About Shem Creek Bar and Grill

508 Mill St.
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Welcome to Shem Creek Bar & Grill!
We are committed to satisfying our customers with great food and excellent service.
We offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for Lunch and Dinner.
Whatever you're in the mood for, you can find it here!
Take a look at our wonderful menu and you'll find everything that you need!
We hope to see you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Coleman Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 884-8102

Website:
http://www.shemcreekbarandgrill.com/location.php

Parking Details:
Private parking lot, with 2 lots for guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Shem Creek Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Charleston
Scenic View
Charleston
Seafood
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Mount Pleasant ›

Scenic View (63)
Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
See All
Kid-friendly (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Hot Spot (8)
Romantic (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sort By:
Newest
179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pretty much of an average experience. Bu ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Pretty much of an average experience. Building is run down and in need of major repairs. Can't imagine what the kitchen looks like. Many other excellent restaurants minutes away

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food and waiter was great! The hostess.. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food and waiter was great! The hostess... not so much. She was so rude to us when we arrived. She actually hung up the phone on another customer right in front of us! Then when we went to leave she got right in my friends face and yelled bye so rude! Then she made snide comments under her breath. Had I not been in a time crunch I would have reported her to the manager. I'll see how we are treated when we go back and make my decision To see if we dine there again. I don't like giving my money to and establishment that allows their employees to treat their customers so rudely.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We met friends here for a nice, moderate ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

We met friends here for a nice, moderately priced dinner. The mixed grilled seafood plate was so plentiful, I took the mahi with me for another meal later on. All in all, very good, with a nice view of Shem Creek.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant's setting is amazing! T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant's setting is amazing! The view and outside area are awesome. Our waiter was very attentive and did a good job keeping drinks filled and getting what we asked for in a timely manner. The food was not hot when it arrived at the table, appetizers weren't hot nor was our dinner. I'm not sure why? My husband and I ordered the seafood boil and the shrimp were over cooked and mushy. I was not impressed with the food. However, if I would have been on my boat and pulled up for dinner after a day on the water, I wouldn't expect much more, but we were out for a great seafood dinner and were a little disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We were entertaining out of town friends ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were entertaining out of town friends and I knew requesting a table in the main restaurant was a long shot but I tried anyway. I do not think any of this was noted on the reservation list when we arrived. They attempted to seat us in a crummy booth in another area. I asked to wait for a table with a view. We were in one of the additions next to a very loud, large group of people who had no regard for others in the room. I honestly could not hear the conversation at my own table and had to ask my friends to repeat themselves many times. Service was okay as was the food. In better weather, the outdoor seating would be great to take advantage of the wonderful views of Shem Creek.

I have been to this restaurant three times now and two out of three were not great experiences. Don't think I will be back any time soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This was a family dinner on vacation. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a family dinner on vacation. They said that they could not accommodate us 13 people at one table however as we were leaving there was a group of 12 seated. The waiter was disinterested. He brought the appetizer without the accompaniments and when it was pointed out he still didn't do it. He forgot some of the items for kids that were on the menu. The tip was added in which we do not feel he deserved.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Small portions, nothing special, fried ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Small portions, nothing special, fried shrimp was decent. Service was slow, drinks were not good at all. Expensive for the quality

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a great meal. The food was delicious ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a great meal. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Well worth the cost of the meal. Calamari appetizer--HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the view of Shem Creek and did ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went for the view of Shem Creek and did not disappoint! Food is bar food at best but you get what you pay for. Service was good wasn't very full for a Wednesday night.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Good was good. 6 adults in our group all ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Good was good. 6 adults in our group all had seafood and we're pleased with the selection, quantity and quality of the food. However, the service and staff were definitely underwhelming. The hostess had a bad attitude, other staff seemed annoyed and our server was pleasant but too busy with no help. The facility is dingy and the floor and table were dirty and sticky. Prices were fair. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Visiting area and hoping for some good, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Visiting area and hoping for some good, local Carolina steamed Peel & eat shrimp. Unfortunately the shrimp was " mushy" usually indicating it was frozen first. I had the shrimp & grits " should be good anywhere from Wilmington down to Savannah right The instant grits were right out of the box, "crunchy" IE not cooked. There was more but I really don't want to add anything else negative. It has free parking, a view of the Wando river and the beer was cold. Head across the river to one of the other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Incredibly disappointing. The food was o ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Incredibly disappointing. The food was overcooked and tasted like it had been sitting around for hours under a heat lamp. My husband and I got the seafood spectacular which the menu boasted was mahi, crab cake, scallops and shrimp with vegetables and rice or potatoes. The mahi was severely overcooked and tough. The crab cake was mushy and was not freshly made at all or even possibly made within the last 2 hours. We each received 2 shrimp and 2 scallops. The scallops were overcooked and rubbery. My husband was very disappointed as he was looking forward to some fresh seafood which we expected from Shem Creek. We did not get it at all. And after having paid $105 for our food and 2 kids, we expected much more. We should have just went to one of the more upscale establishments downtown. The best thing about his meal was his side salad--it is truly commendable to be able to make a good salad unless you're a seafood restaurant in which case you should deliver good seafood.

