About Selanne Steak Tavern

1464 South Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - Close; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Close; CLOSED MONDAYS

Cross Street:
Mountain

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-9881

Website:
http://www.selannesteaktavern.com/

Entertainment:
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.

Catering:
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions

Parking Details:
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St. - Metered street parking - Free street parking 2 blocks east.

Public Transit:
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle

Executive Chef:
Joshua Severson

Private Party Facilities:
Indoor and outdoor private dining for groups up to 20 to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessenia Uvidia - Director of Events: (949) 715-9881 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.

Restaurant Photos

  • Selanne Steak Tavern, Laguna Beach, CA

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

This Valentine's Day, get ready for a special dinner created by Chef Joshua Severson to take your breathe away! We will be offering a 5 course dinner with a wine pairing option to enhance your experience.
$95 per person/Wine Pairing additional $40

Selanne Steak Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Romantic (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Cozy (13)
Business Meals (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fun (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Live Sports (8)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fireplace (6)
Private Room (6)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
947 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I are huge Teemu fans. Selan ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I are huge Teemu fans. Selanne's Steak Tavern has the best steak we have ever had! We have been to this location several times. My wife brings her jersey everytime in case Teemu makes a sneak appearance.

Yesterday, we went for my birthday dinner. We had a reservation however we were seated in the bar table area. Our evening was very loud and we were unable to hear each other from across our table.

The servers were focus on the table next to us. I overheard the gentleman say he used to work at the restaurant. We barely had our server come by to check on us. Our wine glasses were empty and the server came around about 10 mins later to ask us if we wanted more wine; not very attentive to us.

Overall, we food was great. I wish the service would have been better and we were seated in the wine room or elsewhere.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

The food was delicious and the service ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was excellent . We will be back soon .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant space has always been a ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant space has always been a little odd with small broken up rooms

Unfortunately there was a private party taking up the side room so the only dining was adjacent to the bar. We were seated at a table near the end of the bar. After only a few moments the bar noise really swelled making it impossible to hear each other across the table

We asked to be moved. We moved to the other end of the bar. Now we had less noise but were seated next to a side door. Each time it opened it was accompanied by a gust of cold air and rain (unusual but still a real problem)

The mushrooms side was great. New York steak cooked medium was rather tough but good flavor.

Chicken was good with a nice mix of vegetables on side.

Dessert - UGH! The mascarpone cheesecake was a deconstructed pile of cheese, crumbles and other stuff. Applejacks ice cream tasted good but texture was like eating wet newspaper.

Service was pretty good but unfilled water glasses, wine glasses, no refill offer on bread, etc.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Selanne Steak Tavern is an absolute gem! ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Selanne Steak Tavern is an absolute gem! The food was outstanding and the staff was extremely and genuinely nice. I took the 8oz filet mignon and it was one of the best steaks I've ever had.

PS we got to wear Teemu's medals!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Healthy, Cozy, , Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First experience at Selanne - party of 6 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

First experience at Selanne - party of 6 for a birthday dinner. Food and service were EXCEPTIONAL. Expensive but worth it based on the overall quality; certainly will return for future special events or date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughter loves this restaurant. I cam ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My daughter loves this restaurant. I came in to purchase a gift card for her and fell in love with quant obiance.

Came here on a double date. Perfect in every way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. Excellent food and th ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great restaurant. Excellent food and the service was very attentive. Please bring back the alaskan king crab. Would also like to see more salads on the menu and seafood. 😊

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was delicious with beautiful pr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our food was delicious with beautiful presentation. Service was excellent. The only negative I have is where we were seated. Our reservation for two was first for dinner at 5pm . I also informed them we were celebrating my husbands 50th bday. The entire restaurant was open and they seated us at a table in the bar area. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Prices on high end, but clearly the best ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Prices on high end, but clearly the best food we had during our 2 weeks holiday in Southern California. Strong recommendation for culinary friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my 3rd visit and it didn't disa ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was my 3rd visit and it didn't disappoint. Food is absolutely spectacular in taste and presentation. Selanne's will continue to be my steak restaurant of choice. The drive from Huntington Beach is worth it!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks, seafoods, and service. ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent steaks, seafoods, and service. Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always great and nice to see Teemu. Food ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always great and nice to see Teemu. Food is always very good

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing! The steak melts in ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food is amazing! The steak melts in your mouth. The sides are wonderfully tasty. The wine was wonderful. Kudos to the chef.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

steak was overcooked

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

steak was overcooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The meal was the best I have had in 2 ye ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The meal was the best I have had in 2 years or more! Our friends loved it all!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Selanne Steak Tavern provided us with an ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Selanne Steak Tavern provided us with an exceptional anniversary dinner. We were warmly greeted and seated immediately. We were seated in the quieter upper level which was ideal for a romantic dinner. The first level has the bar and it is a bit more energetic. Our server and his support staff were very attentive, yet not disruptive of our conversation. We shared the "Chateaubriand for two". It was cooked exactly to our liking. The cut of meat and the sauce were delicious. We highly recommend this selection on the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you love Teemu and Hockey, then you'r ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

If you love Teemu and Hockey, then you're going to LOVE his restaurant!!! Our waiter Kyle was attentive, friendly, knowledgeable and made us feel at home. The decode is contemporary and comfortable. BEST service I've had in 30 years of living and dinning in Orange County. Add the evening enjoyable!!!!

