About Selanne Steak Tavern

1464 South Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (Kitchen closes at 9:30 pm); Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am (Kitchen closed at 10:30 pm); CLOSED MONDAYS

Cross Street:
Mountain

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-9881

Website:
http://www.selannesteaktavern.com/

Entertainment:
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.

Catering:
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions

Parking Details:
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St. - Metered street parking - Free street parking 2 blocks east.

Public Transit:
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle

Executive Chef:
Joshua Severson

Private Party Facilities:
Indoor and outdoor private dining for groups up to 20 to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessenia Uvidia - Director of Events: 9497159881x2

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.

Restaurant Photos

  • Selanne Steak Tavern
Selanne Steak Tavern

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Selanne Steak Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Orange County
Special Occasion
South Orange County
Steakhouse
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Laguna Beach ›

special occasion (93)
fit for foodies (71)
romantic (65)
See All
notable wine list (51)
neighborhood gem (37)
great for outdoor dining (33)
vibrant bar scene (33)
hot spot (25)
good for groups (25)
scenic view (10)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

By far the best restaurant in Orange Cou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 2 days ago

By far the best restaurant in Orange County.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent ! Ve ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were excellent ! Very romantic atmosphere and right on the beach! Well worth the money

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was 5 Star! Our serving team ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was 5 Star! Our serving team was very attentive and my water glass was always full :)

The location is 5 Star! We were seated outside in their "gazebo/tented area" which means we were totally protected by the sun and other elements while still being able to enjoy the outdoors.

The food was 4.5 Star! The Oysters...Oh those Oysters!! They were amazing, plump and substantial! Same with the mussels - not sure I have ever had such "meaty", plump and flavorful mussels. I ordered the Branzino which was delicious.

My husband had the 12oz Filet which he really enjoyed, but it wasn't the best steak he has ever had. Nothing really wrong with it, it was delicious but in our opinion the quality did not justify the price.

The Value is 3 Star, which is the reason I could't give Selanne an overall 5 Stars.

We knew that Selanne was pricey and it is definitely a special-occasion restaurant, that said I am not convinced that even with the 5 Star location and service, and 4.5 Star food that the prices are warranted. There were a total of 3 of us. We ordered two appetizers, 4 "adult beverages" (I think) - one glass of wine and the guys each had Vodka-Sodas. We had a total of 3 entrees, but no desserts. The bill was $300! We were shocked. Even with its reputation for being a pricey restaurant, for what we ate and for there only being 3 of us we were really surprised when the bill arrived.

Overall Selanne was a great experience. We were not disappointed.

Would we return? Probably not, and its all due to the really steep prices. I just cannot justify spending that kind of money for a meal - no matter how good the food is. We have dined at other restaurants where the food was 5 Stars - delicious, fresh and creative - and their prices were about 35-40% less than what we paid at Selanne.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Perfect 15th Anniversary Dinner!!! U ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

The Perfect 15th Anniversary Dinner!!!

Unbelievable service and Food!! Mark, our server was phenomenal and picked my whole meal from First Course to Desert! The Bone-In Filet Mignon was the best steak I have ever had and I have been to a lot of steak houses. Cooked to perfection. I could not even ask for a better night and experience and it was all thanks to Selanne's Steak Tavern!! Thank you!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Maybe the best steak ever! I had the Wag ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Maybe the best steak ever! I had the Wagyu tomahawk (split with my son) and it was perfectly cooked and seasoned to perfection. This place is expensive...easily $100 per person with tip....and I felt it was totally worth it. Far and away the best meal I've ever had in Laguna.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was good, but way, way overpriced! They ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Was good, but way, way overpriced! They need more options, and selling CAB for that price is criminal!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Jared was our server and an outstanding ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Jared was our server and an outstanding find. Very witty, funny and help make the night. We sat outside on the patio with our kids for our 40th anniversary. This was a very special night. We would definitely recommend Selanne's for any occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a dining experience - we enjoyed ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was a dining experience - we enjoyed the cooked to perfection steak - the wine the waiter suggested was a perfect compliment to our dinner - the service exceeded our expectation and the surroundings were elegant and tasteful - a little pricey but it was a special occasion

