HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Severance Restaurant and Case Club

3.8
315 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

Severance Restaurant features contemporary American cuisine in an elegant setting, perfect for a quick bite before the concert, leisurely dinner, or even a custom-catered reception for a special event. Menus include a selection of seasonally appropriate and locally sourced ingredients. The restaurant also offers an eleven-seat bar and wine and craft beer list. Severance Restaurant is operated by Marigold Catering, a certified Green Caterer and voted Northeast Ohio's Best Offsite Caterer in 2012 and 2013.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Sunday Matinee: 12:00pm - 3:00pm.
Dinner: Concert Season: Thursday: 4:30pm - 7:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(216) 231-7373
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Smith
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Full service catering is available by Marigold Catering for social and corporate events. Severance Hall is recognized nationally as one of Cleveland's historic signature buldings. The building's exquisite spaces are rented by a wide variety of local organizations for meetings, dinners, receptions, weddings and social events. Premium dates are available. Call the Facility Sales Office at 216-231-7420 or email to hallrental@clevelandorchestra.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
East Boulevard
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available in the Campus Center Garage at the East Boulevard entrance to Severance Hall. There is a charge for parking which can be purchased in advance. Call the Ticket Office at 216-231-1111.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The Health Line RTA bus stops less than a block from Severance Hall.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 315 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.8  based on all time ratings
3.7
food
4.0
service
3.9
ambience
3.3
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipFahrenheitproblem (Cleveland)
1.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

Got there at 6:05 PM for a 6 PM reservation on a Tuesday for Valentine's dinner. Concert to begin at 7:30 PM. All started well. Limited menu so easy ordering. Salads came promptly, then nothing. No entrees. We asked 3 different people including a dining room manager over an hours period of time. Finally, around 7:15 PM, cold, hastily prepared entrees came. It was inedible and lights starting flashing telling us to go to Hall for orchestra concert. It was a bad experience. We did not pay for the meal; they had only wanted to give us desserts after the concert, but we said we would not come back so they agreed not to charge us and frankly, we only had taken a couple bites of the entrée. It was poorly handled and the restaurant was ill-equipped. It put a big damper on Valentine's day.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

Much better food than expected. Worth coming back

Report
Helpful
vipDavide (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent short ribs and trout for our entrees. Server was Cello and she was excellent.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
4.0  Dined on January 5, 2017

very nice environment and waitress. My girlfriend and I, however, felt kind of different from the rest of the customers because everyone was old!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
3.0  Dined on January 5, 2017

So - So dining experience. Food and service were average. The only real positive was that we were there for the concert.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
1.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

Completing a food request on line, and when you arrive and see the limited menu that was provided. The menu presented at dinner was different than the choses provided on line.

The selection was very limited and there was no ability to ask to make any changes to the entrée.

Service, was good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve

Report
Helpful
Layla (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and service were excellent as always. Dr. Potetz

Report
Helpful
carstat (Cleveland)
4.0  Dined on December 22, 2016

A must if you are attending a concert at Severance Hall.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
3.0  Dined on December 22, 2016

Good food, so-so portions, overpriced.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
3.0  Dined on December 21, 2016

Food is warmed up. Price is high. Had decent taste.

Report
Helpful
vipFrank (Naples)
4.0  Dined on December 21, 2016

Much better than we expected. Would definitely return in future

Report
Helpful
vipCoolohlady (Cleveland)
4.0  Dined on December 21, 2016

Service was outstanding! We were seated promptly and served equally as fast. We were actually ready for the orchestra 30 minutes before we planned. The short ribs were outstanding-flavorful, moist and fork tender. The only complaint is that the sides of root vegetable and mashed potatoes were very skimpy given the price. The mushroom pasta dish was not as flavorful as I hoped, and mushrooms were not plentiful. It was good, just not outstanding. The bruschetta with butternut squash was excellent.

Report
Helpful
Eggbertsmom (Cleveland)
1.0  Dined on December 18, 2016

Was our tradition to eat brunch here with Santa every year before Christmas concert with the orchestra- used to be excellent, high quality food and gorgeous decorator cookies. Imagine our disappointment with Marigold catering's decision to offer a healthy buffet of quinoa salad and cheap box cookies. Nothing my son could eat existed and the kitchen could prepare nothing as an alternative. We left without eating and as we had planned this as our meal did not eat until 7 pm when we were done at severance.

Gone are chocolate milk, bacon and huge cookies to share with Santa. Gone also was the crowd of diners usually packing the place on event day. They must have gotten the memo about bacon being pulled and replaced with underdone scallop potatoes. Only 3 tables were occupied. Shame on Marigold Catering for ruining part of our holiday outing that we had looked forward to all year. Don't fix what isn't broken.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on December 17, 2016

Enjoyed lunch before Christmas Concert. We loved the friendliness of the staff and especially our visit from the wonderful Santa Claus!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
3.0  Dined on December 16, 2016

The service is very very slow. Get there very early if you plan on making the show. Our reservation was for 6:15 and the show was at 7:30. This should be plenty of time but we didn't get our main dish until 7:10! We had to skip desert and coffee and the server didn't bring our second round of drinks at all. We made the show on time but it was rushed.

Report
Helpful
vipCalsin (Cleveland)
3.0  Dined on December 16, 2016

The restaurant is convenient, but the service is extremely slow. Our reservation was for 5:45 and the concert was at 7:30--no time for desert and we barely made it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
3.0  Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was quite good, but there seemed to be some problem with the service organization. We were seated immediately, but then waited some 30 minutes before anyone came to take our order. We typically eat here before concerts at Severance Hall, and have had some similar waits in the past. Would love to have the restaurant solve the problem so we could continue coming and enjoying a leisurely meal before a performance.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cleveland)
3.0  Dined on December 15, 2016

Open Table had last year's menu posted. Recommend updating that and periodically verifying that menu is at least recent. Nothing on menu was same as what was posted.

Report
Helpful
vipDavide (Cleveland)
5.0  Dined on December 11, 2016

We both had the short ribs for an entree. They are the best in the area. Service from Ashley was excellent.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16