About Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola

1750 Wharf Rd.
Capitola, CA 95010
View Larger Map

In Capitola-by-the-Sea, beside lush Soquel Creek just before it empties into the Monterey bay, Shadowbrook is best reached by its own quaint, hillside 'cable car' or the meandering garden path alongside waterfalls, ferns and flowers. For over 60 years, Shadowbrook has been famous its for fine food, wine and liqueurs served in an atmosphere of Old World charm and grace. Now, better then ever, Shadowbrook is perfect for any special occasion...or for no occasion at all.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Winter Dining Hours: Mon-Fri 5:00pm-8:45pm Sat 4:30pm-9:30pm Sun 4:30pm-8:45pm Winter Rockroom Bar Menu Available: Mon-Sat 4:00pm-10:00pm Sunday 2:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Capitola Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 475-1511

Website:
http://www.shadowbrook-capitola.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Rock Room Lounge Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
The Shadowbrook has an in-house pastry department for banquet, wedding, or special occasion needs. For more information please call Allyson at 831-475-1222.

Parking Details:
Three private lots with complimentary parking for guests; disabled parking spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Roger Gowen

Private Party Facilities:
Shadowbrook's four private dining rooms are the perfect location for evening special events, receptions, and weddings for groups of 10 to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie: 8314751222x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mention to us that it is your birthday and receive a complimentary ice cream sundae.

Restaurant Photos

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Slow Cooked Prime Rib - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Volcano  Lamb - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Seafood Campanelle - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Baked Brie - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Artichoke Gnocchi - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Surf And Turf - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Filet Mignon and Shrimp Scampi - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Martini Sampler - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Jerk Salmon - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Crab Cakes - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Bacon Wrapped Prawns - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Ceaser Salad - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Salmon - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Blackened Lamb House-Spiced Loin Of Lamb, Roasted Garlic-Buerre Rouge, Foraged Mushroom Bread Pudding And Coriander Carrot Puree - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Cappuccino - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
"Bacon & Eggs"  - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Filet Mignon - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Hawaiian Butterfish - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Misoyaki Butterfish - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Chocolate Volcano Cake - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Chocolate Meltdown - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Prime Rib - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Artichoke Soup - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Field Greens Salad - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée Lemon Verbena Shortbread Garnish - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Peach Tarte Tatin Upside Down Tart With Caramelized Fruit And Lavendar Ice Cream - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Sea bass - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Steak - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Scallops - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
African Lobster - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Sea Bass With Sweet Potatoes And Crab Ragoon Wonton - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Silk Greyhound - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
New York - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA
Molten Chocolate Lava Cake - Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola, Capitola, CA

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Exclusive
Romantic
Exclusive
Scenic View
Exclusive
7 More
Special Occasion
Exclusive
Most Booked
Exclusive
Best Ambiance
Exclusive
Romantic
Exclusive
Scenic View
Exclusive
Special Occasion
Exclusive
Most Booked
Exclusive

Romantic (234)
Special Occasion (232)
Scenic View (215)
See All
Good for a Date (158)
Good for Anniversaries (157)
Worth the Drive (110)
Good for Birthdays (110)
Neighborhood Gem (108)
Waterfront (108)
Historic (106)
Great for Outdoor Dining (88)
Fit for Foodies (77)
Cozy (77)
Fireplace (71)
Notable Wine List (70)
Good for Groups (68)
Local Ingredients (55)
Fun (50)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Authentic (43)
Bar Seating (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Happy Hour (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Kid-friendly (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Private Room (23)
Casual (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Outstanding Value (22)
Live Music (21)
Business Meals (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Healthy (19)
Comfort Food (18)
People Watching (17)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Seasonal (15)
Wood Oven (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Family Style (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Late-night Find (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Great Beer (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Vegan (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Organic (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Spicy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Live Sports (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Dancing (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sort By:
S
4942 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Most of the restaurant was empty but we ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Most of the restaurant was empty but we were sat like sardines in one area. I grew tired of the waitstaff's backsides hitting me while they serviced the next table. Not a bit of privacy as you were so close to the next table. Lamb was suggested by the waiter for the birthday girl, was dry and overdone. Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a great dinner for my birthday. Alwa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great dinner for my birthday. Always come back for the food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiters experience and service was excep ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Waiters experience and service was exceptional. Table location could have been nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated our wedding anniversary and i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrated our wedding anniversary and it was even better than we'd remembered from our

previous experiences at this beautiful old landmark restaurant .

