About Seorabol Korean Restaurant

5734 Old 2nd St
Philadelphia, PA 19120
View Larger Map

Seorabol is the best Korean Restaurant in Philadelphia. We specialize in Authentic Korean Food, Korean BBQ and Fresh Sushi.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Korean, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Grange Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 924-6865

Website:
http://www.seorabolphilly.com/

Catering:
We've catered at over 100 weddings and at over 1000 small to large events. We serve buffet-style over 15-20 popular Korean dishes.

Parking Details:
It"s free parking on our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Chef Cho

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Dolsot Bibimbap - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
  • Ddukgook - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
  • Banchan - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
  • Spicy Seafood Soup - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
  • samgyupsal - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
  • Bulgogi Lunch Box - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
  • Dragon Roll - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Dolsot Bibimbap - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Ddukgook - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Banchan - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Spicy Seafood Soup - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
samgyupsal - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Bulgogi Lunch Box - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA
Dragon Roll - Seorabol Korean Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

Seorabol Korean Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Northeast Philly ›

Good for Groups (5)
Casual (4)
Authentic (4)
See All
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
53 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First experience with Korean BBQ -- staf ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

First experience with Korean BBQ -- staff was wonderful.

Food seemed a bit expensive since you must order minimum two meat options to use the BBQ table, but would've been enough to feed quite a few people to split. As a couple, we were stuffed -- though deliciously!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Must try the BBQ

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Must try the BBQ

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Wait staff was attentive, and amicable. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wait staff was attentive, and amicable. There was a slight problem with one of our orders, but it was immediately corrected, without question of who caused the error. To be honest, I think I was in the wrong.

That said, I would recommend Seorabol to friends and strangers alike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Really enjoyed this dining experience. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Really enjoyed this dining experience. They brought family style appetizer tastings that were awesome👍

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Service was terrible, took them at least ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Service was terrible, took them at least 5 minutes to even come to the table then another 15 before they came back to take our order. Food was awful, no flavor and there was maybe 1 piece of beef cut up in my hot stone bowl. No idea how this place was voted best of philly, will NEVER return! So sorry I spent almost $60 and ate all of 2 bites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great place for Korean, including BBQ an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great place for Korean, including BBQ and hot pot. We skipped those this time and ordered regular menu choices. We were a little disappointed by the bulgogi (greasier than normal), but loved the other dishes. The small plates that came out were far more extensive than most other Korean places, including an entire fish. We had leftovers for a week!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Private Room, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The interior is a surprisingly large and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The interior is a surprisingly large and nicely decorated. We were some of the only non-asians in the restaurant but the servers went out of their way to be helpful and hospitable. There are enough choices on the menu to satisfy almost any craving and the tableside barbeque is a real attraction.

Tags: Casual, Spicy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef Cho and the staff go out of their w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Chef Cho and the staff go out of their way to make you feel important. The food is always top notch and is my family's go to Korean restaurant. Special thanks to chef Cho for helping make my son's birthday special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to this out of the way place. Don't ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went to this out of the way place. Don't let the outside or area deter you. Its a good value and food was excellent.

Very good food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Energetic and attentive staff!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Energetic and attentive staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The quality of the food, the abundance a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The quality of the food, the abundance and the taste was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food here is incredible...authentic, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food here is incredible...authentic, delicious and nice portions. We ordered bbq (Bulgogi and the Pork - you cook at your table over hot coals), as well as a dish with kim chi and beef. All of it was delicious. Of course, they serve you the million appetizers before hand. Our favorite was the grilled mackerel - YUM. We made reservations (and recommend it on the weekends) and it was handled well and we sat promptly. Is the neighborhood the best? No. However, they have a security guard who could not be nicer. I cannot recommend Seorabol enough! Fun, delicious food, authentic experience = great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great hidden gem. Went with a group of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great hidden gem. Went with a group of 6 and had the BBQ pit at the table. Everyone left full and you can't beat the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

The staff was very helpful and pleasant

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2016

The staff was very helpful and pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thought the food was good, but the me ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We thought the food was good, but the meat was rather fatty. My husband got a couple pieces he had to pull out of his mouth. The flavors were good, though. As for the service, the food came very fast, but they totally forgot about half our drink orders. The food cam flying out before we had even gotten all the drinks. All-in-all, it was a fun experience, but nothing life-changing, which is what I had sort of expected from the other reviews

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Lots of fun. The beef galbi is so good ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Lots of fun. The beef galbi is so good and the ice cold yogurt soju was perfect for a warm day. Lots of little bites to go with the meat but be careful because you can get full quickly. Service is fast and they always check to make sure you're grilling ok. Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a perfect experience when we eat ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Always a perfect experience when we eat here. Brought my Mom and son tonight and was able to order her favorite Tofu and seafood soup just the way she liked it.. Not spicy ☺

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and friendly service.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant to my friends. Great tasty food and there was a lot of varieties in their menu. Thanks for the friendly services they provide for me and my date.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly delicious!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 21, 2016

Having never eaten Korean barbecue, I was skeptical. The food was plentiful, interesting, and an excellent value. The side dishes were tasty, and the beef and marinated pork were wonderful. Our party of 9 had a room to ourselves. We had so much fun cooking our meat!

The staff was so helpful and accommodating, providing plates and forks for the birthday cake which we brought along.

