About Seven Glaciers

1000 Arlberg Avenue
Girdwood, AK 99587
View Larger Map

Seven Glaciers is Alyeska Resort’s AAA Four Diamond award winning mountain-top restaurant. Offering signature Alaskan entrees in an elegant atmosphere, the Seven Glaciers experience is extraordinary from start to finish. Your journey begins with a scenic aerial tram ride that takes you high above The Hotel Alyeska to 2,300 feet above sea level. From this mountain-top perch, Seven Glaciers is surrounded by nature from every direction. This means that every table features panoramic glacier and water views. Chef Jason Porter carefully crafts the Seven Glaciers' menus with an emphasis on locally available produce, seafood and game. With an attention to detail and a flair for the unexpected, Chef Porter presents delectable Alaskan favorites with his own personal touch. Seven Glaciers boasts an award winning wine list and full bar to perfectly complement your meal. Please leave room for dessert--the Baked Alyeska cannot be missed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Seven Glaciers Winter Hours:
Thursdays 5pm-10pm
Friday & Saturday, 12pm - 10pm
Sunday, 12pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Alyeska Highway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 754-2237

Website:
http://www.alyeskaresort.com/dining/seven-glaciers-restaurant.aspx

Catering:
For groups of 10 or more any time of the year, Alyeska Resort offers group lodging rates. Depending on your group size, many of our restaurants can host your group with an advanced reservation. For larger groups, we recommend working with Alyeska’s Catering Team to create a custom menu. Choose from casual buffets to formal dinners in one of our more intimate meeting spaces.

To bring your group to Alyeska Resort, feel free to call or email the Sales team at 907-754-2213 or sales@alyeskaresort.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the main entrance to The Hotel Alyeska. Self parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Glacier Valley Transit (GVT) operates a year-round transportation busing system with fixed route service in Girdwood, Alaska. GVT is owned and operated by Girdwood Transportation, LLC and leases employees from Alyeska Resort. GVT is made possible by a grant from the Federal Transit Authority and The Alaska Department of Transportation. 907-382-9909

Executive Chef:
Aaron Aplin-Gilman

Private Party Facilities:
For further details, please contact our Food and Beverage Admins at food@alyeskaresort.com or by phone.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Seven Glaciers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
15 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Notable Wine List
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Notable Wine List
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Girdwood ›

scenic view (47)
special occasion (43)
romantic (40)
See All
notable wine list (25)
fit for foodies (21)
great for lunch (12)
good for groups (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
late-night find (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1081 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has a beautiful view and ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

This restaurant has a beautiful view and the tram ride up is great. We went for a birthday celebration. The tasting menu was inventive and the food was cooked perfectly. The wine list was a little pricey but there was an extensive selection of domestic and imported wines. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Initially where we were seated was great ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Initially where we were seated was great for the view out two corner windows. But the crowd in the adjacent bar was too noisy for normal conversation. We requested to move to the other side of the restaurant, but the view as not as good because of the wall that blocked the view toward the inlet. Our initial waiter was very attentive and we hated to have to change and lose his service. But our waitress on the other side was equally attentative.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

She said yes!

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is such an amazing place I chose it to ask for her hand. Amazing views, food and drinks. Thanks Alyeska for be such a wonderful place to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent ambience but form follows function

Dined on April 1, 2016

Service was warm but a bit pro-forma. The waitress didn't know the specials - the menu isn't big and there were few specials. Nor were we the first seating of the night. The unexpected amuse-bouche was spectacular - a housemade potato chip with yogurt and dill. The appetizers were quite good - a scallop bisque and a housemade pasta with violin ferns and cherry tomatoes - all grown or harvested locally. The main courses were both good but didn't quite hit it out the park. The Alaskan Paella was flavored wonderfully but they didn't achieve the crispy bottom that excellent paellas have. And the rockfish on potatoes was a fine flavor but a bit rich for the portion. The wine was quite nice - a Jadot Pouilly-Fuissé. They served lukewarm coffee though they brought warmer coffee after we asked. They were quite nice about it, but I was looking for more consistency. I don't fault the wait-staff - they tried hard; I think the manager has gotten a bit lazy on aiming for excellence. They have a killer location, some of the best views of any restaurant, an kitchen staff with serious potential, and they're the only game in town (so to speak) including Anchorage. It seems a shame not to achieve the greatness that's within reach.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely memorable experience

Dined on April 1, 2016

We had an amazing time at Seven Glaciers! Outstanding service, wonderful food, and majestic views overlooking Girdwood, Turnagain Arm, and Alyeska Resort. Definitely an unforgettable experience on our dream vacation. We enjoyed every bite of the Alaskan crab cake, creamy scallop bisque, fresh Alaskan catch with mustard glaze and the prime filet of beef. And then to top off the evening... Baked Alyeska!! Yum. Also, they have a smooth root beer on tap as a non-alcoholic option. Top-notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Good Value Resto

