About Shem Creek Bar and Grill

508 Mill St.
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Welcome to Shem Creek Bar & Grill!
We are committed to satisfying our customers with great food and excellent service.
We offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for Lunch and Dinner.
Whatever you're in the mood for, you can find it here!
Take a look at our wonderful menu and you'll find everything that you need!
We hope to see you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Coleman Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 884-8102

Website:
http://www.shemcreekbarandgrill.com/location.php

Parking Details:
Private parking lot, with 2 lots for guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Shem Creek Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Charleston
Scenic View
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Mount Pleasant ›

scenic view (60)
great for outdoor dining (47)
neighborhood gem (33)
See All
kid-friendly (28)
good for groups (28)
special occasion (20)
great for lunch (17)
fit for foodies (17)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for brunch (9)
romantic (8)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great and service was all 10's

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was great and service was all 10's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although named Bar and Grill, it is good ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Although named Bar and Grill, it is good for family. Food is very good and the service was outstanding.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

just less than expected. food luke-warm ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

just less than expected. food luke-warm, table in an area not well-ventilated (fans not working and air-conditioning not adequate for porch area. Complained but were not offered alternative seating. will not return. too many other options better in the area.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Really enjoyed dining at Shem Creek Bar ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Really enjoyed dining at Shem Creek Bar and Grill! The prime rib was the BEST!! Others had seafood and were equally pleased! Will definitely be back soon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place, one of the best plates ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Love this place, one of the best plates of had. Excellent experience here!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst dining experience I have had in a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Worst dining experience I have had in a LONG time. Waitstaff made ZERO effort to accommodate our simple requests to be seated outside even though we had a reservation through OpenTable. We will never be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food as is always the case at Shem ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food as is always the case at Shem Creek Bar and Grill !!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Large selection of seafood, but food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Large selection of seafood, but food was mediocre at best. 'Seafood/Beach' atmosphere. Great dock bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Went here for an early dinner after a da ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Went here for an early dinner after a day on Bull Island. It is the perfect place to come to after beach time. Good food and value. Liked it enough to return five days later for drinks and appetizers after paddle boarding on the creek. Laid back atmosphere is welcomed!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was very good and the portion s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was very good and the portion sizes were a good value.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service. Have been coming ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food and service. Have been coming here for years. Always a great tome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu and beer list need to be updated fr ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Menu and beer list need to be updated from the 80s. Service was lackluster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Everyone at the restaurant was friendly ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everyone at the restaurant was friendly and very helpful! We enjoyed everything about our dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shem Creek B & G is trustworthy and depe ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Shem Creek B & G is trustworthy and dependable, serving quality seafood. Our server Jenn was enthusiastic and prompt. We especially appreciated the extra effort by manager Felicia to personally prepare a mignonette sauce for the delicious PEI oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a server who was either new or po ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a server who was either new or poorly trained - waited for a long time for server to come to the table; when dinner delivered, order was not correct - no veggies for me and no salad for my daughter; service follow-up throughout the meal was poor.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Awesome ! We love to eat here anytime we ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome ! We love to eat here anytime we are close to Charleston.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome low country seafood in a fun, wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Awesome low country seafood in a fun, waterfront location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The hostess was less than enthusiastic w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The hostess was less than enthusiastic with our arrival. She seemed annoyed when we asked for a table that wasn't in the sun (dined indoors). Our waitress was a sweetheart, and the food was cooked just fine. However, we sat near an employee entrance where we could hear then talking badly about customers and cursing. We were eating with our two young children. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Date night

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Went for date night with my wife. Had a drink at the outside bar while waiting for an outside table. We were early for our reservations. Beautiful views and breeze. Great food when we got our table. Great server an prices.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful quiet dinner.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great location, diverse menu, good food and attentive servers.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have visited a number of times and wi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We have visited a number of times and will continue. Excellent oysters on the half shell.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite go-to seafood restaurant in ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our favorite go-to seafood restaurant in Mt. P. Never disappoints...the view is fabulous. Love having a few drinks on the dock before the meal and we love to bring visitors for the great seafood and atmosphere. Can't be beat!! Oyster shooters are a family tradition...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Yummy

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We got the Shem Pot. It was amazing and fed 2 people

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were advised by friends to go here. We are glad we did. The food was very good with large portion sizes (we had a number of take home bags). Our server was great. The location is great, overlooking Shem Creek. Its great to see the local shrimp industry doing well, can you get any fresher?

