Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.06mi
  4. Distance: 2.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.06mi
  4. Distance: 2.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.06mi
  4. Distance: 2.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.82mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.06mi
  4. Distance: 2.11mi

About Seviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands

Seviche is Nuevo Latino, an eclectic mix of the traditional flavors of Latin American cuisine and its influences infused into new contemporary dishes. Our chef creates new exciting flavorful dishes based on his heritage and formal training. Chef Anthony Lamas has received national acclaim, John Mariani of Esquire Magazine exclaims "Seviche has emerged as one of America's best and most innovative Nuevo Latino-style restaurants, with plenty of the chef's personality packed into every dish." Seviche has received 4 stars from local food critics and continues to be a stand out among Louisville's top independent restaurants.



We have just completed an extensive renovation and expansion. New features include updated bar area, cocktail lounge, state of the art restrooms and 60 person private dining room.

1538 Bardstown Road
Louisville, KY 40205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday thru Saturday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Stevens & Bardstown Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 473-8560

Website:
http://www.sevicherestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Curbside Valet parking is available nightly, Tuesday through Sunday.

Off-street Parking located in the Panera Bread Co. parking lot as well as on-street parking available

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lamas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining Room can accomodate up to 50 people. Fully A/V equipped. Contact Hap Cohan Hap@sevicherestaurant.com for more information.

Private Dining

Our Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 50 guests. The brand new, state of the art room is the ideal setting for entertaining friends, family and important business clients.

Seviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Groups (17)
Romantic (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Authentic (14)
Tapas (14)
Business Meals (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Fun (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Spicy (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Casual (9)
People Watching (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Healthy (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Scenic View (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Historic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Prompt service with excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is great we were celebrating a birthday. I had the snapper and would go back again just for that! Service was excellent even though they were packed on a Sunday night. Some of the dishes have a little heat, so you might want to check before ordering. The grilled romaine salad is really really good. If you go put it on your list to try.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Simply outstanding - excellent seafood, creative preparation and presentation. Excellent cocktails and a very good wine list

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent as always! Was fortunate to have the Sea Bass this evening! My husband had the lamb. Excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Always amazinf

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Incredible meal all around. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner for my husbands birthday - it's his favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Fresh, creative and most importantly, delicious food in a relaxed environment. I'll go back on my next trip to Louisville.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Our work related retreat was kicked off by attending a dinner at Seviche! We had an incredible experience for our team members from Amsterdam, Colorado, Texas and Boston. The waiter was extremely helpful in recommending wine, appetizers, meals and desserts. Food was amazing so kudos to the chef! Could not have been better-extremely pleased.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I saw the Chef on the TV show The Moveable Feast and when I saw he had a seafood restaurant in Louisville we decided to try it out when we were there recently. The food, ambiance and service were excellent. We especially liked the shrimp appetizer. The half price wine on Sunday was completely unexpected and the wine selection was very good. We will definitely return there when we come back to Louisville

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We ate here to celebrate my fiance's birthday. Started with a couple signature cocktails that were simple, yet delicious in their balance of flavors. Each of us ordered a first course - ceviche for me and broiled oysters for him. The fish was delicate and melt-in-your-mouth and the oysters had a really nice spinach/cheese topping. For mains, we had salmon with rice and scallops with risotto. Both were fantastic - fish cooked to perfection, presentation beautiful, plenty of food. Needless to say, we were too stuffed for dessert, though all of them sounded great. Our waiter had a great sense of humor and was really familiar with the menu items, which is great when asking for suggestions. Overall, we had a lovely time and we'll go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

A friend and I were celebrating her birthday - neither of us had dined at Seviche before.
We asked our server if he had any favorites. His recommendation was considered and so happy we did. The food was delicious! The server was pleasant, friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We usually love our dining experience at Seviche. Our recent experience differed significantly from our expectations.
We ordered the signature Margarita and it was bland and the alcohol content meager.
We ordered the Calamari and there were a lot of vegetables, but much less Calamari as all of our previous orders.
Both the pork special and the Chicken Adobo were overcooked and dry. I think that one carrot as a side vegetable is ridiculous.

