About Seviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands

1538 Bardstown Road
Louisville, KY 40205
View Larger Map

Seviche is Nuevo Latino, an eclectic mix of the traditional flavors of Latin American cuisine and its influences infused into new contemporary dishes. Our chef creates new exciting flavorful dishes based on his heritage and formal training. Chef Anthony Lamas has received national acclaim, John Mariani of Esquire Magazine exclaims "Seviche has emerged as one of America's best and most innovative Nuevo Latino-style restaurants, with plenty of the chef's personality packed into every dish." Seviche has received 4 stars from local food critics and continues to be a stand out among Louisville's top independent restaurants. We have just completed an extensive renovation and expansion. New features include updated bar area, cocktail lounge, state of the art restrooms and 60 person private dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Stevens & Bardstown Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 473-8560

Website:
http://www.sevicherestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot of Gates Service Station on Stevens Avenue, directly across from Seviche. Valet is available Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lamas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining Room can accomodate up to 60 people. Fully A/V equipped. Contact Madeline Doolittle madi@sevicherestaurant.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Tuna Ceviche
Fideo
Chocolate Sin - Flourless Chocolate Cake
Pan Seared Tuna Appetizer
Gazpac
Wahoo Seviche
Chicken Empana
Grilled Baby Octopus
Duck Tacos
Prime Beef Tacos
Mussels!
Ostiones
48 Hour Pork Belly
Striped Sea Bass And Crab Cigar
Ahi Tuna Ceviche
Raspberry Mojito
Mahi Mahi Tacos
Seviches
Churrascos De Argentina
Skirt Steak w/ Chimichurri
Meyers  Lemon Tart
Fideos negros con crema de camarones
Big Eye Ahi Tuna
Butterscotch Ice Cream With Popcorn
churrasco
Tres Leches Cake
Pumpkin Bisque
Kentcky Paw Paw Flan
Vegetarian Chimichangas
Sweetbread
Frites
Crab Seviche
Pear and Blue Cheese Salad
Duck Nachos
Brazilian Moqueca
Habenero Passion Fruit Mousse
Ceviche Sampler
Brazilian Spicy Seafood Stew
Roasted Vegetable And Kenny’s Kentucky Gouda Chimichanga
Bread Pudding
Shishito Peppers
Seviche Tasting
Grilled Octopus
Moqueca
Chipotle Potato Bisque
Lamb Empanadas
Duck Tacos, Empanadas, Guacamole
crab ceviche
Shrimp Seviche
Brazilian Fojiada
Seviche
Crispy Whole Fish

Private Dining

Our Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 50 guests. The brand new, state of the art room is the ideal setting for entertaining friends, family and important business clients.

Seviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
3 More
Best Food
Louisville
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Most Booked
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd ›

Special Occasion (62)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Romantic (34)
Hot Spot (32)
Good for Groups (27)
Notable Wine List (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Scenic View (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1009 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was exceptional! Good was great ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was exceptional! Good was great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. Will be going back! ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was great. Will be going back! Skirt Steak, halibut, guacamole, Bloody Mary shooters, flan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seviche' is an incredible restaurant, ev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Seviche' is an incredible restaurant, every time I am in Louisville with friends, we make it a point to go there no matter where else we may go on the weekend. The food is amazing, everything comes out as ordered, and the presentation is beautiful. The staff never leave for the most part, I have seen some there for many years. We had a server named Chris, the guy was totally amazing start to finish, I was in the restaurant business for 31 years, and I have to say, this was one of the BEST servers I have ever come in contact with, can't say enough about him, or the restaurant. I have had many wonderful meals there since at least 2002, and I look forward to many more! DON"T MISS THIS PLACE!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had an out of town business guest who ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had an out of town business guest who was returning after a visit in March when I took him to dinner at a sports bar because it was convenient and I was tired. Certainly the event did not share the foodie city we call Louisville. This time Seviche was my choice for a Saturday dinner. They did not disappoint. The service was excellent, the mussels excellent, and I had the skirt steak because I could not believe it could be as good as the service person said it was. It was even better. On my budget I cannot go often but it will be a place I return to for special occasions, even just feeling like I deserve it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely recommend dining here.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Definitely recommend dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dinner. Brought four business ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Fantastic dinner. Brought four business colleagues who done well regularly and they were all most impressed. I have never visited Seviche and left feeling anything but thrilled/ consistently outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent. One of my favor ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Consistently excellent. One of my favorite restaurants in a town full of great independents!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great chef and wonderful serv ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food great chef and wonderful service! Always enjoy our meals there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seviche is always my first choice for sp ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Seviche is always my first choice for special occasions. Food and service are always top notch. The decor doesn't quite match the level of the restaurant, but I can overlook it for the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb food and excellent friendly servi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Superb food and excellent friendly service. This is clearly one of the top five restaurants in Louisville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lori was amazing! Literally the best ser ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lori was amazing! Literally the best server We've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice food in a pleasant atmosphere. Lim ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Nice food in a pleasant atmosphere. Limited menu, competent kitchen, nice service, lots of space between tables, an enjoyable place to have a good meal. If you are stuck in Louisville, this is a place to go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A high end dining experience that was no ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

A high end dining experience that was not quite special enough for the price and taste. Admittedly, I do not enjoy overly hot (spicy) foods and this was the case here. The appetizer and salad were delicious, spicy yet palatable. The entree, tuna/lobster on a bed of rice was spiced so strongly that I could only eat a bite or two of the rice. I felt the extreme hotness so overwhelmed the fish that it's taste was completely lost. My wife had the same opinion, and she does enjoy spicy hot foods. Overall it was great service, great location, excellent appetizers and salads, but disappointing main entree for the premium price we paid.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Super yummy food! Decent service. Good l ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Super yummy food! Decent service. Good location. Half price margaritas that were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Second visit, won't be back. We are on s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Second visit, won't be back. We are on staycation and ate out every night at "nice" restaurants. This one by far was the most expensive and the worst. Can we possibly get a dish on the menu that doesn't rank on the Scoville scale? Not everyone likes or can handle that much heat?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Nice in every way highly recommend howev ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Nice in every way highly recommend however requested birthday occasion and it was not recognized

