About Severance Restaurant and Case Club

11001 Euclid Ave
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Severance Restaurant features contemporary American cuisine in an elegant setting, perfect for a quick bite before the concert, leisurely dinner, or even a custom-catered reception for a special event. Menus include a selection of seasonally appropriate and locally sourced ingredients. The restaurant also offers an eleven-seat bar and wine and craft beer list. Severance Restaurant is operated by Marigold Catering, a certified Green Caterer and voted Northeast Ohio's Best Offsite Caterer in 2012 and 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Sunday Matinee: 12:00pm - 3:00pm.
Dinner: Concert Season: Thursday: 4:30pm - 7:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm.

Cross Street:
East Boulevard

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 231-7373

Website:
http://clevelandorchestra.com/

Catering:
Full service catering is available by Marigold Catering for social and corporate events. Severance Hall is recognized nationally as one of Cleveland's historic signature buldings. The building's exquisite spaces are rented by a wide variety of local organizations for meetings, dinners, receptions, weddings and social events. Premium dates are available. Call the Facility Sales Office at 216-231-7420 or email to hallrental@clevelandorchestra.com

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Campus Center Garage at the East Boulevard entrance to Severance Hall. There is a charge for parking which can be purchased in advance. Call the Ticket Office at 216-231-1111.

Public Transit:
The Health Line RTA bus stops less than a block from Severance Hall.

Executive Chef:
Michael Smith

Private Party Facilities:
The Terrace Room can be rented for private parties on a space available basis. Call the Facility Sales Office at 216-231-7420 for information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Severance Restaurant and Case Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (21)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Scenic View (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Romantic (3)
Historic (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Healthy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and atmosphere was excellent for th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and atmosphere was excellent for the occasion, but the service of the main course was late, which is a problem because this is a restaurant for concert-goers. Serving the entre late puts the start of the concert at jeopardy, and attending a concert is the only reason why one would dine here. We had to "dine and dash" to our eats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

I recommend the Cheese board appetizer! ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

I recommend the Cheese board appetizer! Best thing we ordered. The main dishes, the Veal Meatloaf and the Chicken I would not recommend. They were not worth the price tag. The chicken was dry and very plain no flavor. My husband said the Veal meatloaf was nothing worth bragging about.

I could have complained but I was enjoying the evening. We will definitely will return and just try something new on the menu. The service and atmosphere were exceptional!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We ended up getting to the restaurant la ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We ended up getting to the restaurant late due to weather but they were able to seat us and serve us our meal in under 40 mins because we had to be in our seats by 8. Food was very good and our server was very nice.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very enjoyable dinner with my husb ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had a very enjoyable dinner with my husband at the Severance Restaunt. The wait staff was very well poised and the food was equally enjoyable. I would recommend The Restaurant at Severance Hall to anyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for the Halloween performance with ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Came for the Halloween performance with my family. The buffet was festively decorated and plentiful. Our server did a nice job of making us feel at home and really was great with my children who can be needy at times. Food was hot and flavorful, followed by an amazing perforate by the orchestra.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Really a nice time, good food and good s ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Really a nice time, good food and good service. A convenient option for concert dining.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was not hot. Chicken was dried out ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was not hot. Chicken was dried out and was sitting on a chewy bed of lentils.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

The restaurant at severance hall lives u ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The restaurant at severance hall lives up to its name. Kudos!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came for a quick dinner with my husband ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Came for a quick dinner with my husband before a brilliant performance by the Orchestra. I must admit that I was slightly concerned by some previous reviews, but we ended up having a very nice meal accompanied by world class service. We started with drinks which were expertly mixed and generous pours, followed by a lox platter which was as visually appealing as it was delicious! My husband ordered the meatloaf which was moist and flavorful, I ordered the scallops and they were excellent. Every thing was just perfect from the hostess who knew our names and was waiting for us to arrive to our server Carol who treated us like royalty and really made the evening for us. We will absolutely be back and can't wait to enjoy another evening at beautiful Severance Hall.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Small portions for the price.....just a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Small portions for the price.....just a little more lettuce in the salad would make a big difference.

