About Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola

1750 Wharf Rd.
Capitola, CA 95010
View Larger Map

In Capitola-by-the-Sea, beside lush Soquel Creek just before it empties into the Monterey bay, Shadowbrook is best reached by its own quaint, hillside 'cable car' or the meandering garden path alongside waterfalls, ferns and flowers. For over 60 years, Shadowbrook has been famous its for fine food, wine and liqueurs served in an atmosphere of Old World charm and grace. Now, better then ever, Shadowbrook is perfect for any special occasion...or for no occasion at all.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Winter Dining Hours: Mon-Fri 5:00pm-8:45pm Sat 4:30pm-9:30pm Sun 4:30pm-8:45pm Winter Rockroom Bar Menu Available: Mon-Sat 4:00pm-10:00pm Sunday 2:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Capitola Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 475-1511

Website:
http://www.shadowbrook-capitola.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Rock Room Lounge Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
The Shadowbrook has an in-house pastry department for banquet, wedding, or special occasion needs. For more information please call Allyson at 831-475-1222.

Parking Details:
Three private lots with complimentary parking for guests; disabled parking spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Roger Gowen

Private Party Facilities:
Shadowbrook's four private dining rooms are the perfect location for evening special events, receptions, and weddings for groups of 10 to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie: 8314751222x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mention to us that it is your birthday and receive a complimentary ice cream sundae.

Restaurant Photos

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola
Slow Cooked Prime Rib
Volcano  Lamb
Seafood Campanelle
Baked Brie
Artichoke Gnocchi
Surf And Turf
Filet Mignon and Shrimp Scampi
Crab Cakes
Bacon Wrapped Prawns
Martini Sampler
Jerk Salmon
Ceaser Salad
Salmon
Blackened Lamb House-Spiced Loin Of Lamb, Roasted Garlic-Buerre Rouge, Foraged Mushroom Bread Pudding And Coriander Carrot Puree
"Bacon & Eggs"
Cappuccino
Filet Mignon
Misoyaki Butterfish
Chocolate Volcano Cake
Hawaiian Butterfish
Chocolate Meltdown
Prime Rib
Artichoke Soup
Field Greens Salad
Peach Tarte Tatin Upside Down Tart With Caramelized Fruit And Lavendar Ice Cream
Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée Lemon Verbena Shortbread Garnish
Steak
Scallops
Sea bass
Sea Bass With Sweet Potatoes And Crab Ragoon Wonton
African Lobster
Molten Chocolate Lava Cake
New York
Silk Greyhound

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
Romantic
San Francisco Bay Area
Special Occasion
San Francisco Bay Area
9 More
Best Overall
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Food
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Service
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Ambiance
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Value
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Romantic
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Special Occasion
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Most Booked
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Restaurants in Capitola ›

special occasion (359)
romantic (344)
scenic view (315)
See All
fit for foodies (158)
neighborhood gem (142)
great for outdoor dining (138)
good for groups (134)
notable wine list (97)
vibrant bar scene (56)
great for brunch (47)
hot spot (39)
kid-friendly (37)
great for lunch (33)
late-night find (18)
Sort By:
Newest
4559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Family dining at its finest. What a wond ...

vip
Dined a day ago

Family dining at its finest. What a wonderful experience. Our waiter was well versed in serving families. Everyone felt important, including me. That's hard to do. Food was above average, very surprised how Shadowbrook delivered.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always great here. I had tru ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food is always great here. I had truffle gnocchi with filet. It was the best gnocchi I have ever had. My sister had the pork prime rib. It was great.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Restaurant was fine. However, using the ...

Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant was fine. However, using the open table reservation system starts a stream of irritating spam from open table by default. Recommend contacting restaurant directly to make reservations to avoid this pest.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I enjoyed this restaurant but had a few ...

Dined 5 days ago

I enjoyed this restaurant but had a few let downs along the way. My wife and I celebrated our one year anniversary here and it was a great place for this but we made a reservation for 8:30 p.m., which is usually when restaurants start winding down and less people come in. Unfortunately this was not the case. We waited 45 minutes for a table (which was 45 minutes after our reservation). This was ok to me because I got to try their amazing Ginger Manhattan but my wife was getting a little Hangry seeing as how we were expecting to be munching on an appetizer at that time. Once we finally got seated we had already had a drink so it was on to the dinner menu. It was very vast but had some outages that night. We ate the brie and it was very good and our main courses were as well good. The restaurant was filled with plants and being plant lovers, my wife and I loved it. Overall it was a great dinner, the only thing I would caution is get there early and expect to wait.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The place was quirky and romantic. If yo ...

