Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 3.47mi
  3. Distance: 14.10mi
  4. Distance: 15.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 3.47mi
  3. Distance: 14.10mi
  4. Distance: 15.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 3.47mi
  3. Distance: 14.10mi
  4. Distance: 15.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 3.47mi
  3. Distance: 14.10mi
  4. Distance: 15.88mi

About Seven Glaciers

Seven Glaciers is Alyeska Resort’s AAA Four Diamond award winning mountain-top restaurant. Offering signature Alaskan entrees in an elegant atmosphere, the Seven Glaciers experience is extraordinary from start to finish. Your journey begins with a scenic aerial tram ride that takes you high above The Hotel Alyeska to 2,300 feet above sea level. From this mountain-top perch, Seven Glaciers is surrounded by nature from every direction. This means that every table features panoramic glacier and water views. Chef Aaron Apling-Gilman carefully crafts the Seven Glaciers' menus with an emphasis on locally available produce, seafood and game. With an attention to detail and a flair for the unexpected, Chef Aaron presents delectable Alaskan favorites with his own personal touch. Seven Glaciers boasts an award winning wine list and full bar to perfectly complement your meal. Please leave room for dessert--the Baked Alyeska cannot be missed.

1000 Arlberg Avenue
Girdwood, AK 99587
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Seven Glaciers Summer Hours:
Daily from 5 pm - 10 pm

Seven Glaciers Winter Hours:
Thursday, 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Sunday, 12 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
Alyeska Highway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 754-2237

Website:
http://www.alyeskaresort.com/dining/seven-glaciers-restaurant

Catering:
For groups of 10 or more any time of the year, Alyeska Resort offers group lodging rates. Depending on your group size, many of our restaurants can host your group with an advanced reservation. For larger groups, we recommend working with Alyeska’s Catering Team to create a custom menu. Choose from casual buffets to formal dinners in one of our more intimate meeting spaces.

To bring your group to Alyeska Resort, feel free to call or email the Sales team.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the main entrance to The Hotel Alyeska. Self parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Glacier Valley Transit (GVT) operates a year-round transportation busing system with fixed route service in Girdwood, Alaska. GVT is owned and operated by Girdwood Transportation, LLC and leases employees from Alyeska Resort. GVT is made possible by a grant from the Federal Transit Authority and The Alaska Department of Transportation.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Apling-Gilman

Private Party Facilities:
For further details, please contact our Food and Beverage Admins.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Seven Glaciers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (77)
Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (58)
See All
Worth the Drive (46)
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Notable Wine List (33)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Local Ingredients (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Bar Seating (16)
Seasonal (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (12)
Fun (9)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and Service were excellent. However there was a large group of people next to us that was very loud and obnoxious. Spoil the ambience of dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Eating at Seven Glaciers is a great experience! If you're in Anchorage, you should definitely check it out. The gondola ride to the top is a fun added bonus. The views from the top are definitely worth it and the food is great too!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was extraordinary and the setting quite unique.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service did not live up to the view. Our waiter was rude and clearly not interested in serving my table of four. The food was not bad, but also nothing to write home about. The view and the ride up was spectacular. It's the kind of place you take out of town guests who want to see Alaska when money and time are of no import. Otherwise Jack Sprat and the Double Musky are both better options in the area.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our 2nd visit, another excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Went for my fiftieth birthday. Very disappointed. Seated away from view next to kitchen. Loud. Service slow. Food portions small. Issue with bill and difficult to resolve. Not a place I would go back to. Very disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The tram is free if you have dinner here. It leaves from the 2nd floor of the Mt. Aleyska Resort. (Give yourself about a half hour extra to find parking, find the tram, get your ticket and get up there before your reservation time.) All of that said, GO THERE!!!! It is the most beautiful drive along the scenic waterway between the mainland and Kenai Penninsula . It was sunny and gorgeous weather the night we drove out to Girdwood, stunning scenery around every corner. But the best was saved for the top of the tram. The food choices were varied, well presented, and DELICIOUS! Our waiter was a summer transplant from Utah, who was helpful in every way with information about the hiking tails available (sunset wasn't until 10:30pm in Aug.), the Resort itself, and what to look for on the drive back to Anchorage. It was farm to table dining, with everything produced locally, and for Alaska, that's saying A LOT! Loved it, and can't say how well worth it it was to drive the 42 miles from Anchorage to diner here. Best meal in Alaska!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Went here for our anniversary. First off, the views were breathtaking! We had a window seat that overlooked Girdwood and it was amazing! The food was delicious as well! The service was great and it seemed the staff was very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The server was great as well as the food. We were very irritated with the hostess because she would not give us a reason why we could not sit next to the window with a 5:00 reservation, keep in mind nobody sat there the entire time we ate. Nothing personal but a restaurant with that type of menu and atmosphere should not have a hostess with a nose ring and attitude. We are not tourists.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was a Great selection for our 30th anniversary, the servers were all very kind and even the ones that did not serve us knew it was our anniversary and let us know that. but most impressive, they called us five hours in advance to let us know there was a major accident on Seward highway and that we should plan accordingly, we were staying at Whittier and were very close anyway, but they did not know that. Great place, awesome view, i cant wait to visit Alaska and return here for another meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Waitress and staff were awesome. The table was fabulous. Soup was awesome. Steak was good, but was in a not so good sauce, tasted like a combination of Sweet Baby Rays and Heinz57. Crablegs were cold. Overall a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 1, 2017