Need dark colored napkins for those wearing dark clothes as light colored napkins shed lint on dark clothing.

Would only dine at Severance Restaurant when attending the Orchestra as very convenient and don't have to hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

My food arrived with the rice in white s ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My food arrived with the rice in white soupy water and totally undercooked. My first bite was extremely startling as the fish tasted of vinegar and the rice was not cooked. I sent the meal back and ordered the meatloaf which was better but not high on my list of great meals. Despite the food, the ambiance and the staff were great.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

We were somewhat disappointed. The short ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were somewhat disappointed. The short ribs were dry and it took a long time for food to arrive. We were a party of four and they brought a bread basket with three pieces of bread. They forgot to clear a dinner plate even after the dessert arrived. When they called to confirm the reservation, they didn't say who was calling. So it seemed sloppy and in need of attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We were looking forward to dining at Se ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were looking forward to dining at Severance Restaurant before a gangbuster concert by the Cleveland Orchestra. Thumbs up with the orchestra, of course, but thumbs down for the restaurant. The service was poor, the servers were confused and ill-trained. The food was variable. My chicken was underdone and hardly eatable. The meat loaf was better according to my wife and the other couple. Maybe with was just an off night with the staff.

But, was certainly not a World Class experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We were seeing he orchestra the night we ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were seeing he orchestra the night we went to Severance Restaurant and the convenience was the major factor. I was tentative because reviews for the restaurant on other sites were only mediocre. I was very happy with everything about the restaurant. The food was excellent, our waiter James could not have been friendlier and more attentive, obviously the location if you are attending a Severance event, and the atmosphere in general was relaxed and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the Severance hall restaurant, i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This is the Severance hall restaurant, it is in the building of Severance hall and it is minutes from the hall's seats. The food is good, but there are limited selections. I believe this is because it is food that arrives in 10 minutes or less after the server puts in your order so you don't miss seating yourself prior to the start of your show. It is quite expensive, and not as good as other restaurants that serve similarly priced meals. The wine and beer selection is limited but there is also a full bar. The portions are reasonably sized, all 4 of my party members were full after eating only an entree. I am not looking to go back, but I would consider it if someone else suggested it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We ordered a seafood broth with shellfis ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We ordered a seafood broth with shellfish,followed by chicken casserole (for me)

the results were generous portions, but rather greasy, and cooled too quickly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Not only was the soup cold, but our serv ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Not only was the soup cold, but our server offered the folks at the next table reheating and WE were the ones who mentioned it, but nothing was done other than fiddling with the heater under the soup on the buffet table.

The music was way too loud and inappropriate for Severance Hall.

We almost always eat here before concerts, but............

