Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 3.47mi
  3. Distance: 14.10mi
  4. Distance: 15.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 3.47mi
  3. Distance: 14.10mi
  4. Distance: 15.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 3.47mi
  3. Distance: 14.10mi
  4. Distance: 15.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.63mi
  2. Distance: 3.47mi
  3. Distance: 14.10mi
  4. Distance: 15.88mi

About Seven Glaciers

Seven Glaciers is Alyeska Resort’s AAA Four Diamond award winning mountain-top restaurant. Offering signature Alaskan entrees in an elegant atmosphere, the Seven Glaciers experience is extraordinary from start to finish. Your journey begins with a scenic aerial tram ride that takes you high above The Hotel Alyeska to 2,300 feet above sea level. From this mountain-top perch, Seven Glaciers is surrounded by nature from every direction. This means that every table features panoramic glacier and water views. Chef Aaron Apling-Gilman carefully crafts the Seven Glaciers' menus with an emphasis on locally available produce, seafood and game. With an attention to detail and a flair for the unexpected, Chef Aaron presents delectable Alaskan favorites with his own personal touch. Seven Glaciers boasts an award winning wine list and full bar to perfectly complement your meal. Please leave room for dessert--the Baked Alyeska cannot be missed.

1000 Arlberg Avenue
Girdwood, AK 99587
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Winter Opening Times
Fri–Sun 12:00 pm–10:00 pm
Summer Opening Times
Daily 5:00 pm–10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Arlberg Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 754-2237

Website:
http://www.alyeskaresort.com/dining/seven-glaciers-restaurant

Catering:
For groups of 10 or more any time of the year, Alyeska Resort offers group lodging rates. Depending on your group size, many of our restaurants can host your group with an advanced reservation. For larger groups, we recommend working with Alyeska’s Catering Team to create a custom menu. Choose from casual buffets to formal dinners in one of our more intimate meeting spaces.

To bring your group to Alyeska Resort, feel free to call or email the Sales team.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the main entrance to The Hotel Alyeska. Self parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Glacier Valley Transit (GVT) operates a year-round transportation busing system with fixed route service in Girdwood, Alaska. GVT is owned and operated by Girdwood Transportation, LLC and leases employees from Alyeska Resort. GVT is made possible by a grant from the Federal Transit Authority and The Alaska Department of Transportation.

Executive Chef:
Aaron Apling-Gilman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Seven Glaciers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (30)
Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (24)
See All
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Local Ingredients (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
1515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was perfect on all fronts. Best filet we've had in the state so far.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Waited a long time for food. Halibut was dry. View was great and unique experience having to ride tram to get there. Crab legs were ordinary and seasonal Veggies were not good. Table behind us kept getting food from chef for samples. We were offered one oyster each. Staff didn't seem as interested in us as we were not drinking wine

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The ride up to the restaurant was breathtaking. The servers were amazing. Very attentive and great customer service by bartender, waiters, hostess, etc. The food was so delicious. Best steak I've ever had in my life and great crab legs! The view was stunning and the entire experience was well worth the price!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

As someone who has worked at a 5 diamond restaurant at a 5 star resort my overall experience was quite bland. The food was exceptional and the atmosphere was well mannered and enjoyable but I've seen better service and knew what kind of service to expect with a 4 diamond rating. Probably wouldn't recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Seven Glaciers is an amazing place to go if it's your first time in Alaska or if you've lived here your entire life. The tram ride is a bit scary for a wuss like me but completely worth the few minutes of terror for the incredible view. This was my second time up, I've been once before in the winter when their days are restricted to weekend evenings only. If you're a fan of cheeses, I highly recommend the artisan cheese plate appetizer. Both times it was spectacular, as are the crab legs.
That being said, most of the food options are rather limited. There are VERY few vegetarian options (and I don't think any vegan ones if I remember correctly), including no veg-based entrees, so if you're on a no-meats/no-animal-products diet, this probably isn't a great place to go for you. There a decent amount of seafood options, so pescetarians like myself are a bit more safe. The fish-based entrees are either salmon or halibut and are frankly quite underwhelming considering the cost and location; I feel like there's far better and less expensive options elsewhere. I can't recall if there were much (if any) gluten-free options either.
For this specific visit, I did have an issue with the wait staff. It is a huge pet peeve of mine to go to a restaurant and be served after other people who arrived after we placed our kitchen order, and for it to happen to twice was rather maddening. We were told that there was a 'large party' and our things were coming, but it still didn't explain why two separate tables (three people total between them) who arrived and put their orders in after ours got their food first (and one table got far more food than we did). We also received far less face time with our server than the other two tables, even though we were there longer than both. It wasn't very on-par or professional for such a fancy, expensive place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

