Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Secret Location

4.2
157 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary European
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

Secret Location answers the question about whether to go shopping or go out to eat by providing both for those in Vancouver. The tasting room provides European inspired cuisine with multi-course meals, pastries, artisanal coffee and an extensive wine list so that shoppers won�t need to shop at Secret Location hungry.

The tasting room at Secret Location offers lunch, brunch and dinner. The cuisine is unique with such choices as a BLFT sandwich, which has bacon, lettuce and tomato, of course, but two more special ingredients � foie gras and a fried egg. During dinner hours, give the smoked sturgeon and caviar, Margret duck ham, butter poached lobster or the octopus & artichoke a try.

Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday, Tuesday: 11am–5pm
Wednesday to Friday: 11am–late
Saturday: 10am–late
Sunday: 10am–5pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(604) 685-0090
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Montgomery Lau
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We create memorable experiences for small parties, grand dinners and elegant events. Design a contemporary European evening in our visually stimulating Tasting Room. Work with our executive chef and in house pastry chef for distinct canapés, multi-course meals and unforgettable desserts.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Omid Karimy: (604) 685-0090 ext. 2
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Carrall Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
To the right of the restaurant there is public parking after 6pm. Additionally access the parkade located one block west on Water Street.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Waterfront Station
Chinatown Skytrain Station
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 157 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on July 17, 2016

Great, knowledgeable staff. It's absolutely beautiful and prices are not over the top expensive.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was 90% awful and left me with a stomach ache and much regret. If you're going to spend some $$ and want a great experience with the Vancouver foodie scene, avoid this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2016

Place is great! tasting menu is definitely worth it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 29, 2016

Dish with interesting sauces, but no bread to wipe up the sauce with! Then, $4 for bread!!
$20 burger= too much.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 19, 2016

Still Hungry!
Food was delicious but portion was very very tiny which it didn't fill me and my friend. Even having good food in this restaurant but making sure entree is big enough for customer to feel full before get out the door is also very very important! In this restaurant, you might get full only if you order at least TWO entree on top of appetizer, dessert, otherwise, you really need to go McDonald afterward!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2016

Went there for brunch on Sat. The place was quiet and relaxing. Loved the interior, the service and the food. Liked everything but except for the music. The pop music At the background might work at night but it's really really weird during the day considering it's a high-end designed, hotel-like restaurant. It could have ruined the whole experience. Other than that everything is great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2016

Secret Location is a place where is suitable for business meeting, dating, and afternoon tea with friends. I ordered scrambled egg white, and it came in a relatively small portion. The taste was very complex and dynamic. I would recommend you to give it a try if you are a calorie counter and also a foodie.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2016

Very expensive. The environment looks good and the location is perfect. However the food is really poor. We ordered chicken and lobster and we couldn't really finish it because it didn't have a good taste. We pass on the desert too. Valley was so expensive $12

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2016

Very personable experience, the atmosphere upon walking in was very inviting and warm. Exceptional food by Chef Montgomery and his team, followed by a meticulous service from the front of house. Great overall experience, our first time here and many more to come.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2016

Two people for lunch. Plates very artfully arranged. Meal taste and variety was lovely. Bit pricey for lunch $100 no alcohol. Shared three appies and one main. There was not one other guest in the restaurant and we arrived 12:15-ish and stayed through 130pm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2016

Incredible!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2016

Outstanding foodie restaurant. Everything handcrafted and nuanced , worthy of a Michelin star.Avant-garde setting with excellent waitstaff knowledgeable about the wine choices and pairings.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 28, 2016

the environment was good. food not good as expected, and we waited for about half hour after we ordered. service was ok. not recomented to my friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2016

The service was fantastic! The waiter and the sommelier were very attentive. Not only did they ensure we had everything we wanted but were happy to make changes as required by allergies. Their suggested wines were exemplary!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2016

This is a stellar restaurant and at the cutting edge of the Vancouver scene.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2016

Service and food was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2016

Ambiance was perfect for brunch and they made us very comfortable while indulging our request to take our group photo. My friend says they had great great presentation/plating and the complimentary pastry (churros) were a present surprise

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, great food, wonderful atmosphere.
Tables nicely spaced out and very comfortable.
Servers were great and very pleasant and always had a smile.
We went for the Italian Tasting dinner and it was totally unbelievable delicious. Each course was beautifully presented and delicious and we were not rushed which made our evening very enjoyable.
Thank you to Chef Lau and his staff for a wonderful meal and most wonderful and enjoyable evening and congratulations on your new restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 20, 2016

I was surprised that the restaurant was far from busy. The decor and service were great. The food was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2016

The menu and the servers were complicated.
What to focus on; the food or our conversations? We chose the latter, and so I really have no idea what I ate. While I do recall the food being quite excellent, it would perhaps be better enjoyed as predominantly a dining experience to get the most out of their incredible attention to detail.
Rather pricey at about $150 per person.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 12, 2016

This was a very odd dining experience! The food was actually really quite good and the waiter was knowledgeable and well spoken. The menu was fixed and offered some interesting and creative ideas, albeit a bit unusual. The Arctic Char with olive paste and edible mud was amazing. Atmosphere very bizarre but also intriguing. Both warm and cold this place left an impression for sure but half the time I felt like I was dining at Holt Renfrew. We were told the seats that our butts were parked in were very high end designer and expensive but not comfortable at all. Overall way way overpriced ( 44.00 for two glasses of ok red) but we had a great time!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 12, 2016

