About Seven Glaciers

1000 Arlberg Avenue
Girdwood, AK 99587
View Larger Map

Seven Glaciers is Alyeska Resort’s AAA Four Diamond award winning mountain-top restaurant. Offering signature Alaskan entrees in an elegant atmosphere, the Seven Glaciers experience is extraordinary from start to finish. Your journey begins with a scenic aerial tram ride that takes you high above The Hotel Alyeska to 2,300 feet above sea level. From this mountain-top perch, Seven Glaciers is surrounded by nature from every direction. This means that every table features panoramic glacier and water views. Chef Aaron Apling-Gilman carefully crafts the Seven Glaciers' menus with an emphasis on locally available produce, seafood and game. With an attention to detail and a flair for the unexpected, Chef Aaron presents delectable Alaskan favorites with his own personal touch. Seven Glaciers boasts an award winning wine list and full bar to perfectly complement your meal. Please leave room for dessert--the Baked Alyeska cannot be missed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Seven Glaciers Winter Hours:
Friday - Sunday, 12 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
Alyeska Highway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 754-2237

Website:
http://www.alyeskaresort.com/dining/seven-glaciers-restaurant

Catering:
For groups of 10 or more any time of the year, Alyeska Resort offers group lodging rates. Depending on your group size, many of our restaurants can host your group with an advanced reservation. For larger groups, we recommend working with Alyeska’s Catering Team to create a custom menu. Choose from casual buffets to formal dinners in one of our more intimate meeting spaces.

To bring your group to Alyeska Resort, feel free to call or email the Sales team at 907-754-2208 or sales@alyeskaresort.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the main entrance to The Hotel Alyeska. Self parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Glacier Valley Transit (GVT) operates a year-round transportation busing system with fixed route service in Girdwood, Alaska. GVT is owned and operated by Girdwood Transportation, LLC and leases employees from Alyeska Resort. GVT is made possible by a grant from the Federal Transit Authority and The Alaska Department of Transportation. 907-382-9909

Executive Chef:
Aaron Apling-Gilman

Private Party Facilities:
For further details, please contact our Food and Beverage Admins at food@alyeskaresort.com or by phone.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scallop Bisque - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
  • Bourbon - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
  • King Crab Legs - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
  • Baked Alyeska - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
  • Halibut - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
  • Carrot Ginger Soup - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
  • Tomato Salad - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
Scallop Bisque - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
Bourbon - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
King Crab Legs - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
Baked Alyeska - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
Halibut - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
Carrot Ginger Soup - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK
Tomato Salad - Seven Glaciers, Girdwood, AK

Seven Glaciers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Service
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Ambiance
Anchorage / Alaska
7 More
Special Occasion
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Girdwood ›

Scenic View (44)
Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (32)
See All
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Historic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing place for food, atmosphere, and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing place for food, atmosphere, and service. Perfect before and after a day skiing.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Justin was outstanding as our server. Gr ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 7 days ago

Justin was outstanding as our server. Great wine comprehension and we took every bit of advice he offered for food selections. Could have have better service. Please thank him for us.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an experience to remember! The ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was an experience to remember! The food was exquisite, Served by a knowledgeable and gracious staff that never came off as pretentious or snobby. It was expensive yes, but we felt we got our money's worth in the overall experience. As a special occasion, or a vacation here at home in Alaska, I would recommend it to all!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I admit, we were concerned 7 Glaciers m ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I admit, we were concerned 7 Glaciers may be too formal to be able to enjoy my birthday celebration but decided to try anyway. WOW! Atmosphere was AWESOME.

Our Server, Justin, was fantastic. He answered questions, joked with my father and made us feel as though we were the only customers. Another server, Chester, joked with my husband about being Lions fans. I love this place!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had excellent food and top-notch serv ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had excellent food and top-notch service, as always.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious meal on top of a mountain with ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious meal on top of a mountain with beautiful views!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanksgiving dinner was a marvelous even ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was a marvelous event. More food that we could eat, friendly servers, ambience, and excellent food.

Holidays and children. We met sweet little Michael from Nevada and she turned four tables of diners into family in an hour.

