Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 1.23mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

About Shem Creek Bar and Grill

Welcome to Shem Creek Bar & Grill!
We are committed to satisfying our customers with great food and excellent service.
We offer a wide variety of delicious dishes for Lunch and Dinner.
Whatever you're in the mood for, you can find it here!
Take a look at our wonderful menu and you'll find everything that you need!
We hope to see you soon!

508 Mill St.
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-10:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am-4:00pm

Cross Street:
Coleman Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 884-8102

Website:
http://www.shemcreekbarandgrill.com/location.php

Parking Details:
Private parking lot, with 2 lots for guests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Shem Creek Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (40)
Casual (39)
Scenic View (33)
See All
Comfort Food (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Special Occasion (14)
People Watching (13)
Family Style (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fun (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Authentic (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Romantic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great Beer (5)
Historic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Spicy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Booked this through open table app 3 weeks ahead and when we got there our table was available at 7:30 sharp! Line was out the door otherwise. Great food and service had a table with a view of the setting sun. Highly recommended

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious and service impeccable. Nothing beats sitting outside on a nice day with a great view of the creek. Parking was easy especially compared to other restaurants along Shem Creek. Highly recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The back bar is great. Fresh oysters with a view of Shem creek

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was amazing!! However, the service started off extremely slow. It took roughly 20 minutes just to get the waiter to take our drink order. Then it took another 15-20 minutes to get those drinks. The service did get better as the evening progressed which partially redeemed the rough start. Overall amazing atmosphere and amazing food. Definitely will be coming back during my next trip to Mt. Pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The brunch and service was amazing! We were there on Mothers Day and she had a great time and enjoyed the scenic view.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love this place and try to have dinner here almost every time I visit the Charleston area. Fantastic bar with some of the best mixed drinks around.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Tapas, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great view, very nice staff, good food. Did miss the cabbage on the fish tacos :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was our second time in dining here, we started on our first day of vacation and came back the last day. We loved sitting outside. The food and service was great. We had reservations and then called to see if we could come an hour early and they were very accommodating on a Friday night. This is a restaurant if your on the fence you have to try, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great food, great service, great umbrella drinks and great view.

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We ate here our first night out on the patio. We had a reservation and arrived early they seated us immediately. Our server was excellent! Very personable. Our food was wonderful. We ate overlooking the Shem Creek which was very pleasant. We will definitely return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service was very slow and the restaurant was not the cleanest. My food was good but others at the table had some complaints. We took our family there because we have loud kids, and this was suggested. It was perfect no one could hear our children it's very loud and has scenic views, if they cleaned the windows. It was decent experience but not worth the price.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were disappointed in the food and service - scallops were tough. We have eaten here before, but will take it off our list now..

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful food and service!

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The hostess was awful. Made us wait forever while seating others. Make sure you don't show up early for a reservation. We should have canceled it and just walked in! Food was good!!! The shakes are yummy!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great seafood, especially the grilled shrimp and She Crab Soup! Comfortable deck overlooking the marsh and river. Great spot! So glad I found it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Seasonal, Fun, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Unable to be seated outside, even though we said we were willing to sit at 2 tables. Windows dirty. Food presentation sub-par. Service was pleasant. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We stumbled upon Shem's while on vacation and went back three times during our week in Charleston.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had been given the name of this restaurant from friends and were going to be vacationing so made reservations and came out. We were so thrilled that recommendation as the best food and place to go to was spot on! Loved our food choices, beverages, and everything about it. Waitress was very helpful and right on also. We were able to take our time, visit, and enjoy the view from the patio. We would definitely come out again if we are going to Charleston and will tell others about Shem Creek Bar and Grill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great brunch, lovely scenery, good service.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Friendly staff and everyone enjoyed their meal selections. Overall, very nice dining experience and will definitely visit again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was fabulous and the waitress was perfect. Favorite of all of our meals this trip to Charleston. We will
Be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We did not have to wait for a table! I booked online, we arrived about 20 minutes early but they still sat us right away! The food was amazing!!! Service was great and the bill was not terrible!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

So happy we stumbled upon this spot! Food was delicious , plentiful and reasonably priced. Our waiter was friendly and attentive ... and even pointed out Bill Murray was dining in the next room.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent cocktails and view. We arrived a little before sunset and the view was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We were visiting Charleston and our hotel was nearby Shem Creek. We liked their menu and we're not disappointed with their food or service. It was a great dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was mediocre at best. Prime Rib was tough and was difficult to cut. Crab cake sandwich was mostly the roll and the fries that came with it were old and soggy. Maybe warmed over from the previous night. The waiter seemed disinterested in us and gave the impression that he wanted quick turnover on tables.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our server, Zach, was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The food was delicious and served exactly as ordered. Will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Ordered oyster shooters waited am hour for them by the time we got them out meal was out. The meal came with wrong side dishes and there was a chip in my beer glass - poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was good, but the bar area is crowded and the view from the outside deck is just of the marsh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Service was very friendly and fast. I had Seafood a la Wondo, very fresh. Wife had Crab Cakes-too much cake, not enough crab. Overall very good place to dine.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good hush puppies. My mahi mahi was way too salty. One person's crab cakes were cold and had to be reheated. Good house salad.
Had much better other places on Isle of Palms.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overall a good experience. The service was good and we had a great view of Shem Creek. The food was all right, nothing to write home about but I'd come here again. Prices were pretty average for a seafood restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I made a reservation for 6 and changed it to 8. The night before my reservation at 9PM they called to tell me they couldn't accommodate 8 people. Well turns out only 6 of us could go, however there were more than enough tables that could have accomodated 8 people and they were empty the whole time we were there. Also, we got the worst service. Our server took 10 minutes to greet us, then it took over 15 min to receive our beverages, but she forgot the wine for one of our guest and it took her another 10 minutes to bring it. She didn't want to wait a minute while one person decided what they wanted, however she could have taken everyone elses order. It was very old and uninviting and we will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Easter Brunch at our favorite Shem Creek location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My reservation was for 11:30 AM. We arrived at 11:20 and were told we would have to wait until 11:30 even though there were many empty tables. The hostess also told us to remind her when it was 11:30 (isn't that her job?). She had a clock right in front of her. We waited and I reminded her about seating us. Our waitress was very nice, however.

The eating area was dirty. Windows on the creek side were clouded with dirt and rain spots. I don't think we will return!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We arrived on time and were seated in what we all felt was one of the best tables in the restaurant. The server was attentive, but it wasn't overload. Drinks and food arrived as expected and he let us know the kitchen was running a little slow and to put in our entrees after our appetizer order. A crab cake was missing from my father's plate, but it was quickly resolved. I personally would not recommend the crab cakes, but the raw oysters were great and so were the cocktails. Our party of four all enjoyed our time at Shem Creek Bar and Grill!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Requested outdoor dining when we arrived and was told not available - 3 empty tables when we arrived and still empty when we left? Also arrived 10 minutes early and hostess was short with us (started with the request for outdoor seating) and advised we needed to wait for our reservation time - tables were open, no reason for the wait. Waitress was nice, food was good, but first impression definitely could have been better

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

food quality has fallen, shrimp tasted like iodine, fried oysters just ok. limited sides. ron reservation equested table in bar & did not get it

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very good food. Fair price. Easy to get a table and a nice staff. Sit outside if you can.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I had dinner there with my kids and a friend. The food was delayed coming out by 25 minutes and then it was overcooked fish and cold potatoes. For all the money we paid probably worst meal I have had in Charleston. Would not recommend! Won't go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.