Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola

In Capitola-by-the-Sea, beside lush Soquel Creek just before it empties into the Monterey bay, Shadowbrook is best reached by its own quaint, hillside 'cable car' or the meandering garden path alongside waterfalls, ferns and flowers. For over 60 years, Shadowbrook has been famous its for fine food, wine and liqueurs served in an atmosphere of Old World charm and grace. Now, better then ever, Shadowbrook is perfect for any special occasion...or for no occasion at all.

1750 Wharf Rd.
Capitola, CA 95010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Winter Dining Hours: Mon-Fri 5:00pm-8:45pm Sat 4:30pm-9:30pm Sun 4:30pm-8:45pm Winter Rockroom Bar Menu Available: Mon-Sat 4:00pm-10:00pm Sunday 2:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Capitola Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 475-1511

Website:
http://www.shadowbrook-capitola.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Rock Room Lounge Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
The Shadowbrook has an in-house pastry department for banquet, wedding, or special occasion needs. For more information please call Stephanie at 831-475-1222.

Parking Details:
Three private lots with complimentary parking for guests; disabled parking spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Roger Gowen

Private Party Facilities:
Shadowbrook's four private dining rooms are the perfect location for evening special events, receptions, and weddings for groups of 10 to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie: (831) 475-1222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mention to us that it is your birthday and receive a complimentary ice cream sundae.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

We will be serving our dinner menu all day.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

We are not accepting on-line reservations for Mothers Day. Please contact the restaurant directly if you would like to make reservations.

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (120)
Romantic (116)
Good for a Date (113)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (105)
Scenic View (99)
Historic (90)
Worth the Drive (86)
Good for Birthdays (82)
Cozy (67)
Waterfront (64)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Fireplace (49)
Fun (46)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Local Ingredients (38)
Notable Wine List (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Authentic (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Happy Hour (28)
Business Meals (27)
Casual (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Seasonal (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Healthy (17)
Private Room (17)
Live Music (17)
Family Style (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
People Watching (12)
Great Beer (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Disabled Access (7)
Organic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Vegan (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
5258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and excellent service!!!! Can't say enough about how tasty the food was. The waiter recommendations were great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. Great outdoor seating.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

The architecture is amazing, food is a little dated, expected better.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Have been here several times and am always impressed. Truly wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Epic location. I loved the trollie ride down to the restaurant and the atmosphere was gorgeous! Fire places, lots of greenery, views, coach type sitting in the bar, great service, excellent food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and vibe. Nice place for any special occassion

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Combine superb service, riverside beauty, historic setting, extensive wine list and delicious food-----and you have Shadowbrook. If prices were a tad lower, we would be there every week. We need to learn more about their weekday specials!!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on March 22, 2017

We have been coming to the Shadowbrook for many years. On this occasion, for our 30th wedding anniversary. We a arrived a bit early but were seated quite soon. We were shown to a lovely, quiet table with a view of the river and offered a complimentary split of champagne for our special occasion. The waiter was gracious and personable, as were all of the staff we encountered. The dinner was wonderful...try the baked brie with jalapeno jelly appetizer!! We shared a vanilla creme brule for dessert and still received two house-made truffles with a candle before the check. It was a wonderful experience and we will definitely keep returning.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great food & service great OVER ALL. the server & his aid were extremely knowledgeable & helpful

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

It would be hard-pressed to create a more memorable dining experience. Worthy of a Bay Area bucket list addition

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I have been a patron of the Shadowbrook restaurant for decades and never cease to tire of having a meal there. Whether it is dining in one of the many rooms, each with its own unique environment, or just stopping in for a drink and meal in the Rock Room. The separate Rock Room specials offered on each weekday are always an enticing way to avoid eating at home.

My girlfriend and I met for the first time six years ago at Shadowbrook and we frequently return to celebrate that anniversary, including numerous "month-a-versaries" and more recently for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Fun, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Romantic, Family Style, Live Music, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fireplace, People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

as usual great service, good price...........but bring back the baked potato

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

amazing food and place, we loved it and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 19, 2017

Each of our party was disappointed. Our meals were overpriced and the atmosphere was not as we remembered from past dining at the Shadowbrook. The bathrooms need to be revamped, ie cracks in the sink and the window sills could have been cleaner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined on March 18, 2017

The wait staff was attentive and accommodating. The food was delicious and satisfying.
I was pleased with the personal touches and the great seating for our special event.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 18, 2017

Awesome place. Great food though the price is hefty.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

