About Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola

1750 Wharf Rd.
Capitola, CA 95010
View Larger Map

In Capitola-by-the-Sea, beside lush Soquel Creek just before it empties into the Monterey bay, Shadowbrook is best reached by its own quaint, hillside 'cable car' or the meandering garden path alongside waterfalls, ferns and flowers. For over 60 years, Shadowbrook has been famous its for fine food, wine and liqueurs served in an atmosphere of Old World charm and grace. Now, better then ever, Shadowbrook is perfect for any special occasion...or for no occasion at all.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Winter Dining Hours: Mon-Fri 5:00pm-8:45pm Sat 4:30pm-9:30pm Sun 4:30pm-8:45pm Winter Rockroom Bar Menu Available: Mon-Sat 4:00pm-10:00pm Sunday 2:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Capitola Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 475-1511

Website:
http://www.shadowbrook-capitola.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Rock Room Lounge Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
The Shadowbrook has an in-house pastry department for banquet, wedding, or special occasion needs. For more information please call Allyson at 831-475-1222.

Parking Details:
Three private lots with complimentary parking for guests; disabled parking spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Roger Gowen

Private Party Facilities:
Shadowbrook's four private dining rooms are the perfect location for evening special events, receptions, and weddings for groups of 10 to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie: 8314751222x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mention to us that it is your birthday and receive a complimentary ice cream sundae.

Restaurant Photos

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Slow Cooked Prime Rib
Volcano  Lamb
Seafood Campanelle
Baked Brie
Artichoke Gnocchi
Surf And Turf
Filet Mignon and Shrimp Scampi
Martini Sampler
Jerk Salmon
Crab Cakes
Bacon Wrapped Prawns
Ceaser Salad
Salmon
Blackened Lamb House-Spiced Loin Of Lamb, Roasted Garlic-Buerre Rouge, Foraged Mushroom Bread Pudding And Coriander Carrot Puree
Cappuccino
"Bacon & Eggs"
Filet Mignon
Hawaiian Butterfish
Misoyaki Butterfish
Chocolate Volcano Cake
Chocolate Meltdown
Prime Rib
Artichoke Soup
Field Greens Salad
Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée Lemon Verbena Shortbread Garnish
Peach Tarte Tatin Upside Down Tart With Caramelized Fruit And Lavendar Ice Cream
Sea bass
Steak
Scallops
African Lobster
Sea Bass With Sweet Potatoes And Crab Ragoon Wonton
Silk Greyhound
New York
Molten Chocolate Lava Cake

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
Romantic
San Francisco Bay Area
Special Occasion
San Francisco Bay Area
8 More
Best Overall
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Food
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Service
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Ambiance
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Value
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Fit for Foodies
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Special Occasion
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Most Booked
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Restaurants in Capitola ›

Special Occasion (407)
Romantic (392)
Scenic View (362)
See All
Fit for Foodies (184)
Great for Outdoor Dining (158)
Neighborhood Gem (155)
Good for Groups (141)
Notable Wine List (108)
Vibrant Bar Scene (52)
Kid-friendly (47)
Great for Lunch (46)
Great for Brunch (45)
Hot Spot (42)
Late-night Find (18)
Good for a Date (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Waterfront (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
 (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Shadowbrook is the number one restau ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

The Shadowbrook is the number one restaurant in the County to bring people from out of town especially. The entrance, the visual experience and the food are all top of the line. But not priced top of the line. Your friends will never forget it. Plus it is privately owned, not a chain. The owners support the local community by donating a share of the proceeds on certain nights to charity.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good: however, I had made re ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was good: however, I had made reservations and indicated I desired a window seat as soon as I arrived. When we were seated the hostess wanted to seat us at a table with no view at all. After some negotiation she allowed us to sit at a table with a slightly better view. We then saw two tables by the window with no guests and we asked for one of them only to be denied saying they were reserved. I find that to be unsettling as I was told that window seats could not be reserved. This was a low point of the evening as I had hoped for this type of table due to it being my wife's birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Wine suggestion from our waiter was spot ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wine suggestion from our waiter was spot on!! Prime rib and beef Wellington were very good. Appetizers of artichoke hearts and artichoke soup were only fair. Could have skipped them. Delicious entrees and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fabulous experience! Fantastic dining!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous experience! Fantastic dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The dining areas ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent. The dining areas are divided into many rooms, and we were told that the outdoor areas was closed because a server called in sick. We ate in the unreserved, outdoor area because we were told that our reservation would be delayed 20 minutes. Nice ambiance and landscaping.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I have eaten here before. The food was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have eaten here before. The food was delicious but we felt like we were at a Family restaurant. Every person around us had children who were very loud and sometimes crying. I just think that the price of the food and the atmosphere don't go together. The restaurant is huge so maybe they should seat all parties with children is one section and leave the other sections for couples or adult parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Traveling the coast and what a pleasant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Traveling the coast and what a pleasant dinner experience, lovely decor very charming. If I'm ever in the area again I'd love to revisit. My dinner was excellent!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We love coming to Shadowbrook. Our chil ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We love coming to Shadowbrook. Our children gave us a gc for Christmas. The prime rib & pork rib was delish!! Our waiter was very attentive. Loved the warm rolls!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Organic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time here to celebrate our anniversa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

2nd time here to celebrate our anniversary. Wonderful place for a romantic dinner, great food & beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. A unique ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. A unique environment for dining. A little expensive.