My birthday dinner was the chef's tasting menu matching each very tasty course with a wonderful wine, the quality of which is reflected in the restaurant's awards from AAA and Wine Spectator. The views were dramatic eye candy of course, being located at the top of the Alyeska tram. My husband and I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Fantastic food, but the service was extremely sub par. My husband (who is a professional Chef) and I visited for vacation, and showed up after touring the area all day in jeans and sneakers (we called and were advised of no dress code except no hats in the dining room). Perfect. We got sat at the bar because our table wasn't quite ready. We then proceeded to get passed by for no less than 10 minutes before even getting greeted. Then when we got to the table, Ramon our server didn't greet us for over 15 minutes, and when he did, he started with "What can I get for you?". No introduction, nothing. The food made up for the extremely poor service. The food and tastes were extremely excellent, and the Chef is a definite talent in the kitchen. We feated on the Wagyu steak which was superb. The potatoes were lacking, but asparagus was cooked to perfection. Great food, but we experienced poor service and very much felt like we were "Pretty Woman'd" and given poor service because of our attire.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The setting and the views are simply unmatched, spectacular. The food was excellent and the wine list extensivewe're. A first rate experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Every time we have dined with you, everything. EVERYTHING. Has been impeccable! The chefs creations are amazing, ambiance is amazing! The only suggestion I have is that I believe you should have an after meal nap room. All that magnificent food makes me sleepy! 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Lobster bisque is to die for. ALWAYS go for our anniversary and we always end up ordering two bowls each!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great view and service; however, food did not match.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Unbeatable venue. Great wine list and attentive service. Especially enjoyed appetizers and salads but entrees were not exceptional.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Stopped here for our honeymoon trip. The tram ride up was amazing! If you want to get in the museum and gift shop you need to go before 7PM. Everything about this place was excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Halibut entree was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We had a great time visiting Seven Glaciers this week. The service was incredible and we were very comfortable and relaxed. Our cocktails were delicious and the food came out steadily and timely. We had delicious bisque and the Salmon three ways was some of the best Salmon preparations I have had. The only problem from the meal came with the Halibut entrée. I wasn't excited with the flavor profile of the dish to begin with, but I live Halibut and as an Alaskan resident, eat it often. So it's usually my top choice in protein. It was served on a corn and potato succotash with peas in a light sauce. When it came out it was obviously dry just from first glance. Upon tasting, it ate like chicken breast--dry and u flavorful. Very disappointing, especially since I have eaten at restaurants with a menu not nearly the caliber of Seven Glaciers and had them NAIL the execution of the Halibut every time. That should also happen at a restaurant like Seven Glaciers. I would have liked to see a bolder flavor represented with the Halibut. My husband had the duck. While it was good, it wasn't memorable. Hopefully, when we go back, these dishes will pop more! Again, salad, soup, salmon, dessert, cocktails, and even the amuse- bouche were all fantastic! Just nail that Halibut and we will be back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Kari has great social skills and a great waitress. The surroundings were incredible

