About Shinjuku Station

711 West Magnolia Avenue
Fort Worth, TX 76104
View Larger Map

Shinjuku Station is an izakaya style restaurant that serves traditional small plates – perfect for sharing. Located in the Near Southside of Fort Worth on Magnolia Avenue, friends and family are welcome to come in and unwind with good food, good drinks, and great hospitality. Shinjuku Station offers indoor and outdoor dining, a delicious menu, and a full bar which includes hand-crafted cocktails and an extensive sake list. It’s just one example of how we strive to provide you with the very best—and a bit of the unexpected.

Checkout our different lunch, dinner, and sushi menus online!

We accept LIMITED ONLINE RESERVATIONS on weekends. The majority of our seating will still be available for walk-ins. If reservations are not available online, please call us for additional availability.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Japanese Speciality

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hemphill & Rosedale

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 923-2695

Website:
http://www.shinjuku-station.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind our building. Additional parking is also available on 1201 Alston Ave. in the FREE Public Parking Garage (5min walk to the restaurant).

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Shinjuku Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Authentic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Tapas (9)
Fun (8)
Healthy (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Casual (8)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
80 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Ate here about a year ago and wasn't too impressed. Figured I'd give it another try. This time around service was absolutely horrendous. Food average. I would not recommend this restaurant. Good for hipsters, that's about it. I have never submitted a review even close to this poor for any other restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

We live going to Shinjuku Station for a yummy dinner. You cant beat the tok fries and the ceviche dish ifd the sushi menu is amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Second time here & we love love it!! Josh was our server this time & we gave him full access to order for us. His knowledge of the restaurant & menu is outstanding, he was fantastic! Cannot wait to return.

*If you're a meat & potatoes kind of person, this is not the place for you.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Brilliant place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Blew me away. Best sushi I've had in a long time, and in Fort Worth of all places. Ultra creative presentation and beautiful fish. Sit at the sushi bar and try omakasi.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good, just a little pricy and loud for 3 rolls. Drinks were good. Service was ok.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The tok fries we're amazhing. Best thing they have by far. A must order.

The pork steamed bun dish also excellent.

I've had better shishito peppers but they were still good.

Onto the last three dishes we got:

  1. The scallop tartare- was ok, needed more flavoring. Wasn't crazy about the cracker they came on.

  2. The king crab roll- was different. Didn't care for it that much. The sever recommended

  3. The Hama chili was disappointing overall. The fish was not that cold (key). I've had much better in Cabo and at uchiko in Austin (the standard)

Was a little disappointed but still decent overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great, the waiting service was awesome. But the hostess were pretty rude. I know SS gets pretty busy in the weekend evenings, but I'm sure by now (however many years they've been open) they can have a better approach when talking to customers and provide decent hospitality and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

By far the best sushi in Fort Worth. Authentic fresh Japanese cuisine with creative touches and flavor. Casual but suggest a reservation. It's my favorite restaurant in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Healthy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Casual, Authentic, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love this place. Food is outstanding. Can get a little pricy because you tend to order a lot, but it's wonderful for a date night.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Tok fries off the chain. Only complaint we had was that it was really loud & the hostess practically kicked us out of our table. We had reservations @ 7, I guess we lingered too long chatting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Best Sushi. Traditional style, not dressed up. Wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great food! Huge attention to presentation and amazing ingredients makes for foodie heaven. Fantastic service and cocktails. Will be back when I return to Dallas for sure. Thanks to all!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Josh as always provides the best most professional service. We keep coming back because we can count on his hospitality.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was fantastic!!! We experience something different every time we go there. The waiter was great also. He had lots of suggestions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Shinjuku is always amazing! Must tries: Fries, pizza, & Sweet Jalapeno roll. Built to impress with great management and attendant servers along with a talented kitchen make this small gem worthwhile for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Seasonal, Family Style, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It started with me asking for o-cha and the response from the waitress was - what's that? Japanese tea I said. We have hot green tea she says. That's what o-cha is I said. And it went downhill from there. The food here is expensive but bland. The menu items seem to be a poorly executed attempt to mimic some of the great food items from Uchi. No dish that we ate, from the miso salmon crudo "special" to the Ishiyaki to the Karaage to the Hamachi Kama was especially tasty. Yes, I'm Japanese. Yes I've grown up eating sushi since the mid 70's both in Los Angeles (including with Masa Takayma in the late 80's and early 90's and other well respected chefs) and in Japan. Yes I have high standards when it comes to eating Japanese cuisine, and I realize this isn't the west or east coast, but a great city like Fort Worth deserves a far better Japanese cuisine experience than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

second time, as a party of 8-10, we have been seated as a long table next to the door---DRAFTY, and SNOW was coming through the large space between the door (facing Magnolia)!!! Despite this, both times, they have told us we couldn't be seated elsewhere....meanwhile, there were several tables available that could have been put together to seat our group.

FOOD IS FANTASTIC, and we are a very generous group (in both our ordering and our tip), but I think this is our last visit there. Their inflexibility to seat us elsewhere in the space is poor customer service. Especially when that customer is spending $600-700.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I lived in Japan for 10 years & I thought it was the closest to Japanese food & ambiance I've had in the "states"....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Absolutely fantastic sushi. Really glad I found this place in Fort Worth of all places.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Fun, Healthy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The Chef Platter was a disappointment this time. It was sorely lacking in presentation and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were told our server was busy but we weren't in a rush so we didn't mind. He gave fantastic service. I had their weekend special drink "spiked chai tea" and it was perfect for the cold night it was. Food was good! Probably ordered too much but it was all worth it! It is small and cozy but busy so it can get loud! Great find for sushi!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food. Even my 12 year old ate almost everything. This was a super fun dining experience and a great way to experience the many flavored of this restaurant. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Love it every time, excellent waitress, need to get some Tangueray gin though

