About Senart's Oyster & Chop House

520 8th Street SE
Washington, DC 20003
View Larger Map

Beautiful 20 seat marble top bar with two fire places located behind you that make you feel as cozy as being in your own home. Trying our fresh daily oyster selection is a must even for beginners! With a great selection of entrees, no matter what you choose, you won't regret it. End your meal with a night cap from our large selection of scotch and bourbon or even just an espresso. We promise you will be walking out happily satiated!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Cross Street:
Between E and G on 8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 544-1168

Website:
http://senartsdc.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a valet company that is located right outside our restaurant. *Note: we have NO affiliation with the valet*

Public Transit:
Eastern Market Metro (orange and blue line)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Senart's Oyster & Chop House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Cozy (1)
See All
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
69 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife & I met friends prior to a cerem ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My wife & I met friends prior to a ceremony at the Marine Barracks. That scenario always entails a timeliness issue.... Bottom line: the food was great, service prompt and courteous. Good beer and wine list. An overall A+; recommend without reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and attention. We will c ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great service and attention. We will come back again to be sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oyster selection is amazing for appetize ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Oyster selection is amazing for appetizers, entre options terrific and cooked to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great neighborhood restaurant and bar. W ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant and bar. We had delicious cocktails and a wonderful meal before heading to see Billy Joel. We will be back for more oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was quite good. The service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was quite good. The service was terrible. We ordered appetizers, then dinner and wine. The appetizers took forever to come out, and then were rushed by the main course, with the wine following by a significant delay. The waiter did not fill everyone's glass for the first pour and then didn't bother to refill glasses when he returned to check on how we were doing. I would not recommend Senart's to a friend when there are so many excellent competitors within blocks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Family and I were there for a Sunday din ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Family and I were there for a Sunday dinner, and we had a wonderful meal together. Always a great place to go eat whenever in town, and they never disappoint! Had the Chesapeake oysters--nice and clean. Great Sunday for beef, so we had the ribeye, burger, short ribs, and petite filet. All delicious! Great service, too. Can't go wrong when you eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was in town with our son. This had good ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Was in town with our son. This had good reviews. Highly disappointed. Caesar was dry. Steak was chewy. Hamburger was some Sysco product.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Service was great! Food was good at the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Service was great! Food was good at the time. Both my date and I were sick the next day :/ Not sure what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This place could be good but the food is ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place could be good but the food is just ok for the price and the service was terrible. I had high hopes and saw decent reviews but the food was under seasoned. The server was not at all attentive which was ridiculous considering there was only 3 tables there and plenty of servers. I can't say that I'll be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Writing this review after our second tim ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Writing this review after our second time dining at Senart's. The place was empty at 12:30 pm on a Saturday, while all the other restaurants on 8th st. were packed. Service was attentive since we were the only group there. My husband and I both ordered the eggs benedict with crab and prosciutto and it was so/so. The entirety of it was sort of soggy and lukewarm, and the crab and prosciutto (which sounded great) seemed like afterthoughts. Perhaps it is an evening/happy hour kind of place, but the atmosphere and mediocre food have been the same both times we've been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was amazing

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Service

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2016

We picked Senart's for a 95th birthday meal and post-recital celebration and were so pleased. We dined with our two little ones and they had more than enough to eat and didn't seem out of place in the setting. The service was spectacular and our birthday boy was absolutely impressed by his meal. Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork chops are amazing - don't sleep ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 30, 2016

The pork chops are amazing - don't sleep on the Mac and cheese side!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a fabulous recommendation!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Senarts is a friends 'go to' place on the Hill. That's all I needed to hear. So, I checked it out and found that it exceeded my expectations. The oyster bar is exceptional. Better yet, the happy hour prices for select oysters. The salmon and short ribs were quite good and service was terrific.

