Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

About Shem Creek Bar and Grill

Welcome to Shem Creek Bar & Grill!
We are committed to satisfying our customers with great food and excellent service.
We offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for Lunch and Dinner.
Whatever you're in the mood for, you can find it here!
Take a look at our wonderful menu and you'll find everything that you need!
We hope to see you soon!

508 Mill St.
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Coleman Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 884-8102

Website:
http://www.shemcreekbarandgrill.com/location.php

Parking Details:
Private parking lot, with 2 lots for guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Shem Creek Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (22)
Casual (22)
Great for Lunch (13)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Family Style (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Scenic View (9)
Fun (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
People Watching (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Romantic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Private Room (2)
Cozy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

Hostess was rude when we arrived. Service was slow. Shrimp we ordered was not deveined and the steak was overpriced and poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

We love this place! It is not so touristy like the other restaurants on Shem Creek and the food is always fresh and delicious!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Sorry that I would not recommend this restaurant! Food was just average and small portions. Salad was nothing to write home about and that determines to me how the meal is going to be. Dressing had to be sent back because of a funny taste. Salmon was under cooked. Rice was cold on three of our orders. Service was very good! Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food was good and the drinks were reasonable. It is a fine "local" restaurant and we enjoyed the view, the food and the drinks!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food and wonderful service. They were so eager to please and considerate of my 82 year old mother in law. The food was indescribably good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We live in Beaufort and had some family visiting in Myrtle Beach and we wanted to meet up for dinner somewhere half way. We frequent Mount Pleasant often and asked a local friend for a recommendation for good seafood without all the fuss. They said we must go to Shem Creek. The food was delicious, oysters were fresh and the views were to die for. We had a large group and had no issues getting a table to accommodate us. We will definitely be back next time we are in Mount Pleasant.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good food with great service. Second visit and we were not disappointed. Good menu choices and well prepared food. Thanks.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised with the good food, service and atmosphere of this local restaurant. Definitely an undiscovered jewel for Mt. Pleasant. Wait staff very friendly and helpful with beverage and food suggestions. Great dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We were excited to try this venue, per recommendations from friends. The ambiance was okay, the service was okay, but the food was nothing short of YUCK. I ordered a shrimp and scallop dish (I mean, this is on Shem Creek afterall). The scallops were like a rubbery hockey puck and the shrimp were not cleaned/deveined at all so I bit into GRIT. Way to ruin a person's appetite! I mean, what kind of restaurant doesn't clean their shrimp?! With so many other wonderful restaurants in this area, we will never be eating at this place again nor will we ever recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Enjoyed late afternoon early evening dinner here Lobster, seafood combination, chicken pasta. Try the She Crab Soup. 3 separate dining areas & 2 bars. Some tables overlook Shem Creek. Recommend arriving early to see boats before dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The server was outstanding and attentive! The food was quite good.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was good, service was pitiful. With no line and mostly empty restaurant, took 20 minutes to get seated, another 20 for a waiter to even come to the table, then no service except to bring the meal. Kinda ruined what would've been a nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The hostess was rude! We're local natives!! The hostess needs an attitude adjustment! Other than the hostess everything was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Have dined there many times and it is a great casual local spot. Bar always entertaining and serves fresh fish dinners as well as quick bites in the evening.
Never disappointed and love to drop in .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Loved my fried oysters. They were fried perfectly. The side dishes were very good, too. Even the service was great, even though it was a packed house. Our waiter was very nice and good at his job. I will go back every chance I get. Planning to take my family for Easter brunch this year.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were in town for the SEWE Exposition. Although we made 7:00 reservations, we arrived much earlier and were seated immediately with a perfect view of Shem Creek. Our waiter was personable and attentive. Even though we ordered too much food, it was all delicious. We enjoyed all aspects of our evening, including conversation with other patrons. Don't miss the she-crab soup!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

