About Seviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands

Seviche is Nuevo Latino, an eclectic mix of the traditional flavors of Latin American cuisine and its influences infused into new contemporary dishes. Our chef creates new exciting flavorful dishes based on his heritage and formal training. Chef Anthony Lamas has received national acclaim, John Mariani of Esquire Magazine exclaims "Seviche has emerged as one of America's best and most innovative Nuevo Latino-style restaurants, with plenty of the chef's personality packed into every dish." Seviche has received 4 stars from local food critics and continues to be a stand out among Louisville's top independent restaurants.



We have just completed an extensive renovation and expansion. New features include updated bar area, cocktail lounge, state of the art restrooms and 60 person private dining room.

1538 Bardstown Road
Louisville, KY 40205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday thru Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Stevens & Bardstown Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 473-8560

Website:
http://www.sevicherestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Curbside Valet parking is available nightly, Tuesday through Sunday.

Off-street Parking located in the Panera Bread Co. parking lot as well as on-street parking available

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lamas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining Room can accomodate up to 50 people. Fully A/V equipped. Contact Hap Cohan Hap@sevicherestaurant.com for more information.

Private Dining

Our Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 50 guests. The brand new, state of the art room is the ideal setting for entertaining friends, family and important business clients.

Seviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Authentic (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Romantic (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Fun (15)
Business Meals (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (11)
People Watching (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Tapas (8)
Healthy (8)
Spicy (8)
Private Room (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant lively atmosphere but very expensive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Exceptional dining experience. Reservations were running about 25 minutes behind so we used the time to enjoy a drink at the bar. Table side service was excellent. Meals were second to none, best in Louisville.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent as always. Our favorite restaurant in Louisville.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Amazing place

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

A Must when in Louisville, great atmosphere, service and food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I would like to revisit this restaurant during a less demanding holiday. I noticed their Valentine's menu selection was limited and very costly. The dish portions were quite small. My dish was very flavorful and appealing. However, my boyfriend and I left the restaurant still hungry.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentine's Day and, not withstanding the busyness of the evening, our meal was WAY overpriced for what we received. The mushroom empanadas were okay and the churrascos, which was recommended to me, was tasty. However, for a skirt steak and a scoop of potatoes at $40, well, I was expecting a more interesting and worthwhile plate. I will say the seviche dish was very good and the truffle lobster bisque (though still overpriced) was delicious.

I understand it was a very busy night but the service didn't seem to match other similarly-priced and revered restaurants around town. One issue (I personally don't care) was that the empty plates at our table took up most of our space all night.

Overall, I probably wouldn't come back except for the seviche.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had reservations for three at 6:45 PM and we arrived about five minutes early. They had a limited menu for Valentine's night which was not something we had anticipated. Luckily our favorite tuna ceviche appetizer in the coconut shell was on the menu. Not sure if that is regular price or special for Valentine's Day, but my wife loved it. My 11 yr old daughter dined with us as well, and she loved the guacamole mixed table side served with house made fried tortillas and side of jalapeño salsa. We also ordered the bison empanadas for appetizer which was my favorite. For entree we all three ordered the Churrascos De Argentina which is Seviche's skirt steak with chimichurri priced at $37 USD. The flat steak was really good and the chimichurri sauce was superb. My wife and I washed down our meal with a nice bottle of wine, and my daughter had a Shirley Temple. The limited menu allowed the staff to serve food promptly and keep kitchen on pace for a busy night. While the Valentine's night experience felt slightly more structured and controlled than our typical dinner at Seviche, the service was professional and efficient. Our bill was around $240, so with a $50 tip plus valet parking charge/tip the night total cost was around $300. We were in and out in about 75 minutes and went home for dessert. All in all a nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was excellent...as always. Service was fantastic. Have been pleased every time I've been here

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I ordered the steak on Valentines Day, it was wonderful. But my husband ordered the 2 lobster tails and they were as small as shrimp. He was very disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We are never disappointed with this restaurant, the chef is always spot on. Our server was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Seasonal, Family Style, Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was impeccable and the atmosphere was ideal for our date. We totally stumbled into 1/2 price wine night and are interested in coming back for a Dinner And Movie soon.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our food was excellent and the ambiance very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Seviche never disappoints. All courses were delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The dinners on these special nights should not be rushed to the point where it's not enjoyable. When a couple orders a bottle of wine, allow them to enjoy it. I had to slow things down coming to out table.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of my favorite places to dine for any occasion. Never had a bad meal or experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We have been many times for many different occasions and Fridays date was the best by far. The service was great as always but the mushroom enchiladas were the best food we have ever had at seviche or anywhere else!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Server Chris was outstanding. Great meal. Chris recommended the seared ahi tuna steak, which was terrific. He then brought out some special wasabi-chili sauce so I could "kick it up a notch". All delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It had been a while since my last visit and I was not disappointed! The Food as always was Fabulous! The ambiance perfect. If I had one suggestion.....more CA wines to choose from.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always delicious meal with wonderful service!! Love the skirt steak!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I recently went to Seviche for a business dinner. Our waiter, Chris was attentive without being obtrusive. One member of our group asked for a different preparation for some seafood and the chef was very accomodating. Our food was beautiful and outstanding. My only issue is that we were seated near a window and it was a bit chilly since it was cold outside. I will definitely go back in the summer and sit outside!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have always enjoyed the food and atmosphere of Seviche and therefore wanted to share the experience with my friends from out of town. Definitely was great experience as I knew it would be. The food was amazing and so was our service. Thank you again! :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Pork chop and mussels were very good. The scallops on the other hand were tough and very blame.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Everything we had was just perfectly flavored and amazing - from the oyster shooters, table-made guacamole, and everyone's dishes and desserts. Just a fantastic experience - will go out of my way to come again.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Seviche never fails to impress. From the wine to the ahi tuna Seviche app to the fresh guacamole and swordfish, you can't go wrong at Seviche. We were seated at a table for 2 in the bar. Lively conversations going on all around us!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was delicious staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful and just and overall very enjoyable evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The atmosphere was great! The food even better! We had fish and steak entrees, both delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Amazing latin-inspired Seafood! A little pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for. Everything was top notch except for being seated right next to a couple at the bar who were making out and feeling each other up the entire time.

