Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Shuckers

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Sunday Oct 29, 2017 from 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Sunday Oct 29, 2017 from 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Self Parking is Included!. Special valid on Sunday Oct 29, 2017 from 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM.

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Special Occasion (28)
Business Meals (27)
See All
Local Ingredients (26)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Cozy (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Casual (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Authentic (13)
Fun (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Comfort Food (9)
People Watching (9)
Romantic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Live Sports (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

Just such a nice place. Enjoyable from start to finish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Only two negative are the table’s are very close together and the table legs leave no place for your own feet. Other than that, service by Jim was great, food was excellent.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Pub like feel. Enjoyed our lunch here. Food & wine were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2017

very good service & wine recommendations.
a tad pricey but definitely good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2017

good food and our waiter Jim S was excellent. Been a while since we had a good waiter. Food was good. Love the oysters.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Quality of food and service has gone down, in addition to cleaniness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

food is always good and the service is always great

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Wonderful Surprise! It was the last day of a 12 day vacation in Vancouver and Seattle for me and my sister. My sister did not want to go out for dinner, but I convinced her that a Subway sandwich was a sad end to a great vacation. She agreed and I scrambled to find a restaurant so late in the day on a Friday night in September. Shuckers had a table available and within 30 minutes we were in the beautiful Fairmont Olympic hotel having dinner.
My sister ordered the fried chicken and I had the halibut. Both were excellent! We had the blueberry blackberry pie for dessert and loved it. The food was fantastic, the service was on point and the restaurant is beautiful! It was the perfect end to a fabulous vacation. Thank you, Shuckers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Went here on a date but unfortunately didn't receive very good service. We didn't see our waiter after we ordered until we got the bill, he was friendly though. My food was ok, not worth the price. My dates salmon was undercooked and she didn't eat much of it. Will not go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We live in Vancouver and travel to Seattle a couple times a year and always come to Shuckers! The food is great and our favourite server, Jelena, always makes it extra special for us. ❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Good seafood, interesting menu. Very inadequate table for comfortable dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had a great meal, and service was first rate. We have been to Shuckers several times. This time however it was already quite crowded at 5 p.m. and the noise level was downright obnoxious. This was largely due to a large party and the people were talking at the top of their voices, bordering on screaming. Fortunately for us they left about half way through our meal, then it was great even though there were even more people there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Very good seafood and very good service. Excellent place for business meal and happy hour too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 18, 2017

My son and I went to shuckers after finding it online. He just moved to Seattle and we were looking for a good seafood restaurant. We arrived a little early for our reservation and had a drink at the bar while waiting. We had been out in the city (and rain) sightseeing all day and it was good to see that although the restaurant was quite fancy most everyone was dressed casual, so we fit right in. Once seated at our table we ordered an appitizer, then dinner. The food was just excellent, service good and atmospher cozy and warm. All in all an excellent meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Visited Seattle for daughters Birthday and went to dinner at Shuckers, great seafood menu and options, most everything is ala carte. Great selection of side choices and salad starters. The wait staff were exceptional as was the food. The only issue we had was the extreme proximity to other tables. I literally felt as if we were sharing a table with the people next to us. There was literally only 10 inches between our table and the next one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

I have Celiac Disease, so need truly gluten-free meals and become quite ill if there is contamination. I worked with the server and my meal was good and I did not become ill afterwards. That is truly a blessing and makes it more likely that I'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Lovely setting and great server. He tried to customize my husbands order. We just expected a little higher quality in the food for a 4 to 5 star restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Love eating in this beautiful classic restaurant/cafe/bar in the heart of downtown Seattle.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Shuckers is always a good choice. Food and service are superb; atmosphere is a bit noisy, but for us that doesn't detract. And the oysters are the best (!!!) in Seattle. Very highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It's been almost 10 yrs since there. My husband passed away in early April of 2008. It was out favorite place to start our weekend in Seattle. Will always be my favorite with grest memories.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Darla was fantastic! The food was amazing! Perfect spot to eat dinner before going to the 5th.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Shuckers was outstanding, as it has been on past visits. Genuinely warm, friendly service combined with fresh, premium quality ingredients expertly prepared make it a great place to eat and drink.
We will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Used open table app to make reservations, knew within seconds that we had a table. We arrived to a warm and professional young woman who made us feel at home. We were very comfortable with our table. Our server was also good, answered all our questions and was on the spot with recommendations. We had the oyster and calm chowder, creamy buttery and rich. Tasted wonderful. The Ahi Tuna melted in my mouth, best I have ever had. My wife had the trout and again perfection. The choice of vegetables tasted nicely with our meal. The place was filled up with fast and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We were greeted warmly by the hostess. She is absolutely awesome. That goes for the manager, who is always a pleasure to see . Darla, is the most fantastic waitperson in the world. Everything is done professionally and beautifully. She is incredible. Our seafood - halibut and clams were the best. The creme brulee and the ice cream, sinful and notable for great flavor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Ordered the beer-battered fish and chips but it was a small portion. The batter was heavy and soggy and the chips were not crisp on the outside. Very expensive for what we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

A Seattle institution. Shuckers lives up to its reputation and delivers great Pacif Northwest cuisine in a warm, comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our server was excellent. He was very informative and a great person to have a conversation with.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

While not a chain, it felt like one. Kind of place that charges 59 cents extra to upgrade from salad to chowder

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Just wanted a light bite after flying in from the UK. Excellent chowder and salads with friendly service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Oyster bisque was amazing. This was the best soup ever! Caesar salad with crab was also very good. And the server was polite and kind. I visited a couple famous seafood restaurants in Seattle but I think this is the best.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Delicouis food and good service. It was nice to sit on the patio, but a bit noisy with traffic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent seafood and service. Relaxing after a long day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Buen restaurante tipico de Seattle con decoracion tipo taberna-pub , comida buena y buen servicio. Algo escondido en el mezzanine del Fairmont pero es una opcion muy viable en Seattle.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

It's just always so delicious, the service so kind, attentive and quick. It's my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A bit too loud and also overpriced. The food was good. The service was great. The table was too small for four people. The chairs were too low. The tables were too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Delicious crabcakes and great grapefruit and sparkling wine cocktail. Had a nice table by the window.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Best oysters ever ! Excellent service and food!! Can't wait to go back !! Loved Happy Hour!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great seafood. Convenient to theaters, Benaroya, museum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great place for oysters! The freshest we have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food, service, and ambience were all fantastic. I highly recomend this restaurant

Tags: Fun, Organic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.