About Shem Creek Bar and Grill

508 Mill St.
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Welcome to Shem Creek Bar & Grill!
We are committed to satisfying our customers with great food and excellent service.
We offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for Lunch and Dinner.
Whatever you're in the mood for, you can find it here!
Take a look at our wonderful menu and you'll find everything that you need!
We hope to see you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Coleman Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 884-8102

Website:
http://www.shemcreekbarandgrill.com/location.php

Parking Details:
Private parking lot, with 2 lots for guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Shem Creek Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
South Carolina
Scenic View
South Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Charleston
2 More
Scenic View
Charleston
Seafood
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Mount Pleasant ›

Scenic View (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Kid-friendly (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Special Occasion (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Waterfront (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fun (1)
Spicy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went here with friends based on a previo ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Went here with friends based on a previous good experience. Restaurant was not crowded for a Friday night, that should have been the first clue. Food was overpriced and very poor. Oysters were pathetic and extremely tiny. Clams were swimming in garlic sauce. Seafood was overcooked and not fresh even though we were in Charleston. Numerous better choices in the area. We definitely will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great place overlooking marsh and creek. ...

vip
·Dined 7 days ago

Great place overlooking marsh and creek..good food and service...very casual..nice to be outside Charleston area!

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful fresh seafood. My only regret ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful fresh seafood. My only regret is that I didn't schedule my reservation early enough to enjoy the sunset from the dock. Our food was wonderful! The crabcakes were outstanding as was the fresh peel and eat shrimp. Highly recommend as a place to eat on the water near Charleston.

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Shem Creek Bar and Grill has the best Sh ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Shem Creek Bar and Grill has the best Shrimp and Grits around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We always stop at this gem when we visit ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We always stop at this gem when we visit Charleston. Love the outdoor bar area. Always a terrific view of the sunset. Nice to see people dock their boats and come up for a drink, or a few. Our waiter was extremely sexy too!!

Tags: Spicy, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After several friends recommended Shem C ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

After several friends recommended Shem Creek Bar & Grill, my husband and I finally had the opportunity to go during a weekend trip to the beach. We loved the perfectly cooked seafood, and seasonal pumpkin dessert! The friendly, well-timed service was great too. Our table had a nice view of boats on the water and an outside bar. We look forward to more fun and fabulous seafood there in the future.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Fun, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good not great. There are better places ...

vip
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good not great. There are better places if you are visiting the area. This is definitely a local hangout. Bar is very loud and boisterous. Service was very good. Food was moderate. The she crab soup is really nice but the seafood ala wando is average at best. Cocktails were watery. Great views.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server Kasey was super. Super person ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our server Kasey was super. Super personality & excellent service.

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Not sure if it was "end of season" fatig ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Not sure if it was "end of season" fatigue or if sub-par service is typical, but our family's experience at Shem Creek was less than optimal. We made a reservation for 8:30pm for a party of 10 and were told if the large party before us left early, we could be seated earlier. We arrived at 7:45pm and the place was virtually empty, and we were told that we would have to wait for our 8:30 reservation despite there being multiple tables available. The hostess was extremely rude (both in person and when I called earlier about the reservation) and she seemed annoyed as did much of the bar and wait staff. Our waitress in particular was rude and overbearing and made us all fairly uncomfortable....she was definitely ready to end her shift.

Our food didn't fair much better as we had a variety of seafood and a few of us had the Prime Rib Special. The food was very bland and the quality was certainly not indicative of the price.

Again, not sure if this was just due to it being the end of the season, but the entire restaurant seemed kind of dirty. Needless to say, I don't think we'll be revisiting the Shem Creek Bar and Grill and certainly wouldn't recommend it to our friends. I hate that we missed out on experiencing some of the other great options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

2 plates were cold. Had to send back. B ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

2 plates were cold. Had to send back. But food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I definitely enjoyed the patio on such a ...

vip
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I definitely enjoyed the patio on such a nice day. Overlooking the water with a cool drink was nice. The food was good, but not extraordinary in my opinion. Their take on shrimp and grits did not work for me. Grits should be bit firmer and the "massive" amount of bacon grease was not particularly appetizing.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have dined at Shem Creek the last sev ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have dined at Shem Creek the last several years when we visit the area with our friends. We have always enjoyed the food and atmosphere but this year was a different experience. We didn't feel wanted and the food was not good as it has always been and thus the reason for returning. We all agreed we will not return to Shem Creek on our future visits. Honestly, I don't like to write reviews like this but it was such a bad experience this time I felt it necessary. Maybe it was just an off night for them, which I do hope but it will be hard for us to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Our server Kasey was friendly and attent ...

vip
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server Kasey was friendly and attentive. Our entrees, Jambalaya for my husband and Shem Creek Seafood Spectacular (shrimp, scallops, crab cake and mahi) for me were very generous and excellent. All in all, a great place for fresh seafood.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very pleased with restaurant overall. F ...

