Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Shiraz Persian Cuisine – North

4.2
81 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Persian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

Shiraz Persian Cuisine serves up authentic, certified halal specialties in Calgary, Alberta Canada. Owners Mehdi and Sarah Rashidian invite guests to step inside for Persian dishes made from traditional recipes that focus on using fresh vegetables, spices and fruit for interesting flavor combinations.

Visitors to Shiraz Persian Cuisine can get started with hummus or mast-o-khiar or dive into a savory ghormeh sabzy or khoreshteh fesenjaan stew. Entrée options include chicken dishes like vaziri or a kabob. Those looking for heartier choices can go with the kabob-e-chengeh or the lamb shanks. Shiraz Persian Cuisine also offers unique, non-traditional pizzas, which are American flavors mixed with Middle Eastern flair and all based on Mehdi's own recipes.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Persian, Vegetarian, Pizzeria
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Closed Monday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 452-4050
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
11 Ave NE
What 81 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
3.9
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was good but overpriced for a plate of rice and one chicken skewer for $15.00. Took 1/2 hour to see our waiter to get our bill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 28, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and service. Authentic and yummy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 23, 2016

Great experience. Very tasty, good recommendations from the server. Will come back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed our meal but not the service. We were sat down gave us menu's then she left?? Waited for someone to come and ask us if we wanted a drink watching them walk back and forth not looking at our table. Finely we just asked "could we orders drinks please" then she says sure and only take two drink orders, starts walking away. "Excuse me the other 3 people would like to order a drink" The rest of our guest arrive she brings menus and walks away?? Again we have to stop her and ask if we could order drinks. So she turns to the new arrivals of the group ask what they would like, and walks away again. This time we didn't stop her we waited till she got back "could we order our drinks"? We didn't bother asking for a 3rd we left

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2016

Overall a good experience. Food quality was nice. The pizza was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Shiraz is quickly becoming our "go to" restaurant. We have gone with a variety of groups for a variety of occasions and have never been disappointed. The Saffron Chicken Pizza is heavenly. If you are not sure what to order, suggestions are gladly given, and the food has always been top notch. Very friendly atmosphere. Will be going back soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was great, although I wish there were more vegetables served with the meal. We got the Kebobs and there was only rice and a half a grilled tomatoe, I ended up subbing my rice for a salad which was good.

Service was good and was a kid friendly place. There were lots of kids when we went but they were not loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2016

As usual food is excellent, service great and ambiance very pleasant. A gem for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! For those unfamiliar with Persian cuisine, Shiraz offers an easy introduction. For those who are looking for a first-rate dining experience, this family-owned and operated restaurant is a true gem. I can think of nothing to criticize ... and much to praise!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was incredible. Huge portions, and so tasty. Or food can't out with on of our appetizers ( which in hindsight we did not need) so that was a little disappointing. Other than that everything was great! We will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2016

So happy I uncovered this gem in my neighbourhood. I'm not very adventurous when it comes to food, so I never would have sought out persian cuisine. I ended up at Shiraz via a recommendation from family member, and boy, am I glad I did!! I cannot speak highly enough of this place - the servers are so friendly and willing to help, the food is always delicious, and it's wonderful to support a family run business! I now boast this as one of my favorite restaurants in the city and am always quick to suggestion it when a friend is looking for a recommendation. Keep up the good work Shiraz!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Decent menu choices, served quickly. Although I little longer between courses would have been nice.
Also a printed dessert menu would be preferable. Food was hot and very tasty. Well presented.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 10, 2016

We always enjoy our time at Shiraz. The food and atmosphere are excellent.This time we were there on a Sun eve. Although advertised ( on line) to be open till 10:00 and when asked they said 9:00, we had the clear feeling at 8:00 we should be leaving . This has not felt this way on other evenings and we were the only ones left in the Restaurant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 29, 2015

15% tip was added to my bill before I know. I would've paid 10% for a service like that. Chicken Kebab could be little bit more cooked or BBQ... food was little bit cold. Appetizer was good. Overall it was OK.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 7, 2015

Was not happy to see that there is a fixed charge of 15% on the Bill !

I would have paid 10% tips and so does most people - By fixing it is lowers my rating as it is not common in other dining restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2015

the lamb was so tender and delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 1, 2015

This is our second visit - we love the food and the staff are very helpful and accomodating.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 30, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Shiraz. The service was great and the food was very good. We would definately enjoy a meal there again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 2, 2015

Some friends of ours come in from out of town. I suggested Persian and they had no idea what that was. We went to Shiraz and they were just blown away with the meal. They really enjoyed it. I have been several times and the food is fantastic and the service is excellent. I would recommend it to anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2015

The spicy chicken kabob is the way to go!! So much flavour :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 23, 2015

I reserved a table for 16 to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday here and the waitress was fantastic. We were going to order the yogurt drink and she offered to let us taste it prior to ordering because it has a unique taste to it so not everyone likes it. We liked it and ordered a pitcher. We ordered the Tour of Persia for the two of us - indicated it serves 3 on the menu, so she asked if we wanted to substitute our extra rice for a greek salad and we said yes. The food came fast, was very tasty and our waitress was just great. Would definitely come back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2015

I went to Shiraz Persian Cuisine for dinner with my date. We were both greeted with a warm welcome from the owner himself, as we walked into the restaurant. We ordered the Shiraz Special to share for two and the food was absolutely amazing. The meat was full of flavour and very tender. We were also impressed with the great service and friendly manner of our server. The owner was very kind and even went out of his way to make sure that we were both having a great time on our date. I really enjoyed the food, service, and my time at the restaurant. I would definitely go back next time for more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 30, 2015

My wife and I visited this restaurant for the first time this week and loved it. The menu is simple, straightforward and the food was delicious, excellently seasoned and served by a very friendly and knowledgeable waitress.

