About Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola

1750 Wharf Rd.
Capitola, CA 95010
View Larger Map

In Capitola-by-the-Sea, beside lush Soquel Creek just before it empties into the Monterey bay, Shadowbrook is best reached by its own quaint, hillside 'cable car' or the meandering garden path alongside waterfalls, ferns and flowers. For over 60 years, Shadowbrook has been famous its for fine food, wine and liqueurs served in an atmosphere of Old World charm and grace. Now, better then ever, Shadowbrook is perfect for any special occasion...or for no occasion at all.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Winter Dining Hours: Mon-Fri 5:00pm-8:45pm Sat 4:30pm-9:30pm Sun 4:30pm-8:45pm Winter Rockroom Bar Menu Available: Mon-Sat 4:00pm-10:00pm Sunday 2:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Capitola Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 475-1511

Website:
http://www.shadowbrook-capitola.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Rock Room Lounge Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
The Shadowbrook has an in-house pastry department for banquet, wedding, or special occasion needs. For more information please call Allyson at 831-475-1222.

Parking Details:
Three private lots with complimentary parking for guests; disabled parking spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Roger Gowen

Private Party Facilities:
Shadowbrook's four private dining rooms are the perfect location for evening special events, receptions, and weddings for groups of 10 to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie: 8314751222x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mention to us that it is your birthday and receive a complimentary ice cream sundae.

Restaurant Photos

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Slow Cooked Prime Rib
Volcano  Lamb
Seafood Campanelle
Baked Brie
Artichoke Gnocchi
Surf And Turf
Filet Mignon and Shrimp Scampi
Martini Sampler
Jerk Salmon
Crab Cakes
Bacon Wrapped Prawns
Ceaser Salad
Salmon
Blackened Lamb House-Spiced Loin Of Lamb, Roasted Garlic-Buerre Rouge, Foraged Mushroom Bread Pudding And Coriander Carrot Puree
Cappuccino
"Bacon & Eggs"
Filet Mignon
Hawaiian Butterfish
Misoyaki Butterfish
Chocolate Volcano Cake
Chocolate Meltdown
Prime Rib
Artichoke Soup
Field Greens Salad
Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée Lemon Verbena Shortbread Garnish
Peach Tarte Tatin Upside Down Tart With Caramelized Fruit And Lavendar Ice Cream
Sea bass
Steak
Scallops
African Lobster
Sea Bass With Sweet Potatoes And Crab Ragoon Wonton
Silk Greyhound
New York
Molten Chocolate Lava Cake

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
Romantic
San Francisco Bay Area
Special Occasion
San Francisco Bay Area
8 More
Best Overall
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Food
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Service
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Ambiance
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Value
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Romantic
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Special Occasion
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Most Booked
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Restaurants in Capitola ›

Special Occasion (395)
Romantic (368)
Scenic View (357)
See All
Fit for Foodies (166)
Neighborhood Gem (163)
Great for Outdoor Dining (154)
Good for Groups (124)
Notable Wine List (101)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Good for a Date (63)
Worth the Drive (52)
Waterfront (46)
Historic (45)
Great for Lunch (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Kid-friendly (43)
Great for Brunch (39)
Hot Spot (38)
Cozy (31)
Fireplace (29)
Local Ingredients (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Late-night Find (21)
Fun (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Authentic (16)
Casual (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Healthy (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Family Style (9)
Private Room (8)
People Watching (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Live Music (7)
Seasonal (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4805 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for a birthday dinner on a Sunday. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for a birthday dinner on a Sunday. The ambiance at Shadowbrook is wonderful, including the amazing garden and the charming little trolley that takes diners down from the parking area to the restaurant. The food was excellent--much better than my last visit 5 years ago! The staff was attentive and my daughter and I shared a complimentary birthday sundae. A special place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the ambiance of the Shadowbrook. ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