 
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very pleased with restaurant overall. Food was served at room temperature but it was very delicious.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Probably my favorite meal during our 4 d ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Probably my favorite meal during our 4 day stay in the Charleston area. Everyone in our party of six raved about their meal. No complaints and I will definitely visit here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have eaten here many times and have neve ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed with the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super good place to eat go and enjoy

 
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Super good place to eat go and enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty much of an average experience. Bu ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Pretty much of an average experience. Building is run down and in need of major repairs. Can't imagine what the kitchen looks like. Many other excellent restaurants minutes away

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food and waiter was great! The hostess.. ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food and waiter was great! The hostess... not so much. She was so rude to us when we arrived. She actually hung up the phone on another customer right in front of us! Then when we went to leave she got right in my friends face and yelled bye so rude! Then she made snide comments under her breath. Had I not been in a time crunch I would have reported her to the manager. I'll see how we are treated when we go back and make my decision To see if we dine there again. I don't like giving my money to and establishment that allows their employees to treat their customers so rudely.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We met friends here for a nice, moderate ...

vip
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We met friends here for a nice, moderately priced dinner. The mixed grilled seafood plate was so plentiful, I took the mahi with me for another meal later on. All in all, very good, with a nice view of Shem Creek.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant's setting is amazing! T ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant's setting is amazing! The view and outside area are awesome. Our waiter was very attentive and did a good job keeping drinks filled and getting what we asked for in a timely manner. The food was not hot when it arrived at the table, appetizers weren't hot nor was our dinner. I'm not sure why? My husband and I ordered the seafood boil and the shrimp were over cooked and mushy. I was not impressed with the food. However, if I would have been on my boat and pulled up for dinner after a day on the water, I wouldn't expect much more, but we were out for a great seafood dinner and were a little disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We were entertaining out of town friends ...

vip
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were entertaining out of town friends and I knew requesting a table in the main restaurant was a long shot but I tried anyway. I do not think any of this was noted on the reservation list when we arrived. They attempted to seat us in a crummy booth in another area. I asked to wait for a table with a view. We were in one of the additions next to a very loud, large group of people who had no regard for others in the room. I honestly could not hear the conversation at my own table and had to ask my friends to repeat themselves many times. Service was okay as was the food. In better weather, the outdoor seating would be great to take advantage of the wonderful views of Shem Creek.

I have been to this restaurant three times now and two out of three were not great experiences. Don't think I will be back any time soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This was a family dinner on vacation. Th ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a family dinner on vacation. They said that they could not accommodate us 13 people at one table however as we were leaving there was a group of 12 seated. The waiter was disinterested. He brought the appetizer without the accompaniments and when it was pointed out he still didn't do it. He forgot some of the items for kids that were on the menu. The tip was added in which we do not feel he deserved.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Small portions, nothing special, fried ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Small portions, nothing special, fried shrimp was decent. Service was slow, drinks were not good at all. Expensive for the quality

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a great meal. The food was delicious ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a great meal. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Well worth the cost of the meal. Calamari appetizer--HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the view of Shem Creek and did ...

vip
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went for the view of Shem Creek and did not disappoint! Food is bar food at best but you get what you pay for. Service was good wasn't very full for a Wednesday night.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Good was good. 6 adults in our group all ...

vip
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Good was good. 6 adults in our group all had seafood and we're pleased with the selection, quantity and quality of the food. However, the service and staff were definitely underwhelming. The hostess had a bad attitude, other staff seemed annoyed and our server was pleasant but too busy with no help. The facility is dingy and the floor and table were dirty and sticky. Prices were fair. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Visiting area and hoping for some good, ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Visiting area and hoping for some good, local Carolina steamed Peel & eat shrimp. Unfortunately the shrimp was " mushy" usually indicating it was frozen first. I had the shrimp & grits " should be good anywhere from Wilmington down to Savannah right The instant grits were right out of the box, "crunchy" IE not cooked. There was more but I really don't want to add anything else negative. It has free parking, a view of the Wando river and the beer was cold. Head across the river to one of the other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Incredibly disappointing. The food was o ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Incredibly disappointing. The food was overcooked and tasted like it had been sitting around for hours under a heat lamp. My husband and I got the seafood spectacular which the menu boasted was mahi, crab cake, scallops and shrimp with vegetables and rice or potatoes. The mahi was severely overcooked and tough. The crab cake was mushy and was not freshly made at all or even possibly made within the last 2 hours. We each received 2 shrimp and 2 scallops. The scallops were overcooked and rubbery. My husband was very disappointed as he was looking forward to some fresh seafood which we expected from Shem Creek. We did not get it at all. And after having paid $105 for our food and 2 kids, we expected much more. We should have just went to one of the more upscale establishments downtown. The best thing about his meal was his side salad--it is truly commendable to be able to make a good salad unless you're a seafood restaurant in which case you should deliver good seafood.

The bright spot was our server, Mary. She was attentive and friendly. Even though the food was poor, the service was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

The atmosphere was nice, right along the ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The atmosphere was nice, right along the river. The Oyster slider was great! The sandwiches were okay. They were small portions for the cost. The service was very friendly which made up for the slowness.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was great and service was all 10's

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was great and service was all 10's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although named Bar and Grill, it is good ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Although named Bar and Grill, it is good for family. Food is very good and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

just less than expected. food luke-warm ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

just less than expected. food luke-warm, table in an area not well-ventilated (fans not working and air-conditioning not adequate for porch area. Complained but were not offered alternative seating. will not return. too many other options better in the area.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Really enjoyed dining at Shem Creek Bar ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Really enjoyed dining at Shem Creek Bar and Grill! The prime rib was the BEST!! Others had seafood and were equally pleased! Will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, one of the best plates ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Love this place, one of the best plates of had. Excellent experience here!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst dining experience I have had in a ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Worst dining experience I have had in a LONG time. Waitstaff made ZERO effort to accommodate our simple requests to be seated outside even though we had a reservation through OpenTable. We will never be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food as is always the case at Shem ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food as is always the case at Shem Creek Bar and Grill !!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Large selection of seafood, but food was ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Large selection of seafood, but food was mediocre at best. 'Seafood/Beach' atmosphere. Great dock bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Went here for an early dinner after a da ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Went here for an early dinner after a day on Bull Island. It is the perfect place to come to after beach time. Good food and value. Liked it enough to return five days later for drinks and appetizers after paddle boarding on the creek. Laid back atmosphere is welcomed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was very good and the portion s ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was very good and the portion sizes were a good value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.