Dined 5 days ago

The place was quirky and romantic. If you can, take the stairs down to the restaurant and look at the lovely garden that surrounds Shadowbrook. The staff were all very friendly and professional and the food was very good. My only complaint would be having to wait more than half an hour after my reservation time to be seated.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The stroll arriving to the restaurant is ...

Dined 5 days ago

The stroll arriving to the restaurant is stunning and only gets more beautiful once you're seated. The menu is extensive and varied. The food is very good and the servers are helpful and friendly. We had reservations, but still had a bit of a wait to get seated. This place fills up quickly , so book early. If you're looking for a fun dining experience this is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took our daughter for her birthday last ...

Dined 5 days ago

Took our daughter for her birthday last year. We hadn't been in over 20 years, but thought she'd enjoy the beautiful gardens, views and charm including the cable car. We were pleasantly surprised that Shadowbrook not only delivered on the gardens etc, but had greatly improved the quality of the food which we remembered as being okay but nothing spectacular. We shared our experience of last year with friends who had also been to Shadowbrook in the past and had the same opinion, beautiful ambience mediocre food. Took our friends with us to celebrate my wife's birthday. We had reservations for 7 on a Saturday night, so the place was packed. We had to wait 15 minutes past the reservation time because of the size of our group-- a whopping 6! Service started slow, but waitperson made up for it later(she was very busy). Cocktails were delicious, especially salted caramel apple and for the teetotaler, nothing better than a nada colada. Our daughter is vegetarian and was thrilled to find a whole menu section dedicated to vegan and vegetarian dishes. Her tofu was delicious. So were my wife's scallops. Prime rib was a little over done for medium, but that may be a function of not having been there in so long we were not familiar with what they consider medium. Wonderful Merlot to accompany, best I've had. Waitperson overheard us toasting my wife's birthday and brought her a complimentary Sundae. She also saw our daughter trying to take a group picture and volunteered to take a group photo. Very nice of her since she climbed the staircase to get an overhead shot. We had appetizers, cocktails, wine and 6 entrees and still got out for under $400 with a 20% tip included. Other than the pain of driving an hour over highway 17, it was great and we'll be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

It's a beautiful restaurant, pearched on ...

Dined 5 days ago

It's a beautiful restaurant, pearched on a hill side with great view looking out on the coastline. The restaurant has a number of seperate dining areas with some more desirable than others. Unfortunatley we had one of the less desirable dining areas. It was very crowded and the noise level was horrible. We had a party of six and our table butted into one of the walls (wine display) and the two people sitting there were very cramped, plus it was very difficult to hold a conversation due to the extreme noise level. One of the people in our party complained that she had difficulty hearing our waiter when he was trying to explain the nightly specials due to the noise. Also our waiter was very knowledegable, but we really didn't need to know what his family members favorite dishes were. In the future I will know to request a different dining room.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit and we were not disappo ...

Dined 5 days ago

First time visit and we were not disappointed. Everyone was really nice and the food and drinks were amazing ! Great way to celebrate our Anniversary 😀

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Shadow Brook doesn't disappoint! Always ...

Dined 6 days ago

Shadow Brook doesn't disappoint! Always a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought my family to dinner here to shar ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Brought my family to dinner here to share memories from my childhood with my parents. Food was amazing and service was great. Love the natural beauty of the restaurant and grounds are very well-maintained. Would come for dinner again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had first eaten here ab ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

My husband and I had first eaten here about 25 years ago and it was fabulous then. I took my 13 year old granddaughter this time and it was just as fabulous now! Everything is super clean and looks brand new. Our server Nick and his assistant Blake were over the top wonderful. Needless to say this will not be my last time here, but I won't wait 25 years before I come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing ambience and views. Excellent se ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Amazing ambience and views. Excellent service. My date's prime rib was pretty good, my filet mignon was delicious. House made tiramisu was also delicious. Had wonderful experience, would definitely again and recommend to friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an all-time, must-eat-at restaur ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