Dined on March 28, 2016

My family enjoyed this restaurant a lot but there was no view since it was a total whiteout when we went there. Nevertheless, the food was great and definitely a perfect 10 when it comes to value for money. I don't understand though why they keep on putting the dishes in front of a person when we clearly said that we'll share the dishes. American serving is always too big for us that we order a variety of food and we just share it. I'm not sure if that philosophy is too ghetto for a good resto like 7 Glaciers but I would hope that they consider that the next time I come there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This is must ! Great food and very affor ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

This is must ! Great food and very affordable. The views are definitely some of the best in the world

food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Not impressed

Dined on March 25, 2016

Ok, it was the beginning of the off season, so maybe we were getting off-season chefs, but the food wasn't at all impressive, about bar quality. Cheese sauce was broken, veal wasn't tender and overly greasy, baked Alyeska wasn't any better than something by Hostess. Has a nice view though. It's supposed to be a triple A 4 diamond restaurant, and maybe it is sometimes, but it wasn't when I went. Service was fairly good, although the waitress asked us if we wanted dessert and when we said yes she had to go and get a menu, which seemed a bit weak.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Restaurant was ok

Dined on March 20, 2016

liked everything about the restaurant but the food and some of the wine. The risotto was very good, the cabbage salad was way too vinegary, my steak was medium rare rare not medium and one of the bottles of wine was opened too soon. Bass was good , the mashed potatoes were too runny but the baked Alyeska was very good. Would not recommend. I would rather spend my money at Haute Quarter in Anchorage.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my favorite restaurant that we ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

This was my favorite restaurant that we ate at in Alaska! The tram ride was fun and full of beautiful sites! The food and service was amazing. The views from our table and the bar are stunning. I recommend making sure you dine before it is dark outside so you can enjoy the sites. The only thing we actually didn't enjoy was their signature drink "the fizz", but people love it so I would give it a try anyway.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We booked our reservations for our weddi ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We booked our reservations for our wedding anniversary. This is where my husband also proposed. We were disappointed because both reservations were made specifically so we could see the sunset, we also noted the occasion. We weren't disappointed with the food but terribly disappointed with the obstructed view, especially after the effort was made to be specific as to timing and seating. Nevertheless, the service was good as was the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

All around great experience -- service, ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

All around great experience -- service, food, wine, and the VIEW!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

White Out View but Great Bisque

Dined on March 11, 2016

We didn't have a view what-so-ever, but that's not your fault...I was surprised the chef pasta of the day was lasagne noodles, not very high end for the price at lunch. The scallop bisque was wonderful very tasty even with one scallop in the bowl. The lobster mousse was very good too, also in the bisque. It wasn't the experience we were hoping for, but that was partly the view, so picking a cloudy day was not good on our part. We will try again later spring or summer.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Incredible

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Above the clouds with the sun setting on ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Above the clouds with the sun setting on the mountains. Specular view with food to match. Great presentation and creativity with the menu with many locally sourced foods.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant with some quality i ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Very nice restaurant with some quality issues You can't go wrong with the Scallop bisque beef dishes or the crab legs.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Unique Setting, Great Food

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

This was my second time to Seven Glaciers. It did not disappoint. Food was very good. Service was good - not as good as it should have been though - timing was off on drinks/food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Go for Lunch!

Dined on February 27, 2016

It was nice to be up at Sven Glaciers during the day to be able to see out and enjoy the snow. At night time it's so dark, the being up on the mountain is kind of pointless. Food was pretty good, coffee was excellent, service was really nice.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointed

Dined on February 27, 2016

First time eating there and I order their best steak to compare to other fine dining restaurants I have eaten; lunch time menu on Saturday and their steak was terrible. I told the server that the steak was so hard and chewey as if I was eating my leather shoe. I was told that the steak I was eating was the American version of the Japannese kobe beef. Wow, what a disappointing first impression. There was no other steak or prime rib on the lunch menu to replace my terrible order, so I ate my daughter's kid's menu steak order which was a tad bit better than my leather steak. Service was great and the ambiance was good. I knew that snow was going to be a factor so the scenic view was not there and that was alright. I was looking forward to a second visit in the summer months but after my first impression and paying a premium price I will not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

There are few restaurants in the world w ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

There are few restaurants in the world with the kind of sweeping views that we had at Seven Glaciers...from our table none the less. I could try to describe it, but a google image search would serve the task better. Our food was delicious, uniquely flavored (for the Anchorage area), and perfectly portioned. Our table of 6 shares bites of each dish because they all looked so good. The waitstaff was superb, attentive, but not intrusive (they combed bread crumbs between courses with silent precision). The food and the experience were well worth our average price paid of about $50/head, and the gondola/tram ride was free. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone in Anchorage looking for fine dining.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on February 15, 2016

Decided to go all out for 10th wedding anniversary and was not disappointed. The server knew all about each dish and was very knowledgeable about what he was serving. Will definitely be returning next time in the area.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Epic evening

Dined on February 13, 2016

If you are looking to go somewhere special for dinner in Alaska, this is it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible

Dined on February 13, 2016

Most amazing food with a view. Local Oysters, scallop bisque, and duck entree will be remembered as one of the best meals ever

