Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Selanne Steak Tavern

Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!

1464 South Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Mountain

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-9881

Website:
http://www.selannesteaktavern.com/

Entertainment:
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.

Catering:
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions

Parking Details:
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St. - Metered street parking - Free street parking 2 blocks east.

Public Transit:
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle

Executive Chef:
Joshua Severson

Private Party Facilities:
Indoor and outdoor private dining for groups up to 20 to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessenia Uvidia - Director of Events: (949) 715-9881 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.

Selanne Steak Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (60)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Good for Birthdays (36)
Romantic (36)
Worth the Drive (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Business Meals (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Fun (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (11)
Fireplace (9)
Casual (8)
Private Room (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Seasonal (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Scenic View (6)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Live Sports (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Birthday dinner

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

We loved Salanne Steak Tavern and can't wait to visit again. Our new Laguna favorite!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

‪Quite literally one of the best meals of all time. Phenomenal meal paired with amazing wine and excellent service. #wagyubeef #opusone‬

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Best scallop apetizer. Excellent dinner, Great service, beautiful place!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My wife's birthday. We were running late due to a flight delay. They still were very accommodating and the shortened evening was magnificent. Service and food very great. Exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

All I can say is this was the best steak I have ever had in my life! We shared the 14oz Wagyu boneless ribeye special. Unbelievable. Service is phenomenal and the wine list is incomparable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Wonderful venue, food and service. Bravo! Everything from cocktails, through starters, entrees and sides were exceptional. Service was professional and friendly without being ingratiating. A very pleasurable evening!!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

An amazing experience. Food was excellent and unique, very cool vibe and our waiter Michael was incredible. Would highly recommend to anyone !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were at Selanne for my birthday with good friends. I have only been there one time before but enjoyed both times very much.
Beautiful ambience, great service, and the food was delicious!
We will definitely go back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Love Selannes, but we were disappointed in the wine selection... way over priced, when you charge $50 for halibut and $56 for steak, I need a wine value

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Sellane Steak Tavern was a positive experience. Our waiter Stephen was so attentive. Food was extraordinary. Highly recommended this restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Top notch food. Top notch service. Top notch atmosphere. Top notch restaurant. Nothing to complain about here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Call and request the wine room or the patio; the main dining is quite loud and tables are a bit small. The food is amazing though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Service was great but food was a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We've been to Selanne Steak Tavern at least three times now and every time the food and service has been impeccable. The skirt steak was perfectly cooked and the sides (white corn, carrots, mac 'n cheese) were delicious. My family always enjoys coming here.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We were celebrating 2 - 50th bdays. I had requested a nice table and we were put in the bar area that was very noisey and they didnt acknowledge the birthdays. Spoke to someone the day before to comfirm too. Food was amazing but was hopng for a nicer experience on a $700 meal for 4.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Expected a lot more. I loved French 75. I've been to selanne's twice. I love teemu but I've yet to love the restaurant. My medium rare ordered $50+ filet came out very medium and tough. They corrected it to a flavorful steak. I will try again, but three strikes....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

First time experiencing Selanne's. My boyfriend and I went for dinner to celebrate his birthday. Service was great! However, we both ordered steak and lobster with the steaks charred. Both of our steaks came out very cold and neither were charred. With a price point of $85 I would expect my steak to be cooked to order. I had ordered mine medium with char and it was neither. My boyfriend ordered his medium rare with char and his was cold without char as well. We sent them back....they were kind enough to add a side of glazed carrots but the steaks came back over cooked and still not charred. I was very disappointed. The mac and cheese was awesome and the pea soup was very good. Unfortunately, our main course was a let down. Not sure I would go back for dinner. Possibly a cocktail at the bar and maybe something from the tavern menu.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Dinner a few days ago was our second visit to Selanne Steak Tavern in the past month. As before the service was excellent. Steaks were very good but not quite exceptional. Soaps were very good. Coffee and Donuts dessert was very good. The meal was somewhat expensive so be prepared. The Selanne Steak Tavern is recommended as a location for a special event dinner (such as birthday or wedding anniversary).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Been here several times and the food is always amazing. Will continue to meet with friends and family here to catch up and share a meal with. One of our favorite places in Laguna Beach!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Outstanding food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful service and food for a 30th Anniversary get-together. All six of us ordered from different food groups and all loved it. Yeah, it's a steak house, but you will do just fine with salads, fish or chicken.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Every time I've dined at Salanne's I never leave disappointed. Excellent food, service & ambiance

