About Secret Location

1 water St
Vancouver, BC V6B 2H9
View Larger Map

One part lifestyle boutique, one part restaurant, Secret Location is a concept store that offers deliciously fresh design and cuisine. Housed under one roof is a visually stimulating Tasting Room and carefully curated retail boutique.

Our Tasting Room offers European inspired cuisine in casually elegant surroundings. Enjoy multi-course meals, extensive selection of wines by the glass, Italian artisanal coffee and pastries made daily in-house.

Our boutique offers new, thought provoking pieces that embrace creative ingenuity, quality craftsmanship and bold thinking. Shop fashion, literature, novelty, gadgets and home accessories.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Monday, Tuesday: 11am–5pm
Wednesday to Friday: 11am–late
Saturday: 10am–late
Sunday: 10am–5pm

Cross Street:
Carrall Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 685-0090

Website:
http://www.secretlocation.ca/

Parking Details:
To the right of the restaurant there is public parking after 6pm. Additionally access the parkade located one block west on Water Street. We offer valet service on Fridays and Saturdays.

Public Transit:
Waterfront Station
Chinatown Skytrain Station

Executive Chef:
Montgomery Lau

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

We create memorable experiences for small parties, grand dinners and elegant events. Design a contemporary European evening in our visually stimulating Tasting Room. Work with our executive chef and in house pastry chef for distinct canapés, multi-course meals and unforgettable desserts.

Secret Location Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Gastown ›

special occasion (12)
romantic (10)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
neighborhood gem (6)
notable wine list (6)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (4)
good for groups (4)
scenic view (3)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Secret Location is a place where is suit ...

Dined 3 days ago

Secret Location is a place where is suitable for business meeting, dating, and afternoon tea with friends. I ordered scrambled egg white, and it came in a relatively small portion. The taste was very complex and dynamic. I would recommend you to give it a try if you are a calorie counter and also a foodie.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Very personable experience, the atmosphe ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Very personable experience, the atmosphere upon walking in was very inviting and warm. Exceptional food by Chef Montgomery and his team, followed by a meticulous service from the front of house. Great overall experience, our first time here and many more to come.

food4
ambience3
service3

Two people for lunch. Plates very artful ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Two people for lunch. Plates very artfully arranged. Meal taste and variety was lovely. Bit pricey for lunch $100 no alcohol. Shared three appies and one main. There was not one other guest in the restaurant and we arrived 12:15-ish and stayed through 130pm.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Incredible!

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding foodie restaurant. Everythi ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Outstanding foodie restaurant. Everything handcrafted and nuanced , worthy of a Michelin star.Avant-garde setting with excellent waitstaff knowledgeable about the wine choices and pairings.

food1
ambience1
service3

the environment was good. food not good ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

the environment was good. food not good as expected, and we waited for about half hour after we ordered. service was ok. not recomented to my friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic! The waiter an ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The service was fantastic! The waiter and the sommelier were very attentive. Not only did they ensure we had everything we wanted but were happy to make changes as required by allergies. Their suggested wines were exemplary!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the tasting menu!

Dined on March 18, 2016

This is a stellar restaurant and at the cutting edge of the Vancouver scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food was excellent

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Service and food was excellent

food5
ambience5
service4

Ambiance was perfect for brunch and they ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Ambiance was perfect for brunch and they made us very comfortable while indulging our request to take our group photo. My friend says they had great great presentation/plating and the complimentary pastry (churros) were a present surprise

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, great food, wonder ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, great food, wonderful atmosphere. Tables nicely spaced out and very comfortable. Servers were great and very pleasant and always had a smile. We went for the Italian Tasting dinner and it was totally unbelievable delicious. Each course was beautifully presented and delicious and we were not rushed which made our evening very enjoyable. Thank you to Chef Lau and his staff for a wonderful meal and most wonderful and enjoyable evening and congratulations on your new restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

I was surprised that the restaurant was ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

I was surprised that the restaurant was far from busy. The decor and service were great. The food was fantastic.

food5
ambience4
service5

The menu and the servers were complicate ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The menu and the servers were complicated. What to focus on; the food or our conversations? We chose the latter, and so I really have no idea what I ate. While I do recall the food being quite excellent, it would perhaps be better enjoyed as predominantly a dining experience to get the most out of their incredible attention to detail. Rather pricey at about $150 per person.

food4
ambience2
service5
value1

Unusual place but adventurous menu!

