About Seviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands

1538 Bardstown Road
Louisville, KY 40205
View Larger Map

Seviche is Nuevo Latino, an eclectic mix of the traditional flavors of Latin American cuisine and its influences infused into new contemporary dishes. Our chef creates new exciting flavorful dishes based on his heritage and formal training. Chef Anthony Lamas has received national acclaim, John Mariani of Esquire Magazine exclaims "Seviche has emerged as one of America's best and most innovative Nuevo Latino-style restaurants, with plenty of the chef's personality packed into every dish." Seviche has received 4 stars from local food critics and continues to be a stand out among Louisville's top independent restaurants. We have just completed an extensive renovation and expansion. New features include updated bar area, cocktail lounge, state of the art restrooms and 60 person private dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Stevens & Bardstown Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 473-8560

Website:
http://www.sevicherestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot of Gates Service Station on Stevens Avenue, directly across from Seviche. Valet is available Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lamas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining Room can accomodate up to 60 people. Fully A/V equipped. Contact Madeline Doolittle madi@sevicherestaurant.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Our Private Dining Room can accommodate up to 50 guests. The brand new, state of the art room is the ideal setting for entertaining friends, family and important business clients.

Seviche A Latin Restaurant - Highlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central Kentucky
Best Food
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
1 More
Best Food
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd ›

fit for foodies (76)
special occasion (67)
romantic (52)
See All
neighborhood gem (43)
great for outdoor dining (42)
good for groups (38)
notable wine list (31)
hot spot (31)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

The oyster shooters are always s good st ...

Dined 3 days ago

The oyster shooters are always s good start, the Caesar salad is very good and love the Mahi tacos.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant experience in Kentucky. ...

Dined 4 days ago

Best Restaurant experience in Kentucky. Outstanding service and the best food I have had anywhere. The duck tacos are outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went to Seviche for our 5t ...

Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I went to Seviche for our 5th anniversary. It was my first time to eat here. My wife has been a couple of times. The service was excellent, the food was wonderful and the cocktails were superb. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pricey but worth it. Not an every day f ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Pricey but worth it. Not an every day for sure. Plan on spending $75-100 per diner to be able to experience the cuisine. Cocktails are nicely sized and potent, well made. This is a Louisville must.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ate there two nights in a row and both ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I ate there two nights in a row and both times were fabulous. I took an old friend from San Francisco and she was very impressed with everything from the Mojito to the meal and so was I. The next night I met two old friends for dinner there and they were also very complimentary of the Mojito and dinners. Seviche is my favorite Louisville restaurant and that's saying a lot in a city filled with impressive restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Used to be a favorite

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had friends in for Derby, and they wanted to take us our their final night here. I picked Seviche as it has been a long-time favorite of mine, and has one of Louisville's more famous chefs. My husband was a bit hesitant as we had been there about a month earlier and had been a bit disappointed, but I thought that was a unique situation. To begin with, the prices were raised considerably for Derby/Mother's Day, and some of the less expensive items on the menu were removed; as our friends were treating, this made us feel a bit uncomfortable. The service was terrible - which has never been the case at Seviche - to the extent that we had to get other servers to get our server to get dinner ordered, a second round of drinks with dinner, and even water glasses filled. Finally, the food was mediocre at best. As it happened, we had other friends who had lived in Louisville in town the next night, and they wanted to go to Seviche as it was their favorite restaurant in Louisville (They had not been in about 6 months). The menu was more expanded, the prices lower - but still not what they used to be - the service excellent (a server we had all had previously), but the food still just mediocre. With three meals in a row that were mediocre at best, I don't know that we will be returning.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have always like Seviche. The service, food, atmosphere is always amazing. We went for Mother's Day and it did not disappoint. They had a special menu for the Derby weekend which unfortunately did not include their Mahi Mahi tacos (an absolute favorite of mine and my moms) which was really disappointing. However, it resulted in us getting the chance to try some of their other dishes. The five of us each got something different and I don't think that any of us left a morsel of food on our plate. We started with the guacamole, which had a great spicy component. Service was wonderful. The only bad thing that I would say is that it was a lot more expensive than I remembered and definitely a little overpriced. I would recommend this restaurant to any friend who was looking for a good restaurant for a special occasion (mostly due to the price).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Definitely as good as advertised

