About Showcase Restaurant & Bar

1128 West Hastings Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5
View Larger Map

Showcase Restaurant & Bar is one of Vancouver’s top casual dining restaurants. Located in the heart of Coal Harbour in the Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown, the Showcase menu is a reflection of Vancouver’s ethnicity with a diverse mix of flavours, influences and inspirations.
Exceptionally delicious West Coast cuisine, served with impeccable service in a sophisticated and welcoming environment – Showcase is the place that locals and guests feel at home while discovering something new.
If you are just looking for a place to relax and visit with friends and colleagues, join us in Showcase Bar. Watch a game, relax and enjoy one of our local beers on tap or a glass of wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Thurlow Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 639-4040

Website:
http://www.showcaserestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
The Showcase Restaurant is conveniently located along several public transit lines. Bus #19 runs along Pender, with stops at both Thurlow and Bute. Both Burrard and Waterfront skytrain stations are a short walk to the hotel, with the Sea Bus and West Coast Express servicing Waterfront Station.

Executive Chef:
Frank Gort

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The best private dining space in Vancouver. Glass enclosed, this space is perfect for your next event.Our talented chef’s prepare seasonal menus from a two course business lunch to a 9 course tasting menu and wine tasting.

Showcase Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Northwest
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Coal Harbour ›

good for groups (11)
great for lunch (10)
special occasion (5)
See All
fit for foodies (5)
great for brunch (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
hot spot (2)
romantic (2)
scenic view (1)
notable wine list (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good and service was fantastic. I enjoye ...

Dined 6 days ago

Good and service was fantastic. I enjoyed the openness and quietness. I was surprised the place wasn't packed on a Saturday night.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Showcase is always consistent food and s ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Showcase is always consistent food and service-wise. I go there for lunch periodically and it is always good.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We all enjoyed our meals. The fish and c ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

We all enjoyed our meals. The fish and chips is in my top 5 all- time and that's something I order every chance I get when I travel. Fresh Halibut. Hard to beat. The chicken finger appetizer was also a pleasant surprise. Buttermilk battered caught our eye. The rotisserie chicken was also excellent. Place just makes good food. Our waitress was very personable and efficient. I highly recommend eating here. Casual dining.

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Could have been great

Dined on March 18, 2016

Our service was poor. The waitress was NOT friendly. The hostess was awesome. The steak was tough. The chowder was amazing. Overall our group was made to feel like we were a waste of time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for meetings!

Dined on March 17, 2016

I have had countless meetings there, the staff is great, the food is great and well priced. Great selection, highly recommend their butter chicken, but anything you try you will enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

Just OK

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

I understand it is a hotel restaurant, but considering the location, one would have expected a better menu and food. It was just o.k. prices did not justify the quality.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good first experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was my first time eating at Showcase and it was quite good. Everybody in our group seemed to enjoy what they ordered, and our server was fairly easy to find most of the time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service1

The restaurant was 1/3 full and we were ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant was 1/3 full and we were seated in the worst seat. (In the back and a small table. While we were only two there were many larger tables in better areas that we could have been seated). When we left an hour later the restaurant was still only 1/3 full.). The waiter was sarcastic and non responsive. The food atleast was acceptable. However drinks were bad. We would never go back. The ratings totally inaccurate.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent location in downtown Vancouver

Dined on February 12, 2016

Very convenient location for business lunch in downtown Vancouver. Comprehensive food selections, warm service and price is right.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Jack

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

Enjoyed breakfast during our recent stay in Vancouver. Great food & service. Dwayne always goes the extra mile.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Very decent portion for the dineout menu ...

