Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

TrentinaTrentina
(339)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | University Circle, Cleveland
Booked 9 times today
L'AlbatrosL'Albatros
(3779)
$$$$
French | University Circle, Cleveland
Booked 49 times today
Michelson and MorleyMichelson and Morley
(173)
$$$$
American | University Circle, Cleveland
Booked 3 times today
ProvenanceProvenance
(565)
$$$$
American | University Circle, Cleveland
Booked 14 times today
Michaelangelo'sMichaelangelo's
(996)
$$$$
Italian | Little Italy, Cleveland
Booked 15 times today
Valerio's RistoranteValerio's Ristorante
(96)
$$$$
Italian | Little Italy, Cleveland
Table 45Table 45
(897)
$$$$
International | Cleveland East, Cleveland
Booked 5 times today
The Corner Alley UptownThe Corner Alley Uptown
(26)
$$$$
American | University Circle, Cleveland
Booked 5 times today
NighttownNighttown
(335)
$$$$
American | Cleveland Heights, Cleveland
North Coast CafeNorth Coast Cafe
(32)
$$$$
American | Cleveland East, Cleveland
SASASASA
(403)
$$$$
Sushi | Shaker Heights, Cleveland
Booked 18 times today
Edwins RestaurantEdwins Restaurant
(758)
$$$$
French | Shaker Square, Cleveland
Booked 11 times today
bd's Mongolian Grill - Clevelandbd's Mongolian Grill - Cleveland
(48)
$$$$
Asian | Cleveland West, Cleveland
Booked 1 time today
Bodega Restaurant and LoungeBodega Restaurant and Lounge
(301)
$$$$
Continental | Cleveland Heights, Cleveland
Booked 8 times today
TasteTaste
(67)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Cleveland Heights, Cleveland
Booked 6 times today

About Severance Restaurant and Case Club

11001 Euclid Ave
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Severance Restaurant features contemporary American cuisine in an elegant setting, perfect for a quick bite before the concert, leisurely dinner, or even a custom-catered reception for a special event. Menus include a selection of seasonally appropriate and locally sourced ingredients. The restaurant also offers an eleven-seat bar and wine and craft beer list. Severance Restaurant is operated by Marigold Catering, a certified Green Caterer and voted Northeast Ohio's Best Offsite Caterer in 2012 and 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Sunday Matinee: 12:00pm - 3:00pm.
Dinner: Concert Season: Thursday: 4:30pm - 7:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm.

Cross Street:
East Boulevard

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 231-7373

Website:
http://clevelandorchestra.com/

Catering:
Full service catering is available by Marigold Catering for social and corporate events. Severance Hall is recognized nationally as one of Cleveland's historic signature buldings. The building's exquisite spaces are rented by a wide variety of local organizations for meetings, dinners, receptions, weddings and social events. Premium dates are available. Call the Facility Sales Office at 216-231-7420 or email to hallrental@clevelandorchestra.com

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Campus Center Garage at the East Boulevard entrance to Severance Hall. There is a charge for parking which can be purchased in advance. Call the Ticket Office at 216-231-1111.

Public Transit:
The Health Line RTA bus stops less than a block from Severance Hall.

Executive Chef:
Michael Smith

Private Party Facilities:
The Terrace Room can be rented for private parties on a space available basis. Call the Facility Sales Office at 216-231-7420 for information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Severance Restaurant and Case Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (23)
Special Occasion (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
See All
Seasonal (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Historic (7)
Romantic (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Authentic (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent short ribs and trout for our e ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent short ribs and trout for our entrees. Server was Cello and she was excellent.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very nice environment and waitress. My g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

very nice environment and waitress. My girlfriend and I, however, felt kind of different from the rest of the customers because everyone was old!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

So - So dining experience. Food and ser ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

So - So dining experience. Food and service were average. The only real positive was that we were there for the concert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Completing a food request on line, and w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Completing a food request on line, and when you arrive and see the limited menu that was provided. The menu presented at dinner was different than the choses provided on line.

The selection was very limited and there was no ability to ask to make any changes to the entrée.

Service, was good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

New Years Eve

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent as alway ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and service were excellent as always. Dr. Potetz

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must if you are attending a concert at ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

A must if you are attending a concert at Severance Hall.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, so-so portions, overpriced.

