About Seven Glaciers

1000 Arlberg Avenue
Girdwood, AK 99587
View Larger Map

Seven Glaciers is Alyeska Resort’s AAA Four Diamond award winning mountain-top restaurant. Offering signature Alaskan entrees in an elegant atmosphere, the Seven Glaciers experience is extraordinary from start to finish. Your journey begins with a scenic aerial tram ride that takes you high above The Hotel Alyeska to 2,300 feet above sea level. From this mountain-top perch, Seven Glaciers is surrounded by nature from every direction. This means that every table features panoramic glacier and water views. Chef Aaron Apling-Gilman carefully crafts the Seven Glaciers' menus with an emphasis on locally available produce, seafood and game. With an attention to detail and a flair for the unexpected, Chef Aaron presents delectable Alaskan favorites with his own personal touch. Seven Glaciers boasts an award winning wine list and full bar to perfectly complement your meal. Please leave room for dessert--the Baked Alyeska cannot be missed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Seven Glaciers Summer Hours:
Daily, 5 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
Alyeska Highway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 754-2237

Website:
http://www.alyeskaresort.com/dining/seven-glaciers-restaurant.aspx

Catering:
For groups of 10 or more any time of the year, Alyeska Resort offers group lodging rates. Depending on your group size, many of our restaurants can host your group with an advanced reservation. For larger groups, we recommend working with Alyeska’s Catering Team to create a custom menu. Choose from casual buffets to formal dinners in one of our more intimate meeting spaces.

To bring your group to Alyeska Resort, feel free to call or email the Sales team at 907-754-2213 or sales@alyeskaresort.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the main entrance to The Hotel Alyeska. Self parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Glacier Valley Transit (GVT) operates a year-round transportation busing system with fixed route service in Girdwood, Alaska. GVT is owned and operated by Girdwood Transportation, LLC and leases employees from Alyeska Resort. GVT is made possible by a grant from the Federal Transit Authority and The Alaska Department of Transportation. 907-382-9909

Executive Chef:
Aaron Apling-Gilman

Private Party Facilities:
For further details, please contact our Food and Beverage Admins at food@alyeskaresort.com or by phone.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scallop Bisque
  • Bourbon
  • King Crab Legs
  • Baked Alyeska
  • Halibut
  • Carrot Ginger Soup
  • Tomato Salad
Scallop Bisque
Bourbon
King Crab Legs
Baked Alyeska
Halibut
Carrot Ginger Soup
Tomato Salad

Seven Glaciers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
13 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Girdwood ›

scenic view (110)
special occasion (100)
romantic (79)
See All
fit for foodies (51)
notable wine list (51)
good for groups (20)
great for lunch (10)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for brunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous anniversary dinner❤️ we LOVE th ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fabulous anniversary dinner❤️ we LOVE the chef's 5 course tasting menu with the wine paring!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

one of the most scenic locations you wil ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

one of the most scenic locations you will ever find.

Food was fantastic

Service, while good, is a bit slow .... just my personal preference

My only issue ...... this was our second time here. Both times the weather was amazing and, being Alaska in summer at dinnertime, the sun beats on the expansive windows of the restaurant. There are no shades, and the air conditioning just does not seem able to keep up, hence both occasions it has been uncomfortably hot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The food at Seven Glaciers was amazing a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food at Seven Glaciers was amazing and well worth the money! The dinner was delivered to the table at a pace that matched our occasion. Overall, a great experience that you won't find at many other places!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best view of any fine dining restaurant! ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best view of any fine dining restaurant! We really appreciate the high level of service we have received both times we've dined at Seven Glaciers and we look forward to our next visit!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous view from every table and delic ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Gorgeous view from every table and delicious food!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hands down, the best service I have ever ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Hands down, the best service I have ever received. Our waiter, Kelly, was exceptionally friendly, and very informative. He made every item on the menu sound phenomenal.

Every employee is super friendly and polite. Our water glasses never went empty. They cleared plates quickly, but always asked first.

The food was fantastic. The portions are not large, but they kept a consistent stream of food coming our way. Completely full and satisfied!!

Also an incredibly amazing view!!

HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! (:

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best lobster salad i've ever tasted. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The best lobster salad i've ever tasted. The Salmon and steak were very tasteful. Staff was wonderful the views on top of the mountain breathtaking.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Beautiful sc ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. Beautiful scenery. A once in a life time chance for a out of this world dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was outstanding! My wife and ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The service was outstanding! My wife and I travel the world, we have a home overseas and I can say overall this was one of the best dinners I have ever had. Bravo!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food Small portions and make sure t ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good food Small portions and make sure to budget two hours to eat