Loved the ambiance of the Shadowbrook. It's located on the water and has a great outdoor seating area. We enjoyed the fried artichokes and home made potato chips with craft beer and wine. Our table was ready early so we were seated in the garden dining room. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. The Dodd was excellent. I had the slow roasted prime rib which was cooked to order while my husband had the Beef Wellington. He loved his dish served with scalloped potatoes and shaved Brussels sprouts. We were not rushed and had a great evening. For dessert we shared a couple of truffles which were perfect after our filling meal! Would recommend this restaurant without hesitation. It's been around forever and is still as good as ever. We walked down to the restaurant to enjoy the scenery but be sure to Ride the vernacular back up to the street level- it's fun!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I set up my parents with reservations he ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

I set up my parents with reservations here for their 35th anniversary. They had never been here before and I have never heard them say such great things about any restaurant before. They LOVED it, had nothing but amazing things to say and said they cannot wait to go back! Thanks for making their special occasion so memorable for them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very helpful and always av ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

The staff was very helpful and always available for us. I truly enjoyed going there for my birthday (Cherylinn). The restaurant was recommended by a hotel staff in Santa Cruz, we are from Los Angeles. Thank you Casablanca at the beach.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience in a beautif ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful dining experience in a beautiful setting. The service was top notch.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend ordered cod for dinner and aft ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

My friend ordered cod for dinner and after taking one bite became very ill. She is severely allergic to shell fish. The cook obviously cooked the cod in the unwashed pan he'd cooked scallops or something in. I sent them a complaint and have yet to hear one word from them. I will not be returning!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This dinner was a Super Bowl bet ! I be ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

This dinner was a Super Bowl bet ! I bet on the Broncos and won a dinner at Shadowbrook.

My friend came for Fresno. It was a delightful evening and the pork Osso Buco was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were celebrating two birthdays, a re ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We were celebrating two birthdays, a retirement & a trip to Spain. Seated next to the fireplace at a square table for 8 allowed for great conversation as well as excellent food and service. A great time was had by all! Thanks Shadowbrook! We will most certainly return!!

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious, service was ou ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Everything was delicious, service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, beautiful landscape, outstan ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great food, beautiful landscape, outstanding service, expensive but worth it for any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fun, Private Room, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lamb could use more flavor and more seas ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Lamb could use more flavor and more seasoning. Otherwise lamb wasn't too bad.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived on time as per our reservatio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We arrived on time as per our reservation,checked in with the hostess,was given a pager. After watching folks come in and being seated,waited thirty minutes to ask for seating. The hostess was confused,asked our name again and proceed to seat us.We noticed plenty of available seating.When ordering, I asked for a specific potato side which did not come with my serving.The menu was more interesting this time,and the Caeser salad was very good,they make their own dressing.The service is sharp,with the wait staff taking pride in a fine dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and meal. Went here for my ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great service and meal. Went here for my birthday with friends and family and everyone had a great time. The server checked up on us at the perfect time and never let us go without something we needed. Great filet mignon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top ten restaurant! Great food, great w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Top ten restaurant! Great food, great wine list, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We will usually choose the Shadowbrook t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We will usually choose the Shadowbrook to celebrate a special occasion. Our recent visit was to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary with our family. It seemed like the right place to come back to since we had our first date there 32 years ago.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I made reservations from a suggestion of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I made reservations from a suggestion of a friend who said that it was an exceptional experience. I wholeheartedly agree. From the moment we took the lift (such a cool way to enter a restaurant) to the twist and turns going down the stairs to our table, I felt like I entered Tolkien's elvish city. Shadowbrook was mysterious, magical, cozy and romantic. The service was top drawer with our waitperson never missing a bet to our needs. I plan on going back in November during the Thanksgiving holiday.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to celebrate any occassi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful place to celebrate any occassion with all ages.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had high expectations but was let down ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I had high expectations but was let down. Started the meal off with a dirty fork, not a speck but dirty. Prime Rib and lamb over cooked. Decanter had water in it when the server poured our wine in it.

