About Seviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands

1538 Bardstown Road
Louisville, KY 40205
View Larger Map

Seviche is Nuevo Latino, an eclectic mix of the traditional flavors of Latin American cuisine and its influences infused into new contemporary dishes. Our chef creates new exciting flavorful dishes based on his heritage and formal training. Chef Anthony Lamas has received national acclaim, John Mariani of Esquire Magazine exclaims "Seviche has emerged as one of America's best and most innovative Nuevo Latino-style restaurants, with plenty of the chef's personality packed into every dish." Seviche has received 4 stars from local food critics and continues to be a stand out among Louisville's top independent restaurants. We have just completed an extensive renovation and expansion. New features include updated bar area, cocktail lounge, state of the art restrooms and 60 person private dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Stevens & Bardstown Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 473-8560

Website:
http://www.sevicherestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot of Gates Service Station on Stevens Avenue, directly across from Seviche. Valet is available Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lamas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining Room can accomodate up to 60 people. Fully A/V equipped. Contact Madeline Doolittle madi@sevicherestaurant.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Tuna Ceviche
Fideo
Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake
Wahoo Seviche
Gazpac
Chicken Empana
Grilled Baby Octopus
Duck Tacos
Prime Beef Tacos
Mussels!
Ostiones
48 Hour Pork Belly
Striped Sea Bass And Crab Cigar
Ahi Tuna Ceviche
Raspberry Mojito
Mahi Mahi Tacos
Seviches
Churrascos De Argentina
Big Eye Ahi Tuna
Fideos negros con crema de camarones
Meyers  Lemon Tart
Skirt Steak w/ Chimichurri
Butterscotch Ice Cream With Popcorn
Tres Leches Cake
churrasco
Pumpkin Bisque
Kentcky Paw Paw Flan
Vegetarian Chimichangas
Frites
Sweetbread
Crab Seviche
Brazilian Moqueca
Pear and Blue Cheese Salad
Duck Nachos
Habenero Passion Fruit Mousse
Ceviche Sampler
Brazilian Spicy Seafood Stew
Roasted Vegetable And Kenny’s Kentucky Gouda Chimichanga
Shishito Peppers
Bread Pudding
Moqueca
Grilled Octopus
Seviche Tasting
Lamb Empanadas
Chipotle Potato Bisque
Duck Tacos, Empanadas, Guacamole
crab ceviche
Shrimp Seviche
Seviche
Brazilian Fojiada
Crispy Whole Fish

Private Dining

Our Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 50 guests. The brand new, state of the art room is the ideal setting for entertaining friends, family and important business clients.

Seviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
2 More
Best Food
Louisville
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd ›

fit for foodies (73)
special occasion (61)
neighborhood gem (45)
See All
great for outdoor dining (40)
romantic (39)
good for groups (33)
hot spot (26)
notable wine list (26)
vibrant bar scene (14)
scenic view (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
985 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This places never disappoints, the food ...

Dined 7 days ago

This places never disappoints, the food is perfectly crafted every single time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, specials, and service

Dined 7 days ago

Great food, specials, and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Scallops are the best I've ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food! Scallops are the best I've ever had! My husband had halibut and crab, so fresh. We enjoyed every minute of or experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wow. Now I know why always on the best ...

Dined 7 days ago

wow. Now I know why always on the best of Louisville list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great!! Must say that ou ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was great!! Must say that our server, Chris, was amazing!! Probably best server I've ever had!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, modern setting, good for ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food, modern setting, good for expensive date

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful presentation as we celebrated ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Beautiful presentation as we celebrated my wife's birthday with friends. Our server, Lori, had an amazing knowledge of the menu and extremely pleasant and attentive. A surprise engagement at the table next to us made the evening perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were visiting Louisville for a few da ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We were visiting Louisville for a few days and found the restaurant on Trip Advisor. Everything about the experience was great...accept, the loud table of 3 adults, who appeared to be business travelers. We got tired of listening to their conversation and not sure if the acoustics were bad or they were just overly loud folks. Otherwise, the service was wonderful, and the food was very innovative with lovely presentations - and delicious! We got The Avocado for dessert; a must try. Would definitely recommend to friends and return if we are ever in town again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Everything is nice. Food is not much tho ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything is nice. Food is not much though.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The overall experience was terrible. Wh ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The overall experience was terrible. While the appetizer we had was good, it took us nearly 20 minutes to even be waited on so we could place the order. Our waitress provided service to all her tables around us but refused to explain menu items, take our orders, remove menus or even ask how our appetizer was. We sat at our table for 45 minutes before she returned to ask if we wanted her to go over the menu and if we were ready to order. During this time she waited on the table next to us at least 10 times, each time ignoring us as she walked by. This would have been a terrible experience at Bob Evans or a restaurant of that caliber. It is completely unacceptable at a restaurant which charges $45 for a Ribeye and $39 for some Tuna.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday Surprise

