in the coffee ice cream afterward - so delicious! Will definitely return very soon and try some fish from the daily list. Kudos to Jelena for her friendly service as well as to the hostesses. A warm and welcoming atmosphere, much appreciated. I would urge anyone staying at the Fairmont Olympic to stop in at Shuckers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

amazing oyster selection and service. The ambiance was a bit older, but romantic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fabulous dinner, food was great! Service good, was very busy when we were there so quite loud. Oysters a must. And the Brussels sprouts.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great crab mac and cheese paired with flakey and crisp halibut fish and chips. I ate at the bar; seems the bartenders like it there working there for at least 30 years. Bonus bread and cheesy chips.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The jumbo prawns are Awesome. The seared ahi was also amazing. Lot of flavors Worth trying Shuckers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

in the hotel. food was excellent. the scallops were huge and tasty. nice Rich ambiance. service was excellent. we consisted it anow excellent find.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Shuckers is a casual dining experience with fabulous local seafood. Everything is worth what you pay. This could also be a dress up date restaurant. I will be back with more people to share the experience with. 😊

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Never disappoints!

Great service, location and food!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I've been to Shuckers many times through the years - business lunches and pre-theater - and it always meets the highest standards. The staff are so friendly and skilled, the food is great, and wonderful ornate wood interior - all are a feast for the soul! Our server, Michael, offered wonderful suggestions. We even participated in the last few minutes of Happy Hour by purchasing a glass of red wine - it was delightful; not a second-rate wine as many happy hours serve. The dark wood interior creates a comfortable feeling of home. Thank you, Shuckers!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food and service are so fabulous. Never disappointing. Everything was over the top.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

came here for new years eve dinner. was able to get a reservation within the week which is kind of last minute for nye planning. they had great seafood!! our waiter gave us excellent choices and excellent service! will definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very nice restaurant with great Smoked Oysters.

The clams in white wine sauce were a tiny bit sandy but were still tasty, everything else we had was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We're long time Shuckers fans but attended for New Year's Eve dinner with friends. The restaurant is small, but the service was great (thanks to our server, Jay!) and the food delicious. Shuckers specializes in seafood, but our teenagers all found great entrees (burgers, fish and chips and fried chicken) so everyone was happy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I ate here on 29th Jan for dinner. I had the special king prawns in garlic with fries. Delicious sauce and huge prawns! Really good. And fresh.

My husband had prawns to start then crab cakes - both delicious too.

Good service, friendly.

Worth a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love Shuckers. The food gets better and better!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Favorite long time go to spot that is consistently utstanding!

Tags: Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very nice! Wait staff/bartenders engaging and fun. Happy hour good value..especially the oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

If perfect service is what you like, Shuckers is for you. Oysters? Of course! A helpful staff but not obtrusive staff? You've got it. This restaurant is perfect for most any occasion - family get togethers or business lunches or even a date . Seattle is full of noisy casual spots - go to this old style restaurant for good food and be treated like you own the place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, People Watching, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was decent. Portions were good. Our server was horrible. He was slow to come and take our order, did not check on us at all and we sat with our dirty plates in front of us for a ridiculously long time. I did not feel like the service was even close- especially for the prices. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were on our way to a play at the 5th Ave Theater which is only 1/2 block from Shucker's. The menu is basically a seafood menu. The service by our waitress Yelena was outstanding, both timely and friendly without being pushy. The food was excellent. A bit on the pricey side but for the occasional visit, worth the price.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Terrible service overall food was over salted

Salad was soggy. With all the new restaurants in Seattle time for a make over

It's like your dining in the 1980's

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The atmosphere, staff, and food are all above excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service -- my Mother is 85 and not easy to move about in a restaurant and the staff

was accommodating and kind and patient with us and food and other kind guests added to

experience!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

For starters, Shuckers is in the Fairmont Hotel; next the food is incredible and so is the service. Just be ready to spend more than you might usually, but you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food is so great, especially the oyster! But it's a little bit pricy.

Tags: Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Did not care for baked oysters as much as other reviewers. They did have a good fresh selection though. Scallops and chowder also good. Beer and wine list very good. Service could have been better.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Everything was perfect and you could actually carry on a conversation without shouting. Awesome professional mature waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Outstanding selection of fresh shucked oysters from puget sound. Unique baked oysters as well, included smoked ( simply exceptional) Olympic, Rockefeller & Provençal. Fresh seafood entrees included black cod (sablefish) wild, seared scallops; all expertly prepared with Brüssel sprouts side dish displaying an enjoyable umami flavor notes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Anytime I feel like oysters, this is the place. Seafood is always fresh and perfectly prepared. The only off note this occasion was a fussy child at a neighboring table. But that, of course, was not the restaurant's fault.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had a very nice meal. It was my wife's birthday and we were celebrating. The waiter, Jay, was the right amount of attentive and brought us a surprise dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Yearly date with the boys. We love coming here for the oysters and martinis. See you next year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food and service as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent dining experience! Great food, great service, great ambience! Thank you

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It's a wonderful place to return: Great food, outstanding and kind service paired with healthy and well-plated food. My friends always come away happy and amazed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Historic, Healthy, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Best oysters in Seattle and great seafood. I visit Shuckers every time I am in Seattle. The oysters are the best in town and I have yet to have anything other than a truly great meal no matter what I try. Service is professional and responsive and the bartender makes a tasty Manhattan. Shuckers is a popular spot so a reservation is recommended.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We always enjoy a visit to Schucker's before going to plays at the 5th Avenue Theater. Convenient location close to the theater, great oyster preparations, great service and warm atmosphere. Although almost always busy, never too noisy. Can have normal conversations without straining to hear. Definitely make reservations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Received the usual BEST service. Can't complain. Food was fresh and very tasty.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.