About Severance Restaurant and Case Club

11001 Euclid Ave
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Severance Restaurant features contemporary American cuisine in an elegant setting, perfect for a quick bite before the concert, leisurely dinner, or even a custom-catered reception for a special event. Menus include a selection of seasonally appropriate and locally sourced ingredients. The restaurant also offers an eleven-seat bar and wine and craft beer list. Severance Restaurant is operated by Marigold Catering, a certified Green Caterer and voted Northeast Ohio's Best Offsite Caterer in 2012 and 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Sunday Matinee: 12:00pm - 3:00pm.
Dinner: Concert Season: Thursday: 4:30pm - 7:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm.

Cross Street:
East Boulevard

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 231-7373

Website:
http://clevelandorchestra.com/

Catering:
Full service catering is available by Marigold Catering for social and corporate events. Severance Hall is recognized nationally as one of Cleveland's historic signature buldings. The building's exquisite spaces are rented by a wide variety of local organizations for meetings, dinners, receptions, weddings and social events. Premium dates are available. Call the Facility Sales Office at 216-231-7420 or email to hallrental@clevelandorchestra.com

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Campus Center Garage at the East Boulevard entrance to Severance Hall. There is a charge for parking which can be purchased in advance. Call the Ticket Office at 216-231-1111.

Public Transit:
The Health Line RTA bus stops less than a block from Severance Hall.

Executive Chef:
Michael Smith

Private Party Facilities:
The Terrace Room can be rented for private parties on a space available basis. Call the Facility Sales Office at 216-231-7420 for information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Usually reliable.

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This restaurant is usually a very good place to dine prior to a concert. The food is good , although on the high side, but the service was very poor this time; don't know what happened but we had to rush for the concert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The reservation process was excellent an ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The reservation process was excellent and intuitive. The service was quite good but the food was edible, and just barely. Both of our entrees tasted like they were prepared off site and rewarmed in a microwave oven. I was overall disappointed in Severance Hall Dining Room but it is convenient before a symphony performance. I did appreciate booklet about the performance information and program notes available in the dining room.

Would I recommend the Restaurant? Only two responses are available. Yes and No. My answer is maybe.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Luckily, I had been there several times ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Luckily, I had been there several times in the past. The food was good, but the service was seriously lacking. I'd never had this problem in the past, so I have to think it was just an aberration. This restaurant is very convenient for a Sunday afternoon concert, so I will return, in the hopes that service has returned to normal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Very convenient to dine here before atte ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very convenient to dine here before attending a concert or event at Severance Hall. The food was quite good, as was the service. (We were early diners, so that might have helped make the waiter quicker and more attentive; he wasn't busy with many other patrons.) Starting early allowed us to linger and have a leisurely meal, and being already within the building meant we didn't have to rush to get to the concert. Definitely recommend this restaurant for a pre-concert dinner, both for the food and the convenience.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My fiance & I are completely impressed w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My fiance & I are completely impressed with our first time at Severance! The hostess was quick to greet us with a smiling face. Our friendly waitress came right over and introduced herself. It was clear that she knew what she was talking about and has great experience with her heart in her job. When I made the reservation, I added a simple note that the dinner (before the show) was for my fiances birthday. The owner/manager came out to personally greet us and say Happy Birthday. She explained that she chose to have us seated in the most requested spot/room by the large windows to see the beautiful outdoor scenery. She was extremely professional in every aspect. The waitress was also professional, tentative and there when needed. The charismatic chef even came out to asked how our food was. The food was outstanding! They really made us feel special. After the show we even stopped back in to have dessert. We had THEE BEST mixed berries & cheesecake ever! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd really be happy to say I like this r ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I'd really be happy to say I like this restaurant since it's so convenient when attending a concert. But it's passable at best. Severance Hall could do so much better than this..

When we checked in there was no one to greet us - or the party waiting ahead of us. Two people walked by and said "someone will be with you in a moment, " or words to that affect. It was only a few minutes probably, but when the hostess did appear, she casually stated "sorry, I was chatting." Really.

The service was ridiculously slow. Fortunately we booked a table with lots of time before the concert, otherwise we'd have had to gobble our food. We ordered wine, salads and entrees from the small (understandable) list of choices. Waited 30 minutes for our salads. Our server even had the audacity to come by the table at 25 minutes to ask if we'd been served. He didn't know!

Since there isn't a lengthy list of entrees, it would seem that they could come out of the kitchen with reasonable timeliness. Apparently not. Our entrees were fairly good (certainly not excellent) but we had about 20 minutes to eat, pay the bill and get to our seats. It would have been nice to have that extra time at the end of the meal to linger (there were many open tables) and enjoy some coffee or dessert.