I highly recommend this place for a real food adventure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food. Service was excelsnt

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great food. Service was excelsnt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious!!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2015

It's a very delicious Korean food. The service is really good too! They're nice. However, the price is a little bit expensive. Overall, everything is good and I would come again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great introduction to Korean cuisine

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Can't say enough good things about our waiter's patience and help. The complimentary appetizers were varied and all delicious. The seafood pancake was huge, delicious and filling. There were about 8 great dumplings... way more than expected. The eel roll was okay. All of the entrées were spicy, flavorful and excellent: Jaeyook pork bibimbap, seafood hot pot and chicken. Everything paired well with Korean beer. Can't wait to come back and try the BBQ.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, not great

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Does not mention a liquor license, small selection of alcohol. $15 corkage charge

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

food was very fresh and well prepared, b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2015

food was very fresh and well prepared, better than other Korean restaurants we have tried. service was friendly. we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is our first time at this restauran ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 26, 2015

This is our first time at this restaurant and we really enjoyed the food and service. Everything was tasty and portion size was appropriate. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Authentic Korean food!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 6, 2015

Best Korean food in the North East! Meal begins with a delicious whole grilled fish and variety of sides including kimchi. We had the Spicy Galbi and it is literally the best I've had (and I've eaten a lot of Galbi over the past 35 years!). The water and tea are served in plain plastic pitchers and there's nothing fancy about this place but it doesn't matter because the quality, freshness and spectacular taste of the food overrides all of that. We went back 2 weeks after our first visit and have already planned our next...this time bringing a group!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Today was my friend's first time having ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2015

Today was my friend's first time having Korean food and he absolutely loved it. I am super happy we chose to come to SRB to get the full, authentic experience. The meats were well-marinated, the sashimi was fresh, and the bbokumbop was delicious. I especially enjoyed that they put a pear slice into the naengmyun - it's not real without it! In addition to the flavorful foods, the service was superb. The servers were friendly and attentive, and consistently changed our grill plate. Overall, I would recommend SRB to anyone and everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good place but second visit left me unsure!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 4, 2015

I had been to this Resturant twice. The first time I had the traditional Korean BBQ which was great very tasty and flavorful. I love the variation of side dishes with come with the meal to dress up everything. The staff was over all very friendly during my first visit which lead me to come back again a second time as my over all experience was lovely.

Second time was just ok staff was some what friendly but my waiter was new which was not very helpful considering I'm not an expert on Koren dishes and wanted to try something new. Finally on a whim I ordered the Dobsot Bibim Bap assorted veg & beef over rice in a hot stone bowl. I would say the dish was just ok. I was really disappointed with the amount of beef served in this dish and it was very bland. Be aware if you order this that it literly only had a few sprinkles of beef. I questioned the waiter about it and he informed me that that was normal.

Not sure when I would go back here again but over all it a good restaurant if you know what to order, but I would say given my experience the quality of service was definitely mot consistent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

A real hidden gem!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Dined here on Valentine's Day 2015. (Just to note: I work in the restaurant industry myself thus may be more discriminating then most..) I was shocked at how affordable our bill was for two people particularly with how much food we received. We chose two beef selections of the Korean bbq. The food was excellent! The marinades they use for the meats are incredibly flavorful. Our reservations were for 6 and it was definitely vibrantly busy by the time our meal was finished. You wouldn't expect such excellent food in a little strip mall in the Olney area! They do also have a very large parking lot which ranked high in convenience for us. I would definitely return. My only criticism at all was that the serving staff could have been a bit more attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Get in my Belly

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Been looking for a good Korean BBQ-found it. Food comes fast and it is delicious. A little pricey but worth it. Had Soju for the first time. Next time I want to try the Soju with yogurt.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

An ethnic treasure

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2015

When we invited our friends out for the evening, we sent along the link to the restaurant and our korean friends response was "this place is LEGIT". When we got there, he was proved absolutely right.

The food and decor was incredible. It was a great night and will become a celebration spot for the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Korean food in the city!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2014

For Korean food or Korean BBQ, Seorabol or Kim's on 5th is my favorite by far! I just wish they were closer to Center City!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Korean Barbecue in K-Town

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2014

A great dining experience that's quite authentic. The staff is friendly and accommodating even if their English isn't the best, eventually we worked it all out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fast service, tasty food, best korean in town

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2014

We've been going to this Korean restaurant for years now. Food is as always great, service is quick. It never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Go with someone experienced with Korean food

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 7, 2014

Great experience but we had no idea what we were doing. The manager helped as best he could but the place was packed. We did a hot pot and once we figured it out it was good, but spicy! Excited to go back to try the grill!

Also, you will have to contact opentable to get your points. They do not use it consistently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Nice entertaining lunch

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2014

It is a good place to go if you are looking for dining with some entertainment because you got to grill your own meat. With all those appetisers that come for free it will be a lot of food - so better gather a group to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

best korean restaurant

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2014

I love coming here! I go to Seorabol at least twice/week! I did not know they are on open table or else I would have gotten so many points for all those times I go! I love the banchan, each time there is always something good! I've definitely had everything on their menu except for the raw beef dish which I am contemplating on. Everything here is so good! I wish I live closer so that I can go here everyday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Amazing

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2014

Best Korean food I have ever had! Hands down! I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Homey & authentic

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2014

Great food..medium priced..kind service. It's located in a little plaza and has off street parking. I love their side dishes that come with the bbq.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good and Could Be Great

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 19, 2014

Eating here was a nice dining experience. Although the waiter and waitress could not understand English very well, they served us well. However, learning English would help the dining experience with questions about the menu and process. We ordered the ribeye and the pork... both grilled on the dining table. Both dishes were tasty and they provided about a dozen side dishes. In addition they provided mackerel as sort of an appetizer. This was cooked very well and tasted delicious. The dishes were a bit pricey for the experience and quantity of food. However we plan on going back and trying other less-expensive dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.