Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Miku RestaurantMiku Restaurant
(2463)
$$$$
Japanese | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 110 times today
NightingaleNightingale
(1127)
$$$$
Canadian | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 72 times today
Osteria Savio VolpeOsteria Savio Volpe
(870)
$$$$
Italian | Mount Pleasant, Vancouver
Booked 48 times today
Blue Water CafeBlue Water Cafe
(3637)
$$$$
Seafood | Yaletown, Vancouver
Booked 63 times today
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop HouseJoe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
(3519)
$$$$
Seafood | West End, Vancouver
Booked 54 times today
BotanistBotanist
(215)
$$$$
Contemporary Canadian | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 50 times today
Top of Vancouver Revolving RestaurantTop of Vancouver Revolving Restaurant
(2281)
$$$$
International | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 24 times today
GlowbalGlowbal
(831)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Stadium District, Vancouver
Booked 46 times today
forageforage
(1819)
$$$$
Northwest | West End, Vancouver
Booked 48 times today
COAST RestaurantCOAST Restaurant
(2265)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 32 times today
Hawksworth RestaurantHawksworth Restaurant
(2207)
$$$$
Canadian | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 45 times today
Black & Blue SteakhouseBlack & Blue Steakhouse
(1985)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 42 times today
Seasons in the ParkSeasons in the Park
(3181)
$$$$
Northwest | Riley Park, Vancouver
Booked 36 times today
CinCin Ristorante + BarCinCin Ristorante + Bar
(2193)
$$$$
Italian | West End, Vancouver
Booked 26 times today
The Teahouse RestaurantThe Teahouse Restaurant
(2125)
$$$$
Northwest | Stanley Park, Vancouver
Booked 26 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

About Secret Location

Secret Location answers the question about whether to go shopping or go out to eat by providing both for those in Vancouver. The tasting room provides European inspired cuisine with multi-course meals, pastries, artisanal coffee and an extensive wine list so that shoppers won�t need to shop at Secret Location hungry.

The tasting room at Secret Location offers lunch, brunch and dinner. The cuisine is unique with such choices as a BLFT sandwich, which has bacon, lettuce and tomato, of course, but two more special ingredients � foie gras and a fried egg. During dinner hours, give the smoked sturgeon and caviar, Margret duck ham, butter poached lobster or the octopus & artichoke a try.

1 water St
Vancouver, BC V6B 2H9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Monday, Tuesday: 11am–5pm
Wednesday to Friday: 11am–late
Saturday: 10am–late
Sunday: 10am–5pm

Cross Street:
Carrall Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 685-0090

Website:
http://www.secretlocation.ca/

Parking Details:
To the right of the restaurant there is public parking after 6pm. Additionally access the parkade located one block west on Water Street.

Public Transit:
Waterfront Station
Chinatown Skytrain Station

Executive Chef:
Montgomery Lau

Private Party Facilities:
We create memorable experiences for small parties, grand dinners and elegant events. Design a contemporary European evening in our visually stimulating Tasting Room. Work with our executive chef and in house pastry chef for distinct canapés, multi-course meals and unforgettable desserts.

Private Party Contact:
Omid Karimy: (604) 685-0090 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Secret Location Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (192)
Fit for Foodies (185)
Romantic (145)
See All
Great for Brunch (118)
Neighborhood Gem (93)
Good for Groups (84)
Great for Lunch (74)
Hot Spot (72)
Notable Wine List (66)
Late-night Find (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Scenic View (20)
Kid-friendly (16)
Sort by
S
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great, knowledgeable staff. It's absolutely beautiful and prices are not over the top expensive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was 90% awful and left me with a stomach ache and much regret. If you're going to spend some $$$ and want a great experience with the Vancouver foodie scene, avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Place is great! tasting menu is definitely worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Dish with interesting sauces, but no bread to wipe up the sauce with! Then, $4 for bread!!
$20 burger= too much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Still Hungry!
Food was delicious but portion was very very tiny which it didn't fill me and my friend. Even having good food in this restaurant but making sure entree is big enough for customer to feel full before get out the door is also very very important! In this restaurant, you might get full only if you order at least TWO entree on top of appetizer, dessert, otherwise, you really need to go McDonald afterward!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Went there for brunch on Sat. The place was quiet and relaxing. Loved the interior, the service and the food. Liked everything but except for the music. The pop music At the background might work at night but it's really really weird during the day considering it's a high-end designed, hotel-like restaurant. It could have ruined the whole experience. Other than that everything is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Secret Location is a place where is suitable for business meeting, dating, and afternoon tea with friends. I ordered scrambled egg white, and it came in a relatively small portion. The taste was very complex and dynamic. I would recommend you to give it a try if you are a calorie counter and also a foodie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Very personable experience, the atmosphere upon walking in was very inviting and warm. Exceptional food by Chef Montgomery and his team, followed by a meticulous service from the front of house. Great overall experience, our first time here and many more to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Two people for lunch. Plates very artfully arranged. Meal taste and variety was lovely. Bit pricey for lunch $100 no alcohol. Shared three appies and one main. There was not one other guest in the restaurant and we arrived 12:15-ish and stayed through 130pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Outstanding foodie restaurant. Everything handcrafted and nuanced , worthy of a Michelin star.Avant-garde setting with excellent waitstaff knowledgeable about the wine choices and pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 28, 2016