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Friday night

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed very good and fresh PEI oysters. Our only suggestion is that Shem Creek B & G add mignonette sauce with the oysters. Our server Jacob was excellent. My wife enjoyed the shrimp and I the flounder filet. The red rice is particularly good. All in all, a good spot for casual dining.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent visit

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Tim barron was our server. He was knowledgeable about the menu choices and also which items were no longer available due to being sold out.

I understand restaurants strive to reduce or eliminate waste from over preparing for the day. We were disappointed that the She Crab soup was sold out, despite our 6:30pm seating.

Never the less, we had an enjoyable and relaxed meal which was our main interest. Our courses were not stacked up at the table as is the case in many restaurants more interested in table turnover than in presenting the dining experience so many of us relish.

Not our first visit, nor will it be our last. Thank you very much.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed food, service, atmosphere , some ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Enjoyed food, service, atmosphere , some of the dacor seemed to be a little dated and the exterior of the outside dinning deck needs some attention, however food and service was excellent and my wife and I will definitely be returning, overall good experience !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

My group was on vacation. My food and m ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My group was on vacation. My food and my husband's food came to us cold. I had crab cakes which were not tasty and my husband had fried shrimp. He also ordered oysters on the half shell and they were so small you could barely see them. Certainly not worth the price. My sister and her husband ordered the low country boil and theirs came out steaming hot. They had no complaints at all. On the positive side - the waitress, Jett, was outstanding, the view outside on the deck was beautiful, my bloody mary was delicious and my coconut pie was fresh and tasty. I would recommend them for the low country boil and coconut pie and the view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a go to spot when we're in town. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Always a go to spot when we're in town. Service and food never disappoints, cheers!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Grandma's 85th birthday

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We find this spot on open table that could accommodate a large party of 11...and we LOVED it! Especially the gumbo bowl! But all of the food was great! Definitely returning on our next visit!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this Place

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Been going there for about a year now for weekend dinners. Never been disappointed. The view on Shem Creek is great. Do wish they had more outdoor seating.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Shem Creek Bar and Grill

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The outside temperature was cooler than inside (the waitress said the A/C broke, it was about 83-84 outside). French fries weren't completely done and were cold. Mashed potatoes were cold. Was not a horrible experience, but won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The food was great and always is. The s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was great and always is. The seating for outside is perfect since it's partly shaded and by the water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food always amazing.

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Food is amazing. From the time you walk in the front door to the time you leave the staff is amazing. I order the same thing every time I eat there. I love the Big Guy Gumbo and the Shem Creek Saute. There is no other restaurant in Mt Pleasant that can serve that much seafood for that price.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Made reservations for this restaurant with just reviews to go on, and so glad we did! The food was great, we shared the Shem Pot, plenty of food for two. we sat out side and watched the tide come in and a beautiful sunset...Would definitely visit this restaurant again when we are in Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We went to the Shem Creek Bar and Grill for a pre-graduation dinner. The food was awful and that made the evening a huge disappointment.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

First night at Isle of Palms; Shem Creek ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

First night at Isle of Palms; Shem Creek Bar and Grill was within a reasonable distance of our location. What a find! Our waitress warmed up to us, since she was also from the north, and recommended several fun locations to us that most locals would frequent. The chef even took time to give us a sampling of a dish to be sure it would to our liking.

Great ambiance for a beach style restaurant and the food was plentiful.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance to bring guests to the City.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We brought Charleston visitors foreclosurespace dinner. We had reservations and were quickly seated. The wait staff was prompt, and made good recommendations. The drinks were, however served either alcohol free or nearly so. All in all, it was most enjoyable and our entries were exceptional. C

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, service, and view!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Our food was amazing and so was the service! We were able to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful waterfront views. The Shem Sampler was delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Food and View on Shem Creek!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We love eating here - always have a delicious meal! My husband loves the Shrimp and Grits; my favorite is the She Crab Soup. You just can't go wrong! Our favorite on Shem Creek!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.