The trip up the mountain was average as there was a lot of fog that day. However the braised pork appetizer was phenomenal. There were several wine varieties to choose from as well. Our server was friendly and well versed on the menu. It is pricey but worth it for a special occasion rather than your typical night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Best restaurant ever!!! And I have been to many states and countries, including France and Italy.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Authentic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Vegan, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The view is unmatched, the service good, the drinks great but the food just mediocre. A nice idea but they need to step it up a notch.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had a very good meal here while in Girdwood. It's well worth it as the tram tickets (normally $29) are included with your reservation. The entrees were very good, but I thought the desserts outstanding.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Seven Glaciers best claim to fame is its stunning location. Our waiter neglected to explain the menu to us or advise in any way: he took care of the basics and that was the end of it. Which was more obvious to us once we heard a neighboring table's waiter deliver quite a presentation! and we may have ordered differently if advised similarly.
Our meal was fair - not fabulous. And one should expect great food with higher than average prices. Most notably, the salmon was overcooked - a crime in this part of the world. Food: average. Location: great.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We enjoyed the Chef's Seasonal Tasting Menu. The wine pairings were exquisite. Highlights of the meal were the oysters (I'm not usually a fan of fried oysters, but they were done to absolute perfection and the combination of the salmon roe, oyster, and the Joseph Drouhim, Clos des Mouches Blanc was amazing), the pickled beets, the romanesco soup amuse bouche, and the tiny pot of pudding (bursting both with vibrant fruit flavor and creaminess) served before dessert.

Some of the food was a bit of a miss. The corn and pea succotash cried out for a bit of zing - perhaps a chive oil or other herb. The Wagyu beef was succulent and tender, but surprisingly bland, and its accompaniment, a heaping spoonful of truffled/lobster mash potatoes was dry and mealy.

Despite the unevenness of the menu, we had a delightful evening and will come back again for a special occasion date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food and service, with a spectacular setting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Pricey but not pretentious, Seven Glaciers is one of our favorites for special occasions. Service is always very good to excellent. The menu is somewhat limited in the number of offerings but with a good variety in the type of dishes. Nearly everything we've sampled has been delicious and well-presented. Neither of us are big wine drinkers - we usually stick to a glass of house wine - but the selection of both full bottles and wine by the glass seems nicely varied. Only one negative; the "beignets" ordered for dessert at our last visit were a big disappointment. They were not beignets, but three doughnut holes coated in cinnamon and sugar (the accompanying espresso ice cream was tasty, though). Unsatisfying to be sure, but not enough to keep me from going back to Seven Glaciers the next time I have the opportunity.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

we find.it faboulous! tha view was.great, the meL was great, tha service was great.... the price was great!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Went during our stay for our honeymoon. It's more extravagant than anything we'd normally do, but despite that we do not regret anything. Everything was delicious and don't feel like anything was overpriced!! Would definitely suggest anyone go at least once!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a wonderful experience, excellent service, delicious food celebrating our 44 Anniversary in Alaska.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Exceptional view. Good wine selection. Server was attentive. Typically, it's pretty easy in most restaurants to make a simple vegetable substitution even if it's for additional cost. However, we were told the chef doesn't make substitutions. Also, one of our guests wanted to order from the chef's 4 course menu but was told that wasn't an option unless the entire table ordered from that menu. We were surprised to be met with opposition on such simple requests. The scallop bisque soup and filet were good. However, the risotto and desserts were bland. This is clearly a one time spot for those on vacation to experience the views.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our table wasn't ready when we arrived. They sent us to the bar. The bar service was slow so our drinks arrived just as our table was ready. The bar insisted on being paid. When at the table, I ordered another drink. The waiter insisted they didn't have what I ordered.....so apparently the bar just gave me what they had without telling me. They have some service issues!

