Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Shuckers

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Business Meals (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Casual (21)
Cozy (19)
Authentic (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Historic (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (14)
Healthy (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fun (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Seasonal (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was fresh and fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Shuckers is a true Seattle classic. The fish specials on the chalk board are the way to go ... make sure you have plenty of time because they place an appropriate emphasis on quality of experience instead of speed.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 3 days ago

We popped in for happy hour oysters and wine. Delicious! And our waiter Steve was a delight. If we weren't leaving today we'd be going back for another round.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Steamed clams was very tasty
Service was great

Would recommend

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service and mostly excellent food. There are many good things to say about Shuckers and they can be proud of their staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Another outstanding meal at one of my favorite places to eat in Seattle. I've had meals there over the last 30 years and they just keep getting better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Once we found it in the corner of the Fairmont hotel we were greeted and shown right to the table.
Good calamari yet the $40 piece of Halibut was about 1/2 the size of the $28 fish and chips. Coleslaw was flat, not much flavor. Nice waiter but long wait for entrees.
Will go elsewhere next time...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our go to fish restaurant was outstanding once again . We ordered a crab louie salad that was excellent and we each had the STEELHEAD off the board. Outstanding . A great draft and a great wine by the glass.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great restaurant! The service was awesome and the food was amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Shuckers is the best place for great oysters. I love their crab louie. Service is perfect.
This is one of my favorite stops when in Seattle.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Nice variety of seafood items. Wonderful decor, historic and club like.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great energy, lively and bustling. Great service despite the fact that the restaurant was full. The calamari was tender and lightly fried. The scallops were the best I ever had - succulent, sweet, perfectly seasoned and the portion was huge! First time I was full on scallops before finishing them all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Appallingly bad service and mediocre food for a Sunday night dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent as always. One of our favorite pre-symphony dinner venues.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal. This was my Birthday celebration and the scallops with gnocchi was to die for. Will definitely be going back before the end of my trip. Beautiful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Overpriced I ordered the scallops for 42 dollars and expected more than 4 scallops. Brussel sprouts were burned. Overall not a pleasant experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere. Will definitely top the list of must-go places on our next trip to Seattle.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service and main course both good but somehow they were able to ruin a Caesar salad which we had previously to be impossible.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Always excellent. We try to get to Shuckers whenever we're in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Steve was the best server ever. The food was delicious! Great atmosphere!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This was my first return in 30 + years. The Fairmont Hotel chain is now the operator of the Olympic and this restaurant; the quality ,service and environment could not be better. Best seafood selections in the city!We had a dungeness crab louie to start ,my wife had halibut and I had steamer clams .Everything was way beyond our expectation.Paired with great wine and beer selections,fabulous desserts:this restaurant deserves MORE than 5stars

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Continues to serve simple fresh delicious seafood. Our go to place coming from Central Washington for some of the best Oysters, steamer clams and fresh fish we can find. We have always been treated well by fun servers and enjoy the Old Seattle decor with an upbeat atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great choices on the menu. Excellent food, service and ambiance!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent oysters and fish. Good service. Pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Absolutely the best value for oysters on the half shell at happy hour. Great price for white wine and the popcorn shrimp and calamari are also outstanding. Darla our server was an absolute delight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Outstanding food with great service. Would recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Absolutely the best happy hour in Seattle. Best oyster selection, best price, best service and best ambience. Just a great value for oysters on the half shell

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Came here on a Fri night. Rang ahead of reservation as taxi late. Was very loud and busy as diners apparently come get before the theatre. Staff were pleasant and friendly. Didn't wait too long for my food. An enjoyable evening. Doorman got a taxi for me.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Seafood! The oysters were very fresh and tasty. The Crab Mac'n Cheese is a true comfort food, and our other dishes were well prepared and served hot and with an appealing presentation.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our waitress Tori was excellent. Noise level was loud. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Server was very knowledgeable (sorry I forgot his name. Food was fresh and tasty. Get the smoked oysters, I repeat get the smoked oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great dinner before a show at 5th avenue theatre which is less than a block walk. Excellent food and service but very noisy. Hard to hear my table mates soft voices.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Every year we visit Seattle and the first thing we do is head here for happy hour.
Love everything about Shuckers

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent except for the noise level which was too much for good conversation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Located in the Fairmont Hotel, this lovely restaurant is a GEM and I'm so happy we found it! We started with a drink in the hotel and then transferred to the restaurant where we were greeted by the sweetest staff. At the table, we found ourselves laughing out loud with our waiter - he truly was icing on our cake - so knowledgeable about the ingredients and flavors and a total joy! The food was the best I've had in a LONG time - yummy, fresh oysters done two ways for appetizers - I had halibut and chips with brussel sprouts that sent me to the moon - my sister had clam linguine that was simply delicious! All that topped with a beautiful location, good wine and a great day - I couldn't be happier with our choice of restaurants!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Our party of four met for dinner before attending a concert at Benaroya Hall. We enjoyed the food very much, and our server was fun, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the menu. The Louie Salad was an excellent value. We all look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good value and excellent service. The wine by the glass seems to be a little over priced.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love this restaurant for the food, the service and the vibe! Jelena is our favourite server and she always goes above and beyond and makes each visit a pleasure!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.