About Shinjuku Station

711 West Magnolia Avenue
Fort Worth, TX 76104
View Larger Map

Shinjuku Station is an izakaya style restaurant that serves traditional small plates – perfect for sharing. Located in the Near Southside of Fort Worth on Magnolia Avenue, friends and family are welcome to come in and unwind with good food, good drinks, and great hospitality. Shinjuku Station offers indoor and outdoor dining, a delicious menu, and a full bar which includes hand-crafted cocktails and an extensive sake list. It’s just one example of how we strive to provide you with the very best—and a bit of the unexpected.

Checkout our different lunch, dinner, and sushi menus online!

We accept LIMITED ONLINE RESERVATIONS on weekends. The majority of our seating will still be available for walk-ins. If reservations are not available online, please call us for additional availability.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Japanese Speciality

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hemphill & Rosedale

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 923-2695

Website:
http://www.shinjuku-station.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind our building. Additional parking is also available on 1201 Alston Ave. in the FREE Public Parking Garage (5min walk to the restaurant).

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Shinjuku Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
See All
Tapas (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Healthy (6)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Romantic (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Great Beer (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Josh as always provides the best most pr ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Josh as always provides the best most professional service. We keep coming back because we can count on his hospitality.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic!!! We experience ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was fantastic!!! We experience something different every time we go there. The waiter was great also. He had lots of suggestions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shinjuku is always amazing! Must tries: ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Shinjuku is always amazing! Must tries: Fries, pizza, & Sweet Jalapeno roll. Built to impress with great management and attendant servers along with a talented kitchen make this small gem worthwhile for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Seasonal, Family Style, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

second time, as a party of 8-10, we have ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

second time, as a party of 8-10, we have been seated as a long table next to the door---DRAFTY, and SNOW was coming through the large space between the door (facing Magnolia)!!! Despite this, both times, they have told us we couldn't be seated elsewhere....meanwhile, there were several tables available that could have been put together to seat our group.

FOOD IS FANTASTIC, and we are a very generous group (in both our ordering and our tip), but I think this is our last visit there. Their inflexibility to seat us elsewhere in the space is poor customer service. Especially when that customer is spending $600-700.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Great place!

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I lived in Japan for 10 years & I though ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

I lived in Japan for 10 years & I thought it was the closest to Japanese food & ambiance I've had in the "states"....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic sushi. Really glad ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Absolutely fantastic sushi. Really glad I found this place in Fort Worth of all places.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Fun, Healthy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chef Platter was a disappointment th ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

The Chef Platter was a disappointment this time. It was sorely lacking in presentation and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We were told our server was busy but we ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were told our server was busy but we weren't in a rush so we didn't mind. He gave fantastic service. I had their weekend special drink "spiked chai tea" and it was perfect for the cold night it was. Food was good! Probably ordered too much but it was all worth it! It is small and cozy but busy so it can get loud! Great find for sushi!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Even my 12 year old ate alm ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food. Even my 12 year old ate almost everything. This was a super fun dining experience and a great way to experience the many flavored of this restaurant. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Love it every time, excellent waitress, ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

Love it every time, excellent waitress, need to get some Tangueray gin though

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely unique creations, excellent s ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

Absolutely unique creations, excellent service, relaxing setting, A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great foods great folks!

 
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great foods great folks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our third visit to Shinjuku. Eve ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is our third visit to Shinjuku. Every time has been amazing! We love the food! We've tried about 80% of the menu now! The garlic rubbed tuna is so freaking delicious! Great service, but it is a little noisy in there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed dinner this past week. W ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Really enjoyed dinner this past week. We brought some friends who hadn't been before, and from the drinks to the sushi to the Japanese tapas, everything was wonderful. We would highly recommend Shinjuku Station!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing sushi and dishes

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing sushi and dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoyable