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Really very good. A lot of food. Food ca ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Really very good. A lot of food. Food came out quickly but not rushed. Fabulous sweet potato pie soup.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was good but not excellent (veal me ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was good but not excellent (veal meatloaf, short ribs, orechiette, calves' liver). Although the food was better than expected, there were occasional failures in cooking (tough green skin left on acorn squash pieces in salad, oddly sweet dressing, slab of fried meatloaf burnt on the edges and tepid in the center, bitter berry mix accompanying the creme brulee). Service left a lot to be desired, however. I know people don't like the server to "auction off" the finished plates at the table, i.e. "who's the calves' liver?" but I would have preferred to be asked. Twice the server messed it up and delivered the wrong plates to the wrong people, without asking us and ignoring our instructions. A partly-eaten salad plate was nearly whisked away, when the server instructed us to "move it out of the way" upon the arrival of the entree. Then the empty and dirty salad plate and silverware sat there, forlorn and ignored by the server, until dessert. Also the empty bread plates and bread basket. The restaurant was not busy - we had an early reservation and were almost the only ones there at the beginning. Location (actually inside Severance Hall - just walk upstairs to your orchestra seats) is the best reason to eat here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Severance Restaurant is convenient if yo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Severance Restaurant is convenient if you're going to the symphony but otherwise disappointing. The food was mediocre and my waiter brought my check before he brought my dessert. I was alone and they wanted the table, understandably I guess, but I always say that one measure of a restaurant is how they treat you when you're alone. Severance Restaurant has pretensions of being a first-rank restaurant, including high prices, but it's not there. It could be, and if it were, it would make a great evening at Severance Hall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Extremely convenient place to dine befor ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Extremely convenient place to dine before Cleveland Orchestra concert. Food was good overall, and the servers were very nice but not well trained. They could bring this restaurant to a whole other level if they took the time to train their staff on fine dining services.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Clearly the most obvious reason for dini ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Clearly the most obvious reason for dining here is to add dinner to an evening with the great Cleveland Orchestra. The restaurant has a nice ambience and a relatively limited menu accompanied by a similarly limited offering of wines. We would guess that most folks would rate the offerings as average. We'd agree. The menu ran generally toward "comfort foods" - braised beef short ribs, veal meatloaf, roasted confit of chicken with a lentil bean under layer - not bad actually but a little sleep inducing prior to a performance. Service was a bit on the inexperienced side. Pricing about what you'd expect when dropping $100 or so for a concert ticket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Our visit was before the Sunday Afternoo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our visit was before the Sunday Afternoon performance of the Cleveland Orchestra. The Buffet was good, and service was excellent. Would not change a thing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very convenient place for pre concert di ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very convenient place for pre concert dinner. Staff friendly ad helpful, but seemed to be new and not yet comfortable with the routine as the new season for the orchestra had just begun.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

As described on Trip Advisor, food is go ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

As described on Trip Advisor, food is good and service is uncertain. The wrong dish was brought to my wife - she should have eaten it as the correct item, when finally brought out, was undercooked.

The woman who took our orders did not bring the food - in an effort at efficiency, no one is responsible for service.

As we were visitors to Severance Hall, we didn't know any restaurants in the area. But we would look for one next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The restaurant is convenient to Severanc ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The restaurant is convenient to Severance Hall and the Cleveland Orchestra concerts, however, the service was not up to the cost and the environment. They were doing new hire training right on the job at our tables. They need to develop a better training program for sure!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The service was dreadful. 45 min to get ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The service was dreadful. 45 min to get our drinks which were then delivered wrong. Dinner was brought to us at 7:10 for a 6 pm reservation. We had 1o min to eat it. No time for desert.

It was awful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Always dependable for an enjoyable exper ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Always dependable for an enjoyable experience. Wonderful food and service, classy atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually reliable.

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 28, 2016

This restaurant is usually a very good place to dine prior to a concert. The food is good , although on the high side, but the service was very poor this time; don't know what happened but we had to rush for the concert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The reservation process was excellent an ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2016

The reservation process was excellent and intuitive. The service was quite good but the food was edible, and just barely. Both of our entrees tasted like they were prepared off site and rewarmed in a microwave oven. I was overall disappointed in Severance Hall Dining Room but it is convenient before a symphony performance. I did appreciate booklet about the performance information and program notes available in the dining room.

Would I recommend the Restaurant? Only two responses are available. Yes and No. My answer is maybe.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Luckily, I had been there several times ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Luckily, I had been there several times in the past. The food was good, but the service was seriously lacking. I'd never had this problem in the past, so I have to think it was just an aberration. This restaurant is very convenient for a Sunday afternoon concert, so I will return, in the hopes that service has returned to normal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Very convenient to dine here before atte ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very convenient to dine here before attending a concert or event at Severance Hall. The food was quite good, as was the service. (We were early diners, so that might have helped make the waiter quicker and more attentive; he wasn't busy with many other patrons.) Starting early allowed us to linger and have a leisurely meal, and being already within the building meant we didn't have to rush to get to the concert. Definitely recommend this restaurant for a pre-concert dinner, both for the food and the convenience.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My fiance & I are completely impressed w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 21, 2016