4 thumbs up, way up....

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always! Best prime rib, tat ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic as always! Best prime rib, taters and spinach souffle ever! EXCELLENT

service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at the Shadowbrook many ti ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We have eaten at the Shadowbrook many times in the past and this time the experience was wonderful as it has been in the past. I highly recommend this restaurant to everyone especially for special occasions. The tram experience is unique and I can't say enough good things about the dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shadowbrook never disappoints. We were s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Shadowbrook never disappoints. We were seated in a quiet area and served by Mark. He graciously decanted a wine we had brought, made suggestions on entrees selections, and took our orders. Service was crisp and the food cooked to perfection.

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Historic, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience was good, however, th ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Overall experience was good, however, there were a couple of things I had a problem with, number one when my date complained about her

shrimp scampi being too lemony they told me they would take her meal off of the check, and they did not. number two, they never asked me when making my reservation if I wanted a window seat and I was forced to take a very busy isle seat. I also went to this place because I heard they had a live band. The seat they gave me was far away from the room where the band was and we could not hear them at all.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The atmosphere is fun and the layout ver ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

The atmosphere is fun and the layout very cool and appealing. The tram ride is unique as well. I think the price I handsome, but not outrageous. My only complaint is size of the Bloody Mary, really a small cocktail glass for $10. I have never has a BM in such a small glass before. Hell it was all ice. The waiter said the manager didn't know how to respond. I said forget it. Even on an Airplane they give you a can of Mrs T

OTHERWISE I will go back for sure and recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and ambiance was wonderful, ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The service and ambiance was wonderful, however the food was far less than par. For the price, I'd expect higher quality food. Everything was SO SALTY that it wasn't tasty. Also, I ordered the pork shoulder which should have taken off the bone, but it wasn't cooked long enough so it was extremely tough and chewy. A bit disappointed with the quality of the food especially considering the price of the dish. However, great service and beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Let me begin by saying this was the firs ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Let me begin by saying this was the first time out of many, that we've had a bad experience. That being said I should not have had one. Service was slow. And not just because it was busy. It's always busy on the weekends. I almost felt looked over. My appetizer was delicious! Brie and jalapeño jelly! But then went downhill. Waiter rarely came around for refills or just to say your food will be coming soon. Bread showed up around the same time as the main course. Also we sat in an area that we have not been In before, still charming but I hope that didn't play any part in how well our service was. My main course was the beef Wellington, meat was warm but crust was on the verge of soggy. My parsnips (I'm guessing that's what they were) were undercooked but the whole side was dry. Almost like the dish sat before it was served. My partner wasn't happy with his but not sure if that's personal preference or the way the fish was prepared so I'll leave details out. Mine was the course I was as looking forward to. Hoping it would come close to Mom's. For the price it should've been. I'm a foodie and the one thing most restaurants fall short on is consistency, please don't let that happen here.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Dining at Shadowbrook for a birthday or ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Dining at Shadowbrook for a birthday or at the Holidays was a tradition in my family when I was growing up. We brought the grandparents here when they came to town. In the more recent decade, I tried to start that tradition again - but we always found the experience lacking in some way. We're more discerning about the food we eat, and the value for the $. So, we stopped going for a number of years.

This time, because Shadowbrook was offering a % of sales in support of a local nonprofit organization that I care about, friends, family and I came for dinner. We were all pleasantly surprised by the seemingly rejuvenated scene. Appetizers were exceptional. The wine selection was good. Service was friendly. The ambiance was outstanding. We really enjoyed ourselves! Now we know to once again consider Shadowbrook an option when we want to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun atmosphere good food

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Fun atmosphere good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely love this place. It is timel ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Absolutely love this place. It is timeless. The setting and food are great. We really enjoyed taking out kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Must say, customer service is up to Mich ...

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

Must say, customer service is up to Michelin standard which I am greatful to see. Beautiful experience with such conferting apperceive.

