About Seven Glaciers

1000 Arlberg Avenue
Girdwood, AK 99587
View Larger Map

Seven Glaciers is Alyeska Resort’s AAA Four Diamond award winning mountain-top restaurant. Offering signature Alaskan entrees in an elegant atmosphere, the Seven Glaciers experience is extraordinary from start to finish. Your journey begins with a scenic aerial tram ride that takes you high above The Hotel Alyeska to 2,300 feet above sea level. From this mountain-top perch, Seven Glaciers is surrounded by nature from every direction. This means that every table features panoramic glacier and water views. Chef Aaron Apling-Gilman carefully crafts the Seven Glaciers' menus with an emphasis on locally available produce, seafood and game. With an attention to detail and a flair for the unexpected, Chef Aaron presents delectable Alaskan favorites with his own personal touch. Seven Glaciers boasts an award winning wine list and full bar to perfectly complement your meal. Please leave room for dessert--the Baked Alyeska cannot be missed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Seven Glaciers Summer Hours:
Daily, 5 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
Alyeska Highway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 754-2237

Website:
http://www.alyeskaresort.com/dining/seven-glaciers-restaurant.aspx

Catering:
For groups of 10 or more any time of the year, Alyeska Resort offers group lodging rates. Depending on your group size, many of our restaurants can host your group with an advanced reservation. For larger groups, we recommend working with Alyeska’s Catering Team to create a custom menu. Choose from casual buffets to formal dinners in one of our more intimate meeting spaces.

To bring your group to Alyeska Resort, feel free to call or email the Sales team at 907-754-2213 or sales@alyeskaresort.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the main entrance to The Hotel Alyeska. Self parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Glacier Valley Transit (GVT) operates a year-round transportation busing system with fixed route service in Girdwood, Alaska. GVT is owned and operated by Girdwood Transportation, LLC and leases employees from Alyeska Resort. GVT is made possible by a grant from the Federal Transit Authority and The Alaska Department of Transportation. 907-382-9909

Executive Chef:
Aaron Apling-Gilman

Private Party Facilities:
For further details, please contact our Food and Beverage Admins at food@alyeskaresort.com or by phone.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scallop Bisque
  • Bourbon
  • King Crab Legs
  • Baked Alyeska
  • Halibut
  • Carrot Ginger Soup
  • Tomato Salad
Scallop Bisque
Bourbon
King Crab Legs
Baked Alyeska
Halibut
Carrot Ginger Soup
Tomato Salad

Seven Glaciers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
10 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Girdwood ›

Scenic View (156)
Special Occasion (144)
Romantic (107)
See All
Notable Wine List (69)
Fit for Foodies (67)
Good for Groups (23)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful place! Fun ride up on tram. Wi ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful place! Fun ride up on tram. Wife had halibut and I had filet, perfectly done. Nice wine selection, and polite, friendly service. Unique experience, highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful location and excellent food. J ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful location and excellent food. Just wish we would have had room for desert! Make sure you have the scallop bisque & seafood cakes

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service & great food variety

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service & great food variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a special place! The environment is ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

What a special place! The environment is spectacular and the tram ride up to the restaurant is outstanding. Waiter was knowledgable, had great suggestions. Food was EXCELLENT! It was our wedding anniversary and the two Baked Alaskas (FANTASTIC!) were on the house!!! How nice was that??! When we were walking around the property waiting for the tram we saw three wild black bear (mom and two cubs) - so perfect! Great night!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was some of the best I have eve ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was some of the best I have ever had, but it was also $217 for two people, not including gratuity, so I can't say it was a good value, and since I don't know anyone that could afford Seven Glaciers without saving for a long time, I can't say I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The view alone is worth the visit but th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The view alone is worth the visit but then the food alone would be worth the visit. The combination is extraordinary. Stunning views including glaciers -a very unique experience. We will return; hopefully often. As far as food, I don't think you can go wrong but highly recommend the King Crab Legs and Baked Alyeska. It's almost sensory overload- in a very good way.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great vistas and above average food with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great vistas and above average food with a strong wine list. Very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service, food, view and wine ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Outstanding service, food, view and wine selection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portion size compared to the price w ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The portion size compared to the price was disappointing, but unfortunately that is to be expected in a "fancy" restaurant. The overall experience, riding the tram, watching the sunset and the clouds change, and enjoying company in a quiet setting, was great. I will bring out-of-towners here, but maybe after getting full elsewhere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We were disappointed that there were onl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were disappointed that there were only 6 entrees , with one (salmon) not available.

