Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola

In Capitola-by-the-Sea, beside lush Soquel Creek just before it empties into the Monterey bay, Shadowbrook is best reached by its own quaint, hillside 'cable car' or the meandering garden path alongside waterfalls, ferns and flowers. For over 60 years, Shadowbrook has been famous its for fine food, wine and liqueurs served in an atmosphere of Old World charm and grace. Now, better then ever, Shadowbrook is perfect for any special occasion...or for no occasion at all.

1750 Wharf Rd.
Capitola, CA 95010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Summer Dining Hours: Mon-Thu 5:00pm-8:45pm, Friday 4:30pm-8:45pm Sat 4:00pm-9:45pm Sun 4:00pm-8:45pm Summer Rockroom Bar Menu Available: Mon-Fri 4:00pm-10:00pm Saturday 3:30pm-10:00pm Sunday 2:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Capitola Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 475-1511

Website:
http://www.shadowbrook-capitola.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Rock Room Lounge Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
The Shadowbrook has an in-house pastry department for banquet, wedding, or special occasion needs. For more information please call Stephanie at 831-475-1222.

Parking Details:
Three private lots with complimentary parking for guests; disabled parking spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Roger Gowen

Private Party Facilities:
Shadowbrook's four private dining rooms are the perfect location for evening special events, receptions, and weddings for groups of 10 to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie: (831) 475-1222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mention to us that it is your birthday and receive a complimentary ice cream sundae.

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (156)
Romantic (150)
Special Occasion (144)
See All
Scenic View (137)
Good for Anniversaries (136)
Worth the Drive (113)
Good for Birthdays (109)
Waterfront (95)
Historic (90)
Cozy (74)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Quiet Conversation (61)
Fun (57)
Local Ingredients (48)
Fireplace (48)
Authentic (48)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Notable Wine List (47)
Good for Groups (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Bar Seating (40)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Casual (31)
Business Meals (26)
Happy Hour (25)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Private Room (23)
Healthy (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Family Style (19)
Live Music (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
People Watching (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Disabled Access (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Seasonal (12)
Organic (8)
Great Beer (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vegan (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
 (1)
Dancing (1)
Tapas (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
5374 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a pleasure. Early birthday dinner that went very smoothly even with two children in our party. Service was top notch. Filet mignon was a little more done than I'd hoped, but still very good. The hillavator is always a hit and the stairs provide such a nice touch offering lots of photo opps to commemorate the occasion. We'll be back. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I found the service excellent, the food well-prepared and great for the value....all of my guests enjoyed the experience and it was not as big a hit on my wallet as I thought...good value!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place! Our first time here for a birthday. Wonderful food and ambiance!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to Shadowbrook several time through out the years, and decided to celebrate our 25th anniversary day dinner there. Made reservation about a week prior, and requested a table with view, and informed them of this special occasion. Arrived at restaurant, and was seated at a table near the kitchen. So disappointed we chose Shadowbrook. Noisy for us, as it was near kitchen and near hall way leading to bathrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I am a frequent diner at Shadowbrook. This dinner was a 70th birthday celebration with old friends from the days when we all flew for the airlines in the 1970s. Four of us five were British and had never been to the restaurant before. They were enchanted! They raved about every single thing. I was happy they were delighted as it was my suggestion that we dine there. Once again, Shadowbrook was a shining star!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Have had the pleasure of dining at Shadowbrook for several decades. My Grandmother lived almost directly across from Shadowbrook and I remember being able to row across the river with family to dine. The food is always excellent with a large wine selection and many locally supplied foods. The staff is always very pleasant and knowledgable of the cuisine. We did have a large family reunion dinner which was handled very well. Looking forward to my next dining experience there.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We made sure to stop off here on our way home from whale watching in Monterey . Everything was great from the well kept gardens to our friendly waiter all the way to our food ! I snapped some beautiful pictures of our view from our table .