Tags: Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious and waiter attentive ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious and waiter attentive without hovering. Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our second dining experience at ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is our second dining experience at Shadowbrook. Our first was to celebrate our

anniversary. Reservation required a credit card for party of 6. Highly recommend a reservation. We were seated in a timely fashion. Service excellent. Our calamari appetizer

was rather small in portion but delicious as was the brie appetizer. Several ordered the

steak and none was disappointed. I ordered the pork chops which was quite ample in size

and very tender. My granddaughter, 12 years old, has a rather limited palate so it was difficult

for her to order something. She eventually ordered the shrimp scampi and appeared to be

happy with that. I recommend this for a very special occassion since it is rather expensive. We just came from the beach so our attire was rather under dressed but they were very accomodating despite their dress code. Wines were affordable and their ice cream sampler, which is home made, was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The ambiance is great here but the food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The ambiance is great here but the food is a hit/miss. Which is a shame. A few people I've talked to about this place also said the same. The Slow-Roasted Angus Prime Rib was great! The Roasted Cod with Soy-Ginger Plum Salsa and the Slow-Roasted 'Bone-In' Pork Prime Rib is something I wouldn't recommend having. I liked the bar area had live entertainment and the cocktails were good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Loved the dinner...but the waiting in ba ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Loved the dinner...but the waiting in bar area got to be too much. The trio was singing soooooo loudly you couldn't talk. plus older folks were parked on the bar stools facing the musicians and not drinking or moving. Gets tricky trying to order a drink and stay out of the barmaids area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Shadowbrook is one of the restaurants th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Shadowbrook is one of the restaurants that, to me, is very, very comfortable. While seemingly upscale, it's really kind of a low-key, classic place with a fantastic venue. We've dined there two times this past week and both experiences have been wonderful. The first time, I ordered my old stand-by, the Pacific Rim Salmon, and it was fantastic. This last time, I ventured out of my 'comfort zone' and ordered the almond encrusted sole. For the first time that I can remember, I was sorely disappointed. It was somewhat mushy and the breading on the sole was downright awful. That said, everyone else had a wonderful meal and our wait-person, Cassidy, was very attentive and friendly. After, we sat in the bar and listened to their Friday night performer who, I swear, must be related to Gordon Lightfoot. Will I go back? Of course. However, forget the sole and stick with the salmon ... or the beef ... or ....

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfection! Fabulous! Wonderful! Delicio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Perfection! Fabulous! Wonderful! Delicious!

