About Shinjuku Station

711 West Magnolia Avenue
Fort Worth, TX 76104
View Larger Map

Shinjuku Station is an izakaya style restaurant that serves traditional small plates – perfect for sharing. Located in the Near Southside of Fort Worth on Magnolia Avenue, friends and family are welcome to come in and unwind with good food, good drinks, and great hospitality. Shinjuku Station offers indoor and outdoor dining, a delicious menu, and a full bar which includes hand-crafted cocktails and an extensive sake list. It’s just one example of how we strive to provide you with the very best—and a bit of the unexpected.

Checkout our different lunch, dinner, and sushi menus online!

**We currently offer limited reservations from Monday to Thursday and leave the majority of our seating to walk-ins. Call-ahead’s are welcome on the day of. We cannot guarantee seating at exact times for call-ahead guests. Seating on Weekends are on a first-come, first serve basis.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 923-2695

Website:
http://www.shinjuku-station.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind our building. Additional parking is also available across the street on Hemphill or Magnolia during other business' non-operating hours.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Shinjuku Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Overall
Fort Worth
Best Service
Fort Worth
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Fort Worth
Neighborhood Gem
Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Fort Worth Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Hot Spot (5)
Romantic (4)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
53 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great foods great folks!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great foods great folks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our third visit to Shinjuku. Eve ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is our third visit to Shinjuku. Every time has been amazing! We love the food! We've tried about 80% of the menu now! The garlic rubbed tuna is so freaking delicious! Great service, but it is a little noisy in there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed dinner this past week. W ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Really enjoyed dinner this past week. We brought some friends who hadn't been before, and from the drinks to the sushi to the Japanese tapas, everything was wonderful. We would highly recommend Shinjuku Station!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing sushi and dishes

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing sushi and dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoyable

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful, amazing sushi place- a hidden ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful, amazing sushi place- a hidden treasure. Some of the best sushi in the DFW metroplex. Madai crudo is the answer to life's problems.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique sharing plates. Reminded me a lot ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Unique sharing plates. Reminded me a lot of Cannon Chinese Kitchen as far as how the place presented itself (I still prefer Cannon, though). Shinjuku-rita was exactly what you'd expect from an overpriced craft cocktail, not nearly strong enough. Tok fries were flavorful (with a kick) and delicious. Octopus was charred but juicy. Felt the burnt flavor was too much at times, but still overall tasty. The Chef's Special Candied Jalepeno Roll was simpler than I expected. I was prepared for something much spicier, but I'm not complaining. Finally, the quail eggs were beautifully presented. The waiter was great, giving us tips on specials all along the way. I was very impressed with everything. Plan to come back for lunch so I can try the Ramen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Who brings a baby to a place that bills ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Who brings a baby to a place that bills itself as a "Japanese gastro-pub?" The people sitting behind my husband and I, that's who. It made our "special sushi date" a little less special. It was a bit stuffy inside, and this was not helped by the sizzling beef dishes ordered by those around us. My sushi was good but a bit warm, which always makes me wary. Inconsistent spice level on the spicy tuna rolls that we ordered. This place is good but clearly coasting on its hype.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent izakaya-style (small plates) d ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent izakaya-style (small plates) destination. The sushi was fresh, the atmosphere is very busy, and everything we had was extra tasty. Our server was knowledgeable and efficient, all while training a newer staff member. We had fun, and we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently good Japanese food in Ft Worth.

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Probably my tenth time to Shinjinko in the last year. Always good. Love the Kama.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Shishito peppers to start. Have a hand c ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Shishito peppers to start. Have a hand crafted cocktail next then order all the fresh sushi your tummy can hold. Such a gem in our lovely historic FW neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cool little restaurant

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Went here for our 10 year anniversary and really enjoyed the food and ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing as always! Shinjuku nev ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was amazing as always! Shinjuku never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our 2nd visit to Shinjuku.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

This restaurant allows us to try small plates of new foods to us. The Japanese Pizza was the only one for which we were disappointed. Everything else has been wonderful! The waitpeople are enthusiastic & willing to answer questions. We especially enjoyed Vi (or is it Vee) as our primary waitperson. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant but it had some bumps

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

This was my first visit to Shinjuku Station and we went for lunch. There was room at the sushi bar so we decided to sit there. The building was once a bank I was told, so it made for a lovely ambiance.

Our server was very friendly in greeting us and took our order. The food arrived in rather a slow fashion even though the place wasn't anywhere near full. I was happy I wasn't trying to get back to the office after lunch as it took a good long time for the food to arrive.

