About Shem Creek Bar and Grill

508 Mill St.
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Welcome to Shem Creek Bar & Grill!
We are committed to satisfying our customers with great food and excellent service.
We offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for Lunch and Dinner.
Whatever you're in the mood for, you can find it here!
Take a look at our wonderful menu and you'll find everything that you need!
We hope to see you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Coleman Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 884-8102

Website:
http://www.shemcreekbarandgrill.com/location.php

Parking Details:
Private parking lot, with 2 lots for guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Shem Creek Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (17)
Casual (11)
Great for Lunch (7)
See All
Scenic View (6)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Romantic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Cozy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ate here while selling at an antique sho ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ate here while selling at an antique show; good food, reasonably priced for area; nice setting overlooking Shem Creek

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an excellent waiter. The food was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had an excellent waiter. The food was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably my favorite Charleston area bru ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Probably my favorite Charleston area brunch spot.... but they offer so much more! Boat access, multiple bars, diverse menu, beautiful patio. We go back time and time again and are never disappointed. Keep it up!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Disabled Access, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast, friendly service and excellent fri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fast, friendly service and excellent fried seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our meal here started out nice enough bu ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our meal here started out nice enough but our server was slammed with other tables so our service was lacking. She would come by and refill a couple of drinks but ignore the other half of the table. She never cleared our plates as we finished and this is something that I like to have done. To add insult to injury, our tip was added to our bill because of the size of our group. She was guaranteed her tip no matter what kind of service we received.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Visited for Christmas Eve Family dinner. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Visited for Christmas Eve Family dinner. Nice casual atmosphere. Value for price is probably a bit on the low side. A little overpriced for what you get. Service was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We have tried this restaurant a handful ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have tried this restaurant a handful of times over the years since we live in the area. Not bad but just not that great. Great view of the creek during the day but underwhelming at night with the interior in need of a refreshment on tables and booth upholstery. Really hoping management makes some changes to get this place back on the map in the Mt Pleasant restaurant scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

They would have gotten 5 stars but had r ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

They would have gotten 5 stars but had ran out of a few items in mid week.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I was told the best oyster shucker in Ch ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I was told the best oyster shucker in Charleston works here but I guess he wasnt in. I had the clams, they were ok. The she-crab soup was good. The beer was good. Service was ok. Borderline tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent ! Good place to take our out o ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Excellent ! Good place to take our out of town guests.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great family place. Delicious seafood an ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great family place. Delicious seafood and many options for non-seafood lovers. Bucket of local steamed oysters is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was cold and clearly not fresh. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was cold and clearly not fresh. The service and drinks were fine.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Arrived early for the reservation. Was t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Arrived early for the reservation. Was told by a hostess with attitude we would be seated at our time. We waitied in the bar. The entire time in the bar we were next to an open booth. At the res. time we were seated at the table we had been standing next to for 40 minutes. I doubt we will go there again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very disappointing evening. Service was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very disappointing evening. Service was terrible, food was mediocre at best, and the mosquitoes on the outdoor deck were overwhelming. Will not be back to this restaurant

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible service. Food was overpriced an ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Terrible service. Food was overpriced and bland. Hostess was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food along with great service and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great food along with great service and a wonderful view of the water as well. Highly recommend this gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time we've to Shem Creek and a gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Second time we've to Shem Creek and a great place - try the prime rib!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and good southern food! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great atmosphere and good southern food! Very enjoyable meal. Nice to sit outdoors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had friends from out of town and were ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had friends from out of town and were embarrassed by the poor service and food All the meals arrived at our table Luke warm. One of our friends ordered their signature "ala Wando" dinner and there was so much cream sauce, she couldn't find the grits cake and had to fish (a real pun) for the fish in the dish

Talked it's the manager and her response was, I'll tell the chef.

Not likely to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Fun place to eat with family and friends ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Fun place to eat with family and friends. Always a treat.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ex.staff Like the atmosphere ,casual, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Ex.staff

Like the atmosphere ,casual,

Bartenders are

Enjoyed Kenny Puckett

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was really unaware of this place but aft ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Was really unaware of this place but after going discovered many of my friends considered it a favorite and ate there regularly. We'll definitely go back. Loved the view on the creek with fishing boats and salt air. Could become a favorite for us when in MP.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food with great pricing! We wi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Fantastic food with great pricing! We will come back when in town again! Wait staff fantastic as well!

