About Senart's Oyster & Chop House

520 8th Street SE
Washington, DC 20003
View Larger Map

Beautiful 20 seat marble top bar with two fire places located behind you that make you feel as cozy as being in your own home. Trying our fresh daily oyster selection is a must even for beginners! With a great selection of entrees, no matter what you choose, you won't regret it. End your meal with a night cap from our large selection of scotch and bourbon or even just an espresso. We promise you will be walking out happily satiated!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Cross Street:
Between E and G on 8th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 544-1168

Website:
http://senartsdc.com/

Parking Details:
There is street parking available as well as a valet company that is located right outside our restaurant. *Note: we have NO affiliation with the valet*

Public Transit:
Eastern Market Metro (orange and blue line)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Senart's Oyster & Chop House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

55% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (6)
fit for foodies (4)
special occasion (3)
See All
great for outdoor dining (2)
romantic (2)
good for groups (2)
scenic view (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
62 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was great! Food was good at the ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Service was great! Food was good at the time. Both my date and I were sick the next day :/ Not sure what it was.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This place could be good but the food is ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

This place could be good but the food is just ok for the price and the service was terrible. I had high hopes and saw decent reviews but the food was under seasoned. The server was not at all attentive which was ridiculous considering there was only 3 tables there and plenty of servers. I can't say that I'll be returning anytime soon.

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Writing this review after our second tim ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Writing this review after our second time dining at Senart's. The place was empty at 12:30 pm on a Saturday, while all the other restaurants on 8th st. were packed. Service was attentive since we were the only group there. My husband and I both ordered the eggs benedict with crab and prosciutto and it was so/so. The entirety of it was sort of soggy and lukewarm, and the crab and prosciutto (which sounded great) seemed like afterthoughts. Perhaps it is an evening/happy hour kind of place, but the atmosphere and mediocre food have been the same both times we've been.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was amazing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Service

Dined on June 2, 2016

We picked Senart's for a 95th birthday meal and post-recital celebration and were so pleased. We dined with our two little ones and they had more than enough to eat and didn't seem out of place in the setting. The service was spectacular and our birthday boy was absolutely impressed by his meal. Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The pork chops are amazing - don't sleep ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

The pork chops are amazing - don't sleep on the Mac and cheese side!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

What a fabulous recommendation!

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Senarts is a friends 'go to' place on the Hill. That's all I needed to hear. So, I checked it out and found that it exceeded my expectations. The oyster bar is exceptional. Better yet, the happy hour prices for select oysters. The salmon and short ribs were quite good and service was terrific. I'm planning to return to Barracks Row (Capitol Hill) on Friday and have made reservations to introduce friends to Senarts.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Happy hour fun

Dined on February 20, 2016

A very good happy hour with excellent oysters. Will go again

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Their filet mignon was so good! It was ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Their filet mignon was so good! It was a romantic ambiance for Valentine's Day date!

food5
ambience5
service5

Small menu, but the food is great! Alway ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Small menu, but the food is great! Always a come back when we're in DC

food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Disappointing Dinner for Four

Dined on February 14, 2016

Senart's is one of my favorite places for drinks and apps at the bar, and I'll continue frequenting it for that. It's one of the most handsome establishment in the area. However, I took some friends there for a dinner for four, and I was very disappointed. The dining area was packed and so noisy that everyone was shouting across the tables which made matters worse. Of course, like so many places on Barrack's Row, the tables are so close to each other that we had to squeeze sideways between the tables which was awkward for us and the guests at the next table. There was no accommodation for coats, so we had to jam them in and around us making getting in and out quite a disruptive process. The table was so small that it could barely accommodate four plates, so the bread plates, appetizer plates, muscle bucket, water glasses, wine glasses, and the dinner's side dishes created a very uncomfortable and chaotic dining experience. The waiter was upbeat, but didn't know how to manage the table and the dishes properly or how to get each order to the right person. We had to switch around after we were served. He also didn't have a firm grasp on the English language which made communicating with him difficult, especially given the noise level.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Menu looks better than food on the table.

