About Shiraz Grille

2739 Breton Road SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
View Larger Map

Tucked away on the northwest corner of Breton and 28th Street, you’ll find Michigan’s one and only Persian restaurant. Shiraz Grille is a culinary jewel that greets guests with authentic Persian décor, a warm and classy ambiance, cozy bar, and the finest in dining from the Persian Empire with indescribably delicious flavors. Selections include gourmet fire-grilled kabobs, delectable Persian rice dishes, delicate stews called Khoreshes, vegetarian and vegan entrees, and so much more. Each entrée is created from scratch, using only the freshest of ingredients. Most of the menu is gluten free! We offer a full bar with premium wines, cocktails & martinis. Come in and experience genuine hospitality at Shiraz Grille where you won't just eat ~ but you will "dine!"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Persian, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Monday: CLOSED
Tue-Thurs: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Fri-Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sun: 12:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
28th Street & Breton Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 949-7447

Website:
http://www.shirazgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Violinist every Wednesday evening

Live Belly-Dancer on the first Thursday of each month

Catering:
Catering available for groups/events. Within a 50-mile radius. Call for information.

Parking Details:
Private lot with handicap access.

Public Transit:
28th Street/Breton
Breton/Burton

Executive Chef:
Ali Ghebleh

Private Party Facilities:
Small private room for group of up to 12 guests just off the dining room. Also a private banquet room for parties of up to 100 guests with separate sound system, drop down projector/screen, microphone, WiFi. Special banquet menus available. Will customize to your needs for lunch/dinner. Great for special events, birthdays, wedding receptions/rehearsal dinners, or business gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Ali Ghebleh: 6169497447x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Shiraz Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (13)
good for groups (8)
special occasion (8)
See All
romantic (6)
great for lunch (4)
notable wine list (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
57 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The only Persian restaurant in Michigan. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 6 days ago

The only Persian restaurant in Michigan. Our meal was authentic as it was delicious. Great value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We live about 4 hours from this restaura ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We live about 4 hours from this restaurant and try to frequent it when we are in the area. The food and service is 5 star all the way.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid food preparation, attentive servic ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Solid food preparation, attentive service. Only negative is a lack of micro brew tap beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food at the Shiraz was a sensation t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food at the Shiraz was a sensation to the palate. We were a group of four which included one red meat eater and one vegetarian and two avid foodies. We were each delighted with our selections: Narange Saffron chicken with Shirin Polo, Chicken Fessenjan with Zereshk Polo, Vegetarian Gheymeh with Lubia Polo and the Shishkebab Leek (rack of lamb). The spices are pleasant but not too pungent, fruits and nuts mixed with the meats and rice were outstanding. Our Server Ahmed, was pleasant and helpful but under stress. He was the only Server in the restaurant; he was apologetic and did an admirable job under the circumstances. The Server did encourage the Sunday Buffet; however, we made the choice not to do so because the serving dishes were near empty. I suspect the Server was encouraged to recommend the buffet due to staff shortage but the kitchen was not keeping up with that option. Although some of the elegance of the decor was dimmed by service issues, the experience was delightful and the ice tea was always refilled.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We drive two hours to Grand Rapids to ea ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We drive two hours to Grand Rapids to eat at Shiraz Grille. The lamb shank, kebabs, and rice are delicious, and our preschooler loves their macaroni and cheese. Persian rice is lighter (like basmati), and this restaurant offers different flavored rices, like rice with dill and fava beans and rice with saffron, pistachios, berries, and orange peels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good dinner, good service.

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Good dinner, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were here for a birthday dinner and o ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We were here for a birthday dinner and our server (Ayar?) went out of his way to make sure we had a great time. Great variety and tasty food, and well worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great option for Grand Rapids dining!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Always have a great experience here. Nice to have some non traditional choices in Grand Rapids!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Shiraz Grill is superlative!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our dinner at Shiraz Grille scored on every level. The food was outstanding. We ordered the sampler of appetizers and had wonderful eggplant, hummus, and feta cheese with walnuts. My husband's dinner was so delicious that I am afraid I kept eating from his plate as well as mine. He had a Persian stew with pinto beans and rice with pistachios, almonds, and candied orange curls. My Cornish game hen was succulent and with interesting spices. What a treat also to find Martinis with real martini glasses not just small, itty bitty glasses and the 007 martinis we had with Bombay Sapphire gin and Grey Goose vodka were superb. Our waiter explained the whole menu to us at the beginning and was a perfect server, never hovering but always noticing our table. A.R., you are the best! We will definitely be back! What a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic! And our server w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was fantastic! And our server was excellent, but when we asked for some of their soup to go, she had to "ask permission from the chef" before she could give us any. They are also funny about coupons and gift certificates so don't be surprised if they don't except them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

fantastic brunch, so fresh and flavorful ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

fantastic brunch, so fresh and flavorful. I wish they offered this more often, apparently only on special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Just different

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

For anybody who likes to try something different I can highly recommend Shiraz. They have some Mediterranean items on the menu, but for a real taste of Persia I can truly recommend ordering one of their Khoreshes. Their staff is very friendly and polite as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful, Quiet, Unique