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to get a great meal

Dined on February 13, 2016

Seven Glaciers is on the fancier side when it comes to ambiance and food, but there is no problem with showing up in ski gear after a day on the slopes. The food was fantastic. I started with their specialty martini with blue-cheese stuffed olives. It was delightful and had a perfect sheen of ice on top. For an appetizer, I had an oyster, which was delicious. I had the yellow-eye rockfish for my meal. My husband had the lamb pasta for an appetizer and the lamb shank for his meal. Everything was delicious and the service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun Daughter Daddy Lunch Date

Dined on February 12, 2016

My 7 year old daughter and I enjoy the finer things in life, and this place really fit the bill. The free gondola ride up to top offered us a great opportunity to get into the snow even on our day off. We built a snowman and had a great lunch with amazing views of Turnagain Arm.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on February 7, 2016

We came for a early Valentine's lunch and everything was awesome. We had a incredible view next to the window. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Overall everything was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing little mountain gem

Dined on February 7, 2016

I requested a quiet table with a great view and Seven Glaciers delivered. Our waiter Kelly was absolutely phenomenal. His recommendations did not let us down. We will definitely be back again to visit. It's a great place to take visiting family & friends to give them a beautiful view of scenic Alaska.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was among the best in the state ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food was among the best in the state, and the staff was courteous and knowledgeable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So much fun and great service!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Very fancy and fun! Not two words that I would normally put together but my boyfriend and I visited the Seven Glaciers a little late for the dinner crowd on a Saturday night and it wasn't crowded but comfortably full. It actually felt like we were the only ones in the room once we sat down and had a very personable and patient server. We had a special secret drink that we learned wasn't at all that secret, the fizz I think, which was fun to start the night with. To stay within budget we ordered the cheese plate(all 5 fancy cheeses) with wine and later dessert. We mostly went to Seven Glaciers for the great conversation and the adventure of the restaurant at the top of a mountain and it was all and more than we had hoped for! To top it off we saw the Northern Lights on our way down the mountain.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!!

Dined on January 31, 2016

The absolute best steak and crab legs I have ever had!!! Expensive, but very worth the price. My husband and I were more than pleased and will be coming back here again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant Evening

Dined on January 31, 2016

It was the first time dining at Seven Glaciers and we were not disappointed. We had reservations, but arrived a little early -- no problem, they immediately had our table ready. There was a quiet, relaxed ambience and the views were breathtaking at sunset. The staff was prompt, courteous and very friendly. The menu was limited in length, but we wanted to order everything on the menu because it all sounded wonderful. When the food arrived, the portions were not huge, but the flavor was! Coupled with some appetizers, the overall portions were very good -- just enough to leave you satiated without being uncomfortably full. The price of dinner was high, but for special occasions or a little bit of luxury, it is both expected for what you get and worth it in my opinion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & service.

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great food and service. The view at sunset is spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Five Star Service

Dined on January 30, 2016

The service here is amazing. My server was polite and informative. He made sure not to make us feel rushed. He also helped me pick an entree that catered to my dietary needs.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

5th wedding anniversary

Dined on January 30, 2016

I used opentable to make my reservations. My wife and I were actually late for our reservation and it was no problem getting right in when we got there. Also I had asked to sit by a window with a view and told them the occasion. We got the window with the view and everyone wished us a happy anniversary which made it even more special. The food was ok, my steak was perfectly cooked and my wife and I found our favorite Moscato Italian wine. Thank you Seven Glaciers for a wonderful night and for emptying my wallet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Occasion Spot

Dined on January 24, 2016

This is the perfect restaurant for any special occasion or nice couple's night out. My husband and I set up our reservation several days in advance and had a great table for two by the window overlooking the mountains and the lodge below. We arrived early and had a drink at the bar before being seated. Our servers were on top of everything all night and the food was great -- especially the crab legs! Yes, it is pricey but you know that going in so don't be surprised. You are paying for the presentation, the ambience and the chef's reputation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First time eating here

Dined on January 18, 2016

Great place to eat. Limited menu, but I assume it's because of the access. Choices are great, though. View is spectacular. Has a very nice bar and the staff was very friendly. It's not a cheap place to eat, but worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Need to provide dinner menu for lunch time.

Dined on January 10, 2016

We went there expecting to have a good meal. But for lunch time, the only food available are sandwiches and pasta. We ordered Lamb and the dish came cooked with plastic wrap melted all over the Lamb. We find out, because we were eating and trying to chew it and could not swallow it. Then, having a close look, we could identify the plastic mixed with the meal. The waitress was nice, taking back the Lamb. Then we order something else. We hope that micro wave is not used for cooking. And also hope that the quality improve.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on January 3, 2016

Hands down best restaurant in Alaska! This was our third time visiting and will keep enjoying the wonderful delights this restaurant cooks up!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food. Great for a special occasion!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Went here for a New Years meal with my wife and some friend. The food was awesome. We will go back for those special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Best at Sunset

Dined on December 25, 2015

If you can get a window seat at sunset, it's worth the high price. Online we could only find reservations for after sunset, but when we got there we found out they are even open for lunch. We were ready for the high prices, about $100 per person after all said and done. Some of the staff acted pretentious, which seems silly, but other than that it was a great evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.