About Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden

5251 Oak Street
Vancouver, BC V6M 4H1
View Larger Map

SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS LOCATED IN THE SPECTACULAR VANDUSEN BOTANICAL GARDEN (A 55-ACRE TEACHING GARDEN). THE RESTAURANT WAS ORIGINALLY OPENED IN 1984 TO SERVICE THE MANY MEMBERS & GUESTS OF THE GARDEN, BUT IT SOON BECAME A POPULAR DINING ESTABLISHMENT AND HAS EVOLVED INTO A VANCOUVER LANDMARK. IT IS NOW A FAVORITE WITH LOCALS & TOURISTS ALIKE.
SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT OFFERS CONTEMPORARY COMFORT FOOD, PROFESSIONAL WARM SERVICE AND THE RIGHT MIX OF CREATIVITY AND COMMITMENT IN AN ELEGANT, RELAXED AND UNIQUE GARDEN SETTING. WE CATER TO A VARIETY OF EVENTS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR - WEDDING RECEPTIONS, ANNIVERSARIES, BIRTHDAYS, BAR/BAT MITZVAHS, FAMILY REUNIONS AND CORPORATE MEETINGS.

EXCLUSIVE RESTAURANT BOOKINGS ARE AVAILABLE AND WE CAN ACCOMODATE A VARIETY OF GROUP SIZES UP TO 200 PEOPLE.

THERE IS AMPLE FREE PARKING FOR CAR, PRIVATE COACH OR BUS. BOTH THE GARDEN AND THE RESTAURANT ARE WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
37TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 261-0011

Website:
http://www.shaughnessyrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
THE OPPORTUNITY TO STROLL IN A 55 ACRE BOTANICAL GARDEN OFFERING AMAZING FOLIAGE AND GROWTH EVERY MONTH OF THE YEAR. TEST YOUR SENSE OF DIRECTION AS YOU FIND YOUR WAY THROUGH THE POPULAR "GARDEN MAZE". RELAX AND FIND YOUR CENTER IN THE MEDITATION GARDEN OR MEANDER THROUGH MEDITERRANEAN BELT. YOU'LL FIND JURASSIC SIZE PLANTS AROUND LINVINGSTONE LAKE. THE STONE GARDEN IS ONE OF VANCOUVER'S HIGHEST ELEVATIONS, OFFERING A VIEW OF THE MOUNTAINS ON A CLEAR DAY. TRULY SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE !!

Catering:
Please see our Group Menus at shaughnessyrestaurant.com or call us at 604-261-0011

Parking Details:
WE HAVE AMPLE FREE/COMPLIMENTARY PARKING FOR 200 CARS; ALSO PRIVATE COACH AND BUS PARKING AREA..

Public Transit:
SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS ON OAK STREET WHICH IS THE MAIN THROUGHFARE FOR MANY ARTERIES INTO OR OUT OF THE CITY. ON ROUTE FROM OR TO THE VANCOUVER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT OR THE US BORDER. SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS 15 MINUTES FROM DOWNTOWN AND 15 MINUTES FROM THE AIRPORT. TRANSIT BUS STOPS ARE LOCATED ONLY 2 MINUTES FROM THE ENTRANCE TO THE GARDEN.

Executive Chef:
Sean Sloan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
THERE ARE MANY SPECIAL EVENTS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR, THE LARGEST ONE BEING THE FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS IN THE MONTH OF DECEMBER. RESERVE EARLY SO YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED AS THE RESTAURANT IS VERY BUSY AT THIS TIME OF YEAR.
WE RECOMMEND RESERVATIONS FOR ALL SPECIAL EVENT DAYS, FROM VALENTINES DAY, MOTHERS DAY, FATHERS DAY, EASTER, THANKSGIVING ETC...