Dined on February 9, 2016

Very decent portion for the dineout menu! Wonderful place!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Food, Venue, & Value

Dined on January 31, 2016

Did the "Dine Out Vancouver" menu. Food was expertly prepared. Service level was outstanding. Able to accommodate various group sizes with enough separation that noise levels are low to moderate. Great venue. Great value!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for business lunch

Dined on January 26, 2016

Nice restaurant - good natural light and tables not crushed together. Good service. Good for a business lunch or other where you want to be able to converse easily.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Dine Out 2016

Dined on January 25, 2016

I was impressed with their Dine Out 2016 menu. The appetizer, main, and dessert were really well done! Their portions were also quite substantial that I had take home afterwards.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Improved

Dined on January 24, 2016

We were at your restaurant 2 years ago and rated it as a mediocre experience at the time. We actually didn't realize it was the same place when we booked this time and were a little disappointed when we realized that it was. What a nice surprise. The overall experience was a big improvement but the food itself was the most noteworthy difference.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, beautiful plating and good value

Dined on January 14, 2016

Hard to find that combination of words together but went here for dineout and had an exquisite experience. Delicious food plated beautifully like art and the pricing was really reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always been or favourite go to restauran ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Always been or favourite go to restaurant. Doesn't fail, always a delight with their meals and hospitality!! Highly recommended.

food5
ambience4
service4

Showcase's food never disappoints

Dined on January 1, 2016

Showcase's food never disappoints

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Outstanding

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Frank Gort and his highly effective team of chefs, kitchen staff and servers continue to provide consistently outstanding food and service at affordable prices. Varied menu of salads, appetizers, main entrees to desserts, all packed with high quality ingredients and artistic presentations make dinner experience extraordinary and memorable. This is one of our most favourite restaurants in Vancouver. Looking forward to our next visit soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasant surprise. Food and service ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Very pleasant surprise. Food and service were excellent! Fish n chips was great and the yam fries were the best thing I have eaten in weeks.

food5
ambience5
service5

Christmas Eve buffet was great, satisfy ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

Christmas Eve buffet was great, satisfying the hungry tummy, desserts were delish!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quintessential !

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Much exceeded our expectations in every way. Food, service and ambiance were exceptionally delightful. Baby Kale & Quinoa salad packed with high quality and fresh inspiring ingredients, such as pumpkin seed vinaigrette, goat cheese and toasted almonds made it uniquely tasty and memorable. The main entree of Sockeye Salmon bathed in squash purée and Ling COD Curry with clams were extraordinarily tender and mouth watering. Hazelnut Almond Ganache Cake was something to kill for. All dishes were of generous proportions and very creatively presented. Our servers were genuinely pleasant, highly attentive and helpful in making our dining experience truly quintessential . Looking forward to revisit very soon

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Service and food

vip
Dined on December 16, 2015

The food is very good , especially the Mac and Cheese! The service is always outstanding. I have brought many of my friends here and they have always commented on how great the service is.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Best place for business meetings

Dined on December 10, 2015

I have conducted close to 100 business meetings at this location with a variety of clientelle. I'm never disappointed. The staff is super friendly, and they get to know you at a much deeper level then just a customer. Food is always great, pricing is on point for a restauarant located in the heart of financial district.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Good Breakfast meeting place

vip
Dined on December 7, 2015

Quiet and good place to meet. Food and service is excellent

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for breakfast. Close to te ...

Dined on October 27, 2015

We were there for breakfast. Close to teh office/ideal setting/buffet is excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Bill K

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Varied menu will appeal to diverse ethnic clientele . Entrees were presented creatively elegant, generous portions too. Even side orders are presented with pizzaz. Servers were exceptionally good and helpful . Our main server, Mario was superb, made the difference. Overall excellent . Looking forward to revisiting soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

Appetizers had lots of great choices, ho ...

Dined on October 8, 2015

Appetizers had lots of great choices, however, when we asked the waitress for a recommendation she seemed very unexcited about everything. We eventually asked if there was anything she DID like. Atmosphere was nice and relaxed. We ended up just getting a couple appetizers and wine then not staying for dinner.

food4
ambience3
service4

Great Mid-Week Lunch Spot for Groups

vip
Dined on October 6, 2015

We visited Showcase with a group of 6 for lunch for a birthday party. We were seated right away, and the restaurant was very accommodating with us last minute increasing the number in our party. We had a 2 year old with us, and the restaurant had high chairs, and even colouring sheets/crayons, which we didn't expect. Very kid -friendly! The menu was quite extensive, and we all found something to eat. The Korean Chicken lettuce wraps were my favourite. Other items at the table ordered were the fish and chips, burgers, tuna tataki, clam chowder, quesadillas. Everyone seemed to be pleased with their food in both portion size and in taste, with the exception of the clam chowder that didn't taste very good. When mentioned to the server, it was promptly removed from the bill. Our server was excellent and we were in and out in an hour, which was perfect for those that had to return to the office. I heard that you can even pre-order your lunch to save time, which is a great option for business lunches. This was a great option for a mid-week group lunch, and we will definitely be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Jack

