Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Selanne Steak Tavern

Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!

1464 South Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Mountain

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-9881

Website:
http://www.selannesteaktavern.com/

Entertainment:
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.

Catering:
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions

Parking Details:
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St. - Metered street parking - Free street parking 2 blocks east.

Public Transit:
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle

Executive Chef:
Joshua Severson

Private Party Facilities:
Indoor and outdoor private dining for groups up to 20 to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessenia Uvidia - Director of Events: (949) 715-9881 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.

Selanne Steak Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (58)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
See All
Romantic (46)
Worth the Drive (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Bar Seating (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Hot Spot (20)
Business Meals (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fun (19)
Cozy (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Private Room (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Fireplace (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Authentic (12)
People Watching (11)
Casual (10)
Live Sports (9)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Scenic View (4)
Historic (3)
Family Style (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent dining experience from the moment we walked in until we left. The hostesses, our waiter, runners, manager, all terrific . Food was delicious! I highly recommend and we will definitely return. Thank you Selanne!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and waiter were fabulous. My rating was based on every business opportunity - its first impression. The hostess station has room for improvement. I checked in early and didn't think that my table would be ready. I shared with hostess that we would be back in about 45 minutes ( 1 hour before reservation) and asked if it would be a problem getting seated. I didn't hear no, so my wife and I left to have a sunset drink across the street and returned about 75 minutes before our reservation. We decided to have a drink and waited 10-15 minutes for a server. When I asked the hostess if a server was available - her reply was "yes" and didn't have the notion to say, "of course let me get you one" - knowing that we had already been there for some time. We finally asked a manager who got us a drink. Approximately 45 minutes later, I asked the hostess how long before we could get seated, she said that she needed to accommodate this reservations before us and she didn't have any idea how long it would take. Needless to say, I was disappointed and asked my wife if she wanted to leave. Within 5 minutes, we were seated at a table. Why does this need to happen? Great restaurant and we'll probably visit again - Selanne's - work on that first impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 19, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I have had an orange county in a very long time. Everything we ordered was well prepared in extremely tasty. The side orders to go along with the steak were remarkable. And waitress, theater, was superb. Cannot wait to go back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

For my son's birthday. Wonderful food. Excellent service. So cozy and comfortable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

All staff were great. They were prompt to seat us and were accommodating with requested changes. Our server explained the dishes well and make excellent drink recommendations. The salmon and filet were the best I've had. Thanks everyone at Sellane's Tavern for making our anniversary special.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

It is a great restaurant with an amazing menu and a ridiculous wine list. I was disappointed in the table location. It was for an anniversary and the table was by the entrance to the outside tent. A: No outside unless I ask for it. B: not next to the entrance C: not next to a business meeting. Other than those three things, it was great. The waiter was very friendly and informative and even funny and the steak was amazing. It made me forget about the ABC's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Really enjoyed our first time visit. Great food especially my amazing Filet. Excellent friendly service. We were seated outside on the viranda so will need to return to try the seating inside.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere, fantastic food, classic nice service. I recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A great and consistent restaurant nestled in the city of Laguna Beach. Great vibe!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Love the patio.
The night we were there, a very large, noisy group were there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Outstanding service from a very knowledgeable wine sommelier (Vito). Amazing steaks and incredible Mac N Cheese. So many unique and interesting touches to the service, which helped make the evening very special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Love the location and heard good things about this place. Was a little let down. Very long wait for first round of drinks. Some food was not as hot as it could be and after dinner expressos had to be send back for being tepid temp. Waiters were extremely nice but need to have better service training as to not reach across table etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Loved our evening. Both the food and the service were amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The steaks and mac & cheese were among the best we've had. The salads and mashed potatoes weren't even in the same ballpark and left us a little disappointed. The lobster wasn't good either. But the steak would definitely bring us back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

From the ambience to the friendly charming knowledgeable wait staff...then of course the high quality food...this place is more exquisite than you would expect. The drinks too! I had the Mango Moscow Mule and it was delicious. The surf 'n turf, the Mac N Cheese, eggplant, brussel sprouts...even the bread they bring in before dinner....all to die for! We had a great dining experience. My family thanked me for recommending the place for my husbands birthday dinner that evening.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 2, 2017

A wonderful meal and very tasty.I had chicken and my husband had steak.Both very delicious.My daughter had the salmon and cooked perfect.I would recommend the Mac and Cheese.Yummy!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful service and perfectly prepared steaks at Selanne's.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent last evening dinner on two weeks holiday in California! 10 points to Teemu business!

