About Seorabol Korean Restaurant

5734 Old 2nd St
Philadelphia, PA 19120
View Larger Map

Seorabol is the best Korean Restaurant in Philadelphia. We specialize in Authentic Korean Food, Korean BBQ and Fresh Sushi.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Korean, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Grange Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 924-6865

Website:
http://www.seorabolphilly.com/

Catering:
We've catered at over 100 weddings and at over 1000 small to large events. We serve buffet-style over 15-20 popular Korean dishes.

Parking Details:
It"s free parking on our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Chef Cho

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Dolsot Bibimbap
  • Ddukgook
  • Banchan
  • Spicy Seafood Soup
  • samgyupsal
  • Bulgogi Lunch Box
  • Dragon Roll
Dolsot Bibimbap
Ddukgook
Banchan
Spicy Seafood Soup
samgyupsal
Bulgogi Lunch Box
Dragon Roll

Seorabol Korean Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (4)
See All
kid-friendly (3)
fit for foodies (3)
special occasion (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
40 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was very helpful and pleasant

Dined 5 days ago

The staff was very helpful and pleasant

food4
ambience4
service3

We thought the food was good, but the me ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We thought the food was good, but the meat was rather fatty. My husband got a couple pieces he had to pull out of his mouth. The flavors were good, though. As for the service, the food came very fast, but they totally forgot about half our drink orders. The food cam flying out before we had even gotten all the drinks. All-in-all, it was a fun experience, but nothing life-changing, which is what I had sort of expected from the other reviews

food5
ambience4
service5

Lots of fun. The beef galbi is so good ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Lots of fun. The beef galbi is so good and the ice cold yogurt soju was perfect for a warm day. Lots of little bites to go with the meat but be careful because you can get full quickly. Service is fast and they always check to make sure you're grilling ok. Definitely going back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a perfect experience when we eat ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Always a perfect experience when we eat here. Brought my Mom and son tonight and was able to order her favorite Tofu and seafood soup just the way she liked it.. Not spicy ☺

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and friendly service.

Dined on May 15, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant to my friends. Great tasty food and there was a lot of varieties in their menu. Thanks for the friendly services they provide for me and my date.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Surprisingly delicious!

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Having never eaten Korean barbecue, I was skeptical. The food was plentiful, interesting, and an excellent value. The side dishes were tasty, and the beef and marinated pork were wonderful. Our party of 9 had a room to ourselves. We had so much fun cooking our meat! The staff was so helpful and accommodating, providing plates and forks for the birthday cake which we brought along. I highly recommend this place for a real food adventure!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. Service was excelsnt

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Great food. Service was excelsnt

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!!

Dined on December 31, 2015

It's a very delicious Korean food. The service is really good too! They're nice. However, the price is a little bit expensive. Overall, everything is good and I would come again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great introduction to Korean cuisine

Dined on December 31, 2015

Can't say enough good things about our waiter's patience and help. The complimentary appetizers were varied and all delicious. The seafood pancake was huge, delicious and filling. There were about 8 great dumplings... way more than expected. The eel roll was okay. All of the entrées were spicy, flavorful and excellent: Jaeyook pork bibimbap, seafood hot pot and chicken. Everything paired well with Korean beer. Can't wait to come back and try the BBQ.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Good, not great

Dined on November 15, 2015

Does not mention a liquor license, small selection of alcohol. $15 corkage charge

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

food was very fresh and well prepared, b ...

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

food was very fresh and well prepared, better than other Korean restaurants we have tried. service was friendly. we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

This is our first time at this restauran ...

Dined on July 26, 2015

This is our first time at this restaurant and we really enjoyed the food and service. Everything was tasty and portion size was appropriate. We will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Authentic Korean food!

Dined on June 6, 2015

Best Korean food in the North East! Meal begins with a delicious whole grilled fish and variety of sides including kimchi. We had the Spicy Galbi and it is literally the best I've had (and I've eaten a lot of Galbi over the past 35 years!). The water and tea are served in plain plastic pitchers and there's nothing fancy about this place but it doesn't matter because the quality, freshness and spectacular taste of the food overrides all of that. We went back 2 weeks after our first visit and have already planned our next...this time bringing a group!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Today was my friend's first time having ...

Dined on May 30, 2015

Today was my friend's first time having Korean food and he absolutely loved it. I am super happy we chose to come to SRB to get the full, authentic experience. The meats were well-marinated, the sashimi was fresh, and the bbokumbop was delicious. I especially enjoyed that they put a pear slice into the naengmyun - it's not real without it! In addition to the flavorful foods, the service was superb. The servers were friendly and attentive, and consistently changed our grill plate. Overall, I would recommend SRB to anyone and everyone.

food4
ambience3
service3

Good place but second visit left me unsure!

