About Shiraz Grille

2739 Breton Road SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
View Larger Map

Tucked away on the northwest corner of Breton and 28th Street, you’ll find Michigan’s one and only Persian restaurant. Shiraz Grille is a culinary jewel that greets guests with authentic Persian décor, a warm and classy ambiance, cozy bar, and the finest in dining from the Persian Empire with indescribably delicious flavors. Selections include gourmet fire-grilled kabobs, delectable Persian rice dishes, delicate stews called Khoreshes, vegetarian and vegan entrees, and so much more. Each entrée is created from scratch, using only the freshest of ingredients. Most of the menu is gluten free! We offer a full bar with premium wines, cocktails & martinis. Come in and experience genuine hospitality at Shiraz Grille where you won't just eat ~ but you will "dine!"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Persian, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Monday: CLOSED
Tue-Thurs: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Fri-Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sun: 12:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
28th Street & Breton Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 949-7447

Website:
http://www.shirazgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Violinist every Wednesday evening

Live Belly-Dancer on the first Thursday of each month

Catering:
Catering available for groups/events. Within a 50-mile radius. Call for information.

Parking Details:
Private lot with handicap access.

Public Transit:
28th Street/Breton
Breton/Burton

Executive Chef:
Ali Ghebleh

Private Party Facilities:
Small private room for group of up to 12 guests just off the dining room. Also a private banquet room for parties of up to 100 guests with separate sound system, drop down projector/screen, microphone, WiFi. Special banquet menus available. Will customize to your needs for lunch/dinner. Great for special events, birthdays, wedding receptions/rehearsal dinners, or business gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Ali Ghebleh: 6169497447x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Shiraz Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Value
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
9 More
Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Best Value
Grand Rapids
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

fit for foodies (16)
special occasion (15)
romantic (14)
See All
good for groups (12)
neighborhood gem (7)
notable wine list (5)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Good dinner, good service.

Dined 7 days ago

Good dinner, good service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were here for a birthday dinner and o ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were here for a birthday dinner and our server (Ayar?) went out of his way to make sure we had a great time. Great variety and tasty food, and well worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great option for Grand Rapids dining!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Always have a great experience here. Nice to have some non traditional choices in Grand Rapids!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shiraz Grill is superlative!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Our dinner at Shiraz Grille scored on every level. The food was outstanding. We ordered the sampler of appetizers and had wonderful eggplant, hummus, and feta cheese with walnuts. My husband's dinner was so delicious that I am afraid I kept eating from his plate as well as mine. He had a Persian stew with pinto beans and rice with pistachios, almonds, and candied orange curls. My Cornish game hen was succulent and with interesting spices. What a treat also to find Martinis with real martini glasses not just small, itty bitty glasses and the 007 martinis we had with Bombay Sapphire gin and Grey Goose vodka were superb. Our waiter explained the whole menu to us at the beginning and was a perfect server, never hovering but always noticing our table. A.R., you are the best! We will definitely be back! What a treat!

food5
ambience4
service2

The food was fantastic! And our server w ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was fantastic! And our server was excellent, but when we asked for some of their soup to go, she had to "ask permission from the chef" before she could give us any. They are also funny about coupons and gift certificates so don't be surprised if they don't except them.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

fantastic brunch, so fresh and flavorful ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

fantastic brunch, so fresh and flavorful. I wish they offered this more often, apparently only on special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just different

Dined on March 6, 2016

For anybody who likes to try something different I can highly recommend Shiraz. They have some Mediterranean items on the menu, but for a real taste of Persia I can truly recommend ordering one of their Khoreshes. Their staff is very friendly and polite as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, Quiet, Unique

Dined on February 12, 2016

The Persian menu is authentic and a wonderful difference from the common Mexican or Italian fare. My friends and I go there often because we know we will be able to hear one another talk, the food and wine will be wonderful, and the service will be smooth as silk. This dinner restaurant is spotless, elegant and lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always great; friendly and knowl ...