This is an all-time, must-eat-at restaurant. From the moment you arrive, you're graced with a luxury experience. The walk or ride down is gorgeous and each room gives you a small restaurant feel, no matter where you sit. The food is amazing and the service matches. Make a res - you can't just walk in. And spend some time enjoying the wonderful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Shadowbrook was fantas ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Our experience at Shadowbrook was fantastic. From the moment we stepped onto the trolley (so fun & romantic), we knew we were in for a special night. The food was delicious, the staff were great, extremely friendly & attentive, and the ambiance of the restaurant was sensational. The property is gorgeous, after dinner we took a small stroll down the multi-level patios and enjoyed the night lights and water. We will most definitely be back, again & again, in the future. Well done!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has been our favorite place for yea ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

This has been our favorite place for years. Whenever we are in the Santa Cruz area, we stop in. Our waiter, Cassidy, was professional and attentive. The food was outstanding, as always.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great, the place was so ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was great, the place was so charming & we loved the car pick up from our hotel! We live in the East Bay & definitely worth the trip !!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal in celebration of our 30th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Awesome meal in celebration of our 30th Wedding Anniversary!!! My wife and I shared the Filet Mignon and the twin Australian lobster tails and were unable to decide whether the Filet or the lobster was the most tender and flavorfull; both were spectacular!!! In addition, the service provider by our waiter David was top shelf, very attentive - his presence as iconic as the restaurant itself; David has apparently been working there since Nixon was President!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the best restaurant I have ever ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

This was the best restaurant I have ever been to. The food was Awesome the Filet Migjon was cooked a perfect medium rare. Awesome Galic Mashed Potatoes. And my husband had the Honey Apple Glazed Pork Chop that was out of this world. The Shadowbtook is located in a Lush Garden setting surrounded by Beautiful Trees. And you can walk up a garden path to get to this restaurant or take a cable car up to restaurant Wonderful Restaurant. Will go back next time I am in Czpitola

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant. I have ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant. I have going there for decades

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We posted our experience on Facebook an ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We posted our experience on Facebook and others have already gone there as a result! They were very understanding when we got caught in traffic on our way there! Loved it all!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Shadowbrook! It's my go-to restaura ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Love Shadowbrook! It's my go-to restaurant for special occasions. Beautiful view, pleasant ambiance, and very good food. I highly recommend it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a delightful to return to ShadowB ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

It was a delightful to return to ShadowBrook for a wonderful dinner. The food was outstanding and each item prepared with care. We enjoyed seafood and fish plus a local wine that was delicious. The waiter was very knowledgable about the menu and the wine list. This was a special treat at a very special restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great anniversary dinner here. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We had a great anniversary dinner here. We ate outside on a lovely evening. We enjoyed the fried artichokes and split the BLT salad which was yummy. I had the filet. It was cooked well but lacked seasoning. The potato casserole also needed salt and some of the potatoes were still crunchy, but the mushroom and onion saute was great. Dessert was an ice cream pie that we devoured. I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality all around...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Quality experience: Location, ambience, food, crowd & service... Hadn't been there in years, and was thrilled it was even better than I had remembered--which was hard to beat. We loved our waiter, Andrew. So professional yet personable--he made the experience top quality. My only constructive criticism would be it was so crowded (in a good way) that the "intimacy" factor was not there so it felt less "romantic" and "special" because you were there with a crowd. Now, with that said, as soon as we were seated, the intimacy was present : )

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible Experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

Wow! Amazing ambience - beautiful building that seems to blend in to the lush forest like surroundings. Impeccable service - I felt like a celebrity. The cocktails and food were so incredible. I'm dying to go back. One more special perk- there is an old school car that can pick you up and take you back home if you are staying in the area. A can't miss experience!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Shadowbrook was a family best for birthd ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Shadowbrook was a family best for birthdays and special events, and it holds true today. Shared many memories over a fabulous birthday dinner with my sister. Everyone made us feel welcomed and appreciative. The whole experience was wonderful, as it was when we were kids.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PERFECT dining experience. Everything was 100%

