Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Selanne Steak Tavern

Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!

1464 South Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Mountain

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-9881

Website:
http://www.selannesteaktavern.com/

Entertainment:
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.

Catering:
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions

Parking Details:
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St.

Public Transit:
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle

Executive Chef:
Joshua Severson

Private Party Facilities:
Indoor and outdoor private dining for groups up to 20 to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Anne Sophie Derre - Director of Events: (949) 715-9881 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.

Selanne Steak Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (59)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Special Occasion (53)
See All
Good for Birthdays (43)
Romantic (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Notable Wine List (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Cozy (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Business Meals (15)
Fun (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Authentic (8)
People Watching (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Scenic View (6)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Sports (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

I hadn't been here in a few years. I find the the cooking a bit too rich for my palate. Went here to celebrate my birthday with my family. The service here is excellent. I wasn't pleased that they wanted to seat us at a table in the bar area (we had a reservation). Then, they asked us if we would like outdoor seating - basically a tent-covered, patio area - I declined. We were finally seated in the 1sr floor dining area. The waiter was very knowledgeable and personable. The menu options are quite exquisite. Even my vegetarian daughter found enough to eat for dinner. My only complaint - they try to sell their 'American Wagyu' as the real stuff (from Japan). I guess if you can't tell the difference, then it's okay. Ignorance is bliss.
I'll be back, but not on a regular basis - the food is too rich for my tastes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent meal! Enjoyed ambiance and great service too!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

This is hands down one of the best restaurants to visit. Great staff make the restaurant the best in laguna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Always the best food and service. There is no steak in OC that measures up to what you'll get at Selanne. Our favorite spot for anniversary, valentines, & birthday dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, attentive staff, but very slow service and not that crowded. Take a sweater or jacket because the A/C was uncomfortably cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

We sat on the makeshift tented veranda. I felt like I was the invited wedding guest who sits at the worst table location of the entire room. A covered catered tent located adjacent to the HWY offers no views and plenty of traffic noise. Everything else was excellent with one exception. The wait staff took too long to decant a bottle of wine I had brought to share during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Not accommodating to dietary restrictions, and not particularly friendly about it

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

AMAZING! Steaks were incredible. I had the filet & my husband had a wagyu rib eye from the soecials. The macaroni & cheese was recommended to us and it wouldn't have been my first choice but it was life changing amazing. We want to go back just for that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The dishes were prepared in a distinctive ways and were absolutely delicious. The steak and salmon both had a great sear on them and were cooked perfectly on the inside. The mushrooms had a wonderful smokey flavor. The Elote appetizer was seasoned the way I like it as well as the mushrooms. They were a bit salty for my wife's tastes.
The service was very polite and thorough and included an anniversary desert.
Thanks for the wonderful 30th Anniversary meal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food was ok. Ambience very nice but service the worst. Overall - just overpriced steak and nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent meal overall. We sat upstairs, which was much quieter than downstairs, we really enjoyed sitting up there. Steaks were excellent, flavorful and perfectly prepared. Our waiter was super knowledgeable about all the dishes and helped with picking a great wine for the meal. Well done everyone! Thank You.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Usually we love to sit next to each other, but had a window and a sweet table with a couple of hours of relaxed food and drink - the perfect tonic to share on a beautiful summer eve.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have eaten here a few times..always amazing! our waiter was the best ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Lovely! Attentive service. Great place for a special occasion. A meal to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing service. Don't miss if you are in Laguna Beach.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We have dined at Selanne's several times and it never fails! Love the whole ambiance, food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Excellent food and great staff. We had a great time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Instead of writing a negative YELP review, my husband called the restaurant. While the service was impeccable, the food was not! For the price, I would much rather go to anoher high end restaurant, e.g., Mastro's. While my filet mignon was tasty, it was beyond medium rare plus. My husband's ribeye was overdone beyond the med. rare that he ordered, and it was chewy. It definitely did not seem to be of a Prime caliber! The sides were tepid; nothing was served hot at all. The baked potato could not melt butter. There was nothing special on the dessert menu. When a person leaves an elegant restaurant to go to Strickland's for dessert followed by frozen GS thin mints at home, that is telling. When my husband spoke with the woman manager, she offered a free appetizer the next time we come in. Really?!! What about asking my husband what it would take to have him come back in again? What about an apology for his disappointing steak and the offer to make him another one? We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Fabulous dinner for wife and me. All dishes were excellently prepared and presented. The Lord Stanley tomahawk chop bone-in ribeye for two was superb and cooked a perfect medium rare. Service was attentive, well paced and never rushed or intrusive. Our waiter Dimitri was all we could ask of a server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The drinks were good. Atmosphere inside and outside nice. Food was spectacular! Every dish was amazing. Scallops, beer salad, steak, sides to die for 😁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service was excellent. They were aware it was our anniversary and all staff congratulated us, including the valet. We had the scallops for a starter. Perfectly seared and excellent. For dinner we had the ribeye and fillet. The filet was cooked to perfection and my wife loved it. The ribeye was tough. Just a bad cut I guess. Mac and cheese was excellent. Topped it off with a complementary dessert. Great wine list and overall great experience. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Pretty disappointing when you are a steak house and can't even deliver a warm steak .The quality of the steaks were questionable , expected a lot more considering the prices . Not really recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was good but not as good as I recalled last time...the service was great and they go out of thier way to take care of you. I would go back and I would recommend eating here!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Best steak ever. Much better than the date.
Fantastic bartenders.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Amazing spot to have dinner for my husbands birthday. He is a huge hockey fan, and after hearing selannes had opened a steak house I knew it would be the perfect spot for a birthday dinner.
The wine list was to die for and the lord Stanley cut of meat was well worth the price we had enough left overs for two dinners! Fabulous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We were celebration anniversary and noted so on our reservation . We weren't happy with the table location. We were sat at a table where we sat side by side with a large party if 13 in front of us. We asked to be moved and the host said no (unless we wanted a table in the loud bar area). We were very disappointed. Food was good. Waiter was great. Ambience stunk! :-(

