About Seven Glaciers

1000 Arlberg Avenue
Girdwood, AK 99587
View Larger Map

Seven Glaciers is Alyeska Resort’s AAA Four Diamond award winning mountain-top restaurant. Offering signature Alaskan entrees in an elegant atmosphere, the Seven Glaciers experience is extraordinary from start to finish. Your journey begins with a scenic aerial tram ride that takes you high above The Hotel Alyeska to 2,300 feet above sea level. From this mountain-top perch, Seven Glaciers is surrounded by nature from every direction. This means that every table features panoramic glacier and water views. Chef Aaron Apling-Gilman carefully crafts the Seven Glaciers' menus with an emphasis on locally available produce, seafood and game. With an attention to detail and a flair for the unexpected, Chef Aaron presents delectable Alaskan favorites with his own personal touch. Seven Glaciers boasts an award winning wine list and full bar to perfectly complement your meal. Please leave room for dessert--the Baked Alyeska cannot be missed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Seven Glaciers Summer Hours:
Daily, 5 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
Alyeska Highway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 754-2237

Website:
http://www.alyeskaresort.com/dining/seven-glaciers-restaurant.aspx

Catering:
For groups of 10 or more any time of the year, Alyeska Resort offers group lodging rates. Depending on your group size, many of our restaurants can host your group with an advanced reservation. For larger groups, we recommend working with Alyeska’s Catering Team to create a custom menu. Choose from casual buffets to formal dinners in one of our more intimate meeting spaces.

To bring your group to Alyeska Resort, feel free to call or email the Sales team at 907-754-2213 or sales@alyeskaresort.com.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at the main entrance to The Hotel Alyeska. Self parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Glacier Valley Transit (GVT) operates a year-round transportation busing system with fixed route service in Girdwood, Alaska. GVT is owned and operated by Girdwood Transportation, LLC and leases employees from Alyeska Resort. GVT is made possible by a grant from the Federal Transit Authority and The Alaska Department of Transportation. 907-382-9909

Executive Chef:
Aaron Apling-Gilman

Private Party Facilities:
For further details, please contact our Food and Beverage Admins at food@alyeskaresort.com or by phone.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scallop Bisque
  • Bourbon
  • King Crab Legs
  • Baked Alyeska
  • Halibut
  • Carrot Ginger Soup
  • Tomato Salad
Scallop Bisque
Bourbon
King Crab Legs
Baked Alyeska
Halibut
Carrot Ginger Soup
Tomato Salad

Seven Glaciers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
9 More
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Girdwood ›

scenic view (83)
special occasion (74)
romantic (60)
See All
notable wine list (42)
fit for foodies (34)
good for groups (18)
great for lunch (12)
vibrant bar scene (9)
hot spot (9)
neighborhood gem (6)
great for brunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal and service were excellent, whi ...

Dined 4 days ago

The meal and service were excellent, which you would expect for a place this expensive. The tram ride is f u n and the view at the top is outstanding. However, the parking situation there is terrible. The "visitor parking" area is a good quarter of a mile from the tram. I think this is terrible for a high class place not to have valet parking available. My wife and I are both in our mid-60's and it was not easy for us to walk that far. I would not go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

New York steak was great and cooked to m ...

Dined 6 days ago

New York steak was great and cooked to my order but was the most expensive New York cut Iv ever seen at a resturaunt. My girl orderd the filet medium rare, and it was served medium. It was her birthday dinner and this was a great disappointment to both of us. On a side note, our waitress was a bit on the cold side

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Five Star superb experience!!