Food-OMG!! It's all about the quality ingredients, excellence in preparation and FLAVOR! It's a steakhouse!! Order a steak!!! Perfectly cooked!! Mac and cheese is a must and soups are a masterpieces in texture and flavor. Save room for dessert and plan on taking home a doggy bag as the portions are HUGE!!! Great value and quality. Truly the BEST restaurant in OC. The Ranch was my favorite, but now Selanne's is King!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Selanne's is not only a beautiful restau ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Selanne's is not only a beautiful restaurant, but the staff is warm and attentive. The food is always prepared to perfection and the waitstaff is always helpful is describing various dishes. It is pricey so we reserve it only for special occasions but it is always a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good overall restaurant.

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Good overall restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was phenomenal. I have a tough ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was phenomenal. I have a tough time going to steakhouses but my steak was not only cooked perfectly and it also had such good flavor.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I had a great time, the service and the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I had a great time, the service and the food were amazing

thank you

Lupit Horchover

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was expensive, and mediocre. Beet a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was expensive, and mediocre. Beet appetizer was excellent, as were the prawns, but the short ribs were a bit tough (supposed to have been braised all day) and the $70 bone in ribeye was nothing special, especially for a place that is considered a steak house.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Our first venture to Selanne's. Great f ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our first venture to Selanne's. Great food and service. Prices are reasonable for what you are getting. Will definitely go back

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantadtic dinner!!! Delicious food!!! W ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Fantadtic dinner!!! Delicious food!!! We're coming back for the mac and cheese!!!!

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful experience! Can hardly wait t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Beautiful experience! Can hardly wait to get back there!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food ! Excellent potential. the s ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Good food !

Excellent potential.

the service was excellent, the waiter explained everything we asked,

he was allways smiling, professional, the ambiance in that smaller room was a bit cold,

but the wine took care of it !

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

The restaurant was cozy and had a warm a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The restaurant was cozy and had a warm atmosphere. The service was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delectable! Amazing service a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Absolutely delectable! Amazing service and even better food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an amazing time at Selanne Steak Tav ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Had an amazing time at Selanne Steak Tavern celebrating my boyfriends birthday! I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The good was some of the best we have ev ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The good was some of the best we have ever had and the service was amazing! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sellanes is a wonderful place to celebra ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Sellanes is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion however the restaurant was very cold, we shivered thru dinner. We were seated at a high top table which felt too casual for an elegant dinner, it would have been appropriate if we were just there for tapas. The food is always amazing but not enough vegetable sides were offered.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

One of my favorite restaurants in Orange ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Orange County. The food is excellent and so are the specialty cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Hostess was slow and snobbish. I do ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Hostess was slow and snobbish. I do not know what her problem was other than she felt life was all about her and to hell with the customers.

Tags: Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service and food are exceptional. Ve ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The service and food are exceptional. Very much an up scale Steak house.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just excellent! Food and wine were excep ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Just excellent! Food and wine were exceptional, personnel was very polite and helpful. Highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality A+++ Service A+++ Jared table se ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Quality A+++ Service A+++

Jared table service outstanding.

The GM / Josh is exceptional- wine recommendations a rare treasure.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time in Laguna Beach ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our first time in Laguna Beach and our hotel recommended Selanne's. We went for our 15 year wedding anniversary. The service was outstanding and the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Selänne Steak Tavern has been one of my ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Selänne Steak Tavern has been one of my favorite places to dine for the past 3 years! The food is amazing & never disappoints. The drinks, especially Teemu's Moscow Mule, are the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a disappointing experience for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was a disappointing experience for a special birthday for my husband. The restaurant does not appear to be able to manage their business. The food was served late and we were left hungry waiting for our food. The food was good when we received it, but we were already past hungry. This restaurant cannot decide whether it is a sports bar or a fine dining experience as they charge prices consistent with fine dining. The ambience was loud sports bar and did not allow for an intimate conversation. All in all, a very disappointing experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Foi gras was outstanding. Scallops were ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Foi gras was outstanding. Scallops were outstanding. Beet Ravioli was a welcome surprise. Lord Stanley cut was not tender enough - a bit chewy. I expected better for the price. Bone marrow butter was outstanding. Martini was so-so. Mushrooms were some of the best I've ever had. Broccoli was not tender enough, but my personal preference is for longer cooked vegetables. Bread was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.