Dined on February 9, 2016

Food is always great; friendly and knowledgeable servers. Food can take a while to prepare, so don't expect to be in and out in a hurry. Totally worth the wait!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great find

Dined on January 23, 2016

We think you will be very happy with a meal at Shiraz Grill. Our group share the appetizer platter, 2 curries and a kabob dish all were delicious. We especially loved the eggplant appetizers and the special rices. If you ask they will upgrade your plain rice, we had the lentil and onion and wedding versions which were fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice

Dined on January 21, 2016

Good food, good experience, and nice peopke. Only problem, our waitress was a little slow to check on us. Other than that very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best Persian food I have ever had!!

Dined on January 21, 2016

The best Persian food I have ever had!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food

Dined on January 19, 2016

Shiraz is a delightful place to eat. Quiet,soft background music, excellent service and excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Flyfisher

Dined on January 1, 2016

The Lamb Shank is the best in the State! A Great value!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Happy New Year!

Dined on December 31, 2015

My husband and I dined at Shiraz New Year's Eve and were delighted with the prixe fixe menu and suggested wine pairing. It was a lovely evening we plan to repeat soon. Service was great and the food was unique and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

We like the ambiance, we really like the ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

We like the ambiance, we really like the food. Made for a wonderful evening with a lovely lady. Thanks

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Most Enjoyable

Dined on November 20, 2015

Efficient server, well prepared, fresh tasting food. Lovely decor. From appetizers to entree, flavor was very good. Only less than perfect part of this entree and Koreshes previously ordered is that the rice to "meat" ratio was in favor of the rice. Hostess was friendly and watchful. Will return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome!!!!!

Dined on October 30, 2015

This place is wonderful. We had the lamb kabobs which were cooked to perfection. We will definitely go back

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and atmosphere

Dined on October 4, 2015

Was looking for something special to treat my cousin from Arizona. Great Persian food. Tried the four appetizer sampler and three entrees. All were beyond delicious. Food, service and atmosphere were perfect. I am a vegen but my wife and cousin are not. We all left quite satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Really a pleasant find. Highly recommen ...

Dined on October 2, 2015

Really a pleasant find. Highly recommend!

food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent Persian cuisine

Dined on September 1, 2015

The usual middle Eastern kabobs are excellent, but for a real treat, try one of the fantastic, subtly spiced koreshes. Yum! Servers very knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Persian Food - a rare Experience

Dined on August 22, 2015

I have eaten Persian food before in California, but wasn't aware that it could be found in Michigan. This place has outstanding selection of Persian dishes - everything from the usual Kabobs to excellent vegetarian dishes. Decent wine selection and reasonable selection of craft beers in bottles. Was very quiet for an uncrowded lunch and judging from the size of the room and the ample spacing between tables - plus the beautiful decor - it definitely promises to be a winner for a romantic evening. When we dined there for lunch restaurant wasn't crowded so hard to judge how service would be with a full house - but for us it was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Flavor, quality and great service

vip
Dined on August 8, 2015

If you have not tried Persian food then do yourself a favor and check out Shiraz Grill. The food is wonderful and of high quality. The Kashk Bodemjon which is an eggplant appetizer made me change my mind about eggplant. It is wonderful. The Orange saffron chicken has a wonderful flavor. The saffron really stands out and pairs beautifully with the orange and make sure to order the wedding rice to have with it. Make sure to save room or split Ali's Persian Icecream. I would go back just for that. Great food and service. If you are looking for something out of the normal routine this is a great place to visit. There are also many nice vegetarian.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

A must go to... have the lamps

Dined on August 7, 2015

This is a place we adore to go. You MUST have the lamps. It's just an "out-of-this-world" experience but must everything is worth the expense.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Decent but did not Wow

Dined on July 23, 2015

Food is good. But I cannot say that some of it is worth the price. Chef was out of town when we visited so maybe that made a difference. But for the price there are better options in town.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Authentic Persian cuisine,awesome service. GREAT!