Dined 7 days ago

Five Star superb experience!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a perfect evening to celebrate ou ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a perfect evening to celebrate our anniversary. The drive to Girdwood was beautiful. The gondola ride was complimentary due to having reservations at Seven Glaciers. What a pleasant surprise to be able to play in the snow on such a hot evening! The staff at the restaurant were very nice. The food was amazing and the views were unforgettable. The restaurant bought us a dessert for our special day and they let me take home the three roses from the table. It was a wonderful, memorable evening thanks to the Seven Glaciers Restaurant. I highly recommend them!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

If you are at the Alyeska Resort, the re ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

If you are at the Alyeska Resort, the restaurant is not to be missed. However, the summer seasonal crush strains the restaurant staff, who do a great job considering. Our experience was arriving at the restaurant fifteen minutes before our reservation time, sitting down fifteen minutes after our reservation time, and having our appetizers served one hour later. After then, all was great.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great choice to celebrate our A ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

It was a great choice to celebrate our Anniversary. Staff are very friendly and the Chef sent us a complimentary dessert! The service and the quality of food justified the price. Will definitely go back and recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent. Setting sublime. Ba ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was excellent. Setting sublime. Bartender was great! For a restaurant with these prices and this snazzy, however, service could've been better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Made a reservation to this restaurant to ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Made a reservation to this restaurant to celebrate our engagement that day. Was the perfect place to go to do so. All of the service was absolutely outstanding. The view was spectacular. The food, while pricey, was pretty good. The portions were a bit disappointing. For example a potato was advertised to come with a meal (or some aspect of a potato) and I literally got a slice. One slice. Out of one potato. It was a bit laughable, while at the same time a delicious slice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious gourmet meal. Service outstan ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Delicious gourmet meal. Service outstanding . Presentation fantastic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding experience at Seve ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We had an outstanding experience at Seven Glaciers. The service was impeccable, as was the food. The view was AMAZING! The ride on the tram was thrilling! Beautiful views from our table as well - we could see beautiful snow covered mountains on 3 sides (June). The prices were about the same as we would spend at Ruth Chris Steakhouse on Maui (where we live), so well worth it. I had the King Crab Legs, which were fresh, not frozen. My husband had the halibut. Delicious and beautifully presented. The Baked Alyeska was divine. The waiters were very attentive, and kept switching out our silverware, which to me means a 5 star restaurant, which it was!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great staff , great food , great views. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great staff , great food , great views. The perfect place to celebrate .

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best restaurant in AK, if nothing more - ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Best restaurant in AK, if nothing more - the view. Service was excellent, the food excellent. The Tram ride is spectacular.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View was spectacular and cuisine fabulou ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

View was spectacular and cuisine fabulous. Best overall dining experience in Alaska, by far.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Angie and Kaeli frim Redondo Beach, CA

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. Not a fan of the sorbet for dessert, but everything else great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Dinner After Hike

Dined on June 9, 2016

My daughter and I wanted to celebrate our epic hike. We showed up in t-shirts and shorts fresh from the trail. No judgmental states at our appearance. I had made a reservation and we were able to pick up free tram tickets at the ticket office. Our server Joli was amazing! We had the tomato pasta (sure wish I could have it again right now!) as an appetizer. We both had perfectly cooked filets. The baked Ayeska was a great ending. I need to go back sometime with my husband. We really, really enjoyed our evening! Wow!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a great place to end our Alaska trip !

Dined on June 8, 2016

Wonderful, wonderful! Someone at your table should order the scallop bisque!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on June 8, 2016

Although the view was great, the restaurant was a disappointment. I was a guest at the hotel where the restaurant was, yet was unabl to simply charge meal to my room. There were 6 people in our party, all of whom were hotel guests. We were told the only way we could charge to our room was for each of us to tell the waitress the amount to charge. The waitress could not tabulate this amount for us. No split tickets were allowed. Ridiculous! And the way the tables were set up, there was an unbearable sun glare that the waiters did nothing to alter. ( Having visited several Alaska restaurants, this was not a problem there, they simply used screens. ) The restaurant does have an excellent wine list, but they were rather snobby about it. The food was very good and fairly priced.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

Seven Glaciers Restaurant

Dined on June 5, 2016

The location is nearly unique and the service is excellent. Cost is rather high even for a special occasion relative to costs in the lower states, but Alaska is generallly quite high for meals

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

girdwood dining experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great, restaurant, the bisque was incredible, view and ambiance was great as well.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a view

Dined on June 3, 2016

Wonderful view and dining experience Service was first class and you get a free ride on a scenic tram Don't know why it was so difficult to reserve a table. All tables were booked when I tried. We went up early to enjoy the view and were seated immediately. There were several empty tables.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As foreign holiday makers, we found this ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