Restaurant Photos

  • Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden
  • Triple Aaa Burger
  • Seafood Linguini With Hoisin Sauce
Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden
Triple Aaa Burger
Seafood Linguini With Hoisin Sauce

Promotions

FISH & CHIPS FRIDAYS

Fridays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

FISH & CHIPS FRIDAYS

Fridays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Details
Join us for Fish and Chips Fridays !! Fish and Chips for only $ 17 !! Add a Granville Island Lager or Pale Ale for only $ 2 !!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Only for Friday Lunch Not valid with other Promotions. Special valid Mar 18, 2016 - Jul 15, 2016 on Fridays from 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 7:00PM

Private Dining

THE RESTAURANT MAY BE BOOKED FOR PRIVATE FUNCTIONS EITHER EXCLUSIVELY OR NON-EXCLUSIVELY FOR SMALLER GROUPS, WHETHER YOU ARE LOOKING TO HOST A PRIVATE DINNER FOR 12 OR A COCKTAIL RECEPTION FOR 250, SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT HAS MANY OPTIONS TO OFFER WITH AN EXQUISITE GARDEN VIEW AND FREE PARKING.

Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Vancouver / British Columbia
Great for Lunch
Vancouver / British Columbia
Comfort Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
4 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Great for Brunch
Vancouver
Great for Lunch
Vancouver
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Shaughnessy ›

great for lunch (74)
scenic view (61)
great for brunch (49)
See All
special occasion (48)
neighborhood gem (48)
great for outdoor dining (36)
good for groups (35)
romantic (20)
fit for foodies (16)
kid-friendly (7)
notable wine list (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1029 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your servers were polite and professiona ...

Dined 3 days ago

Your servers were polite and professional; the food was much above average..the ambience was outstanding. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant never lets me down. It h ...

Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant never lets me down. It has a comfortable, roomy ambience, lovely vistas into the garden, always good service and great food!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Exterior did not impress with knee high ...

Dined 6 days ago

Exterior did not impress with knee high grass and weeds covering the small flower beds. The food was mediocre, the service average, no ambience, and price too high for the meal. This used to be a favorite stop when visiting Vancouver but no more. Would NOT recommend this restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The menu is a bit limited but surroundin ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The menu is a bit limited but surroundings more than made up for it.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The staff were very pleasant but there w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The staff were very pleasant but there was a mixup with the ordered food more so with my guests plate but with both having to be sent back to the kitchen for the small change. Even then my guest did not receive what she had requested until a second request and received the addition freshly cooked and enjoyed.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I have been going to Shaughnessy Restaur ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been going to Shaughnessy Restaurant for years and always enjoy meeting friends there for lunch. The staff are always friendly and the service is good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food as always was very good. The st ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food as always was very good. The steak was cooked to the desired doneness. The pork chop was moist and tasty. The carrot cake and flourless chocolate cake were excellent. Nice weather with some windows opened. Sam, described the special of the evening. He was friendly and courteous. Would recommend and go back again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quiet dinner spot

Dined on May 30, 2016

Have been here before and have always had a good dining experience. The food was very good, as was the service, and in the summer or during the Festival of Lights at Christmas, the view is wonderful. It's away from the downtown masses so you'll likely find that the ambience is intimate and less noisy than other places. Will definitely revisit soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I have eaten here many times before but ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

I have eaten here many times before but this was the first time our meals were not hot. All three of us our food was warm. I have never been there on a Saturday before and it was busy so perhaps the meals were made in advance. I will try it again hoping this was a one of.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I took my wife to the restaurant for her ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

I took my wife to the restaurant for her birthday lunch, the first issue we had that was that our waiter informed us that the draft beer equipment was not working. The second issue was the maintenance worker outside our window was in stalling outdoor lighting using a cordless impact driver making horrible noises. The food and restaurant was great, but we could of had a more relaxing lunch fore sure.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a very pleasant friend's lunch. We b ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Had a very pleasant friend's lunch. We both had the special which was quiche and salad and it was excellent. Service was attentive and timed well. We always enjoy beautiful views of the park. Have also been here for special occasions which worked out very well.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

VERY disappointed with the food. The las ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