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 17, 2017

It was our 36th wedding anniversary. Our daughter went to the restaurant to surprise us with flowers and to order champagne and dessert. We were sat at a corner table and Mike or waiter was more than accommodating. He was personable and charming. All service people acted like hosts and hostesses in thier home. Food was superb!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Upon arriving, the view is breath-taking with the ocean a short walk away and the beautiful, lush front of the Selanne Steak Tavern. We were promptly seated and our server Jared was fantastic! He made incredible suggestions, which we ordered, and had an overall stellar experience. He even brought out a small dessert for the birthday guest that I brought to Selanne Steak Tavern. Hands down a wonderful experience! Will be back again and highly recommended!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were in the small room to the left of the entrance. The door to the entrance pounded all evening, like a small earthquake. We suggested to the wAiter and later to the hostess that they put something between the door and the jam to stop the jarring. They said they were working on it - for 3 hours. It was very unnerving and constant.
Everyone in the room conversed about how disarming it was . The staff was not concerned . Ugh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Third time here. Never disappointed. The food and service are excellent. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 12, 2017

As one would expect, Selanne Steak Tavern is known for its selection and preparation of steaks. The spring pea soup was excellent. For our entree we both ordered the flat iron steak. The steak was tasty and was prepared precisely as we requested. The "sides" were presented as an easily shareable compliment to the entree. As expected for a fine dining restaurant, the service was professional and helpful, the presentation of the meal was excellent and the ambiance attractive. The modest downside was the meal was somewhat more expensive than expected, even for the high quality dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food is good but not at the pricing they charge. A bone in rib eye at $70 and wasn't that large seems to be much too high. The ambiance was poor. Service was very friendly.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My daughter took me for my birthday. Selannes is always superb and it was a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

All four of us had steak dinners. The steaks were perfectly good and excellent. I based my rating on that alone. The sides were ok, but nothing special. If I was including the sides in the rating it would probably be between a 4 and 5. Services were very good. It was a little noisy, but we expected that so it was not an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and service. We all had steaks and they were all wonderful. The dessert was disappointing coffee and cream. But otherwise we enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Best food I've probably ever had, everything tasted amazing. Worth the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was husband birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food is great, but the service is what makes the experience extra special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Excellent dining experience from the moment we walked in until we left. The hostesses, our waiter, runners, manager, all terrific . Food was delicious! I highly recommend and we will definitely return. Thank you Selanne!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food and waiter were fabulous. My rating was based on every business opportunity - its first impression. The hostess station has room for improvement. I checked in early and didn't think that my table would be ready. I shared with hostess that we would be back in about 45 minutes ( 1 hour before reservation) and asked if it would be a problem getting seated. I didn't hear no, so my wife and I left to have a sunset drink across the street and returned about 75 minutes before our reservation. We decided to have a drink and waited 10-15 minutes for a server. When I asked the hostess if a server was available - her reply was "yes" and didn't have the notion to say, "of course let me get you one" - knowing that we had already been there for some time. We finally asked a manager who got us a drink. Approximately 45 minutes later, I asked the hostess how long before we could get seated, she said that she needed to accommodate this reservations before us and she didn't have any idea how long it would take. Needless to say, I was disappointed and asked my wife if she wanted to leave. Within 5 minutes, we were seated at a table. Why does this need to happen? Great restaurant and we'll probably visit again - Selanne's - work on that first impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I have heard the hype since it opened. Did not meet my expectations. Very over priced for the value of what you receive. My friends felt I cooked a better rib-eye!. We asked for med-rare, there was no pink in the steak. The waiter was not timely in returning to ask us how the steak preparation was and by the time he did, it was too late to bother. Their Foie Gros was the worst I have ever had. I have no need or desire to return, nor would I take my husband there. Service was a bit slow and we were there before it became real busy. So, I must say for the money spent, I was sadly disappointed. The only thing I can say is the owners name is driving its popularity. One positive, the mac and cheese was good.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 19, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I have had an orange county in a very long time. Everything we ordered was well prepared in extremely tasty. The side orders to go along with the steak were remarkable. And waitress, theater, was superb. Cannot wait to go back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

For my son's birthday. Wonderful food. Excellent service. So cozy and comfortable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.