Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Shuckers

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Authentic (19)
Business Meals (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Cozy (14)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Historic (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fun (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Healthy (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Biggest problem is parking at the Fairmont $27 for three hours. No compensation from the restaurant whatsoever. Food was good but overpriced.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Rockafeller Oysters are the Best, Drive from the Yakima Valley just to have them, Definitely a Must Stop every time I'm in Seattle, Always Recommending to Friends and Family

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful late evening supper at an outdoor table. The raw oysters (Stellar Bay and Kushi) were terrific. The grilled octopus appetizer was prepared perfectly. The tempura eggplant with hot peppers was a divine concoction. The wait staff was courteous and knowledgeable. As a local, I have been to Shuckers many times and have never been disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 13, 2017

TOP CLASS QUALITY.
Excellent seafood. Some of the freshest tasted. Oysters are the treasure here.
Service is razor sharp attentive with no over- burden.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The baked oysters were not as good as they usually are. The salad I ordered was made with the wrong ingredients and the croutons were huge, chewy in the middle and greasy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This was my second time dining here. I wanted to treat my out of town guests with what I thought would be an exceptional meal. Instead we were ignored for an hour and served warm (at best) stale food. Unacceptable for the price. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Worth it for happy hour from 3-6. Oyster selection great, waiter Christopher was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The oysters are good but there were a few shell pieces. Our server was pleasant but we didn't see much of him. The restaurant is attractive in a wood panel way.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food excellent service. The oysters were the best that I have ever had. Also has lots of selections on the menu for people who are non-seafood eater's. Can't wait to visit again!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

What a pleasure to return to an old favorite. We had out of town friends visiting and decided that would enjoy Shuckers. The evening was great - service was good, and not intrusive. We stayed a long time and at no point did they try to hurry us. We started with a platter of Oysters Rockefeller for the table to share along with a bottle of champagne from my cellar. We all ordered entrees - everyone commented on how good their food was, and we shared desserts.

Going back here reminds me how much I enjoy this place.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great meal and great service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Delightful variety of seafood dishes. Magnificent selection of fresh oysters. Nice wild fish board. Blueberry blackberry pie was fantastic. Service attentive and analytical.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

For me, the best part of dining out is being graciously served by truly professional waitstaff who take an interest in your choices and even remember you from your last visit several months ago. I was fortunate to have Jelena take care of me again and she is all of the above. The Tuna Nicoise salad was exquisite as well along with a Walla Walla Cabernet Sauvignon. It's a comfortable space for me as well as a single diner and I plan to head downtown more often for this excellent lunch experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Amazing service every time and delicious food. It's my go to whenever I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

oyster bisque was bland and baked oysters weren't that great. had higher expectations given price and ratings. the atmosphere was nice. our waiter was nice, but the service was very slow. we waited 15-20 minutes between appetizers being eaten and the main course coming out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Not what we expected at all based upon past reviews. The atmosphere is a pick up bar. The meals were very pricey but were not all that good. Ahi Sashimi tuna was very stringy and not very flavorful. The oysters and oyster stew were flavorful. The calamari was just ok. That along with a $30 bottle wine, tax & gratuity was $243. This restaurant is in the old Four Seasons hotel and expected a more upscale fine dining establishment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2017

A wonderful meal! Shuckers is one of our most favorite restaurants in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Would have expected to get more than 4oz of fish for $36 at lunch. I always have loved this place but portions are shrinking.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Really good oysters Rockefeller and the BEST fish and chips. Pleasant and accomodating staff that did not hover.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were caught in horrendous rain storm and we were very late but I called on my cell and the hostess was so kind and accommodating to get us in later. We had a super server who met our every need. Go again you bet and it will be sooner than the 20years that have elapsed sinceI I took my friend and I there. Wonderful doesn't even approach how I feel about our evening at Shuckers

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I have been to Shuckers many times. We had theatre tonight so we told our waiter when we wanted to leave. As usual the food and service were terrific. The restaurant was extremely busy and maybe louder than usual, but that didn't detract from our enjoyment . The pacing was great and we were out in time for our play with no anxiety about running late or waiting for our check.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Have eaten here many times and will continue to do so. Love the food, the wait staff is so considerate and warm, and they always get us out of there in time to get to the 5th Avenue. Thank you so much,

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is the second time that my friend and I have dined at Shuckers and both time enjoyed the food and ambiance. The staff was very helpful. Will be returning.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food was very good. We enjoyed our lunch. A little crowded and service was a little slow, but food was worth the wait.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

excellent food - a little cramped in space - but very nice just the same. we will definitely go when we are back in Seattle.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great meal here with quality service. Caesar salad was the best. Fish and chips the best I've ever had. Love the atmosphere. A great place for a drink meal and visit.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our birthday celebration was wonderful, and Tori took such good care of us. She is calm, thoughtful and delightful!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Chris took good care of us and made some great recommendations. The halibut and scallops were go tos for entrees and the oysters were a great way to start off the meal

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

They were not prepared to seat us eventhough the were not busy. The ambiance wasn't very great, when we expected different from reviews on Google. Food tasted good but their portions weren't very big and they were over-priced. Decent spot but it missed out on expectations.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful meal with great service

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Lunch - excellent selection of fresh seafood (five entrees on the board). We had oysters on the half shell to start, bisque and steelhead. All perfectly prepared and served. Service was gracious and timely, even with a packed lunch crowd.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Fabulous food, fabulous service, fabulous atmosphere

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was fresh and fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

An Oyster bar/restaurant. We liked it a lot. Good food, not outstanding, but better than average. T he wait staff is very good. Attentive without being overbearing. Nice wood paneled features in the room giving it an easy, warm feeling. It is located in a business area so not too many choices to find a good meal. This would be a good choice for you.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Shuckers is a true Seattle classic. The fish specials on the chalk board are the way to go ... make sure you have plenty of time because they place an appropriate emphasis on quality of experience instead of speed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We popped in for happy hour oysters and wine. Delicious! And our waiter Steve was a delight. If we weren't leaving today we'd be going back for another round.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Steamed clams was very tasty
Service was great

Would recommend

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Excellent service and mostly excellent food. There are many good things to say about Shuckers and they can be proud of their staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Another outstanding meal at one of my favorite places to eat in Seattle. I've had meals there over the last 30 years and they just keep getting better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Once we found it in the corner of the Fairmont hotel we were greeted and shown right to the table.
Good calamari yet the $40 piece of Halibut was about 1/2 the size of the $28 fish and chips. Coleslaw was flat, not much flavor. Nice waiter but long wait for entrees.
Will go elsewhere next time...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.