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We travelled over 7000 miles to eat here ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We travelled over 7000 miles to eat here and we were not disappointed. Kelly was great, actually everyone who waited on our table was great. Food amazing, just the right amount for each course. We were never rushed. Everything was just perfect.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived early, happy to sit at the bar w ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Arrived early, happy to sit at the bar with drinks. However bar staff had to find out why we seemed to have been forgotten. Eventually got seated, bread was good, starters good but very small portions. We then waited and waited and waited for our main course. Asked waitress several times where it was. When it eventually came ( filet of beef) it was very good, but the accompanying potato & veg very meagre. They offered us a free dessert as compensation for the long wait. It did not really compensate for what was supposed to be a special birthday outing.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

The view was amazing. It was great to h ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The view was amazing. It was great to have our tram admission included with our reservations. We were excited to see the variety of seafood and drinks. The main disappointment was my boyfriend is allergic to fish and nuts (which are common allergies) and when he told the waiter initially the waiter almost laughed. We went on to explain that he can eat shrimp, lobster, crab, and other shellfish. The waiter said he would let the kitchen/cook know. Within 10 minutes they tried to serve him a fish eaudorve. He said no and it was like no one cared. He ended up eating the lobster bacon salad and king crab legs which were delicious but we were skeptical. If he had a reaction we were 3500 feet on a mountain and 10min to his epi-pen. For being an upscale and expensive restaurant we figured they would go out of their way for his allergy instead it seemed more like a hassle. It kind of ruined our dinner date. Don't go there if you have allergies!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

This was a fantastic end to two weeks in ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was a fantastic end to two weeks in Alaska! Our Travel Agent recommended it; Great recommendation!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had originally made a reservation for ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had originally made a reservation for 6 and added a family member. We were accommodated and given a fantastic quiet table. My husband is hard of hearing so he really appreciated the quiet and our guests from South Florida LOVED the view.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the minute you walk onto the tram ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

From the minute you walk onto the tram that brings you to Seven Glaciers, the views are just spectacular. We were greeted warmly by a gracious hostess and from there the experience continued to be outstanding.

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and suggested several delicious options.

A very special experience while dining among the glaciers

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at the restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was our second time at the restaurant. Although they claim to cook fine cuisine, prices (for that quality) are simply outrageous ... A low quality/price ratio. The view is gorgeous and nice ambiance but poor food quality.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a delicious meal of fresh, high q ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a delicious meal of fresh, high quality ingredients . It was difficult to choose which entree I wanted.Range of cocktails and wine available was more than adequate. View was spectacular. Service was excellent . The only downside was that nothing appealed to me on the dessert menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was excellent, but pricey. View fr ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food was excellent, but pricey. View from our table was disappointing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The views was amazing and too notch serv ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The views was amazing and too notch service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service matched the amazing ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food and service matched the amazing view. We were pleasantly surprised that this really is a fine dining experience in an extraordinary setting. We stayed at Alyeska Resort and were very glad to have dined at Seven Glaciers. Loved the side order of King Crab legs.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall I thought that everything was re ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Overall I thought that everything was really good. The food was great and the atmosphere was great as well. I felt a little crowded where I was sitting (in a corner at a small table next to the wall) but I know that it probably couldn't be helped. This was my first experience at this restaurant and would come back in the future. Thank you!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent view. Not for Vegetarian as th ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

excellent view. Not for Vegetarian as they only have 1 entree option

fast service

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so happy we made reservations at ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were so happy we made reservations at this outstanding restaurant. The top-of-the-mountain view was beautiful. We chose the 5 course Chef's Tasting Menu warily, as neither of us like seafood, but it was delicious. Our server, Kelly, as well as the other staff members, couldn't have been more helpful & attentive. Pricing is about what I would expect from a restaurant of this quality. I would highly recommend dining at the Seven Glaciers.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a nice dining experience - food was ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had a nice dining experience - food was outstanding, service was great too. There's more value for money for the main course dishes - they can be good for sharing. Appetizers or salads are not recommended for sharing. I recommend the Cheese platter then pair it with wine plus the duck breast and the NY steak.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This restaurant is all about the locatio ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This restaurant is all about the location, and that's about it. We arrived a bit earlier than planned for our reservation and were told we had to wait a few minutes. Not a problem normally, however when we were led into the dining room there was a whole section that was empty. Seems a bit ridiculous to have kept us waiting given this but it was midweek so perhaps just trying to manage which sections of the dining room were being used which is fine. The menu is very heavy on the seafood without many options for someone who cannot eat seafood and the chef is very particular about no substitutions (requested a substitution of a particular cheese on the cheese plate and server advised the chef wouldn't allow it so she wouldn't even ask - really? Ridiculous!). An amuse bouche was served by an inexperienced server who couldn't answer a simple question about whether it contained seafood or not - she was asked 4 or 5 times and finally I just gave up and skipped it all together. Numbers of servings are limited and our server did not proactively communicate when a side had run out and was being substituted with another option. When the meal arrived and an alternate side was requested the request was refused because of the limited number of servings available, instead a complementary dessert was offered. No apology ever given. When asked about seafood free options server was not particularly helpful in identifying any alternatives - instead I requested plain pasta with butter and parmesan. I was informed that it can only be served as a children's portion and then charged the price for the full adult 'daily pasta' entree.