VERY disappointed with the food. The last time I had your chicken & papaya salad, it was marvellous. But this time, the chicken was very dry and overcooked; the salad part so-so. My birthday friend was REALLY unhappy at only ONE green bean in her nicoise salad, but tons of sun dried tomatoes, which she hates, and which are NOT part of a classic nicoise salad (it's French, not Italian don't you know!), and their taste is so strong that it spoiled it totally for her. Sadly, the food's not consistent here; doubly sad when the setting is so spectacular. Also, I requested the patio when I made the reservation for 12:30 lunch. When we got there, the patio was not open. Why not? And then, on our way out, we found that the patio WAS open, and people were enjoying lunch there after all. ARRGGHH!

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was good, the service staff wer ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was good, the service staff were polite, probably could have been a bit more attentive (they seemed busy moving furniture around and weren't spending much time waiting on customers). Because it's in Vandusen Garden, it's nice to go for a walk around the gardens after brunch and it was a great day for that.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

Always a reliable place for lunch when w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Always a reliable place for lunch when we visit the gardens during the All-British Meet. They were great about expanding our party from 4 to 8 people. Service was good, but not best we have had here. Food was very good as always.

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was just okay. It was quite pricy s ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was just okay. It was quite pricy so I expected better.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Menu are limited choice. Can not go too ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Menu are limited choice. Can not go too often. Price on the high side for a place like that. Most old people go.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

I had always been a Shaughnessy fan unti ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I had always been a Shaughnessy fan until this recent visit. Both the taste and the look of the dishes were horrible, and worse yet the prices were higher than most of the other fine dinning restaurant. The new chef and the managerial team have both significant hurt this neighborhood gem. I think I will ever go back again.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Much as I would like to sing the praises ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Much as I would like to sing the praises of this restaurant, I cannot. Although the setting is lovely and the service good and friendly, the food is mediocre at best. It is definitely not good value for money. I will now hesitate to recommend this place because of how expensive the food is for the quality one receives. Asking $18 for a badly prepared 'hot croissant' with some crab and congealed cheese on top is unacceptable, as is charging $9 for a stale piece of carrot cake. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful lunch with a friend from Calga ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Wonderful lunch with a friend from Calgary who is a garden fiend and a lover of food. Fit perfectly on both accounts. Excellent, attentive service and an outstanding view of Van Dusen from the summertime deck. Hard to beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

What's the use of a reservation?

Dined on May 9, 2016

We had reservations at 7 p.m. We did not get seated till 7:30 p.m.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice room nice food service mediocre

Dined on May 9, 2016

I work in management in the business and came in on mothers day with my wife and children. I realize that it was Mother's Day but the food and service was extremely slow. The server was nice enough but two hours for two courses with children was a fail. We didn't even bother with dessert. Food was good, ambiance was nice, service lacked.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I have always enjoyed going to Shaughnes ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have always enjoyed going to Shaughnessy Restaurant for the location and good food. Our recent visit was for Mother's Day and while the food was fine I felt it was was overpriced and that we were the victim of Mother's Day rates.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was flawless , smooth and no ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was flawless , smooth and non disruptive . The menu choices were balanced and offered a variety of vegetarian choices . Setting is serene and the food is tasty - We has a lovely mother's day brunch .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I took my mom and daughter here for Mother's day

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was disappointed as were my guests. For the price, the food/drinks were just okay. The french toast was skimpy on the sauces and lacking in flavour. The lobster and shrimp Benny had a good amount of seafood but the sauce had a browned butter taste (not lemony fresh hollandaise) and the potatoes were bland, the only other thing on the plate was a small slice of orange and melon. The presentation was 3 star, not 5. The choices were odd for the courses as well...like having two main breakfasts (not really courses) and only one sweet option on the first course and no sweet option on the second so it was like having dessert and then breakfast. The decaf coffee needs improvement as well - again, not the quality I'd expect for this restaurant. At $200 for the 3 of us, I was expecting a more gourmet, flavourful special meal. I won't be back and I will not be recommending this to others looking to treat their mother on Mother's Day. The only saving grace was the beautiful room and view...love being in the garden. Also, the service was good for a busy day.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

