Selanne Steak Tavern

4.8
1348 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close
Sunday Brunch: 11am-2pm
Sunday Tavern Time: 2pm-5pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(949) 715-9881
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joshua Severson
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Mountain
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1348 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

One word phenomenal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great spot. We've been to a good amount of steakhouses but this was definitely the best steaks we've had. We got the lord Stanley and it was great. The mac and cheese is easily the best Mac I've ever had. Ambiance was nice/as expected.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

It was spectacular!! Great food and drinks! Outstanding service as well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

The entire staff was so welcoming and so knowledgeable of their menu. Very attentive but not over the top. Nice warm cottage atmosphere. Our daughters high school graduation dinner celebration couldn’t have been better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

First visit to Selanne’s, definitely will not be our last. Everything was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We had a wonderful anniversary at Selanne Steak Tavern-- even if the steak wasn't the star. Our interactions with Vito and his assistant were delightful, and the dinner itself was delicious. The steak itself was just fine... but the scallops, mac and cheese, broccolini, and corn were all perfection. They surprised us at the end with a small anniversary dessert, capping off a lovely dinner. We haven't had a lot of nights out since our baby was born... and we chose wisely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Went to Selanne’s for my husbands birthday. He is a HUGE hockey fan and we came here for his birthday last year as well. We requested last minute to be seated near a tv so he could watch the game and there was no issue making that happen. The service was fantastic, I can’t remember our servers name but she was great. Drinks and food were absolutely delicious. Ambiance was great, lively atmosphere but not too loud. Like I said before, we came here last year and were very pleased, their consistency seems to be pretty on point. I recommend this place for anyone looking to have a greAt dining experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We had a very tasty brunch entre in the french toast with sausage and fresh fruit and a refreshing peach champagne. Excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Introduced some friends to the wonderful Sunday Brunch. Everyone love the food and the service was again, superb. Highly recommend Selanne's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Beautiful outdoor veranda to dine al fresco in Laguna Beach...Very good avocado toast!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Had a wonderful time. Great service, great food! Really, really memorable evening. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a special place to create a memory. Sides were fantastic too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

A great place for both locals and visitors to Laguna and the OC area. A must! Amazing cocktails and great menu choices!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The new brunch menu at Selanne's is outstanding. I had the eggs bendict and hubby had the chicken and waffles. It is pricey but well with the expense for a special occasion as the food and service was outstanding. What you have come to expect from Selanne's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The food is incredible and the service impeccable. Wonderful place for celebrations!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Been looking for a Great Steak place....This place is perfect!. We went there for our 27th Wedding Anniversary and Loved it for the food, wine and ambiance and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Gave us a private room

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

The food and service were incredible....will definitely be back.
Thank you for creating a great experience for our family night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Service was outstanding. Food was even better. This is a must for a AMAZING meal in Laguna.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Brunch is just as good as Dinner. I am already planning my next Sunday brunch at Selanne's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

World-class food and service! Dishes were beautifully composed, perfectly prepared and presented at the table with a description of all the components, so that we could fully appreciate each of the ingredients. Service was friendly, helpful, super knowledgable. I can hardly wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Ok but not worth the cost, steak over done and the waiter had to many tables

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Selenne's is my husband's fav & our go to place for good food & celebration.
Never disappoints but

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Tried brunch for my birthday and it was amazing! Food and service get an A+.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Adding the brunch menu in April was a plus for Selanne's. Dinner is always fantastic and brunch was equally exquisite. Will return very soon. Bravo!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food was absolutely amazing, the care that was taken into each course was astounding. The drinks and knowledge of the Servers of what would pair best with the meal was phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food was good but not great for the price. Steak was over cooked but they did fix however the sides were not taken back to be kept warm. No apologies or complimentary dessert for the mistake and service was good but slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Brunch was deeeelicius. Unique eggs Benedict. Loved the bengnets. Don’t miss it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

First time dining there for lunch. I had the Eggs Benedict and both the presentation and taste were exceptional. We also ordered the Hash Brown Au Gratin which were delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

smoked salmon scramble (brunch menu) was unique and absolutely delicious. never had any close anywhere. worth going back just for that

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The best ever

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Owned by Hockey Legend Teemu Selanne. Excellent food, great service. Has a quiet outdoor section, a noisy bar and a nice regular dining area. So something for everyone. I don't eat beets at all, but they had a very ravioli which is amazing. I will keep coming back here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

This place is great. Bartenders were very nice and welcoming. Food was outstanding. This will be me go to in Laguna Beach.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Several things I appreciate in a restaurant that we found here, that unfortunately have become rare with restaurants and especially Orange County.
1. While being intimate it wasn't cramped. Very cozy, even when seated near other tables we were able to carry on a conversation.
2. Not loud. You could actually hear one another talk. Not a cahcaufony of sound. Restaurant staff and cooking station you could not hear.
3. Well spaced out course delivery. This restaurant understands not to try to push you out of a table for the next group or rush you through a meal. Every course was spaced out for us to enjoy, savor and look forward to the next.
4. Wait staff was great. We were introduced to both the waiter and attendant right off and both were personable, communicative and made the dining experience delightful.
This was the first time we were at this restaurant, having wanted to try since it opened but for one reason or another had not. We look forward to going back. You could say Selanne's shoots and scores. Heck, we will.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Good food and great service. A little noissy due to a surprise party hosted next to us. Soups were good, and steaks were tasty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We were lucky to be seated outdoors because inside was ridiculously noisy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Great service and exceptional food quality unmatched in any steakhouse in area.
Scallops and skirt steak are my favorites

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

We have dined here a few times and came back for the steak and service each time. This time we were disappointed in the tenderness of the Rib Eye and flavor. The crab special was absolutely amazing though and my fiance' couldn't stop raving about it. We conversed that it was time to look for another steak house though. Your service is always on point and outstanding. Atmosphere was a little louder than normal, but we were closer to the bar this time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food was great!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great atmosphere. First time going to their brunch and it was a different experience from their dinner service. Loved the pecan sticky bun and Teemu brunch burger. Great service by Vito with good recommendations throughout brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great service and food is superb. The ambiance is nice and this fits special occasions!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
34

Tweets by Selanne Steak Tavern