I made reservations at this restaurant for 6 people, unexpectedly we were unable to find child care for a 2 month old and a 3 year old and our party grew from 6 to 8 including the small children. Our reservations were at 5:00pm and when we arrived the restaurant was mostly empty. When I notified the hostess about the change she became frustrated and made several comments regarding my inability to count the right number of people in our party and then looked around as if it was going to be a problem to find somewhere to put us. She did not speak to us again while seating us and seemed very put out by the change. If we had arrived at peak time with a packed restaurant I would could understand her frustration but given the time and the lack of people there I couldn't understand the problem. Had I not been there with a large group this initial experience was negative enough that I would have left the restaurant without dinning. This is now the second incident of this type that I have had at this restaurant and will most likely not return because of it. The food, ambiance and location are all very good but the professionalism of the staff can be lacking at times. Our waiter on this occasion did a very good job and the food was prepared fresh and tasted great. The hostess managed to ruin this trip with her negative attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My new Charleston favorite!!! Ask for Tim at the bar!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Shem Creek Bar and Grill is a great place for Shem Creek atmosphere and very good food. I had prime rib . The menu has everything you need. The service was great. The wine list could use some improvement. We had a very good time there, as usual.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food!! They sat us in the bar area at the back of the restraunt. Noisy and need a good cleaning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Hidden treasure! Great dining experience with great scenic views of the waterway. Bar, outside and cozy seating available. Good upbeat atmosphere with friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, People Watching, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Go early for a view of Shem's Creek and great service. At 4:40 pm, we had a great view, wonderful server. Oysters on the half shell awesome. Gumbo and fried oysters delicious. Their special potatoes and green beans were wonderful. Happy here. Plan to go again soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went for a birthday celebration and was very disappointed. Horribly slow service and cold food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ate here while selling at an antique show; good food, reasonably priced for area; nice setting overlooking Shem Creek

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had an excellent waiter. The food was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Probably my favorite Charleston area brunch spot.... but they offer so much more! Boat access, multiple bars, diverse menu, beautiful patio. We go back time and time again and are never disappointed. Keep it up!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Disabled Access, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fast, friendly service and excellent fried seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our meal here started out nice enough but our server was slammed with other tables so our service was lacking. She would come by and refill a couple of drinks but ignore the other half of the table. She never cleared our plates as we finished and this is something that I like to have done. To add insult to injury, our tip was added to our bill because of the size of our group. She was guaranteed her tip no matter what kind of service we received.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Visited for Christmas Eve Family dinner. Nice casual atmosphere. Value for price is probably a bit on the low side. A little overpriced for what you get. Service was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have tried this restaurant a handful of times over the years since we live in the area. Not bad but just not that great. Great view of the creek during the day but underwhelming at night with the interior in need of a refreshment on tables and booth upholstery. Really hoping management makes some changes to get this place back on the map in the Mt Pleasant restaurant scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

They would have gotten 5 stars but had ran out of a few items in mid week.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I was told the best oyster shucker in Charleston works here but I guess he wasnt in. I had the clams, they were ok. The she-crab soup was good. The beer was good. Service was ok. Borderline tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Excellent ! Good place to take our out of town guests.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great family place. Delicious seafood and many options for non-seafood lovers. Bucket of local steamed oysters is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was cold and clearly not fresh. The service and drinks were fine.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Arrived early for the reservation. Was told by a hostess with attitude we would be seated at our time. We waitied in the bar. The entire time in the bar we were next to an open booth. At the res. time we were seated at the table we had been standing next to for 40 minutes. I doubt we will go there again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very disappointing evening. Service was terrible, food was mediocre at best, and the mosquitoes on the outdoor deck were overwhelming. Will not be back to this restaurant

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Terrible service. Food was overpriced and bland. Hostess was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great food along with great service and a wonderful view of the water as well. Highly recommend this gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Second time we've to Shem Creek and a great place - try the prime rib!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.