As foreign holiday makers, we found this place fantastic for the scenic views. Four of us all enjoyed our meals which were served efficiently by friendly staff.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals we have ever had! ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

One of the best meals we have ever had! The view was spectacular and the food amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good and poor

Dined on June 1, 2016

This could have been good and bad but that would be unfair Great trip in the gondola to the restaurant and superb vistas Staff very welcoming on arrival and the menu well explained if not a little trite in presentation. My starter of prawns and mussels was really good accompanied by the extra oysters! The main course of duck breast was cooked perfectly to my liking but served in mixture of warm to cold. The waitress offered to have it "re-heated"-- really? In a 5* restaurant. Anyway, I coped with it and it was well cooked just not piping hot, if you know what I mean. Dessert of the signature Baked Alaska (what else?) was excellent and the wine enjoyable. As I sat to finish my wine, I was presented with the bill and 2 minutes later asked if I was ok to settle it. I replied that I'd need a little time as my coat was in the cloakroom, at which the waitress went off and brought me the coat. Talk about feeling rushed out of the door. On departing, I reminded the waitress about the issue with my main course ( Bill not adjusted or anything) to which she replied that chef sends his apologies. Again, the impression is they don't give a Frig if your not spending $'000 !!!! This was a once in a lifetime trip to Alaska and thus was supposed to be a highlight of my trip but it was not to be! So, that's why I gave it my title.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on June 1, 2016

This was a great experience starting with a complimentary tram ride to the top of the mountain included with a dining reservation. We had an exceptional view from our table. Service was exceptional. The wine list was a bit pricey for us but other drinks including Alaskan beers were reasonably priced. We had halibut and salmon which were both very good. Recommend baked Alaska for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful Scenery And Great Food Not To Be Missed

Dined on May 31, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Alaska that we dined during our holiday. The views are spectacular and food/drinks yum. If you can stay at the resort, we would recommend you do!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

getaway dinner

Dined on May 31, 2016

The service here was exceptional. We had a great time having dinner here. The views are exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

An evening on the hill

Dined on May 31, 2016

It was my daughters 30th birthday and we wanted to do something special for her. The day was beautiful, the view from atop the tram lift spectacular, the cordiality from the restaurant staff though rehearsed was pleasant. We knew going in, 7 Glaciers was a formal venue. We even expected higher than normal pricing. We enjoyed the food selections and flavors for your palet as well. The disappointment came with the food volume and wine bottle pricing. If one is expected to pay $50 -$70 for an entree you'd think you might get more than an amount that covers a circle of food with a 3" diameter. Exceedingly high price with a small portion size may make one not be in a hurry to return. As well, the wine selection is remarkable but then, so is the probable profit margin. Even an American Reisling is $45. Many others ranged from $65 to $150 per bottle or more. Bottom line .. they're not interested in those with shallow pockets. Those with deeper ones may not care as it helps keep the riff raff out. There were 6 of us who shared 3 bottles of wine and ate their lower end to moderate fare price wise. Our bill was about $680 including a 15% mandatory tip for parties 5 or greater. It was nice for my daughter but it'll likely be a while before we return.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid choice for my engagement dinner

Dined on May 30, 2016

I scheduled reservations online for the evening after I proposed to my girlfriend. We had a great view, the staff was courteous, and they even provided a rose and two free glasses of champagne. The service was great, the food was excellent, the people were great, the ambience was great...I couldn't say enough good things about this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exzellent meal with awesome View

Dined on May 30, 2016

We were staying at Alyeska hotel. Dinner in Seven Glaciers Restaurant was great. We enjoyed it very much as part of our fantastic Alaska journey. Wonderful experience, thank you!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

Awesome location, good food, decent serv ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Awesome location, good food, decent service

food5
ambience5
service5

If you want to be treated like royalty, ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

