Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Shuckers

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Business Meals (24)
See All
Local Ingredients (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Casual (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Cozy (17)
Authentic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fun (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Seasonal (9)
People Watching (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Live Sports (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Waterfront (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

A bit too loud and also overpriced. The food was good. The service was great. The table was too small for four people. The chairs were too low. The tables were too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious crabcakes and great grapefruit and sparkling wine cocktail. Had a nice table by the window.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Best oysters ever ! Excellent service and food!! Can't wait to go back !! Loved Happy Hour!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great seafood. Convenient to theaters, Benaroya, museum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great place for oysters! The freshest we have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food, service, and ambience were all fantastic. I highly recomend this restaurant

Tags: Fun, Organic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Located at the Fairmont Olympic Hotel, Shuckers provides a convenient dinner location for hotel guests. It's specialty is seafood and other choices are very limited. I had the king salmon and my wife had the halibut, both of which were "simply grilled". Both were excellent. Be aware that the restaurant is not very large, so reservations are recommended. It can also be noisy, so it is not the place for a quiet, romantic tete a tete.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The oyster appetizer we ordered were outstanding. The fish dishes were good. I would have liked to have the option to add a sauce or topping.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were in Seattle after a week in the San Juan islands. It was our last night of vacation and our sons 19th birthday. All of our meals and appetizers were okay. Nothing really special. It was disappointing after a week of amazing meals. Our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Just a hotel restaurant and bar. Just fine, nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Phenomenal seafood. Portions are geared towards style and quality over quantity but I was not left hungry. It's a crowded and noisy place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This restaurant was recommended as one of the best Oyster bars they ever experienced. I found really good food very warm staff and not too expensive v was glad I went.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I had the scallops and I honestly think this was the best meal I've ever had! We also shared the Blueberry/Blackberry pie which was awesome! Definitely recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My friend and I ate here before going to the 5th Avenue theater. We had a very good meal. I had arrived a bit early and my friend was running a bit late. The waitress made sure that I had water and asked if I wanted some bread. My friend arrived and we ordered. I ordered the scallops and they were delicious and well prepared. The scallops were huge. We had a great time with delicious food.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Shuckers is an old favorite! We ordered two dozen baked oysters - a dozen Rockefeller, a dozen Olympics - and had a bottle of champagne. The oysters are always superlative!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Good choice of dishes. Very good service. Within easy walking distance to baseball and football games.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We enjoyed a late lunch (3:15) and beat the crowd. Food and service were excellent. Avoid peak times because cozy will turn into way overcrowded and you might accidentally grab something off someone else's plate.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We work downtown and have had lunch at Shuckers many times. The menu has changed and we noticed most items were fairly expensive for lunch. Ex. Fish and chips - $24
The fresh sheet was especially expensive for lunch.. i.e. $50 King Salmon and then on down, but nothing under $30. We all ordered Crab or shrimp salads since they were the best reasonably priced option. The smaller size was perfect for lunch and the salads were excellent. I guess my complaint is that besides the salads, the menu was priced a little high for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Wonderful crab Louis and earth shattering desserts. Mud pie and blueberr/blackberry pie. Great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We enjoyed a relaxed and delicious pre-theatre lunch in this lovely, warm and cozy spot. Our waiter was a joy; gracious, informative, amusing and efficient. His recommendations were spot on.

The oysters were as fresh as they could be, plump and succulent and their presentation fittingly pristine. The steamed mussels were equally fresh and sweet; their broth enriched with chorizo inspired our dipping our bread in order to savor every drop.

I ordered the Crab Louis. It arrived piled high with the fresh, sweet meat of one of my favorite crustaceans as well as stalks of slender grilled asparagus. My husband's choice, the Rachael's Corner offering, featured a miso-glazed 3 oz. piece of sockeye salmon that was deliciously annointed, but not overly so; the fish remained the star. Served on a bed of black rice, sugar snap peas and cherry tomatoes, it was as visually appealing as it was delicious.

