Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

About Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden

SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS LOCATED IN THE SPECTACULAR VANDUSEN BOTANICAL GARDEN (A 55-ACRE TEACHING GARDEN). THE RESTAURANT WAS ORIGINALLY OPENED IN 1984 TO SERVICE THE MANY MEMBERS & GUESTS OF THE GARDEN, BUT IT SOON BECAME A POPULAR DINING ESTABLISHMENT AND HAS EVOLVED INTO A VANCOUVER LANDMARK. IT IS NOW A FAVORITE WITH LOCALS & TOURISTS ALIKE.
SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT OFFERS CONTEMPORARY COMFORT FOOD, PROFESSIONAL WARM SERVICE AND THE RIGHT MIX OF CREATIVITY AND COMMITMENT IN AN ELEGANT, RELAXED AND UNIQUE GARDEN SETTING. WE CATER TO A VARIETY OF EVENTS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR - WEDDING RECEPTIONS, ANNIVERSARIES, BIRTHDAYS, BAR/BAT MITZVAHS, FAMILY REUNIONS AND CORPORATE MEETINGS.

EXCLUSIVE RESTAURANT BOOKINGS ARE AVAILABLE AND WE CAN ACCOMODATE A VARIETY OF GROUP SIZES UP TO 200 PEOPLE.

THERE IS AMPLE FREE PARKING FOR CAR, PRIVATE COACH OR BUS. BOTH THE GARDEN AND THE RESTAURANT ARE WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE

5251 Oak Street
Vancouver, BC V6M 4H1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm;
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
37TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 261-0011

Website:
http://www.shaughnessyrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
THE OPPORTUNITY TO STROLL IN A 55 ACRE BOTANICAL GARDEN OFFERING AMAZING FOLIAGE AND GROWTH EVERY MONTH OF THE YEAR. TEST YOUR SENSE OF DIRECTION AS YOU FIND YOUR WAY THROUGH THE POPULAR "GARDEN MAZE". RELAX AND FIND YOUR CENTER IN THE MEDITATION GARDEN OR MEANDER THROUGH MEDITERRANEAN BELT. YOU'LL FIND JURASSIC SIZE PLANTS AROUND LINVINGSTONE LAKE. THE STONE GARDEN IS ONE OF VANCOUVER'S HIGHEST ELEVATIONS, OFFERING A VIEW OF THE MOUNTAINS ON A CLEAR DAY. TRULY SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE !!

Catering:
Please see our Group Menus at shaughnessyrestaurant.com or call us at 604-261-0011

Parking Details:
WE HAVE AMPLE FREE/COMPLIMENTARY PARKING FOR 200 CARS; ALSO PRIVATE COACH AND BUS PARKING AREA..

Public Transit:
SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS ON OAK STREET WHICH IS THE MAIN THROUGHFARE FOR MANY ARTERIES INTO OR OUT OF THE CITY. ON ROUTE FROM OR TO THE VANCOUVER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT OR THE US BORDER. SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT IS 15 MINUTES FROM DOWNTOWN AND 15 MINUTES FROM THE AIRPORT. TRANSIT BUS STOPS ARE LOCATED ONLY 2 MINUTES FROM THE ENTRANCE TO THE GARDEN.

Executive Chef:
Sean Sloan

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
THERE ARE MANY SPECIAL EVENTS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR, THE LARGEST ONE BEING THE FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS IN THE MONTH OF DECEMBER. RESERVE EARLY SO YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED AS THE RESTAURANT IS VERY BUSY AT THIS TIME OF YEAR.
WE RECOMMEND RESERVATIONS FOR ALL SPECIAL EVENT DAYS, FROM VALENTINES DAY, MOTHERS DAY, FATHERS DAY, EASTER, THANKSGIVING ETC...

Private Dining

THE RESTAURANT MAY BE BOOKED FOR PRIVATE FUNCTIONS EITHER EXCLUSIVELY OR NON-EXCLUSIVELY FOR SMALLER GROUPS, WHETHER YOU ARE LOOKING TO HOST A PRIVATE DINNER FOR 12 OR A COCKTAIL RECEPTION FOR 250, SHAUGHNESSY RESTAURANT HAS MANY OPTIONS TO OFFER WITH AN EXQUISITE GARDEN VIEW AND FREE PARKING.