We went for the Valentines Day six-course tasting menu that was inspired by Greek Gods , and the food was just phenomenal. I hope to come back at some point to try more from Chef Lau.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 6, 2016

Lovely place, its good for girls gathering !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 23, 2016

It is a good restaurant . More interesting

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 3, 2016

The ambience was awesome. Love this place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2016

Amazing! Very complex and unique collection of courses. Service was fantastic. We had been in Vancouver for over a week and went to many fine dinning establishments. This was our last and definitely favorite experience. Highly recommended

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2015

A cozy window table looking out over a model being photographed on Water Street was the perfect setting for a lovely Boxing Day brunch. Our waiter, Nye, was the perfect amount of attentive, letting us be except when we needed our glasses refilled or a little dessert. My lobster hash was awesomeazing, and the husband loved his potato pancakes (at Nye's suggestion he added poached eggs - perfect). Our dessert was the most amazing, beet-based creation - who knew that chocolate and beets would work so well together? Every staff member we encountered was perfectly charming, all making for an experience that was, wait for it, perfect.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 11, 2015

The food was good, but the decor and ambiance is very austere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 4, 2015

The tasting menu was incredible. It's among the top restaurants in Vancouver.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 13, 2015

I took my mom to Secret Location for her birthday this Friday night. It was our first time here as well. I called to restaurant to let them know that this will be a birthday event and upon our arrival to our table, there was a birthday card waiting for her - how lovely and thoughtful of restaurant.
We tried the tasting menu and it was a good choice. Everything was very well done and nicely presented. The price is higher than other fine dining restaurant in Vancouver but it was worth it! Chef Lau actually came out and chatted with us and told us about his background and the idea behind his dishes.
Since my mom is allergic to nuts, the chef actually made us a special dessert that was nut free - just for her!!
I'm super impressed with the way we were treated in the restaurant. Can't wait to return to try their brunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 6, 2015

I was looking for a good restaurant to take my best friend to for a belated birthday dinner and went to Secret Location based on a recommendation from a co-worker. I made the reservation online via Open Table and made a note informing the restaurant that it was my friend's birthday and it would be great if they could write "happy birthday" on the dessert.

When we arrived at the restaurant, we were promptly approached and seated. The restaurant was not busy that night eventhough it was a Friday night. Perhaps it was due to the rain? After looking at the menu, the both of us decided to try the tasting menu.

The decor and atmosphere of the restaurant was stunning, as was the food. The dishes were almost too beautiful to eat and the service was great. The waiters were very attentive and seemed knowledgeable about their menu and food.

Our issue was that the plates were tiny. By the end of meal, neither of us were really full even after 6 plates of food including dessert. Only 2 of the dishes stood out; everything else tasted bland. One of the dishes I felt was plated incorrectly. It had deep fried rice crumbled on top, but the plate they served it on was raised in the middle, therefore the rice spilled all over the table the minute we tried to pick anything up.

The most disappointing thing was that "happy birthday" was forgotten on my friend's dessert. When we first got to the restaurant, I even approached our server and asked him specifically if they could do it and he promised that he would make sure it happened. So eventhough I made a note on my reservation AND asked our server the night of AND the restaurant wasn't busy, they somehow still managed to forget my request.

The meal was average especially considering how much I paid and I was disappointed they forgot to write "happy birthday", but my best friend enjoyed it there so that's really all that mattered to me. I'm not sure I will go back....maybe for brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2015

It was a quiet Thursday evening and not many others were in the restaurant. The service received was top-notch, very friendly and knowledgable. This was a very unique experience and would recommend it. Very different from any Vancouver restaurant experience I have had recently. We went with the $95 tasting menu accompanied with the $45 wine pairing. May be considered pricey but worth it; great tastes and satisfying.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 31, 2015

Amazing place for brunch . Super yummy food and amazing service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 30, 2015

Secret Location was a really good find. The Service was outstanding and the food serious but with enough playfulness to be really interesting. I love a restaurant that puts out great quality without losing the fun! Go for the tasting menu it is well worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2015

Nice place & nice food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 26, 2015

We were hesitant to sit at the chef's table but that only lasted for a very brief moment. Our evening exceeded our expectations in every way possible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 26, 2015

Having had brunch several times at Secret Location we were expecting something "special indeed"....well..expectations exceeded. The experience hit tell of our buttons. A very warm welcome. The room is very comfortable...can't think of any restaurants in town that compare to Secret Location's style sense..it is a special place for sure. The service was unmatched..from our greeting..friendly and warm..to our seating..through the evening..simply impeccable! I felt a strong sense of appreciation and respect from all encounters with all the staff. This respect aspect is evident in the food as well which was so well presented and prepared. Each course was thoroughly explained along with the wine pairings. The creations presented..in this writers honest opinion..we're not only beautiful..not only tasty..but imaginative..creative to a degree of which I find inspiring..invigorating. That's how we felt after leaving Secret Location..invigorated! A big thank you to all at Secret Location for making the time we spent with you the most memorable of experiences.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 24, 2015

Outstanding service and unique dishes. A little on the pricey side but everything was executed very well. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 12, 2015

Excellent service! I never have to ask for more water. It's always refilled by servers promptly. Love the ambience and the food was brilliant! Every dish is like an art on a plate. So pretty, so delicate, so very delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2015

Everything was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4

Tweets by Secret Location