About Seviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands

1538 Bardstown Road
Louisville, KY 40205
View Larger Map

Seviche is Nuevo Latino, an eclectic mix of the traditional flavors of Latin American cuisine and its influences infused into new contemporary dishes. Our chef creates new exciting flavorful dishes based on his heritage and formal training. Chef Anthony Lamas has received national acclaim, John Mariani of Esquire Magazine exclaims "Seviche has emerged as one of America's best and most innovative Nuevo Latino-style restaurants, with plenty of the chef's personality packed into every dish." Seviche has received 4 stars from local food critics and continues to be a stand out among Louisville's top independent restaurants. We have just completed an extensive renovation and expansion. New features include updated bar area, cocktail lounge, state of the art restrooms and 60 person private dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Stevens & Bardstown Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 473-8560

Website:
http://www.sevicherestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot of Gates Service Station on Stevens Avenue, directly across from Seviche. Valet is available Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lamas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining Room can accomodate up to 60 people. Fully A/V equipped. Contact Madeline Doolittle madi@sevicherestaurant.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Tuna Ceviche
Fideo
Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake
Pan Seared Tuna Appetizer
Gazpac
Wahoo Seviche
Chicken Empana
Grilled Baby Octopus
Duck Tacos
Prime Beef Tacos
Mussels!
Ostiones
48 Hour Pork Belly
Striped Sea Bass And Crab Cigar
Ahi Tuna Ceviche
Raspberry Mojito
Mahi Mahi Tacos
Seviches
Churrascos De Argentina
Skirt Steak w/ Chimichurri
Meyers  Lemon Tart
Fideos negros con crema de camarones
Big Eye Ahi Tuna
Butterscotch Ice Cream With Popcorn
churrasco
Tres Leches Cake
Pumpkin Bisque
Kentcky Paw Paw Flan
Vegetarian Chimichangas
Sweetbread
Frites
Crab Seviche
Pear and Blue Cheese Salad
Duck Nachos
Brazilian Moqueca
Habenero Passion Fruit Mousse
Ceviche Sampler
Brazilian Spicy Seafood Stew
Roasted Vegetable And Kenny’s Kentucky Gouda Chimichanga
Bread Pudding
Shishito Peppers
Seviche Tasting
Grilled Octopus
Moqueca
Chipotle Potato Bisque
Lamb Empanadas
Duck Tacos, Empanadas, Guacamole
crab ceviche
Shrimp Seviche
Brazilian Fojiada
Seviche
Crispy Whole Fish

Private Dining

Our Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 50 guests. The brand new, state of the art room is the ideal setting for entertaining friends, family and important business clients.

Seviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
Best Food
Louisville
2 More
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Most Booked
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd ›

Special Occasion (52)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Romantic (27)
Hot Spot (27)
Good for Groups (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Scenic View (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Seviche was all I expected from Anthony ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

Seviche was all I expected from Anthony Lamas and more. Excellent service and delicious food. Nice work! My date and I started with the Kentucky Bison Empanadas which were delicately fried and expertly seasoned. We also tried the crab and heirloom tomato seviche, which was also great-- the crab meat was chunk and the tomatoes (diced and sliced) and acid combined expertly. She had the scallops which were perfectly cooked and served with an awesome like fried quinoa. I had marinated skirt steak over mashed potatoes and served with a chimichurri sauce (think pesto). The steak was either butterflied or pounded to about 3/4" thick and perfectly cooked medium rare. We didn't stay for dessert, but she had a Gin Blossom cocktail which she said was very refreshing and I had a Hendricks martini which was expertly shaken ice cold and served with the requisite cucumber slice. Will go back!!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant with innovative, de ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with innovative, delicious food, impeccable and friendly service, never ceases to disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is exquisite, beautiful and delicio ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food is exquisite, beautiful and delicious. Service is flawless, skillful and unobtrusive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined here with friends, one of whom h ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I dined here with friends, one of whom has many food sensitivities and allergies. Wait staff was helpful in getting her just what she needed. All the food we ate was exceptionally delicious - ahi tuna seviche, halibut and crab 'cigar,' and the unforgettable skirt steak with chimichurri. Was surprised to be served the seviche without any chips for scooping, but the dish was great. Halibut was cooked to perfection with a wonderful sauce alongside and a tasty crab-filled chimichanga-like 'cigar' on top. The highlight of the evening was the skirt steak. It was surprisingly tender, nicely seasoned and complimented by a very fresh and bright chimichurri. A big winner. Cocktails were fine, but nothing special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner was amazing and our service was i ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Dinner was amazing and our service was impeccable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great, round table, but it was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a great, round table, but it was by the kitchen so servers' coming and going thru doors was distracting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Modern Decor, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I were in Louisville for a s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My wife and I were in Louisville for a short weekend get away from our home in Chicago. Being from Chicago, we get some amazing food; arguably some of the best in the world!