Shaughnessy Restaurant at VanDusen Botanical Garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Great for Lunch (18)
Scenic View (17)
See All
Great for Brunch (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (5)
Family Style (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Healthy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Historic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

We're from Vancouver and took my mom who was visiting for lunch and garden visit. Menu was very limited and food was bland and tasteless. French toast was doughy and not cooked. Five different meals ordered and none of us liked what we got. And we're not picky! Usually don't write reviews but felt like I should on this one -- a terrible lunch for $100++

Maybe caters to markets that aren't interested in flavourful food or to 'one timers' (tourists) that are not likely to return.

Service was poor - eg coffee arriving without milk then taking a very time to get it with coffee going cold by the time it arrived. But a few other service problems too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

One of my favourite Vancouver restaurants in an amazing venue. Everything was great--food, service, ambience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

It is beautiful setting for a lunch with good friends particularly on a beautiful sunny day. But the quality of food is dissapoi9nting. neither I nor my wife enjoyed what we ordered. Too bad. If the food was good, we would love drop by more often and invite family and friends for lunch and dinner. But not to be!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Very noisy. Lots of banging and construction. Sold out of lunch special for a 12:30 seating after the waiter had interrupted us to introduce it. Service was exceptional, but a little too hoversome. I had the crab and shrimp croissant. There were a couple of shrimp the size of my pinky nail. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The ambience was great and the service was friendly but considering the time (after 1pm) the food took a very long time 45 minutes+ to come, luckily we weren't in a particular hurry but we were hungry.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Have had better food here, perhaps there's been a change in the kitchen....you don't put a croissant in a panini grill and squash down all the flaky layers that make a croissant what it is! Also, crab, shrimp, some strange mayonnaise sauce and mozzarella cheese are not a happy combination. And--please!--better fries. The salad was great! The house-made ice cream was great! The view was great! I'd go again because I love Van Dusen Gardens.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent dining experience...as always. Great food and service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Organic, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The ambience was good in a delightful garden setting. The service was a bit slow for a relatively quiet evening. One of the dishes: the mushroom risotto did not "cut it" but the other meals were good. The prices were reasonable.

Altogether not a bad experience but not "over the top".

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The restaurant didn't have our open table reservation on their system. The waiter processed 2 out of 6 orders incorrectly and the female owner of the restaurant told one of our guests that she ordered the wrong item. No discount given for all of the mistakes. The food was bland and portion sizes unsatifying for the price. I have a membership at van Dusen garden and lunch at Truffles cafe would have been far superior. I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was my first visit since the renovations. We had a great spot on the heated patio facing the lovely gardens. It was Mother's Day so there was a set menu. The selection was extensive and the food was tasty. The server didn't make any effort to welcome us or build rapport. He seemed...busy. Otherwise, it was a wonderful afternoon. I will attempt again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We are there for Mother's Day. Great location but food is mediocre. Everything is overly sweet, bland, and tasteless. Cocktail is overly sweet. My clam chowder tasted like out of a can. My hot shrimp and crab croissant was flat and unappetizing. My wife's turkey pot pie looked and tasted almost the same as my chowder, sugary and bland. The bill was also expensive too.

Staff tried to be friendly and attentive but they were overwhelmed by the Mother's Day guests.

What a waste of the scenic venue in a botanical garden. I would replace the entire kitchen staff if I were the owners. There are plenty of progressive young West Coast cuisine chefs that deserve to cook at that location.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice ambience with spacious and airy feel. Menu choices cover all bases, food was good and service excellent.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Visited for an early Mother's Day brunch and was very disappointed. Service was very slow, even just to seat us at an empty restaurant, there were at least 4-5 groups waiting. The food is very overpriced for something that even Denny's could outdo. My 1year old was asleep in a stroller and waiters continually kept knocking into it without any apologies, leading her to wake up and making our outing almost unbearable. I will probably never come back to visit here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Nice place to enjoy good food and conversation. I took my Mom and daughter for a good three generations visit

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was a special early lunch for my wife for Mother's Day. It was excellent as always - the food an date service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Was all great but would have been nice to know about extremely limited parking due to onsite movie filming.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The ambiance was perfect, the food was good. The service was courteous and polite, but slow. It looked like a shortage of staff, it wasn't easy to determine.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I didn't know they only had brunch menu on Sundays and expected the full lunch menu. The options were limited.

Value-wise, it wasn't really there. My husband had a regular salad, it was nothing fancy at all. We definitely did not expect to pay $20 for a small salad.

I had the crab and shrimp croissant, and I thought they scrimped a bit on the filling, especially charging $18 for a croissant.

This isn't like me at all to leave a not-sogood review, but we were disappointed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very friendly asian waitress. Similar price as last yr but getting less food. Lucky buns re complimentary.

