About Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden

SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS LOCATED IN THE SPECTACULAR VANDUSEN BOTANICAL GARDEN (A 55-ACRE TEACHING GARDEN). THE RESTAURANT WAS ORIGINALLY OPENED IN 1984 TO SERVICE THE MANY MEMBERS & GUESTS OF THE GARDEN, BUT IT SOON BECAME A POPULAR DINING ESTABLISHMENT AND HAS EVOLVED INTO A VANCOUVER LANDMARK. IT IS NOW A FAVORITE WITH LOCALS & TOURISTS ALIKE.
SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT OFFERS CONTEMPORARY COMFORT FOOD, PROFESSIONAL WARM SERVICE AND THE RIGHT MIX OF CREATIVITY AND COMMITMENT IN AN ELEGANT, RELAXED AND UNIQUE GARDEN SETTING. WE CATER TO A VARIETY OF EVENTS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR - WEDDING RECEPTIONS, ANNIVERSARIES, BIRTHDAYS, BAR/BAT MITZVAHS, FAMILY REUNIONS AND CORPORATE MEETINGS.

EXCLUSIVE RESTAURANT BOOKINGS ARE AVAILABLE AND WE CAN ACCOMODATE A VARIETY OF GROUP SIZES UP TO 200 PEOPLE.

THERE IS AMPLE FREE PARKING FOR CAR, PRIVATE COACH OR BUS. BOTH THE GARDEN AND THE RESTAURANT ARE WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE

5251 Oak Street
Vancouver, BC V6M 4H1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
37TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 261-0011

Website:
http://www.shaughnessyrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
THE OPPORTUNITY TO STROLL IN A 55 ACRE BOTANICAL GARDEN OFFERING AMAZING FOLIAGE AND GROWTH EVERY MONTH OF THE YEAR. TEST YOUR SENSE OF DIRECTION AS YOU FIND YOUR WAY THROUGH THE POPULAR "GARDEN MAZE". RELAX AND FIND YOUR CENTER IN THE MEDITATION GARDEN OR MEANDER THROUGH MEDITERRANEAN BELT. YOU'LL FIND JURASSIC SIZE PLANTS AROUND LINVINGSTONE LAKE. THE STONE GARDEN IS ONE OF VANCOUVER'S HIGHEST ELEVATIONS, OFFERING A VIEW OF THE MOUNTAINS ON A CLEAR DAY. TRULY SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE !!

Catering:
Please see our Group Menus at shaughnessyrestaurant.com or call us at 604-261-0011

Parking Details:
WE HAVE AMPLE FREE/COMPLIMENTARY PARKING FOR 200 CARS; ALSO PRIVATE COACH AND BUS PARKING AREA..

Public Transit:
SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS ON OAK STREET WHICH IS THE MAIN THROUGHFARE FOR MANY ARTERIES INTO OR OUT OF THE CITY. ON ROUTE FROM OR TO THE VANCOUVER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT OR THE US BORDER. SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS 15 MINUTES FROM DOWNTOWN AND 15 MINUTES FROM THE AIRPORT. TRANSIT BUS STOPS ARE LOCATED ONLY 2 MINUTES FROM THE ENTRANCE TO THE GARDEN.

Executive Chef:
Sean Sloan

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
THERE ARE MANY SPECIAL EVENTS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR, THE LARGEST ONE BEING THE FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS IN THE MONTH OF DECEMBER. RESERVE EARLY SO YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED AS THE RESTAURANT IS VERY BUSY AT THIS TIME OF YEAR.
WE RECOMMEND RESERVATIONS FOR ALL SPECIAL EVENT DAYS, FROM VALENTINES DAY, MOTHERS DAY, FATHERS DAY, EASTER, THANKSGIVING ETC...