Dined on July 17, 2015

had a fantastic experience. The servers are very polite, cheerful and friendly. Food is fantastic. Highly recommend it !

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect place to dine and visit with friends

Dined on May 16, 2015

Service, great. Food, perfectly prepared. Nice ambiance--low key, but nice hum. What more is needed to make an outstanding dining experience with friends on a Saturday night?

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food

vip
Dined on May 14, 2015

If you are in the mood for something different and delicious, the savory offerings of Shiraz are perfectly suited.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A Local Getaway

Dined on May 7, 2015

We always have enjoyed our visits to Shiraz. It is just up the street but once inside it feels like we have traveled to a faraway land. The food and service are excellent, not rushed and personal. They want your experience to be a pleasant one.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meals for all palates!

Dined on May 6, 2015

We brought friends who are world travelers...They LOVED everything about Shiraz! Half way through the meal they said "we are coming back"! After a few minutes more they said "We will have to bring ______ and ____ here for sure!" We all loved our meals. I highly recommend the Wedding Rice!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Joe

Dined on April 22, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Excellent Service, Food was decent

Dined on March 13, 2015

Unique food selection here. The food was pretty good, very subtle flavors.

food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful restaurant

Dined on March 3, 2015

The food was great & we'll definitely go back! Lots of options for meat eaters and vegetarians. Their rice is second to none! Service was wonderful, even when we decided not to buy drinks. Overall an awesome experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Shiraz is always a great choice!

Dined on February 13, 2015

My husband and I celebrated Valentine's Day at Shiraz. Although we could have enjoyed their special Valentine's Day menu, we chose our entrees off the regular menu and were not disappointed. We love the variety of meal choices and will definitely come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

Quiet dinner spot

Dined on January 30, 2015

The food and service here seem to have declined recently. The cornish hen was dry (and it used to be my favorite order) and the rice with lima beans seemed excessively buttery on another dish. The servers are friendly but they are slow and seem untrained. Still, the soup remains outstanding and the Bodemjan (sp?) dishes are very tasty. The Persian flavors are a nice change from other similar middle eastern items.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

They know their menu !

vip
Dined on January 23, 2015

Dined here last week on a relatively quiet Thursday and enjoyed a delicious meal. Our server recommended starting with a 4-dish sampler platter and gave us her favorites. Next, she recommended the special of the month - Lamb with Curry and vegetables. My husband devoured it ! Wine list was ok, atmosphere was quiet and staff very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. We would definitely recommend Shiraz to others and suggest that they listen to the experts that work there ~ All of there suggestions were right on !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Tuesday night dinner

Dined on January 21, 2015

We have never dined at Shiraz Grille on a weekend therefore judging a "crowd" on a Tuesday evening would be unfair. The lamb shanks were delicious, the meat tender and falling off the bone. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. It was a very nice dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5

atmosphere was pleasant,quiet and unique

Dined on January 18, 2015

we were seated immediately.tables and furnishings were cool and seemed new. our waitress was pleasant and attentive. also helpful as we had not had persian food before. my food. to be honest, was bland and lacked flavor and seasoning other than saphron. my wife had some hotsauce on the side, and i like hotsauce, this was not great. i had the beef tenderloin kabob and the lamb and pork kabob. the portion size was adequate but lacked flavor. my wife had the chicken kabob and said it was good, i'm glad because it was her birthday. the shimp ordered in the appetizer was good ,although we ordered the four part sampler so they would only give two shrimp instead of five.

food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful as usual!

Dined on December 20, 2014

My husband and I had visited Shiraz earlier this year and really enjoyed it so when his birthday came around it was the perfect choice. This time we brought our teenage son with us and he enjoyed the food as much as we did. The service was outstanding and the waitress is amazing she actually remembered us from our last visit several months ago. All in all well worth it, I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Great Time!!

Dined on December 20, 2014

I had such a great time at the Shiraz Grille. Everything was done to perfection and the service was above average.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.