Shem Creek Bar and Grill

4.0
423 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

Welcome to Shem Creek Bar & Grill!
We are committed to satisfying our customers with great food and excellent service.
We offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for Lunch and Dinner.
Whatever you're in the mood for, you can find it here!
Take a look at our wonderful menu and you'll find everything that you need!
We hope to see you soon!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Steak, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am-4:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 884-8102
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Coleman Blvd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private parking lot, with 2 lots for guests.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 423 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0based on all time ratings
3.9
food
4.1
service
3.9
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Have always told friends that this is a great restaurant to go to.
But, on this visit, some of the food was burnt, some of it tasted old or out of date.
Our waitress sat at the bar texting on her phone while we waited for her to come take our drink orders. She never asked us if we needed anything. Just brought the drinks and then the food and then the bill. Perhaps she needed to stay home that night.

Otherwise, the staff was friendly and the view was great.
Thanks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

A go to seafood location in Mt Pleasant for many years. Moderate prices and good food. I've eaten there multiple times with consistent results.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 22, 2017

Awesome dinner and great service, we had a group of 6 people. we were wanting to get in and out quick, but still enjoy the food. trying to get to the Darius concert in time. every thing worked out great. thanks

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Our first visit sated our curiosity. The food was clean and of medium quality. Entrees were ample quantity but crab dip appetizer was very scant, though delicious. Our waiter appeared to be a avid connoisseur of cannabis and not trained to wait tables. Nothing was bad except the choices of wines. Just not at all impressive, except for the sunset.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Parking is a serious pain in the rear but th food is excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Great fresh seafood, good service and excellent scenery !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 20, 2017

while our service was good, our food was a little cool, in fact they quickly replaced mine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Great food, great location, decent service. Definitely worth a visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Great place, recommended by several people. Sat at the bar for happy hour. Food was great and so was the service. A real local gem. Nice friendly local crowd. Will definitely be back and recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 19, 2017

This was an awesome place to eat. The red clam chowder was amazing! Thanks to Kristen for taking great care of me!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2017

Shem Creek Bar & Grill is a must stop for us everytime we vacation in the area. The red clam chowder is the best ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was hot and came out quickly, local drinks with fresh juices a plus. I would go there again on my next visit.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Food was luke warm when it came out. We found part of a wrapper or piece of packaging in the pasta. Overall the experience was disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2017

Visiting our boy who attends The Citadel and decided to check this place out as it had been recommended by several people we know. We sat in the bar area (we had made reservations), and the funk of this place suited us perfectly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2017

We love Shem Creek and celebrated my birthday here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 2, 2017

We always look forward to eating here on our vacations. Always love the food. Low country boil is great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 2, 2017

Very casual with good food and good service with a wonderful view of shem creek. Air Conditioning runs cold, so suggest a wrap for the ladies.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 30, 2017

This was our first time at Shem Creek Bar &Grill. 2 of us are locals, 2 from Ohio. Atmosphere was fun, lively but not extremely loud. Service was excellent. The menu had something for everyone and the prices were what I'd expect. One nice thing was prices were listed for cocktails which many restaurants don't list these. The food was excellent although the filet mignon wasn't what I was used to compared to other restaurants. The cut was very thin and covered in a thick gravy but was still quite tasty. We've found a new place to eat when we return to SC!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Food and atmosphere were great, the only flaw I can report, was that the basil cream sauce (though very tasty) that was on the Grouper special, seemed to take away from the natural flavor of the fish.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 28, 2017

Been here maybe 2x/year over several years. Most recent visit will make me think twice before going back because food was mediocre at best. Appetizers of baked oysters and fried mushrooms were good, although oysters were barely warm. Mushrooms were shiitake and a generous portion. Crab cake entree was nowhere near as good as it used to be. Large, but not much crab flavor. Grouper on special a bit tough and overcooked (not totally ruined), probably because filet was thin. Food was on the greasy side. On the other hand, view was good and waiter was attentive. I would be most likely to return to have a meal of appetizers and try the oyster stew and soups. It may be that this was just not the best day for us and things may return to how we remembered them. Or, maybe, this restaurant is cutting back on more expensive ingredients. May try again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 27, 2017