Dined on June 7, 2016

I came to Santa Cruz on a girls trip and I/(we) were so amazed with this place that I had to make the 3 hour drive back a few weeks later so I could take my husband for our Anniversary dinner. This place has absolutely taken the #1 spot on my "best places to eat" list. The food was more than delicious, and the service was phenomenal! Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and even made some very good recommendations (the calamari appetizer was recommended to us - SO GOOD!). The wait staff was also very attentive to their tables - our drink glasses were never empty (it's the little things). The only thing I regret about dining here is that my stomach wasn't bigger and I couldn't eat everything that was in front of me. When you come, come hungry - the food portions are generous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

None

Dined on June 6, 2016

Good food but lamb and steak were a bit overdone. Service ok but indifferent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to Shadowbrook

Dined on June 5, 2016

Recommended by our friend and it's our first time here. The restaurant is easy to find and parking is not too hard. Love taking the trolley down to the main restaurant and taking the stairs up, the view is nice at night. Food is good, we ordered Fried Calamaris for appetizer, my bf got Filet Mignon, our friend ordered tonight's special Black Truffle Gnocchi, I got Seafood Campanelle. Everything is cooked perfect, the meat is very tender and juicy. We ordered 3 kind of desserts, I would say they are above the average but not as impressive as our main entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Evening

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful dinner and view. So relaxing in your enchanted hide away.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks for making a special evening even better!

Dined on June 5, 2016

We were planning a special trip for my daughter's 13 birthday for her and her friends. When we decided on Capitola, she asked, "Can we have dinner at Shadowbrook?" I set a reminder on my calendar to make a reservation through Open Table. When I made the reservation I added in the comments that we would be celebrating my daughter's 13th birthday. On the afternoon of our reservation I received a text message from a Shadowbrook employee asking if they could do something to make this event even more special. She offered to send their two classic cars to pick our group up for dinner. I did not tell the girls, so they were very surprised when the drivers arrived. It was the highlight of their evening! We have visited Shadowbrook many times, and it has always been a favorite. We will always remember how they went out of their way to make our daughter's day memorable!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorit always for special times and memories

Dined on June 5, 2016

Best place for those special occasions to remember. Ammbiance was wonderful.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Shadow Brook with wife on date night

Dined on June 5, 2016

Has been a long time since my last visit at Shadow Brook, the food quality was incredible, table service and ambiance was above expectations, my wife and I were very pleased and look forward to our next visit later this year!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Overall our group, esp. my wife, Nelda was please

Dined on June 4, 2016

Shocked (seriously) when the take-home box was only a small slice of the pork. I asked for the bones with meat and the slice mentioned to be boxed for take home. Truly disappointed.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Back again after 30 years

Dined on June 4, 2016

This is our first time back to the Shadowbrook in over 30 years. Pros: Beautiful gardens and view of the water, excellent staff, great food (the citrus sole is delicious), reasonable prices, Cons: We were seated in one of the rear areas even though there were plenty of tables with a water view. Had to request being moved. The décor is a little outdated for my taste. I don't think it's changed much since we last came. (but it is very clean). Lastly, the tram was being serviced just as we were leaving...8-ish on a Friday night. That's a tough climb back up to the parking lot for anyone elderly or with difficulty walking. Would definitely go back. The food is worth it.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Shadowbrook

Dined on June 3, 2016

We went to Shadowbrook to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. We started with cocktails on the heated deck (didn't need the heat as it was hot). Service and view were great. Then we moved into the dining room for our dinner reservations and had a delightful server, Alice. The busman was also wonderful. Both made us feel special. The food was great from bread to dessert. The busman recommended mud pie and it was the best I've had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shadowbrook was totally AWESOME!

Dined on June 2, 2016

Have been coming to Shadowbrook over the years and this last occasion topped the cake! Server was attentive, witty, with great suggestions and service was bar none. Food pairings were tasty and the Pecan/Poppyseed Bread Pudding sealed the deal. Truly moved to the top of my list as my favorite restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

What A View

Dined on May 31, 2016

The minute you approach the restaurant you are captivated by the lush landscaping. The short tram ride takes you into the restaurant or you can walk down. Very inviting bar with good cocktails. Dinner was good but the service a little slow. But we weren't in a hurry. Oso buck s little greasy. Blackened lamb very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Great Service!

Dined on May 30, 2016

Went to the Shadowbrook for our anniversary dinner! Ordered the special (filet and gnocchi). Hands down the best food I've ever had. Our waitress was very accommodating and personable. We were seated in the wine cellar and loved the ambiance! Would definitely come back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.