Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola

In Capitola-by-the-Sea, beside lush Soquel Creek just before it empties into the Monterey bay, Shadowbrook is best reached by its own quaint, hillside 'cable car' or the meandering garden path alongside waterfalls, ferns and flowers. For over 60 years, Shadowbrook has been famous its for fine food, wine and liqueurs served in an atmosphere of Old World charm and grace. Now, better then ever, Shadowbrook is perfect for any special occasion...or for no occasion at all.

1750 Wharf Rd.
Capitola, CA 95010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Summer Dining Hours: Mon-Thu 5:00pm-8:45pm, Friday 4:30pm-8:45pm Sat 4:00pm-9:45pm Sun 4:00pm-8:45pm Summer Rockroom Bar Menu Available: Mon-Fri 4:00pm-10:00pm Saturday 3:30pm-10:00pm Sunday 2:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Capitola Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 475-1511

Website:
http://www.shadowbrook-capitola.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Rock Room Lounge Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
The Shadowbrook has an in-house pastry department for banquet, wedding, or special occasion needs. For more information please call Stephanie at 831-475-1222.

Parking Details:
Three private lots with complimentary parking for guests; disabled parking spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Roger Gowen

Private Party Facilities:
Shadowbrook's four private dining rooms are the perfect location for evening special events, receptions, and weddings for groups of 10 to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Stephanie: (831) 475-1222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mention to us that it is your birthday and receive a complimentary ice cream sundae.

Shadowbrook Restaurant Capitola Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (166)
Romantic (164)
Scenic View (154)
See All
Good for a Date (150)
Good for Anniversaries (146)
Good for Birthdays (113)
Waterfront (110)
Worth the Drive (108)
Cozy (71)
Quiet Conversation (65)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Fun (50)
Local Ingredients (49)
Authentic (49)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Good for Groups (48)
Notable Wine List (47)
Bar Seating (45)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Historic (38)
Casual (30)
Happy Hour (25)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Fireplace (22)
Healthy (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
Business Meals (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Tasting Menu (20)
Live Music (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Kid-friendly (18)
Comfort Food (17)
People Watching (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Disabled Access (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Organic (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Private Room (8)
Family Style (8)
Great Beer (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vegan (7)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Dancing (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
5480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

We love Shadowbrook!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

We came here to celebrate a very special anniversary and what a great time we had! The ambiance, service and food was a dining experience we'll always remember. We ordered a prime rib dinner and lamb dish - delicious and prepared exactly the way we wanted! We decided on something light for dessert so we ordered the blueberry ice cream - it was flavorful and light - a perfect meal all around! The tram ride to/from the restaurant was a unique experience. The shuttle service in the vintage taxi to and from our hotel was a unique experience and a very nice touch.

We had such a good time that we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 2 days ago

It was our dauther's birthday and they gave us a very nice table with a view, and brought a special dessert for our daughter. Everything was wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

For a decade I've made it a necessary point to make reservations at the Shadowbrook whenever I'm in the area. They have yet to disappoint me. Fantastic food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

It's been years but Shadowbrook was very much what I remembered -- impressive restaurant with beautiful views and ambiance. The food was decent, but you really go for the experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The beef wellington was excellent, as were the scallops, filet mignon, ahi and bacon wrapped prawn appetizers. Our waiter Brent took excellent care of us and was very helpful when selecting menu items. The music was nice and quiet conversation is possible. I noticed the outdoor seating was heated and will try that next time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I found this restaurant recently even though I had been to capitola many times.
It was a jewel ! great food, great setting, great service and amazing cocktails. I've already recommended it to many friends/family
I will definitely return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time with a great meal. The service was attentive and fun. Will go back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I loved the ambience, and it was perfect for our anniversary. The fried artichokes were very good. My husband had the surf and turf, and I had the scallops. The scallops were okay, but the lobster was fantastic. My husband's steak was little over cooked. The service was great and our waiter was very friendly and attentive. We will definitely back!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 5 days ago

Overbooked and understaffed
Disappointed in the slowness of getting our meal. 45 minutes from ordering to receiving appetizers another 1/2 hr til salads arrived after appetizers received.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrated my mother's 90th birthday. Everyone made us feel very special-We had 4 generations for our dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Special dinner for our 65th birthday! Ambiance, service and food were devine!