Harold

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Shadowbrook it's an amazing place, my da ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Shadowbrook it's an amazing place, my daugthers and I, love the place. The food and service was great.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Scenic View, Family Style, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but not great. Our f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was good, but not great. Our filet and prime rib both were a bit overcooked. I think the plating could be more attractive, perhaps a garnish of some sort. The potato gratin and creamed spinach, although tasty, were both drab looking.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The review I just posted: This is a fine ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The review I just posted:

This is a fine place, but our last experience was awful. My wife, a vegetarian, ordered the cod dinner; the waiter returned to tell us that the kitchen failed to tell him that they were out of cod, and recommended the sole. My wife was disappointed, but agreed to the sole only to have it arrive on a dish that contained cubes of ham! My wife tried to fork the ham away, but the fish was permeated with the aroma of ham--not appetizing to a vegetarian. She did not want to send the meal back because that would require me to eat alone while they prepared a new dinner for her. We should have sent both meals back and started over, but my wife, not wanted to "make a fuss," opted to make an excuse about having to leave. We had the meals boxed up and drove 50 miles back home (I got to eat my by-then-dried-out prime rib on a tv tray (giving half to the dog; however, I did enjoy her sole the next day). Our meal was ruined for two reasons:

1. The kitchen failed to inform the servers they were out of one of their few fish dinners

2. The server should have informed my wife that the substitute fish dish he recommended contained meat, or perhaps given her the menu so she could read the full description of the meal. They have a "surf and turf" section on the menu, so who would think Petrale Sole would come with ham cubes?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Our visit was an indisputable delight. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our visit was an indisputable delight. From the initial friendliness of the greeting staff to

the presentation of the bill, every aspect of the evening was perfect. Our waiter (Andy) was not only knowledgeable about the evening's menu, but quickly sized up our demeanor and responded accordingly - making us quite comfortable.

Shadowbrook is simply a gem, a place that has grown over the years, while keeping quality and customer satisfaction as its tantamount goal.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has been a long time favorite of ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This has been a long time favorite of ours. The food and ambience cannot be beat. That said, we think this restaurant may be coasting on its reputation. Over the last several years we have noticed a definite trend in service, particularly in the waiters. They take the attitude that it is such a privilege to dine there, llke we're a couple of rubes stepping out of our class. Our waiter assumed it was our "maiden voyage" at Shadowbrook. In fact we've been going there off and on close to fifty years, long before he was even born. Since our reception seems to be a trend it is probably a reflection of the way they are trained as opposed to the individual waiter.

We were not offered bread until we asked for it. We were told we could order wine by the glass (bad option if one wants more than one glass), then told we could see the wine list if we preferred. We ordered a bottle and met with the comment, "Oh excellent choice for the price". Well, it was ONLY $36. which is in the lower tier price-wise for Shadowbrook. Although a very good New Zealand white Shadowbrook wines are grossly over priced.

Ambience is excellent, food is good (although I wouldn't say exceptional), service is pretentious. Will return, but not in a rush.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a nice time. Our server could ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had a nice time. Our server could have paid a little more attention to us before it got too busy. Our reservation was at 5:15 so it wasn't as busy early on.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The building is old, historic, beautiful ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The building is old, historic, beautiful & unique. The location is beautiful and unique in that it's situated on a steep hillside overlooking a river. Parking is at the top of the hill, and you must take stairs or a tram in order to reach the restaurant. We enjoyed the experience of riding the "hillevator" (hill elevator) so much that we rode it several times while waiting for our table. The stairs follow a beautiful meandering path with foliage, flowers, and waterfalls. The service was fabulous. The dining areas were many, scattered, beautiful, and unique. Much pricier than my normal range, but trust me, you HAVE to eat here at least once.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Fun, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

What an exquisite fine dining restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

What an exquisite fine dining restaurant... EVERYTHING about this place is just fantastic! Definitely going back and I highly recommend others to experience this hidden gem ❤️

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tjis was not our first time... Have been ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Tjis was not our first time... Have been going to this Resturaut for years. Quality of food went down for awhile... in the late 90's, but has come back with a New Chef and staff and it Rocks. the food is once again tha Star! Just celebrated our 24th Anniversery, left stuffedand happy.

