About Selanne Steak Tavern

1464 South Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

Selanne Steak Tavern, owned by Anaheim Duck legend Teemu Selanne and located in a quaint, historical home built in 1934, features an upscale casual neighborhood tavern and a traditional steakhouse. In addition to the absolute best steaks in Orange County, the Tavern offers great burgers, small plates, salads and appetizers as well as an extensive world class wine list, great specialty cocktails and craft beers. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with an amazing Selanne experience!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (Kitchen closes at 9:30 pm); Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am (Kitchen closed at 10:30 pm); CLOSED MONDAYS

Cross Street:
Mountain

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-9881

Website:
http://www.selannesteaktavern.com/

Entertainment:
Please call the restaurant for any entertainment offerings.

Catering:
Private Catering is available for all of your events or special occasions

Parking Details:
Valet parking $6.00 in alley directly behind restaurant off Mountain St. - Metered street parking - Free street parking 2 blocks east.

Public Transit:
Within 1 block & seasonal free Laguna Beach shuttle

Executive Chef:
Joshua Severson

Private Party Facilities:
Indoor and outdoor private dining for groups up to 20 to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Jessenia Uvidia - Director of Events: 9497159881x2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We make your events special! Please feel free to inquire about our services.

Restaurant Photos

  • Selanne Steak Tavern, Laguna Beach, CA
Selanne Steak Tavern, Laguna Beach, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Selanne Steak Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Orange County
Best Service
South Orange County
Steakhouse
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Laguna Beach ›

Special Occasion (36)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Romantic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (10)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Private Room (8)
Fireplace (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Authentic (7)
Live Sports (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Scenic View (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was expensive, and mediocre. Beet a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was expensive, and mediocre. Beet appetizer was excellent, as were the prawns, but the short ribs were a bit tough (supposed to have been braised all day) and the $70 bone in ribeye was nothing special, especially for a place that is considered a steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Fantadtic dinner!!! Delicious food!!! W ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantadtic dinner!!! Delicious food!!! We're coming back for the mac and cheese!!!!

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful experience! Can hardly wait t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful experience! Can hardly wait to get back there!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food ! Excellent potential. the s ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Good food !

Excellent potential.

the service was excellent, the waiter explained everything we asked,

he was allways smiling, professional, the ambiance in that smaller room was a bit cold,

but the wine took care of it !

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

The restaurant was cozy and had a warm a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The restaurant was cozy and had a warm atmosphere. The service was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delectable! Amazing service a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Absolutely delectable! Amazing service and even better food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an amazing time at Selanne Steak Tav ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Had an amazing time at Selanne Steak Tavern celebrating my boyfriends birthday! I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The good was some of the best we have ev ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The good was some of the best we have ever had and the service was amazing! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sellanes is a wonderful place to celebra ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Sellanes is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion however the restaurant was very cold, we shivered thru dinner. We were seated at a high top table which felt too casual for an elegant dinner, it would have been appropriate if we were just there for tapas. The food is always amazing but not enough vegetable sides were offered.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The Hostess was slow and snobbish. I do ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Hostess was slow and snobbish. I do not know what her problem was other than she felt life was all about her and to hell with the customers.

Tags: Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service and food are exceptional. Ve ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The service and food are exceptional. Very much an up scale Steak house.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just excellent! Food and wine were excep ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Just excellent! Food and wine were exceptional, personnel was very polite and helpful. Highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations a week ahead. I wasn ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I made reservations a week ahead. I wasn't told that there would be a wedding party going on. My guests and I were seated at a claustrophobic table. The restaurant was packed. It would have alright if the food was good. We ordered chateaubriand. It was Terrible. The meat quality was worst than a Choice cut. On top of that, it was unevenly done. I wonder if the over crowdedness has something to do with it. The only highlights were our drinks. Gin martini and manhattan were great. I so wanted to try this restaurant since it switched from Bistro 75 to Selannes. Bistro 75 had great food. I like Teemu, but he will not help his reputation with this kind of food. So disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Quality A+++ Service A+++ Jared table se ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Quality A+++ Service A+++

Jared table service outstanding.