Thank you

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique atmosphere with excellent food an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Unique atmosphere with excellent food and service. We were celebrating our anniversary and this was the perfect place to celebrate. The staff was welcoming and attentive to any questions we had, and provide great service. We will be back!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From classic cab ride from motel to Shad ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

From classic cab ride from motel to Shadowbrook, the greeting we received from the hostess, the wonderful atmosphere in the bar, to our server and his assistants, the evening was perfect. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere was exceptional. We were celebrating a birthday and it set the perfect mood for the evening. We stayed at the Quality Inns and Suites and the front desk recommended that we take the taxi, which we appreciated because we were not aware the service was available. Our taxi driver also helped set the mood. All around, it was a wonderful evening. We have bragged to all our friends and family and they are all planning on a visit to the Shadowbrook in the near future.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience was great. Service was good. Fo ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Ambience was great. Service was good. Food was very medio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Beautiful setting - well cared for garde ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Beautiful setting - well cared for gardens along the stairs leading down to the restaurant. Calamari came with a tasty Thai Chili sauce and the Clam Chowder was some of the best I have had. Delicious Braised Osso Bucco and Prime Rib. Service was impeccable - attentive yet not obtrusive. Old time charm and elegance - great for any special occasion . And the ride up the incline railroad after dinner was a treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were sat downstairs at the farthest f ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were sat downstairs at the farthest from the hostess you could get. Next to a window and large door. It was so cold we both never removed our jackets the entire dinner. They finally turned the heater on 10 minutes before we left. My husbands Swordfish was tough. Had the wonderful waiter send it back and redo. Ruined the timing though because we ate at separate times. Won't be back and not sending anyone there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

We celebrated an 88th birthday on seafoo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We celebrated an 88th birthday on seafood Thursday. It was disappointing to be seated near the kitchen as the birthday person is hard of hearing and that noise prevented her from hearing the conversations at the table. The food was superb (as always) and a great value, the wine selection was good. We asked for more bread and water during dinner, but neither materialized. Maybe because we were tucked in a corner and those servers did not notice us - a table of 4 senior women.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have eaten at Shadowbrook many, many ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

We have eaten at Shadowbrook many, many times but this last time we felt the service was especially good and the wait for drinks and our food was faster than usual. Excellent service!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a small mistake that was a big pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I made a small mistake that was a big problem: I couldn't see the cracked pepper the waiter was serving and got way way way too much on my meal. Our server, Andrew S. was fantastic about replacing my dinner in a heart beat. I offered to pay for the replacement, but they refused to charge me for it. Boy, do I feel stupid--too much pepper was all my fault. I love it that the staff was so responsive and fixed my issue immediately. As always, the food at Shadowbrook was wonderful!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

FANTASTIC in every possible way. Lincol ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

FANTASTIC in every possible way. Lincoln, our server, was such a pro! Very helpful in giving us information about the food..preparation...etc. Very accommodating and courteous. And he was very busy with several tables. The food...ohmyGOODNESS. I had the end cut prime rib..delish and perfectly prepared. My date had the Petrale Sole...heavenly. The desserts were amazing...the pastry chef, Robin, is the best ever coming up with various creations and such unique flavors in her home made ice cream. We will return..over and over. Lovely lovely lovely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately we had a terrible experien ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Unfortunately we had a terrible experience at the Shadowbrook. I grew up in Santa Cruz and had fond memories of the Shadowbrook being one of the best restaurants in town. We recently moved back to the area and I was excited to take my husband here for our Anniversary. After our appetizer we waited 40 minutes for our entrées, which we were then told had been dropped on the floor and were being re-done. Once the entrées finally arrived I tried to cut into my Osso Bucco which is supposed to fall off the bone, and it was impossible....I would have needed a steak knife to get even a piece of meat off the bone. We had to send the Osso Bucco back, the server said they could cook up a steak quickly but at that point we had already been at the restaurant for an hour and a half and hadn't even eaten yet. The evening was ruined and we only get one Anniversary a year so I really just wanted to leave and salvage what was left of the night. The server sent the manager over who asked about the remaining dish on our table (my husband's scallops). We told him they were OK (they were over cooked and luke warm but, we are not THAT picky and we are not jerks), however my husband was not about to sit there and eat while I sat there and watched on our Anniversary. We asked if we could just please have the check so that we could salvage what was left of our evening. The server brought the bill charging us for the appetizer and a corkage fee for the champagne we brought with us (to enjoy with our meal that never happened). They made a big deal about the fact that they removed the entrees from the bill....really? thanks so much for that. You removed the entrees that we waited over 40 minutes for, were dropped on the floor and then served inedible. Perhaps it was just an off night, the table behind us was receiving complimentary coffee and dessert for some mix up they had endured as well. Total bummer, very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Wonderful spot. Been coming here for si ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wonderful spot. Been coming here for since the 1970's, first for dates, then special occasions, and now business dinners with colleagues from other parts of the country. Always enjoy it!