You cannot go wrong with Shadowbrook. Locals think highly of the restaurant, and visitors often consider it a destination. Everyone loves the six-person tram that carries diners from street level downhill to the restaurant entrance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was serviced very fast. It make me wonder if everything was sitting waiting to be serviced instead of cooking it per order.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I was taken to Shadowbrook around 1976 by a friend who wanted me to experience a special restaurant and I have been turning friends on to this restaurant ever since. I live 3.5 hours away so I don't get to go as often as I'd like, but I try to make it there for special occasions. This last visit was to celebrate a 50 year friendship and the visit before that was to host a friend's 50th birthday gathering. Not only is their food locally sourced and exceptional, the service is legendary. You just have to experience it yourself to truly understand. Once you experience Shadowbrook, you'll be trying to figure out when you can return even before you've pulled out of their parking lot!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Waterfront, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Very good meal with excellent service. The setting is quite unique, definitely worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Stunning and unique setting, magnificiently landscaped and very nice craftsman architecture and interior design. All our food was outstanding - creative, well prepared, fresh and all the ingredients worked. Highly recommended - a very special place. We have eaten here on all our trips to the area for the past 30 years and it's better than ever. Loved walking down the lush garden paths with waterfalls and tropical plants - was like being in Hawaii. Service is very attentive. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 12, 2017

Swordfish was over cooked. Sent it back and ordered the salmon, which was perfect. Friend's lobster was a bit overpriced.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

What a spectacular evening! The staff was so kind and attentive to our needs at the table and even brought a special birthday sundae out for our Birthday Girl! This is definitely a special occasion type restaurant, but not overpriced and the food was beyond what we all were expecting.
Thank you for making our birthday celebration that much more enjoyable! <3

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Really different building and setting. Lovely garden. Food and service great.....really different. Ask for the history.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great service, great food, pleasant atmosphere. Always a mini get away that improves everyone's outlook.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Awesome, one of a kind, ambiance. Great food, great service. One of a kind.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The restaurant and its grounds are a feast for the eyes, the servers are friendly and attentive...but getting a quality meal can be a crapshoot. We usually order Filet Mignon at Shadowbrook because we can't find a decent steak meal at other local restaurants. Sometimes the meat cut is outstanding and cooked to perfection, but other times the meat is not cooked to order and is tough to cut and chew. We mainly go for the aesthetics, so I guess we'll continue to patronize Shadowbrook even though food quality is not guaranteed.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had not been to the Shadowbrook for many years, wow, what a treat! Same great food, same great service, same wonderful ambience. We will be back soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

An old time place with a trolley ride to the restaurant. Old wooden bar and 5 levels of restaurant that sits on a murky river. Many specialty drinks and a good wine selection. Service is impeccable. Food is ok. Ahi tina Niçoise salad was fine, nothing to write home about, as was the scampi fettuccine and hazelnut crusted trout. Baked Brie appetizer was the best thing we ate. Pricey too. We wouldn't return but everyone should go once to see it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on March 5, 2017

This restaurant is one of a kind, set on the hillside along Soquel creek with the little cable car that takes you from the parking lot level down into the restaurant. The walk up or down the garden pathway is equally as spectacular. On this last visit the salmon was the best I have ever had. The service couldn't have been better.
This is hands down my favorite restaurant for a romantic dinner with that special loved one.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a wonderful meal!! We have been to hundreds of restaraunts and the atmosphere of Stonebrook was by far the neatest we've seen!!! I would absolutely recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

You will never go wrong at Shadowbrook. Excellent food, ambiance, views and service. Anyone having eaten here comes back. If you haven't been, going is a zero-risk decision. It's the best.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Shadowbrook is the place to go for a special evening. The bar is fun and the dining room is great for a special occasion. It's a party!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We had 3 children and 2 adults celebrating 2 birthdays and symphony donation--Loved it!!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 28, 2017

We had a very romantic evening for our 29th Wedding Anniversary! Highly recommend this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 28, 2017

It was my second time coming to the restaurant and my girlfriend's first. Not much has changed in 23 years since my last visit and I must regrettably admit I shouldn't have taken so long to return. Regardless, the restaurant has kept its allure and my girlfriend had nothing but positive remarks about her first experience. Since we don't live locally I cannot say when we will return, but if the special occasion arises in the area, the Shadowbrook will be the first choice that comes to mind.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Shadowbrook has been a favorite of ours, mainly due to its unique location and style. It's built into the side of a ravine above a creek flowing to the sea. We make a special trip that requires an overnight stay to dine there.
The menu is interesting, though not spectacular, and they have gluten-free choices; the staff always seems to be very understanding and helpful to those of us who suffer from gluten intolerance. Unfortunately, I had a reaction following this visit. It was clearly gluten exposure, but not serious, so I suspect it was cross- contamination rather than inattention to ingredients.
It's a great dining experience, and we will most likely return despite this first-time disappointment.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on February 27, 2017

This place is one of our favorites , the ambiance is beautiful , the food is nothing short of AMAZING!! Will continue to come back again and again

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Shadow Brook was recommended by a friend as a place to visit while on holiday from Oregon. I am glad they did!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were so excited to celebrate my mom's birthday at Shadowbrook. We had heard nothing but race reviews from friends who had eaten there. The ambiance is wonderful and it is truly a dining experience. The staff were friendly and efficient. However, the food was not what we expected. What we expected was to be blown away by the food and that didn't happen. We found the food to be bland and average for the price, which was disappointing.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.