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went here merely because we had heard word of mouth it was great....we were not disappointed whatsoever! The drinks were ok, not spectacular, but the food was absolutely to die for. We ordered the Bison Empanadas, Ahi Tuna Ceviche, and shared the Churrascos skirt steak dinner. Every single bite was heavenly. Our server was very friendly and attentive. The food was all perfectly prepared and delicious. It was a top notch experience that made us wish we had eaten there every night we were in Louisville. Definitely a place we will frequent again when back in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding. Top 5 in Louisville. Incred ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Outstanding. Top 5 in Louisville. Incredibly creative, fresh, great service...top notch! Hot spot.

food5
ambience4
service4

Good food, good mojito, good service but ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Good food, good mojito, good service but a bit pricey. The caesar salad was really good worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seviche never disappoints.

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife and I have been coming here since the day after it opened. We have to consciously choose to go elsewhere or we would go to Seviche every week. The staff is friendly. Service is always good. And the menu is delightful. You can choose to mix and match seviche choices with entrees, or you could just order a table full of seviches and add a salad and a martini and call it dinner! The ahi tuna seviche is a favorite of ours, as is the chef's version of oysters Rockefeller. As for the entrees, I love the churrasco. And never overlook the daily specials! A wide range of attire, but this is a place you could dress smartly for a special occasion if you wish. Try Seviche. You'll like it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Great service. Expensive. Delicious food ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Great service. Expensive. Delicious food. We had ahi tuna in a coconut shell for appetizer, mahi-mahi tacos, a steak, & the beef tamale.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and the service was even ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was great and the service was even better

food3
ambience4
service4

We sat at the outdoor space where seatin ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We sat at the outdoor space where seating was spacious & still quiet. The day we went there was a margarita special & I've got to say it was one of the best margaritas I've ever had. Everything we had to eat was very good I'm just astonished by the pricing related to the portion size. Portions are VERY small. If you are looking to impress your date, this is a nice place to go with a lovely atmosphere, but prepare yourself ahead of time on practicing your poker face for when the bill comes.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious seafood and "avocado" dessert

Dined on April 16, 2016

Avocado ice cream "meat", chocolate shell "skin" and a bourbon/caramel truffle "pit". What a great dessert!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Another excellent meal. The stars were t ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Another excellent meal. The stars were the oyster shooters, calamari and the Caesar salad. The mushroom enchiladas and seafood special were perfect. Desserts were flawless. Well done.

food3
ambience3
service3

Food quality and dishes somewhat not as ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food quality and dishes somewhat not as exciting service ok need share plates for apps no b and b plates

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful and relaxing dining experience

Dined on April 1, 2016

Go to Seviche for what else...seviche! You can't go wrong with any but my favorite is the crab. Don't miss the guacamole or the chicken empanadas. And if they have the blistered shishito peppers on the menu they are a must. Entrees aren't overwhelmingly huge and you can actually finish your meal, which I enjoy. The avocado ice cream is a beautiful plate but the coconut cake we had was divine. Oh, and SANGRIA! It's the best! We enjoyed our meal so much we returned an evening later for sangria and appetizers at the bar!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Business Dinner

Dined on March 30, 2016

We had a group of 7 for a business dinner and had a wonderful time. The service was excellent and everyone seemed to really enjoy themselves. One word of warning though if you aren't really into spicy foods this isn't the place for you. The décor was awesome and it's a lot larger than it looks from the outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Usually I eat the Churascos de Argentina ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Usually I eat the Churascos de Argentina which is a staple at Sevichè. Always an amazing dish. But tonight I saw a veal chop as a special with horseradish mashed potatoes. I decided to get this and it amazed with every bite. So fork tender and full of wonderful flavor. Simply amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place. The service and the ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

What a great place. The service and the food are amazing. We had a wonderful time at dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food Quality