Dined on February 13, 2016

We came on a quiet (because of extreme cold) late Saturday morning. The unbusy status may have helped with the attentive and helpful service. The high points were the French press coffee, the fruit, the fried oysters, and the crusty French bread. (However, who ever heard of charging extra for bread with brunch!) Everything else was adequate, except for some inconsistency in the cooking of eggs -- sometimes under-cooked, sometimes too hard.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

Best oysters for the best price. We like ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Best oysters for the best price. We like the laid back vibe and the front booth. Service can be hit-miss, but when it's on it's great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Stunning clam chowder and prisine oyster ...

vip
Dined on January 6, 2016

Stunning clam chowder and prisine oysters!

food3
ambience2
service4

Has a very small wine list . Steaks were ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

Has a very small wine list . Steaks were great but small. Waiter was fabulous!

food3
ambience4
service3

Quiet night at Senarts

Dined on September 28, 2015

Went on a week night. There were not a lot of people at the restaurant. Asked for and got the table for four in the front window. Great spot to sit, drink, eat and watch people. Food was very good.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Been Twice, Would Go Back Again

Dined on September 15, 2015

This was my second time dining at Senart's and, once again, I enjoyed everything about it. The food was excellent, our server was not just good at his job, but entertaining as well, and the ambiance enjoyable. We had some oysters to start ourselves off, which were very good. We ordered several appetizers for the table and they were all tasty. My entree (the hanger steak), was okay, but everyone else loved the ones they got. They have a decent draft beer list too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Oysters To Be Had In Barracks Row!!!

Dined on September 12, 2015

The Happy Specials were great, especially for a Saturday evening. The raw oysters were awesome and a nice selection to choose from.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Cocktails and light food

Dined on September 11, 2015

We sat at the bar and enjoyed a couple of cocktails and oysters on the half shell, shrimp, onion rings (ordered with the sauce on the side) and fries. Friendly bar staff but not overly so.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Good but expensive

Dined on August 21, 2015

2 soups (french onion heavy with rosemary), a side of brussels sprouts (good but not as good as I have had at 2 other places) , 6 oysters, 7 shrimp, 1 wine, 1 beer, 2 cocktails for $104.50 + tip.

food4
ambience4
service4

A great place for seafood.

Dined on August 21, 2015

My server Cam was very helpful. The drink was a little weak, the food was good. The gentlemen who served the bar was very helpful too.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice Place for Oysters and Cocktails

vip
Dined on August 8, 2015

Senart's is a great Barrack's Row spot for seafood and cocktails. During my most recent visit, they were serving five types of oysters. You can pair these with some really nice cocktail selections (Senart's Perfect, a take on a Manhattan, was great), a good draft beer selection, or their well-curated wines.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Saturday Brunch

Dined on July 11, 2015

I went to Senart's last Saturday, with two of my friends, for brunch and it was amazing! The surf and turf is a must try and the bottomless mimosas is perfect. I ordered a half dozen mussels and they were delicious as well. Service was A-1 and we even got a visit from the Chef who was very humble. Senart's is def a great spot for brunch and I encourage them to beef up the marketing to become more competitive with the other restaurants on that strip. I will def be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3

Good, but not great

Dined on May 10, 2015

Found this place for the first time with friends on a Saturday night while looking for a late night dinner. We all had the half grilled chicken and it was dynamite. My Mom loves chicken so I thought it would be nice to take her for Mother’s Day. There were 5 of us in our party and everyone enjoyed their food. Once again, the chicken was great, but most of the other dishes were lackluster…under-seasoned, overcooked, etc. The location is great, the ambiance is really nice, but the food should/could be better

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service2

Decent

vip
Dined on April 11, 2015

The oysters were good, got the sampler. Had the special of the night- prime rib. Overpriced restaurant. Had two glasses of cheapest wine, 12 oysters, prime rib and Mac and cheese and was $100. Service was also lackin

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience3
service5

My favorite of all the places I've been ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2015

My favorite of all the places I've been to on Barracks Row. The food & service is simply better.

food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable neighborhood restaurant with g ...

Dined on March 11, 2015

Enjoyable neighborhood restaurant with good service and great food. Would recommend for steaks, oysters.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A REAL WINNER

Dined on February 26, 2015

WOULD RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT 100%. BROUGHT A PARTY OF 9 AND EVERYONE WAS TOTALLY PLEASED. THE SERVICE WAS FANTASTIC. VERY ATTENTIVE BUT NOT INTRUSIVE. EVERYONE SAID THEIR FOOD WAS EXCELLENT. AS WELL THE PRICES ARE VERY REASONABLE. IT IS A VERY GOOD LOOKING ESTABLISHMENT INSIDE AND OUT. A VERY COMFORTABLY SHORT CAB RIDE FROM CAPITOL HILL.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4

Online menu was appetizing and attractiv ...