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Absolutely unique creations, excellent service, relaxing setting, A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great foods great folks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is our third visit to Shinjuku. Every time has been amazing! We love the food! We've tried about 80% of the menu now! The garlic rubbed tuna is so freaking delicious! Great service, but it is a little noisy in there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Really enjoyed dinner this past week. We brought some friends who hadn't been before, and from the drinks to the sushi to the Japanese tapas, everything was wonderful. We would highly recommend Shinjuku Station!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing sushi and dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful, amazing sushi place- a hidden treasure. Some of the best sushi in the DFW metroplex. Madai crudo is the answer to life's problems.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Unique sharing plates. Reminded me a lot of Cannon Chinese Kitchen as far as how the place presented itself (I still prefer Cannon, though). Shinjuku-rita was exactly what you'd expect from an overpriced craft cocktail, not nearly strong enough. Tok fries were flavorful (with a kick) and delicious. Octopus was charred but juicy. Felt the burnt flavor was too much at times, but still overall tasty. The Chef's Special Candied Jalepeno Roll was simpler than I expected. I was prepared for something much spicier, but I'm not complaining. Finally, the quail eggs were beautifully presented. The waiter was great, giving us tips on specials all along the way. I was very impressed with everything. Plan to come back for lunch so I can try the Ramen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Who brings a baby to a place that bills itself as a "Japanese gastro-pub?" The people sitting behind my husband and I, that's who. It made our "special sushi date" a little less special. It was a bit stuffy inside, and this was not helped by the sizzling beef dishes ordered by those around us. My sushi was good but a bit warm, which always makes me wary. Inconsistent spice level on the spicy tuna rolls that we ordered. This place is good but clearly coasting on its hype.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent izakaya-style (small plates) destination. The sushi was fresh, the atmosphere is very busy, and everything we had was extra tasty. Our server was knowledgeable and efficient, all while training a newer staff member. We had fun, and we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Probably my tenth time to Shinjinko in the last year. Always good. Love the Kama.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Shishito peppers to start. Have a hand crafted cocktail next then order all the fresh sushi your tummy can hold. Such a gem in our lovely historic FW neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 16, 2016

Went here for our 10 year anniversary and really enjoyed the food and ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was amazing as always! Shinjuku never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 1, 2016

This restaurant allows us to try small plates of new foods to us. The Japanese Pizza was the only one for which we were disappointed. Everything else has been wonderful! The waitpeople are enthusiastic & willing to answer questions. We especially enjoyed Vi (or is it Vee) as our primary waitperson. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2016

This was my first visit to Shinjuku Station and we went for lunch. There was room at the sushi bar so we decided to sit there. The building was once a bank I was told, so it made for a lovely ambiance.

Our server was very friendly in greeting us and took our order. The food arrived in rather a slow fashion even though the place wasn't anywhere near full. I was happy I wasn't trying to get back to the office after lunch as it took a good long time for the food to arrive.

My wife ordered a glass of white wine. When it arrived, we were both surprised to see that it looked like they were using the last bit of wine in the bottle. It literally barely came up the the halfway point in the glass. She asked the server and he gladly brought more to add to the glass.

My kitchen order finally arrived but the tempura part of the dish was very cold - as if it had been sitting waiting for someone to order it. I explained this to the server and again he gladly replaced it for a hot serving. As I was nearing the end of my kitchen order, my sushi order had never arrived. I asked the sushi chef if he could check on this and it turned out that the waiter had forgotten to put the order. I was still hungry so decided to wait and have it anyway.

The food was good but as I mentioned, there were numerous slip-ups along the way. The restaurant is rather pricy as well. Hopefully, this was an isolated event for them.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2016

Love this place. My kinda good. Don't go in here and ask for a California roll though!! Geez. This is the kinda food you find at a train station in Japan. The king crab roll (real crab!) with brown butter sauce was fab!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2016

As out of towners, we were recommended this restaurant by a friend who lives locally. This was some of the best sushi that I've ever had. Sashimi melted in my mouth like butter. No cream cheese or other junky fillers were used in the rolls. Service was a 4 only because the specialty rolls took a while to come out. Value was a four because our meal was $120 for three people and we only drank water. Well worth it though!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2016

The food was beyond incredible, all the staff were friendly. The ambiance whas relaxing and perfect to talk. Me and my husband are so impresed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2016

I think Shinkjuku Station has some of the best sushi in Fort Worth. I love the sashimi plates, like hama chili and the ceviche. There is not a large selection of rolls, so if that's your thing, this might not be the place for you. The fish is always top quality and the service is always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2016

In a city of increasing dining options, Shinjuku Station is still a favorite. Fresh ingredients and an inventive menu, including the best sushi in town, keep bringing us back and the service and atmosphere make it a great experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2015

The sushi and sashimi is always very fresh, delicious, and nicely presented.

The steamed mushrooms are absolutely divine!

Great drinks and service.

It doesn't get any better than Shinjuku Station!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2015

They have wonderful Japanese inspired food. Despite the average service, the food is so good I would still keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2015

Everything about Shinjuku was amazing! We went to celebrate our 17th anniversary. Staff was quick, friendly and helpful with the menu. We ordered several items and all were very good. My favorite was the surf'n'turf, we ordered two. The only problem I had with the night was when a group of 5 sat across the room from us and were extremely loud. Everyone was looking around at each other, even the staff, but no one asked them to quiet down just a bit. I wanted to, but they were drinking and probably had been for awhile and didn't want to make the situation any worse. Regardless of that, this is an awesome joint that you must try.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 6, 2015

We had a group birthday lunch. We ate outside and ordered several plates for the table. It was a great atmosphere, great food and friendly servers. We didn't feel rushed and they even served the cake we brought for us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.