Nice environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It smelled musty and mouldy by the windows... complimentary homemade scones were little hockey pucks but the size of ice cubes... This place used to be great but has gone really downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 3, 2017

😀👌The food was good and service was great.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 24, 2017

This restaurant is so pretty inside! All of our food was very tasty and delivered in a timely matter by courteous , attentive staff. It's a good meeting location to connect with friends from different Lower Mainland locations such as Richmond, Burnaby, and Vancouver. We combined our lunch with a walk in the gardens, both before and after eating, which made a beautiful half-day experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Brief but tasty items on menu. Quality of food I had in this revamped operation was satisfactory. Service was adequate. In my opinion a small slip in attraction for this gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The server never came to the table to see how our meal was or if we needed anything else. Even getting the bill was difficult. We have eaten there before and had always been reasonably happy with the food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Very good service and excellent brunch in a nice atmosphere where we could hear each other!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great setting, wonderful array of delectable dishes. Attentive and well informed wait associates.
One of my favourite venues for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Not sure if it was an off night and / or under staffed or not the right staff, but the food and beverages were not good.
Mixed drinks had wrong proportions which made them bitter. Ordered Kale salad, but they didn't have Kale. The salad dressing was bery heavy fish flavour. They did not charge for the salad. The sauce for the nightly special dish was super salty. Tasted like a bad pub gravy. Store bought?
The server was nice and the girl doing water and bussing the table was fast and attentive. There we ommisions in our bill that we brought to their attention so we paid for everything.
Might give the happy hour a chance or go when it is busier and possibly higher trained cooks and bar staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Exceeded my expectations! All servers were so attentive and friendly but also professional, one gentleman he even sang birthday song for my mom. We all enjoy food & service, we should had come earlier! Now my husband & I would like to try brunch on weekend. Thank you so much for nice dinner experience. My short rib & lemon tart was amazing!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

It was my son's 1st birthday and we decided to come to Shaughnessy to celebrate. Like always, great service and delicious food! The waitress even lit a candle on the carrot cake that we had and that was very nice of her! We keep coming back because of the food and service. We will be back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for a Date, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The setting is great but I would have preferred more variety choices in the menu.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Server was very professional and pleasant. It was very quiet and despite the fact that we were the only patrons left, we were not made to feel rushed to leave. Gardens were beautifully lit. Food was delicious. I had the cioppino and my friend had the mussels. Mussels were large and fresh but some were unopened. Dessert was generously sized.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We enjoyed to meal, the quiet ambiance, the service, the other patrons, our seating, the view and all other small and wonderful portions of the visit. Our favorite place to go for a quiet meal as husband and wife [of 46 years of marriage]. We have been there often over the years and always enjoyed the visit. It is a pleasure to return and enjoy our time there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I have enjoyed this restaurant for over 25 years. Now that I no longer live in Vancouver I often meet friends for a meal there when I am in town. We wish that they still offered the crab melt which was a favourite for lunch.

The very full parking lot has been a disappointment the last few times that I have been there, even though it was not a busy time for the restaurant. Not only were all of the handicapped spots taken but it was difficult to find any free spots. Walking from the most distant corner or on street parking is quite a challenge for us "oldies".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was our first time going to Shaughnessy Restaurant, and one of the primary reasons we chose it for Valentine's Day was their menu. However, upon being seated, we were informed they were doing a pre-fix menu- which had not been indicated at the time of our reservation, or on their website prior. While the food was good, it was not a great experience to arrive to find out the menu was different from expected. We'll likely return in the summer time to see what the real menu is like, and to see the view of the garden, but would strongly recommend to the restaurant to advertise the pre-fix menu for special occasions ON OPEN TABLE as so many other restaurants did.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nice Valentines Day dinner. we went there early 5:30, great service, quiet, fast. My local favourite eating spot for a good dinner .

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was sent out within 5 minutes of placing the order. Felt as though the restaurant wanted to turn over the table as quick as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great, fast lunch. Quiet due to the snowy weather outside! Meal came quickly, which was perfect for a fast business lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was really great and at a very reasonable price. Looking out to the gardens was a very nice bonus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

While the ambiance is most welcoming and the seating comfortable, some of the food choices were not good enough. The fish tacos were expensive for the amount you get; the tortilla was dry, the snapper overcooked and it needed a sauce to bring all the ingredients together. So that was disappointing, but when we mentioned it later to our server, she gave us our dessert for free, so that was appreciated. One of us had the pasta special of the day and that was very good, so a bit hit and miss.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.