The GM / Josh is exceptional- wine recommendations a rare treasure.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time in Laguna Beach ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our first time in Laguna Beach and our hotel recommended Selanne's. We went for our 15 year wedding anniversary. The service was outstanding and the food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Selänne Steak Tavern has been one of my ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Selänne Steak Tavern has been one of my favorite places to dine for the past 3 years! The food is amazing & never disappoints. The drinks, especially Teemu's Moscow Mule, are the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a disappointing experience for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was a disappointing experience for a special birthday for my husband. The restaurant does not appear to be able to manage their business. The food was served late and we were left hungry waiting for our food. The food was good when we received it, but we were already past hungry. This restaurant cannot decide whether it is a sports bar or a fine dining experience as they charge prices consistent with fine dining. The ambience was loud sports bar and did not allow for an intimate conversation. All in all, a very disappointing experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Foi gras was outstanding. Scallops were ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Foi gras was outstanding. Scallops were outstanding. Beet Ravioli was a welcome surprise. Lord Stanley cut was not tender enough - a bit chewy. I expected better for the price. Bone marrow butter was outstanding. Martini was so-so. Mushrooms were some of the best I've ever had. Broccoli was not tender enough, but my personal preference is for longer cooked vegetables. Bread was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Drove down from San Jose to attend a con ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Drove down from San Jose to attend a concert in Laguna Beach and was looking for a restaurant in the area to also celebrate my wife's birthday. Long time Sharks fans so was excited to find Selanne's. Food and service were excellent, little short on the hockey memorabilia though. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food service ambience We will def ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food service ambience

We will definitely be back 😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter, Vito, was fabulous. Very knowle ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Waiter, Vito, was fabulous. Very knowledgeable about the bar menu and choice. Helped steee us to a great dinner choice and we had a great time!!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our family of four dined here on a Tuesd ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Our family of four dined here on a Tuesday night. The food was delicious. Steak was cooked perfectly. Mashed potatoes and macaroni & cheese were outstanding. Even my 12 year old's chicken fingers with fries were delicious. Service was fast and friendly. Prices are definitely high, with an 8 oz. petite filet at $46, but this is typical of great steak restaurants.

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The place is decorated very beautifully. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The place is decorated very beautifully. It is contemporary but actually cozy too. We started in the bar. The specialty drinks were outstanding! My friend had a Cosmo and I had a spicy margarita! They were both excellent!

We asked to be seated in an area where we could talk and hear each other. We sat in the Wine Library. It was very cozy and not to loud at all. However the rest of the restaurant was very vibrant.

We shared a Caesar salad, filet mignon, and broccolini. All were cooked to perfection! Their wine list is outstanding including their wines by the glass. We each go 2 different reds....Catena Malbec and Numanthia Termes. For dessert, we opted for dessert wine. The Inniskillan Reisling Ice Wine was better than the house Limoncello, although it was good too!

This place is not cheap, but is definitely worth experiencing for a special occasion! I would highly recommend it!

Service was outstanding. Multiple people were near by at all times for anything you needed. And they were friendly on top of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined here on a Sunday evening. It w ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We dined here on a Sunday evening. It wasn't too crowded so the noise level was perfect for dining and chatting. We started with two delicious cocktails, The Hat Trick and the Spicy Pear. Next we had the scallops and beet ravioli. Both were great. Scallops were nicely done and the beet ravioli stuffed with goat cheese were awesome. We've never had anything like them before. We each had a steak. My husband had the New York with peppercorn sauce and I had the 8 oz filet. Honestly, some of the best cuts of beef we've ever had. No excess fat, done perfectly to our liking, superb. Per our Server Jared, we tried the mixed mushrooms and we're glad we did. Wonderful flavor and a great addition to our steaks. We had a great meal, service was excellent. We will most certainly be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent food was good atmo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was excellent food was good atmosphere was great and if you're lucky Selanne might be there tending bar or just visiting

