About Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden

5251 Oak Street
Vancouver, BC V6M 4H1
View Larger Map

SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS LOCATED IN THE SPECTACULAR VANDUSEN BOTANICAL GARDEN (A 55-ACRE TEACHING GARDEN). THE RESTAURANT WAS ORIGINALLY OPENED IN 1984 TO SERVICE THE MANY MEMBERS & GUESTS OF THE GARDEN, BUT IT SOON BECAME A POPULAR DINING ESTABLISHMENT AND HAS EVOLVED INTO A VANCOUVER LANDMARK. IT IS NOW A FAVORITE WITH LOCALS & TOURISTS ALIKE.
SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT OFFERS CONTEMPORARY COMFORT FOOD, PROFESSIONAL WARM SERVICE AND THE RIGHT MIX OF CREATIVITY AND COMMITMENT IN AN ELEGANT, RELAXED AND UNIQUE GARDEN SETTING. WE CATER TO A VARIETY OF EVENTS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR - WEDDING RECEPTIONS, ANNIVERSARIES, BIRTHDAYS, BAR/BAT MITZVAHS, FAMILY REUNIONS AND CORPORATE MEETINGS.

EXCLUSIVE RESTAURANT BOOKINGS ARE AVAILABLE AND WE CAN ACCOMODATE A VARIETY OF GROUP SIZES UP TO 200 PEOPLE.

THERE IS AMPLE FREE PARKING FOR CAR, PRIVATE COACH OR BUS. BOTH THE GARDEN AND THE RESTAURANT ARE WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
37TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 261-0011

Website:
http://www.shaughnessyrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
THE OPPORTUNITY TO STROLL IN A 55 ACRE BOTANICAL GARDEN OFFERING AMAZING FOLIAGE AND GROWTH EVERY MONTH OF THE YEAR. TEST YOUR SENSE OF DIRECTION AS YOU FIND YOUR WAY THROUGH THE POPULAR "GARDEN MAZE". RELAX AND FIND YOUR CENTER IN THE MEDITATION GARDEN OR MEANDER THROUGH MEDITERRANEAN BELT. YOU'LL FIND JURASSIC SIZE PLANTS AROUND LINVINGSTONE LAKE. THE STONE GARDEN IS ONE OF VANCOUVER'S HIGHEST ELEVATIONS, OFFERING A VIEW OF THE MOUNTAINS ON A CLEAR DAY. TRULY SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE !!

Catering:
Please see our Group Menus at shaughnessyrestaurant.com or call us at 604-261-0011

Parking Details:
WE HAVE AMPLE FREE/COMPLIMENTARY PARKING FOR 200 CARS; ALSO PRIVATE COACH AND BUS PARKING AREA..

Public Transit:
SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS ON OAK STREET WHICH IS THE MAIN THROUGHFARE FOR MANY ARTERIES INTO OR OUT OF THE CITY. ON ROUTE FROM OR TO THE VANCOUVER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT OR THE US BORDER. SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS 15 MINUTES FROM DOWNTOWN AND 15 MINUTES FROM THE AIRPORT. TRANSIT BUS STOPS ARE LOCATED ONLY 2 MINUTES FROM THE ENTRANCE TO THE GARDEN.

Executive Chef:
Sean Sloan

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
THERE ARE MANY SPECIAL EVENTS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR, THE LARGEST ONE BEING THE FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS IN THE MONTH OF DECEMBER. RESERVE EARLY SO YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED AS THE RESTAURANT IS VERY BUSY AT THIS TIME OF YEAR.
WE RECOMMEND RESERVATIONS FOR ALL SPECIAL EVENT DAYS, FROM VALENTINES DAY, MOTHERS DAY, FATHERS DAY, EASTER, THANKSGIVING ETC...

Restaurant Photos

  • Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden, Vancouver, BC
  • Triple Aaa Burger - Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden, Vancouver, BC
  • Seafood Linguini With Hoisin Sauce - Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden, Vancouver, BC
Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden, Vancouver, BC
Triple Aaa Burger - Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden, Vancouver, BC
Seafood Linguini With Hoisin Sauce - Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden, Vancouver, BC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 7:00PM

Private Dining

THE RESTAURANT MAY BE BOOKED FOR PRIVATE FUNCTIONS EITHER EXCLUSIVELY OR NON-EXCLUSIVELY FOR SMALLER GROUPS, WHETHER YOU ARE LOOKING TO HOST A PRIVATE DINNER FOR 12 OR A COCKTAIL RECEPTION FOR 250, SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT HAS MANY OPTIONS TO OFFER WITH AN EXQUISITE GARDEN VIEW AND FREE PARKING.

Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Vancouver / British Columbia
Comfort Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
2 More
Great for Lunch
Vancouver
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Shaughnessy ›

Great for Lunch (31)
Special Occasion (25)
Scenic View (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Cozy (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Casual (12)
Romantic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Business Meals (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Seasonal (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1090 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another pleasant lunch with good menu ch ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Another pleasant lunch with good menu choices - that is neither high fat/starchy nor pretentious/trendy - with quick & pleasant service. Especially good for lunch or quiet supper with friends where good conversation is the main objective.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, Shaughnessy delivers. Good f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

As always, Shaughnessy delivers. Good food and service, attractive room and wonderful view of the garden. And to top it off no problem finding free parking!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall we had a great time and enjoyed ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Overall we had a great time and enjoyed our food. However, this was the second time I preordered a dessert for our special guest and I had to ask our server what happened to it. Both times I wa told they didn't know anything about it.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Menu has very limited selections. Good p ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Menu has very limited selections. Good place for anniversary celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Lovely ambiance especially with the Chri ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Lovely ambiance especially with the Christmas lights outside the window. Attentive service. Great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Staff were very efficient and yet ve ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Staff were very efficient and yet very friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I HAD THE MUSSELS AND TRUFFLE FRIES FOR ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I HAD THE MUSSELS AND TRUFFLE FRIES FOR LUNCH AND IT WAS JUST THE RIGHT SIZE. MY WIFE HAD THE LOBSTER AND CRAB ROLL WHICH WAS SO MUCH BETTER THAN THE LOBSTER

ROLL WE RECENTLY HAD IN BAR HARBOUR. HAVE ENJOYED LUCNH HERE MANY TIMES AND NEVER DISAPPOINTED.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good service and good food. This is a g ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Good service and good food. This is a good location to meet friends for lunch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was great as expected. Service was gr ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was great as expected. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely evening, wonderful service!

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Lovely evening, wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We have been to the Shaugnessey Restau ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We have been to the Shaugnessey Restaurant many times. They have changed their menu and it's quite limited. The ciopino was great but overpriced for what you got.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Sat by the window which reduced the nois ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Sat by the window which reduced the noise on a Friday night for one at our table who is hard of hearing.

Very relaxing and enjoyable - delicious food!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a reunion of a group of old fri ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was a reunion of a group of old friends. We hadn't seen each other for a few years and we wanted to make sure we did before the next one died. We laughed and talked about the old days and shared stories of what out children were doing now. The food was good and we all ate salads and tea. In the old days we would have all eaten burgers and beer but we had a great time and the ambiance made the moments memorable.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter was extremely helpful and hon ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Our waiter was extremely helpful and honest in his comments about the food. He gracefully accommodated my request for a slightly different side salad which I appreciated.

Tags: Private Room, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed their recently changed menu, t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 13, 2016

I enjoyed their recently changed menu, that reflected the season.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I went there with a group for lunch and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I went there with a group for lunch and a few confreres for dinner. We all like the relax dinning atmosphere. They use fresh ingredients and food supplies. The lunch menus serve a generous portions than the dinners. The dinner menus have a good variety except the portions are less generous. However, we didn't leave the restaurant feeling hungry.

There are lots of parking and it's free. I would return there again in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good experience at Shaughnessy ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Always a good experience at Shaughnessy Restaurant. Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

9 of us for dinner. We had a wide variet ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 29, 2016

9 of us for dinner. We had a wide variety of dishes and everything was outstanding. The clam chowder was one of the best I have had. My steelhead was cooked to perfectly. Nice selection of cocktails. The service was great and the setting was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I liked that it still looked like the ol ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

I liked that it still looked like the old Spriklers(?). We both had the Quiche special for $15.00, I was expecting a slice of homemade quiche but it looked like a store bought round pie with some greens on the side. I was not impressed by the presentation or the quiche. What saved the day was the server, he was friendly, human and made it worth coming. Would I come again, possibly not. SheenaM

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great Cobb Salad...relaxing place for lu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great Cobb Salad...relaxing place for lunch as it wasn't very busy and we sat in the section with the booths. When busy there is no point in going as a group (anymore than 4) as you can't hear each other!

