Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Shuckers

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for a Date (24)
Business Meals (22)
Authentic (21)
Casual (19)
Cozy (19)
Historic (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Healthy (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fun (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
People Watching (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Delightful variety of seafood dishes. Magnificent selection of fresh oysters. Nice wild fish board. Blueberry blackberry pie was fantastic. Service attentive and analytical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

For me, the best part of dining out is being graciously served by truly professional waitstaff who take an interest in your choices and even remember you from your last visit several months ago. I was fortunate to have Jelena take care of me again and she is all of the above. The Tuna Nicoise salad was exquisite as well along with a Walla Walla Cabernet Sauvignon. It's a comfortable space for me as well as a single diner and I plan to head downtown more often for this excellent lunch experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Amazing service every time and delicious food. It's my go to whenever I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

oyster bisque was bland and baked oysters weren't that great. had higher expectations given price and ratings. the atmosphere was nice. our waiter was nice, but the service was very slow. we waited 15-20 minutes between appetizers being eaten and the main course coming out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Not what we expected at all based upon past reviews. The atmosphere is a pick up bar. The meals were very pricey but were not all that good. Ahi Sashimi tuna was very stringy and not very flavorful. The oysters and oyster stew were flavorful. The calamari was just ok. That along with a $30 bottle wine, tax & gratuity was $243. This restaurant is in the old Four Seasons hotel and expected a more upscale fine dining establishment.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2017

A wonderful meal! Shuckers is one of our most favorite restaurants in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Would have expected to get more than 4oz of fish for $36 at lunch. I always have loved this place but portions are shrinking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Really good oysters Rockefeller and the BEST fish and chips. Pleasant and accomodating staff that did not hover.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were caught in horrendous rain storm and we were very late but I called on my cell and the hostess was so kind and accommodating to get us in later. We had a super server who met our every need. Go again you bet and it will be sooner than the 20years that have elapsed sinceI I took my friend and I there. Wonderful doesn't even approach how I feel about our evening at Shuckers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I have been to Shuckers many times. We had theatre tonight so we told our waiter when we wanted to leave. As usual the food and service were terrific. The restaurant was extremely busy and maybe louder than usual, but that didn't detract from our enjoyment . The pacing was great and we were out in time for our play with no anxiety about running late or waiting for our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Have eaten here many times and will continue to do so. Love the food, the wait staff is so considerate and warm, and they always get us out of there in time to get to the 5th Avenue. Thank you so much,

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is the second time that my friend and I have dined at Shuckers and both time enjoyed the food and ambiance. The staff was very helpful. Will be returning.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food was very good. We enjoyed our lunch. A little crowded and service was a little slow, but food was worth the wait.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

excellent food - a little cramped in space - but very nice just the same. we will definitely go when we are back in Seattle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great meal here with quality service. Caesar salad was the best. Fish and chips the best I've ever had. Love the atmosphere. A great place for a drink meal and visit.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our birthday celebration was wonderful, and Tori took such good care of us. She is calm, thoughtful and delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Chris took good care of us and made some great recommendations. The halibut and scallops were go tos for entrees and the oysters were a great way to start off the meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

They were not prepared to seat us eventhough the were not busy. The ambiance wasn't very great, when we expected different from reviews on Google. Food tasted good but their portions weren't very big and they were over-priced. Decent spot but it missed out on expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful meal with great service

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Lunch - excellent selection of fresh seafood (five entrees on the board). We had oysters on the half shell to start, bisque and steelhead. All perfectly prepared and served. Service was gracious and timely, even with a packed lunch crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Fabulous food, fabulous service, fabulous atmosphere

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was fresh and fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

An Oyster bar/restaurant. We liked it a lot. Good food, not outstanding, but better than average. T he wait staff is very good. Attentive without being overbearing. Nice wood paneled features in the room giving it an easy, warm feeling. It is located in a business area so not too many choices to find a good meal. This would be a good choice for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Shuckers is a true Seattle classic. The fish specials on the chalk board are the way to go ... make sure you have plenty of time because they place an appropriate emphasis on quality of experience instead of speed.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We popped in for happy hour oysters and wine. Delicious! And our waiter Steve was a delight. If we weren't leaving today we'd be going back for another round.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Steamed clams was very tasty
Service was great

Would recommend

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Excellent service and mostly excellent food. There are many good things to say about Shuckers and they can be proud of their staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Another outstanding meal at one of my favorite places to eat in Seattle. I've had meals there over the last 30 years and they just keep getting better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Once we found it in the corner of the Fairmont hotel we were greeted and shown right to the table.
Good calamari yet the $40 piece of Halibut was about 1/2 the size of the $28 fish and chips. Coleslaw was flat, not much flavor. Nice waiter but long wait for entrees.
Will go elsewhere next time...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our go to fish restaurant was outstanding once again . We ordered a crab louie salad that was excellent and we each had the STEELHEAD off the board. Outstanding . A great draft and a great wine by the glass.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great restaurant! The service was awesome and the food was amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Shuckers is the best place for great oysters. I love their crab louie. Service is perfect.
This is one of my favorite stops when in Seattle.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Nice variety of seafood items. Wonderful decor, historic and club like.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great energy, lively and bustling. Great service despite the fact that the restaurant was full. The calamari was tender and lightly fried. The scallops were the best I ever had - succulent, sweet, perfectly seasoned and the portion was huge! First time I was full on scallops before finishing them all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Appallingly bad service and mediocre food for a Sunday night dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent as always. One of our favorite pre-symphony dinner venues.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal. This was my Birthday celebration and the scallops with gnocchi was to die for. Will definitely be going back before the end of my trip. Beautiful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Overpriced I ordered the scallops for 42 dollars and expected more than 4 scallops. Brussel sprouts were burned. Overall not a pleasant experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere. Will definitely top the list of must-go places on our next trip to Seattle.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service and main course both good but somehow they were able to ruin a Caesar salad which we had previously to be impossible.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.