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful, amazing sushi place- a hidden ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful, amazing sushi place- a hidden treasure. Some of the best sushi in the DFW metroplex. Madai crudo is the answer to life's problems.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique sharing plates. Reminded me a lot ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Unique sharing plates. Reminded me a lot of Cannon Chinese Kitchen as far as how the place presented itself (I still prefer Cannon, though). Shinjuku-rita was exactly what you'd expect from an overpriced craft cocktail, not nearly strong enough. Tok fries were flavorful (with a kick) and delicious. Octopus was charred but juicy. Felt the burnt flavor was too much at times, but still overall tasty. The Chef's Special Candied Jalepeno Roll was simpler than I expected. I was prepared for something much spicier, but I'm not complaining. Finally, the quail eggs were beautifully presented. The waiter was great, giving us tips on specials all along the way. I was very impressed with everything. Plan to come back for lunch so I can try the Ramen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Who brings a baby to a place that bills ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Who brings a baby to a place that bills itself as a "Japanese gastro-pub?" The people sitting behind my husband and I, that's who. It made our "special sushi date" a little less special. It was a bit stuffy inside, and this was not helped by the sizzling beef dishes ordered by those around us. My sushi was good but a bit warm, which always makes me wary. Inconsistent spice level on the spicy tuna rolls that we ordered. This place is good but clearly coasting on its hype.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent izakaya-style (small plates) d ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent izakaya-style (small plates) destination. The sushi was fresh, the atmosphere is very busy, and everything we had was extra tasty. Our server was knowledgeable and efficient, all while training a newer staff member. We had fun, and we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently good Japanese food in Ft Worth.

 
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Probably my tenth time to Shinjinko in the last year. Always good. Love the Kama.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Shishito peppers to start. Have a hand c ...

 
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Shishito peppers to start. Have a hand crafted cocktail next then order all the fresh sushi your tummy can hold. Such a gem in our lovely historic FW neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cool little restaurant

 
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Went here for our 10 year anniversary and really enjoyed the food and ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing as always! Shinjuku nev ...

 
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was amazing as always! Shinjuku never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our 2nd visit to Shinjuku.

 
·Dined on March 1, 2016

This restaurant allows us to try small plates of new foods to us. The Japanese Pizza was the only one for which we were disappointed. Everything else has been wonderful! The waitpeople are enthusiastic & willing to answer questions. We especially enjoyed Vi (or is it Vee) as our primary waitperson. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant but it had some bumps

 
·Dined on February 24, 2016

This was my first visit to Shinjuku Station and we went for lunch. There was room at the sushi bar so we decided to sit there. The building was once a bank I was told, so it made for a lovely ambiance.

Our server was very friendly in greeting us and took our order. The food arrived in rather a slow fashion even though the place wasn't anywhere near full. I was happy I wasn't trying to get back to the office after lunch as it took a good long time for the food to arrive.

My wife ordered a glass of white wine. When it arrived, we were both surprised to see that it looked like they were using the last bit of wine in the bottle. It literally barely came up the the halfway point in the glass. She asked the server and he gladly brought more to add to the glass.

My kitchen order finally arrived but the tempura part of the dish was very cold - as if it had been sitting waiting for someone to order it. I explained this to the server and again he gladly replaced it for a hot serving. As I was nearing the end of my kitchen order, my sushi order had never arrived. I asked the sushi chef if he could check on this and it turned out that the waiter had forgotten to put the order. I was still hungry so decided to wait and have it anyway.

The food was good but as I mentioned, there were numerous slip-ups along the way. The restaurant is rather pricy as well. Hopefully, this was an isolated event for them.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Love this place. My kinda good. Don't g ...

 
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Love this place. My kinda good. Don't go in here and ask for a California roll though!! Geez. This is the kinda food you find at a train station in Japan. The king crab roll (real crab!) with brown butter sauce was fab!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Sushi.. ever?

 
·Dined on February 12, 2016

As out of towners, we were recommended this restaurant by a friend who lives locally. This was some of the best sushi that I've ever had. Sashimi melted in my mouth like butter. No cream cheese or other junky fillers were used in the rolls. Service was a 4 only because the specialty rolls took a while to come out. Value was a four because our meal was $120 for three people and we only drank water. Well worth it though!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

the best sushi ever!