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Shadowbrook got to be one of the best restaurants in the area. Beautiful surroundings- like an oasis - and then you are treated to great service and delicious food, especially the steaks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 22, 2017

Your food, ambience and the tram were impeccable! Cassidy, our waiter, was very good. The pork I ate was so tender it fell off the bone, and my crepes and tea for dessert really hit the spot! Thank you!

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on May 22, 2017

This is absolutely one of my favorite restaurants. Shadowbrook is perfect for date night or friendly get together's. The bar, live music, landscaping, waterfront location, and décor create an unbeatable ambiance. The food isn't cheap but the quality is definitely worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 21, 2017

Shadowbrook is still the most romantic place for a big date. Of course we had to return last Sunday for our 50th anniversary. Many great memories over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fantastic food and the service was impeccable. I would recommend this place to all my friends and family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Good historic location but it seems that is what you are paying for. The service was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The food was just ok. My daughter and I both ordered the Filet Mignon prepared Medium. While hers was certainly more well done, mine was completely over done and sonmuch so that I actually sent it back. Fresh grilled vegetable (aka carrots and broccolini)
on the other hand were absolutely undercooked. For the price point I have had and would expect FAR better.
The website is clear you can't request a specific dining room with your reservation. So wondering if there is someone you have to pay to be treated to the clearly superior rooms? Even with a reservation placed over 2 months ahead, we were led past 2 or 3 floors of warmly lit carpeted rooms with interesting rocks and fireplaces, only to be relegated to the bottom floor with tables lined single file in rows on either side of the narrow room. The white table clothes were not nearly enough to create the same special feeling and ambiance of the dining rooms above. It felt like the summer camp cafeteria but with tablecloths.
While the trolley ride down is cool and the notion the establishment has been there forever, we were all wishing we had tried one of the hot spots on the beachfront in Capitola.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This restaurant is very unique to the area. Service is excellent and food is beyond expectation. Very romantic for anniversaries or dates. Very friendly and professional staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Incredible atmosphere. Food was spot on. Went for a romantic dinner with my wife. We both loved it. Will definitely go back if in the Santa Cruz Area for a long weekend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Healthy, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were staying in Pacific Grove and I wanted to really make my wife's birthday special, so I took my wife here for her birthday along with my brother and sister in law, telling them how wonderful the restaurant was and they did not disappoint!! It all starts with pulling up to the front of the restaurant and all you see is the sign, the rail car ride down to the restaurant sets the mood and then you get into the actual restaurant with the many levels, the Rock room, long speak-easy feeling bar and table tucked here and there, you know your in for a treat. The artichoke soup is an experience, ceasar salad is great, our entree's were well prepared and served, eating a meal like this is something that you need all your senses for and we have never been disappointed. If you are looking for a special night, memorable experience, unique experience or just a cool place to check off your bucket list, I can not say enough good things about this restaurant. It's worth a drive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Another great Shadowbrook experience! Went here for a late anniversary dinner and service was excellent, while food was very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on May 19, 2017

Have not been there for a long time, made a point to go when I was in the area. Still, as always, deliciously prepared food and tasty cocktails. Had a wonderful celebration dinner with my wife.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was very good, ambiance excellent.... one of our favorites

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This is a must if you're in the area. You take a small fanicular down to the restaurant which is very unique. The food is always superb and service outstanding. Go on Wednesday for half off wine!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Wonderful place I have been there many times and never disappointed!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Casual, Historic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great prime rib and lobster, good service. try Tuesday happy hour for two for one pizza.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent food and service! Our server, Mark, was wonderful and very knowledgeable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Initial seating did not go smoothly, but the Rock Room staff were very attentive and assisted to get our drinks downstairs. The waiter was exceptional. Our group enjoyed the fish and lobster entrees but the meatball borg was dry over cooked to the point of being hard. Real mixed bag here. love the building and the complimentary taxi ride to the hotel As well as the hillivator.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Shadowbrook is such a unique dining experience, we return annually, love the tram and the different rooms, so beautiful. The food was delicious and the service was great, , we were seated even ahead of schedule. Our only constructive feedback was the rolls were not soft, and the rum drinks light on rum. Also, we brought a cake, there was a cake serving charge that I didn't see on the menu. Many of us do not eat red meat, would be great if a few more options for the non-mammal eaters. But still strongly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mothers Day celebration

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great Dining experience for us Saturday evening. Glen, our wait staff, was helpful, attentive and exceptional.

