Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

About Shem Creek Bar and Grill

Welcome to Shem Creek Bar & Grill!
We are committed to satisfying our customers with great food and excellent service.
We offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for Lunch and Dinner.
Whatever you're in the mood for, you can find it here!
Take a look at our wonderful menu and you'll find everything that you need!
We hope to see you soon!

508 Mill St.
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Coleman Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 884-8102

Website:
http://www.shemcreekbarandgrill.com/location.php

Parking Details:
Private parking lot, with 2 lots for guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Shem Creek Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (52)
Waterfront (51)
Casual (41)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
People Watching (12)
Authentic (12)
Romantic (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great Beer (7)
Cozy (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was just not good. Poorly prepared and put together. Several items came out cold. Service was even worse. Shame too because it looks like it could be a very nice spot out on the water.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The filet mignon was to die for and the mashed potatoes were so very creamy and delicious! However, my mixed drink was poorly made and I waited a good bit of time for it. With that being said, the bar was super busy, so maybe that's why it took so long and the drink was not good.
All in all, I would eat there again!!

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, People Watching, Waterfront, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I picked Shem Creek Bar and Grill for my niece and myself while she was in town attending a training. In the past, I have always enjoyed the food, service and waterfront view. This was a horrible experience. The food was dry and lacking in flavor, our server looked as if she hated her job and never smiled and the alcohol in our drinks was diluted. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food good portion size was some what small for the price. I guess since Charleston is a heavy tourist area that is to be expected.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place, beautiful views. Nice people serving. Shrimp appetizer really amazing and spicy. Great garlic bread. Hush puppies best I've had. Oyster shooter fun.. One is enough. The ordered on half she'll great, as well as oyster Rockefeller. Love spinach salad! Don't get the fried Snickers. Chewy and didn't taste much.. Save the calories. Definitely, be sure to walk out on back long deck after dinner. Waiter was nice but seemed overworked and unavailable when we were ready for dessert. Otherwise, it was a great place definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to enjoy dinner drinks and atmosphere would definitely recommend this place to friends

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Don't waste your time or money here. First, the restaurant was hot and we had to ask 3 times for the fan above us to be turned on. The hostess was rude when I said something about it being warm in the restaurant. The waiter didn't seem to care about us being there. My wife's and mom's food was cold when it was served and when the waiter came to serve the others of us, he took off to tell someone about the cold food before serving the others food. The tea didn't even have ice. I will not be going back to this restaurant again.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great neighborhood gem!! Slightly off and hidden from the beaten path..which is a benefit for the restaurant. Vibrant bar seen and local fare presented very well. The service was impeccable!

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 17, 2017

This place was great. I had stuffed flounder along with mashed potatoes and Lemonade spiked with champagne. It set me back a few bucks but was totally worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great food excellent value will go there again when I am in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great food ,table was ready per reservation , friendly staff and beautiful waterfront dining.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We felt like the waitress did not want to attend to the table. We had to ask for everything- bear, refills, and condiments. Vegetables were bland and dry, shrimp was dry, and potatoes were dry.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We have been going here for 9 years. This is casual dining at its best. Our waitress, Tatia, was outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Probably my 20th lifetime visit, or so. Sunday brunch on July 16 at SCB &G was fantabulous! After ordering, Joseph and I walked down to the dock for a bit of marsh air and photos and within seconds the sky fell. Possibly the best table view of the creek, thereafter hard rain and lightening caramelized and memorialized every bite. As for the food, wowsers! SCB&G's she crab soup isn't just loaded with crab, you get to pour your own sherry too :) I had the grilled shrimp, crabcake and salmon: superb! Frankly, us locals should probably write bad reviews so as to keep the tourists away and the B&G to ourselves. But, as America's friendliest destination, that's not in keeping with who we are.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The server and manager were very friendly. My husband and I went for a date night. We had a reservation for 4:30 and around 5:10 we were told that I ticket didn't print all the way so it'd be another 10-20 minutes until we would receive our food. We were pretty disappointed, but the waitress asked if she could get us anything due to us having to wait longer. Finally, the food arrived and we were a little disappointed. We were both overly excited for the crab cake and they were not that good and over seasoned. The scallops were rubbery and the masked potatoes were cold ☹️. We did enjoy the shrimp and salad though. The view is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Sub par food, ok service, great view. The shrimp and corn in my Lowcountry Boil was hammered. The prime rib was just ok after someone from the kitchen touted it as being amazing. Overall disappointed and will not return. Definitely not worth the money paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Loved it
Price great
Scene was pretty outside ( have to request)
We had reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Absolutely wonderfull!
WE had the oysters on the half shell.
The spinach salad was wonderful as the fish tacos (although I would prefer grilled-they were still delicious)! Our daughter loved the hushpuppies & sister had the seafood bowl with mussels, clams, oysters (fried) & more in a pasta! So good
IPA was great- Damn Yankee