Thanks for the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service was excellent. We really enjoyed the experience and would definitely recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The service was exceptional and the food was exquisite

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Very disappointed in the artichoke and oyster appetizers, scallops and swordfish.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I absolutely love Shadowbrook. It's a beautiful restaurant and the food is always phenomenal. I was surprised at the number of children at the restaurant this visit, and also surprised they don't enforce the dress code written on the door. But nonetheless it's a beautiful and amazing place. Our server was a doll and so helpful to us in making our choices. I never leave here unhappy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Amazing food! Great view! Awesome service! This was first time here and they hit all expectations! Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone in the neighborhood!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This a great spot for a unique dining spot. Loved the little gondala you take to get to the restaurant. You could take the stairs but why? The whole restaurant and atmosphere was amazing. Very beautiful place. Dinner was to die for. Had the lobster. Would recommend to everyone. Best meal hands down. And great service to boot.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Had a 9pm reservation and weren't seated until 9:30. We werent offered a beverage or appetizer while we waited and the staff wasn't very apologetic for our wait. Once seated, we were then offered an appetizer and the waiter was very good. The ambience was great and the restaurant is absolutely beautiful. However, one of our entrees was served incorrectly (missing the sauce) and it wasn't figured out by us until halfway through eating the dish and wondering why it had no flavor. I will give this place another chance but I wasn't too impressed by this latest visit

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 12, 2017

If you're going for a special occasion I would definitely ask to be seated by a window even though I did ask to be seated by a window in my reservation. We got seated at the worst table, in a corner with no View except stairs leading out and a view of the bathroom entrance, big lamp from outside with the light glaring in and right next to the waiters station. From hearing about this restaurant for years and visting family in Aptos with friends. Driving up from San Diego we talked about the restaurant and was looking forward finally being able to go. I was very disappointed, and then spending over 250.00 to being completely let down. My friends commented they will not go back if they had to do it again.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food is amazing and the service is incredible. The scenery is beautiful. Overall a great place to go for any occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

Upon arriving we had a reservation and still waited 10 minutes despite it not being busy at 5:30. Would have preferred a better table with a better view since we were celebrating a special occasion for my parents 35 year wedding anniversary. Server was excellent and friendly. Food was 4/5 many dishes were over seasoned for our taste. Top notch for local fresh ingredients. After dinner took a stroll down to the water front on property which was beautiful. You cannot beat the atmosphere here!!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 9, 2017

Amazing atmosphere. Our waiter in the bar was awesome! Waiter and service in restaurant was a bit under par. But. We would definitely return!

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Shadowbrook is such a special place! The food and service are top notch. It is the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, anniversary or an engagement.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Seriously this place is awesome. !! The best. They have dif menus for dif areas everything we ordered was perfect !! Can't wait to come back !!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Bar Seating, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Hot Spot, Organic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We loved the meal and setting of the restaurant as well as the great drinks and friendly servers. However, we had a reservation for 8:30 and were not seated until 8:50. The hostess was also not very informative or friendly about the delay.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great ambiance with a unique vibe. Super friendly and knowledgeable staff with high quality food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Shadowbrook is an annual trek for our anniversary dinner

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This our favorite restaurant anywhere around central California. The Staff, setting and food is Fabulous. Not much more to say. Enjoy!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food and service was amazing. The restaurant is also beautiful and so fun to visit! Will definitely go again!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 7, 2017

It was busy and had to wait but it was worth it,took Uber and had fun.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Loved this restaurant! We went to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday and everything was perfect! The restaurant has a manly feel and a wonderful view of the water. A must go to, oh and take the tram to get a view of the restaurants grounds, stunning!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Superb dining experience! The atmosphere and the food is incredible and well worth the money spent.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Great food, great atmosphere, best place I've been to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 6, 2017

Professional, attentive, food was amazing, and service was fast and the recommendations for drinks were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We've been to the Rock Room several times and found it to be quite enjoyable all around... So we brought friends here for dinner and we were not disappointed! Service, ambiance and food were all exceptional!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Romantic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were disappointed with our table location. We did not have any view of the creek, and we were close to the bus station. We asked to change, but we were told there was no other table available for our party of 6. Our servers were great! The food was good, though my sand dabs were heavy with sauce-hard to taste the delicate flavor of the fish!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great place and great food. We had a wonderful server named Andrew.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 4, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. I can't remember the waiters name but everything he recommended, from the food and wine was on point, as this was our first time visiting Shadowbrook. I really enjoyed my wife bday celebration along with my friend and his wife there on the 4th of July. She also enjoyed the ambiance, the landscaping and the small water front outside the restaurant. I have already recommended this place to the majority of my friends thus far. We will be back again!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had an absolutely delightful evening at Table 89 by the River on Monday evening, July 3. It was a farewell dinner for our very good friends who are leaving for Boise, Idaho. We appreciated the special table, our waiter was excellent and very friendly and the food was very good. Could not have been better !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.