Dined on April 4, 2015

I had been to this Resturant twice. The first time I had the traditional Korean BBQ which was great very tasty and flavorful. I love the variation of side dishes with come with the meal to dress up everything. The staff was over all very friendly during my first visit which lead me to come back again a second time as my over all experience was lovely. Second time was just ok staff was some what friendly but my waiter was new which was not very helpful considering I'm not an expert on Koren dishes and wanted to try something new. Finally on a whim I ordered the Dobsot Bibim Bap assorted veg & beef over rice in a hot stone bowl. I would say the dish was just ok. I was really disappointed with the amount of beef served in this dish and it was very bland. Be aware if you order this that it literly only had a few sprinkles of beef. I questioned the waiter about it and he informed me that that was normal. Not sure when I would go back here again but over all it a good restaurant if you know what to order, but I would say given my experience the quality of service was definitely mot consistent.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

A real hidden gem!

Dined on February 14, 2015

Dined here on Valentine's Day 2015. (Just to note: I work in the restaurant industry myself thus may be more discriminating then most..) I was shocked at how affordable our bill was for two people particularly with how much food we received. We chose two beef selections of the Korean bbq. The food was excellent! The marinades they use for the meats are incredibly flavorful. Our reservations were for 6 and it was definitely vibrantly busy by the time our meal was finished. You wouldn't expect such excellent food in a little strip mall in the Olney area! They do also have a very large parking lot which ranked high in convenience for us. I would definitely return. My only criticism at all was that the serving staff could have been a bit more attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Get in my Belly

Dined on February 14, 2015

Been looking for a good Korean BBQ-found it. Food comes fast and it is delicious. A little pricey but worth it. Had Soju for the first time. Next time I want to try the Soju with yogurt.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

An ethnic treasure

Dined on January 16, 2015

When we invited our friends out for the evening, we sent along the link to the restaurant and our korean friends response was "this place is LEGIT". When we got there, he was proved absolutely right. The food and decor was incredible. It was a great night and will become a celebration spot for the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Korean food in the city!

Dined on December 25, 2014

For Korean food or Korean BBQ, Seorabol or Kim's on 5th is my favorite by far! I just wish they were closer to Center City!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Korean Barbecue in K-Town

Dined on December 22, 2014

A great dining experience that's quite authentic. The staff is friendly and accommodating even if their English isn't the best, eventually we worked it all out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fast service, tasty food, best korean in town

vip
Dined on December 21, 2014

We've been going to this Korean restaurant for years now. Food is as always great, service is quick. It never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience1
service2

Go with someone experienced with Korean food

vip
Dined on December 7, 2014

Great experience but we had no idea what we were doing. The manager helped as best he could but the place was packed. We did a hot pot and once we figured it out it was good, but spicy! Excited to go back to try the grill! Also, you will have to contact opentable to get your points. They do not use it consistently.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice entertaining lunch

Dined on November 27, 2014

It is a good place to go if you are looking for dining with some entertainment because you got to grill your own meat. With all those appetisers that come for free it will be a lot of food - so better gather a group to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service2

best korean restaurant

vip
Dined on November 2, 2014

I love coming here! I go to Seorabol at least twice/week! I did not know they are on open table or else I would have gotten so many points for all those times I go! I love the banchan, each time there is always something good! I've definitely had everything on their menu except for the raw beef dish which I am contemplating on. Everything here is so good! I wish I live closer so that I can go here everyday!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3

Amazing

Dined on October 11, 2014

Best Korean food I have ever had! Hands down! I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Homey & authentic

Dined on October 10, 2014

Great food..medium priced..kind service. It's located in a little plaza and has off street parking. I love their side dishes that come with the bbq.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Good and Could Be Great

vip
Dined on September 19, 2014

Eating here was a nice dining experience. Although the waiter and waitress could not understand English very well, they served us well. However, learning English would help the dining experience with questions about the menu and process. We ordered the ribeye and the pork... both grilled on the dining table. Both dishes were tasty and they provided about a dozen side dishes. In addition they provided mackerel as sort of an appetizer. This was cooked very well and tasted delicious. The dishes were a bit pricey for the experience and quantity of food. However we plan on going back and trying other less-expensive dishes.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service3

wanted to love..