None of the 3 of us found anything special, so we had a good selection of salads, soups, appetizers and dessert, with a good bottle of wine, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were traveling throughout Alaska for 2 weeks and only had one night at the Aleyska Resort.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

A beautiful restaurant with an amazing v ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

A beautiful restaurant with an amazing view, and great food that gives serious competition to the view.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kelly and his team were excellent and ev ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Kelly and his team were excellent and everything about the evening dining was a great end to a busy long travel day.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic view, excellent service, great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fantastic view, excellent service, great location with a tram ride to get to it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

view. Foodnice, very expensive. Service ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

view. Foodnice, very expensive. Service was spotty. Took 15 minutes for desert to get served. Waiter had too many tables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I love restaurants at the top of mountai ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I love restaurants at the top of mountains that you have to take a lift or gondola to. We've been to a few around the lower 48 & they've been great; great food, great views.

I was a disappointed with Seven Glaciers.

The ladies at the host stand were great. The bartenders were excited to be nearing the end of their shift. And it went downhill from there... Once we were sat our waitress took 15 minutes to even acknowledge us (yes, I timed it. As a former captain in a 5 star steak house it concerned me). Once our order was taken the courses were spaced but a bit too well, less time should have elapsed between. Our server was also not very attentive; we saw more of her SA than her.

The salad was our favorite course. Tasty. However the lamb was not as flavorful as you would hope and the king Crab was dry & also lacking flavor.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Phenomenal food, unbeatable view + perso ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Phenomenal food, unbeatable view + personalized service = a win!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view and great food. The seafood c ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great view and great food. The seafood cakes and halibut were fantastic

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The views were spectacular!! The food w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The views were spectacular!! The food was excellent. The best part was finding a 5 star restaurant where you were ok to wear casual clothing because on a trip to Alaska, mostly cool weather & rain gear take up so much luggage space that dressy clothes aren't an option. People were dressed up but also in jeans & sandals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Me and my wife were celebrating our 8 ye ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Me and my wife were celebrating our 8 year wedding anniversary at the beautiful seven glaciers restaurant. The views are amazing but the service was the best we have ever experienced. Our server Brandon had a lot of knowledge of the food and was great. Cody our other server was also very nice and genuine. This was our best dining experience ever! Thanks everyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, this place hits it out if the ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As always, this place hits it out if the park. The wait staff are top notch and always attentive. My girlfriend has several food allergies so we rarely eat out, and 7Gs is always willing to work with us on food prep. This place seems to get better every time we come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding evening - worth every penny'

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding evening - worth every penny'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef's selection for a special event is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Chef's selection for a special event is a must try! Ask for Justin; he will take excellent care of you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal we had on our week long vacati ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best meal we had on our week long vacation in Alaska. Make reservations!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Despite poor weather, and limited visibi ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Despite poor weather, and limited visibility, the experience was extraordinary.

The sommelier was a tremendous help in pairing the perfect burgundy with our main course, the staff was incredibly efficient and truly went out of their way to make this the perfect experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome venue - wish I lived closer. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awesome venue - wish I lived closer.

