About Shuckers

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Boasting the beautifully carved oak paneling and unique tin ceiling of the haberdashery it once was in the 1930's, Shuckers is one of Seattle's oldest and most pre-eminent oyster bars. With a daily menu featuring a selection of fresh fish and seafood, Shuckers brims with 13 different kinds of oysters prepared nine different ways and features local artisan microbrews.

The Zagat 2005 Restaurant Survey coins Shuckers as a 'Seattle classic' that is one of the 'best seafood restaurants in town' with 'great ambiance' and 'excellent service.'

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-1984

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/shuckers/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet parking available at the hotel.

Executive Chef:
Gavin Stephenson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Shuckers Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Restaurant Photos

Crab Mac 'n Cheese - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Tomato Soup And Grilled Cheese Sandwich - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Cod - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Fresh Oysters - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Wedge Salad - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Mixed Grill - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Baked Cheese - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Shuckers Chop Salad - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Old Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Cake - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Grilled Prawn - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Bread Basket - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Pan Fried Oysters - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Espresso - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Scallops - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Wild Salmon - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Blueberry Blackberry Pie  - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Assorted Baked Oysters - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Dungeness Crab Mac and Cheese - Shuckers, Seattle, WA
Oreo Mud Pie - Shuckers, Seattle, WA

Shuckers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Seafood
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Great for Lunch (16)
Business Meals (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Cozy (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Authentic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (8)
Historic (7)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful woodwork to admire. Pan fried ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 18 hours ago

Beautiful woodwork to admire. Pan fried Oysters very good. Service was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food is great. The event was my wife ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is great. The event was my wife's birthday. The service is also great. We had our favorite table by the window. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes good seafood and a overall good restaurant experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place to have a meal with ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great place to have a meal with family and friends.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an interesting dinner, fire ala ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

This was an interesting dinner, fire alarm went off and we were all evacuated came back to wrap up dinner and had some comp items. Staff was very willing to help. Absolute best oysters!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shuckers was recommended to us by our ho ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Shuckers was recommended to us by our hotel. Overall, it was fine. The tables are a bit too close for my taste (I dislike it when you're sitting RIGHT below an elevated bar area, and you feel like they elbow you in the head). The calamari was tasty - just a nice dusting of breading which is a nice refresher from the typical over-coated type. The crab mac & cheese was good too - although the pasta was a bit overdone. The oysters were the best part, but it's hard to go wrong with fresh local oysters. I felt there was nothing that I couldn't find anywhere else in Seattle.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Downtown Seattle in the Elegant Fairmont ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Downtown Seattle in the Elegant Fairmont Hotel. Nice selection of fresh oysters (Raw and cooked). Prawns on special were fantastic. Service was friendly and attentive. Would recommend as a good choice on OPEN TABLE. Was a little early for reservation and they sat us right away. Portions were perfect - unfortunately no room left for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, a good night out.

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Overall, a good night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Shucker's is great! Best fresh seafood ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Shucker's is great! Best fresh seafood around. Great old "wooden-bar-scene" atmosphere! Go there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oysters were great, lots of beers on tap ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Oysters were great, lots of beers on tap. The brussel sprouts were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious, huge shrimp done perfectly. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Delicious, huge shrimp done perfectly. And I've had lots of shrimp before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a disappointment due to the noi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was a disappointment due to the noise level. We were 4 people and could hardly hear each other. While the food was great the noise put a real damper on things for all of us.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fine restaurant with a "clubby" feel (wo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fine restaurant with a "clubby" feel (wood paneled walls). Kinda noisy, but it was a busy Friday night. Limited seating at the bar. The staff is excellent, as is the food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive, charming, thoughtfful server ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Attentive, charming, thoughtfful server and completely delicious food and well-curated beer and wine list. Truly excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went here upon recommendat ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I went here upon recommendations of a friend who lives in the Seattle area. It was convenient since we were staying at the Fairmont Hotel and the restaurant is conveniently located downstairs in the hotel. My wife had the scallops and I had the Idaho trout and both were outstanding. Our waiter, Jay, was outstanding - very friendly, personable and very service oriented. The atmosphere is casual but comfortable and enjoyable. We are going back again before we leave Seattle on this trip. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys seafood. To top it off, I enjoyed a hot fudge sundae for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

amazing food! great service!

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

amazing food! great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was great at his food present ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server was great at his food presentation and menu sharing.

