About Selanne Steak Tavern

1464 South Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (Kitchen closes at 9:30 pm); Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am (Kitchen closed at 10:30 pm); CLOSED MONDAYS

Cross Street:
Mountain

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-9881

Website:
http://www.selannesteaktavern.com/

Entertainment:
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.

Catering:
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions

Parking Details:
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St. - Metered street parking - Free street parking 2 blocks east.

Public Transit:
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle

Executive Chef:
Joshua Severson

Private Party Facilities:
Indoor and outdoor private dining for groups up to 20 to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessenia Uvidia - Director of Events: 9497159881x2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.

Restaurant Photos

  • Selanne Steak Tavern
Selanne Steak Tavern

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Selanne Steak Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Orange County
Steakhouse
South Orange County
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Laguna Beach ›

Special Occasion (99)
Fit for Foodies (75)
Romantic (69)
See All
Notable Wine List (52)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Hot Spot (29)
Good for Groups (22)
Scenic View (13)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
839 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always it was wonderful. This is our ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

As always it was wonderful. This is our go to special occasion place. The steaks are their speciality. And you should always get the mac and cheese, it is to die for!

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined several times at Selanne i ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have dined several times at Selanne indoors and enjoyed ourselves. Our indoor high-table was not conducive to our dining due to my broken foot on this occasion so we sat outside which I will refuse in the future. The noise level was awful however the food was excellent. Vito, our main server was delightful, professional and extremely knowledgeable with twine and spirits. Unfortunately, we could have done without the water server aggressively hitting on our 18 year old daughter (very rude and unprofessional) during and after our meal. This is unacceptable... we will return in the future but I will avoid the above negatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Service was horrible. We had to wait 30 ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was horrible. We had to wait 30 minutes for a iced tea and soda. The next tanle to us was seated after us got their appetizers before us. The only apology we received from the waiter was after he came with our food boxed. We had to ask for our to go due to plans. Would not return ever. For what pay for food you would expect much better service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Our first time at this restaurant and it ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our first time at this restaurant and it was my husband's birthday. His rib eye steak was smothered in bearnaise and butter and the steak itself was merely adequate. His immediate comment was that "this is no better than Outback and for twice the price". Being a vegetarian, I ordered a wedge salad and a vegetable plate. The wedge salad was good, but the vegetable plate was pitiful, the price was $29.00 and I ate very little of it. When the waiter asked me if I wanted a box, I told him that it wasn't good. He merely picked up the plate, with not even a slight indication that he was regretful. Not a good experience and I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Overall it was a great experience. The f ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overall it was a great experience. The food and wine were great. The service was excellent as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I think people pay for the experience at ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I think people pay for the experience at "Teemu Selanes" the food was ok. too high priced for what we ordered. One of the side was super salty. Their steaks were somewhat of a copycat fro Ruth Chris. Ruth Chris is way better. IF you want the best steak... Morton's!

Tags: Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Great experience, attentive servers.

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great experience, attentive servers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really liked the atmosphere. We opted t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Really liked the atmosphere. We opted to eat indoors due to wait for outside but would highly recommend eating out when the weather permits. Had the special steak for two and it was fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was overall pleasant with decent fl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was overall pleasant with decent flavors. Very limited dessert options. Good wine selection.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversary. While expensive, our meal and the dining experience was occasion appropriate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food! Definitely worth the money ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Awesome food! Definitely worth the money!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. A little pr ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent service and food. A little pricey, but was a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was top-notch. Great service ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was top-notch. Great service and people watching. The portions are very generous so some of the plates we shared amongst our party of three. I thought for a fine dining destination the bill would be much higher.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants anywhere. T ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of the best restaurants anywhere. The food is outstanding as is the service. Bar area is noisy for dining but overall, its a 10+

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great find, a new favorite. Excellent s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great find, a new favorite. Excellent service (we were moved further away from the bar, that was particularly lively that night) but plenty of seating options both indoors and out. The food was awesome, great wine list, an overall great experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent choice for a Friday night out! ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent choice for a Friday night out! Great service and energy in the restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience and food were great. We spl ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The ambience and food were great. We split the Chateaubriand which could have fed 3. A bit more selection, particularly as respects dessert would have added to the experience. As good as it was, $500 was spendy for a party of 4, particularly with only one round of drinks. I'd probably reserve this place for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A place that has it all. delivers excel ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A place that has it all. delivers excellent

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dining experience! From the val ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fabulous dining experience! From the valet to the waiter and sommelier, everything was perfect!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an amazing experience! From the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was an amazing experience! From the special crafted cocktails to the appetizers and delicious entrees we were beyond happy with everything!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, service and attention to detai ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food, service and attention to detail were fantastic!!! Our server, Jesse, was great!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were first seated on the patio, and w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were first seated on the patio, and when we asked instead for a table in the dining room, we were given one in the bar. If we had known that, we would have just gone there for happy hour! The service was very attentive, but the food was overpriced and underwhelming. With so many other good dining options in the area, I doubt if we will return, unless it is for happy hour. A disappointing way to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

Everything about our experience was as w ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything about our experience was as we expected. That is why we chose it to entertain special guests. We had the scallops for appetizers and they were delicious. The steak and side dishes (mac and cheese, corn, and onion) were perfect accompaniments and the monkey bread for dessert was fantastic and definitely needed two for the four of us. Appreciate the valet parking in the back alley!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was so over-priced $ ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was so over-priced $12 for a small cup of mashed potatoes and $12 for a cinnamon roll !!!! a filet doesn't cost $112 per pound

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

I've been wanting to dine here for some ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I've been wanting to dine here for some time and decided to take my best friends there for their anniversary. It was a great choice. Our waiter, Jared, was excellent, the food perfect done & presented and the restaurant ambiance was warm inviting and yet modern.