Further, I have to say that the service, in addition to being slow, was simply not professional. Friendly, yes, but not professional. I saw one server reach across the table in front of diners to place an item in front of another patron, rather than walk around the table (there was ample room) and serve the way it should have been. Really, this Severance Hall, not Denny's. Professional service doesn't mean stuffy, but it does mean following basic protocol and appropriate etiquette. Doesn't Marigold train its employees?

When we left my companion said "we won't do this again."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

mothers day brunch

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took mother to holiday brunch. Service was good and ambiance was wonderful but the buffet was lacking. Smoked salmon and Chicken were tasty, otherwise drab. Plan somewhere else for a holiday meal, but this might be good if you need a bite before a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Pre concert convenience venue only

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Venue was chosen for pre concert convenience only. It was very noisy and the large table for two(we were seated opposite each other) had us so far apart, we were talking louder than normal to converse. I moved a heavy chair and table to accommodate us with no assist from the staff. The salad, crab cake and beverage were satisfactory. We had to request the bread, which was the best quality and flavor on the table. The thin pink broth borscht soup incorporated many sliced onions, a piece of meatball ?, some tiny globules of sour cream, however, no beets. Hints of ingredients had me guessing what I was eating. I would not return there or recommend it to anyone based on the noise level and lack of quality control of ingredients in the soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Mom loved it.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Took Mom there following a late morning concert and we enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Now Takes a Bow

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with our pre-concert dinner the other evening.

The food and service are now very good, thanks to a new management.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Food and Service

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Service was very attentive and focused on our concert and lecture time. Food far exceeded expectations. Could say it is a bit pricey, but the quality was equal if not better than other restaurants of this price range.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing service. Waitress (T ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Very disappointing service. Waitress (Tina S., 4/30/16) brought soup for me but did not bring appetizer for my wife for nearly 10 minutes; no apology. She seemed oblivious to me not eating / waiting for my wife to be served even though soup was getting cold.. She asked me if I wanted coffee but then started to walk away from table without asking my wife until my wife said she also would like coffee; no apology. She seemed to be in a hurry to do everything even though there was no need to rush. Her service was not in accord with our many previous experiences at Severance Restaurant. I looked for restaurant manager as we left to talk with her but did not see her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

dining before a severance hall concert

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

very convenient on concert night. allows us to relax before the concert. also, we need to park only once, less stress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Musical/Gastronomical Treat

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Severance is the restaurant of the Cleveland Orchestra. It has a fairly short but nicely diversified food and wine list. Décor is formal and tasteful. Dishes small and large are carefully prepared, and the quality is excellent, as is the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

dinner before the orchestra

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Our experience was consistent with other reviews which reported mixed experiences. My wife's duck "confit" was shriveled and dry. My chicken was ok. The server hovered and has the annoying american habit of wishing we would finish and leave. Curious, since before the symphony there was no chan ce anyway of turning the table. Doesn't quite pull off a class act.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

attention to out-of-town guest

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

a friend came from detroit for an orchestra concert -- his time in severance hall -- and the manager paid a great deal of attention to him...and us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A Well Orchestrated Restaurant

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Dedicated to serving dinner to those attending the world renowned Cleveland Orchestra, the Severence Club knows its patrons needs. You are guaranteed to be on time for the performance, as the wait staff is well aware of why you are there. The food is of high enough quality to satisfy the critical palette, and certainly good enough to entertain guests. The portions are right on - sufficient to fill, but not so large that you feel stuffed, or wors, fall asleep during the second movement. The wine is appropriate for the occasion, as well - mid range selection to match the food, but not so distinct that you feel you are not able to give it its due enjoyment (again, because of the scheduled performance).

Bravo. Worth an encore.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location for before theater dinner.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Very convenient for before theater meal. Menu is limited. Entrees & drinks are expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Special Night

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The waiter was lovely and the room attractive. We both had different delicious meals. The bread was also good as was the cheese board and my salad. It's so convenient when you go to the Severance and many times they are sold out. So it was a double treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner for 4 of us on Friday night, Apr. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Dinner for 4 of us on Friday night, Apr.29, was a mixed bag. Three of us enjoyed our meals (veal meat loaf & beef), but the chicken dinner was terrible. Practically no meat on the bones, and not much character to the other items on the plate. The beef short ribs were tasty & tender, but very fatty. Service was good, & we had plenty of time to get to our concert. But this is the second bad meal my husband has had, & he will not return, despite the convenience for concerts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I found the entire experience to be 4 star.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I believe that the Severance Restaurant and Case Club is an great choice prior to any concert. Rather than providing an itemized menu, I believe it would be best served by all if a very exclusive and higher end buffet with carving stations and select dishes that people could relax, gaze and enjoy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Successful special evening

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

My companion for the evening had never been to such a restaurant he devoured his plate. Service, speedy and good. I could have licked my plate as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The veal meatloaf was dry. Everything e ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The veal meatloaf was dry. Everything else on the plates was good. [This is the opinion of my date and me]. My salad was good. Both of us felt the chocolate cake was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Bride of Frankenstein

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

I was attending a performance at Severance and was looking for a nice place to eat. This was convenient. The service was great, Tina made me feel comfortable. There was no rush since I arrived in plenty of time. The lobster corn chowder was very good. But the veal meatloaf was great. I can also recommend the chocolate mousse cake for dessert.