The view of Alaska is breathtaking at that elevation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner. I wish we got our serv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Wonderful dinner. I wish we got our server's name. He made a great experience even better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to eat food outstanding, ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Wonderful place to eat food outstanding, staff knowledgable and attentive cannot fault our experience there will go back when back in Alaska

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time! The tram ride is b ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 19, 2016

We had a great time! The tram ride is beautiful in the fall time. But there were a lot of bugs! Little fruit flies and nats. I know they are from outside and believe me outside was much worse but they should try a fan or traps or something.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Took my husband to this restaurant for h ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Took my husband to this restaurant for his birthday. The tram ride to the top was excellent. I am one that cannot ride Ferris wheels, etc due to heights and sway. This tram was very steady and comfortable. Saw a black bear on the hillside below us on the way to the top. The $25 per person team fee was waived for people who had a reservation at Seven Glaciers.

The restaurant is very proper. Coats were checked upon arrival. Other people's hats were checked. Service was exceptional, very well trained staff in the art of fine dining while still maintaining a personality.

Food was incredible. My daughter and I ordered the Chef's tasting menu, which is a multi course meal including phenomenal desserts at the end. My husband ordered the duck, which he said was the best duck he's ever tasted.

Be prepared to spend some money here. About $75 per person is about avererage. With pre-dinner cocktails, wine with dinner, food, and tip, we spent about $120 per person. But we knew that going in.

After dinner we went outside to look at the views. Absolutely gorgeous landscape. Be sure to bring a sweater or light jacket in the evenings as the elevation lends itself to cooler temperatures.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've ever had. Se ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. Server didn't seem too interested, but restaurant closing for season in two days. Maybe just burn out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous dinner with a fabulous view and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fabulous dinner with a fabulous view and excellent service! Three of us had filets which were delicious and one had the halibut and thought the same. The sommelier suggested a wonderful wine and overall our meal was excellent! Quite the dining experience with a cable car tram ride up the mountain for starters. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is special! With a view like ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

This place is special! With a view like this, Seven Glaciers could kick back and trust that people will come back just for the uniqueness of that. But then the service is exceptional and the menu is thoughtfully put together and the food comes out perfect and you find yourself leaving afterward, wanting for absolutely nothing, looking forward to the next time you can make it back!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced mediocre food. Views were the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Overpriced mediocre food. Views were the best part of the meal Salmon was good. Cabbage salad was horrible. Dessert was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Always a great experience with amazing p ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always a great experience with amazing prepared food! I eat each bite and appreciate the wonderful favors ...thank you for giving us Alaskan this place !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant. Pricey but worth i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Pricey but worth it. The only thing we missed out on we're the views. Usually a restaurant with a view in a tourist location does not deliver on the food. This place delivers excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, food was cooked great ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service was great, food was cooked great however it could have used some seasonings, although cooked very well the taste was extremely very bland. Portions were small and very over priced for the quality. Put some salt and pepper on the tables, it is needed with the tasteless food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Food wasn't great and way too expensive ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food wasn't great and way too expensive for the quantity provided. Hostess was rude. Waitresses very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

A great experience for a once in a lifet ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A great experience for a once in a lifetime trip to Alaska. Beautiful view and great food.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our best dinner during our Alas ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was our best dinner during our Alaska vacation in every way. The trip up to the top on the tram is amazing, the views from the bar are awe-inspiring, and the food is outstanding. The oysters were the largest and juiciest we've ever had, the seafood was creative and cooked to perfection, and our meat lover was impressed with his dinner as well. The service is attentive and fun, just a perfect experience all around!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The entire experience was wonderful. We ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The entire experience was wonderful. We were celebrating our 10 anniversary and from the moment we walked in, from the hostess to the waiter, we were made feel like it was a special day. Everyone was very professional, maybe trying a little too hard, but kind. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I recently traveled to Alask ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2016