Without hesitation, I would easily say that Seviche was one of the best dining experiences of my life! The food was exquisite and every bite was better then the last!

You will not be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Crab ceviche was good, but needs some pl ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Crab ceviche was good, but needs some plantain chips or something to go with it. We are not ceviche purists. Hanger steak and potatoes were phenomenal as were the special vegetable enchiladas. Mixed drinks were just okay. Wine was really nice. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I both enjoyed our dinners. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My wife and I both enjoyed our dinners. Food was well prepared and well presented. While our waitress was very pleasant and very knowledgable of the food presentation, she seemed to be attempting to handle too many tables to be properly attentive to us. A simple example - our salads were brought and she asked if we would want fresh pepper on them. We both responded yes. She said she would be right back with the ground pepper. After waiting several minutes for her return, we decided that she had forgotten us, so we proceeded to eat the salad. After we had already taken several bites, she finally returned. These small miscues were repeated throughout the meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Seviché is always a good choice for Mond ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Seviché is always a good choice for Monday evenings. Service friendly and prompt, food delicious. The coconut cake is divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love this restaurant. It is on our list ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Love this restaurant. It is on our list of the place we must go to when visiting Louisville. Great service staff, wonderful Latin Fusion with Southern ingredients food. Love the pisco sours and can always find a good bottle of wine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Spicy, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place was highly recommended by a f ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This place was highly recommended by a family member. My wife and I usually go out some place nice every year for our anniversary. This year we decided on Seviche. The food was good, the service was very good but, in my opinion, it was extremely overpriced. We each had a Mojito which were $10 each. We had the calamari appetizer which was $19 and Old fashioned Ahi tuna seviche which was about $19. My wife had the scallop entrée which was $35 and I had the Salmon which was also $35. My wife got 3 scallops for $35. Not really what I would consider an entrée portion. My salmon was over cooked and somewhat dry but was pretty good however not worth $35. The scallops were again good but not great and not worth $35. The calamari were the best part of dinner. I would prefer to order that as my entrée if I was going again. The service was great. Daylin was our waiter and did a great job. Our total bill was $149 before tip. We could have eaten at Buck's which is much nicer, more romantic and better food and portions for about $100. We would probably not go back to Seviche again just because of the value but if value is no concern to you then Seviche would be a good choice.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

By far my favorite restaurant! Just go! ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

By far my favorite restaurant! Just go! You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was exceptional! Good was great ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was exceptional! Good was great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. Will be going back! ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was great. Will be going back! Skirt Steak, halibut, guacamole, Bloody Mary shooters, flan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seviche' is an incredible restaurant, ev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Seviche' is an incredible restaurant, every time I am in Louisville with friends, we make it a point to go there no matter where else we may go on the weekend. The food is amazing, everything comes out as ordered, and the presentation is beautiful. The staff never leave for the most part, I have seen some there for many years. We had a server named Chris, the guy was totally amazing start to finish, I was in the restaurant business for 31 years, and I have to say, this was one of the BEST servers I have ever come in contact with, can't say enough about him, or the restaurant. I have had many wonderful meals there since at least 2002, and I look forward to many more! DON"T MISS THIS PLACE!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had an out of town business guest who ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had an out of town business guest who was returning after a visit in March when I took him to dinner at a sports bar because it was convenient and I was tired. Certainly the event did not share the foodie city we call Louisville. This time Seviche was my choice for a Saturday dinner. They did not disappoint. The service was excellent, the mussels excellent, and I had the skirt steak because I could not believe it could be as good as the service person said it was. It was even better. On my budget I cannot go often but it will be a place I return to for special occasions, even just feeling like I deserve it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely recommend dining here.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Definitely recommend dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dinner. Brought four business ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Fantastic dinner. Brought four business colleagues who done well regularly and they were all most impressed. I have never visited Seviche and left feeling anything but thrilled/ consistently outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent. One of my favor ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Consistently excellent. One of my favorite restaurants in a town full of great independents!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great chef and wonderful serv ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food great chef and wonderful service! Always enjoy our meals there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seviche is always my first choice for sp ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Seviche is always my first choice for special occasions. Food and service are always top notch. The decor doesn't quite match the level of the restaurant, but I can overlook it for the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb food and excellent friendly servi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Superb food and excellent friendly service. This is clearly one of the top five restaurants in Louisville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lori was amazing! Literally the best ser ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lori was amazing! Literally the best server We've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice food in a pleasant atmosphere. Lim ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Nice food in a pleasant atmosphere. Limited menu, competent kitchen, nice service, lots of space between tables, an enjoyable place to have a good meal. If you are stuck in Louisville, this is a place to go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A high end dining experience that was no ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

