About Selanne Steak Tavern

1464 South Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (Kitchen closes at 9:30 pm); Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am (Kitchen closed at 10:30 pm); CLOSED MONDAYS

Cross Street:
Mountain

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-9881

Website:
http://www.selannesteaktavern.com/

Entertainment:
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.

Catering:
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions

Parking Details:
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St. - Metered street parking - Free street parking 2 blocks east.

Public Transit:
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle

Executive Chef:
Joshua Severson

Private Party Facilities:
Indoor and outdoor private dining for groups up to 20 to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessenia Uvidia - Director of Events: 9497159881x2

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Selanne Steak Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Orange County
Best Service
South Orange County
Notable Wine List
South Orange County
2 More
Steakhouse
South Orange County
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Laguna Beach ›

special occasion (109)
romantic (82)
fit for foodies (75)
See All
notable wine list (57)
neighborhood gem (42)
vibrant bar scene (37)
hot spot (37)
good for groups (32)
great for outdoor dining (26)
scenic view (11)
late-night find (7)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
758 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Way overpriced.

Dined 4 days ago

Halibut dry less then 6oz for 52.00 ridiculous price not even a good sauce. Salmon was truly smoked large piece but also very dry. The filet was good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived 15 minutes and were told we h ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We arrived 15 minutes and were told we had to wait until our reservation time to be seated. The hostesses need a bit of work on their presentation skills. Otherwise it was a very enjoyable time. Our waiter, Mike, was excellent. Knowledgeable, loves his work and a very nice personality.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience is amazing when y ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The overall experience is amazing when you dine at Selanne's Steak Tavern. The food, the service and staff are all amazing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Ryan, was incredibly knowled ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our server, Ryan, was incredibly knowledgeable about the menu, food and preparation as well as helpful , personable and attentive. We really enjoyed him sharing his love of food with us. We had a great table, it was quiet and out of the main traffic pattern, which is exactly as I had requested. I had heard great things about this restaurant and wanted to try it for my boyfriends birthday. It was the perfect setting and experience. He truly loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Scallops and Mac and cheese was amazing! ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Scallops and Mac and cheese was amazing!! Great ambiance and amazing food!

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went here for our wedding anniversary ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went here for our wedding anniversary. I have to say that the food was absolutely amazing! My husband and I were pleasantly surprised. We knew the food would be good; it was exceptional. I'm so happy that my girlfriend recommended this restaurant. Her husband owns several restaurants throughout South Orange County and for her to recommend a place that's not her husbands, says something. My husband and plan to return in order to sample other delights and the excellent service from the waitstaff!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Better than Mastro's and The Ranch can't ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Better than Mastro's and The Ranch can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were going to be in the area and foun ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were going to be in the area and found that they had an opening so we thought we would give it a try. We are very glad we did, from the start the Hostess, Server and his helper were very attentive and helpful. Then the food started to come and all was fantastic, first the Wagyu Beef Tartare was the best I have ever had then the Caesar and the Scarlet Beet Ravioli all three of us had each other try what the other was eating-Fantastic! The Beet Ravioli was unusual but unbelievably good. Then the Mango Sorbet which was delicious, then the main courses-the beef. We choose the Wagyu Skirt Steak and the Lord Stanly Cut. Again we all shared, the Skirt Steak was full of flavor and very tender while the Lord Stanly Cut was bursting with flavor and almost melted in your mouth. I was tempted to order another one because my 15 year old son was not into sharing for very long once he tasted it. A great experience which we plan on having again soon, highly recommend Selanne's to anyone that enjoys great food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent consistent great food and grea ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent consistent great food and great service

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was friendly and attentive. Food w ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Staff was friendly and attentive. Food was excellent and tasty and served in a timely manner. The section where we were seated was comfortable and relatively quiet. All in all an excellent experience and will definitely come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great server, great meal, great restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding meal. Jared was great server. It is definitely a pricey restaurant, but you get what you pay for. If I wanted an excellent meal and was willing to pay for it, I would definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and excellent service.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and excellent service.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic, the wait staff v ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was fantastic, the wait staff very attentive and knowledgable. I would highly recommend this beach cottage style chophouse. I only regret not being able to have their triple chocolate mousse.. They were out. I will have to go back. 😊