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was a very odd dining experience! The food was actually really quite good and the waiter was knowledgeable and well spoken. The menu was fixed and offered some interesting and creative ideas, albeit a bit unusual. The Arctic Char with olive paste and edible mud was amazing. Atmosphere very bizarre but also intriguing. Both warm and cold this place left an impression for sure but half the time I felt like I was dining at Holt Renfrew. We were told the seats that our butts were parked in were very high end designer and expensive but not comfortable at all. Overall way way overpriced ( 44.00 for two glasses of ok red) but we had a great time!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great food!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We went for the Valentines Day six-course tasting menu that was inspired by Greek Gods , and the food was just phenomenal. I hope to come back at some point to try more from Chef Lau.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

It is a good restaurant . More interesti ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

It is a good restaurant . More interesting

food4
ambience4
service4

The ambience was awesome. Love this pla ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

The ambience was awesome. Love this place

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Very complex and unique collec ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Amazing! Very complex and unique collection of courses. Service was fantastic. We had been in Vancouver for over a week and went to many fine dinning establishments. This was our last and definitely favorite experience. Highly recommended

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect rainy day brunch

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

A cozy window table looking out over a model being photographed on Water Street was the perfect setting for a lovely Boxing Day brunch. Our waiter, Nye, was the perfect amount of attentive, letting us be except when we needed our glasses refilled or a little dessert. My lobster hash was awesomeazing, and the husband loved his potato pancakes (at Nye's suggestion he added poached eggs - perfect). Our dessert was the most amazing, beet-based creation - who knew that chocolate and beets would work so well together? Every staff member we encountered was perfectly charming, all making for an experience that was, wait for it, perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service5

Great food! but...

Dined on December 12, 2015

The food was good, but the decor and ambiance is very austere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular Evening

Dined on December 5, 2015

The tasting menu was incredible. It's among the top restaurants in Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

WOW

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

I took my mom to Secret Location for her birthday this Friday night. It was our first time here as well. I called to restaurant to let them know that this will be a birthday event and upon our arrival to our table, there was a birthday card waiting for her - how lovely and thoughtful of restaurant. We tried the tasting menu and it was a good choice. Everything was very well done and nicely presented. The price is higher than other fine dining restaurant in Vancouver but it was worth it! Chef Lau actually came out and chatted with us and told us about his background and the idea behind his dishes. Since my mom is allergic to nuts, the chef actually made us a special dessert that was nut free - just for her!! I'm super impressed with the way we were treated in the restaurant. Can't wait to return to try their brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

A Little Disappointed

Dined on November 7, 2015

I was looking for a good restaurant to take my best friend to for a belated birthday dinner and went to Secret Location based on a recommendation from a co-worker. I made the reservation online via Open Table and made a note informing the restaurant that it was my friend's birthday and it would be great if they could write "happy birthday" on the dessert. When we arrived at the restaurant, we were promptly approached and seated. The restaurant was not busy that night eventhough it was a Friday night. Perhaps it was due to the rain? After looking at the menu, the both of us decided to try the tasting menu. The decor and atmosphere of the restaurant was stunning, as was the food. The dishes were almost too beautiful to eat and the service was great. The waiters were very attentive and seemed knowledgeable about their menu and food. Our issue was that the plates were tiny. By the end of meal, neither of us were really full even after 6 plates of food including dessert. Only 2 of the dishes stood out; everything else tasted bland. One of the dishes I felt was plated incorrectly. It had deep fried rice crumbled on top, but the plate they served it on was raised in the middle, therefore the rice spilled all over the table the minute we tried to pick anything up. The most disappointing thing was that "happy birthday" was forgotten on my friend's dessert. When we first got to the restaurant, I even approached our server and asked him specifically if they could do it and he promised that he would make sure it happened. So eventhough I made a note on my reservation AND asked our server the night of AND the restaurant wasn't busy, they somehow still managed to forget my request. The meal was average especially considering how much I paid and I was disappointed they forgot to write "happy birthday", but my best friend enjoyed it there so that's really all that mattered to me. I'm not sure I will go back....maybe for brunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a quiet Thursday evening and not ...

Dined on November 6, 2015

It was a quiet Thursday evening and not many others were in the restaurant. The service received was top-notch, very friendly and knowledgable. This was a very unique experience and would recommend it. Very different from any Vancouver restaurant experience I have had recently. We went with the $95 tasting menu accompanied with the $45 wine pairing. May be considered pricey but worth it; great tastes and satisfying.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place for brunch . Super yummy f ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

Amazing place for brunch . Super yummy food and amazing service!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent restaurant

Dined on October 31, 2015

Secret Location was a really good find. The Service was outstanding and the food serious but with enough playfulness to be really interesting. I love a restaurant that puts out great quality without losing the fun! Go for the tasting menu it is well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place & nice food

Dined on October 29, 2015

Nice place & nice food

food5
ambience5
service5

We were hesitant to sit at the chef's ta ...

Dined on September 27, 2015

We were hesitant to sit at the chef's table but that only lasted for a very brief moment. Our evening exceeded our expectations in every way possible.

food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience from beginning to end!