If you want to be treated like royalty, Seven Glaciers is the place to go. Our special evening was absolutely perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Glaciers and Dinner, a wonderful experience.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Seven Glaciers sits on top of Mt. Alyeska, the view is amazing. The tram ride cost is a bit steep and should be included if you are dining; not sure if it is, so ask. We had a free tram ride on our tour so it wasn't a problem. The food was very good, and the wine options plentiful at reasonable restaurant pricing. The meal prices were a bit high, but we accepted for the view of 7 glaciers at sunset, well not really this time of year, but dusk did occur about 10 pm, LOL. Recommendations include: Salmon, Halibut and 9 oz Filet, all were excellent. We would not recommend for small children.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Seven Glaciers restaurant on Mount A ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The Seven Glaciers restaurant on Mount Alyeska in Girdwood Alaska was a special treat for our party of three. We rode the tram up to the restaurant and had drinks in the bar. Staff were knowledgeable of the local climate and were attentive. The food was excellent and impeccably prepared. I would recommend the native Alaskan fish such as salmon or halibut. From soup to dessert the Seven Glaciers will not disappoint.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was subpar, perhaps owing to the ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Service was subpar, perhaps owing to the fact that the restaurant had recently reopened for the summer and the waitstaff was still getting their feet wet. For a AAA Four Diamond award winning restaurant, there should be no excuse for anything less than stellar service. Also, the cloth on our table was worn, with holes in it - this is unacceptable. The view is terrific, but you could get the same view by taking the tram up the mountain and walking around or getting something to eat at the Bore Tide Deli. When we asked our server to point out the seven glaciers that the restaurant is named out, she did not know. Thankfully, the food was better than the service. The dressing on the kale salad was divine. My crab cakes were meaty and substantial. The lobster bacon salad with tomato dressing was delicious, especially the fried piece. The salmon was prepared nicely and had the freshest, tastiest peas on the side. We did not think twice about getting signature baked Alyeska, but we were disappointed by the texture of the meringue, which was very gummy. The mousse inside was good, but ice cream would have been better. After the fact we heard the chocolate tart would have been the better choice. For those who still want to try the baked Alyeska, the Aurora Bar and Grill inside the Alyeska also serves it. The variety of bread served with the meal was good.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We always enjoy this experience. There ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We always enjoy this experience. There are a few things to correct for the staff, wine served in a smudged glass, service was a bit haphazard, the replacement glass of wine was slow in appearing. The restaurant could use a better cleaning, we sat in the banquet and hubby lost his fork and seeing it his hand strayed into the crease where the back meets the seat and he told the waiter it needed a good cleaning, lots of crumbs, and I noticed the carpet needed a better cleaning. The restaurant had just opened for the season so the carpets should still have been clean. So guys, clean! Food is great, beautiful and tasty. Nice view, fun ride up, friendly wait staff. So will return...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience we had at Se ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

What a wonderful experience we had at Seven Glaciers. Matthew was our server and made the entire meal special from beginning to end. The courses were suburb! We received a complementary amuse-bouche to begin and then moved on to a cheese plate that absolutely set the mood for the night. The lavender and honey cheese with the espresso crust is not something we will be likely to forget, especially paired with the house made crackers. A symphony of flavors! My daughter ordered the filet. Prepared in sous vide and then grilled?! Yes. Each bite was a masterpiece. We finished with beignets for dessert and then complimentary petit fours. I cannot rate this restaurant and staff any higher. We will definitely be back - and not just for special occasions. Life is too short.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

The service was slow. Items forgotten. ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The service was slow. Items forgotten. Wine not as listed. Took forever to get wine and bread. Soup great. King crab fair - cost a pretty penny for a less than average meal.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant

Dined on May 20, 2016

This restaurant was wonderful! The food,location, views service are exceptional. If anyone is I the area,well worth making a reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has a beautiful view and ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

This restaurant has a beautiful view and the tram ride up is great. We went for a birthday celebration. The tasting menu was inventive and the food was cooked perfectly. The wine list was a little pricey but there was an extensive selection of domestic and imported wines. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Initially where we were seated was great ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Initially where we were seated was great for the view out two corner windows. But the crowd in the adjacent bar was too noisy for normal conversation. We requested to move to the other side of the restaurant, but the view as not as good because of the wall that blocked the view toward the inlet. Our initial waiter was very attentive and we hated to have to change and lose his service. But our waitress on the other side was equally attentative.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.