Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

About Shem Creek Bar and Grill

Welcome to Shem Creek Bar & Grill!
We are committed to satisfying our customers with great food and excellent service.
We offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for Lunch and Dinner.
Whatever you're in the mood for, you can find it here!
Take a look at our wonderful menu and you'll find everything that you need!
We hope to see you soon!

508 Mill St.
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Coleman Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 884-8102

Website:
http://www.shemcreekbarandgrill.com/location.php

Parking Details:
Private parking lot, with 2 lots for guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Shem Creek Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (58)
Waterfront (52)
Casual (32)
See All
Local Ingredients (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Comfort Food (20)
Authentic (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Fun (13)
People Watching (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great Beer (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Business Meals (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

It was nice for early dinner not noise. Fish very good but would not order the rice again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious she crab soup and steamed mussels in broth were very tasty. Clams we're just ok. Crab legs were very good but a bit overpriced for what you got

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

This has always been one of our "go to" restaurants; however, this particular meal was disappointing. I had the fried seafood platter which didn't resemble a $23 meal. The Shem Creek spuds were cold, thick and lumpy. My wife had the fish tacos and was equally underwhelmed. We'll still go back...but too many trips like this one might take them off our list.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We had heard nothing but good things about the food. It was not good, nor worth the dining experience. My wife got the stuffed flounder and it was "watery" and tasteless. I got the Shem Creek Seafood Spectacular (shrimp, scallops, Mahi-Mahi and crab cake)...the shrimp was tasty, but not great, the scallops were a little mushy, the Mahi was the best part of the dish, and the crabcake was not good. We were there on Wednesday, the first day they were open after hurricane Irma, so I credit the poor food to recovery from that disaster.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Went there for Charleston restaurant week because the food menu sounded great. The server was friendly and enthusiastic . By the time the food got to the table, it was cold. There was no color to the plate of food. As a matter of fact, it was brown & sad looking. Everything was 'ok'; nothing to brag about, but it wasn't horrible.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Good food, service was slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Super disappointing, as a Mt. P native it's really sad to see how low the quality has gotten. Everything was just mediocre & fried. Waitress stuck her thumb in the appetizers when serving. Just low standards & so many other great options on Shem creek.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Visit to Charleston SC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This is a casual, fun place with a great sunset view. Low Country seafood prepared as it should be. Very friendly wait staff and enthusiastic bar tenders. Wear your flip flops, cut offs and tee shirts and have a fun, relaxing dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were a group of four coming to celebrate a family birthday and were first time diners. Our booking was made through Open Table and we were very happy to receive the time requested and exactly the table location we asked for. Service (Casey girl) was excellent. We had a fantastic picturesque view of the creek from both angles. We all ordered different entrees and everyone was very happy with their meal. Portion were generous. Crab cakes were awesome good. Big bowls were almost too big and very fresh combinations. Veges were a little on the crisp side of steamed but good. Enjoyed the whole experience and will be back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Server was great at what he did Very concerned we were taken care of

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Came here on a recommendation from a local. We wanted a casual seafood place. This place was casual, but way too loud. The seats are at least 25 years old. The food was ok; the sauce they had for the seafood wasn't that great. Great bar area on the waterfront. Good place for locals to hang out.

Tags: Waterfront, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Absolutely beautiful location with great views everywhere! The food was very good, especially the she crab soup. The seafood and the beverages were good. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Delicious food and great atmosphere. Just a nice local restaurant that we count on for a nice evening out to dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food was great, scenery was beautiful, and the service was extraordinary!!! We will definitely return there on our next trip to Charleston! MUCH better than Hyman's Seafood downtown.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were with family and enjoyed our dinner and the great service of our waiter. The fried shrimp were just right.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We enjoyed the beautiful view on the patio and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

great tasty as always..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was fresh and delicious! Crab cakes were great, and so was the fried shrimp combo with flounder and shrimp po boy. Key lime pie was light and was the perfect finish to our meal. Location was beautiful and staff were on point! We will definitely return when we visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Recommendations were right on and the seafood was excellent. Only disappointment was due to service awareness and being out of homemade food at 730p.
We would recommend it but just set expectations and prove us wrong on the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food was average for price. The waitress did take great care of us with refills and prompt attentions to our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We were looking for a family friendly place to get some seafood during our trip to Charleston. We were able to get a few classics (crab legs/fried shrimp/hushpuppies) as well as a great gumbo. We didn't want to dress up or worry about the kids being too loud and this was great. We got there early and it was not very crowded, but by 6:30pm it was getting full. The waitress was great, checked in on us often while we had a few beers before the meal. Kids menu provided basics for our kids that weren't into seafood. Overall a great little place tucked away.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Awesome seafood and other selections. Great low country atmosphere. Boils were the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

No oysters at a seafood restaurant at 7:00pm on a Monday evening? Unacceptable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Have eaten at Shem Creek Bar and Grill many dozens of times. It NEVER disappoints.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Much better and more cost effective than the restaurants in Charleston proper. The scenery was better and the food was better and if you want to tour downtown Charleston afterwards, you have more money to spend for that and not for GOOD FOOD.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great place to introduce visitors to Charleston. We sat outside and had a great view of the Creek with the Ravenel Bridge in the background at sunset. Service was very good. We were a party of 5 and two had the Big Guy Gumbo...seafood was plentiful and delicious as was the Jambalaya. I had the mahi which was also very good. Nice casual atmosphere with good food!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food and atmosphere! We were there for 2017 total eclipse. Love this place!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The views of Shem Creek were lovely but there wasn't anything special about the meal. We had the Low Country Boil. The meal contained all the ingredients of a Boil, however, they had been cooked separately rather than simmered together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Amazing food, great service. The Shem Pot was excellent and the chef was able to easily accommodate special request due to food allergy. Can't wait to visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The temperature in the restaurant was uncomfortably warm even after the sunset. The Oysters Charleston appetizer was good as was my grouper. My wife had the naked Mahi Mahi which was over cooked and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

I was very disappointed. The food was just OK. I had the fried shrimp and oysters their Shem potatoes which were instant and cold. No bread or hush puppies was served with the meal. I will not be going back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

My wife and I wanted to go to a fun place with two other couples. This place is fantastic! We had drinks in the back bar with great views of Shem Creek. We ate dinner inside and the local seafood was really good. Our server was attentive. We will definately go back!

Tags: Great Beer, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Authentic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Casual, Scenic View, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Service was terrible and gratuity was added automatically

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent - food, location on the water, value. Well worth a visit.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best shrimp and grits EVER! Very friendly staff. Fantastic view.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Cozy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The hostess wasn't the most polite. Our food came out piece meal. Crab cakes had shell bits in them and weren't very good. Others in my party were not impressed with their dishes either. Wait staff was nice but couldn't cover hostess, food delivery and food quality issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our Mahi was raw inside like it had been frozen and thrown on the grill at the last minute and the remainder of our food tasted commercialized. We were disappointed as it was so much better a few years ago.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent service, view, food!! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Quick Bite, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great place to eat, servers are friendly. The food is fantastic and having fresh seafood was a big plus. The only criticism I would give, when we were there they were out of hush puppies. It seemed almost impossible that a seafood restaurant would not have them, but just a small oversight. I had eaten there years ago and it definitely lived up to my memory. My daughter was very pleased with her Birthday dinner. I would give it a two thumbs up.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.