Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Shuckers

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (33)
Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Casual (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Cozy (22)
Business Meals (21)
Historic (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Authentic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Healthy (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Romantic (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fun (9)
Seasonal (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great Beer (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

This was my first return in 30 + years. The Fairmont Hotel chain is now the operator of the Olympic and this restaurant; the quality ,service and environment could not be better. Best seafood selections in the city!We had a dungeness crab louie to start ,my wife had halibut and I had steamer clams .Everything was way beyond our expectation.Paired with great wine and beer selections,fabulous desserts:this restaurant deserves MORE than 5stars

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Continues to serve simple fresh delicious seafood. Our go to place coming from Central Washington for some of the best Oysters, steamer clams and fresh fish we can find. We have always been treated well by fun servers and enjoy the Old Seattle decor with an upbeat atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great choices on the menu. Excellent food, service and ambiance!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent oysters and fish. Good service. Pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Absolutely the best value for oysters on the half shell at happy hour. Great price for white wine and the popcorn shrimp and calamari are also outstanding. Darla our server was an absolute delight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Outstanding food with great service. Would recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Absolutely the best happy hour in Seattle. Best oyster selection, best price, best service and best ambience. Just a great value for oysters on the half shell

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Came here on a Fri night. Rang ahead of reservation as taxi late. Was very loud and busy as diners apparently come get before the theatre. Staff were pleasant and friendly. Didn't wait too long for my food. An enjoyable evening. Doorman got a taxi for me.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Seafood! The oysters were very fresh and tasty. The Crab Mac'n Cheese is a true comfort food, and our other dishes were well prepared and served hot and with an appealing presentation.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our waitress Tori was excellent. Noise level was loud. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Server was very knowledgeable (sorry I forgot his name. Food was fresh and tasty. Get the smoked oysters, I repeat get the smoked oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great dinner before a show at 5th avenue theatre which is less than a block walk. Excellent food and service but very noisy. Hard to hear my table mates soft voices.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Every year we visit Seattle and the first thing we do is head here for happy hour.
Love everything about Shuckers

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent except for the noise level which was too much for good conversation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Located in the Fairmont Hotel, this lovely restaurant is a GEM and I'm so happy we found it! We started with a drink in the hotel and then transferred to the restaurant where we were greeted by the sweetest staff. At the table, we found ourselves laughing out loud with our waiter - he truly was icing on our cake - so knowledgeable about the ingredients and flavors and a total joy! The food was the best I've had in a LONG time - yummy, fresh oysters done two ways for appetizers - I had halibut and chips with brussel sprouts that sent me to the moon - my sister had clam linguine that was simply delicious! All that topped with a beautiful location, good wine and a great day - I couldn't be happier with our choice of restaurants!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Our party of four met for dinner before attending a concert at Benaroya Hall. We enjoyed the food very much, and our server was fun, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the menu. The Louie Salad was an excellent value. We all look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good value and excellent service. The wine by the glass seems to be a little over priced.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We love this restaurant for the food, the service and the vibe! Jelena is our favourite server and she always goes above and beyond and makes each visit a pleasure!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food with very generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was great and oysters were best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was slooooow and staff seemed inexperienced - Red Robin level of service! Not Fairmont level. Food preparation and presentation was very pedestrian and unappetizing. Time to upgrade the staff and chefs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Everything was perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fresh oysters and best brussel sprouts ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great spot for Valentines Day date with my wife. The food was outstanding and our server was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best fried oysters I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My friend picked Shuckers for her birthday lunch, and our food was excellent. My friend ordered the crab cakes with tater tots, asking for the tater tots to be extra crispy, and they delivered! I had "Rachel's Plate" which I understand changes daily (a lunch special?). It was a lot of shrimp, sautéed veggies and feta cheese, and I thought it was outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always have a great meal here when in town. My son loves the fish and chips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Shuckers, why did I wait so long?? Had I known you have mussels on your lunch menu, I'd have shown up much sooner. I had a wonderful bowl of Penn Cove mussels with a Washington merlot (yes, I drink red with shellfish) and indulged in the coffee ice cream afterward - so delicious! Will definitely return very soon and try some fish from the daily list. Kudos to Jelena for her friendly service as well as to the hostesses. A warm and welcoming atmosphere, much appreciated. I would urge anyone staying at the Fairmont Olympic to stop in at Shuckers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

amazing oyster selection and service. The ambiance was a bit older, but romantic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fabulous dinner, food was great! Service good, was very busy when we were there so quite loud. Oysters a must. And the Brussels sprouts.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great crab mac and cheese paired with flakey and crisp halibut fish and chips. I ate at the bar; seems the bartenders like it there working there for at least 30 years. Bonus bread and cheesy chips.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The jumbo prawns are Awesome. The seared ahi was also amazing. Lot of flavors Worth trying Shuckers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

in the hotel. food was excellent. the scallops were huge and tasty. nice Rich ambiance. service was excellent. we consisted it anow excellent find.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Shuckers is a casual dining experience with fabulous local seafood. Everything is worth what you pay. This could also be a dress up date restaurant. I will be back with more people to share the experience with. 😊

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Never disappoints!

Great service, location and food!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I've been to Shuckers many times through the years - business lunches and pre-theater - and it always meets the highest standards. The staff are so friendly and skilled, the food is great, and wonderful ornate wood interior - all are a feast for the soul! Our server, Michael, offered wonderful suggestions. We even participated in the last few minutes of Happy Hour by purchasing a glass of red wine - it was delightful; not a second-rate wine as many happy hours serve. The dark wood interior creates a comfortable feeling of home. Thank you, Shuckers!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food and service are so fabulous. Never disappointing. Everything was over the top.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

came here for new years eve dinner. was able to get a reservation within the week which is kind of last minute for nye planning. they had great seafood!! our waiter gave us excellent choices and excellent service! will definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.