I will note, this was not an inexpensive dinner by any means; but, in my opinion, it was worth the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Too Expensive

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

With tip, I paid $70 for the meal. Everything a la carte, $12 for wine, $8 for salad, etc. $27 for the veal meatloaf seemed like a lot. I know the cost constraints for having a restaurant in Severance Hall, but I cant eat there very often....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Disappointed in the entrees of Duck and Veal.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The Duck was very dry and tasteless. The veal meatloaf was extremely salty. Our companions had delicious sea bass and lamb. Excellent service from our waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Wonderful!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our experience was fantastic. I had two little boys with me and my husband was on a work call. The waiter helped me with their plates and was wonderful. We had a great time and it will always be a wonderful memory for all of us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate there because we were attending a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We ate there because we were attending a Friday at 7 performance that The Cleveland Orchestra was having. We thought by eating at 5:30 pm we would find a parking space in the Severance garage. It worked.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very convenient on concert nights.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Very convenient on concert nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, good service, ultar-convenient

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Once again we enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant at Severance before an outstanding Cleveland Orchestra concert. I had an excellent field greens salad dressed with a nicely subtly mustardy dressing and very good peppers stuffed with quinoa, although the accompanying marinara sauce and strongly flavored brocollini did not complement the main dish. My wife was very happy with her salad and short ribs with mashed potatoes: well prepared, reasonably portioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Quality of food

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The food was average. I had trout. Crete brûlée was lumpy. Price was high for low to average food. Good, helpful server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Taste of dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Appetizer-asparagus, entrée-chicken and dessert-caramel are all freshly cooked and delicious.

Size is adequate for all of us, middle-aged persons.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-concert dining

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

This is perfect for before attending an orchestra concert! Very convenient! Food was still a bit over-priced, but the staff was very attentive .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

dinner at the Cleveland Orchestra restaurant

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Although the service was satisfactory, the food was terrible. I apologized profusely to my dinner guests from Florida. We had chosen the restaurant, of course, because it is so nice to just walk into the concert hall. We had not been there for years because we had not enjoyed meals there before. We have been season ticket holders for years and would so love to be able to dine there more often but the food is simply unpalatable. How can you ruin trout? It was tasteless and dry to the point of being inedible! I thought by now things would have improved and I'm surprised it is still open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Highly Inconsistent

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Dined here with a friend before a Sunday afternoon concert. Have eaten here both lunch and dinner a number of times. On this occasion, they served meatloaf along with a chicken dish. Meatloaf? Really?? And it was stone cold - no one remembered to heat it or turn on the sterno. Have had such problems a few times before. This is not the usual situation, but when it messes things up, it does it big time! Severance Restaurant - you can do better! Don't insult us with such poor choices and lousy management.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Great pre-concert spot

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

We have had dinner there twice this winter before orchestra concerts. Marigold Catering does a good job with the menu. You can comfortably have two courses in about 75 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Orchestra Dining in Winter

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Because several in our party were recovering from colds, we decided to dine at severance before an evening at the orchestra. I chose the fish which was very bland. I am gluten and lactose intolerant so there were few choices. The others in our party felt pretty ich the way I did, however- not enough choices. Nice wine selection and good ambience made us feel that we would return another winter evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

reservation system

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Very frustrating making a reservation. On line response to a reservation attempt is confusing by saying Sorry we can't or some such thing. When calling the restaurant and getting a voice mail there is NO suggestion to leave a msg after the beep

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The WORST restaurant service I've had in 69 years.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The WORST restaurant service/food I've had in 69 years. Will only try it again if under new management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

A disappointing Valentine's dinner

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We arrived at the restaurant about 1.5 hours before an orchestra concert. About 1 hr into dinner, after having received our drinks, appetizer, salads, and then waiting for about a half hour, we were informed by the server that my wife's entrée selection was not available. She chose a substitute which arrived about 25 minutes before the concert. The dish was undercooked but at that point we did not have time to send it back. There was no attempt by the staff to correct this either by price adjustment and/or apology from a manager. Very disappointing- we expected more from a restaurant associated with the Cleveland Orchestra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.