Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.30mi
  2. Distance: 1.56mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi

About Shinjuku Station

Shinjuku Station is an izakaya style restaurant that serves traditional small plates – perfect for sharing. Located in the Near Southside of Fort Worth on Magnolia Avenue, friends and family are welcome to come in and unwind with good food, good drinks, and great hospitality. Shinjuku Station offers indoor and outdoor dining, a delicious menu, and a full bar which includes hand-crafted cocktails and an extensive sake list. It’s just one example of how we strive to provide you with the very best—and a bit of the unexpected.

Checkout our different lunch, dinner, and sushi menus online!

We accept LIMITED ONLINE RESERVATIONS on weekends. The majority of our seating will still be available for walk-ins. If reservations are not available online, please call us for additional availability.

711 West Magnolia Avenue
Fort Worth, TX 76104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Japanese Speciality

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hemphill & Rosedale

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 923-2695

Website:
http://www.shinjuku-station.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind our building. Additional parking is also available on 1201 Alston Ave. in the FREE Public Parking Garage (5min walk to the restaurant).

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Shinjuku Station Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Casual (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Cozy (8)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Healthy (6)
Romantic (5)
Tapas (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Spicy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Love this place! Wonderful food and atmosphere! We always come back!

Tags: Spicy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Always one of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Birthday. Thank you for green tea ice cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

best steamed mussels ever! I can't wait to go back and try some different items. The sushi was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Everything is amazing. Try a lot of different things and share. Variety of drinks. Sushi is fresh and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Super fresh traditional style sushi (i.e. no cream cheese fillers) with friendly service. Funky vibe. Look forward to going back.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I appreciate a place that shows respect fo

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had a great time, food was awesome, service was exceptional. Celebrated wife's birthday! Sat by the window, very enjoyable time!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Fun, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent food , traditional style sushi and great small course, family style menu. Baked mushrooms and sushi are fantastic. Mixology a plus

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything was great. Started off with the Tok Fries and Tempura appetizer. They were both fantastic. I'd go back just for those. They had $5 margaritas (happy hr) that everyone loved. I got a sake tasting that was really good. We then just had them start bringing out their most popular rolls till we said stop. They were all so good it'd be hard to chose just one. We will definitely go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The one BIG thing missing to choose on the "what makes this a place special" page is friendly and knowledgeable staff. That would be my #1 comment for this place. We prefer to let our server choose for us and he is the reason I come back. Thanks, Elizabeth

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a reservation and then when we got there, we were told that it would be just a few more minutes. Which turned into 45 minutes. They said people were taking longer than usual, but instead it seems that they just did a poor job of projecting when to seat people and how many to seat. After we were seated, it took 15 minutes for our drinks to be delivered. Some of the food we ordered was pretty good (the tok fries, the ceviche, and the sushi), but the other items were just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Ate here about a year ago and wasn't too impressed. Figured I'd give it another try. This time around service was absolutely horrendous. Food average. I would not recommend this restaurant. Good for hipsters, that's about it. I have never submitted a review even close to this poor for any other restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We live going to Shinjuku Station for a yummy dinner. You cant beat the tok fries and the ceviche dish ifd the sushi menu is amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always enjoy Shinjuku.
Love the baby octopus :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Second time here & we love love it!! Josh was our server this time & we gave him full access to order for us. His knowledge of the restaurant & menu is outstanding, he was fantastic! Cannot wait to return.
*If you're a meat & potatoes kind of person, this is not the place for you.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Brilliant place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Blew me away. Best sushi I've had in a long time, and in Fort Worth of all places. Ultra creative presentation and beautiful fish. Sit at the sushi bar and try omakasi.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good, just a little pricy and loud for 3 rolls. Drinks were good. Service was ok.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The tok fries we're amazhing. Best thing they have by far. A must order.

The pork steamed bun dish also excellent.

I've had better shishito peppers but they were still good.

Onto the last three dishes we got:
1. The scallop tartare- was ok, needed more flavoring. Wasn't crazy about the cracker they came on.
2. The king crab roll- was different. Didn't care for it that much. The sever recommended
3. The Hama chili was disappointing overall. The fish was not that cold (key). I've had much better in Cabo and at uchiko in Austin (the standard)

Was a little disappointed but still decent overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great, the waiting service was awesome. But the hostess were pretty rude. I know SS gets pretty busy in the weekend evenings, but I'm sure by now (however many years they've been open) they can have a better approach when talking to customers and provide decent hospitality and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

By far the best sushi in Fort Worth. Authentic fresh Japanese cuisine with creative touches and flavor. Casual but suggest a reservation. It's my favorite restaurant in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Healthy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Casual, Authentic, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love this place. Food is outstanding. Can get a little pricy because you tend to order a lot, but it's wonderful for a date night.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Tok fries off the chain. Only complaint we had was that it was really loud & the hostess practically kicked us out of our table. We had reservations @ 7, I guess we lingered too long chatting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Best Sushi. Traditional style, not dressed up. Wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great food! Huge attention to presentation and amazing ingredients makes for foodie heaven. Fantastic service and cocktails. Will be back when I return to Dallas for sure. Thanks to all!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Josh as always provides the best most professional service. We keep coming back because we can count on his hospitality.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was fantastic!!! We experience something different every time we go there. The waiter was great also. He had lots of suggestions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Shinjuku is always amazing! Must tries: Fries, pizza, & Sweet Jalapeno roll. Built to impress with great management and attendant servers along with a talented kitchen make this small gem worthwhile for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Seasonal, Family Style, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It started with me asking for o-cha and the response from the waitress was - what's that? Japanese tea I said. We have hot green tea she says. That's what o-cha is I said. And it went downhill from there. The food here is expensive but bland. The menu items seem to be a poorly executed attempt to mimic some of the great food items from Uchi. No dish that we ate, from the miso salmon crudo "special" to the Ishiyaki to the Karaage to the Hamachi Kama was especially tasty. Yes, I'm Japanese. Yes I've grown up eating sushi since the mid 70's both in Los Angeles (including with Masa Takayma in the late 80's and early 90's and other well respected chefs) and in Japan. Yes I have high standards when it comes to eating Japanese cuisine, and I realize this isn't the west or east coast, but a great city like Fort Worth deserves a far better Japanese cuisine experience than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

second time, as a party of 8-10, we have been seated as a long table next to the door---DRAFTY, and SNOW was coming through the large space between the door (facing Magnolia)!!! Despite this, both times, they have told us we couldn't be seated elsewhere....meanwhile, there were several tables available that could have been put together to seat our group.
FOOD IS FANTASTIC, and we are a very generous group (in both our ordering and our tip), but I think this is our last visit there. Their inflexibility to seat us elsewhere in the space is poor customer service. Especially when that customer is spending $600-700.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I lived in Japan for 10 years & I thought it was the closest to Japanese food & ambiance I've had in the "states"....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Absolutely fantastic sushi. Really glad I found this place in Fort Worth of all places.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Fun, Healthy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The Chef Platter was a disappointment this time. It was sorely lacking in presentation and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were told our server was busy but we weren't in a rush so we didn't mind. He gave fantastic service. I had their weekend special drink "spiked chai tea" and it was perfect for the cold night it was. Food was good! Probably ordered too much but it was all worth it! It is small and cozy but busy so it can get loud! Great find for sushi!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food. Even my 12 year old ate almost everything. This was a super fun dining experience and a great way to experience the many flavored of this restaurant. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Love it every time, excellent waitress, need to get some Tangueray gin though

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Absolutely unique creations, excellent service, relaxing setting, A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great foods great folks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.