Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Selanne Steak Tavern

Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!

1464 South Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Mountain

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-9881

Website:
http://www.selannesteaktavern.com/

Entertainment:
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.

Catering:
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions

Parking Details:
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St.

Public Transit:
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle

Executive Chef:
Joshua Severson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Details

Enjoy your Valentine's Day at Selanne Steak Tavern.

Selanne Steak Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Good for Birthdays (28)
Romantic (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Cozy (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Business Meals (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Seasonal (8)
Live Sports (6)
People Watching (5)
Scenic View (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
1225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

A gem of a restaurant. Impeccable in every aspect - decor, food, cocktails and service. The price was a lovely surprise for the experience we received- we expected to pay much more. Will highly recommend to all my friends and family!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This place was incredible! From the service to the food to the atmosphere, amazing! Only negative I can think of is the hit you will take to the pocketbook - but it’s still worth it!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

As an avid Anaheim Ducks and food fan, I've been wanting to try Teemu's restaurant for some time now. My friends and I were there during our annual girls' weekend. I wish I could remember our server's name because he very attentive, a lot of fun and just fantastic overall! I had the black bass -- FABULOUS. My friends got the short rib and rib eye and we all shared starter salads (Caesar and pear -- both very good), mashed potatoes (super creamy and delicious), mac and cheese (RICH!) and a couple of desserts. It's definitely a pricey meal, but nice for a special occasion. Two negatives (therefore only 3 stars for service): 1) one of our tea cups had red lipstick on it, and 2) although we can't prove it, we think one of us who ordered decaf coffee got a regular cup and was up until 2:00 a.m.! Will be back for another special occasion but it's not a place you'd go on an ordinary Saturday night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on January 8, 2018

My boyfriend and I went to Selanne’s to celebrate his birthday. The food was amazing! The service was incredible! Everyone was super helpful and friendly. We will definitely come back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2018

One of our very favorite places! Service, food were so AWESOME!!!
Always recommend this to friends and clients!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Went for a birthday dinner. Surf and turf was excellent. Other fish was also good. Sides and dessert were amazing. Bread was delicious.

Great ambiance, service and food. Will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Such an amazing evening at Selanne Steakhouse Tavern. Food was outstanding, never had as good mac and cheese before in my life. We even met the owner Teemu Selanne who was super nice guy. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Excellent food!!! Everything was delicious! Great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 6, 2018

The food was amazing! Took my boyfriend for our anniversary and he absolutely loved the farmers soup and filet mignon! Extensive wine list and the service was incredible!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Sports, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Service and food always consistently excellent. A little pricey but we always have a good time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Fantastic meal and wonderful service. An excellent place for a date night, special occasion, or vacation dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

Great dinner with business associates. Steaks were amazing! Butternut squash, pear salad, mushrooms...wine selection...fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2018

We went for a date out and it was perfect! Oh yeah, the service was impeccable as was the martini and dinner.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 3, 2018

This "upscale" neighborhood gem was an absolute delight- charming ambiance, gastronomic delicacies and flawless service. A first-class experience, indeed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2017

I was very excited to enjoy a nice dinner out not only based on the reviews, but also growing up with a Canadian mother in Minnesota, I am also an avid hockey fan. When the bill was brought to the table, we provided our server with a credit card and a Visa gift card. He went to process the payment and came back to the table to tell me the gift card was being declined. In the meantime I was on the phone with the issuing company and they said he needed to run it as a debit, which he said he couldn't do. We proceeded to wait about 20 minutes until he came back to the table to ask how we'd like to pay. We said just put it all on the credit card then. He looked at us perplexed and said you didn't give me a credit card. I said yes we did. He said NO you didn't. He proceeded to say to my boyfriend, "Sir, can you please check your wallet?". My boyfriend checked his wallet and said, no it's not there we gave it to you. The server than very loudly and quite rudely said, "Sir, can you please check your wallet AGAIN?" I was appalled. People were starting to stare and I was embarrassed at a restaurant as people were looking at us like we couldn't afford to be there. When my boyfriend checked his wallet a second time feeling like a common thief, he looked at the server and said, no it's not in here. He followed the server to the kitchen where his c/c was laying on the floor. I felt like standing up in the room and telling everyone that YES, we can afford to eat here and that it was our server's fault that we were made to look like common criminals. What a horrible ending to what was supposed to be a wonderful, romantic evening celebrating one year together. Our waiter then asked if he could provide us desert and we insisted no. As we were leaving he brought the desert and apologized. What I wanted was to feel special and valued as a customer and not treated like I couldn't afford to eat there. So, so, so disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Fantastic experience. Very high end, but worth every dollar spent. Our server, Jared, was very knowledgeable about the menu and was a joy to be with us. He was very attentive to my son, the birthday boy/hockey fan. It was greatly appreciated. Except for not being able to meet the namesake (my son is a huge fan), I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

