About Selanne Steak Tavern

1464 South Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (Kitchen closes at 9:30 pm); Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am (Kitchen closed at 10:30 pm); CLOSED MONDAYS

Cross Street:
Mountain

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-9881

Website:
http://www.selannesteaktavern.com/

Entertainment:
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.

Catering:
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions

Parking Details:
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St. - Metered street parking - Free street parking 2 blocks east.

Public Transit:
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle

Executive Chef:
Joshua Severson

Private Party Facilities:
Indoor and outdoor private dining for groups up to 20 to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessenia Uvidia - Director of Events: 9497159881x2

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.

Restaurant Photos

  • Selanne Steak Tavern
Selanne Steak Tavern

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Selanne Steak Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Orange County
Steakhouse
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Laguna Beach ›

special occasion (104)
fit for foodies (74)
romantic (74)
See All
notable wine list (51)
neighborhood gem (41)
vibrant bar scene (33)
hot spot (31)
great for outdoor dining (28)
good for groups (27)
scenic view (12)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
778 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They may have the best steak I have ever ...

Dined 4 days ago

They may have the best steak I have ever eaten... The Lord Stanley Bone in Ribeye

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Promised my wife a nice evening out sinc ...

Dined 4 days ago

Promised my wife a nice evening out since work has had me traveling a bunch lately. We're huge Ducks and food fans, so Selannes gives you the best of both worlds! I read some reviews that that staff weren't friendly and hurried you thru your meal. We found the exact opposite. From the second we walked in, we were greeted warmly and they had our table ready for our 730 reservation about 5 minutes early. Ryan was our server and he was a champ. Informative without being pushy, and helpful without being annoying...the way it should be. The food was insane, we both got filets and we split the broccolini and Mac n cheese. OMG, Selannes Mac n cheese is the best I've ever had outside of Le Montage in Portland. We Finnished (pun intended for you Teemu fans) with the Monkey bread dessert on Ryan's suggestion, and it was both delicious and visually stunning. Highly recommend Selannes for a date night, anniversary, or an "I'm sorry, please forgive" occasion ;-). Cheers Teemu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, great service. Only thing wa ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great service. Only thing was it was a special occasion and I told them when I made the reservation and when I confirmed it, also when we were seated. They put us in the bar. It's a bar so it was a little loud and had TV's on. Not really conducive for the romantic evening we were hoping for. Also, the tables are extremely small. There wasn't enough room for our wine and our food. And even without the wine they ran out of room to hold everything. Not sure why they have such huge plates with such small tables. If you make a reservation suggest you might ask to not be seated at the bar. The place looked lovely for what we saw and sure there are better tables than what we had.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the food superb! Steak was perf ...

Dined 4 days ago

We found the food superb! Steak was perfection and choice of sides, outstanding! We will def be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The server was excellent and very attent ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The server was excellent and very attentive. Food is great although very expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the beet salad, risotto and the mo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved the beet salad, risotto and the monkey bread. Of course the filet was the best but these were great additions

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place so much ! One day we ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We love this place so much ! One day we will order the 225 steak .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Laguna Beach for our next to las ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Went to Laguna Beach for our next to last night. We had a great dinner and the service was excellent Started with appetizers and Kathy had the beet ravioli which was great. I had the foie gras which I didn't realize came in all three varieties. I liked the seared the others not too much. That is just my preference. Lexi had the wedge salad and Brian had the scallops which were great. For dinner Kathy had the chicken and Brian and I switched steaks. I originally had the skirt and Brian the strip We both liked the opposite better. Lexi had the skirt also. Great sides of Mac and cheese, white

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Warm congenial service service. Our wait ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Warm congenial service service. Our waiter, Dimitri, was outstanding. Food was excellent. Being a local, we have made this a regular dinner dining place. Thanks. Buddy and Pamela

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great evening at Selanne's Steak ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Another great evening at Selanne's Steak Tavern!!! Anytime that I'm in the area this fine restaurant will be my first stop!!!

food3
ambience4
service3

It was an intimate experience.