Dined on June 9, 2016

My daughter was celebrating a key birthday (older than 39) and her sister surprised her by inviting her to dinner at what she knew to be a favorite restaurant ... Just the two of them. The surprise was the eight other family members who were waiting for her arrival. Our waiter went out of his way to accommodate the needs of the mixed demographic of our group. Everyone commented on how delicious their respective entry choice had been. There was a special birthday desert for the guest of honor to top things off. Our experience surpassed expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

4 adults for dinner. Restaurant was not ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

4 adults for dinner. Restaurant was not busy (1/3 full), bar was slow, too. Alcoholic beverages were slow in coming, food was slow in coming, wait staff was inattentive. The bill was $235.00 and not worth the money, plus $5 to valet park? Please! Will not return to this business.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Seviche was outstanding

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

We arrived early so the restaurant noise level was not at its peak yet. The food looked amazing. I had the halibut which I have had multiple times and it was moist inside and a nice firm sauté on the outside. My husband had the skirt steak about which he was nervous that it would be "tough," as it turned out he found it delicious. He also had the pear and arugula and raved about it. Two minor issues - the guacamole has some sort of green liquid on it before it is mixed. I don't know what that was, but I would not want it again. I like guac to have some texture. The coconut cake was extremely dry, which was too bad, I love coconut cake. None of these issues would keep me from returning. We had very good food, excellent service (Deylan) and nice cocktails and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic!

Dined on June 3, 2016

On of Louisville's top spots for dining. The food is unequalled and rivals the best in the nation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My first time here in awhile, it was exc ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

My first time here in awhile, it was exceptional! Can't wait to return.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great Churrasco

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great Churrasco

food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing!

Dined on May 27, 2016

Always amazing!

food5
ambience4
service5

The oyster shooters are always s good st ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The oyster shooters are always s good start, the Caesar salad is very good and love the Mahi tacos.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant experience in Kentucky. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Best Restaurant experience in Kentucky. Outstanding service and the best food I have had anywhere. The duck tacos are outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went to Seviche for our 5t ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I went to Seviche for our 5th anniversary. It was my first time to eat here. My wife has been a couple of times. The service was excellent, the food was wonderful and the cocktails were superb. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pricey but worth it. Not an every day f ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Pricey but worth it. Not an every day for sure. Plan on spending $75-100 per diner to be able to experience the cuisine. Cocktails are nicely sized and potent, well made. This is a Louisville must.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ate there two nights in a row and both ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I ate there two nights in a row and both times were fabulous. I took an old friend from San Francisco and she was very impressed with everything from the Mojito to the meal and so was I. The next night I met two old friends for dinner there and they were also very complimentary of the Mojito and dinners. Seviche is my favorite Louisville restaurant and that's saying a lot in a city filled with impressive restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Used to be a favorite

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had friends in for Derby, and they wanted to take us our their final night here. I picked Seviche as it has been a long-time favorite of mine, and has one of Louisville's more famous chefs. My husband was a bit hesitant as we had been there about a month earlier and had been a bit disappointed, but I thought that was a unique situation. To begin with, the prices were raised considerably for Derby/Mother's Day, and some of the less expensive items on the menu were removed; as our friends were treating, this made us feel a bit uncomfortable. The service was terrible - which has never been the case at Seviche - to the extent that we had to get other servers to get our server to get dinner ordered, a second round of drinks with dinner, and even water glasses filled. Finally, the food was mediocre at best. As it happened, we had other friends who had lived in Louisville in town the next night, and they wanted to go to Seviche as it was their favorite restaurant in Louisville (They had not been in about 6 months). The menu was more expanded, the prices lower - but still not what they used to be - the service excellent (a server we had all had previously), but the food still just mediocre. With three meals in a row that were mediocre at best, I don't know that we will be returning.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have always like Seviche. The service, food, atmosphere is always amazing. We went for Mother's Day and it did not disappoint. They had a special menu for the Derby weekend which unfortunately did not include their Mahi Mahi tacos (an absolute favorite of mine and my moms) which was really disappointing. However, it resulted in us getting the chance to try some of their other dishes. The five of us each got something different and I don't think that any of us left a morsel of food on our plate. We started with the guacamole, which had a great spicy component. Service was wonderful. The only bad thing that I would say is that it was a lot more expensive than I remembered and definitely a little overpriced. I would recommend this restaurant to any friend who was looking for a good restaurant for a special occasion (mostly due to the price).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Definitely as good as advertised

