About Shem Creek Bar and Grill

508 Mill St.
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Welcome to Shem Creek Bar & Grill!
We are committed to satisfying our customers with great food and excellent service.
We offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for Lunch and Dinner.
Whatever you're in the mood for, you can find it here!
Take a look at our wonderful menu and you'll find everything that you need!
We hope to see you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Coleman Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 884-8102

Website:
http://www.shemcreekbarandgrill.com/location.php

Parking Details:
Private parking lot, with 2 lots for guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Shem Creek Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (16)
Scenic View (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
See All
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great family place. Delicious seafood an ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great family place. Delicious seafood and many options for non-seafood lovers. Bucket of local steamed oysters is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was cold and clearly not fresh. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was cold and clearly not fresh. The service and drinks were fine.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Arrived early for the reservation. Was t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Arrived early for the reservation. Was told by a hostess with attitude we would be seated at our time. We waitied in the bar. The entire time in the bar we were next to an open booth. At the res. time we were seated at the table we had been standing next to for 40 minutes. I doubt we will go there again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very disappointing evening. Service was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very disappointing evening. Service was terrible, food was mediocre at best, and the mosquitoes on the outdoor deck were overwhelming. Will not be back to this restaurant

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible service. Food was overpriced an ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Terrible service. Food was overpriced and bland. Hostess was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food along with great service and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great food along with great service and a wonderful view of the water as well. Highly recommend this gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time we've to Shem Creek and a gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Second time we've to Shem Creek and a great place - try the prime rib!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and good southern food! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great atmosphere and good southern food! Very enjoyable meal. Nice to sit outdoors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had friends from out of town and were ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had friends from out of town and were embarrassed by the poor service and food All the meals arrived at our table Luke warm. One of our friends ordered their signature "ala Wando" dinner and there was so much cream sauce, she couldn't find the grits cake and had to fish (a real pun) for the fish in the dish

Talked it's the manager and her response was, I'll tell the chef.

Not likely to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Fun place to eat with family and friends ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Fun place to eat with family and friends. Always a treat.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ex.staff Like the atmosphere ,casual, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Ex.staff

Like the atmosphere ,casual,

Bartenders are

Enjoyed Kenny Puckett

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was really unaware of this place but aft ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Was really unaware of this place but after going discovered many of my friends considered it a favorite and ate there regularly. We'll definitely go back. Loved the view on the creek with fishing boats and salt air. Could become a favorite for us when in MP.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food with great pricing! We wi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Fantastic food with great pricing! We will come back when in town again! Wait staff fantastic as well!

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did not even get a chance to eat here ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We did not even get a chance to eat here. Your app let us make reservations at 9pm and then we were told they actually close at 9. The misunderstanding would have been fine except for the fact that several workers walked by us waiting at the front and said nothing to us. We waited for a solid 10 minutes. Very unprofessional treatment will not be returning to this place.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Went here with friends based on a previo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Went here with friends based on a previous good experience. Restaurant was not crowded for a Friday night, that should have been the first clue. Food was overpriced and very poor. Oysters were pathetic and extremely tiny. Clams were swimming in garlic sauce. Seafood was overcooked and not fresh even though we were in Charleston. Numerous better choices in the area. We definitely will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great place overlooking marsh and creek. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great place overlooking marsh and creek..good food and service...very casual..nice to be outside Charleston area!

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful fresh seafood. My only regret ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful fresh seafood. My only regret is that I didn't schedule my reservation early enough to enjoy the sunset from the dock. Our food was wonderful! The crabcakes were outstanding as was the fresh peel and eat shrimp. Highly recommend as a place to eat on the water near Charleston.

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Shem Creek Bar and Grill has the best Sh ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Shem Creek Bar and Grill has the best Shrimp and Grits around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We always stop at this gem when we visit ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We always stop at this gem when we visit Charleston. Love the outdoor bar area. Always a terrific view of the sunset. Nice to see people dock their boats and come up for a drink, or a few. Our waiter was extremely sexy too!!

Tags: Spicy, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After several friends recommended Shem C ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 11, 2016

After several friends recommended Shem Creek Bar & Grill, my husband and I finally had the opportunity to go during a weekend trip to the beach. We loved the perfectly cooked seafood, and seasonal pumpkin dessert! The friendly, well-timed service was great too. Our table had a nice view of boats on the water and an outside bar. We look forward to more fun and fabulous seafood there in the future.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Fun, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good not great. There are better places ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good not great. There are better places if you are visiting the area. This is definitely a local hangout. Bar is very loud and boisterous. Service was very good. Food was moderate. The she crab soup is really nice but the seafood ala wando is average at best. Cocktails were watery. Great views.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server Kasey was super. Super person ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our server Kasey was super. Super personality & excellent service.

