About Serena Sicilian Influenced Gastropub - Durham

5311 S Miami Blvd
Durham, NC 27703
View Larger Map

For over 3,000 years Sicily has been a melting pot of humanities, cultures and culinary delights. We at Serena continue Sicily’s history of infusing multi-cultural culinary traditions to create fresh perspectives on Mediterranean & New World cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday 11:00am -10:00pm

Cross Street:
Old Page Rd / Slater Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 941-6380

Website:
http://www.serena-rtp.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Serena Sicilian Influenced Gastropub - Durham
Serena Sicilian Influenced Gastropub - Durham

Serena Sicilian Influenced Gastropub - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

3.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
26 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent local Italian with a great bar ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent local Italian with a great bar and very attentive staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Calamari was very good

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Calamari was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The squid is amazing. Big serves, you'll ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The squid is amazing. Big serves, you'll have lunch for tomorrow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Love the grill octopus on a salad. I go ...

vip
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Love the grill octopus on a salad. I go to Serena whenever I'm in the area on business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious and portions are gene ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was delicious and portions are generous. We each had the pasta garlic, pecorino and Pepe, super flavorful just a touch oily. We each had leftovers and can't wait to enjoy tomorrow. Excellent wine menu, Pinnocoli Primitivo was superb, went well with the meal. The service was attentive even during the back up in the kitchen but it would have been nice to be offered a free glass of wine or a bread basket. Will definitely be visiting again on next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

pls bring back the green flash passion f ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

pls bring back the green flash passion fruit beer. it would help customers converse if the music was quieter

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

great sandwiches, great salads, great beers

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

pls bring back the green flash passion fruit unfiltered wheat beer - it was amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food, service was bit slow but I r ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food, service was bit slow but I really enjoyed the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

loud music makes conversation more difficult

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I recommend keeping the music at more of background level so that waitstaff can hear customers & diners can more easily communicate during a meal

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent. Enjoyed ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

Food and service was excellent. Enjoyed th spacious dinning area and outdoor seating. Will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Noise

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 22, 2015

We first thought we would sit inside. I don't normally get to have a nice dinner out with my husband due to our busy work schedules. However, the music was so loud we wouldn't have enjoyed our conversations, so we opted to eat outside. Again, we chose a corner table off to the side and still, the music was too loud. Th food was delicious, but honestly, it was not the quiet, romantic type of environment. I believe that the quality of the food and service was great, but it certainly was NOT a great environment, unless you are in the mood for a loud party. And we were there at 6:00.

May not go back for that reason only.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Great after work locale

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

Visited Serena's for a last minute after-work "wind-down"...great location for happy hour; great specials, and appetizers were delicious! We all went back and recommended Serena's to co workers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Whoo hoo!

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 1, 2015

Landed at RDU with a starving family and Open Table took us to this FANTASTIC eats. Menu was unique, clever and delish. Wine was yummy! Background music was great. Kids played a free arcade game while we waited for our meals and then the entire family played post meal (I won Astroids!). We'll be back again and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Large Portions. GF Menu!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

My hubby and I went here for Valentine's day and were not disappointed. It had a great ambiance. Some noise, but not too loud. Some of the tables were a little close together, but it didn't bug me. There are tables for groups or couples.

The food was delicious and came in huge portions. I made 4 meals out of mine. I love having leftovers. The food is slightly pricey, but not for the huge portions.

The great bonus for us is the gluten free options. They even have gluten free pasta. My hubby has Celiacs, so GF options were a must.

Overall, a great experience. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great for Corp Get Together

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 13, 2015

Ideal for a quick happy hour with work colleagues. Good for lunch as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Chicken Marsala tasted watered down and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

Chicken Marsala tasted watered down and not much flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Mixed experience

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on January 10, 2015

The menu is very large and the dishes my wife and I ordered were very good. Our server was excellent too, helpful and knowledgeable about the menu; attentive without being intrusive. So, why mixed? Our hostess had never heard of Open Table. Since the last reservation we'd made through OT (at another restaurant) had been flagged as a "no show" because the server sat us without checking us in on the computer, I asked the hostess to make sure to check us in. Big mistake! Instead of being abel to sit, we had to stand for nearly twenty minutes while the hostess found the manager and he checked us in. The manager did apologize but it still seems silly that we had to stand around for so long in an almost empty restaurant just to avoid being a no show at a place we did eat at. Overall it seemed like the menu and wait staff were from a different, better place then the hostess and the very very plain dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Odd but good

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

The decor doesn't seem to have a cohesive theme but the food was excellent. Portions were large so if you're not a big eater they are good for sharing. Wine list was okay, but the server wasn't knowledgeable and couldn't open our bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Mosy apptoat4...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 17, 2014

A wonder

Rgjjzzfggdsghukiwwsftrr

Tyyuihtrertyyuytredr

Ggf6742dg4wty5eevteyr2duyrr

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

great food and atmosphere

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on November 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our dinner, but our waiter seemed to have better things to do than wait on us. The manager stepped in and made sure that we had everything we needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Disappointing

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on November 1, 2014

My sister and I ordered 4 antipasti: the meatballs (were okay), the grain faro and the beans (two separate items that were dressed exactly the same so it was like just one dish), and a warm spinach dish that was flavorless. We shared the gnocchi with grey goose sauce. Loved the sauce. I liked the gnocchi even though they were not "pillows," rather more like pellets.

We were greeted and waited on at first by the bartender who was excellent. Eventually another waiter took over who seemed overwhelmed by all the work and the level of our service dropped considerably. I bet this would be a great place for a sandwich at lunchtime. Not so much for a dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

New Favorite

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on November 1, 2014

I was looking for a new place to try for dinner and came across Serena's on Opentable. I've never heard of Serena's before but the description was appealing so we gave it a try, no expectations. My family had one of the best meals we've ever had at a restaurant in a long time. The waiter was excellent, very attentive and helpful - I wish I could remember his name. The menu is quite extensive and it was difficult to make a choice. We started off with calamari and moved onto our entrees. My son had lasagna, wife had an eggplant dish, daughter had an Alfredo pasta dish and I had the gnocchi. I created my own gnocchi dish with spinach, red peppers, sausage in a creamy marinara sauce top with mozzarella, it was to die for. Just as another reviewer pointed out, the gnocchi was smaller than I'm accustomed to, but it did not matter as it was so good. Serena's is now one of our favorite places and we look forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and great service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on October 31, 2014

We finally tried Serena after a friend kept telling us how wonderful it is. He was totally right!! The food was just delicious (especially the toppings tray for your pasta) and the service was outstanding. The staff could not have been nicer or more attentive. It may have been our first trip, but it will not be our last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

We were staying in a hotel not far from here. Decided to come here for dinner. It was great. Staff. Food. Everything was excellent. We would absolutely return when we are in the area again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Good and the Bad

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 24, 2014

First the good. While Serena's menu is limited the food's preparation and taste was absolutely excellent. Kudo's to the chef! Now the bad. The noise level was so ridiculous due to an interior design that is specifically made NOT to absorb sound, and to an incredibly annoying selection of music consisting of thumping base, we could not hear each other speak without raising our voices. (And the restaurant was only one half full this week night). Add to the noise level the uncomfortable chairs, which are small with seats made of a slippery vinyl, the ambiance of the place gets, liberally speaking, 1 star. While Serena's food offering certainly meets the taste test, its noisy and uncomfortable environment nullifies any desire to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

As a Sicilian, I have trouble with a wai ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2014

As a Sicilian, I have trouble with a waitress that tries to correct my pronunciation every time. The food was great, but the entrees came out just as soon as they brought the appetizer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.