My wife ordered a glass of white wine. When it arrived, we were both surprised to see that it looked like they were using the last bit of wine in the bottle. It literally barely came up the the halfway point in the glass. She asked the server and he gladly brought more to add to the glass.

My kitchen order finally arrived but the tempura part of the dish was very cold - as if it had been sitting waiting for someone to order it. I explained this to the server and again he gladly replaced it for a hot serving. As I was nearing the end of my kitchen order, my sushi order had never arrived. I asked the sushi chef if he could check on this and it turned out that the waiter had forgotten to put the order. I was still hungry so decided to wait and have it anyway.

The food was good but as I mentioned, there were numerous slip-ups along the way. The restaurant is rather pricy as well. Hopefully, this was an isolated event for them.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Love this place. My kinda good. Don't g ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Love this place. My kinda good. Don't go in here and ask for a California roll though!! Geez. This is the kinda food you find at a train station in Japan. The king crab roll (real crab!) with brown butter sauce was fab!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Sushi.. ever?

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

As out of towners, we were recommended this restaurant by a friend who lives locally. This was some of the best sushi that I've ever had. Sashimi melted in my mouth like butter. No cream cheese or other junky fillers were used in the rolls. Service was a 4 only because the specialty rolls took a while to come out. Value was a four because our meal was $120 for three people and we only drank water. Well worth it though!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

the best sushi ever!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

The food was beyond incredible, all the staff were friendly. The ambiance whas relaxing and perfect to talk. Me and my husband are so impresed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the fresh fish!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I think Shinkjuku Station has some of the best sushi in Fort Worth. I love the sashimi plates, like hama chili and the ceviche. There is not a large selection of rolls, so if that's your thing, this might not be the place for you. The fish is always top quality and the service is always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a city of increasing dining options, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

In a city of increasing dining options, Shinjuku Station is still a favorite. Fresh ingredients and an inventive menu, including the best sushi in town, keep bringing us back and the service and atmosphere make it a great experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the very best restaurants in Fort Worth

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

The sushi and sashimi is always very fresh, delicious, and nicely presented.

The steamed mushrooms are absolutely divine!

Great drinks and service.

It doesn't get any better than Shinjuku Station!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They have wonderful Japanese inspired fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

They have wonderful Japanese inspired food. Despite the average service, the food is so good I would still keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Try them all!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 5, 2015

Everything about Shinjuku was amazing! We went to celebrate our 17th anniversary. Staff was quick, friendly and helpful with the menu. We ordered several items and all were very good. My favorite was the surf'n'turf, we ordered two. The only problem I had with the night was when a group of 5 sat across the room from us and were extremely loud. Everyone was looking around at each other, even the staff, but no one asked them to quiet down just a bit. I wanted to, but they were drinking and probably had been for awhile and didn't want to make the situation any worse. Regardless of that, this is an awesome joint that you must try.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a group birthday!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on October 6, 2015

We had a group birthday lunch. We ate outside and ordered several plates for the table. It was a great atmosphere, great food and friendly servers. We didn't feel rushed and they even served the cake we brought for us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Oh boy! I am not a fan of Shinjuku at al ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 30, 2015

Oh boy! I am not a fan of Shinjuku at all. We ordered several dishes and most of them just didn't jive with me.

Hear me out. I've been to several izakayas and I know I have a few favorites. So I stick to them and are mostly pleased with the flavors. Point in case was the baby octopus. This is usually dry. At Shinjuku it comes wet. It's described as seared baby octopus in sesame oil. It was too wet that if it was seared I missed that point. It lost its texture and all I felt I was chewing was something soft.

We also ordered their Wild Mushroom. This was presented in a tin foil container shaped like a box. Cute. The flavor escaped me. It was described as baked in brown butter. All I tasted was a note of sourness.Not overwhelming but it was the predominant taste. I was looking for the wild mushroom taste. It was what I ordered after all. Wild Mushrooms.

Chicken Karaage. This was described as lightly fried organic chicken pieces with a side of kewpie and chili powder. This was the best bet if eaten with the supplied kewpie and chili powder. Otherwise, it was bland.

Okonomiyaki. Japanese pizza. I expected good things from this dish. I was rewarded. A medley of flavor when I bit into this pizza.

Kampachi Ceviche. Young yellow tail sashimi in yuzu-lime sauce, dice jalapeños, cilantro and lime. This was a hit. Fresh, thinly sliced fish bath in perfect yuzu-lime combo. This I am a fan of!

We ordered the usual suspects as well. A few rolls.

So. Shinjuku is the home of Godzilla. Also the home of the world's busiest train station. I was expecting a Godzilla like flavor owing it to the high rating on yelp. I was happy with their sashimi not so with the rest.