At one time this was my favourite restaurant

Dined on May 5, 2016

The quality of the food is so poor that I will not be back.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice setting

Dined on May 5, 2016

Lovely setting, spacious, comfortable. Service was friendly and efficient. Food however, was mediocre. Nothing bad, but nothing to get excited about. Which is a shame, because this could be a destination restaurant. I go for the location -- somewhere enjoyable to meet up with friends -- but not for the food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grams 90th

Dined on May 2, 2016

Very memorable. Great food. Great service. Noise level was good as grams hard of hearing. She especially enjoyed being sung to by the waiter "hunk of a man" she called him..ha! I was a tiny bit disappointed they were out of coconut prawns at the beginning of the dinner hour (5pm) but absolutely the best calamari(squid) I've ever had. All entrees were delisious, well presented. We will go again, for years to come. Thanks for making grams 90th special, see you soon.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

disappointed

Dined on May 1, 2016

We have been to the Shaughnessy Restaurant at the corner of VanDusen Gardens before. We liked it then. We found the food and service both not up to scratch this time. So I’m disappointed to report that they are inconsistent. Great venue, however.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Well, not so good

Dined on April 23, 2016

I was disappointed greatly - such a great location but a mediocre restaurant - it seems to have gone down the hill

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lunch spot tucked away

Dined on April 22, 2016

Lovely ambiance, great attentive service. Food is generally very good. I had the steelhead wild salmon burger and the piece of salmon was much smaller than the bun. The bun was soggy with the sauce and the salmon ended up falling out so I ate it with my knife and fork instead. Everything else that I have had on previous occasions has been very good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner in the garden

Dined on April 9, 2016

The setting is superb; the ambience perfect and the quality of the food excellent. The professionalism around the wine and food service is fine but nothing special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice variety for vegetarians as well as ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Nice variety for vegetarians as well as cranavor

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 24, 2016

I brought my daughter for her birthday lunch and both of us enjoyed it immensely! Thank you so much!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A great place to meet friends!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Over the years, I have met friends and family here. The restaurant is busy, but never feels overcrowded. The food is good and the place is great to stay a bit after the meal to visit a bit longer.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A hidden and forgotten gem. Exceptional ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

A hidden and forgotten gem. Exceptional food and service quality and a beautiful serene view of the garden.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Club sandwich is not a clubhouse sandwich

Dined on March 12, 2016

The restaurant is ok. The service was very good. I was disappointed with the "Chicken Club" menu item. I was looking forward to a typical clubhouse sandwich ... three pieces of bread with meat, tomatoes and lettuce. I received chicken, tomatoes and lettuce between two small pieces of Focaccia. The order was served with a cute metal "shopping cart" containing some French fries. I assume the main clientele is an older crowd that just want "a bite", hence the serving/portion size.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch last Sat ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch last Saturday. The maitre d’ suggested we wait a few minutes for a window table which afforded a view of the garden. Service was prompt and our water/coffee refilled often. Additionally, we were able to have a good, long chinwag without feeling we should leave, great for longtime friends who seldom see each other.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Attentive staff. Straightforward menu wi ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Attentive staff. Straightforward menu with good food. Love being in the VanDusen Botanical Gardens! Accessible entry, dining area, and toilets.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional place for lunch

Dined on March 7, 2016

This restaurant is a great place to have lunch with your girlfriends. Service is great and friendly. Very attentive staff.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful lunch with special friends

Dined on March 5, 2016

Enjoyed a delightful brunch at Shaughnessy Restaurant in VanDusen Gardens. Laurel alerted us that our order would be delayed because a large order was placed just before our order. She brought us a 2nd basket of tasty blueberry scones. Laurel was very friendly and had another server deliver our lunches all together. One suggestion is not clearing anyone's plate until all at the table have finished the meal. This is server etiquette and we would prefer this courtesy. Great birthday lunch and very relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.