I'm planning to return to Barracks Row (Capitol Hill) on Friday and have made reservations to introduce friends to Senarts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Happy hour fun

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2016

A very good happy hour with excellent oysters. Will go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Their filet mignon was so good! It was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Their filet mignon was so good! It was a romantic ambiance for Valentine's Day date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small menu, but the food is great! Alway ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Small menu, but the food is great! Always a come back when we're in DC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing Dinner for Four

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Senart's is one of my favorite places for drinks and apps at the bar, and I'll continue frequenting it for that. It's one of the most handsome establishment in the area. However, I took some friends there for a dinner for four, and I was very disappointed. The dining area was packed and so noisy that everyone was shouting across the tables which made matters worse. Of course, like so many places on Barrack's Row, the tables are so close to each other that we had to squeeze sideways between the tables which was awkward for us and the guests at the next table. There was no accommodation for coats, so we had to jam them in and around us making getting in and out quite a disruptive process. The table was so small that it could barely accommodate four plates, so the bread plates, appetizer plates, muscle bucket, water glasses, wine glasses, and the dinner's side dishes created a very uncomfortable and chaotic dining experience. The waiter was upbeat, but didn't know how to manage the table and the dishes properly or how to get each order to the right person. We had to switch around after we were served. He also didn't have a firm grasp on the English language which made communicating with him difficult, especially given the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Menu looks better than food on the table.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We came on a quiet (because of extreme cold) late Saturday morning. The unbusy status may have helped with the attentive and helpful service. The high points were the French press coffee, the fruit, the fried oysters, and the crusty French bread. (However, who ever heard of charging extra for bread with brunch!) Everything else was adequate, except for some inconsistency in the cooking of eggs -- sometimes under-cooked, sometimes too hard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best oysters for the best price. We like ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Best oysters for the best price. We like the laid back vibe and the front booth. Service can be hit-miss, but when it's on it's great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Stunning clam chowder and prisine oyster ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2016

Stunning clam chowder and prisine oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Has a very small wine list . Steaks were ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Has a very small wine list . Steaks were great but small. Waiter was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Quiet night at Senarts

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2015

Went on a week night. There were not a lot of people at the restaurant. Asked for and got the table for four in the front window. Great spot to sit, drink, eat and watch people. Food was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Been Twice, Would Go Back Again

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 15, 2015

This was my second time dining at Senart's and, once again, I enjoyed everything about it. The food was excellent, our server was not just good at his job, but entertaining as well, and the ambiance enjoyable. We had some oysters to start ourselves off, which were very good. We ordered several appetizers for the table and they were all tasty. My entree (the hanger steak), was okay, but everyone else loved the ones they got. They have a decent draft beer list too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Oysters To Be Had In Barracks Row!!!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2015

The Happy Specials were great, especially for a Saturday evening. The raw oysters were awesome and a nice selection to choose from.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Cocktails and light food

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2015

We sat at the bar and enjoyed a couple of cocktails and oysters on the half shell, shrimp, onion rings (ordered with the sauce on the side) and fries. Friendly bar staff but not overly so.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good but expensive

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2015

2 soups (french onion heavy with rosemary), a side of brussels sprouts (good but not as good as I have had at 2 other places) , 6 oysters, 7 shrimp, 1 wine, 1 beer, 2 cocktails for $104.50 + tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

A great place for seafood.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2015

My server Cam was very helpful. The drink was a little weak, the food was good. The gentlemen who served the bar was very helpful too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice Place for Oysters and Cocktails

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2015

Senart's is a great Barrack's Row spot for seafood and cocktails. During my most recent visit, they were serving five types of oysters. You can pair these with some really nice cocktail selections (Senart's Perfect, a take on a Manhattan, was great), a good draft beer selection, or their well-curated wines.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Saturday Brunch

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 11, 2015

I went to Senart's last Saturday, with two of my friends, for brunch and it was amazing! The surf and turf is a must try and the bottomless mimosas is perfect. I ordered a half dozen mussels and they were delicious as well.

Service was A-1 and we even got a visit from the Chef who was very humble.

Senart's is def a great spot for brunch and I encourage them to beef up the marketing to become more competitive with the other restaurants on that strip.