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went here merely because we had heard word of mouth it was great....we were not disappointed whatsoever! The drinks were ok, not spectacular, but the food was absolutely to die for. We ordered the Bison Empanadas, Ahi Tuna Ceviche, and shared the Churrascos skirt steak dinner. Every single bite was heavenly. Our server was very friendly and attentive. The food was all perfectly prepared and delicious. It was a top notch experience that made us wish we had eaten there every night we were in Louisville. Definitely a place we will frequent again when back in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding. Top 5 in Louisville. Incred ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Outstanding. Top 5 in Louisville. Incredibly creative, fresh, great service...top notch! Hot spot.

food5
ambience4
service4

Good food, good mojito, good service but ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Good food, good mojito, good service but a bit pricey. The caesar salad was really good worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seviche never disappoints.

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife and I have been coming here since the day after it opened. We have to consciously choose to go elsewhere or we would go to Seviche every week. The staff is friendly. Service is always good. And the menu is delightful. You can choose to mix and match seviche choices with entrees, or you could just order a table full of seviches and add a salad and a martini and call it dinner! The ahi tuna seviche is a favorite of ours, as is the chef's version of oysters Rockefeller. As for the entrees, I love the churrasco. And never overlook the daily specials! A wide range of attire, but this is a place you could dress smartly for a special occasion if you wish. Try Seviche. You'll like it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Great service. Expensive. Delicious food ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Great service. Expensive. Delicious food. We had ahi tuna in a coconut shell for appetizer, mahi-mahi tacos, a steak, & the beef tamale.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and the service was even ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was great and the service was even better

food3
ambience4
service4

We sat at the outdoor space where seatin ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We sat at the outdoor space where seating was spacious & still quiet. The day we went there was a margarita special & I've got to say it was one of the best margaritas I've ever had. Everything we had to eat was very good I'm just astonished by the pricing related to the portion size. Portions are VERY small. If you are looking to impress your date, this is a nice place to go with a lovely atmosphere, but prepare yourself ahead of time on practicing your poker face for when the bill comes.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious seafood and "avocado" dessert

Dined on April 16, 2016

Avocado ice cream "meat", chocolate shell "skin" and a bourbon/caramel truffle "pit". What a great dessert!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Another excellent meal. The stars were t ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Another excellent meal. The stars were the oyster shooters, calamari and the Caesar salad. The mushroom enchiladas and seafood special were perfect. Desserts were flawless. Well done.

food3
ambience3
service3

Food quality and dishes somewhat not as ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food quality and dishes somewhat not as exciting service ok need share plates for apps no b and b plates

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful and relaxing dining experience

Dined on April 1, 2016

Go to Seviche for what else...seviche! You can't go wrong with any but my favorite is the crab. Don't miss the guacamole or the chicken empanadas. And if they have the blistered shishito peppers on the menu they are a must. Entrees aren't overwhelmingly huge and you can actually finish your meal, which I enjoy. The avocado ice cream is a beautiful plate but the coconut cake we had was divine. Oh, and SANGRIA! It's the best! We enjoyed our meal so much we returned an evening later for sangria and appetizers at the bar!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Business Dinner

Dined on March 30, 2016

We had a group of 7 for a business dinner and had a wonderful time. The service was excellent and everyone seemed to really enjoy themselves. One word of warning though if you aren't really into spicy foods this isn't the place for you. The décor was awesome and it's a lot larger than it looks from the outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Usually I eat the Churascos de Argentina ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Usually I eat the Churascos de Argentina which is a staple at Sevichè. Always an amazing dish. But tonight I saw a veal chop as a special with horseradish mashed potatoes. I decided to get this and it amazed with every bite. So fork tender and full of wonderful flavor. Simply amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place. The service and the ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

What a great place. The service and the food are amazing. We had a wonderful time at dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food Quality

Dined on March 4, 2016

Great food! The avacado ice cream is to die for:) I intend to make this place a permanent stop every trip to Louisville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always reliable. The BEST guacamole, any ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Always reliable. The BEST guacamole, anywhere. Amazing chimichura steak, mahi mahi tacos and their unique flair on Caesar salad. Tried the Black-eyed pea hummus tonight--so good. A new favorite. You really cannot go wrong. Oh, and of course their ceviches are incredible too.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.