Tags: Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

As ever a great experience and outstandi ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As ever a great experience and outstanding steaks. Service fun and attentive!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant and likely the best st ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Lovely restaurant and likely the best steak I have had in my life. However -- it is a bit pricey so be prepared -- 12 oz filet is $62 a la carte and drinks are all $10-15+. But the food is fabulous! Plan on $100 per person.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. The steaks were amazing. Ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food. The steaks were amazing. Service was fun, knowledgeable and very helpful!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and wine. Staff was stella ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Amazing food and wine. Staff was stellar! Best filet mignon I have ever had! Desserts were a "10"!

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great time but steak was a bit disappoin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great time but steak was a bit disappointing. When you pay $70 for a steak you assume it will be amazing and we've made better ones at home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The restaurant was great. Food was excel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The restaurant was great. Food was excellent. Service was outstanding. Nice to go somewhere that is not a chain. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE FOOD WAS QUITE GOOD. THE BIGGEST PR ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

THE FOOD WAS QUITE GOOD. THE BIGGEST PROBLEM BY FAR WAS BEING GIVEN A TABLE IN THE BAR. IT WAS WAY TOO LOUD AND THE LOUDEST PEOPLE AT THE BAR WERE 4 FT AWAY FROM US. IT WAS A DISAPPOINTING EXPERIENCE.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Wonderful, if pricy meal. Loved the atmo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Wonderful, if pricy meal. Loved the atmosphere. Steaks were cooked perfect.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is clear this restaurant uses Open Ta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

It is clear this restaurant uses Open Table to shuttle out of town clients and non-regulars in Laguna Beach to the most undesirable tables and times to fill the restaurant. Availability restricted to 5:15 and after 8:30 on Sat night. Seated in "Loft," rear add on to main restaurant. Service very pushy and rude. Food good, but wine list overpriced even by Manhattan standards, and pours are sub-standard. Call the restaurant directly weeks in advance and "be pushy." Do not let's them sit you in the Loft unless you are a big party. Tell the service to go away. Good luck.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Doneness was a bit off. Our medium rare ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Doneness was a bit off. Our medium rare was rare and our medium was medium well.

broccolini 3/10

butternut squash 8/10

mac and cheese 7/10

strip loin waygu 9/10

filet mignon 7/10

starter bread 7/10

Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a fantastic anniversary meal here ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a fantastic anniversary meal here. The service was outstanding. To start, my husband loved the beet ravioli (no pasta involved) and I loved my scallops. We both got steaks, there are some seriously pricey ones on the menu, but lots of options for price points. We sampled truffle risotto (my husband thought there was too much truffle, I thought it was heavenly), mac n cheese and mushrooms in the most delectable sauce. For desert, the flourless chocolate cake was unreal, but it came with curry ice cream that neither of us liked. A+ for creativity though. We sat at a table upstairs and really could not have asked for a better anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Selanne thinking it could be ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We went to Selanne thinking it could be another Laguna Beach Tourist joint. Thankfully it wasn't. The place is great from all angles. The Food, the service, The ambience were great. We enjoyed every minute their. They have a tavern, an enclosed outdoor room and at time an upstairs area to enjoy. We will be back, this will become our place in Laguna Beach.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing, well worth the price! ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was amazing, well worth the price! We had the Chateaubriand and it was cooked to perfection. The group at the table next to us was extremely loud but our server was kind enough to reseat us at another table. Will definitely be going back when craving an excellent steak.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful service wonderful food

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Beautiful service wonderful food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined here to celebrate our 50th wedd ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We dined here to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. Even the valet man wished us "happy anniversary", as we stepped out of the car!!! He had been told, and he remembered! All the employees were exceptional. I was super impressed. Ambiance is very fun. Filet and mashed potatoes were outstanding. My daughter-in-law said she should have ordered more mashed potatoes for dessert. Selane has valet parking, which is great, since there is very little parking in the area.

It is expensive, but we will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.