My wife and I recently traveled to Alaska for our honeymoon and as we researched places to see, stay and eat, Seven Glaciers Restaurant was a must. Dining in Alaska turns out to be rather unimpressive as there are few nice restaurants, so we thought this might be an exception. We chose Seven Glaciers for our first night out and drove in from Anchorage for the experience. The gondola up to the top was wonderful and the views were just amazing... in fact, that's really the primary draw for this place. We arrived early and were allowed to head up to the restaurant about 45 minutes before our reservation time. We took a quick look around the viewing decks and then decided to head to the bar to await seating. The bar was a bit crowded, but even from the seats at the very end, we just couldn't believe the jaw-dropping view. We both ordered lemon-drop martinis and they were delicious. Seating was punctual and, again, we had a wonderful view from our table where we watched the sky change colors as the sun set. We loved seeing the Warhol art behind and to the side of our table and our server was very good. We each ordered a starter, one of us the soup, the other a lobster salad and then both ordered different cuts of meat for our main dish. While neither of us found anything about the food worthy of complaint, we found our meals to be strictly average. We actually had better food at The Cookery in Seward a few nights later. That said, the views and unique nature of this place make it absolutely worth a visit. We made sure to get a reservation well in advance and it seems that's probably necessary even during shoulder season (we were there just before Labor Day). Overall a good experience and we stayed around until very late hoping to see "the lights", but alas - no luck.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a most delightful experience. Our ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had a most delightful experience. Our waiter was polished, professional, and very personable. We received superior service from the moment we walked in. The food was creative, deliciously fresh, and perfectly prepared. We felt underdressed, but were treated as royalty.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fun, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bisque was over priced for quantity. Wi ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Bisque was over priced for quantity. Windows desperately needed washing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Service did not adjust to our capacity t ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Service did not adjust to our capacity to dring and eat. Simply too fast.

At one point we had the cocktails, the appetizers and the wine served on the table.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

It,s ok , kind of expensive though. food ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 29, 2016

It,s ok , kind of expensive though. food was not great, but service is ok. View is great though.

would not recommend if you looking to go there just to eat good food - you will not be happy

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

What a unique setting. Superb food. Exce ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 27, 2016

What a unique setting. Superb food. Excellent service. The only issue was the price of a glass of wine - menu said $12 - I was charged $17.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place! Fun ride up on tram. Wi ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Beautiful place! Fun ride up on tram. Wife had halibut and I had filet, perfectly done. Nice wine selection, and polite, friendly service. Unique experience, highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Unbelievable view.Friendly staff,knowled ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Unbelievable view.Friendly staff,knowledgable bartenders,nice wine list and enjoyed the beet salad.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful location and excellent food. J ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful location and excellent food. Just wish we would have had room for desert! Make sure you have the scallop bisque & seafood cakes

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service & great food variety

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent service & great food variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a special place! The environment is ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 22, 2016

What a special place! The environment is spectacular and the tram ride up to the restaurant is outstanding. Waiter was knowledgable, had great suggestions. Food was EXCELLENT! It was our wedding anniversary and the two Baked Alaskas (FANTASTIC!) were on the house!!! How nice was that??! When we were walking around the property waiting for the tram we saw three wild black bear (mom and two cubs) - so perfect! Great night!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was some of the best I have eve ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was some of the best I have ever had, but it was also $217 for two people, not including gratuity, so I can't say it was a good value, and since I don't know anyone that could afford Seven Glaciers without saving for a long time, I can't say I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The view alone is worth the visit but th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The view alone is worth the visit but then the food alone would be worth the visit. The combination is extraordinary. Stunning views including glaciers -a very unique experience. We will return; hopefully often. As far as food, I don't think you can go wrong but highly recommend the King Crab Legs and Baked Alyeska. It's almost sensory overload- in a very good way.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great vistas and above average food with ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great vistas and above average food with a strong wine list. Very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service, food, view and wine ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Outstanding service, food, view and wine selection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portion size compared to the price w ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The portion size compared to the price was disappointing, but unfortunately that is to be expected in a "fancy" restaurant. The overall experience, riding the tram, watching the sunset and the clouds change, and enjoying company in a quiet setting, was great. I will bring out-of-towners here, but maybe after getting full elsewhere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We were disappointed that there were onl ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were disappointed that there were only 6 entrees , with one (salmon) not available.

None of the 3 of us found anything special, so we had a good selection of salads, soups, appetizers and dessert, with a good bottle of wine, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were traveling throughout Alaska for 2 weeks and only had one night at the Aleyska Resort.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

A beautiful restaurant with an amazing v ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 15, 2016

A beautiful restaurant with an amazing view, and great food that gives serious competition to the view.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.