vip
Dined on September 22, 2015

We had a week of breakfasts at Showcase and found the food and service to be tremendous. The staff made us feel welcome and our business appreciated. A big thank you to Dwayne, when we come to Vancouver its like seeing an old friend.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is outstanding...food is perfect ...

vip
Dined on September 14, 2015

Service is outstanding...food is perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints!

Dined on July 28, 2015

We had a business breakfast meeting and were met with the usual great, professional and friendly service. The food was terrific but our server really hit it out of the ball park. He went out of his way to make our experience a memorable one. Thanks, Showcase!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place for business brunches and lunches!

Dined on July 9, 2015

Showcase is a go-to place for me. I appreciate that it's not too noisy so I'm able to have productive business brunches/lunches. Service is great and the one time when my steak was overcooked, the manager replaced it and the chef came out personally came out to apologize. I was very impressed and would not hesitate to return. I love that there are high ceilings - great place for business and personal meals!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fabulous dinner!

Dined on May 15, 2015

Amazing dinner! Will return again & again. Definitely a gem. Great food & service. Highly recommend to try out Showcase Restaurant if you have a chance. Another plus is the cheap hotel flat rate parking that starts at 4 pm!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 10, 2015

Original lunch reservation for 4 but they accommodated my last minute request to add 1 more person to the group which was much appreciated. Service was good and attentive. Food was buffet style but at $60 per person, I would have preferred a wider selection. However, considering it was Mother's Day, the price reflected the occasion. I would go back again to try the food from the ala carte menu .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service2

Bait and Switch

Dined on May 10, 2015

Went for Mother's Day Brunch based on the menu listed on open table (Reviewed Showcase bar & Grill's website to see if there was any additional information but just referenced "Mother's Day"). We chose this restaurant for the menu items as well as the $29 buffet. Arrived to the restaurant which was nice. Wondered why we didn't receive menus, the waiter sheepishly walked up to our table and kind of slipped one "mother's day brunch buffet" menu on our table and sidled off. Upon reviewing the menu we saw that lo and behold, the Mother's Day brunch as $60 (more expensive than the Pan Pacific LOL Come'on!!). Well, I can tell you that there was no way we were shelling out $60pp for a brunch when two of our party were vegan. We requested the other menu and were prepared to leave if they said it was not an option. The food was mediocre. Portions were relatively small. Might give it another shot for the full buffet, which we didn't try last time as we didnt want to spend $60pp.

food4
ambience4
service4

GREAT PLACE FOR ALL SORTS OF GATHERINGS

Dined on April 19, 2015

This was my second time at this restaurant and I am quite impressed with the quality of the food. I had the steak and frites ....I was very impress with the tenderness of my steak and the size. I did not expect such a big portion. The garlic fries was delicious too.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

food was amazing!

Dined on March 31, 2015

Great food. We had calamari, korean lettuce wrap, duck, beef tenderloin, steak and frites, sablefish, and 4 desserts (best one was Chocolate Mousse Cake!). :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Good Business Lunch

Dined on March 4, 2015

I hosted four representatives from my Client's company here for lunch mid week. Dwane, our server, knew one of them already quite well as a regular. Dwane was excellent; very knowledgable about the menu, confident in providing recommendations, attentive yet not over bearing. He also accommodated some late arrivals by getting side dishes out quickly for them. He demonstrated a master class in service. The dish I ordered was excellent and everyone else had empty plates at the end of the meal.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Value!

Dined on February 28, 2015

Nice atmosphere and ambiance close to the convention center. Arrived near the end of happy hour with $6 20oz beers. Had the salmon and beets for dinner which was cooked perfectly. Our group was a party of 4 with all meals arriving together. With 2 drinks/ea, 2 appetizers, and 4 entrees, total $50/head. Great price and value for the quality. Will go again!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.