Coffee and a shared mocha chocolate chip ice cream dessert provided a lovely finish to our beautifully balanced meal. We will return with pleasure.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Had a fun dinner with an old friend. Food was good although my crab cakes had too much spice in the aoli...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We were staying at the Fairmont Olympic Hotel and went to Shuckers for dinner. We started with cocktails and relaxed for a little while before ordering. My husband had steak which he said was great and I had salmon and they cooked it perfectly. I like my fish cooked through and it was delicious. We finished the evening with coffee and ice cream. Nice to have dinner and just walk upstairs to the lobby of the hotel. I would recommend Shuckers to anyone looking for great seafood in a very comfortable restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Amazing place. Would eat hete every night. Service and food was amazing and unforgetable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very pricey for the type of food it is. It was good but not great. Staff was great.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Went for our anniversary. I got new england boiled dinner- steamed lobster, clams, mussels, corn on the cob. Clams were very fresh. Crabcake was good too. Service nice. One of the best views in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I really enjoyed my lunch get-together here! I was seated promptly and the staff was very attentive. It wasn't a quick meal, but I wasn't looking for fast service and I think our waitress spaced it perfectly. During the peak it was a little loud but still quiet enough that conversation was not affected. I had the smoked salmon BLT and wedges which was absolutely delicious and my companion had these tasty crab cake melts and tater tots! To top it off they provide these yummy bite-sized fudge chocolate cookies before you leave. Overall I really loved my experience and would definitely recommend and come back for another long lunch meet up.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 27, 2017

Went to Schuckers because of their reputation as a very good seafoodresturant. We ate the catch of the day (halibut and tuna). It was a good meal (theres very good Seafood in Norway - so we're spoiled), but a bit pricy . The service was exellent though and the Place itself is nice :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Best scallops I've had in yrs.. staff was on top of it and friendly... recommend it highly..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Never disappoints. Fish and salads are excellent. Oysters all the time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Reliably good food, beer and wine. Downtown location is excellent as is atmosphere. Service is reliably good as well. Prices are a bit on the high side. Lets say 15-20% so. Noise level makes it difficult to hear others at the table.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 21, 2017

You want a place that has no attitude, no Seattle freeze and it's in the Fairmont....this is your place. The fresh sea food is beyond compare, the bar is friendly and the waitstaff is seasoned and friendly. I lived in Chicago for 50 years and this place makes me feel at home. Also, go up a couple stairs and have an after dinner drink in the lobby at The Terrace.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had a wonderful evening! Lot of oysters, clams, halibut, salmon, and big ole desserts. It was our 25th anniversary - went with our daughter.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Hostess was amazing can't say the same for server SLOW! Food was good but pricey. Crab max& cheese was a excellent! Not sure if it was their food but I was very ill all night long! Had raw oysters so maybe.... not sure I'll return

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Biggest problem is parking at the Fairmont $27 for three hours. No compensation from the restaurant whatsoever. Food was good but overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Rockafeller Oysters are the Best, Drive from the Yakima Valley just to have them, Definitely a Must Stop every time I'm in Seattle, Always Recommending to Friends and Family

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We had a wonderful late evening supper at an outdoor table. The raw oysters (Stellar Bay and Kushi) were terrific. The grilled octopus appetizer was prepared perfectly. The tempura eggplant with hot peppers was a divine concoction. The wait staff was courteous and knowledgeable. As a local, I have been to Shuckers many times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 13, 2017

TOP CLASS QUALITY.
Excellent seafood. Some of the freshest tasted. Oysters are the treasure here.
Service is razor sharp attentive with no over- burden.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The baked oysters were not as good as they usually are. The salad I ordered was made with the wrong ingredients and the croutons were huge, chewy in the middle and greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This was my second time dining here. I wanted to treat my out of town guests with what I thought would be an exceptional meal. Instead we were ignored for an hour and served warm (at best) stale food. Unacceptable for the price. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Worth it for happy hour from 3-6. Oyster selection great, waiter Christopher was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.