Dined on September 27, 2015

Having had brunch several times at Secret Location we were expecting something "special indeed"....well..expectations exceeded. The experience hit tell of our buttons. A very warm welcome. The room is very comfortable...can't think of any restaurants in town that compare to Secret Location's style sense..it is a special place for sure. The service was unmatched..from our greeting..friendly and warm..to our seating..through the evening..simply impeccable! I felt a strong sense of appreciation and respect from all encounters with all the staff. This respect aspect is evident in the food as well which was so well presented and prepared. Each course was thoroughly explained along with the wine pairings. The creations presented..in this writers honest opinion..we're not only beautiful..not only tasty..but imaginative..creative to a degree of which I find inspiring..invigorating. That's how we felt after leaving Secret Location..invigorated! A big thank you to all at Secret Location for making the time we spent with you the most memorable of experiences.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service and unique dishes. A ...

Dined on September 25, 2015

Outstanding service and unique dishes. A little on the pricey side but everything was executed very well. Will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service! I never have to ask f ...

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

Excellent service! I never have to ask for more water. It's always refilled by servers promptly. Love the ambience and the food was brilliant! Every dish is like an art on a plate. So pretty, so delicate, so very delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic.

vip
Dined on August 16, 2015

Everything was fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant experience

vip
Dined on July 26, 2015

First visit here with friends for brunch. The decor of the restaurant is gorgeous. The food was delicious and artfully presented. Some of the best we've had in our many dining outings. Make sure you try the " interactive" and yummy desserts. The service was excellent also. Everyone was so attentive and our server ( Nye) had a wonderful sense of humour. The restaurant was not very busy at all and I fail to see why as it is such a fine restaurant overall. Only con is that it might be a bit pricey for the portion sizes. Absolutely recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Interesting!

Dined on July 25, 2015

The food was wonderful and interesting and full of innovative introductions to old flavours. The service was incredible. Wine list was wonderful and sommelier was very helpful. Oh and portion sizes for the chefs tasting were perfect! We were left satisfied and not too full! Our only criticism would be is that the decor screamed of trying too hard or overly designed. The green and white with whimsically different chairs was clean and interesting but then there were random other couches in purple and pink and a giant blue rug. Those were distracting and gauche. I'm sure the designer has an explanation as to how that all works together but visually it just seemed incongruent. That being said the decor had no bearing on the food, service and wine which was impeccable and I have recommended this place to many friends and family already!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Very pricey and not worth the money. Amb ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2015

Very pricey and not worth the money. Ambiance was excellent, but we were only one of three tables in the restaurant. I had just been to a restaurant in Las Vegas that offered a tasting menu and Secret Garden palled in comparison.

food4
ambience4
service4

very nice!

Dined on May 27, 2015

Friend recommended place, very great! My friends and I have been to several times! Can spray smoke “tropical dragon” good surprise!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service1

Gorgeous setting/poor service/cold food

Dined on May 10, 2015

I so want to enjoy a meal at this restaurant because I love its ambiance. Its decor is white, it is quiet, peaceful and very comfortable space. But what is with the management and service? Despite past mis-hits, we gave it one last go for Mothers Day brunch for five. I thought surely they would have it together for a special event. Sadly no. There were young waiters everywhere, possibly one per table, and still the service was super slow and most of our cold and undercooked eggs were sent back. We dined in stages depending on when our food was returned to us. Our waiter seemed terrified of us though we were very polite. What is the SECRET at this location after all this time? Why does it always seem abandoned with no one managing it?

food5
ambience5
service5

One of Vancouver's best

Dined on May 10, 2015

Have been to Secret Location multiple times. It has meandered from amazing to mediocre. This last visit after about a 1.5 years away from the place really stood out. Every single thing was perfect. Service, food, ambiance, the place has it all. Gastown, with Pidgin and Secret Location should be on everyone's must-visit list.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Secret Location is a secret treasure!

Dined on May 8, 2015

Located in the heart of Gastown, this restaurant rocks. The decor was beautiful, ambience fantastic! Loved the tasting concept with wine pairing. We had the 5 course discovery and it was excellent. Our server Patrick was phenomenal and extremely helpful. My thermometer to measuring the success of a night out is the reaction of the people I'm with. In a word, she loved everything about the evening! I recommend visiting the Secret Location. The concept alone should be enough to intrigue you to investigate the possibilities this establishment may bring to you and yours!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service1

Poor Service, Poor Food

Dined on April 26, 2015

Numerous servers approached us upon our arrival and one of them took our order. However, once our food was delivered, no one spoke to us or asked how our food was. The poached eggs were undercooked-portions of the white were still slimy. Our plates were cleared, then we sat for about 15 minutes while numerous staff passed us without comment. We finally flagged someone to get our bill. I posted a Twitter comment, and they reached out to me, but didn't ask what went wrong, merely told me to call and ask for Mark next time we came in.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.