Th outside seating area, where we were originally taken to, does not provide the same feel and would have been not as great of an experience for all of us.

I will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced and small portions We have ea ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Overpriced and small portions

We have eaten at Selannes a number of times and always enjoyed it. Unfortunately, the value is not there for what you pay. The portions are very small for the price and the side dishes were mediocre. The charges for sauce for a steak are outrageous. You already are paying a lot for a steak but then to be charged extra for bernaise or another sauce is simply gouging. It should be in the price of the steak. We split a salad which they were kind enough to do for us but the portion size again was very small. I usually do not write anything negative but was totally disappointed in our experience and have no intentions of returning. Next time I will go to Maestros for great food, great service, and reasonable portions.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We were extremely disappointed with the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were extremely disappointed with the service. Our food took forever and our waiter did not make an effort to rectify the situation. Considering the price of the food and how much we ordered, we find that this was unacceptable. The food was outstanding, but it took way longer than it should have and our waiter was not attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Great meal. Made our anniversary even mo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great meal. Made our anniversary even more special. Steaks were awesome and I had the best gin and ever, thanks.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I loved everything about Selanne Steak T ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I loved everything about Selanne Steak Tavern. The service was great and I had the best steak of my life! I can't believe I didn't know about this place sooner. 5 star!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Given the prices here, service should ha ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Given the prices here, service should have been flawless. Instead, it was uneven and slow in patches and staff seemed a little snobbish. White corn and caesar salad were delicious, but the filet mignon was nothing special.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Was the perfect place for outdoor dining ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Was the perfect place for outdoor dining in Laguna Beach! Enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine and awesome food that wasn't steaks. Have w more vegan dinner and lots to choose from. Loved the lighting on the patio! And Dimetri the server was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Got in bar area. Service was slow. Wai ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Got in bar area. Service was slow. Waiter recommend Kobe skirt steak that was SO full of tendon I not eat.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Great steakhouse. The ribeye was delicio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great steakhouse. The ribeye was delicious and big enough to share with two sides it was plenty of food. The mac and cheese is pretty amazing. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

By far the best restaurant in Orange Cou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

By far the best restaurant in Orange County.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My first visit to Selanne- dinner before ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My first visit to Selanne- dinner before the Pageant of the Masters. As soon as I walked in, I was greeted with a friendly smile. I was early so I waited at the bat for my table. The hostess, Shelby was more than helpful and I was able to pick a nice table in the corner by the windows.

The service was amazing- attention to detail! The waiter was pleasant and attentive.

The meal was amazing. I had flat iron steak that melted in my mouth along with the mashed potatoes.

It is on the pricier side- about $35-60 for a steak. All items are a la carte but well worth it! I would absolutely recommend this steakhouse.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the Heirloom Tomato Salad, a coupl ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I had the Heirloom Tomato Salad, a couple of tomatoes for $12, outrageous, prices are outrageous

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

The food and service were excellent ! Ve ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food and service were excellent ! Very romantic atmosphere and right on the beach! Well worth the money

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was 5 Star! Our serving team ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was 5 Star! Our serving team was very attentive and my water glass was always full :)

The location is 5 Star! We were seated outside in their "gazebo/tented area" which means we were totally protected by the sun and other elements while still being able to enjoy the outdoors.

The food was 4.5 Star! The Oysters...Oh those Oysters!! They were amazing, plump and substantial! Same with the mussels - not sure I have ever had such "meaty", plump and flavorful mussels. I ordered the Branzino which was delicious.

My husband had the 12oz Filet which he really enjoyed, but it wasn't the best steak he has ever had. Nothing really wrong with it, it was delicious but in our opinion the quality did not justify the price.

The Value is 3 Star, which is the reason I could't give Selanne an overall 5 Stars.

We knew that Selanne was pricey and it is definitely a special-occasion restaurant, that said I am not convinced that even with the 5 Star location and service, and 4.5 Star food that the prices are warranted. There were a total of 3 of us. We ordered two appetizers, 4 "adult beverages" (I think) - one glass of wine and the guys each had Vodka-Sodas. We had a total of 3 entrees, but no desserts. The bill was $300! We were shocked. Even with its reputation for being a pricey restaurant, for what we ate and for there only being 3 of us we were really surprised when the bill arrived.

Overall Selanne was a great experience. We were not disappointed.

Would we return? Probably not, and its all due to the really steep prices. I just cannot justify spending that kind of money for a meal - no matter how good the food is. We have dined at other restaurants where the food was 5 Stars - delicious, fresh and creative - and their prices were about 35-40% less than what we paid at Selanne.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Perfect 15th Anniversary Dinner!!! U ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Perfect 15th Anniversary Dinner!!!

Unbelievable service and Food!! Mark, our server was phenomenal and picked my whole meal from First Course to Desert! The Bone-In Filet Mignon was the best steak I have ever had and I have been to a lot of steak houses. Cooked to perfection. I could not even ask for a better night and experience and it was all thanks to Selanne's Steak Tavern!! Thank you!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A great meal, perfect steaks, salmon, wi ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

A great meal, perfect steaks, salmon, wine and sides! Celebrating hubby bday and will return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.