Private Dining

THE RESTAURANT MAY BE BOOKED FOR PRIVATE FUNCTIONS EITHER EXCLUSIVELY OR NON-EXCLUSIVELY FOR SMALLER GROUPS, WHETHER YOU ARE LOOKING TO HOST A PRIVATE DINNER FOR 12 OR A COCKTAIL RECEPTION FOR 250, SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT HAS MANY OPTIONS TO OFFER WITH AN EXQUISITE GARDEN VIEW AND FREE PARKING.

Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (45)
Special Occasion (33)
Seasonal (29)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Cozy (21)
Romantic (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Business Meals (14)
Casual (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Disabled Access (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Healthy (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Historic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed to meal, the quiet ambiance, ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed to meal, the quiet ambiance, the service, the other patrons, our seating, the view and all other small and wonderful portions of the visit. Our favorite place to go for a quiet meal as husband and wife [of 46 years of marriage]. We have been there often over the years and always enjoyed the visit. It is a pleasure to return and enjoy our time there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have enjoyed this restaurant for over ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

I have enjoyed this restaurant for over 25 years. Now that I no longer live in Vancouver I often meet friends for a meal there when I am in town. We wish that they still offered the crab melt which was a favourite for lunch.

The very full parking lot has been a disappointment the last few times that I have been there, even though it was not a busy time for the restaurant. Not only were all of the handicapped spots taken but it was difficult to find any free spots. Walking from the most distant corner or on street parking is quite a challenge for us "oldies".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time going to Shaughnes ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

It was our first time going to Shaughnessy Restaurant, and one of the primary reasons we chose it for Valentine's Day was their menu. However, upon being seated, we were informed they were doing a pre-fix menu- which had not been indicated at the time of our reservation, or on their website prior. While the food was good, it was not a great experience to arrive to find out the menu was different from expected. We'll likely return in the summer time to see what the real menu is like, and to see the view of the garden, but would strongly recommend to the restaurant to advertise the pre-fix menu for special occasions ON OPEN TABLE as so many other restaurants did.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice Valentines Day dinner. we went ther ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice Valentines Day dinner. we went there early 5:30, great service, quiet, fast. My local favourite eating spot for a good dinner .

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was sent out within 5 minutes of pl ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was sent out within 5 minutes of placing the order. Felt as though the restaurant wanted to turn over the table as quick as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great, fast lunch. Quiet due to the sno ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great, fast lunch. Quiet due to the snowy weather outside! Meal came quickly, which was perfect for a fast business lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was really great and at a very ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was really great and at a very reasonable price. Looking out to the gardens was a very nice bonus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

While the ambiance is most welcoming and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

While the ambiance is most welcoming and the seating comfortable, some of the food choices were not good enough. The fish tacos were expensive for the amount you get; the tortilla was dry, the snapper overcooked and it needed a sauce to bring all the ingredients together. So that was disappointing, but when we mentioned it later to our server, she gave us our dessert for free, so that was appreciated. One of us had the pasta special of the day and that was very good, so a bit hit and miss.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I have hosted and been a gust at many lu ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I have hosted and been a gust at many lunches at the Shaughnessy for the past 15 years. I always consider the staff as delightful, the ambiance charming and the food delicious. Thank you everyone at the Shaughnessy Restaurant for making it the perfect lunch time venue.

Kindest Regards,

Helen

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Most enjoyed the fact that service was v ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Most enjoyed the fact that service was very prompt and very friendly. Best of all we never felt rushed or that we needed to leave. We were able to spend 3 hours renewing our friendship in a most relaxed enjoyable fashion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was back at Shaughnessy Restaurant jus ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I was back at Shaughnessy Restaurant just three days after my last visit. My cousin & I both had the steelhead burger with fries. We both agreed that the fish was perfectly cooked. It is so tender & tasty not like at some other restaurants where they tend to overcook fish.

Our favourite waiter, Marinos, provided his usual attentive service. It wasn't raining so we had a view. Nothing more to be desired.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the Vancouver dine 3 course m ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We enjoyed the Vancouver dine 3 course menu. It was good food and the setting was beautiful. The trees outside the windows still had green shining light on them. It brightened up a rainy January evening and added to the ambiance of the dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our lunch was tasty, the service very at ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our lunch was tasty, the service very attentive and, of course, the setting is beautiful.