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food was outstanding service was great and staff was polite and friendly. Bartender even set us up to meet Mr. Sellane! All around great night. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Birthday for my boyfriend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Overall dissapointed with our experience. I had the $54 Ribeye which had very little flavor and more fat than usual. My wife had the $95 filet. That was a joke, overpriced & overlooked. Server never asked how our steak was. $200+ for and dissapointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great restaurant that exceeded our expectations. We were there for my girlfriend's birthday and all of the staff that we encountered acknowledged it. The food and drinks were perfect and I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Never disappointed. Been to Selanne's many times and the food is perfection on every visit. Love the scallops appetizer, all salads are great, and the steak is on par with Morton's.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

First time visit. Excellent food and service. A little loud but good atmosphere. Will return again.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I thought it was very expensive for the bar ambiance it had. Only one item on the menu that wasn't steak which was salmon and it wasn't great. I wouldn't go back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

A must for dinner if you are in Laguna Beach. We read get reviews on Open Table while on business in Orange County. So glad we tried Selanne. The steaks, side dishes and service were first rate. The restaurant is located in a charming old bungalow making the dining room very special with a fireplace. I highly recommend.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is my new favorite steakhouse - amazing steaks and drinks in a very non-traditional steakhouse setting. The chateaubriand was the most flavorful I have ever tasted, and every side dish served was beyond outstanding. Service was excellent as well. We will return soon!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were disappointed in the seating arrangement. Hightop tables mixed in with standard height tables made the same rooms claustrophobic. The waitress was too loud and lacked polish for that caliber restaurant. We would try a burger at the bar but not dinner in the restaurant again.

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We have been coming to Selanne's Steak Tavern for over the past 2 years for our families birthday dinners and anniversary dinners and the occasional job promotions. We really appreciate the great tasting food and service!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful as always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Beautiful space, great décor, very high end and elegant. The food is 5 star and high dollar, wonderful place to have a special night out.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was a great night, with great food. The service was excellent with awesome recommendations. My Scallops were amazing while my wife had a perfect Filet. Definitely a must go.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Signature dishes were awesome as was the Chateaubriand for two, but a little pricey to make it a regular stop. The Beet Ravioli was a work of art and taste great as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine here. An incredible menu. We always split the surf and turf. Sometimes it's lobster and other times it's crab legs. The filet is perfection and the mushrooms are to die for. A must if in Laguna.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We were here for Restaurant Week. The food was delicious and the servers were very attentive. However, they had lots of people outside in their outdoor dining area. The front door kept banging against the door frame. It made two loud bumps each time it closed. This noise was very destracting and ruined the ambiance of the restaurant for us. It was really awful. I complained as I left by that door and as I left the door bumped loudly again. There are silent closing devices for these kinds of doors!! Buy one!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I went for the first time because of restaurant week offer. Unfortunately, there is no steak in the set menu. I picked prawn as appetizer (not on the set menu), and beet ravioli. Both were excellent. I tried my friend's lettuce wedge and it was so so. Then I picked short rib as the entrée (on the set menu). It was tasty but dry. I would prefer Montage Studio short ribs. My friend picked salmon. He did not complain about the meal. We ordered side dishes - mac and cheese and wild mushrooms. The mushrooms were tasty but again, like the short ribs, no wow factor. The mac and cheese was okay. Will not order it again. Next time, I will order the steak. The dessert was cheesecake crumbles. Tasted good, but not exciting

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great Service, courteous and attentive. Lord Stanley steak for two was terrific. Squash side dish is off the charts !! Super fresh Cesar salad with some nice touches for flavor. Love this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner! Good appetizers and then great main courses. Our server was nice and they did a great job. We were in the enclosed patio which was great with the fireplace. We'll definitely come back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great ambiance and amazing food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The steaks were the best. The service excellent.
The noise level from the very close next table was a large negative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.