SHADOWBROOK is back Baby!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here on a recommendation for our ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We came here on a recommendation for our wedding anniversary , great food, service was okay, our waiter looked like he was over worked, but he did pay more attention to the guests that were a little tipsy from the Art & Wine festival that took place earlier that day. I made reservations and showed up early enough to be seated at least quickly, but they were slammed packed with the "wine tasters" from the event so it took us a little time to get our table, none the less, we sat down and our waiter came quickly to take our drink order, tell us of his recommendations of appetizer and dinner selections and quickly walked off. He came back about 10 minutes or so later to ask for our order. We ordered the bacon covered shrimp (those were excellent by the way), then ordered our dinner as we already knew what we wanted. I got the prime rib which was delicious and the hubby got the scallops they were also tasty. As I said earlier, the waiter was great and attentive but did seem over worked. At the end of our dinner he came out with a cute little plate of chocolate truffles that were very good. All in all, I'd recommend this place and go back on a different day that isn't as busy.

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Reservations were made but still had to ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Reservations were made but still had to wait at least 20 minutes to be seated. Also had to ask for bread and the food took quite a while to be served. Other than that it was a wonderful atmosphere with seating in the garden room by the river and wonderful food. Our grandchildren liked the the special menu with pages for them to color. Overall we had an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I celebrated our 2nd Anniver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 2nd Anniversary this past Saturday here(9/10/16).

I originally knew of Shadowbrook from my brother's wedding held here in 2002.

We were seated right away on a 5pm reservation.

The service, food, ambiance, and scenic nature of this historic restaurant left us all with the feeling that we'd come to the right spot for such an occasion.

Thanks to the staff for a memorable evening.

We will definitely be back...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Historic, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love, Shadowbrook!!! I have ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Love, love, love, Shadowbrook!!! I have been dining here for decades. Always great food, exceptional service, and wonderful ambience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Shadowbrook ambiance is the very bes ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Shadowbrook ambiance is the very best for romantic, special occasions. Handcrafted cocktails are a nice feature. Food menu is overpriced for the quality. The prime rib is represented as a house specialty but my medium rare cut was chewy and no better than USDA Choice grade. I would have expected Prime grade for the mid-$30 price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

My girlfriends and I pick a special plac ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My girlfriends and I pick a special place to get together once a year. This year it was Capitola for the Art and Wine Festival. We thought THAT would be our "special event" for the weekend. However, we have now decided that dinner at The Shadowbrook was our special event!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for our prom reunited of 3 ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went there for our prom reunited of 39 yrs. was delicious. We have to eat gluten free now and there were some items that were marked gf but were really not fully gf. You need to be careful with that so others don't get contaminated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been hearing about Shadowbrook for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I've been hearing about Shadowbrook for years. I brought out of town guests to help me celebrate my 50th birthday. We loved the garden and the ambiance. The food was excellent from appetizers to dessert! A great place for special celebrations.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great building and location, steak was o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great building and location, steak was overdone...service ok...

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The last two times that we have eaten he ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The last two times that we have eaten here have been a disappointment. The atmosphere is great and the service staff are very good. However, the food tastes like it is cooked by short order cooks. The sides are usually barely warm and taste like they were sitting on the plate for a long time, waiting for main order. This last time I had to sent my order back as the meat was overcooked and tough. The previous time we ate here, you could tell that the plates had been sitting for a long time, before being served. Shadowbrook is a beautiful place and is a wonderful setting for special occasions. The owners need to pay more attention to the food being served and not rely just on their setting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Dynamite! We'd heard about the Shadowbro ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Dynamite! We'd heard about the Shadowbrook but hadnt had a chance to try it out til we had a birthday to celebrate. Its a bit spendy to be sure, but totally worth it! Everything was exquisite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This rstaurant is fantastic and the ambi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This rstaurant is fantastic and the ambiance is beyond compare. Our food was excellent and the best lamb I have had (blackened lamb). Highly recommend if you are in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best anniversary "dinner date ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

One of the best anniversary "dinner dates" we've ever had (except our 40th which was in France!) Food is excellent. Place is beautiful - surrounded by gardens and waterfalls, on Soquel Creek. Several rooms of varying sizes on different levels. Service fine. WE WILL BE BACK!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.