About Shiraz Grille

2739 Breton Road SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
View Larger Map

Tucked away on the northwest corner of Breton and 28th Street, you’ll find Michigan’s one and only Persian restaurant. Shiraz Grille is a culinary jewel that greets guests with authentic Persian décor, a warm and classy ambiance, cozy bar, and the finest in dining from the Persian Empire with indescribably delicious flavors. Selections include gourmet fire-grilled kabobs, delectable Persian rice dishes, delicate stews called Khoreshes, vegetarian and vegan entrees, and so much more. Each entrée is created from scratch, using only the freshest of ingredients. Most of the menu is gluten free! We offer a full bar with premium wines, cocktails & martinis. Come in and experience genuine hospitality at Shiraz Grille where you won't just eat ~ but you will "dine!"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Persian, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Monday: CLOSED
Tue-Thurs: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Fri-Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sun: 12:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
28th Street & Breton Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 949-7447

Website:
http://www.shirazgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Violinist every Wednesday evening

Live Belly-Dancer on the first Thursday of each month

Catering:
Catering available for groups/events. Within a 50-mile radius. Call for information.

Parking Details:
Private lot with handicap access.

Public Transit:
28th Street/Breton
Breton/Burton

Executive Chef:
Ali Ghebleh

Private Party Facilities:
Small private room for group of up to 12 guests just off the dining room. Also a private banquet room for parties of up to 100 guests with separate sound system, drop down projector/screen, microphone, WiFi. Special banquet menus available. Will customize to your needs for lunch/dinner. Great for special events, birthdays, wedding receptions/rehearsal dinners, or business gatherings.

Private Party Contact:
Ali Ghebleh: 6169497447x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Shiraz Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Food
Grand Rapids
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Romantic (12)
Authentic (9)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Business Meals (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Healthy (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
74 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I recently dined at Shira ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I recently dined at Shiraz for our wedding anniversary and we enjoyed it very much. Amelia was our waitress and she took very good care of us, even helping with our drink and dinner selection to make sure we would have a pleasant experience. We loved everything we tried and the atmosphere was lovely. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was professional with a great ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server was professional with a great sense of humor. She paired a great wine with our meal. The food was fabulous. I had a chicken/apple special and my husband had a combo plate. I wish this place were closer to home. I would be there all the time!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Same standard, reliable menu - choose f ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Same standard, reliable menu - choose from tasty, savory stews (Khoresh) or Kebabs, served with rice (or seasoned rice). Food was tasty; service was fine if a bit slow; atmosphere was very quiet and relaxing.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Open Table we made reservation for 7:00P ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Open Table we made reservation for 7:00PM. When we got there we advised we had a reservation but they stated they had filled up all the tables and for us to go to bar area to wait to be seated. They said 15 minutes but we didn't get seated until 7:40. We then waiting for a server for 15 more minutes and then had to go request some service. Very very poor in the service area. Food was OK. Would not recommend this place to anyone I know.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

My friend and I love this place because ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 18, 2016

My friend and I love this place because the pace is unhurried, the food is amazing and the service is good. It's a peaceful setting for a great dining experience! The specialty martinis are always fun to try.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Delight dining experience, as always. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Delight dining experience, as always. This is one of my favorites in the Grand Rapids area. The food and service are always outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The belly dancer set such amazing enviro ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The belly dancer set such amazing environment and entertainment. Food was delicious!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had the rack of lamb and it was excel ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We had the rack of lamb and it was excellent! The service was very good and they unexpectedly had a belly dancer who was also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Shiraz is our "go to" restaurant. It is ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Shiraz is our "go to" restaurant. It is a small and quiet dining experience with excellent Persian cuisine. Appetizers are all predictably high quality and the soups are excellent. We've had most of the main courses and have yet to be disappointed. Desserts, when you have room are very nice... the baklava is pistachio and highly recommended. The service is low key but efficient. Don't expect haute cuisine but the value is excellent in a quiet "neighborhood setting".

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Entree was excellent. Baklava tasted a r ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Entree was excellent. Baklava tasted a rancid, tough to cut through. Waitress delightful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had never been to Shiraz, but had been ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I had never been to Shiraz, but had been meaning to go for quite some time. Wish I hadn't waited so long! The food was excellent! Service was outstanding. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Delicious food, excellent service and a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service and a comfortable environment where you can have a quiet conversation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always food was delicious. On the oth ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 5, 2016

As always food was delicious. On the other hand, service was terrible this visit. What happened to all the regular servers? Didn't see one familiar face. I asked about a certain wine on the menu and expressed that I did not like sweet wine. I was assured that the selection was not sweet so went ahead and ordered it. The wine was so sweet I could not drink it, but server didn't seem to notice. I think a good server would have noticed and offered to replace it. She ignored us for most of our visit and there was only one other table occupied at the time of our visit. Will most likely look for new go-to restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was absolutely amazing, the dri ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing, the drinks, not so much. The only thing was missing were the people? On a friday night, they weren't very busy, so it was a little awkward, only being one of four tables in the restaurant. The appetizer selection was a little limited for my taste, but they had a very good vegetarian selection!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value5

