About Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola

1750 Wharf Rd.
Capitola, CA 95010
View Larger Map

In Capitola-by-the-Sea, beside lush Soquel Creek just before it empties into the Monterey bay, Shadowbrook is best reached by its own quaint, hillside 'cable car' or the meandering garden path alongside waterfalls, ferns and flowers. For over 60 years, Shadowbrook has been famous its for fine food, wine and liqueurs served in an atmosphere of Old World charm and grace. Now, better then ever, Shadowbrook is perfect for any special occasion...or for no occasion at all.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Winter Dining Hours: Mon-Fri 5:00pm-8:45pm Sat 4:30pm-9:30pm Sun 4:30pm-8:45pm Winter Rockroom Bar Menu Available: Mon-Sat 4:00pm-10:00pm Sunday 2:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Capitola Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 475-1511

Website:
http://www.shadowbrook-capitola.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Rock Room Lounge Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
The Shadowbrook has an in-house pastry department for banquet, wedding, or special occasion needs. For more information please call Allyson at 831-475-1222.

Parking Details:
Three private lots with complimentary parking for guests; disabled parking spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Roger Gowen

Private Party Facilities:
Shadowbrook's four private dining rooms are the perfect location for evening special events, receptions, and weddings for groups of 10 to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie: 8314751222x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mention to us that it is your birthday and receive a complimentary ice cream sundae.

Restaurant Photos

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Slow Cooked Prime Rib
Volcano  Lamb
Seafood Campanelle
Baked Brie
Artichoke Gnocchi
Surf And Turf
Filet Mignon and Shrimp Scampi
Crab Cakes
Bacon Wrapped Prawns
Martini Sampler
Jerk Salmon
Ceaser Salad
Salmon
Blackened Lamb House-Spiced Loin Of Lamb, Roasted Garlic-Buerre Rouge, Foraged Mushroom Bread Pudding And Coriander Carrot Puree
"Bacon & Eggs"
Cappuccino
Filet Mignon
Misoyaki Butterfish
Chocolate Volcano Cake
Hawaiian Butterfish
Chocolate Meltdown
Prime Rib
Artichoke Soup
Field Greens Salad
Peach Tarte Tatin Upside Down Tart With Caramelized Fruit And Lavendar Ice Cream
Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée Lemon Verbena Shortbread Garnish
Steak
Scallops
Sea bass
Sea Bass With Sweet Potatoes And Crab Ragoon Wonton
African Lobster
Molten Chocolate Lava Cake
New York
Silk Greyhound

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
Romantic
San Francisco Bay Area
Special Occasion
San Francisco Bay Area
8 More
Best Overall
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Food
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Service
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Ambiance
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Value
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Fit for Foodies
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Special Occasion
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Most Booked
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Restaurants in Capitola ›