the environment was good. food not good as expected, and we waited for about half hour after we ordered. service was ok. not recomented to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2016

The service was fantastic! The waiter and the sommelier were very attentive. Not only did they ensure we had everything we wanted but were happy to make changes as required by allergies. Their suggested wines were exemplary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2016

This is a stellar restaurant and at the cutting edge of the Vancouver scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Service and food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Ambiance was perfect for brunch and they made us very comfortable while indulging our request to take our group photo. My friend says they had great great presentation/plating and the complimentary pastry (churros) were a present surprise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, great food, wonderful atmosphere.
Tables nicely spaced out and very comfortable.
Servers were great and very pleasant and always had a smile.
We went for the Italian Tasting dinner and it was totally unbelievable delicious. Each course was beautifully presented and delicious and we were not rushed which made our evening very enjoyable.
Thank you to Chef Lau and his staff for a wonderful meal and most wonderful and enjoyable evening and congratulations on your new restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2016

I was surprised that the restaurant was far from busy. The decor and service were great. The food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The menu and the servers were complicated.
What to focus on; the food or our conversations? We chose the latter, and so I really have no idea what I ate. While I do recall the food being quite excellent, it would perhaps be better enjoyed as predominantly a dining experience to get the most out of their incredible attention to detail.
Rather pricey at about $150 per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2016

This was a very odd dining experience! The food was actually really quite good and the waiter was knowledgeable and well spoken. The menu was fixed and offered some interesting and creative ideas, albeit a bit unusual. The Arctic Char with olive paste and edible mud was amazing. Atmosphere very bizarre but also intriguing. Both warm and cold this place left an impression for sure but half the time I felt like I was dining at Holt Renfrew. We were told the seats that our butts were parked in were very high end designer and expensive but not comfortable at all. Overall way way overpriced ( 44.00 for two glasses of ok red) but we had a great time!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2016

We went for the Valentines Day six-course tasting menu that was inspired by Greek Gods , and the food was just phenomenal. I hope to come back at some point to try more from Chef Lau.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Lovely place, its good for girls gathering !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 23, 2016

It is a good restaurant . More interesting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 3, 2016

The ambience was awesome. Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Amazing! Very complex and unique collection of courses. Service was fantastic. We had been in Vancouver for over a week and went to many fine dinning establishments. This was our last and definitely favorite experience. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2015

A cozy window table looking out over a model being photographed on Water Street was the perfect setting for a lovely Boxing Day brunch. Our waiter, Nye, was the perfect amount of attentive, letting us be except when we needed our glasses refilled or a little dessert. My lobster hash was awesomeazing, and the husband loved his potato pancakes (at Nye's suggestion he added poached eggs - perfect). Our dessert was the most amazing, beet-based creation - who knew that chocolate and beets would work so well together? Every staff member we encountered was perfectly charming, all making for an experience that was, wait for it, perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2015

The food was good, but the decor and ambiance is very austere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2015

The tasting menu was incredible. It's among the top restaurants in Vancouver.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2015