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Good food, so-so portions, overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is warmed up. Price is high. Had de ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food is warmed up. Price is high. Had decent taste.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Much better than we expected. Would defi ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Much better than we expected. Would definitely return in future

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Service was outstanding! We were seated ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service was outstanding! We were seated promptly and served equally as fast. We were actually ready for the orchestra 30 minutes before we planned. The short ribs were outstanding-flavorful, moist and fork tender. The only complaint is that the sides of root vegetable and mashed potatoes were very skimpy given the price. The mushroom pasta dish was not as flavorful as I hoped, and mushrooms were not plentiful. It was good, just not outstanding. The bruschetta with butternut squash was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Was our tradition to eat brunch here wit ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Was our tradition to eat brunch here with Santa every year before Christmas concert with the orchestra- used to be excellent, high quality food and gorgeous decorator cookies. Imagine our disappointment with Marigold catering's decision to offer a healthy buffet of quinoa salad and cheap box cookies. Nothing my son could eat existed and the kitchen could prepare nothing as an alternative. We left without eating and as we had planned this as our meal did not eat until 7 pm when we were done at severance.

Gone are chocolate milk, bacon and huge cookies to share with Santa. Gone also was the crowd of diners usually packing the place on event day. They must have gotten the memo about bacon being pulled and replaced with underdone scallop potatoes. Only 3 tables were occupied. Shame on Marigold Catering for ruining part of our holiday outing that we had looked forward to all year. Don't fix what isn't broken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Enjoyed lunch before Christmas Concert. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Enjoyed lunch before Christmas Concert. We loved the friendliness of the staff and especially our visit from the wonderful Santa Claus!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Seasonal, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service is very very slow. Get there ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The service is very very slow. Get there very early if you plan on making the show. Our reservation was for 6:15 and the show was at 7:30. This should be plenty of time but we didn't get our main dish until 7:10! We had to skip desert and coffee and the server didn't bring our second round of drinks at all. We made the show on time but it was rushed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

The restaurant is convenient, but the se ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The restaurant is convenient, but the service is extremely slow. Our reservation was for 5:45 and the concert was at 7:30--no time for desert and we barely made it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Food was quite good, but there seemed to ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was quite good, but there seemed to be some problem with the service organization. We were seated immediately, but then waited some 30 minutes before anyone came to take our order. We typically eat here before concerts at Severance Hall, and have had some similar waits in the past. Would love to have the restaurant solve the problem so we could continue coming and enjoying a leisurely meal before a performance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Open Table had last year's menu posted. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Open Table had last year's menu posted. Recommend updating that and periodically verifying that menu is at least recent. Nothing on menu was same as what was posted.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We both had the short ribs for an entree ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We both had the short ribs for an entree. They are the best in the area. Service from Ashley was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been coming the the Severance Di ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have been coming the the Severance Dining and Orchester for years for thr Christmas Concert. As always the food, service, music were fantastic.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Obviously this place is convenient for a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Obviously this place is convenient for a concert. But this should be a special place, and, on this visit, it wasn't at all. The food was not particularly good, especially for the price; and the service seemed to be in complete confusion -- starting with standing in line at the front stand for a good ten minutes before anyone came around looking like she was in charge -- who only paid attention to me when I moved ahead of a party that had been waiting for someone to do something, to get her attention. Watching the wait staff from our direct view of the kitchen accessway, there seemed to be a lot of movement without a lot getting done. Took another 15 minutes after we were seated to get one glass of wine and a coke, because, "the bartender is backed up."

we have been here, probably 30 times in the last 30 years -- this was most unsatisfying experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Every year we observe our Mother's birth ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Every year we observe our Mother's birthday with dinner at the restaurant followed by the Holiday Concert. The location of the Serverance Restaurant in Serverance Hall makes it the ideal location for pre-concert dinner with an elderly parent. Some years the restaurant makes our expectation for a satisfactory experience, other years not-so-much. This year was a Not-So-Much. One entrée was acceptable, once was tepid, and the third was an undercooked pork chop. The chop was sufficiently tough to ask for a steak knife, only to find out it was barely away from raw. The restaurant graciously provided another choice of entrée.

At the end of our dinner, the bill included charges for desserts, which we had not ordered. Our waitress offer that the desserts were offered for the inconvenience of the chop, and we presumed therefore should be at no charge. Our waitress could not readily confirm this. We paid the bill, with desserts, and left.