Romantic! Will definitely visit again!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal and dining experienc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a great meal and dining experience when at Shadowbrook. Our waiter was excellent and food delicious. It was our adult children's first visit and they loved it.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my best friend here to celebra ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I brought my best friend here to celebrate our anniversaries. Our husbands passed away (mine in 2012 and her's in 2014). We are close friends and neighbors and I knew this was the best way to celebrate the future!! My husband and I celebrated our very last anniversary at the Shadowbrook in 2011. Thank you for providing a very unique and special experience, as always!! The beef wellington was superb as was the creme brûlée!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It has been over 12 years since I have v ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It has been over 12 years since I have visited this gem. It stood up to match my prior memories as a fine dining, great date place. I had the prime rib, my date the lamb and both were done to perfection as was the clam chowder. We had been wine tasting the coast for a few days so we brought out own wine, but we looked at the wine list it would have met our wants. With this trip and dining stop, I am sure that my next trip there will not be so long!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to Shadowbrook in 35 years ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I hadn't been to Shadowbrook in 35 years because I moved away. We were in Carmel celebrating our 30th anniversary and decided to drive over to Shadowbrook. It was as wonderful as I remembered it. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is Fantastic in every wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This restaurant is Fantastic in every way! The food was Very good. The service was superb. Alison made our experience very special. Many thanks to her. We are only a hour and half away, but will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for our wedding anniversary. Asked ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Came for our wedding anniversary. Asked for a window table on the online reservation. Hostess was wonderfully accommodating and seated us at a great table. Waiter was very good and meals were exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The entire experience far exceeded all e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The entire experience far exceeded all expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 2nd wedding and the staff ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Celebrated our 2nd wedding and the staff was absolutely incredible. Food was perfect, our waiter comped up chocolate truffles. .....always a perfect date night at Shadowbrook!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is kind of kitschy. Food is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This place is kind of kitschy. Food is just average but the staff is lovely, excellent wine list, and interesting decor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Our first time here and we celebrated my ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our first time here and we celebrated my husband's birthday. Everyone on staff wished him happy birthday and he got a special birthday dessert. Food was amazing as well as our view of the river. More than met our expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been coming to Shaddowbrook for ove ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Have been coming to Shaddowbrook for over 50 years when visiting Santa Cruz. Always a memorable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing place, and fantastic service. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing place, and fantastic service. We were sit in a table with view to the river, really nice!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The hillside setting and ambience make S ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The hillside setting and ambience make Shadowbrook unique. The food is quite good but not exceptional. My companions had the scallops, which were somewhat overlooked and a bit stringy. On the other hand, the pork chop I had was excellent. Service was prompt and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Asked for a window table. Got one over l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Asked for a window table. Got one over looking trees can do that at home VERRY DIsapponted in the table Also. food was not as it use to be. Please improve.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This is a fabulous, memorable place. The ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is a fabulous, memorable place. The food was outstanding, and prices reasonable for the quality. My only criticism is that the tables that line the windows are just a tad close. Hard for the back to back sitters to have comfortable room in and out.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant. The atmosphere, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding restaurant. The atmosphere, food and service were absolutely top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'll talk about the good points first. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I'll talk about the good points first. It's a nice quaint restaurant. Food was good and there was a nice garden area and tram to ride down to the actual restaurant. Here comes the bad bad... I made a reservation for 8:30pm on a Saturday. Got there 30 minutes early and waited at the bar area and got some drinks. They were running 15 minutes late and gave me a hand buzzer. Then comes 9:00pm and a good amount spent on drinks. I ask the hostess and she said they had buzzed me around 3 times. Turns out the buzzer didn't work. Strike one. They should have tested it when they gave it to me. So they tried to seat us in 5 minutes or so. Waiter was really nice. I'm sure he knew they messed up already. Then he forgot our salad. Strike two. So we ended up not getting our main meals until about 10pm. Clam chowder was really good. My prime rib was a bit overcooked. I wanted medium-rare. Mashed potatoes was a little creamier than I liked. I didn't complain about he steak though. He did try to make it up to us with a free small upgraded dessert (melted chocolate was really good) and coffee. Toward the end of our main meals though we were already getting full with all the drinking while waiting for our seats. It was our anniversary so they do give you a little dessert for free. The fellow serving the bread was really nice to us too. He offered to take photos for us at a few locations. Overall, it is a nice place and maybe it was just an off night but I'm not sure we'll be back again. I think we would have been a little happier if they gave us at least some kind of discount. And I did still tip of course.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Shadowbrook has been a favorite for many ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Shadowbrook has been a favorite for many years dating back to the 60's. Hadn't been for quite a while as we now live out of town. Had a reservation for 12 for a mini family reunion and wasn't disappointed in the ambiance which is more beautiful than I remember. The food was excellent with a beautiful presentation. The only down side was the service. The busboy spilt ice water right in front of me, just said uh oh and wasn't quick in cleaning it up and then gave me a wine stained napkin to cover up the tablecloth. Other than that it was a beautiful evening and I would definitely make a point of returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We arrived an hour before our reservatio ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We arrived an hour before our reservations. We checked in early and told them we would be in the bar and were given a device to tell us when our table would be ready. The hostess said to check back in a half an hour. We did. When our reservation time came up they still had not notified us. I went up to the hostess again. She said no problem just a few minutes. I went back again to the hostess to find out what is going on. She laughed and told me that they forgot to check us in. I was not amused. So,TWO hours later we finally got our table. Nobody apologized or offered us any comps. This was a special occasion that went bad and we spent over $250 on dinner. Thanks so much Shadowbrook.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Good food, great service, beautiful sett ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good food, great service, beautiful setting and experience. Have them pick you up and take you back in their 1950 taxi. Just adds to the experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Shadowbrook is a must for at least one t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Shadowbrook is a must for at least one time for view, history, and ambiance. However, because of its popularity, the restaurant does what it can to turnover tables. Service is fast, the food is faster, and as a result, the quality suffers. We ordered Blackened Lamb which in the past has been delicious, yet this time was sloppily applied to three plates of the five guests. Furthermore, the bread pudding, which has been fantastic in the past, was obviously precooked, and then heated because it was clearly overdone and hard to manage. Unfortunately, the Shadowbrook seems to have lost its charm. I hope it returns to its former glory!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Flavor of food was good but everything ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Flavor of food was good but everything we ordered was over cooked.

Seared ahi appetizer was not just seared but fish was cooked through all the way.

Seared Scallops entree was extremely chewy because they were over cooked.

Filet mignon requested for it to be cooked medium, it was medium well. Also the flavor was lacking on this dish.

Restaurant has potential but how well things are cooked make s a huge difference on a dish. A disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We arrived 30 minutes earlier than our s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We arrived 30 minutes earlier than our scheduled reservation hoping that they would take us a little earlier, no such luck ended up waiting an additional 20 minutes. The service was a little slow, (prime dinner time). My scallops were very delicious The mushroom sauce was to die for. Other people in our party ordered the brick baked hen, shrimp pasta dish and both enjoyed their entree. The fourth person ordered the house specialty: prime cut pork and was not too crazy about it. The ambience of the restaurant is really neat, with the flowers and waterfalls as you walk down to the restaurant. The cable car was neat too. I would recommend this restaurant when visiting Capitola.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

the service was a little weak... but i t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

the service was a little weak... but i think the waiter was covering way too many tables. food was great... but the minestrone was disappointing. basically marinara and steamed veggies. the house marinated olives, baked brie and salmon were all excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.