I enjoyed the restaurant so much I am coming back for an encore tomorrow.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant itself, service and food ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The restaurant itself, service and food was very good. The one thing that I would suggest they change is their washrooms. They are ridiculous especially for elder diners. The toilet seats are extremely low, even with the booster ring on there and you feel very squashed inside the cubicle. If you were a very big person, I could imagine you having difficulty moving in the cubicle. Re-do the washroom entirely perhaps having fewer cubicles to allow more space in each individual cubicle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed the ambiance of the whole res ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We enjoyed the ambiance of the whole restaurant. The service was excellent. Food was good, high quality thru and thru. Will return again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent service in elegant surr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always excellent service in elegant surroundings and delicious food. Buttermilk Fried Chicken and Cioppino not quite as good as other meals have had here, but only slightly so. A thoroughly enjoyable meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated at a table next to the wi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We were seated at a table next to the windows and were able to view some of the Gardens which were interesting notwithstanding that it was winter. Our waiter was attentive, gave us the specials of the days and then left us to have a conversation with our out of town friends. After a few minutes he came back with our drinks and took our order. The waiter was very efficient and attentive.

The food was very good and the prices reasonable. A bonus was the large, free parking lot.

Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We decided to have a lunch meeting in th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We decided to have a lunch meeting in the morning of the day we visited the restaurant. Shaughnessy Restaurant was chosen because we were looking for a restaurant where is not too noisy with good food. It was very handy that we were able to to reserve our table on line when the restaurant was not open yet. We had a very nice meeting !

Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The cioppino was extraordinarily good an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The cioppino was extraordinarily good and so were the desserts. The service was friendly and attentive. Early January was a good time to go, since the holiday rush was over, the restaurant was quiet, and the full menu was available (rather than just the 6-item holiday menu).

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The servers were really friendly and hel ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The servers were really friendly and helpful. It was a quiet night, but the food was really good. The service was really fast too. We got our food really really fast.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I expected better as if heard so much ab ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I expected better as if heard so much about the place and it was new year's Eve. Menu seemed to be their regular fare at higher prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We gathered together for a birthday cele ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We gathered together for a birthday celebration, and found the service to be friendly and prompt. One in our group ordered the steelhead burger and was served a beef burger instead. This was quickly removed and replaced correctly and the waiter said she would not be charged for her order. I thought that was excellent customer service. A mistake was made but remedied to the satisfaction of the customer. The dining room is always very attractive and welcoming and I look forward to my next meal at Shaughnessy's.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our visit was part of an evening viewing ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our visit was part of an evening viewing the Festival of Lights and was a perfect end to that wonderful walk. Service was attentive and the fox and drink were first class.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Because it was over Christmas the menu w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Because it was over Christmas the menu was quite limited as was advertised on their webpage. That was somewhat disappointing.Other than that it was a nice experience.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Had it not been the Festival of Lights, ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Had it not been the Festival of Lights, we would not have gone to the Restaurant.

With a little bit more of money, you can get way better food at Cin Cin or La Terrazza.

My Osso Buco was so hard and dry, wonder how long it has been in the freezer. The worst I have ever tasted. My husband's fish, you can taste, was from the freezer as well.

I have to say, the Servers did all they can to make up for it; but food is terrible for that price.

I will not go back again, unless necessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Gorgeous view of the gardens and lights ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Gorgeous view of the gardens and lights while enjoying an exceptional meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been a while since I visited your r ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It's been a while since I visited your restaurant and as it was my bff's 70th birthday, we had a good experience. However, even though I let our waiter know it was my bff's birthday, when we ordered dessert, I was kinda disappointed that there was not at least a candle on our cheesecake. Perhaps you don't do that at your restaurant, and I was not expecting waiters to sing Happy Birthday, but most restaurants would at the least supply a candle, and some even go the extra mile and decorate the dessert plate for the birthday guest.