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Excellent service - Ramon was that level of server that you do not notice he is even in the room. Very smooth and knowledgeable about the area around .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The restaurant is fantastically located, great view, great menu and wine, in addition great staff! We enjoyed our dinner there and definitely recommended to everyone!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was a great dinner. My steak was overdone and seemed like it had been under the warmer for awhile. and the halibut could have been seasoned. Other than that it was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Celebrated my mom's 65th birthday here. I let the restaurant know ahead of time and when they sat us, they wished her a happy birthday and thanked her for spending it at their restaurant. Off to a great start! Great care was taken by our server to ensure that everything was perfect. She was super helpful and provided great information to all our questions. The food was amazing, presented beautifully and service was flawless. A beautiful dessert was presented to my mom with no questioning whether she wanted something - of course there was a birthday candle! I was just amazed at how smooth the whole thing went; they really take care of everything. Price was right too.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 21, 2017

When booking we didn't realize that this was up the mountain on a tram. We had a drink at the seven glacier bar with the bar staff explaining the glaciers that we could see and then our table had what must be one of the best views I have had for dinner over the mountains and the glaciers.
We selected the chef menu of 5 courses with wine pairing and the food and wine were what I would see in a Michelin, the scallop bisque was unique and as Kelly our server said that was his high bar and it was. The wines were good quality that matched the food. Kelly was very informative and he and his staff are to be commended.

The only downside was after course 2 it slowed and took 2h 15 min for the meal. We booked Thursday at 7pm and a lot or tour buses arrive Thursday and I did see one tour booked for 8pm for dinner at 7 Glaciers. We didn't get any explanation why the food was late except apologizes that it was late. If staff could be specific that would help

I would definitely go again but maybe a 6pm to avoid the tours

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food was incredible and our waiter, Todd was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Main course did not allow substitute for preps. Waiter on arrogant side never offered anything for veggies mixed in ragout that was tasteless and disgusting. Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The service was outstanding. The food was incredible. I requested a window table because it was our anniversary and they accommodated us with a table with an awesome few of 5 different glaciers. One of the best tables in the restaurant. We will never forget this anniversary!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Seven Glaciers is midway up Mt Aleyeska. Tram ride up is free with reservations to restaurant. It's an upscale place therefore on the expensive side but it was worth it. We had seafood bouillabaisse, Waygu steak, halibut, king crab legs, & sockeye salmon. Dessert was a baked Aleyeska. All delicious. Service was great. And of course the views - spectacular.
Reservations is a must as we tried calling with no luck and even popped in (it was on our way driving back to Anchorage from Coopers Landing) only to be told they were fully booked days before we booked online.
Glad we were able to enjoy it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Love this restaurant. Quite pricey but the food is to die for. I wish they would let you order the Chef's Menu by yourself though - they make it so the whole table has to order it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Amazing views, excellent food and superb service!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Fantastic anniversary dinner! You must have the chefs tasting menu. We've experienced it for the last couple of years and never been disappointed 😊

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great food, great scenery. We had a wonderful table with great views for each of us in our party of four.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This was the perfect spot to celebrate our first wedding anniversary! The table we were at was equal parts cozy/intimate and spacious (we were at a corner table near the window, perfectly sized for two and far enough away from other tables that we didn't feel cramped). View was spectacular, obviously! Our server, Kelly, was absolutely wonderful--knew his stuff, was attentive, and had a sense of humor that meshed very well with our own. The food and drinks were to-die-for, dessert was beautiful (and equally tasty), everything came out at perfect timing, and it was all around probably the best dining experience I've had. As a lifelong Alaskan, I can't believe it's taken me 28 years to experience Seven Glaciers, but my husband and I will absolutely be back in the future!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great views from tom of mountain. Excellent service, waiter knew his menu and recommendations. Fast, friendly but not meddling service. Halibut was great as well.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My husband had the salmon I had the filet...they were both great but we agreed the steak was our favorite. Couldn't ask for a better view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Fabulous restaurant. After a tram ride to the top of the mountain, you dine with a view of inspiring glaciers that is breathtaking. Pricy but a must do on any Alaskan Adventure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The views where amazing. We tried to push back our reservation and where told they where fully booked. We where seated right away and waiting 20 minutes with no one approaching us before we went and asked for manager. We where then given a waiter right away but at a place this nice and expensive that shouldn't happen. Once we "found " our waiter he was very nice but obviously had too many tables. I would skip the dining experience next time and just take team up for the views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.