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

GOOD SELECTIONS ON MENU AND EXCELLENT DE ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 22, 2016

GOOD SELECTIONS ON MENU AND EXCELLENT DESERTS. VERY GOOD COFFEE AMERICANO

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my 4th time to visit there. Every ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 20, 2016

It was my 4th time to visit there. Everything was great except the noise^^

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the perfect place for our group o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was the perfect place for our group of five which came from different directions. The walk in the garden afterwards was special as well.

We very much appreciated the graciousness of our waiter when we decided to share an entrée.

Two of our friends are from out of town and were duly impressed with lunch and the setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to meet for brunch with gr ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

A great place to meet for brunch with great choices of meals and the wonderful views to the garden. The service was nice and quick and efficient. It made for a great Sunday morning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The surroundings are lovely: my companio ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The surroundings are lovely: my companion and I met for lunch on the patio and enjoyed the sunshine and the view of the gardens. The wait staff was attentive without being intrusive. Our meals (seafood croissant with salad; mussels) were tasty but portions were rather small. We each had a glass of wine and coffee, but no appys or desserts. Our bill, including tip, came to $80...we left hungry.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

My guest fall through the chair the seat ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 15, 2016

My guest fall through the chair the seat pad was detached from the frame of the chair. There were another couple that this happen to before we got there. The food is not good, they do have good ideas but very bad presentation and taste.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Dimitri is a joy as a server. He is the ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Dimitri is a joy as a server. He is there when needed but not an overwhelming presence.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely dining in the gardens and they we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Lovely dining in the gardens and they were very accommodating for our large party. The food, however, has declined from our previous visit; it lacked seasoning mostly, but was literally quite boring

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We were celebrating my friend's birthday ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were celebrating my friend's birthday and we really enjoyed ourselves. The table was good, scenery lovely, service was good and the food was very good. We were not rushed so lots of time to eat and visit at our leisure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was cold and service was minima ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was cold and service was minimal we would not revisit this restaurant...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

In our neighbourhood - nice to walk in t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

In our neighbourhood - nice to walk in the park before or after a meal - good service - generally reasonably quiet.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My second time - first time was my 80th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

My second time - first time was my 80th birthday lunch. This time, my friend's 91st birthday - she was enchanted by the ambiance, food, noise level, ease of entry, parking. Everything was perfect.

A quiet table, charming waiter. Constant attention during the meal. Not a problem anywhere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed yet another lovely lunch overloo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Enjoyed yet another lovely lunch overlooking the garden. Our waiter who we've had before was super...a tall gentleman, nice manner. Chicken pot pie was scrumptious and mom enjoyed her mussels.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for getting together with f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great place for getting together with friends, especially under the patio umbrellas.

Tags: Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I come here regularly for business meals ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I come here regularly for business meals due to its consistent delicious food and good value and lovely ambiance. All business associates I've taken here have always been impressed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a family meeting -a special mpmen ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a family meeting -a special mpment - we enjoyed our time together and lingered - wanted to stay all afternoon - thank you

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The outdoor deck facing into the garden ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The outdoor deck facing into the garden is a lovely spot even on a hot summer evening. would recommend 7 or 7:30 to catch sunset and cooler temperatures. Food is good but not great. Wine list adequate. The special was ahi tuna and it was done really well. Our Chinese guest enjoyed the Thai rice bowl very much. Recommend for locals and for visitors.

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very good, one of the best quic ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food was very good, one of the best quiche I have ever had. Service was excellent and I requested patio seating via Open Table and they had a great table on the patio ready for us. We stayed for 2 hours and never felt rushed. An excellent place to have lunch and catch up with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had not been to Shaughnessy Restauran ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had not been to Shaughnessy Restaurant for some time, and decided to check out the new patio. Unfortunately the view of the garden from our shaded table was blocked by a wooden lattice. While we enjoyed the beautifully served Greek tomato salad, our main courses were not that great. My husband's Thai curry rice bowl was quite small and almost devoid of flavour, and my coconut curry mussels (a small serving in a very large pot) could have used a little more curry. Still, it's a lovely spot and worth another visit, maybe at lunch when the western exposure would be less of a problem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Good for early dinner when you want lots ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Good for early dinner when you want lots of quiet time to chat with friends. Service was excellent. I like small menus but a few more choices would have made it better.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.