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Family of 4 went on a Sunday and were se ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Family of 4 went on a Sunday and were seated in the Bar area. The waiter although very courteous and polite would disappear for long periods. Approx 20 mins after being seated he finally took our drink and appetizer order then was gone for another 30 mins. Half way through our appetizers, we had to remind the waiter that he had yet to bring my husband's martini!!! My boys had ordered the 8oz filet mignon, mashed potatoes and I had ordered the Beet salad - all of which we absolutely loved but the Branzino that my husband ordered was UNBELIEVABLY BAD - sauce was tasteless, fish did not seem fresh, left a very bad taste for all of us with the whole dining experience at Selanne Steak house :-( . Our first experience a few months ago was very good and so we were back. Have to take Selanne off our list. There are many wonderful restaurants in Laguna Beach that serve excellent food, with great service at HALF the price!!!!!!!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Everything was just so so!! I wasn't exp ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Everything was just so so!! I wasn't expecting to be sitting outside and swatting away flies and gnats while eating a $40+ meal. Not the type of establishment I expected nor the level of service I expected. Super casual laid back setting and atmosphere (including attire) with not casual prices. The food was good but everything else made it a place I would not like to go back to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Got dressed up, and while this is a "clo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Got dressed up, and while this is a "cloth napkin" kind of restaurant, the patrons seem to stick to the southern California casual that permeates fine dining in the environs. Makes sense, as this is a a beach town (albeit a fancy one). The steaks were fabulous (and a selection for the truly discerning carnivore was offered), but the sides were less so. The potatoes were over whipped and gluey, and the vegetables were overly simple. The Caesar salad was pretty standard (although real anchovies, making it a real Caesar). The wine list is extensive. Also the dessert menu wasn't all that enticing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. Steaks were perfect. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was delicious. Steaks were perfect. Service was incredible. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was awful, drinks can't go wron ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was awful, drinks can't go wrong. Bartender very good. You can always wash down bad food with drinks. A year ago we went and was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

They really do take great care of you he ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

They really do take great care of you here. Everything we ordered from cocktails to dessert did not disappoint. Definitely a special occasion restaurant that we'll gladly go back to.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have dined here 3 times now, and it seem ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Have dined here 3 times now, and it seems like the food is better every time. The Hat Trick is my go to cocktail, but their wine selection is great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Always amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a nice evening. Love sitting out ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Always a nice evening. Love sitting out on the patio. Pacing of food was a little slow this evening, not the norm tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They have the best steaks we have ever t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

They have the best steaks we have ever tasted. We ordered 4 different steaks so we could share; great decision! The sides are big enough to share with 3-4 people. Service was exemplary!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great dinner at Selanne's. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had a great dinner at Selanne's. The White Linen cocktail was fabulous! Charcuterie and cheese platter to start was delicious. I had the Salmon and my husband had the Filet and both were excellent. The corn side and the macaroni and cheese were the best! Our waiter was great! Really knew the menu and let us space out the night never felt rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came here as we are a Finnish/British ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We came here as we are a Finnish/British family and we were vacationing in the area. Teemu is very famous in Finland and we wanted to visit his restaurant. Food was amazing and so was the service, I particularly liked how the waiter took the time to get to know our sons' (aged 6 and 8) names and treated them like kings.

Tags: child friendly, fit for foodies, outdoor eating, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined at Selanne Steak Tavern to celebra ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Dined at Selanne Steak Tavern to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Food is outstanding! Nice wine selection. Bread is so good. Started off with wedge salad and beet ravioli. Hubby and I shared the Lord Stanley......wow amazing! White corn was absolutely delicious. Mac and cheese also very tasty. Ordered the fruity creme brulee....not a big fan. Too sweet for my taste. I do wish they would add Butter Cake on their dessert menu. Our table was right next to kitchen, so a bit noisey. Prefer outdoor patio. We will try ordering drinks from the bar next time. Our server was great. Very friendly staff. This is our new favorite location to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Extremely overpriced. We have been lo ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Extremely overpriced.

We have been looking for an occasion to dine at Selanne's for sometime, and were looking forward to a great experience with good friends. The location in Laguna Beach is wonderful, and the restaurant itself is beautiful, but the prices we're a real punch to the gut.

We were unable to access their online menu with prices (I believe they have chosen not to publicize) so took a chance expecting prices in line with other nice steakhouses.

My wife and I shared the ribeye ($56 with essentially no side vegetables) and mac & cheese ($18? for mac & cheese), and our friends had fish ($48 - may 8 oz.) and the 8 oz. filet (can't recall exact price but think it was at least $48). We shared two salads (4 ppl.) at around $15 each. With one drink each, the bill came to $275.00 w/o tip.

While our food was good, it was certainly not of a quality expected for the prices charged. We've had similar or better fare for half the price that we paid.