The food was fantastic. We had the Lord Stanley Waegu steak was was cooked perfectly, along with our sides.

Sure, some folks may say it was expensive, but you get what you pay for - and I would go back again if I didn't live on the other side of the country. Thank you!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Passing through on our road trip. We recommend 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Honestly not as good as in the past. Loud, slow, limited, expensive, snooty and salty sums it up. Not going to give up, but disappointing for our 25th anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

A much better meal and experience that the chain steak houses. We will be going back in the near future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Amazing place. Every time we dine here we end up at the bar chit chatting with bar tenders and friendly patrons. They never rush us and always friendly.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Cozy, Tapas, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Great! Love the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Youngest Daughter was in town. She had never been here before and was extremely pleased with the quality of the food, the helpfulness of the staff and the overall experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2017

This is our third time dinning here. Scallops for an appetizer were perfectly seared and very flavorful. Almost ordered them for dinner as well. For the main course we had the fillet, skirt steak and mac & cheese. All were excellent. Would definitely recommend the skirt steak. The corkage fee was reasonable so we brought our own wine. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Everything was great. It was a cold evening, and with our table located close to the door, we had a steady stream of cold air blowing toward our table.

Otherwise, everything was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2017

This restaurant has become our annual birthday/anniversary celebration spot. The food is always good and the Black Manhattans are the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Our Server Steve (was exceptionally good) and made our evening a very nice experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2017

We had been wanting to come to Selanne's for some time. We stayed at the Surf and Sand and were delighted to find out that the restaurant was within walking distance. It was very crowded due to large holiday parties but they were able to squeeze us in earlier than our reservation. We had a fantastic waiter and the food was amazing! It was the BEST mac and cheese I have ever had...and I am a mac and cheese connoisseur! We look forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Great food is outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Disappointed as they didn't even acknowledge my birthday even though the reservation stated so. Was seated in the bar area, it was very loud and hard to enjoy dinner. Second time they've not acknowledged my birthday and my fiance's a couple years prior.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Birthday dinner

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Side dishes were outstanding. Ribeye steak was very average to poor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

It was my first time there, it was a magical evening. Worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Steaks were ok, definitely a notch below maestros or bungalow. Server was very good. Kitchen screwed up our order which certainly detracted from our experience. Sides were average. Soup of the day was very good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

Best steaks of any steakhouse with impeccable service

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 29, 2017

wow what an event
one has to save up for the price but so worth it best best steak and duck had in a long time
love the place

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching, Seasonal, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 28, 2017

This was our first time at Selannes. The food was superb and the service was very top notch. It was a chance to have a long needed one on one with my wife and we weren't disappointed. Excellent meal and time together. Will be back soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We celebrated my son’s birthday and it was an amazing experience. We had the private room for 10 yet we were still part of the action. Food and service was amazing, can’t wait to go back again💞🥂

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Spent Thanksgiving dinner with my girlfriend. Food, service, and atmosphere were wonderful.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Excellent in every way :)

We arrived for thanksgiving dinner and left very happy with another great holiday dinner under our belts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 23, 2017

The food, ambiance and hospitality were all amazing as is always the case here and we will continue to come back as we always do for our anniversary's and anytime we want to experience great food and a great night out!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.