Our service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wonderful flavorful delicious food!! Can't wait to return!! Thank you for a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Love Love Love it!!!!! Every time we go the food is incredible!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Guess we caught them on a bad night, Labor Day Weekend, when perhaps they were admittedly unable to bring they A-game service and quality described in other reviews. Our waiter was new and unfamiliar with the menu and ideal cooking doneness of certain dishes in general, bar incorrectly prepared one of our drinks, and food was repeatedly delivered randomly to our the incorrect diners in our three-table cluster. They were out of one special we wanted to try, even though we were among the very early diners. A gigantic electrical tower looms over the patio, which lacks ambience. On the plus side, the bison empanadas were truly delicious. We love fish and ceviche, so tried their Big Eye tuna, Wahoo, and 3 of the unusual "ceviches." They pride themselves on their namesake ceviche being like sashimi with sauces drizzled over them, so if you are a ceviche purist, this is not the place for you. Their eclectic take on the tuna old fashioned was pretty tasty. We love fish prepared simply, but all the other preps were, though fresh, so bland as to be underwhelming. We're not given to sticker shock whatsoever and spend as much as we like to get a great meal, but 2 drinks, 5 appetizers, and 2 mains came in at nearly $200, which would be fine had the meal sizzled and the service shone, but given how things turned out, it felt pretty darn pricey. It sounds like our experience was not the norm, so we might give them another try sometime in the future on a day when we can enjoy their A game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Nice experience. The waiter gave great recommendations and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We sat outside on a warm evening. Appetizer, salad and entree were all superb. Excellent service as well. I highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Our Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had great service. Calimari and the romaine salad were yummy. Scallops with roasted asparagus was very good ( but runb on scallop was salty)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful way to wrap up the week or the start of a new week. Quite and relaxed atmosphere made the perfect backdrop to share good food with my special someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Literally the best Louisville has to compete with Chicago and NYC

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. Not inexpensive, but certainly worth the cost.
Lively atmosphere. Fun to people watch pedestrians on Bardstown Rd.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, People Watching, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great flavors. Fresh and sustainably sourced fish. Amazing halibut ceviche. Thick tortilla soup burst with flavor and they smartly put a smear of cream on the side of bowl to mix in as you like or not! Skirt steak was spot on. The shrimp appetizer in the iron skillet swam around in awesomeness.
Hand muddled mojitos. (first bartender tried to tell me they always use their own mix, but it was cloudy with way too much sour mix, definitely not hand muddled and tasted pretty bad, so I turned it in for a martini. I watched his partner and she was muddling them, so I ordered another after we sat and asked if she would make me one of hers. Perfectly done with citrus and sugars, rum and a splash of mix. Clear, crisp, and what I was craving! I thanked her before we left)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Spicy, Cozy, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really good food with great atmosphere and service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I had not visited Seviche for quite a while and as always the food was spectacular. Great Drinks, the tuna ceviche and oyster shooter were very fresh and flavorful, and both of our entrees were excellent as was the service. A great restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very nice dinner.. celebrating daughters graduation from U of L Medical School.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wow - as usual a great meal and a great time. The food, menu and service are always top-notch at Seviche and this visit was no different. Cocktails are unique and strong - no watered drinks here. Our server recommended the mushroom and goat cheese empanadas which were excellent. The pork chop was cooked to perfection - juicy!!! The snapper with shrimp was excellent - fish delicately flavored and flaky with the shrimp spicy!! All ingredients were fresh and prepared to highlight them. My favorite of the meal was definitely the brown brittle ice cream - it's fantastic. Our server was friendly and helpful and he made sure we had water and drink refills - he made our meal very pleasurable. We will definitely be back. A+

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Low lighting on some tables. Try for a table near a window if you are older. Our order for seviche was confused. We received guacamole instead, but that was comped and they brought delicious seviche as well. Scallops were wonderful, and one of our party raved over the sauce on his meat. We were very happy with the flavors presented in the dishes.
Don't choose the cheaper wine, as we did, because it lets down the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant was very nice , all the staff did a great job. However the price of the food was very expensive considering the food was good but not great .

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It wasnt mind blowing like a friend told me it was. Pretty pricey for a skirt steak and Mahi mahi tacos. The mashed potatoes were pretty awesome though!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

great food and service, they always have a rotating menu that is excelent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I visit friends in Louisville once a year and we have gone to Seviche many times. The menu offerings are varied, creative and well done. Service has always been excellent.

The ambiance can be rather loud at busy times in some areas of the restaurant. Request a quieter table if want to converse at a normal level.

Avoid Kentucky Derby weekend. My visit on the Sunday after the Derby found many favorites on the menu called a "special" Derby weekend menu. The only thing "special" about these offerings were the significantly higher prices. This applied to the wine list as well. Hence my average rating for value.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Kentucky derby dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was one of the best dinners that I've ever had. The food was outstanding .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a wonderful experience Derby night! We were running late due to track traffic, not a problem for the restaurant. The food is always outstanding! Top notch service from a young lady didn't catch her name, tall with dark hair. Super time for all including our out of town guests! I also attend dinner and a movie monthly if I am able. I would highly recommend that everyone try that event also.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tapas, Historic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Try the green chili cesar salad was wonderful . Servive always great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Ridiculously overpriced!!!! Used to be a regular because the food is delicious and the atmosphere fun, but prices are out of touch with all the other fine restaurants in Louisville. Portion sizes have been reduced. And they gouged over Derby weekend. Disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We love good food, and this place soared! Exceeded our expectations. The tuna preparation was one of the best I've ever had. Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.