I took my mom to Secret Location for her birthday this Friday night. It was our first time here as well. I called to restaurant to let them know that this will be a birthday event and upon our arrival to our table, there was a birthday card waiting for her - how lovely and thoughtful of restaurant.
We tried the tasting menu and it was a good choice. Everything was very well done and nicely presented. The price is higher than other fine dining restaurant in Vancouver but it was worth it! Chef Lau actually came out and chatted with us and told us about his background and the idea behind his dishes.
Since my mom is allergic to nuts, the chef actually made us a special dessert that was nut free - just for her!!
I'm super impressed with the way we were treated in the restaurant. Can't wait to return to try their brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2015

I was looking for a good restaurant to take my best friend to for a belated birthday dinner and went to Secret Location based on a recommendation from a co-worker. I made the reservation online via Open Table and made a note informing the restaurant that it was my friend's birthday and it would be great if they could write "happy birthday" on the dessert.

When we arrived at the restaurant, we were promptly approached and seated. The restaurant was not busy that night eventhough it was a Friday night. Perhaps it was due to the rain? After looking at the menu, the both of us decided to try the tasting menu.

The decor and atmosphere of the restaurant was stunning, as was the food. The dishes were almost too beautiful to eat and the service was great. The waiters were very attentive and seemed knowledgeable about their menu and food.

Our issue was that the plates were tiny. By the end of meal, neither of us were really full even after 6 plates of food including dessert. Only 2 of the dishes stood out; everything else tasted bland. One of the dishes I felt was plated incorrectly. It had deep fried rice crumbled on top, but the plate they served it on was raised in the middle, therefore the rice spilled all over the table the minute we tried to pick anything up.

The most disappointing thing was that "happy birthday" was forgotten on my friend's dessert. When we first got to the restaurant, I even approached our server and asked him specifically if they could do it and he promised that he would make sure it happened. So eventhough I made a note on my reservation AND asked our server the night of AND the restaurant wasn't busy, they somehow still managed to forget my request.

The meal was average especially considering how much I paid and I was disappointed they forgot to write "happy birthday", but my best friend enjoyed it there so that's really all that mattered to me. I'm not sure I will go back....maybe for brunch.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2015

It was a quiet Thursday evening and not many others were in the restaurant. The service received was top-notch, very friendly and knowledgable. This was a very unique experience and would recommend it. Very different from any Vancouver restaurant experience I have had recently. We went with the $95 tasting menu accompanied with the $45 wine pairing. May be considered pricey but worth it; great tastes and satisfying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Amazing place for brunch . Super yummy food and amazing service!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2015

Secret Location was a really good find. The Service was outstanding and the food serious but with enough playfulness to be really interesting. I love a restaurant that puts out great quality without losing the fun! Go for the tasting menu it is well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2015

Nice place & nice food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2015

We were hesitant to sit at the chef's table but that only lasted for a very brief moment. Our evening exceeded our expectations in every way possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2015

Having had brunch several times at Secret Location we were expecting something "special indeed"....well..expectations exceeded. The experience hit tell of our buttons. A very warm welcome. The room is very comfortable...can't think of any restaurants in town that compare to Secret Location's style sense..it is a special place for sure. The service was unmatched..from our greeting..friendly and warm..to our seating..through the evening..simply impeccable! I felt a strong sense of appreciation and respect from all encounters with all the staff. This respect aspect is evident in the food as well which was so well presented and prepared. Each course was thoroughly explained along with the wine pairings. The creations presented..in this writers honest opinion..we're not only beautiful..not only tasty..but imaginative..creative to a degree of which I find inspiring..invigorating. That's how we felt after leaving Secret Location..invigorated! A big thank you to all at Secret Location for making the time we spent with you the most memorable of experiences.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2015

Outstanding service and unique dishes. A little on the pricey side but everything was executed very well. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 12, 2015

Excellent service! I never have to ask for more water. It's always refilled by servers promptly. Love the ambience and the food was brilliant! Every dish is like an art on a plate. So pretty, so delicate, so very delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 15, 2015

Everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 26, 2015

First visit here with friends for brunch. The decor of the restaurant is gorgeous. The food was delicious and artfully presented. Some of the best we've had in our many dining outings. Make sure you try the " interactive" and yummy desserts. The service was excellent also. Everyone was so attentive and our server ( Nye) had a wonderful sense of humour. The restaurant was not very busy at all and I fail to see why as it is such a fine restaurant overall. Only con is that it might be a bit pricey for the portion sizes. Absolutely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.