Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Selanne Steak Tavern

Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!

1464 South Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Mountain

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-9881

Website:
http://www.selannesteaktavern.com/

Entertainment:
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.

Catering:
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions

Parking Details:
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St.

Public Transit:
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle

Executive Chef:
Joshua Severson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Selanne Steak Tavern is proud to announce we are open for Thanksgiving this year.

Selanne Steak Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Good for Birthdays (37)
Romantic (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Bar Seating (24)
Cozy (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Business Meals (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fun (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Happy Hour (10)
People Watching (10)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Casual (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Live Sports (5)
Seasonal (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Consistently excellent food and vibe always make for a fun experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 7 year anniversary at Selanne Steak Tavern and it was a great experience. To start with we had the Scallops off the starter menu. Hands down fantastic! I ordered the 8 oz filet , the wife got the halibut and we split the mac n' cheese and broccoli. Finished off the meal with a little monkey bread. Everything was as good as we had hoped for, even better IMO.

Only knock is we had a reservation and the smaller tables for guest of 2 are right next to the bar area. Not as elegant as you would expect considering the price of the menu in general. The dinner was more than we would typically spend but we knew going in this was a special occasion so I am overlooking the value from an everyday dining experience. There are probably a better romantic restaurant for the price , but hey we love Selanne and the Ducks and we had to go and give it a try. We left very happy with the experience overall. (Even if Teemu wasn't there to personally greet us lol)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Everything was really good. Even though the porterhouse for two was a little over cooked, we still enjoyed it. The flavor was outstanding. We did mention to the server the steak appeared to be mid-well when it was supposed to be medium but he said it looked medium to him. I used to be a cook and I believe I know what medium is but other than that, all was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great service, and the food was excellent! Seared foie gras was to die for, and the rib eye steak was mouth wàtering. We'll eat here again, for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 11, 2017

The food was amazing as always. And our server, was nice, knowledgeable, and really had a passion for his job as well as the restaurant and what they served there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

It's the best steak house in Orange County. Everything about this places screams first class and special night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Had an outstanding Caesar Salad and Filet Mignon at Selanne Steak Tavern. We shared the salad and baked potato, both plenty large enough for sharing. Steaks were perfectly cooked. Wines were good. Our only complaint - we were offered a choice of two tables - one on the noisy patio by the street and one in the bar. We chose the bar, but next time will ask in advance to be seated in the dining room.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Probably the one if the best meals I’ve had in my life. The only complaint I would have is that I booked it on opentable and said that it was my husbands birthday and they didn’t do anything. All the steak houses I’ve been at do something nice. But nothing. Other then that it was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Amazing food with beautiful scenery...great meal over all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We love a great steak and our benchmark is Mastros, of course. After reading a few reviews we booked here for a birthday dinner. Not disappointed on any level. Valet available in the alley behind for $6. Greeting pleasant and quick. Attentive staff the moment we were seated. Excellent service, thank you Dimitri and staff.
The food, the wagu tartar was good. The butternut squash soup outstanding. The beet ravioli, which I was really concerned of, amazing. But let me tell you about the BEST steak I have ever had, and trust me, I have had many at fine restaurants. The Wagu 10oz filet, mouth melting like butter. Amazingly seared rather crispy on the outside and perfectly cooked medium rare inside. It literally melted in my mouth. The bearnaise was great, but that steak needed nothing. I was so surprised to hear myself say, " OMG, this is the best steak, ever". My husband agreed. Whoever didn't get this steak when they were there, I am sorry, it is the bomb. We finished off with coffee and a dessert we had not had previously, Strawberry Semifreddo. Delicious! So yes, this Steak Tavern is a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. BTW, the person that complained about not enough fish choices, it is called Selanne's Steak Tavern. Eat some meat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Amazing restaurant, fantastic service, will surely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 26, 2017

great food and great service. pricey even if splitting orders. will return for a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Wonderful birthday celebration outside on the patio. Less noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Fantastic in every way. Even the valet knew it was our Anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Always a great experience and food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Fantastic restaurant! My wife and I will be back every year we come to Laguna Beach! Best steaks we've ever had and we've eaten at top steakhouses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Went to Selanne's for our anniversary & it was perfect. From the Moscow Mule with the steel straw down to my cappuccino & dessert. Our waiter was friendly & knowledgeable. He never missed a beat. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