In conclusion, other than the ideal location for pre-concert dinners, would not recommend for any other reason.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Starters were very good. Entrees were s ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Starters were very good. Entrees were served barely warm. When I mentioned it to the server he said he was sorry, but no offer was made to correct it. Pretty expensive for such amateur mistakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Arrived a few minutes early, our table ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Arrived a few minutes early, our table was ready, service was excellent, pleasant, friendly staff. Appetizers and salad were spaced properly and delicious. Main course catch of the day, was perfectly cooked and hot. We will definitely go back before seeing the Cleveland Orchestra again.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic and the staff was ver ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was fantastic and the staff was very nice; however our server seemed to be a bit underwater. We waited for about 15 minutes for her to greet us. We were there for a show and thought that the restaurant would be sensitive to timing. We actually had to ask another waiter to find her because we were nervous we wouldn't get our food in time to be seated for the show. Our food came out and we had about 10 minutes to eat , check out, and get to our seats. It was delicious, but we didn't get to enjoy it. I would definitely give it another chance, but we very disappointed by the service once we sat down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We had never been to the restaurant befo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We had never been to the restaurant before, we had tickets for the Cleveland Orchestra so we decide to try the restaurant. We made the reservation for 6 the concert started at 7:30, the time worked out perfect. Over heard one party complain about slow service. If I wanted fast service I would go to Denny's. We were looking for something better which we found. If you are looking for a quick meal to woof down and go then this is not the place for you. But if you want a very special evening we highly recommend Severance Restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I truly felt badly for our server and co ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I truly felt badly for our server and couldn't hold her responsible but the service from the bar was painfully slow and selection was quite limited. Knowing that we were there for a concert, you would also think that there would be a concerted effort to get everyone served in a more timely fashion. Our reservation was for 6:00 p.m. and the performance was to start at 7:30 and we barely made it in time.

Quite disappointed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I agree with many of the other reviews, ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I agree with many of the other reviews, average food, average service, nothing special. Good for a meal before seeing the orchestra, I really was not expecting much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A wonderful pre or post Cleveland Orches ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

A wonderful pre or post Cleveland Orchestra dining spot. A creative menu and impeccable service add to the enjoyment of a special night out. A small but good wine list and locally sourced ingredients are nice additions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and atmosphere was excellent for th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food and atmosphere was excellent for the occasion, but the service of the main course was late, which is a problem because this is a restaurant for concert-goers. Serving the entre late puts the start of the concert at jeopardy, and attending a concert is the only reason why one would dine here. We had to "dine and dash" to our eats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

I recommend the Cheese board appetizer! ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I recommend the Cheese board appetizer! Best thing we ordered. The main dishes, the Veal Meatloaf and the Chicken I would not recommend. They were not worth the price tag. The chicken was dry and very plain no flavor. My husband said the Veal meatloaf was nothing worth bragging about.

I could have complained but I was enjoying the evening. We will definitely will return and just try something new on the menu. The service and atmosphere were exceptional!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We ended up getting to the restaurant la ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We ended up getting to the restaurant late due to weather but they were able to seat us and serve us our meal in under 40 mins because we had to be in our seats by 8. Food was very good and our server was very nice.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very enjoyable dinner with my husb ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had a very enjoyable dinner with my husband at the Severance Restaunt. The wait staff was very well poised and the food was equally enjoyable. I would recommend The Restaurant at Severance Hall to anyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for the Halloween performance with ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Came for the Halloween performance with my family. The buffet was festively decorated and plentiful. Our server did a nice job of making us feel at home and really was great with my children who can be needy at times. Food was hot and flavorful, followed by an amazing perforate by the orchestra.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Really a nice time, good food and good s ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Really a nice time, good food and good service. A convenient option for concert dining.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was not hot. Chicken was dried out ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was not hot. Chicken was dried out and was sitting on a chewy bed of lentils.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

The restaurant at severance hall lives u ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The restaurant at severance hall lives up to its name. Kudos!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small portions for the price.....just a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Small portions for the price.....just a little more lettuce in the salad would make a big difference.

Need dark colored napkins for those wearing dark clothes as light colored napkins shed lint on dark clothing.

Would only dine at Severance Restaurant when attending the Orchestra as very convenient and don't have to hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Came for a quick dinner with my husband ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Came for a quick dinner with my husband before a brilliant performance by the Orchestra. I must admit that I was slightly concerned by some previous reviews, but we ended up having a very nice meal accompanied by world class service. We started with drinks which were expertly mixed and generous pours, followed by a lox platter which was as visually appealing as it was delicious! My husband ordered the meatloaf which was moist and flavorful, I ordered the scallops and they were excellent. Every thing was just perfect from the hostess who knew our names and was waiting for us to arrive to our server Carol who treated us like royalty and really made the evening for us. We will absolutely be back and can't wait to enjoy another evening at beautiful Severance Hall.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My food arrived with the rice in white s ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My food arrived with the rice in white soupy water and totally undercooked. My first bite was extremely startling as the fish tasted of vinegar and the rice was not cooked. I sent the meal back and ordered the meatloaf which was better but not high on my list of great meals. Despite the food, the ambiance and the staff were great.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

We were somewhat disappointed. The short ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were somewhat disappointed. The short ribs were dry and it took a long time for food to arrive. We were a party of four and they brought a bread basket with three pieces of bread. They forgot to clear a dinner plate even after the dessert arrived. When they called to confirm the reservation, they didn't say who was calling. So it seemed sloppy and in need of attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.