About Selanne Steak Tavern

1464 South Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (Kitchen closes at 9:30 pm); Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am (Kitchen closed at 10:30 pm); CLOSED MONDAYS

Cross Street:
Mountain

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-9881

Website:
http://www.selannesteaktavern.com/

Entertainment:
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.

Catering:
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions

Parking Details:
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St. - Metered street parking - Free street parking 2 blocks east.

Public Transit:
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle

Executive Chef:
Joshua Severson

Private Party Facilities:
Indoor and outdoor private dining for groups up to 20 to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessenia Uvidia - Director of Events: 9497159881x2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.

Restaurant Photos

  • Selanne Steak Tavern
Selanne Steak Tavern

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Selanne Steak Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Orange County
Notable Wine List
South Orange County
Steakhouse
South Orange County
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Laguna Beach ›

Special Occasion (89)
Fit for Foodies (66)
Romantic (66)
See All
Notable Wine List (52)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Hot Spot (28)
Good for Groups (20)
Scenic View (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Cozy (4)
Fireplace (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Private Room (4)
People Watching (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
867 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great steaks that blew our whole group a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great steaks that blew our whole group away! Definitely will back here again to spoil ourselves.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Selanne's food and service was some of t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Selanne's food and service was some of the best of not the best I've ever experienced in my life. The flavoring of the food was exceptional, the service was on point and personal. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great place to celebrate your anniversar ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to celebrate your anniversary! The food and wine were enjoyable, and the service was fantastic! I would highly recommend Selanne's for dinner!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, food was great... ov ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was great, food was great...

overall, a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and wonderful food. ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding service and wonderful food. And attention you foodies: the best foie gras and most generous portion you will anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We heard great things about this restaur ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We heard great things about this restaurant, but were sadly disappointed. the service was very good ,the ambiance was very good the mac and cheese was very good,but the main entre of rib eye and skirt steak were not any where near what was expected. We were very disappointed with the tenderness and how much fat and grissle was found on the steak. We thought when you pay a high price for top quality meat you get an exceptional expieriance, sorry we didn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We have dined at Selanne's on several oc ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We have dined at Selanne's on several occasions and were always pleased with the drinks, food and service. However, on this particular occasion we walked away feeling very disappointed and dissatisfied. At the bar, my cocktail was watery, and my husband ordered a Manhattan which was the worst he's ever had at a restaurant. Only one ounce of bourbon and a lot of time in the shaker, then poured over cracked ice. What happened to the ice ball or large cubes? The Wagyu striploin was not as tender and buttery as it should have been at $75. The sides were barely enough for all of us at the table, and the espresso machine was broken--really?--at a high end restaurant? Also, we made our reservations over a week in advance and were seated in the patio area which was ok but not what we preferred. Not sure if we would recommend Selanne's to anyone, or if we'll ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Chateaubriand for two was outstanding!! ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Chateaubriand for two was outstanding!! Brocollini and risotto were perfect complements. Homemade bread with salted butter is Delish.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall experience was quite nice. The ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Overall experience was quite nice. The food was excellent as was the service. The filets were of a high quality and cooked to perfection. The side dishes were good with the corn and mushrooms being the favorites. Skip the risotto.

Be prepared to pay top dollar for this experience, it is not inexpensive. Would recommend if money is not a concern or for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fish was undercooked and steak was overc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Fish was undercooked and steak was overcooked. Great appetizers, drinks, and ambience though

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

My second time dining at this establishm ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My second time dining at this establishment and I enjoyed it even more than the 1st time. The food is the same quality as your standard high-end steak house but the environment is much brighter and more friendly than those same traditional steak houses. My date and I enjoyed all aspects of the dining experience from the appetizer to the desert. The only issue was at the end of our evening as the restaurant became more crowded the level of service declined.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location, food, service. All GREA ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great location, food, service. All GREAT! Thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second time at Selanne's. I b ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is my second time at Selanne's. I brought my dad who had specifically asked to come as it was his first time. We were seated in the noisy bar area which was ridiculous as my dad is elderly and hard of hearing. I asked to be moved and was accommodated right away. The server in the Library was inattentive and slow and this is the reason I will not be returning. There are so many other great options and this was just a mediocre experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The ambiance is excellent. Restaurant's ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The ambiance is excellent. Restaurant's interiors and exteriors are done very nicely. The service was excellent. (Although, we like for our table to be cleared once everyone at the table is finished with their meal as to not make anyone feel rushed)

The food was very good, but our party felt that it was overpriced. We would go back for drinks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Overly priced for not over the top food. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Overly priced for not over the top food. Same food you can get at any fine dining steak house. Not sure what the hype is all about.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Great food, great service and good locat ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, great service and good location for south orange county on PCH. Worth the $ for a special event.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the food was very good, it was way ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

While the food was very good, it was way overpriced, and the service was extremely slow. We had reservations for 6:45, but did not get seated until 7:15, yet there were open tables both inside and outside... Once we ordered our entrees, it took almost 40 minutes for them to arrive at our table. By the time we payed our bill and started walking out it was 9:15, and we didn't even have dessert. So while the food was very good, and our waiter was very knowledgeable, the fact that it took 2 1/2 hours ruined it for us. We will stick with Ruth's Chris, or Maestros.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Sellane's never disappoints. Great food ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Sellane's never disappoints. Great food and service. With a bit of luck you will see a celebrity, professional athlete, or maybe the owner, former Anaheim Ducks Hokey Star, Teemu Sellane.