Started with the smoked salmon appetizer, very moist and tasty. We stole a couple bites of our young daughters clam chowder -- might've been the best we've ever tasted?!

We shared a salad, an excellent mix of spinach, cherry tomatoes and candied pecans and topped with a bacon wrapped prawn.

For entrees, the Shadowbrook Prime Rib is 2nd to none. The Shrimp Scampi was delicious with the spinach/pasta mix.

Didn't hurt to be seated a table next to Dwight Clark and his wife who playfully teased my 4yr old??

FIVE STARS ALL AROUND

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had such a lovely and unique experience at Shadowbrook. The cable car was defiantly a highlight of the night. The service was fantastic and the atmosphere surreal. To top it off the food was absolutely divine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

Took my husband for his bday along with my two small kids, it was very kid friendly even though my 1 year was cranky at first. The service was Great, servers were helpful and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The setting of this restaurant is absolutely gorgeous. I like to walk down the garden path to the restaurant and save the cable car for the ride out. My husband and I both had the filet mignon and it was tasty and tender. House salad was also very good with plenty of pecans - although I thought $15 was a bit pricey. Our friends had the prime rib and it was juicy and flavorful. The Gizdich berry pie was only ok and the molten chocolate cake was overcooked so there was no "lava". But it still made a pretty good brownie.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The waiter kept trying to get us to order higher priced entrees , downplayed items we wanted to get as if they were not good , my wife's filet was tough , interesting place. Kinda dark .
Food came out very quickly . Presentations were good . My short rib was good .
Food a bit pricy , but all the beach area restaurants are pricy .

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The Shadowbrook has been a longtime favorite of ours due to its unique ambiance. Sadly, our recent dinner was marred by the fact we were seated next to an obnoxious, crude, foul mouthed man who for our entire meal spewed obscenities to his 2 female dinner mates. Our waiter was excellent and we should have told him about this but we chose not to do so worried about repercussions. Our 3 meals were delicious and we will return in the future. The bar is a locals favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was not good, sole was slimey, and tasteless. Osso Bucco was cold, they didn't use the microwave long enough even though they using them. Sorry

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had friends from Europe. All of us enjoyed Shadowbrook immensley.
I would definitely recommend the place.
It's beautiful and special.
Two points though, there was no chicken in my salad(I wasn't charged though), and the restroom wasn't clean.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I don't know if it's OpenTable's fault or Shadowbrook's fault, but it took us over 30 min to be seated even with the reservation. I understand when a restaurant gets busy and reservations are backed up but when a walk up party gets seated before a reservation party, what's the point of making a reservation? In addition, I mentioned on my reservation that it was my 2nd year anniversary and requested the "best seat in the house." I received a table in the basement, with very limited views out the window, and we weren't greeted with a simple "Happy Anniversary" or a simple complimentary dessert - even 2 scoops of ice cream would've sufficed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Absolutely amazing!! Great atmosphere, drinks and food were excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Some restaurants have good ambiance and others have good food, but it's rare to find one with both, so this was a pleasant surprise. Had not been here in 20 years and were pleased to find that it is still a wonderful location for a special meal.

Only negative is the corkage: $20 for the first bottle is great, but since we were there as a party of 4, we were at a disadvantage. $20/bottle/couple would be a more fair policy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The experience was great! Staff and food was awesome. I don't anything but nice words for the outcome.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Consistently wonderful for at least the last 22 years, and more than likely much longer. Marvelous food, impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As always the premises are a real treat. From the ride down the hill to the wood in every room, it is an event. The food still lacks quality.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.