A high end dining experience that was not quite special enough for the price and taste. Admittedly, I do not enjoy overly hot (spicy) foods and this was the case here. The appetizer and salad were delicious, spicy yet palatable. The entree, tuna/lobster on a bed of rice was spiced so strongly that I could only eat a bite or two of the rice. I felt the extreme hotness so overwhelmed the fish that it's taste was completely lost. My wife had the same opinion, and she does enjoy spicy hot foods. Overall it was great service, great location, excellent appetizers and salads, but disappointing main entree for the premium price we paid.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Super yummy food! Decent service. Good l ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Super yummy food! Decent service. Good location. Half price margaritas that were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Second visit, won't be back. We are on s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Second visit, won't be back. We are on staycation and ate out every night at "nice" restaurants. This one by far was the most expensive and the worst. Can we possibly get a dish on the menu that doesn't rank on the Scoville scale? Not everyone likes or can handle that much heat?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Nice in every way highly recommend howev ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Nice in every way highly recommend however requested birthday occasion and it was not recognized

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my 3rd time at Seviche, and as ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was my 3rd time at Seviche, and as always the food was fantastic. Service was great too. Only issue is parking. Still, that's the only possible complaint. Everything else about Seviche is perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is never a disappointment at Se ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food is never a disappointment at Seviche. We had a lot of big eaters at the table, so I feel like we ordered almost everything on the menu. The ceviche's are awesome. The crab cigar is a must. And the avocado ice cream is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seviche is always excellent! Tried somet ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Seviche is always excellent! Tried something I had never tried here before: the guacamole - and it was the best I've ever had! I will definitely order it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food & service. Goodwood bee ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Outstanding food & service. Goodwood beer was awesome - wish they had more Goodwood offerings

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the most outstanding and creative ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of the most outstanding and creative meals we have enjoyed in a long time. The calamari is a must, as are any of the ceviche items on the menu. The chef uses soy sauce that has been aged in bourbon barrels in his creations. A great touch from this amazing chef.

The bourbon list will save you the time of bourbon country tours if you don't have the time. The bourbon flights were a great way to discover the subtle differences in bourbon.

You must save room for the avocado ice-cream served in a dark chocolate shell, with a bourbon ball on top!! The restaurant is only about 10 minutes from downtown Louisville and the airport.

Sunday night dining will really put the dazzling touch on the evening, with half off bottles of wine. You just can't beat it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food but small portions. Servi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Delicious food but small portions. Service was slow and lacking which was disappointing at a fine dining restaurant with considerably high ticket prices

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

Amazing food all around. So many dishes ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Amazing food all around. So many dishes I wanted to try - I'll definitley be back. Porch was wonderful, nicely shaded and lively. Would be great for a romantic dinner and also fun for groups do to many great sharing plates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This places never disappoints, the food ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This places never disappoints, the food is perfectly crafted every single time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, specials, and service

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food, specials, and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Scallops are the best I've ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food! Scallops are the best I've ever had! My husband had halibut and crab, so fresh. We enjoyed every minute of or experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wow. Now I know why always on the best ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

wow. Now I know why always on the best of Louisville list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.