Thank you Rashi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb in every way

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Superb in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server was fantastic! He brought me a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My server was fantastic! He brought me a complementary cup of clam chowder and was very attentive, despite how busy it was. The food was fantastic!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish was excellent!

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fish was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shuckers never disappoints. Fresh fish, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Shuckers never disappoints. Fresh fish, great atmosphere, and amazing desserts to top it all off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the best of the best! Makes u ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 2, 2016

As always, the best of the best!

Makes us feel at home. Our favorite meeting spot in the downtown Seattle area.

Staff AND MANAGEMENT ALWAYS WELCOMING AND VERY ACCOMMODATING.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent waiter

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Seafood and seafood chowders. Grea ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great Seafood and seafood chowders. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently outstanding! We always hav ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Consistently outstanding! We always have oysters on the the half shell and they are amazing. The chef knows how to prepare fish. Shuckers has been a favorite restaurant desination for year!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really mediocre, overpriced food. Sketc ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Really mediocre, overpriced food. Sketchy service and the room was freezing, with a cold draught

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Our server was awesome (i wish i could ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our server was awesome (i wish i could remember his name)

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have always enjoyed the food and ambie ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I have always enjoyed the food and ambience at Shuckers. I was however disappointed with my recent meal. I ordered the steak salad and found the size to be more appropriate for an appetizer. I was still hungry when I left the restaurant. A friend dining with me had the same experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. Our server Jay was top no ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great service. Our server Jay was top notch and the food and wine were delicious. The price was a bit high but the overall experience as great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my first visit to Shuckers. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This was my first visit to Shuckers. I had a combination birthday/retirement dinner on October 26, 2016. Unfortunately, I do not remember the name of our waitress, but she was wonderful! She joined a table to ours for more privacy and was very attentive to our needs. She really helped me enjoy my special night out. Thanks much!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was lovely. He was very frien ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our server was lovely. He was very friendly and accommodating. Our meal was delicious. The only thing was that my fish could have been a little warmer-- but the flavor was perfect. Great date night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrific service from Jay. Great wine. S ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Terrific service from Jay. Great wine. Scallops were a disappointment. The rest of the meals were fine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Had lunch while on a free day in Seattle ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had lunch while on a free day in Seattle...enjoyed the meal and the wait and service staff were all great. Will go there again next time we're in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good having oysters, steelhead, c ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Always good having oysters, steelhead, clams and a steak salad to share. Staff has always been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A fantastic experience with great tradit ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A fantastic experience with great traditional food and great service. It can get a bit loud but it is a nice environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great atmosphere, wonderful greeting fro ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great atmosphere, wonderful greeting from the hostess and the manager. Waiter very professional - salads fantastic and the calms in white wine sauce excellent. Your 'go to' place in downtown Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The main dishes were amazing. Possibly t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The main dishes were amazing. Possibly the best grilled salmon I've ever had. But the mussels were small and not very tasty. Service was pretty good. We had to wait a long time for the main dish they comped our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Steve was a wonderful server! The food w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Steve was a wonderful server! The food was delicious and fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good oysters and drinks. Didn't try any ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good oysters and drinks. Didn't try any other food. The dessert menu looked good, too. However, the service was way too slow. The server seemed to have forgotten about us and didnt return for almost 35-40 mins. That made us change mind to have dinner there and we left after appetizers and drinks. When the check came, i was quite surprised to see the amount - 1 beer, 1 cocktail and 2 dozen oysters cost us $125 (without the tip). Beats even high end places with better service. The ambience was good so i might give it another try but i am going to stick to Elliot's Oyster house or Taylor shellfish for oysters. They have fresh and good variety oysters but are decently priced, too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We have been to shuckers many times and ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We have been to shuckers many times and have always enjoyed it! Love the new menu! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for our 36th Wedding Anniversa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Went here for our 36th Wedding Anniversary Seafood fix as we now live in Scottsdale AZ and it just doesn't get any better than their varietal dozen fresh shucked Oysters, the garlic infused huge whole Dungeness Crab with melted butter, and their cooked perfectly moist and tender oversized Smoked Scallops, except that the completely covered in Shrimp Caesar Salad is also to die for. The bartender makes the best Grapefuit Vodka Martini's in town and the bar patrons on each side of us were a blast. Complimentary berry fruit dessert with ice cream and a Happy Anniversary Steve & Tsutsumi was scrolled across the top of the dessert plate. Exactly what we wanted, and as we always say to each other after we leave a restaurant/bar..."Would you go back?"... just know that every time we go to Shucker's we always say emphatically "Yes!"

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.