Also, now that I am writing, I was offended when I entered the main entrance as I could smell the washrooms. I'm not sure if it was just really strong cleaning product residue or whether the floors need to be super cleaned, or even replaced. It was quite disturbing when entering and then leaving your restaurant.

Thanks for allowing me to review our experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

It was very disappointing experience for ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was very disappointing experience for us as we were expecting better service and ambiance on Christmas Eve

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Despite arriving early for our reservati ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Despite arriving early for our reservation and were told we could be seated in a minute. Forty minutes later we were seated. Our meal order took such a short time to serving we believe the food was preplated and tasted as such. Not what we expected given the price point. This is not my first visit so I expected more. I don't think we'll be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Very enjoyable! Would like table request ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very enjoyable!

Would like table requests to be honoured.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very over priced food was very common no ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very over priced food was very common no taste would never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This is just such an excellent restauran ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This is just such an excellent restaurant with traditional good service and good food. A glaring problem is the lack of menu options for non meat eaters or vegetarians. Most restaurants of substance recognize this niche; this one does not!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall, it was a very pleasant meal; th ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Overall, it was a very pleasant meal; the food was tasty, the ambiance was festive without being chaotic, and the service we received from our server Natasha was top-notch. There were a few details that were lacking, however: I ordered the steelhead with rice, and the rice was cold around the edges; also, I had specified that this was a birthday meal, which wasn't communicated to the server. When I mentioned to Natasha that it was for my birthday, she said if she'd known then she would have put a candle in my dessert, which would have been nice.

But that said, it's a busy holiday season so I know the staff are doing their best, and for the most part we all had a wonderful meal. My elderly father is a homebody and my mother is persnickety and they were both made happy as clams by our lunch there. It was a lovely experience for me as well, since it's hard to go out for a Christmas Eve birthday!

One final note: the bread rolls are phenomenal.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated my wife's birthday at the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at the Shaughnessy and then toured the Festival of Lights. Service was great and the food was very good. The menu was very limited but we both found items we liked. Parking is a problem when the Festival of Lights is on but it was nice to be able to get a good meal and see the lights without having to find a new parking spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Shaughnessy is wonderful for a special l ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Shaughnessy is wonderful for a special lunch. It is a Vancouver tradition, known for its good food and service and garden ambience. A classy place.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location during Festival of Lights ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great location during Festival of Lights but food and service are terrible. Better off at Seasons in Queen Elizabeth Park for special dinner with spectacular views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

I don't recommend this restaurant during ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I don't recommend this restaurant during the holidays. It is too crowded, too noisey, limitted "holiday" menu. The staff are rushed and quality of food is poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Due to the popularity of this location d ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Due to the popularity of this location during the Festival of Lights, the restaurant was very busy, and very noisy. We were lucky enough to be given a table right by a window, and this made a tremendous difference in our enjoyment. I don't think we would have had as good a time if we'd been seated away from the windows.

I have to give kudos to the staff for their prompt service. There was a time limit on our seating, and given the busyness of the restaurant I was concerned that we'd be rushed with our food, but we even had time for dessert. The service was brisk, but not rushed. We were able to leave on time comfortably.

I noted that another table was asked to leave, because they were over time. I appreciate that the staff had the assertiveness to do that. I'm sure the subsequent booking for that table appreciated it, too.

However, to be honest I probably won't book again. The busyness of the restaurant was not at all restful. It was difficult to find parking, and we were concerned we would miss our reservation. We parked several blocks away, and had to walk in very quickly. Overall, I'd prefer just to have some soup at home, and not be so concerned about when we arrive.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Unfortunately during the Festival of Lig ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Unfortunately during the Festival of Lights at the gardens there is no guarantee for a good view of the garden. Our group of 5 was placed in thE back near the kitchen. be prepared for a very limited menu. Soup was very good , salad was not great

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value4

The menu is very limited, hardly any cho ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The menu is very limited, hardly any choice. Tables were too crowded.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.