Dessert and the view were the only positive things associated with this visit. Overall, would not recommend this restaurant and will definitely not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Our server, Justin and the sommelier mad ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our server, Justin and the sommelier made this experience exceptional. Our family ordered several plates to share and Justin arranged there order of presentation and the timing perfectly! We dined for over three hours and we were satisfied with both the food and the wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The hostess spoiled our dining experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The hostess spoiled our dining experience. We had just gotten off a bus tour that had us check into the ski resort this restaurant is connected too. Our luggage was not yet delivered to our room. We went up to eat and she informed us we were early. She told us were to stand to wait. I went forward to see the dining room as well as the view and she told me to step back. Once we were seated she kept insisting that I allow my coat to be checked. I told her no thank you but she asked two more times..Now the restaurant was not filled, in fact there were many empty tables in our area. the tables are well spaced so a coat hanging on the back of a chair would not be in anyone's way. I enjoyed the food and the waiter was very nice and attentive but I felt the hostess was trying to portray a very "high class dining experience" and she thought we didn't measure up. Trust me our tour group was part of a land and cruise package to Alaska. If we could afford the trip we could afford to dine there. Also I'm sure that luggage not be delivered does happen and you should not judge diners if their attire is not formal enough for the hostess' standards. She truly ruined our diner.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I took my fiance here for his birthday a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I took my fiance here for his birthday and had the best experience I've had since I moved to Alaska 2 years ago. The food was incredible. The steak just melts in your mouth. The only thing that happened was we were seated at a booth in beginning and I liked it but the sun was directly in my fiances face. Wish they could have some nice shades that they could pull down a bit at certain times but they got us to another table very quickly and the view was to die for. Couldn't be any happier. I've told everyone I know to go there. That's how amazing it was.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An incredible evening with delicious foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

An incredible evening with delicious food, outstanding service & an amazing ambiance. The dining highlight of our Alaskan vacation!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was stunning, the sun was shini ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The view was stunning, the sun was shining and the food was beautiful and delicious. The main courses were outstanding in taste, texture, plating, and portion size. The sides on the main plate were not as good. The soups, salads, and appetizers were very good, and the dessert we were served was beyond perfect! Thank you for a wonderful anniversary memory.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I didn't know what to expect when I book ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I didn't know what to expect when I booked my reservation at the 7 Glaciers restaurant, and so i was delighted with the experience. Every morsel of food we had was just incredible, one of the best meals I have had anywhere. And the views of the mountains and down to the Turnagain Arm are simply breathtaking. I expected a tab that was twice what it ended up being. I have paid as much for an average meal at a fine dining restaurant back in Florida, so I was delighted once again. I will definitely come back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal and service were excellent, whi ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The meal and service were excellent, which you would expect for a place this expensive. The tram ride is f u n and the view at the top is outstanding. However, the parking situation there is terrible. The "visitor parking" area is a good quarter of a mile from the tram. I think this is terrible for a high class place not to have valet parking available. My wife and I are both in our mid-60's and it was not easy for us to walk that far. I would not go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a great experience overall - fro ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

It was a great experience overall - from the tram ride up, to the cocktail at the bar and then the food. Our server was excellent - very knowledgeable about the food and I only very fleetingly mentioned that it was my birthday and he made it very special for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New York steak was great and cooked to m ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

New York steak was great and cooked to my order but was the most expensive New York cut Iv ever seen at a resturaunt. My girl orderd the filet medium rare, and it was served medium. It was her birthday dinner and this was a great disappointment to both of us. On a side note, our waitress was a bit on the cold side

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Five Star superb experience!!

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Five Star superb experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a perfect evening to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a perfect evening to celebrate our anniversary. The drive to Girdwood was beautiful. The gondola ride was complimentary due to having reservations at Seven Glaciers. What a pleasant surprise to be able to play in the snow on such a hot evening! The staff at the restaurant were very nice. The food was amazing and the views were unforgettable. The restaurant bought us a dessert for our special day and they let me take home the three roses from the table. It was a wonderful, memorable evening thanks to the Seven Glaciers Restaurant. I highly recommend them!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are at the Alyeska Resort, the re ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

If you are at the Alyeska Resort, the restaurant is not to be missed. However, the summer seasonal crush strains the restaurant staff, who do a great job considering. Our experience was arriving at the restaurant fifteen minutes before our reservation time, sitting down fifteen minutes after our reservation time, and having our appetizers served one hour later. After then, all was great.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

It was a great choice to celebrate our A ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

It was a great choice to celebrate our Anniversary. Staff are very friendly and the Chef sent us a complimentary dessert! The service and the quality of food justified the price. Will definitely go back and recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Setting sublime. Ba ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was excellent. Setting sublime. Bartender was great! For a restaurant with these prices and this snazzy, however, service could've been better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.