Dined on February 14, 2015

Online menu was appetizing and attractive however food items listed on the online menu were not available in the restaurant. We were VERY disappointed with food choices once we arrived.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Never disappointed

Dined on December 28, 2014

Oysters, steaks, chops!!!!! Excellent!!! Don't come expecting Quinoa and tofu. I now live out of town but whenever I visit and dinner is suggested I always go for Senarts. I was able on my last visit to secure the window seat even a short notice. On my last visit our waiter misheard a request for a plate for the purpose of sharing a dessert and brought a second dessert - we wee not charged for the dessert. I asked if a specific brandy was available and was told yes - only to discover they were out - I was immediately offered any brandy I liked at no charge. Class, class, class!!! Love this restaurant. My only dislike is sports television playing constantly.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2

Definitely no pearl in the oyster at Senart's

vip
Dined on December 21, 2014

We were seated right away which was great....restaurant is very sharp, nice wood tones, friendly place. Was amazing at how low the vibe was for a Saturday night, but good that we could hear ourselves talk. Cam was our waiter...came over to ask for food and drinks as soon as we sat down, no time to review the drink list or menu. Also no idea what he said to us as we could not understand him. When asked about specials, he mentioned the oysters. When I further asked about nightly specials, he then shared what was not on the menu. We asked for time, and he kept coming back. When we finally ordered, I asked for the duck...and was asked how I wanted my duck cooked. This was a surprise to me, and I decided to skip the duck and order braised short rib. My friend from Trinidad ordered the rib eye. He loved it, right amount of marbling and cooked perfectly. My braised ribs were dead, killed well done. Overall, just not what was expected, and will not be back.

food2
ambience4
service4

Nothing great

vip
Dined on June 11, 2014

The steak on the steak salad tasted like charcoal with little other seasoning. The "special" risotto with crab and bacon was soupy- not prepared as a true risotto dish and had crab shell pieces. Probably will not go back

food4
ambience3
service4

Oysters!

Dined on June 2, 2014

We came for the oysters and Senart's delivered. This was our first visit. Based on reviews, we expected a crowd but we must have been in an off-week. We were literally the only clients inside the restaurant (outside was full). So, noise level was fine (Ambience mark is for loneliness...). Service staff was good, but slow to start. It seemed like they were short staffed and single bartender actually took our order. Once we were rolling, the staff assistant kept waters topped and plates delivered and cleared in timely manner. Oysters were full bodied, fresh and flavorful. Other items ordered presented well and tasted good. All the food was fresh. Overall, we enjoyed the meal - good kitchen.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent Bloody Mary and burger. Good o ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2014

Excellent Bloody Mary and burger. Good one dollar oyster happy hour special. Cam is a fun waiter and bar tender!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4

Great seafood!

vip
Dined on May 26, 2014

The seafood was great. My wife and I ate oysters on the half shell and oyster sandwiches. Great mixed drinks and wine too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food.. friendly service

vip
Dined on May 24, 2014

I had the specials.. lump crab dip with bread & NY strip with fries. I really liked the crab dip (too much butter makes everything better) and it reheated the next day well. Good piece of beef, cooked right. My only quibbles were the uninspiring bread (also not toasted enough) and the steak had a little too much char flavor for my taste. I will return for an Arena preshow dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Great unplanned find!

vip
Dined on May 12, 2014

Happy hour prices on fresh oysters was a real treat. Could have shared another dozen, but chose to order dinner instead. Happy hour prices on beers were good, but no deal on cocktails or wine was a brief disappointment. Dinner special of seared, sesame crusted tuna, very rare, was wonderful, and will bring me back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

so so

Dined on May 11, 2014

The oysters were great and the rest of the food was just OK. Service was mediocre.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal yet

vip
Dined on May 3, 2014

I have had several good meals at Senart's, but last Friday night was the ear. The oysters were (as always) very good, and the bistro steak and pork chop we ordered were both prepared perfectly. A great neighborhood restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing!

Dined on May 2, 2014

I went with my family for my birthday. The food and atmosphere was perfect. We will definitely go back!

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.