P.S. their cheesecake was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Always great food...our favorite!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 25, 2015

Always great food...our favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great new find!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 4, 2015

I know this place has been around a while but I just finally made it for a visit at dinner this past week. What a find! I'm still dreaming about the mushrooms -- fantastic! We tried several of the meat dishes...pork belly buns, a chicken dish and an incredible beef entree. Can't remember the names of everything but nothing was less than fantastic. Try the tempur; both the veggies and the proteins we tried were perfectly cooked. This restaurant will be on our regular rotation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

Everything we had was delicious and the server was very prompt and knowledgeable. Looking forward to our next visit. Make sure you try the mushrooms and the waygu beef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

ALL ABOARD @ SHINJUKU STATION

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2015

THIS NEAR SOUTH-SIDE FIND IN THE FORT WORTH MEDICAL CENTER DISTRICT ON MAGNOLIA AVENUE PRESENTS A MENU OF JAPANESE FOOD LONG NEEDED IN THE AREA. ALTHOUGH ENERGETIC DESCRIBES THE NOISE LEVEL, IT'S A DOUBLE-EDGED SWORD. ONE CANNOT REALLY CONVERSE...YOU HAVE TO YELL TO BE HEARD BY YOUR TABLE COMPANIONS. NONETHELESS, THE AMBIANCE IS THAT OF A RED BRICK WALLED BUILDING WITH EXPOSED CEILING DUCTS AND HAVING UNDERGONE A PHOENIX REVIVAL INTO WHAT WILL UNDOUBTEDLY BECOME A FAVORITE PLACE TO WHICH TO RETURN FOR A BROAD VARIETY OF JAPANESE FARE INCLUDING A LONG LIST OF SUSHI, NOODLES, ETC. WAITSTAFF IS HELPFUL AND PROMPT DESPITE A FULL ROOM OF DINERS. WE WERE VERY PLEASANTLY SURPRISED.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great take on Japense food

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 18, 2015

We went on the recommendation of a Chef friend. The food was a really nice take on traditional Japanese dishes. Get the mushrooms! The ambiance of the place is not up to the food. The tables along the walkway are to be avoided. Light was glaring depending on where you sit. Still very much worth going if you lean toward the Foodie side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Well taken care of

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 11, 2015

the server took great care of me walking me through the menu with excellent recommendations. The drinks were tasty and had a healthy pour. The food was superb with a wide variety of Japanese style dishes from fresh raw choices to cook at your table dishes. It was a fun evening, a culinary success.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

You need to go here

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 30, 2015

This was my second time to Shinjuku station and i live in little elm, TX. It's worth the hour drive for me and I can't wait to go back. Great for a date night also great for small groups. The food here is Amazing!!!!! Try everything!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique, suits all tastes

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 5, 2014

This is a well-appointed, cozy spot for an intimate experience; Shinjuku has a great wine list and is considerate of all eaters--ask for the gluten-free and the vegetarian menus. The service is top-notch--friendly, helpful, and modest. And the food is FANTASTIC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really Great Japanese Food!!!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on October 30, 2014

This restaurant really covers all the bases. The sashimi and rolls are first rate as well as the grilled and fried dishes. My wife doesn't eat sushi but loved her meal. The food makes you feel like you're in Tokyo. Be aware this is a small restaurant with all of the tables aligned in a single row on one wall. There is a small bar area with five or six seats. I would advise getting there early but be ready to eat great food at a reasonable price with great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful Find

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2014

Coming from Los Angeles, I was impressed to find such n authentic and high quality Japanese restaurant in Texas. Service was excellent and the food was stellar. Get the black mussels and candied jalepeno roll- you won't be sorry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good sushi

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2014

High quality no-nonsense sushi and not a lot of fancy rolls. Small hot dishes were quite good. We went on a Monday night and they were out of several things. The waitress was very nice but didn't seems to be on top of things. She missed putting in part of our order and didn't know that they were out of things until putting in the orders. Still, overall, it was good and I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

first time surprise - definite Yes!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 5, 2014

Took our boss for lunch, beat the lunch crowd. Hostess recommendation of stir fry edamame was spot on, I've not found edamame edible. The Ceviche was fantastic, we both wanted to drink the leftover juice from the plate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excitement for the palate

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2014

Wonderful fare, wonderful service. Anthony, our server, was very attentive and made great suggestions. The grilled yellowtail and its accoutrements were outstanding. Every morsel was indeed excitement for the palate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2014

Wonderful flavors on a unique menu. I suggest the chef rolls and the housemate dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Simply the best !

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2014

Shinjuku is a favorite of mine . A group of 10 went for a birthday celebration . Birthday Boy was very happy and expectations surpassed ! I have never had better mussels !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.