Dined on June 12, 2016

It was an intimate experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

This place is top notch! The dining expe ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

This place is top notch! The dining experience was fabulous! Service impeccable! Food, to die for! Rates right up there with our top experience in a cruise ship. The chef is amazing!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

OC diner

Dined on June 9, 2016

Lovely setting in the remodeled old French 75 restaurant, Selanne keeps the feeling but the ambiance is much brighter with an air of old California charm. Our waiter was attentive and explained the menu and selections well. As you'd expect the steaks are top notch, the halibut was a bit dry but extremely flavorful. The wine list is excellent. I highly recommend going early and enjoying a cocktail in the bar before dining. This is probably the best gourmet room in Laguna Beach. A definite special night out type of restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dinner! Service was impecca ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Outstanding dinner! Service was impeccable. Jesse Josh and Brock were An awesome team. Can't wait to go back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special celebration!

Dined on May 30, 2016

My husband and I just celebrated our 40th anniversary at Selanne. It's become one of our favorite special occasion spots! Michael was our server and treated us with the utmost kindness and grace. All of the waitstaff were superb! Thank you for not disappointing us!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love this place

Dined on May 29, 2016

the best steaks in laguna! we love this place ... great bar scene, if you're into that. fabulous drinks. wonderful patio...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Let people focus on the food

Dined on May 29, 2016

In my opinion, the service was a little too-much. Three different persons kept asking if we liked the food, if we needed something and so on. We were not interested in hearing everybodys names and what they were paid to do. We would have liked to enjoi the meal more "in peace". But, the food was almost divine!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best Steak in O.C.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Fantastic steaks and great wine; a combo hard to beat! I recommend sitting upstairs where they store the wine in white wine fridges. It is much more quite than the first level. Also, get the mac and cheese!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Twice has been nice!

Dined on May 28, 2016

This is our second visit to Selanne - for both visits the food was delicious and the service was impeccable! We will be back for a third time for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

you can definitly find a better place to eat steak

Dined on May 27, 2016

We went here for dinner, it was a nice little place. It used to be someones house, can sense the homey feeling right when you walk in. The service is good, i wouldnt complain about that. There was a lot of people watching the Warriors/Okc playoffs game. We spent a lot of money and we were not really comfortable when we were eating. if we are spending $70 per plate we shouldnt have to feel cluttered. Need more space, or no dining near the bar area.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Way overpriced.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Halibut dry less then 6oz for 52.00 ridiculous price not even a good sauce. Salmon was truly smoked large piece but also very dry. The filet was good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived 15 minutes and were told we h ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We arrived 15 minutes and were told we had to wait until our reservation time to be seated. The hostesses need a bit of work on their presentation skills. Otherwise it was a very enjoyable time. Our waiter, Mike, was excellent. Knowledgeable, loves his work and a very nice personality.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience is amazing when y ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The overall experience is amazing when you dine at Selanne's Steak Tavern. The food, the service and staff are all amazing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Ryan, was incredibly knowled ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our server, Ryan, was incredibly knowledgeable about the menu, food and preparation as well as helpful , personable and attentive. We really enjoyed him sharing his love of food with us. We had a great table, it was quiet and out of the main traffic pattern, which is exactly as I had requested. I had heard great things about this restaurant and wanted to try it for my boyfriends birthday. It was the perfect setting and experience. He truly loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Scallops and Mac and cheese was amazing! ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Scallops and Mac and cheese was amazing!! Great ambiance and amazing food!