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We hadn't been to Shadowbrook in years. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We hadn't been to Shadowbrook in years. The menu was good - though not enough options for non-red meat eaters. Also, it was a little difficult to get reservations on line.

We persevered and our out of town friends enjoyed the experience

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I brought my Canadian guests for a local ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I brought my Canadian guests for a local experience. Shadowbrook did not disappoint!

The ambiance is unmatched. The new menu was wonderful, great service and a lovely evening all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had a very enjoyable evening, the sta ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had a very enjoyable evening, the staff are very pleasant and professional, making the evening that much more memorable (we were there for a special occasion). The dining room where we were seated was very nice and our family of 6 were able to enjoy our conversation. We love the location and enjoy taking the funicular up and down between the parking and restaurant. Very charming.

Tags: Waterfront, Fireplace, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have enjoyed the Shadowbrook for 20 ye ...

 
·Dined on November 14, 2016

I have enjoyed the Shadowbrook for 20 years. Family gatherings, my husband & myself or small group of friends; it's always been fabulous! Enjoy the setting as well but the food and the service are the very best. The ambiance is delightful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Casey was outstanding. He was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our server Casey was outstanding. He was very attentive re freaking out drinks, giving us great suggestions and giving us enough space to enjoy ourselves without feeling like he was hovering. The food was amazing! The surf and turf with the filet was to die for! Garlic whipped potatoes silky smooth. Everything from beginning to end made for a very memorable anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Recommend going to Shadowbrook to experi ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Recommend going to Shadowbrook to experience the wonderful atmosphere and very good service, however the food is average and for the price it seems like the food could be a little better value. Reservations were required and it was a little disappointing to have to wait an extra half hour to be seated. Overall, we'll go back for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Chris was a great server and Johnny was ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Chris was a great server and Johnny was good with the bread and water. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional experience overall! Lovely ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Exceptional experience overall! Lovely restaurant, very authentic, perfect for taking your loved one for a romantic night out. Service was "spot on," and the food was incredibly delicious! I couldn't speak highly enough about this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was incredible :) Ambiance was perf ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was incredible :) Ambiance was perfect, beautiful grounds.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Shadowbrook is a Monterey Bay institutio ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Shadowbrook is a Monterey Bay institution known for excellent quality food and ambience. A great restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Historic, Live Music, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant with the perfect ba ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with the perfect balance of indoor and outdoor. The cable car elevator ride is fun and whimsical. Or you can choose to walk around the garden to the restaurant. I would definitely come again and I would recommend it to anyone. Also, price of food is fair and dishes were delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Shadowbrook has traditionally been m ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Shadowbrook has traditionally been my favorite place to go. Food has always been spectacular. However on this last visit on 11/12/16, the food was lacking. The lobster infused mashed potatoes that went with the scallops was sooooo salty (and I LIKE SALT): it really ruined it for me. My adult kids have the filet mignon and both left a quarter of it as it was so fatty. Just quite a disappointment.

I will say that our waiter, Kent I believe, was terrific!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

If it wasn't for the fact that I've dine ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

If it wasn't for the fact that I've dined here several times already I would probably not return but I know the dining experience can be better. Our table was squeezed in a cramp location and due to the drunken crowd around us, and the lady peering over the railing above us, I'd give my overall rating about a 2. The service due in part mainly to the crowd was poor, not at all what I've experience in the past, and I say that because we had the same waiter last year when we celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

My husband and I grew up in the Bay Area ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I grew up in the Bay Area and used to come here whenever we were in Santa Cruz area for a nice meal before we had kids. Haven't been in here in years. Just spent our 28th Wedding Anniversary here and all those good memories of good food, friendly service, laid back atmosphere came back. Loved taking the trolly down to the front desk. Nostalgic! Will definitely come back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.