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great First date

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great food with excellent service..no interuptions knowing it was a first date..no rushing us . Great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Will definitely be back!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We've been wanting to visit this restaurant for awhile and decided to go there for a birthday celebration. It's a quaint little restaurant and I can see why their reservations fill up. Among the table we ordered quite a few things, to start the drinks were great...highly recommend The Hat Trick and Risky Business. The steaks were prepared well, the short ribs were super tender, and the sides were delicious. The valet service was top notch with lemonade available while you wait and when you return to your car they place a thank you for visiting, along with some chocolate mints for everyone. Their little store outside sold items signed by Teemu, which were very affordable. Overall the restaurant did not disappoint, we would highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not worth the money

Dined on April 28, 2016

Very loud! Food was just so so. The service was good, and a friendly staff.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable Elegance

Dined on April 27, 2016

Best meal we've had in a long time. Service experience was first class. Attentive BUT not intrusive. Management obviously has high standards and holds staff to them. Staff seems to know why the standards are high and how and WHY to meet consumer expectations. Décor is a very comfortable Laguna Beach version of a quaint but elegant restaurant in the Hamptons. I recommend Selanne's without reservation.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience

Dined on April 25, 2016

We loved the food (everything was unique and delicious) and the service (Steven) was top notch! The noise level was pretty high, even though the room we were in was only half full. Be prepared to spend a significant amount of money... worth it for us as it was a celebration dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Always great, with a slight focus on sea ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Always great, with a slight focus on seasonal, with lots of consistent standbys. My only complaint is their overzealous love of truffle oil, but it's easy enough to avoid by request.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A True Hidden Gem

Dined on April 23, 2016

Last year I decided that for this year's birthday celebration I would go to Selanne's for dinner. A few friends wanted to go too. We had a great time. The food was amazing and the service was outstanding. The only thing I didn't like was the noise level. It was so loud we had trouble hearing each other. All in all I would go back and recommend it to others just knowing what to expect. Not a place for a quiet romantic dinner but for a lively festive occasion. The icing on the cake would have been Teemu showing up since he was in town for the Ducks playoffs but no such luck this time. Maybe next time!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

If you're looking for a nice gourmet ste ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

If you're looking for a nice gourmet steak restaurant then this is the place. It was our first time and we went to celebrate our 15th Wedding Anniversary. We were glad we choose to try it. Great service with good selection of food to choose from. For appetizers we recommend the scallops and the cheese plate. And since this is a steakhouse, obviously you would have to choose the steak for your main course. I ordered the ribeye and the wife choose the Wagyu. I wished I selected the Wagyu since it is more tender and flavorful. They have a good selection of cocktails and wines. One of the few places where you can order Pappy Van Winkle. Expect to shell out some serious dollars for it. But overall a very satisfying restaurant. Oh and to top it off, they have great desserts. Valet parking in the rear of the restaurant and metered parking out front since it is on PCH.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great for a special occasion! Delicious!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Really enjoyed the overall dining experience at Selanne. The staff was so accommodating when part of our group was running late. They let us have a cocktail at the bar and sat everyone when ready. The restaurant is absolutely gorgeous inside. Service was impeccable - very prompt and helpful but not pushy at all. The steaks were delicious! As were sides. Very good wine list and excellent cocktails. The only drawback is that it is definitely a bit pricey - over $50 for many of the steaks on the menu. I would reserve for special occasions or maybe dine at the bar for a more casual experience. Overall fantastic and we'll be back!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday celebration

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

First time and it was great. Good service with Ryan and the food was delicious. We sat in the bar area so it was too noisy. Definitely will come back. The restaurant has a great style.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service, Okay food

Dined on April 10, 2016

Being the first time dining at Selanne, and based on what I have heard of this restaurant, my visit was highly anticipated. The ambiance, service, overall restaurant experience was notable. The fare, for the price was in my opinion not impressive. We found all side dishes overly salted (had risotto, broccolini and wild mushrooms). Other than the overly salted food, overall experience was positive. Will I revisit? Probably not.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great cocktails and rich food