I will def be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good, but not great

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Found this place for the first time with friends on a Saturday night while looking for a late night dinner. We all had the half grilled chicken and it was dynamite. My Mom loves chicken so I thought it would be nice to take her for Mother’s Day. There were 5 of us in our party and everyone enjoyed their food. Once again, the chicken was great, but most of the other dishes were lackluster…under-seasoned, overcooked, etc. The location is great, the ambiance is really nice, but the food should/could be better

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Decent

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 11, 2015

The oysters were good, got the sampler. Had the special of the night- prime rib. Overpriced restaurant. Had two glasses of cheapest wine, 12 oysters, prime rib and Mac and cheese and was $100. Service was also lackin

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

My favorite of all the places I've been ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2015

My favorite of all the places I've been to on Barracks Row. The food & service is simply better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Enjoyable neighborhood restaurant with g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2015

Enjoyable neighborhood restaurant with good service and great food. Would recommend for steaks, oysters.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A REAL WINNER

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2015

WOULD RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT 100%. BROUGHT A PARTY OF 9 AND EVERYONE WAS TOTALLY PLEASED. THE SERVICE WAS FANTASTIC. VERY ATTENTIVE BUT NOT INTRUSIVE. EVERYONE SAID THEIR FOOD WAS EXCELLENT. AS WELL THE PRICES ARE VERY REASONABLE.

IT IS A VERY GOOD LOOKING ESTABLISHMENT INSIDE AND OUT. A VERY COMFORTABLY SHORT CAB RIDE FROM CAPITOL HILL.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Online menu was appetizing and attractiv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Online menu was appetizing and attractive however food items listed on the online menu were not available in the restaurant. We were VERY disappointed with food choices once we arrived.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Never disappointed

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2014

Oysters, steaks, chops!!!!! Excellent!!! Don't come expecting Quinoa and tofu. I now live out of town but whenever I visit and dinner is suggested I always go for Senarts. I was able on my last visit to secure the window seat even a short notice. On my last visit our waiter misheard a request for a plate for the purpose of sharing a dessert and brought a second dessert - we wee not charged for the dessert. I asked if a specific brandy was available and was told yes - only to discover they were out - I was immediately offered any brandy I liked at no charge. Class, class, class!!!

Love this restaurant. My only dislike is sports television playing constantly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Definitely no pearl in the oyster at Senart's

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 21, 2014

We were seated right away which was great....restaurant is very sharp, nice wood tones, friendly place. Was amazing at how low the vibe was for a Saturday night, but good that we could hear ourselves talk.

Cam was our waiter...came over to ask for food and drinks as soon as we sat down, no time to review the drink list or menu. Also no idea what he said to us as we could not understand him. When asked about specials, he mentioned the oysters. When I further asked about nightly specials, he then shared what was not on the menu. We asked for time, and he kept coming back.

When we finally ordered, I asked for the duck...and was asked how I wanted my duck cooked. This was a surprise to me, and I decided to skip the duck and order braised short rib. My friend from Trinidad ordered the rib eye. He loved it, right amount of marbling and cooked perfectly. My braised ribs were dead, killed well done.

Overall, just not what was expected, and will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Nothing great

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2014

The steak on the steak salad tasted like charcoal with little other seasoning. The "special" risotto with crab and bacon was soupy- not prepared as a true risotto dish and had crab shell pieces. Probably will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Oysters!

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 2, 2014

We came for the oysters and Senart's delivered. This was our first visit. Based on reviews, we expected a crowd but we must have been in an off-week. We were literally the only clients inside the restaurant (outside was full). So, noise level was fine (Ambience mark is for loneliness...). Service staff was good, but slow to start. It seemed like they were short staffed and single bartender actually took our order. Once we were rolling, the staff assistant kept waters topped and plates delivered and cleared in timely manner. Oysters were full bodied, fresh and flavorful. Other items ordered presented well and tasted good. All the food was fresh. Overall, we enjoyed the meal - good kitchen.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.