Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola

In Capitola-by-the-Sea, beside lush Soquel Creek just before it empties into the Monterey bay, Shadowbrook is best reached by its own quaint, hillside 'cable car' or the meandering garden path alongside waterfalls, ferns and flowers. For over 60 years, Shadowbrook has been famous its for fine food, wine and liqueurs served in an atmosphere of Old World charm and grace. Now, better then ever, Shadowbrook is perfect for any special occasion...or for no occasion at all.

1750 Wharf Rd.
Capitola, CA 95010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Summer Dining Hours: Mon-Thu 5:00pm-8:45pm, Friday 4:30pm-8:45pm Sat 4:00pm-9:45pm Sun 4:00pm-8:45pm Summer Rockroom Bar Menu Available: Mon-Fri 4:00pm-10:00pm Saturday 3:30pm-10:00pm Sunday 2:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Capitola Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 475-1511

Website:
http://www.shadowbrook-capitola.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Rock Room Lounge Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
The Shadowbrook has an in-house pastry department for banquet, wedding, or special occasion needs. For more information please call Stephanie at 831-475-1222.

Parking Details:
Three private lots with complimentary parking for guests; disabled parking spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Roger Gowen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mention to us that it is your birthday and receive a complimentary ice cream sundae.

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (143)
Special Occasion (143)
Good for Anniversaries (131)
See All
Scenic View (127)
Good for a Date (123)
Waterfront (93)
Worth the Drive (93)
Good for Birthdays (91)
Cozy (55)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (54)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Authentic (42)
Fun (41)
Notable Wine List (41)
Good for Groups (39)
Local Ingredients (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Bar Seating (30)
Casual (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Hot Spot (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Healthy (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Business Meals (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
People Watching (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Live Music (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Disabled Access (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Organic (10)
Great Beer (9)
Seasonal (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Vegan (8)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
5572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Me and my fiancé loved our experience at the restaurant. It was the perfect place for me to propose to her and the food was amazing just need more options in the menu for simple foods. Other than that, service, food and ambiance was just right.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Best place for a romantic meal. I have been coming to Shadowbrook for 30 years. Although 119 miles from home (North Bay), it is the first place that comes to mind for ambiance, a peaceful and comfortable setting, and to impress my guests. Food was wonderful, too!

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

This is a very special place! Beautiful location and good food. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Food was very good, service top notch, nice overall atmosphere, but we were seated in the lower portion of the restaurant. We used their taxi service and had to push back our reservation so might be the reason for table location.

All in all had a great time

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Everything is good except the wait time. Made an appointment and still had to wait 45 minutes to be seated. It should take that long with a reservation.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

this was our first experience at Shadowbrooks, we went to celebrate my birthday. The restaurant is amazing!! It's absolutely beautiful & incredibly romantic! The food was deleicuos & the drinks were just as satisfying. There were only 3 hiccups; they forgot our appetizers, forgot to bring out my birthday cake & when the cake was finally brought out the candles were wrong. Aside from all that I would still highly recommend Shadowbrooks to anyone & I will still come back eager to experience more!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was very good and service excellent. My only complaint was we had a reservation and still had to wait 15 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 15, 2017

An absolute gem! Breathtaking gardens, wonderful exciting food , the service was impeccable, will definitely be back very soon ! Thank you Shadow Brook for a beautiful evening, by far the best restaurant I've ever been too !

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

They "lost" our reservation. Had to wait a half hour for a table on our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Shadow Brook has been a family favorite since we were young. Now we enjoy the ambiance, food and quaint restaurant with our children and grands. One feels like you are in another world at Shadow Brook. And the food is excellent. Bon Apetite!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Perfect for our anniversary. Their taxi picked us up and took us home.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

A special night - one that will be remembered. Service was exceptional and food was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great 80's decor but could use some updating. Clearly a local favorite and the cable car descent was really cute. Food was just okay though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great time excellent service ,oustanding food great experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The ambiance is nice. Food was good. We were seated and completely forgotten about. Waited at least 15 minutes for a menu or to even be acknowledged. Then another 15 to have order taken. It made us feel aweful. We ended up just taking the food to go. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I went with my husband to celebrate my birthday. We had great service and food.
Waiter Kent knew his stuff when it came to apps, meal and drink selections and even dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Mini family reunion made even better by our dinner here, music in bar before dinner was outstanding. Singing along to the oldies, great appetizers and service. Food was wonderful as always. Can't wait for next year!! I'm sure we will sneak in a visit before then!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Super food..super service..THE place to take your special someone

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We make it a point to come here when we're in the area. Arrived about 30 minutes before our reservation time after driving 5 hours. Waited about 10 minutes to be seated. Two large parties nearby weren't intrusive. Knowledgable waiter. Attentive staff. Cobwebs on the light fixture overhead. Food well prepared and presented. Celebrated birthday. Enjoyable experience overall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Loved the overall layout of the restaurant, so much to see! We used the stairs going down and rode the tram up the hill. Great food, wonderful service. This is a must see. Parking was a bear but after driving around quite a bit we finally found a spot a block and a half away.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This was my first time at the famous Shadowbrook Restaurant. The food did not disappoint. It was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Everything was excellent. Shuttle service was first class. Waitstaff was great. Food and ambiance was superior. Had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was horrible. No ventilation or air circulation. Enjoyed looking out over the water. Our waiter was very kind and knowledgeable.
Thought it was a little dated
Would not recommend.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Literally a great dining experience for special occasion!

Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Steak was too peppery, too many taste varietals! Butchers Steak was the dish. We ordered and it was more like medium!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Shadowbrook welcomes with an elegant, nature-centric atmosphere. Had an excellent signature cocktail (no syrups!) to start the evening and listened to a beautiful guitarist playing in the bar area. Went down a couple flights of stairs and turned a few corners (confusing) to our table. Waiter was very attentive, and adapted well to our needs. The only downside was the food. I had their vegan grain bowl, probably not a specialty here, but still, it was horribly lacking presentation, vegetable arrangement/quantity, and flare. My mother didn't much like her Surf and Turf either. Overall, felt happy to be there.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

It's been at least 10 years since we were last at Shadowbrook and we're so happy we made the trek down (from Oakland, no less!) to re-visit and celebrate my wife's birthday. The setting, including the funicular down to the restaurant, the amazing rooms/levels/views and the overall ambiance was just fantastic.

The staff was attentive, but not pushy. We definitely felt at ease, even in this fancy setting.

Dinner was great and we grabbed a post-dinner cocktail in the bar area on our way out to extend the evening there :-)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We celebrated our 55th wedding anniversary. It was a memorable occasion. Thanks to Shadowbrook for their "TaxI" to pick us up at the hotel and take us back. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Shadowbrook is one environment that has not compromised aesthetics in order to provide excellent accessibility. Superior accommodations for disabled dinners! Staff was trained to make my visit unobtrusive to other guests and comfortable for me. A+++

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Wonderful experience! Had a birthday dinner for my lovely girlfriend. Landon was our server! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Absolutely love this place. The elevator lift and the view with many different levels of dining available.

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

I thought this restaurant was amazing. Great atmosphere, great food, great overall experience. They layout of the restaurant is very unique, and is cool how every area has its own vibe.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The building is lovely, the landscape is gorgeous, the funicular is charming, and the food acceptable.
I think when dining in such a lovely place and especially with guests, I found the service below average. That can ruin the satisfaction, and it did!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

If looking for a dining experience that has ambiance, service, great food and wine and uniqueness -- this is the place. I have made fine dining a hobby of mine through the Bay Area and I come from San Francisco all the time just to relive the Shadowbrook experience. Anything you order on the menu will be exceptional, but the staff that assists you is second to none. Talk about THE most professional every time -- no matter who is assigned to you. The walk down the perfectly manicured gardens and water falls is a great sneak preview for what you're in for the rest of the evening. When they have live music -- just makes that drink/wine taste even better. The people that come here are also well mannered people (overall). If you are a planning a special occasion, this is the place. If your are not planning a special occasion -- this is also the place. You will keep coming back... Cheers!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Shadowbrook is a unique dining experience. From the time you arrive and take the tram car down to the actual restaurant entrance to the time you open the door to walk into the greeting area adjacent to the picturesque bar you'll know you are in for a very special treat. One of their premium specialties is lobster and boy does their chef know how to cook a lobster to perfection. While prices tend to be on the high side the quality of the food makes it well worth the expense. And there are many dishes that can be had for a fairly moderate price. The interior gardens, outside patio areas, and luscious river and ocean views make this an extraordinary place to celebrate special occasions such as birthdays and anniversaries.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Main course 1. Scallops, 1. salmon, 2 prime ribs all delish. Service outstanding. View and ambience perfect.
Happy First Anniversary Keith and Lena!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

While visiting family in the Bay Area we decided to take a drive to Capitola for dinner at Shadowbrook. Lincoln was our server and he was great. Knowledgeable and helpful. The scallops were outstanding. Both orders of medium-rare prime rib were closer to medium-well, as was the order on the table behind us. We didn't say anything to our server. They replaced the one at the next table. Still it was very tasty. Overall a very good meal. But for the prime rib, it was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food was delicious and the presentation was inviting. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Seems as though the quality of food is not as good as before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had reservations and came for a birthday celebration. No waiting to be seated, but a long wait to get a waiter's attention. We ordered beverages--best strawberry sensation. Then appetizer. Long wait. Even longer wait for our food, which arrived dried out and overcooked, all except the prime rib, which was medium rare on one side, medium on the other. Green veggies bitter and yellowed. All looked like they had sat the 15 - 20 min we wondered where our food was under a heat lamp. Husband's blackened lamb was inedible. Daughter's meatballs were tough and inedible. Poor son had 10 oz filet mignon that was medium, no pink around. Desserts were wonderful--chocolate meltaway, crepes, sundae, ice cream selections. Waiter chose for us because he forgot to ask us flavors! And he asked no questions why food was not eaten. I had tried to convince my family to return the inedible food but they were too embarrassed to do so. Daughter remarked good for beverages and dessert. But a long wait under a heat lamp will ruin any food. Too bad. I'd come here for brunch many years go and it was much better. Lovely gardens and view. Fun stairs and cable car. Waiter took our review from us at the table. No idea if he turned it in or not. So disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.