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my 3rd time at Seviche, and as ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was my 3rd time at Seviche, and as always the food was fantastic. Service was great too. Only issue is parking. Still, that's the only possible complaint. Everything else about Seviche is perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is never a disappointment at Se ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food is never a disappointment at Seviche. We had a lot of big eaters at the table, so I feel like we ordered almost everything on the menu. The ceviche's are awesome. The crab cigar is a must. And the avocado ice cream is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seviche is always excellent! Tried somet ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Seviche is always excellent! Tried something I had never tried here before: the guacamole - and it was the best I've ever had! I will definitely order it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food & service. Goodwood bee ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Outstanding food & service. Goodwood beer was awesome - wish they had more Goodwood offerings

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the most outstanding and creative ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of the most outstanding and creative meals we have enjoyed in a long time. The calamari is a must, as are any of the ceviche items on the menu. The chef uses soy sauce that has been aged in bourbon barrels in his creations. A great touch from this amazing chef.

The bourbon list will save you the time of bourbon country tours if you don't have the time. The bourbon flights were a great way to discover the subtle differences in bourbon.

You must save room for the avocado ice-cream served in a dark chocolate shell, with a bourbon ball on top!! The restaurant is only about 10 minutes from downtown Louisville and the airport.

Sunday night dining will really put the dazzling touch on the evening, with half off bottles of wine. You just can't beat it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food but small portions. Servi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Delicious food but small portions. Service was slow and lacking which was disappointing at a fine dining restaurant with considerably high ticket prices

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

Amazing food all around. So many dishes ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Amazing food all around. So many dishes I wanted to try - I'll definitley be back. Porch was wonderful, nicely shaded and lively. Would be great for a romantic dinner and also fun for groups do to many great sharing plates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This places never disappoints, the food ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This places never disappoints, the food is perfectly crafted every single time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, specials, and service

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food, specials, and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Scallops are the best I've ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food! Scallops are the best I've ever had! My husband had halibut and crab, so fresh. We enjoyed every minute of or experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wow. Now I know why always on the best ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

wow. Now I know why always on the best of Louisville list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great!! Must say that ou ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was great!! Must say that our server, Chris, was amazing!! Probably best server I've ever had!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, modern setting, good for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food, modern setting, good for expensive date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful presentation as we celebrated ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Beautiful presentation as we celebrated my wife's birthday with friends. Our server, Lori, had an amazing knowledge of the menu and extremely pleasant and attentive. A surprise engagement at the table next to us made the evening perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Louisville for a few da ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We were visiting Louisville for a few days and found the restaurant on Trip Advisor. Everything about the experience was great...accept, the loud table of 3 adults, who appeared to be business travelers. We got tired of listening to their conversation and not sure if the acoustics were bad or they were just overly loud folks. Otherwise, the service was wonderful, and the food was very innovative with lovely presentations - and delicious! We got The Avocado for dessert; a must try.

Would definitely recommend to friends and return if we are ever in town again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything is nice. Food is not much tho ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything is nice. Food is not much though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The overall experience was terrible. Wh ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The overall experience was terrible. While the appetizer we had was good, it took us nearly 20 minutes to even be waited on so we could place the order. Our waitress provided service to all her tables around us but refused to explain menu items, take our orders, remove menus or even ask how our appetizer was. We sat at our table for 45 minutes before she returned to ask if we wanted her to go over the menu and if we were ready to order. During this time she waited on the table next to us at least 10 times, each time ignoring us as she walked by. This would have been a terrible experience at Bob Evans or a restaurant of that caliber. It is completely unacceptable at a restaurant which charges $45 for a Ribeye and $39 for some Tuna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Birthday Surprise

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

My daughter was celebrating a key birthday (older than 39) and her sister surprised her by inviting her to dinner at what she knew to be a favorite restaurant ... Just the two of them. The surprise was the eight other family members who were waiting for her arrival. Our waiter went out of his way to accommodate the needs of the mixed demographic of our group. Everyone commented on how delicious their respective entry choice had been. There was a special birthday desert for the guest of honor to top things off. Our experience surpassed expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

4 adults for dinner. Restaurant was not ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

4 adults for dinner. Restaurant was not busy (1/3 full), bar was slow, too. Alcoholic beverages were slow in coming, food was slow in coming, wait staff was inattentive. The bill was $235.00 and not worth the money, plus $5 to valet park? Please! Will not return to this business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Seviche was outstanding

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We arrived early so the restaurant noise level was not at its peak yet. The food looked amazing. I had the halibut which I have had multiple times and it was moist inside and a nice firm sauté on the outside. My husband had the skirt steak about which he was nervous that it would be "tough," as it turned out he found it delicious. He also had the pear and arugula and raved about it. Two minor issues - the guacamole has some sort of green liquid on it before it is mixed. I don't know what that was, but I would not want it again. I like guac to have some texture. The coconut cake was extremely dry, which was too bad, I love coconut cake. None of these issues would keep me from returning. We had very good food, excellent service (Deylan) and nice cocktails and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

On of Louisville's top spots for dining. The food is unequalled and rivals the best in the nation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first time here in awhile, it was exc ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My first time here in awhile, it was exceptional! Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Churrasco

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great Churrasco

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always amazing!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.