Great as always. Good view, good food and good service. What else can you ask?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 24, 2017

Several years ago we stayed on the Isle of Palm every spring when our children were competing in their high school sport events. We often dined at Shem Creek Bar and Grill, and always had a good meal. This most recent visit was quite disappointing. The restaurant felt dirty, and the fish boiled dinner was awful. It seemed literally boiled to utter mush.
The server was gracious however and our bill was adjusted accordingly. Hopefully, we just came on a bad nite, but they were hardly busy, and quite frankly, they should be at their best every nite.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 24, 2017

Service was excellent and food was food. Always enjoy the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 21, 2017

8 of us ate together outside on the deck. The waiter was friendly and pretty attentive. Oysters were shucked by the bar guy.... think he needs more help! Food was good but not great. Too expensive for value of food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2017

Incredible meal and the best service ever !! Kevin was wonderful !! a treat to visit with and all delivered with a big smile !!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 17, 2017

It was nice for early dinner not noise. Fish very good but would not order the rice again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Delicious she crab soup and steamed mussels in broth were very tasty. Clams we're just ok. Crab legs were very good but a bit overpriced for what you got

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 15, 2017

This has always been one of our "go to" restaurants; however, this particular meal was disappointing. I had the fried seafood platter which didn't resemble a $23 meal. The Shem Creek spuds were cold, thick and lumpy. My wife had the fish tacos and was equally underwhelmed. We'll still go back...but too many trips like this one might take them off our list.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 13, 2017

We had heard nothing but good things about the food. It was not good, nor worth the dining experience. My wife got the stuffed flounder and it was "watery" and tasteless. I got the Shem Creek Seafood Spectacular (shrimp, scallops, Mahi-Mahi and crab cake)...the shrimp was tasty, but not great, the scallops were a little mushy, the Mahi was the best part of the dish, and the crabcake was not good. We were there on Wednesday, the first day they were open after hurricane Irma, so I credit the poor food to recovery from that disaster.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 7, 2017

Went there for Charleston restaurant week because the food menu sounded great. The server was friendly and enthusiastic . By the time the food got to the table, it was cold. There was no color to the plate of food. As a matter of fact, it was brown & sad looking. Everything was 'ok'; nothing to brag about, but it wasn't horrible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 6, 2017

Loved it--food and ambience. We had lunch in this delightfully, funky restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 4, 2017

Good food, service was slow

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Visit to Charleston SC

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Super disappointing, as a Mt. P native it's really sad to see how low the quality has gotten. Everything was just mediocre & fried. Waitress stuck her thumb in the appetizers when serving. Just low standards & so many other great options on Shem creek.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 3, 2017

This is a casual, fun place with a great sunset view. Low Country seafood prepared as it should be. Very friendly wait staff and enthusiastic bar tenders. Wear your flip flops, cut offs and tee shirts and have a fun, relaxing dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 3, 2017

We were a group of four coming to celebrate a family birthday and were first time diners. Our booking was made through Open Table and we were very happy to receive the time requested and exactly the table location we asked for. Service (Casey girl) was excellent. We had a fantastic picturesque view of the creek from both angles. We all ordered different entrees and everyone was very happy with their meal. Portion were generous. Crab cakes were awesome good. Big bowls were almost too big and very fresh combinations. Veges were a little on the crisp side of steamed but good. Enjoyed the whole experience and will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Server was great at what he did Very concerned we were taken care of

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Came here on a recommendation from a local. We wanted a casual seafood place. This place was casual, but way too loud. The seats are at least 25 years old. The food was ok; the sauce they had for the seafood wasn't that great. Great bar area on the waterfront. Good place for locals to hang out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Absolutely beautiful location with great views everywhere! The food was very good, especially the she crab soup. The seafood and the beverages were good. Would definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 31, 2017

Delicious food and great atmosphere. Just a nice local restaurant that we count on for a nice evening out to dinner.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11