Recommend without hesitation

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our dinner. View was AMZING! Hal ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. View was AMZING! Halibut was Delicios and beef was Perfect. We were in Alaska for 2 weeks and ate dinner out every night. This was our last night. This by far was one of our favorite places. You cannot go wrong with dining at Seven Glaciers. Cook was also very accommodating to substitutions and accommodating low sodium diet.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is outstanding but the food was ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The view is outstanding but the food was average. Our waiter was very good and attentive however the staff who delivered the food never put the right meal in front of the correct person all night . . . For a restaurant that bills itself as upscale this is restaurant 101. The dirty martini was outstanding. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend that you go for the view alone but don't over expect on the food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a lovely Birthday dinner celebrat ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had a lovely Birthday dinner celebration! I enjoyed the Crab cakes and Scallop Bisque! Followed by a fantastic baked Alyeska. The staff and service was on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and they seated us at ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent service and they seated us at the perfect window seat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Food was superb as was the service by Ke ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was superb as was the service by Kelly. He explained the food choices thoroughly. The view of the mountains added a special touch to an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ate here twice, once as a guest with a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I ate here twice, once as a guest with a party of 6 on Monday night, 8:30PM seating and once on the following Friday as the host . of 6 and a 5:30PM seating. Mondays service was terrible. Three hours for dinner with an hour + between salads so we opted out for desert in fear it would be another 45 minutes. Had I been the host of the group I would have complained. I almost cancelled my dinner for the following Friday in fear it would go bad also. Due to no other choice, I stuck with the reservation and am glad I did. Two of us did the Chef's tasting which kept the food coming at a regular pace. The wine list is excellent and fair priced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Superb views. Delicious in every way! We ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Superb views. Delicious in every way! Well organized staff and thoughtful dish preparation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was terrible. Help had attitud ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service was terrible. Help had attitude problems. For what we paid it sucked

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Portions tend to be on the small side. S ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Portions tend to be on the small side. Service is uneven. Several mistakes in service like taking plates too soon or mixing up orders. Wine list was adequate but heavier on French and California. Very inflexible on timing and was annoyed to be reminded that our table would be occupied by another party in 2.5 hours. Very creative and memorable dishes

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Top notch in every fashion. Has been ou ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Top notch in every fashion. Has been our anniversary spot the last two years and they do not disappoint. Made our day special. Great food, service, friendly but not intrusive. The Chef's 5 course meal is outstanding and a great value

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the views from Seven Glaciers were ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

While the views from Seven Glaciers were amazing the service was a bit questionable. We started the night great hostess and bar tender were perfect. Our waitress took our app order and we ordered food at the same time. Our apps came out via a different server and the food was great. We then waited for quite a while and finally our server came back. She handed us a desert menu. We were unsure if they just wanted to get orders in as some deserts take a while so we ordered. When our desert came out we mentioned we haven't received our main course. Our server was informed and she brought back the desert to which we again mentioned we hadn't received our main course. After a few minutes our main course was brought out however our Alaskan King Crap legs (market price) were served warm and in some parts cold. Our server mentioned sorry once in passing when she initially tried to bring us our desert before the entree but never really checked if our food was good once it came out. This was a major let down as the main course was something we were looking forward too. The server also never checked back to see if we still wanted the desert we had ordered 1 hour earlier. They delivered the desert and the check and sent us on our way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

I was on vacation in Alaska and cruising ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I was on vacation in Alaska and cruising also. The Seven Glaciers restaurant was recommended to me. Great dining experience, even tho probably the only time I will be there! Thanks for a

good time, great food and a memorable evening in beautiful surroundings!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular location and scenic views. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Spectacular location and scenic views. My lobster salad was delicious and unique. Salmon was notable but not unique. The tram ride up to the restaurant was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly overrated. Go for the view, not ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Highly overrated. Go for the view, not the food. The menu is fairly limited and no substitutions are allowed, even in the case of medical allergies. It seems as though the kitchen is on auto pilot, cranking out a limited number of selections. Wait staff experience was uneven, but primarily indifferent. It seems they know they will get a different tourist every night, so no extra effort is expended. However, the views are amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Fabulous anniversary dinner❤️ we LOVE th ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fabulous anniversary dinner❤️ we LOVE the chef's 5 course tasting menu with the wine paring!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.