The service, food, and ambiance were amazing, could not ask for a better place to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Third night in Newport and another excellent meal at
Selanne Tavern
We started with great appetizers of the beet ravioli
and I had the foie gras which was a really large portion and so good.
We had spilt a Caesar salad which was good but a little to much dressing.
For dinner Kathy had the chicken which was delicious
I had the strip steak which came with mushroom onion and a truffle butter.
Athenia the waitress was excellent and very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great steak in the house of Finnish Hockey watching American Football with Dutch Vodka and Napa Cabernet.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Dinner was very good. We started out with a caesar salad which was very delicious. I had the Wagyu filet medium rare which was perfect and my wife had the halibut, also cooked perfectly. Sides were the risotto, corn and cauliflower. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was our first time here. We went here because of all the reviews from our friends and were impressed overall with the meal. The restaurant will split items for you and it would seem as though you were getting the original entire portion! The steaks were mouthwatering and worth the $$ in my opinion. Listen to the waiters suggestions as they're spot on. Best dessert menu we've ever seen - in other words every item sounded terrific which made it hard to choose! Will be back - soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Delicious food, terrific service and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 17, 2017

So Glad we went to Selanne's It was amazing, so great we went back to back weekends and it was awesome.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Finest steak house in Orange County. What an experience. Much better than Mastro's. My wife and I went here for our anniversary. The service was fantastic. My Wife raved about the cocktails how amazing they were. The restaurant has such a local feel inside. Every dish was perfectly cooked. We will be back hopefully when Selanne is there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We sat outside next to a fireplace and the atmosphere was beautiful. The food and service were great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

This place is amazing. There's really no words that do it justice, you just need to go! The food is so fresh and flavorful, been here multiple times and have yet to find an item that we didn't like.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with great food, a nice menu and good service. The only negative is the price.

4 people, three shared a steak and some sides and appetisers, no desert and a reasonable bottle of wine. $450

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Food and service was great . Celebrated our anniversary. Nice place close to our hotel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great atmosphere very professional staff. We ordered halibut very fresh also order the asparagus large portions

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Jessie our waiter was great!! He really took care of our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Not very kids friendly but food and service were very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

The best salmon I have ever had. Great service too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food was delicious, the staff was very attentive, Even the valley knew the occasion we were celebrating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

So sorry, really tired of surveys & reviews that have strict requirements

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Caprese salad out of this world! Delicious! 😋- although a steak house, chef prepared me a vegetarian plate of root vegetables, grilled asparagus and a corn special, fabulous! I so appreciate the ease of asking and having a vegetarian entree. Would definitely recommend, they were very accommodating and we were seated in our preferred request.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My husband and I decided to try out Selanne due to the good reviews and I have to say it lived up to it. The food was amazing and the service was top notch. We asked to sit on the other side of the bar since we wanted a more quiet setting but the bar looked great for a happy hour or to meet a bunch of friends. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our first visit.
The meal was great! Very tasty and well presented!

The bar area was too loud for dinner though, next time I will request the dinning area.

Our waiter was slow and sluggish - Full of excuses on why he wasn't more attentive. The staff that carried him were great and friendly. After being ignored for most of the meal I had to flag him down for the check. Yes he disappeared. A clear indicator of a poor and uncaring waiter - Regardless of the reason. A nice as a place as this should not allow any wait staff to leave a top ignored.
We will go back, it's a great place, but If he is still there and if we get his area I will request a different wait staff to assist us - For me there is no second chance on service. Thanks!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food. Bring your appetite and the entrees and sides are substantial. Wife had the rack of lamb and I had the 12oz filet. Both were excellent cuts to start and cooked perfectly. The shared capreese salad was a great start, and had a beautiful variety of tomatoes.
---
One minor complaint... We asked that our leftovers be boxed and neither the lamb nor the onions were included. And I was looking forward to them for next day's lunch!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This classic and classy restaurant is a great break from the acrylic popups that the foodies all rush to for awhile, then abandon for the next one being hyped. They specialize in steak and the filet was excellent and cooked perfectly. The scallops were equally good even for one who is not a scallops fan. Not to be missed is the beet “ravioli” which would earn a Michelin star for a restaurant in France. Trust me and try it. Their grilled corn kernels dish (no disgusting cream sauce) would serve as dessert for some - an amazing side dish. They have a dessert called monkey bread which is loved by some, but we can't figure out why. For a special dessert, have their rum raisin ice cream. Our excellent waiter, Jesse, recommended Stolpman syrah 2014 which we loved even more than Prisoner and Justin cab.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.