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The Persian menu is authentic and a wonderful difference from the common Mexican or Italian fare. My friends and I go there often because we know we will be able to hear one another talk, the food and wine will be wonderful, and the service will be smooth as silk. This dinner restaurant is spotless, elegant and lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always great; friendly and knowl ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Food is always great; friendly and knowledgeable servers. Food can take a while to prepare, so don't expect to be in and out in a hurry. Totally worth the wait!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We think you will be very happy with a meal at Shiraz Grill. Our group share the appetizer platter, 2 curries and a kabob dish all were delicious. We especially loved the eggplant appetizers and the special rices. If you ask they will upgrade your plain rice, we had the lentil and onion and wedding versions which were fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Good food, good experience, and nice peopke. Only problem, our waitress was a little slow to check on us. Other than that very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The best Persian food I have ever had!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

The best Persian food I have ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

Shiraz is a delightful place to eat. Quiet,soft background music, excellent service and excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Flyfisher

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The Lamb Shank is the best in the State! A Great value!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Happy New Year!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

My husband and I dined at Shiraz New Year's Eve and were delighted with the prixe fixe menu and suggested wine pairing. It was a lovely evening we plan to repeat soon. Service was great and the food was unique and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We like the ambiance, we really like the ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

We like the ambiance, we really like the food. Made for a wonderful evening with a lovely lady. Thanks

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Most Enjoyable

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

Efficient server, well prepared, fresh tasting food. Lovely decor. From appetizers to entree, flavor was very good. Only less than perfect part of this entree and Koreshes previously ordered is that the rice to "meat" ratio was in favor of the rice. Hostess was friendly and watchful. Will return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Awesome!!!!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

This place is wonderful. We had the lamb kabobs which were cooked to perfection. We will definitely go back

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and atmosphere

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

Was looking for something special to treat my cousin from Arizona. Great Persian food. Tried the four appetizer sampler and three entrees. All were beyond delicious. Food, service and atmosphere were perfect. I am a vegen but my wife and cousin are not. We all left quite satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really a pleasant find. Highly recommen ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

Really a pleasant find. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Persian cuisine

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

The usual middle Eastern kabobs are excellent, but for a real treat, try one of the fantastic, subtly spiced koreshes. Yum! Servers very knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Persian Food - a rare Experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

I have eaten Persian food before in California, but wasn't aware that it could be found in Michigan. This place has outstanding selection of Persian dishes - everything from the usual Kabobs to excellent vegetarian dishes. Decent wine selection and reasonable selection of craft beers in bottles. Was very quiet for an uncrowded lunch and judging from the size of the room and the ample spacing between tables - plus the beautiful decor - it definitely promises to be a winner for a romantic evening. When we dined there for lunch restaurant wasn't crowded so hard to judge how service would be with a full house - but for us it was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flavor, quality and great service

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

If you have not tried Persian food then do yourself a favor and check out Shiraz Grill. The food is wonderful and of high quality. The Kashk Bodemjon which is an eggplant appetizer made me change my mind about eggplant. It is wonderful. The Orange saffron chicken has a wonderful flavor. The saffron really stands out and pairs beautifully with the orange and make sure to order the wedding rice to have with it. Make sure to save room or split Ali's Persian Icecream. I would go back just for that.

Great food and service. If you are looking for something out of the normal routine this is a great place to visit. There are also many nice vegetarian.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A must go to... have the lamps

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

This is a place we adore to go. You MUST have the lamps. It's just an "out-of-this-world" experience but must everything is worth the expense.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Decent but did not Wow

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

Food is good. But I cannot say that some of it is worth the price. Chef was out of town when we visited so maybe that made a difference.

But for the price there are better options in town.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Authentic Persian cuisine,awesome service. GREAT!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

had a fantastic experience. The servers are very polite, cheerful and friendly. Food is fantastic. Highly recommend it !

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect place to dine and visit with friends

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

Service, great. Food, perfectly prepared. Nice ambiance--low key, but nice hum. What more is needed to make an outstanding dining experience with friends on a Saturday night?

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 14, 2015

If you are in the mood for something different and delicious, the savory offerings of Shiraz are perfectly suited.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A Local Getaway

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 7, 2015

We always have enjoyed our visits to Shiraz. It is just up the street but once inside it feels like we have traveled to a faraway land. The food and service are excellent, not rushed and personal. They want your experience to be a pleasant one.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meals for all palates!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2015

We brought friends who are world travelers...They LOVED everything about Shiraz! Half way through the meal they said "we are coming back"! After a few minutes more they said "We will have to bring ______ and ____ here for sure!" We all loved our meals. I highly recommend the Wedding Rice!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Joe

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 22, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service, Food was decent

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2015

Unique food selection here. The food was pretty good, very subtle flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

A wonderful restaurant

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 3, 2015

The food was great & we'll definitely go back! Lots of options for meat eaters and vegetarians. Their rice is second to none! Service was wonderful, even when we decided not to buy drinks. Overall an awesome experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shiraz is always a great choice!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2015

My husband and I celebrated Valentine's Day at Shiraz. Although we could have enjoyed their special Valentine's Day menu, we chose our entrees off the regular menu and were not disappointed. We love the variety of meal choices and will definitely come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet dinner spot

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 30, 2015

The food and service here seem to have declined recently. The cornish hen was dry (and it used to be my favorite order) and the rice with lima beans seemed excessively buttery on another dish. The servers are friendly but they are slow and seem untrained. Still, the soup remains outstanding and the Bodemjan (sp?) dishes are very tasty. The Persian flavors are a nice change from other similar middle eastern items.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.