Dined on April 9, 2016

The Hat Trick cocktail (Fresh Red Grapefruit, Vodka, Agave and St. Germain) was the best cocktail I have had in my life - and I have 35+ years of cocktail exploration! Steak was top quality - the Risotto was so rich I could only eat half. The beet ravioli salad was unique and lovely, and the soups were off the chart. If I could do it all again I would do appetizers, sides, and cocktails (lots of cocktails) and not bother with a main dish.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

always exceeding expectations

Dined on April 8, 2016

Can't miss by choosing Selanne's. Great for romantic dinner or share with some friends. Flavors and textures are artfully combined to create an amazing experience. Friendly, top-notch service every time. Consistent winner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service at all times. Will be ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Excellent service at all times. Will be coming again soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Tasty

Dined on April 6, 2016

Awesome filet and crab. Great place. Great food, ambiance and service. Pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Birthday Celebration

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

This was a family birthday celebration including two toddlers. We were provided with our own private dining area. The wine list was outstanding. The food was memorable. We very much enjoyed our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Get any steak!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Been three times and never had anything bad off the menu. You need to bring back the cream corn though!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really Great Food - Over Priced

Dined on March 27, 2016

We very much enjoyed our evening at Selanne's. However, over the past 3 years, their pricing has gone up over 300 percent. Two steak dinners, 4 drinks, no wine, one ap - $315.00. As a local we have many choices that have a better value proposition.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

More expensive than NY prices

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was delicious, but completely overpriced to the point of outrageous. If your willing to spend almost $500 for 4 people, then go for it. Also, was not impressed by the wine list per glass, also outrageous & $36 for a glass of decent Chardonnay. Unfortunately, would not go back but for a one time it was fine. Maybe would go back just to the bar when friends from NY visiting. Better spend money for a bottle because wine by the glass not that unique for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful local date night spot

Dined on March 26, 2016

Selanne's Steak Tavern is such a gem in Laguna Beach. It's becoming our go-to date night spot. The Pacific Diver scallops appetizer is so yummy. The lobster is pretty tasty as well. I recommend sitting in the veranda, close to the fireplace, on a cold night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 Star all the way. Pricey so special occasion...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Our 10th Anniversary so I wanted it special and that's exactly what we got. We live by the ocean so that wasn't important, but what we got was superb service, food and ambience. Great rib-eyes off the menu. The waiter, Josh, had a couple of special steaks, but off the map as far as pricing. Everybody thinks Mastro's Ocean Club is the place to go, but I would give Selanne one star higher. Really the only diff is the ocean, but everything else was 5 star for my wife and I. Can't wait for the next reason to eat dinner there again....

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Laguna Bch steakhouse

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Great place, fairly new. Converted home on HWY 1. A little pricey, but the food was excellent. Definite return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner

Dined on March 17, 2016

We had a great dinner with some coworkers. Large wine list and a great selection of top notch steaks. Good appetizers and solid deserts. Great service. Pricey but worth it for a splurge meal every now and then.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

genuine experience

Dined on March 14, 2016

This place was a great find for celebrating my 3 year anniversary. If you can go when it's slow, that's the best time to enjoy a quiet, and delicious meal there. i wish i had remembered my server's name, but he had a great attitude and was nice to talk to when he swing around to the table. The team showed a great effort to a timely dining experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding Dining Experience

Dined on March 14, 2016

My wife and I had an outstanding dinner experience. The service was impeccable and the food was terrific. My wife had a filet and I had the rib-eye. Both were cooked to perfection and just melted in your mouth. The veggies were also delicious and were just big enough to share. All in all it was a great experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Retired Executive Chef

Dined on March 12, 2016

Unreal find!!! I found this great spot after a few of my other favorites in Laguna Beach were full(Driftwood Kitchen, Splashes). We had a family event with my 10 month old granddaughter included. They gave us a beautiful room with a large round table that felt like home. The food, service and atmosphere could not have been better. After being in the business as an Executive Chef for over fifteen years, I would recommend it highly. Do yourself a favor and visit this beautiful spot! Jess

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seated by noisy bar

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

At first we were seated by the noisy bar. My date noted that the area was like a sports bar. We finally told them we wanted to move because of the noise. Once we were moved outside everything was great. Risotto and our chocolate dome dessert was excellent. guess the place is small so they try and squeeze you in by the bar. Make sure to call in and let them know you want to sit elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.