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did not even get a chance to eat here ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We did not even get a chance to eat here. Your app let us make reservations at 9pm and then we were told they actually close at 9. The misunderstanding would have been fine except for the fact that several workers walked by us waiting at the front and said nothing to us. We waited for a solid 10 minutes. Very unprofessional treatment will not be returning to this place.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Went here with friends based on a previo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Went here with friends based on a previous good experience. Restaurant was not crowded for a Friday night, that should have been the first clue. Food was overpriced and very poor. Oysters were pathetic and extremely tiny. Clams were swimming in garlic sauce. Seafood was overcooked and not fresh even though we were in Charleston. Numerous better choices in the area. We definitely will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great place overlooking marsh and creek. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great place overlooking marsh and creek..good food and service...very casual..nice to be outside Charleston area!

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful fresh seafood. My only regret ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful fresh seafood. My only regret is that I didn't schedule my reservation early enough to enjoy the sunset from the dock. Our food was wonderful! The crabcakes were outstanding as was the fresh peel and eat shrimp. Highly recommend as a place to eat on the water near Charleston.

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Shem Creek Bar and Grill has the best Sh ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Shem Creek Bar and Grill has the best Shrimp and Grits around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We always stop at this gem when we visit ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We always stop at this gem when we visit Charleston. Love the outdoor bar area. Always a terrific view of the sunset. Nice to see people dock their boats and come up for a drink, or a few. Our waiter was extremely sexy too!!

Tags: Spicy, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After several friends recommended Shem C ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 11, 2016

After several friends recommended Shem Creek Bar & Grill, my husband and I finally had the opportunity to go during a weekend trip to the beach. We loved the perfectly cooked seafood, and seasonal pumpkin dessert! The friendly, well-timed service was great too. Our table had a nice view of boats on the water and an outside bar. We look forward to more fun and fabulous seafood there in the future.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Fun, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good not great. There are better places ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good not great. There are better places if you are visiting the area. This is definitely a local hangout. Bar is very loud and boisterous. Service was very good. Food was moderate. The she crab soup is really nice but the seafood ala wando is average at best. Cocktails were watery. Great views.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server Kasey was super. Super person ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our server Kasey was super. Super personality & excellent service.

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Not sure if it was "end of season" fatig ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Not sure if it was "end of season" fatigue or if sub-par service is typical, but our family's experience at Shem Creek was less than optimal. We made a reservation for 8:30pm for a party of 10 and were told if the large party before us left early, we could be seated earlier. We arrived at 7:45pm and the place was virtually empty, and we were told that we would have to wait for our 8:30 reservation despite there being multiple tables available. The hostess was extremely rude (both in person and when I called earlier about the reservation) and she seemed annoyed as did much of the bar and wait staff. Our waitress in particular was rude and overbearing and made us all fairly uncomfortable....she was definitely ready to end her shift.

Our food didn't fair much better as we had a variety of seafood and a few of us had the Prime Rib Special. The food was very bland and the quality was certainly not indicative of the price.

Again, not sure if this was just due to it being the end of the season, but the entire restaurant seemed kind of dirty. Needless to say, I don't think we'll be revisiting the Shem Creek Bar and Grill and certainly wouldn't recommend it to our friends. I hate that we missed out on experiencing some of the other great options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

2 plates were cold. Had to send back. B ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2016

2 plates were cold. Had to send back. But food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I definitely enjoyed the patio on such a ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I definitely enjoyed the patio on such a nice day. Overlooking the water with a cool drink was nice. The food was good, but not extraordinary in my opinion. Their take on shrimp and grits did not work for me. Grits should be bit firmer and the "massive" amount of bacon grease was not particularly appetizing.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have dined at Shem Creek the last sev ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have dined at Shem Creek the last several years when we visit the area with our friends. We have always enjoyed the food and atmosphere but this year was a different experience. We didn't feel wanted and the food was not good as it has always been and thus the reason for returning. We all agreed we will not return to Shem Creek on our future visits. Honestly, I don't like to write reviews like this but it was such a bad experience this time I felt it necessary. Maybe it was just an off night for them, which I do hope but it will be hard for us to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Our server Kasey was friendly and attent ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server Kasey was friendly and attentive. Our entrees, Jambalaya for my husband and Shem Creek Seafood Spectacular (shrimp, scallops, crab cake and mahi) for me were very generous and excellent. All in all, a great place for fresh seafood.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very pleased with restaurant overall. F ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very pleased with restaurant overall. Food was served at room temperature but it was very delicious.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Probably my favorite meal during our 4 d ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Probably my favorite meal during our 4 day stay in the Charleston area. Everyone in our party of six raved about their meal. No complaints and I will definitely visit here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have eaten here many times and have neve ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed with the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.