It's kind of hard to enjoy a meal with all that going on.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Amazing!! The food was spectacular and the service was on point! The shrimp appetizer was a perfect choice and the tuna special was out of this world! Must also recommend the avocado ice cream for an after dinner treat!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

No words to describe how great everything was... Excellence in all senses... We loved our server, she was just great, food was amazing, omg the desserts where something outside this world...

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Seviche is fine dining at its best. They have become my favorite place to celebrate romantic occasions together with my husband. From our 1st wedding anniversary to birthdays and Valentine's Day they've made each one a memorable experience.

Valet Parking ($5 + tip) is available as well as free coat check. A smiling hostess will greet you at the door. I suggest using Open Table app to make your reservations or simply call in advance. They are not required, however this is a popular place. Each evening begins to fill around 6:00 - 7:00 pm. Holidays are sure to book up so be safe not sorry and reserve.

Whether you're trying to impress that special someone or a business associate(s) Seviche will never fail you. The decor is elegant and the service is impeccable. Even if you wish to make your visit more casual the bar has ample seating and welcomes patrons to dine there as well. If you are thinking of planning a group event a party room is also available for reserve.

The menu is listed in Yelp and nothing has yet to fall short in any way in my experiences. Expect 5 star cuisine both in taste and presentation. My favorites include the Wild Caught Shrimp Ceviche, The Mussels, the Scallops, the Ribeye with Bleu Cheese and my most favorite The Bistec de Casa (House Tenderloins topped by an egg resting on Dirty Smashed Potatoes) Always cooked perfectly to order. (IME, the chef tends to lean a wee bit toward the rarer side so order accordingly)

They also provide an extensive selection of beverages. Top shelf to house. And they're always happy to bring you a taste of any wine to make your decision even easier.

So, the next time you wish to impress or simply spoil yourself, Seviche is a sure bet.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Deeeee-licious!!! Best skirt steak, mashed potatoes, and chimichuri in town!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great tuna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best calamari ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A Confirmation - after countless meals at Seviche over the past 11 years, our most recent visit on New Year's Eve was yet another marvelous meal, with great service. Consistent high quality in all aspects of how this restaurant is run, what menu choices are offered, how the food is prepared and presented, and how the wait staff performs, is why we consider this our favorite Louisville restaurant, and recommend it to all our friends, out of town visitors, and business colleagues.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service as always. Had reservations for NYE, didn't feel rushed. The Old fashioned ceviche was wonderful, as was the skirt steak. These never disappoint in all the years we've been coming here.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was excellent but I had a reservation for 6:45 and we did not get seated until 7:30. I watched the hostesses stand around talking and seating people who came in after us. I think the service once seated was awesome but I probably won't go back due to the rude hostesses at the front door.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great meal. The place was full, but cozy and welcoming. We shared the guacamole, which was just the right amount of heat because you can mix in your own jalapeño sauce. The scallops were great. I love to eat at Seviche.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Main dishes way too expensive for the size. Had fish which was good but portion was extremely small for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Some of the best, most inventive ceviche anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinners with our family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We love Seviche, although this visit was disappointing. I had the special which was explained as stew and petite NY strip, this was basically black beans with sausage and a small NY strip which was rather tough and dry, this was $39as I recall. Honestly this was a $10-15 meal. Very disappointing as compared to all previous visits, which have been numerous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

From start to finish, tonight was a spectacular experience. My wife had the ahi tuna ceviche while I had the Seviche take on Oysters Rockefeller. Both were delicious. We split the buttermilk cornbread salad and found it to be quite good. My wife ordered the snapper for her entree while I had the special of the evening, Sesame crusted Ahi Tuna. They were both satisfying in every bite. We could not resist dessert so my wife had the Tres Leches cake and I had the Flourless chocolate torte. Truly, this is an incredible jewel in the Louisville restaurant scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We always enjoy our dining experiences here. Highly recommended

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I have been to Seviche numerous times when visiting and entertaining customers in Louisville. I always enjoy the atmosphere and special menu items. Have never had a bad meal and the service is outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Fantastic food and wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Consistently excellent food, great vibe, atmosphere, lighting and Seviche people are always energetic and cool.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Unique style of food. Great fresh veggie and seafood flavor combinations. Small portions but very satisfying. It is expensive to prepare this style of food so cost may seem high to some people. Well worth it. Always like to make a stop here when we're visiting Louisville.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Atmosphere was very relaxing. The food was absolutely incredible. You must try the oyster rockefeller

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.