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Authentic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Been here many times, something has changed - for the worse. Food was not up to par: fries, an integral part of any southern seafood supper, were just greasy and limp; Mashed potatoes, called Shem spuds, were scooped out like a stiff, cold lunchroom cafeteria food.; The scallops were not properly seared, were just rubbery and didn't have any sauce or butter drippings from the cooking method. And by the way, hush puppies are purchased separately- definitely unusual in a southern seafood restaurant. Food was just unremarkable. The restaurant is in a beautiful Location, love the ambience and feel. Food was just disappointing and below par. Unfortunately do not believe I will return despite my frequent visits to the area.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food and service as alway! Enjoy eating here at least once or twice a month and just want to make sure we could get in, so made a reservation

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Party of 11. Known reservation. Restaurant not very crowded. My Entree never came out. When the last of the party's entrees were delivered, manager stated "yours will be out in the next 60 seconds". After a few "I'm sorry it's on the way" the rest of the party was finished with their meal. I asked the server not to worry with it and take it off my meal. The manager came to ask if I wanted a free dessert. Um, no. All that was done was removing the entree from my bill. No others comps. I worked in food service for many years and if the entree didn't arrive or late, that persons ticket was comped. (I had previously ordered and received a soup and salad). Guess things have changed. Service was great and rest of party states food was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Honestly, I think they had a bad night. Usually the food is impeccable but tonight not so much. We'll be back, but I hope I'm right and this was just an abberation. Salmon was mushy, fried fish was overcooked (and not enough of it), vegetables were cold. The jambalaya was fantastic, however! Service and bar was excellent, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Very disappointed on our recent trip. We're local and visit often but the A/C must have been broken because it was hotter inside than outside (93°). No mention or apology for the broken A/C either. The food was tasty as usual but it took an hour for our food to come out. Hope this time was just a fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Food was great. Price was okay. Service was not the best.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Out of she crab soup. Ordered filet medium rare and received at best sirloin medium/medium well. Air conditioning was poor in restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We never got to go in the restaurant. There was a sign out front saying that the kitchen was closed but the bar was open. The advertising for that they wrote the message on was from a beer manufacturer and it was not clear that it was shem creek bar and grill. Also there was no date on the side, so my wife went inside to ensure this was the real story. The person she met was not very pleasant. This was the Fourth of July and it was obvious that they were glad they did not have to work. They waited for a little bit to even say anything with my wife standing there. I can understand them being closed because of an emergency problem, but it would've been nice for them to be proactive and get on the phone and contact people with the reservations Especially since some of the folks had a little to do.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We came one night on our vacation,it is very pretty,my husband loved his seafood, and I loved the hush puppies. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Our family, which includes a range of ages, loved the food and the experience. Definitely will go back for a casual, delicious seafood dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Everything is good except for the Mahi Mahi being too well done specially when they are fresh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great place friendly and fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This place is okay at best. Great views but that is about it. Food blah, service blah & now I have to contact Open Table to obtain my points for this reservation since the hostess had apparently failed to check us in. Yes, we were on time & yes we did attend the reservation. Typical, considering our dining experience was subpar as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Amazing waitress good food but come on it was 96 and when you left the restaurant it felt cooler outside. So hot ridiculous. No air conditioner

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our server was a little spacey and could have been much more attentive, but overall we had a great dinner. The food was very good and the portion sizes are big, which I love. The scenery was also amazing, and it was a great place to watch the sunset over the water. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Beautiful view, lots of parking. Overpriced and mediocre sercvice.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was great! Service could have been better. Our server was very nice, but had a large group alone and his time was not balanced between all of the tables. We had to ask for drink refills several times. I was also a little disappointed in the lack of concern shown for the 6 inch coil of metal we found in my 5 year old's pasta. I would think the manager would have been notified and offered apologies, at minimum. I expect more for a $180 meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was awful from the wait despite having a reservation, the lack of air conditioning, the slow service and wait for the food, to the drunk guy behind us yelling the F word at his wife. We basically celebrated never going back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food as usual was excellent! The service however was a little slower than usual. But I highly recommend Shem Creek Bar & Grill. The fresh oysters are impeccable!

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Drinks had to be sent back (peach bellini) because they were sour. Waitress confirmed that they only last a short time before they need to be dumped out. Crab cakes were lacking crab; tasted like Stove Top stuffing with a few crab flakes. Scallops were small (I asked first if they were bay scallops or sea scallops) and very overcooked. Mashed potatoes were cold. Not an impressive meal.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Shem Creek Bar & Grill is a casual place; looks very unassuming on the outside. Food was very good! Grilled shrimp with rice was very tasty. My husband enjoyed a seafood bowl. Coconut cream pie was custard-y and rich, best I've had in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Always a favorite, but we like the new updated menu. Healthier choices (not fried), but the same favorites. Don't miss the crab dip!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.