We can say we've been, but wouldn't return and wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Sorry, wish I had better experience to share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

This is a modern twist on the old fashio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is a modern twist on the old fashioned steak house. The decor is bright and airy , while still keeping with the original cottage feel . Great service and wonderful food . I will be requesting the main dining room instead of the bar area for my next visit .

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They may have the best steak I have ever ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

They may have the best steak I have ever eaten... The Lord Stanley Bone in Ribeye

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Promised my wife a nice evening out sinc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Promised my wife a nice evening out since work has had me traveling a bunch lately. We're huge Ducks and food fans, so Selannes gives you the best of both worlds! I read some reviews that that staff weren't friendly and hurried you thru your meal. We found the exact opposite. From the second we walked in, we were greeted warmly and they had our table ready for our 730 reservation about 5 minutes early. Ryan was our server and he was a champ. Informative without being pushy, and helpful without being annoying...the way it should be.

The food was insane, we both got filets and we split the broccolini and Mac n cheese. OMG, Selannes Mac n cheese is the best I've ever had outside of Le Montage in Portland. We Finnished (pun intended for you Teemu fans) with the Monkey bread dessert on Ryan's suggestion, and it was both delicious and visually stunning. Highly recommend Selannes for a date night, anniversary, or an "I'm sorry, please forgive" occasion ;-). Cheers Teemu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. Only thing wa ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food, great service. Only thing was it was a special occasion and I told them when I made the reservation and when I confirmed it, also when we were seated. They put us in the bar. It's a bar so it was a little loud and had TV's on. Not really conducive for the romantic evening we were hoping for. Also, the tables are extremely small. There wasn't enough room for our wine and our food. And even without the wine they ran out of room to hold everything. Not sure why they have such huge plates with such small tables. If you make a reservation suggest you might ask to not be seated at the bar. The place looked lovely for what we saw and sure there are better tables than what we had.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We found the food superb! Steak was perf ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We found the food superb! Steak was perfection and choice of sides, outstanding! We will def be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was excellent and very attent ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The server was excellent and very attentive. Food is great although very expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved the beet salad, risotto and the mo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved the beet salad, risotto and the monkey bread. Of course the filet was the best but these were great additions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place so much ! One day we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love this place so much ! One day we will order the 225 steak .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Laguna Beach for our next to las ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went to Laguna Beach for our next to last night.

We had a great dinner and the service was excellent

Started with appetizers and Kathy had the beet ravioli which was great.

I had the foie gras which I didn't realize came in all three varieties.

I liked the seared the others not too much.

That is just my preference. Lexi had the wedge salad and Brian had the scallops which were great.

For dinner Kathy had the chicken and Brian and I switched steaks.

I originally had the skirt and Brian the strip

We both liked the opposite better.

Lexi had the skirt also.

Great sides of Mac and cheese, white

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Warm congenial service service. Our wait ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Warm congenial service service. Our waiter, Dimitri, was outstanding. Food was excellent. Being a local, we have made this a regular dinner dining place. Thanks.

Buddy and Pamela

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great evening at Selanne's Steak ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Another great evening at Selanne's Steak Tavern!!! Anytime that I'm in the area this fine restaurant will be my first stop!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an intimate experience.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was an intimate experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This place is top notch! The dining expe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This place is top notch! The dining experience was fabulous! Service impeccable! Food, to die for! Rates right up there with our top experience in a cruise ship. The chef is amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OC diner

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Lovely setting in the remodeled old French 75 restaurant, Selanne keeps the feeling but the ambiance is much brighter with an air of old California charm.

Our waiter was attentive and explained the menu and selections well. As you'd expect the steaks are top notch, the halibut was a bit dry but extremely flavorful.

The wine list is excellent.

I highly recommend going early and enjoying a cocktail in the bar before dining.

This is probably the best gourmet room in Laguna Beach. A definite special night out type of restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding dinner! Service was impecca ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Outstanding dinner! Service was impeccable. Jesse Josh and Brock were An awesome team. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special celebration!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

My husband and I just celebrated our 40th anniversary at Selanne. It's become one of our favorite special occasion spots! Michael was our server and treated us with the utmost kindness and grace. All of the waitstaff were superb! Thank you for not disappointing us!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love this place

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

the best steaks in laguna! we love this place ... great bar scene, if you're into that. fabulous drinks. wonderful patio...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let people focus on the food

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

In my opinion, the service was a little too-much. Three different persons kept asking if we liked the food, if we needed something and so on. We were not interested in hearing everybodys names and what they were paid to do. We would have liked to enjoi the meal more "in peace". But, the food was almost divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.