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Not sure if it was "end of season" fatig ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Not sure if it was "end of season" fatigue or if sub-par service is typical, but our family's experience at Shem Creek was less than optimal. We made a reservation for 8:30pm for a party of 10 and were told if the large party before us left early, we could be seated earlier. We arrived at 7:45pm and the place was virtually empty, and we were told that we would have to wait for our 8:30 reservation despite there being multiple tables available. The hostess was extremely rude (both in person and when I called earlier about the reservation) and she seemed annoyed as did much of the bar and wait staff. Our waitress in particular was rude and overbearing and made us all fairly uncomfortable....she was definitely ready to end her shift.

Our food didn't fair much better as we had a variety of seafood and a few of us had the Prime Rib Special. The food was very bland and the quality was certainly not indicative of the price.

Again, not sure if this was just due to it being the end of the season, but the entire restaurant seemed kind of dirty. Needless to say, I don't think we'll be revisiting the Shem Creek Bar and Grill and certainly wouldn't recommend it to our friends. I hate that we missed out on experiencing some of the other great options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

2 plates were cold. Had to send back. B ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2016

2 plates were cold. Had to send back. But food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I definitely enjoyed the patio on such a ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I definitely enjoyed the patio on such a nice day. Overlooking the water with a cool drink was nice. The food was good, but not extraordinary in my opinion. Their take on shrimp and grits did not work for me. Grits should be bit firmer and the "massive" amount of bacon grease was not particularly appetizing.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have dined at Shem Creek the last sev ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have dined at Shem Creek the last several years when we visit the area with our friends. We have always enjoyed the food and atmosphere but this year was a different experience. We didn't feel wanted and the food was not good as it has always been and thus the reason for returning. We all agreed we will not return to Shem Creek on our future visits. Honestly, I don't like to write reviews like this but it was such a bad experience this time I felt it necessary. Maybe it was just an off night for them, which I do hope but it will be hard for us to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Our server Kasey was friendly and attent ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server Kasey was friendly and attentive. Our entrees, Jambalaya for my husband and Shem Creek Seafood Spectacular (shrimp, scallops, crab cake and mahi) for me were very generous and excellent. All in all, a great place for fresh seafood.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very pleased with restaurant overall. F ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very pleased with restaurant overall. Food was served at room temperature but it was very delicious.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Probably my favorite meal during our 4 d ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Probably my favorite meal during our 4 day stay in the Charleston area. Everyone in our party of six raved about their meal. No complaints and I will definitely visit here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have eaten here many times and have neve ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed with the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super good place to eat go and enjoy

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Super good place to eat go and enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty much of an average experience. Bu ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Pretty much of an average experience. Building is run down and in need of major repairs. Can't imagine what the kitchen looks like. Many other excellent restaurants minutes away

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food and waiter was great! The hostess.. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food and waiter was great! The hostess... not so much. She was so rude to us when we arrived. She actually hung up the phone on another customer right in front of us! Then when we went to leave she got right in my friends face and yelled bye so rude! Then she made snide comments under her breath. Had I not been in a time crunch I would have reported her to the manager. I'll see how we are treated when we go back and make my decision To see if we dine there again. I don't like giving my money to and establishment that allows their employees to treat their customers so rudely.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We met friends here for a nice, moderate ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We met friends here for a nice, moderately priced dinner. The mixed grilled seafood plate was so plentiful, I took the mahi with me for another meal later on. All in all, very good, with a nice view of Shem Creek.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant's setting is amazing! T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant's setting is amazing! The view and outside area are awesome. Our waiter was very attentive and did a good job keeping drinks filled and getting what we asked for in a timely manner. The food was not hot when it arrived at the table, appetizers weren't hot nor was our dinner. I'm not sure why? My husband and I ordered the seafood boil and the shrimp were over cooked and mushy. I was not impressed with the food. However, if I would have been on my boat and pulled up for dinner after a day on the water, I wouldn't expect much more, but we were out for a great seafood dinner and were a little disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We were entertaining out of town friends ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were entertaining out of town friends and I knew requesting a table in the main restaurant was a long shot but I tried anyway. I do not think any of this was noted on the reservation list when we arrived. They attempted to seat us in a crummy booth in another area. I asked to wait for a table with a view. We were in one of the additions next to a very loud, large group of people who had no regard for others in the room. I honestly could not hear the conversation at my own table and had to ask my friends to repeat themselves many times. Service was okay as was the food. In better weather, the outdoor seating would be great to take advantage of the wonderful views of Shem Creek.

I have been to this restaurant three times now and two out of three were not great experiences. Don't think I will be back any time soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This was a family dinner on vacation. Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a family dinner on vacation. They said that they could not accommodate us 13 people at one table however as we were leaving there was a group of 12 seated. The waiter was disinterested. He brought the appetizer without the accompaniments and when it was pointed out he still didn't do it. He forgot some of the items for kids that were on the menu. The tip was added in which we do not feel he deserved.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Small portions, nothing special, fried ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Small portions, nothing special, fried shrimp was decent. Service was slow, drinks were not good at all. Expensive for the quality

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a great meal. The food was delicious ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a great meal. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Well worth the cost of the meal. Calamari appetizer--HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the view of Shem Creek and did ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went for the view of Shem Creek and did not disappoint! Food is bar food at best but you get what you pay for. Service was good wasn't very full for a Wednesday night.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.