special occasion (400)
romantic (386)
scenic view (358)
See All
fit for foodies (190)
great for outdoor dining (173)
neighborhood gem (154)
good for groups (147)
notable wine list (114)
vibrant bar scene (56)
kid-friendly (49)
hot spot (48)
great for brunch (48)
great for lunch (44)
late-night find (26)
Sort By:
Newest
4643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is an annual dining trek we make wi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is an annual dining trek we make with our grandchildren while vacationing in the area. Each time we are greeted warmly, staff is patient with the children, and food is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for a special birthday cel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were there for a special birthday celebration and we told our waiter we were in no rush and wanted to enjoy the ambience. Our appetizers came within 5 minutes and shortly thereafter our entrees appeared. None were even mediocre for the prices they charged. The scallops were bland, the lobster tail overlooked and rubbery and the prime rib was nothing like the Lawry prime rib which is how our waiter described it. He said medium rare, it was medium well, the au jus was slopping around the plate and when placed the liquid landed on the table and my outfit. I think this place is nothing but a big overpriced tourist trap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Wyatt was a personable and professional ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wyatt was a personable and professional server. Very engaging but not imposing. He was assisted by a very nice crew. Timing and attention was spot on. The food was equally impressive. The ambiance was totally memorable. Our 12 year old oyster and clam chowder loving son was in heaven. We look forward to visiting again when in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Thoroughly enjoyable evening at a beauti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyable evening at a beautiful restaurant from every angle. The service was exceptional, without being intrusive. The menu was explained as requested in great detail, making it easy to choose a dish. Food was outstanding, tasty, vibrant in presentation and delicious on the taste buds. Highly recommend this gem and looking forward to many return visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! This is our celebrati ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place! This is our celebration dinner after the Wharf to Wharf race. My daughter and I go here as an annual event with my niece and her best friend every year. We enjoy everything about this place, even the cable car elevator. We like to walk through the gardens.....so lush and green.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, and setting were amazing. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food, service, and setting were amazing. The trip up and down in the "hillalator" added to the fun of the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting couldn't have been better. G ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The setting couldn't have been better. Great atmosphere, but maybe a little dated. Very romantic. The server was not the best, but all other staff was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Messaged the restaurant alerting them it ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Messaged the restaurant alerting them it was for my wife's birthday and received a fantastic window table. Tip; message restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was obviously overbooked ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was obviously overbooked that night. A table for four had eight very loud and noisy people next to us. Service was lousy. Due to large table next door the wait staff kept leaning over my head. The food was overcooked. This is a beautiful location but the service and food are often hit and miss. Such a bummer for 3 people to spend over $250 and get lousy service, food and be crowded into a tight spot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

For the amount of money the restaurant w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

For the amount of money the restaurant was highly overrated. So disappointed. The food was mediocre at best, in fact, my dinner, the filet, was so horrible that they did not even charge us for it and gave us a free dessert!!

Do no recommend at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

This restaurant was recommended to us. ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was recommended to us. We made our reservations the 30 days out. We were not disappointed. We arrived a little early to get a parking spot. The grounds are lush with greenery and flowers. Absolutely beautiful. We were seated within 5 minutes and had very attentive service. The food was outstanding. We all had different entrees and we loved them all. I would highly recommend this restaurant. It was fun looking across the lagoon and seeing the other homes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone enjoyed their meal and appetize ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everyone enjoyed their meal and appetizers.

We had a great round table at the fireplace. Our waiter (Chris) was great. We will all go back again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate our 10-year wedding an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went to celebrate our 10-year wedding anniversary. We were seated immediately and the meal was very good. I had read previous reviews and saw it was hit or miss. Our experience was definitely a hit. The restaurant and surrounding woods/river are a special and gorgeous setting. The service we received made the experience and meal outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I absolutely love dining at Shadowbrook ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 6 days ago

I absolutely love dining at Shadowbrook Restaurant. I always dine there when in the Capitola area. Food is always wonderful. The only downside to this visit was that the server was not personable at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

A very special place to dine. We've chos ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

A very special place to dine. We've chosen it on a couple of occasions to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had very late night reservation one time, and it was great. Lovely garden, and the trolley ride down is memorable. You can also walk on a path down if you are fit for doing so. The menu abounds with culinary delights, and the service is top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is probably our fifth time visiting ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is probably our fifth time visiting and have always had a great experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went here for our anniversary. Had a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 7 days ago

We went here for our anniversary. Had a very nice time. Food was good and service was great. We had reservations and were seated promptly. My only complaint was that we were seated in a room against a wall so we didn't have any view. Also, my medium filet was pretty rare.

We took advantage of the free shuttle from our hotel, (Capitola Hotel,) which was so convenient. We will be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had an excellent meal. My husband enjoye ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

Had an excellent meal. My husband enjoyed the shrimp scampi special. I had the artichoke soup and house salad. Mud pie for dessert was great. Sat out on the deck for a beautiful view and feeling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I selected this restaurant for a special ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