Dinner was very good. And the view is amazing. The ride up in the tram was fun and not too long.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food and service, and what a view. Worth the drive from Anchorage. It will be a must whenever we are in AK.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Spectacular views. Exceptional food and service. Small quiet dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The view is spectacular but everything else was less than optimal. Haughty waiter, food was just ok and overall experience was not fabulous.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

When planning my trip to Alaska I found that there was a tram near to where I would be staying for a few days. I am nerdy about trams so of course I must do it. Then I found that you could ride the tram for free if you had a reservation at the Seven Glaciers Restaurant so I made a reservation. The hotel where this restaurant and tram are located is easy to find and access. The parking was a little iffy, we were able to score one of the last few available spaces near to the tram. You have to check in at the place where you would by tram tickets and they confirm that you have a reservation and give you a ticket. The tram is cool but that is another review. When we got to the top we did have to wait even though we had reservations and they didn't seem that busy. But we made the best of it and had some drinks at the bar while we waited. The bar has almost a better view than the tables do so there is absolutely nothing wrong with sitting there enjoying a nice mixed drink. Once we got to our table we were able to continue to enjoy the amazing views while we ate. The service was excellent. The bread was good and so was the cheese plate that we had for an appetizer. My boyfriend had a smoked salmon appetizer as well and he said it was really good. I had the pork for my main course and thought it was excellent. My boyfriend had the halibut and said that it was not as good as he would have expected. So overall it was a good experience. Yes this restaurant may be a little over priced but what you lack elsewhere is made up with the amazing views and experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Food was overpriced for value.

Rudely told we could not get a reservation time multiple weeks in advance that would coordinate well with a scheduled hike and train travel. However, when we arrived, the restaurant had MANY open tables throughout our time there. Unfortunately, we were still forced to rush through dinner to catch a train back to Anchorage.

Views were great, but then again, most are great anywhere else within Alaska.

Luckily our server was awesome and helped facilitate our very limited time budget.

Overall, not worth it. Check out somewhere else.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Amazing food and exceptional service. The views were wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

The view was absolutely lovely, well worth the trip.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very beautiful place. Scenic view and great atmosphere. Quite and reserved, great for a date night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Outstanding food, exceptional service, and an unforgettable view. Will go back everyone we will be in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I visited Seven Glacier Restaurant a year ago. I didn't eat in the main dining room, I had appetizers and drinks at the bar, but I thought my wife would love the place when she joined me on my return trip this past August. I made reservations for 4, and we dined on August 26. The trip to the restaurant was fabulous and the view was exquisite. Everything was wonderful until we were seated. The service was poor; the server couldn't get our order correct, and didn't seem to understand the menu. The food took forever to reach the table and was poor quality, over cooked (medium and got well done), and the portions were small (halibut). Other than the view, I wouldn't recommend this restaurant. We vacationed in the Anchorage area for a week, and this was the worst stop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

prices are high; service is awesome; food is good, but not remarkable; small portions; waiter brought grandson special birthday dessert; nice. The view is why one would go there; outstanding view of God's creation. One feels very special to be present.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Restaurant was in a beautiful setting. The venue is excellent. Service was great

The food was good. Unfortunately the pork chop entree was not good. I ll leave it at that.

Prices a bit high but for Alaska with the limited time this restaurant is serving fine dining , you can expect it.

Would I go back. Yes, but I wouldnt order the pork entree.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Seven Glaciers was a great end to our time in the Anchorage area. The views can't be beat and the food was perfection. From beginning to end this restaurant was a treat we won't soon forget.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The staff are very attentive, the food is presented beautifully and prepared perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Wouldn't recommend unless it's a clear day. We went with a lot of clouds and fog. The food and service were fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Dine in the clouds with exceptional food and service. Get your reservations in advance or dine at the bar - both have a view of the glaciers and the spinning clouds forming in the valley.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Overall our experience was fantastic before ordering we sat at the bar and found it a little bit impersonal. Otherwise it was a stellar experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Really disappointed in the food. The seafood bisque had very little flavor. Raw oysters were just that, raw oysters. Three days later, I can not even recall what either my husband or I had for dinner. Atmosphere was good as was the scenery but that's were my star giving ends.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Absolutely fabulous food,service and the view!!
Would highly recommend it for any special occasion

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Amazing restaurant and view with a food and wine selection like no other. Highly recommend to go to 7 glaciers .

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fine Dining with an amazing view. Excellent service. Totally worth the splurge!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food and Service were excellent. However there was a large group of people next to us that was very loud and obnoxious. Spoil the ambience of dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.