 
·Dined on January 27, 2016

The food was beyond incredible, all the staff were friendly. The ambiance whas relaxing and perfect to talk. Me and my husband are so impresed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a city of increasing dining options, ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2016

In a city of increasing dining options, Shinjuku Station is still a favorite. Fresh ingredients and an inventive menu, including the best sushi in town, keep bringing us back and the service and atmosphere make it a great experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the fresh fish!

 
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I think Shinkjuku Station has some of the best sushi in Fort Worth. I love the sashimi plates, like hama chili and the ceviche. There is not a large selection of rolls, so if that's your thing, this might not be the place for you. The fish is always top quality and the service is always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the very best restaurants in Fort Worth

 
·Dined on November 13, 2015

The sushi and sashimi is always very fresh, delicious, and nicely presented.

The steamed mushrooms are absolutely divine!

Great drinks and service.

It doesn't get any better than Shinjuku Station!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They have wonderful Japanese inspired fo ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2015

They have wonderful Japanese inspired food. Despite the average service, the food is so good I would still keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Try them all!

 
·Dined on November 5, 2015

Everything about Shinjuku was amazing! We went to celebrate our 17th anniversary. Staff was quick, friendly and helpful with the menu. We ordered several items and all were very good. My favorite was the surf'n'turf, we ordered two. The only problem I had with the night was when a group of 5 sat across the room from us and were extremely loud. Everyone was looking around at each other, even the staff, but no one asked them to quiet down just a bit. I wanted to, but they were drinking and probably had been for awhile and didn't want to make the situation any worse. Regardless of that, this is an awesome joint that you must try.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a group birthday!

 
·Dined on October 6, 2015

We had a group birthday lunch. We ate outside and ordered several plates for the table. It was a great atmosphere, great food and friendly servers. We didn't feel rushed and they even served the cake we brought for us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Oh boy! I am not a fan of Shinjuku at al ...

 
·Dined on September 30, 2015

Oh boy! I am not a fan of Shinjuku at all. We ordered several dishes and most of them just didn't jive with me.

Hear me out. I've been to several izakayas and I know I have a few favorites. So I stick to them and are mostly pleased with the flavors. Point in case was the baby octopus. This is usually dry. At Shinjuku it comes wet. It's described as seared baby octopus in sesame oil. It was too wet that if it was seared I missed that point. It lost its texture and all I felt I was chewing was something soft.

We also ordered their Wild Mushroom. This was presented in a tin foil container shaped like a box. Cute. The flavor escaped me. It was described as baked in brown butter. All I tasted was a note of sourness.Not overwhelming but it was the predominant taste. I was looking for the wild mushroom taste. It was what I ordered after all. Wild Mushrooms.

Chicken Karaage. This was described as lightly fried organic chicken pieces with a side of kewpie and chili powder. This was the best bet if eaten with the supplied kewpie and chili powder. Otherwise, it was bland.

Okonomiyaki. Japanese pizza. I expected good things from this dish. I was rewarded. A medley of flavor when I bit into this pizza.

Kampachi Ceviche. Young yellow tail sashimi in yuzu-lime sauce, dice jalapeños, cilantro and lime. This was a hit. Fresh, thinly sliced fish bath in perfect yuzu-lime combo. This I am a fan of!

We ordered the usual suspects as well. A few rolls.

So. Shinjuku is the home of Godzilla. Also the home of the world's busiest train station. I was expecting a Godzilla like flavor owing it to the high rating on yelp. I was happy with their sashimi not so with the rest.

P.S. their cheesecake was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Always great food...our favorite!

 
·Dined on August 25, 2015

Always great food...our favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great new find!

 
·Dined on August 4, 2015

I know this place has been around a while but I just finally made it for a visit at dinner this past week. What a find! I'm still dreaming about the mushrooms -- fantastic! We tried several of the meat dishes...pork belly buns, a chicken dish and an incredible beef entree. Can't remember the names of everything but nothing was less than fantastic. Try the tempur; both the veggies and the proteins we tried were perfectly cooked. This restaurant will be on our regular rotation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent

 
·Dined on July 31, 2015

Everything we had was delicious and the server was very prompt and knowledgeable. Looking forward to our next visit. Make sure you try the mushrooms and the waygu beef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.