We had the roasted eggplant dish (Kashk-e-Bademjan) which was perfect. For our main course we stuck to the basic and got the Shiraz Special -- a combination of chengeh (tenderloin) chicken bard (chicken breast kabob) and koobideh (ground beef) kabob, served with basmati rice flavoured with saffron and grilled tomato and onions, and that was perfect as well.

Next time, we'll try some of the interesting pizzas on their menu!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 28, 2015

The food was nicely done - very fresh flavours. Love the unusual stews - had a chicken with okra at this meal. Three of us shared the combo platter (3 types of kabobs) and there was plenty of food. Staff were very helpful explaining Persian foods. I definitely recommend Persian cuisine and Shiraz.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 27, 2015

Shiraz is always guaranteed to provide quality food that is unique in cuisine offerings in Calgary. Prices are reasonable. The service is always spectacular; very informative staff, pleasant & efficient. Shiraz is definitely one of my faves for a night out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2015

Great food as usual, one thing to note is that they charge for each cup of coffee.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2015

We had an excellent family dinner at Shiraz. Our server was attentive and charming. The dishes we ordered came quickly & nicely presented. The server very kindly explained the condiments & their intended use. We had kebabs, which were tasty & had the right amount of "kick". It was nice to try Persian cuisine and there were many appealing choices on the menu. I'd recommend the restaurant for a "smart casual" evening out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2015

If you like Middle Eastern food, you have to try this place. Try the Koobedeh or the Chicken Bar Kabob. Both very tasty and filling. If more adventurous, try the Persian Pizza! Yum.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2015

We took friends to Shiraz to celebrate a birthday. The waitress remembered us from a previous visit, and even remembered what we had previously eaten there. The food was remarkable, the service excellent, and this time the restaurant was not so busy, so it was cozy, quiet and relaxing. The 'birthday boy' was served a special dessert with candles on it. The ladies who served us were helpful friendly, kind, and beautiful as well. What more could we ask?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2015

A lovely neighborhood gem for an exotic supper with plenty of choices to please all. We had the Shiraz choice for two and it was a good tasting portion. Our server was a really helpful and friendly lady who really made the first experience awesome. What a nice surprise to find a great restaurant out of downtown. :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2015

The food was delicious.We were very pleased with the variety of foods available in terms of meat dishes with a good selection vegetable options to accommodate almost all dietary restrictions a diverse group may have.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2015

Shiraz is A few months ago I dined here once, and I had an amazing experience.

I returned for my best friends birthday and they remembered me and my boyfriend, and where we sat, and the small details of our order.

I have over 10 years of serving experience in my work history, and their level of service is amazing.

Not only is there service amazing, but the food matches the level of service. The food is awesome. Try the lamb shank,Kabob-e-Barg (strip loin), the eggplant dip (Kashk-e-bademjan) , and the crispy rice.

Great price for large portions

My best friend had an amazing birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2015

We visited Shiraz as part of our Ethnic Group Nights, at a total of 18 people. The restaurant accommodated our group with a joined table, despite our increased number and was excellent during communications.

Between the group members, we tried most of the tastes on the menu, including the pizza. Everyone gave positive feedback and our Iranian members commented on the authenticity of the taste. Even for our increased numbers, the food came out at the same time, warm and delicious.

The manager and waitress helped our members with their choices and made excellent recommendations on plates. The service was professional, friendly and enjoyable for all our members.

We highly recommend Shiraz as a dinning place, both for groups, company dinners but also for those who want to experience something exceptional.

Thank you for everything and we will be returning soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2015

I went there to have a Valentine's Day dinner with my wife. It was my first time at Shiraz. The food was great but they could really work out with the Decor/ Ambiance. This includes the seating arrangement and the general setup. The place was overall really nice. Not something you would want to go all dressed up formally though. I would place it in a semi-formal, business casual category.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2015

We'd never tried Persian cuisine before but the place was highly recommended by an Iranian friend. From the appetizer platter right through to the hand-crafted ice cream (saffron and pistachio!), everything was prepared with obvious care and attention to detail. The quality of the food did not disappoint, and neither did the service. Although it was Valentine's Day, our server made us feel that we were given individual attention and patiently took time to answer our questions about the menu items. For those who enjoy Greek food, Shiraz would be a unique and delicious alternative that offers a taste of the exotic while retaining a sense of the familiar. The Shiraz Special platter is an excellent introduction to Persian cuisine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2015

This restaurant was a pleasant find. I recommend all the kabobs! I do not recommend the Lamb Shank (good, but not flavorful).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 6, 2015

Great service and tasty food. We had the Shiraz and King of Persia platters plus two pizzas for eight of us which was just the right amount of variety.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2015

It was our first visit, wanted to experience it based on previous reviews-we were not disappointed. The waitress was attentive and answered our questions, she also explained the various dishes and how to eat them with pita. There was soft music playing in the background, the premises were clean and inviting. We tried some recommended dishes and were pleased with our choices. We will definitely be back-they now have a second location in SW Calgary too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 3, 2015

A nice family run restaurant and a neighbour hood gem.
The pomegranate walnut chicken stew is fantastic!
The owner/host is a real character.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 26, 2014

We love mid-east cuisine and vegetarian dishes so we returned here with friends for a special occasion. This time the food was just 'so-so', especially my tenderloin which was not a tenderloin some cheap cut of beef that was hammered to be tenderized but remained a bit tough. The available wines from the short wine list were very few so we took the most expensive ($42/btl) and it was disappointing. Thew waitress had sub-standard manners/service, which is typical of pub restaurants, but it should have been better at this restaurant . We've been here a few time before, but I don't think we'll return.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3