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went here for our wedding anniversary ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went here for our wedding anniversary. I have to say that the food was absolutely amazing! My husband and I were pleasantly surprised. We knew the food would be good; it was exceptional. I'm so happy that my girlfriend recommended this restaurant. Her husband owns several restaurants throughout South Orange County and for her to recommend a place that's not her husbands, says something. My husband and plan to return in order to sample other delights and the excellent service from the waitstaff!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Better than Mastro's and The Ranch can't ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Better than Mastro's and The Ranch can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were going to be in the area and foun ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were going to be in the area and found that they had an opening so we thought we would give it a try. We are very glad we did, from the start the Hostess, Server and his helper were very attentive and helpful. Then the food started to come and all was fantastic, first the Wagyu Beef Tartare was the best I have ever had then the Caesar and the Scarlet Beet Ravioli all three of us had each other try what the other was eating-Fantastic! The Beet Ravioli was unusual but unbelievably good. Then the Mango Sorbet which was delicious, then the main courses-the beef. We choose the Wagyu Skirt Steak and the Lord Stanly Cut. Again we all shared, the Skirt Steak was full of flavor and very tender while the Lord Stanly Cut was bursting with flavor and almost melted in your mouth. I was tempted to order another one because my 15 year old son was not into sharing for very long once he tasted it. A great experience which we plan on having again soon, highly recommend Selanne's to anyone that enjoys great food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent consistent great food and grea ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent consistent great food and great service

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was friendly and attentive. Food w ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Staff was friendly and attentive. Food was excellent and tasty and served in a timely manner. The section where we were seated was comfortable and relatively quiet. All in all an excellent experience and will definitely come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great server, great meal, great restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding meal. Jared was great server. It is definitely a pricey restaurant, but you get what you pay for. If I wanted an excellent meal and was willing to pay for it, I would definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and excellent service.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and excellent service.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic, the wait staff v ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was fantastic, the wait staff very attentive and knowledgable. I would highly recommend this beach cottage style chophouse. I only regret not being able to have their triple chocolate mousse.. They were out. I will have to go back. 😊

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great First date

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great food with excellent service..no interuptions knowing it was a first date..no rushing us . Great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Will definitely be back!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We've been wanting to visit this restaurant for awhile and decided to go there for a birthday celebration. It's a quaint little restaurant and I can see why their reservations fill up. Among the table we ordered quite a few things, to start the drinks were great...highly recommend The Hat Trick and Risky Business. The steaks were prepared well, the short ribs were super tender, and the sides were delicious. The valet service was top notch with lemonade available while you wait and when you return to your car they place a thank you for visiting, along with some chocolate mints for everyone. Their little store outside sold items signed by Teemu, which were very affordable. Overall the restaurant did not disappoint, we would highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not worth the money

Dined on April 28, 2016

Very loud! Food was just so so. The service was good, and a friendly staff.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable Elegance

Dined on April 27, 2016

Best meal we've had in a long time. Service experience was first class. Attentive BUT not intrusive. Management obviously has high standards and holds staff to them. Staff seems to know why the standards are high and how and WHY to meet consumer expectations. Décor is a very comfortable Laguna Beach version of a quaint but elegant restaurant in the Hamptons. I recommend Selanne's without reservation.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience

Dined on April 25, 2016

We loved the food (everything was unique and delicious) and the service (Steven) was top notch! The noise level was pretty high, even though the room we were in was only half full. Be prepared to spend a significant amount of money... worth it for us as it was a celebration dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Always great, with a slight focus on sea ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Always great, with a slight focus on seasonal, with lots of consistent standbys. My only complaint is their overzealous love of truffle oil, but it's easy enough to avoid by request.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A True Hidden Gem

Dined on April 23, 2016

Last year I decided that for this year's birthday celebration I would go to Selanne's for dinner. A few friends wanted to go too. We had a great time. The food was amazing and the service was outstanding. The only thing I didn't like was the noise level. It was so loud we had trouble hearing each other. All in all I would go back and recommend it to others just knowing what to expect. Not a place for a quiet romantic dinner but for a lively festive occasion. The icing on the cake would have been Teemu showing up since he was in town for the Ducks playoffs but no such luck this time. Maybe next time!

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.