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We went here for our anniversary. The food was excellent, my husband and I both ordered the steak. The drinks were good and the atmosphere is perfect for a celebration.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We have passed Selanne Steak Tavern for a couple of years and always said to ourselves, "let's go eat there someday". Finally the occasion arose, I surprised my Husband on his birthday and we were not disappointed. Great atmosphere, great service and great food. The big surprise for us was the size of the bar which makes it much more accessible for us as we don't always like to make reservations. Also, any restaurant that serves my drink on a cloth bar napkin get's my seal of approval.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Was looking forward to this meal. Service and ambience were great but thought food was under- whelming. Somewhat disappointed

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I've never left a bad review until now.
The reservation manager at the front was outstanding. We had been here before and it was great. Our waiter was awful this time, barely saw him although he did recommend a great martini. Didn't see him for 25 min at the beginning and it was early. Only 3 tables being served in this particular room. The ribeyes were tough, but had a good flavor. The bread and deserts were excellent. The manager didn't seem to care when we complained about the service at the end. Usually leave a 25% tip had this type of restaurant. tonight 15%, only because the people busing the tables were good.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 17, 2017

charming restaurant, beautiful atmosphere, fantastic food and excellent service,
great bar, drinks. We were visiting Laguna Beach and our hotel recommended this lovely
restaurant and we basically walked across the street from our hotel to get there.
Enjoyed our dinner. Would highly recommend this place

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Six of us sat in the "Bob" room for dinner. It was a night of great food, service, and ambiance.
I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our first time at Selanne's. Our meal was delicious. The scallops appetizer is wonderful. The shrimp cocktail was good also. All of our steaks were cooked perfectly and delicious. We had excellent service. Our waiter was very attentive. The one criticism we do have is that we were seated out front in the patio area. I made my reservation way in advance, so was a little surprised we were seated outside. Normally, it would be fine, but it was a little warm and the flies were a nuisance. The area is tented but it's not enough to stop flies and small gnats from buzzing around. Not fun when you're having to wave them off so they don't land in your food or drink. With that aside, we will go back. The bar is also very nice and the inside of the restaurant looked very cozy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The signature dishes did not let us down. We still can't stop talking about how good the food was.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food! Great atmosphere , great service. Try this place!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our party of 8 really enjoyed the outdoor dining experience -our waiter was attentive to our needs and assisted us in making our dinner selections. The steak, salmon and halibut was excellent but the noise level was excessive due to the low ceiling and the party atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 12, 2017

My husband and I had the most tender perfectly done filet mignons! Plus, I started with a cream of carrot soup that was the best soup I've ever had--and I don't normally like carrots.
We had to forego the dessert, but all of their choices were unique.
It's pricey, but well worth the money for a special date. Great serving "team." Lovely outdoor dining, but I liked the indoor look too.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food and service were exquisite! From the appetizers to the steaks, everything was so rich and tasty. I had the 14oz ribeye which was cooked to perfection. The risotto side dish was probably the best I've had. Highly recommend on food and service alone. Had a table near the bar which got loud at times, making it a bit difficult to hold a conversation. Nevertheless, still a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This restaurant is fabulous. Great food, beautifully plated, wonderful wine and attentive service. We were so captivated that we went back a day later to explore the menu a bit more. The caprese salad is divine. The steaks are huge, juicy and flavorful. We recommend this restaurant! It's the best in Laguna.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.