There are a number of different dining areas indoors: near the bar, behind the bar, upstairs or in the dining room as well as nice outside area. Steaks, seafood, chops with a wonderful assortment of side dishes.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome... but be prepared to spend over ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Awesome... but be prepared to spend over $250 for two people .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time with a love one and friends. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great time with a love one and friends. Food was very good. Will recommend and we will return. The best steak and good portions on side dishes. Wine list top of the line.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great but overpriced. Staff is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was great but overpriced. Staff is a bit snobby.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We celebrated my wife's birthday. First ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday.

First we ordered two Hendricks up...was made well. blue cheese olives added to the taste.

We had Caesar salads...white anchovies was tasty. Served with a whole loaf of delicious bread.

My wife had the rib eye steak ...was OK, had better meat in other places.

I had the filet steak...was delicious, done to my liking. Our sides were broccoli was good and mixed mushrooms which was superb.

Wine selection was good.

Total:$263 a bit stiff.

Athena our server was wonderful..cheerful and efficient.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The best of the best for Steak and Seafo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The best of the best for Steak and Seafood! Outstanding experience every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious especially the beet r ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was delicious especially the beet ravioli. Service was very professional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was amazing and our server wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was amazing and our server was fabulous he was very informative and was able to answeraanswer all of our questions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Very Favorite Now!!! Everything Abou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our Very Favorite Now!!!

Everything About it Is Wonderfullll!⭐️🌟⭐️🌟⭐️

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outsanding food and service, this was ou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Outsanding food and service, this was our second visit and we will be back again soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

As always it was wonderful. This is our ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

As always it was wonderful. This is our go to special occasion place. The steaks are their speciality. And you should always get the mac and cheese, it is to die for!

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined several times at Selanne i ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We have dined several times at Selanne indoors and enjoyed ourselves. Our indoor high-table was not conducive to our dining due to my broken foot on this occasion so we sat outside which I will refuse in the future. The noise level was awful however the food was excellent. Vito, our main server was delightful, professional and extremely knowledgeable with twine and spirits. Unfortunately, we could have done without the water server aggressively hitting on our 18 year old daughter (very rude and unprofessional) during and after our meal. This is unacceptable... we will return in the future but I will avoid the above negatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Service was horrible. We had to wait 30 ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Service was horrible. We had to wait 30 minutes for a iced tea and soda. The next tanle to us was seated after us got their appetizers before us. The only apology we received from the waiter was after he came with our food boxed. We had to ask for our to go due to plans. Would not return ever. For what pay for food you would expect much better service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Our first time at this restaurant and it ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our first time at this restaurant and it was my husband's birthday. His rib eye steak was smothered in bearnaise and butter and the steak itself was merely adequate. His immediate comment was that "this is no better than Outback and for twice the price". Being a vegetarian, I ordered a wedge salad and a vegetable plate. The wedge salad was good, but the vegetable plate was pitiful, the price was $29.00 and I ate very little of it. When the waiter asked me if I wanted a box, I told him that it wasn't good. He merely picked up the plate, with not even a slight indication that he was regretful. Not a good experience and I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Overall it was a great experience. The f ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overall it was a great experience. The food and wine were great. The service was excellent as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I think people pay for the experience at ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I think people pay for the experience at "Teemu Selanes" the food was ok. too high priced for what we ordered. One of the side was super salty. Their steaks were somewhat of a copycat fro Ruth Chris. Ruth Chris is way better. IF you want the best steak... Morton's!

Tags: Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Great experience, attentive servers.

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great experience, attentive servers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really liked the atmosphere. We opted t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Really liked the atmosphere. We opted to eat indoors due to wait for outside but would highly recommend eating out when the weather permits. Had the special steak for two and it was fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was overall pleasant with decent fl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was overall pleasant with decent flavors. Very limited dessert options. Good wine selection.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversary. While expensive, our meal and the dining experience was occasion appropriate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food! Definitely worth the money ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Awesome food! Definitely worth the money!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. A little pr ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent service and food. A little pricey, but was a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was top-notch. Great service ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was top-notch. Great service and people watching. The portions are very generous so some of the plates we shared amongst our party of three. I thought for a fine dining destination the bill would be much higher.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.