The bright spot was our server, Mary. She was attentive and friendly. Even though the food was poor, the service was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

The atmosphere was nice, right along the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The atmosphere was nice, right along the river. The Oyster slider was great! The sandwiches were okay. They were small portions for the cost. The service was very friendly which made up for the slowness.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was great and service was all 10's

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was great and service was all 10's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although named Bar and Grill, it is good ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Although named Bar and Grill, it is good for family. Food is very good and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

just less than expected. food luke-warm ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

just less than expected. food luke-warm, table in an area not well-ventilated (fans not working and air-conditioning not adequate for porch area. Complained but were not offered alternative seating. will not return. too many other options better in the area.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Really enjoyed dining at Shem Creek Bar ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Really enjoyed dining at Shem Creek Bar and Grill! The prime rib was the BEST!! Others had seafood and were equally pleased! Will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, one of the best plates ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Love this place, one of the best plates of had. Excellent experience here!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst dining experience I have had in a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Worst dining experience I have had in a LONG time. Waitstaff made ZERO effort to accommodate our simple requests to be seated outside even though we had a reservation through OpenTable. We will never be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food as is always the case at Shem ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food as is always the case at Shem Creek Bar and Grill !!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Large selection of seafood, but food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Large selection of seafood, but food was mediocre at best. 'Seafood/Beach' atmosphere. Great dock bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Went here for an early dinner after a da ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Went here for an early dinner after a day on Bull Island. It is the perfect place to come to after beach time. Good food and value. Liked it enough to return five days later for drinks and appetizers after paddle boarding on the creek. Laid back atmosphere is welcomed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was very good and the portion s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was very good and the portion sizes were a good value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service. Have been coming ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food and service. Have been coming here for years. Always a great tome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu and beer list need to be updated fr ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Menu and beer list need to be updated from the 80s. Service was lackluster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Everyone at the restaurant was friendly ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everyone at the restaurant was friendly and very helpful! We enjoyed everything about our dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shem Creek B & G is trustworthy and depe ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Shem Creek B & G is trustworthy and dependable, serving quality seafood. Our server Jenn was enthusiastic and prompt. We especially appreciated the extra effort by manager Felicia to personally prepare a mignonette sauce for the delicious PEI oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a server who was either new or po ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a server who was either new or poorly trained - waited for a long time for server to come to the table; when dinner delivered, order was not correct - no veggies for me and no salad for my daughter; service follow-up throughout the meal was poor.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Awesome ! We love to eat here anytime we ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome ! We love to eat here anytime we are close to Charleston.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome low country seafood in a fun, wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Awesome low country seafood in a fun, waterfront location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The hostess was less than enthusiastic w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The hostess was less than enthusiastic with our arrival. She seemed annoyed when we asked for a table that wasn't in the sun (dined indoors). Our waitress was a sweetheart, and the food was cooked just fine. However, we sat near an employee entrance where we could hear then talking badly about customers and cursing. We were eating with our two young children. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Date night

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Went for date night with my wife. Had a drink at the outside bar while waiting for an outside table. We were early for our reservations. Beautiful views and breeze. Great food when we got our table. Great server an prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful quiet dinner.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great location, diverse menu, good food and attentive servers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have visited a number of times and wi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We have visited a number of times and will continue. Excellent oysters on the half shell.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite go-to seafood restaurant in ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our favorite go-to seafood restaurant in Mt. P. Never disappoints...the view is fabulous. Love having a few drinks on the dock before the meal and we love to bring visitors for the great seafood and atmosphere. Can't be beat!! Oyster shooters are a family tradition...

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Yummy

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We got the Shem Pot. It was amazing and fed 2 people

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were advised by friends to go here. We are glad we did. The food was very good with large portion sizes (we had a number of take home bags). Our server was great. The location is great, overlooking Shem Creek. Its great to see the local shrimp industry doing well, can you get any fresher?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Friday night

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed very good and fresh PEI oysters. Our only suggestion is that Shem Creek B & G add mignonette sauce with the oysters. Our server Jacob was excellent. My wife enjoyed the shrimp and I the flounder filet. The red rice is particularly good. All in all, a good spot for casual dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent visit

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Tim barron was our server. He was knowledgeable about the menu choices and also which items were no longer available due to being sold out.

I understand restaurants strive to reduce or eliminate waste from over preparing for the day. We were disappointed that the She Crab soup was sold out, despite our 6:30pm seating.

Never the less, we had an enjoyable and relaxed meal which was our main interest. Our courses were not stacked up at the table as is the case in many restaurants more interested in table turnover than in presenting the dining experience so many of us relish.

Not our first visit, nor will it be our last. Thank you very much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed food, service, atmosphere , some ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Enjoyed food, service, atmosphere , some of the dacor seemed to be a little dated and the exterior of the outside dinning deck needs some attention, however food and service was excellent and my wife and I will definitely be returning, overall good experience !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.