I selected this restaurant for a special occasion with a special person. We arrived early, with a reservation, to beat the rush and get a nice table. The only negative was that the manager came to the table and made some comment creating a sense that we were being rushed out. The evening evolved in a way where someone else joined us and we had a large bill and left a generous tip. I think the management would have preferred that we had our drinks at the bar and did not sit down until we were ready to eat. I find the dynamics of each date are different, and expect a reputable establishment to recognize this. If there is a McDonald's type policy of how long one can sit at a table, that should be articulated in the dining policy of the restaurant. I am also a very slow eater due to some medical issues, and need time to digest my food .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overwhelmed front desk. Service unprofe ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Overwhelmed front desk. Service unprofessional and the food so mismatched to the setting that it made it seem worse than it was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Beautiful place and great food......had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Beautiful place and great food......had a wonderful dinner with family.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner on Thursday night! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner on Thursday night!!! Our server was very nice!!! Dinner was delicious!!! We will see you next time we are in Aptos!!! Told my daughter how great your place is and she said I will see them in August!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, excellent service, excel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent ambiance. As always. Brought friends and they loved it as well. Appreciate such a constantly excellent restaurant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was only OK for the price. Our lamb ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was only OK for the price. Our lamb was overdone and chewy (2 dishes ordered medium rare), the potatoes slightly burnt, the lobster was chewy, the pasta had way too much garlic. We were discussing ordering a salad, and the waiter suggested splitting it, because their salads are large, but then they charged us $3 to split the salad. Not a huge deal, but it would have been nice if the waiter mentioned this.

Service was excellent and portions were a nice size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Food was outstanding. Our server Brent ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was outstanding. Our server Brent was outstanding.

Very good value. We were there for our anniversary and were completely satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great dining experience. We ha ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

It was a great dining experience. We had a wonderful window table by the river. Our waiter was hilarious and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a blissful visit 💕

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always a blissful visit 💕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

What a wonderful restaurant to celebrate ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant to celebrate an anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great all around, special spot, like a s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great all around, special spot, like a secret tree house!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was wonderful & we were s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The atmosphere was wonderful & we were seated at table with a great view of the river. The food as usual was exceptional. Our server Andrew S. was great. He has a wonderful sense of humor & is very knowledgeable with all aspect of the menu. We had a wonderful evening for our special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has to be THE spot in the Santa Cru ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This has to be THE spot in the Santa Cruz/Capitola area for fine dining. We have been here three times now, and it is always excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the best part of my mini vacati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was the best part of my mini vacation to the area. I had a dinner date with my daughter and we loved every minute. Great ambiance, great food. Would come here again in a heartbeat!! No complaints.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My mothers 90th birthday . She has lived ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My mothers 90th birthday . She has lived in Capitola for over 60 years.

Shadowbrook has always been her favorite place to go for special occasions.

Service was just fair. Scallops were tough (4 people all had them).

Will think twice before going again.

Sad......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Always good food and ambiance. Great to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always good food and ambiance. Great to bring visitors to, especially for the scenery and food. Make sure you take the cable car, walk the garden path, and go down to the creek.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the car that picks you up and tak ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I love the car that picks you up and takes you home.

The server started off great and then forgot us at the end of the evening. The food is reasonable priced for what you get and the atmosphere. We enjoyed the experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

My kale salad was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I wish that there was some way to reques ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I wish that there was some way to request one of the areas when reserving. The eating areas are not equal in ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

I love this restaurant, unfortunately th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I love this restaurant, unfortunately the food this time was not great. I do love the view, ambiance, and the service was fantastic.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

love the restaurant. We've been coming t ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

love the restaurant. We've been coming there for 40 years! It just keeps getting better and better!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner. Loved the calamari a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had a great dinner. Loved the calamari and the aieoli sauce.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been eagerly awaiting this visit f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had been eagerly awaiting this visit for years. We made the reservation for our anniversary celebration. We were seated at the restaurant not the bar. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. We were seated in between 2 large tables full of people who were super loud. We could barely hear each other. Food was just ok. I asked for a 3rd taste of possible glass of wine and was told "I am not sure if the bartender will do that" - oh please. Then when I made my choice - it took forever to arrive, I was almost over with my meal.

In fairness, we did get some truffles as I did say this was an anniversary dinner when I made the reservation. That was nice.

I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.