My fiance & I are completely impressed with our first time at Severance! The hostess was quick to greet us with a smiling face. Our friendly waitress came right over and introduced herself. It was clear that she knew what she was talking about and has great experience with her heart in her job. When I made the reservation, I added a simple note that the dinner (before the show) was for my fiances birthday. The owner/manager came out to personally greet us and say Happy Birthday. She explained that she chose to have us seated in the most requested spot/room by the large windows to see the beautiful outdoor scenery. She was extremely professional in every aspect. The waitress was also professional, tentative and there when needed. The charismatic chef even came out to asked how our food was. The food was outstanding! They really made us feel special. After the show we even stopped back in to have dessert. We had THEE BEST mixed berries & cheesecake ever! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd really be happy to say I like this r ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2016

I'd really be happy to say I like this restaurant since it's so convenient when attending a concert. But it's passable at best. Severance Hall could do so much better than this..

When we checked in there was no one to greet us - or the party waiting ahead of us. Two people walked by and said "someone will be with you in a moment, " or words to that affect. It was only a few minutes probably, but when the hostess did appear, she casually stated "sorry, I was chatting." Really.

The service was ridiculously slow. Fortunately we booked a table with lots of time before the concert, otherwise we'd have had to gobble our food. We ordered wine, salads and entrees from the small (understandable) list of choices. Waited 30 minutes for our salads. Our server even had the audacity to come by the table at 25 minutes to ask if we'd been served. He didn't know!

Since there isn't a lengthy list of entrees, it would seem that they could come out of the kitchen with reasonable timeliness. Apparently not. Our entrees were fairly good (certainly not excellent) but we had about 20 minutes to eat, pay the bill and get to our seats. It would have been nice to have that extra time at the end of the meal to linger (there were many open tables) and enjoy some coffee or dessert.

Further, I have to say that the service, in addition to being slow, was simply not professional. Friendly, yes, but not professional. I saw one server reach across the table in front of diners to place an item in front of another patron, rather than walk around the table (there was ample room) and serve the way it should have been. Really, this Severance Hall, not Denny's. Professional service doesn't mean stuffy, but it does mean following basic protocol and appropriate etiquette. Doesn't Marigold train its employees?

When we left my companion said "we won't do this again."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

mothers day brunch

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took mother to holiday brunch. Service was good and ambiance was wonderful but the buffet was lacking. Smoked salmon and Chicken were tasty, otherwise drab. Plan somewhere else for a holiday meal, but this might be good if you need a bite before a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Pre concert convenience venue only

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Venue was chosen for pre concert convenience only. It was very noisy and the large table for two(we were seated opposite each other) had us so far apart, we were talking louder than normal to converse. I moved a heavy chair and table to accommodate us with no assist from the staff. The salad, crab cake and beverage were satisfactory. We had to request the bread, which was the best quality and flavor on the table. The thin pink broth borscht soup incorporated many sliced onions, a piece of meatball ?, some tiny globules of sour cream, however, no beets. Hints of ingredients had me guessing what I was eating. I would not return there or recommend it to anyone based on the noise level and lack of quality control of ingredients in the soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Mom loved it.

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Took Mom there following a late morning concert and we enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Now Takes a Bow

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 5, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with our pre-concert dinner the other evening.

The food and service are now very good, thanks to a new management.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Food and Service

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Service was very attentive and focused on our concert and lecture time. Food far exceeded expectations. Could say it is a bit pricey, but the quality was equal if not better than other restaurants of this price range.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing service. Waitress (T ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Very disappointing service. Waitress (Tina S., 4/30/16) brought soup for me but did not bring appetizer for my wife for nearly 10 minutes; no apology. She seemed oblivious to me not eating / waiting for my wife to be served even though soup was getting cold.. She asked me if I wanted coffee but then started to walk away from table without asking my wife until my wife said she also would like coffee; no apology. She seemed to be in a hurry to do everything even though there was no need to rush. Her service was not in accord with our many previous experiences at Severance Restaurant. I looked for restaurant manager as we left to talk with her but did not see her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.