Food is average. We went for Belly Danc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food is average. We went for Belly Dance night which happens first Thursday every month from summer to fall i guess. Though the performer did not perform for long (around 1 hour i think even though the event was supposed to be from 8pm to 10 pm and we were expecting more than 1 performers) but it was good and worth the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Plenty of vegetarian and vegan options. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Plenty of vegetarian and vegan options. The food was some of the best I've had in a long time. Highly recommend giving this restaurant a try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! I wished I lived i ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was amazing! I wished I lived in Grand Rapids so I could eat there more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The only Persian restaurant in Michigan. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The only Persian restaurant in Michigan. Our meal was authentic as it was delicious. Great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We live about 4 hours from this restaura ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 7, 2016

We live about 4 hours from this restaurant and try to frequent it when we are in the area. The food and service is 5 star all the way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid food preparation, attentive servic ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Solid food preparation, attentive service. Only negative is a lack of micro brew tap beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food at the Shiraz was a sensation t ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food at the Shiraz was a sensation to the palate. We were a group of four which included one red meat eater and one vegetarian and two avid foodies. We were each delighted with our selections: Narange Saffron chicken with Shirin Polo, Chicken Fessenjan with Zereshk Polo, Vegetarian Gheymeh with Lubia Polo and the Shishkebab Leek (rack of lamb). The spices are pleasant but not too pungent, fruits and nuts mixed with the meats and rice were outstanding. Our Server Ahmed, was pleasant and helpful but under stress. He was the only Server in the restaurant; he was apologetic and did an admirable job under the circumstances. The Server did encourage the Sunday Buffet; however, we made the choice not to do so because the serving dishes were near empty. I suspect the Server was encouraged to recommend the buffet due to staff shortage but the kitchen was not keeping up with that option. Although some of the elegance of the decor was dimmed by service issues, the experience was delightful and the ice tea was always refilled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We drive two hours to Grand Rapids to ea ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We drive two hours to Grand Rapids to eat at Shiraz Grille. The lamb shank, kebabs, and rice are delicious, and our preschooler loves their macaroni and cheese. Persian rice is lighter (like basmati), and this restaurant offers different flavored rices, like rice with dill and fava beans and rice with saffron, pistachios, berries, and orange peels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good dinner, good service.

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Good dinner, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were here for a birthday dinner and o ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2016

We were here for a birthday dinner and our server (Ayar?) went out of his way to make sure we had a great time. Great variety and tasty food, and well worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great option for Grand Rapids dining!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Always have a great experience here. Nice to have some non traditional choices in Grand Rapids!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Shiraz Grill is superlative!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our dinner at Shiraz Grille scored on every level. The food was outstanding. We ordered the sampler of appetizers and had wonderful eggplant, hummus, and feta cheese with walnuts. My husband's dinner was so delicious that I am afraid I kept eating from his plate as well as mine. He had a Persian stew with pinto beans and rice with pistachios, almonds, and candied orange curls. My Cornish game hen was succulent and with interesting spices. What a treat also to find Martinis with real martini glasses not just small, itty bitty glasses and the 007 martinis we had with Bombay Sapphire gin and Grey Goose vodka were superb. Our waiter explained the whole menu to us at the beginning and was a perfect server, never hovering but always noticing our table. A.R., you are the best! We will definitely be back! What a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic! And our server w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was fantastic! And our server was excellent, but when we asked for some of their soup to go, she had to "ask permission from the chef" before she could give us any. They are also funny about coupons and gift certificates so don't be surprised if they don't except them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

fantastic brunch, so fresh and flavorful ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 27, 2016

fantastic brunch, so fresh and flavorful. I wish they offered this more often, apparently only on special occasions.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Just different

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 6, 2016

For anybody who likes to try something different I can highly recommend Shiraz. They have some Mediterranean items on the menu, but for a real taste of Persia I can truly recommend ordering one of their Khoreshes. Their staff is very friendly and polite as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful, Quiet, Unique

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2016

The Persian menu is authentic and a wonderful difference from the common Mexican or Italian fare. My friends and I go there often because we know we will be able to hear one another talk, the food and wine will be wonderful, and the service will be smooth as silk. This dinner restaurant is spotless, elegant and lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always great; friendly and knowl ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 9, 2016

Food is always great; friendly and knowledgeable servers. Food can take a while to prepare, so don't expect to be in and out in a hurry. Totally worth the wait!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2016

We think you will be very happy with a meal at Shiraz Grill. Our group share the appetizer platter, 2 curries and a kabob dish all were delicious. We especially loved the eggplant appetizers and the special rices. If you ask they will upgrade your plain rice, we had the lentil and onion and wedding versions which were fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 21, 2016

Good food, good experience, and nice peopke. Only problem, our waitress was a little slow to check on us. Other than that very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The best Persian food I have ever had!!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2016

The best Persian food I have ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2016

Shiraz is a delightful place to eat. Quiet,soft background music, excellent service and excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Flyfisher

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2016

The Lamb Shank is the best in the State! A Great value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Happy New Year!

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2015

My husband and I dined at Shiraz New Year's Eve and were delighted with the prixe fixe menu and suggested wine pairing. It was a lovely evening we plan to repeat soon. Service was great and the food was unique and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We like the ambiance, we really like the ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 21, 2015

We like the ambiance, we really like the food. Made for a wonderful evening with a lovely lady. Thanks

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Most Enjoyable

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2015

Efficient server, well prepared, fresh tasting food. Lovely decor. From appetizers to entree, flavor was very good. Only less than perfect part of this entree and Koreshes previously ordered is that the rice to "meat" ratio was in favor of the rice. Hostess was friendly and watchful. Will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Awesome!!!!!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2015

This place is wonderful. We had the lamb kabobs which were cooked to perfection. We will definitely go back

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.