Dined on September 19, 2014

As an avid koreatown-goer in NYC, I found this korean BBQ place on yelp, and made the trek north (definitely need a car to get here happily/safely) with my boyfriend. While my galbi was good for the most part (a bit overcooked, and I actually turned it myself at one point), his pork belly ended up being overcooked. Several pieces of the pork belly ended up being charred essentially to the point of in-edibleness, which is definitely not ok when you're paying NYC prices. I will say, I didn't try any of the other entrees, and it could just be we had an inexperienced server. Next time, if we go again, I think I will explain that we prefer our stuff "less done."

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience2
service3

The Real Deal

Dined on September 13, 2014

Well worth venturing off the beaten path for this authentic outpost of Korean cuisine in all its varieties. I can't wait to go back to try different dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious korean food, fast service

vip
Dined on September 7, 2014

We've been going to this restaurant for years. The food comes out quick, the BBQ is delicious! Just beware that most servers don't speak English much - but that's how you know, the food is authentic and good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Korean BBQ

Dined on August 23, 2014

This place was really wonderful. The sides were all extremely tasty and the Korean BBQ meats that we ordered (bulgogi and pork belly) were great, along with the black bean noodles and hot stone bowl with seafood. The stingray wasnt our favorite, it was a little tough in places, but the flavor was great. We ate to our hearts content and it came out to about $20 a person which is completely reasonable for korean BBQ. I would recommend this place to friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Authentic Korean

Dined on May 30, 2014

I've been to Seorabol multiple times and it's absolutely wonderful every time. The food is always delicious and the staff if very courteous.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fast service, tasty food

vip
Dined on May 12, 2014

We've been here for many years for their Korean BBQ. The grill is in the table and they bring coal out whenever you order their BBQ. We love everything at this restaurant. Korean pancakes, sweat and sour pork, sushi is delicious too. The waitress barely speaks English, but their service is fast and food is delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

the thrill of the grill

Dined on April 20, 2014

If you go to Seorabol, you must try the BBQ. The in-table charcoal grills are fun to use and the meat is top quality. The 10 banchan dishes provided -- those little dishes of mostly picked vegetable are a great accompaniment.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome food and experience

Dined on April 4, 2014

The Korean BBQ here was really delicious and included tons of sides. We used the coupon for free Korean pizza/Seafood pancake which was really delicious and like nothing I've had before. The waiters were very helpful and attentive. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking to try a new place.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

My new Korean bbq spot

Dined on March 28, 2014

Kim's has always been our go-to spot for Korean bbq for us in the past, but we've noticed that their quality and service started to slip in the past few visit. So we decided to try this place. The banchan is excellent. They give us 2 huge grilled mackerel pike as one of the side dishes too, which wowed us, and their caramelized potatoes and spicy tofu were also excellent. We had Galbi and spicy marinated pork and both were very tender and yummy. They also had EXCELLENT service, wait staff came to help us just when we needed them. They use charcol, but their ventilation system is very good, so I didn't smell like a big ol' campfire when i left. Already daydreaming about going back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

Spectacular Food

vip
Dined on March 8, 2014

While there weren't many reviews (yet) on Opentable, I read about Seorabol on Yelp. Friends from Korea were visiting, so off we went, with high hopes, but reasonable expectations. They were ecstatic! I'm a total novice with this cuisine, so it was great going to Seorabol with Koreans, who knew what to order (and how to order!) We had Korean barbeque (boneless shortribs), seafood pancake, a marvelous cold soup with the longest buckwheat noodles I've ever seen, some smoked fish, and massive amounts of side dishes. Just great. I cannot wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Keeps getting better

vip
Dined on March 6, 2014

Having come here for over 5 years we are amazed how they keep improving. The food and bbq are great and now the service is getting better. With Chris marketing through open table (along with other places) we've seen bigger crowds and now there's more English being spoken which is a great help. They have great lunch specials and when I ask my 5 yr old daughter where she wants to go, she always says here.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Our favorite Korean

vip
Dined on February 7, 2014

Our family has been coming here for almost 7 years and have consistently had very good meals. Always great banchan, and at least 8 or so to start the meal. We come at least once per month and the banchan always has a few new ones. This is fun to bbq and the kids enjoy watching the meats cook over the charcoal. Some other favorites are the dolsot Bim Bim bap and the goat stew. Waitresses are very nice although not much english. Not the greatest neighborhood, but so worth the trip for an authentic korean experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Very nice owner who comes

Dined on January 25, 2014

Very nice owner who comes over and checks how you are doing, I rarely right reviews. Not a food coniseur and new to Korean good but I enjoyed the food and the experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.