Dined on March 4, 2016

Great food! The avacado ice cream is to die for:) I intend to make this place a permanent stop every trip to Louisville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always reliable. The BEST guacamole, any ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Always reliable. The BEST guacamole, anywhere. Amazing chimichura steak, mahi mahi tacos and their unique flair on Caesar salad. Tried the Black-eyed pea hummus tonight--so good. A new favorite. You really cannot go wrong. Oh, and of course their ceviches are incredible too.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hidden Gem

Dined on March 2, 2016

I was in Louisville for business and wanted to get away from the downtown area for a taste of the local's scene. Seviche will not disappoint. Everything was extremely fresh and tasty. From the pre-meal bourbon selection to the decadent desserts, I would return to Seviche over and over again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Now we get it...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband and I had dined at Seviche before and had good, though not memorable meals. this most recent occasion we both had meals that exceeded our expectations - he had the tuna special and I had the swordfish. we shared the empanadas and finished with carrot cake. the sauces accompanying each course enhanced & elevated the dish - truly exceptional experience

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Over priced

Dined on February 28, 2016

I just don't understand what's the point of leaving a note for the restaurant regarding "Birthdays" or any other reason if they don't even acknowledge it ! The food was okay, definitely over priced. Overall, it just okay, nothing special

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fine Latin Dining!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Succinctly, this is one of our favorite dining venues in all of Louisville! When we get in the mood to "kick it up a notch" with some fine Latin dining, Seviche is always our choice! The service is exceptional and the menu varies just enough to keep interest and curiosity high. And, although our choice of entrees may vary, we always start with their Seviche shrimp and end by sharing their signature dessert--The Avacado. By the way, for those who might want to bring this same culinary experience home or just tease the pallet by reading savory recipes, their new Southern Heat Cookbook is just the ticket!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food, service and ambiance was great as ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Food, service and ambiance was great as usual. The chimichuri skirt steak was absolutely delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3

My date and I both very much enjoyed out ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

My date and I both very much enjoyed out meals. We started with a Calimari. She had the Forest Mushroom Enchiladas and i had the Churrascaros de Argentina. Both were delicious. The restaurant was beautiful and the back was quiet. Our only quibble was the waiter seemed very less familiar with the menu and did not offer the drink specials. It was out first time and his description of the background of seviche didn't really elucidate the whole menu. We heard a different waiter give a much more detiled rundown of the offerings. We checked our coats and veleted the car. Both services were speedy and curteous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic

Dined on February 14, 2016

Never had a bad experience at Seviche. Staff is friendly and welcoming and the food is delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Valentines Day Special-Feb 13th

Dined on February 14, 2016

I been dining at Seviche over the years and feel the quality and value has declined drastically. Overcharging for very average dishes. The innovation and cutting edge of the menu items lackluster. A drastic change would need to occur for me to return to Seviche. Otherwise, service was great! Our waitress was very attentive to our needs and requests.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

We were totally impressed with everythin ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were totally impressed with everything! The decor, service, food, and music were great. We especially enjoyed the dessert. Where else can you get a dessert fashioned after an avocado? How unique! Thanks for the great night.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Overpriced

Dined on February 13, 2016

Way overpriced for what you get. Food was bland and nothing at all to write home about. Service was average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and a real experience

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Not just a meal this is an experience. The food was spectacular especially the flank steak. What a great meal with a fantastic waiter. We felt like they were really on top of everything and very attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for a wonderful meal. Michael ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful meal. Michael, our server did a fabulous job along with wonderful food.

food5
ambience4
service4

I have never had a disappointing meal he ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

I have never had a disappointing meal here.

food5
ambience2
service3

I don't recommend sitting in the bar are ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

I don't recommend sitting in the bar area if you want to hear what your date has to say.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to take a newcomer!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Our friends recently moved here, and we suggested Seviche. They loved it. The food was great, they loved the ambience. Alex was our server. She was the bomb diggity!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent.....never had a bad me ...

Dined on January 9, 2016

Always consistent.....never had a bad meal!! Anthony was making rounds which I love seeing! One of Louisvilles best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Great food, great service

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.